PDA

View Full Version : Kohjinsha SH model in SINGPORE!!!!

Pages : [1] 2

Vygotsky
19-10-2007, 06:13 PM
Hi all,

happen to be in Funan today, pass by PA mart, saw the Kohjinsha SH model!!!
understand from the salesman it just came in today. Tried for a while as i have to rush for another appointment, found the following difference

1. Keyboard is more sensative, not like the SA, will miss words

2. better screen resolution, their default 1024 x 600 is sharp enough for me

3. Windows Vista Home Basic, its a advantage for me haha

4. Built-In Webcam, Quite clear

5. LCD panel shortcuts, screen rolation button, shutter(webcam) button and so on

if any bros find more difference please update me too, thank you

quailmaster
19-10-2007, 07:56 PM
do u know the price? 1.2K ? I thought i saw it at popular also ..

totoro17
19-10-2007, 08:43 PM
how much huh?

Edmax
20-10-2007, 07:16 AM
how much ?????? need to know the price leh!!

acerat009
20-10-2007, 10:22 AM
got liao ah.. must go see

Vygotsky
20-10-2007, 12:08 PM
Sorry, forgot to say about price, its $1399

quailmaster
20-10-2007, 12:23 PM
$1400 is for what kind of specs ah ? for SH6?

Vygotsky
20-10-2007, 12:41 PM
YES!!!! Intel A100 600MHz with 512MB ram(Upgradable to 2GB), 120GB HDD

Edmax
20-10-2007, 01:19 PM
thought its SH8?? or SH6??? thanks.

AsusEpoxy
20-10-2007, 01:20 PM
How does this compare to the Asus EEE?

sin77
20-10-2007, 07:21 PM
nothing impressive.

quailmaster
20-10-2007, 09:36 PM
the specs of SH6 is definitely better than asus eee but the price range is diff lah
asus eee is around $700 for top end model
SH6 is quite comparable to fujitsu u1010 .. 1400 vs 2000
but fujitsu has a better processor..800MHz vs 600MHz
but fujitsu also has a smaller screen ..5.6in vs 7in of SH6

leslens
20-10-2007, 11:26 PM
i dun understand why is the SH6 def better than asus eee

it has a slower processor 600mhz vs asus 900mhz
its hdd though bigger is slower than asus's flash drive

asus is significantly cheaper

am i right to say that the asus is then therefore actually faster?

Edmax
21-10-2007, 12:25 AM
i dun understand why is the SH6 def better than asus eee

it has a slower processor 600mhz vs asus 900mhz
its hdd though bigger is slower than asus's flash drive

asus is significantly cheaper

am i right to say that the asus is then therefore actually faster?

asus flash mem is 4 gig rite?
asus doesnt give u vista / xp...its linux.
asus is not readily available in SG....yet.

Its not all about processor.....its the overall package tt counts....no one knoes the batt life of eee yet.

broodlet
21-10-2007, 02:29 AM
asus eee got the option of linux or windows xp.. no vista yet though

leslens
21-10-2007, 06:54 AM

Its not all about processor.....its the overall package tt counts....no one knoes the batt life of eee yet.

I believe u are missing the overal picture here

we are talking about overal performance here (pretty similar if not the asus having an edge)
and also overall price (1400 vs ?700)

batt life of eee is touted at 3hrs on its specs (of course expect lower when wifi is on)

the only disadvantage i can see is if u really require more hdd space and have no space or allowance for external storage. I dont believe this justifies an additonal 700 dollars sgd.

leslens
21-10-2007, 06:57 AM

the asus eee also happens to be imo a much nicer design.

the 700 dollar price GULF is enough for u to buy a orig windows XP, a 500gb ext drive and still leave you with a couple of hundreds

Edmax
21-10-2007, 08:13 AM

the 700 dollar price GULF is enough for u to buy a orig windows XP, a 500gb ext drive and still leave you with a couple of hundreds

agreed that the SH is much more expensive...

yeah, u got a a point there....but u can carry a 500gig around...can u?
the eee, imo, is not having enuff storage capacity.

quailmaster
21-10-2007, 09:15 AM
I am not an expert on processors but both the sh6 and u1010 are runnning intel A110 600 MHz and 800Mhz respectively and they are able to run windows vista..

eee on the other cannot really run vista ..so although it has a 900MHz processor apparently the processor is less powerful

spidey36
21-10-2007, 11:28 AM
Can anyone who bought sh6 tell us if the batt they gave was standard or extended?

Vygotsky
21-10-2007, 01:45 PM
i asked already, it comes with standard battery, extended battery is optional purchase

KingOfHell
21-10-2007, 02:01 PM

to me, linux is definitely a huge advantage. who needs windows anyway if not for those stupid sch work. n asus has an 8GB SSD option, note its SSD not flash mem. waiting for eee pc to arrive

KingOfHell
21-10-2007, 02:02 PM
I am not an expert on processors but both the sh6 and u1010 are runnning intel A110 600 MHz and 800Mhz respectively and they are able to run windows vista..

eee on the other cannot really run vista ..so although it has a 900MHz processor apparently the processor is less powerful
it may be due to gfx or SSD space constraints rather than CPU power.

Edmax
21-10-2007, 02:08 PM
to me, linux is definitely a huge advantage. who needs windows anyway if not for those stupid sch work. n asus has an 8GB SSD option, note its SSD not flash mem. waiting for eee pc to arrive

different usage and requirements i suppose...I'm thinking of using it daily in the office... where 99.5% of the time requires ms software...perhaps i shld get both.......

KingOfHell
21-10-2007, 02:23 PM
:D yeah probably

totoro17
21-10-2007, 03:15 PM

is SSD good? wat are the advantages and disadvantages?

Vulpix
21-10-2007, 04:16 PM

If you drop your lappie, the only thing you have to worry about is your screen cracking, not both harddrive and screen. :D

dennisleu
21-10-2007, 05:38 PM
it consumes less power and it's significantly faster.

some considerations are its write endurance and of course the price. I'm sure given a few more years it will be as attractive as any thumbdrives. But for now, go with the flow, stick to HDD.

Vulpix
21-10-2007, 05:40 PM
it consumes less power and it's significantly faster.

some considerations are its write endurance and of course the price. I'm sure given a few more years it will be as attractive as any thumbdrives. But for now, go with the flow, stick to HDD.

It's not significantly faster for SSD unfortunately... Only certain tests SSD stands out.

xtrioxton
21-10-2007, 06:00 PM
It's not significantly faster for SSD unfortunately... Only certain tests SSD stands out.SSD is not flashdrive? But anyway i thought they both are much faster than harddisk. only that they can only store small amount of data right now.

Chee_Hian
21-10-2007, 06:15 PM
my 2 cents....

Actually the asus one looks not that good, with the big speaker at the side, and for something that is that small, it should at least be a tablet with touch screen, but the asus is non of the above.

Also, with 8gb ssd, after install XP and patch everything, you have at most 2-3gb left, so how to store files? Buy memory card or USB thumb drives? then must bring them around also.

leslens
21-10-2007, 07:24 PM
anyone processor guru can shed some light on dothan 900mhz performance vs intel a110 600mhz?

both e asus and kohjinsha comes with the 7 inch screen with a broad ugly border

im still inclined towards the asus for the price difference.
there are options to increase space
1) plug in thumbs (unsightly but honestly quite practical)
2) using the high capacity SD cards (8gb or so). Asus eee supports this.

in the end this is how i see it
use the asus as its designed for.
it is a mobile device. i dont think it should be used to store large files

buying an external 500gb is great as u can use it not only for ur umpc but also for other computers.

Chee_Hian
21-10-2007, 08:04 PM
anyone processor guru can shed some light on dothan 900mhz performance vs intel a110 600mhz?

both e asus and kohjinsha comes with the 7 inch screen with a broad ugly border

im still inclined towards the asus for the price difference.
there are options to increase space
1) plug in thumbs (unsightly but honestly quite practical)
2) using the high capacity SD cards (8gb or so). Asus eee supports this.

in the end this is how i see it
use the asus as its designed for.
it is a mobile device. i dont think it should be used to store large files

buying an external 500gb is great as u can use it not only for ur umpc but also for other computers.

that's my point.. it is not a truly mobile device without touchscreen capabilities.

quailmaster
21-10-2007, 10:36 PM
i suppose it boils down to what u need the device for..
asus eee is perfectly fine for light surfing and simple word processing..

KingOfHell
21-10-2007, 11:41 PM
my 2 cents....

Actually the asus one looks not that good, with the big speaker at the side, and for something that is that small, it should at least be a tablet with touch screen, but the asus is non of the above.

Also, with 8gb ssd, after install XP and patch everything, you have at most 2-3gb left, so how to store files? Buy memory card or USB thumb drives? then must bring them around also.
told u rdy, linux is a big plus point. if u dun like xandros u can change to sth like ubuntu or kubuntu or pclinuxos. 8GB will be enough. as for touchscreen, maybe u can buy the kohjinsha, use it for a month, n report back how often u use e touchscreen. im not promoting eee pc, but with all honesty, with that kind of price, i can't say that i can resist the temptation.

bangkibong
21-10-2007, 11:57 PM
yeah I think asus has its own advantage cos of its price. with its price, wa can't expect it to compete with kohjinsha right? and if install XP in 4gb SSD, it is reported we will only have few hundreds MB left.

obviously it is not advisable to install XP, even if u want to, trim down your windows XP with nlite. What is nlite? it is used to costumise your XP installation, remove all apps and services u don't need. Some guy in eepc forum managed to create new XP installation of only 400+ MB and RAM usage 50-60 MB. With this, XP will be good enough to run in EEE.

I am just waiting for asus to come out.

leslens
22-10-2007, 12:48 AM
qn is when will it come out in sg?

i do expect the taiwanese to be rather fast at such things
last thing we want is another iphone scenario

sources quote mid november for sg

ReiszRie
22-10-2007, 02:50 AM
in terms of all round feature and practicality, i'll go with Kohjinsha anytime...

ReiszRie
22-10-2007, 02:55 AM

that would be pretty pointless when the whole point in getting a UMPC is its all-in-one functionality in an ultra-portable form factor....

700 doesnt amount to much at least for me when convenience is at stake, i personally don't buy a UMPC for speed, therefore the SSD means naught to me when the overall package doesnt deliver true mobility.

Vulpix
22-10-2007, 10:24 AM
There are people out there willing to pay more for portability. That's why there are laptops that are less than 1.3kg, and people are willing to pay more for those. If I didn't laptop with a big screen (12") a UMPC would be my absolute choice.

