View Full Version : DNS-323 Network Storage
Pages :
[
5]
sWirL84
03-09-2008, 12:39 PM
any1 have the above problem as me? any solution for it??
emmm seems that using vista compare to xp uploading speed is faster (with WRT54G 10/100 router). On vista I am reading 9.5-10mb of uploading. XP only read 2.5-3mb. Funny.....
For the XP transfer, are you transferring small files or huge files?
ahcalvin
03-09-2008, 01:12 PM
For the XP transfer, are you transferring small files or huge files?
17gb of files each 3-5mb. then i copied the same folder using vista but get higher transfer speed.
GamerZ
03-09-2008, 01:39 PM
wahah..just tried accessing transmission from sch...huat
eh your FTP solved liao? I also kenna similar thing leh :s27:No leh, still unsolved, can connect but just can't list files. I tried with PORT and PASV mode, same issue.
In Passive Mode:[R] Opening data connection IP: 218.212.x.x PORT: 65506
[R] Data Socket Error: Connection timed out
[R] List Error
In Port Mode:[R] Listening on PORT: 4244, Waiting for connection.
[R] PORT 172,18,x,x,16,148
[R] 500 I won't open a connection to 172.18.x.x(only to 137.132.x.x)
[R] List Error
For the passive mode, I have forwarded 65501 to 65510 to my static IP DNS-323.
sWirL84
03-09-2008, 01:45 PM
No leh, still unsolved, can connect but just can't list files. I tried with PORT and PASV mode, same issue.
[R] List Error
exactly the same prob as you when i tried last night...even after opening the ports like you.
:(
GamerZ
03-09-2008, 01:46 PM
haha....great...;) can control torrents from outside liao..
anyway don't forget to set access control for transmission else anyone can enter...bro what is the fastest way to secure transmission?
Did you use thise:
transmission-daemon -f -t -u <username> -v <password> -a +0.0.0.0/0
GamerZ
03-09-2008, 01:47 PM
exactly the same prob as you when i tried last night...even after opening the ports like you.
:(Wha sian man. Your proftpd is listening on your public IP or internal IP?
arunsudhakar
03-09-2008, 05:28 PM
No leh, still unsolved, can connect but just can't list files. I tried with PORT and PASV mode, same issue.
[R] List Error
Im able to access FTP via the standard ports from outside my network without any issues. be aware that FTP requires 2ports to be open. one is the control port and the other is the data port. Under default settings its 20(data) and 21(control). Try using these.
if you want more info check out http://www.slacksite.com/other/ftp.html
hope this helps
regards
GamerZ
03-09-2008, 07:27 PM
Im able to access FTP via the standard ports from outside my network without any issues. be aware that FTP requires 2ports to be open. one is the control port and the other is the data port. Under default settings its 20(data) and 21(control). Try using these.
if you want more info check out http://www.slacksite.com/other/ftp.html
hope this helps
regards
Thanks bro, I did study about that before. I changed the control port to 30021 and it can connect. I have also specified the PASSIVE Port to be from 65501 to 65510. Do I still need port 20?
radiac
03-09-2008, 08:28 PM
i've just got my 323 setup with a 1x WD 1TB GP, i have a quick question to ask.. Is it neccessary to run the Easy Search Utility on my other PCs at home or is it my other lappie is having problems? It doesnt connects to the drive on its own. Vista reports that i have to install the driver first.
halocast
03-09-2008, 08:48 PM
i think u need to use it regardless of what computer, mapping doesn't take place automatically, not for the first time anyway...
if u leave it there 24/7 with static.. yr computer shld able to connect to it.. once u find it and map it with the easy utility
or perhaps is this
http://www.dlink.com.sg/support/support_faq.asp?idfaq=279
radiac
03-09-2008, 09:19 PM
yup i understand that the first time doesnt takes place automatically. but let say after a restart, i still have to run ESU to map the drive? anyway thanks for the link, dont think tts the solution to the problem.
ahcalvin
03-09-2008, 09:25 PM
guys my acct in DynDNS is being block for updating too frequently. What is happening huh?? I am using DNS-323 with Linksys WRT54G. below are my setting for both the device.
http://i120.photobucket.com/albums/o193/ahcal/RIG/1.jpg
http://i120.photobucket.com/albums/o193/ahcal/RIG/2.jpg
richneo
03-09-2008, 09:33 PM
why did u set ddns in 2 device?
set it in router is enuff
radiac
03-09-2008, 09:39 PM
hi sorry.. abit noob with all this..
i understand that the DNS 323 can set access for certain users and groups which i already have created. but how does it recognises which pc is the actual user and actually limit the access? i have set the limits but now i cant even access the drive at all as it prompts network password invalid.
MarineX
03-09-2008, 10:08 PM
hi sorry.. abit noob with all this..
i understand that the DNS 323 can set access for certain users and groups which i already have created. but how does it recognises which pc is the actual user and actually limit the access? i have set the limits but now i cant even access the drive at all as it prompts network password invalid.
it goes by UserName and Pw.
ahcalvin
03-09-2008, 10:08 PM
why did u set ddns in 2 device?
set it in router is enuff
oh haha 2pid me. =p
ahcalvin
03-09-2008, 10:21 PM
guys is there any way to view chinese charactor through FTP remotely?? I have too many files rename in chinese and I cant view them while I am outside. I am only able to see them while using my home rig mapped with DNS-323 using RJ45 cable. Any solution?
I am seeing this remotely at my workplace even though my browser support viewing of chinese charactor
http://i120.photobucket.com/albums/o193/ahcal/RIG/untitled-4.jpg
GamerZ
04-09-2008, 10:23 PM
:(BRO, I solved the problem liao.
1. Stop your FTP service in the Web GUI
2. Open fun_plug with text editor
3. Put this line right at the bottom of fun_plugpure-ftpd -P 192.168.1.103 -p 65501:65510 -S ,30021 -B -C 3 -I 2 -E -T 100:100
4. Replace "192.168.1.103" with your DNS-323 internal IP, "30021" with your FTP port
5. Ensure that you forwarded 65501 to 65510 to your DNS-323 internal IP
6. Reboot your DNS-323
sWirL84
05-09-2008, 08:17 AM
BRO, I solved the problem liao.
1. Stop your FTP service in the Web GUI
2. Open fun_plug with text editor
3. Put this line right at the bottom of fun_plugpure-ftpd -P 192.168.1.103 -p 65501:65510 -S ,30021 -B -C 3 -I 2 -E -T 100:100
4. Replace "192.168.1.103" with your DNS-323 internal IP, "30021" with your FTP port
5. Ensure that you forwarded 65501 to 65510 to your DNS-323 internal IP
6. Reboot your DNS-323
Interesting...i actually used my public IP instead the last time no wonder couldn't work. that website fake me siah..haha..
many thanks! :D
bobaccord
05-09-2008, 11:30 AM
Hi
I changed my broadband modem router (2Wire 2701HGV-E), after my older 2Wire modem broke down. After changing, I realised I can't access my DNS anymore... (I was able to access prior to that)
I use the D-Link Easy Search Utility 3.8.0.0, it could find the Network Storage Device, but when I tried to do the Drive mapping, it always asked for a login/password and after keying in the appropriate data, it always ended with a FAILED TO MAP DRIVE'...
I suspect it is the firewall inside my 2WIRE modem, but i do not know how to change it. Interestingly, when I opened my iTUNES, it can detect the songs.
Confused....
Thanks in advance for those who can take the time and help me out!
Rgds
Bob
MarineX
05-09-2008, 12:21 PM
Hi
I changed my broadband modem router (2Wire 2701HGV-E), after my older 2Wire modem broke down. After changing, I realised I can't access my DNS anymore... (I was able to access prior to that)
I use the D-Link Easy Search Utility 3.8.0.0, it could find the Network Storage Device, but when I tried to do the Drive mapping, it always asked for a login/password and after keying in the appropriate data, it always ended with a FAILED TO MAP DRIVE'...
I suspect it is the firewall inside my 2WIRE modem, but i do not know how to change it. Interestingly, when I opened my iTUNES, it can detect the songs.
Confused....
Thanks in advance for those who can take the time and help me out!
Rgds
Bob
your ip change already ma..
GamerZ
05-09-2008, 12:26 PM
Interesting...i actually used my public IP instead the last time no wonder couldn't work. that website fake me siah..haha..
many thanks! :DYEA, the webby fake me too.
bobaccord
05-09-2008, 02:31 PM
your ip change already ma..
Hi
I did change the DNS ip back to static - 192.168.1.60, which is the static IP (unless my static IP address is wrong?)
Tks
Bob
halocast
05-09-2008, 05:31 PM
u using what router?
ahcalvin
05-09-2008, 09:48 PM
guys how do u all defrag and scan for harddisk bad sector (if any) in the dns-323? cant find any programs to do this leh
just something to tell you the 323 uses ext2/3 rather than fat/ntfs. it strengths include not being easily fragmented so there is almost no need defragment.
bobaccord
06-09-2008, 06:05 PM
u using what router?
I use the Singtel 2wire modem router (2Wire 2701HGV-E)...
Tks
Bob
shortman8
07-09-2008, 06:13 PM
you must unmount the device before you can use the e2fsck to scan/repair the info on the disk.
ahcalvin
08-09-2008, 06:32 AM
you must unmount the device before you can use the e2fsck to scan/repair the info on the disk.
I am using default firmware running Raid 1 without funplug or transmission. am i still able to use e2fsck.
