PDA

View Full Version : DIR-300

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

FrOzE
01-06-2008, 12:36 PM
try changing yr utorrent port to some other ramdom one and do the same for yr router config
For the IP address, do i put in the ip given by the router to pc or the ip given to modem?

Nichi
01-06-2008, 01:09 PM
eh? dun put anything

FrOzE
01-06-2008, 01:29 PM
Anyway i manage to solve it...
It's my Kaspersky Internet Security... that's doing the thing...
now solved

liangtam
01-06-2008, 02:09 PM
So probably nothing do with default or dd-wrt firmware??
Surprising why you're having a hard time previously.

evilgod08
21-06-2008, 03:48 AM
I got the Dir-300 from the pc show. Everything was fine on the first day, but since monday my connection has become extremely slow (pacnet 512). Pages time out. Normal web pages take 5 mins to load.

Possible problem with the router?

liangtam
21-06-2008, 04:02 AM
PacNet proxy slowed down abit

evilgod08
21-06-2008, 12:26 PM
hmm i was thinking it might be becos of pacnet. But i thought it was unlikely. The slow down was massive, to the scale of 10-20 times slower for a week. I am sure if it was that bad many ppl would have complained liao rite?

liangtam
21-06-2008, 01:04 PM
hmm i was thinking it might be becos of pacnet. But i thought it was unlikely. The slow down was massive, to the scale of 10-20 times slower for a week. I am sure if it was that bad many ppl would have complained liao rite?

Im here, isn't it?

cloestin
22-06-2008, 09:55 PM
just got this router recently..did port forward ...using bitcomet but cant seems to get a green light..i'm using speedtouch 536 modem btw..any ideas?

imacbie
23-06-2008, 09:59 PM
i still have a few pieces of 5dbi antenna left bought from slt last time

cost is $3.50 each

u know where i stay and u got my contact. just contact me if u wan =p

hey richneo u still got "STOCK" for the antennas?? :D
just joined the dir-300 family today. my 1st ever router infact lol.
still on 1.03 contemplating wether to go to 1.04 or not,

richneo
23-06-2008, 10:13 PM
hey richneo u still got "STOCK" for the antennas?? :D
just joined the dir-300 family today. my 1st ever router infact lol.
still on 1.03 contemplating wether to go to 1.04 or not,
go for 1.04 or dd-wrt minimum

i sold out my antenna liaoz

u might wan to check with liangtam to see if he still have it

imacbie
23-06-2008, 10:46 PM
go for 1.04 or dd-wrt minimum

i sold out my antenna liaoz

u might wan to check with liangtam to see if he still have it
ah, ok. just upgraded as well.

liangtam ... u dere!!??!!??
got any more 5 or 8 dbi antenna for sale :p ??

1 question.
is it normal for the 2nd LED (the status LED) to blink continuously ?

liangtam
24-06-2008, 12:21 AM
ah, ok. just upgraded as well.

liangtam ... u dere!!??!!??
got any more 5 or 8 dbi antenna for sale :p ??

1 question.
is it normal for the 2nd LED (the status LED) to blink continuously ?

i dunno where i chuck it wor, i let u know if got spares notch

the status led blinks constantly.

imacbie
24-06-2008, 09:24 AM
i dunno where i chuck it wor, i let u know if got spares notch

the status led blinks constantly.
alright,

thanks in advance mate!

liangtam
24-06-2008, 12:06 PM
dun think habe. look for lordalfa in the other forum??

imacbie
24-06-2008, 10:21 PM
dun think habe. look for lordalfa in the other forum??
by other forum u mean in VR ??

s016
24-06-2008, 10:38 PM
My DIR-300's version is currently DD-WRT v24 RC4. I am planning to update to the final RC7. Can i backup config in RC4, update then restore the config in RC7 as it is troublesome to do settings all over again. Thanks!!

Nichi
25-06-2008, 12:10 AM
by other forum u mean in VR ??
ya vr

shuinx2
25-06-2008, 01:03 AM
My DIR-300's version is currently DD-WRT v24 RC4. I am planning to update to the final RC7. Can i backup config in RC4, update then restore the config in RC7 as it is troublesome to do settings all over again. Thanks!!

rc7 supported meh?

richneo
25-06-2008, 03:45 AM
v24 final version also supported mah

imacbie
25-06-2008, 09:44 AM
ya vr
thank u Nichi took me a few hours to figure what nick I used on vr :D
0 Poster :D

cloestin
26-06-2008, 09:00 AM
guys i need some help..after i flash my router i can not get the wireless working (wireless led is not lit as well) and i am not able to enter dir300 as well.. i have flash it twice already....btw everytime i flash until fis create linux the session will auto close and i have to restart the router to be able to continue

shadowandy
26-06-2008, 06:05 PM
guys i need some help..after i flash my router i can not get the wireless working (wireless led is not lit as well) and i am not able to enter dir300 as well.. i have flash it twice already....btw everytime i flash until fis create linux the session will auto close and i have to restart the router to be able to continue

if you are using putty. Configure the client to prevent session closing as mentioned here (http://www.shadowandy.net/2007/09/mini-flashing-guide-for-dir-300.htm).

cloestin
26-06-2008, 08:18 PM
thanks shadow ..din know i missed one step finally i'm able to flash my router but i still cant get an IP through the modem even though i've follow the steps on ur website..any suggestions? i'm using singnet...do i need to change any of the dd-wrt settings?
select ppoe or dhcp?

human_shieldz
29-06-2008, 01:18 PM
Wah this router after so long still got persistent BT problem. I always have good impression of d-link product leh. I am using one for 2 years liao and everything works very fine but thinking of switching to this black DIR-300 cos it looks chioer hehe. But i haven't buy yet come across this thread see so much problem a bit dun dare to purchase it.

Got a few questions.

1) If don't do BT, everything works as normal?
2) If flash to the 1.04 firmware from Taiwan link, will it become chinese language? lol

Thanks in advance!!

Nichi
29-06-2008, 02:14 PM
Wah this router after so long still got persistent BT problem. I always have good impression of d-link product leh. I am using one for 2 years liao and everything works very fine but thinking of switching to this black DIR-300 cos it looks chioer hehe. But i haven't buy yet come across this thread see so much problem a bit dun dare to purchase it.

Got a few questions.

1) If don't do BT, everything works as normal?
2) If flash to the 1.04 firmware from Taiwan link, will it become chinese language? lol

Thanks in advance!!
im using 1.04 no problems with bt and its in english

human_shieldz
30-06-2008, 10:49 PM
im using 1.04 no problems with bt and its in english

Thanks! Think i might get it le

human_shieldz
01-07-2008, 07:42 PM
Weeeeeee 1st pissed off 2hrs after setting up everything!

Restarted PC, open BT. Then open IE and Firefox. Can't load any internet pages, wooooo!!!

Even after i close the BT client, still can't surf. Only after router reboot it works fine.

human_shieldz
01-07-2008, 08:15 PM
*Update*

Same thing happen and also my MSN keep disconnecting.

But this time i didn't reboot my router. I closed BT and then waited about 1-2mins and connection is restored. What the hell is wrong with this thing???

My DI-524UP is more reliable than this lol.

:s16:

liangtam
01-07-2008, 08:19 PM

Restarted PC, open BT. Then open IE and Firefox. Can't load any internet pages, wooooo!!!

Even after i close the BT client, still can't surf. Only after router reboot it works fine.

:s11::s11:

shadowandy
01-07-2008, 08:31 PM

Tune down on your BT settings? Keep it perhaps less than 300~400 global connections? 300~400 sounds like a reasonable value for BT. Else try voiding your warranty by flashing to dd-wrt. Last choice is to get a DIR-655?

t3zuka
01-07-2008, 08:34 PM
looking at the problems faced using dir-300 anyone has a better recommendation for wireless routers?

shadowandy
01-07-2008, 09:14 PM
looking at the problems faced using dir-300 anyone has a better recommendation for wireless routers?

DIR-655. Price and performance are often inversely proportional. Want it cheap, trade off a bit of performance. Want performance, it might burn a hole in your pockets. If you know one that can attain both, I also want one as well.

human_shieldz
01-07-2008, 09:19 PM
:s11::s11:

Same reaction as you. I dunno what the hell is going on lol.

