PDA

View Full Version : Starhub Maxmobile Unlimited (/w Huawei E270) Review

Pages : [1] 2 3

littleprincey
07-08-2007, 11:58 PM
When I first connected, I was surprised by the speed of the connection. Surfing speed was as fast as Maxonline Ultimate. However, after a while, it starts to have intermitten problem. I got my first disconnection in less than 30 minutes after using. Experienced a few disconnection after that.

Huawei E270.

It is very portable and light. The major problem (maybe not to you guys) is that it gets hot very fast. After 15 minutes, it gets very hot - uncomfortable just to touch.

DJ_LuV
07-08-2007, 11:59 PM
errr...you mean STARHUB MaxMobile instead? =/

littleprincey
08-08-2007, 12:06 AM
errr...you mean STARHUB MaxMobile instead? =/

LOL. Paiseh.

liangtam
08-08-2007, 12:56 AM
Can try speedtest.net on SG server??

littleprincey
08-08-2007, 01:20 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/166755638.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

http://www.speedtest.net/result/166756538.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

http://www.speedtest.net/result/166757078.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Varying results.

pLayb0y
08-08-2007, 01:31 AM
so after 1/2 hrs, how is it?

zhiming1
08-08-2007, 06:48 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/166755638.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

http://www.speedtest.net/result/166756538.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

http://www.speedtest.net/result/166757078.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Varying results.

high latency

DJ_LuV
08-08-2007, 07:53 AM
Just for simple comparison.....I'm using Singtel BB Mobile 512kb

http://www.speedtest.net/result/166969083.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

reson90
08-08-2007, 08:04 AM
I think is not so stable yet bah, and must see area? i tink must compair with M1 de wireless then should be alright. anyway here my MOL 12k tested spd

http://www.speedtest.net/result/166973763.png

DJ_LuV
08-08-2007, 08:27 AM
I think is not so stable yet bah, and must see area? i tink must compair with M1 de wireless then should be alright. anyway here my MOL 12k tested spd

http://www.speedtest.net/result/166973763.pnghm..why compare with M1 instead? sorry ah...just wanna understand your reasoning...=)

littleprincey
08-08-2007, 10:21 AM
Just for simple comparison.....I'm using Singtel BB Mobile 512kb

http://www.speedtest.net/result/166969083.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Makes me feel like I got cheated for MaxMobile....

DJ_LuV
08-08-2007, 10:25 AM
Makes me feel like I got cheated for MaxMobile....hm....quite ok wat....maybe need time for them to fine tune the service.

How much are you paying for the service? Hope you are a maxonline user too..else quite ex...

miltongoh
08-08-2007, 10:39 AM
You sign the contract to get the huawei modem?

littleprincey
08-08-2007, 10:41 AM
You sign the contract to get the huawei modem?

Yes. Hopefully they improve the service.

DJ_LuV
08-08-2007, 10:49 AM
Yes. Hopefully they improve the service.two yr contract ah bro?

miltongoh
08-08-2007, 10:51 AM
two yr contract ah bro?

That's what I want to know too. Haha. ;)

littleprincey
08-08-2007, 11:30 AM
Yes. I sign the contract. 1 year warranty for the modem.

If you wish to signup with modem, please do so after friday. Starhub system is not updated yet to use the plan. If you subscribe now, you have to wait very very long just to get the modem.

nWo
08-08-2007, 11:45 AM
Does it mean that there are currently no stocks for the modem, and stocks will be available after Friday?

Also, are you able to check that the datacard SIM, can be plugged into your existing mobile phone and be able to surf?

By the way, what OS can the USB modem support? Drivers for Vista?

miltongoh
08-08-2007, 11:55 AM
Yes. I sign the contract. 1 year warranty for the modem.

If you wish to signup with modem, please do so after friday. Starhub system is not updated yet to use the plan. If you subscribe now, you have to wait very very long just to get the modem.

What is the total charges for 1 year contract for the modem and also is there any registration fee etc?

pLayb0y
08-08-2007, 12:05 PM
tested using my home computer, relatively poor network reception, 2/3 out of 5 bars,
able to get 800kb/s down, 350 kb/s up and 400ms ping

will try again later under better network reception

typeRS
08-08-2007, 12:12 PM
using M1's 384kbps plan in the west side..

http://www.speedtest.net/result/167069410.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

littleprincey
08-08-2007, 12:23 PM
Does it mean that there are currently no stocks for the modem, and stocks will be available after Friday?

Also, are you able to check that the datacard SIM, can be plugged into your existing mobile phone and be able to surf?

By the way, what OS can the USB modem support? Drivers for Vista?

They have stocks but you need to wait very long to get the modem because the system needs alot of manual key in.

I never use the datacard on my mobile. But the datacard connected to the PC can send out sms.

littleprincey
08-08-2007, 12:24 PM
What is the total charges for 1 year contract for the modem and also is there any registration fee etc?

As long as the OS is Windows, the modem can support. For Mac, you cannot use it.

1 Year contract? I think it is $298 or $198. There is a registration fee for the datasim. $37+

littleprincey
08-08-2007, 04:29 PM
First complaint. Sending out an email with Gmail has a problem.

miltongoh
08-08-2007, 04:32 PM
As long as the OS is Windows, the modem can support. For Mac, you cannot use it.

1 Year contract? I think it is $298 or $198. There is a registration fee for the datasim. $37+

It is quite pricey for the start. Haha. To me lah. :)

miltongoh
08-08-2007, 04:36 PM
First complaint. Sending out an email with Gmail has a problem.

What is the problem you encountered? :)

littleprincey
08-08-2007, 04:39 PM
it does not send out the mail. Gmail or private webmail the same

littleprincey
08-08-2007, 04:52 PM
Hotmail and Yahoo Mail works fine. Just that Gmail do not work with it. Can receive cannot send.

miltongoh
08-08-2007, 04:52 PM
it does not send out the mail. Gmail or private webmail the same

Hmm. What about web surfing?

littleprincey
08-08-2007, 05:00 PM
Hmm. What about web surfing?

No problem and its fast.

miltongoh
08-08-2007, 05:09 PM
No problem and its fast.

I normally use my gmail on my mobile phone with the Maxmobile and face no problem. Might want to try it for my laptop when connecting to my mobile when I have the chance tomorrow. Hehe.

littleprincey
08-08-2007, 06:02 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/167155730.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

At my office. CBD area.

miltongoh
08-08-2007, 06:07 PM

At my office. CBD area.

Seems not bad leh.

pker88
08-08-2007, 06:42 PM
notbad for a mobile broadband
only lower then MOL express by its download only
dunp if can maintain over the island and in rushours usage?

littleprincey
08-08-2007, 10:27 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/167245788.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

My house connection in 10 minutes from CBD area.

CPTMiller
08-08-2007, 11:48 PM
Your download speed very :s31:

CPTMiller
08-08-2007, 11:49 PM
This is consider good.
By the way what is the advertise speed?

At my office. CBD area.

pLayb0y
09-08-2007, 01:26 AM
anybody knows if i can get the huawei modem for free without signing up for the datapack with maxmobile unlmited for 2 yrs?

kennyboy
09-08-2007, 01:38 AM
anybody knows if i can get the huawei modem for free without signing up for the datapack with maxmobile unlmited for 2 yrs?
no..............

mshop_sales
09-08-2007, 01:42 AM
Well,

At least starhub mobile seem cheaper. If you sign up for the ultimate plan, you get to surf mobile for free. Singtel still charge you some rate and there is a limited otherwise you have to pay.

The only thing is maybe, getting the phone and data-sim card seem expensive, but i think is worth more than paying for surfing?

miltongoh
09-08-2007, 01:47 AM
Well,

At least starhub mobile seem cheaper. If you sign up for the ultimate plan, you get to surf mobile for free. Singtel still charge you some rate and there is a limited otherwise you have to pay.

The only thing is maybe, getting the phone and data-sim card seem expensive, but i think is worth more than paying for surfing?

but think in a way that what if you sign the 2 years contract, and within the next 3 - 6 months service level deteriorate and how can people survive through the rest of the contract? there is good and bad.

confused
09-08-2007, 10:05 AM
Hotmail and Yahoo Mail works fine. Just that Gmail do not work with it. Can receive cannot send.

You mean gmail pop izzit or you were using the web interface?

littleprincey
09-08-2007, 11:56 AM
Just the web interface. It is weird because there is no reason for it not to work. Even empty text mail also cannot send out. I call Starhub already. They said they will settle.

Singtel BB dun have this problem.

blacklotus
09-08-2007, 12:24 PM
Maxmobile unlimited plan for a new user (i.e. me) = $72.76/mth for 2 year plan + 37.45 for sim card. The Huawei modem is free.

As for QOS, after the 3 days, it seems the service is dropping in quality. Definitely not as fast as before, and also lots of fluctuations betw 30KBs to 200KBs (doing ftp/http downloads from my US webserver). Signal quality on my end in SG is 90%.

Oh well...all good things must come to an end.. :s13:

DJ_LuV
09-08-2007, 12:26 PM
hm...what we will like to see is how the network can hold up after subscribers for it start joining in.

blacklotus
09-08-2007, 01:23 PM
hm...what we will like to see is how the network can hold up after subscribers for it start joining in.

I think it's already slowing down. Definitely not as fast now as when I first joined on 4aug Sat. =:p

blacklotus
09-08-2007, 01:26 PM
Just the web interface. It is weird because there is no reason for it not to work. Even empty text mail also cannot send out. I call Starhub already. They said they will settle.

Singtel BB dun have this problem.

Please let us know when SH have fixed the problem. I having problem with gmail too. =:p

littleprincey
09-08-2007, 02:32 PM
If I cant use Gmail, might as well dun subscribe already. !@#$% hope they settle it fast.

deadsoul79
09-08-2007, 02:38 PM
:P it's getting slower for Maxmobile, but getting faster downloads for M1 BB lol. wtf ?!

