PDA

View Full Version : DNS-323 Network Storage

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9

Switchoff
28-04-2008, 05:25 PM
OK problem solved.The problem lay with the power adaptor.

duffy
29-04-2008, 12:28 AM
Yes, because I have different shared folder for different purpose...

Updated: Vista Biz also have same issue... :(
no solution for this?

lucifix
29-04-2008, 02:13 PM
Hi Guys,

Do you know where I can get this for the cheapest-est price locally with warranty, and brand new?
Thanks!

Gerald

shadowandy
29-04-2008, 02:34 PM
no solution for this?

It sounds to me that it is more like a problem of Vista.

hlyagami
29-04-2008, 03:32 PM
Hi Guys,

Do you know where I can get this for the cheapest-est price locally with warranty, and brand new?
Thanks!

Gerald
dun be lazy source yourself .... :s8:

lucifix
29-04-2008, 07:35 PM
dun be lazy source yourself .... :s8:
I have already searched, just wanted to know the BEST BEST prices. I can't possibly visit every shop :S

Fuwell has them for 249
Media Pro at 259

Thats about it :D

Anyone knows of a better price?

spyder79
29-04-2008, 07:41 PM
I have already searched, just wanted to know the BEST BEST prices. I can't possibly visit every shop :S

Fuwell has them for 249
Media Pro at 259

Thats about it :D

Anyone knows of a better price?

Bizgram @ $225 last wed...

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1940333

Desmond_
29-04-2008, 08:27 PM
sigh... haven't drop till 209? :o

Switchoff
29-04-2008, 08:46 PM
last sunday seen at skylet $229

quekky
30-04-2008, 07:55 AM
dns343 around $600-700

but dunno same processor or not

richneo
30-04-2008, 08:35 AM
dns343 around $600-700

hmmm i also interested to know

duffy
30-04-2008, 02:28 PM
It sounds to me that it is more like a problem of Vista.
vista gotch no fix for it? sian

shadowandy
30-04-2008, 09:47 PM
dns343 around $600-700

wah... my heart says yes but my wallet says no

n0d3
30-04-2008, 10:06 PM
After installing funplug 0.5 and enabling sshd (previously on 0.3 and using dropbear), I've found that the user sshd and the group utmp has been added when I login to the DNS-323's web administrative page.

Any idea what this is and if its safe to delete? Will it affect my SSH?

And after I login into SSH as root, I keep getting this error message even though I login just fine:

ssh root@casper
root@casper's password:
-sh: /home/root: Permission denied
root@Casper:~#

I can cd /home/root/ just fine, any idea why it says permission denied?

quekky
30-04-2008, 10:37 PM
After installing funplug 0.5 and enabling sshd (previously on 0.3 and using dropbear), I've found that the user sshd and the group utmp has been added when I login to the DNS-323's web administrative page.

Any idea what this is and if its safe to delete? Will it affect my SSH?

And after I login into SSH as root, I keep getting this error message even though I login just fine:

ssh root@casper
root@casper's password:
-sh: /home/root: Permission denied
root@Casper:~#

I can cd /home/root/ just fine, any idea why it says permission denied?
not sure what the sshd and utmp is for, but I just leave it as is

change your root passwd and store-passwd.sh

n0d3
30-04-2008, 10:44 PM
not sure what the sshd and utmp is for, but I just leave it as is

change your root passwd and store-passwd.sh

Hmmm, didn't seem to help.

I think its related to the ssh_config.

http://forum.dsmg600.info/t2061-Cannot-login-through-with-Putty.html

blackburn1
01-05-2008, 04:35 PM
hi shadowandy, wonder if there are any developments for an email server on the dns-323 or anyone else with information, cheers :D

game goondu
02-05-2008, 11:07 AM
Both hdd are different sizes. I shutdown normally, plug in the 500GB to the left side, startup, went into the webui it tells me to format the 500GB (size and brand shown is correct), so I click "Next" and after the percent it reboots. after the reboot the right hdd is empty and left hdd is still unformatted...

you referring to dns 323? then wouldn't the above be very dangerous?

quekky
02-05-2008, 09:08 PM
you referring to dns 323? then wouldn't the above be very dangerous?
someone else is suspecting that funplug is messing up the formatting

nutz1943
03-05-2008, 11:47 AM
Hey guys,

I just got this piece of toy yesterday.

So far, I notice some problems:-
i) Auto-Reboot after harddisk configuration does not work; h/w version: B1, firmware version: 1.03.
> Keep asking to format hdd when click on "configure" at the admin webpage.
> Need to manual restart to resolve problem.

ii) Firmware upgrade to version 1.04 doesn't work smoothly.
> Unable to connect to NAS via admin webpage after upgrade.
> Shutdown via h/w button doesn't work.
> Need to off/on power plug to resolve problem.

iii) Enable additional language on DNS-323; h/w version: B1, firmware version: 1.04
> Unable to connect to NAS via admin webpage after upgrade.
> Shutdown via h/w button doesn't work.
> Need to off/on power plug to resolve problem.

I have googled and used the search function in forums but unable to find anything related to my problem.
Btw, I also notice that the NAS get pretty warm after a while (using it in a non-aircon room).

Any advice will be appreciated. Thank You. :)

lucifix
03-05-2008, 03:38 PM
Hi Guys,

I purchased my the set on 1 May and the config is 1 x 750GB Seagate SATA HDD.

It is connected to my Buffalo Router (that is bridged to another router wirelessly) that is connected to my computer.

Transferring 110GB's of data takes 280 minutes.
That was extremely slow and I was wondering if I could connect the unit to my computer via USB and if that is any faster?

Thanks!

Gerald

phiber
03-05-2008, 03:57 PM
Hi Guys,

I purchased my the set on 1 May and the config is 1 x 750GB Seagate SATA HDD.

It is connected to my Buffalo Router (that is bridged to another router wirelessly) that is connected to my computer.

Transferring 110GB's of data takes 280 minutes.
That was extremely slow and I was wondering if I could connect the unit to my computer via USB and if that is any faster?

Thanks!

Gerald

That's normal, assuming you're using wireless G, your connected speed to your NAS is 54mbps...

meaning your network bandwith cap is at around 5MB/s..

110,000 MB / 5 / 60 gives u about 300 mins.. :)

Quest
03-05-2008, 06:45 PM
Where can i change the setting for tranmission??
such as max concurrent d/l, upload slot bla bla....

anyone?? :s11::s12:

biosynthesis
04-05-2008, 06:53 PM

I am new to this NAS technology and would like to ask some questions regarding this DNS323 storage

1) Standard mode means operating as a normal SATA HDD as it would be if its in a normal PC? That is, 2 HDD will be detected if you inserted 2 HDD into the NAS?

2) I've read the previous posts and all mentioned cable is faster. What sort of cable do I use? Ethernet? If so, it means my PC needs an ethernet port right? If I buy a PCI ethernet expansion port, will the transfer speed be limited by the PCI port transfer speed? If so, any solutions?

3) If I use standard mode, then it wouldn't be necessary to abide by the "same capacity, same brand" rule if I were to use RAID mode??? This is because I have 1 80GB and 1 40GB HDD.

4) Any NAS that supports PATA disk?

Sorry for hijacking this thread. Thanks to all who answer my questions.

abyang
04-05-2008, 08:10 PM

I am new to this NAS technology and would like to ask some questions regarding this DNS323 storage

1) Standard mode means operating as a normal SATA HDD as it would be if its in a normal PC? That is, 2 HDD will be detected if you inserted 2 HDD into the NAS?

2) I've read the previous posts and all mentioned cable is faster. What sort of cable do I use? Ethernet? If so, it means my PC needs an ethernet port right? If I buy a PCI ethernet expansion port, will the transfer speed be limited by the PCI port transfer speed? If so, any solutions?

3) If I use standard mode, then it wouldn't be necessary to abide by the "same capacity, same brand" rule if I were to use RAID mode??? This is because I have 1 80GB and 1 40GB HDD.

4) Any NAS that supports PATA disk?

Sorry for hijacking this thread. Thanks to all who answer my questions.

1) Don't know what you mean by Standard Mode.
Yes it is pretty much like a PC with HDDs, Gigabit Ethernet port and a USB printer port.
Most importantly, it is loaded with lightweight Linux as base OS.

2) IIRC, the RJ45 cable recommended is CAT5E. Yes, your PC needs an ethernet port.
Nowadays alot of ppl have > 1 PC/laptop at home that is connected to a switch or router.

To get the most out of your NAS in terms of transfer speed is to upgrade your network backbone.
E.g. Get a Gigabit switch and connect all your PCs/Laptops and network-enabled peripherals to the switch.

3) Depend on what RAID level you looking for.
If RAID-1, yes it is preferable to get 2 HDDs that are same brand, model and sizes.
Do note that the effective disksize is "usually" divided by half (e.g. 2 hdd with 80GB each = 80GB).

If RAID-0, you can concat both different HDDs into 1 (e.g. 80GB + 40GB =120GB).

Summary: RAID-0 is concat (no redundancy), RAID-1 is mirror (redundancy).

NOTE: DNS-323 do let you specify how many GBs you want to setup as RAID-1 or other RAID level.

4) DNS-323 only support SATA disks.
Google for NAS solutions that support PATA.

