PDA

View Full Version : DNS-323 Network Storage

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

shadowandy
02-09-2007, 05:50 PM
Guess quite a handful of people got DNS-323 after Comex 2007.

http://img145.imageshack.us/img145/5815/dns323nas06fw8.jpg (http://www.shadowandy.net/_html/archives/tech/dns323/)
Picture of the DNS-323 I got back in May

Here are some resources to get you started with your DNS-323

wiki.dns323.info (http://wiki.dns323.info)
Community Forum (http://forum.dsmg600.info/f3-DNS323-General-Discussion.html)
MLDonkey for DNS-323 (http://www.shadowandy.net/2007/05/mldonkey-for-dns-323.htm)
MLDonkey 2.9.6 for DNS-313, DNS-323, DNS-343 (http://www.shadowandy.net/2008/08/mldonkey-296.htm)
Running fonz’s fun_plug (0.5) on DNS-323 (http://www.shadowandy.net/2008/05/running-fonzs-fun_plug-05-on-dns-323.htm)
Transmission (bittorrent client) for DNS-323 (http://www.shadowandy.net/2008/05/transmission-for-dns-313-dns-323.htm)
Setting up Clutch (webui for transmission) (http://www.shadowandy.net/2008/05/setting-up-clutch-for-transmission-2.htm)
Password protecting your Clutch (http://www.shadowandy.net/2008/05/password-protected-clutch.htm)
Compiling your own applications on the DNS-313, DNS-323, DNS-343 (http://www.shadowandy.net/2008/08/adding-compiling-capabilities-to-your-dns-323.htm)
shadowandy's DNS-323 stuffs (http://www.shadowandy.net/tag/dns-323)

Cloudiax
02-09-2007, 06:00 PM
Looks good.

How big is it?

shadowandy
02-09-2007, 06:15 PM
Looks good.

How big is it?

You meant the physical size of the DNS-323? I took the picture with a regular can of coke (330ml). Guess that will roughly tell you the size of the NAS.

Cloudiax
02-09-2007, 06:16 PM
Capacity I mean. 1TB?

shadowandy
02-09-2007, 06:36 PM
Capacity I mean. 1TB?

It is just a humble 160GB. Anybody wish to donate their unused SATA II harddisks to me? =:p

svnnie001
03-09-2007, 09:46 AM
nice one.... got warranty? setup easy?

shadowandy
03-09-2007, 03:13 PM
My set was imported from overseas hence no local warranty. :(

As for setup wise, I would say it is pretty straight forward. Plug in the harddisk, find out the IP address of the NAS, login in uring default username and password. Lastly setup your harddisk in the manner you want.

richneo
03-09-2007, 03:49 PM
My set was imported from overseas hence no local warranty. :(

As for setup wise, I would say it is pretty straight forward. Plug in the harddisk, find out the IP address of the NAS, login in uring default username and password. Lastly setup your harddisk in the manner you want.
i tot u just bought second set at comex? hehehe

quekky
03-09-2007, 10:03 PM
this NAS should be able to support furture hdd right? eg next year 2TB hdd come out :drool: can't find any mention of max hdd size it can support

richneo
03-09-2007, 11:32 PM
this NAS should be able to support furture hdd right? eg next year 2TB hdd come out :drool: can't find any mention of max hdd size it can support
cos there is no limitation yet i think hehe

its using *nix BTW :s34:

shadowandy
01-12-2007, 03:32 PM
For those who have got your hands on a DNS-323 recently, perhaps you might want to set up fun_plug and MLDonkey (bittorrent client) on your new toy.

Check out MLDonkey Real Simple Edition (http://www.shadowandy.net/_html/archives/2007/10/mldonkey_292_real_simple.html) which comes with fon_plug and MLDonkey 2.9.2 (lite) in one neat package. After which, you can simple upgrade MLDonkey to future version simply by replacing mlnet.

There is a fair bit of discussions in the comments section of this blog entry (http://www.shadowandy.net/_html/archives/2007/05/mldonkey_for_dns323.html). Do read it if you do encounter any problems. If you got new problems, you can post in it there so that others will benefit as well.

Hope it helps.

VenomX2
02-12-2007, 11:14 PM
did you wait in line for the special promo price?

VenomX2
02-12-2007, 11:21 PM
Is there anyway to partition the hard disk while still in Raid 1?

having problems running video from device. had uploaded a movie trailer to the NAS then tried to view it from laptop from media player. the video is jerky at times, is it cause of wireless?

shadowandy
02-12-2007, 11:29 PM
did you wait in line for the special promo price?

I shipped the DNS-323 from overseas in May 2007.

having problems running video from device. had uploaded a movie trailer to the NAS then tried to view it from laptop from media player. the video is jerky at times, is it cause of wireless?

What is your wireless specs?

VenomX2
03-12-2007, 09:49 AM
I shipped the DNS-323 from overseas in May 2007.

What is your wireless specs?

the router supports b,g specs, laptop tried on one that supports only b and another that has b,g.

VenomX2
03-12-2007, 09:54 AM
is there anyway to defrag the NAS? heard it came with defrag function in an earlier firmware?

alpc
03-12-2007, 10:00 AM
Well, I finally got my hands on this - after 3 months of waiting... Started to offload my stuff from HDD into this... Then I realised they dun support CJK characters... So I got about 4 folders which is there, you can see it, but you can't do much to it... Darn it, should have read closely on those resource link before I started... Well, now to wait for firmware 1.04 which is supposed to support International character sets. Have not loaded the mldonkey as yet, but did load the fun_plug (for telnet).

So may I ask... What kind of setup do you use? RAID 1? Standard? I decided to use standard, and use a script to do backup from Volume 1 to Volume 2, instead of RAID 1 configuration... However, I am still at the stage of getting files into it, so the script has not been setup as yet... Maybe I should... Then the first backup would not be too long in terms of timing it needs to copy from 1 HDD to the other...

Anyone knows how to make use of its UPnP server? I am still at a lost of how this work? Which program can be used as a client to view the stuff from the UPnP server?

Finally, got to relearn the Unix commands... It has been years since I touch a Unix box...

VenomX2
06-12-2007, 12:29 AM

So may I ask... What kind of setup do you use? RAID 1? Standard? I decided to use standard, and use a script to do backup from Volume 1 to Volume 2, instead of RAID 1 configuration... However, I am still at the stage of getting files into it, so the script has not been setup as yet... Maybe I should... Then the first backup would not be too long in terms of timing it needs to copy from 1 HDD to the other...

why use a script instead of Raid 1?

alpc
07-12-2007, 05:48 PM
Well, heard some stories in the other forum on RAID 1 configuration... Thought it would be better not do that....

Sapphy
09-12-2007, 02:01 AM
Hey guys, is there a proper way to "shutdown" DNS? Or do I just power off straight away?

richneo
09-12-2007, 10:51 AM
Hey guys, is there a proper way to "shutdown" DNS? Or do I just power off straight away?
press and hold the off button for around 5 to 10 seconds

do NOT switch off the mains power just like that

Sapphy
09-12-2007, 02:20 PM
press and hold the off button for around 5 to 10 seconds

do NOT switch off the mains power just like that

Thanks, just what I was looking for!

ipaq4444
10-12-2007, 12:39 PM
how many number of harddisk can i support?

kun1he2
10-12-2007, 11:22 PM
how many number of harddisk can i support?

2 drives - either RAID0 or RAID1 config.

richneo
11-12-2007, 03:58 PM
2 drives - either RAID0 or RAID1 config.
and jbod and standard without raid

DiscMan
13-12-2007, 07:31 AM
Hi.. i just got my DNS-323 with a single samsung 500GB disk. just started it up and find that the humming sound a bit louder than my PC with 4 fans.. do u think it is normal? TIA!

richneo
13-12-2007, 08:54 AM
fan spinning too fast issit?

cos the harddisk too warm?

the fan is thermal controlled

OKK77
16-12-2007, 02:50 AM
Hmm, what's the latest price in SLS?

