View Full Version : Upgrade from SLR to DSLR
ariqe
22-08-2007, 11:58 PM
I am currently holding a Nikon F65.
1. Could i do a trade in for a DSLR ?
2. My budget for DSLR is about 1.2 to 1.5k.
so what brand/model would you recommend ?
3. which one is better :
Nikon D40x, or Canon EOS 400D ?
Can I use my current lens from F65 for the DSLR ?
thks!
Erenon
23-08-2007, 07:55 AM
I'm sure EJB will agree, but if you have a Nikon SLR and lenses that fit it, shouldn't you stick to a Nikon DSLR? I wouldn't recommend the D40x though.
I don't know the details though (pentax has made me lazy by ensuring practically all the old lenses fit my k100D) so EFB has to be the one to fill you in.
majere2sg
23-08-2007, 11:04 AM
I am currently holding a Nikon F65.
1. Could i do a trade in for a DSLR ?
2. My budget for DSLR is about 1.2 to 1.5k.
so what brand/model would you recommend ?
3. which one is better :
Nikon D40x, or Canon EOS 400D ?
Can I use my current lens from F65 for the DSLR ?
thks!
What nikon mount lens do you have ?
For Nikon D40X as it does not come with internal motor, Autofocus with the lens only works with AF-S lens, if you mount AF lens, you have to do manual AF.
ariqe
24-08-2007, 12:37 AM
mine is a AF 28-100mm lens.
ariqe
24-08-2007, 12:48 AM
F65 specs:
http://nikonimaging.com/global/products/filmcamera/slr/2000-2004/f65/index.htm
Pokémon
24-08-2007, 10:05 AM
As majere2sg mentioned, the D40x will not autofocus with the AF lens you've got, only with AF-S lenses. You'll have to use manual focus, which most photographers would choose not to these days, unless necessary.
If you still want to use your current lens, you'll have to up your budget and get the D80, or perhaps get a 2nd hand D50/D70/D70s/D80 body for about $600/$600/$700/$1,200.
As for your F65, try selling it off at the garage. Trade in value is usually very low, not worth it.
chesterqw
24-08-2007, 11:26 AM
slr to dslr is not upgrade...
it is just a change of format....
Pokémon
24-08-2007, 11:37 AM
slr to dslr is not upgrade...
it is just a change of format....
It is an upgrade. There can be many modern features which the old SLR lacks.
Even changing a DSLR D200 to the new D300 is an upgrade.
Gundam_seed
25-08-2007, 10:45 AM
of course 400D la. i oso using wat
Then I'm using D2X, so you also should upgrade to D2X? Doh. Be more objective please.
Actually, I'm kinda tired of the 'lack of AF' on D40/X, if one doesn't mind, it never is an issue. I use a D2X, with a Carl Zeiss 85 f/1.4 and I manually focus although it's a AF enabled body.
You want an affordable DSLR, you cannot expect too many features enabled and/or stuff within the body. The D40/X is a cheap and good body (and if you trust me, wait for Comex, I've seen the Nikon Comxex 2007 sales pamphlet, you will not regret waiting till then).
Anyway, the lenses are the important part of a camera system rather than that of the camera body, lenses goes a longer way than the camera body. Since you only have a 28-105, you can consider other camps if you wish.
vokawala
25-08-2007, 03:30 PM
Which brand macro/mirco lenses are good? Nikon or Canon? Cos that'll help me to decide which body I'll be getting in the coming Comex. :) Thanks!
Erenon
25-08-2007, 08:50 PM
Singaporeans and their canon/nikon mentality...
There are other DSLR makers out there mind you.
vokawala
25-08-2007, 10:02 PM
Of cos we know lah. We need to zoom in a few brands before buying mah. Singaporeans' mentality? hmm...
:D
Which brand macro/mirco lenses are good? Nikon or Canon? Cos that'll help me to decide which body I'll be getting in the coming Comex. :) Thanks!
How and what sort of macro are you looking at?
60 f/2.8? 105 f/2.5? 105 f/2.8? 200 f/4? etc.
It really depends on what you want to use with. Since macro are mostly standstill stuff, the camera body would be of 2nd importance.