Let's keep this thread as DNS-323 related. :)

peepee
11-05-2008, 10:02 AM
Hi! Manage to get MLdonkey working now. But now I got a problem. I d/loaded donkey fire and and it say MLDonkey Server seems down. Went to the web interface and thought it's a password issue. (I have user admin & blank password and some how I change my p/w accidentally. So how do I reset my p/w? Also even though I can see the webinterface, I had never succeeded in adding any torrent. Still doing reseach on this part.

richneo
11-05-2008, 03:43 PM
hmm trying out jumbo frames with dns-323 and dir-655 with my onboard broadcom gig lan

http://img265.imageshack.us/img265/3554/jumbo323sx7.png

got around 240mbps an increase of around 80mbps from standard speed

richneo
11-05-2008, 03:46 PM
http://img353.imageshack.us/img353/3721/backjumboxh6.png

n0d3
11-05-2008, 08:41 PM
Thats the 1.05 beta with jumbo frame support?

richneo
11-05-2008, 09:06 PM
Thats the 1.05 beta with jumbo frame support?
the b6 thats leaked in the forum

but i heard the official v1.05 is releasing next week

OriFlaMmE
12-05-2008, 12:04 PM
Hey dudes.. Some queries on this NAS network storage drive. I currently have 2 500gb hdd's running on Raid 1. If let's say I want to upgrade to 2 1TB Hdd's in the future, how do I preserve my current information and yet transfer them to the new hdd's?

richneo
12-05-2008, 03:17 PM
bittorrent firmware for dns-323 release liaoz

http://www.dlink.com.sg/support/Support_download.asp?idsupport=297

http://www.dlink.com.sg/support/Support_download.asp?idsupport=298

added BT and jumbo frame

http://img353.imageshack.us/img353/3721/backjumboxh6.png

n0d3
12-05-2008, 05:05 PM
Ah **** in camp, can't download. Any comments about the BT interface/performance?

quekky
12-05-2008, 06:07 PM
yo bro, u installed bt already?

richneo
12-05-2008, 06:59 PM
yo bro, u installed bt already?
i installed

found a hidden feature :s34:

halocast
12-05-2008, 07:40 PM
what feature? can disclose? if not can pm mah?

chingkt
12-05-2008, 09:36 PM
If saw Dlink NAS at SLS. Was told by the shop people it is limited life time warranty. Wonder to confirm with bro here. Do share if that is true or not .. If really limit warranty, what is cover and what is not .. :):):)

richneo
12-05-2008, 10:18 PM
If saw Dlink NAS at SLS. Was told by the shop people it is limited life time warranty. Wonder to confirm with bro here. Do share if that is true or not .. If really limit warranty, what is cover and what is not .. :):):)
NAS only 1 year warranty

lifetime warranty is only for their wireless routers and dumb switches

chingkt
13-05-2008, 10:34 AM
NAS only 1 year warranty

lifetime warranty is only for their wireless routers and dumb switches

Thanks for the confirmation. SLS really not honest, telling me is limited lifetime warranty, even want to sell me at $220.

sigh
13-05-2008, 05:20 PM
Thanks for the confirmation. SLS really not honest, telling me is limited lifetime warranty, even want to sell me at $220.

What is the price of a DNS-323 now? Haven't really check but considering getting another one.

richneo
14-05-2008, 08:48 AM
$220 considered cheap

i noe some shops in sim lim selling $259

mikezuper
14-05-2008, 09:04 AM
Woww.. thought price going down, especially when USD is weaken against SGD.. hmm

This is another gadget that still stand against time.. almost 2 years since introduction? =)

chingkt
14-05-2008, 09:40 AM
Just bought DNS-323, the initial feel is good, compact and good material casing. Will be getting 2 new Seagate hhd soon. :):):)

richneo
14-05-2008, 10:40 AM
Woww.. thought price going down, especially when USD is weaken against SGD.. hmm

This is another gadget that still stand against time.. almost 2 years since introduction? =)
not even 1 year lar

it is precisely that USD weakens that cost of material goes up especially since these manufacturing plant is not in the united states

and.. previously china has blizzard and snow storm which make their production plant unable to start production

and cost of oil price goes up which added increase to shipment cost and material cost

not to mention now china got earthquake...

game goondu
14-05-2008, 11:54 AM
erh..

this one can support sata 2 hdd (only mentioned can support sata hdd, sata 2 like the 640GB western d hdd)?
can support chinese characters?

kun1he2
14-05-2008, 11:55 AM
Actually, the price has come down a lot within the last one year... it started at $300+ or more.

mikezuper
14-05-2008, 01:19 PM
Hmm.. last PC Show at 149 was Good Price then (but only for first 30customer).

I saw another good product: portable NAS for 2.5inch.
Good and useful?

demonicvic
14-05-2008, 06:44 PM
erh..

this one can support sata 2 hdd (only mentioned can support sata hdd, sata 2 like the 640GB western d hdd)?
Wanna noe this aspect too :look:

richneo
14-05-2008, 07:19 PM
erh..

it supports sata 2 and backwards compatiable with stata drives

it has unicode upport which support many language apart from just chinese

cr4sh
14-05-2008, 08:50 PM
question on RAID, if I have 500 GB now with data in this DNS-323, I want to add another 500 GB and set to RAID 1, is my data on first drive will be formatted as well ?

Errz
14-05-2008, 08:56 PM
question on RAID, if I have 500 GB now with data in this DNS-323, I want to add another 500 GB and set to RAID 1, is my data on first drive will be formatted as well ?

u have to format (thru the website admin page) everything if u change to RAID

cr4sh
14-05-2008, 10:00 PM
so I have to move out data first ?

demonicvic
14-05-2008, 11:20 PM
it supports sata 2 and backwards compatiable with stata drives

it has unicode upport which support many language apart from just chinese
No limitation to the capacity of hdds used?

richneo
14-05-2008, 11:52 PM
No limitation to the capacity of hdds used?
the nas is just like your computer...

the only limitation is that it must be a sata harddisk..

if you are asking this kind of question, try to ask yourself if you really need it and if you know how to use it after you bought it.

sigh
15-05-2008, 12:04 AM

if you are asking this kind of question, try to ask yourself if you really need it and if you know how to use it after you bought it.

Not really lah, there are USB casings that cannot support more than 500GB. It is a valid concern.

DNS-323 has tested to work for 1TB HDD. Dunno can work for any bigger HDD than that. It is a good device. Using it with 2x500GB now. I am tempted to get a 2nd one. But price must be good. Too bad I am going to miss the next PC show. :(

demonicvic
15-05-2008, 12:38 AM

W/o asking its storage capacity limitation how do i noe if i need it & use it to harness my 2 x WD10EACS .. was comparing it to Thecus N299 which states "Two 3.5” SATA hard disk bays enable up to 1TB of storage capacity", while Dlink official none stated ... :s8:

http://www.thecus.com/products_over.php?cid=10&pid=52

Tuakong
15-05-2008, 12:40 AM
$220 considered cheap

i noe some shops in sim lim selling $259

The best price at Funan as of 5/14 was S$229

demonicvic
15-05-2008, 12:42 AM
Not really lah, there are USB casings that cannot support more than 500GB. It is a valid concern.

DNS-323 has tested to work for 1TB HDD. Dunno can work for any bigger HDD than that. It is a good device. Using it with 2x500GB now. I am tempted to get a 2nd one. But price must be good. Too bad I am going to miss the next PC show. :(
Exactly wat i wan to know b4 purchase ... mayb some1 is fine buyin it @ $2xx and realise it does not support the hdd capacity size :look:

quekky
15-05-2008, 07:40 AM
Exactly wat i wan to know b4 purchase ... mayb some1 is fine buyin it @ $2xx and realise it does not support the hdd capacity size :look:
my box wrote "support up to 2TB"

anyway shouldn't have problem supporting even 4TB hdd

richneo
15-05-2008, 07:43 AM

NAS is not usb casing in the first place

so you cant compare external usb casing with NAS

i also waiting for price of 1Tb to drop :s34:

richneo
15-05-2008, 07:44 AM
my box wrote "support up to 2TB"

anyway shouldn't have problem supporting even 4TB hdd
precisely :D

kun1he2
15-05-2008, 10:16 AM
For those on 1.04 firmware, you may want to upgrade to the 1.05 firmware asap.

Kenna amber light on my raid1 left drive - checked the dns-323 forums and learned that there's some bug in 1.04 firmware which detects drive status incorrectly and kicks out your drive from the array set even though the drive is fine.

Upgraded to 1.05 firmware (thanx richneo for posting the direct official links) and the amber light went away.

Thereafter, next step was to manually join the left drive back into the array - else the DNS-323 will continue to run in degraded state. Once joined, the added drive will be automatically resync-ed - which can take very long for huge drive capacities.

To hot add a disk back into raid:
mdadm /dev/md0 -a /dev/sdb2 (or /dev/sda2 - depending on which drive was kicked out)

Check status of raid resync:
cat /proc/mdstat

... btw, you'll need to telnet or ssh into the dns-323 first before running the above commands... outside scope of this post as I think it's been covered in other posts in this thread.

OriFlaMmE
15-05-2008, 10:24 AM
A quick question. I connected a HP Printer to the USB port of the NAS323. However when I try printing stuff.. Via Ethernet it takes v. long to load the print page menu. Is it due to the slow processor of the NAS? I see the network light flickering but v. slow. Even worst when I use wireless.. Any idea guys?

richneo
15-05-2008, 10:50 AM
For those on 1.04 firmware, you may want to upgrade to the 1.05 firmware asap.

Kenna amber light on my raid1 left drive - checked the dns-323 forums and learned that there's some bug in 1.04 firmware which detects drive status incorrectly and kicks out your drive from the array set even though the drive is fine.

Upgraded to 1.05 firmware (thanx richneo for posting the direct official links) and the amber light went away.

Thereafter, next step was to manually join the left drive back into the array - else the DNS-323 will continue to run in degraded state. Once joined, the added drive will be automatically resync-ed - which can take very long for huge drive capacities.

To hot add a disk back into raid:
mdadm /dev/md0 -a /dev/sdb2 (or /dev/sda2 - depending on which drive was kicked out)

Check status of raid resync:
cat /proc/mdstat

... btw, you'll need to telnet or ssh into the dns-323 first before running the above commands... outside scope of this post as I think it's been covered in other posts in this thread.
wah

thnx for the info!

sigh
15-05-2008, 11:29 AM
Still running on 1.03firmware :(
Cannot upgrade as I got no space to move out and reformat HDD.

richneo
15-05-2008, 12:11 PM
Still running on 1.03firmware :(
Cannot upgrade as I got no space to move out and reformat HDD.
hehehe but then hor.. i never formated my hdd since the 1.03 and beyond days leh

sigh
15-05-2008, 12:25 PM
Spoke to Dlink support, in order to support Unicode must reformat mah. Otherwise no point moving to 1.04

StupidMe
15-05-2008, 01:32 PM
do u all faced any prob with the changing ip address whenever u restart your router or switches :(

because mine always change when the switches re-power on due to unclean powersupply :(

anyway is there any methods to fix the ip address to make it permanant ?

richneo
15-05-2008, 02:17 PM
do u all faced any prob with the changing ip address whenever u restart your router or switches :(

because mine always change when the switches re-power on due to unclean powersupply :(

anyway is there any methods to fix the ip address to make it permanant ?
its there under SETUP > LAN

set a static ip there

richneo
15-05-2008, 02:18 PM
Spoke to Dlink support, in order to support Unicode must reformat mah. Otherwise no point moving to 1.04
i must be lucky that i havent had problems with unicode yet.

so far my chinese named files can be uploaded and downloaded in 323 successfully

sigh
15-05-2008, 04:15 PM
Your DHCP should be able to assign fixed IP on your DNS323.
Alternatively you can fixed IP on the DNS323 directly.

richneo
15-05-2008, 07:12 PM
Your DHCP should be able to assign fixed IP on your DNS323.
Alternatively you can fixed IP on the DNS323 directly.
yah hehe in fact im using static dhcp from my router too :D

thesleeper
15-05-2008, 09:24 PM
Hi people,

I got some questions regarding the DNS-323. For example if I open a word file in the NAS and a second person wants to open the same file, will he be able to open the file or will the file be locked.

richneo
15-05-2008, 09:26 PM
Hi people,

I got some questions regarding the DNS-323. For example if I open a word file in the NAS and a second person wants to open the same file, will he be able to open the file or will the file be locked.
in firmware 1.05 i saw oplocks function

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Oplocks

StupidMe
15-05-2008, 10:44 PM
its there under SETUP > LAN

set a static ip there

Hi richneo
Thanks for replying me

so the static ip if i fixed at 192.168.1.4
it will forever be that ip le ah , no matter how i reboot my router & switches ahh ?

by the way what is the difference with the dhcp & static ?

