View Full Version : Which ISP u prefer for Mobile Boradband?
FireHobbit
16-09-2007, 06:24 PM
seeinbg so many posting on the new service M1, Starhub and Singtel is offering and also all the complains and not so many good postings of the 3 ISP service.. why not share with other potential customer what is good and what u regret..
a combined thread of all customer of the 3 ISP can post your speedtest and area. and also problem u faced.. U will share our knowledge together..
http://img130.echo.cx/img130/5329/bestthreadever5cw.gif
VickyToh
16-09-2007, 06:36 PM
NONE.... M1 was terrible.... Singnet not much better.... Starhub, though technically "Much Superior" and slightly faster than the former two, is still far too slow to be trully qualified as "7.2Mbps Broadband".... to me Starhub Maxmobile is simply just another 512kbps..... or even slower! I'm most disappointed that SH MM had capped their maximum download speed rate..... SO my verdict is NONE..... at least now in year 2007....
WestGuy
16-09-2007, 08:27 PM
Starhub.
Truly unlimited and I don't think either of the other 2 can achieve these stats regularly. :)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/184945223.png
FireHobbit
19-09-2007, 06:47 PM
my coveage really not at all at my house.. feedback also no use.. anyone know what i can do sia...
yodajedi01
19-09-2007, 06:51 PM
Starhub.
Truly unlimited and I don't think either of the other 2 can achieve these stats regularly. :)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/184945223.png
how about oversea site?
like US - LA?
addict951
19-09-2007, 07:02 PM
m1 was really dreadful
thru out the 5 months (so far) with them the speed was nv good, even at offpeak hours
MotoModder
19-09-2007, 07:56 PM
Why do people spell broadband as Boradband, boardband, boredband or boardbend???
DJ_LuV
19-09-2007, 08:21 PM
my personal thoughts... If you are a singtel user and you want to surf on the phone... Go for singtel's offerings...
If you are on starhub and want to do so too... Use starhub...
If you want to use it with the modem... I personally think starhub's offer is worth it.
M1... I feel better forget it... Heh....
But i.'m using singtel 512kbps... Along the north east line now... Though only have gprs but it's stable... Paying less cos have singnet too.
My two cents!
zzz2006
19-09-2007, 08:34 PM
SH's one is quite exp. for non-mol users would hv to pay S$72.76.
addict951
19-09-2007, 09:31 PM
wah piang. I'm surfing mforums version of hwz now on my 6110. Super fast sial
naxchua
19-09-2007, 09:37 PM
For Info to those people who keep harping about Starhub not able to reach 7.2mbps, 1st u need to have a Hardware that is able to obtain 7.2mbps... for local market, most of the devices available now are just a CAT 5 or CAT 6 HSDPA which is able to only obtain up to 3.6MBps or 3600kbps...
If you feel heart pain about spending $$$ and complaining that u can't get the advertised speed, then please get your 7200kbps enabled device from Overseas or continue to use Wireless@SG...
Just my 2cents... :D
naxchua
19-09-2007, 09:38 PM
yea... agreed... except I just switched back to Nokia... suddenly feel that Nokia is so unfriendly on the browser... hahaha... but I guess maybe I m too used to Motorola, Sony Ericsson and WM5 devices... Hope i can get used to Nokia again... :D
DJ_LuV
19-09-2007, 10:16 PM
Ya. Me too. Lol. Waiting for the stupid bus to come
naxchua
19-09-2007, 10:23 PM
Ya. Me too. Lol. Waiting for the stupid bus to come
if u r waiting for SBS Bus, u can log on to mobile version of MobileIris @ www.sbstransit.com.sg/mobileiris to check ur est bus arrival timing...
FireHobbit
19-09-2007, 11:23 PM
For Info to those people who keep harping about Starhub not able to reach 7.2mbps, 1st u need to have a Hardware that is able to obtain 7.2mbps... for local market, most of the devices available now are just a CAT 5 or CAT 6 HSDPA which is able to only obtain up to 3.6MBps or 3600kbps...
If you feel heart pain about spending $$$ and complaining that u can't get the advertised speed, then please get your 7200kbps enabled device from Overseas or continue to use Wireless@SG...
The HUAwei e270 modem is 7.2mpbs capable..
:s12: :s12:
rebook
19-09-2007, 11:49 PM
On my E270, which supposed to be 7.2Mbps capable, never exceeded 500KB/s download speed.
liangtam
19-09-2007, 11:56 PM
On my E270, which supposed to be 7.2Mbps capable, never exceeded 500KB/s download speed.
400kB+
Wonder how does E220 performs for HSDPA
naxchua
20-09-2007, 07:26 AM
The HUAwei e270 modem is 7.2mpbs capable..
:s12: :s12:
oh... btw, if i m not wrong, Starhub HSDPA highest Encatchment area is in orchard indoor(eg. inside Ngee Ann City... )
naxchua
20-09-2007, 07:27 AM
ur 500KB is kilobytes or kilobits?
addict951
20-09-2007, 07:32 AM
oh... btw, if i m not wrong, Starhub HSDPA highest Encatchment area is in orchard indoor(eg. inside Ngee Ann City... )
Is it? There got 1 super huge unit there ar? :s13:
naxchua
20-09-2007, 08:56 AM
Is it? There got 1 super huge unit there ar? :s13:
cos I know SingTel's Highest Encatchment area is at Comcentre I & II... for starhub, I went to test is Taka Indoor... same goes for M1...
I tried M1 outside Ngee Ann city, it's weak... onli managed to get 3G speed...
but hor, I dun dare to confirm u all can get 7.2Mbps there... cos I onli have 3.6Mbps device to test at that point of time and managed to get speed that is very near to advertised speed for Starhub and Singtel...