How do I go about scanning the disk?
halocast
08-09-2008, 10:13 AM
check yr static ip.. could be wrong?
perhaps firewall is realli blocking.
perhaps u want to go into the configuration of the DNS.. and dun put admin and password first.
see if u can sucssfully map.. if can... then u redo the a/c :)
acidic03
09-09-2008, 12:18 PM
can i check if i can play music file directly from the mapped drive as i can't seem to be able to play the file using winamp
do i need to use the itune server in order to play the file?
richneo
09-09-2008, 04:49 PM
u can play music, videos directly from dns-323 be it mapped or unmapped
Just bought my DNS323 from the last Comex with 2 pcs 500GB seagate.
formatted to run raid 1 for 400G and balance JOBOD.
Every thing behaved ok til a week back and noticed that the left hand side drive LED have turned "pink" ( the right side ones remain blue )
Upon accesing the drive the LED return to blue.
I can still access the data in the DNS.
it will return to pink after a while of inactivity.
Is there somthing gonna happen to my drive?
Thanks
richneo
09-09-2008, 06:01 PM
in the web interface of dns-323 does it show ur raid as degraded?
if not, and it pose no problems to you, just ignore it
I'll check the "degraded" when I go home later.
forgot to mention that I'm still on 1.04 firmware.
read from some where that 1.05 Firmware helps....
Thanks for the quick reply.
shadowandy
09-09-2008, 10:06 PM
For those bros who might wish to get DNS-343, check out this thread (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?p=32228365)
Checked, it does show degraded.
I did a reformat to full raid 1
Till this morning the drive behave properly.
Another problem prop up during cthe configuration.
The menu for the iTune server is corrupted.
and it logout by itself.
I will reset the whole thing and try again tonite.
richneo
10-09-2008, 10:18 AM
try flashing to 1.05 i read that it solve the raid problems even thou the raid is working ok
Yep... will flash it to 1.05 tonite.
Thanks for the pointer.
resetting the unit get the iTunes menu back.
flash the 1.05 firmware and reformat the drive and start a new.
behaving properly till tis morning.
gnt888
11-09-2008, 01:49 PM
any idea how much power the 323 consume? with 2 hardisks
last i measured about 30W but the meter i used isnt know to be accurate. i think it measures high.
draco76x
12-09-2008, 08:56 PM
Just wish to find out, for this NAS if install MLdonkey, how is the download speed?? Currently, I'm using Planex NAS-01G, the download speed is inconsistent, so would like to know how this NAS performs??
xbcloud
12-09-2008, 11:02 PM
will like to check ah~~~~
just brought this nas..... look cool lolzz
does this nas support remote management ah? will like to manage over internet is it possible?
richneo
13-09-2008, 09:43 AM
Just wish to find out, for this NAS if install MLdonkey, how is the download speed?? Currently, I'm using Planex NAS-01G, the download speed is inconsistent, so would like to know how this NAS performs??
depends on source and seed of the torrent
richneo
13-09-2008, 09:43 AM
will like to check ah~~~~
just brought this nas..... look cool lolzz
does this nas support remote management ah? will like to manage over internet is it possible?
yes just remember to do port forwarding in ur router
Gota question regarding DDNS setting.
Got registered with dlinkddns and everythings works fine.
But i have received past 2 days of "abuse" updating with the same IP address.
The first time mabe because i am updating the firmware.
btw the refresh is set to default 576 hrs.
is there somthing that I need to look into that is setting off the alarm bells?
thanks
xbcloud
13-09-2008, 03:58 PM
yes just remember to do port forwarding in ur router
hmmm wat the default port for the NAS323?
richneo
13-09-2008, 04:02 PM
web admin is port 80 mah
richneo
13-09-2008, 04:07 PM
in ur router, port forward the port u wan and point to the ip address of ur dns323 and port 80
MarineX
13-09-2008, 04:11 PM
Gota question regarding DDNS setting.
Got registered with dlinkddns and everythings works fine.
But i have received past 2 days of "abuse" updating with the same IP address.
The first time mabe because i am updating the firmware.
btw the refresh is set to default 576 hrs.
is there somthing that I need to look into that is setting off the alarm bells?
thanks
coz u set both yr router and your DNS-323 with DDNS. only 1 is needed. that's all.
xbcloud
13-09-2008, 04:14 PM
oh kk will try it now ;p thank
coz u set both yr router and your DNS-323 with DDNS. only 1 is needed. that's all.
Thanks for the reply.
I don't think my router have any DDNS.
it's a 2Wire ( singnet ).
GamerZ
13-09-2008, 10:05 PM
Thanks for the reply.
I don't think my router have any DDNS.
it's a 2Wire ( singnet ).2wire no DDNS service =)
MarineX
14-09-2008, 03:03 PM
2wire no DDNS service =)
negative. it does, but not with Singnet firmware.
xbcloud
14-09-2008, 05:45 PM
newbie question about the ftp ;p
i'm new in ftp.... but is there anyway to read more then 1 lauguage thr ftp ah? like english, japanese & chinese.....
MarineX
14-09-2008, 05:53 PM
newbie question about the ftp ;p
i'm new in ftp.... but is there anyway to read more then 1 lauguage thr ftp ah? like english, japanese & chinese.....
the answer have been provided in this thread, kindly refer to the previous posts.
forkboot
15-09-2008, 01:36 PM
my dns 323 is currently connected to the rj45 port of my 2wire adsl modem, while a laptop connects wirelessly to the same 2wire modem.
i'm having a poblem when i connect an external hard drive or thumb drive via usb in the laptop. when i double click on the icon of the dns 323, it shows the contents of either the external hard drive or the thumb drive connected to the usb port of the laptop. the usual window for the "removable drive" also doesn't show up.
thanks in advance for any help!
richneo
15-09-2008, 02:39 PM
my dns 323 is currently connected to the rj45 port of my 2wire adsl modem, while a laptop connects wirelessly to the same 2wire modem.
i'm having a poblem when i connect an external hard drive or thumb drive via usb in the laptop. when i double click on the icon of the dns 323, it shows the contents of either the external hard drive or the thumb drive connected to the usb port of the laptop. the usual window for the "removable drive" also doesn't show up.
thanks in advance for any help!
change the mapped drive of dns-323 to another drive letter
GamerZ
15-09-2008, 11:26 PM
negative. it does, but not with Singnet firmware.Means must flash to 3rd party firmware?
MarineX
16-09-2008, 12:00 AM
Means must flash to 3rd party firmware?
if you flash it.. your modem wouldnt be able to log you in into Singtel mainframe.. i too wonder why.. i've tried it once with the original firmware budden it doesnt work(tried it for awhile only)..
don't ask me where i obtain the files from.. couldn't remember.
forkboot
16-09-2008, 08:57 AM
change the mapped drive of dns-323 to another drive letter
thank you richneo!
GamerZ
16-09-2008, 10:22 AM
if you flash it.. your modem wouldnt be able to log you in into Singtel mainframe.. i too wonder why.. i've tried it once with the original firmware budden it doesnt work(tried it for awhile only)..
don't ask me where i obtain the files from.. couldn't remember.lol thanks bro
johanjr
16-09-2008, 10:50 PM
i've disable telnet and use ssh....after reboot i cannot access at all
How to i login now? it keep asking me to reset my passwd but after resetting still cannot access
superman888
17-09-2008, 11:14 AM
Hi Guys,
I just bought this DNS-323 for data backup purpose. Update firmware to 1.05
I connected DNS-323 direct to my PC with Cat 6 cable.
My PC network was set with jumbo frame at 9K, DNS-323 jumbo frame was set at 9K too.
However, I am having this VERY SLOW file transfer problem, I am trying to send a single file around 2GB to DNS-323 but, after 2 hours, the job is still running.
Can anyone advice what have I done wrongly? Appreciate any help:)
richneo
17-09-2008, 11:20 AM
Try setting a smaller set for your jumbo packet. Maybe seven k and see if it helps. There is one article in small net builder that some onboard nic performs badly even when enabling jumbo frames. And also. Try to make sure your pc has only one ip address and connected to 323 only and not connected to other network.
superman888
17-09-2008, 01:25 PM
Try setting a smaller set for your jumbo packet. Maybe seven k and see if it helps. There is one article in small net builder that some onboard nic performs badly even when enabling jumbo frames. And also. Try to make sure your pc has only one ip address and connected to 323 only and not connected to other network.
Thank you for your information.
I will double check on my DNS-323 IP setup and I hope it not the Gateway address that is causing the problem because if I remembered correctly, IP address was different but Gateway address setting was the same as the Router Gateway setting.
richneo
17-09-2008, 03:56 PM
try a different subnet for the nic connecting to dns-323 since its connected directly to ur computer
omit gateway also
superman888
17-09-2008, 06:30 PM
try a different subnet for the nic connecting to dns-323 since its connected directly to ur computer
omit gateway also
Thanks again:)
i noticed that transfer rates seem to be affected by file type. certain types of files work better. samba performance related?
johanjr
17-09-2008, 06:38 PM
i've disable telnet and use ssh....after reboot i cannot access at all
How to i login now? it keep asking me to reset my passwd but after resetting still cannot access
Anyone? .............
http://wiki.dns323.info/howto:ffp
read
Just one to check does anyone having the same problem.
I had mapped my drive letter to the 323. If i leave the 323 always ON and shut down my PC everyday, I am able to access the 323 via the mapped drive. But once I power OFF both (save electricity) and ON the PC and 323, I am unable to access the 323, I need to goto the configuration page->device and re-save the same settings and everything will work fine.
I had tried both static and DHCP IP and both XP and Vista, result still the same.
Anyone can help?
TIA
richneo
18-09-2008, 10:56 AM
I had mapped my drive letter to the 323. If i leave the 323 always ON and shut down my PC everyday, I am able to access the 323 via the mapped drive. But once I power OFF both (save electricity) and ON the PC and 323, I am unable to access the 323, I need to goto the configuration page->device and re-save the same settings and everything will work fine.