It looks nicer but works way differently from my previous router. I believe when we buy something new, its not only for looks but also better in its function.....NOT WORST!!!!!!!

Flash back to 1.03. taken from Singapore D-link. Now my date show chinese words WTF HAHAHAHA.

D-Link change engineer ah? or change its direction to make worse routers???

liangtam
01-07-2008, 09:28 PM
u sure ish not ur com problem not? i dun see any chinese characters.

human_shieldz
01-07-2008, 09:30 PM
u sure ish not ur com problem not? i dun see any chinese characters.

Dunno leh but when i just bought it i remember very well no chinese char hahaa. But this one small matter.

human_shieldz
01-07-2008, 09:46 PM
Tune down on your BT settings? Keep it perhaps less than 300~400 global connections? 300~400 sounds like a reasonable value for BT. Else try voiding your warranty by flashing to dd-wrt. Last choice is to get a DIR-655?

I will try that but that shouldn't be the case. I bought something newer to support D-link cos my previous one work so well and somemore i recommend D-link to people. Now dunno how many people gonna hammer me hahaha.

I will try what you suggest for BT until they release a solution. When i 1st bought my DI-524UP it never gave me any noticeable problem. Even after upgrading each firmware gradually there were no problem with BT and any stuff. If we instantly encounter problems like these how can the D-link engineers not and didn't they even do testing??

No la i dun wanna void warranty, i wanna be able to throw this router in their face legally, so even when blood flow out of their nose they will still apologize.

I wun be held ransom from them to go buy DIR-655 which is something i dun need ATM. With my previous wireless router, i had no dead spot anywhere in my house, so no point getting the "forever-draft N" standard. Think when they finally rectify it WIMAX is widely available le :s22:

Now the slogan is "Think D-link, Think Creative"

liangtam
01-07-2008, 10:26 PM

No comments for ur problems yet.

Both companies do reside at jurong international business park tho :)

shadowandy
01-07-2008, 10:47 PM
I will try that but that shouldn't be the case. I bought something newer to support D-link cos my previous one work so well and somemore i recommend D-link to people. Now dunno how many people gonna hammer me hahaha.

I will try what you suggest for BT until they release a solution. When i 1st bought my DI-524UP it never gave me any noticeable problem. Even after upgrading each firmware gradually there were no problem with BT and any stuff. If we instantly encounter problems like these how can the D-link engineers not and didn't they even do testing??

No la i dun wanna void warranty, i wanna be able to throw this router in their face legally, so even when blood flow out of their nose they will still apologize.

I wun be held ransom from them to go buy DIR-655 which is something i dun need ATM. With my previous wireless router, i had no dead spot anywhere in my house, so no point getting the "forever-draft N" standard. Think when they finally rectify it WIMAX is widely available le :s22:

Honestly, not a lot of cheap consumer routers that can handle load well on manufacturer's firmware. If you want to remain on b/g, perhaps you can try DGL-4300. I used that before shifting over to DIR-655 to rectify my dead spots problem.

Perhaps you should ask why Proton cars can't reach 300kmph. Same thing happens to computer hardwares, there are physical limitations. Can't expect the DIR-300 to perform wonders. I do agree that the firmwares aren't written well, that is why I recommend you to use third party firmwares that has been optimized for connection handling.

human_shieldz
01-07-2008, 10:53 PM
No comments for ur problems yet.

Both companies do reside at jurong international business park tho :)

Now that explains :P

human_shieldz
01-07-2008, 11:07 PM
Honestly, not a lot of cheap consumer routers that can handle load well on manufacturer's firmware. If you want to remain on b/g, perhaps you can try DGL-4300. I used that before shifting over to DIR-655 to rectify my dead spots problem.

Perhaps you should ask why Proton cars can't reach 300kmph. Same thing happens to computer hardwares, there are physical limitations. Can't expect the DIR-300 to perform wonders. I do agree that the firmwares aren't written well, that is why I recommend you to use third party firmwares that has been optimized for connection handling.

I'm not even asking for better performance, just at least the same as wat they had before. I dun even mind they just take the whole crap from their previous DI series and put into a totally new black shell and change the color of the web interface just to make us feel the worthy "upgrade". But to have it worse??

Its just like Proton new series with a nicer look but the car can't start cos u turn on the car stereo?? Just like how my browser doesn't take me anywhere on the internet after i start BT client.

Not bashing you lol but just feeling that their previous one works well, they should work on the same formula with gradual improvement.

shadowandy
01-07-2008, 11:19 PM
I'm not even asking for better performance, just at least the same as wat they had before. I dun even mind they just take the whole crap from their previous DI series and put into a totally new black shell and change the color of the web interface just to make us feel the worthy "upgrade". But to have it worse??

Its just like Proton new series with a nicer look but the car can't start cos u turn on the car stereo?? Just like how my browser doesn't take me anywhere on the internet after i start BT client.

Not bashing you lol but just feeling that their previous one works well, they should work on the same formula with gradual improvement.

Starting BT client is one thing, BT settings is another thing. Have you pumped the correct type of fuel for the Proton? ok lah, analogy aside.

I think the hardware has been redesigned. Some hardware limitations may have been overcomed but software has yet to be optimized. Do a feedback through their channels maybe they may release firmwares faster?

human_shieldz
01-07-2008, 11:55 PM
Yeah but i never adjusted my BT settings, all i did was switch the wireless router. Anyway, was using 1.03 firmware. Start BT Client, Router hang between 2-3 min later. Hit reset button doesn't do ****. Have to power down the whole router then start again liao web still cannot surf. Have to set proxy now on my browser then can surf. Wtf??!! Doesn't make sense. Anyway, whatever it takes to make this DIR-300 "Normal" like my previous one i'll try except voiding the warranty. I don't really believe in voiding Warranty, Warranty is a punishment to Company for trying to make a fast buck.

Ok, flash back to 1.04 le. Wun be opening BT for 2-3 days. Test at least my gaming and normal web usage is functional. Can anyone actually believe when they put on their website description for the firmware 1.03

"Fix : After runing BT for hours, the device may hang up"

Mine 2-3 minutes hang already!

liangtam
02-07-2008, 12:17 AM
How much connection was actually established pre and after??
If no proxy cannot surf, chances are problem lies mainly in the transparent proxy or specific batch/region of service by provider liao

human_shieldz
02-07-2008, 12:50 AM
If no proxy cannot surf, chances are problem lies mainly in the transparent proxy or specific batch/region of service by provider liao

I didn't notice, i dun wanna start my BT Client again then start to restart my router and start looking all over the place how to get me surfing and IM again.

But so weird, i was able to surf without proxy prior to changing to this router.
Then the moment i put in proxy, wah everything start loading and fast.

They should name this Router Enigma. Other than the BT thing, everything else is fine.

By the way, do you guys keep having problem loading the HWZ forum?? keep having to retry for it to load.

liangtam
02-07-2008, 01:07 AM
HWZ is enticing ppl to sign up for its DM, errm, I mean durex service. :o

human_shieldz
02-07-2008, 03:08 AM

Ok, now i use BT can surf web le. It must have been the proxy. But it was never needed with my previous router.

However, IM connections such as MSN and Yahoo keep dcing.

cpuer
02-07-2008, 10:18 AM
Ok, now i use BT can surf web le. It must have been the proxy. But it was never needed with my previous router.

However, IM connections such as MSN and Yahoo keep dcing.

brother, bite the bullet and get it flash to DD-WRT. Will solve most of your problems. :D

Nichi
02-07-2008, 01:49 PM
either something wrong with yr set or something else...

im using my dir300 on 1.04 for afew months already...

my router is on 24/7 and my pc(lan) is also on 24/7 with BT running and seeding on it all the time..

never have yr problem lei...

onli thing is sometimes the wireless got problem when it has been running under such states for a long time..

human_shieldz
02-07-2008, 02:35 PM
brother, bite the bullet and get it flash to DD-WRT. Will solve most of your problems. :D

Haha a lot of people has been praising DD-WRT but can it be flash back to the D-link firmware later on?? Ok $58 isn't too big a deal if i void the warranty but having just bought it, i would feel D-link has made easy money :P

human_shieldz
02-07-2008, 02:37 PM
either something wrong with yr set or something else...

im using my dir300 on 1.04 for afew months already...

my router is on 24/7 and my pc(lan) is also on 24/7 with BT running and seeding on it all the time..

never have yr problem lei...

onli thing is sometimes the wireless got problem when it has been running under such states for a long time..

