PDA

View Full Version : Fans Reviews

adrianlee
12-08-2007, 10:17 PM
SPCR's Fan Roundup #5: Attack of the 120 Scythes (http://www.silentpcreview.com/article832-page1.html)
SPCR's Fan Roundup #4: 120mm Fans II (http://www.silentpcreview.com/article739-page1.html)
SPCR's Fan Round-Up #3: 92mm Fans (http://www.silentpcreview.com/article720-page1.html)
SPCR's Fan Round-Up #2: 120mm Fans (http://www.silentpcreview.com/article695-page1.html)
80x25mm Fan Round-Up #1 (http://www.silentpcreview.com/article689-page1.html)
SPCR's recommended fan list (http://www.silentpcreview.com/article63-page1.html)
Anatomy of the Silent Fan (http://www.silentpcreview.com/article690-page1.html)
Massive Fan Shootout: 25 Products (http://www.digit-life.com/articles2/cpu/fan-massive-shootout-apr2k7-part2-page1.html)

adrianlee
14-08-2007, 02:54 PM
Scythe Minebea Cooling Fans Review
The first thing that you'll probably notice is that the Scythe Minebea range comes with the moniker - 'Equipped with Silent IC'. Well what is 'Silent IC, I hear you ask...?
According to the Scythe website, 'Silent IC' is:
These case fans come with special designed IC for PC usage and this successfully reduces the typical switching noise from a case fan.
http://www.overclock3d.net/reviews.php?type=3&id=171&page=1&desc=scythe_minebea_cooling_fans

SPCR - The quiet fan list
Noctua NF-S12-1200 RPM
Noctua NF-S12-800 RPM
Nexus Real Silent Case Fan D12SL-12 1,000 RPM
Scythe S-Flex SFF21F 1,600 RPM
Scythe S-Flex SFF21E 1,200 RPM
Scythe S-Flex SFF21D 800 RPM
Scythe Kama Flow SA1225FDB12L 1,000 RPM
http://www.silentpcreview.com/article63-page2.html

Scythe "Minebea NMB Silent IC Series" Case Fan
4710KL-04W-B19-VB2 1,100 RPM
4710KL-04W-B19-V54 1,600 RPM
4710KL-04W-B29-V52 1,900 RPM
http://www.scythe-usa.com/product/acc/014/nmb_detail.html

jtchoy
14-08-2007, 03:14 PM
Nice read!

adrianlee
18-08-2007, 06:33 PM
26 120mm Fans Tested and Compared :s22: :s22:
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=137832

ragnarok95
18-08-2007, 06:49 PM
Fans crazy these few days.

adrianlee
18-08-2007, 06:58 PM
Fans crazy these few days.
Everybody fan siao
I join in the fun
Powderful Delta fan (http://www.thinktechie.com/reviews/12-2001/delta120/page2.htm#up) :s22: :s22:
Another powderful Delta fan (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cRkeDPW7tkA) :s22: :s22:

Noctua NF-S12 and the NF–R8 Silent Fans Review
http://www.xtremecomputing.co.uk/review.php?id=368

konstrain
27-08-2007, 11:16 AM
so actually minebea is the best in terms of silent + performance?

Tsting
27-08-2007, 02:43 PM
price too !

ElaineLim
27-08-2007, 04:48 PM
Any UV and Led Good fan to reccomend? i want to install uv/led fan on my mod com, i want to complete my mod with uv/led fan >.< as for my 2nd pc is non mod and i gonna change all to Scythe Minebea. . .

lyfeforce
27-08-2007, 04:54 PM
Any UV and Led Good fan to reccomend? i want to install uv/led fan on my mod com, i want to complete my mod with uv/led fan >.< as for my 2nd pc is non mod and i gonna change all to Scythe Minebea. . .Some fans you can consider are AC Ryan fans, although they are not available at the moment. Even I have to consider ordering from overseas.

dante-z
04-07-2008, 02:59 PM
make this sticky please

silthfire
04-07-2008, 03:02 PM
make this sticky please
wah....wat a digger...

cty85
04-07-2008, 03:26 PM
make this sticky please
digger.....

PetPet
04-07-2008, 03:34 PM
Sometimes digging isn't as bad as you think. As long as the thread provide vital information, what's bad digging it up for new comers to have a read and old birds to have a refresh on their current information.
True some of which are outdated. But some of these stuff are still on the shelves...

FattyTW
04-07-2008, 03:45 PM
agree with petpet!, just tat now got more new fans, to use.!

adrianlee
04-07-2008, 03:53 PM
SPCR Fan Roundup #5: Attack of the 120 Scythes

The following fans were included in the roundup:

* Scythe Kama PWM DFS122512L-PWM
* Scythe Slip Stream SY1225SL12SH
* Scythe Slip Stream SY1225SL12H
* Scythe Slip Stream SY1225SL12M
* Scythe Slip Stream SY1225SL12L
* Scythe Slip Stream SY1225SL12SL
* Scythe Ultra Kaze DFS123812H-3000
* Scythe Ultra Kaze DFS123812L-2000
* Scythe Ultra Kaze DFS123812L-1000

http://www.silentpcreview.com/article832-page1.html

silthfire
04-07-2008, 03:54 PM
lucky adrianlee post new roundup...hehe

supergmail
06-07-2008, 12:55 AM
bookmark for reading later

goenitz33
06-07-2008, 05:46 AM
not much of an interest for me since all non led fans lol.

