View Full Version : DIR-300
zeroex
06-10-2007, 05:51 PM
Heres my review of DIR-300 if anyone is considering buying it...
If u are a relatively heavy BT user... PLS SKIP this router...
Running UTorrent with 3 or more torrents downloading, u will HANG the router...
It will stop responding to HTTP traffic and just hang and nothing other than a hard on/off will reset it.
Even my 3-4yr old linksys doesnt do that... sheesh...
The FIrewall SPI checkbox cannot be ticked... so its a useless addition...
And any changes u make takes like 30 sec to save.
Update: Bad set, RMA-ed liao
lamesensei
06-10-2007, 06:03 PM
if u set each torrent with like 1000 connections i think ur asking to die.
http://www.shadowandy.net/_html/archives/2007/09/dir300_ddwrt_bittorrent_test.html
richneo
06-10-2007, 06:26 PM
what thing cannot be ticked?
http://img509.imageshack.us/img509/5391/spitickhb2.jpg
my torrent runs okie..
http://img509.imageshack.us/img509/9195/toron300tz3.jpg
sorry for the big pic else cannot see the small wordings on the 2nd pic
shadowandy
06-10-2007, 10:18 PM
Heres my review of DIR-300 if anyone is considering buying it...
If u are a relatively heavy BT user... PLS SKIP this router...
Running UTorrent with 3 or more torrents downloading, u will HANG the router...
It will stop responding to HTTP traffic and just hang and nothing other than a hard on/off will reset it.
Even my 3-4yr old linksys doesnt do that... sheesh...
The FIrewall SPI checkbox cannot be ticked... so its a useless addition...
And any changes u make takes like 30 sec to save.
Funny, my old linksys also hangs on heavy BT load (if it is on the linksys firmware then).
If you are game enough to try, you might want to try dd-wrt on the dir-300. At least it is more stable. But at least the WAN-LAN throughput is much better than the WRT54G.
alanchia67
06-10-2007, 10:20 PM
TS, what firmware version you running dir-300?
richneo
06-10-2007, 10:37 PM
Funny, my old linksys also hangs on heavy BT load (if it is on the linksys firmware then).
If you are game enough to try, you might want to try dd-wrt on the dir-300. At least it is more stable. But at least the WAN-LAN throughput is much better than the WRT54G.
This is Wan to Lan throughput tested using chariot on DIR-300 :D
http://img249.imageshack.us/img249/6366/wlcc9.jpg
AttentioN
06-10-2007, 10:54 PM
hey richneo, where did you get hold of that softwarE? i want to do some testing too leh.
alanchia67
06-10-2007, 10:57 PM
download evaluation here
http://www.ixiacom.com/evaluation/ixchariot/?skey=datasheet_ixchariot_eval
lamesensei
06-10-2007, 11:19 PM
anyone have a review of its wireless perfomance? range etc
richneo
06-10-2007, 11:30 PM
anyone have a review of its wireless perfomance? range etc
its a wireless G router and covers all areas of my 5 room corner flat.
the lift outside my house has ard 3 to 4 bars
if u are looking for range, go for Wireless N router
lamesensei
06-10-2007, 11:34 PM
sounds great
zeroex
07-10-2007, 04:53 AM
oh my firmware is the Dlink 1.01.. latest one
@richneo: yah thats the one, the 'Enable SPI'. When i tick it and save. The next time i log in or refresh the page, its always Unticked. I dunno why I cannot activate it, or if it is activated, I also dunno.
@lamesensei: I set max total connection at 750 and it hung, I had to reduce it to ard 500 so that it wont hang, forcing me to reboot the router physical. Basically i can set at 750 or even 1000, it can still work but usually after a few hours it will hang.. so its quite pointless... So far I set at total 500 and it never hung so far
I would like to try the DD-WRT firmware.. but the flashing part is very long and kinda confusing...
richneo
07-10-2007, 08:36 AM
oh my firmware is the Dlink 1.01.. latest one
@richneo: yah thats the one, the 'Enable SPI'. When i tick it and save. The next time i log in or refresh the page, its always Unticked. I dunno why I cannot activate it, or if it is activated, I also dunno.
@lamesensei: I set max total connection at 750 and it hung, I had to reduce it to ard 500 so that it wont hang, forcing me to reboot the router physical. Basically i can set at 750 or even 1000, it can still work but usually after a few hours it will hang.. so its quite pointless... So far I set at total 500 and it never hung so far
I would like to try the DD-WRT firmware.. but the flashing part is very long and kinda confusing...
u check with ur computer again
i tried IE and Firefox after setting the spi and rebooting, the spi tick is still there
and it takes less den 10 secs to save the settings
set ur max connection to 512 inside torrent. from this thread, http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=1745469 it seems that most people has connections less den 500
flashing not really hard baz.. takes around 10 to 15mins to get it up and running but take note.. there are no way to flash back to default firmware yet
http://www.shadowandy.net/_html/archives/tech/
zeroex
07-10-2007, 02:03 PM
OK my DIR300 crashed again...
TOtal connection 500
COnnection per torrent 70
Total active torrent 4
And IT HUNG!
This is got to be the most piece of **** router ever.
And yes i tried IE and firefox, takes abt 30 sec to save each page
And the SPI cannot be ticked no matter wat i do
Firmware Version : 1.01 , Tue 10 Jul 2007
Comes with this out of box, tried to update with latest from website, still the same version.
richneo
07-10-2007, 02:09 PM
OK my DIR300 crashed again...
TOtal connection 500
COnnection per torrent 70
Total active torrent 4
And IT HUNG!
This is got to be the most piece of **** router ever.
And yes i tried IE and firefox, takes abt 30 sec to save each page
And the SPI cannot be ticked no matter wat i do
Firmware Version : 1.01 , Tue 10 Jul 2007
Comes with this out of box, tried to update with latest from website, still the same version.
maybe u got a faulty set
the 2 dir-300 i tried can set spi on 2 of my desktop and 2 of my laptop running both ie and firefox and all settings takes less den 10 secs
i found a later firmware from tsd.dlink.com.tw at http://tsd.dlink.com.tw/temp/download/2771/dir300_v1%5B1%5D.01_78am.bin
see if u wanna try it
zeroex
07-10-2007, 02:17 PM
yah maybe
I'll try the firmware and see
enriqueyang
09-10-2007, 06:43 PM
i have try the taiwan firmware so far and the 500 setting really sux man, max i can go is like 40k for bittorent?
i just switch back to 1000 source... before that my brother even set to 200000 for the max connection and it keep on crashing non stop lolx, however not much problem was encoutered on previouse router im using...
one last thing can anyone help on how to flash it to 3rd party firmware? im terribly confuse here....
please help....
lamesensei
09-10-2007, 06:49 PM
i have try the taiwan firmware so far and the 500 setting really sux man, max i can go is like 40k for bittorent?
i just switch back to 1000 source... before that my brother even set to 200000 for the max connection and it keep on crashing non stop lolx, however not much problem was encoutered on previouse router im using...
one last thing can anyone help on how to flash it to 3rd party firmware? im terribly confuse here....
please help....
even if u change the connection settings, speed still depends on ur seeds.
if ur connected with 300seeds, it is possible to attain speeds of 900kB/s.
i have done that with my crappy router.
and note thats still under the 500 limit.
the only down fall is that u can do one torrent at a time
anyway if u still want to flash, heres the link. it seems harder then flashing my wrt45g v5.
http://www.shadowandy.net/_html/archives/2007/09/mini_flashing_guide_for_dir300.html
enriqueyang
09-10-2007, 07:06 PM
hey malsensei, i dun understand the guide at all.. how to set my ip to that one?
and i buy this "crappy" router becos i wana use iview from starhub, now it give me this problem again.. so far i set my total max connection to 1000 and it hasnt crash so far, so do u think i still need to flash to that firmware?
for that firmware is there any flaws?
pls add me on enriqueyang@hotmail.com, i need some expert help from u in getting this done..
lamesensei
09-10-2007, 07:11 PM
my name also spell wrongly. anyway like i said again, ur BITTORENT SPEEDS. depends on ur SEEDS (basically the amount of PEOPLE who have the FILE) who are connected to U.
So, even if u set 20000 or 100000 total max connection, and ur still connected to only 3-20 seeds, a speed of 40kB/s is too be expected.
the firmware is still under testing. and if u dun understand what i just typed. dun bother with flashing ur router.
http://www.isohunt.com/download/18988284/ubuntu
try this torrent. if u can get more then 40kB/s, then ur quite okay.
enriqueyang
09-10-2007, 08:05 PM
sorry i have if i have sound confuse, ok thx alot for ur help lamsensei.
liangtam
09-10-2007, 10:37 PM
My DIR300 running fine wor, occassionally hang. Maybe you wan try this new beta firmware that I got from emailing D-Link support ba, so far so good :D
http://www.gmeow.com/DIR300/dir300_v1.02_7a4e(1005092232).bin
lamesensei
09-10-2007, 10:51 PM
wth d-link firmware got beta one ah...
btw the iview firmware on d-link.sg got use one or not? dunnoe what starhub iview thing
richneo
09-10-2007, 10:55 PM
wth d-link firmware got beta one ah...
btw the iview firmware on d-link.sg got use one or not? dunnoe what starhub iview thing
i think starhub got dunnoe wat espn iview and etc
should be beta cos cant find it on dlink website
gonna flash later to try
enriqueyang
09-10-2007, 11:13 PM
i try the 1.01 on dlink sg website
its quite crappy whenever i load alot of bittorent thing.. it crash and "burn" lolx
now using the one from taiwan, great now i have problem connecting through wireless
roar... man i start to dislike dlink already...
richneo
09-10-2007, 11:22 PM
lol check computer or check user hahah cos the 2 firmware should be running same wireless drivers inside the router hehehe
liangtam
09-10-2007, 11:30 PM
Tried the one I got from D-Link support yet?