Har? 1.04 few months already? I thought they put there June release only???

I must stress Test the set these few days. Funan got how many days 1 to 1 exchange ah? :P

human_shieldz
02-07-2008, 03:10 PM
I've visited the configuration pages more times than i ever did in DIR-300 in 1 day compare to my DI-524UP in 2 years man haha.

Nichi
02-07-2008, 05:42 PM
Har? 1.04 few months already? I thought they put there June release only???

I must stress Test the set these few days. Funan got how many days 1 to 1 exchange ah? :P
mine many months cos i got it from taiwan site...

usually theirs come out earlier...

human_shieldz
02-07-2008, 06:31 PM
mine many months cos i got it from taiwan site...

usually theirs come out earlier...

Ah then there is one that just release in June 11th i think. Just now my BT was fast, surfing was ok but my IMs were not. But the moment i close the BT client, my surfing went kuku. I just to disable my LAN connection from the PC then enable it will be ok.

cpuer
02-07-2008, 08:34 PM
Haha a lot of people has been praising DD-WRT but can it be flash back to the D-link firmware later on?? Ok $58 isn't too big a deal if i void the warranty but having just bought it, i would feel D-link has made easy money :P

There's a guide here on flashing back to factory fw:

http://www.shadowandy.net/2007/10/flashing-dir-300-back-to-original-firmware.htm

XeNo82
03-07-2008, 08:54 AM

i get it at pc show for juz $48. yeah unless u do anything stupid that brick it. it shld be fine flashing to DD-WRT & back to the orginal.

human_shieldz
03-07-2008, 01:45 PM
i get it at pc show for juz $48. yeah unless u do anything stupid that brick it. it shld be fine flashing to DD-WRT & back to the orginal.

Cool thanks. Maybe its still early to say but its more stable now except for IMs which keep dcing now and then. I guess it takes time to "burn in" :s12:

kohler
04-07-2008, 01:24 AM
Shadowandy :

My router is currently using the default 1.01 firmware and I am planning to flash it with DD-wrt v24 RC7 firmware.

I was reading your page ( http://www.shadowandy.net/2008/05/upgrading-to-dd-wrt-v24-standard.htm) but need you to clear some of my doubt before i proceed to flash the firmware .

Q1 : Do i need to flash RedBoot file first ? It was not mentioned on this page. It look like only the linux.bin is what I needed.

shadowandy
04-07-2008, 09:05 AM
Shadowandy :

My router is currently using the default 1.01 firmware and I am planning to flash it with DD-wrt v24 RC7 firmware.

I was reading your page ( http://www.shadowandy.net/2008/05/upgrading-to-dd-wrt-v24-standard.htm) but need you to clear some of my doubt before i proceed to flash the firmware .

Q1 : Do i need to flash RedBoot file first ? It was not mentioned on this page. It look like only the linux.bin is what I needed.

That is for upgrading of dd-wrt from the older dd-wrt version. Check out Mini Flashing Guide for DIR-300 (http://www.shadowandy.net/2007/09/mini-flashing-guide-for-dir-300.htm)

cpuer
04-07-2008, 10:49 AM
Shadowandy :

No need using RC7, the released version v24 is out.

kohler
04-07-2008, 12:10 PM
That is for upgrading of dd-wrt from the older dd-wrt version. Check out Mini Flashing Guide for DIR-300 (http://www.shadowandy.net/2007/09/mini-flashing-guide-for-dir-300.htm)

In another word if this is my first time flashing my router with DD-WRT firmware , i will need to flash my router with this RedBoot file first before flashing with the latest linux.bin file ( v24 final )

shadowandy
04-07-2008, 03:01 PM
In another word if this is my first time flashing my router with DD-WRT firmware , i will need to flash my router with this RedBoot file first before flashing with the latest linux.bin file ( v24 final )

Yeap. :)

10 chars

human_shieldz
04-07-2008, 03:09 PM
Hey guys, anyone knows how to do remote management of the router?? I tried but i'm not sure if i'm doing it correctly or not.

1) I did port forwarding but not sure if i have done it correctly lol.
2) What will i have to type in the web browser of the other computer from somewhere else so i can access the router sitting here in my room?
3) i also allow remote management.

I think i blur as to how the ports are set though.

Can anyone help?

imacbie
05-07-2008, 09:28 AM
guys, how come the date of the log always out of sync witht he current date huh?
i change the date / time liao.. but always cannot by in sync one, anyone knw?

edit: nvm. i sync with dlink server ok liao. ty

human_shieldz
05-07-2008, 12:13 PM
guys, how come the date of the log always out of sync witht he current date huh?
i change the date / time liao.. but always cannot by in sync one, anyone knw?

edit: nvm. i sync with dlink server ok liao. ty

Yeah yeah mine also LOL. No strange, how come like no one talk about this. Its pretty obvious leh.

I left my BT client on overnite and my MSN keep logging in and out. Over the 6hrs i was asleep my MSN log in and out more than 100 times, must have annoyed the hell outta my friends :D

imacbie, what firmware r u on?

cpuer
05-07-2008, 03:15 PM
Yeah yeah mine also LOL. No strange, how come like no one talk about this. Its pretty obvious leh.

I left my BT client on overnite and my MSN keep logging in and out. Over the 6hrs i was asleep my MSN log in and out more than 100 times, must have annoyed the hell outta my friends :D

You haven't flashed to DD-WRT yet?

imacbie
05-07-2008, 10:30 PM

am on 1.04 .. for me.. its not broken, so dun fix it :D ;)

human_shieldz
05-07-2008, 11:37 PM
am on 1.04 .. for me.. its not broken, so dun fix it :D ;)

Your MSN or any other messenger wun keep logging in and out meh??

Do you run torrent?

human_shieldz
05-07-2008, 11:39 PM
You haven't flashed to DD-WRT yet?

Not yet, a bit lazy to read the run through for now. I'm still banging on the hope that they'll release a 1.05 soon, or when i get ultimately pissed. :D

imacbie
06-07-2008, 12:12 AM
Your MSN or any other messenger wun keep logging in and out meh??

Do you run torrent?
i dun torrent. so cant comment ^^

Nichi
06-07-2008, 05:27 PM
woohoo just flashed my router to ddwrt..

Nichi
06-07-2008, 11:20 PM
hmm...

funny lei after flashing to dd-wrt performance seems to be worse then on 1.04..

my bt listening port seems to be blocked although i already dmz my pc ip.

surfing net also abit slower...

human_shieldz
07-07-2008, 01:01 AM
hmm...

surfing net also abit slower...

Maybe need to configure a little. Any bro here had success can help??

But i thought ya fine on 1.04, why flash it?

liangtam
07-07-2008, 01:12 AM
orig better :)

Nichi
07-07-2008, 01:55 AM
Maybe need to configure a little. Any bro here had success can help??

But i thought ya fine on 1.04, why flash it?
finger itchy lol...

human_shieldz
07-07-2008, 02:25 AM
finger itchy lol...

I'm also like ya haha.

Booker
07-07-2008, 02:26 AM
hmm...

surfing net also abit slower...Yep using DDWRT seems to give a slower performance.. It's not just you. I noticed that too.

I only realised that DDWRT was the culprit when I read similiar posts in DDWRT's forum. The wireless speed seems to be affected the most it seems. Response doesn't seem to be as fast as on the stock firmware.

But the strangest part is that I get constant disconnections on IM services ONLY on the stock firmwares... be it 1.03 or 1.04. I believe there's another person who experienced the same thing as me a few posts up. Hope DLink does something about these buggy firmwares.:s22:

liangtam
07-07-2008, 10:11 AM
The person ontop of your current post lor.
But seriously ah, I use 1.03 so long no hit IM issues yet

Nichi
07-07-2008, 02:07 PM
i dunno abt wireless performance cos im using wired..

even on wired also abit slow..

but on firmware 1.03 and 1.04 using wired connection i dun have any problems with IM dc's..

human_shieldz
07-07-2008, 04:50 PM
i dunno abt wireless performance cos im using wired..

even on wired also abit slow..

but on firmware 1.03 and 1.04 using wired connection i dun have any problems with IM dc's..