Regards
sm =:p

StupidMe
15-05-2008, 10:48 PM
Hi people,

that i try before
my version 1.04 with op lock selected

when the first user open the word doc le , the 2nd user will be able to open it in read-only format , there will be a pop up windows to informed u the file is been lock and ask whether u still wanna open it in read only format .

zjllee
17-05-2008, 12:39 PM
hmmzzz i am getting a header error with the 1.05 rar file downloaded fr the dlink s'pore support site.

richneo
17-05-2008, 01:30 PM
try using another browser or computer to download. Else download from dlink usa website. They are the same. If still persist, you need to check your computer.

chingkt
17-05-2008, 02:13 PM
hmmzzz i am getting a header error with the 1.05 rar file downloaded fr the dlink s'pore support site.

I also have problem with the easy search software too, cannot extract from the rar file.

richneo
17-05-2008, 03:03 PM
I also have problem with the easy search software too, cannot extract from the rar file.
yes im getting the same error too.

try downloading from USA

demonicvic
17-05-2008, 11:24 PM
I downloaded frm here instead frm Dlink.SG > http://www.dlink.com/products/support.asp?pid=509&sec=0#firmware

richneo
18-05-2008, 01:22 AM
hmmm weird the file can download from www.dlink.com.sg again

http://www.dlink.com.sg/support/Support_download.asp?idsupport=297

OriFlaMmE
18-05-2008, 09:48 AM
you guys got enable power management? is it working as per intended?
i dont want to enable it, only to let it power up drive to spoil it later on.

I tried enabling it but never seems to work. Eg if I do not access files from the hdd for 10mins but I set the power down at 5 the hard disks still spin at full speed making quite loud a noise and obviously no savings in electricity. Please advise.. Is my NAS faulty? If so I'll bring it down to change.. Thanks

sigh
18-05-2008, 06:08 PM
Finally bite the bullet, let go 200GB of old files and reformat HDD to support unicode..

Take almost 16 hours to copy files out and in, about 600GB of files.

Switchoff
18-05-2008, 06:45 PM
Hi anyone can help?
i update the NAS 323 to latest firmware 1.05 using PC
Now when use i remote using Mac under Go\connect to server.I am able to see the Volume_1
When click on the vol. Its show "The alias "Vol_1 " could not be opened,because the original item
cannot be found"Previously before the update firmware i don't encounter this problem.
Is any setting i am missing? Thanks

thesleeper
19-05-2008, 11:09 AM
in firmware 1.05 i saw oplocks function

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Oplocks

that i try before
my version 1.04 with op lock selected

when the first user open the word doc le , the 2nd user will be able to open it in read-only format , there will be a pop up windows to informed u the file is been lock and ask whether u still wanna open it in read only format .

Thanks for the help people!

GoThere
20-05-2008, 04:30 PM
Does anyone use D323 to host FTP?

If you do, what tool do you use to monitor the network activity of the FTP server ? (eg. what are the IP that access the FTP, what are their activities, download what files at what speed etc)

I heard that D323 is running on Linux system, can I deploy my own monitoring script on it? Please advice, thanks.

zjllee
20-05-2008, 08:53 PM
Hihi encountered a problem with transmission, I recently wiped my HDD to install 1.05 firmware, when I tried to re-install transmission, i get a "Could not find Transmission socket" when running transmission using the /ffp/start/transmission.sh start command. Anyone? Thanks!

n0d3
20-05-2008, 09:13 PM
Hihi encountered a problem with transmission, I recently wiped my HDD to install 1.05 firmware, when I tried to re-install transmission, i get a "Could not find Transmission socket" when running transmission using the /ffp/start/transmission.sh start command. Anyone? Thanks!

You probably didn't edit file to point the location of Transmission's socket.

echo “/mnt/HD_a2/.transmission/daemon/socket” >/mnt/HD_a2/www/pages/clutch/remote/data/socket.txt

E.g. the line "/mnt/HD_a2/.transmission/daemon/socket" must be found in the socket.txt file.

zjllee
20-05-2008, 09:46 PM
My bad, didn't release i downloaded a later compilation that needs libcurl...prob solved again. Thanks.

Quest
20-05-2008, 10:38 PM
ok~ upgrade to fw1.05.... The BT setting seems to be gone after reboot of the nas....anyone got the same problem?

n0d3
21-05-2008, 10:58 AM
@switchoff: I just updated to 1.05 too and I don't encounter the problem you're facing. Is your DNS-323 IP address static or DHCP assigned?

Go>Connect to>smb:\\ipaddress

Don't provide the share name, e.g. Volume 1. If you connect directly without the shared resource name, OS X will prompt you for which share you want to connect to.

Switchoff
21-05-2008, 11:16 AM
hi nod3 IP address static
Ok i go back and try again
Thanks

zjllee
21-05-2008, 08:19 PM
Anyone able to upload .torrent files larger than 100kB on transmission?

crypster
22-05-2008, 11:53 PM
I upgraded to 1.05 and to realise that all my files cannot be deleted. BT is by default store files in Volume 1.

anyone know how to get back my delete access?

Quest
23-05-2008, 12:46 PM
I upgraded to 1.05 and to realise that all my files cannot be deleted. BT is by default store files in Volume 1.

anyone know how to get back my delete access?

telnet in and chmod the folders for full access for everyone:yawn:

crypster
24-05-2008, 04:23 AM
how can i changed all folders at once? currently all my folder in both Volume are not able to delete with no permission for anything.

Have telnet and ssh but on Volume 1 so far

kun1he2
24-05-2008, 09:42 PM
Maybe...
chmod -R

crypster
25-05-2008, 08:14 PM
i have a serious problem now. I have the nas configure as follows:
2x500GB
Volume_1 = 250GB raid 1
Volume_2 = 500GB JBOD

I enabled ssh, telnet. I chmod both folder HD_a2 and HD_b2 with chmod 777. After restart, my telnet stuck at busybox load screen. SSH connection refused.

FTP into the nas can only access Volume_2 Volume_1 is not accessible anymore always get permission denied.

Anyone can help? I remvoe the hdd and plug in as USB drive, system detect in device manager but not exist in disk manager in windows

http://tubeimage.com/viewer.php?file=kmhou5801vix3zou0zci.jpg
http://tubeimage.com/viewer.php?file=ua8p9m96sk7v5i6d08jb.jpg

sharpion
27-05-2008, 01:18 AM
The best price at Funan as of 5/14 was S$229

just bought mine 2day at Funan - most of the shops selling @ $245-$249 but i managed to find one at $229 :s12:

Tuakong
27-05-2008, 10:39 AM
bought mine at SLS yesterday at $235 :(

shadowandy
28-05-2008, 12:50 PM
Should wait for a few more days as PC Show is coming. It may be cheaper.

merf82
02-06-2008, 10:41 AM
Hey, just like to check if i can just plainly use this as another ext drive connected via USB to my PC / Laptop?

Actually i came across this other product, but no branding and much more expensive.

http://img104.imageshack.us/img104/7992/overview1id3.jpg

Any comments? Haha

halocast
02-06-2008, 12:35 PM
any brother here know if DNS 343 is coming? or what?

possible launch at pc show?

forumvrz
03-06-2008, 01:30 AM

I reformatted the HDD to RAID 0 When I click on "Bitorrent" on the Easy Search utility, I got a message "Check hard drives". Could you assist?

thanks

djcoolmax
05-06-2008, 01:13 PM
Now D-Link DNS-323 and DIR-655 officially supports BitTorrent protocol in it's firmware (http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/content/view/30465/76/)... w00t!

DNS-323 (http://support.dlink.com/products/view.asp?productid=DNS%2D323)

DIR-655 (http://support.dlink.com/products/view.asp?productid=DIR%2D655)

richneo
05-06-2008, 08:24 PM
Now D-Link DNS-323 and DIR-655 officially supports BitTorrent protocol in it's firmware (http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/content/view/30465/76/)... w00t!

yar and the official BT firmware is already posted few weeks back at http://www.dlink.com.sg

OKK77
06-06-2008, 04:02 AM
Finally bite the bullet, let go 200GB of old files and reformat HDD to support unicode..

Take almost 16 hours to copy files out and in, about 600GB of files.

16 hours... goodness. I have about 600GB of files as well. Gonna format soon. :s31:

shadowandy
06-06-2008, 07:42 AM
any brother here know if DNS 343 is coming? or what?

possible launch at pc show?

Doubt so wor.. If you want/need it urgently, I belief you need to bring in from overseas yourself. Check out if it is out at d-link shop or amazon. I got most of my NAS from overseas.