DiscMan
16-12-2007, 09:05 AM
fan spinning too fast issit?

cos the harddisk too warm?

the fan is thermal controlled
found out the reason y liao.. cos i put my DNS-323 in a rack with a drawer below.. so some how the vibrations got amplifed, just like a speaker.. :S so i sit my DNS-323 on some damping materials and now it's quiet as a mouse.. :)

richneo
16-12-2007, 10:11 AM
found out the reason y liao.. cos i put my DNS-323 in a rack with a drawer below.. so some how the vibrations got amplifed, just like a speaker.. :S so i sit my DNS-323 on some damping materials and now it's quiet as a mouse.. :)
congrats on your good purchased :s34:

DiscMan
16-12-2007, 09:22 PM
congrats on your good purchased :s34:
thanxs.. btw, u tried uPnP? cant seem to get it to work leh.. :(

ivan_seow
17-12-2007, 01:02 AM
Will like to know how to load a local torrent file using MLdonkey realeasy version. I am a noob in this. thanks.

quekky
22-12-2007, 12:35 PM
anyone got 1.04b63 can send me?

dl from dlink de forum always got chop off halfway

edited: nvm, found b61 somewhere else

sicom
27-12-2007, 08:32 AM
hi all,

what is the current price for this product?

sigh
27-12-2007, 12:48 PM
Have been playing with my DNS-323 over the holidays. Some observations I found and would like to confirm.

I have been having problems with ftp to my DNS-323 remotely. Everything works in the LAN, but when I ftp from WAN (SNBB), I cannot seem to see the content of my directory. Can put and get. It will hang but I can get the file out and put the file in.

Suspected that the problem lies with my DGL-4300. After playing around with the setting, it appears that it is the SPI that is causing the ftp problem. After disabling SPI, things work like a charm.

Anyone encountered this problem before?

fengting
27-12-2007, 09:58 PM
anyone got 1.04b63 can send me?

dl from dlink de forum always got chop off halfway

edited: nvm, found b61 somewhere else
Please send it to me too. The latest beta that I can find is 1.04b28, which has too many bugs.
Email: fengting70@hotmail.com

richneo
28-12-2007, 10:22 PM
http://www.dl-support.de/forum/downloads.php?cat=85

fengting
29-12-2007, 09:32 AM
http://www.dl-support.de/forum/downloads.php?cat=85

After registration and login, I am able to dl it. Thanks!

OKK77
30-12-2007, 04:53 PM
hi all,

what is the current price for this product?

I bought it a couple of hours ago at S$255.

roddersg
31-12-2007, 03:16 AM
I got mine yesterday with a samsung 500G 16MB buffer. Works fine, though thinking out the groups takes a little time.

Cost is as above.

sigh
31-12-2007, 08:51 AM
Will wait for price to fall further before getting it. Also there NAS seems to be going mainstream. Saw a few other brands in SLS

ktee
31-12-2007, 08:55 AM
I bought it a couple of hours ago at S$255.

WHere did you get it from? I intend to get it and the internet wireless camera dlink DSC-5220G (cost $399). The guy told me this is the cheapest camera which works with this NAS. Or is there any cheaper alternative. THks:)

tyongchi
31-12-2007, 11:36 AM
i think u can get it from Challenger. $229 I last seen the price last week.

ktee
31-12-2007, 12:00 PM

THks. Will go n chk it out. Any place to get the DCS-5220 cheap? :D

OKK77
31-12-2007, 02:45 PM

Darn, that is cheap.

sicom
31-12-2007, 04:34 PM
i got it yesterday from sls @$259.

very easy to setup indeed. :)
loving it, only thing I dont like is the lack of chinese char support. :(
all my chinese filename were corrupted when copy over to the dns drive.

btw, if I update the firmware, will it erase all my data?
is the B63 stable?

ktee
31-12-2007, 05:35 PM
Juz got it at funan challeng3r for 229! Saw 1 on the shelf and grabbed it! Also bought the DSC-5220 camera at 389 (member price).

I now setting it up with my 160gb HDD (extra after replacing my comp w 500gb).

Can anyone tell me how to setup the FTP server? I am using Di-524 router. I did port-forward, but when i access the WAN address found in the DHCP (starhub) by typing: http://222.16*.*.***, i Zonealarm gave blocking warning. after disabling ZA, IE said website not found... :s11: Please help! thks. :D

OKK77
31-12-2007, 07:01 PM
Starfag blocks port 21. Use another port.

sigh
31-12-2007, 09:15 PM
Hm... good waiting to get a 2nd one, price point is <$200.
5220G is a good camera, especially if the firmware is upgraded.

DNS323 Firmware 1.04 support chinese character. but firmware upgrade will need to reformat the HDD, that is, data loss.

albertlee
01-01-2008, 12:45 AM
Juz got it at funan challeng3r for 229! Saw 1 on the shelf and grabbed it! Also bought the DSC-5220 camera at 389 (member price).

Is the $229 member price?

lockweld
01-01-2008, 01:12 AM
Is the $229 member price?

no, normal price for public.

albertlee
01-01-2008, 10:06 AM
no, normal price for public.

Thank for replying. Is there promotion price for member?

starbugs
01-01-2008, 10:13 AM
There is an Dlink advert in ST-Digital Life Today. $229 till 31 Jan

PatchAdam
01-01-2008, 10:51 AM
Hmmmm...the link is offline for me...
anyone can send me???
thanks!!!

robinang81@gmail.com

TIA

richneo
01-01-2008, 11:04 AM
Hmmmm...the link is offline for me...
anyone can send me???
thanks!!!

robinang81@gmail.com

TIA
done :s34:

Java_Guru
01-01-2008, 07:14 PM
Under RAID 1 scenario, what if the DNS 323 itself fails but both hard disk are fine ? Can my WIndows PC still gain access to the ext2/3 files?

Thinking of geting a set but concerned abt the RAID/NAS hardware failure itself and not the drives.

richneo
01-01-2008, 07:56 PM
Under RAID 1 scenario, what if the DNS 323 itself fails but both hard disk are fine ? Can my WIndows PC still gain access to the ext2/3 files?

Thinking of geting a set but concerned abt the RAID/NAS hardware failure itself and not the drives.
yes there are that ext2 file viewer for windows

i tried connecting the hdd to my desktop and i still can access the files

so when u rma dns-323 and the new one come, u can just plug it in and ur data is still there

ktee
01-01-2008, 08:53 PM
Starfag blocks port 21. Use another port.

Thks. I changed the port to 60000. But i still couldnt access it (same error). Anybody can help? :s11: cheers.

PatchAdam
01-01-2008, 09:18 PM
done :s34:

thanks!!!!!
:D

Java_Guru
01-01-2008, 10:03 PM
Hmm...$229 is tempting. But I read of several failures under RAID 1.

What are the user experience of the implementation of RAID 1? If you putting your years of data and photos on this time, I would really like it to be more than 100% sure it is working fine.

richneo
01-01-2008, 11:18 PM
raid 1 is safe... raid 0 is risky

samball
02-01-2008, 01:09 AM
Sorry to hijack the thread...but how to backup this NAS if I configure both drives to be on raid 0?

TIA!

sigh
02-01-2008, 11:09 AM
Sorry to hijack the thread...but how to backup this NAS if I configure both drives to be on raid 0?

TIA!

Backup what? If you use RAID 0, both HDD are used. You have to backup to a 2nd NAS?

lockweld
02-01-2008, 01:18 PM
Thank for replying. Is there promotion price for member?

Don't think there's any promotion for members, when i bought it at Challenger@Funan last Sat.

ktee
03-01-2008, 08:40 AM
Thks. I changed the port to 60000. But i still couldnt access it (same error). Anybody can help? :s11: cheers.

Any help?

I even try dyndns to chg to a link like: xxx.kicks-ass.org and use port 8000. I still couldn't access the NAS, got connection time out message. I did port forwarded 8000. How ah? :s11:

richneo
03-01-2008, 09:24 AM
Any help?

I even try dyndns to chg to a link like: xxx.kicks-ass.org and use port 8000. I still couldn't access the NAS, got connection time out message. I did port forwarded 8000. How ah? :s11:
check ur router manual or call ur router's tech support and ask them to teach u how to do port forwarding correctly

sigh
03-01-2008, 10:16 AM
Any help?

What router you using?
If you can ftp locally, you should be able to ftp globally.
As a test, you should put your NAS in the DMZ temporarily to see if it works.
Then check your routers firewall settings.

ktee
03-01-2008, 12:17 PM
What router you using?
If you can ftp locally, you should be able to ftp globally.
As a test, you should put your NAS in the DMZ temporarily to see if it works.
Then check your routers firewall settings.

DI-524.

I can access 192.168.0.xxx but cant access the ip fr SH 222.xxx.xx.xxx in IE. I port forwarded TCP 8000 using virtual server and also allowed in firewall.