DJ_LuV
09-08-2007, 04:11 PM
:P it's getting slower for Maxmobile, but getting faster downloads for M1 BB lol. wtf ?!lol...mood swings ah...or alot of m1 bb users jump to Starhub...haha

Never try Singtel deadsoul? hehe..

wherehouse
09-08-2007, 11:39 PM

wats the signal level?

10 min from cbd area... wah, huge difference from inside cbd...

At my office. CBD area.

where are the SH fanboy like jerrrk and his clone...

camvid
10-08-2007, 10:15 AM
Another SpeedTest result.
Sorry, I acnnot figure out how to insert picture of SpeedTest.net report.
So I will just provide it in plain text.

Download: 3407 kb/s
Upload: 817 kb/s
Latency: 371 ms
Server: Singapore (Previously known as Cyberway Pte Ltd)
Distance ~ 50mi

radon
10-08-2007, 11:14 AM
those who took the E270 modem, what's the penalty for breaking the 2 years contract? Thanks.

littleprincey
10-08-2007, 12:43 PM
$500/$400/$300/$200

1st 6 months/2nd/3rd/4th

pLayb0y
10-08-2007, 12:49 PM
wats the signal level?

10 min from cbd area... wah, huge difference from inside cbd...

where are the SH fanboy like jerrrk and his clone...

here...
it all looks good to me, nothing to say... er... keep up the good work?

miltongoh
10-08-2007, 01:36 PM
$500/$400/$300/$200

1st 6 months/2nd/3rd/4th

Seems fair, but how much does the Huawei E270 cost if we were to buy ourself? Maybe not in singapore? or?

Zerocool
10-08-2007, 01:42 PM
i think can get from sh the modem @ 300++ w/o contract

radon
10-08-2007, 01:51 PM
i think can get from sh the modem @ 300++ w/o contract

ya. It's at $398. Why don't they have like 1 yr contract instead so can cancel it after 1 yr if the service is not up to standard instead of being tied to 2 yrs.

miltongoh
10-08-2007, 02:22 PM
ya. It's at $398. Why don't they have like 1 yr contract instead so can cancel it after 1 yr if the service is not up to standard instead of being tied to 2 yrs.

I guess they have the 1 year contract but still pay an amount for the modem.

Pro and con ba. Haha.

4xtemujin
10-08-2007, 08:30 PM
The price plans is out for the Huawei E270 modem.

Huawei E270 Mobile Broadband Modem**
$0 (With MaxMobile Unlimited subscription with 24-month contract)
$298 (With MaxMobile Value subscription with 24-month contract)
$398 (Retail Price)

http://tinyurl.com/2t5ojn

FireHobbit
11-08-2007, 12:31 PM
The price plans is out for the Huawei E270 modem.

Huawei E270 Mobile Broadband Modem**
$0 (With MaxMobile Unlimited subscription with 24-month contract)
$298 (With MaxMobile Value subscription with 24-month contract)
$398 (Retail Price)

http://tinyurl.com/2t5ojn

Seem like the 50 % off which is 36.38 for unlimited is not bad the price... but not sure the speed is good and stable now? :s12: :s12:

miltongoh
11-08-2007, 12:36 PM
Seem like the 50 % off which is 36.38 for unlimited is not bad the price... but not sure the speed is good and stable now? :s12: :s12:

Getting to pay only 50% off the price is a privilege because the customer subscribed to the other services. it doesn't reflect that pay 50%, get 50% speed mah. haha.

kennyboy
11-08-2007, 02:05 PM
you gotta remember we're still paying at least 60-70 for the connection at home. so it's around 100+ for home and mobile internet.

but i'm glad at least SH got this kinda privilege. Where's the singtel fanboys here?

kishore2k4
11-08-2007, 03:17 PM
Actually it is ((36x16)+(72x8))/24, which is around $48/month but still the best deal in town.

jasonho
11-08-2007, 04:19 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/168830241.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Thats tested from my house, 7th floor.

cscs3
11-08-2007, 04:41 PM
Huawei is never a good brand.

4xtemujin
11-08-2007, 10:32 PM
Maybe can wait till Comex at the end of August for SH Comex promotion.

pLayb0y
12-08-2007, 01:00 PM

rather, huawei is the ONLY brand
the others are all at 3G speeds only

liangtam
12-08-2007, 02:20 PM
Any proof to confirm this?

littleprincey
12-08-2007, 04:28 PM
Anyway guys, Starhub technical support keep calling me to ask about Gmail issue. They said they are experiencing the same slowness when sending out mail when using Gmail web interface.

They ask me to try again on Monday and will call me again. They mentioned it is a tcp problem.

PS. You need to call them constantly just to fix the issue.

miltongoh
12-08-2007, 04:36 PM
PS. You need to call them constantly just to fix the issue.

That's normal. Haha!

Success
14-08-2007, 12:59 AM
I need some suggestions.

I'm on Singtel Mobile but want to use StarHub MaxMobile which I can get at 50%. Singtel unlimited plan is #$@#@#@$ expensive.

I can't change my phone number. Transfering the number now is not an option as full number portability hasn't been rolled out.

One solution is to carry 2 phones. 1 phone for SingTel and another for mobile surfing using MaxMobile. But I don't really want to go this route of carrying 2 phones.

I need to retain my current SingTel number. My outgoing calls need to call from that number, due to work. But I want unlimited mobile internet access. Any method to have both on 1 phone?

Any suggestion? Thanks.

kennyboy
14-08-2007, 01:20 AM
I need some suggestions.

I'm on Singtel Mobile but want to use StarHub MaxMobile which I can get at 50%. Singtel unlimited plan is #$@#@#@$ expensive.

I can't change my phone number. Transfering the number now is not an option as full number portability hasn't been rolled out.

One solution is to carry 2 phones. 1 phone for SingTel and another for mobile surfing using MaxMobile. But I don't really want to go this route of carrying 2 phones.

I need to retain my current SingTel number. My outgoing calls need to call from that number, due to work. But I want unlimited mobile internet access. Any method to have both on 1 phone?

Any suggestion? Thanks.
since true number portability hasn't been implemented yet, i think what you want can't be done.

any dual sim phones that support hsdpa? or maybe one of those sim card switching...but that requires only 1 card on at one time.

sorry...in this case, you can't have the best of both worlds. It's either 2 phones or change to Starhub phone line.

miltongoh
14-08-2007, 08:03 AM
I need some suggestions.

Any suggestion? Thanks.

Having 2 phones is just what you can do liao. :)

littleprincey
14-08-2007, 09:50 AM
Just an update, the Starhub CSO now called me everyday to update about the Gmail problem. It seems that the Gmail's sending is only 20% usable. For every 10 mails you tried to send out, 2 mails are able to be sent.

miltongoh
14-08-2007, 10:00 AM
Just an update, the Starhub CSO now called me everyday to update about the Gmail problem. It seems that the Gmail's sending is only 20% usable. For every 10 mails you tried to send out, 2 mails are able to be sent.

Wah, service standard so high! Haha.

littleprincey
14-08-2007, 01:58 PM
Okay, for those using Starhub MaxMobile. This is the work-around method for sending out mail using Gmail.

It is very simple.

Just access your mail via

https://mail.google.com/mail/

You will not have any problem sending out mail.

tankee531
14-08-2007, 03:26 PM
just received mine today.

latency is terrible. First speednet test failed to complete

http://www.speedtest.net/result/170234715.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

miltongoh
14-08-2007, 03:46 PM

This is tested with the huawei e270? at where?

tankee531
15-08-2007, 10:39 AM
yes with hauwei e270, at my office just outside CBD. signal strength was 95%

miltongoh
15-08-2007, 10:47 AM
yes with hauwei e270, at my office just outside CBD. signal strength was 95%

Wah, such result don't seem promising. Maybe we can more tester from around the island. Hehe.

pLayb0y
15-08-2007, 01:04 PM

this is a wireless service, you cannot expect better unless you are using wired

seowbin
15-08-2007, 02:10 PM
they are new, give them some time.........

a test done in shanghai i think , in their train (duno si mi name , travelling peak at 300+ or 400+ )

failure rate is around 10% or lesser........

*as in huawei device , technology*

read something like that, nv pay much attention

PinZzz
15-08-2007, 02:12 PM
latency isnt that great...

tankee531
15-08-2007, 03:47 PM
this is a wireless service, you cannot expect better unless you are using wired

M1 broadband 1800, also a HSPDA but supposedly 1.8mbps only, out performed Starhub many times over.

The M1 belongs to my colleague. comparison was against speedtest.net done in the same office at about the same time

littleprincey
15-08-2007, 10:11 PM
M1 broadband 1800, also a HSPDA but supposedly 1.8mbps only, out performed Starhub many times over.

The M1 belongs to my colleague. comparison was against speedtest.net done in the same office at about the same time

Starhub advertises 7.2 mbps so everyone go for Starhub. Ends up no one uses M1 then M1 's speed becomes faster.

tankee531
16-08-2007, 12:03 AM
lol

anyway starhub has offered to send their tech to go to my office for coverage check. i have not replied them

hardon2
16-08-2007, 12:31 AM
Anyone tried using this service while travelling in a taxi?

Does it work okay?

camvid
17-08-2007, 08:51 AM
Anyone tried using this service while travelling in a taxi?

Does it work okay?
Yeah, tried it all the way from Tuas checkpoint to Beach Road on coach bus, then from Beach Road to Tampines in taxi, nooooooooo problem with connectivity on my O2 Atom Life.

littleprincey
17-08-2007, 11:20 AM
Unstable connection from Jurong East to Bugis. Suspect it is the modem causing the problem already ...

lkianfong
17-08-2007, 11:48 AM
I just realise something after using the huawei modem from yesterday till now. It seems that when the modem is too hot, it will dc very often. Only when it cools down or in a air con room, it will not dc.

It is more likely that its is the heat that that is creating the dc problem rather thatn the telco.

tankee531
17-08-2007, 01:36 PM
Yeah, tried it all the way from Tuas checkpoint to Beach Road on coach bus, then from Beach Road to Tampines in taxi, nooooooooo problem with connectivity on my O2 Atom Life.

what did you use it for then? surfing?

tankee531
17-08-2007, 01:38 PM
I just realise something after using the huawei modem from yesterday till now. It seems that when the modem is too hot, it will dc very often. Only when it cools down or in a air con room, it will not dc.