MarineX
11-06-2008, 07:15 AM
DNS-323 supports SATA-II right?

richneo
11-06-2008, 07:32 AM
DNS-323 supports SATA-II right?
yes

10 char

cyberian
11-06-2008, 07:50 AM
Can it support 1TB x 2 HDD in Raid 1 mode?

tazzi80
11-06-2008, 08:17 AM

Is it possible to setup a wireless storage network with this 2 items? Or basically pair the NAS with any wireless router?

richneo
11-06-2008, 08:41 AM
Can it support 1TB x 2 HDD in Raid 1 mode?
confirm yes

it can run 1.5tb x 2 in raid 1 or 2tb x 2 in raid 1 also provided market is selling them

richneo
11-06-2008, 08:44 AM
Is it possible to setup a wireless storage network with this 2 items? Or basically pair the NAS with any wireless router?
pair the nas with any wireless n gigabit router such as dir-655 for optimum speed transfer but note that dns-323 only has a gigabit port so if u intend to make dns-323 a wireless device, u might have to pair up with a wireless bridge

dir-655 supports jumbo frame for superb wired gigabit transfer or wireless n transfer at speed faster then fast ethernet connection.

i know cos im currently using this combination and shadowandy too

http://img441.imageshack.us/img441/8598/dgs1008d07ub2.jpg

sorry shadowandy link this pic without ur permission :s34:

cyberian
11-06-2008, 10:54 AM
confirm yes

it can run 1.5tb x 2 in raid 1 or 2tb x 2 in raid 1 also provided market is selling them

Thanks for the info.. will consider upgrading it. Wonder if DNS 343 (http://www.dlink.com/products/?sec=1&pid=667) will be available.

MarineX
11-06-2008, 10:59 AM
Thanks for the info.. will consider upgrading it. Wonder if DNS 343 (http://www.dlink.com/products/?sec=1&pid=667) will be available.

wow, how much will that gonna be? $600+? and it looks cool with the OLED..

richneo
11-06-2008, 11:20 AM
dunno leh but i dun think will reach our shore so fast

maybe next year?

MarineX
11-06-2008, 11:24 AM
dunno leh but i dun think will reach our shore so fast

maybe next year?

so its launched at other places le ?

tazzi80
11-06-2008, 11:24 AM
pair the nas with any wireless n gigabit router such as dir-655 for optimum speed transfer but note that dns-323 only has a gigabit port so if u intend to make dns-323 a wireless device, u might have to pair up with a wireless bridge

dir-655 supports jumbo frame for superb wired gigabit transfer or wireless n transfer at speed faster then fast ethernet connection.

i know cos im currently using this combination and shadowandy too

sorry shadowandy link this pic without ur permission :s34:

Sorry I am not too sure about the wireless bridge. So what does it do? Sry a bit noob here. Cause tryign to set up a wireless home network with storage for my new home.

richneo
11-06-2008, 11:25 AM
so its launched at other places le ?
i think not sold yet

but europe got people seem to be testing it

richneo
11-06-2008, 11:26 AM
Sorry I am not too sure about the wireless bridge. So what does it do? Sry a bit noob here. Cause tryign to set up a wireless home network with storage for my new home.
for peace of mind, connect dns-323 directly to router via lan cable

tazzi80
11-06-2008, 11:33 AM
for peace of mind, connect dns-323 directly to router via lan cable

Ah ic. Thanks a lot. So I gathered I can just get the dns-323 and dir-655 to set up the wireless storage cum network and the other devices can just tap into the network & storage. :s22:

richneo
11-06-2008, 11:53 AM
Ah ic. Thanks a lot. So I gathered I can just get the dns-323 and dir-655 to set up the wireless storage cum network and the other devices can just tap into the network & storage. :s22:
yup u are right :D

connect dns-323 to any wireless router and the rest of the computer can access dns-323 wirelessly through the wireless router

but wireless speed still loose to gigabit wired connection

cyberian
11-06-2008, 11:58 AM
wow, how much will that gonna be? $600+? and it looks cool with the OLED..

US$519 appox S$710.. not cheap

richneo
11-06-2008, 12:14 PM
US$519 appox S$710.. not cheap
hmmm dns-323 srp selling for around US$2XX singapore also selling around SG$2XX :s34:

halocast
11-06-2008, 05:01 PM
hmmm dns-323 srp selling for around US$2XX singapore also selling around SG$2XX :s34:

whoa.. if its same price..

quekky
11-06-2008, 08:05 PM
i saw some au online stores selling, but dunno got stock or not

richneo
11-06-2008, 08:18 PM
haha could it be like dlinkshop? put dir-855 and etc but always put no stocks keke

richneo
11-06-2008, 08:22 PM
http://www.dlink.com.sg/MassEmail/SG_HTML/PC_Show08/PCShow08.jpg

http://www.dlink.com.sg/MassEmail/SG_HTML/PC_Show08/PCShow08.htm

halocast
11-06-2008, 08:22 PM
this one can support what file formats?

got NTFS?

shadowandy
12-06-2008, 07:43 AM
this one can support what file formats?

got NTFS?

it doesn't support NTFS partition though as it is not natively supported by linux. DNS-313 supports NTFS though.

halocast
12-06-2008, 01:40 PM
this uses ext2 and ext3 right :o

shadowandy
12-06-2008, 02:18 PM
this uses ext2 and ext3 right :o

Yeap. I find of like the DNS-323 more as I place swap and commonly accessed files (fonz's fun_plug) on a USB thumbdrive and it actually reduces disk access. Random access is faster!

Bieffe
12-06-2008, 07:14 PM
Latest version comes with BT software!

mikengtw
12-06-2008, 10:27 PM
Hi..users

I need your help my DNS-323 setup for the BitTorrent,
have done all the setting still no luck of downloading it.My
router is a NetGear DG834GT and very puzzle me why is it
still no downloading at all. Would there anyone out there
could help me out..thanks.

richneo
12-06-2008, 11:31 PM
remember to change the default port from 6881 to some other port and do port forwarding

if u dunno how to do port forwarding, call your router's helpdesk

Lss
13-06-2008, 02:25 AM
just checking but any idea how much wattage this thing uses?

Bieffe
13-06-2008, 03:02 AM
is yours the latest version bought from the pc show? no instructions?

cyberian
13-06-2008, 07:24 AM
Hi..users

I need your help my DNS-323 setup for the BitTorrent,
have done all the setting still no luck of downloading it.My
router is a NetGear DG834GT and very puzzle me why is it
still no downloading at all. Would there anyone out there
could help me out..thanks.

Ok. Check this link. (http://www.portforward.com/english/routers/port_forwarding/Netgear/DG834GT/BitTorrent.htm)

ryanseah
13-06-2008, 10:42 AM
Any idea if the DND323 PC show price of $209 is available at Funan or SLS?

MarineX
13-06-2008, 11:02 AM
if sls is cheaper, do let me know...

mikengtw
13-06-2008, 01:31 PM
remember to change the default port from 6881 to some other port and do port forwarding

if u dunno how to do port forwarding, call your router's helpdesk

Thank you I will try out later this evening after come back home from work, will try
to test see if I change to other port.

mikengtw
13-06-2008, 01:35 PM
is yours the latest version bought from the pc show? no instructions?

Yes i did brought from the PC Show yesterday it did came with a small manual. After
I have setup DNS-323 up and running tested my ftp it work. Only thing is the BT won't
run at all, so I was abit blur where did I do wrong setting or what. That why I need you
users out there for help...

umpimp
13-06-2008, 09:15 PM
Yes i did brought from the PC Show yesterday it did came with a small manual. After
I have setup DNS-323 up and running tested my ftp it work. Only thing is the BT won't
run at all, so I was abit blur where did I do wrong setting or what. That why I need you
users out there for help...

on the pc show is not the latest u have to update to 1.05 firmware

PC show one are 1.03 only :s13:

mikengtw
13-06-2008, 09:47 PM
on the pc show is not the latest u have to update to 1.05 firmware

PC show one are 1.03 only :s13:

Yes i did upgrade the firmware to 1.05 with the latest Easy Search Utility , after done all
the rest and setup my Netgear router to open up the port for the BT . In the end it did
work for a while , but after I try the second time round it does not seen to be downloading
any files at all.

One thing I did notice is the DNS-323 default setting port opening is 6881, if I change it
to higher port rage like 37000 or up 60000. When I switch off the DNS-323 and back on
again it set back to the default 6881...

Only thing I notice is speed wise for download BT not very fast, I was wonder is there
could be ISP blocking the BT ? As I am using the Singtel ADSL line...

Xtreme_Funktions
13-06-2008, 10:16 PM
just got mine today and i have to say. i am impress with this product. it support resume function! :)

MarineX
14-06-2008, 12:59 AM
i too want it but the price is overwhelming expensive.. hahas

mikengtw
14-06-2008, 08:30 AM
i too want it but the price is overwhelming expensive.. hahas

The price now they offer at the PC Show is very good deal , if you brought it after the
PC Show the price may not be at the rage of $209 it would be some where $229.

Xtreme_Funktions
14-06-2008, 10:28 AM
One thing I did notice is the DNS-323 default setting port opening is 6881, if I change it
to higher port rage like 37000 or up 60000. When I switch off the DNS-323 and back on

Only thing I notice is speed wise for download BT not very fast, I was wonder is there

u are right on the settings set to default. a bug? :P

zax13
14-06-2008, 11:02 AM
just to do a check if any of u guys put 2x samsung 1tb spinpoint f1 in their dlink? got any problems?

umpimp
14-06-2008, 06:39 PM
Yes i did upgrade the firmware to 1.05 with the latest Easy Search Utility , after done all
the rest and setup my Netgear router to open up the port for the BT . In the end it did
work for a while , but after I try the second time round it does not seen to be downloading
any files at all.

yup after turn off and on back to default setting *bugs
323 BT download is super slow less the 10kbps
i don't think is ISP blocking should be the 323 BT setting but only few setting to play around nothing much we can do to push BT download speed
maybe can try enable DMZ see how it goes
tested on XXX file on 323 less then 10Kbps
BT on the same file use on pc easy hit over 200kbps

mikengtw
14-06-2008, 10:29 PM
u are right on the settings set to default. a bug? :P

Thank you that means I am not having this kind of problem, looks like Dlink have to
sort out the bug problem. Like dat I would rather use on my DNS-323 as a FTP and
backup NAS. No point for me to wait for the BT to download such a slow sleep and a
bug there.

Reason I don't want to waste my time of waiting download BT files... Rather use on
software base on my pc would be much faster downloading like LimeWire Pro.

mikengtw
14-06-2008, 10:34 PM
i don't think is ISP blocking should be the 323 BT setting but only few setting to play around nothing much we can do to push BT download speed

Yes you are right I did try some experiment on DNS-323 BT running and my LimeWirePro
version on my desktop version. And it seens to me the desktop version runs much faster
than my DNS-323, and another problem was the bug from DNS itself come to think of it
might as well use my desktop version.