Its working fine for me :D
enriqueyang
09-10-2007, 11:46 PM
hey liantam, do u BT? how does it work for BT?
liangtam
09-10-2007, 11:55 PM
hey liantam, do u BT? how does it work for BT?
Now ish not the time for me to dl leh. I always download it one shot at a specific period, so no screenshot to show you yet :P
Anyway, I opened about 2.5k conn at one mass shot, so far so good :)
EDIT: I not MOL user, so dunno abt iview yet.
zeroex
10-10-2007, 02:09 AM
The DIR-300 cant handle multiple connection well...
well i try to BT... webpages will time out... once i stop BT.. then everything become normal... damn frustrating to use
zeroex
10-10-2007, 02:19 AM
Seems like the DIR300 hanging from heat and bit torent connections is not uncommon.
So much so it warrants a DIY solution....
http://forum9.uwants.com/redirect.php?tid=4565214&goto=lastpost
Update: Tried the 1.02 taiwan beta patch.
Results: it hang the router, cant access modem.
Had to flash back to 1.01 to get it to work..
Conclusion this is really a POS router... this will be my last DLINK product...
wohouboy
10-10-2007, 09:56 AM
Conclusion this is really a POS router... this will be my last DLINK product...
dare you say the same about the DIR-655?.. not all D-Links are crap la.. (Though my friend did have a D-Link USB Wireless-G adaptor go up in smoke before his very eyes)
Anyway I feel your pain man, but what you probably have is a crocked set, from what I see, the other forumers here are BTing on the router without problems..?
Why don't you try RMAing the set?
Also, I had the same problem with u (Page cannot be displayed) with my DIR-655, then I realised my half-open connections were reset to 10 after I updated my Windows. So perhaps that's something u wanna check also?
After setting half-open to 100, I can emule/BT (Upload at 10kb/50kb respectively) and host a game of DOTA without any problems.
scasi
10-10-2007, 10:04 AM
seems like the DIR-300 also after a lot of raving review, still does not live to it standards....... by right, as a basic router when release, should not hung at all even with it default f/w..... and still need the open source to support the h/w to perform...... why?????
shadowandy
10-10-2007, 11:02 AM
seems like the DIR-300 also after a lot of raving review, still does not live to it standards....... by right, as a basic router when release, should not hung at all even with it default f/w..... and still need the open source to support the h/w to perform...... why?????
Going by your reasoning, it also means that even toyota as a basic consumer car, it should be able to go up to 300 miles per hour? It shouldn't need any modification nor strengthening to it to hit the speed of 300 miles per hour?
There is trade off to practically everything in this world. You want it cheap, it is lower on resources. Then you will have the problem of performance.
No wonder Linksys WRT54G is a POS then as it still needs 3rd party firmware to make it stable. sigh. Even 3rd party firmware doesn't help the WRT54G's terrible WAN-LAN throughput.
zeroex
10-10-2007, 12:29 PM
dare you say the same about the DIR-655?.. not all D-Links are crap la.. (Though my friend did have a D-Link USB Wireless-G adaptor go up in smoke before his very eyes)
I would be hesitant to try another Dlink product after getting this lor...
Anyway I feel your pain man, but what you probably have is a crocked set, from what I see, the other forumers here are BTing on the router without problems..?
Why don't you try RMAing the set?
Cos I only have 1 router right now, if i RMA then my whole family got no internet access.
(In case u wondering, I only BT at night when the rest of my family is sleeping, so the problem doesnt affect my entire household)
Also, I had the same problem with u (Page cannot be displayed) with my DIR-655, then I realised my half-open connections were reset to 10 after I updated my Windows. So perhaps that's something u wanna check also?
Checked liao, last time i set to 100, using my old router no such problem. I even raise it to 120.. but still the same. THe only thing i can do is to limit the Utorrent to download/Seed 2 or less simultaneously, and set the maxconnection to 250 in pref. (Got this by trial and error) So far ok.... Not exactly awe inspiring...
Oh other things i Did is turn off UPnP, game mode and QoS. And turn off UPnP in utorrent as well.
liangtam
10-10-2007, 02:20 PM
Cos I only have 1 router right now, if i RMA then my whole family got no internet access.
(In case u wondering, I only BT at night when the rest of my family is sleeping, so the problem doesnt affect my entire household)
RMA takes few mins at their support office. Shld be able to surf on the same day when u bring it for RMA ba.
zeroex
10-10-2007, 03:16 PM
Issit? Ok if thats the case I might go and RMA it
richneo
10-10-2007, 03:32 PM
Issit? Ok if thats the case I might go and RMA it
i tried it over nite leh.. no problems faced...
can u post a screen shot of ur torrent and a ping to router and a screen shot of ur ip address all in 1 screen when ur router "hung" ?
scasi
10-10-2007, 05:43 PM
nope, not 300miles, not when all critics writes good about it and does not perform in actual..... Toyota is well known for it durability, and is all known fact. A lot of raving reviews for the DIR-300, that the reason, seems like a paid editorial.....
So can i say that DIR-300 is cheap?, so that we have to discount the performance?? Then how to compromise other brands which is lower in price and yet still perform??
Linksys is known for it well known 3rd party, without that, it can't even live up to today performance in the G area, loot at the 11n, anybody talking about it?????
Going by your reasoning, it also means that even toyota as a basic consumer car, it should be able to go up to 300 miles per hour? It shouldn't need any modification nor strengthening to it to hit the speed of 300 miles per hour?
There is trade off to practically everything in this world. You want it cheap, it is lower on resources. Then you will have the problem of performance.
No wonder Linksys WRT54G is a POS then as it still needs 3rd party firmware to make it stable. sigh. Even 3rd party firmware doesn't help the WRT54G's terrible WAN-LAN throughput.
liangtam
10-10-2007, 06:38 PM
nope, not 300miles, not when all critics writes good about it and does not perform in actual..... Toyota is well known for it durability, and is all known fact. A lot of raving reviews for the DIR-300, that the reason, seems like a paid editorial.....
So can i say that DIR-300 is cheap?, so that we have to discount the performance?? Then how to compromise other brands which is lower in price and yet still perform??
Linksys is known for it well known 3rd party, without that, it can't even live up to today performance in the G area, loot at the 11n, anybody talking about it?????
Then, pay peanuts get monkeys, is it?
Look at how problematic ish the Linksys vxworks series ba, thats why many people who buy it, hopes for 3rd party f/w. Oh, and its not cheap than competitor's basic offering either, neither is 3rd party f/w able to help much sometime due to h/w issues, such as low RAM.
11n, got people talking, where got dun habe. You nvr search enough.
shadowandy
10-10-2007, 07:09 PM
As what have been mentioned - for this amount of price, this is the amount of performance it can provide up to. Compare WRT54G and DIR-300 side by side without 3rd party firmware. DIR-300 has an edge over WRT54G in terms of WAN-LAN performance. Want to compare performance? Load in the same offering of firmware that is in the version 1 range. See what are the problems that occur in both routers.
Compare apple to apple, orange to orange. If you want to compare WRT54G with 3rd party firmware, compare DIR-300 with 3rd party firmware. Want to compare sucky performance of DIR-300 on manufacturer firmware, compare it with the sucky performance of Linksys WRT54G on manufacturer firmware.
Anyway, where are the raving reviews of DIR-300? Personally, I found that on default firmware that it will hang when total connection exceeds 500.
At the end of the day, I hope that you are not expecting for the performance of enterprise routers from Juniper/Cisco at the price of DIR-300 or WRT54G.
zeroex
10-10-2007, 07:37 PM
i tried it over nite leh.. no problems faced...
can u post a screen shot of ur torrent and a ping to router and a screen shot of ur ip address all in 1 screen when ur router "hung" ?
Once the router hung, it cannot be accessed at 192.168.0.1 and the ping will time out. BT connections and everything will be cut off. ie No connection going tru but Windows still show it as been connected to LAN. The taskbar icon will show that still got activity but usually is one way (ie going to the router but never back)
As for the http issues, that happens when when BT connections are high (setting connections to >300 and running more than 3 torrents at once) HTTP will repeatedly time out, and the router homepage will not be accessible. Its only when i kill the UTorrent and then the http and also router homepage will be able to resume properly instead of time out. If i use >500 connections and it hung, nothing i do can access the router - have to cold reboot.
liangtam
10-10-2007, 07:42 PM
Once the router hung, it cannot be accessed at 192.168.0.1 and the ping will time out. BT connections and everything will be cut off. ie No connection going tru but Windows still show it as been connected to LAN. The taskbar icon will show that still got activity but usually is one way (ie going to the router but never back)
As for the http issues, that happens when when BT connections are high (setting connections to >300 and running more than 3 torrents at once) HTTP will repeatedly time out, and the router homepage will not be accessible. Its only when i kill the UTorrent and then the http and also router homepage will be able to resume properly instead of time out. If i use >500 connections and it hung, nothing i do can access the router - have to cold reboot.