SonyPSP
20-09-2007, 09:00 AM
m1 speed is known for sucky, i believe i am not wrong when i say that m1bb is the worst among all the mobile broadband in sg.
miltongoh
20-09-2007, 10:46 AM
yea... agreed... except I just switched back to Nokia... suddenly feel that Nokia is so unfriendly on the browser... hahaha... but I guess maybe I m too used to Motorola, Sony Ericsson and WM5 devices... Hope i can get used to Nokia again... :D
Have tried my Maxmobile on N73 and N70, the feeling not very shiok so switch back to WM5. Haha! Even not easy to type URL address using stylus while walking but the reading of the content seems much more easy. HAha! :)
miltongoh
20-09-2007, 10:47 AM
m1 speed is known for sucky, i believe i am not wrong when i say that m1bb is the worst among all the mobile broadband in sg.
Each telcos have their con and pro in their services provided mah. Maybe really at designated area then the connection and signal is really strong. Haha.
FireHobbit
20-09-2007, 11:09 AM
cos I know SingTel's Highest Encatchment area is at Comcentre I & II... for starhub, I went to test is Taka Indoor... same goes for M1...
I tried M1 outside Ngee Ann city, it's weak... onli managed to get 3G speed...
but hor, I dun dare to confirm u all can get 7.2Mbps there... cos I onli have 3.6Mbps device to test at that point of time and managed to get speed that is very near to advertised speed for Starhub and Singtel...
What device u using? I was thiking of trying out there too.. use the huawei modem anddo a speed test.. :s12: :s12:
naxchua
20-09-2007, 11:40 AM
What device u using? I was thiking of trying out there too.. use the huawei modem anddo a speed test.. :s12: :s12:
hur hur hur.... I got to kill if I tell u... the devices i use are still before launch... sorry... cannot reveal... :D
naxchua
20-09-2007, 11:42 AM
Have tried my Maxmobile on N73 and N70, the feeling not very shiok so switch back to WM5. Haha! Even not easy to type URL address using stylus while walking but the reading of the content seems much more easy. HAha! :)
i see i see... but i think time to change to 3.5G phone liao... the speed is fun... :)
i broke my Atom Exec and changed to NK 6120... now happy man... except i can't get used to Nokia... :(
FireHobbit
20-09-2007, 12:10 PM
my lastest test on torrent... can hit http://img2.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/th.4a80eedc41.jpg (http://img2.freeimagehosting.net/image.php?4a80eedc41.jpg)
naxchua
20-09-2007, 12:17 PM
my lastest test on torrent... can hit http://img2.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/th.4a80eedc41.jpg (http://img2.freeimagehosting.net/image.php?4a80eedc41.jpg)
interesting stuff u r downloading... so u r happy with the speed for time being?
Edit: Wah... 3000kbps... u should be happy... btw, the advertised speed is for stationary... if u r moving in car, dun expect to get good speed. :)
FireHobbit
20-09-2007, 12:51 PM
Me downloading mmorpg game clients.. the speed is like the best i can reach.. rather the singla is quite flectrated le leh...
addict951
20-09-2007, 02:30 PM
i see i see... but i think time to change to 3.5G phone liao... the speed is fun... :)
i broke my Atom Exec and changed to NK 6120... now happy man... except i can't get used to Nokia... :(
how come leh? I super used to Nokia UI for web liao. Also using 6120 here, keys are a bit small for me :o
naxchua
20-09-2007, 02:58 PM
how come leh? I super used to Nokia UI for web liao. Also using 6120 here, keys are a bit small for me :o
ever since i sold my 7610 for PSP, 6120 is my 1st nokia phone after this few years... I have been using SE, Mot and O2 phones....
VickyToh
20-09-2007, 03:40 PM
NONE.... M1 was terrible.... Singnet not much better.... Starhub, though technically "Much Superior" and slightly faster than the former two, is still far too slow to be trully qualified as "7.2Mbps Broadband".... to me Starhub Maxmobile is simply just another 512kbps..... or even slower! I'm most disappointed that SH MM had capped their maximum download speed rate..... SO my verdict is NONE..... at least now in year 2007....
Err... Ahemm.... Looks like I must retract back my earlier comments for time being now...
Cos my Starhub MaxMobile, out of the sudden blue moon now, enable me to test BT download at previously unbelievable speed of around 210kb/s....
Don't know if this is only just for a short moment right now or Starhub has indeed improved their data rate or something??
Keep it up Starhub...... This is what MaxMobile at least ought to be starting day one..... This should be exactly what MaxMobile is better off than both M1 and Singnet's Mobile services.... Don't disappoint your subscribers anymore and again...Starhub.
magix
20-09-2007, 04:35 PM
I think maxmobile is still in the progress of fine tune their service. I think lately speed is much stable compare to 2 week ago.
FireHobbit
20-09-2007, 06:11 PM
Err... Ahemm.... Looks like I must retract back my earlier comments for time being now...
Cos my Starhub MaxMobile, out of the sudden blue moon now, enable me to test BT download at previously unbelievable speed of around 210kb/s....
Don't know if this is only just for a short moment right now or Starhub has indeed improved their data rate or something??
Keep it up Starhub...... This is what MaxMobile at least ought to be starting day one..... This should be exactly what MaxMobile is better off than both M1 and Singnet's Mobile services.... Don't disappoint your subscribers anymore and again...Starhub.
YTour blue moon as in the light now is cyan? what was your previous colour then we can know what connection u are on?