Save my time of waiting download and I also don't like the idea leave my DNS-323 leave
it many days online just to get a files have to take it so long, don't wish to see shorten my
harddisk life span...

umpimp
15-06-2008, 12:05 AM
Yes you are right I did try some experiment on DNS-323 BT running and my LimeWirePro
version on my desktop version. And it seens to me the desktop version runs much faster
than my DNS-323, and another problem was the bug from DNS itself come to think of it
might as well use my desktop version.

Save my time of waiting download and I also don't like the idea leave my DNS-323 leave
it many days online just to get a files have to take it so long, don't wish to see shorten my
harddisk life span...

agree
other then using bt
323 is one of the best NAS up there:D

shadowandy
15-06-2008, 12:51 AM

http://img126.imageshack.us/img126/9837/clutchbt02tw0.jpg (http://www.shadowandy.net/2008/05/clutch-for-transmission-screenshots.htm)

I guess alot depends on the settings. Well, there are other BT clients you can use on your DNS-323 and DNS-313. E.g. Transmission (http://www.shadowandy.net/2008/05/transmission-for-dns-313-dns-323.htm)

Xtreme_Funktions
15-06-2008, 01:20 AM
Thank you that means I am not having this kind of problem, looks like Dlink have to
sort out the bug problem. Like dat I would rather use on my DNS-323 as a FTP and
backup NAS. No point for me to wait for the BT to download such a slow sleep and a
bug there.

Reason I don't want to waste my time of waiting download BT files... Rather use on
software base on my pc would be much faster downloading like LimeWire Pro.

for me, i would still use my nas to do my bt as my pc will use allot of electricity while nas i highly doubt so.

http://img126.imageshack.us/img126/9837/clutchbt02tw0.jpg (http://www.shadowandy.net/2008/05/clutch-for-transmission-screenshots.htm)

I guess alot depends on the settings. Well, there are other BT clients you can use on your DNS-323 and DNS-313. E.g. Transmission (http://www.shadowandy.net/2008/05/transmission-for-dns-313-dns-323.htm)

how to do telnet?? i only have window wor.. need linux ah? :s22:

hm.. for me below 10kb only when its in the morning.. :S

taken not long ago..

http://img137.imageshack.us/img137/1491/above10kbpsai3.jpg

sonicbas
16-06-2008, 02:56 AM
in dos type
telnet <dns-323 ip>
but u need the fun plug for the telnet to work

Lss
16-06-2008, 04:22 AM
ok guys managed to get transmission+clutch working, with 2 wd5000aaks inside. started a torrent sometime ago and power usage is 15W according to my zalman zm-mfc2(known to overestimate). 1 hdd should be off and from what i can tell highest reading so far is 32W.

thanks shadowandy for the transmission.

i think the built in bt client has no encryption capabilities? could that be why its so slow.

btw transmission lacks certain batch torrent functions which i heard will be included in 1.3.

Xtreme_Funktions
16-06-2008, 11:16 AM
in dos type
telnet <dns-323 ip>
but u need the fun plug for the telnet to work

wat is the fun plug??

shadowandy
16-06-2008, 11:29 AM
wat is the fun plug??

Running fonz's fun_plug 0.5 on DNS-323 (http://www.shadowandy.net/2008/05/running-fonzs-fun_plug-05-on-dns-323.htm)

Tuakong
16-06-2008, 11:43 AM
I went to shadowandy's website and read the 'simple instructions' and was completely floored. Totally catch no fishball.
So, no choice but to use my DNS323 as a backup Raid 1 device with no 'enhanced' BT capabilities.
Wish there was a 1-2-3 guide for noobs.

Xtreme_Funktions
16-06-2008, 12:29 PM
Running fonz's fun_plug 0.5 on DNS-323 (http://www.shadowandy.net/2008/05/running-fonzs-fun_plug-05-on-dns-323.htm)

ok.. ive dl the files and put them on volume_1.

Rebooting and logging in for the first time
After you have edited and save the fun_plug file. Reboot the device and wait for it to come online. Once DNS-323 is online, telnet to it.

must edit the file or is optional? im totally new to this.. a step by step guide would be thankful :D

i didnt edit the files and ive telnet to it.. now im totally lost on wat to do..

Bieffe
16-06-2008, 02:20 PM
I went to shadowandy's website and read the 'simple instructions' and was completely floored. Totally catch no fishball.
So, no choice but to use my DNS323 as a backup Raid 1 device with no 'enhanced' BT capabilities.
Wish there was a 1-2-3 guide for noobs.Some how nobody trying to do a more step by step instructions to help the newbies here.
The instructions given on "that" webby is for ppl with some telnet etc skill for the many more commoners like myself....really catch no ball. Anyway I thank shadowandy very much for his contributions. From his webby also unlikely he gonna give us a step by step...too busy lah he.....

Read and read also dunno what are the software required and which to install or to run 1st.

Luckily Dlink....is working to help us with their lackluster BT client which at least a step in the right direction for the company.

Wonder will anybody conduct a clinic to help us with this BT installation. Powerful but many can't use.

Dlink effort lousy but many can use. Hahahha.

shadowandy
16-06-2008, 02:37 PM
ok.. ive dl the files and put them on volume_1.

must edit the file or is optional? im totally new to this.. a step by step guide would be thankful :D

i didnt edit the files and ive telnet to it.. now im totally lost on wat to do..

Try telneting to it. if it accepts your connection, then the fun_plug is up and you can install quite a few packages based on it.

Tuakong
16-06-2008, 02:50 PM
Some how nobody trying to do a more step by step instructions to help the newbies here.
The instructions given on "that" webby is for ppl with some telnet etc skill for the many more commoners like myself....really catch no ball. Anyway I thank shadowandy very much for his contributions. From his webby also unlikely he gonna give us a step by step...too busy lah he.....

Read and read also dunno what are the software required and which to install or to run 1st.

Luckily Dlink....is working to help us with their lackluster BT client which at least a step in the right direction for the company.

Wonder will anybody conduct a clinic to help us with this BT installation. Powerful but many can't use.

Dlink effort lousy but many can use. Hahahha.

Thank God, I'm not alone.

Xtreme_Funktions
16-06-2008, 02:51 PM
i see.. yea.. ive face a problem.. ive dl the transmission and i couldnt get a command to work.. ive bold the command that i type and the error that i got in italic. the whole session of command is pasted below. hope u can help me :D

/ # / # cd mmt /HD_a2
/ffp/bin/sh: /: Permission denied
/ # cd mnt/HD_a2
/mnt/HD_a2 # funpkg -i curl-7181.tgz
Installing package curl-7181 ...
/mnt/HD_a2 # funpkg -i Transmission-1.21-ffp05.tgz
FATAL: Transmission-1.21-ffp05.tgz: File not found
/mnt/HD_a2 # funpkg -i Transmission-1.21-ffp0.5.tgz
Installing package Transmission-1.21-ffp0.5 ...
/mnt/HD_a2 # /ffp/start/transmission.sh start
Starting transmission-daemon
/mnt/HD_a2 # mkdir -p /mnt/HD_a2/torrents
/mnt/HD_a2 # export TRANSMISSION_HOME=/mnt/HD_a2/.tranmission
/mnt/HD_a2 # transmission-remote -f /mnt/HD_a2/torrents
transmission-remote: failed to connect to socket file: /mnt/HD_a2/.tranmission/d
aemon/socket: No such file or directory
transmission-remote: failed to connect to socket file: /mnt/HD_a2/.tranmission/d
/mnt/HD_a2 # mkdir -p /mnt/HD_a2/torrents
/mnt/HD_a2 # chmod a+x /ffp/start/transmission.sh
/mnt/HD_a2 #

so after this is done, i should install the clutch? all these sounds like a car to me.. transmission ah.. clutch.. cool!~

wat else is there for me to install under the fun_plug package? :s12::s12:

Xtreme_Funktions
16-06-2008, 02:52 PM
Thank God, I'm not alone.

hmm.. i also start from 0 to something here.. maybe if u follow my post on the previous page u can understand? just a suggestion.. :s22:

StupidMe
16-06-2008, 02:53 PM
hey guys the 1.05 firmware is also chinese enabled right ?
or i have to go from 1.03 to 1.04 then to 1.05 ?

shadowandy
16-06-2008, 03:25 PM
i see.. yea.. ive face a problem.. ive dl the transmission and i couldnt get a command to work.. ive bold the command that i type and the error that i got in italic. the whole session of command is pasted below. hope u can help me :D

so after this is done, i should install the clutch? all these sounds like a car to me.. transmission ah.. clutch.. cool!~

wat else is there for me to install under the fun_plug package? :s12::s12:

it is transmission not tranmission

export TRANSMISSION_HOME=/mnt/HD_a2/.transmission

instead of

export TRANSMISSION_HOME=/mnt/HD_a2/.tranmission

shadowandy
16-06-2008, 03:33 PM
http://wiki.dns323.info/howto:bittorrent is another guide for setting up bittorrent. Hope you all will find this more useful and understandable.

Xtreme_Funktions
16-06-2008, 04:30 PM
it is transmission not tranmission

export TRANSMISSION_HOME=/mnt/HD_a2/.transmission

instead of

export TRANSMISSION_HOME=/mnt/HD_a2/.tranmission

oh.. another problem.. when im at tis command

/mnt/HD_a2 # mv /mnt/HD_a2/www/pages/Clutch-0.4/

it tells me

BusyBox v1.10.1 (2008-04-19 12:53:41 CEST) multi-call binary

Usage: mv [OPTION]... SOURCE DEST
or: mv [OPTION]... SOURCE... DIRECTORY

Rename SOURCE to DEST, or move SOURCE(s) to DIRECTORY

Options:
-f Don't prompt before overwriting
-i Interactive, prompt before overwrite

and do i have to do anything for the above command??

when i move onto the next command, /mnt/HD_a2 # /mnt/HD_a2/www/pages/clutch i get a not found error.

shadowandy
16-06-2008, 05:10 PM
oh.. another problem.. when im at tis command

/mnt/HD_a2 # mv /mnt/HD_a2/www/pages/Clutch-0.4/

it tells me

and do i have to do anything for the above command??

when i move onto the next command, /mnt/HD_a2 # /mnt/HD_a2/www/pages/clutch i get a not found error.

I belief the full command was

/mnt/HD_a2 # mv /mnt/HD_a2/www/pages/Clutch-0.4/ /mnt/HD_a2/www/pages/clutch

on the guide.

