PDA

View Full Version : DSLR question - the standard lens that comes with them, capable of photos this wide?

Jeffy
14-08-2007, 12:11 AM
http://www.imageannex.com/out.php/i4845_Alice20281229.jpg

hlw8888
14-08-2007, 01:01 AM
i dun own a DSLR but i dun think got any wide lens capable of this. (correct me if i am wrong.) i think this is done using some panorama s/w.

side track abit. The gal in the pic looks chio sia.

Erenon
14-08-2007, 06:10 AM
Kit lens probably not. That looks like something out of a ultra-wide angle lens.

zenesh
14-08-2007, 10:23 AM
Very hard to tell.

Kit lens now quite wide also. Usually only got 1 series of zoom lens that is wider then the standard kit. Best is go to camera shop and try.

tk
14-08-2007, 10:28 AM
Actually the angle doesn't look like ultra wide.. looks more like a cropped 25-28mm pic..

EJB
14-08-2007, 01:52 PM
Yes. Doable.

But as highlighted, this image has been cropped. It's not in the original size taken of ration 3:2.

Looks like a 16:9 cropped ratio.

If you want it taken as is, you will need a rangefinder.

MasterCard
14-08-2007, 10:49 PM
Sample of Ultra Wide 12-24mm
http://www.pbase.com/cameras/nikon/12-24_4g_afs_dx

Sample of Standard Range 17-55mm
http://www.pbase.com/cameras/nikon/17-55_28g_afs_dx

Cheers!

babyanjel
15-08-2007, 01:02 AM
http://www.imageannex.com/out.php/i4845_Alice20281229.jpg
looks wider than the kitlense, esp on the right edge, resembles that of a wide angle lense, i.e. at 12mm

Witness
15-08-2007, 02:47 AM
looks like a 17mm on a dslr then cropped to me....

if u need sth wider...just take one step backwards if space permits..

cheers!