It is more likely that its is the heat that that is creating the dc problem rather thatn the telco.

maybe that's why Starhub place their logo stick on the back and prevent the modem from resting fully on a desk :s13: :s13: :s13:

hate that logo sticker

lkianfong
17-08-2007, 02:29 PM
I just peel off the logo when i first got the set. An eye sore to me

camvid
18-08-2007, 10:22 AM
what did you use it for then? surfing?
Yeah, I used it for checking emails and general surfing. Baiscally to see how the MaxMobile performs on the O2 Atom Life. So far, so good.

Unfortunately, I am not too happy with the Huawei E270 modem. Even when using in home (fixed location), I keep on getting frequent disconnects when I logon through the StarHub screen. This is even on a freshly installed HD with Windows XP Pro. I've been told by SH CSO to alternatively use the StarHub dial-up found in "Network Connections" to resolve the problem until they have found a solution to it.

I don't see other users in the HWZ forum reporting on this problem.

miltongoh
18-08-2007, 10:35 AM
Yeah, I used it for checking emails and general surfing. Baiscally to see how the MaxMobile performs on the O2 Atom Life. So far, so good.

Unfortunately, I am not too happy with the Huawei E270 modem. Even when using in home (fixed location), I keep on getting frequent disconnects when I logon through the StarHub screen. This is even on a freshly installed HD with Windows XP Pro. I've been told by SH CSO to alternatively use the StarHub dial-up found in "Network Connections" to resolve the problem until they have found a solution to it.

I don't see other users in the HWZ forum reporting on this problem.

I also encountered such problem when using the huawei modem from M1.

lkianfong
18-08-2007, 11:10 PM
I too have this problem from last night. The network is still not very stable yet. I try to watch a youtube video but it lags far too much for me to take it. So i just did a speednet test and the result really shocked me.

I was hitting 2000kb/s!!! then i try youtube again but still lag like mad....WTH ? ?

How come ??

http://www.speedtest.net/result/172687254.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

miltongoh
18-08-2007, 11:33 PM
I too have this problem from last night. The network is still not very stable yet. I try to watch a youtube video but it lags far too much for me to take it. So i just did a speednet test and the result really shocked me.

I was hitting 2000kb/s!!! then i try youtube again but still lag like mad....WTH ? ?

How come ??

Maybe because from the speedtest.net server, you tested the server which is located in singapore while youtube is hosted elsewhere. Why not try other country?

pkchukiss
18-08-2007, 11:43 PM
Ah, that you are getting laggy YouTube videos isn't strange. StarHub has very bad speed to most servers outside Singapore. So don't count for your 2000 kbps to mean for something, because the bottleneck is at the international point.

lkianfong
19-08-2007, 11:57 AM
ic. But then wats the point of having good speed to home sites when most of the interesting sites are overseas ? M1 vodavone is also better than this. At least youtube streams better than this.

infooverflow
19-08-2007, 03:53 PM
after installing the starhub maxmobile software and driver, I am unable to shutdown. I have to press the power button for 5 seconds to shutdown.

Removal of the starhub maxmobile on my notebook and subsequent reboot, I am able to shutdown properly.

Anyone knows the cause and the fixs?

Dell Inspiron 6400
1Gb Ram
Windows XP Home SP2

miltongoh
19-08-2007, 10:30 PM
after installing the starhub maxmobile software and driver, I am unable to shutdown. I have to press the power button for 5 seconds to shutdown.

Removal of the starhub maxmobile on my notebook and subsequent reboot, I am able to shutdown properly.

Dell Inspiron 6400
1Gb Ram
Windows XP Home SP2

Learn to do a system checkpoint before installing any software that you are not confidence off. Why not try un-installing it to see if it helps?

tym733
19-08-2007, 11:54 PM
Try a system restore.

tym733
20-08-2007, 12:08 AM
Anyone use it to watch Sopcast or TV Ant on a laptop? =:p

tankee531
20-08-2007, 02:58 PM

How come ??

I'm hitting only 10-20% of your downloading speed.

:s27:

miltongoh
20-08-2007, 03:05 PM
For the contract of 24 months for the Huawei device right, does it have to be a single new line or can I as a maxonline customer signed it up for 24 months using my mobile number and enjoy the Huawei modem + 50% of the subscription?

lkianfong
20-08-2007, 03:12 PM
I'm hitting only 10-20% of your downloading speed.

:s27:
u mean right now is it ?

Where are u using it right now ? I using it at home right now. And the modem is dcing every 10 mins or so. So far i using it for the last 20 mins with no dcing YET. Below is my speed now

http://www.speedtest.net/result/173440142.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

lkianfong
20-08-2007, 03:17 PM
For the contract of 24 months for the Huawei device right, does it have to be a single new line or can I as a maxonline customer signed it up for 24 months using my mobile number and enjoy the Huawei modem + 50% of the subscription?
50% discount only for maxonline users meaning cable users . not moblie phone users. They are complimenting the service and usage for the maxonline users only.

Hope this helps.

tankee531
20-08-2007, 06:23 PM
I'm only achieving

http://www.speedtest.net/result/173487475.png (http://www.speedtest.net/)

miltongoh
20-08-2007, 06:24 PM
50% discount only for maxonline users meaning cable users . not moblie phone users. They are complimenting the service and usage for the maxonline users only.

Hope this helps.

I am also an existing maxonline user.

lkianfong
20-08-2007, 07:19 PM
I am also an existing maxonline user.
Then u have the 50% discount liao lah

miltongoh
20-08-2007, 07:32 PM
Then u have the 50% discount liao lah

Okay. Thank you.

pLayb0y
21-08-2007, 01:45 AM
u mean right now is it ?

Where are u using it right now ? I using it at home right now. And the modem is dcing every 10 mins or so. So far i using it for the last 20 mins with no dcing YET. Below is my speed now

http://www.speedtest.net/result/173440142.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

wow this is good!
i was experiencing 200ms ping on singnet last time... 200ms ping is still playable

leoloe
21-08-2007, 08:08 AM
i m using the maxmobile unlimited plan to listen to streaming radio on my dopod 838pro... not bad. but the good stations only play at 96kbps...

YongRong
21-08-2007, 03:24 PM
Starhub advertises 7.2 mbps so everyone go for Starhub. Ends up no one uses M1 then M1 's speed becomes faster.

Just a quick comment here...

I feel that it's not so true to put it that way...

There may be some M1 Broadband users who switched over, but there are also a majority of people who are still locked down by contract, don't think they can jump over to Starhub.

Another thing is, I was advised by M1 CSO that the network was recently upgraded (before Starhub launched the service), I did experience a smoother surfing speed and improved speed. I'm referring to before the launch from Starhub.

Also heard that M1 Broadband signup actually increased too. Not sure how reliable that is though.

miltongoh
21-08-2007, 03:27 PM
Just a quick comment here...

I feel that it's not so true to put it that way...

There may be some M1 Broadband users who switched over, but there are also a majority of people who are still locked down by contract, don't think they can jump over to Starhub.

Another thing is, I was advised by M1 CSO that the network was recently upgraded (before Starhub launched the service), I did experience a smoother surfing speed and improved speed. I'm referring to before the launch from Starhub.

Also heard that M1 Broadband signup actually increased too. Not sure how reliable that is though.

That's each company marketing strategy of keeping their customer + giving their customer some confidence and hope to gain some trust in return. What actually attract people to go Starhub is especially the 50% off for maxonline customer + the fact that the amount of data transfer is unlimited. Knowing that each might not even get what was promised by M1, people just get blinded by the fact that they have unlimited. Other people might just go for the service from starhub due to price factor. This is a competitive market, more and more promotions going on so no point getting tied down by Starhub with 2 years. Because who knows singtel/m1 is not going to offer unlimited and offer Huawei modem FREE with 1 year? Haha!

emperor
21-08-2007, 04:08 PM
It's an understatement if I say I am disappointed with my M1 connection. The piece of crap modem blows and keeps toggling between hsdpa and 3g after a few minutes. My pings are always 400+.

Just for comparison, I suspend my notebook, get into a taxi at hougang and barely managed to nagivate to www.google.com.sg by the time I reach bendemeer. Wah lao sian 1/2.

I see the light go hsdpa, then I open firefox, type google.com, it takes forever then light change to blue (3G) then back to hsdpa, sometimes go to gprs even. Too unstable for my liking but still bound by contract. Sian.

I learnt my lesson.. Never be an early adopter. I am still rotting with more than 1yr of contract left...

YongRong
21-08-2007, 06:24 PM
That's each company marketing strategy of keeping their customer + giving their customer some confidence and hope to gain some trust in return. What actually attract people to go Starhub is especially the 50% off for maxonline customer + the fact that the amount of data transfer is unlimited. Knowing that each might not even get what was promised by M1, people just get blinded by the fact that they have unlimited. Other people might just go for the service from starhub due to price factor. This is a competitive market, more and more promotions going on so no point getting tied down by Starhub with 2 years. Because who knows singtel/m1 is not going to offer unlimited and offer Huawei modem FREE with 1 year? Haha!

I actually loved the fact that M1 is renting out the modems for free rather than selling them like ST and SH. The modem still belongs to M1 and if there is any problem, there is always someone I can go to. Looking at SH, for example, after 14 months of the 2 years contract with them, the modem goes faulty, Starhub will tell you "Sir, you might want to purchase a new modem from us? It cost $398, since you are still on a contract, you won't be able to get a subsidy on the modem." Not a very nice scenario to me! Haha!

