View Full Version : Is it worth it to sign up for police force in a civilian position??
Bird_King
06-09-2007, 12:05 AM
I'm 26, got a distance learning degree.
Feel like trying for it. Pay & benefits seems good.
Can anyone offer any advice???
Beta_Tester
06-09-2007, 12:34 AM
U mean as a MSO or MX scheme?
Questin
06-09-2007, 11:40 AM
Got what kind of civilian positions available ar?
Beta_Tester
06-09-2007, 02:51 PM
Many schemes.Available..
Questin
06-09-2007, 03:35 PM
I only see a scheme for officer leh...
warboy85
06-09-2007, 03:53 PM
try inspector?
Beta_Tester
06-09-2007, 04:40 PM
I only see a scheme for officer leh...
there are many diffrent schemes. U can call recruitment to ask. Those graduates usually go for MX scheme.. Those Poly ones usually go for MSO. And there are TSO those engineers and such.. I forgot liao..
Molely
06-09-2007, 11:28 PM
OSO - PSLE enough to apply (easiest office job & lowest pay)
CSO - Need 'O' Level or 'N' Level (normal office clerk/personnel)
MSO - Poly Graduates (Team Leader of CSO and OSO)
MX - University Degrees (Manager/Assistant Director of Unit/Department)
TSO - Poly Graduates with IT diplomas (Same as MSO but doing IT related work)
TXO - University with IT degrees (Same as MX but doing IT related work)
CAO - University Degrees with Public Relations (Something like news reporter for the organisation)
this is just the most basic descriptions of most of the schemes they have.
*advice - go for at least a MSO/TSO and above. if not, no HOPE.
Questin
07-09-2007, 10:13 AM
TXO stand for what ar?
yun10
07-09-2007, 11:09 AM
I just feel.. distance learning is better not to go into government jobs.
Bird_King
07-09-2007, 06:29 PM
OSO - PSLE enough to apply (easiest office job & lowest pay)
CSO - Need 'O' Level or 'N' Level (normal office clerk/personnel)
MSO - Poly Graduates (Team Leader of CSO and OSO)
MX - University Degrees (Manager/Assistant Director of Unit/Department)
TSO - Poly Graduates with IT diplomas (Same as MSO but doing IT related work)
TXO - University with IT degrees (Same as MX but doing IT related work)
CAO - University Degrees with Public Relations (Something like news reporter for the organisation)
this is just the most basic descriptions of most of the schemes they have.
*advice - go for at least a MSO/TSO and above. if not, no HOPE.Thanks for the detailed explaination. :)
I'm looking at the MX scheme.
what do you think of it??
You in the force?? We might be collegues in future
Molely
07-09-2007, 10:33 PM
OSO>Operations support officer
CSO>Corporate support officer
MSO>Management support officer
TSO>Technical support officer
MX>Management Executive
TXO>Technical Executive officer
CAO>Commercial Affairs Officer
EO>Engineering Officer
MO>Medical Officer
*if i remember all the names correctly.
If you want to join MX Scheme, need to send in your degree for them to verify.
Distant Degree quite troublesome for them to do the checking unless is from those universities that they usually work with.
Check out the following link for more info...
http://www.spf.gov.sg/career/serve/index.htm
Questin
08-09-2007, 08:39 PM
OSO>Operations support officer
CSO>Corporate support officer
MSO>Management support officer
TSO>Technical support officer
MX>Management Executive
TXO>Technical Executive officer
CAO>Commercial Affairs Officer
EO>Engineering Officer
MO>Medical Officer
*if i remember all the names correctly.
If you want to join MX Scheme, need to send in your degree for them to verify.
Distant Degree quite troublesome for them to do the checking unless is from those universities that they usually work with.
Check out the following link for more info...
http://www.spf.gov.sg/career/serve/index.htm
TXO not listed on their website. Funny...
Molely
09-09-2007, 01:50 AM
Not everything are at the website.
It only put as the most basic type only.
Any other type need special interview or recommendations etc.
Beta_Tester
09-09-2007, 10:49 AM
Thanks for the detailed explaination. :)
I'm looking at the MX scheme.
what do you think of it??
You in the force?? We might be collegues in future
MX can convert to Senior Police Officers if you want someday. But must go thru selection, residential training. :)
Most of the Civilian officers.. MX or watever scheme are good people when I was working at New Phoenix Park. NSF,regulars and these officers are like family. Good working enviroment.
Bird_King
10-09-2007, 06:12 PM
MX can convert to Senior Police Officers if you want someday. But must go thru selection, residential training. :)
Most of the Civilian officers.. MX or watever scheme are good people when I was working at New Phoenix Park. NSF,regulars and these officers are like family. Good working enviroment.Thanks for the info.
I really hope to go in.
I'll keep everyone posted here abt the outcome.