What the way on the starhub software what is the signal level and is it hspa? wcdma? or :s12: :s12:
Sendoh82
20-09-2007, 07:39 PM
my starhub max mobile....
wah sianz like it is not compatible with my dell xps 1210 sia.. kns
addict951
20-09-2007, 08:01 PM
What do you mean not compatible? Hardware issue? How can it be. Xps1210 is such a recent piece of hardware :look:
rebook
20-09-2007, 08:06 PM
ur 500KB is kilobytes or kilobits?
B = bytes
500KBytes/s
Sendoh82
20-09-2007, 08:07 PM
What do you mean not compatible? Hardware issue? How can it be. Xps1210 is such a recent piece of hardware :look:
NB i just read huawei list of compatible laptops.... not inside... Those who wana get maxmobile with huawei e270 pls kindly take note of the compatible list
http://www.starhub.com/portal/site/Online/menuitem.f2b59af84f3db376da055b608324a5a0/?vgnextoid=7dc509d13e9d4110VgnVCM100000464114acRCRD
addict951
20-09-2007, 08:25 PM
wah, the list damn short sial
so few laptops meh????
I see the Dell one, all business models those Latitude ones, only got 2 latest 1501 Inspiron models :look:
miltongoh
20-09-2007, 08:36 PM
Wah, then those who get Maxmobile during comex show was told about this mah? Or hubhub don't want to put all laptop lest they have to bear all responsibility for any model?
liangtam
20-09-2007, 08:39 PM
You must hook the double USB head cable to provide enough power to the e270, else it will not work! The short USB cable is like useless.
naxchua
20-09-2007, 08:54 PM
B = bytes
500KBytes/s
500kilobytes is equivalent to 4000kilobits. I think it's a not bad speed. Where you get this speed? In town area? You can check with bros here whether your speed is good or not. I can say your speed is good to have 500 kilo bytes.
calvin_
20-09-2007, 09:04 PM
starhub is top? omg are you all crazy or what?
cannot just compare base on connection speed and performance you know. company integrity and quality of service is also very impt.
which means to say m1 and singtel must really suk alot too.
Sendoh82
20-09-2007, 09:17 PM
You must hook the double USB head cable to provide enough power to the e270, else it will not work! The short USB cable is like useless.
got. done that. but still cannot work
addict951
21-09-2007, 07:47 AM
As in no power the device cannot work at all? But how come like no ppl complain? Cannot be all those who got the same plan all got those laptops in the list right?
DJ_LuV
21-09-2007, 07:48 AM
wah...e270 so power guzzler one ah...haha...what about the e220? =)
liangtam
21-09-2007, 08:28 AM
e220 use the normal cable will do.
e270 both 'CD Rom' drive and data interface must be detected, else cannot work, likely due to not enough power.
WestGuy
21-09-2007, 09:04 AM
e220 use the normal cable will do.
e270 both 'CD Rom' drive and data interface must be detected, else cannot work, likely due to not enough power.
I'm using the normal cable for my e270.
No problems during operation or even flashing it.
liangtam
21-09-2007, 09:09 AM
The short cable works for u ah? It dosn't for my laptop :(
VickyToh
21-09-2007, 10:16 AM
YTour blue moon as in the light now is cyan? what was your previous colour then we can know what connection u are on?
What the way on the starhub software what is the signal level and is it hspa? wcdma? or :s12: :s12:
Hey, brother FireHobbit... you sounded as if like you're working in Starhub....??
Btw, I'm always in HSPA network. my modem 's light is in sort of light blue colour most of the time throughout....
Signal level is relatively good at around 80% average...
For info... Today's BT download test speed is Dropped to around 20kb/s... amazimg huh??
Yup, it Decreases from 2XXkb/s down to 20kb/s.... that's very Unstable, don't you think so?
WestGuy
21-09-2007, 10:56 AM
Works on all the notebooks and desktops i've tried with so far. No issues at all
naxchua
21-09-2007, 11:45 AM
Hey, brother FireHobbit... you sounded as if like you're working in Starhub....??
Btw, I'm always in HSPA network. my modem 's light is in sort of light blue colour most of the time throughout....
For info... Today's BT download test speed is Dropped to around 20kb/s... amazimg huh??
Yup, it Decreases from 2XXkb/s down to 20kb/s.... that's very Unstable, don't you think so?
i dun think he is working for starhub... we are just helping each other with our knowledge... cos the modem, i understand it uses led colour to differentiate which mode is it in... Hsdpa or 3G... :)
forumics.net
21-09-2007, 11:48 AM
how can you compare connection quality based on BT?
in this case, it'll be a test on which company is just more lucky to have more open high speed seeders for you!
VickyToh
21-09-2007, 01:47 PM
how can you compare connection quality based on BT?
in this case, it'll be a test on which company is just more lucky to have more open high speed seeders for you!
You may be quite right here forumics.net..... but seeders opened to Singapore downloader should probably be the same at any one time or period of the day... since we're somehow or rather sharing from the same overseas pipeline source, is that correct?
So in that case.... it might still be a good and valid acid test to determine which ISP is better.... that's just my layman opinion... what do you think?
14high
21-09-2007, 02:00 PM
hi,
i saw ur pic. may i know how do u set up utorrent to work? i using the starhub huawei e270 usb modem and utorrent keeps on saying no port map and i cant download anything. i tried the 1.74 and 1.75 version.
help will be appreciated
ht
VickyToh
21-09-2007, 02:20 PM
Try using latest version of Bitcomet or something else....
Open your torrent files.... wait patiently.... don't be bothered by the forever Orange indicator light warning you that your listening port is blocked....
It'll take longer than your usual ADSL to established connection.... may require repeated attempts to connected....
Then hopefully your download begins..... but Very Slowly at a ver low rate....