U mean even when u turn on torrent its fine? Ok maybe i got too many torrent files running lol. I did try with a only 1 torrent downloading on my laptop with wireless and everything was normal.

The problems i encounter is on wired but since its the router problem when i have my torrent started on the desktop, both my desktop (wired) and Laptop (wireless) IMs will keep logging in and out.

I believe this problem is when u have many torrent files connecting.

liangtam
07-07-2008, 04:57 PM
What ISP you using? The recent IM problems does not seems to originate from just the router alone

tigerwoods
07-07-2008, 06:48 PM
pls tell m where to get it at the cheapest price? i want to get one tomolo.

Nichi
07-07-2008, 06:58 PM
U mean even when u turn on torrent its fine? Ok maybe i got too many torrent files running lol. I did try with a only 1 torrent downloading on my laptop with wireless and everything was normal.

The problems i encounter is on wired but since its the router problem when i have my torrent started on the desktop, both my desktop (wired) and Laptop (wireless) IMs will keep logging in and out.

I believe this problem is when u have many torrent files connecting.
i dun tink its too little torrents.

my pc usually most of the time will have abt 5-8 torrents seeding.

human_shieldz
07-07-2008, 08:18 PM
What ISP you using? The recent IM problems does not seems to originate from just the router alone

Singnet. But its always when i just turn on the torrent, and it only just happen when i switched my router.

human_shieldz
07-07-2008, 08:20 PM
pls tell m where to get it at the cheapest price? i want to get one tomolo.

Not sure about SLS but i bought mine at Inforcomm at Funan at $58+. U might wanna get it at IT show cos its really cheap. Someone just bought it for $48. I should have bought it then man hah.

But it looks really prettier over my previous D-link Router hehe.

human_shieldz
07-07-2008, 08:21 PM
i dun tink its too little torrents.

my pc usually most of the time will have abt 5-8 torrents seeding.

Eh i think i have more than 50 torrents seeding LOL

Nichi
07-07-2008, 08:44 PM
wah of cos will die la lol...

human_shieldz
07-07-2008, 09:23 PM
wah of cos will die la lol...

But my previous router was fine leh, that's why i cannot accept this one like that haha.

liangtam
07-07-2008, 09:25 PM

Screenshot ur router active session page pls...

Nichi
09-07-2008, 12:54 PM
im tinking of flashing back to 1.04 liao lol

liangtam
09-07-2008, 02:21 PM
im tinking of flashing back to 1.04 liao lol

Flash, flash!! :D

Nichi
09-07-2008, 04:08 PM
chiu beri bad lol...

when got time i go flash back bah

tigerwoods
09-07-2008, 08:18 PM
my old 624+ router adapter spoilt yesterday, today went pcpro funan told them my router got no power, they gave me a brand new DIR-300 without askin me anything. I was very surprise,i tot i need to buy a new adapter from them..

Dlink deserve havin my money,excellent service.

human_shieldz
10-07-2008, 02:44 AM
my old 624+ router adapter spoilt yesterday, today went pcpro funan told them my router got no power, they gave me a brand new DIR-300 without askin me anything. I was very surprise,i tot i need to buy a new adapter from them..

Dlink deserve havin my money,excellent service.

Huh? What u mean?? U didn't even bring down the router and they just give u a new one??? Did u buy from them previously and how long ago?

tigerwoods
10-07-2008, 01:35 PM
i brought my 624+ & adapter and the box down, just told them my 624+ got no power, i never say adapter spoilt. Maybe if i told them adapter spoilt i might need to pay $15 for a new one. The guys never ask for anything just give me a new DIR-300 and they kept my 624+. I think Dlink policy prefer to give new model instead of askin customer to pay , give customers value, this is one thing to beat thier competitors to encourage ppl to buy thier products. Good job Dlink! I will kepp supporting Dlink due to thier excellent service.

human_shieldz
10-07-2008, 05:18 PM
i brought my 624+ & adapter and the box down, just told them my 624+ got no power, i never say adapter spoilt. Maybe if i told them adapter spoilt i might need to pay $15 for a new one. The guys never ask for anything just give me a new DIR-300 and they kept my 624+. I think Dlink policy prefer to give new model instead of askin customer to pay , give customers value, this is one thing to beat thier competitors to encourage ppl to buy thier products. Good job Dlink! I will kepp supporting Dlink due to thier excellent service.

I'm Speechless man! I'm a D-link faithful after hearing this. But it sound so ridiculous cos i can dun buy new one, just go down said mine spoil then they give me new model, 2 years later i do the same. Doesn't make sense right?

Nichi
10-07-2008, 06:05 PM
I'm Speechless man! I'm a D-link faithful after hearing this. But it sound so ridiculous cos i can dun buy new one, just go down said mine spoil then they give me new model, 2 years later i do the same. Doesn't make sense right?
its true...

last time my di624+ got problem also i went down they never check just give me new one...

tigerwoods
10-07-2008, 09:42 PM

well u can choose to abuse the service til dlink stop it then all will loose.

cpuer
11-07-2008, 08:40 AM
well u can choose to abuse the service til dlink stop it then all will loose.

dlink should have a better control too, cannot leave all to the conscience of their customers.:)

tigerwoods
11-07-2008, 12:23 PM
do i need to enable QOS n the router? QOS turn OFF better or On better

human_shieldz
11-07-2008, 03:41 PM
dlink should have a better control too, cannot leave all to the conscience of their customers.:)

YEAH THEY DEFINITELY SHOULD HAVE BETTER CONTROL COS MY UNIT IS DEAD!!!

Came home turn it on, only the power LED is on, none of other lights is up at all.

So now how?? Bring it back to the shop or wat?? This is the 1st time i have something failing on me so soon, 2 weeks after i bought it!!! :eek:

tigerwoods
11-07-2008, 04:06 PM
RMA one to one exchange at funan pcpro

human_shieldz
11-07-2008, 04:25 PM
RMA one to one exchange at funan pcpro

Thanks. 1st time in my life i actually need to exchange something, kinda lost lol.

human_shieldz
13-07-2008, 11:46 PM
RMAed! Happy D-link customer still. Gonna unwrap and try it tmr.

liangtam
14-07-2008, 12:02 AM

They are already starting to check on receipts n other stuff le.
Shld be quite apparent on amt of 'abuse'

imacbie
14-07-2008, 12:11 AM
ouch. what if receipts threw liao?

human_shieldz
14-07-2008, 12:12 AM

How do u know that?

I think lifetime warranty is quite silly. 5 years warranty is more than enough. Anything more they are taking a beating from it.

liangtam
14-07-2008, 12:22 AM

Go down jurong ba. Those staying at east like me will find it hassle liao, lol.

How do u know that?

I think lifetime warranty is quite silly. 5 years warranty is more than enough. Anything more they are taking a beating from it.

Give u more support u not happy meh?

human_shieldz
14-07-2008, 12:25 AM

U go to D-link Singapore website, i think its written there what to do. Most likely u have to go down to Boon Lay there the service center. Since its a lifetime warranty thing, i think they will repair it for u if its internal fault and not physical damage.

Next time buy things just stuff the receipt back into the box. I return them everything nicely pack up man hah.

human_shieldz
14-07-2008, 12:26 AM

I happy la of course but just saying cos of some abuser, its unfair to them.

human_shieldz
14-07-2008, 12:27 AM

Yeah when i was there, the lady ask me whats wrong, open up and check everything for physical problem. and items

imacbie
14-07-2008, 01:08 AM

ah kz. not like mine has got any problems. (touch wood) am staying jurong ext. so its still consider near bah.

Nichi
14-07-2008, 01:43 AM
eh?

they started checking long time ago already wad...

last time i rma my 624+ they also check receipt

liangtam
14-07-2008, 01:57 AM
Last time ish no question asked
Now ish got qn on ur device.

tigerwoods
14-07-2008, 12:44 PM
at pcpro they never check receipt, maybe i too handsome

human_shieldz
14-07-2008, 01:30 PM
Check or no check, can RMA good already. Just hope this goes on as i still feel this DIR-300 model seem flawed.