Have you tried the new beta firmware that I uploaded?
Oh, pls do try with other PC when trying to access the router's web interface page. In case the TCP half open settings isn't working well.
richneo
10-10-2007, 09:08 PM
try the 1.02 firmware
i whacked dir-300 last nite and till now its still stable with torrent running
access the web ui of the router that shows 1.02 firmware and do a constant ping of the router as well as torrent running and provide the screen shot before the router hang
scasi
10-10-2007, 10:05 PM
agree linksys is problematic, which i also mention that they cannot live up to today if no 3rd party support.....
11n... yes did talk and check, only the few same people, die off eventually becoz the purpose of paying 11n is to get premium, adding the 3rd party will only give you more enterprise features....
pay peanuts, get a died monkey seems like the right terms....
Then, pay peanuts get monkeys, is it?
Look at how problematic ish the Linksys vxworks series ba, thats why many people who buy it, hopes for 3rd party f/w. Oh, and its not cheap than competitor's basic offering either, neither is 3rd party f/w able to help much sometime due to h/w issues, such as low RAM.
11n, got people talking, where got dun habe. You nvr search enough.
scasi
10-10-2007, 10:14 PM
never compare before in my views, just agree that both of those are in the same boat, and of course different segement of user are in the markets. whether the 300 has an edge over the WRT54G, face off with it default f/w will be better which you have mention also.
Raving reviews.... maybe not my mistake, but thread of problem user, now i know, plenty of them.....
Jupiters/Cisco/watchguard whatever brands, are enterprise. Is not my level to touch nor question.... and also, not on the price i have mention that DIR-300 is cheap, it a good looking router anyway.
As what have been mentioned - for this amount of price, this is the amount of performance it can provide up to. Compare WRT54G and DIR-300 side by side without 3rd party firmware. DIR-300 has an edge over WRT54G in terms of WAN-LAN performance. Want to compare performance? Load in the same offering of firmware that is in the version 1 range. See what are the problems that occur in both routers.
Compare apple to apple, orange to orange. If you want to compare WRT54G with 3rd party firmware, compare DIR-300 with 3rd party firmware. Want to compare sucky performance of DIR-300 on manufacturer firmware, compare it with the sucky performance of Linksys WRT54G on manufacturer firmware.
Anyway, where are the raving reviews of DIR-300? Personally, I found that on default firmware that it will hang when total connection exceeds 500.
At the end of the day, I hope that you are not expecting for the performance of enterprise routers from Juniper/Cisco at the price of DIR-300 or WRT54G.
;) ;) ;)
wohouboy
10-10-2007, 11:47 PM
well. then you'd rather not be able to do what you want? (BT) just take one day go down and exchange it, i believe the RMA process is an exchange.
zeroex
11-10-2007, 12:01 AM
No I thot that have to wait days or week for they to send back to repair then reship here again...
if really 1 day i will go change...
@Richneo:
I tried a 1.02 beta that i got off taiwan dlink site and it caused the router to lock up a few mins after rebooting. Reboot 3 - 4times, all the same, the router hang after a few mins even if i am not doing anything. (ie no outgoing connection, no bt, just left the router homepage on) Ping will time out.
Heng still can flash back to 1.01 after i did a hard reset and quickly flash it before it stop responding...
enriqueyang
11-10-2007, 12:16 AM
zerox try the 1.02 version which that guy posted in this link, for me it works fine however i use the link which dlink customer support have sent me, so far i have use BT for almost an hour with 100000 max connection, 5000 max connection per peer and surfing, msning and etc and it still din hang at all
if u need the fireware pls do contact me at enriqueyang@hotmail.com, add me there i send u the fireware...
liangtam
11-10-2007, 12:24 AM
I hope the BT client will restrict itself and not actually do half of it, LOL. 10k is abit hard even with prosumer models. Think 10k best with Cisco/Juniper base line.
enriqueyang
11-10-2007, 12:29 AM
my bt hit 70+k just now but average now is 50 already and still din hand (using wireconnection to connect to router)
richneo
11-10-2007, 01:48 AM
No I thot that have to wait days or week for they to send back to repair then reship here again...
if really 1 day i will go change...
@Richneo:
I tried a 1.02 beta that i got off taiwan dlink site and it caused the router to lock up a few mins after rebooting. Reboot 3 - 4times, all the same, the router hang after a few mins even if i am not doing anything. (ie no outgoing connection, no bt, just left the router homepage on) Ping will time out.
Heng still can flash back to 1.01 after i did a hard reset and quickly flash it before it stop responding...
why dont u just try flash the one liangtam posted?
i have tested it and it runs fine and i believe we have been asking u to try many times and to post the screen shots.
do post the link of the beta firmware u download also. cos i cant find the taiwan link anywhere
richneo
11-10-2007, 01:50 AM
zerox try the 1.02 version which that guy posted in this link, for me it works fine however i use the link which dlink customer support have sent me, so far i have use BT for almost an hour with 100000 max connection, 5000 max connection per peer and surfing, msning and etc and it still din hang at all
if u need the fireware pls do contact me at enriqueyang@hotmail.com, add me there i send u the fireware...
precisely...
been asking him to flash the firmware but dunno where he get his beta from and he cant post screen shot of his problems
zeroex
11-10-2007, 02:12 AM
why dont u just try flash the one liangtam posted?
i have tested it and it runs fine and i believe we have been asking u to try many times and to post the screen shots.
do post the link of the beta firmware u download also. cos i cant find the taiwan link anywhere
Heres the beta that i used and didnt work:
http://www.dlinktw.com.tw/temp/dk2Support_Form2/12061/dir300_v1.02_79kh.bin
Got it from a taiwan forum.
ANyway I will try the other beta 1.02 now.
Update: Flashed to 1.02. So far so good. Now testing to see if theres any problem from normal usage.
wohouboy
11-10-2007, 06:20 AM
Update: Flashed to 1.02. So far so good. Now testing to see if theres any problem from normal usage.
so can you retract your comment that D-Links are POS? :D.. very hurtful... =:p
richneo
11-10-2007, 07:56 AM
its misleading as well. especially when scasi is working at planex and goes around bashing other brands with the failure of 10% he got from planex products.
enriqueyang
11-10-2007, 09:23 AM
since ard midnight i have test to dl with bt, surprisingly the router DIDNT crash at all, i dl 1 thing with 1500+ connected peers and acheive the speed up to 70K, all this ive done using wired connection, perhaps i'll try wireless too, let's see what speed it can get..
for the time being i just regain confident back in dlink, but we shall see...
enriqueyang
11-10-2007, 09:49 AM
i just encouter somthing strange my cable modem reboot itself twice in such a short while already, is this normal?
could it be the router who cause it to react this way?
anyone who using 1.02 the proper version tell me if they have this problem or not.?
one more thing does anyone manage to acess the surfboard sbv5120?
in term of changing the setting and all... lolx
S750WP
11-10-2007, 10:18 AM
I'm using a DI-524 firmware 1.04 from Dlink sg website. Did portforward and patch half opening to 100
Average hitting 90% of my download speed with good seed on my desktop connected with wire to my router.
My Utorrent setting
Global maximum number of connections:1000
maximum number of connected peers per torrent:999
number of upload slots per torrent: 7
Net half opening:50
liangtam
11-10-2007, 10:34 AM
i just encouter somthing strange my cable modem reboot itself twice in such a short while already, is this normal?
could it be the router who cause it to react this way?
anyone who using 1.02 the proper version tell me if they have this problem or not.?
one more thing does anyone manage to acess the surfboard sbv5120?
in term of changing the setting and all... lolx
If the modem restarts, you must ask Starhub why. It is possible they did some setting change or f/w upgrade(by the DS and US led)
The SBV5120 can be accessed when its not 'online' after you switch on. So you can actually see signal strength for a short brief.
enriqueyang
11-10-2007, 10:42 AM
oh ok icic, thx liangtam, but did ur cable modem reset as well?
becos it just did again for the 4th time already, u think is the starhub? really not the router which caused it to restart? hmmmmmm all this happen when i test run the new firmware using wireless connection, now i switch back to plug in directly to router and i hope it dun restart itself again... =.='
oh by the way which address to type in to browser for checking the starhubcable modem?
liangtam
11-10-2007, 10:56 AM
http://192.168.100.1. You need to remove the coax cable, else there is not enough time for you to explore the modem's web interface.
The modem rebooting problem has been faced by users in the past, although there is so far no ppl claiming how to fix it.
enriqueyang
11-10-2007, 11:06 AM
ok thx liangtam, really appreciate it, oh by the way does it matter whether it is half duplex or full duplex? as in i saw it in my router page just now.. and for the coax cable and rj45 cable, does it quality matter as well?
like does it mean that if i use a "monster cable" type of those cables, i will get a much better speed and quality so on so for?
liangtam
11-10-2007, 11:10 AM
Half duplex - 10Mbps
Full duplex - 100Mbps
It does matter.