Gaddy23
22-10-2007, 11:30 AM
imo vista is not really meant to be run on either on these machines. eee pc uses a dothan 900mhz. which is quite powerful. the dothan cpu is used on the previous generation single core centrino. i myself use a 1.6ghz dothan and i find it more than fast enough for most games even with 768mb ram. i would say its comparable to some ultra low voltage cpus used in the ultra small laptops eg sony tz(old model) and some fujitsus.

Only things that bugs me that is they should have put a 1ghz cpu. makes little diff in speed but for marketing would do wonders. btw i have seen the eeepc. looks very attractive.

Chee_Hian
22-10-2007, 12:39 PM
told u rdy, linux is a big plus point. if u dun like xandros u can change to sth like ubuntu or kubuntu or pclinuxos. 8GB will be enough. as for touchscreen, maybe u can buy the kohjinsha, use it for a month, n report back how often u use e touchscreen. im not promoting eee pc, but with all honesty, with that kind of price, i can't say that i can resist the temptation.

Actually, if I am to purchase a kohjinsha, i will mostly likely use the touchscreen only, since I am going to use the Origami for Vista interface. This interface works best when there is a touchscreen and the device is in a tablet form factor.

Demo here:
http://www.microsoft.com/windows/products/winfamily/umpc/action/index_13.swf

whatscooking
22-10-2007, 04:51 PM
The SH6 at $1400 with 600Mhz, 512mb RAM is truly overpriced. Perhaps those intend to get one should wait a little longer.

beeepmeeep
22-10-2007, 05:02 PM
Wouldn't Vista offload >100MHz from the processor already. Then it's equivalent of <500MHz on the SA1 with XP. Just my thoughts.

As for the Asus, it would be much better to have a non-SSD and bigger cap hdd. With 8GB, you can't even put 2 DVD movies in. It would severely limit its use.

lampPC
22-10-2007, 06:49 PM
to me, linux is definitely a huge advantage. who needs windows anyway if not for those stupid sch work. n asus has an 8GB SSD option, note its SSD not flash mem. waiting for eee pc to arrivePlease note that ASUS's ssd is flash memory

animeonegai
22-10-2007, 07:18 PM
if only asus EEE has option for hdd... instead of SSD...

quailmaster
22-10-2007, 10:34 PM
think the asus eee is positioned to be a second notebook .. maybe even like a "toy" for kids and elderly.. for its price range of 600 to 700 dollars cannot expect it to have so much stuff..

frozentrace
22-10-2007, 11:02 PM
Kohjinsha SH6 overview
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nimujaeFOq8

:)

it_nerd
23-10-2007, 03:18 PM
I dun undestand y ppl wan to buy those un-branded notebooks. I mean for the service and the support wise sux big time.

From my experience, i bought a Sotec from PA mart a year ago and initially i bought is i tot is cheap and good and a brand from japan! After less than a month of using, the comp die down. OMG mann, brought back to the service centre at PA mart, and the service there sux big time too!!! they give lotsa excuses and blah blah blah which i think no use toking to them.

after waiting for a FEW WEEKS of repairing, finally took back the set and i throw it to my newphew and use and i bought a sony instead. WTH mann...

waste of my time and effort and money.

so i urge all of you guys to see the reviews and quality b4 buying anything if not will regret. I rather spend abit more to save all the troubles rather than save abit and buy troubles.

thanks for reading.

abcwee
26-10-2007, 10:35 PM
I dun undestand y ppl wan to buy those un-branded notebooks. I mean for the service and the support wise sux big time.

From my experience, i bought a Sotec from PA mart a year ago and initially i bought is i tot is cheap and good and a brand from japan! After less than a month of using, the comp die down. OMG mann, brought back to the service centre at PA mart, and the service there sux big time too!!! they give lotsa excuses and blah blah blah which i think no use toking to them.

after waiting for a FEW WEEKS of repairing, finally took back the set and i throw it to my newphew and use and i bought a sony instead. WTH mann...

so i urge all of you guys to see the reviews and quality b4 buying anything if not will regret. I rather spend abit more to save all the troubles rather than save abit and buy troubles.

thanks for reading.

totally agree. after sale service is important. no point only able to use something for 3/6/9 mths, then have to throw away.

phiber
27-10-2007, 04:19 AM
my 2 cents....

I'm one of the first few Asus EEE owners in SG, heck, who else posted he has a EEE in HWZ anyway?
At least i know in VRZ, i'm the only one! :P

Probably you didn't read my Asus EEE PC XP Pro SP2 mini-review.. :s22:

After installing XP PRO SP2 with ALL the patches til September 2007, WMP11, IE7, NOD32, WINRAR, KLite Megapack with MPC, ASUS Utilities for EEE, Net Framework 2.0..
I have used 1.4GB and have around 2.3GB left (Total space is around 3.71GB)..

"Also, with 8gb ssd, after install XP and patch everything, you have at most 2-3gb left, so how to store files?"
U must have installed WinXP + Windows Vista together into c:\windows to get a install size of 5-6GB?!?!?!
My Laptop Windows folder with all the useless SP uninstall data, install files n rubbish is only 2GB!
On my EEE, the windows folder is only 800MB!

On the Koujinsha vs EEE story,
IMHO, i can buy 2 EEE PCs (Around $1100) with spare $$ to spare to buy a 8GB SDHC (around $220) for each of them.. and stll have $$$ to spare to have a nice meal at Burger King...

I paid $600 for my EEE PC, and i can say, it's the damn best $600 i've ever spent for a mobile IT device..

with a difference of $800 from the KJS, i can buy a return Tix to taiwan for $470, stay 2N for $100, and spend $60 on food n transport per day and get a 8GB SDHC from Guang Hua for $110 as a souvenior for the trip!
And all this while, i will have my little light EEE PC with me in my backpack, reading HWZ via free Wifi in Taipei :P

Freaking small, freaking nice stylish design and does wat i want it to do within its means and exceeds that by letting me even run WoW and play DOTA!

BaLtO
27-10-2007, 09:15 AM
think the asus eee is positioned to be a second notebook .. maybe even like a "toy" for kids and elderly.. for its price range of 600 to 700 dollars cannot expect it to have so much stuff..

Ya, umpc has small lcd display, can't do much ...
Yes, second toy, for outdoor purpose.
I think Asus EEE fits the purpose, since its drive is shockproof like flash. So you care not if the place is rocking.

dennisleu
27-10-2007, 09:32 AM
Freaking small, freaking nice stylish design and does wat i want it to do within its means and exceeds that by letting me even run WoW and play DOTA!
Not that what the SH is built for but if EEE can 'run WoW and play DOTA', I sure SH can do much better at a slightly bigger screen too. :s13:

quailmaster
27-10-2007, 12:20 PM
but the SH6 is like twice the price of asus eee

BaLtO
27-10-2007, 01:07 PM
but the SH6 is like twice the price of asus eee

I thought they are both 7 inches.
It's a misconception to think higher resolution = bigger screen.

Anyway, when it finally launch in Singapore, I might buy it to complement my wacom laptop, for lightweight portable outdoor usage. The price is not so expensive like the Kohjinsha.

dennisleu
27-10-2007, 01:12 PM
and EEE is twice the price of a SE M600i which too I can use to surf the net with my unlimited 3G plan, make phone call (which EEE can't) and also it is only a fraction of EEE's weight!

You get the point? The comparison is endless.

EEE is cheaper for obvious reason because of it has (too) small screen, lower storage capacity, no Window OS, no touch screen, smaller keyboard compare with SH6, no BT & etc. Of course, whether you need them is another story but the manufacturer needs to factor all these extra into their cost.

It really looks foolish to compare on the price alone. One might as well compare EEE $600 with a USD10k computer server!!! it looks even better on EEE isn't it?

leonaheidern
27-10-2007, 01:14 PM
errr considering I watch anime/kdrama/documentaries on my psp screen on the way back from work.

The psp weights about 500g? with casing and all.

The eee pc has a bigger screen can play other games like solitaire and has a full keyboard. and for the price i paid for my psp then 340,2 yrs ago 600 is kinda ok la. only the thing about not having a dvd/cd drive kinda sucks cause I have to find a cd dvd drive and a sata cable and a power point to get any cd or dvd given by a friend while outside(if such a scenario occurs).

I do not mind bringing a usb multi card reader out with me though if we're exchanging psp media.

wwteo000
27-10-2007, 02:29 PM

thanks for reading.

wow... think u had bad experience...

my sotec is still running now... FYI your sony is also engineered in Taiwan which would be by Quanta Computers. So its a matter of Quanta (Sony) vs Twinhead (Sotec)... These retail shops (PAMart, Courts etc) never give good service anyway. I think it all depends on the merchant at the end of the day.

Most of these Singaporean representatives hardly give good service anyway. HP, Sony or whatever.
Only exception is probably Dell.

Anyway in terms of Bang for buck the EEE is definitely a good deal.

BaLtO
27-10-2007, 06:41 PM
Ya, umpc is a bit small and insufficient to replace my laptop also.
So buying umpc is a complement for me.
And of cos, if it cost much, people won't really want it.
As for CD/DVD drive, they add to the weight, which I don't really want, and I don't use it for weeks at nowadays.

Of cos there are groups of people that treat their umpc as not complement, but as their main computer. But for good optimal experience, on web browsing, gaming and so for, I don't think much will choose umpc to be their main computer. But umpc can do the basic things I would want.

Can't really argue much.
But S$600 is not bad.

And also for tablet pc, I trust wacom tablet pc more than touchscreen tablet pc.

dennisleu
27-10-2007, 06:59 PM
A bit on the optical drive. I believe many of the existing notebook users would realize that the optical drive is more often than not, just a white elephant. I mean I do use it for backing up of data to blank DVDs and installation of programs but that is like 1 or 2 times a month kind of things.

If you travel a lot, it really worths just to leave the drive at home. There are many ways to do temporary backup while on the go if one is concern of possible data lost. Eg, saving to media cards, upload to the net & etc.

For viewing of multimedia (movies & etc), convert, transfer and play them from your SSD or HDD. It definitely saves some juice if you compare it with playing on an internal optical drive.

saragota
28-10-2007, 10:44 AM
I'm one of the first few Asus EEE owners in SG, heck, who else posted he has a EEE in HWZ anyway?
At least i know in VRZ, i'm the only one! :P

Probably you didn't read my Asus EEE PC XP Pro SP2 mini-review.. :s22:

After installing XP PRO SP2 with ALL the patches til September 2007, WMP11, IE7, NOD32, WINRAR, KLite Megapack with MPC, ASUS Utilities for EEE, Net Framework 2.0..
I have used 1.4GB and have around 2.3GB left (Total space is around 3.71GB)..