Ignored that and continue to wait.... Speed will then pick up gradually..... and finally.. Happy BT!!! That's it... Simple.....
FireHobbit
21-09-2007, 08:27 PM
i agree.. the download take some time to load...
FireHobbit
23-09-2007, 01:20 AM
haha.. if I working in Starhub i sure improve my coverage at my home sia.. no signal lor.. :s12: :s12: called starhub then they say they no plan to improve on jurong west area.. :s27:
WestGuy
23-09-2007, 01:24 AM
haha.. if I working in Starhub i sure improve my coverage at my home sia.. no signal lor.. :s12: :s12: called starhub then they say they no plan to improve on jurong west area.. :s27:
The area where i stay, quite near Jurong Point, has most excellent reception
4xtemujin
23-09-2007, 01:34 AM
At first, my laptop was also not able to connect using the Huawei E270, service not available or disconnected.
I called up the SH CSO and was told that the Huawei specialist would call me. About an hour later, the Huawei specialist called me up and helped me to set it up.
I would suggest that you call SH for assistance.
HTH.
Sendoh82
23-09-2007, 02:45 AM
mine solved liaoz. i install vista. then can work liaoz. think maybe my xp server abit siaoz
forumics.net
23-09-2007, 02:56 AM
You may be quite right here forumics.net..... but seeders opened to Singapore downloader should probably be the same at any one time or period of the day... since we're somehow or rather sharing from the same overseas pipeline source, is that correct?
So in that case.... it might still be a good and valid acid test to determine which ISP is better.... that's just my layman opinion... what do you think?
no i don't, you can be connected to 1 seeder who serves at 100mb/s and fail to connect to any others but your result will still beat a person who is connected to 100 nodes sharing at 0 or 1kb/s
in no way is this fair at all... therefore i think that BT can be used, but just as a good to know basis and not for an accurate measure
FireHobbit
23-09-2007, 11:28 AM
why not we all share one torrent file? then we share the results on it.. also see what configuration we are using and also what to optimise.. http://forum.gamestar.de/gspinboard/images/smilies/muhaha.gif
FireHobbit
23-09-2007, 11:37 AM
I found a torrent from a popular game site.
http://www.maplesea.com:8081/torrents/MapleSEA_MSSetup070829a.exe.torrent?D0C7063129B364C7B8E70B8AFB4DCB39D2A0B051
Let see what is our average speed on it http://forum.gamestar.de/gspinboard/images/smilies/atomrofl.gif
layzibum22
24-09-2007, 10:35 AM
interesting... im on m1bb... thinking of switching cos of the price... cos i got singnet... so can enjoy the 30%...
m1's speed that jialat ah... hmmmm
I using the vodafone card... so far so gd lei... just tt somtimes need to reboot the laptop when wake up from hibernation mode... the vodafone connect software would have some issues... so need to reboot...
But in anycase, I like the use of the vodafone card... pretty sturdy... only a small area pop out from the laptop unlike the others usb modems... i feel kinda flimsy lei "hindering" movement...
FireHobbit
24-09-2007, 10:50 AM
So far seem like most on M1bb are using USb modem de...
layzibum22
24-09-2007, 12:00 PM
So far seem like most on M1bb are using USb modem de...Ya seems like it... i chose the card cos i noe that besides on my laptop... i don see myself using m1bb on desktops...
and no offence... i feel the usb modem sticking out is not that glam lei...
hmmm see how... if got feel den i take up the singnet one... anyway their promo till end oct 07...
hesperus
30-09-2007, 09:12 PM
btw singtel they give out the free USB modem is the same as M1?
liangtam
01-10-2007, 12:31 AM
Yes, both are HuaWei E220, software wise, diff.
miltongoh
01-10-2007, 12:35 AM
E220, Huawei one mah.
forumics.net
01-10-2007, 12:38 AM
starhub giving out e270... is it better?
miltongoh
01-10-2007, 12:54 AM
starhub giving out e270... is it better?
It seems to support higher speed. Newer. But one thing bad about all these USB modem, once it is overheated, it seems abit cranky. LOL.
naxchua
01-10-2007, 10:39 AM
It seems to support higher speed. Newer. But one thing bad about all these USB modem, once it is overheated, it seems abit cranky. LOL.
so far from wat i notice, not all E270 get heaty... cos my fren has no heat issue with his E270 after a hour of data session...
ginseng1
02-10-2007, 09:17 PM
Both short and long cable works fine for me on my E220 on my desktop and notebook,
Lucky me that my house area falls under Singtel 3.6mbps speed range. But also no diff to me cos I only sign up for 512kbps
ginseng1
02-10-2007, 09:19 PM
Not true for E220.
Probable E270 is high speed thus need 2 USB ports
ginseng1
02-10-2007, 09:20 PM
I like this broadband on Mobile service.
Really cool to be able to access the net almost island-wide and so cheap.
liangtam
02-10-2007, 09:24 PM
Both short and long cable works fine for me on my E220 on my desktop and notebook,
Lucky me that my house area falls under Singtel 3.6mbps speed range. But also no diff to me cos I only sign up for 512kbps
I was talking about the E270.
The E220 I use before, no problem.
The label tied to cable itself wrote assistant power.
WestGuy
03-10-2007, 09:38 AM
Not true for E220.
Nope. Me and my friends are running the E270 fine on 1 USB port.