No doubt there are, but what's the majority of the users? The ease of getting the parts, accessories, services, etc? The major players in the market is pretty obvious. Why bother to introduce the less known ones?
Though they may have contributed in technology in the past, but they have since lacked in progressing like the 2 giants. Minolta came out with AF, so? Look at where they are now? Sure they have their supporters, but for the newer users, most would be looking at a giant with shares in the market.
Gundam_seed
26-08-2007, 08:32 AM
was thinkin of getting k10D but + len i think heavy hor. i say go with your heart and budget.
or u wait till end of year.i think coming many new slr comin maybe older model price will drop. pls correct mi. :s31:
Pokémon
26-08-2007, 04:31 PM
Frankly speaking, it's a stupid comment.
That's just your mentality...
Erenon
27-08-2007, 05:49 AM
Frankly speaking there are other options.
What prompted my response is the knee jerk repsonse to uestions about getting DSLRs with get a nikon or canon.
What's wrong with stating that its for the user to think what he/she needs and to find the DSLR that matches that need? If you want live view on the LCD, then you almost have to use Olympus don't you?
What about in-body IS? Sony or Pentax.
I know EJB will say what about systems.
Frankly, only a small minority will actually venture THAT far to the point they start looking at complete systems (slaved flashguns, whatnot). Most DSLR buyers will be mom and pop jobs who just want a digital camera with more control. For them maybe two extra lenses, an external flash and a tripod may well be the extant of what they will get.
Erenon
27-08-2007, 08:45 AM
Re support and all.. that's a valid point, but the users should still be given the chance to find out shouldn't they?
Again what matches their needs best.
I should note that i first suggested the TS get a Nikon DSLR since he was moving from a Nikon SLR. I did ask what lenses the TS had, i worry about the D40x because not everyone likes to find out their len won't autofocus with it.
My colleague got the D40, bought a 50mm prime for it and found out that it wouldn't even meter right. Needless to say, she was very disappointed.
So it is an issue. IF the TS minds. What's the Arige's opinion?
I should also add i still think Arige should stick to a Nikon system simply cause he's already familiar with their SLRs (though i'm not sure how much that would apply to a DSLR). But it is NOT a must do situation. It still depends on what Arige wants.
Does arige want to keep his existing lens? Does he need auto-focus? Other needs?
ariqe
01-09-2007, 04:30 AM
Pokemon:
if you still want to use your current lens, you'll have to up your budget and get the D80, or perhaps get a 2nd hand D50/D70/D70s/D80 body for about $600/$600/$700/$1,200.
As for your F65, try selling it off at the garage. Trade in value is usually very low, not worth it.
> at garage sale ? I don't think anyone would buy. i mean, with the current DSLR trend, i am not sure if anyone is willing to pay for SLR.any online buying places to recommend besides ebay ?
upgrade vs change of format issue:
>well, i don't really think much about this, my concern is just focusing on improvement - getting better stuff (hopefully with better skills too.)
Singaporeans and their canon/nikon mentality issue:
actually Olympus is not bad either, I was thinking between Nikon and canon as i started using Nikon F65 few years back when i was experimenting with photog and i'm quite satisfied with its overall functionality and ease of use so i thought it is a natual progression for me to go for a Nikon DSLR. Canon comes close as I saw the pictures taken by Canon EOS 400D and i like the effects that were captured. I was actually thinking of experimenting with Canon but er, no one i know has it and well, i have no time (ok,and also no patience to fiddle with it).
i must just a amateur, or rather prosumer-whatever they term it, and the fact that i stopped photography for quite some time due to work committment makes me kindda detached to the photography world; getting a DSLR is perhaps also a way to reconnect myself to photography and at the same time explore further. nonetheless, it is my passion which propels me to getting a better body and thinking of spending more (but of course, preferably within my budget of 1.5k). It's gonna be my first dSLR, and to some extent, determines what 'brand'user will i be in the near future due to the lens compatibility issue + nitty gritty bits like functionality differences between diff cams, thus the long deliberation.