I have a friend working in M1, news is that, by end of this year, M1 will offer 14.4mbps, not sure if it's islandwide though =) Think the profits reaped in have break even with the investment on the HSDPA network upgrade, thus they are boosting up the speed further. =)

miltongoh
21-08-2007, 10:31 PM
I actually loved the fact that M1 is renting out the modems for free rather than selling them like ST and SH. The modem still belongs to M1 and if there is any problem, there is always someone I can go to. Looking at SH, for example, after 14 months of the 2 years contract with them, the modem goes faulty, Starhub will tell you "Sir, you might want to purchase a new modem from us? It cost $398, since you are still on a contract, you won't be able to get a subsidy on the modem." Not a very nice scenario to me! Haha!

I have a friend working in M1, news is that, by end of this year, M1 will offer 14.4mbps, not sure if it's islandwide though =) Think the profits reaped in have break even with the investment on the HSDPA network upgrade, thus they are boosting up the speed further. =)

Nice one! :)

saggydog
22-08-2007, 12:16 AM
Just one question.

If I getting the modem do I need to get another SIM card for it ?
If I'm a Starhub moblie user can I use my existing 3 G sim card for the data connection with the modem?

kennyboy
22-08-2007, 12:31 AM
Just one question.

If I getting the modem do I need to get another SIM card for it ?
If I'm a Starhub moblie user can I use my existing 3 G sim card for the data connection with the modem?
if you wanna use together with your phone then yes.

yes....but your phone cannot use lor.

starhub also has a multisim service iirc...a few pages ago. don't lazy lah...only 7 pages only.

astudent
22-08-2007, 12:37 AM
You guys might want to try with a 3G phone instead of the HUAWEI. I used it once at my father-in-laws place to do microsuck updating (about 20MB of updates) and it kept disconnecting. Hooked up a Nokia E61 and my M1 broadband worked perfectly.

YongRong
22-08-2007, 08:54 AM
You guys might want to try with a 3G phone instead of the HUAWEI. I used it once at my father-in-laws place to do microsuck updating (about 20MB of updates) and it kept disconnecting. Hooked up a Nokia E61 and my M1 broadband worked perfectly.

Adding in to this, I would agree with astudent also.

Actually the stability of the network may be affected by the performance of the modem as well. I have not felt any disconnection on my M1BB like others do but for my case, it has been used on my 838pro since I gotten it, i'm not using the Huawei modem for it, perhaps that's why.

miltongoh
22-08-2007, 09:27 AM

Actually the stability of the network may be affected by the performance of the modem as well. I have not felt any disconnection on my M1BB like others do but for my case, it has been used on my 838pro since I gotten it, i'm not using the Huawei modem for it, perhaps that's why.

how about your modem being heated and disconnection problem? :(

YongRong
22-08-2007, 11:43 PM
how about your modem being heated and disconnection problem? :(

I never tried, cause I signed up SIM only, without the modem. Don't need it so didn't get it, in case lose it I will lose $300... LOL!

jamesong88
23-08-2007, 03:44 AM
I still not get it for the 50% offer for existing StarHub customers who have maxOnline subscribed, why would you get the maxMobile when you got a high-speed connection at the convenience of your own home?

Anyway, i'm a current subscriber of the M1 broadband 384kbps plan and is using internet connection sharing via a 3G broadband router from M1.

miltongoh
23-08-2007, 09:15 AM
I still not get it for the 50% offer for existing StarHub customers who have maxOnline subscribed, why would you get the maxMobile when you got a high-speed connection at the convenience of your own home?

Anyway, i'm a current subscriber of the M1 broadband 384kbps plan and is using internet connection sharing via a 3G broadband router from M1.

Now, PDA also need internet connectivity mah... Plus laptop is so much much much more common now... Everywhere you can see student/professional bring laptop sit down at cafe to use. Do work etc.

kennyboy
23-08-2007, 05:19 PM

imagine if you got a hspda phone and you wanna access the internet outside. Do you wait until you reach home or do you whip out your phone and settle it there and then? you could stay connected via msn/email all day long while outside on your phone/pda. That's the main purpose of doing so.

You may like to stay at home all day long, but other people have things to do outside too.

of course at home just use the maxonline lah...it's a no brainer.

leoloe
23-08-2007, 05:22 PM

does your 838pro feel warm when you're using hsdpa? i noticed when its on 3g its not worm, only when hsdpa is on... it gets warm. and its not the battery.

tanguohao
24-08-2007, 09:44 AM

Dell Inspiron 6400
1Gb Ram
Windows XP Home SP2

For my M1 vodafone data card device,i have to safely remove the remove the data card, then the system can shutdown smoothly..try it..

YongRong
24-08-2007, 11:19 AM

I guess Starhub looks at Maxmobile as a 'supplement' to their existing maxonline, a supplement which you can use on the go, without the need to only settle whatever you need to settle on the internet, at home. That's why they bundle a promo with their Maxonline, to encourage Maxonline users to take up this supplement.

I actually took up my M1 Broadband partially because my Singnet goes down very often at home and I use the M1 Broadband as a supplement, it works perfectly! It always gives me my connection when my red pipe goes down, which is like, once a week kinda thing?

I also make use of M1BB to log on to MSN once I'm outta my home, very good, little or no disconnection by far.

YongRong
24-08-2007, 11:21 AM
does your 838pro feel warm when you're using hsdpa? i noticed when its on 3g its not worm, only when hsdpa is on... it gets warm. and its not the battery.

Not really leh. Don't have this problem, you might want to check with HTC, though I know their call centre sucks... LOL!

YongRong
24-08-2007, 11:25 AM
if you wanna use together with your phone then yes.

yes....but your phone cannot use lor.

starhub also has a multisim service iirc...a few pages ago. don't lazy lah...only 7 pages only.

Manage to clear this with Starhub last night, just a point to note on this.

Let say if you sign up for the Maxmobile service as a Value Added Service (VAS), which means using the service on top of you current mobile line (in simpler terms, the same SIM card and same number as your current mobile line), you will NOT be able to get the modem at the 2 years contract promo price if your current mobile phone line already has a handset contract. Which means, you will need to pay $398 for the modem, as 'cheap' as a phone.

Unless your current mobile line has no more handset contract or is eligible for a handset upgrade, you are allowed to get the modem for free, with a 2 years contract sign up nonetheless.

But of course, if you use a separate SIM card and a separate number for the Maxmobile service, you can get a modem with a 2 years contract.

Just for everyone's info as I think not everyone is aware of this.

miltongoh
24-08-2007, 11:28 AM
Manage to clear this with Starhub last night, just a point to note on this.

Let say if you sign up for the Maxmobile service as a Value Added Service (VAS), which means using the service on top of you current mobile line (in simpler terms, the same SIM card and same number as your current mobile line), you will NOT be able to get the modem at the 2 years contract promo price if your current mobile phone line already has a handset contract. Which means, you will need to pay $398 for the modem, as 'cheap' as a phone.

Unless your current mobile line has no more handset contract or is eligible for a handset upgrade, you are allowed to get the modem for free, with a 2 years contract sign up nonetheless.

But of course, if you use a separate SIM card and a separate number for the Maxmobile service, you can get a modem with a 2 years contract.

Just for everyone's info as I think not everyone is aware of this.

Thank you. Very detail explanation. :D

bollocksman
24-08-2007, 01:06 PM
FYI --just some basic info background on the HSUPA data offerings.

Coming from same industry and giving u guys the un-biased ( Sometimes UGLY picture) to cut through the marketing mumbo jumbo.

HSUPA -( aka Release 6 ) offers improved Upload speeds of up to 5.76 Mbps while also offering HSDPA download speeds of up to 7.2 Mbps

The background of the technology is based on Mobility and handover. thus to fully enjoy The TRUE maximum download or Upload speeds, One must be standing right next to the BTS (base station transceiver) and even then it is Not advisiable ( their transmit power is about 20 W -avg for WCDMA , c.f with WIFI - 100mW (typical).

assuming Huawei is using Qualcomm solutions ( which i am basing my data on) . and most users are located on boundary of their cells, Data rate is not constant and do get cut off due to mobility factors , even if not actually moving , due to "handover" . Moreover this is rather new network and StarHub may or may not actually tweak and maintained thier mobile network to Optimal Settings yet for full HSUPA Release 6 .

Even M1 only managed to get their network Tweaked after months launching their HSDPA ( release 5 ).

cheers and have a great lunch

lkianfong
24-08-2007, 03:00 PM
FYI --just some basic info background on the HSUPA data offerings.

Coming from same industry and giving u guys the un-biased ( Sometimes UGLY picture) to cut through the marketing mumbo jumbo.

HSUPA -( aka Release 6 ) offers improved Upload speeds of up to 5.76 Mbps while also offering HSDPA download speeds of up to 7.2 Mbps

The background of the technology is based on Mobility and handover. thus to fully enjoy The TRUE maximum download or Upload speeds, One must be standing right next to the BTS (base station transceiver) and even then it is Not advisiable ( their transmit power is about 20 W -avg for WCDMA , c.f with WIFI - 100mW (typical).

assuming Huawei is using Qualcomm solutions ( which i am basing my data on) . and most users are located on boundary of their cells, Data rate is not constant and do get cut off due to mobility factors , even if not actually moving , due to "handover" . Moreover this is rather new network and StarHub may or may not actually tweak and maintained thier mobile network to Optimal Settings yet for full HSUPA Release 6 .

Even M1 only managed to get their network Tweaked after months launching their HSDPA ( release 5 ).

cheers and have a great lunch

:s13:Are you trying to tell everybody here that the less signal bar you have on your Starhub Huawei modem (Weaker Signal Reception), you will enjoy slower download and upload rates than advertised?

bollocksman
24-08-2007, 04:40 PM
Are you trying to tell everybody here that the less signal bar you have on your Starhub Huawei modem (Weaker Signal Reception), you will enjoy slower download and upload rates than advertised?

Yes basically data throughput rates are correlated to Signal levels ( Not just for 3 G but Wifi also and other wireless or even Wired standards , e.g. ADSL)

weak signal --> related to --> Lower data rate and some rare times erractic data connection.

blacklotus
25-08-2007, 11:28 AM
Yes basically data throughput rates are correlated to Signal levels ( Not just for 3 G but Wifi also and other wireless or even Wired standards , e.g. ADSL)

weak signal --> related to --> Lower data rate and some rare times erractic data connection.