ChiaZhenYu
14-07-2008, 01:44 PM
i flash to DDWRT then back to orginal dlink firmware. got problem sia... the wireless dun work and the dhcp gives me external ip. i wanted to send to dlink service center @ jurong but i working mon-fri; no time to do so.

human_shieldz
14-07-2008, 02:28 PM
i flash to DDWRT then back to orginal dlink firmware. got problem sia... the wireless dun work and the dhcp gives me external ip. i wanted to send to dlink service center @ jurong but i working mon-fri; no time to do so.

Which is damm lame right cos i figure the service center will get a lot of people coming in if they open on sat half day. No choice lor, have to take half day and go down.

But then u void warranty when u flash to DDWRT.

liangtam
14-07-2008, 03:07 PM
I see quite no of coy 5 day work week riao.

tigerwoods
14-07-2008, 07:13 PM
Check or no check, can RMA good already. Just hope this goes on as i still feel this DIR-300 model seem flawed.

it's a entry level router & it works fine, not for heavy BT user.

shadowandy
14-07-2008, 07:42 PM
Which is damm lame right cos i figure the service center will get a lot of people coming in if they open on sat half day. No choice lor, have to take half day and go down.

But then u void warranty when u flash to DDWRT.

Wah.. seems like you not happy with everything one. lol

human_shieldz
14-07-2008, 07:54 PM
Wah.. seems like you not happy with everything one. lol

No leh, i'm not happy for them not for myself hahaha. I was very happy with my previous D-Link router mah. But its true wat, a bit dumb to expect people to go down there mon - fri from 9pm-6pm right? Its a Service Center leh, not 9-6pm center.

Can u imagine your restaurant, shopping malls and other place all 9-6pm also

human_shieldz
14-07-2008, 07:56 PM
it's a entry level router & it works fine, not for heavy BT user.

Yeah agree with that but my previous cheapo D-link router works fine and that's the frustrating thing lol.

shadowandy
14-07-2008, 07:59 PM
No leh, i'm not happy for them not for myself hahaha. I was very happy with my previous D-Link router mah. But its true wat, a bit dumb to expect people to go down there mon - fri from 9pm-6pm right? Its a Service Center leh, not 9-6pm center.

Can u imagine your restaurant, shopping malls and other place all 9-6pm also

Well, cos you are unwilling to earn less by taking leave doesn't mean they need to increase cost by operating on saturday as well right? If they operate on Saturday then people will soon complain that some of them still work 5.5 days and it is stupid not for them to operate 7 days a week. Humans are never satisfied.

If cost of operating goes up, perhaps we can expect higher price for routers or other devices as well. Just like what tigerwoods have mentioned, it is an entry level router and it is not meant to be perfect in every areas.

shadowandy
14-07-2008, 08:00 PM
Yeah agree with that but my previous cheapo D-link router works fine and that's the frustrating thing lol.

perhaps you can try to ask shops to see if they still have old stocks and purchase back the same router.

liangtam
14-07-2008, 08:08 PM
524/524UP still can find in shops :)
Still gotch authorised service center oso, except u nid receipt.

human_shieldz
15-07-2008, 04:40 PM
perhaps you can try to ask shops to see if they still have old stocks and purchase back the same router.

Hah, if u have followed my posts closely, i got DIR-300 cos it looks chioer thats all, my DI-524UP is still working fine and i'm using it now in fact. I'm too lazy to fix up the DIR-300 yet after RMA cos i goto run the cables behind my desk, a bit leh chey.

liangtam
15-07-2008, 06:42 PM
Just replace the unit will do ma. You can use 524UP power adapter on DIR300

human_shieldz
15-07-2008, 07:28 PM
Just replace the unit will do ma. You can use 524UP power adapter on DIR300

But my 524 is still working, not going to abuse the system. I would prefer to keep one at least for backup like my case in DIR-300, suddenly just KO.

liangtam
15-07-2008, 08:10 PM
I mean, just take out ur 524UP from ur current working setup n put in the new DIR300.

human_shieldz
17-07-2008, 12:03 AM
I mean, just take out ur 524UP from ur current working setup n put in the new DIR300.

But the voltage or whatever u call that for the power adaptor is different of 524 and 300, scared too much for 300. But i'm not good with electrical stuff so not sure if it will affect.

liangtam
17-07-2008, 12:40 AM
Voltage must be same, higher amperage supply better.
Feed ur handphone/laptop more current and the battery will charge faster also. :)

PS: I wouldn't make such a suggestion if it dosn't work. 524 adapter cannot be used tho.

shadowandy
17-07-2008, 11:08 AM
Hah, if u have followed my posts closely, i got DIR-300 cos it looks chioer thats all, my DI-524UP is still working fine and i'm using it now in fact. I'm too lazy to fix up the DIR-300 yet after RMA cos i goto run the cables behind my desk, a bit leh chey.

I seldom follow user problems unless they are interesting or worthy.

Nichi
17-07-2008, 11:36 AM

:s13::s13::s13:

human_shieldz
17-07-2008, 05:39 PM

A simple no would suffice :s13:

human_shieldz
17-07-2008, 05:46 PM
Anyway, anyone has any idea if they will bring this to Singapore?

ftp://ftp10.dlink.com/images/products/DIR-855/DIR-855_left.jpg

kohler
22-07-2008, 07:25 AM
Does anyone have problem with DIR router with DDT-WRT firmware . After 1-2 days , i cannot access the router IP. The internet connection is still connected but just cannot access the Router interface menu . The only way is to reset the router.

Firefox can't establish a connection to the server at 192.168.1.1.

Though the site seems valid, the browser was unable to establish a connection.

* Could the site be temporarily unavailable? Try again later.
* Are you unable to browse other sites? Check the computer's network connection.
* Is your computer or network protected by a firewall or proxy? Incorrect settings can interfere with Web browsing.

zeroex
22-07-2008, 12:10 PM
got reboot/reset router? DIn happen to me after i boot to DDwrt

sonic
23-07-2008, 12:34 PM
at pcpro they never check receipt, maybe i too handsome

When I rma my DI624 & PCI wireless card last time, they just ask what the
problem and photocopy the receipt, then open new box of DI624 & wireless card &
pass me just the card & router without box & cd.

Nichi
24-07-2008, 01:29 PM
Does anyone have problem with DIR router with DDT-WRT firmware . After 1-2 days , i cannot access the router IP. The internet connection is still connected but just cannot access the Router interface menu . The only way is to reset the router.

Firefox can't establish a connection to the server at 192.168.1.1.

Though the site seems valid, the browser was unable to establish a connection.

* Could the site be temporarily unavailable? Try again later.
* Are you unable to browse other sites? Check the computer's network connection.
* Is your computer or network protected by a firewall or proxy? Incorrect settings can interfere with Web browsing.
yes this happen to me on ddwrt also...

must off on the set then will fix..

after that will happen again

kohler
24-07-2008, 09:02 PM
i just checked the DD-WRT forum . it look like this problem is a known issue . Luckily the internet connection is still available otherwise i will sure flash Dlink firmware back to router after day 1 of usage .

Nichi
24-07-2008, 09:06 PM
i just checked the DD-WRT forum . it look like this problem is a known issue . Luckily the internet connection is still available otherwise i will sure flash Dlink firmware back to router after day 1 of usage .
i flash back already lol

liangtam
24-07-2008, 09:19 PM
i flash back already lol

yesh, flash back better :D

Nichi
25-07-2008, 01:47 PM
russian site got a newer beta of 1.04 but im having some problems with it...

tink going to go down to the tw one..

xolatw
29-07-2008, 02:46 AM
Hi guys, i'm currently using 1.03. I have this problem where I play WoW and after some time, I can't surf on my browser when I alt tab. everything is fine after i reboot router n modem. but this is occuring too frequently for my liking...... anyone has a way to solve this prob?

leepakleng
29-07-2008, 12:27 PM
Hi guys, i'm currently using 1.03. I have this problem where I play WoW and after some time, I can't surf on my browser when I alt tab. everything is fine after i reboot router n modem. but this is occuring too frequently for my liking...... anyone has a way to solve this prob?