Simply, my criteria:
1. autofocus
2. fast response time
3. not too heavy body; user friendly
4. wide angle to zoom lens
5. spot metering preferred
so what's the verdict ?
Gundam_seed
01-09-2007, 02:19 PM
i think the nikon D80 promo at comex is very good. even comes with manfrotto tripod. @ 2400 with dual kit. but the big pic put VR len but i ask not givin vr ones.jus normal ones. but good deal i think.http://www.nikon.com.sg/downloads/comex2007.pdf
ariqe
01-09-2007, 10:52 PM
would it be cheaper if i dun want the AF 70-300mm G lens ?
2399 woah...i can get a new laptop alrdy.....sigh.
or what are the things i can "minus" ??
i think the nikon D80 promo at comex is very good. even comes with manfrotto tripod. @ 2400 with dual kit. but the big pic put VR len but i ask not givin vr ones.jus normal ones. but good deal i think.http://www.nikon.com.sg/downloads/comex2007.pdf
The pic DID not put 70-300VR. Please get your facts correct.
would it be cheaper if i dun want the AF 70-300mm G lens ?
2399 woah...i can get a new laptop alrdy.....sigh.
or what are the things i can "minus" ??
Yes, if you do not want the 70-300, forgoing the Crumpler 7 Million, and the Manfrotto Tripod + 486RC2 ballhead.
The set will be repackaged at $1899.
The Crumpler 7 Million will be exchanged for a LowePro 180EX bag and the tripod for a Nikon SL1200 tripod at the above $1899 price.
I'm assisting my friend in the show. Look for me (in Nikon black colour windbreaker). And I'll give you a better price.
Gundam_seed
02-09-2007, 08:42 AM
The pic DID not put 70-300VR. Please get your facts correct.
but its on the pic of the len with the red VR. the 70-300mm enlarged .i saw the pic at the back of the booth :) .btw hw much is the tripod cum ballhead worth?if too much tripod people don want hw?can book one 1st? :s13:
ariqe
02-09-2007, 12:25 PM
ya, i saw the brochure, it is written on the brochure.....
ariqe
02-09-2007, 02:42 PM
what if i only need the following:
D80 Dual lens kit
DX 18-135mm
AF 70-300mmG lens
LCD protector
2 x 2GB SD card
LCD cleaner pad
dehumidifier
lens cleaning cloth
crumpler 7 million dollar home bag
lowepro laptop bag
manfrotto 190Xpro B tripod with 486RC2 ball head
possible? price ?
ya, i saw the brochure, it is written on the brochure.....
Check again... I've been using the brochure to customize packages for customers and I do not recall seeing a AF-S 70-300VR mentioned anywhere on the brochure。
what if i only need the following:
D80 Dual lens kit
DX 18-135mm
AF 70-300mmG lens
LCD protector
2 x 2GB SD card
LCD cleaner pad
dehumidifier
lens cleaning cloth
crumpler 7 million dollar home bag
lowepro laptop bag
manfrotto 190Xpro B tripod with 486RC2 ball head
possible? price ?
You must be kidding if you think I'm going to be accessing the internet from Comex (even if I own a HSPDA phone).
Anyway, the package above you mentioned, is exactly the same as the package on the brochure minus an umbrella, radio frame and the voucher. These items are not customizable. So it's the same. $2399. Anyway, too late. Shows' over.
Had only a few sets of D80 and D40 left. We cleared all the 290 pieces of D40X already.
Gundam_seed
03-09-2007, 03:45 PM
You must be kidding if you think I'm going to be accessing the internet from Comex (even if I own a HSPDA phone).
Anyway, the package above you mentioned, is exactly the same as the package on the brochure minus an umbrella, radio frame and the voucher. These items are not customizable. So it's the same. $2399. Anyway, too late. Shows' over.
Had only a few sets of D80 and D40 left. We cleared all the 290 pieces of D40X already.
wa so many. thumbs up for the promo. tday will see many slr user on the street takin pic leow. :s13:
ariqe
04-09-2007, 12:55 AM
No worries, don't need that urgently. Just thought if the price might go lower.