I had tried both static and DHCP IP and both XP and Vista, result still the same.
Anyone can help?
TIA
what do you mean you need to go to configuration page and re-save settings?
what kind of settings do you need to set every time you reboot your NAS?
what do you mean you need to go to configuration page and re-save settings?
what kind of settings do you need to set every time you reboot your NAS?
Goto the NAS webpage, login as configuration, under "setup"-> "device" and re-save the device settings, such as workgroup, name and description.
Same problem as reported below:
http://wiki.dns323.info/information:known_issues
under section"Share not accessible after reboot".
Thanks.
richneo
18-09-2008, 02:16 PM
it wrote oni until firmware 1.03 rite?
now is 1.05 firmware le
superman888
18-09-2008, 03:05 PM
omit gateway also
Hi richneo,
Thank you again. It's help to move files quicker.
However, for UTP cable, should I used straight or cross over cable from PC direct to DNS-323?
Look like I need a unmanaged switch because I need to backup my notebook stuffs too.
If connect PC/Notebook -> switch -> DNS-323, any advice on the settings and cables?:)
richneo
18-09-2008, 03:11 PM
if im not wrong, nowadays nic comes with mdix so using crossed or not is no matter
but if direct connection can use cross if going thru routers or switch can use straight
superman888
18-09-2008, 04:24 PM
if im not wrong, nowadays nic comes with mdix so using crossed or not is no matter
but if direct connection can use cross if going thru routers or switch can use straight
Thank you again:)
quekky
18-09-2008, 04:40 PM
use straight. gigabit is all mdix.
even if you connect GE to FE, the GE will auto-detect
on another note, if you use the wrong cross cable on GE nic/switch, you'll only get 100mbps
superman888
20-09-2008, 06:07 AM
Hi guys,
Are there any other method on the DNS-323 to have a faster file transfer?
(Currently, using Windows Explorer, direct connection PC to DNS-323)
Hi guys,
Are there any other method on the DNS-323 to have a faster file transfer?
(Currently, using Windows Explorer, direct connection PC to DNS-323)
are you already using gigbit lan on you pc? if you are thats probably the fastest possible hardware connection unless you have faluty equipment.
how are you transfering firles? ftp? smb?
duckyhatezchat
20-09-2008, 08:11 AM
I'm with f/w 1.05. NAS connected through a Belkin router, 100Mbps ports. No jumbo frames.
My transfer rate from my laptop using FE is around 10 MB/s, but with 802.11g is around 1 MB/s, which is quite unacceptable.
I think it's my wi-fi router that's slowing down the transfer.
ckling
20-09-2008, 09:42 AM
I'm with f/w 1.05. NAS connected through a Belkin router, 100Mbps ports. No jumbo frames.
My transfer rate from my laptop using FE is around 10 MB/s, but with 802.11g is around 1 MB/s, which is quite unacceptable.
I think it's my wi-fi router that's slowing down the transfer.
your lan transfer speed seems normal, anyone know how to measure the speed? wat software to use?
superman888
20-09-2008, 04:38 PM
are you already using gigbit lan on you pc? if you are thats probably the fastest possible hardware connection unless you have faluty equipment.
how are you transfering firles? ftp? smb?
Both PC and DNS-323 are connected on Gigabit ports.
Howto transfer files with FTP or SMB?
(Current method, Windows Explorer, copy from one directory to DNS-323 directory, Jumbo Frames set at 4K at both PC and DNS-323, Straight UTP cable between PC and DNS-323)
Both PC and DNS-323 are connected on Gigabit ports.
Howto transfer files with FTP or SMB?
(Current method, Windows Explorer, copy from one directory to DNS-323 directory, Jumbo Frames set at 4K at both PC and DNS-323, Straight UTP cable between PC and DNS-323)
what you are doing now is SMB. what kind of speeds are you getting?
duckyhatezchat
21-09-2008, 08:44 AM
your lan transfer speed seems normal, anyone know how to measure the speed? wat software to use?
Windows Vista shows the speed while transferring. Tried FTP, speed's the same.
Btw, I've only added one WD GP hard disk inside NAS, so no RAID configuration yet.
superman888
21-09-2008, 02:38 PM
what you are doing now is SMB. what kind of speeds are you getting?
Any software to measure transfer speed for XP?
erm du meter, task manager(yes the built in one), netmeter, lanspeed2 and some others. quite a lot.
nanochan1
21-09-2008, 11:52 PM
currently i have a 1tb seagate HDD in my NAS-323. if i go get another of the same hdd, how can i make my HDD = RAID 1?
if i no wrong, i have to format both hdd before it works?
is there a way to do it so that i no need to format the old 1 so that the data in it remains?
Still need help here.
As I mentioned earlier my 2 Wire does not have any setting.
Seem like the DNS 323 is still updating uncessary....
isit I am the only one having this problem??:s11:
Hi richneo, I am on 1.04.;)
Anyone can help?
TIA
I whish I can help, if I turn on and off my DNS one too many time.
DYNDDns will block my host for abuse again.
any way I'm on XP.
Did you uses the mapping software that comes with the DNS?
gokorean
24-09-2008, 12:05 PM
Hello all
Anyone using the 2wire 2700HG-E wireless modem provided by Telus with DNS-323?
I have issue with FTP server on DNS-323 from internet.
I am able to connect FTP server inside of my network but somehow can not connect from outside of my network.
If i run FTP Server from my Vista machine, it works from outside of my network.
This is my dns-323 setup details
1. SETUP ->LAN -> use static ip
2. ADVANCED -> FTP SERVER -> enable FTP with group which as user with password
3. ADVANCED -> UPnP AV SERVER -> enabled
4. ADVANCED -> iTunes SERVER -> enabled
5. ADVANCED -> DHCP SERVER-> disabled
6. ADVANCED -> LLTD-> disabled
7. TOOLS -> DDNS -> disabled
I already tried port forwading and DMZ mode on the 2wire 2700HG-E wireless modem.
Any help appreciated!!
Cheers.
albertlee
24-09-2008, 01:42 PM
@gokorean, include port20 beside the normal port21 in your 2Wire settings.
iCuteCube
24-09-2008, 02:35 PM
I think direct connection is the fastest already, is our cable running at 1gbps?
win_man
24-09-2008, 08:09 PM
This thread very long.. anyone tried to mount this NAS in linux? Does it work well? Do i mount as device or through SMB?
im accessing through smb though.
win_man
24-09-2008, 08:47 PM
im accessing through smb though.
so with the IP, username and password of the file share, i can mount it as smbfs?
Bieffe
24-09-2008, 09:34 PM
ANyone having problem with clutch? Recently it doesn't seem to be able to connect...what should I do?
should be possible but since mine is for my home network only i didnt set any access rights to the nas.
if smb doest work you can try cifs though its no different in terms of performance as far as i can tell.
ANyone having problem with clutch? Recently it doesn't seem to be able to connect...what should I do?
what version are you using? the newest version of transmission 1.33/1.34 have clutch integrated.
you might want to telnet in and issue "ps" to see if transmission is running.
nanochan1
24-09-2008, 11:25 PM
currently i have a 1tb seagate HDD in my NAS-323. if i go get another of the same hdd, how can i make my HDD = RAID 1?
is there a way to do it so that i no need to format the old 1 so that the data in it remains?
erm.. no one knows the answer to my question ?
kun1he2
25-09-2008, 01:01 AM
Try locking down your DNS-323's ip address at your router (assuming it's getting the ip from your router via dhcp) or using a static address.
At your PC side, map the DNS-323 by using this ip address, instead of the hostname.
Bieffe
25-09-2008, 02:10 AM
what version are you using? the newest version of transmission 1.33/1.34 have clutch integrated.
you might want to telnet in and issue "ps" to see if transmission is running.
Mine is 1.22. Ah sorry but I noobie so can't understand what u wrote above. ANyway if my version is OLD does it mean it will not work?
SO can I DL 1.33 then install that only w/o touching the rest? As in refer to pg46? All over again?
TopCat_52
25-09-2008, 02:49 AM
Guys i need some help here.
It seems that my nas reset itself. im unable to view the contents on it.
When i open the web config page it actually prompts me to select HARD DRIVE CONFIGURATION:
it actually lost the raid config??!!
Mine is 1.22. Ah sorry but I noobie so can't understand what u wrote above. ANyway if my version is OLD does it mean it will not work?
SO can I DL 1.33 then install that only w/o touching the rest? As in refer to pg46? All over again?
not really it should still work. but i would say its a good chance to update to the newer version and troubleshooting could cause more headaches. with clutch integrated it means less things can go wrong during the setup process.
take a look at the link below. for more info.
http://forum.dsmg600.info/t2719-%5BREL%5D-Transmission.html
what i did when i downgraded was to stop transmission and lighttpd. then i uninstalled both of them. got the packages as stated by the link and installed them.
Guys i need some help here.
It seems that my nas reset itself. im unable to view the contents on it.
When i open the web config page it actually prompts me to select HARD DRIVE CONFIGURATION:
it actually lost the raid config??!!
i did read about raid 1 issues on the 323 but since i dont use raid i didnt read into it. you might want to do a search on the dns-323 wiki.
TopCat_52
26-09-2008, 02:09 AM
i highly suspect the dns-323 screwed my hdd over.
one of hdd led keeps blinking permanently unable to recgonise the hdd.
i seriously doubt the hdd has failed most probably the nas settings got screwed somewhere
win_man
26-09-2008, 09:11 PM
How is this NAS compared with the one from Linksys?
radiac
28-09-2008, 03:55 PM
hey guys, i have some question regarding printers and the dns323. I am about to purchase a multifunctional laser monochrome printer (namely for laser printing, scan, copy and fax) to share among all my terminals at home.i am currently looking at Brother's MFC7340 and MFC7540. i understand that the DNS 323 has an USB printer server port and will act like a print server but a quick check with the compatibility list shows that it has a rather small list.