As for those cable, very subjective. Usually no need change for both.
enriqueyang
11-10-2007, 11:15 AM
eh? hmmmm ok is it depends on cable for duplex?
or is it the setting of the computer?
or is it the cable modem 5120 only manage to run on half duplex?
and is the "auto" duplex setting reliable?
should i use full or half duplex for this 5120 and this dir 300 route?
sorry i got alot of questions to ask... XD
zeroex
11-10-2007, 11:35 AM
Haha Ok now testing at >500 connections... so far havent hang yet...
I didnt say all DLinks are POS.. i just said the 'DIR-300' but ok, so far it havent hang yet, so still got hope hahaha Will try and go back to my 'old' settings of 1000 connection and see will hang or not
zeroex
11-10-2007, 12:15 PM
Update:
connection set at 750, will start to experience HTTP time outs
so 500 is likely abt the highest i can go
here;s some pics:
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v441/zeroeximus/utorrent2.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v441/zeroeximus/session.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v441/zeroeximus/ping.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v441/zeroeximus/firmware.jpg
So its there's something I am doing wrong, let me know ya?
enriqueyang
11-10-2007, 12:22 PM
hey zeroex, do u use wireless connection or is it wired connection?
for me my modem reboot a few times when i use it, but not sure if it is becos of the router or not hha..
for direct connection im getting quite good speed though
zeroex
11-10-2007, 01:23 PM
wired
but doesnt matter
the damn router stopped working alltogther...
cold reset also cant save it,,,
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v441/zeroeximus/hang.jpg
zeroex
11-10-2007, 01:33 PM
Ok i going to RMA it rite now. If it still like that, I'm gonna throw it down the rubbish chute and buy something else grrr....
liangtam
11-10-2007, 01:39 PM
Ok i going to RMA it rite now. If it still like that, I'm gonna throw it down the rubbish chute and buy something else grrr....
Please give it to me if u dun wan it, then I can flash ddwrt in :D
enriqueyang
11-10-2007, 01:41 PM
hhhhhhha liangtam is ddwrt stable?
zeroex
11-10-2007, 01:47 PM
Please give it to me if u dun wan it, then I can flash ddwrt in :D
U help me flash DD WRT la, maybe that will change my mind hahaha
liangtam
11-10-2007, 01:55 PM
:o :o
Can meet to help u flash, but these few day busy. Nvm la, u gimme then I happy with another DIR300 in ddwrt to ply with :D
My no... 96513069
cpuer
11-10-2007, 01:57 PM
lailai, if stay in the east, let's meet up to do some DD-WRT flashing. :s13:
liangtam
11-10-2007, 01:58 PM
lalai, if stay in the east, let's meet up to do some DD-WRT flashing. :s13:
I stay in east oso :P
zeroex
11-10-2007, 02:12 PM
I stay in bishan >.<
East where? Pasir Ris? Hahaa
Maybe after work can la. u help me flash, i treat u lim kopi hahaa
enriqueyang
11-10-2007, 02:42 PM
i stay braddel here, hmmm why not all gather to MASS dd-wrt lol
richneo
11-10-2007, 02:51 PM
I stay in bishan >.<
East where? Pasir Ris? Hahaa
Maybe after work can la. u help me flash, i treat u lim kopi hahaa
i stay near u hehehehe
u wanna meet me to flash instead? :s34:
my lessons in ntu ends very late on tuesday and thursday thou hehehe
richneo
11-10-2007, 02:52 PM
i stay braddel here, hmmm why not all gather to MASS dd-wrt lol
lol meet j8 there mass orgy...
sorry i mean mass flashing... :s34:
cpuer
11-10-2007, 03:00 PM
I went to reread shadowandy's guide, wah seh, so cheem until i have to read it twice to grasp just a little of it. Paiseh, i dont dare to flash liao. :o
Just in case you don't want the DiR-300, try getting a WHR-G54S for a change. Slightly more exp, and shorter warranty, but much easier to flash. can flash to Tomato and any other 3rd party fw too.
enriqueyang
11-10-2007, 03:44 PM
lol meet j8 there mass orgy...
sorry i mean mass flashing... :s34:
ROFLOL hhhhhhhhha =x
zeroex
11-10-2007, 05:36 PM
J8 Mass flashing ah? Do we have to come in trenchcoat?? LOL
Just came back from jurong... now testing the replacement. the service guy just said its a hardware failure...
Update: its much more responsive (saving takes abt 10 sec, the statistic and active session page comes up much quickly ) Guess i really got a bad set previously
richneo
11-10-2007, 07:14 PM
J8 Mass flashing ah? Do we have to come in trenchcoat?? LOL
Just came back from jurong... now testing the replacement. the service guy just said its a hardware failure...
Update: its much more responsive (saving takes abt 10 sec, the statistic and active session page comes up much quickly ) Guess i really got a bad set previously
strongly recommend u to flash using liangtam's firmware too. so far its rock stable on bt and surfing despite some random ping timeout which resulted from my com using up all the connecrions :D
enriqueyang
12-10-2007, 10:55 AM
erm when are we gather ar? especially those in northeast..
and do each of us need to bring our own laptop and all?
wohouboy
12-10-2007, 11:00 AM
ah HA! so D-Link doesn't suck right? :D:D:D
fitzz82
12-10-2007, 12:08 PM
go thru all the troubles n its a bad set. haha.
liangtam
12-10-2007, 03:22 PM
My current setup, all 4 wired ports used, with white antenna :o :D
http://i22.tinypic.com/nf3a12.jpg
zeroex
12-10-2007, 04:40 PM
ah HA! so D-Link doesn't suck right? :D:D:D
Heh, ok updated the first post, but i havent tested it much yet...
so reserve the right to comment wahaha
Later i test with 10000 connection first then say... now at 500 niah.
Xbox Live gaming no problem so shd be ok for now. Heh
zeroex
12-10-2007, 04:42 PM
go thru all the troubles n its a bad set. haha.
yah man waste my time pulling hair out of my head....
hahaha
enriqueyang
12-10-2007, 08:18 PM
My current setup, all 4 wired ports used, with white antenna :o :D
http://i22.tinypic.com/nf3a12.jpg
ur router with white anthena is like a black guy with white @#$%^ =x lol but it looks kinda trendy lar
liangtam
12-10-2007, 08:54 PM
I have fetish for white. :love: :o
Too bad dunch habe white in color DIR300 :s34:
wohouboy
12-10-2007, 08:55 PM
Heh, ok updated the first post, but i havent tested it much yet...
so reserve the right to comment wahaha
Later i test with 10000 connection first then say... now at 500 niah.
Xbox Live gaming no problem so shd be ok for now. Heh
hehehe nvm laa. welcome to the Dlink lovas club
zeroex
13-10-2007, 03:03 AM
Haha Not so fast...
Test default firmware (1.01) with 750 and 1000 connection... router exhibits the HTTP time out error (including router home page) and pings to 192.168.0.1 were dropped. Guess it really cant handle more than >500 connection in uTorrent.
Just flashed with 1.02. Now testing...
liangtam
13-10-2007, 03:08 AM
Pls try accessing router and pinging on ANOTHER computer which is idling.
zeroex
13-10-2007, 03:21 AM
Flashed to 1.02 beta... after 5 mins it hung...
THink the QoS switch may have something to do with it.
Seems to be more stable with it switch off.
liangtam
13-10-2007, 11:09 AM
Flashed to 1.02 beta... after 5 mins it hung...
THink the QoS switch may have something to do with it.
Seems to be more stable with it switch off.
My set so far still fine :)
Pls do test it with another PC.
enriqueyang
13-10-2007, 01:46 PM
1.02 is quite stable so for me, but do any of u guys who using 1.02 got cable modem frequent disconnection problem?
so far if happen to me a few time already and the router unable to refresh itself after that, have to do a manual reset... =.='
btw are we going to have the MASS ORGY or not ar? =x
enriqueyang
13-10-2007, 01:47 PM
lovas club? errr hha first dlink problem i got already so headache already, i think i stay out ba..
liangtam
13-10-2007, 01:49 PM
1.02 is quite stable so for me, but do any of u guys who using 1.02 got cable modem frequent disconnection problem?
so far if happen to me a few time already and the router unable to refresh itself after that, have to do a manual reset... =.='
btw are we going to have the MASS ORGY or not ar? =x
I have a feeling the bug in SBV5120 ish only halfway fixed, like SB5101.