DD-WRT is your solution.

Nichi
29-07-2008, 12:47 PM
try firmware 1.04

liangtam
29-07-2008, 01:34 PM
dd-wrt is not the soln...

xolatw
29-07-2008, 07:49 PM
juz upgrade to 1.04... let's hope things work. thanks guys!

xolatw
30-07-2008, 05:14 PM
seems like still doesnt work after upgrading to 1.04.... 2 situations generally occur.
1) im playing wow and when i try to alt tab to surf net the page does not load. browser down.
2) this one worse.... i leave my com on for a while like dinner or sumtin come back try to surf. nothing else on. browser also down cannot surf..... this is killing me!

zeroex
30-07-2008, 05:28 PM

try flashing the v24 SP1 and turning off the WAN Traffic Counter ?
I also encounter the same problem but generally left it alone.

kohler
31-07-2008, 05:51 AM
try flashing the v24 SP1 and turning off the WAN Traffic Counter ?
I also encounter the same problem but generally left it alone.

ok .. i will try now. Hope it will solve the problem

liangtam
31-07-2008, 03:05 PM
seems like still doesnt work after upgrading to 1.04.... 2 situations generally occur.
1) im playing wow and when i try to alt tab to surf net the page does not load. browser down.
2) this one worse.... i leave my com on for a while like dinner or sumtin come back try to surf. nothing else on. browser also down cannot surf..... this is killing me!

testing out is easy.
go to ur other com n try surf lor, if can, means part of ur os corrupted. Then u reformat lor...

xolatw
01-08-2008, 02:47 PM
other com also cannot.....

zeroex
02-08-2008, 01:13 AM
ok .. i will try now. Hope it will solve the problem

Seems like the problem still persists for me.

The last version i used before this was RC6.

Anyone else have v24final or v24Sp1 and found a way to solve the problem?

kohler
02-08-2008, 09:50 AM
Seems like the problem still persists for me.

The last version i used before this was RC6.

Anyone else have v24final or v24Sp1 and found a way to solve the problem?

After disable the wan counter since yesterday morning , my router interface menu is still accessible.

FrOzE
04-08-2008, 12:37 PM
Anyone know how to upgrade from DD-WRT v24 to v24 SP1?

zeroex
04-08-2008, 02:01 PM
use the web GUI lor

mr-r34
06-08-2008, 04:25 PM
hey guys i jus wanted to ask a question my dlink dir 300 router is pisisng me off lol. when im connected to the internet it works fine then for some reason it dosent let me do anyhting on the net. everythibng says im connected to the internet and the router looks like its working but i cannot do anything with the internet does nay body have any soloutions

liangtam
06-08-2008, 07:01 PM
check ur browser proxy

mr-r34
06-08-2008, 07:33 PM
it cant be ma proxy cause it happens on all the computers that connect to it

liangtam
06-08-2008, 07:38 PM
go status page, do screenshot post here

mr-r34
07-08-2008, 10:39 AM
here my status page

http://http://img110.imageshack.us/my.php?image=hjio2.png][IMG]http://img110.imageshack.us/img110/6228/hjio2.th.png

mr-r34
07-08-2008, 10:42 AM
sorry i made a mistake here it is

http://img110.imageshack.us/my.php?image=hjio2.png

mr-r34
07-08-2008, 10:42 AM
omg

here the link

http://img110.imageshack.us/my.php?image=hjio2.png

liangtam
07-08-2008, 11:42 AM
Telstra service with tomizone firmware?

Im not sure if the DNS entry is correct to began with, since this is a singapore forum actually.

You can try ping www.google.com in command prompt, then paste the output here.

mr-r34
07-08-2008, 12:31 PM
here wat happened when i pinged google on cmd
http://img366.imageshack.us/my.php?image=fdwi5.jpg

liangtam
07-08-2008, 12:44 PM
can see the internet is working fine as it should.
does telstra have a mandatory proxy or additional setting required on your pc/browser which you may have missed out?

liangtam
07-08-2008, 12:48 PM
You may also want to try here:
http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/

pop
13-08-2008, 12:31 PM
I'm having problem with my DIR-300. After a while of surfing the net, the router just hung up. I need to reset the router, either by physically switching it on/off or by rebooting from the router admin page. It then works fine again but in a day i may have to do a few times of this rebooting. Btw, I'm not doing any bitorrent or downloading, just normal surfing.

I've flashed to 1.03 and also 1.04 and still the same although with 1.04 I seem to find it slightly better.

Is this reason enough to send for RMA? Thanks.

liangtam
13-08-2008, 04:16 PM
If the router really hung up, you wouldn't be able to reboot from the router admin page.
I suggest you start checking up from your modem side.

pop
13-08-2008, 04:19 PM
If the router really hung up, you wouldn't be able to reboot from the router admin page.
I suggest you start checking up from your modem side.

erm, why modem? It would appear like the router is the one with problem since resetting it always work and I don't have to reset the modem at all.

liangtam
13-08-2008, 04:24 PM
If the router httpd is still running, you may wan to try status page, active sessions.

pop
13-08-2008, 04:31 PM
If the router httpd is still running, you may wan to try status page, active sessions.

thanks for helping. paiseh, what is httpd and status page and active sessions? :o

gantan88
18-08-2008, 12:45 AM
Hi everyone,

I have been faithfully reading this thread because i am intending to get the DIR-300 very soon. I acquired from my reading that the DIR-300 has quite a substantial amount of problems which is due to using BT and then flashing the firmware to solve the issues.

I myself do not use BT and i am wondering if the DIR-300 function just fine if i am to use it only as a normal wireless router. The info in this thread is very rich but is too overwhelming for me.

Can anyone give advice here? Thanks!

imacbie
18-08-2008, 07:43 AM
Hi everyone,

I have been faithfully reading this thread because i am intending to get the DIR-300 very soon. I acquired from my reading that the DIR-300 has quite a substantial amount of problems which is due to using BT and then flashing the firmware to solve the issues.

I myself do not use BT and i am wondering if the DIR-300 function just fine if i am to use it only as a normal wireless router. The info in this thread is very rich but is too overwhelming for me.

hi gantan88, i'm quite a new user myself. been using this model for a mth plus now.
a non bt user also and the wireless router has been performing quite well, infact, very well for me. i dun think there is a need to worry about its performance :)

cpuer
18-08-2008, 11:57 AM
Hi everyone,

no problem, bought 2 sets so far, no major complaint on normal usage yet. Comex is coming next week, as usual, Dlink will have some interesting pricing for their products during these kind of IT shows, so wait out for it if you can.

Nichi
18-08-2008, 01:15 PM
Hi everyone,

im running bt 24/7 no problem.

using firmware 1.04.

can get from ftp.dlink.ru

gantan88
18-08-2008, 10:12 PM
Hi Imachie, Cpuer and Nichi,

Thanks for your feedback! I will probably get the DIR-300 with more assurance then. Is actually deciding between Linksys WRT54GL and Dlink DIR-300... but aesthetically the DIR-300 is nicer :s12:

I am waiting for Comex to come also, guess can get better deals then :s12:

kohler
19-08-2008, 07:37 AM

Thanks for your feedback! I will probably get the DIR-300 with more assurance then. Is actually deciding between Linksys WRT54GL and Dlink DIR-300... but aesthetically the DIR-300 is nicer :s12:

I don't understand why ppl still consider getting Linksys WRT54GL at this stage. In term of CPU processor speed , Dlink-300 is faster than WRT54GL.

MarineX
19-08-2008, 08:01 AM
I don't understand why ppl still consider getting Linksys WRT54GL at this stage. In term of CPU processor speed , Dlink-300 is faster than WRT54GL.

i will answer to that.. some people still believes that Linksys is the "better" brand. And that is why their utmost first thought will be Linksys rather than D-Link.

cpuer
19-08-2008, 09:39 AM

Get it on the last day ie Sunday. They may even "lelong" it further.