So before i spend $400++ on a printer, i hope you guys will enlighten me if this will even work in the first place.anyone out there who has a printer setup with the dns323 pls advise. must the printer has network function (a RJ45 connection) or the model i have in mind will definitely work? any reccomendation of models?
wiShfulStone
28-09-2008, 07:30 PM
Anyone tried the cheaper Dlink 321? http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/content/view/30521/75/
shadowandy
28-09-2008, 08:34 PM
Anyone tried the cheaper Dlink 321? http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/content/view/30521/75/
How much cheaper would it be? US$10? (from the list price of DNS-323 (http://www.amazon.com/D-Link-DNS-323-Network-Storage-Enclosure/dp/B000GK8LVE/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1222604548&sr=8-1) and DNS-321 (http://www.amazon.com/D-Link-3-5-Inch-Gigabit-Ethernet-Enclosure/dp/B0019OZ3OO/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1222604570&sr=8-1)).
For US$10, you don't get USB port, and slower CPU. Since DNS-323 has been brought into Singapore and available for approx $200, I doubt the DNS-321 would be cheaper by alot.
shadowandy
28-09-2008, 08:42 PM
i highly suspect the dns-323 screwed my hdd over.
one of hdd led keeps blinking permanently unable to recgonise the hdd.
i seriously doubt the hdd has failed most probably the nas settings got screwed somewhere
can you install fun_plug, telnet in and paste the results of dmesg?
hey guys, i have some question regarding printers and the dns323. I am about to purchase a multifunctional laser monochrome printer (namely for laser printing, scan, copy and fax) to share among all my terminals at home.i am currently looking at Brother's MFC7340 and MFC7540. i understand that the DNS 323 has an USB printer server port and will act like a print server but a quick check with the compatibility list shows that it has a rather small list.
So before i spend $400++ on a printer, i hope you guys will enlighten me if this will even work in the first place.anyone out there who has a printer setup with the dns323 pls advise. must the printer has network function (a RJ45 connection) or the model i have in mind will definitely work? any reccomendation of models?
i doubt it will work just because its a multifunction. at best you can print but scanning is most likely a miss.
if you are getting one with rj45 already connecting it to the router would be a more logical choice.
MarineX
29-09-2008, 07:44 AM
i doubt it will work just because its a multifunction. at best you can print but scanning is most likely a miss.
if you are getting one with rj45 already connecting it to the router would be a more logical choice.
go get brother wireless printer instead. it will work well - directly and everything.
blackburn1
29-09-2008, 10:08 AM
anyone care to advise which cheap 5-port gigabit switch to buy to pair up with the excellent dns-323 to stream HD videos :)
shadowandy
29-09-2008, 02:52 PM
anyone care to advise which cheap 5-port gigabit switch to buy to pair up with the excellent dns-323 to stream HD videos :)
Go for D-Link's Green Ethernet Gigabit switches. That time I was looking for Gigabit switches also and was considering Linksys and D-Link. Here's my findings (http://www.shadowandy.net/2008/06/dgs-1008d-versus-sd2008.htm). Linksys gigabit switches seems to have problem of overheating which cause it to die off or become a 10/100 switch.
lvlaTr1X
29-09-2008, 03:37 PM
hi shadowandy, i was wondering, if its possible to make my DNS-313 with fonz installed to upload stuff to website like yousendit or those file sharing website because i want to upload my photo's to share with friend but don't really want to on my computer for long to wait for it to complete.. (Bill nowaday very exp lar..)
radiac
29-09-2008, 03:57 PM
go get brother wireless printer instead. it will work well - directly and everything.
LSS: thanks LSS, i hope it will work so i need not have to pay more for a network multifunctional. printing and faxing is of the priority to me
MarineX: hey MarineX.. thanks! are you using the Brother wireless printer as well? which model? will it work with all PC terminals at home primarily for printing??
blackburn1
29-09-2008, 07:12 PM
Go for D-Link's Green Ethernet Gigabit switches. That time I was looking for Gigabit switches also and was considering Linksys and D-Link. Here's my findings (http://www.shadowandy.net/2008/06/dgs-1008d-versus-sd2008.htm). Linksys gigabit switches seems to have problem of overheating which cause it to die off or become a 10/100 switch.
can i also check where can i get a good price for the 5port version? and if i really need cat 6 cables to run giga speed ? thanks
MarineX
29-09-2008, 07:22 PM
LSS: thanks LSS, i hope it will work so i need not have to pay more for a network multifunctional. printing and faxing is of the priority to me
MarineX: hey MarineX.. thanks! are you using the Brother wireless printer as well? which model? will it work with all PC terminals at home primarily for printing??
yes it will.. MFC640CW. very simple installation. works for whatever your printer comes with it.
Printing, Scanning, Faxing, Copying. that's for mine thou :)
radiac
29-09-2008, 07:46 PM
yes it will.. MFC640CW. very simple installation. works for whatever your printer comes with it.
Printing, Scanning, Faxing, Copying. that's for mine thou :)
looks like its a network multifunctional! How do you wire up your printer? Linked to the DNS323?
MarineX
29-09-2008, 09:23 PM
looks like its a network multifunctional! How do you wire up your printer? Linked to the DNS323?
Don't have to. its a wireless itself. All you need to do is to wireless it to get it connected to your router... your PC(wireless/wired) will see its existence straight away.
Sorry to post this again.
Anyone here uses the DNS323 internal DDNS function without any problem being blocked by Dyndddns for update abuse?
I'm using this and been blocked for abuse as my DNS323 seem to update dlinkddns on a more regular basis that the 576 hrs timeout entered.
Dlink support is not of a help, as they claim that the DDNS function is working.
Dyndns says that my client is updating too often.
Appreciate anyone who is using the built in DDNS that have problem and use alternative or those using it and does not have an problem for some feedback.
Thanks
MarineX
30-09-2008, 12:07 PM
Sorry to post this again.
Anyone here uses the DNS323 internal DDNS function without any problem being blocked by Dyndddns for update abuse?
I'm using this and been blocked for abuse as my DNS323 seem to update dlinkddns on a more regular basis that the 576 hrs timeout entered.
Dlink support is not of a help, as they claim that the DDNS function is working.
Dyndns says that my client is updating too often.
Appreciate anyone who is using the built in DDNS that have problem and use alternative or those using it and does not have an problem for some feedback.
Thanks
did you set DDNS for both your router and DNS-323? You should set it on 1 of the either device only.
The problem doesnt lies with Dlink or DDNS.
Thanks for the kind response.
I've only set the DDNS in the DNS323.
I'm using the 2 Wire 2700 by Singnet.
I am suspecting the DNS323 is sending out the IP update
As I have been monitoring
It is sending out every 24 hours if I set the timeout to 576 hours.
did you set DDNS for both your router and DNS-323? You should set it on 1 of the either device only.
The problem doesnt lies with Dlink or DDNS.
nanochan1
01-10-2008, 10:14 AM
better off asking d-link if you cant get answers here.
paiseh.. if u get a same drive space.. u just plug it in , it will tell u abt the raid 1 thingy.
ur data will be sync to the other new drive
radiac
01-10-2008, 05:08 PM
Don't have to. its a wireless itself. All you need to do is to wireless it to get it connected to your router... your PC(wireless/wired) will see its existence straight away.
thanks marineX !! i shall go find out more and at the same time see wad brother's technical support will say.
blackburn1
02-10-2008, 08:51 AM
hi shadowandy thanks for the fast response. took your advise bought the D-Link dgs-1005d. pluck it into my network. tried streaming video from my nas. it didnt worked. tried playing an iso rip of my dvd movie. it refused to play. plucked the cables back to my miotv-router, the iso played without a stutter. was testing the new dlink switch but it just wouldnt play.
went and exchanged it for the tp-link gigabit switch. now everything works. wonder why?
http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/21vVaV7b9oL._SS400_.jpg
absoluthk
02-10-2008, 11:38 AM
hey guys..
thinking of buying this.. but the thread seems a bit too long and the manual from dlink is uninformative
1. is the ext3 problem resolved?
2. does hdd rpm matters?
3. is there a web interface to access ur hdd from http-80?
4. is the official bittorrent stable enuff
5. can i plug a usb wireless to it? or do i need to hack the kernel to get it done
6. can it join windows domain?
7. can i set different folders for different users?
8. in case of dead box, can i access ALL the folders from linux live cd?
9. any case of been hacked? weak password, etc
quekky
02-10-2008, 09:30 PM
hey guys..
thinking of buying this.. but the thread seems a bit too long and the manual from dlink is uninformative
1. is the ext3 problem resolved?
2. does hdd rpm matters?
3. is there a web interface to access ur hdd from http-80?
4. is the official bittorrent stable enuff
5. can i plug a usb wireless to it? or do i need to hack the kernel to get it done
6. can it join windows domain?
7. can i set different folders for different users?
8. in case of dead box, can i access ALL the folders from linux live cd?
9. any case of been hacked? weak password, etc
1. only ext2, no ext3 (but seems like unoffically can use ext3)
2. no
3. not offically
4. yes and no, depends on how you see it
5. no
6. yes
7. yes
8. yes
9. anything can be hack... it depends on how you setup
1. only ext2, no ext3 (but seems like unoffically can use ext3)
2. no
3. not offically
4. yes and no, depends on how you see it
5. no
6. yes
7. yes
8. yes
9. anything can be hack... it depends on how you setup
1. afaik ext3 support was taken off after they had some issues with it.