I shall try the DMZ method and rpt back again. Thks all. :)

ktee
03-01-2008, 09:24 PM
Finally got it. I juz need to change http: to ftp: and it is done! It is a ftp server not a webserver.... :o

Thks for all who help.

update:

Can access at home but not in office! any way out? thks

lowend
04-01-2008, 04:24 PM
Finally got it. I juz need to change http: to ftp: and it is done! It is a ftp server not a webserver.... :o

Thks for all who help.

update:

Can access at home but not in office! any way out? thks

your office blocking port 21 or 22? My company however allows 443 so I use that port.

Diavonex
04-01-2008, 05:48 PM

TIA!

You should give Acronis 11 a try.

http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/download/trueimage/

samball
04-01-2008, 10:05 PM
You should give Acronis 11 a try.

http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/download/trueimage/
Thanks. I've been using Acronis for quite some time now.

Maybe I should explain what my question really refers to.

I have more than 700Gig of data that I plan to put in dns-323 in raid 0 config so I have enough space for all my files. But I also need redundancy - so what backup strategy do you guys recommend? Get a second dns-323? or can I utilise the usb port to connect to a 2-bay external drives and do a scheduled backup?

sigh
04-01-2008, 10:46 PM
Thanks. I've been using Acronis for quite some time now.

Maybe I should explain what my question really refers to.

I have more than 700Gig of data that I plan to put in dns-323 in raid 0 config so I have enough space for all my files. But I also need redundancy - so what backup strategy do you guys recommend? Get a second dns-323? or can I utilise the usb port to connect to a 2-bay external drives and do a scheduled backup?

USB port not meant for external storage, although there are workaround to make it work.
My suggestion is to get 2 NAS, 1 for main, 1 for backup. You should be able to configure NAS 2 to copy from NAS one periodically. Then no need to have PC running.

I also advised against running RAID0. There is little performance benefit as the bottleneck is in your network. Failure on 1 disk will kill all your data. In the end I kept it as separate drives.

samball
05-01-2008, 12:17 AM
USB port not meant for external storage, although there are workaround to make it work.
My suggestion is to get 2 NAS, 1 for main, 1 for backup. You should be able to configure NAS 2 to copy from NAS one periodically. Then no need to have PC running.

I also advised against running RAID0. There is little performance benefit as the bottleneck is in your network. Failure on 1 disk will kill all your data. In the end I kept it as separate drives.
If this is the case, your advise would be RAID1 for each NAS? Does 323 have standard application to do nas to nas backup?

In d-link website it states that 323 supports any size of hard drives. Can anybody verify this or has anybody tried big size like 2x1TB config?

richneo
05-01-2008, 01:10 AM
yes from forums overseas, seagate, hitachi and etc 1TB hdd has been tried and works

tan_b_t
05-01-2008, 01:24 AM

Might also consider not using RAID 1 but rsync?

http://forum.dsmg600.info/t1150-Tutorial%3A-Backup-Everything-from-once-night.html

In this case, you are less susceptible to failure from the DNS 323 as you can plug in the drives as per normal and read using linux, even if the DNS 323 is spoilt. But you increase the risk of data loss due to HDD failure before synchronization, which you can minimize by setting a shorter time interval in between sync.

sigh
05-01-2008, 10:40 AM
If this is the case, your advise would be RAID1 for each NAS? Does 323 have standard application to do nas to nas backup?

In d-link website it states that 323 supports any size of hard drives. Can anybody verify this or has anybody tried big size like 2x1TB config?

No, I suggest the standard individual disk setup, neither JBOD, RAID-0 or RAID-1.

Then use schedule download to copy from Disk A to Disk B within the same NAS. This will not impact your LAN and easier to setup. Out of 1TB, only at most 30GB I consider as critical to have such a backup.

A better option will be use scripts to copy from NAS 1 to NAS 2, but that will require some tweaking and also lull time in your LAN.

richneo
05-01-2008, 10:58 AM
dns-323 has scheduled downloads

u can set ftp in nas 1 and den scheduled download in nas 2 to download at a scheduled timing from nas 1

quekky
05-01-2008, 11:29 PM
scheduled ftp will be copying everything from nas1 to nas2

rsync will only copy the difference, moreover will del the files that is not in nas1

richneo
06-01-2008, 09:27 AM
scheduled ftp will be copying everything from nas1 to nas2

rsync will only copy the difference, moreover will del the files that is not in nas1

dns-323 has rsync? :eek:

sorry i noob :s34: i oni have 1 dns-323

PatchAdam
06-01-2008, 09:34 AM

time for u to get another one!

richneo
06-01-2008, 10:04 AM
time for u to get another one!
cannot dah..

just whacked 500gb hdds =(

nid to wait for ang pao money liaoz :s34:

quekky
06-01-2008, 10:31 AM

included in fonz's fun_plug

just follow the instruction at forum.dsmg600.info

richneo
06-01-2008, 10:53 AM
included in fonz's fun_plug

just follow the instruction at forum.dsmg600.info
wah pro kekekek

sigh
06-01-2008, 11:34 AM
fun_plug with DNS-323 is superb. I intend to get a 2nd DNS-323. It is so much more than a simple NAS.

shadowandy
13-01-2008, 12:20 PM
http://img402.imageshack.us/img402/3717/dns323gallery01pu7.jpg

Anybody created a Photo Gallery on your DNS-323 (http://www.shadowandy.net/_html/archives/2008/01/creating_your_own_image_galler.html)?

quekky
13-01-2008, 06:51 PM
andy, go install mediawiki on your fon lah, no need database :s16:

shadowandy
14-01-2008, 12:41 AM
My FONs are still in "development". There's a lot of half baked experiments on them cos they are on openwrt. lolx

castorzzz
17-01-2008, 11:56 AM
hi guys,

what is the expected transfer time for a 2GB file to the NAS?

I tried to map a drive, then transfer to 2BG file wirelessly to the NAS. It seem to take more than 30 mins.

sigh
17-01-2008, 12:17 PM
The bottleneck is in your Wireless, not the NAS. Sometimes your wireless connection can even dropped.

marcnggc
17-01-2008, 01:37 PM
Got any price drop??
Btw, Apple new product "Time Capsule" cost RRP $788 for 1 TB and seems like work like wireless NAS. (Dont know i interpret correctly boh)

:s12::s12::s12:

Cannot decide which one to get?
1) 323 + 2 500GB SATA OR
2) Time Capsule

wedgehammer
17-01-2008, 01:46 PM
but time capsule can't do RAID 1

marcnggc
17-01-2008, 02:12 PM
but time capsule can't do RAID 1

Oh... Thanks...ok... i dont intend to do RAID also.
Just looking for a NAS that can do BT download. :D

richneo
03-02-2008, 11:58 AM
just noticed there is a new firmware released

1.04 official

http://support.dlink.com/products/view.asp?productid=DNS%2D323

quekky
03-02-2008, 07:04 PM
great! finally got unicode support liao

just in time also as I havent fully migrate my hdd over yet

BigBelly
06-02-2008, 09:22 AM
I downloaded the Real Simple Edition and copies the files to the Volume_1 drive.

However does not seem to work.

Anyone can help?

For those who have got your hands on a DNS-323 recently, perhaps you might want to set up fun_plug and MLDonkey (bittorrent client) on your new toy.

Check out MLDonkey Real Simple Edition (http://www.shadowandy.net/_html/archives/2007/10/mldonkey_292_real_simple.html) which comes with fon_plug and MLDonkey 2.9.2 (lite) in one neat package. After which, you can simple upgrade MLDonkey to future version simply by replacing mlnet.

There is a fair bit of discussions in the comments section of this blog entry (http://www.shadowandy.net/_html/archives/2007/05/mldonkey_for_dns323.html). Do read it if you do encounter any problems. If you got new problems, you can post in it there so that others will benefit as well.

Hope it helps.

richneo
06-02-2008, 10:00 AM
I downloaded the Real Simple Edition and copies the files to the Volume_1 drive.

However does not seem to work.