Have used it on desktops and notebooks without any issues.
richneo
03-10-2007, 10:15 AM
Not true for E220.
i also tried using the 1 head usb cable and works
its not true that high speed needs to use 2 USB port...... -___-"
tlkchew
03-10-2007, 11:55 AM
hi guys, this mobile boradband limit of 10GB for example is upload and download?
elvintaz
03-10-2007, 01:00 PM
heys.. i got a noob qn here...
i'm looking at the maxmobile value plan...
what's the difference between this and starhub wireless broadband...
miltongoh
03-10-2007, 02:03 PM
hi guys, this mobile boradband limit of 10GB for example is upload and download?
it is the total data transfer regardless is incoming traffic or outgoing.
miltongoh
03-10-2007, 02:04 PM
heys.. i got a noob qn here...
i'm looking at the maxmobile value plan...
what's the difference between this and starhub wireless broadband...
maxmobile is the one you use a sim card with number to connect to the internet, you can use it anywhere anytime as long as there is signal for your phone. the starhub wireless broadband is only at certain area with the access point. it is only designated at certain area.
elvintaz
04-10-2007, 11:58 AM
thanks alot!! considering to get maxmobile...
miltongoh
04-10-2007, 12:08 PM
thanks alot!! considering to get maxmobile...
then welcome you in advance to the maxmobile family. Haha! :D
FireHobbit
12-10-2007, 02:35 PM
so far the responce seem like quite a number of Maxmobile customer ard.....
FireHobbit
12-10-2007, 02:36 PM
anyway anyone knows the IP address for Maxmobile can change?
miltongoh
12-10-2007, 11:34 PM
anyway anyone knows the IP address for Maxmobile can change?
no? it is private ip leh. haha.
FireHobbit
13-10-2007, 04:26 AM
private ip as in?
it will stick all the while with you and only u are unique to it or a shared one like maxonline?
http://jumi.lut.fi/~junousia/hymiot/think/vaikeapaatos.gif
win_man
13-10-2007, 10:45 AM
Ya seems like it... i chose the card cos i noe that besides on my laptop... i don see myself using m1bb on desktops...
and no offence... i feel the usb modem sticking out is not that glam lei...
hmmm see how... if got feel den i take up the singnet one... anyway their promo till end oct 07...
the PCMCIA version is better. you can connect to the network without the need to launch VMC. Wheras for the USB, need to launch VMC lite.
But PCMCIA eats a lot of battery right? Has it affected your usage?
liangtam
13-10-2007, 11:01 AM
The HuaWei e270 no need run the Starhub s/w. Not sure for e220
win_man
13-10-2007, 11:09 AM
The HuaWei e270 no need run the Starhub s/w. Not sure for e220
haven tried the e270, but have the e220. Seems like without the VMC lite running, i cannot connect via the Windows dialer.
addict951
13-10-2007, 11:20 AM
sT, you using m1bb? Why nv take up the stbbom? faster leh
jurwboi
15-10-2007, 11:59 PM
now hope the router can work for the e270
jaja
http://www.cheesebuerger.de/images/smilie/konfus/c010.gif
FireHobbit
20-10-2007, 09:40 AM
seem like the connection is still quite unstable for my area....
miltongoh
20-10-2007, 09:44 AM
seem like the connection is still quite unstable for my area....
Which area?
pkchukiss
20-10-2007, 04:50 PM
I'm using ST BBOM, and where I go, the transfer rate is very volatile. During morning periods I can hit 512 kbps, but when it comes to the afternoons, the speed drops down to 180 kbps or less. Evening times can go down to 80 kbps. I hope it will improve, since the service is still in its infancy.
liangtam
20-10-2007, 07:29 PM
I'm using ST BBOM, and where I go, the transfer rate is very volatile. During morning periods I can hit 512 kbps, but when it comes to the afternoons, the speed drops down to 180 kbps or less. Evening times can go down to 80 kbps. I hope it will improve, since the service is still in its infancy.
Now chiu ish a ST convert...
Likely it is congestion, hard to fix if liddat.
pkchukiss
20-10-2007, 07:53 PM
Now chiu ish a ST convert...
Likely it is congestion, hard to fix if liddat.
No no, not convert :)
Just a consumer who uses the service that works better for me. I didn't dare to sign up for MaxMobile and M1BBOM because of all the bad reviews in this forum. That left the Sum-Of-All-Evils: ST.
Actually I've been thinking about just how many HSDPA users can a cell site support before this sort of stuff happens. What do you think?
FireHobbit
21-10-2007, 05:41 PM
me also curious it the network working like cable where all share one hub of bandwidth like one cell connect how many phone will dived equally....http://www.cosgan.de/images/midi/haushalt/d030.gif
FireHobbit
30-10-2007, 12:32 PM
check this thread for a MO Interest check on router for all mobile broadband...
http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?p=26407195&posted=1#post26407195
more people can get cheaper....
powermaker
30-10-2007, 02:08 PM
on another thread, it is said that ST and M1 plans is unable to watch streaming videos ie utv, sopcast.
How about StarHub. any comments from StarHub MaxMobile users here. thanks.
tohchr
02-11-2007, 11:19 AM
Thinking of Terminating my ST BBOM and get SH MaxMobile (50% Off) offer.. Unlimited also. The Modem itself cost 398 if sign up without contract.
Anyone switch from ST to SH BBOM can comment? Thanks so much.
cscs3
02-11-2007, 09:30 PM
on another thread, it is said that ST and M1 plans is unable to watch streaming videos ie utv, sopcast.
How about StarHub. any comments from StarHub MaxMobile users here. thanks.
Same here for SH user. Download speed is not that great. 7.2M advertised rate sure not true. Much slower then my 6M SH cable modem (score 5M vs 1M). However, upload speed is much much better than cable modem.