Mass orgy ish can, but if mass flash voids wrty wor...
shadowandy
13-10-2007, 01:53 PM
mass flashing of what? into dd-wrt?
enriqueyang
13-10-2007, 02:17 PM
yup but i suggest we try one first, if not later all have "orgasm" and gone and case and die then not good =x
shadowandy
13-10-2007, 02:25 PM
haha.. was using dd-wrt for dir-300 previously. dd-wrt is not bad.. I am waiting for openwrt support.
shadowandy
13-10-2007, 04:16 PM
Anyway, I have updated the initial flashing steps. It should be easier to follow.
liangtam
13-10-2007, 04:51 PM
Oops, I did it...
http://i20.tinypic.com/nl6ic4.jpg
:crazy:
zeroex
13-10-2007, 05:35 PM
Ooh yah it happens to me... the internet will get disconnected... but after a while (30 secs? maybe) It will reconnect itself... normal use + bt is ok...
but if it happens in the middle of a Halo3 multiplayer frag... its irritating cos i will lose points for 'quiting in the middle of the match'
zeroex
15-10-2007, 10:23 PM
OK the problem resurfaced... the HTTP time outs and the ping request to 192.168.0.1 are timing out...
even with the same settings for utorrent....
either this thing needs new firmware.... or i dunno wat to say about their performance... =\
alternatively, if the problem lies with my PC... i like to welcome any suggestion on wat is the problem
richneo
15-10-2007, 10:42 PM
OK the problem resurfaced... the HTTP time outs and the ping request to 192.168.0.1 are timing out...
even with the same settings for utorrent....
either this thing needs new firmware.... or i dunno wat to say about their performance... =\
alternatively, if the problem lies with my PC... i like to welcome any suggestion on wat is the problem
u using utorrent rite?
when u get time out is ur utorrent still downloading ?
when it happen, can u go to utorrent click on help and show statics den show screen shot here?
i have tried to rape dir-300 many times over and over but i cant seen to experience ur problems. but my heart goes all out to u :s34:
http://img527.imageshack.us/img527/7027/torrentpk8.jpg
sorry for big picture
zeroex
15-10-2007, 11:11 PM
yeah uTorrent is still downloading... but the speed isnt much
when it happens again, i will take a screenie...
zeroex
16-10-2007, 02:45 PM
there u go, din take long for it to happened:
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v441/zeroeximus/hang2.jpg
Also the router mainpage is inaccessible at this point, even though the utorrent is still running.
Frankly i'm getting sick of this issue....
THe damn router D/C me 3 times in 3 hours yesterday during a xbox game...
Damn it man...
also the router runs pretty hot, so either its a flawed design issue where the router is running very hot and cant take so many connections
or its a software issue with my utorrent and watever program i have.... and just to test, i have turn off everything to see if it works - (ie turn off antivirus, etc)
richneo
16-10-2007, 03:16 PM
there u go, din take long for it to happened:
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v441/zeroeximus/hang2.jpg
Also the router mainpage is inaccessible at this point, even though the utorrent is still running.
Frankly i'm getting sick of this issue....
THe damn router D/C me 3 times in 3 hours yesterday during a xbox game...
Damn it man...
also the router runs pretty hot, so either its a flawed design issue where the router is running very hot and cant take so many connections
or its a software issue with my utorrent and watever program i have.... and just to test, i have turn off everything to see if it works - (ie turn off antivirus, etc)
do a ip config /all and show us here
you are only connected to 54 connections which should not even stress the router at all
wat were the rest of the computers doing on the network? eg xbox... sister whacking ppstream and taking all upstream bandwidth and etc
and whats your isp plan. if u only have 128kbps upstream eg mol6000 and in ur utorrent u are uploading at 15KBps (120kbps) your connection will be killed by ur own upstream
can shed some light so we can find where the problem lies
zeroex
16-10-2007, 04:33 PM
exactly my point... my utorrent settings are very low already.... 2 simu download only leh
at that point all other PC is off. No network traffic except for my PC.
xbox, family pc, laptop all off.
Windows IP Configuration
Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : zero
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-50-8D-F1-B3-C3
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.100
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::250:8dff:fef1:b3c3%4
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, October 16, 2007 4:56:42 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, January 19, 2038 11:14:07 AM
Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-FB-EC-C5-49-DC-07
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4136:e38a:0:fbec:c549:dc07
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::ffff:ffff:fffd%5
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
Tunnel adapter Automatic Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Automatic Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C0-A8-00-64
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.0.100%2
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
cpuer
16-10-2007, 04:55 PM
Looks like it's time for DD-WRT liao:
http://www.shadowandy.net/_html/archives/2007/09/mini_flashing_guide_for_dir300.html :)
zeroex
16-10-2007, 07:51 PM
I think the problem is more than that... possibly physical...
the router is quite hot even I am using it in a aircon room...
it just hung on me even though i didnt use utorrent
liangtam
16-10-2007, 11:43 PM
Pls pls pls, test pinging and access router page on ANOTHER pc!!!
Also, nV firewall turned off?
zeroex
17-10-2007, 12:48 AM
ok i will do that when it hangs again
nV firewall off
or...
when that's mass flashing again? heh
chaicka
17-10-2007, 07:39 AM
exactly my point... my utorrent settings are very low already.... 2 simu download only leh
at that point all other PC is off. No network traffic except for my PC.
xbox, family pc, laptop all off.
Windows IP Configuration
Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : zero
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-50-8D-F1-B3-C3
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.100
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::250:8dff:fef1:b3c3%4
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, October 16, 2007 4:56:42 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, January 19, 2038 11:14:07 AM
Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-FB-EC-C5-49-DC-07
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4136:e38a:0:fbec:c549:dc07
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::ffff:ffff:fffd%5
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
Tunnel adapter Automatic Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Automatic Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C0-A8-00-64
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.0.100%2
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
You have IPv6 enabled on your system?
If so, disable it.
zeroex
17-10-2007, 03:10 PM
Ok confirmed one thing when the router hangs or stop responding with the BT issue, ALL other PC will either go into the limited connectivity mode or cannot ping router as well. So the problem isnt just on my PC, its affects every pc, and i have to cold reset to get it to work.
Now i have even less doubt abt the DIR300 design.... haiz
richneo
17-10-2007, 03:33 PM
Ok confirmed one thing when the router hangs or stop responding with the BT issue, ALL other PC will either go into the limited connectivity mode or cannot ping router as well. So the problem isnt just on my PC, its affects every pc, and i have to cold reset to get it to work.
Now i have even less doubt abt the DIR300 design.... haiz
dunnoe to be sad or happy..
i wanted my dir-300 to hang also... but cant simulate ur problems =(
http://img300.imageshack.us/img300/8105/dir300verystableii8.jpg
zeroex
17-10-2007, 03:50 PM
thats the funny thing... its not even near 600kb/s... i think the max download i can get is ard 100-200 niah... and total connection is limited to 250... and it still hangs... and somethings even when not BTing it will disconnect itself for like 1 min and then reconnect again....
Is it a hardware issue? Cos i feel its might be overheating or something.
I put it on the floor next to my cablemodem but my old router got no problem with the heat also.
Anyway i just called Dlink to report my problem and they say will call me back in 15mins....
richneo
17-10-2007, 04:01 PM
thats the funny thing... its not even near 600kb/s... i think the max download i can get is ard 100-200 niah... and total connection is limited to 250... and it still hangs... and somethings even when not BTing it will disconnect itself for like 1 min and then reconnect again....
Is it a hardware issue? Cos i feel its might be overheating or something.
I put it on the floor next to my cablemodem but my old router got no problem with the heat also.
Anyway i just called Dlink to report my problem and they say will call me back in 15mins....
couldn't be..
i run it over nite and my la fonera and wrt54g is much hotter
zeroex
17-10-2007, 04:42 PM
I dunno whats the issue...
anyway DLink support gave me a beta firmware... "1.02-BT-Beta"
The date of the firmware is screwed up... displayed as "Firmware Version : 1.02 , 四 11 10月 2007"
just flashed and testing it... if any of u want it i can email to u haha
richneo
17-10-2007, 04:55 PM
I dunno whats the issue...
anyway DLink support gave me a beta firmware... "1.02-BT-Beta"
The date of the firmware is screwed up... displayed as "Firmware Version : 1.02 , 四 11 10月 2007"
just flashed and testing it... if any of u want it i can email to u haha
lol they very obviously told u its beta liaoz mah date screwed also complain hahahaha
zeroex
17-10-2007, 05:36 PM
No complain la...
it would be nice if they wrote 1.02B or something with a proper date, at least can know whether is newer or older than any other beta (if have) :P
hiei02
26-10-2007, 06:51 PM
i changed my router to dir-300 recently. but my starhub iview doesn't works now. can anyone help?
liangtam
26-10-2007, 07:03 PM
You need restart the modem everytime you connect the modem to a different device.
hiei02
26-10-2007, 07:34 PM
hmm tried that. still doesn't work.. any configurations i nid 2 take note of?
richneo
26-10-2007, 07:47 PM
wat is ur firmware version?
http://www.dlink.com.sg/products/support.asp?sec=0&pid=602#firmware
1.01 supports iview
zeroex
26-10-2007, 09:16 PM
u can write to Dlink support....
hiei02
26-10-2007, 11:38 PM
hmm.. i updated to 1.01. but still nothing.. should i call D-link support or starhub?
edited: i enabled Multicast Streams. works now! thanks everybody!
richneo
26-10-2007, 11:39 PM
hmm.. i updated to 1.01. but still nothing.. should i call D-link support or starhub?
doubt calling dlink will help
cos all they can do is to verify if u are using a version of firmware that supports multicast
the ball will be back to ur court
zeroex
27-10-2007, 02:31 AM
sucks my DIR300 is developing problems again....
giving me problems to xbox live sessions...
liangtam
27-10-2007, 02:35 AM
sucks my DIR300 is developing problems again....
giving me problems to xbox live sessions...