3. http should be possible with some effort (probably using lighthttpd)
4. only if you dont mind waiting really really really long.
5. no one has ever tried wireless but usb storage has been done. there is a possibility because you can load your own kernel
kababoom
04-10-2008, 10:46 AM
how's the bittorrent performance & any tools to check if the hdd got bad sectors on this nas anyone care to comment?
win_man
04-10-2008, 10:19 PM
Is it recommended to use RAID0 for this.. planning to stripe 2 x 500GB for cloning machines, will be using Clonezilla.
richneo
04-10-2008, 10:48 PM
normally i dun recommend people to use raid 0 or jbod
cos i find it too risky
haloedwin
06-10-2008, 09:57 AM
any model of 1tb harddisk better with 323?
saw this comment on other review, No FTP server logging.
wat does it mean?
can i still get the files on the NAS on other computer through internet?
mun_hoe
06-10-2008, 11:03 PM
wanna ask bros, if i intend to use it purely for network file sharing 24/7, is it recommended to buy "enterprise storage" drives or just normall consumer level drives? i'm planning to use this along with 2x hitachi 1TB ultrastar SATA drives, but the cost for that drive is over $370 compared to less than $200 for the consumer level drive. so it's kinda putting me off at the moment and wanna hear some feedback before i take the plunge for the enterprise drives.
wanna browse around and read up more to give myself some more options before i buy, already had a bad bad experience with my now dead maxtor shared storage II drive gone due to mechanical failure and there goes my data :(
kivine
07-10-2008, 03:19 PM
wanna ask bros, if i intend to use it purely for network file sharing 24/7, is it recommended to buy "enterprise storage" drives or just normall consumer level drives? i'm planning to use this along with 2x hitachi 1TB ultrastar SATA drives, but the cost for that drive is over $370 compared to less than $200 for the consumer level drive. so it's kinda putting me off at the moment and wanna hear some feedback before i take the plunge for the enterprise drives.
wanna browse around and read up more to give myself some more options before i buy, already had a bad bad experience with my now dead maxtor shared storage II drive gone due to mechanical failure and there goes my data :(
if you are going raid-0, of course you have to get the best there is.
however if u go raid-1, in my opinion i would get the normal consumer drives, since it is expected for you to assume that 1 drive will fail sooner or later, moreover-replacing a consumer drive is still cheaper compared to what u will get for a enterprise setup.
blackburn1
07-10-2008, 05:03 PM
if you are going raid-0, of course you have to get the best there is.
not true. hdds fail because of the constant on off. if you keep the hdd spinning forever. it is less likely to fail. i have seen the consumer type hdd spinning for more than 10 years and still running :s13:
kivine
07-10-2008, 05:43 PM
not true. hdds fail because of the constant on off. if you keep the hdd spinning forever. it is less likely to fail. i have seen the consumer type hdd spinning for more than 10 years and still running :s13:
yes, i do know that. What i meant is for both raid1 and raid0
alannn
08-10-2008, 08:03 AM
hi everyone,wanna find out the bros here anyone of you own this and a ps3, and the success rate of the two working together well.Been reading from other site and forum , the result was mixed, some mention can only work with twonkymedia server which is a commercial product and cost money, other claim new firmware of both the product did the job, some completely undetected by ps3. As my main reason of getting this is for streaming from movies etc from this nas to ps3.
Saw in Sl another nas by planex ( PCI MZK-NAS02SG)
http://www.planex.com.sg/product/nas/mzk-nas02sg.htm
this one have a pre built-in DLNA which ps3 required. and at least the product cliam that it is compatible with ps3 ( but to what extent, i dont know). and is $259 compare to dlink $199.
Hoping to get some answers from the bros here cos getting either one soon.
shadowandy
08-10-2008, 08:28 AM
For what I remember, firmware 1.04 has officially support ps3 and no additional softwares are needed. However, it is better for you to call d-link up to ask what type of media formats are supported.
TopCat_52
08-10-2008, 10:16 PM
My Dlink DNS-323 is officially SCREWED.
first the right bay hdd would not be detected. the hdd led would blink non-stop, so i rmaed the harddisk
now got back the rmaed hdd, and i put it in the left bay, with the exising one on the right bay, and yet i still have the same problem. sad what a lousy product
GamerZ
08-10-2008, 10:28 PM
first the right bay hdd would not be detected. the hdd led would blink non-stop, so i rmaed the harddisk
now got back the rmaed hdd, and i put it in the left bay, with the exising one on the right bay, and yet i still have the same problem. sad what a lousy productLousy? If it doesnt work for you, it doesn't means it is lousy. Perhaps you have gotten a faulty set. It works perfectly fine for me and I love it.
Bieffe
08-10-2008, 10:31 PM
hi everyone,wanna find out the bros here anyone of you own this and a ps3, and the success rate of the two working together well.Been reading from other site and forum , the result was mixed, some mention can only work with twonkymedia server which is a commercial product and cost money, other claim new firmware of both the product did the job, some completely undetected by ps3. As my main reason of getting this is for streaming from movies etc from this nas to ps3.
this one have a pre built-in DLNA which ps3 required. and at least the product cliam that it is compatible with ps3 ( but to what extent, i dont know). and is $259 compare to dlink $199.
Hoping to get some answers from the bros here cos getting either one soon.Since Planex put so big....the compatability with PS3 and that is ur main use. I suggest u get the Planex model instead. And do a review here for us.
Bieffe
08-10-2008, 10:33 PM
now got back the rmaed hdd, and i put it in the left bay, with the exising one on the right bay, and yet i still have the same problem. sad what a lousy product
Like with all electronics....is sometime luck. So far only u reported this problem here ya.
Go RMA DNS323 lor....then u can really pin point the problem...maybe u need to flash the firmware version?
TopCat_52
08-10-2008, 11:32 PM
Lousy? If it doesnt work for you, it doesn't means it is lousy. Perhaps you have gotten a faulty set. It works perfectly fine for me and I love it.
its hard to believe too that the NAS would be faulty, so i rma-ed my hdd only to find that the fault is not with the hdd. if u lost data from the hdd this way would u be pissed?
Like with all electronics....is sometime luck. So far only u reported this problem here ya.
Go RMA DNS323 lor....then u can really pin point the problem...maybe u need to flash the firmware version?
flashed back to 1.4 and tried then to 1.5 still the same. i tink there something wrong internally with the right hand side bay
GamerZ
09-10-2008, 12:12 AM
its hard to believe too that the NAS would be faulty, so i rma-ed my hdd only to find that the fault is not with the hdd. if u lost data from the hdd this way would u be pissed?I am using it as my backup running RAID1 and I got an offsite HDD to store my data. So data is not as important to me as the connectivity of it. Basically I am using it to run to run bittorrent.
But in your case, I will definitely be pissed. But just to say it is value level entry of NAS.
drinkcokenow
09-10-2008, 06:40 AM
Anyone tried running syslogd?
I can't seem to be able to get it to monitor packets from a dd-wrt setup,
tried with wall-watcher setup on WinXp can see all the packets coming in.
was using this command
syslogd -O /mnt/HD_a2/log/syslog.log
using 1.0.3 fw and ffp 0.5
drinkcokenow
09-10-2008, 11:54 PM
Anyone tried running syslogd?
I can't seem to be able to get it to monitor packets from a dd-wrt setup,
tried with wall-watcher setup on WinXp can see all the packets coming in.
was using this command
syslogd -O /mnt/HD_a2/log/syslog.log
using 1.0.3 fw and ffp 0.5
Did the following instead.
Ran syslogd -R 127.0.0.1:514 to send logs to locally
used netcat to log the data into a file
nc -u -l -p 514 >> /mnt/HD_a2/log//syslog.log
Anyone got any other suggestion? Problem i see that this would be a ever growing log file. Gonna look at logrotate under etch
When will this come to SLS?
Just bought the DNS-323 yesterday :(
Only just found out yesterday that the transfer rate is ****z.
About 15mb/s for write. Read a little higher.
I can get 30mb/s write and read via my external 3.5" USB connected thru a laptop and gigabit network!
Hakiero
12-10-2008, 01:38 PM
Hi guys. I recently changed to the singnet miobox (2wire) gateway router/modem.
I cannot seem to access my dns-323 remotely via ftp. I can access ftp via lan (e.g. 192.168.1....) but not through the internet address or my dyndns address. I've done port forwarding http://portforward.com/english/routers/port_forwarding/2wire/1000hg/FTP.htm
It used to work using my old SMC router but not through my 2wire.
Is there anything that i'm missing or not doing right?
Hope you guys can help me out.
punchbag
12-10-2008, 10:30 PM
This product seems interesting. Any idea how I can get it? Searched Vr-zone's pricewatch for SLS but couldn't find it in there.
kababoom
14-10-2008, 02:42 PM
it seems $199 pricing for this nas is no longer available in sls everyone selling it @ $230 nowadays :(
win_man
14-10-2008, 03:01 PM
Just received my 323 and two Seagate 500gb. Less than 30mins my RAID0 is up and running :D
Btw for the Memeo software, can the license install on multiple machines?
alvino77
14-10-2008, 03:40 PM
When will this come to SLS?
Just bought the DNS-323 yesterday :(
Only just found out yesterday that the transfer rate is ****z.
About 15mb/s for write. Read a little higher.