"Also, with 8gb ssd, after install XP and patch everything, you have at most 2-3gb left, so how to store files?"
U must have installed WinXP + Windows Vista together into c:\windows to get a install size of 5-6GB?!?!?!
My Laptop Windows folder with all the useless SP uninstall data, install files n rubbish is only 2GB!
On my EEE, the windows folder is only 800MB!

On the Koujinsha vs EEE story,
IMHO, i can buy 2 EEE PCs (Around $1100) with spare $$ to spare to buy a 8GB SDHC (around $220) for each of them.. and stll have $$$ to spare to have a nice meal at Burger King...

I paid $600 for my EEE PC, and i can say, it's the damn best $600 i've ever spent for a mobile IT device..

with a difference of $800 from the KJS, i can buy a return Tix to taiwan for $470, stay 2N for $100, and spend $60 on food n transport per day and get a 8GB SDHC from Guang Hua for $110 as a souvenior for the trip!
And all this while, i will have my little light EEE PC with me in my backpack, reading HWZ via free Wifi in Taipei :P

Where u buy the eee PC?

dennisleu
28-10-2007, 02:01 PM
any one owns a SH6? Care to give a 1st hand review? Thanks.

G4
30-10-2007, 09:45 AM
well... as long as there is a 1024 resolution screen for the Eee PC, for proper net surfing, and keep the price below $900, KJS may not in everyone's list liao... sorry for OT.

phiber
30-10-2007, 03:16 PM
Where u buy the eee PC?

I am selling it for $620 new.. :) PM me for more info..

djchris
30-10-2007, 03:59 PM
eeepc gives 1024 only on a secondary monitor output.

On the screen, it's 800x400.

laurenpang
30-10-2007, 04:01 PM
i heard mustafa also got similiar model only at $100.
specs is touch screen with quad core 3ghz and 16gb ram. hdd 1TB.
it can even fly by focusing ur mental powers on it.

dennisleu
30-10-2007, 11:50 PM
Sported a SH (black color) at Popular bookstore TPY. It was listed as $1399 but not sure if the price was before or after GST.

Sigh, life is never perfect. SH is expensive, although Eee is affordable, its low screen resolution is an headache for web browsing.

Like someone posted earlier if Eee has 1024 or SH is much cheaper .... only 'IF'.

totoro17
31-10-2007, 12:20 AM
i heard mustafa also got similiar model only at $100.
specs is touch screen with quad core 3ghz and 16gb ram. hdd 1TB.
it can even fly by focusing ur mental powers on it.

sure or nt...

whatscooking
31-10-2007, 08:37 AM
Forget asbout using eee pc for web surfing, 800x400 is a NO! NO! But I think the next generation of eee PC using a different CPU called "MEROM, target to release in April 2008 will have a higher res LCD.

phiber
31-10-2007, 05:42 PM
Forget asbout using eee pc for web surfing, 800x400 is a NO! NO! But I think the next generation of eee PC using a different CPU called "MEROM, target to release in April 2008 will have a higher res LCD.

That's a very bias/noob comment..
Have you ever surfed on a 800x480 before?
Even ppl on O2s, Dopods, Nokia are all surfing at 320x240 or even lower lor..
So please do not make a statement unless you have something to prove otherwise..

I've surfed for 2 hours straight on youtube, blogging, vrforums, hwz, webmail, hotmail on my EEE PC at 800x480 with NO problems at all..

whatscooking
31-10-2007, 08:05 PM
Before buying the eee pc one should try to use it to surf the web and feels what 800x480 resolution means. In most web pages, it is not optimised to view on such resolution. Meaning you would need to scroll left and right to view the page. It is too inconvenient.

Is this a problem? It all depends on individual.

leslens
31-10-2007, 08:39 PM
Before buying the eee pc one should try to use it to surf the web and feels what 800x480 resolution means. In most web pages, it is not optimised to view on such resolution. Meaning you would need to scroll left and right to view the page. It is too inconvenient.

Is this a problem? It all depends on individual.

ur last statement contradicts ur previous post.
if it depends on the individual, why must we all take ur advice and "forget about using the eee for web browsing"

i have the eee and i am v pleased with it

Gaddy23
01-11-2007, 12:29 AM
i have seen from screenshots. it should be okay. anyway there are still ppl with 800x600 crt screens out there. anyway the 10' model with merom looks good man. hopefully it will be similiarly priced. maybe 800 plus.

moveyon
01-11-2007, 11:20 AM
ur last statement contradicts ur previous post.
if it depends on the individual, why must we all take ur advice and "forget about using the eee for web browsing"

i have the eee and i am v pleased with it

do u have to scroll left and right to view the web pages like eg the hwz forums?

darr
03-11-2007, 10:10 AM
do u have to scroll left and right to view the web pages like eg the hwz forums?

hwz optimised for 1024screen, you change your res to 800x600 can see liao loh...many other websites (mostly personal) still optimised for 800x600, but newer/updated sites optimised for 1024x768, esp frames sites...so gotta scroll sideways

I have a PocketPC...surf net damn pain...it's only really necessary that I use it to surf net for info when on the move.

But a small laptop like eeePC and KJS is really good for travelling (read: not wandering around surfing wireless@sg). I lug my 12" tablet along when backpacking...2kg still feels the weight.

Vulpix
03-11-2007, 11:55 AM
hwz optimised for 1024screen, you change your res to 800x600 can see liao loh...many other websites (mostly personal) still optimised for 800x600, but newer/updated sites optimised for 1024x768, esp frames sites...so gotta scroll sideways

I have a PocketPC...surf net damn pain...it's only really necessary that I use it to surf net for info when on the move.

But a small laptop like eeePC and KJS is really good for travelling (read: not wandering around surfing wireless@sg). I lug my 12" tablet along when backpacking...2kg still feels the weight.

Maybe it's time you dump that and get a nice Panasonic 12" toughbook? 1.26kg only! :s13:

whatscooking
05-11-2007, 08:58 PM
Anyone got lobang for the SH8 (A110,800Mhz)? I am thinking of getting one after comparing with other UMPC.

whatscooking
06-11-2007, 04:48 PM
My Dell PDA broke down recently so thinking of getting an umpc to replace it. Consider the SA1 at $999 but its weak processor is not so suitable for video viewing.

The SH6/SH8 is overpriced but if someone got lobang, why not? :)

drazic
07-11-2007, 01:09 AM
anyone seen the HTC Shift?

AM13579
17-11-2007, 12:52 PM
Kohjinsha SH8 in Sitex with external DVD writer at $1?

butterbarter
18-11-2007, 03:48 AM
My Dell PDA broke down recently so thinking of getting an umpc to replace it. Consider the SA1 at $999 but its weak processor is not so suitable for video viewing.

The SH6/SH8 is overpriced but if someone got lobang, why not? :)Where can I get SA1 for 999 ? i looked in SLS today and was quoted 1222 for 512MB + 100GB hdd.

AHcoolie
18-11-2007, 09:23 AM
Where can I get SA1 for 999 ? i looked in SLS today and was quoted 1222 for 512MB + 100GB hdd.

$999 is 512MB + 40GB. black color

mosmos
18-11-2007, 10:29 AM
Where can I get SA1 for 999 ? i looked in SLS today and was quoted 1222 for 512MB + 100GB hdd.
http://i10.tinypic.com/7w78s35.jpg

AM13579
18-11-2007, 09:17 PM
Check the limitations of the SA1 before you commit.

tinhill
19-11-2007, 11:04 AM
Check the limitations of the SA1 before you commit.

Mind sharing the limitations here.

Radeon_Tan
19-11-2007, 05:42 PM
my eyes cannot take the small screen of the 7" LCD

:mad:

that is the biggest limitation

butterbarter
19-11-2007, 11:27 PM
Mind sharing the limitations here.As far as I can tell, there are 2 major limitations

1. Weak CPU.
2. Problematic keyboard that does not register some key presses, making it hard er to touch type on a already small keyboard.

These sound pretty serious to me. Maybe I should shell $400 more for the SH6, or just wait for the eeePC.

Vygotsky
22-11-2007, 01:17 PM
Found out that the Kohjinsha SA Black colour used to be sold at $1069, now dropped to $855, all the models dropped prices already, temp me to buy, what you guys think? that price good deal??

osakachan
24-11-2007, 04:49 PM
I was at IMM popular, the SH6 is having discount selling at $1069 (black - 100GB HD) while the SA1 is selling at $900+....

butterbarter
24-11-2007, 04:57 PM
I was at IMM popular, the SH6 is having discount selling at $1069 (black - 100GB HD) while the SA1 is selling at $900+....Just got back from SLS. SH6 is going for 1069 and SH8 is 1283 at PA Mart. Seems like a major price drop from just a few days back. At these prices, SA1 ($962) is not attractive liao. Better spring for the SH series.

osakachan
24-11-2007, 04:58 PM
Just went to Kohjinsha webste, SH series should be intel chipset but i remembered I saw the promo is AMD, not sure if the 1069 is SA1. The stange thing is that the supposed SH6 is on Vista(which is correct_, if I mistaken the SH6 as SA1, it should be XP instead of Vista....

butterbarter
24-11-2007, 11:24 PM
Just went to Kohjinsha webste, SH series should be intel chipset but i remembered I saw the promo is AMD, not sure if the 1069 is SA1. The stange thing is that the supposed SH6 is on Vista(which is correct_, if I mistaken the SH6 as SA1, it should be XP instead of Vista....1069 is for the black SH6, which has the Intel CPU A100. You can tell the SH series from the SA series from the built-in Webcam, and the different keyboard. The SA1 is still on sale, but at 962, its not attractive at all given the weaker CPU and problematic keyboard. The SH series have better keyboard. I'm interested in the SH8, but I want it in Black. For some stupid reason, the distributor only brings in SH8 in white and SH6 in black !!! **** !

dUk33d
25-11-2007, 01:21 AM
will be better when they integrate touch screen n 3g BB

mOiMoI
25-11-2007, 02:59 AM
will be better when they integrate touch screen n 3g BB

I tot SH8 can do that.
http://www.kohjinsha.com.sg/products/sh811ws.htm

osakachan
25-11-2007, 11:03 AM
Just curious why u prefer SH8 (I think it would cost a lot more than SH6). the difference between them is only the Mhz(600 compared to 800), HD size and memory(512Kb compared to 1GMb). I expect the SH8 would be around 1.4K+ which would not be attractive.