FireHobbit
05-11-2007, 05:01 PM
i guess is not stable and dependent of signal strenght....
hope starhub can do smthing abt it b4 we consumer write to complain abt themhttp://www.cosgan.de/images/midi/haushalt/k050.gif
FireHobbit
01-12-2007, 09:15 PM
seem like on singtel not on unlimited plan... sigh...
how si the service so far guys1.....http://www.xs4all.nl/~ernstmul/images/msn60/co.gif
liangtam
01-12-2007, 09:56 PM
maxmobile ish wols even for local, after too many ppl sign up!! :s13:
miltongoh
01-12-2007, 10:45 PM
seem like on singtel not on unlimited plan... sigh...
how si the service so far guys1.....http://www.xs4all.nl/~ernstmul/images/msn60/co.gif
Try out Singtel first, see if you can used up the 10GB first with the kind of speed they have. Then if really exceed then you try Starhub unlimited plan, but it is really hard to even attained 10GB. At least for proper usage lah. :D
FireHobbit
13-12-2007, 01:17 AM
now is only left singtel is not unlimited... let see more vote to singtel i gues... post more opnion on ithttp://friendsforever.foren-city.de/images/smiles/a084.gif
Can someone posts speedtests from Singtel mobile broadband and starhub maxmobile ?
FireHobbit
29-12-2007, 02:14 AM
singtel like alot more user now le... http://yelims4.free.fr/Ordinateur/Ordinateur07.gif
cscs3
29-12-2007, 09:24 AM
Try out Singtel first, see if you can used up the 10GB first with the kind of speed they have. Then if really exceed then you try Starhub unlimited plan, but it is really hard to even attained 10GB. At least for proper usage lah. :D
You are right. Even you are downloading most of the time.
Starthub basically drop to GPRS in many area. So even you are downloading 24 hours a day. I do not think you can reach 10G!
cscs3
29-12-2007, 09:29 AM
Funny, when you "purchase" the package from Starhub, they give you E270. This device is qualify for 7.2M !!! I do not understand what is cat5/cat6 ? 7.2M is HSUDPA.
So I am not sure what is the 2 cents for?
cscs3
29-12-2007, 09:33 AM
NB i just read huawei list of compatible laptops.... not inside... Those who wana get maxmobile with huawei e270 pls kindly take note of the compatible list
http://www.starhub.com/portal/site/Online/menuitem.f2b59af84f3db376da055b608324a5a0/?vgnextoid=7dc509d13e9d4110VgnVCM100000464114acRCRD
The list in not accurate as it has never update even a new firmware is released.
cscs3
29-12-2007, 09:35 AM
starhub is top? omg are you all crazy or what?
cannot just compare base on connection speed and performance you know. company integrity and quality of service is also very impt.
which means to say m1 and singtel must really suk alot too.
Yes, never compare just the connection speed. As this is mobile boardband. You should expect the coverage is good in most area you need to use it.
For my case, most area I need to use it a outside pri-city area. In many case, it drop to GPRS speed which is around 56K. I can get better connection by just using a phone line!
FireHobbit
29-12-2007, 12:03 PM
actually u could force the device to connect to wcdma only.. and not allowing to switch back to gprs.. as device like this always take the strongest signal...
eugene_nyc82
29-12-2007, 03:07 PM
so, which one better ah? ST, M1 or SH?
FireHobbit
06-02-2008, 04:02 PM
i go for Starhub maxmobile...
liangtam
06-02-2008, 06:49 PM
wa, old thread revived.
FireHobbit
06-02-2008, 09:21 PM
better to see which company u refer.. and post your comments... :s12:
FireHobbit
16-02-2008, 01:27 AM
now singtel and starhub same number of subrciber le.... http://i135.photobucket.com/albums/q132/TLC_Designs/SMILIES/class.gif
liangtam
16-02-2008, 01:31 AM
SingTel is cheaper, Starhub faster - so tie in vote lor.
M1?? disconnections :s22::s34:
miltongoh
16-02-2008, 01:33 AM
now singtel and starhub same number of subrciber le.... http://i135.photobucket.com/albums/q132/TLC_Designs/SMILIES/class.gif
How you derive to that de? Haha!
miltongoh
16-02-2008, 01:34 AM
SingTel is cheaper, Starhub faster - so tie in vote lor.
M1?? disconnections :s22::s34:
No, M1 is neither cheap nor fast. Haha! :D
FireHobbit
16-02-2008, 09:16 AM
How you derive to that de? Haha!
based on the poll we have above..
http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y27/b_ezee/smilies/FatGuy03.gif
war3craft2003
16-02-2008, 10:16 AM
Used M1 service before switching to Singtel BBOM, forget about M1 its slow and alway disconnect. Complain also no use they dont even reply you. :s27:
miltongoh
16-02-2008, 11:20 AM
It is quite common that they will say, "we will look into it." Haha! :D
steamywoks
16-02-2008, 05:08 PM
I just got a Data Sim card from the x61 Singnet promotion. Pop it into Nokia 6120 and surfing internet with it.
This Singtel plan is the 1.8 Mb, the speed is good and really have no complaints about.
It is so cool with mobile BB, now really truly mobile, no need to use wi-fi.
Ev0d3vil
16-02-2008, 06:13 PM
M1 did call me when i sent an email.. I asked them why they block ports for bnet.
FireHobbit
17-02-2008, 01:19 AM
internet on the move is just so cool... alot of people still does not know of this service.. http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y27/b_ezee/smilies/FatGuy03.gif
miltongoh
17-02-2008, 09:30 AM
M1 did call me when i sent an email.. I asked them why they block ports for bnet.