Anyone can help?
u have 2 hdd or 1 hdd?

minr have to put in vol 2 in order to work

BigBelly
06-02-2008, 10:47 AM
i have 2 HDD but I put in Raid 0 mode so only see 1 HDD.

u have 2 hdd or 1 hdd?

minr have to put in vol 2 in order to work

richneo
06-02-2008, 12:51 PM
http://img142.imageshack.us/img142/11/digitallifereviewdns323sn0.jpg

sorry for big picture

richneo
06-02-2008, 12:52 PM
jfyi BT is already supported with dns-323 using shadowandy's script and firmware 1.04 beta as well as 1.05 :s34:

Tuakong
06-02-2008, 02:53 PM
jfyi BT is already supported with dns-323 using shadowandy's script and firmware 1.04 beta as well as 1.05 :s34:

but for a complete noob like me, the installation is still a challenge. As muh as I wanted the dns-323 becos of the low price, i hv decided to get the qnap cos it comes 'all-in-the-box'.

tried readng some of shadowandy's tips and still catch-no-ball :D

richneo
06-02-2008, 04:22 PM
but for a complete noob like me, the installation is still a challenge. As muh as I wanted the dns-323 becos of the low price, i hv decided to get the qnap cos it comes 'all-in-the-box'.

hehe its already built in with dink's 1.04 b28 firmware mah

if u noe how to BT, then you will know how to use 1.04 b28 =p

quekky
06-02-2008, 04:31 PM
somewhere in d-link FAQ, may be useful for others...
"If you are using firmware 1.04, by default the DNS-323 will support Unicode which is an industry standard allowing computers to consistently represent and manipulate text expressed in most of the world's writing formats. However, if you were using an earlier version of firmware (1.03 or earlier) and have just upgraded to 1.04, Unicode will not be supported until you have reformatted the hard drives in your DNS-323."

(i was running 1.04b previously no wonder didnt encounter this problem)

quekky
06-02-2008, 04:32 PM
firmware 1.05???

Mann
06-02-2008, 05:49 PM

which qnap did you buy :)

Zich
06-02-2008, 08:59 PM
Isn't Qnap quite costly? Might as well get Buffalo

Mann
06-02-2008, 11:12 PM

true but why buffalo :s11:

sigh
09-02-2008, 06:14 PM

If is it the model that was in the newspaper, it is $600+. The price difference is too great. Might as well get a low-end PC.

saragota
10-02-2008, 12:53 PM

Where can I find the setting for BT in 1.04? As for the unicode display, I transfer a text file with chinese filename but still cant see the chinese words.

richneo
10-02-2008, 02:32 PM
Where can I find the setting for BT in 1.04? As for the unicode display, I transfer a text file with chinese filename but still cant see the chinese words.
enable chinese in ur windows under the regional language settings first

Deavenger
10-02-2008, 05:46 PM
interested in this baby but can anyone tell me if its fast or slow on data transfer between computer and nas?i'm using a SMC wireless-n10/100. the present nas i'm using is net-disk and it takes me 2hrs to transfer data from pc to nas.

richneo
10-02-2008, 10:07 PM
interested in this baby but can anyone tell me if its fast or slow on data transfer between computer and nas?i'm using a SMC wireless-n10/100. the present nas i'm using is net-disk and it takes me 2hrs to transfer data from pc to nas.
it will be slow for any NAS if u are transferring via wireless keke

this nas performs best with gigabit lan connection on the gigabit port :D

Deavenger
10-02-2008, 10:48 PM
it will be slow for any NAS if u are transferring via wireless keke

this nas performs best with gigabit lan connection on the gigabit port :D

So if most of my house notebooks are on wireless., I should forget about doing nas??

richneo
10-02-2008, 10:54 PM
So if most of my house notebooks are on wireless., I should forget about doing nas??
plug ur laptop direct to the network to do transfer lor

i dun think u like the idea of transferring few gigabytes of data over wireless at around 16mbps wireless throughput rite?

streaming wirelessly from the nas is ok thou

iammole
10-02-2008, 11:12 PM

slow is bcoz bottleneck by the wireless, wireless is slower than wired, that's a fact. If u connect by cable direct to the router will be fast fast. If you have a gigabit router will be fastest fastest. :D

sigh
11-02-2008, 09:43 AM
I think DNS-323 is the fastest NAS in the market for SOHO use now. Even the QNAP, which is twice the price, isn't as fast. That said, you need to everything to run on Gigabit to reap the benefit.

E.g. 1GB file
1Gbps - 2 min
100Mbps - 4 min
Wlan G 54Mbps - 30min.

Errz
11-02-2008, 12:49 PM
can i just use 1 hard disk first for this DNS-323 ? or must put in 2 to work?

quekky
11-02-2008, 01:15 PM
can i just use 1 hard disk first for this DNS-323 ? or must put in 2 to work?
can use 1.

Errz
11-02-2008, 01:18 PM
can use 1.

thank you :s12:

game goondu
11-02-2008, 04:39 PM
for this DNS-323, what happen if the equipement failed? how to recover back the file from the harddisk?

richneo
11-02-2008, 04:44 PM
for this DNS-323, what happen if the equipement failed? how to recover back the file from the harddisk?
mount the hdd to desktop and install the ext file viewer and access it in windows explorer lor

Deavenger
12-02-2008, 06:00 PM
slow is bcoz bottleneck by the wireless, wireless is slower than wired, that's a fact. If u connect by cable direct to the router will be fast fast. If you have a gigabit router will be fastest fastest. :D

Ok.. finally got the 323.. now thinking if i should upgrade to 10 /100/1000.... will it make alot of difference??

n0d3
12-02-2008, 07:45 PM
Ok.. finally got the 323.. now thinking if i should upgrade to 10 /100/1000.... will it make alot of difference??

Gigabit is definitely the way to go.

Deavenger
12-02-2008, 09:47 PM
Gigabit is definitely the way to go.

when i plug in the rj45 cable.. my transfer speed is avg 9 mb /sec

however if on my 10/100 smc wireless -n ..its 600kb / s..

what speed can i expect on a 10/ 100 / 1000??

richneo
12-02-2008, 09:49 PM
when i plug in the rj45 cable.. my transfer speed is avg 9 mb /sec

however if on my 10/100 smc wireless -n ..its 600kb / s..

what speed can i expect on a 10/ 100 / 1000??
around 20 to 22?

Deavenger
12-02-2008, 10:05 PM
around 20 to 22?

20 - 22 mb?? on wireless??

that better then me using the rj cable!!!

richneo
12-02-2008, 10:09 PM
20 - 22 megabytes per second or around 160mbps to 180mbps on gigabit lan

Deavenger
12-02-2008, 10:36 PM
20 - 22 megabytes per second or around 160mbps to 180mbps on gigabit lan

gigabit lan as in using the rj cable??

richneo
12-02-2008, 10:39 PM
using cat5e or cat 6 cable with rj45 heads connected to a 1000mbps switch or router

Rogue
12-02-2008, 11:40 PM
... Equation need to balance ...

Router/Switch - gigabit supported on used ports, check
Destination (NAS) - gigabit supported , check
Source (PC/Notebook/other storage device) - gigabit supported, check

If one of the above is uncheck.... don't expect gigabit throughput performance between the source and destination, scale down to the worse bandwidth. Also your Ethernet cable must be either CAT5E or CAT6.... not CAT5.

e.g
Notebook with 802.11b wireless network card/inbuilt-> less than 11Mbps(theoretical max)->Wireless Gigabit Router-> less than 11Mbps-> NAS with gigabit network port.

Important note: It applies to one's own internal/home network, not the internet....

Anyway, any further question about gigabit ethernet , post them at Internet Bandwidth & Networking Clinic.

Deavenger
13-02-2008, 12:11 AM
i set up my ftp.. wats the address to access it

read thru the thread.. saw someone mention about it.. but never leave the address...

what format issit??

ftp://ftp.....??