Unfortunately, that's not the whole picture. Bandwidth usage patterns/limitations also come into the picture, even if one's signal is extremely strong.

e.g. I have a constant signal strength of 90% on HSDPA using the e270 modem on my new laptop (fully reformatted and reinstalled recently with winXP pro) in an 24/7 aircon room. Aircon is set at 20oC constant. (It's a server room). So there's no reason for the modem or laptop to overheat.

Yet, at certain times (I believe peak usage times), the surfing speed will stall, even though the connection still shows HSDPA connected at 90% signal strength. (The modem is showing cyan color). And all I was doing was accessing my business clients accounts on a private vpn. hmm...oh well, good things don't last forever... =:p

YongRong
30-08-2007, 01:45 AM
Unfortunately, that's not the whole picture. Bandwidth usage patterns/limitations also come into the picture, even if one's signal is extremely strong.

e.g. I have a constant signal strength of 90% on HSDPA using the e270 modem on my new laptop (fully reformatted and reinstalled recently with winXP pro) in an 24/7 aircon room. Aircon is set at 20oC constant. (It's a server room). So there's no reason for the modem or laptop to overheat.

Yet, at certain times (I believe peak usage times), the surfing speed will stall, even though the connection still shows HSDPA connected at 90% signal strength. (The modem is showing cyan color). And all I was doing was accessing my business clients accounts on a private vpn. hmm...oh well, good things don't last forever... =:p

Similar theory, let's say that your home has a wireless router and your PC/Laptops are successfully connected to your router with Excellent signal strength, but yet your net is slow, that's because the ISP's network is congested. Same goes for this case, you may be connected to the telco's network at 4 or 5 bars but still, the surfing speed is slow,, the same as getting 'Network Busy' at a crowded place when you are connected full bar. The internet is one big shared bandwidth reservior!

Kyururu
01-09-2007, 12:42 AM
any experts here?
my maxmobile can't seem to be able to access to servers with port like 6000 and 7790.
called starhub and the officer told me something about removing the proxy thing but he also not sure where is it.
any clue?

miltongoh
01-09-2007, 11:10 AM
If I were to buy the Huawei E270 from starhub, will I be able to insert my singtel sim card in and use? :)

ah_bo0
01-09-2007, 11:28 AM
yup u can use other service provider card as the huawei card is not locked.

miltongoh
01-09-2007, 11:51 AM
yup u can use other service provider card as the huawei card is not locked.

Thank you very muchies~~~ :)

tekster
02-09-2007, 05:11 PM
here's my speedtest.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/180970129.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Just got MaxMobile today.

FireHobbit
02-09-2007, 08:00 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/181018698.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Jurong West

First day on this network.. signal level 2 bar.. :s7:

SoSongkc
02-09-2007, 10:53 PM

Can SH mobile be connected to a 3G broadband router too?
If yes, may I know what brand of router and model.
Thanks.

emilex
03-09-2007, 01:30 AM
Just wondering if any bros here got their first MaxMobile bill already? I think they're billing me like S$62,000 for the unlimited 3.5G data usage. Anyone received a similar bill?

ah_bo0
03-09-2007, 02:24 AM
hi guys, anyone tried this huawei modem on a mac running windows OS?
does it work? :s11:

charlie0904
03-09-2007, 08:40 AM
2 things i heard from the promoter,
CANNOT use with mac
CANNOT connect to routers
very sad.....

Btw I checked with the starhub technical hotline, they say that the connection speed varies. Just like using a hp. If 2 many ppl at the area.... ur connection will be........but actual test reviews is important.
So Maxmobile users, any comments on the connection.

PS: Noted late....Miss the Free Creative Zen Vision M WAAAaaAHhhh~~~

yxyxx8
03-09-2007, 09:42 AM
i got it working with my ibook =D
and they told me it wont work with mac os. walao. =D

tekster
03-09-2007, 09:44 AM
Just wondering if any bros here got their first MaxMobile bill already? I think they're billing me like S$62,000 for the unlimited 3.5G data usage. Anyone received a similar bill?

wa, wat u do sia?

when u sign for it one?

kennyboy
03-09-2007, 11:47 AM
CANNOT use with mac
very sad.....

Btw I checked with the starhub technical hotline, they say that the connection speed varies. Just like using a hp. If 2 many ppl at the area.... ur connection will be........but actual test reviews is important.

1) mac can lah
2) need a 3g router lor...otherwise how to plug in the router?

Zen vision M? forget it lah...u know how early the queue start if you wanted to get it?

kennyboy
03-09-2007, 11:47 AM
wa, wat u do sia?

when u sign for it one?
wah...ask him scan the bill let us see leh...

anyway got usage cap so no worries lah...at most 95+

YongRong
03-09-2007, 12:38 PM
Can SH mobile be connected to a 3G broadband router too?
If yes, may I know what brand of router and model.
Thanks.

Currently only M1 offers 3G Router =)

YongRong
03-09-2007, 12:43 PM
CANNOT use with mac
very sad.....

At a glance...

Starhub:
Mac: NO
Router: NO

Singtel:
Mac: YES

M1:
Router: YES ($10.70 rental per month)

rebook
03-09-2007, 01:45 PM
Singtel doesn't support Vista. :(

liangtam
03-09-2007, 01:48 PM
M1 offers rental router does not mean you cannot buy one for use with Starhub/SingTel!!!
Theres the D-Link and Linksys router for you to connect your HSDPA PC Card or the HuaWei E220 USB adapter.

kakaBoBo
03-09-2007, 02:01 PM
can i request for a binding of my phone number with the singnet plan.
i can then use a bluetooth network with my laptop if i need to.

regards

SoSongkc
03-09-2007, 02:28 PM
M1 offers rental router does not mean you cannot buy one for use with Starhub/SingTel!!!
Theres the D-Link and Linksys router for you to connect your HSDPA PC Card or the HuaWei E220 USB adapter.

What are the models for D-link and linksys.
can advise?
thanks.

zonefree2000
03-09-2007, 03:08 PM
where to get the drivers for mac ?

zippy79
03-09-2007, 03:49 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/181431489.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

this is mine. (just tested it) using it with my IBM x31.

for those with DC problem... maybe bcos usb not enough power?

yxyxx8
03-09-2007, 06:57 PM
At a glance...

Starhub:
Mac: NO

Singtel:

M1:
Router: YES ($10.70 rental per month)

if you download the driver from huawei, and run huawei.app before connecting, you actually can use it already, will post a tutorial later.

emilex
03-09-2007, 09:14 PM
wa, wat u do sia?

when u sign for it one?

Signed up on 4th Aug @Plaza Singapura. This is taken from the PDF version of the bill:

http://temasek.biz/bill-4.gif

Success
03-09-2007, 09:17 PM
What happened?

yxyxx8
03-09-2007, 09:58 PM
what's the Outside GEE! usage? did u connect to something other than Gee 3G/GPRS?

anyway, you use it on windows? or phone?

SoSongkc
03-09-2007, 10:10 PM
Have you contact starhub?
Is it some mistake? Must be right. 50K ++
It's crazy...

ah_fu
03-09-2007, 10:13 PM
is it starhub system error? 57k is HUGE..... you 24by7 download????

Simon1982
03-09-2007, 10:15 PM
Signed up on 4th Aug @Plaza Singapura. This is taken from the PDF version of the bill:

wah....how they calculate??? unlimted plan = unlimited figure billing????

Mobile_Crazy
03-09-2007, 10:26 PM
18650 Mb 1004KB???WTF??? you 24/7downloading things ah?? what sial lah... unlimited plan=unlimited billing???

and what's outside gee and inside gee???

yxyxx8
03-09-2007, 10:29 PM
ok found out. outside gee means u surf content outside Starhub Gee Sites. simple as that. which is duh, we sign up to surf the WWW

forumics.net
03-09-2007, 10:42 PM

don't be stupid, all you need to do is just call them and tell them that you have unlmited access.
most probably they did not tag in the 100% discount. starhub will just waive away all gprs usage charges.
don't try to make a mountain out of a molehill and try to sell your story cause you have no story at all

all you have done here is to indicate to us how reliable MM Unlimted is and that is good to know.

forumics.net
03-09-2007, 10:47 PM
anybody knows where can i purchase a router to work with this mm unlimited?

fatsonado
03-09-2007, 11:18 PM
The commex offer still hv? If i use this maxmobile to play online games like wow, is it possible?

Success
03-09-2007, 11:28 PM
Can someone confirm if the unlimited plan is for all type of online traffic?

How about FTP?

emilex
03-09-2007, 11:44 PM
don't be stupid, all you need to do is just call them and tell them that you have unlmited access.
most probably they did not tag in the 100% discount. starhub will just waive away all gprs usage charges.
don't try to make a mountain out of a molehill and try to sell your story cause you have no story at all

all you have done here is to indicate to us how reliable MM Unlimted is and that is good to know.

Oh so now you're smart. Who wouldn't realize it's a system glitch and call them after receiving such a bill? Then one will have to go through their billing food chain, finally get to talk to a manager, and they said they'll need 3-7 days to investigate... after which, it's confirmed to be their error, but they're unable to cancel the wrongfully charged amount, and what they can do is to waive off the charges next month. Ouch. As my bills are on recurring cc payment, I raised my question on charges due to unsuccessful debit -- the CS advised me to call the bank to terminate the recurring credit card billing, and the bank says the agreement is between me and starhub, the bank cannot do anything. But when the charges are made, they will be rejected as it's way off the credit limit. Called starhub again, and they had a "high-call-volume" day on Saturday, and said someone will "call me back". Billing is on the 9th. Have a feeling there will still be a line of charges due to unsuccessful debit payment on the next bill.

Now that's stupid.

And I'm not trying to sell my story. Just to prevent some jerks who take the bill claim to be theirs -- so I may as well mark it before posting. The texts were just for fun. If you don't find it funny -- my bad.