Hook direct to modem and see lor, if still same problem, then you know it probably lies at ISP side instead.
zeroex
27-10-2007, 04:18 AM
hook direct - all ok. I played a few matches, entered a few games all ok.
The moment i plug into the router i get stuff like "failed to join game", "forza server not available" then try hook direct again, All ok.
arrrgghhhhh
zeroex
27-10-2007, 06:39 AM
ok
i spend some 2 hrs figuring my way ard and I flashed it to DD-WRT
of cos 2 hrs later, my problem just begun:
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v441/zeroeximus/new1.png
As u can see the router now doesnt get ip address from the modem. WHy is that?
I cant surf net but i can connect to other PC on the network....
I have to use a direct connection to my PC to post this... and frankly i'm getting really sick of troubleshooting router.
liangtam
27-10-2007, 10:25 AM
Ok, when you restart both your modem and router, can you show us that your modem is providing correct DHCP lease, especially in terms of time. If you're using Starhub MOL, some users do experience DHCP lease from modem expiring in just few hours only from the past, thus that would either be the modem's fault or the ISP's misconfig in the modem.
richneo
27-10-2007, 11:22 AM
ok
i spend some 2 hrs figuring my way ard and I flashed it to DD-WRT
of cos 2 hrs later, my problem just begun:
As u can see the router now doesnt get ip address from the modem. WHy is that?
I cant surf net but i can connect to other PC on the network....
I have to use a direct connection to my PC to post this... and frankly i'm getting really sick of troubleshooting router.
there is a ddwrt bug
disconnect the lan cable from cable modem to dir300 running ddwrt
reboot ur cable modem and reboot dir300 with ddwrt
wait till BOTH the cable modem and dir-300 has been booted THEN u connect the lan cable from cable modem to DIR-300
zeroex
27-10-2007, 02:52 PM
and what do u know that actually worked! WTF!?!?!
i spend 1 hr last night trying to get it to work and its a bug! FAINT!
ok under connection type after DHCP:
there is STP Enabled Disabled.
WHich one to use?
bangky
27-10-2007, 02:58 PM
WHich one to use?
doesnt matter. unless you are running stp capable switches within your LAN.
richneo
27-10-2007, 03:20 PM
WHich one to use?
lol u never post earlier hahaha
else i could have taught u that :s34:
zeroex
27-10-2007, 03:48 PM
it wasnt on the quite flash guide mah hahaa how i know?
Very good now, can xbox live already! :D
richneo
27-10-2007, 03:50 PM
it wasnt on the quite flash guide mah hahaa how i know?
Very good now, can xbox live already! :D
i bought a total of 5 DIR-300 liaoz :s34:
zeroex
27-10-2007, 04:07 PM
i bought a total of 5 DIR-300 liaoz :s34:
:eek: :s11:
wan so many for wat siah
richneo
27-10-2007, 04:09 PM
:eek: :s11:
wan so many for wat siah
relatives and friends
http://img88.imageshack.us/img88/1223/300zn2.jpg
5dBi antenna
zeroex
27-10-2007, 04:19 PM
got so good meh??
richneo
27-10-2007, 04:29 PM
got so good meh??
yar hehehe
got lifetime warranty some more hehehe
zeroex
28-10-2007, 02:05 AM
flashed to DD-WRT liao... want to get warranty have to flash back no?
richneo
28-10-2007, 02:13 AM
flashed to DD-WRT liao... want to get warranty have to flash back no?
yup be sure u flash back before u rma it if possible
zeroex
28-10-2007, 05:20 PM
well have to say DD-WRT is sooo much better...
no prob with BT+surfing+xboxlive gaming all at the same time :D finally!!!
alamak
28-10-2007, 07:25 PM
just got this router today.
what's the button on the side for? it'll blink blue when pressed. tried to find it in the manual but i can't find it or missed it. thanks
one more qn, does the dd-wrt f/w supports iview?
liangtam
28-10-2007, 07:30 PM
Thats for the WPS.
richneo
28-10-2007, 08:31 PM
just got this router today.
what's the button on the side for? it'll blink blue when pressed. tried to find it in the manual but i can't find it or missed it. thanks
one more qn, does the dd-wrt f/w supports iview?
there is a multicast option inside ddwrt on dir-300 but i dun have iview to test if it works
alamak
28-10-2007, 09:08 PM
thanks all for the replies.. i will try out the 1.02 f/w for a few days 1st before going open-source. :D
zeroex
01-11-2007, 03:56 AM
go DD-WRT! I'm a total convert. The default firmware just plain sucks.
liangtam
01-11-2007, 10:34 AM
I ish still prefer original f/w reh, ddwrt got bug...
richneo
01-11-2007, 10:36 AM
go DD-WRT! I'm a total convert. The default firmware just plain sucks.
i was still hoping that you "throw" away ur dir-300 so i can catch it downstairs :s34:
enriqueyang
01-11-2007, 11:16 AM
lol... i dun get it why newer router nowaday, especially the newer low end model really CMI in term of their ability to support and refresh themselves when using BT.... my older router doesnt have problem supporting at all leh...
liangtam
01-11-2007, 11:20 AM
lol... i dun get it why newer router nowaday, especially the newer low end model really CMI in term of their ability to support and refresh themselves when using BT.... my older router doesnt have problem supporting at all leh...
You sure? Don't think so leh, old router up lorry fast.
zeroex
01-11-2007, 03:33 PM
i was still hoping that you "throw" away ur dir-300 so i can catch it downstairs :s34:
Almost almost.... heng got DD-WRT hahaha
hlw8888
02-11-2007, 10:39 PM
tml gg to buy this router. Hope my decision is right. *crossed fingers*
Pokémon
03-11-2007, 12:15 AM
I had been hearing routers stalling since many years ago, during the eMule days.
Which router were you using back then? I remember my SMC wired router didn't have such problem though, but most others have then.
Molely
07-11-2007, 01:37 AM
hello to all,
i just install the DIR-300 today.
Everything seems find but on Utorrent i find that my connection is showing a red icon indicating that my firewall is block.
However i went to portforward.com and done all the necessary settings but it still shows the red icon.
Using original firmware version 1.01, Utorrent 1.7.5
My previous router does not have this problem
Can someone please enlighten me on this?
Thanks a lot.
Atnum666
07-11-2007, 12:33 PM
Almost almost.... heng got DD-WRT hahaha
So you have absolutely no more router problems since you changed to dd-wrt?
Was the flashing process difficult or could me 8 yo sister do it as well? Share more of your experiences please :)
liangtam
07-11-2007, 04:42 PM
hello to all,
i just install the DIR-300 today.
Everything seems find but on Utorrent i find that my connection is showing a red icon indicating that my firewall is block.
However i went to portforward.com and done all the necessary settings but it still shows the red icon.
Using original firmware version 1.01, Utorrent 1.7.5
My previous router does not have this problem
Can someone please enlighten me on this?
Thanks a lot.
Pls be more specific. What modem and plan used.
Screenshoot of ipconfig, status page of Router UI and Virtual server page would also help to eliminate boo-boo entries in the config page
zeroex
07-11-2007, 05:29 PM
So you have absolutely no more router problems since you changed to dd-wrt?
Was the flashing process difficult or could me 8 yo sister do it as well? Share more of your experiences please :)
I would NOT ask any 8 yrs old to do it.... really...
Anyway its not that hard, shadowandy's guide is pretty str8 forward, just follow every single step slowly can liao. It took me abt 1 hr but its def worth it. (cos i got little linux cmd prompt exp and i wanted to make sure. I stumbled and restarted from step 1 once, when i was halfway tru)
Other than the bug which cause no dhcp address that had stumped me for nearly an hour (its really easy to fix) cause i didnt know at that time, yes i can say that is has no problem up till now.
Hyori
07-11-2007, 10:44 PM
how to create warcraft gmae using this router?
Atnum666
08-11-2007, 01:21 AM
Thats good to hear, I will be installing DD-WRT this weekend then :)
Nichi
13-11-2007, 08:29 PM
Hi guys,
need some help here...
just got the dir300 router from the service centre in exchange for my di624+
having some problems surfing web while utorrent is running.
router on version 1.02 from dlink.com.sg
settings for utorrent is 50 half open connections and 200 global max connections.
tcp/ip hacked to 500 connections.
on the router active sessions page shows abt 236+ tcp sessions running from my pc.(wired)
having problem opening or loading webpages.
how to solve it?
*edit* having problems surfing web but bt is running well
thanks
AmdKenz
13-11-2007, 09:02 PM
Hi guys,
need some help here...
just got the dir300 router from the service centre in exchange for my di624+
having some problems surfing web while utorrent is running.
router on version 1.02 from dlink.com.sg
settings for utorrent is 50 half open connections and 200 global max connections.
tcp/ip hacked to 500 connections.
on the router active sessions page shows abt 236+ tcp sessions running from my pc.(wired)
having problem opening or loading webpages.
how to solve it?