Perhaps i will wait for D200 at the end of the year. See how it goes at SITEX. Thanks anyway.
Dearboy87
04-09-2007, 08:48 AM
D40x how much ah now?
No worries, don't need that urgently. Just thought if the price might go lower.
Perhaps i will wait for D200 at the end of the year. See how it goes at SITEX. Thanks anyway.D200 has been discontinued already. You can't find a new one by end of the year already.
D40x how much ah now?Just D40X kit alone it is $1050 thereabouts. The roadshow has a better package + price.
Dearboy87
04-09-2007, 01:41 PM
D200 has been discontinued already. You can't find a new one by end of the year already.
Just D40X kit alone it is $1050 thereabouts. The roadshow has a better package + price.
how good is show price??? as for the D40?? i intend to get D40..
thanks EJB for ur time.. u been helping us alot here.. =D
ceecookie
05-09-2007, 10:47 AM
Do u want to upgrade to the Canon EOS 1D?
skiddo
06-09-2007, 04:35 PM
i think that if u have had shot with a slr before u wouldt be satisfied with a d40x at all...
its more of a PNS in my opinion...
Do u want to upgrade to the Canon EOS 1D?
1D? Obsoleted by the 1D MKII and 1D MKII-n and 1DMK III.
i think that if u have had shot with a slr before u wouldt be satisfied with a d40x at all...
its more of a PNS in my opinion...
It was never meant to target any high end user or user with SLR experience. The D40X is targetted at consumers/amatuers who have never touched a camera before.
That's why I mentioned everybody's 'worth' is not measurable in value.
skiddo
07-09-2007, 02:44 PM
It was never meant to target any high end user or user with SLR experience. The D40X is targetted at consumers/amatuers who have never touched a camera before.
That's why I mentioned everybody's 'worth' is not measurable in value.sorry, i was more of telling the TS, and i basically mean that since u have shot with film and of course printed ur photos, and if u intend to do the same with the D40x, you wont be getting the same quality in the prints. thats all.
sorry, i was more of telling the TS, and i basically mean that since u have shot with film and of course printed ur photos, and if u intend to do the same with the D40x, you wont be getting the same quality in the prints. thats all.
And pray tell, why not?
skiddo
07-09-2007, 11:46 PM
i dont know why... but iv compared tonnes of digital against film in prints the film quality always seem better. im using D80 shots as comparison if ure talking abt the higher end models that im not sure abt...
VelociRaptor
08-09-2007, 12:08 AM
Well it all depends on the lighitng conditions and how you do your post processing. If you shoot in RAW then you should have enough tonal range to play with..
babyanjel
08-09-2007, 12:38 AM
i dont know why... but iv compared tonnes of digital against film in prints the film quality always seem better. im using D80 shots as comparison if ure talking abt the higher end models that im not sure abt...
you can call me a nikon freak, but i've owned the d40, d70, and d80 before, and currently using a d200.
there is no difference to that of the image quality from the d40/40x and d80, the iso1600 performance of the d40 is better than that of the d80. the d40 kitlense is also superbly sharp that 100% crops are quite decent with slight post processing.
babyanjel
08-09-2007, 12:39 AM
Actually, I'm kinda tired of the 'lack of AF' on D40/X, if one doesn't mind, it never is an issue. I use a D2X, with a Carl Zeiss 85 f/1.4 and I manually focus although it's a AF enabled body.
You want an affordable DSLR, you cannot expect too many features enabled and/or stuff within the body. The D40/X is a cheap and good body (and if you trust me, wait for Comex, I've seen the Nikon Comxex 2007 sales pamphlet, you will not regret waiting till then).
Anyway, the lenses are the important part of a camera system rather than that of the camera body, lenses goes a longer way than the camera body. Since you only have a 28-105, you can consider other camps if you wish.
heh i shoot quite a bit with a carl zeiss 50 f/1.4 :)
babyanjel
08-09-2007, 12:44 AM
nikon 105mm VR f2.8... superb macro lens. 1:1 total internal focus. dont have to worry abt scaring insects and stuff away
2nd option is sigma 150mm macro that lense is just as sharp but no VR
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.