Cheers and peace.

emilex
03-09-2007, 11:46 PM
Can someone confirm if the unlimited plan is for all type of online traffic?

How about FTP?

Yes, all 3.5/3/2.5/GPRS data traffic are supposedly free. However if you send SMS via the Starhub Dailer UI, that will be payable.

forumics.net
03-09-2007, 11:52 PM
Oh so now you're smart. Who wouldn't realize it's a system glitch and call them after receiving such a bill? Then one will have to go through their billing food chain, finally get to talk to a manager, and they said they'll need 3-7 days to investigate... after which, it's confirmed to be their error, but they're unable to cancel the wrongfully charged amount, and what they can do is to waive off the charges next month. Ouch. As my bills are on recurring cc payment, I raised my question on charges due to unsuccessful debit -- the CS advised me to call the bank to terminate the recurring credit card billing, and the bank says the agreement is between me and starhub, the bank cannot do anything. But when the charges are made, they will be rejected as it's way off the credit limit. Called starhub again, and they had a "high-call-volume" day on Saturday, and said someone will "call me back". Billing is on the 9th. Have a feeling there will still be a line of charges due to unsuccessful debit payment on the next bill.

Now that's stupid.

And I'm not trying to sell my story. Just to prevent some jerks who take the bill claim to be theirs -- so I may as well mark it before posting. The texts were just for fun. If you don't find it funny -- my bad.

Cheers and peace.

first off, if anybody wants to take the bill and claim it to be theirs, they would not have anything else to prove other than the jpg image. your reason does not have any creditability in itself.

secondly, this is very obviously a billing mistake and thus there was no need to speak with the manager. obviously you are trying to make a mountain out of a moehill and try to get more out of this unfortunate mistake, starhub doesn't deserve to have customers like you

thirdly a real man will admit his mistakes. for your sake i hope that you are naturally a female.

to add on, which credit card company will allow a 60k deduction? any fool will know this and would not even bring up the issue in the first place. unless of course, you are more foolish than the fool i'm using in my expression.

Success
03-09-2007, 11:53 PM
FTP unlimited also?

confused
03-09-2007, 11:55 PM

Now that's stupid.

Cheers and peace.

There's a lesson for everyone. Don't pay your phone bills using the recurring credit card facility. Even if you want to earn points, or get a minimum in your transactions, you should just credit when you recv the bill.

This is the same for Giro payments too.

Success
04-09-2007, 12:00 AM
Don't think it's emilex fault here.

I don't agree with profiting it part, but emilex should screw the billing department upside down.

He has the right to do so.

He has a right to inform others.

And, the public has a right to know.

Maybe emilex can write to ST forum.

Paid for unlimited plan and get a $60,000 bill. It's ridiculous.

forumics.net
04-09-2007, 12:12 AM
it is only human to make mistakes.
if you want to penalise others for simple mistakes then you should take a look at yourself first.
unless you are perfect then i have nothing to say. but to pinpoint on a single mistake and try to profit from it, i hope you understand the meaning of karma.

Success
04-09-2007, 12:17 AM
So it's his karma for getting this bill?

If you receive a 60k bill from a company, will you call the company and say thank you?

60k not simple mistake.

If simple mistake can be 60k, then i also need to check my bill carefully every month.

forumics.net
04-09-2007, 12:28 AM
the very simple mistake is that the 100% data discount was not added in. he could have called starhub and just informed them about this rather than to make a big hoo ha and try to sell his story to the new paper(cause straits times won't buy this story)

karma for having to make a moutain out of a molehill and trying to profit from a simple mistake.

Success
04-09-2007, 12:44 AM
"don't be stupid"

"this is very obviously a billing mistake"

"there was no need to speak with the manager."

"only human to make mistakes."

"understand the meaning of karma."

"the very simple mistake"

"just informed them about this"

"simple mistake."

:s13: hmmm

YongRong
04-09-2007, 12:54 AM

Yeap yeap. You raised a valid point there. Haha~ But dun need that 3 x ! lah... Sounds hostile =X

Anyway, will need to get the PCMCIA card also in order to use with the router that you buy also. Have to weigh the total cost of buying your own router + PCMCIA card also lor. $10.70/month actually i personally find not too bad.

But of course, if you buy your own router and it goes faulty after a year, got to buy another one lor. If rental wise, you didn't 'abuse' the device (water corrosion, fall from a height, etc), you can get an exchange?

My brother in law's E220 from M1 actually stopped functioning but M1 did a free device change without any hesitation. Thumbs up to M1 Cust Service!

emilex
04-09-2007, 12:59 AM
first off, if anybody wants to take the bill and claim it to be theirs, they would not have anything else to prove other than the jpg image. your reason does not have any creditability in itself.

secondly, this is very obviously a billing mistake and thus there was no need to speak with the manager. obviously you are trying to make a mountain out of a moehill and try to get more out of this unfortunate mistake, starhub doesn't deserve to have customers like you

thirdly a real man will admit his mistakes. for your sake i hope that you are naturally a female.

to add on, which credit card company will allow a 60k deduction? any fool will know this and would not even bring up the issue in the first place. unless of course, you are more foolish than the fool i'm using in my expression.

The bill was painted and marked such that they cannot be reversed -- no one will be able to include the unmarked billl in their blog/forum or newspaper and only Starhub and I would have the clean version.

Secondly, every customer will know the bill is a mistake. But Starhub's system obviously doesn't. You can make it a fuss at the very first instance, or you can wait till their legal team start sending out legal letters before you take action -- your choice. Companies can make mistakes, and if it isn't big enough, I don't think they'll have the resources to spot them. I chose the first path. And I don't think you are in any position to criticize that.

Also, when I called 1633, the first-tier CS was unable to help. Bear in mind this is a relatively new service. That's why my call was forwarded, and re-forwarded to a manager. I didn't ask for that. In fact, I'd be happy if they're able to settle it with a single email.

And, just in case you're unaware, there are many credit cards with limits over 80k, as there are way many people with monthly income of more than 40k. Just because you and I don't have it, doesn't mean all cards will auto-reject transactions above 60k. If you have an auto-deduction agreement with starhub, and if your card's credit limit is not over, the amount will be charged. Even it is a 62k bill.

Also, in the event of an unsuccessful debit, be it over-limit (for cards) or insufficient balance (for GIRO), both the bank and Starhub will charge you a fee. That 2x$45 (or so) maybe "moehill" for you, but to me that's still hard-earned cash. And I wouldn't want to have to call them again just to get that admin charge waived off in the subsequent bill.

The original intention was just to bring up the issue to warn other MM users. That was until your reply tone which turns it ugly.

Everything can be trivial and stupid -- until it happens to you.

Thank you for reading. No further comments will be posted.

Success
04-09-2007, 01:11 AM
Everything can be trivial and stupid -- until it happens to you.

Agree. I find it weird that he/she is so bloody defensive.

Any normal person who receives a wrong $60,000 bill will not find it "a simple mistake."

I would definitely talk to the manger and the manager's ear is going to ring for some time.

ah_bo0
04-09-2007, 01:40 AM
i got it working with my ibook =D
and they told me it wont work with mac os. walao. =D

how u make it work with mac os?

and did u try using the modem on mac running windows vista?

alex22
04-09-2007, 01:49 AM

woooh, a personal attack...
must watch if there is flame show...

and corporate CC are able to have really high credit limits... if not, there's always overdraft charges to fall back on!

my god... their billing system had a minor screw up i giess

alex22
04-09-2007, 01:53 AM
So it's his karma for getting this bill?

If you receive a 60k bill from a company, will you call the company and say thank you?

60k not simple mistake.

If simple mistake can be 60k, then i also need to check my bill carefully every month.
in the land of the peanut, 60k is just a couple of peanuts

life_line
04-09-2007, 02:55 AM
I need some suggestions.

Any suggestion? Thanks.

read this before... dun know if it is relevant or safe. dug up for you.

http://forums.vr-zone.com/showthread.php?t=149854

Success
04-09-2007, 10:48 AM
Thanks, but I don't want to do that to my sim and data cards.

I'm waiting for true number portability to make my decision.

I already got MaxMobile unlimited data line. I was considering getting a new Starhub mobile line and subscribe to the unlimited as a VAS, in addition to my data line. Or, I can buy a UMPC to use with my current data line.

Since both options require carrying 2 devices, I am more towards a UMPC now.

ah_bo0
04-09-2007, 09:03 PM
anyone having spd problems with the HSPA?

my gprs connection is faster :s27:

http://img410.imageshack.us/img410/7333/hspazj7.jpg

saggydog
04-09-2007, 09:05 PM
Hi does anyone known what will be the charges for SMS sent out by the 3G data sim ??

ah_bo0
04-09-2007, 09:06 PM
Hi does anyone known what will be the charges for SMS sent out by the 3G data sim ??

$0.05 per sms

picturehouse2005
04-09-2007, 09:50 PM

a billing mistake may cause the amount to be deducted if the owner doesn't see the error in time. if its a giro transaction, the owner would lose interest and opportunity cost on his money. will the telco then offer due compensation? what about compensation for the money and time value lost in calling them to resolve the matter? that amount of time could have resulted in massive losses for top executives. will the telco compensate for that?

by the way, credit card companies do keep an eye out for unusual transactions, but there is no guarantee such a transaction will not go thru, especially if the amount was not so astronomical. it was based on a recurring charge and done in singapore. in all likelihood, the heuristics may not detect an anomaly.

as such, i think the telco is clearly at fault. they need to apologise and at least offer compensation for the time and money involved in resolving the matter and the owner did us a public service by showing us how bad it really is.

kennyboy
05-09-2007, 08:25 AM
crap...can't get any 3g reception at Tiong Bahru area. Base station down?

tekster
05-09-2007, 10:49 AM
$0.05 per sms

how u send sms with the data plan? unless you send from online.

mine is data plan only. unable to make voice calls. i tried to sms but it failed.

