View Full Version : Sapporo-Tokyo
nikonll
15-10-2007, 12:09 AM
Hi everyone, am in the initial planning stages of a trip to japan next yr, still drafting lah. Just need some inputs from season travellers. Am wanting to visit Hokkaido and tokyo. Is it economically sensible? are they too far apart? Which one to visit first?
Thanx alot guys...
wang63
15-10-2007, 12:40 AM
Had this crazy idea of driving one way from Tokyo to Sapporo or the other way! But haven't get to do it yet! :o
nikonll
15-10-2007, 01:09 AM
Had this crazy idea of driving one way from Tokyo to Sapporo or the other way! But haven't get to do it yet! :o
hope it has cruise control.... :D
tamago_
15-10-2007, 04:31 AM
try to fly there on domestic if possible.
Hi everyone, am in the initial planning stages of a trip to japan next yr, still drafting lah. Just need some inputs from season travellers. Am wanting to visit Hokkaido and tokyo. Is it economically sensible? are they too far apart? Which one to visit first?
Thanx alot guys...
Always start from the northmost, and make ur way southwards.
U can either take a train or take a domestic flight.
I prefer train rides up though FYI.
it make no sense to drive all the way up from Tokyo to Sapporo... if u want, u can only do it from late Spring to early Autrum... During winter, we are not experience to drive on the icy road...
Furthermore, the cost of driving up from Tokyo to Sapporo might not be cost effective even if u have 5 pax sharing the car... somemore, most ppl in Japan do not speak english... once u are lost, it is difficult to get back on the road...
nikonll
15-10-2007, 11:44 PM
Always start from the northmost, and make ur way southwards.
U can either take a train or take a domestic flight.
I prefer train rides up though FYI.
oh wise jsbn....y would u prefer to take the train... :)
crazytravel
16-10-2007, 12:29 AM
Depending on your budget. Suggest that you visit these 2 places over 2 different visit. Tokyo and it surrounding has lots of interesting places and foods for you to visit and eat ! Go on the thread on Japan for more info
oh wise jsbn....y would u prefer to take the train... :)
Cos there are just more things to see?
I'm a scenery person so if u're those that doesn't like to sit on the train to see scenery, better not.
nikonll
16-10-2007, 07:36 PM
Hmm...how long is the train trip frm tokyo to sapporo?
nikonll
16-10-2007, 07:37 PM
Depending on your budget. Suggest that you visit these 2 places over 2 different visit. Tokyo and it surrounding has lots of interesting places and foods for you to visit and eat ! Go on the thread on Japan for more info
but i usually see people spend 4-5 days in tokyo enough already. Am not really into shopping or disney...
stiener
16-10-2007, 10:55 PM
To save time, take the domestic flight from Haneda airport. If you purchase JAL or ANA tickets. You may enjoy a 50% discount on the domestic flight provided that you purchase together.
nikonll
16-10-2007, 11:01 PM
To save time, take the domestic flight from Haneda airport. If you purchase JAL or ANA tickets. You may enjoy a 50% discount on the domestic flight provided that you purchase together.
Sorry dont mind me asking, but where's the best place to obtain this combo tix? JAL website, agent or??
stiener
16-10-2007, 11:50 PM
If I'm not wrong, when you call in to JAL, they will refer you to their appointed agents to issue tickets.
nikonll
17-10-2007, 05:09 AM
I tried booking through JAL online open jaw. SIN-SAPPORO TOKYO-SIN. It's priced at $3950. Is it too early or wat? Thanx..
Hmm...how long is the train trip frm tokyo to sapporo?
Abt 12hrs .
stiener
17-10-2007, 11:17 PM
I tried booking through JAL online open jaw. SIN-SAPPORO TOKYO-SIN. It's priced at $3950. Is it too early or wat? Thanx..
Your exact period of travel?
tamago_
18-10-2007, 12:26 AM
open jaw very expensive de.....
nikonll
18-10-2007, 12:33 AM
April 2008
nikonll
18-10-2007, 12:34 AM
open jaw very expensive de.....
Tat expensive meh... then how, must go back all the way to sapporo ah...
XsenseX
18-10-2007, 02:20 AM
I have this crazy idea of going for a backpackers with gf trip to japan in END NOV (this year) for 14 days
Not sure if i can have enough time to plan & arrange.
U guys think $2800 per pax (excluding air tix) is enough for 14 - 16 days of travelling & bedding & eating?
nikonll
18-10-2007, 03:27 AM
I have this crazy idea of going for a backpackers with gf trip to japan in END NOV (this year) for 14 days
Not sure if i can have enough time to plan & arrange.
U guys think $2800 per pax (excluding air tix) is enough for 14 - 16 days of travelling & bedding & eating?
depends where u wan to bed and wat u want to eat....hehehe...if not extravagent i suppose can get by...
Don't hijack my thread leh...heh
XsenseX
18-10-2007, 11:04 AM
depends where u wan to bed and wat u want to eat....hehehe...if not extravagent i suppose can get by...
Don't hijack my thread leh...heh
haha ... thanks for the reply anyways.
Oh ya, for your question. I've ask friends b4, its too far apart and theres too many things around tokyo already (can go kyoto, osaka, hiroshima .. etc) ... unless u r planning to go 2-3 weeks like me ... lol (ok, back to me again)
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.