Btw, do you know if it is possible to downgrade SH6/8 to XP for free? any reason why u looking at the black ones?

osakachan
25-11-2007, 11:06 AM
sometimes integration may not be the best especially technology keeps changing. Also, integration will also add burden to battery and will post higher chance of maintenance issues.

Since 3G is just a USD dongle, it should be portable enough right?

dennisleu
25-11-2007, 11:53 AM
Just got back from SLS. SH6 is going for 1069 and SH8 is 1283 at PA Mart. Seems like a major price drop from just a few days back. At these prices, SA1 ($962) is not attractive liao. Better spring for the SH series.

R those prices before GST?

titank
25-11-2007, 01:31 PM
Maybe let wait see coming SITEX any special promotion for Kohjinsha SH6 & SH8 series.

butterbarter
25-11-2007, 03:31 PM
Just curious why u prefer SH8 (I think it would cost a lot more than SH6). the difference between them is only the Mhz(600 compared to 800), HD size and memory(512Kb compared to 1GMb). I expect the SH8 would be around 1.4K+ which would not be attractive.

Btw, do you know if it is possible to downgrade SH6/8 to XP for free? any reason why u looking at the black ones?I like the looks of the Black laptop rather than white. White laptops look toyish to me, and gets dirty/brownish if you use it constantly, so its not ideal for office use.

As for why I like SH8, its mainly the CPU. The Sh6's 600MHz CPU sounds weak to me.

totoro17
26-11-2007, 01:06 AM
hopefully sitex they can offer better price package...

whatscooking
28-11-2007, 09:06 AM
Kohjinsha promotion in sitex:

http://www.kohjinsha.com.sg/promotions.htm

SH8 w/GST is S$1,284 about same price as SA1 white in last exhibition.

daytonaguy
28-11-2007, 09:28 AM
Anybody bought the SH8, does it comes with the Vista CD?
Thanks and Best Regards.

whatscooking
01-12-2007, 02:21 PM
Quite surprise to see that the SH8 is sold out on the second day.

daytonaguy
01-12-2007, 02:36 PM
Quite surprise to see that the SH8 is sold out on the second day.
Well, looking at the price, it should'nt comes as a surprise.Specs almost similar or better than some other laptop in it class...
:)

osakachan
01-12-2007, 08:54 PM
Anyone know how much to add to have a 3-yr warranty for Kohjinsha.

aireth
01-12-2007, 08:57 PM
Anyone know how much to add to have a 3-yr warranty for Kohjinsha.

299 if i didn't recall wrongly.

osakachan
01-12-2007, 09:21 PM
Thanks. Then the price would become 1282 + 199=1481.
It would be prefect if there is DVD writer, better speaker and delicated graphic. :)

Maikeru
01-12-2007, 10:56 PM
Does anyone know if there is chance they'll bring the SH8 in black?!

whatscooking
02-12-2007, 08:46 AM
I dont think the company selling Kohjinsha has the 3-year warranty plan.

If the SH8 comes in black, I would have bought it too. But judging from the SA1 sales previosuly, they will sell the lower specs unit for black and a higher specs unit for white. So probabbly no chance of getting the SH8 in black.

White color unit must maintain very carefully. I am not the type who can handly white unit I think.

In the end, I probably hold on to the purchase and wait for next year's Kohjinsha "Menlow" CPU (if they do produce one).;)

Maikeru
02-12-2007, 09:11 AM
I dont think the company selling Kohjinsha has the 3-year warranty plan.

If the SH8 comes in black, I would have bought it too. But judging from the SA1 sales previosuly, they will sell the lower specs unit for black and a higher specs unit for white. So probabbly no chance of getting the SH8 in black.

White color unit must maintain very carefully. I am not the type who can handly white unit I think.

In the end, I probably hold on to the purchase and wait for next year's Kohjinsha "Menlow" CPU (if they do produce one).;)Dang. If only SH8 white was as nice as Asus Eee's pearl white finish then it's enough to consider.

Well, no news as of yet if they will be producing with Menlow.

qiang85
02-12-2007, 01:11 PM
anyone knows whether the promotions got the 1dollar to buy the dvd writer or the gps receiver?

Maikeru
02-12-2007, 02:26 PM
anyone knows whether the promotions got the 1dollar to buy the dvd writer or the gps receiver?
I think that is only for the SA Series, which they will only sell 10 sets a day. But at this time around, I'm sure all those sets are finished. The salesgirl there told me if I want the SA Series, I should already be there by 11am.

whatscooking
03-12-2007, 09:49 AM
With the same chipset and mb, how come the SH6 VRAM can only go to max of 64mb whereas the SH8 can go to as high as 256mb? Anyone has the answer?

Maikeru
03-12-2007, 11:07 AM
With the same chipset and mb, how come the SH6 VRAM can only go to max of 64mb whereas the SH8 can go to as high as 256mb? Anyone has the answer?
I think it is because of the default memory of 512mb on the SH6, which you could only set the graphics up to 64mb. If that's the case, it can go up when the memory has been upgraded.

I'm also thinking of the SH6 too since it is the black one, and just upgrade the memory. Problem is Vista Basic doesn't really have native support for tablet function.

HearTs54
03-12-2007, 11:16 AM
actually i went to the main jap website and see they got sell SH8 in black just that singapore didnt bring them in. I like SH8 very much just tat i dun like white... sianz

Maikeru
03-12-2007, 01:01 PM
actually i went to the main jap website and see they got sell SH8 in black just that singapore didnt bring them in. I like SH8 very much just tat i dun like white... sianz
Yup...saw that too. I called PA Mart yesterday and say they do not have black and not bringing it. Maybe all of us who likes SH8 Black can call them up so they know there are many who likes to buy black.

titank
03-12-2007, 01:19 PM
Does anyone know how much does the extended battery cost? Tried using the SH6 where after using 20 mins the whole laptop blackout. I thought at least the set able last me around 2 hour usage on the std 3 cell battery.

Maikeru
03-12-2007, 02:27 PM
Does anyone know how much does the extended battery cost? Tried using the SH6 where after using 20 mins the whole laptop blackout. I thought at least the set able last me around 2 hour usage on the std 3 cell battery.
How long did you charge it?

whatscooking
03-12-2007, 05:23 PM
Any SH6 user upgraded the RAM to 1gb or 2gb? If so, can the shared VRAM in BIOS be set to 128 or 256mb? I am curious to find out.

As for those looking for SH6/8 extended battery, take note that it is bigger than the existing one and will protrude out at the back. Cost $299. Vey expensive.

Alternatively, why not consider the AC Ryan universal extended battery at $169? It has 6600mAH power.

daytonaguy
03-12-2007, 05:43 PM
Any SH6 user upgraded the RAM to 1gb or 2gb? If so, can the shared VRAM in BIOS be set to 128 or 256mb? I am curious to find out.

As for those looking for SH6/8 extended battery, take note that it is bigger than the existing one and will protrude out at the back. Cost $299. Vey expensive.

Alternatively, why not consider the AC Ryan universal extended battery at $169? It has 6600mAH power.

Any link for the universal battery?

whatscooking
03-12-2007, 06:46 PM
This is the one that I bought in Funan.

http://www.acryan.com/prodata/ACR-MT80328.shtml

Pretty good in power-6600mAH. Check your notebook battery to see how many mAH it has and you will find that this is quite high. The design is quite nice with hair line aluminium casing. There is also a button with six small blue lights that you can monitor how much juice left.

Just use your notebook adaptor to charge it, either 16V or 19V. Most notebooks come with 16V charger. It has all sorts of connectors to suit different brands of notebook. I tried it on Vaio, Fujitsu, Dell and Thinkpad and all works.

sp9914957
03-12-2007, 09:09 PM
I think it is because of the default memory of 512mb on the SH6, which you could only set the graphics up to 64mb. If that's the case, it can go up when the memory has been upgraded.

I'm also thinking of the SH6 too since it is the black one, and just upgrade the memory. Problem is Vista Basic doesn't really have native support for tablet function.

i am thinking of getting one, but what does no support for table function mean?

Is it, it can still use the touch screen function, but once turn and close up. it cant support the writing mode? I am very confuse by the absence of this function. :s22:

whatscooking
03-12-2007, 09:27 PM
SH6 that is selling locally comes with Vista Home Basic where it does not support hand writing recognition function(or some called it as a tablet function). Touch screen(like in the PDA) is standard for both SH6 and SH8. Once you upgraded to Vista Home Premium, SH6 will work like SH8 except it has a slightly slower CPU and lesser shared VRAM. In this case if you want SH6 to become a tablet UMPC, you have to pay extra to upgrade to Home Premium.

Alternatively you can install XP Tablet 2005 with SP2 that serves the same function.

Maikeru
03-12-2007, 09:50 PM
SH6 that is selling locally comes with Vista Home Basic where it does not support hand writing recognition function(or some called it as a tablet function). Touch screen(like in the PDA) is standard for both SH6 and SH8. Once you upgraded to Vista Home Premium, SH6 will work like SH8 except it has a slightly slower CPU and lesser shared VRAM. In this case if you want SH6 to become a tablet UMPC, you have to pay extra to upgrade to Home Premium.

Alternatively you can install XP Tablet 2005 with SP2 that serves the same function.Right. But with the extra cost of buying a license, suggest you go for SH8. A much worth it deal IMO. Problem is....well...SH8 is white. :(

sp9914957
03-12-2007, 09:50 PM

Alternatively you can install XP Tablet 2005 with SP2 that serves the same function.

i have an old tablet Pc from nec, when using the msn, there is this place i can tap and draw instead of writing. So you mean that this function will not appear even if i using the msn?

I dont know what I am going to use if there is this tablet function too. :s13:

I have made some comparsion, the sh6 and sh8 version is about $200 difference. Only that SH8 had a faster processor by 200Mhz, 512 more ram and 20gb more and also its premium instead of basic.

Do you think 200 more for this functions are reasonable? I am going to use it for basic function.

If I am able to get Eee Pc for $550, does getting SH6/8 reasonable?? :s7:

sp9914957
03-12-2007, 09:59 PM
sitex is over and I missed the chance of getting SH8. How much is it selling now? I saw that it is selling at $1283 with GST. What about now?? Anyone know or happen to be at simlim ?