What was their reply?
enhanzed
17-02-2008, 09:48 AM
any problems with using huawei E270 for 10 hrs/day ? it gets quite hot only after 1 hr
steamywoks
17-02-2008, 12:35 PM
any problems with using huawei E270 for 10 hrs/day ? it gets quite hot only after 1 hr
Heat is not a problem, as long as it does not catch fire. All IT stuff generate a lot of heat, even a nokia phone is hot after using for a while.
FireHobbit
17-02-2008, 05:57 PM
the heat is generally due to hardware heating is still avergae de.. not to worry too much..
oyebto
17-02-2008, 08:45 PM
internet on the move is just so cool... alot of people still does not know of this service.. http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y27/b_ezee/smilies/FatGuy03.gif
wifi u mean?
liangtam
17-02-2008, 08:54 PM
wifi u mean?
:s22::s22::s22:
FireHobbit
24-02-2008, 01:14 AM
as in 3.5g service...
FireHobbit
02-03-2008, 08:18 PM
hope pc show got good deals for thsoe wan to subc...
http://smileys.smileycentral.com/cat/11/11_9_10.gif
liangtam
02-03-2008, 09:30 PM
hope pc show got good deals for thsoe wan to subc...
http://smileys.smileycentral.com/cat/11/11_9_10.gif
and then make ur maxmobile speed even slower, lol
miltongoh
02-03-2008, 10:26 PM
and then make ur maxmobile speed even slower, lol
Lol. Quite true, more people sign up, more people hog onto the same line. :D
FireHobbit
08-03-2008, 06:19 AM
alot of people is hopping over sia...
FireHobbit
08-03-2008, 06:20 AM
since the singtel roadshow is not bad....
enhanzed
09-03-2008, 12:44 PM
which device is cheapest that can use maxmobile to surf net ?
fmradio
09-03-2008, 07:37 PM
Lol. Quite true, more people sign up, more people hog onto the same line. :D
Sounds like the fat green pipe going to be congested?! then it becomes no difference with mol haha.
miltongoh
09-03-2008, 11:37 PM
Sounds like the fat green pipe going to be congested?! then it becomes no difference with mol haha.
yeahhhh! Call them upgrade the pipe!!!! :D
FireHobbit
23-03-2008, 11:33 AM
still not bad leh... seem like more subcriber is on board..
FireHobbit
30-05-2008, 06:26 PM
good place to compare all three telco....
ironman4672
01-06-2008, 08:07 AM
singtel is leading still.....:D:D:D:D
FireHobbit
01-06-2008, 11:02 AM
yea... starhub is getting faster... can feel while surfing on n82 on the move...
FireHobbit
02-06-2008, 01:34 AM
today i use in smu like not good leh...
FireHobbit
08-06-2008, 03:21 PM
StarHub to Expand and Upgrade 3.5G Mobile Network to Deliver Unparalleled Mobile Surfing Experience and Improved Indoor and Outdoor Coverage
Appoints Huawei Technologies to enhance mobile network to High Speed Packet Access Plus (HSPA+) by 2Q-2009
Singapore, 22 May 2008 – StarHub today appointed Huawei Technologies to expand and upgrade its current nation-wide 3.5G mobile broadband network to HSPA+ by 2Q-2009. This means that StarHub’s mobile network will soon be able to offer better overall mobile coverage island-wide indoors and outdoors, and support even larger volumes of data traffic than current offerings in the market.
StarHub’s upgrade reflects the operator's overall strategy to provide an unparalleled mobile broadband experience that can deliver better surfing experience, higher resolution on streamed mobile content and improved interactivity.
"Since our 3.5G launch in 2007, we have seen a dramatic 23-fold increase to our mobile data traffic as more and more mobile customers surf the Internet wirelessly, and access our mobile TV content including Barclays Premier League (BPL), CNN ‘Live’ and CNBC ‘Live’ and the upcoming Euro 2008 tournament," said Mr David Storrie, Head of StarHub’s Integrated Network Engineering. "With this Huawei appointment, we are looking at further investing in our mobile network to future-proof it as we prepare to meet the growing demands for our mobile broadband services while continuing to build our mobile content portfolio over the next 12 months."
HSPA+ will boost StarHub's current mobile broadband speed 1.5 times to 21Mbps (from the current 14.4Mbps) on the downlink, and over five times its uplink capability to 11Mbps (currently 1.9Mbps). In addition, StarHub plans to expand its mobile base station capacity to at least 3,500 base stations in support of its 1.8 million mobile customers.
With this complete IP-based mobile enhancement, StarHub is set to remain in pole position both in terms of mobile broadband speeds and in the depth of its mobile content.
"We are delighted that StarHub has demonstrated strong trust and confidence towards Huawei with this mobile network expansion and upgrade contract, which is set to further strengthen the strategic partnership between both companies," said Mr Victor Wang, President of Huawei Asia Pacific. "With our innovative technologies and abundant experience on next generation mobile network deployment worldwide, we are confident to build a world-class mobile network for StarHub in Singapore."
The network expansion and upgrade is part of StarHub’s S$200 million enhancement of its 3G/3.5G network to support higher downlink and uplink speeds. To complement this upgrade, StarHub is re-engineering its backhaul infrastructure and international links to enhance its current high-speed fixed and mobile broadband throughputs.