_Zahn_
06-07-2008, 01:16 PM
Since this thread is alive...

Always some nice reviews over at XS:

Big fan roundup
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=170224

Mini comparison 1 (Noctua P12, Scythe S-Flex 'E', Scythe Slipstream 'M'...)
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=193126

Mini comparison 2 (high speed fans...)
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=193647

supergmail
15-07-2008, 01:00 PM
bookmark for reading later

Elysian
15-07-2008, 01:13 PM
haha
I just go the simlim Tower pay 9 bucks for a 120mm fan
Sanyo Den ace 25, 12v 0.14amp and diy the power then into the casing.
powerful, slient, dont generate heat.
only problem, its casted metal. u need screw and bolts.

cty85
15-07-2008, 02:11 PM
haha
sounds damn heavy :eek:

Elysian
15-07-2008, 02:18 PM
sounds damn heavy :eek:

abit heavy only.
hmm maybe the weight of 2 plastic fan.

ER
15-07-2008, 03:31 PM
The new scythe fans has good performance just that they are using sleeve bearing which wears out faster.

supergmail
17-07-2008, 04:36 PM
haha

is that ball bearing or sleeve fan?

wazzaa
23-07-2008, 09:28 PM
hi...Anyone knows where to buy Nexus fans?

adrianlee
10-08-2008, 01:51 PM
Roundup: 11 Fans for Two Super-Coolers and One System Case
http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/coolers/display/fan-roundup.html

adrianlee
10-10-2008, 10:24 AM
GELID Solutions Silent 12 TC and PWM cooling fan review
http://www.elite*******s.com/cms/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=620&Itemid=27

raven1019
10-10-2008, 11:55 AM
GELID Solutions Silent 12 TC and PWM cooling fan review
http://www.elite*******s.com/cms/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=620&Itemid=27
wording kana censored

adrianlee
10-10-2008, 12:07 PM
wording kana censored
Guess the missing word and claim a prize from HWZ :)

raven1019
10-10-2008, 12:12 PM
b a s t a r d is the missing word????????

HZYiLong
10-10-2008, 12:32 PM
b a s t a r d is the missing word????????

LOL RAVEN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
ya lor..
last time he post review also censored.. -_-
den i cant read..

erm..
got Zalman ZM-F3 RED LED review?

adrianlee
14-02-2009, 07:01 AM
120mm Fan Roundup - 35 Models Compared
We compare the performance/noise balance of 35 different 120mm fans from AcoustFan, Aerocool, Arctic-Cooling, Cooler Master, Coolink, CoolJag, Delta, Gelid, GlobalWin, mCubed, Nexus, Noctua, NoiseBlocker, Papst, Revoltec, Scythe, Sharkoon, SilenX and Xthermal.
http://www.madshrimps.be/?action=getarticle&articID=892

ragnarok95
14-02-2009, 09:53 AM
120mm Fan Roundup - 35 Models Compared

http://www.madshrimps.be/?action=getarticle&articID=892

4 out of their top 10 fans are from scythe and include the ever popular Scythe S-flex F.

mike911
14-02-2009, 10:57 AM
thanks for the reviews.

uRiZEn
14-02-2009, 12:20 PM
Noiseblocker here i come!

adrianlee
18-02-2009, 09:34 PM
Gelid Solutions Wing 8 UV Case Fan Review
http://www.legitreviews.com/article/891/1/

GegeV2
18-02-2009, 09:37 PM
4 out of their top 10 fans are from scythe and include the ever popular Scythe S-flex F.

Yep...and if u notice...the Kaze White is among the top 10 Recommended :)

ragnarok95
18-02-2009, 09:51 PM
Yaps, that is also inside. :D

Beat the over hyped CM hyper 212 anytime, anyday. But too bad no longer on sales. :(

deepblue_82
18-02-2009, 10:20 PM
can anyone reccomend me a good value casing fan.. i wan to change mine..
i think its should be a 120 one.. i just want something long lasting.. not too ex..

jarred1223
18-02-2009, 10:30 PM
Scythe S-Flex SFF21F

hiroko_21
18-02-2009, 10:47 PM
i would recommend nmb 120mm fan 0.22a.. =)

deepblue_82
18-02-2009, 10:58 PM
Scythe S-Flex SFF21F

how much is it? and where can i get it... which shop..

adrianlee
19-02-2009, 01:17 PM
GELID Solutions Silent 12 PWM Case Fan
http://verdisreviews.com/reviews/gelid-solutions-silent-12-pwn-case-fan/