Beta_Tester
11-09-2007, 03:14 PM
Dun worry.. The recruitment people are very nice people. :)
Bird_King
13-09-2007, 03:28 PM
Most of the Civilian officers.. MX or watever scheme are good people when I was working at New Phoenix Park. NSF,regulars and these officers are like family. Good working enviroment.
Hi man,
Just some further info, I graduate from a local poly before my distance learning degree.
My NS was in army, C2L2. 'coz my health not so good. If i don't wanna go through residential training, then still got prospect or not, as a civilian officer? For your info, i don't need to take IPPT & such...
Then as a civilian officer, got same powers as a regular police officer?
As at this wiritting, I'm still waiting for reply from them.
Please advise.
razen21
13-09-2007, 07:10 PM
got degree why go gahmen job? no prosepect lah private better
Bird_King
13-09-2007, 09:59 PM
got degree why go gahmen job? no prosepect lah private betterprivate quite jia liak for me....did admin in NS & quite like it...
anyway distance learning degree how to get the pay outside than wat the gahment is giving???
zoulster
13-09-2007, 10:01 PM
u dun think wan to join jiu can join..must go through dunno how many interviews de.
Bird_King
13-09-2007, 10:50 PM
u dun think wan to join jiu can join..must go through dunno how many interviews de.yeah i know.
Heard abt it.
not that easy....
Beta_Tester
13-09-2007, 11:22 PM
Hi man,
Just some further info, I graduate from a local poly before my distance learning degree.
My NS was in army, C2L2. 'coz my health not so good. If i don't wanna go through residential training, then still got prospect or not, as a civilian officer? For your info, i don't need to take IPPT & such...
Please advise.
I mean if u opt to sign on as a MX or MSO u dont need to stay inside to train. Just like normal civilian job. Civilian officers like MX is like a Senior Officer from the Police Force. Powers as in what?
Bird_King
14-09-2007, 06:22 PM
I mean if u opt to sign on as a MX or MSO u dont need to stay inside to train. Just like normal civilian job. Civilian officers like MX is like a Senior Officer from the Police Force. Powers as in what?Regular police got powers to see identity cards right, civilian officers got such right?
i mean,like you see in dramas, they flash their policeman cards & demand to see other people's IC. Civilian officers? They got the right to say, 'Police'??? & detain people like regular police officers??:s11:
Molely
14-09-2007, 11:33 PM
Civilian officers are nothing more than a normal office personnel.
There is no residential training for civilian officers, however the force will send you to attend 1001 courses for FREE to enhance your work effectiveness and work-life balance.
Under most cases they do not have police powers at all.
However there are a few rare cases where civilain officers are given a title of 'Hon-VSC' where they are given Police Powers to perform their daily work/duties.
Usually they are MX Scheme with a high rank or Psychologist then can seek approval from CP/Director for the 'Hon-VSC' thing.
Other than this, there isn't a need for civilian officers to be given police powers.
While waiting for their forever LONG waiting time, you might want to look at other jobs outside.
Althought the pay may be a bit better then private, but can tell you the truth is a lot of people are resigning from the force to join private companies outside.
Hope this helps.
Hi man,
Please advise.
Bird_King
15-09-2007, 06:18 PM
Civilian officers are nothing more than a normal office personnel.
There is no residential training for civilian officers, however the force will send you to attend 1001 courses for FREE to enhance your work effectiveness and work-life balance.
Under most cases they do not have police powers at all.
However there are a few rare cases where civilain officers are given a title of 'Hon-VSC' where they are given Police Powers to perform their daily work/duties.
Usually they are MX Scheme with a high rank or Psychologist then can seek approval from CP/Director for the 'Hon-VSC' thing.
Other than this, there isn't a need for civilian officers to be given police powers.
While waiting for their forever LONG waiting time, you might want to look at other jobs outside.
Althought the pay may be a bit better then private, but can tell you the truth is a lot of people are resigning from the force to join private companies outside.
Hope this helps.Wow. Thanks.
Really helps a lot.
I have been searching for other jobs at the same time too. Never put all my eggs in 1 basket. :)
Thanks for the detailed advice & explaination.:)
Bird_King
15-09-2007, 06:25 PM
Hope this helps.Bro, why so many quit gahment sector to go private?? Better prospects??? :s11:
Also are the hours of civilian positions very iregular??? or job very stressful??:s11:
i remember 2+ weeks ago, ST reported that in Seoul, the Koreans are fighting tooth & nail to be policeman......well, that was in seoul anyway....
Molely
15-09-2007, 09:35 PM
Simple, people join as Senior officer or MX is to fulfil the 5 years bond that they took up for their universites studies.
After serving the 5 years bond, they mostly say bye bye.
Reson being, while they are still serving their bond, private sectors companies started sending them letters to join their company as management or executive levels with much higher pay of what they are getting now.
Things to note, in the force got a lot of restrictions, standard operation procedures etc... to follow law by law etc....
Maybe quite stressful and fed-up at times.
And speaking of which, no so much freedom as working in private as most of the things related are somehow link to this and that law or what other things.