Since August 2007, StarHub has architected its mobile broadband network to operate at speeds of up to 14.4Mbps downlink (which is almost four times as fast as other competitors in the market) and up to 1.9Mbps on the uplink (a clear five times faster than other operators). Currently, StarHub mobile customers can experience speeds up to 7.2Mbps downlink and 1.9Mbps uplink.
ironman4672
06-09-2008, 06:35 PM
upz......10 chars
Gunboundz
07-09-2008, 04:35 AM
Singtel Wireless@SG (http://home.singtel.com/wirelessSG/default.asp)
http://i35.tinypic.com/2ahxisn.jpg
http://i37.tinypic.com/s2fple.jpg
Starhub MaxMobile (http://www.starhub.com/portal/site/Online/menuitem.f2b59af84f3db376da055b608324a5a0/?vgnextoid=431509d13e9d4110VgnVCM100000464114acRCRD)
http://i37.tinypic.com/6hjhpl.jpg
M1 Mobile BB (http://m1.com.sg/M1/site/M1Corp/menuitem.e2f30a2a1a1860b609b422103f2000a0/?vgnextoid=1dc68167a78ba110VgnVCM100000695a230aRCRD&vgnextfmt=pdate:0809070403:)
http://i35.tinypic.com/2rzdvzc.jpg
I think singtel will have unlimited bb soon.
ironman4672
07-09-2008, 08:43 AM
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3295/2821956561_8736660dcd_o.jpg
leoloe
07-09-2008, 05:09 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/319581048.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
just tested with my i-mate 9502. using starhub.
so much faster than my N95 with 7.2mbps capable.
07-09-2008, 05:47 PM
find singtel mobile bb still better.
http://img90.imageshack.us/img90/5964/msip45banner80pbb3.jpg
wiwi86
07-09-2008, 07:52 PM
up for singtel mobile broadband
archtomato
07-09-2008, 08:32 PM
I missed out on the offer for Singnet BB. Hopefully got offers again ... wanna sign for 2mbps.
pker88
07-09-2008, 08:49 PM
I missed out on the offer for Singnet BB. Hopefully got offers again ... wanna sign for 2mbps.
wait lor
singtel might got some random promo sometimes
esp now is stil iphone mayhem era
next pcshow is end of year at expo liao
ironman4672
07-09-2008, 09:03 PM
wait lor
singtel might got some random promo sometimes
esp now is stil iphone mayhem era
next pcshow is end of year at expo liao
should have one... just need to wait.....;);););)
is it possible to subscribe only to starhub maxonline plus and use the free maxmobile on BOTH my phone and laptop?
lifeisaplay
28-08-2009, 12:56 PM
since comex coming.. let up this thread...
see if there is any improvement..
mtnbikefreak
31-08-2009, 11:15 AM
Any updates on wireless BB for the 3 ISPs ? How do they rate in SPD northern areas such as AMK, yishun and woodlands ?
Read a thread saying that differnet isps perform differently in websurfing and BT.
Any shared experiences would be appreciated ;)
justluna
31-08-2009, 02:06 PM
Any updates on wireless BB for the 3 ISPs ? How do they rate in SPD northern areas such as AMK, yishun and woodlands ?
Read a thread saying that differnet isps perform differently in websurfing and BT.
Any shared experiences would be appreciated ;)
I have used SingTel Mobile Broadband in Sembawang, Woodlands, Yishun and AMK. No problem. A bit of buffering needed for Youtube but I guess that is normal? I am on 2Mbps plan.
sgjobseeker
31-08-2009, 10:16 PM
Starhub sucks at West Area.. Like NTU, Pioneer, Nanyang and Jurong Point too
ks2005
31-08-2009, 11:52 PM
using M1 mobile broadband at lakeside area and jurong point. I am happy with the speed and tne price that I am paying during the previous PC show in Jun 09.
mtnbikefreak
01-09-2009, 02:04 PM
Thanks Guys. ;) Very much appreciated.
Looks like stinktel is option. Problem is that though it's unlimited, there is still a cap of 50gig.
Yellowone dongle is on loan right ? heard quite a few of my friends complaining about the speeds as well during peak hours.
czheyuan
01-09-2009, 08:09 PM
Thanks Guys. ;) Very much appreciated.
Looks like stinktel is option. Problem is that though it's unlimited, there is still a cap of 50gig.
Yellowone dongle is on loan right ? heard quite a few of my friends complaining about the speeds as well during peak hours.
Nope.. M1 gives the modem for free for 2 yrs contract..
lifeisaplay
11-09-2009, 10:34 AM
this thread will be very useful to see whether to jump ship on this comex....
add on guys...
for me personally i feel Jurong west sucks in Starhub
pker88
11-09-2009, 10:37 AM
i also feel west sucks for singtel
Maybe too much user?
dreamer75
11-09-2009, 01:43 PM
heard M1 have massive improvement now, gonna switch to M1 once my ST contract ends.
unintended
12-09-2009, 05:28 PM
Been reading this thread. Want to get a mobile broadband plan.
Starhub is out of my budget. Deciding between Singtel and M1. Of course I will choose Singtel for its reliability, but got limit leh. Any hidden charges? I thinking of signing up the Youth Plan.
Means I can also surf net on my hp is it? I'm using Sony Ericsson k850i.
czheyuan
12-09-2009, 11:10 PM
Been reading this thread. Want to get a mobile broadband plan.
Starhub is out of my budget. Deciding between Singtel and M1. Of course I will choose Singtel for its reliability, but got limit leh. Any hidden charges? I thinking of signing up the Youth Plan.
Means I can also surf net on my hp is it? I'm using Sony Ericsson k850i.
The hidden charge would probably be the excess charge you have to pay should you exceed. No price cap for that... You can surf on your hp but you have to switch your sim card lo..
unintended
13-09-2009, 09:07 PM
I just signed up for the youth plan @ 1.5
Sorry I noob, how to see my data usage? Is it click the "Statistic" and the Max Cap: xxx kpbs or something?
I tried the Singtel.com/bbom method, say my records cannot be found. Maybe havent update yet.
And what does the different coloured lights: Blue/Green/Red on my modem means?
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.