*edit* having problems surfing web but bt is running well
thanks
DD-WRT flashing to the rescue ? :)
Ooh I'm so tempted to try out this router .. :)
Nichi
13-11-2007, 10:05 PM
DD-WRT flashing to the rescue ? :)
Ooh I'm so tempted to try out this router .. :)
tinking of that too but looking at the process from shadowandy blog im lost lol...
liangtam
13-11-2007, 10:16 PM
For those not willing to flash to ddwrt yet, try emailing DLink support and ask for updated beta firmware.
richneo
13-11-2007, 10:16 PM
tinking of that too but looking at the process from shadowandy blog im lost lol...
hahah
if u staying near me i dun mind helping u flash but im having exams this week ^.^
Nichi
13-11-2007, 10:42 PM
hahah
if u staying near me i dun mind helping u flash but im having exams this week ^.^
where u stay?
Nichi
13-11-2007, 10:43 PM
For those not willing to flash to ddwrt yet, try emailing DLink support and ask for updated beta firmware.
im using the beta 1.02 firmware found on dlink.com.sg
i suppose thats the latest?
richneo
13-11-2007, 10:49 PM
where u stay?
ang mo kio, seng kang area
Nichi
13-11-2007, 10:50 PM
ang mo kio, seng kang area
haha abit too far la lol...
im at east coast side near bayshore...
thanks anyway...
richneo
13-11-2007, 11:00 PM
thanks anyway...
near east coast ah hehehe
maybe u can pm liangtam to help chiu flash eheheh :D
zeroex
13-11-2007, 11:20 PM
im using the beta 1.02 firmware found on dlink.com.sg
i suppose thats the latest?
if u went tru all my pages of this thread, u will know that what i gone tru is similar to u.
Also if u email/Call Dlink support, they will give u beta firmware that is NOT on the website and dated more recently. It might improve.
All said, none of it was satisfactory to me, there were still problems.
So flashing DD-WRT would be ur final solution, and would also solve all ur problems :)
I no longer have the BT-webpage problem anymore
liangtam
14-11-2007, 12:13 AM
thanks anyway...
Bayshore again?? :s22:
Your residential area deep wor, must take bus 14. :o
Try emailing DLink support ba, 1.02 think old riao.
AmdKenz
14-11-2007, 01:09 AM
OT : Does anyone know whether there are still replacement stocks of DI-524 or has DIR-300 superseded all G (di-624+ , di-524) routers ?
TIA.
Nichi
14-11-2007, 02:15 AM
OT : Does anyone know whether there are still replacement stocks of DI-524 or has DIR-300 superseded all G (di-624+ , di-524) routers ?
TIA.
i changed my di624+ at pcpro at funan and got the dir300
Nichi
14-11-2007, 02:17 AM
Bayshore again?? :s22:
Your residential area deep wor, must take bus 14. :o
Try emailing DLink support ba, 1.02 think old riao.
ok will try emailing them.
not that deep in la...
near bayshore there...
actually my house just behind/beside the submit
* email dlink.com.sg?
zeroex
14-11-2007, 12:27 PM
yeah the .com.sg one... or u just call them
its faster
Nichi
14-11-2007, 01:48 PM
ok just got a new firmwre from them...
v1.03_7aui.bin
going to test it out
richneo
14-11-2007, 02:35 PM
ok just got a new firmwre from them...
v1.03_7aui.bin
going to test it out
remember dun set ur max connection too high for the time being
i think the firmware u got is still a beta
Nichi
14-11-2007, 03:18 PM
remember dun set ur max connection too high for the time being
i think the firmware u got is still a beta
im testing it now...
windows set to 1000tcp/ip
utorrent 100halfopen and 200global max connections.
so far so good
liangtam
14-11-2007, 05:21 PM
ok will try emailing them.
not that deep in la...
near bayshore there...
actually my house just behind/beside the submit
* email dlink.com.sg?
The Bay Court, East Coast hill, the Bayshore???
Lemme know if u nid help for flashing.
Nichi
14-11-2007, 05:24 PM
The Bay Court, East Coast hill, the Bayshore???
Lemme know if u nid help for flashing.
no la is landed...
very lucky place...
the firmware they sent me so far seems so good...
they didnt have a changelog but said that
Dear Sir / Madam,
Good Day!
Thank you for sending your inquries through support@dlink.com.sg!
We dont have a release note for it. But it does address Bittorent usage that can slow down the performance of the router.
richneo
14-11-2007, 05:38 PM
hmm i wouldn;t suggest sending the firmware to other people other den the source itself hehe
afterall, its not meant as official release =p
Nichi
14-11-2007, 06:01 PM
hmm i wouldn;t suggest sending the firmware to other people other den the source itself hehe
afterall, its not meant as official release =p
hmm... ok..
so far everything seems fine...
richneo
14-11-2007, 06:06 PM
hmm... ok..
so far everything seems fine...
yar hehe
just in case ppl blame u for everything in case they brick their router flashing it wrongly :s34:
zeroex
14-11-2007, 11:05 PM
BLoody hell last time i frequently email DLINk about the problem and they din even bothered to send me the 1.03. I even reported that their 1.02beta that they give me got problem.
sucky support... never follow up one...
or they know i go DD-WRT liao? :s22:
liangtam
15-11-2007, 12:16 AM
I ish gotch 1.03 from them 2-3 days ago only.
zeroex
15-11-2007, 01:59 PM
I dun have lor! Tsk.... lousy!
actually i also dun need
hahahaa
Nichi
15-11-2007, 04:42 PM
maybe is new one wad...
liangtam
15-11-2007, 06:09 PM
I dun have lor! Tsk.... lousy!
actually i also dun need
hahahaa
Its released recently, thats why you don't get it.
AmdKenz
17-11-2007, 01:10 AM
Sigh, having a slight problem with my newly DD-WRT flashed DIR-300. Somehow I can't connect to the internet with my Linksys AM300 modem, which I am using as a standalone modem right now. Was previously using the AM300 with DI-524 and no problem was encountered.
This is my DIR300 basic setup page :
DIR-300 Basic Setup Page (http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y285/amdkenz/DIR-300prob.jpg)
And my AM300 basic setup page :
AM-300 Basic Setup Page (http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y285/amdkenz/AM300basicsetup.jpg)
Unable to connect for close to an hour, sigh. Hope someone can figure out the problem. Thx In Advance.
zeroex
17-11-2007, 02:41 AM
could be the DHCP bug...
...do the switch off, unplug lan cable, reboot both, then wait until both boot finish (>30sec) then plug in lan cable.
liangtam
17-11-2007, 08:01 AM
Sigh, having a slight problem with my newly DD-WRT flashed DIR-300. Somehow I can't connect to the internet with my Linksys AM300 modem, which I am using as a standalone modem right now. Was previously using the AM300 with DI-524 and no problem was encountered.
This is my DIR300 basic setup page :
DIR-300 Basic Setup Page (http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y285/amdkenz/DIR-300prob.jpg)
And my AM300 basic setup page :
AM-300 Basic Setup Page (http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y285/amdkenz/AM300basicsetup.jpg)
Unable to connect for close to an hour, sigh. Hope someone can figure out the problem. Thx In Advance.
Please read the commentary box in shadowandy's blog on DIR300 dd-wrt entry!!!
Someone posted about it already.
doomster_999
17-11-2007, 08:52 AM
Hihi!
I just successfully flashed my DIR-300 to DD-WRT, but I have a few questions, because the flashing process had a bit of difference to what shadowandy posted in his guide..
The differences are:
1) At the loading a new boot loader step, the first command is "DD-WRT> fconfig -i". I typed this in, and then a whole bunch of other settings came out...I didn't know what to do, so I just press enter through all of them until I get the prompt back...Is this correct? Or do I have to re-do my flashing? >_<
2) Nearer the end of the flash process, at the command "DD-WRT> fconfig", there is a series of settings to enter. In particular, when I came to "Use BOOTP for network configuration: false", my default option there was set to TRUE, and I didn't know how to change it to FALSE...can someone help me here? In my case, I left it as TRUE. What effect will this have?
Thanks!
:)
liangtam
17-11-2007, 09:47 AM
Don't worry too much on the fconfig.
AmdKenz
17-11-2007, 12:45 PM
Thanks to both zeroex and liangtam for mentioning the DD-WRT to me. However, I have tried that method a few times without success. Seems like i can't even dial/connect to the internet, here's the status page:
http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y285/amdkenz/DIR-300prob2.jpg
Maybe I should switch back and try default firmware after all, sigh.
zeroex
17-11-2007, 02:05 PM
Hmm ok I ish using cable, so mine set to "DHCP" no problem....
anyone is using "PPPoE" ADSL like him?
AmdKenz
17-11-2007, 02:14 PM
Hmm ok I ish using cable, so mine set to "DHCP" no problem....
anyone is using "PPPoE" ADSL like him?
Hopefully it's another DD-WRT bug ? :X ..
Else maybe i flashed it wrongly :(
liangtam
17-11-2007, 03:02 PM
Hopefully it's another DD-WRT bug ? :X ..
Else maybe i flashed it wrongly :(
It IS a dd-wrt bug.
Someone else stated on Andy's blog already.
AmdKenz
17-11-2007, 04:10 PM
It IS a dd-wrt bug.
Someone else stated on Andy's blog already.