Deavenger
13-02-2008, 12:20 AM
enable chinese in ur windows under the regional language settings first

i am also having probs with the chinese thing..

i follow the manual.. select the drive.. then language setting..later i chose simplified chinese.. then click ok.. so it says.. do not off hdd...

after awhile..a message shows..

check hard disk...

and the fonts still dun show....

limyeewee
13-02-2008, 12:39 AM
i juz bought the nas, so i hope i'm not giving you the wrong advice. i faced the same problem as you juz now, and i use the easy_search(3.7.0.0). you can download it from dlink.com.sg and it's suppose to work only with the 1.04 beta. i jus used it to change the language and it appears to work for me. hope it works for u too.

i am also having probs with the chinese thing..

i follow the manual.. select the drive.. then language setting..later i chose simplified chinese.. then click ok.. so it says.. do not off hdd...

after awhile..a message shows..

check hard disk...

and the fonts still dun show....

quekky
13-02-2008, 12:43 AM
u need to upgrade to 1.04 and reformat your hdd on the 323

Deavenger
13-02-2008, 01:15 AM
re format?? ok.. i try that...

richneo
13-02-2008, 02:07 AM
u need to upgrade to 1.04 and reformat your hdd on the 323
heh bro

actually to be frank i never reformatted my 2 x hdd before since firmware 1.02 :s34:

Deavenger
13-02-2008, 02:22 AM
heh bro

actually to be frank i never reformatted my 2 x hdd before since firmware 1.02 :s34:

hmmm...so how to apply chinese fonts??

quekky
13-02-2008, 07:50 AM
dunno leh, faq say must reformat to use unicode. maybe u still using GB coding? can try see u can pit korean and jap filenames?

richneo
13-02-2008, 08:59 AM
hmmm...so how to apply chinese fonts??
refer to my steps below :D

1st use the easy search utility provided in the CD or u can download it from dlink website and enable chinese in dns-323

2nd enable chinese in the regional setttings as shown below

http://img254.imageshack.us/img254/1166/regionbp4.jpg

if its now working for you, there is 99% chance that u did not follow the steps above

croc1977
13-02-2008, 10:07 AM
hi ple,

need to check where to get this at the lowest prcing? RCP $229 rite?
Cheapest 500GB Samsung rite at $159 anymore cheaper?

also if i bundle with 500GB any special bundle price anywhere? thanks pls advice...:s22:

Deavenger
13-02-2008, 10:11 AM
refer to my steps below :D

im not sure if mine is becos of regional settings.. cos i can see chinese in my comp folder ..

and i can t even apply the chinese language in the easy setup..

it will load awhile then it says .. please check hard disk .. and exit...

richneo
13-02-2008, 10:37 AM
hi ple,

need to check where to get this at the lowest prcing? RCP $229 rite?
Cheapest 500GB Samsung rite at $159 anymore cheaper?

also if i bundle with 500GB any special bundle price anywhere? thanks pls advice...:s22:
$159 from pc theme and they din even give me 2% cash rebate if i pay using cash and the 4 pin molex to sata power converter thet also wanna charge me $3

i went bell, they quote me $160 and give me 2% discount and give me the sata power molex convertor free

croc1977
13-02-2008, 01:03 PM
$159 from pc theme and they din even give me 2% cash rebate if i pay using cash and the 4 pin molex to sata power converter thet also wanna charge me $3

i went bell, they quote me $160 and give me 2% discount and give me the sata power molex convertor free
bell got sell this NAS?

richneo
13-02-2008, 03:20 PM
bell got sell this NAS?
nope

the price of $229 for dns-323 is applicable nationwide

you do not have to buy bundle to get that price :D

bhpan
13-02-2008, 08:34 PM
Just got my DNS-323 today.
Q1-Can 2 different side hdd installed?
Q2-Is this (Q1) the reason why one of the drive LED keep blinking.
Q3-Can I power off when drive LED keep blinking?

Thanks!

richneo
13-02-2008, 09:47 PM
Just got my DNS-323 today.
Q1-Can 2 different side hdd installed?
Q2-Is this (Q1) the reason why one of the drive LED keep blinking.
Q3-Can I power off when drive LED keep blinking?

Thanks!
Q1) no prob i have AAKS and samsung running raid 1 and raid 0 no probs
Q2) No
Q3) proper switching off should be pressing and hold the dlink button for around 8 secons or see the hdd led flickering then let go. it will of

croc1977
13-02-2008, 09:51 PM
nope

the price of $229 for dns-323 is applicable nationwide

you do not have to buy bundle to get that price :D
any chance droping cuming it show?

richneo
13-02-2008, 10:18 PM
maybe those first 10 only type of promo? worth to come queue very early in the morning?

dunno but still got 1 month plus. maybe can buy now

Deavenger
13-02-2008, 10:24 PM
i set up my ftp.. wats the address to access it

read thru the thread.. saw someone mention about it.. but never leave the address...

what format issit??

ftp://ftp.....??

Can Anyone help with this??

richneo
13-02-2008, 10:26 PM
Can Anyone help with this??
ftp://<insert ip address of dns-323 here>

nicholaslee
15-02-2008, 09:29 AM
Hi all, I hope to clarify some doubts before I buy this NAS.

Am planning to set up RAID1 (mirroring) with 2 identical HDDs.

Questions here are:
1. How will I know that a HDD has died?

2. What happens when one HDD die, can my files be still accessed like nothing has happened? Because I need files to be readily 24/7 when I am in NS and seldom have time to go back restart or diagnose errors.

3. I experience HDD death are something like "write errors", will it end up the mirrored HDD store a corrupted file because another HDD is malfunction?

4. Do you know if challenger still carry it for $229?

Thanks a million!

Nicholas

Rogue
16-02-2008, 06:18 AM
Well .... 4 bay DNS-343 is coming to town soon I hope. 2 drive as standard storage , and other 2 using raid 1 for redundancy. Also there might be RAID-5...

OKK77
16-02-2008, 09:24 AM
Been using 2x750GB RAID-1 on my DNS-323 for over a month. DNS-343 sounds really great. =D

sigh
16-02-2008, 10:05 AM
Will DNS-323 price dropped with DNS-343? :P

richneo
16-02-2008, 11:03 AM
Will DNS-323 price dropped with DNS-343? :P
drop $1 ? :D

richneo
16-02-2008, 11:10 AM
Been using 2x750GB RAID-1 on my DNS-323 for over a month. DNS-343 sounds really great. =D
wah i using 2 x 500gb only

richneo
16-02-2008, 11:12 AM
my NASes at home

http://img509.imageshack.us/img509/2064/humblexj2.jpg

untidy .. i noe.. havent have time to do nicely yet

OKK77
16-02-2008, 11:25 AM
wah i using 2 x 500gb only

Well, 750 offers a lot more storage for a reasonable price increase. And there isn't any room for expansion!

richneo
16-02-2008, 11:31 AM
Well, 750 offers a lot more storage for a reasonable price increase. And there isn't any room for expansion!
yar lor and i expanded my 1Tb of space liaoz dunno whether to get another dns-323 during march it show or not

iammole
16-02-2008, 06:26 PM
question abt video streaming over internet.

say I have a big size DVD video file stored on the NAS, wanting to stream to another place outside the house via (http??), will it stream the actual DVD quality video over? or a lower quality video over?

I wanting to get the idea abt streaming, I prefer it not to stream big files out.

n0d3
16-02-2008, 09:24 PM
For you guys, how do you find access control on the DNS-323? E.g. restricting certain folders to users blah, is it easy to do?

quekky
16-02-2008, 11:31 PM
yar lor and i expanded my 1Tb of space liaoz dunno whether to get another dns-323 during march it show or not
wait for 343 loh

wah your sticker still there, i tear out mine already

quekky
16-02-2008, 11:34 PM
question abt video streaming over internet.

say I have a big size DVD video file stored on the NAS, wanting to stream to another place outside the house via (http??), will it stream the actual DVD quality video over? or a lower quality video over?

I wanting to get the idea abt streaming, I prefer it not to stream big files out.
there's no "video streaming" through http inside 323. unless u find other software to install into the 323 that is able to stream lower quality, but i think it's impossible due to the cpu not fast enough

iammole
17-02-2008, 01:16 AM
there's no "video streaming" through http inside 323. unless u find other software to install into the 323 that is able to stream lower quality, but i think it's impossible due to the cpu not fast enough

i see thanks.

n0d3
17-02-2008, 11:07 PM
Woot! Just got mine today and installed mldonkey + Sancho, works really great on my Mac.

@shadowandy, hey is there any risk by running the telnet/mldonkey scripts even though they can only be accessed locally? Telnet doesn't seem to ask for any username/password so just by connecting you get root access?

quekky
18-02-2008, 07:26 AM
Woot! Just got mine today and installed mldonkey + Sancho, works really great on my Mac.