I think both WRT54GL and DIR300 looks equally bad. DIR300 looks only nicer on pamphlet and on the web. The real thing is not as nice. Something like what you always discover for the McDonalds. :D

cpuer
19-08-2008, 09:58 AM

According to this link:

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Supported_Devices#D-Link

DIR300 runs at 182MHz, WRT54GL runs at 200Mhz. The faster cheap router at default speed is the Buffalo WHR-G125(@240Mhz). WRT54GL is really old, but its ease of 3rd party fw flashing is still unsurpassed. So it all depends on what the user wants.

leepakleng
19-08-2008, 07:21 PM
Get it on the last day ie Sunday. They may even "lelong" it further.

I think both WRT54GL and DIR300 looks equally bad. DIR300 looks only nicer on pamphlet and on the web. The real thing is not as nice. Something like what you always discover for the McDonalds. :D

Hi cpuer,

DIR300 chio lor.

kohler
25-08-2008, 07:35 AM
According to this link:

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Supported_Devices#D-Link

DIR300 runs at 182MHz, WRT54GL runs at 200Mhz. The faster cheap router at default speed is the Buffalo WHR-G125(@240Mhz). WRT54GL is really old, but its ease of 3rd party fw flashing is still unsurpassed. So it all depends on what the user wants.

DIR300 is using Atheros chipset which is difference from Linksys Broadcom chipset , therefore the cpu speed cannot really compare just by looking at the speed frequency. I have use WRT54GL and DIR300 before , i feel that DIR300 is faster .

cpuer
25-08-2008, 12:21 PM
DIR300 is using Atheros chipset which is difference from Linksys Broadcom chipset , therefore the cpu speed cannot really compare just by looking at the speed frequency. I have use WRT54GL and DIR300 before , i feel that DIR300 is faster .

LOL, then I have nothing to say about how you "feel" about the 2 liao.:)

destiny38
25-08-2008, 04:21 PM
Hi, is there any way to flash the DIR-300 back to original firmware from DD-WRT? Thanks in advance.

liangtam
25-08-2008, 05:16 PM
Hi, is there any way to flash the DIR-300 back to original firmware from DD-WRT? Thanks in advance.

Yes. can flash back.

destiny38
25-08-2008, 10:53 PM
Hi liangtam, can give me some advise? I followed the instructions on shadowandy's webby but after flashing back, can't resolve IP address on wireless. I checked the status page and the MACs seems to be wrong.

liangtam
26-08-2008, 12:25 AM
The MAC is wrong because while flashing, it was removed.

destiny38
26-08-2008, 09:28 AM
I can see the correct MAC addresses when using DD-WRT. How do I correct it when flashing back to original firmware? Thanks ... =)

liangtam
26-08-2008, 10:45 AM
it is not possible for u to see the correct MAC in dd-wrt

destiny38
26-08-2008, 02:02 PM
it is not possible for u to see the correct MAC in dd-wrt
pm'ed you for more details!

destiny38
27-08-2008, 10:25 AM
pm'ed you for more details!
Hi liangtam, can you direct me to where I can find more information about flashing back to original firmware?

shadowandy
27-08-2008, 11:24 AM
Hi liangtam, can you direct me to where I can find more information about flashing back to original firmware?

I think that is the only guide so far for the past 1 year.

destiny38
27-08-2008, 11:53 AM
I think that is the only guide so far for the past 1 year.
Hi shadowandy, you are referring to your guide right? But liangtam mentioned there is a way to flash back without messing up the MAC address?

shadowandy
27-08-2008, 12:26 PM
Hi shadowandy, you are referring to your guide right? But liangtam mentioned there is a way to flash back without messing up the MAC address?

I see I see. Then perhaps you can share with us. :) Interested to know as well.

liangtam
27-08-2008, 01:17 PM

Dun put words into my mouth :s27:

destiny38
27-08-2008, 02:00 PM
Dun put words into my mouth :s27:
orh, so you meant can flash back, but no way to fix the wireless connection lah? ok, now i get it ... no probs.

liangtam
27-08-2008, 02:16 PM
I onli said can flash back. The wireless can work.

shadowandy
27-08-2008, 03:01 PM
the very basic wireless functionality can work after flashing back. If you can read polish, perhaps you might want to try the comments on Flashing DIR-300 back to original firmware (http://www.shadowandy.net/2007/10/flashing-dir-300-back-to-original-firmware.htm). One point to take note is that they are using the dir300redboot from me (you can easily check by using winrar to open their archive and check the comment I placed in the archive).

silverleos
29-08-2008, 03:35 PM
does anyone know if this router can connect to nintendo wifi connection with a nds lite?

imacbie
29-08-2008, 05:08 PM
can but only using wep

silverleos
29-08-2008, 07:48 PM
thanks for ur help. :)

eha
09-09-2008, 07:32 PM
Hi

I was wondering if anyone can help me?

I been using Dlink for a while now. I realised after switching to DIR300, when I surf certain sites, it can't load. I have tested on LAN, so connection to the website is no problem ...

What setting should I put so that I can have smooth surfing? Funny thing, it has no problem loading other sites even while BTing (compared to Linksys which froze everything).

Anyone can advise?

Thanks in advance!

liangtam
09-09-2008, 11:52 PM
U using SingNet?
Put proxy yet?

eha
12-09-2008, 12:18 AM
I am on Starhub.

I am not sure why it loads very slow or I have to refresh it twice before I can see anything. I thought of flashing the hardware but after looking through the guide, I think it's too hard for me. I have no idea what telnet is :P

I did flashed my linksys the other time.

How? :( Very sian leh, DIR-524 was ok leh .... Sad.

cpuer
12-09-2008, 08:34 AM
I am on Starhub.

I am not sure why it loads very slow or I have to refresh it twice before I can see anything. I thought of flashing the hardware but after looking through the guide, I think it's too hard for me. I have no idea what telnet is :P

I did flashed my linksys the other time.

How? :( Very sian leh, DIR-524 was ok leh .... Sad.

Have you tried a direct connection to the modem? If the same sluggishness, then it's probably a SH issue.

eha
13-09-2008, 01:09 AM
Have you tried a direct connection to the modem? If the same sluggishness, then it's probably a SH issue.

direct connection seems quite fast. i think it's the wireless ... why? :( what i did wrong? i dont know why certain websites got problem loading.. but overall i noticed slightly slower loading.

do i really need to flash it to make it better?

dir-300 can't disable lan connection right? like for wireless i can use mac filter?

eha
24-09-2008, 02:26 PM
can anyone out there help me to flash my dir-300?

liangtam
24-09-2008, 08:10 PM
Do take note: flashing void warranty(like all other manufacturer) :)

ChiaZhenYu
25-09-2008, 02:41 PM
if FLASHING TO DDWRT u got to be very very careful. even with instructions, things could go wrong. i bricked my DIR-300 once. my recomendation is to get the 1.04FW from dlinktw.com.tw. tat would be the safest for those nt so technically inclined.

liangtam
25-09-2008, 08:03 PM
it is practically impossible to brick the DIR-300, unless u go power off while flashing, especially at doing fis create. since it will write firmware in.

the standard firmware is still better :)

Nichi
25-09-2008, 08:17 PM
get the latest dir300 firmware here - ftp://ftp.dlink.ru/pub/Router/DIR-300/Firmware/

t3zuka
28-09-2008, 12:45 PM
currently the dd-wrt firmware is better or the latest one for better performance?

cpuer
28-09-2008, 01:30 PM
currently the dd-wrt firmware is better or the latest one for better performance?

From the many that feedback, DD-WRT seems to be a mixed bag on DIR-300. IMO, just stick to the latest official dlink fw will do.

Nichi
28-09-2008, 01:34 PM
just stick to the dlink firmwares

phuque99
12-10-2008, 12:34 PM
just stick to the dlink firmwares

The current dd-wrt firmware is pretty stable, except the http gui will crash if you run traffic history monitoring. They are still trying to fix it. Antenna power cannot be boosted on dir300 hardware. The only reason why you want dd-wrt on the DIR300 is to turn off QoS for gaming or to prioritize your own computer if you're sharing traffic.

amdburner
13-10-2008, 01:00 AM
get the latest dir300 firmware here - ftp://ftp.dlink.ru/pub/Router/DIR-300/Firmware/
I had tested DD-WRT v24 SP1 before and it still not stable to run Bittorrent.