Then, does anyone have any solution ? Thinking of using back the original firmware for the time being.
AmdKenz
17-11-2007, 05:03 PM
Just found out that it really is a DD-WRT bug (same problem here (http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=22234&highlight=dir300) ). Perhaps dd-wrt v24 is still not meant for adsl users ? Oh well, have to be patient and wait for v25 .
I'm just wondering, has any ADSL user been able to bypass this problem ?
richneo
17-11-2007, 06:16 PM
Just found out that it really is a DD-WRT bug (same problem here (http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=22234&highlight=dir300) ). Perhaps dd-wrt v24 is still not meant for adsl users ? Oh well, have to be patient and wait for v25 .
I'm just wondering, has any ADSL user been able to bypass this problem ?
lol of course mah
no point for us to lie to you :s34:
liangtam
17-11-2007, 06:19 PM
You shld have read first before you start flashing.
Anyway, the alternative would be to set the modem into half bridge mode(if it supports).
AmdKenz
17-11-2007, 06:29 PM
You shld have read first before you start flashing.
Anyway, the alternative would be to set the modem into half bridge mode(if it supports).
I read about the connecting bug but I didn't know it would be THIS bad :P. And yes, I might try the half bridge mode for the time being, must trace where I found the method to configure the modem for that.
Hyori
20-11-2007, 09:29 AM
hey guys...i juz got 1.03 from d link.. however it can hang after a few min even without my BT on.... can someonet tell me the neccessary setting
Hyori
20-11-2007, 09:29 AM
also theres a button on top of the router... wad issit for?
AmdKenz
24-11-2007, 05:10 AM
Just visited DD-WRT website and I noticed that v24 RC5 is out ! :) Woohoo. Here's the Link (http://www.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/down.php?path=downloads%2Frelease+candidates%2FDD-WRT+v24+RC5%2FD-Link+DIR300/)
I'll be trying it out , hopefully can rectify my connection problems :)
AmdKenz
24-11-2007, 06:26 AM
Tried v24 RC5 out .. and it's working perfectly for me ;) .. now pumping it out .. :)
zeroex
24-11-2007, 11:47 AM
swweeettt time to update!
richneo
24-11-2007, 04:51 PM
thnx for the update!
using it now heheh seems like the dhcp bug and pppoe is solved
mikeeeey
24-11-2007, 10:04 PM
Hi all,
i jus get myself a DIR 300.
but i cant get it to work, even connect to the internet!!!!
previously i was using linksys. now i trying out DIR 300. but it just cant get me link to the net.
on the setup page, the left side shows im already connected to the Internet, but all my browser pages cant load! HELP!
cpuer
24-11-2007, 10:16 PM
Hi all,
i jus get myself a DIR 300.
but i cant get it to work, even connect to the internet!!!!
previously i was using linksys. now i trying out DIR 300. but it just cant get me link to the net.
on the setup page, the left side shows im already connected to the Internet, but all my browser pages cant load! HELP!
are u a MOL user? You have to restart all your equipments.
mikeeeey
24-11-2007, 10:17 PM
are u a MOL user? You have to restart all your equipments.
lol
yup.
guess i didnt restart them earlier..
finally it works!
trying it out now.. hope this wont disappoint me like linksys
mikeeeey
24-11-2007, 10:18 PM
what firmware is more stable?
i dont intend to use dd wrt cos it requires more work. (my linksys was flashed with dd wrt, seems easier to flash)
mikeeeey
24-11-2007, 10:26 PM
weird...
my laptop can connect without problems..
but my desktop can connect to router, but cant go internet. what could be the reasons? my desktop using linksys USB adaptor?
mikeeeey
24-11-2007, 10:43 PM
LOL!
sorry for flooding this thread.
found out the reason:
cos my desktop was previously on static IP and it goes like 192.168.1.888
then d link setting is IP ranger from 192.168.0.xxx
here you go. :D
mikeeeey
25-11-2007, 01:32 AM
how come i got DC .. and need to off modem, off router and ON again to get everything back?
something to do with firmware?
zeroex
25-11-2007, 03:10 AM
Issit? I using cable, i never once needed to reboot the modem or router ever since i ran it on DD-WRT.
The only time i restarted it was when starhub was down that day (think it was friday) and I thot it was a problem on my side. And that was on the buggy RC4 somemore... hahah
mikeeeey
25-11-2007, 09:00 AM
Issit? I using cable, i never once needed to reboot the modem or router ever since i ran it on DD-WRT.
The only time i restarted it was when starhub was down that day (think it was friday) and I thot it was a problem on my side. And that was on the buggy RC4 somemore... hahah
oh... i really like ddwrt (it works wonder on linksys, not sure on dlink though)
but i see the steps to flash it, im like :s31:
haha
need what telnet and copy dunno what commands. oh my, if only its as simple as flashing linksys
mikeeeey
25-11-2007, 09:25 AM
btw,
what dlink firmware is stable now? am still using the 1.01
richneo
25-11-2007, 09:47 AM
i have emailed in and obtained a firmware dated 20th nov.
anyone interested in it? can pm me ur email and i send it to u
mikeeeey
25-11-2007, 10:21 AM
PM sent.
thanks
richneo
25-11-2007, 10:29 AM
done
sent
mikeeeey
25-11-2007, 11:24 AM
done
sent
thanks!....
hklck516
25-11-2007, 12:48 PM
dir300_v1.03_7bke_Notimer.bin
Multicast function seem to lose efficacy compare with the 1.03_7bfi_8K
But Upnp bug was fixed in this version
richneo
25-11-2007, 12:52 PM
really?
im watching national geographic on dir-300 with this firmware leh
mikeeeey
25-11-2007, 02:19 PM
udpdated to this firmware.
seems good for now.
only thing is the chinese display of date. lol. but its ok.. like richneo says, its still beta
mikeeeey
25-11-2007, 11:02 PM
hi all.
anyway to increase the signal strength with the 1.03 firmware?
my router is in my living room, when im in my bedroom, 2nd floor, the signal is VERY LOW and speed connected is at 11mpbs (got drop to 1.0mbps sometimes)
the PC in my studyroom, same level as the router, got excellent strength..
any features in the control to tweaK?
thanks in advance
richneo
26-11-2007, 08:33 AM
hi all.
anyway to increase the signal strength with the 1.03 firmware?
my router is in my living room, when im in my bedroom, 2nd floor, the signal is VERY LOW and speed connected is at 11mpbs (got drop to 1.0mbps sometimes)
the PC in my studyroom, same level as the router, got excellent strength..
any features in the control to tweaK?
thanks in advance
try adjusting the antenna from vertical 90deg angle to 45 deg slanted
mikeeeey
26-11-2007, 09:25 AM
try adjusting the antenna from vertical 90deg angle to 45 deg slanted
thanks. gonna try it out tonight...
steventay
26-11-2007, 11:19 AM
can send me
Nichi
26-11-2007, 05:18 PM
im tinking of trying out the 3rd party after my exams..
richneo
26-11-2007, 06:23 PM
rc5 so far works good on my dir-300
zeroex
26-11-2007, 06:29 PM
updated and no issues for far:
there is a minor thing, the theme's preview button doesnt work properly, but u can press Apply and it will still work.
mikeeeey
26-11-2007, 07:45 PM
i want to flash it too...
is there a back up plan? like in case the flashing fail, will it 'brick' the router? Can it be restored back to defaults?
I had no idea whatsoever on telnet, should i avoid flashing, in case i spoil it?
richneo
26-11-2007, 07:50 PM
warning ah...
good to look at, nice to flash... once bricked, warranty void...
:s34:
cpuer
26-11-2007, 08:47 PM
is there a back up plan? like in case the flashing fail, will it 'brick' the router? Can it be restored back to defaults?
I had no idea whatsoever on telnet, should i avoid flashing, in case i spoil it?
LOL, no pain no gain. There's always risk involved.
liangtam
26-11-2007, 09:34 PM
Once u brick it, depending on severity, you may not be able to recover it in worse case.
Of cos, lifetime wrty covered by D-Link will also be void when u start flashing to ddwrt.
shadowandy
27-11-2007, 04:00 PM
Sitex is around the corner and I guess DIR-300 should be up for sale again. Was wondering if anybody is keen on a flashing session of DIR-300 to DD-WRT firmware on one of the weekends after Sitex?
Will be getting help from Liangtam and richneo to help out with the flashing process. Treat it as a small gathering session as well. In the event of bricking, those helping in the flashing won't be held responsible (i guess that is fair right? no risk no gain.)
What do you guys think?
steventay
27-11-2007, 04:07 PM
please send me
richneo
27-11-2007, 07:40 PM
please send me
what are u trying to request for?
send u wat?
liangtam
27-11-2007, 08:51 PM
Mass flashing session, be glad to help :)
Need find a place with power points.
Nichi
28-11-2007, 12:01 AM
Mass flashing session, be glad to help :)
Need find a place with power points.
near national stadium there the 24hr mac got lots of powerpoints... lol..
liangtam
28-11-2007, 12:07 AM
near national stadium there the 24hr mac got lots of powerpoints... lol..
Kallang mac/kfc near old airport road mrt stn ah?? Never been there for long time riao :o
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.