Xtreme_Funktions
16-06-2008, 05:33 PM
oh i see.. alright i got it to work.. thanks :)

how come it says permission denied on the error.. the folder seems to be read only.. did i miss a step? :S

Tuakong
16-06-2008, 07:32 PM
silly question #1.
When I go to fun_plug, i have to copy & paste the contents to notepad and save it as fun_plug.txt?
The 2nd file, fun_plug.tgz, have downloaded liao

when i reboot the dsn323, it doesnt not unpack the.tgz file le...

richneo
16-06-2008, 07:52 PM
silly question #1.
When I go to fun_plug, i have to copy & paste the contents to notepad and save it as fun_plug.txt?
The 2nd file, fun_plug.tgz, have downloaded liao
the first file also same as the place where u download ur 2nd file

wat did u copy and paste and save?

Lss
16-06-2008, 08:03 PM
shadowandy possible to compile transmission 1.22+

the encryption will make it better and its suppose be better than 1.21.

lack the technical skills to pull this off.

shadowandy
16-06-2008, 09:02 PM
shadowandy possible to compile transmission 1.22+

the encryption will make it better and its suppose be better than 1.21.

lack the technical skills to pull this off.

check out the blog entry. it is now available.

Xtreme_Funktions
16-06-2008, 10:42 PM
how come it says permission denied on the error when i try to dl.. the folder (torrent) seems to be read only.. did i miss a step? :S

Tuakong
16-06-2008, 11:08 PM
how come it says permission denied on the error when i try to dl.. the folder (torrent) seems to be read only.. did i miss a step? :S

got the same prblem too

Frankie
17-06-2008, 12:12 AM
I just bought DNS-323 from PC Show. Installed and configured on factory version 1.03 and then performed firmware upgrade to ver 1.05. After reboot, I am not able to login using the password that I configured for "admin" before the upgrade.

Need help.

Xtreme_Funktions
17-06-2008, 12:25 AM
hm.. maybe u can try hardware reset which is located at the back?

Lss
17-06-2008, 12:54 AM
if there is a problem for transmission to write to the folder use the following command

chmod -R a=rwx /mnt/HD_a2/<foldername or path>

yes issued in telnet

this is a linux thingy btw

thats fast much thanks for 1.22. trying to solve a bug in transmission now cant seem to set --encryption preferred

Xtreme_Funktions
17-06-2008, 01:24 AM
if there is a problem for transmission to write to the folder use the following command

yes issued in telnet

thats fast much thanks for 1.22. trying to solve a bug in transmission now cant seem to set --encryption preferred

thanks for the command.. been waiting in this thread for hours on the solution :D:s12:

Rogue
17-06-2008, 01:40 AM
I just bought DNS-323 from PC Show. Installed and configured on factory version 1.03 and then performed firmware upgrade to ver 1.05. After reboot, I am not able to login using the password that I configured for "admin" before the upgrade.

Need help.

It might have reset back to the original default password.

Bieffe
17-06-2008, 01:48 AM
do i need to run the easy search utility on every pc which i want to see dns 323?

Xtreme_Funktions
17-06-2008, 02:16 AM
do i need to run the easy search utility on every pc which i want to see dns 323?

no as far as i know.. just make sure they are on the same workgroup..

Lss
17-06-2008, 03:00 AM
no as far as i know.. just make sure they are on the same workgroup..

you could do it manually via ip too. just map network drive.

Tuakong
17-06-2008, 09:48 AM

yes issued in telnet

ok will try again tonight. For those newbies who wish to use Transmission and Clutch, I will come up with simple step-by-step guide by today.

Tuakong
17-06-2008, 10:36 AM
Complete Idiot’s Guide to installing Transmission & Clutch on DNS-323. There could be typo errors/ missed steps. Pls use at your own risks.

Acknowledgements & Credits :
The contents below were 99.99999% extracted from information provided by Shadowandy . Thanks to Shadowandy!!!

1. Go to this webby to dl fun_plug and fun_plug.tgz
http://www.shadowandy.net/2008/05/running-fonzs-fun_plug-05-on-dns-323.htm
Required files
fun_plug (from http://www.inreto.de/dns323/fun-plug/0.5/)
- right click on url and select “Save Target As…” to Volume 1
fun_plug.tgz (from http://www.inreto.de/dns323/fun-plug/0.5/)
- click on url and save to Volume 1

2. Reboot DSN-323 to unzip fun_plug.tgz (Uzip should be automatic)
3. After reboot, check Volume 1 and see if additional folders have been created on Volume1
4. Then click on this url: http://www.shadowandy.net/2008/05/transmission-for-dns-313-dns-323.htm
To dl these 2 files to your Volume 1
- libcurl (7.18.1) download
- transmission (1.22) download

5. On yr PC, click ‘Start’ and select ‘Command Prompt’
6. At command prompt level (“>”), enter “Telnet <your dns-323 ip-addr) ”
7. It should tell you that you are connected to your DNS-323
8. Enter the following commands in sequence
- / # cd mnt/HD_a2
- /mnt/HD_a2 # funpkg -i curl-7181.tgz
System Response: Installing package curl-7181 …
- /mnt/HD_a2 # funpkg -i Transmission-1.22-ffp0.5.tgz
System Response: Installing package Transmission-1.22-ffp0.5.tgz …
If you encounter Fatal Error; File not found, do not call 999. Simply rename the command to .tar instead of .tgz If still cannot, shout for help
Ok, you are half-way there……..the next steps are Life & Death….
9. At the /mnt/HD_a2 # prompt, enter the following command to execute Transmission-Daemon:
/ffp/start/transmission.sh start
System Response: Starting transmission-daemon
10.Enter the command to create a Torrents Folder on Volume 1:
- mkdir -p /mnt/HD_a2/torrents
11. Enter these commands in sequence:
- export TRANSMISSION_HOME=/mnt/HD_a2/.transmission
- transmission-remote -f /mnt/HD_a2/torrents
- chmod a+x /ffp/start/transmission.sh

Now to Install Clutch for Transmission
12. Again at the /mnt/HD_a2 # prompt, enter these commands in sequence:
Downloading the required files
- wget http://www.inreto.de/dns323/fun-plug/0.5/packages/php-5.2.6-2.tgz
System Response: Connecting to www.inreto.de (217.119.59.48:80)
php-5.2.6-2.tgz 100% |*******************************| 6414k 00:00:00 ETA

13. Setting up PHP and lighttpd. Enter these commands in sequence:
- funpkg -i php-5.2.6-2.tgz
System Response: Installing package php-5.2.6-2 …
- cp /ffp/etc/examples/lighttpd.conf-with-php /ffp/etc/lighttpd.conf
- mkdir -p /mnt/HD_a2/www/pages /mnt/HD_a2/www/logs
14. Downloading Clutch. Enter these commands in sequence:
- wget http://clutchbt.com/Files/Clutch-0.4.tar.gz
System Response: Connecting to clutchbt.com (74.52.213.130:80)
Clutch-0.4.tar.gz 100% |*******************************| 155k 00:00:00 ETA

15. Setting up Clutch. Enter these commands in sequence:
- tar xf Clutch-0.4.tar.gz -C /mnt/HD_a2/www/pages/
- mv /mnt/HD_a2/www/pages/Clutch-0.4/ /mnt/HD_a2/www/pages/clutch
- echo “/mnt/HD_a2/.transmission/daemon/socket” > mnt/HD_a2/www/pages/clutch/remote/data/socket.txt * this is a whole command *
16. Starting up lighttpd
- chmod a+x /ffp/start/lighttpd.sh
- sh /ffp/start/lighttpd.sh start
System Response: Starting /ffp/sbin/lighttpd -f /ffp/etc/lighttpd.conf

17. Accessing your Clutch
Now surf to http://<DSN-323 ippr-addr>:8080/clutch/ to use your transmission

18. If you encounter ‘Permission Denied’ during BT, then Telnet to your DSN323 again to give your Torrents folder ‘write’ access. Enter this command:
- chmod -R a=rwx /mnt/HD_a2/<Torrents> * Thanks to Lss *

drawingbored
17-06-2008, 12:37 PM
any way for me to view my movies through front row? i have shared my movies and music through the dns 323 itunes server but only the music show up in my pc and mac's itunes.

amoro123
17-06-2008, 11:40 PM
thanks Tuakong for the guide.

get everything working...

BUt when doing the password thingy. while typing this line

/mnt/HD_a2 # / # sh /mnt/HD_a2/htdigest.sh ‘clutch’ ‘Password Protected Area’ ‘password’

clutch:Password Protected Area:98616824633db75cb8d3a63d5c0658cb

I got

wat went wrong?

Bieffe
18-06-2008, 01:06 AM
Complete Idiot’s Guide to installing Transmission & Clutch on DNS-323. There could be typo errors/ missed steps. Pls use at your own risks.

Acknowledgements & Credits :
The contents below were 99.99999% extracted from information provided by Shadowandy . Thanks to Shadowandy!!!