Kyururu
05-09-2007, 11:18 AM
whenever i plug in the huawei modem and tried to connect i get this error - Error 633 - the modem (or other connecting device) is already in use or is not configured properly.

the only way to resolve this is to reboot.
any1 else has this problem too?

charlie0904
05-09-2007, 11:37 AM
how the connection until now? any comments? :o

tekster
05-09-2007, 04:59 PM
so far no problems for me. installation has no problems. maybe you should call SH technical support to see if they can help you.

Connection wise, acceptable la.

TopGun
05-09-2007, 06:03 PM
the very simple mistake is that the 100% data discount was not added in. he could have called starhub and just informed them about this rather than to make a big hoo ha and try to sell his story to the new paper(cause straits times won't buy this story)

karma for having to make a moutain out of a molehill and trying to profit from a simple mistake.Point is such a mistake should not have happened.

It's a blessing in disguise the error is so obvious at 60k.

What if it's $6 and the overcharging goes on for a few month? While the customer should check his bill, onus is on the provider to ensure a robust and accurate system. If such an error can happen, how can we be sure other calculations are correct?

miltongoh
05-09-2007, 06:47 PM
Point is such a mistake should not have happened.

It's a blessing in disguise the error is so obvious at 60k.

What if it's $6 and the overcharging goes on for a few month? While the customer should check his bill, onus is on the provider to ensure a robust and accurate system. If such an error can happen, how can we be sure other calculations are correct?

Yes, totally agree that such error should not happen. Imagine if every user was charged $0.60 more, how many users are there that are under hub? :D

emilex
05-09-2007, 10:44 PM
how u send sms with the data plan? unless you send from online.

mine is data plan only. unable to make voice calls. i tried to sms but it failed.

Can send SMS with data plan, only cannot make voice calls.
SMS can be sent within the Starhub dialer, or by inserting the SIM card into a GSM handset.

pkchukiss
05-09-2007, 10:54 PM
emilex, please let us know of any further developments to this. It will be interesting to hear how the Customer Service responds to this issue.

emilex
05-09-2007, 11:10 PM
emilex, please let us know of any further developments to this. It will be interesting to hear how the Customer Service responds to this issue.

For the StarHub CS team, it's case-closed. They will waive off (Cr) the amount in the next billing cycle. Note that they are unable to do anything to the current billing cycle. Any credit/waiver/auto-deduct-termination will only take effect in the next billing cycle, as usual.

So what will happen on the 9th Sep is: the SH system will still attempt to charge 62k to my credit card account. DBS will decline the transaction. Then a duction failure fee will be incurred in my next SH bill, and the outstanding 62k from the current bill will be brought forward to the next bill, where they will credit back the wrongfully charged amount to offset the peanuty per-KB data charges. Then I'll have to call 1633 again to ask for transfer-failure fee waiver.

In addition, as their system is going to show that my payment lapses, I will not be able to subscribe a new service from SH next month till the 2-month worth of charges are paid, eventually.

Just the thought of the above is making me sleepy. Probably should play some game now. Warhawk, anyone?

tekster
05-09-2007, 11:14 PM
Can send SMS with data plan, only cannot make voice calls.
SMS can be sent within the Starhub dialer, or by inserting the SIM card into a GSM handset.

yea, that's what i did. i inserted it into a GSM phone and it doesn't send.

I've tried both Singtel and Starhub and neither is possible.

So wondering how u got yrs to send.

Gundam_seed
06-09-2007, 03:03 AM
just read todays paper those existing mol user can enjoy 50% discount on the mobile plan. only 30+
http://www.starhub.com/emailblast/mobile/maxmobile/index.html

beano
06-09-2007, 09:38 AM
best ever!!

babyangel
07-09-2007, 10:48 PM
For the StarHub CS team, it's case-closed. They will waive off (Cr) the amount in the next billing cycle. Note that they are unable to do anything to the current billing cycle. Any credit/waiver/auto-deduct-termination will only take effect in the next billing cycle, as usual.

So what will happen on the 9th Sep is: the SH system will still attempt to charge 62k to my credit card account. DBS will decline the transaction. Then a duction failure fee will be incurred in my next SH bill, and the outstanding 62k from the current bill will be brought forward to the next bill, where they will credit back the wrongfully charged amount to offset the peanuty per-KB data charges. Then I'll have to call 1633 again to ask for transfer-failure fee waiver.

In addition, as their system is going to show that my payment lapses, I will not be able to subscribe a new service from SH next month till the 2-month worth of charges are paid, eventually.

Just the thought of the above is making me sleepy. Probably should play some game now. Warhawk, anyone?

1. the waiver is something that has to be done, no questions asked - cos it's such an obvious mistake. guess it's kinda logical that they have to wait for the next bill cycle to reflect the waiver cos they can't manually adjust the bill. come to think abt it, there won't be much integrity in the bill if it can be manually amended, right?

2. SH doesn't charge recurring pymt deduction failure fees, so no worries there! maybe u can suspend your credit card (tell dbs u misplaced it and then call them after 9 sept to say u've found ur card) so that dbs won't charge u for failed deduction either? hmm..

3. i'm sure if u really need to subscribe for a new SH service, u can always call 1633 and ask for exceptional handling cos after all it is their billing mistake..

just my 2 cents worth.. no hard feelings! :s13:

leogeo
08-09-2007, 12:11 AM
is this for home internet?

where can i find more info on this plan? it's not on starhub website leh?

or was it a special at Comex only?

FireHobbit
08-09-2007, 01:19 AM
is this for home internet?

where can i find more info on this plan? it's not on starhub website leh?

or was it a special at Comex only?

The promotion is found only on Comex for the 50 %off and second year free de...

but 50 % off maxonline customer now can also have.. :s12: :s12:

FireHobbit
08-09-2007, 01:21 AM
So far how many have been using gprs at their area? me area the 3g only 2 bar at the window.. keep switching back to gprs.. waste money sia..

Gundam_seed
08-09-2007, 01:40 AM
So far how many have been using gprs at their area? me area the 3g only 2 bar at the window.. keep switching back to gprs.. waste money sia..
thought is unlimited? GPRS different charges?

FireHobbit
08-09-2007, 02:00 AM
Nope gprs is no charges.. but thes speed is 56kpbs... haha...

littleprincey
08-09-2007, 10:45 AM
The promotion is found only on Comex for the 50 %off and second year free de...

but 50 % off maxonline customer now can also have.. :s12: :s12:

Never follow Apple. Like that first-time subscribers always lose out...

Not to mentioned that they charge me $1000+ for first month "unlimited usage" and made me waited more than 1/2 hour on the phone to confirm that the bill was a mistake.

VickyToh
08-09-2007, 10:30 PM
Potential user of SH maxmobile should take note that SH can't deliver stable full speed at 7.2mbps unlike those of Singnet ADSL....

In fact the MaxMobile is only useful for surfing web pages or sending emails only... downloading large files and you will probably encounter classical problems of Slow, Unstable, Sudden Hang problems that have equally plague both M1 and singtel's mobile broadband network....

SH's Mobile broadband modem is a "newer" upgraded unit from Huawei and its is still "under trial" and therefore not stable as yet.... still experimenting....you know...

Hope SH won't need a decade to root out all those speed and stability issues.... otherwise existing users will not hesitate to terminate their contract as soon as they can do so... I'm very sure and certain of that!

forumics.net
08-09-2007, 10:45 PM
Potential user of SH maxmobile should take note that SH can't deliver stable full speed at 7.2mbps unlike those of Singnet ADSL....

In fact the MaxMobile is only useful for surfing web pages or sending emails only... downloading large files and you will probably encounter classical problems of Slow, Unstable, Sudden Hang problems that have equally plague both M1 and singtel's mobile broadband network....

SH's Mobile broadband modem is a "newer" upgraded unit from Huawei and its is still "under trial" and therefore not stable as yet.... still experimenting....you know...

Hope SH won't need a decade to root out all those speed and stability issues.... otherwise existing users will not hesitate to terminate their contract as soon as they can do so... I'm very sure and certain of that!

the fact that you are comparing wireless against a wired technology makes your whole speech worthless

it is like telling us that 56k is much slower than 6mbps broadband.
yes we know that already.

VickyToh
08-09-2007, 11:21 PM
the fact that you are comparing wireless against a wired technology makes your whole speech worthless

it is like telling us that 56k is much slower than 6mbps broadband.
yes we know that already.
My contention is that: If SH/M1 or Singtel marketed their "Broadband" services.. be it Wired or Wireless... than they should at least be able to deliver at least near upper 80% of the "Advertised Speed", and NOT "NarrowBand" slow crawling speed as it is right now....

Their BB Speed figure is kind of misleading to the general public....

The technology is made available... and it's up to the service providers to improve their wireless network hardware and coverage....

forumics.net
09-09-2007, 12:00 AM
bb speed is always advertised as maximum speed
no public server in the world will be able to give you anything more than 5mbps, think about this, if the server is currently serving 100 people, the speed required will be 500mbps already!

anyway this being a wireless technology, it can only be expected that the teleco will never be able to acheive the maximum speed advertised, unless like singtel or m1, where they advertise 1.5mbps however the actual speed they are giving might be 2 or 2.5mbps then naturally you'll feel better

hangyong
09-09-2007, 12:13 AM

erm.... if you are unaware.... there are MANY cards out there without credit limit one, ok?

Amex Centurion is one of them, just FYI.