Maikeru
03-12-2007, 10:15 PM
i have an old tablet Pc from nec, when using the msn, there is this place i can tap and draw instead of writing. So you mean that this function will not appear even if i using the msn?

I dont know what I am going to use if there is this tablet function too. :s13:

I have made some comparsion, the sh6 and sh8 version is about $200 difference. Only that SH8 had a faster processor by 200Mhz, 512 more ram and 20gb more and also its premium instead of basic.

Do you think 200 more for this functions are reasonable? I am going to use it for basic function.

If I am able to get Eee Pc for $550, does getting SH6/8 reasonable?? :s7:Ok, I'm not using MSN so I wouldn't know what you mean. But basically, as what whatscooking had said, no handwriting recognition. That means you write and it will automatically convert it text.

With regards to the $200 difference, I think it is worth it. Upgrade to 1GB RAM is already around $70 (because you cannot add 512mb RAM as there is only one slot). Vista Home Premium will set you another $150. So basically, the 200mhz boost speed is free and you got tablet function.

Getting the Eee PC is a different story. I too am torn between two lovers. I also like the Eee PC for it's robust finishing and the very attractive price, unlike the SH looking more plastic and more expensive. But the storage of the Eee is only 4GB which is not much but should be suffice while mobile. The thing the won me over is Kohjinsha's touch screen. It would be easier for me to move around the screen (I hate touchpad mouse!). And rotating the screen and use the notebook as a tablet saves me a lot of space and convenience when riding the MRT.

But then again, at the end of the day, it is really your choice. It is you who's going to use it.

Maikeru
03-12-2007, 10:21 PM
sitex is over and I missed the chance of getting SH8. How much is it selling now? I saw that it is selling at $1283 with GST. What about now?? Anyone know or happen to be at simlim ?Last Saturday, I actually checked out Fairprice in AMK Hub. The price is actually the same as it is in Sitex. So there really is no promo in Sitex, but the SA series only where you can top up $1 to get an external DVD drive or a GPS receiver. I tested out the SH6 and was thinking to get it at Fairprice. But I didn't as I still want to think it over.

Yesterday, Sunday. I decided to take a look at SH8, however they didn't have stocks and the guy there told me he doesn't know when they'll be restocking.

titank
03-12-2007, 11:49 PM
How long did you charge it?My initial 1st charge was about 20 hours! I think on average the battery life can last is 2 hours instred of the Kohjinsha spec said to be 3.5 hours.:s31:

Now trying to find where can have good batteries deal for my Kohjinsha SH6.:s8:

So far have not use it as a tablet function as still not yet put the screen protector. Any idea how to upgrade to Vista Home for thwe SH6. Did not get the SH8 as it is white color, very easy get dirty.

Anybody know where can get screen protector & provide free installation?

I purchased the SH6 at $1144 where already upgraded to 2G RAM in the SITEX show.

SH6 ($$1069) + $75 (Upgrade to 2G RAM) = Total $1144.

sp9914957
04-12-2007, 12:19 AM
Some info about the battery:

I have read from Taiwan website, it metion that there is this bug in the laptop windows vista software. Even when the pc is off with the battery inside. Every 1 hr, the battery is dropping by 10%. Due to the power consumption in the bios. Therefore the battery of urs last 2 hrs instead of 3.5 hrs. Depend on the steps you used the pc. You might have charge it full and test it after 2 hrs after ur lunch or dinner. Even you never on the pc, but as I said the power drains during off. Perhaps that is the reason that the battery didnt last.

I was thinking of getting this SH8 but missed the sitex offer. After reading on many forums. I think I will on hold for a while.

publiceducator
04-12-2007, 01:36 AM
there's also one universal batt from apc, dunno how many mAH...

whatscooking
04-12-2007, 05:49 PM
I saw the APC model but it is rather big and heavy and the power is slightly higher than the AC Ryan one. Go and take a look at the thing physically and decide for yourself. I think the AC Ryan is a better choice, thats why I bought one.

whatscooking
05-12-2007, 08:31 AM
After Sitex, there is a new promotion going on for the SH6/SH8.

SH6 with DVD writer at $1176
SH8 with DVD writer at $1390

all prices inclusive of GST.

In other words, based on Sitex price, add on $107 you get an external DVD writer.

If add on $1 can get the DVD writer it would be nice :)

Maikeru
05-12-2007, 10:49 AM
After Sitex, there is a new promotion going on for the SH6/SH8.

If add on $1 can get the DVD writer it would be nice :)

Where did you see? But $107 is still too steep. And besides, brand new Samsung external DVD writer cost $109. What's the promo? $2 off?

whatscooking
05-12-2007, 01:49 PM
I dont think the Samsung slim DVD writer cost only $109. Could it be the normal external DVD writer and not the slim type?

I think the slim type DVD writer cost around $140-$180 in the market, there are a few brands available but I think all comes from the same factory including the Sony one since all design looks the same.

I think after some price and feature comparisons, SH8 is a better buy.

Maikeru
05-12-2007, 02:19 PM
I dont think the Samsung slim DVD writer cost only $109. Could it be the normal external DVD writer and not the slim type?

I think the slim type DVD writer cost around $140-$180 in the market, there are a few brands available but I think all comes from the same factory including the Sony one since all design looks the same.

I think after some price and feature comparisons, SH8 is a better buy.

Yes, this is the $109 bulky one.

http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-SE-S184-External-Drive-Black/dp/B000X31RCY

Indeed SH8 is the better buy.

I called them up to verify the pricing of the SH8, apparently you cannot buy the SH8 alone. Have to buy with the DVD drive as they say. So price is stuck at $1390.

Also alsked them if I can order black one as I'm a sure buyer. But they said no black for SH8, only SH6. =(

whatscooking
05-12-2007, 02:30 PM
Ya, its too bad SH8 does not come in black. So it is either buy SH8 or dont buy now.

I read from a Taiwanese forum that in some high quality wmv movie there is a sound lag and broken frame when played with the SH6. Can anyone confirm this?

I tried the SH6 at the popular counter and in the bios there is no setting allowed for the shared vram. Is this feature enable in the SH8 since according to brochure it can have a shared vram of max 256mb?

Hope someone can answer above two points. Tks.

genewarmbat
05-12-2007, 03:24 PM
Thought the SH6 can only upgrade to 1G instead of 2G RAM?
Btw, what's the 2G RAM price & where can I get it cheaper in Sim Lim?
Where can I get the AC Ryan external power pact? TIA.

whatscooking
05-12-2007, 04:12 PM
Both SH6/SH8 can install up to 2gb RAM.

Price of 2gb RAM range from $75 - $200+ depending on where you buy it. One guy told me that the shop where he bought the Kohjinsha quoted him $240 to upgrade to 2gb RAM. If you go to SLS 5th floor, a 2gb RAM cost less than $80. Bring along your Kohjinsha and test it on the spot. Look for those shops run by "dark-skin" people if you know what I mean. One shop that is well known for selling cheap price quoted $75 for a DDR2-667 2gb RAM. You wouldnt want to miss out this shop.

AC Ryan external battery pack can be found on 5th and 6th floor of Funan. 6th floor is selling at $159 and 5th floor is selling at $169-$179 if I am not wrong.

whatscooking
05-12-2007, 08:07 PM
Check VRAM under Vista:

Click Start (The windows logo at the left bottom)
At the Start Search column, type: dxdiag
Press ENTER key
A dialog may pop up
Click NO
A DirectX Diagostic Tool Menu appears
The System will show your System Information, such as OS, CPU and RAM etc
Click Display or Next Page
Look under "Approax. Total Memory: xxx MB" (Maybe on the fifth line)
This is the shared VRAM value
Click EXIT to exit

Hope to get feedback on the following models:
1)SH6 with 1gb RAM, VRAM=???mb
2)SH6 with 2gb RAM, VRAM=???mb
3)SH8 with 1gb RAM, VRAM=???mb
4)SH8 with 2gb RAM, VRAM=???mb

Thanks.

titank
05-12-2007, 08:15 PM

Price of 2gb RAM range from $75 - $200+ depending on where you buy it. One guy told me that the shop where he bought the Kohjinsha quoted him $240 to upgrade to 2gb RAM. If you go to SLS 5th floor, a 2gb RAM cost less than $80. Bring along your Kohjinsha and test it on the spot. Look for those shops run by "dark-skin" people if you know what I mean. One shop that is well known for selling cheap price quoted $75 for a DDR2-667 2gb RAM. You wouldnt want to miss out this shop.

AC Ryan external battery pack can be found on 5th and 6th floor of Funan. 6th floor is selling at $159 and 5th floor is selling at $169-$179 if I am not wrong.

Oh that is cheaper a lot than the Kohjinsha battery where cost $259 now at PA Mart. DId anyone buy the external warranthy where cost $299 for 2 years? Understand have to sign up by 30 days since the date of purchased right.

titank
05-12-2007, 08:22 PM
SH6 with 2gb RAM, VRAM=256mb:s12:

genewarmbat
05-12-2007, 09:29 PM

Thanks very much. But the RAM spec you mentioned is higher than recommended, can work without problem?

whatscooking
05-12-2007, 10:02 PM
Bring the notebook down to the shop and test it on the spot. Some says that some DDR2-667 2gb RAM has some compatible issue where once you install it no display.

Alternatively you can check BIOS after you install it to see if it can detect or whether it detect correctly.

Call the shop for availability before you go cos some shops has no stock for the 2gb RAM.

Maikeru
05-12-2007, 10:15 PM
Thanks very much. But the RAM spec you mentioned is higher than recommended, can work without problem?

As Titank mentioned, he has 2GB. Actually think there is a mistake with the specs sheet. Should be no problem as most notebooks can really go up to 2GB

genewarmbat
05-12-2007, 10:52 PM
As Titank mentioned, he has 2GB. Actually think there is a mistake with the specs sheet. Should be no problem as most notebooks can really go up to 2GB

Thanks all for the reply. Maikeru, I'm referring to the memory speed though. :)

Maikeru
06-12-2007, 10:10 AM
Thanks all for the reply. Maikeru, I'm referring to the memory speed though. :)

Memory speed is actually constant. It's not like harddrives where in the more the capacity the slower it gets, or not like SD cards.

Actually the more memory you get is actually better virtually. But economically, if you don't plan to run memory extensive programs, 1 GB is actually enough.

kitaeshi
06-12-2007, 02:34 PM

only got 300 charge cycle..kinda of short le....