I can get 30mb/s write and read via my external 3.5" USB connected thru a laptop and gigabit network!
so slow? you using wireless? or lan cable or usb?
cdo_saturday
19-10-2008, 12:07 AM
Hi guys,
I've just installed transmission 1.34 and BT-ing at the moment. However when i rebooted my 323 and check the UI, my torrents were gone and I had to re-add them. Is there a way to resume the downloads just like the stock BT client in the 323? And is there a way to save transmission's preference such as the port number and ul/dl speed so that I don't have to re-enter them everytime i reboot the 323? :s11:
Thanks
precise
19-10-2008, 01:17 AM
Just installed MIO BB + TV with 2Wire modem. Got a problem to get the Bit Torrent to work with the 2 Wire modem. Has spent 4 hours on it trying out configure the firewall on the 2Wire on port forwarding and even allow fulll access (no protection), the Bit Torrent just couldn't download a single bit.
Miserable and decided to change back to my good old Zyxel modem.
Only problem now is that how to setup the Mio TV as I will still need to setup the 2Wire Modem for it (minus the BB part).
Any pple here has:
1. maange to 2wire to work for the Bit Torrent in DNS 323? OR
2. manage to configure 2Wire just for MIO TV while connected to another modem?
THanks in advance.
note that after funplug you cant shutdown the usual way as it would be the same as turning the power off directly.
you have to stop running programs and then shutdown or get cleanboot for the nas which does the killing of applications for you and then shutting down.
for precise i assume you are using the firmware bt client?
cdo_saturday
19-10-2008, 05:14 AM
you have to stop running programs and then shutdown or get cleanboot for the nas which does the killing of applications for you and then shutting down.
Hi Lss,
may I know the steps to stopping the running programs? Do I 'kill' the process IDs for transmission as listed in 'ps' ? Sorry, alittle new to linux commands. :o
"killall transmission-daemon" would be fine
you could also run dmesg to see if there are any issues with the filesystem.
kababoom
19-10-2008, 12:35 PM
anyone can advise on the port i need to open for my router for bittorrent to work properly? i've open port 6881 but the speed is kinda of slow.
i'm using the default bittorrent client that comes wif DNS-323 firmware 1.05
cdo_saturday
19-10-2008, 01:10 PM
anyone can advise on the port i need to open for my router for bittorrent to work properly? i've open port 6881 but the speed is kinda of slow.
i'm using the default bittorrent client that comes wif DNS-323 firmware 1.05
try using other ports, for example 60881, 45678. and the common issue of no. of seeders plays a big part. :)
cdo_saturday
19-10-2008, 01:12 PM
"killall transmission-daemon" would be fine
you could also run dmesg to see if there are any issues with the filesystem.
Thank you :)
precise
19-10-2008, 11:42 PM
for precise i assume you are using the firmware bt client?
Yep. It's the firmware BT client. With Zyxel, the DL is superb. but with 2Wire 2701HGV-E, it totally halt.
Tried for 4 horus with port forwarding on the modem and as well changing the incoming port setting on the DNS 323,it still does not work. At first the DNS-323 cannot be even detected by the modem till I configure the DNS-323 to use DNS, i.e not to have static IP.
Give up liao. Guess Singnet will not provide technical support on such matter.
kababoom
20-10-2008, 11:19 AM
try using other ports, for example 60881, 45678. and the common issue of no. of seeders plays a big part. :)
Thanks for the info but is port :6881 the default port for the bundled BTclient or do i need to open any additional ports for it
cdo_saturday
20-10-2008, 08:04 PM
Thanks for the info but is port :6881 the default port for the bundled BTclient or do i need to open any additional ports for it
yes it was the default port for BT but because it's commonly known as the BT port, the ISP could have blocked it. Hence u should should try other ports and yes, you need to port-forward the BT port (60881, blar blar) in your router too. :)
andylee1986
22-10-2008, 05:47 PM
anyone selling off their 323?
info_guy
23-10-2008, 02:49 AM
Hi just got the 323 today.
can i ask if the mldonkey is much better for torrenting or will the default bittorent client perform as well as it?
also i'm using linksys router and did port forwarding to a static ip that i set on the 323
http://i198.photobucket.com/albums/aa149/ferrar1_11/portforward.jpg
This should be enough right? I don't really need to write anything under the application right?
Just wondering why the dl is going very slow since i'm sure it should be fast.
info_guy
23-10-2008, 02:59 AM
Also need to ask, where can i read up on "telnetting"?
It seems like the core of the system of accessing 323.
Or is there anything to read or a guide on setting up the 323 to a norm?
alanchia67
23-10-2008, 12:10 PM
Also need to ask, where can i read up on "telnetting"?
It seems like the core of the system of accessing 323.
Or is there anything to read or a guide on setting up the 323 to a norm?
the os behind the dlink dns-323 is linux. by 'fun-plug', you can perform tasks on the nas by gaining access to the os directly. telnet is the terminal session to get into it.
perhaps you can google fonz fun plug.
info_guy
24-10-2008, 02:36 AM
Thanks i've read the fonz fun plug at shadown andy website, will try it tmrw.
I have a question for the network access. I've managed to set users and passwords to access certain folders.
But i just can't seem to block access to my BT folder as there is no option to delete the default settings which is open to all users.
http://i198.photobucket.com/albums/aa149/ferrar1_11/network-access.jpg
cdo_saturday
24-10-2008, 08:16 AM
Hi guys,
My BT in transmission started to give me the Permission Denied error. Tried changing modes and folders over the past few days, i ended up with "Destination Folder does not exist". May I know what is the right way to remove the Fun_plug? I would like re-do everything.
epwing
24-10-2008, 03:40 PM
DNS323 inbuilt Torrent client is good enough. I find it is aggressive. Using some SDK api. If seeds are good, easily 5-6 700mb files per night. (I'm using singnet 8Mbps link). Bad thing is when DNS is rebooted, the torrent settings goes back to default.
info_guy
24-10-2008, 03:50 PM
Hmm i just can't seem to get pass the 50kB/s mark for my 3 torrents when they can normally hit much more on my pc's Utorrent.
The problem is i can't see if i port forwarded correctly since there is no sign if it was a success.
ly1968
25-10-2008, 12:16 AM
Hi any sifu can help,if i were to Raid-o using 2x500gb hd & if one of the hd crash will my data still be store in the other hd ?
shadowandy
25-10-2008, 01:09 AM
you should be looking at raid 1
ly1968
25-10-2008, 11:39 PM
I know Raid 1 is for back-up purpose,but i would like to use Raid-0 for faster transfer,any advice ?
shadowandy
25-10-2008, 11:55 PM
I know Raid 1 is for back-up purpose,but i would like to use Raid-0 for faster transfer,any advice ?
RAID 0 (striped disks) distributes data across several disks in a way that gives improved speed and full capacity, but all data on all disks will be lost if any one disk fails.
ly1968
26-10-2008, 12:29 AM
RAID 0 (striped disks) distributes data across several disks in a way that gives improved speed and full capacity, but all data on all disks will be lost if any one disk fails.
OIC thks shadowandy for ur promt reply,so if i were to Raid-1 & if any of the hd crash i can just replace another new hd that's all,the data will automatically transfer to the new hd ?
shadowandy
26-10-2008, 12:30 AM
OIC thks shadowandy for ur promt reply,so if i were to Raid-1 & if any of the hd crash i can just replace another new hd that's all,the data will automatically transfer to the new hd ?
technically, in the ideal case the NAS would do what you say. :)
ly1968
26-10-2008, 12:35 AM
technically, in the ideal case the NAS would do what you say. :)
Thks again shadowandy :)
Altec
26-10-2008, 03:28 PM
Just bought a DNS-323 yesterday. $199 from Skylet.
Upgraded the firmware from 1.04 to 1.05. Basic functions and Bittorrent working fine. Exploring the other functions now.
ahcalvin
26-10-2008, 06:55 PM
i have created a ftp with my DNS-323 with the address ftp://xxxxx.dlinkddns.com
but it seems that i have trouble logging in from my friends house. Sometimes can log in sometimes cannot. do any1 have the same problem with me??
shadowandy
26-10-2008, 08:03 PM
i have created a ftp with my DNS-323 with the address ftp://xxxxx.dlinkddns.com
but it seems that i have trouble logging in from my friends house. Sometimes can log in sometimes cannot. do any1 have the same problem with me??
Check this out. :)
http://wiki.dns323.info/howto:open_ports_ftpd
info_guy
27-10-2008, 12:53 AM
I still can't figure out how to do ftp?
I've done portforwarding, i've set the user access and password.
What do i need to do next?
Altec
27-10-2008, 07:29 AM
Getting very slow transfer rates when copying files from PC to NAS - only 10.5 Mb/s.
How do I speed up transfer? Using SMC WBR14s router.
richneo
27-10-2008, 09:12 AM
Getting very slow transfer rates when copying files from PC to NAS - only 10.5 Mb/s.
How do I speed up transfer? Using SMC WBR14s router.
u transferring files wired or wirelessly?
its not a gigabit router so transferring via wired at 10.5MB/s equate to around 84mbps is normal
whereas if u are transferring via wireless using wireless n adaptor and get around 84mbps, its considered very good already
kababoom
27-10-2008, 11:26 AM
anyone managed to retain their mp3 id-tag when the files are store on this nas it seems all these info are deleted can anyone confirm?
info_guy
27-10-2008, 12:07 PM
anyone managed to retain their mp3 id-tag when the files are store on this nas it seems all these info are deleted can anyone confirm?
I've just tried to transfer 3 songs inside, nothing changed leh
shadowandy
27-10-2008, 12:07 PM
I still can't figure out how to do ftp?
I've done portforwarding, i've set the user access and password.
What do i need to do next?
more information is appreciated. What do you meant by you cant do FTP?
kababoom
27-10-2008, 12:34 PM
I've just tried to transfer 3 songs inside, nothing changed leh
u mean u can view the id-tag of the mp3 in windows explorer when u right-click on the mp3 in the nas can u see any id-tag info or just blank? wat os are u using?
info_guy
27-10-2008, 08:30 PM
more information is appreciated. What do you meant by you cant do FTP?