Anyway, I dun see why cannot he/she do anything that he likes and does not harm others/society....

whats your problem? PMS?

hangyong
09-09-2007, 12:16 AM
bb speed is always advertised as maximum speed
no public server in the world will be able to give you anything more than 5mbps, think about this, if the server is currently serving 100 people, the speed required will be 500mbps already!

anyway this being a wireless technology, it can only be expected that the teleco will never be able to acheive the maximum speed advertised, unless like singtel or m1, where they advertise 1.5mbps however the actual speed they are giving might be 2 or 2.5mbps then naturally you'll feel better

hope you do check out the bandwidth of youtube.... although owned by google... its used FOC, and thus can be deem public, right?

and since when did singnet/m1 give more speed than advertised? if you are unaware... thats sync speed, and that does not mean you are getting that speed because you are still capped at the speed you paid for at the backend.

liangtam
09-09-2007, 12:51 AM
forumics.net = jerekkkkkk
The ex-Starhub staff

WestGuy
09-09-2007, 01:07 AM

Are you even using this service?
I'm usually getting around this speed:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/182971964.png

Yes, they don't possibly deliver 7.2mbps, but they do deliver 3.6mbps.
I'm downloading huge files at good speeds without any disconnections

FireHobbit
09-09-2007, 01:30 AM
Are you even using this service?
I'm usually getting around this speed:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/182971964.png

Yes, they don't possibly deliver 7.2mbps, but they do deliver 3.6mbps.
I'm downloading huge files at good speeds without any disconnections

I am not covered under 3g network in Jurong WEst... anyway to ask them to cover my area? :s12: :s12:

WestGuy
09-09-2007, 01:49 AM
I am not covered under 3g network in Jurong WEst... anyway to ask them to cover my area? :s12: :s12:

FYI, i'm in jurong west too and that reading was just taken ;)

tekster
09-09-2007, 08:13 AM
me too also in j.west.

Gundam_seed
09-09-2007, 08:46 AM
btw using the huawei upload speed is faster than wired so thus faster transfer?

VickyToh
09-09-2007, 10:39 AM
forumics.net = jerekkkkkk
The ex-Starhub staff

Yeah..... seems to me too that forumics.net = Ex-Starhub Staff.....

EverReady to defence Starhub as though he/she is their share holder....

Stupid thing that while trying to defence SH, he/she had quoted out of the air that M1 and Singnet deliver "faster speed" than advertisied to end user.....

And now my dear forumics.net.... if that's the case, then why can't SH do the same "to please its customer" too????

7.2Mbps???? That's bull-****!!!!!!!

Give SH maxmobile users a Minimum Baseline speed of at least that of the Wired ADSL 3Mbps before even trying to market SH MM as "Broadband" mah......

Probably our CASE should look into this matter too?

littleprincey
09-09-2007, 03:54 PM
I have already report to CASE

After the COMEX fair 's free 2nd year offer, I am feeling damm pissed so might as well report them to CASE for the slow access speed. Sent a mass circulation mail asking my friends not to sign up Maxmobile already.

FireHobbit
09-09-2007, 04:20 PM

After the COMEX fair 's free 2nd year offer, I am feeling damm pissed so might as well report them to CASE for the slow access speed. Sent a mass circulation mail asking my friends not to sign up Maxmobile already.
As in your compain is abt no coverage or slow speed? what is your signal level>?http://www.smiley-channel.de/grafiken/smiley/technik/smiley-channel.de_technik014.gif

tekster
09-09-2007, 04:37 PM
slow access speed? why is it slow? i think it's ok le.

i am using singtel bb and sh. so can do comparison.

VickyToh
10-09-2007, 04:41 PM
slow access speed? why is it slow? i think it's ok le.

i am using singtel bb and sh. so can do comparison.
Wait a minute......

Are you using the HuaWei E220/E270 "True" HSPA Wireless Modem?????? or you're just a user of Singnet's ADSL & Starhub's Cable services?????

The comparison here is HSPA Wireless versus Wired ADSL/Cable....

tekster
10-09-2007, 05:23 PM
Wait a minute......

Are you using the HuaWei E220/E270 "True" HSPA Wireless Modem?????? or you're just a user of Singnet's ADSL & Starhub's Cable services?????

The comparison here is HSPA Wireless versus Wired ADSL/Cable....

sorry for the mix up.

I'm using E620 (Singtel) and E270 (Starhub) 3G mobile bb.

Not 3G vs wired ADSL/Cable.

xyzabcxx
11-09-2007, 05:21 PM

Can you check if the subscription can be transferred? I will be happy to takeover your COMEX Maxmobile unlimited plan :D

rebook
11-09-2007, 09:51 PM
When connected, most of the time I will get onto HSPA network, only very seldom I will be on HSUPA network. Wonder if everyone is the same, as on HSPA network, I noticed the limit is about 3.6Mbps, instead of 7.2Mbps and the actual download speed seldom exceeds 500KB/s

Anyone ever hit higher speed with HSUPA network?

WestGuy
11-09-2007, 11:04 PM
When connected, most of the time I will get onto HSPA network, only very seldom I will be on HSUPA network. Wonder if everyone is the same, as on HSPA network, I noticed the limit is about 3.6Mbps, instead of 7.2Mbps and the actual download speed seldom exceeds 500KB/s

High-Speed Packet Access (HSPA) is a collection of mobile telephony protocols that extend and improve the performance of existing UMTS protocols. Two standards HSDPA and HSUPA have been established and a further standard HSOPA is being proposed.

HSDPA and HSUPA are HSPA standards :D

rebook
12-09-2007, 09:36 AM
High-Speed Packet Access (HSPA) is a collection of mobile telephony protocols that extend and improve the performance of existing UMTS protocols. Two standards HSDPA and HSUPA have been established and a further standard HSOPA is being proposed.

HSDPA and HSUPA are HSPA standards :D

I am well aware of what you've mentioned

But in reality, when you established the session during the starhub program, it will show which network you connected, so far there are 4 possibilities

GPRS StarHub
WCDMA StarHub
HSPA StarHub
HSUPA StarHub

Obviously HSPA and HSUPA here are referring to different things. And what do you get normally? HSPA or HSUPA?

saggydog
12-09-2007, 08:35 PM

I nev get HSUPA network and HSPA is not very fast

Here is my speed on HSPA
http://www.speedtest.net/result/183907960.png

rebook
12-09-2007, 09:00 PM
Thanks. Similar to what I get.

BTW, today I noticed HSDPA Starhub also appeared for a short while, but before I can do the testing, it went away and becomes HSPA again.

VickyToh
12-09-2007, 10:06 PM
Thanks. Similar to what I get.

BTW, today I noticed HSDPA Starhub also appeared for a short while, but before I can do the testing, it went away and becomes HSPA again.
If it is indeed true that there's this always available lower speed HSPA STARHUB and sometimes available higher speed HSUPA STARHUB....

Then it seems very likely that SH is still at the stage of testing or commissioning thier NOT YET READY INFRASTRUCTURE.... even though SH already marketed their new product.... Fishy Right???

Existing Maxmobile users are then SH's pool of "beta product testers".... paying fees to help StarHub/HuaWei in experimenting some sort of new and untested technologies...

Any SH insiders to comment on this?

tekster
12-09-2007, 10:59 PM
If it is indeed true that there's this always available lower speed HSPA STARHUB and sometimes available higher speed HSUPA STARHUB....

Then it seems very likely that SH is still at the stage of testing or commissioning thier NOT YET READY INFRASTRUCTURE.... even though SH already marketed their new product.... Fishy Right???

Existing Maxmobile users are then SH's pool of "beta product testers".... paying fees to help StarHub/HuaWei in experimenting some sort of new and untested technologies...

Any SH insiders to comment on this?

does it really matter if you're getting HSPA or HSUPA?

Even for Singtel MBB, there're times when I get GPRS (!!!!!!!) and not 3G.

VickyToh
12-09-2007, 11:17 PM
does it really matter if you're getting HSPA or HSUPA?

Even for Singtel MBB, there're times when I get GPRS (!!!!!!!) and not 3G.
Maximum Data Transfer Speed or throuhput you'll be getting is the different i guessed..... its like 56k dial up versus ADSL Broadband..... Sure enough our good old GSM and GPRS is slow as compared to newly developed 3G/3.5G HSPA.....

It therefore does matter much somehow... especially if you're supposed to have subscribed and paid for connecting to a premium network and yet you're only given connection to an old-slower network at most time.... not worth it right?

tekster
13-09-2007, 10:00 AM
Maximum Data Transfer Speed or throuhput you'll be getting is the different i guessed..... its like 56k dial up versus ADSL Broadband..... Sure enough our good old GSM and GPRS is slow as compared to newly developed 3G/3.5G HSPA.....

It therefore does matter much somehow... especially if you're supposed to have subscribed and paid for connecting to a premium network and yet you're only given connection to an old-slower network at most time.... not worth it right?

aren't we always bottle necked by overseas servers?

if we're always on GPRS instead of HSPA, then that will be something to complain about.

If it's always disconnecting, then we should really shoot them.

somehow, as long as it's stable and giving reasonable speeds, i've nothing much to say but just wait a while. even singtel gives unstable connections from time to time.

littleprincey
13-09-2007, 07:04 PM
An extra piece of news for you guys. The contract is non-transferable. I should not have sign up.

Today Starhub CSO called me regarding the wrong invoice. They charged $1000+ to my bill and I called to report the mistake. When the CSO called, her attitude is damm bad...machiam like they send me the wrong bill it is my fault.

wherehouse
13-09-2007, 07:10 PM
An extra piece of news for you guys. The contract is non-transferable. I should not have sign up.

Today Starhub CSO called me regarding the wrong invoice. They charged $1000+ to my bill and I called to report the mistake. When the CSO called, her attitude is damm bad...machiam like they send me the wrong bill it is my fault.
I remember seeing some thread about being charged for something like 10K for the MXMU service...

tekster
13-09-2007, 07:19 PM

sorry for this dumb question, but what has the contract got to do with anything?

how come they charged you wrongly? they never waive off the data charge?

tekster
13-09-2007, 07:20 PM
I remember seeing some thread about being charged for something like 10K for the MXMU service...

it's 62k bro. heh

wherehouse
13-09-2007, 07:30 PM
it's 62k bro. heh
oh 62K. alright. thanks for the correction.
I've only got a large bill for 40K once... 62K.. lifetime high

wherehouse
13-09-2007, 07:33 PM
I nev get HSUPA network and HSPA is not very fast

Here is my speed on HSPA
http://www.speedtest.net/result/183907960.png
jseus christ, 4 digit on a mobile connection still not fast...

Host end limiting , it is also like that, LLST regardless of hsupa/dpa