Johnteoh
06-12-2007, 07:22 PM
Just wondering. For those who are using the SH6, do you really need to write on the screen or mostly like as if it is a mouse? Also does it really benefit to have 2GB RAM?

obrag
07-12-2007, 03:12 AM
For people looking at getting a DVD writer for their Kohjinsha, I am selling a NEW set of Benq TW200D Slim External 8X DVD+-R/RW drive.

See this link for ad on HWZ with pics:
http://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/marketplace/view.php?cid=285&id=105110

Looking at selling for $100 or better offer. Email obragaterg@yahoo.com.sg to discuss.

Thanks for reading!

http://www.phing.com/upd/2007/12/07/105110/large/benq_dvd_01.jpg

korbu
07-12-2007, 09:51 AM
Check VRAM under Vista:

Click Start (The windows logo at the left bottom)
At the Start Search column, type: dxdiag
Press ENTER key
A dialog may pop up
Click NO
A DirectX Diagostic Tool Menu appears
The System will show your System Information, such as OS, CPU and RAM etc
Click Display or Next Page
Look under "Approax. Total Memory: xxx MB" (Maybe on the fifth line)
This is the shared VRAM value
Click EXIT to exit

Hope to get feedback on the following models:
1)SH6 with 1gb RAM, VRAM=???mb
2)SH6 with 2gb RAM, VRAM=???mb
3)SH8 with 1gb RAM, VRAM=251mb:)
4)SH8 with 2gb RAM, VRAM=???mb

Thanks.

hope this helps. been using the sh8 for almost a week. no problems. batt life is good, no signs of draining even after leaving the batt on for the whole day. processing and every thing wise is very good. install office '07 and lots of other progs and doesn't lag.

think if u wanna buy sh8 can try popular bookstores. there're some computer booths under iKnow and they sell it at the same price as the SITEX. and they dun bundle the external drive either. i got mine at $1283 at jurong pt popular. can try calling them to ask for availability, their number's in kohjinsha's website. and ask for the number for the popular bkstore nearest to u!

PierceLee
07-12-2007, 10:15 AM
Do they give any discount to Popular card members?

Maikeru
07-12-2007, 10:19 AM
hope this helps. been using the sh8 for almost a week. no problems. batt life is good, no signs of draining even after leaving the batt on for the whole day. processing and every thing wise is very good. install office '07 and lots of other progs and doesn't lag.

think if u wanna buy sh8 can try popular bookstores. there're some computer booths under iKnow and they sell it at the same price as the SITEX. and they dun bundle the external drive either. i got mine at $1283 at jurong pt popular. can try calling them to ask for availability, their number's in kohjinsha's website. and ask for the number for the popular bkstore nearest to u!

Hi, when did you get yours? I went to Popular in Northpoint last night. They say got to get the external DVD at $1390. =(

atlantis001
07-12-2007, 10:56 AM
Im using the SH6 with 2GB RAM but I find booting up the little fella seems to take forever and the HDD seems to be laboring away as compared to my T61....:P Very tempted to reformat and install XP PRO.

Btw has anyone done any tests to see how fast SH6 with 2GB RAM performed tasks versus SH8 2GB RAM?

Johnteoh
07-12-2007, 11:11 AM
Hi, when did you get yours? I went to Popular in Northpoint last night. They say got to get the external DVD at $1390. =(

Think he purchase before or during sitex. I also check with the popular at by house and they confirm the dvd is in.

korbu
07-12-2007, 03:37 PM
Think he purchase before or during sitex. I also check with the popular at by house and they confirm the dvd is in.

Hi, i bought it one day after sitex. I called up all the 3 distributors and only iKnow replied saying they still have stock. So i went down to jurong pt n purchase. Think it happened to be one of the last few sets left.

titank
07-12-2007, 04:42 PM
Just wondering. For those who are using the SH6, do you really need to write on the screen or mostly like as if it is a mouse? Also does it really benefit to have 2GB RAM?

In order to have letter recognition, must either upgrade to Vista Home Premium or a Letter recognition software. Not yet try the writing technique as I'm still looking for a screen protector & hopefully provide free installation.

On a full charge, the laptop able last only 2 hours on this std battery.Did anyone use the extended battery which able to get 4 hours or more?:s12:

Johnteoh
07-12-2007, 05:14 PM
Hi, i bought it one day after sitex. I called up all the 3 distributors and only iKnow replied saying they still have stock. So i went down to jurong pt n purchase. Think it happened to be one of the last few sets left.

Wow... Good timing for you. Still can't decide which to get.

korbu
07-12-2007, 06:16 PM
In order to have letter recognition, must either upgrade to Vista Home Premium or a Letter recognition software. Not yet try the writing technique as I'm still looking for a screen protector & hopefully provide free installation.

On a full charge, the laptop able last only 2 hours on this std battery.Did anyone use the extended battery which able to get 4 hours or more?:s12:

So far max only 2.5hrs on the second charge. Hopefully can get more once the batt has been charged to it 'full' capacity.

daytonaguy
07-12-2007, 06:22 PM
Im using the SH6 with 2GB RAM but I find booting up the little fella seems to take forever and the HDD seems to be laboring away as compared to my T61....:P Very tempted to reformat and install XP PRO.

Btw has anyone done any tests to see how fast SH6 with 2GB RAM performed tasks versus SH8 2GB RAM?
Been using SH8 with 2gb ram.....boot up in a zippy....find it excellent for the price I paid.
So far the best mini-laptop I have used.....especially in terms of price VS performance.:)

atlantis001
07-12-2007, 07:28 PM
Hmmm....does the extra 200Mhz do wonders...? :P

korbu
07-12-2007, 11:09 PM
I think I found a bag suitable for UMPCs. saw this YPAKS bag at Chinatown OG this evening and decided to buy it. It has a bit of 'cushion' so it feels secure, haha. The attached pic is in white but the one i bought is in black. It has enough compartments for its adaptor and my huawei modem. even have space for ur portable disk drives and wat nots. At only $29.90 i think it's a good buy. and if u're a member u get more discounts. now they having a promotion, if u have a stand chart credit card u can get up to 25% off!

http://www.ypaks.com/verdana.htm

http://www.ypaks.com/images/31502beige.jpg

titank
08-12-2007, 08:52 AM
Dear Sir,:s12:

Do you mean there is extra pocket inside where can put the Huawei Modem, travel adaptor? So if we straight away produce the Standard Chartered Credit card is 25% discount from $29.90?=:p

atlantis001
08-12-2007, 09:02 AM
How long does the external battery last? I charged it for straight 8 hours and turned off the main..the indicator shows aout 4h 35 mins. I thought it was supposed to last longer than that??

korbu
08-12-2007, 09:40 AM
Dear Sir,:s12:

Do you mean there is extra pocket inside where can put the Huawei Modem, travel adaptor? So if we straight away produce the Standard Chartered Credit card is 25% discount from $29.90?=:p

yeah, 25% off for stand chart customers. it fits nicely for a 7" and has 2 major compartments inside. the compartment at near the front opens up fully like a laptop case. When you open up the compartments there 2 smaller pockets which are the size of a 2.5" hard disk case.

And at the front of the bag there're 2 pockets for you to put ur accessories.:)

Maikeru
08-12-2007, 12:31 PM
Hmmm....does the extra 200Mhz do wonders...? :P

Of course it does.

atlantis001
08-12-2007, 01:03 PM
How much faster in terms of what SH6 and SH8 can perform?

Johnteoh
08-12-2007, 09:32 PM
Finally got the SH6 at popular tampines. They ran out of stock for the dvd driver so have to collect another day. Today went back to get the screen protector for SH6 at $22 and went SLS tp upgrade the RAM to 2GB for $62. Anyway the manual put the wrong info so better to bring the KJS together to show the sale person.

Maikeru
09-12-2007, 07:49 PM
Finally got the SH6 at popular tampines. They ran out of stock for the dvd driver so have to collect another day. Today went back to get the screen protector for SH6 at $22 and went SLS tp upgrade the RAM to 2GB for $62. Anyway the manual put the wrong info so better to bring the KJS together to show the sale person.

Hi, where did you get your screen protector? Do you happen to know if they also have a keyboard protector? And where in SLS did you have your RAM upgraded?

Thanks!

Johnteoh
09-12-2007, 09:20 PM
Hi, where did you get your screen protector? Do you happen to know if they also have a keyboard protector? And where in SLS did you have your RAM upgraded?

Thanks!

I think the keyboard protector has to get from the company but I didn't check with them if they have it or not. For screen protector I got the counter which I bought my KJS. It is in the Popular Bookshop in Tampines Mall. For RAM, I got it from Best Bargain.

PierceLee
09-12-2007, 09:51 PM
The Kingston 2GB DDR2 PC667 memory for laptop should work (I have it in my SH8). I think the manual is ok, it stated a lower speed, but higher speed memory (like 667) is compatible, so long as they are DDR2. Ya, Best Bargain is selling $62 now.

Maikeru
10-12-2007, 11:19 AM
I think the keyboard protector has to get from the company but I didn't check with them if they have it or not. For screen protector I got the counter which I bought my KJS. It is in the Popular Bookshop in Tampines Mall. For RAM, I got it from Best Bargain.

Thanks for the info!

titank
10-12-2007, 01:53 PM
I obtained the screen protector from the SITEX but they were simply too busy to put for me. Anyone go back to PA Mart where they help to put the screen protector?:s12:

genewarmbat
10-12-2007, 03:52 PM

Hi, did u test the 2GB RAM (DDR2-667) on the spot? Btw, manual said max. 1GB & speed 400+ only...I plan to purchase & fix myself, don't intend to bring it down to SLS. Thanks.

loveease
11-12-2007, 11:35 PM
Hi everyone

I have downgrade to windows xp successfully.

I got the drivers from korean homepage of kohjinsha.

All the drivers were there....

But, some of driver for korean version. I think it works well on english version.

Because I'm using win xp eng version with asian language pack (korean). (I'm korean..)

After downgrade, much faster than vista home. I think xp is more suitable for high performance.

Anyway.. You can try to download the drivers from below link.

http://www.kohjinsha.co.kr/driver/driver_l.php

(There are a lot of korean, but the name of the drivers are in english. :) )

And In my case I didn't need to update the BIOS for support windows xp.