I mean what steps do i have to do to access my 323 over the internet from anywhere?
alanchia67
27-10-2008, 08:52 PM
I mean what steps do i have to do to access my 323 over the internet from anywhere?
check:
is ftp running?
is the portforwarding correct? (usually set static ip on nas, port forward 21 for ftp)
is the nas public ip address (which is infact your bb ip address) identifiable in the internet? you can use dynamic dns services from dyndns or dlinkddns.
info_guy
27-10-2008, 09:20 PM
FTP status is started on the NAS
Port forwarding is correct, i've port forwarded to 65510 on my router and set the same port on the NAS
i've created an account with dyndns.org and updated the hostname on my router
the problem is what do i type in the browser address to access my NAS?
do i type this?
ftp://xxxxxxx.dyndns.org:65510/
I only see the below with no files to be seen
Index of ftp://XXXXX.dyndns.org:65510/
Up to higher level directory
Name Size Last Modified
MarineX
27-10-2008, 09:47 PM
FTP status is started on the NAS
Port forwarding is correct, i've port forwarded to 65510 on my router and set the same port on the NAS
i've created an account with dyndns.org and updated the hostname on my router
the problem is what do i type in the browser address to access my NAS?
do i type this?
ftp://xxxxxxx.dyndns.org:65510/
I only see the below with no files to be seen
Index of ftp://XXXXX.dyndns.org:65510/
Up to higher level directory
Name Size Last Modified
Use Internet Explorer
info_guy
27-10-2008, 10:38 PM
Use Internet Explorer
With internet explorer, it keeps prompting me to enter username and password.
bobaccord
29-10-2008, 05:01 PM
Hi all
After some long lapse of exploring and trying, I finally got my dns-323 to work: at least on accessing the folders and the printer connection.
HOWEVER, I am now face with a new problem:
- Each time, I boot up my PC or notebook, after typing in the password (both using VISTA), the PC and notebook screen went blank but I can hear the hardisk running. It took 10-15 minutes for the VISTA front menu to load. THere will be a message at the bottom right screen:
Could not reconnect all network drives
I have created 3 or 4 folders to be accessed from each PC. I think it probably taking a long time to try to connect with those folders but failed. This happens in both cases when the DNS-323 is turned on and when it is shut off.
Anyone here has this problem? Can you help?
THanks
Regards
Bob
Bieffe
31-10-2008, 05:28 PM
Hi all
After some long lapse of exploring and trying, I finally got my dns-323 to work: at least on accessing the folders and the printer connection.
HOWEVER, I am now face with a new problem:
- Each time, I boot up my PC or notebook, after typing in the password (both using VISTA), the PC and notebook screen went blank but I can hear the hardisk running. It took 10-15 minutes for the VISTA front menu to load. THere will be a message at the bottom right screen:
Could not reconnect all network drives
I have created 3 or 4 folders to be accessed from each PC. I think it probably taking a long time to try to connect with those folders but failed. This happens in both cases when the DNS-323 is turned on and when it is shut off.
Anyone here has this problem? Can you help?
THanks
Regards
BobI not sure how u run into this problem and then managed to connect and end up where u are now.
Anyway have it occured to u that ur set maybe faulty? Firmware is corrupted?
I too got problem when I connected my printer to the 323 so try to remove it 1st. Did u also follow instructions to connect the drive and run the utility provided to discover the drive? Sometimes is the simple things that we over look that cause big problems.
kababoom
01-11-2008, 01:00 PM
any advise on how i can set password prompt when accessing certain folder for this nas?
mystikal
06-11-2008, 08:44 PM
Hi
First of all.... sorry for my bad english (im from sweden)
I wonder if its possible to connect to my DNS-323 thrue Itunes that i use on my work (wan)
I have activate itunes on my dns323 and looking for settings in Itunes to connect to my dns323 at home, but i cant find any possibilitys to set up any IP adress ??
Maybee this isnīt possible at all ??? :s22:
Thanks!
//Thomas
kababoom
09-11-2008, 07:15 PM
anyone tried the new 1.5TB hdd on this device?
richneo
09-11-2008, 08:15 PM
i read from dlink usa forum that 1.5tb is supported in firmware 1.06
kababoom
09-11-2008, 08:53 PM
i read from dlink usa forum that 1.5tb is supported in firmware 1.06
but where do you get 1.06 firmware dun think it is released right?
also i notice if you delete a folder in the nas gui it is not deleted from the hdd you can still see the folder if you telnet into it; so how do you guys managed folders for this nas?
kennyg1969
09-11-2008, 08:56 PM
read this link
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=2663.0
richneo
09-11-2008, 11:07 PM
fw 1.06 release notes
*Support XBox 360.
*FTP Server support SSL/TLS.
*Turn off Fan when the system temperature reached 43 degrees Celsius : 43(OFF), 46(LOW), 49(HIGH).
*Support UPS except Tripp Lite UPS.
*FTP Server support Unicode.
*Time Settings GUI redesign for more user friendly consideration.
*Bugfix : BT downloaded files are unable to be deleted sometimes.
*Disabled UPnP AV Server and iTunes Server by default.
*Add Auto Rebuild and Manually Rebuild(default).
*PnP-X Driver support Vista x64, both AMD64 CPU and Intel 64 CPU.
*UPnP AV Large file( > 4GB) issue.
*Time stamp of files are incorrect when DST is enabled.
*DDNS : changes minimum Timeout setting from 1 hr to 24 hrs to reduce DDNS Server loading.
*Support Gmail authentication.
*Support 1.5TB HDD.
*Support PS/3.
*UPnP AV/iTunes Server : removes Auto Refresh button, set Auto Refresh by default.
richneo
09-11-2008, 11:11 PM
but where do you get 1.06 firmware dun think it is released right?
i dun have it.
im waiting for it to be released
kababoom
10-11-2008, 08:26 AM
i dun have it.
im waiting for it to be released
thks for the info
i also notice if you delete a folder in the nas gui it is not deleted from the hdd you can still see the folder if you telnet into it; so how do you guys managed folders for this nas?
10-11-2008, 12:36 PM
does if have specific os for its usage? as i am using a mac and i wan to back up on it.
please advise
info_guy
10-11-2008, 12:56 PM
any advise on how i can set password prompt when accessing certain folder for this nas?
you can set users and password from the advanced tab -> network access
create a user and password for it, then give permission for it to read/write or both for certain folders you want to protect.
i could do this for all folders but not my BT folder as per below earlier question.
Thanks i've read the fonz fun plug at shadown andy website, will try it tmrw.
I have a question for the network access. I've managed to set users and passwords to access certain folders.
But i just can't seem to block access to my BT folder as there is no option to delete the default settings which is open to all users.
http://i198.photobucket.com/albums/aa149/ferrar1_11/network-access.jpg
alannn
11-11-2008, 11:07 AM
Hoping to get some answers from the bros here cos getting either one soon.
Finally i took the bet n get myself dns323 to test on my ps3, after letting go planex which didnt work well with ps3. Surprisingly dlink though unofficially as of now, support ps3 pretty well, i have so far no problem streaming movies, pic and music.
I have a question , i hv my nas on 24/7, and i hv notice that the networking led keeps on blinking non stop, even when there is no activities ( both hdd led solid blue), is that normal?
running 1 x 1TB seagate * 1 x 320GB seagate hdds, non raid. Firmware 1.05.
kababoom
11-11-2008, 01:22 PM
you can set users and password from the advanced tab -> network access
create a user and password for it, then give permission for it to read/write or both for certain folders you want to protect.
i could do this for all folders but not my BT folder as per below earlier question.
thksfor the info tat what i did but the funny thing is when i use the same login a/c on another pc with a different password i could still read and write to these folders eventhough the password has been set
maleman
11-11-2008, 03:16 PM
fw 1.06 release notes
*Support XBox 360.
*FTP Server support SSL/TLS.
*Turn off Fan when the system temperature reached 43 degrees Celsius : 43(OFF), 46(LOW), 49(HIGH).
*Support UPS except Tripp Lite UPS.
*FTP Server support Unicode.
*Time Settings GUI redesign for more user friendly consideration.
*Bugfix : BT downloaded files are unable to be deleted sometimes.
*Disabled UPnP AV Server and iTunes Server by default.
*Add Auto Rebuild and Manually Rebuild(default).
*PnP-X Driver support Vista x64, both AMD64 CPU and Intel 64 CPU.
*UPnP AV Large file( > 4GB) issue.
*Time stamp of files are incorrect when DST is enabled.
*DDNS : changes minimum Timeout setting from 1 hr to 24 hrs to reduce DDNS Server loading.
*Support Gmail authentication.
*Support 1.5TB HDD.
*Support PS/3.
*UPnP AV/iTunes Server : removes Auto Refresh button, set Auto Refresh by default.
Shucks!.... no fix for slow BT downloads with in-built bittorrent client :(
shadowandy
11-11-2008, 05:40 PM
BT download is dependent on the seeders. I can download stuffs at 360+ kB at times for popular trailers.
info_guy
11-11-2008, 09:39 PM
thksfor the info tat what i did but the funny thing is when i use the same login a/c on another pc with a different password i could still read and write to these folders eventhough the password has been set
no such problem for me though
maybe you'd want to add the user into a group and assign again. although it's the same thing, maybe it gives a diff result. no harm trying i guess
kababoom
12-11-2008, 10:36 AM
no such problem for me though
maybe you'd want to add the user into a group and assign again. although it's the same thing, maybe it gives a diff result. no harm trying i guess
Thanks i've already assign this user as a different group but this problem still persist? strange and by smb.conf on the nas was revert back to original as "shared"; rather than "user"
maleman
12-11-2008, 05:24 PM
BT download is dependent on the seeders. I can download stuffs at 360+ kB at times for popular trailers.