@shadowandy, hey is there any risk by running the telnet/mldonkey scripts even though they can only be accessed locally? Telnet doesn't seem to ask for any username/password so just by connecting you get root access?
security is up to u. if anyone is in your home network then he can telnet in and mess up your files and settings

for me I disable telnet and use sshd instead. fun_plug includes sshd

croc1977
18-02-2008, 10:54 AM
hi ple since this have a prinnt server is it compatible with a 3-1 printer?
what i meant if i mapp it can i still scan pictures?

richneo
18-02-2008, 11:27 AM
hi ple since this have a prinnt server is it compatible with a 3-1 printer?
what i meant if i mapp it can i still scan pictures?
no.

if u nid a print server that supports scanning, try d-link dpr-1260

croc1977
18-02-2008, 11:47 AM
wah how much?

croc1977
18-02-2008, 11:48 AM
no.

if u nid a print server that supports scanning, try d-link dpr-1260
that is not a nas it's a router

Errz
18-02-2008, 02:29 PM

hope got offer durng the IT show man

richneo
18-02-2008, 07:39 PM
that is not a nas it's a router
neither

its a print server

wireless multifunction print server to be exact :D

Rogue
19-02-2008, 09:10 AM
With some tweaking on my MLDonkey installation(bitorrent,filetp,gdlib) with a block list(3.5meg), managed to bring down memory usage to around 47-50%(about 32 megabyte). It was previously at 97.5%.... Anyone managed to do better?

By the way you can use "top" command at console prompt(either telnet or ssh) to view memory and cpu usage (Ctrl^C to exit the top command).

Only gripe is there's no protocol encryption, hopefully there's one in the future, especially after BT developers comes out with a new encryption standard due to the "comcast" incident.

Rogue
19-02-2008, 04:10 PM

*IMPORTANT. Need to create a password for root first, refer to link at bottom of this post on how to do it*
You can enable login for telnet by editing the telnetd.sh file. E.g

#LOPT="-l ${BINDIR}/sh"
LOPT="-l ${BINDIR}/login"

Alternatively you can use dropbear and enable SSH.
For example, I am using a set of my own public/private keys(passphrased) + putty client.

http://img403.imageshack.us/img403/4514/keypassid3.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

Partial explanation at fonz's site (scroll down or download the README.txt):
http://www.inreto.de/dns323/fun-plug/0.3/

n0d3
20-02-2008, 04:59 PM
Thanks! Enabled SSH.

zjllee
20-02-2008, 08:25 PM
Anyone have an optimal setting to share for mldonkey? I can't seem to get it to go up beyond 1KB.

Errz
20-02-2008, 09:23 PM
just bought DNS-323!

roddersg
20-02-2008, 09:34 PM
I just lost control of my DNS-323, can't seem to find it because I changed the hostname.

Any way of hardware-resetting the dns-323? The hardware button at the back doesn't seem to work.

Errz
20-02-2008, 09:55 PM
NT got it done

richneo
20-02-2008, 11:05 PM
I just lost control of my DNS-323, can't seem to find it because I changed the hostname.

Any way of hardware-resetting the dns-323? The hardware button at the back doesn't seem to work.
why do u nid to hardware reset ur 323 just because u forogt the hostname?

just run the d-link easy search utility to locate ur nas

zjllee
20-02-2008, 11:47 PM
can any1 share their settings for mldonkey with me? its not as simple as just portforwarding right?

realbum
22-02-2008, 11:28 AM
Wld you give some advise?

I will buy this on this sat.

1. $229 is lowest price.
2. How much is the 750GB WD disk? lowest price. Where can I buy this.
Normally I go Challenger but they don't sell HDD only. (I saw external HDD only)
If I have to go SLS, would you recommend me a good store?
3. Can I install PATA HDD with some kind of converter?
Coz I will install 750GB for backup and 40GB PATA for mldonkey+Sancho
4. Where can I buy CAT 6 cable at lowest price? Challenger is too expensive!
5. As I know, DNS-323 has uPnP and streamming function. Can I use DNS-323 with my itunes? I wanna store my itunes item on dns-323

Currently, I have Linksys router that support b,g only. If I watch a HD video (streamming) from is it enough?

Thanks a lot!!

Rogue
22-02-2008, 11:42 AM
can any1 share their settings for mldonkey with me? its not as simple as just portforwarding right?

Port forwarding at the router to bt client port to internal ip address. Default is 6882 unless you changed it. E.g 192.168.0.32:6882

Client_ip set to public address shown at the router that's connected to internet, don't use discover ip as it's not accurate.E.g Manually browse to http://www.ip2location.com/, and scroll down to the bottom to see you public address.

Limit total Upload rate to less than your internet subscription allows, especially important for cable modems. However it must be greater than 10kbps or you'll be throttled by MLDonkey itself.

User-agent set to a well-known client, though not necessary but it "might" work if you are using a private tracker that check only the user-agent. E.g Common user-agents : Azureus , Transmission, rTorrent, uTorrent, etc.

As long as you can get at least 10 KBps on one of your test torrents, try a few from different sites/content, you are fine.... Don't expect magic , you can only connect to other BT clients that allow connections without encryption.

Generally, default settings is fine as MLdonkey is being run on a slow machine, don't push it too hard by setting big numbers.

Rogue
22-02-2008, 11:56 AM
1. $229 is lowest price.
4. Where can I buy CAT 6 cable at lowest price? Challenger is too expensive!

Pricing is typically standard.... However you might get a discount if you pay by cash. Walk around...

2. How much is the 750GB WD disk? lowest price. Where can I buy this.
Normally I go Challenger but they don't sell HDD only. (I saw external HDD only)
If I have to go SLS, would you recommend me a good store?

no comment, just walk around... Think not many shops have DNS-323 though. Can try Fuwell@level 4.
3. Can I install PATA HDD with some kind of converter?
No. With a convertor it no longer fits inside the casing.
Coz I will install 750GB for backup and 40GB PATA for mldonkey+Sancho
Sancho is to be installed on your PC/laptop. It's to be used as a remote client to talk to MLDonkey that's installed on DNS-323. By default, if you are using shadowandy's pre-compiled mldonkey binaries, you can only install it to the first harddrive. Refer to his website in the first post of this thread.
As I know, DNS-323 has uPnP and streamming function. Can I use DNS-323 with my itunes? I wanna store my itunes item on dns-323

It has an itune server as well.
Currently, I have Linksys router that support b,g only. If I watch a HD video (streamming) from is it enough?
Not enough, not even on a reduced HD at 720p quality without stuttering.
Even for the upcoming 802.11(n), it's still too slow to stream full-fledged 1080p content wirelessly. Wired , no problem at all.

realbum
22-02-2008, 01:07 PM
Rogue // Thanks a lot. it's really helpful!

zjllee
22-02-2008, 01:21 PM
Thanks Rogue, will try them out tonight.

realbum - you can try fuwell at Funan. They have stock for the 323 and you can buy the HDDs also. Drop them a call before you go there to check for availability. Rogue's comments on the streaming is spot-on, stuttering...

phoenix76
22-02-2008, 01:22 PM
DNS-323 is available at MediaPro as well as Skylet. 750GB SATA hard drives are available at storage studio. The DNS-323 does NOT take PATA drives.

realbum
22-02-2008, 02:21 PM
Can I install SATA-II HDD? According to spec, DNS-323 uses SATA not SATA-II. (but most HDD uses SATA-II)

BTW, Anyone wanna sell your low-cap SATA to me? :)
As I know, BT can reduce HDD life time coz freq access. so I don't wanna to buy another SATA HDD for download only. (but BT function is the main purpose to purchase this product. )

markp102
22-02-2008, 05:42 PM
Hi, I've had a DNS-323 running for a little over a year with no problems, however yesterday when i switched it on i noticed that i could not see the data share. I can see everything else (printers, web page etc)..

Has anyone else experienced a similar problem or have any suggestions as to how i can resolve the issue?

Rogue
23-02-2008, 11:48 AM
Hi, I've had a DNS-323 running for a little over a year with no problems, however yesterday when i switched it on i noticed that i could not see the data share. I can see everything else (printers, web page etc)..

Has anyone else experienced a similar problem or have any suggestions as to how i can resolve the issue?

Screen capture on what you see?

Did you try to manually map to the drive

E.g Right click on my network places->map network drive>Folder set to \\<ip address of dns-323>\Volume_1\ , connect as a different user(username/password of a user registered for share on DNS-323)

Volume_1, I assume it's 1.04 firmware. Check your configuration on DNS-323 webpage, particularly the LAN, DEVICE and NETWORK ACCESS. Alternatively, it might be your software firewall blocking communication...

Deavenger
23-02-2008, 04:37 PM
anyone installed memeo??

I can never seem to get it right..

click on memeo.. it says have to install netframework 1.1 and 1.1sp.. so ok.. i let it install .. but half thru of network installation.. it ask for the disk.. and there is no option to browse to look for file...

i can;t even install it from the file i downloaded...

anyway to work round this problem?>

Rogue
24-02-2008, 04:30 PM
anyone installed memeo??