MadLocke
19-02-2009, 02:24 PM
how much is it? and where can i get it... which shop..
s-flex not cheap.. ~$26-$28.. but really worth it.. :D

all depends on yr budget.. :o

adrianlee
26-02-2009, 07:06 AM
Thermaltake Launches ISGC 12 cm Ultra-Quiet Fan
http://www.thermaltake.com/db/Editor/Assets/clp0539_isgcfan.jpg
Thermaltae is out on the market with a brand new multi-purpose 12 cm fan. The ISGC fan appears to come with some odd curves on the blades at first sight, but this is for a reason - to help keep the noise levels coming from spinning to the absolute minimum. The 120x120x25 mm ISGC uses Hydro Dynamic Bearing (H.D.B) system, spins from 800 to 1300 RPM and has max aiflow of 58.3 CFM at only 16dBA. In the package you'll also find four rubber vibration-absorbing mounts. The ISGC 12 cm fan is yet to be priced. For more information, click here. (http://www.thermaltake.com/product_info.aspx?PARENT_CID=C_00001430&id=C_00001431&name=ISGC+Fan+12&ov=n&ovid=&parent_cp=)
Source: Techpowerup (http://www.techpowerup.com/86338/Thermaltake_Launches_ISGC_12_cm_Ultra-Quiet_Fan.html)

MadLocke
26-02-2009, 08:48 AM
HDB.. hydro dynamic bearing.. :s11:

isn't it juz another term for FDB.. fluid dynamic bearing?? :s22:

s-flex already using FDB.. :D

hlw8888
26-02-2009, 02:06 PM
is there a relatively cheap yet silent & has good airflow 80mm fan ah? :o

cos i see most ppl here recommend 120mm fans.

Sergio Ramos
28-02-2009, 09:15 PM
is there any good 120mm fans for "Exhaust" and "Side Panel"? cause my comp have no front fan so need a very good fan to exhaust those heat from comp, dun care about noise.

adrianlee
28-02-2009, 09:19 PM
is there any good 120mm fans for "Exhaust" and "Side Panel"? cause my comp have no front fan so need a very good fan to exhaust those heat from comp, dun care about noise.
Go SLT and buy Delta fans :)

adrianlee
28-02-2009, 09:21 PM
is there a relatively cheap yet silent & has good airflow 80mm fan ah? :o

cos i see most ppl here recommend 120mm fans.
Red post #1

zero7090
01-03-2009, 12:04 AM
Since this thread is alive...

Always some nice reviews over at XS:

Big fan roundup
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=170224

Mini comparison 1 (Noctua P12, Scythe S-Flex 'E', Scythe Slipstream 'M'...)
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=193126

Mini comparison 2 (high speed fans...)
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=193647

if there above review is true then Yate loon D12SL fan is damn good at US$4

adrianlee
20-05-2009, 08:45 PM
30x 120mm Fans Roundup
Today we have a guest article from Martin who tested 30 different 120mm fans when mounted on a water-cooling radiator. He measured generated noise, cubic feet per minute of air moved with each fan, allowing for some impressive comparative result charts. If you arere looking for a 120mm fan upgrade, this article is a must read!
http://www.madshrimps.be/?action=getarticle&articID=936

terence52
20-05-2009, 08:49 PM
nice....can consider to replace all my fans in my casing

adrianlee
29-09-2009, 07:15 AM
What's the best 120mm case fan?
We've collected 22 120mm fans and put them through rigorous noise and airflow tests to see which is the best. Read on to see how to keep your hardware cool while keeping the noise your PC makes to a minimum.

http://www.bit-tech.net/

LxIxVxE
29-09-2009, 07:50 AM
delta so powerful~ :love:

di_andrei
29-09-2009, 10:57 AM
Those Gentle Typhoons, where are they available?

adrianlee
15-10-2009, 08:19 PM
What's the best 80mm and 92mm fan?
The hardware you use to cool your CPU is arguably just as important as the CPU itself - if it's loud then you're not going to want to use your PC all that often, while a limited amount of cooling will result in your CPU running hotter than is ideal or having limited overclockability. An easy upgrade to your cooler is to change the fan, so bit-tech is here with a roundup of 80mm and 92mm fans that are ideal for smaller coolers.

Of course, these fans are equally at ease being fitted in a case mount. Whether you've just got an old case that doesn't have 120mm mounts, or it just happens to have a few 80mm or 92mm mounts in odd places (the side panel, behind the CPU socket, or mounted to the hard disk caddy, for example) read on to see which fan will suit you best.

http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/cooling/2009/10/15/whats-the-best-80mm-and-92mm-fan/1

Snokey
16-10-2009, 08:42 AM
Those Gentle Typhoons, where are they available?
yea, does anyone know?

di_andrei
16-10-2009, 09:06 AM
yea, does anyone know?

Couldn't find them in Singapore so I ended up having a friend bring some over from the UK. Which is crazy considering these are made in Indonesia.