I understand that.
I have done proper port forwarding,
yet, DNS-323 is cap at 40kb but my utorrent is coming down at 300+kb
on the same torrents. So the problem is nothing to do with the seeds.
archish
15-11-2008, 11:43 PM
is there any limit for number of active torrents with the inbuilt BT client?
Jack_Chen
20-11-2008, 11:13 AM
I understand that.
I have done proper port forwarding,
yet, DNS-323 is cap at 40kb but my utorrent is coming down at 300+kb
on the same torrents. So the problem is nothing to do with the seeds.
utorrent has DHT and other stuff. There is only so much a NAS can do compared to desktop. Your desktop is likely to have greater computing power/greater ram compared to it.
What I can advise is allocation of resources. If you are getting something well seeded and enjoys fast speeds, do it with utorrent while you turn on the PC.
If you are getting something pretty Big and not so well seeded, especially those 'slow-burn' torrents, then DNS-323 is a time/cost effective solution. My PC has a 650W PSU compared to the NAS/Router/Modem setup of 50W, which will use less electricity?
Use the right tool for the right job, you want speed, get a sportscar, you want power, get a truck. Don't tell me you used a ferrari as a towtruck? And you used a pickup to race in F1?:D
JDelphiNet
22-11-2008, 01:24 PM
Somebody ought to ban okokart. :s13:
Just a quick question, I've had DNS323 running for several months now. Only has 1x500GB HDD installed at the moment. Planning to get a HDD (either 500GB or 1TB) next week to use in on the vacant slot. Just have to slot it in right? No other config required? No issue if I pair it with a 1TB HDD?
:Later,
quekky
22-11-2008, 01:37 PM
Somebody ought to ban okokart. :s13:
Just a quick question, I've had DNS323 running for several months now. Only has 1x500GB HDD installed at the moment. Planning to get a HDD (either 500GB or 1TB) next week to use in on the vacant slot. Just have to slot it in right? No other config required? No issue if I pair it with a 1TB HDD?
:Later,
no issue. you'll see 2 shares
So no one tried with 1.5TB yet? Firmware 1.06 is supposed to be out before year end,
richneo
23-11-2008, 06:29 AM
Usa forum already got people used it in there nas.
Jack_Chen
24-11-2008, 02:03 PM
when I check the firmware version, the message there says there may be a newer firmware available. Probably coming soon.
epwing
25-11-2008, 10:53 AM
I think its something to do with your setup and settings. DNS-323 inbuilt BT client is an agressive client. I'm getting up to max 1mbyte/s download using my Singtel 8mbps. Easily 5-6 .avi movies per night.
Lucky123
25-11-2008, 11:32 AM
One question on the 323 : If I am using only one HDD now in the 323 but in future I decide to add another under Raid 1, must I start afresh by formatting the old HDD or it can automatically copy all data over to the new HDD when raid 1 is activated ?
maleman
25-11-2008, 01:24 PM
I think its something to do with your setup and settings. DNS-323 inbuilt BT client is an agressive client. I'm getting up to max 1mbyte/s download using my Singtel 8mbps. Easily 5-6 .avi movies per night.
Asides from port forwarding on my linksys router to the ip addr of the NAS,
and using the same forwarded port on the DNS-323,
i'm not sure what other setting i need to do on both devices.
Any advise?
tkhhardwarezone
25-11-2008, 01:52 PM
Hi, all,
i am thinking to get a DNS 323,
just 1 question, is DNS323 support file sharing?
example when you go to start, run, and type in \\data to access the files for network of pc??
epwing
25-11-2008, 02:03 PM
Asides from port forwarding on my linksys router to the ip addr of the NAS,
and using the same forwarded port on the DNS-323,
i'm not sure what other setting i need to do on both devices.
Any advise?
I believe you have tested this port for BT by using the nas ip on a pc. If so, that will all depends on the seeding which we can't control. Another thing is DNS323 do not support BT encryption, not sure if we can see those seeders whom are in encryption.
richneo
25-11-2008, 02:04 PM
Hi, all,
i am thinking to get a DNS 323,
just 1 question, is DNS323 support file sharing?
example when you go to start, run, and type in \\data to access the files for network of pc??
thats the main purpose that DNS-323 is designed for.. isnt it?
epwing
25-11-2008, 02:05 PM
One question on the 323 : If I am using only one HDD now in the 323 but in future I decide to add another under Raid 1, must I start afresh by formatting the old HDD or it can automatically copy all data over to the new HDD when raid 1 is activated ?
Once you insert the NEW HD, it will prompt you to reformat it and the options to select raid 0, 1 or individual.
simpleton
26-11-2008, 03:02 AM
Once you insert the NEW HD, it will prompt you to reformat it and the options to select raid 0, 1 or individual.
So. If i got data in HD 1 and 1 month later i got another HD 2. Then i activate HD 2 to raid 1, the HD 2 will copy the data from HD 1. Correct me if i'm wong.
apatheticme
26-11-2008, 12:18 PM
I don't think it works like that..
RedSuns85
27-11-2008, 03:03 PM
IT show selling for $209 for DNS-323 .. issit a good deal ?
kababoom
27-11-2008, 07:31 PM
after installing funplug does the in-built power management offer by the nas still works or we need to install apps to perform this function?
win_man
27-11-2008, 08:27 PM
How come sometimes when i do mount smbfs, it will work but sometimes it won't. Need to reboot the NAS in order to resolve this. And is there a way to uncap the 2GB limit?
BestKirdApe
29-11-2008, 04:23 PM
Dear Pp,
Anyone knows how to boost my torrent speed for dns-323?
I am currently using DIR 300 and DNS 323, and my torrent speed for dns-323 is less than 20kb/s.....:(
Wat are the settings I should change to boost the speed?
simpleton
29-11-2008, 08:42 PM
Question on the DNS-323. If i have were to purchase and insert a 1TB in the NAS. Then after a month, i get another 1TB and insert into the second slot, and set it to raid 1. Will the data in the previous first hard disk be lost? If so what is the way to do it, as i cant afford two 1TB hard disk currently, but my main purpose is to do data mirroring.
bctiong
01-12-2008, 04:07 PM
Sorry for the noob questions. Just bought a dns-323 and set up for home network backup.
Now I have a problem with my Singtel Mio Router where I couldn't find any setting on port forwarding. Anyone can give some guides in setting up a remote access to NAS? TIA.:)
How to do ftp and ddns set up on Mio 2WIRE router?
tteckchu
01-12-2008, 04:46 PM
Sorry for the noob questions. Just bought a dns-323 and set up for home network backup.
Now I have a problem with my Singtel Mio Router where I couldn't find any setting on port forwarding. Anyone can give some guides in setting up a remote access to NAS? TIA.:)
I'm having the same problem with the FTP using 2700HV 2Wire modem from Singtel. I can use it for local network with 2 x 1TB harddisk and BitTorrent. Unfortunately, the FTP just couldn't work eventough I've opened up port 21 as instructed.
kennyg1969
01-12-2008, 05:06 PM
I'm having the same problem with the FTP using 2700HV 2Wire modem from Singtel. I can use it for local network with 2 x 1TB harddisk and BitTorrent. Unfortunately, the FTP just couldn't work eventough I've opened up port 21 as instructed.
Use another port . Both ports 80 and 21 are blocked by ISP
shadowandy
01-12-2008, 08:09 PM
after installing funplug does the in-built power management offer by the nas still works or we need to install apps to perform this function?
It should still work
bctiong
01-12-2008, 09:34 PM
Thanks for the hint. Manage to clear ftp but still stuck with ddns setting.
Why the status still remain disconnect after I input all the settig in ddns page?
Any advise, pls.
tonyc
02-12-2008, 02:00 PM
Port 80 is blocked by ISP but Port 21 is not block.
It is the 2wire modem issue... I have change the modem to Linksys and have no problem access to my home DNS-323 FTP directly from my office.
tonyc
02-12-2008, 02:05 PM
Dont waste time on MIO 2wire modem. It had port forwarding feature but it only work in one way direction.
I have tried using D-link and Linksys Gateway Router and had no problem with port forwarding at all.
bctiong
02-12-2008, 05:23 PM
Yes. Port 80 and 21 are closed checked using www.grc.com as recommended by bro here.
Finally manage to get FTP and DDNS up after many trials and errors.(newbie here)
1. set up port 28 under user-defined application in firewall setting page --> solve FTP
2. change to DHCP client instead of fixed ip --> solve DDNS connection
Now I'm able to access ftp from my office computer via ddns address but still testing out for any other problems.
I'm noob to internet security. Some questions seeking for experts advises:
1. Is there any potential external threats when we run this DNS-323, 24/7 for remote access? Can anyone advise/recommend some protection measures? or is the current firewall from the router good enough?
2. Any other free Backup software would you recommend? I dun like the sw that comes with it.=:p (looking for something like Iomega Automatic Backup Pro, any other nice one)
3. Any other interesting functions we can try on DNS-323 besides Backup, bittorrent, ftp.?
I would like to try on wireless multimedias sharing later.
Thank you.
simpleton
03-12-2008, 07:08 PM
Got my DNS-323 with two 1TB hard disk raid 1 configuration. Setup UPnP. Now my PS3 can stream my mp3 and videos, damn cool. :)
Btw. For owners for DNS-323, how do you turn off your DNS-323 when u power down your computer? Do you hold the power button before u power down, or can you just switch off the power socket?
richneo
03-12-2008, 09:24 PM
hold the power button for 8 to 10 seconds to switch off.
switching off the power mains direct might have consequences to the raid and hdd data
but i normally dun switch it off
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.