No idea, never used memeo or bothered to install it from the CD.

If you regularly does windows update, you should have .Net framework version 3.0 already installed (can check using add/remove program) so you can basically skip installing .Net.

Try using CCleaner to clean up your registry before installing.

Here's memeo link with regards to Dlink.... http://www.memeo.com/dlink/

zjllee
24-02-2008, 10:01 PM
Deavenger - download ms netframework 1.1 and 1.1sp directly from microsoft.com and install it before runnin g the memeo setup.

Switchoff
26-02-2008, 11:57 AM
Sorry everyone.Just brought DNS-323 together w/ WD 500G HD.Tried numberous times
with easy search utilty..but the dialogue box all blank? :s22:anyone can help.
By the way i using linksys router (wired) and running XP .
Thanks

n0d3
26-02-2008, 03:28 PM
Sorry everyone.Just brought DNS-323 together w/ WD 500G HD.Tried numberous times
Thanks

Is DHCP enabled on your router? The DNS-323 grabs an IP from your router so make sure DHCP is turned on.

Rogue
26-02-2008, 07:26 PM
Thanks

Check or disable firewall temporary just in case it's blocking communication. If you are using DHCP, you can look for the assigned ip address of the DNS-323 on the router's admin pages.

Then you can access the inbuilt webpage of the DNS-323 directly either http://192.168.0.32 (default and if you are using manual ip address with no DHCP enabled on router) or http://dhcp assigned ip address.

After which, if you manage to access the box, it's best to set a fixed and static ip address for the DNS-323 within your network. Upgrade firmware and then format drive.

Switchoff
26-02-2008, 07:55 PM
Thks nod3 and Roque.Yes disable the firewall get its working .

Bieffe
27-02-2008, 04:10 PM
Is DHCP enabled on your router? The DNS-323 grabs an IP from your router so make sure DHCP is turned on.

Can't we assign it an IP like with any PC?

n0d3
27-02-2008, 06:14 PM
Yes you can, I'm talking about the initial setup.

alpc
28-02-2008, 08:55 AM
im not sure if mine is becos of regional settings.. cos i can see chinese in my comp folder ..

and i can t even apply the chinese language in the easy setup..

it will load awhile then it says .. please check hard disk .. and exit...

Did you managed to get the fonts to work? I have yet to upgrade to 1.04 but I am wondering if I need to reformat my HDD after upgrading, just to get the unicode to work... Since it says I have to reformat to see chinese fonts...

If need to reformat, have to figure out how to do it... Like upgrade to firmware, then remove 1 HDD, reformat, place back HDD, copy all from that HDD to the reformatted one, then reformat the 2nd one, then copy all from 1st one into 2nd one...

Yes, I am using the 2nd one as a backup (mirror, but not using RAID1, just separate disk. Worry about the RAID1 issue of mirroring the wrong disk, then all data gone...)

shadowandy
28-02-2008, 02:40 PM
well the copy part is rather straight forward.

cp -a /mnt/HD_b2/* /mnt/HD_a2/
to copy stuffs from the left bay to right bay

Rogue
28-02-2008, 04:44 PM
Alternatively , you can use rsync. Need some knowledge of linux. Goggle about it.

It can do an incremental file / directory synchronization based only on files that have been changed or only the parts of the files that have been changed. It helps to synchronize not only with local mirror folders, but also remote folders.

shadowandy
28-02-2008, 05:16 PM
if it is just a one time affair then doing a cp would be fine as the very first time rsync runs, it takes a very long time, longer than a simple cp

alpc
29-02-2008, 05:47 PM
Ok, I suppose that would be the way... except I am not home for a mth to do this... Sigh....

Errz
01-03-2008, 01:58 AM
am having problem with mldonkey. When I restart the DNS-323, the mldonkey doesnt auto start.

when i telnet in (port 23) and type in /mnt/HD_a2/mlnet.sh, nohup: appending to nohup.out appear

have uploaded mldonkey.2.9.3.lite.realsimple.zip

n0d3
01-03-2008, 02:06 AM
am having problem with mldonkey. When I restart the DNS-323, the mldonkey doesnt auto start.

when i telnet in (port 23) and type in /mnt/HD_a2/mlnet.sh, nohup: appending to nohup.out appear

have uploaded mldonkey.2.9.3.lite.realsimple.zip

Chiu is noob lah Errz, MSN me arso so blur.

To have it autostart move the .sh script to the start folder.

# cp /mnt/HD_a2/mlnet.sh /mnt/HD_a2/fun_plug.d/start/
# chmod a+x /mnt/HD_a2/fun_plug.d/start/mlnet.sh
# reboot

Errz
01-03-2008, 02:08 AM
Chiu is noob lah Errz, MSN me arso so blur.

To have it autostart move the .sh script to the start folder.

# cp /mnt/HD_a2/mlnet.sh /mnt/HD_a2/fun_plug.d/start/
# chmod a+x /mnt/HD_a2/fun_plug.d/start/mlnet.sh
# reboot

eh no leh
Instructions
1. Unpack the contents of archive to Volume_1 (/mnt/HD_a2/)
2. Reboot DNS-323
3. Wait a while for MLDonkey to start
4. Go to MLDonkey page at http://<dns-323 ip>:4080
username: admin
password: <blank>

funplug: http://www.inreto.de/dns323/fun-plug/
MLDonkey: http://mldonkey.sourceforge.net
MLDOnkey DNS-323: http://www.shadowandy.net/_html/archives/tech/dns323/

NOTE:
mlnet.sh set to auto start.
To disable, comment off the last line of fun_plug (/mnt/HD_a2/mlnet.sh)

come ! MSN!

pepsi76
01-03-2008, 08:47 PM
Can anyone confirm upgrading from 1.03 to 1.04 does not wipe out the data in the hdd? Thanks!

richneo
01-03-2008, 09:47 PM
Can anyone confirm upgrading from 1.03 to 1.04 does not wipe out the data in the hdd? Thanks!
i flash from 1.02 to 03 and 04 all never formatted my hdd before

Rogue
01-03-2008, 10:39 PM

Nope it does not wipe your data.

It might become inaccessible if the machine bricks on firmware update(might happen if you have a sudden power outage while updating), but data is still safe, only the firmware is screwed for this case. Then just use another machine or wait for repairs to access your data.

Deavenger
02-03-2008, 02:45 PM
Deavenger - download ms netframework 1.1 and 1.1sp directly from microsoft.com and install it before runnin g the memeo setup.

I did that but it seems vista clashes with netframework.. always shows me an error at the end of the installation and asks me to terminate the program

Errz
02-03-2008, 06:42 PM
isit the limitation of mldonkey that bt is slower ?

download the same stuff from PC(utorrent) am getting high speed , but from dns-323, its terrible.

richneo
02-03-2008, 09:04 PM
isit the limitation of mldonkey that bt is slower ?

download the same stuff from PC(utorrent) am getting high speed , but from dns-323, its terrible.
thats why shadowandy is trying to find other BT clients such as ctorrent, rtorrent and etc

Errz
02-03-2008, 09:20 PM
thats why shadowandy is trying to find other BT clients such as ctorrent, rtorrent and etc

oh okie. thanks!

pepsi76
02-03-2008, 09:47 PM
Nope it does not wipe your data.

It might become inaccessible if the machine bricks on firmware update(might happen if you have a sudden power outage while updating), but data is still safe, only the firmware is screwed for this case. Then just use another machine or wait for repairs to access your data.

Thanks bros!

duffy
04-03-2008, 12:53 AM
harlo ppl, this one, can i put one bay 500gb, one bay 320gb?

any implication?

Rogue
04-03-2008, 04:00 AM
harlo ppl, this one, can i put one bay 500gb, one bay 320gb?

any implication?

Other than RAID is limited by the smaller sized HD, it's still usable though not optimal.

There's also options for non-raid. Either you setup to treat each bay as separate HD or both bays are one big HD via JBOD.

croc1977
04-03-2008, 08:59 AM
any it fair offer?

duffy
04-03-2008, 01:58 PM
Other than RAID is limited by the smaller sized HD, it's still usable though not optimal.