1. Go to this webby to dl fun_plug and fun_plug.tgz
http://www.shadowandy.net/2008/05/running-fonzs-fun_plug-05-on-dns-323.htm
Required files
fun_plug (from http://www.inreto.de/dns323/fun-plug/0.5/)
- right click on url and select “Save Target As…” to Volume 1
fun_plug.tgz (from http://www.inreto.de/dns323/fun-plug/0.5/)
- click on url and save to Volume 1

2. Reboot DSN-323 to unzip fun_plug.tgz (Uzip should be automatic)
3. After reboot, check Volume 1 and see if additional folders have been created on Volume1
4. Then click on this url: http://www.shadowandy.net/2008/05/transmission-for-dns-313-dns-323.htm
To dl these 2 files to your Volume 1
- libcurl (7.18.1) download
- transmission (1.22) download

5. On yr PC, click ‘Start’ and select ‘Command Prompt’
6. At command prompt level (“>”), enter “Telnet <your dns-323 ip-addr) ”
7. It should tell you that you are connected to your DNS-323
8. Enter the following commands in sequence
- / # cd mnt/HD_a2
- /mnt/HD_a2 # funpkg -i curl-7181.tgz
System Response: Installing package curl-7181 …
- /mnt/HD_a2 # funpkg -i Transmission-1.22-ffp0.5.tgz
System Response: Installing package Transmission-1.22-ffp0.5.tgz …
If you encounter Fatal Error; File not found, do not call 999. Simply rename the command to .tar instead of .tgz If still cannot, shout for help
Ok, you are half-way there……..the next steps are Life & Death….
9. At the /mnt/HD_a2 # prompt, enter the following command to execute Transmission-Daemon:
/ffp/start/transmission.sh start
System Response: Starting transmission-daemon
10.Enter the command to create a Torrents Folder on Volume 1:
- mkdir -p /mnt/HD_a2/torrents
11. Enter these commands in sequence:
- export TRANSMISSION_HOME=/mnt/HD_a2/.transmission
- transmission-remote -f /mnt/HD_a2/torrents
- chmod a+x /ffp/start/transmission.sh

Now to Install Clutch for Transmission
12. Again at the /mnt/HD_a2 # prompt, enter these commands in sequence:
Downloading the required files
- wget http://www.inreto.de/dns323/fun-plug/0.5/packages/php-5.2.6-2.tgz
System Response: Connecting to www.inreto.de (217.119.59.48:80)
php-5.2.6-2.tgz 100% |*******************************| 6414k 00:00:00 ETA

13. Setting up PHP and lighttpd. Enter these commands in sequence:
- funpkg -i php-5.2.6-2.tgz
System Response: Installing package php-5.2.6-2 …
- cp /ffp/etc/examples/lighttpd.conf-with-php /ffp/etc/lighttpd.conf
- mkdir -p /mnt/HD_a2/www/pages /mnt/HD_a2/www/logs
14. Downloading Clutch. Enter these commands in sequence:
- wget http://clutchbt.com/Files/Clutch-0.4.tar.gz
System Response: Connecting to clutchbt.com (74.52.213.130:80)
Clutch-0.4.tar.gz 100% |*******************************| 155k 00:00:00 ETA

15. Setting up Clutch. Enter these commands in sequence:
- tar xf Clutch-0.4.tar.gz -C /mnt/HD_a2/www/pages/
- mv /mnt/HD_a2/www/pages/Clutch-0.4/ /mnt/HD_a2/www/pages/clutch
- echo “/mnt/HD_a2/.transmission/daemon/socket” > mnt/HD_a2/www/pages/clutch/remote/data/socket.txt * this is a whole command *
16. Starting up lighttpd
- chmod a+x /ffp/start/lighttpd.sh
- sh /ffp/start/lighttpd.sh start
System Response: Starting /ffp/sbin/lighttpd -f /ffp/etc/lighttpd.conf

17. Accessing your Clutch
Now surf to http://<DSN-323 ippr-addr>:8080/clutch/ to use your transmission

18. If you encounter ‘Permission Denied’ during BT, then Telnet to your DSN323 again to give your Torrents folder ‘write’ access. Enter this command:
- chmod -R a=rwx /mnt/HD_a2/<Torrents> * Thanks to Lss *
STEADY:s12::s12:

sonic
18-06-2008, 01:26 AM
Need to do any port forwarding after the Telnet thing?

ANyway to transfer file to DBNS-323 faster?
Trying to transfer around 80GB but it show 200 over minutes..

Bieffe
18-06-2008, 04:55 AM
Telnet no need forward but BT u need to.

By the way I have enable the "power save" mode. But after u all enable that do u all still see the network and activity light on?

Quick check after 1hr the temp is still 41 deg C

zhix
18-06-2008, 08:47 AM
Hi All, I just bought a DNS 323 from the latest PC Show. Setup as RAID 1 and 2 500Gb Seagate Disks inside.

I am also using it to download bittorrent.

I have a question, today when I tried to move my completed downloaded from the BT folder to another folder inside the DNS 323, the transfer speed was EXTREMELY slow, just a 10 MB file could NOT be completed within 30 min.

This is transfering of data within a single HDD inside the DNS 323.

Has anyone seen this issue and have the solution? Thank you in advance.

richneo
18-06-2008, 09:24 AM
just to do a check if any of u guys put 2x samsung 1tb spinpoint f1 in their dlink? got any problems?
i only used 1 1TB samsung F1

so far so good around 60% full

richneo
18-06-2008, 09:26 AM
the default setting is 6881

ISP might not be blocking but it might be severely throttled

try google port 6881 to 6889 for more info becos this port is the most common default port for BT

Lss
18-06-2008, 10:18 AM
Hi All, I just bought a DNS 323 from the latest PC Show. Setup as RAID 1 and 2 500Gb Seagate Disks inside.

I am also using it to download bittorrent.

I have a question, today when I tried to move my completed downloaded from the BT folder to another folder inside the DNS 323, the transfer speed was EXTREMELY slow, just a 10 MB file could NOT be completed within 30 min.

This is transfering of data within a single HDD inside the DNS 323.

Has anyone seen this issue and have the solution? Thank you in advance.

how were you transfering. gay as this might sound but if you want to transfer between folders on the nas might be a good idea to telnet in to do it.

zhix
18-06-2008, 10:33 AM
how were you transfering. gay as this might sound but if you want to transfer between folders on the nas might be a good idea to telnet in to do it.

I just drag the folder using windows explorer, you mean that will make a difference?

Isn't that very troublesome to use telnet to move folders? Then I will not be able to move those unicode folder isn't it?

I am not sure if this is one of the possible root cause, I just upgraded to the new 1.05 firmware and did not format the HDD after the firmware upgrade.

shadowandy
18-06-2008, 10:56 AM
I just drag the folder using windows explorer, you mean that will make a difference?

Isn't that very troublesome to use telnet to move folders? Then I will not be able to move those unicode folder isn't it?

I am not sure if this is one of the possible root cause, I just upgraded to the new 1.05 firmware and did not format the HDD after the firmware upgrade.

It seems like the OS copied the files to your PC then pasted it back to the NAS thus incurring the cost of transfering stuffs over network.

Do that Lss suggest. Telnet in and do a mv instead.

mac_oasis
18-06-2008, 11:09 AM
bros,

is there any torrent app similar to transmission for DNS-323 but support RSS ?

sonic
18-06-2008, 11:11 AM
After surf to http://<DSN-323 ippr-addr>:8080/clutch/, and do the BT download,
must I leave the page open to continue download?
Will closing the page on the PC stop the BT downloading?
Thanks.

zhix
18-06-2008, 11:27 AM
It seems like the OS copied the files to your PC then pasted it back to the NAS thus incurring the cost of transfering stuffs over network.

Do that Lss suggest. Telnet in and do a mv instead.

you could be right, the root cause which i see on other forum is quote" file gets transferred from the first folder across the network through your PC, and then back across the network to the second folder" and i am using windows explorer via wireless G network which is extremely slow ..

oh dear .. what a hassle ...

Tuakong
18-06-2008, 11:40 AM
Thanks.

I believe you can close the page as this will not interfere with the BTing.

Tuakong
18-06-2008, 11:41 AM
.........and i am using windows explorer via wireless G network which is extremely slow ..
oh dear .. what a hassle ...

Er, wireless file transfer is a nono if size is big.

Tuakong
18-06-2008, 11:42 AM
thanks Tuakong for the guide.

get everything working...

BUt when doing the password thingy. while typing this line

/mnt/HD_a2 # / # sh /mnt/HD_a2/htdigest.sh ‘clutch’ ‘Password Protected Area’ ‘password’

clutch:Password Protected Area:98616824633db75cb8d3a63d5c0658cb

I got

wat went wrong?

waseh, where did you get the command from? I dont remember using this. :D

shadowandy
18-06-2008, 11:45 AM
waseh, where did you get the command from? I dont remember using this. :D

It is under the password protecting clutch.

it requires user to have the htdigest.sh script

shadowandy
18-06-2008, 11:47 AM
Thanks.

yes you can.

zhix
18-06-2008, 01:45 PM
Er, wireless file transfer is a nono if size is big.

Yeah .. that I know .. problem is . it's not a wireless file transfer .. it's a file transfer within the NAS HDD itself (from folder to folder) but the command is from a PC (wirelessly connected to the NAS).

zhix
18-06-2008, 01:54 PM
Yeah .. that I know .. problem is . it's not a wireless file transfer .. it's a file transfer within the NAS HDD itself (from folder to folder) but the command is from a PC (wirelessly connected to the NAS).

To furthur illustrate ..

PC A <---WIRELESS G---> Router <-----10/100---->NAS (folder B to folder C)

I use windows explorer in PC A to move data from folder B to folder C

amoro123
18-06-2008, 03:35 PM
It is under the password protecting clutch.

it requires user to have the htdigest.sh script

Yea. I did create tat script. Even open wif Notepad ++ to double check.

btw, is there MLDonkey for DNS-313?

yx2000
18-06-2008, 09:01 PM
Question! How is Transmission + Clutch and MLDonkey different from the built-in BT function of DNS-323?

shadowandy
18-06-2008, 09:13 PM

Yeah.. it is quite easy to setup.

Lss
18-06-2008, 09:21 PM
the best explanation i can offer is that this isnt an operation within the same pc.

as we all know, the 323 is a linux based nas with hdd formatted in ext2/ext3. the already means that its not natively compatible with windows. the only reason windows systems can see the nas contents is because of samba which means what you see is a share rather than a local drive.

it might be a good idea to ask in linux forums on samba behaviour to see if it is performing weirdly in this case.

Rogue
18-06-2008, 10:06 PM

Transmission / Clutch (provided by those links above) uses 'nobody' as a user to create files. This obviously causes a problem when it tries to save/create file into a folder belonging to another user, e.g the one you created, either root or username logged in via samba.

You can change the username in the transmission scripts.

Alternatively, you can open up the folder to allow everyone to access/read/write.... e.g chmod 777 foldername. You can view permission of folders and files , by 'ls -l' or 'ls -al' commands. Obviously if you try to save file when you only have only read permission, you will also be denied even from standard telnet box or file copy or samba copy and paste or ftp.

E.g
drwxrwxrwx 3 root root 2048 May 13 09:27 MyVideos , the last rwx meant everybody has read, write and execute permissions...

Google about unix file permissions if you want to know more...

quekky
18-06-2008, 10:20 PM
I tried move files/folders, immediate

Tuakong
18-06-2008, 10:45 PM
Transmission / Clutch (provided by those links above) uses 'nobody' as a user to create files. This obviously causes a problem when it tries to save/create file into a folder belonging to another user, e.g the one you created, either root or username logged in via samba.

You can change the username in the transmission scripts.