Advice, unless you really LOVE your job then sign on. If not, better don't waste your time in the force.
Working hours always stretched beyond and it is super stressful with very tight deadlines to meet especially when getting inputs from other places etc..
People in the force DON'T remember of who you are or whether you had done 101 GOOD things for the force or not. They don't even care.
But once you do a small mistake, that's it. You are remembered for LIFE.
This is also one of the reasons as to why a lot of people resign.
They are not rewarded accordingly and always got tie down by their old mistake.
Those who love to put up good 'airs' with your boss will always get the favour and promotion and rewards fast. But they are always hated by the other staffs
So it really depends on what type of working/strageties you are using in the force.
Well as for in seoul or what,we cannot think so far off as we are in SG.
Bro, why so many quit gahment sector to go private?? Better prospects??? :s11:
Also are the hours of civilian positions very iregular??? or job very stressful??:s11:
i remember 2+ weeks ago, ST reported that in Seoul, the Koreans are fighting tooth & nail to be policeman......well, that was in seoul anyway....
Bird_King
17-09-2007, 12:29 AM
Simple, people join as Senior officer or MX is to fulfil the 5 years bond that they took up for their universites studies.
After serving the 5 years bond, they mostly say bye bye.
Reson being, while they are still serving their bond, private sectors companies started sending them letters to join their company as management or executive levels with much higher pay of what they are getting now.
Things to note, in the force got a lot of restrictions, standard operation procedures etc... to follow law by law etc....
Maybe quite stressful and fed-up at times.
And speaking of which, no so much freedom as working in private as most of the things related are somehow link to this and that law or what other things.
Advice, unless you really LOVE your job then sign on. If not, better don't waste your time in the force.
Working hours always stretched beyond and it is super stressful with very tight deadlines to meet especially when getting inputs from other places etc..
People in the force DON'T remember of who you are or whether you had done 101 GOOD things for the force or not. They don't even care.
But once you do a small mistake, that's it. You are remembered for LIFE.
This is also one of the reasons as to why a lot of people resign.
They are not rewarded accordingly and always got tie down by their old mistake.
Those who love to put up good 'airs' with your boss will always get the favour and promotion and rewards fast. But they are always hated by the other staffs
So it really depends on what type of working/strageties you are using in the force.
Well as for in seoul or what,we cannot think so far off as we are in SG.thanks for the advice.:)
Beta_Tester
17-09-2007, 12:51 AM
I think in that Job.. Passion,luck and hardwork is a must. Unless you are an OMS. haha.. Thats your path will be smoother in my opinion.
Bird_King
17-09-2007, 01:09 AM
I think in that Job.. Passion,luck and hardwork is a must. Unless you are an OMS. haha.. Thats your path will be smoother in my opinion.OMS???? :s11:
Beta_Tester
17-09-2007, 11:13 AM
Overseas Merit Scholar. :)
Molely
17-09-2007, 08:22 PM
OMS ahhh no chance fighting with them
Promotion 2X faster then normal senior officer
Pay also increase 2X faster
Not so much 'sai kang' and their posting is mostly on one year basic
Serve for one year bye bye to other places.
Start out as IO/TL, then Staff (usually MPO) work, then CO(NPC)/AD(staff unit), then Dy Director(staff unit)/Dy Commander (Land Div), then Director (staff unit)/Commander(Land Div), then slowly compete with the two old guy upstairs at the twin tower.
Beta_Tester
17-09-2007, 08:30 PM
I am quite close to one of the scholars. Now training in HTA. :)
Super high flier is Dir Ops. The previous one also. :)
_bEar_
18-09-2007, 12:08 AM
watch the chan8 9pm show can uds more liao
u_ntitled
04-08-2008, 11:06 PM
hi bro,
anyone have any knowledge what a technical support officer do at SPF? How many rounds of interview and prospect?
Thanks in advance.
ggnubs
05-08-2008, 01:44 AM
HASE. Home Affair Senior Executives
phatmonsta
04-07-2009, 05:37 PM
Sorry to dig this thread up... but anyone here werking as tso with spf... i tot of joining...
kleftch
17-07-2009, 02:16 PM
been eye-ing the commercial affairs officer job for about half a year liao.. from their website, seems like the recruitment opens only once every three months.. requirement is any business degree.. hopefully someone from inside can offer an insight..
i) i'm a student in SIM, doing business management with RMIT from australia.. i heard some stuff about overseas degrees not being recognised in government sectors.. just wanna get a feel, is anyone with RMIT degrees working in gahment? whether stat board or ministries etc..
ii) wat's life like as a CAO? recruitment website put until like quite nice.. but i noe things like that can be quite sugar-coated.. i've survived 2 yrs of NS as a maintenance spec.. worked office hrs, but saw a lot of crap like politicking and balls-carrying, back-stabbing, etc etc.. was wondering from a civilian position point-of-view is there such stuff also?
thanks in advance all..
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.