There's also options for non-raid. Either you setup to treat each bay as separate HD or both bays are one big HD via JBOD.
wat u mean by smaller HDD?

djcoolmax
04-03-2008, 02:54 PM
wat u mean by smaller HDD?

mean... if you have 2 HD each with different capacities, when you do RAID-0, your volume will as large as your smallest capacity HD.

so if you have a 320GB and a 500GB, when you do RAID-0, you only get 320GB on your 500GB drv. :yawn:

richneo
04-03-2008, 03:11 PM
mean... if you have 2 HD each with different capacities, when you do RAID-0, your volume will as large as your smallest capacity HD.

so if you have a 320GB and a 500GB, when you do RAID-0, you only get 320GB on your 500GB drv. :yawn:
i would like to correct something here

if u have a 320gb and 500gb to run raid 0, u will get 320gb x 2 = 640gb

raid 1 is mirroring. oni when u run riad-1 aka mirroring den u get 320gb with both 320gb and 500gb hdd

tangpx
04-03-2008, 03:35 PM
i have a question to ask.
i have the first haddrive full of data and the second harddrive is empty.
can i merge two harddrives into 1 hardrive without formating the first drive?
is it possible to do that?

n0d3
05-03-2008, 09:22 AM
I don't think its possible. Changing the drive setup (RAID, JBOD etc.) automatically formats the drives.

Anyway should try compiling Transmission for the DNS-323 since theres already a webui made for it called Clutch.

KidOcelot
05-03-2008, 07:30 PM
I'm new to NAS devices and am thinking of getting the DNS-323, since it seems to be the most popular and value-for-money NAS around here.

Got a question though, on D-Link's product description page, it says "you can also use this device to stream music, photos, and videos to UPnP™ AV compatible network media players".

Just wondering what some examples of such media players would be (other than the laptop of course). Like are there any mobile phones out there that can take advantage of this? Or what other kind of device?

Thanks in advance.

richneo
05-03-2008, 10:38 PM
dns-323 at $149 for first 30 customers only

show price is $209

http://www.dlink.com.sg/promo/ITShow08.pdf

shadowandy
06-03-2008, 01:06 AM
I don't think its possible. Changing the drive setup (RAID, JBOD etc.) automatically formats the drives.

Anyway should try compiling Transmission for the DNS-323 since theres already a webui made for it called Clutch.

I'm actually running transmissioncli on my DNS-323. Yet to have the time to write the tutorial

shadowandy
06-03-2008, 01:20 AM
Just incase kena NPNT

http://img172.imageshack.us/img172/6267/transmissionclifh5.gif (http://www.shadowandy.net)

croc1977
06-03-2008, 11:05 AM
knn...30 onoli...

edwinloh
06-03-2008, 11:32 AM
guys. i m looking forward to get a dns this week at the it-fair.. and need some advise from gurus here.. Scenario: I put in two 160gb hdd now and run raid-1 means i only have 160gb space right? now.. later i decided i want to upgrade my disk space.. can i do the following

- take 1x160gb hdd out, and set raid-0 (total diskspace = 160gb)
- put 1x500gb hdd in and set raid-1 (total diskspace = 160gb)
- take the remaining 1x160gb hdd out, and set to raid-0 (total diskspace = 500gb?)
- put in 1x500gb and set to raid-1

does this means now i have a total of 500gb of disk space? sorry for this blunt question as i m quite new to raid technology..

n0d3
06-03-2008, 05:52 PM
I'm actually running transmissioncli on my DNS-323. Yet to have the time to write the tutorial

Hows the speed/performance compared to mldonkey?

shadowandy
06-03-2008, 08:09 PM
Hows the speed/performance compared to mldonkey?

well, it doesn't have webui, just ncurses so will be faster and takes lesser memory. Each of the three process takes roughly 3.1%. It is similar to the ctorrent client I had compiled earlier except that it just listen on 1 port.

Thought of writing a script (called by cron) that scans a folder for new torrent and starts it.

if you wish to try it, drop me pm with your email. I won't be helping alot regarding transmission (yet). I will only give instructions pertaining to the setup of transmissioncli.

quekky
06-03-2008, 09:03 PM
anyone tried btpd already? it's included in fun-plug 0.5 now

n0d3
07-03-2008, 12:07 AM
well, it doesn't have webui, just ncurses so will be faster and takes lesser memory. Each of the three process takes roughly 3.1%. It is similar to the ctorrent client I had compiled earlier except that it just listen on 1 port.

Thought of writing a script (called by cron) that scans a folder for new torrent and starts it.

if you wish to try it, drop me pm with your email. I won't be helping alot regarding transmission (yet). I will only give instructions pertaining to the setup of transmissioncli.

Ah I see. I'll wait till you're ready to post a tutorial, hehe.

Any idea if it'll work with this?

http://clutchbt.com/

quekky
07-03-2008, 12:57 AM
trying btpd now, seems like havent solve the bug of taking only the 1st tracker

andy can email me your transmissioncli bin? thanks

shadowandy
07-03-2008, 01:39 AM
trying btpd now, seems like havent solve the bug of taking only the 1st tracker

andy can email me your transmissioncli bin? thanks

sent, hope i send to the correct email (that is if memory doesn't fail me). haha!

chekseng80
07-03-2008, 01:55 PM
How's the chinese character support? is it fixed?

richneo
07-03-2008, 10:10 PM
How's the chinese character support? is it fixed?
since singapore shipping it already can support chinese out of the box mah

u only nid to enable chinese in ur windows. It doesnt mean u can visit chinese website means can send chinese files into the nas

quekky
07-03-2008, 11:15 PM
actually there are 2 methods

1) enable chinese in windows (thought need to change something in easy search too? coz mine cant work) I dun think this use UTF8 to store the chinese words, but seems can store jap and korean. needs all windows to change to chinese though...

2) upgrade to 1.04 and format hdd, this use UTF8 to store everything. no need to enable chinese on all every PC

quekky
07-03-2008, 11:29 PM
someone managed to get clutch working

http://forum.dsmg600.info/t1805-Transmission-Clutch-CH3SNAS-DNS-323.html

shadowandy
08-03-2008, 12:48 AM
yeah.. i also happen to get clutch working haha. guess no need to work on it anymore

Rogue
08-03-2008, 06:02 AM
Yeah, Transmission is slightly better as it supports protocol encryption. This helps in reducing the chances of being throttled by either local or overseas ISP as well as allowing you to connect to other clients that only allow encrypted connections. Note to private tracker users, some private tracker bans Transmission, so check first.

http://img524.imageshack.us/img524/4886/samplebo8.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

But it's not easy to use for normal users. Personally, I only run it separately and via the console.

IMO, setting up a http server+ php, for the WebUI, just open up to too many security issues as well as drain resources from an already limited machine.

Use NAS for NAS, other features are only secondary.

BTW: There's no ipfilter or peerguardian ability.

Rogue
08-03-2008, 08:16 AM
Rise and fall of a torrent speed. I have set to "no peer exchange" and only "required encrypted connections". Screen capture is after 3 mins of adding the torrent, Ubuntu.

http://img442.imageshack.us/img442/3972/sample2hx3.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

saragota
08-03-2008, 08:38 AM
how to install the transmission to the DNS-323

Rogue
08-03-2008, 11:35 AM
how to install the transmission to the DNS-323

Wait for someone to provide step by step instruction. Installing is pretty easy, get pre-compiled binaries/files and copy over. But configuration and setup for non-unix/linux users will be a pain.
After you clear that hurdle, it will be fine.

shadowandy
08-03-2008, 11:52 AM
have taken KyleK's transmission.sh and used for my compiled binaries. My binaries uses a library hence binaries are smaller. I guess KyleK did a static compile.

Setting up transmission 1.06 (http://www.shadowandy.net/_html/archives/2008/03/setting_up_transmission_106.html)

n0d3
08-03-2008, 12:04 PM
Woot, will try when I get back from camp. Btw to Mac users, the DNS-323 works fine with Time Machine.

quekky
08-03-2008, 12:31 PM
hmm strange, i'm using fun0.5 and got librt.so.0 but still complain cant find it

shadowandy
08-03-2008, 12:33 PM
hmm strange, i'm using fun0.5 and got librt.so.0 but still complain cant find it

shrugs.. I didn't try funplug 0.5, 0.5 changed the location of those libs. dunno is ffp/what. lolx

shadowandy
08-03-2008, 12:43 PM
Actually the process of setting up Clutch is simple. I have included the required files which you can juz funpkg.sh them for installation. Those techies can just try it out :)

http://img510.imageshack.us/img510/3811/clutchch5.gif

Clutch interface for the file i downloaded previously using cli mode.

quekky
08-03-2008, 01:05 PM
the libs is /ffp/lib now

if u can quick compile a fix i can help u test and do a tgz files for u