Alternatively, you can open up the folder to allow everyone to access/read/write.... e.g chmod 777 foldername. You can view permission of folders and files , by 'ls -l' or 'ls -al' commands. Obviously if you try to save file when you only have only read permission, you will also be denied even from standard telnet box or file copy or samba copy and paste or ftp.

E.g
drwxrwxrwx 3 root root 2048 May 13 09:27 MyVideos , the last rwx meant everybody has read, write and execute permissions...

Google about unix file permissions if you want to know more...

got it. Thank you. Silly qns #2: How do u tweak preferences on Transmission? Also, I dont seem to be able to submit 2 or more torrents into the Transmission queue. The BT speed is quite slow abt 30KBps

Bieffe
18-06-2008, 11:25 PM

By the way I have enable the "power save" mode. But after u all enable that do u all still see the network and activity light on?

Quick check after 1hr the temp is still 41 deg Cany advice on this?

sonic
19-06-2008, 12:30 AM
I already using Bitcomet on my PC.
Can I just transfer the left over download from Bitcomet to the DNS-323?
Can it compatible with the files & continue dl from there?
I did tried to open some torrent but nothing happen, why?

Lss
19-06-2008, 02:21 AM

telnet in issue transmission-remote look the at options available.

Tuakong
19-06-2008, 09:14 AM
got it. Thank you. Silly qns #2: How do u tweak preferences on Transmission? Also, I dont seem to be able to submit 2 or more torrents into the Transmission queue. The BT speed is quite slow abt 30KBps

I found the Preference settings and setup my router to allow port-fwding for the particular port. :)
I'm now getting about 150KBps for a torrent.
However, when I tried to add a 2nd torrent to the queue, nothing happens. Anyone help?

Xtreme_Funktions
19-06-2008, 02:22 PM

dns-323 support resume.. just put them on the incomplete folder and it will resume from there.. did that twice on the day i got my dns-323.

i used the dlink bt downloader to do the resume.. for clutch lei.. nv try b4..

I found the Preference settings and setup my router to allow port-fwding for the particular port. :)
However, when I tried to add a 2nd torrent to the queue, nothing happens. Anyone help?

nothing happens? manual start? in the clutch settings, u can select 'Start transfers when added'

yx2000
19-06-2008, 03:56 PM
Question! How is Transmission + Clutch and MLDonkey different from the built-in BT function of DNS-323?
Can anyone answer my question?

BTW, when I remove my BT from Transmission, the files are still in my NAS. Is it suppose to be like that? :s11:

sonic
19-06-2008, 04:04 PM
telnet in issue transmission-remote look the at options available.

Can't get what you mean..:s11:

sonic
19-06-2008, 04:07 PM
dns-323 support resume.. just put them on the incomplete folder and it will resume from there.. did that twice on the day i got my dns-323.

i used the dlink bt downloader to do the resume.. for clutch lei.. nv try b4..

I tried to copy to the BT folder but got error copying file or folder, access is denied.

Xtreme_Funktions
19-06-2008, 05:33 PM
I tried to copy to the BT folder but got error copying file or folder, access is denied.

hmm.. cause i remember i put the files in the folder 'incomplete' without any problem.. sorry man.. cant be of any help to u.. :(

sonic
19-06-2008, 07:35 PM
hmm.. cause i remember i put the files in the folder 'incomplete' without any problem.. sorry man.. cant be of any help to u.. :(

I just can't.. got the error copying file or folder, access is denied.
Anybody can help?

sonic
19-06-2008, 08:11 PM
Talking about Clutch.. some torrent when I click upload, nothing happen..
Any know why?

sonic
19-06-2008, 09:11 PM
I just can't.. got the error copying file or folder, access is denied.
Anybody can help?

Ok, the above error solve.. don't know why.. after I started some torrent,
I can copy files into the folder liao..

Just that those torrent that when i upload in Clutch, nothing happen, won't upload..
But they can run ok in the DNS-323 BT..
ANybody can advise?:

zjllee
19-06-2008, 09:24 PM
Ok, the above error solve.. don't know why.. after I started some torrent,
I can copy files into the folder liao..

Just that those torrent that when i upload in Clutch, nothing happen, won't upload..
But they can run ok in the DNS-323 BT..
ANybody can advise?:

Is is a http link? If yes, try downloading the torrent file to your HDD and then open it with clutch.

sonic
19-06-2008, 09:48 PM
Is is a http link? If yes, try downloading the torrent file to your HDD and then open it with clutch.

Not http link, file extension is '.torrent'.

Some of the torrent cannot be executed in Clutch but no problem in the DNS-323 BT.
The rest ok in Clutch.
Any advise?

Tuakong
20-06-2008, 10:38 AM
Talking about Clutch.. some torrent when I click upload, nothing happen..
Any know why?

Yes, I have the same problem too....

amoro123
20-06-2008, 11:20 AM

Where is the preference settings?

shadowandy
20-06-2008, 12:08 PM
Where is the preference settings?

Clutch interface, lower left corner

jeetung
21-06-2008, 07:18 PM
I need help:

I'm trying to telnet into the dlink dns323 (ip: 192.168.1.103) after i'd type in telnet (IP) it showed:

220---------- Welcome to Pure-FTPd [TLS] ----------
220-You are user number 1 of 5 allowed.
220-Local time is now 19:15. Server port: 23.
220 You will be disconnected after 2 minutes of inactivity.
login
500 ?

500 ?
login
530 You aren't logged in

but there's no login for me to type in my login name (user name which i'd set for the dns323) and password ?

thanks in advance

mong736
22-06-2008, 11:40 AM
why in browser, i select torrent task and click remove from list, but inside the Volume_1/.transmission/torrents folder still can see the already removed .torrent file?

Bieffe
22-06-2008, 08:38 PM
Anyone having problems with their printers hooked to DNS323? I can't get it awake from sleep mode and i cannot change any of the printer settings. Always back to default.

Bieffe
22-06-2008, 09:16 PM

Quick check after 1hr the temp is still 41 deg C
NObody?

WARNING!!!!:eek::eek:

I have encountered the following after installing a printer to DNS323
- Brother HL-2040
- Network activity icon will show not connected but you actually are
- Network Sharing in VISTA will not be able to launch
- Windows Mail cannot open
- after adding all OK once restart, you will have problem

Solution:
- delete the printer on DNS323

I can't be the only one ya?

dreamer_toons
22-06-2008, 11:00 PM
I need help here, jus bought the 323 and when I connect it to my laptop via the provided ethernet cable, the 323 cannot be detected in the dlink easy search utility. I tried connect it to my router, still cannot be detected.

Any advice?

richneo
22-06-2008, 11:18 PM
I need help here, jus bought the 323 and when I connect it to my laptop via the provided ethernet cable, the 323 cannot be detected in the dlink easy search utility. I tried connect it to my router, still cannot be detected.

Any advice?
when u connect dns-323 into your router, do a reboot of dns-323 first

if easy search cannot detect, go to ur router's dhcp to see the ip

if still cannot see, press the reset button behind for 20 secs or so and repeat the above steps

TopCat_52
22-06-2008, 11:44 PM
i have the latest firmware 1.05 but cant display chinese characters..
anybody can help?

dreamer_toons
23-06-2008, 12:24 AM
Thanks for the reply.

My setup is as follows: connect the 323 to the laptop via the WRT54G with ethernet cable. The 323 is not detected and the power button is flashing blue all the way, at times both the hdd and activity lights will be on.

I tried to reset but it still cannot be detected except there was once when it was detected. However, I cannot surf my net. After the formatting of the hdd during the configuration, the 323 restarted and the problem resumed again.

Till now, it is still un-detectable. I tried connect the 323 direct to my laptop; still the same.

Appreciates your advice.

Bieffe
23-06-2008, 12:25 AM
i have the latest firmware 1.05 but cant display chinese characters..
anybody can help?

Read the manual Pg8.
Just launch Easy search utility and click the language icon.
Select "Simplifed Chinese" there DONE.

If not see manual in the CD provided also have instructions. Nothing to do with the firmware.

Bieffe
23-06-2008, 12:27 AM
Thanks for the reply.

My setup is as follows: connect the 323 to the laptop via the WRT54G with ethernet cable. The 323 is not detected and the power button is flashing blue all the way, at times both the hdd and activity lights will be on.

I tried to reset but it still cannot be detected except there was once when it was detected. However, I cannot surf my net. After the formatting of the hdd during the configuration, the 323 restarted and the problem resumed again.

Till now, it is still un-detectable. I tried connect the 323 direct to my laptop; still the same.

Appreciates your advice.
OK ur router is it set to give DHCP? DId u disable ur Firewall?
Normally before NAS ur laptop is connected to router via LAN?

Lanuch IE and type in the default IP with it connected directly to ur laptop can get?

Also install by plugging into DNS first then to router. You may also power off everything from modem to router then u plug in.
On the modem, when it comes online power up the router, Then power up the DNS.

jeetung
23-06-2008, 09:27 AM
I need help:

I'm trying to telnet into the dlink dns323 (ip: 192.168.1.103) after i'd type in telnet (IP) it showed:

220---------- Welcome to Pure-FTPd [TLS] ----------
220-You are user number 1 of 5 allowed.
220-Local time is now 19:15. Server port: 23.
220 You will be disconnected after 2 minutes of inactivity.
login
500 ?

500 ?
login
530 You aren't logged in

but there's no login for me to type in my login name (user name which i'd set for the dns323) and password ?

thanks in advance

Found out the problem... my ftp port was set to 23, which was the default port for telnet... setting my ftp port for another solved the problem.

dreamer_toons
23-06-2008, 03:54 PM
Ok, talked to the dlink tech staff about my problem.

Seem that the device is a faulty one as the blue light on the power button is blinking non-stop and restarting on its own, suggest me to rma...

Can I connect the 323 direct to the pc via the ethernet instead of going into the router?

Lss
23-06-2008, 07:45 PM

Seem that the device is a faulty one as the blue light on the power button is blinking non-stop and restarting on its own, suggest me to rma...

Can I connect the 323 direct to the pc via the ethernet instead of going into the router?

you could try but i think might need cross cable.

Bieffe
23-06-2008, 09:57 PM

Can I connect the 323 direct to the pc via the ethernet instead of going into the router?See Pg7 of the manual...can connect to PC direct with normal CAT5 LAN cable. Router & special cable is not required.

Bieffe
23-06-2008, 10:18 PM
So my power safe issue u ppl experience it too? When power save the power button is faint blue when on is bright blue. However the temp is 41 degrees leh.