P.S Kohjinsha singapore will release the drivers for windows xp in next year.
(I heard from the shop that I bough mine. but.. not.. very sure.. )

Maikeru
11-12-2007, 11:48 PM
Hi everyone

I have downgrade to windows xp successfully.

I got the drivers from korean homepage of kohjinsha.

All the drivers were there....

But, some of driver for korean version. I think it works well on english version.

Because I'm using win xp eng version with asian language pack (korean). (I'm korean..)

After downgrade, much faster than vista home. I think xp is more suitable for high performance.

Anyway.. You can try to download the drivers from below link.

http://www.kohjinsha.co.kr/driver/driver_l.php

(There are a lot of korean, but the name of the drivers are in english. :) )

And In my case I didn't need to update the BIOS for support windows xp.

P.S Kohjinsha singapore will release the drivers for windows xp in next year.
(I heard from the shop that I bough mine. but.. not.. very sure.. )

Hey cool! Congratulations! btw, what model you have? SH6 or SH8? and what XP did you downgrade to? Home? Media Center?

Johnteoh
12-12-2007, 12:34 PM
Hi, did u test the 2GB RAM (DDR2-667) on the spot? Btw, manual said max. 1GB & speed 400+ only...I plan to purchase & fix myself, don't intend to bring it down to SLS. Thanks.

It was tested and confirmed by other members that it can support 2GB RAM. I fixed my on the spot so that if there is something wrong, can change right away.

aireth
12-12-2007, 03:42 PM
Hey cool! Congratulations! btw, what model you have? SH6 or SH8? and what XP did you downgrade to? Home? Media Center?

Best is use XP Tablet.

obrag
12-12-2007, 05:13 PM
Anyone know where to buy XP Tablet Edition (in Singapore)?
cheers,

genewarmbat
12-12-2007, 09:55 PM
It was tested and confirmed by other members that it can support 2GB RAM. I fixed my on the spot so that if there is something wrong, can change right away.

Upgraded, Vista Basic shown 2GB, but actual usage only 1GB. Any setting required?

Johnteoh
13-12-2007, 08:36 AM
Upgraded, Vista Basic shown 2GB, but actual usage only 1GB. Any setting required?

I didn't do much setting after installing the RAM. I test by switching on a lot of aplication until it passes the 50% mark based on sidebar.

titank
13-12-2007, 07:39 PM
Did anyone using SH6 (Home Basic) downgrade to XP? Is it really importnat to use the real software when using on our laptop?

Don't know whether worth to upgrade the OS to Home Premium so that can have the letter recognition feature. Did anyone use the stylus yet?

lunloon
13-12-2007, 10:43 PM
Don't know whether worth to upgrade the OS to Home Premium so that can have the letter recognition feature. Did anyone use the stylus yet?[/QUOTE]

I am using PenOffice, it's kinda laggy, but it works.
Wondering the same thing, is it worth the extra $200 to upgrade to Home Premium just for the letter recognition.

jujube
14-12-2007, 03:33 AM
Don't know whether worth to upgrade the OS to Home Premium so that can have the letter recognition feature. Did anyone use the stylus yet?

Wondering the same thing, is it worth the extra $200 to upgrade to Home Premium just for the letter recognition.[/QUOTE]

maybe u can try ritePEN ?

greenhorn1000
14-12-2007, 10:10 AM
Hi, my colleague juz bot SH8 from Popular. Does packaged include stylus pen? Its listed in accesories list but can't find in the box. Where can get cheap & good screen protector ? Oso any way to backup hardisk or create recovery DVD cos packaged doesn't include one & he didn't own any s/w for creating recovery DVD yet. TIA

Maikeru
14-12-2007, 11:13 AM
Hi, my colleague juz bot SH8 from Popular. Does packaged include stylus pen? Its listed in accesories list but can't find in the box.

The stylus is not in the box. It is tucked in on the top right side of the screen. If you still can't find it, PM me your email and I'll take a picture for you where to find it.

Where can get cheap & good screen protector ?

Daiso 8" for only $2. But you have to trim it. Some say they got at popular for $22 which fits perfectly. Purplemoo.com also selling for around $35 scratch resistant. Take your pick.

Oso any way to backup hardisk or create recovery DVD cos packaged doesn't include one & he didn't own any s/w for creating recovery DVD yet. TIA

The harddrive has a built in recovery partition. There is an EMERGENCY.ISO in \KJS directory, I'm sure it's got something to do with it, but I haven't burned it to CD yet as I don't have time. But I will do it with this weekend and post here my findings if any.

titank
14-12-2007, 11:49 AM
Wondering the same thing, is it worth the extra $200 to upgrade to Home Premium just for the letter recognition.

maybe u can try ritePEN ?[/quote]

Ritepen? Is it a kind of software? So far I still have not try cos still trying to find the perfect screen protector where somebody can help fix it.

Any shop that sell screen protector that provide installation?:s12:

Jameson82
14-12-2007, 02:30 PM
Hi All,

Just want to find out if anyone out there installed Visual Studio on their Kohjinsha?

Hows the performance? I am thinking of getting one.

Maikeru
14-12-2007, 03:47 PM
Hi All,

Just want to find out if anyone out there installed Visual Studio on their Kohjinsha?

I will this weekend. BTW, what VS version are you referring to? 6? .NET2003? .NET2005?

maverick5595
14-12-2007, 04:21 PM
Hi, What is the Kingston memory model?? IS it KVR667D2S5/2G

prelude
14-12-2007, 04:32 PM
Thinking of getting the Kohjinsha SH8 with 2GB RAM. Can anyone advise if i can install the following app and run them smoothly? or how will the performance going to be like based on your experience with your current setup.

- Visual Studio 2005 .NET
- MS SQL 2005
- MySQL version 4/5
- AutoCAD 2000
- MS Office Professional 2003
- Macromedia Studio MX

Mainly use for .NET web app development, and simple graphic touch up.

Also what's the best price/promo for the SH8 and where can I get it?
Thanks.

titank
14-12-2007, 05:13 PM
Currently PA Mart selling SH8 at $1390 (Inclusive of the DVD Writer). If gonig to upgrade to 2G RAM then would cost you another extra $149.:yawn:

titank
14-12-2007, 05:15 PM
Hi All,

Are you refering to the drivers from the AKohjinsha website? I think some of them can't update yeah when I try load up onto my SH6.:look:

atlantis001
14-12-2007, 06:31 PM
Thinking of getting the Kohjinsha SH8 with 2GB RAM. Can anyone advise if i can install the following app and run them smoothly? or how will the performance going to be like based on your experience with your current setup.

- Visual Studio 2005 .NET
- MS SQL 2005
- MySQL version 4/5
- AutoCAD 2000
- MS Office Professional 2003
- Macromedia Studio MX

Mainly use for .NET web app development, and simple graphic touch up.

Also what's the best price/promo for the SH8 and where can I get it?
Thanks.

Im also thinking of installing VS 2005 and SQL 2005. May be straining the little fella! Will be interested to know the performance too.

quailmaster
14-12-2007, 08:11 PM
SH6 now selling at 999 at PA mart...

jujube
15-12-2007, 12:37 AM
maybe u can try ritePEN ?

Ritepen? Is it a kind of software? So far I still have not try cos still trying to find the perfect screen protector where somebody can help fix it.

[/QUOTE]

yesss

prelude
15-12-2007, 02:51 AM
Actually is the SH8 performance better, on par, or worse than the fujitsu p5020 (1ghz pentium m processor) ?

Maikeru
15-12-2007, 11:53 AM
Are you refering to the drivers from the AKohjinsha website? I think some of them can't update yeah when I try load up onto my SH6.:look:

No, he's referring to a development Tool by Microsoft (for programming)

prelude
15-12-2007, 12:16 PM
Upz, anyone knows the performance of SH8 compare to Asus eee compare to Fujitsu P5020 (Pentium M ULV 1GHz CPU) ? what's the ranking?

Also anyone installed Visual Studio 2005 and MS SQL yet? how's the performance?

titank
15-12-2007, 11:02 PM
Hi All, :yawn:

Anyone manage to source for a good laptop sleeve for the Kohjinsha?:s12:

sin77
15-12-2007, 11:17 PM
hi all

anyone interested to buy mine?
mine is the black colour one with small hdd space using amd processor.
Looking at $800+ ?

Maikeru
16-12-2007, 11:28 AM
Ok, update from me. I installed Microsoft's latest Visual Studio 2008 Express Edition in my KJS SH8. For now, I did a Visual Basic 2008 Install (will install the Web Designer later on). Installation is more than an hour of pain - it installs the latest framework (3.5), VB2008, SQL Server 2008 Express and MSDN Express. (nice job M$, the installation ate 1.5 hours worth of my battery).

However, when i ran VB2008, it was a breeze. So far, it is as snappy as 2005. Though I still haven't started programming yet. (Running out of battery). But I could say, 2005 should be faster to install.

Once I get home, I'll install ASP.NET 2008 Express and will let you guys know. (The touch screen will do wonders when editing HTML pages).

drazic
16-12-2007, 04:35 PM
did anyone wrap their kohjinsha with protective film? i think if get the white one SH8 and still wrap it with some cool carbon fibre design, still ok....

osakachan
16-12-2007, 06:08 PM
Anyone knows how much is SA01 selling now? $965 like at the Sitec roadshow?

prelude
16-12-2007, 07:49 PM
Ok, update from me. I installed Microsoft's latest Visual Studio 2008 Express Edition in my KJS SH8. For now, I did a Visual Basic 2008 Install (will install the Web Designer later on). Installation is more than an hour of pain - it installs the latest framework (3.5), VB2008, SQL Server 2008 Express and MSDN Express. (nice job M$, the installation ate 1.5 hours worth of my battery).

However, when i ran VB2008, it was a breeze. So far, it is as snappy as 2005. Though I still haven't started programming yet. (Running out of battery). But I could say, 2005 should be faster to install.

Once I get home, I'll install ASP.NET 2008 Express and will let you guys know. (The touch screen will do wonders when editing HTML pages).

Thanks for the update. Woah! 1hr is really a pain. but u were running on batt, maybe the speed was slower.

wonder how long it takes to compile 200mb of asp.net source codes.

maybe autocad can run fine.

kitaeshi
17-12-2007, 11:07 AM
wow like tat i can also wan to install vb 2005 n try try...

qiang85
17-12-2007, 02:13 PM
Popular buy got popular discount or not?

Maikeru
17-12-2007, 02:47 PM
Popular buy got popular discount or not?