Two days ago I flashed my router with firmware v1.05 beta here and it worked great, no more crashes on my DIR-300 for 2 days (running max 250 Bittorrent connections ) ! Recommend this ... :spin: :s12:

Maybe it can run smoothly with cons >250 but I haven't tested yet...

supergmail
13-10-2008, 02:59 PM
can anyone advise if the wireless lan portion can be turn off or switch off with only the lan ports working?

imacbie
13-10-2008, 03:05 PM
i think,

go to ur router page - wireless setup - manual setting - theres a checkbox to disable the wireless

supergmail
13-10-2008, 05:51 PM
does any know compared to linksys WRT54GC which one is faster?

phuque99
13-10-2008, 06:12 PM
does any know compared to linksys WRT54GC which one is faster?

Same speed based on spec, both 10/100 port. Don't think anyone is too free (or too much money) just to compare side by side.

nothing_on_earth
13-10-2008, 07:25 PM
hi guys, i got the DIR-300 few months back and whenever i load finish a video from the net, i cant surf the net or msn, pls advise tks.

phuque99
13-10-2008, 09:03 PM
hi guys, i got the DIR-300 few months back and whenever i load finish a video from the net, i cant surf the net or msn, pls advise tks.

Try:
Upgrade firmware
Use LAN port if prob with wireless
Plug your computer into modem directly
Change device with agent

supergmail
14-10-2008, 10:13 AM
Same speed based on spec, both 10/100 port. Don't think anyone is too free (or too much money) just to compare side by side.

faster as in some of the brother here feel the dir300 is faster in loadind the web pages.

Techno Pride
14-10-2008, 11:17 AM
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=39087

test ddwrt firmware for dir300

The_King
14-10-2008, 11:23 PM
when u wan to flash to ddwrt.

try not to get linksys WRT54G router cause it revison from version 5 onwards onboard is only 2mb flash when is good enough for micro version

using SH and bitcomet version 1.04 BT connnection set to unlimited nv hang beforebeen using ddwrt since i brought the router linksys WRT54G version 4.

using this DD-WRT v24-sp1

phuque99
16-10-2008, 12:07 PM
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=39087

test ddwrt firmware for dir300

HTTP server still crashes after a day if network monitoring is turned on. If monthly bandwidth is a big thing for you, you'll have to wait for the stable sp2. Otherwise, the current stable SP1 worked perfectly fine with all features enabled. Makes the cheap DIR300 work almost like the expensive DGL4300, minus Gbit ports.

didi123
18-10-2008, 02:13 PM
My Internet works when the router is off, but once I turn it on, there appears to be no connection.

Please help?

phuque99
18-10-2008, 04:34 PM
My Internet works when the router is off, but once I turn it on, there appears to be no connection.

Please help?

Call 24x7 number listed at http://www.dlink.com.sg/. They will help.

imacbie
18-10-2008, 09:46 PM

Please help?
even the router main switch off also can access internet ah ?? o.O

t3zuka
20-10-2008, 03:04 PM
anyone have any idea why my wireless adapter dwa-110 sometimes have problem obtaining an IP from the router? it usually happens when the computer is started after shutdown. I'm using WPA-PSK encryption and it will connect to the network but fails to obtain an IP. I set the mac address of the computer to map to a static ip to be issued. I dont think that could be a problem but is there anyone who can point out to be the likely issue here?

chercm
28-11-2008, 08:01 AM
this is selling for $39.00 at Sitex

richneo
28-11-2008, 09:06 AM
Yes saw it selling at $39. Very good price. Can flash with ddwrt and make it work as wireless client connected to pc via rj45 and powered using usb port

oppugn
29-11-2008, 01:18 PM
this is selling for $39.00 at Sitex

find the deal irisistable... going to get one... hope it works well out of the box

winguy
29-11-2008, 04:48 PM

Using Aztech DSL-600EU (in bridge mode) and D-Link DIR-300. On Singnet so using PPPoE here. DIR-300 on firmware 1.04. PPPoE set to "Always" (default was "Connect on demand").

Got a problem.. If I switch both off then power them on, the DIR-300 can't get the internet IP, even if I manually click connect. It requires a reboot (there's a reboot button in admin page), and after the reboot it can get the internet IP.

Any solutions? Thanks.

Nichi
29-11-2008, 05:06 PM

Using Aztech DSL-600EU (in bridge mode) and D-Link DIR-300. On Singnet so using PPPoE here. DIR-300 on firmware 1.04. PPPoE set to "Always" (default was "Connect on demand").

Got a problem.. If I switch both off then power them on, the DIR-300 can't get the internet IP, even if I manually click connect. It requires a reboot (there's a reboot button in admin page), and after the reboot it can get the internet IP.

Any solutions? Thanks.
u try on the modem first and when connected then on the dir

SPEED
30-11-2008, 09:11 AM
just got DIR-300 yesterday at $39 at SITEX
hehe.
:D

sfsy90
30-11-2008, 10:13 AM
anyone have any idea why my wireless adapter dwa-110 sometimes have problem obtaining an IP from the router? it usually happens when the computer is started after shutdown. I'm using WPA-PSK encryption and it will connect to the network but fails to obtain an IP. I set the mac address of the computer to map to a static ip to be issued. I dont think that could be a problem but is there anyone who can point out to be the likely issue here?

is the adaptor's driver up-to-date? maybe try updating the driver and see if it works

Francis85
30-11-2008, 01:14 PM
Yesterday hooted a DIR-655 today going to hoot a DIR-300 liao........

wiShfulStone
30-11-2008, 03:59 PM
Would a 655 be significantly better than a DIR-300 with DDWRT?

phuque99
30-11-2008, 04:04 PM
Depending what you mean by "better" in what feature. DIR655 already better in wireless speed.

mafia6
30-11-2008, 07:39 PM
sorry..just saw this thread...anyone can help?

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=2182165

help guys i have a problem with my dir300 together with the speedtouch516/536(given by singnet).

I setup everything already and i can surf the net and my lappy gets a wireless signal and can surf also, but i cant install/configure the router(dir300) with the cd provided. i cannot access it even with 192.168.0.1 from my browser.

from the cd i go the "configure router" step and i get the error 112 "incorrect router"

if i try accessing from the browser it gives me "The connection has timed out. The server at 192.168.0.1 is taking too long to respond"

what am i doing wrong? :(

phuque99
30-11-2008, 10:51 PM
Maybe your modem is doing the routing, with dhcp turned on.

kheng86
18-12-2008, 09:34 PM

i didn't realise it was a russian site and i upgraded my dir300 with the lang pack and now my router interface is in russian! i tried doing a hard reset but it only removed all my settings and did not revert the language. Anyone have a English language pack :s11:

liangtam
18-12-2008, 09:42 PM
then u go other sites get the eng firmware lor.

kyo1973
19-12-2008, 11:26 AM
i didn't realise it was a russian site and i upgraded my dir300 with the lang pack and now my router interface is in russian! i tried doing a hard reset but it only removed all my settings and did not revert the language. Anyone have a English language pack :s11:

Try to dl firmware from local site and refresh again...

uni_user
19-12-2008, 12:47 PM
sorry..just saw this thread...anyone can help?

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=2182165

help guys i have a problem with my dir300 together with the speedtouch516/536(given by singnet).

I setup everything already and i can surf the net and my lappy gets a wireless signal and can surf also, but i cant install/configure the router(dir300) with the cd provided. i cannot access it even with 192.168.0.1 from my browser.

from the cd i go the "configure router" step and i get the error 112 "incorrect router"

if i try accessing from the browser it gives me "The connection has timed out. The server at 192.168.0.1 is taking too long to respond"

what am i doing wrong? :(

i think the error msg speak for itself. Try connect to your router using LAN cable. Then change the SSID to something unique.

I had similar experience with linksys router because my neighbor didn't change his/her default SSID, I cant detect mine and keep connecting to his/her instead.

x00007
13-01-2009, 09:20 PM
I am a user BT. My computer terms 24h/24. Daily download a 25GB. Is router DIR-300 is a good choice for me. My devices
Comp 24/24 run RJ-45
Notebook 3h run Wi-fi
Nokia N95 Wi-fi 2h run