None. Buy at Tangs if got Tangs card then can get 6% rebate. Hopefully still have freebies (if still have stock).

prelude
18-12-2007, 08:54 AM
Anyone interested in buying can PM me. See this thread for more information:
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1632072&page=60

sin77
19-12-2007, 12:12 AM
Anyone knows how much is SA01 selling now? $965 like at the Sitec roadshow?

mine is this one.
how much u looking at?

prelude
19-12-2007, 10:01 AM
Sigh, try to be nice and people either take advantage or want you to do everything for them. Hence, I've closed my offer for helping to get the 6% discount.

zachmus
19-12-2007, 12:22 PM
Anyone tested rmvb files with the SH6/8? Any playback problems. Heard from some chinese forums that certain playback issues such as lag or frame with sound sync issues. Currently considering on whether to purchase. The processor holding me back. Wants to use it more for a portable media player. Any owner here could help to shed some details/test?

drazic
19-12-2007, 02:27 PM
Sigh, try to be nice and people either take advantage or want you to do everything for them. Hence, I've closed my offer for helping to get the 6% discount.

bro, hope its not me. i had to get it today coz will fly off for holiday tomorrow.
I got the last SH8 just now. There was one returned SH8 but i asked for a new one.
SH6 apparently also have one but it could not boot up, so i choose SH8.
I find the bootup damn slow. Maybe upgrading to 2GB will help.

drazic
19-12-2007, 02:38 PM
Does the BREE leather case fit the SH8?
i saw the catalogue for accessories for SH series and there were some leather case. Where to get those?

Maikeru
19-12-2007, 03:17 PM
Does the BREE leather case fit the SH8?
i saw the catalogue for accessories for SH series and there were some leather case. Where to get those?

Read a post at a site that they are using the Bree leather case for their KJS. I just can't remember where. You can bring your KJS to the shop and try fitting it in to verify.

Maikeru
19-12-2007, 03:20 PM

Yup, there will always be peeps like that-cheapskates.

titank
19-12-2007, 03:22 PM
bro, hope its not me. i had to get it today coz will fly off for holiday tomorrow.
I got the last SH8 just now. There was one returned SH8 but i asked for a new one.

When I on my SH6, I think at least took 3 minutes to boot up everything.Maybe it is just Intel & not those Core 2 Duo which can perfrom faster.

Maikeru
19-12-2007, 03:25 PM
Anyone tested rmvb files with the SH6/8? Any playback problems. Heard from some chinese forums that certain playback issues such as lag or frame with sound sync issues. Currently considering on whether to purchase. The processor holding me back. Wants to use it more for a portable media player. Any owner here could help to shed some details/test?

I've got the SH8 but haven't tried rmvb files. However, I tried high-res .OGG files that are encoded in high resolution. Only minor occasional lags, but maybe it's because I have my ASP.NET editor and Internet Explorer (Gmail) open at the same time while watching. =D

Maikeru
19-12-2007, 03:28 PM
When I on my SH6, I think at least took 3 minutes to boot up everything.Maybe it is just Intel & not those Core 2 Duo which can perfrom faster.

On SH8, I got 1 minute and 10 seconds, this is when after I loaded .NET 2008. A bit faster before that.

Fastest recorded in 1 forum I read on his SH8 Vista premium is 45 seconds. After he uninstalled most of the things he doesn't need. But when he upgraded to XP, boot up only took 25 seconds.

prelude
19-12-2007, 10:55 PM

Hi bro, don't worry, definitely not you. There were a few who thought I was doing it to get cash off my credit card and then wanted my stamps. Some others thought I was doing it for the stamps and my credit card points and wanted more discounts, and then there is another....sigh...you get the drift....

To all those people, I'm just helping folks here to get their discount and I do not want or need anything else. The reason why I'm helping is because I've to meet up my client (Stanchart) these few weeks, since I'm already there might as well. If you want to take advantage of me, go sleep in mud with the pigs.

machomonster
20-12-2007, 08:22 AM
Anybody got any ideas whether the following accessories is available from PAmart for the SH8 and how much:

1) Car charger
2) Car Cradle
3) Extended Battery

zachmus
20-12-2007, 10:22 AM
I've got the SH8 but haven't tried rmvb files. However, I tried high-res .OGG files that are encoded in high resolution. Only minor occasional lags, but maybe it's because I have my ASP.NET editor and Internet Explorer (Gmail) open at the same time while watching. =D

Thks bro. Any other bros here did any media tests? I looking at SH6(due to black) and SH8(better processor). Vista really not suitable for SH series. Saw reviews as many users change to XP from hk and china on the performance on XP. Any bro here using XP on SH series?

changchun
20-12-2007, 10:48 AM
Have anyone tried installing Ubuntu on SH6?
I've installed, e bootup is faster, but it doesn't detect the wireless card.
I've google it, tried to follow e instructions, but fail.

ANyone can help to teach how to install the wireless into Ubuntu?

lunloon
20-12-2007, 04:32 PM
would wanna venture into the options of upgrading to Windows XP Tablet PC, but worry about no compatible drivers leh.

ANyone any idea?

Johnteoh
20-12-2007, 05:44 PM
would wanna venture into the options of upgrading to Windows XP Tablet PC, but worry about no compatible drivers leh.

ANyone any idea?

Wrote to them about the driver for XP. They said will release in mid Jan 08. However I read that Kohjinsha Korea already has the driver. Has anyone tried out if they work with XP English?

titank
24-12-2007, 12:01 PM
Did anyone manage to get any good laptop sleeve where can house the Kohjinsha, the travel charger & adaptor & also the mouse.

If have, do share some of your creative thought

zheng
24-12-2007, 09:35 PM
SA how much ah??
kohjinsha laptop target at ladies?
SH better den SA model?

i saw jp site got SSD model leh sg got?

Maikeru
24-12-2007, 10:53 PM
Wrote to them about the driver for XP. They said will release in mid Jan 08. However I read that Kohjinsha Korea already has the driver. Has anyone tried out if they work with XP English?

Did you managed to fnd out where to buy XP Tablet? Where and how much? I hate Vista, a lot of softwares not working on it.

titank
25-12-2007, 03:41 PM
Did you managed to fnd out where to buy XP Tablet? Where and how much? I hate Vista, a lot of softwares not working on it.

Did anyone install XP Tablet in Malaysia on thier Kohjinsha? How is it reliable?:s22:

Johnteoh
25-12-2007, 07:40 PM

No idea for that. Still trying to find out how to go about it.

Chee_Hian
26-12-2007, 12:04 AM

No Problems with the XP drivers from Kohjinsha Korea. But do bear in mind to get the latest wireless drivers. The latest one is dated 2007, not 2006. The old drivers cause high CPU usage in Windows XP.

Johnteoh
26-12-2007, 11:15 AM
No Problems with the XP drivers from Kohjinsha Korea. But do bear in mind to get the latest wireless drivers. The latest one is dated 2007, not 2006. The old drivers cause high CPU usage in Windows XP.

Yup encounter that also. Lucky went to Window Update to update the driver and it is ok normal.

Maikeru
26-12-2007, 12:29 PM
Yup encounter that also. Lucky went to Window Update to update the driver and it is ok normal.

So you already "upgraded" to XP Tablet Edition? Everything works properly?

Johnteoh
26-12-2007, 01:42 PM
So you already "upgraded" to XP Tablet Edition? Everything works properly?

Nope. I only change to XP,

Maikeru
26-12-2007, 02:33 PM

XP Home I pressume? And I also pressume rotate button not working? And how is the battery life and performance?

PierceLee
26-12-2007, 03:34 PM
Anyone managed to find cheap replacement stylus? Thinking of getting a backup. Tried the Nintendo DS one and my PDA phone, they don't fit the hole.

IntelFlash
26-12-2007, 03:49 PM
SH6 now selling at 999 at PA mart...
i just called, it's still beyond the 1k mark
$1176

titank
26-12-2007, 04:02 PM
Did anyone purchased extended warranthy from PA Mart?

2 yr = $199
3 yr = $299.

Johnteoh
26-12-2007, 04:35 PM
i just called, it's still beyond the 1k mark
$1176

Did you confirm with them if the $1176 includes the external DVD drive?

bobbyleong
26-12-2007, 04:36 PM
I'm looking for Kohjinsha SH6 or SH8, if u have one for sale, please PM me the specs and your selling price. Thanks.

Johnteoh
26-12-2007, 04:41 PM
XP Home I pressume? And I also pressume rotate button not working? And how is the battery life and performance?

Nope. XP pro. So far so good. The rotation button working but have yet to really test the limit of the machine.

Maikeru
26-12-2007, 04:49 PM
Nope. XP pro. So far so good. The rotation button working but have yet to really test the limit of the machine.

Woah! That's great bro! Now I'm more keen to try :s12:.

If M$ doesn't come back to me regarding their tablet edition, I think I'll try this also. I'm getting annoyed with Vista - resource hog, slow, and some software and games are not running.

Any software your using for the hand-writing recognition/on-screen keyboard?

larry
26-12-2007, 04:53 PM
How long can the battery lasts?

What is the price of the battery?

Thanks

Maikeru
26-12-2007, 05:18 PM
How long can the battery lasts?

What is the price of the battery?

Thanks

Battery life is the same as my V3000 notebook before - around 3 hours. Less than 2.5 hours if wifi always turned on (always surfing).

Quote from bro -

unwanted
26-12-2007, 05:48 PM
Did you confirm with them if the $1176 includes the external DVD drive?
it don't include.
just called again

63383530, anybody can call and check for themselves

atlantis001
26-12-2007, 10:05 PM

Hi johnteoh,

XP Pro? I guess the touchscreen wouldnt work with XP instead of Tablet?

Johnteoh
26-12-2007, 10:58 PM
Hi johnteoh,

XP Pro? I guess the touchscreen wouldnt work with XP instead of Tablet?

After installing the drivers should not have problem. Only thing is that you can write as there is no pen input like tablet.

Johnteoh
26-12-2007, 11:01 PM
Any software your using for the hand-writing recognition/on-screen keyboard?

Nope. Not using any at the moment.

Johnteoh
26-12-2007, 11:10 PM

Think I spoke a bit too early. Keep having the disconnection problem and high CPU usage.

titank
26-12-2007, 11:22 PM
Hi All,

Did anyone downgrade from Vista Basic (SH6) to XP Pro? Can this be done at PA Mart & anybody know how much it cost?

Lastly by downgrading to XP Pro how much would be the estimating battery life?