View Full Version : NBA Discussions
outlander
02-11-2007, 11:33 PM
Any NBA fans here? Now that the new season has just started, which team do you think will win the Championship? Which team will be the dark horse? Which team do you support?
I support the Lakers. Hopefully Kobe remains with the team and don't think about asking for trade. Then again, with the lacklustre supporting cast, Lakers can only continue to struggle along. :s27:
uwa_cs
02-11-2007, 11:54 PM
Houston Houston Houston, T-MAC, YAO and Stevie Franchise. Not forgetting Shane Battier and Raefer Alston
vasilli07
03-11-2007, 12:00 AM
Boston Celtics...With Kevin Garnett, Paul Pierce and Ray Allen, they are going to be the strong contenders.
outlander
04-11-2007, 11:37 PM
Boston Celtics...With Kevin Garnett, Paul Pierce and Ray Allen, they are going to be the strong contenders.
I agree. With the addition of KG, this will be the team to watch for. Hopefully KG will be able to get a ring before his window closes.
Gaddy23
05-11-2007, 02:58 PM
Ray allen with a game winner today against the raptors. yi jianlian looking good in his first home game, getting 16,8,2,2. Rockets starting strong 3-0. The new offense seems to suit tmac. hes scoring more. Lakers suprisingly winning. Just beat the jazz. Kobe got a MONSTER block on ak-47 when he was going for a 2 handed dunk. block of the year so far.
outlander
06-11-2007, 08:51 AM
Lakers looking good so far with 2 wins against Suns and Jazz. :)
Gaddy23
06-11-2007, 11:37 PM
without odom nontheless. haha. other suprising teams are new orleans and pacers. hope starhub cable decides to show some bucks games. i wanna watch yi jianlian get a facial.
outlander
08-11-2007, 01:15 PM
Yi seems interesting but not much news on him since his good debut.
elevate
08-11-2007, 10:20 PM
i support Sacramento (if only stojakovic hadn't left..) and also Detroit..
and yea, Celtic's lookin real strong this season ^^
gabzz85
11-11-2007, 12:51 PM
CLetics all the way this season...Garrnetttt~~~~~~
moveyon
11-11-2007, 01:10 PM
Any NBA fans here? Now that the new season has just started, which team do you think will win the Championship? Which team will be the dark horse? Which team do you support?
I support the Lakers. Hopefully Kobe remains with the team and don't think about asking for trade. Then again, with the lacklustre supporting cast, Lakers can only continue to struggle along. :s27:
hope andrew bynum can develop faster..
moveyon
11-11-2007, 01:13 PM
CLetics all the way this season...Garrnetttt~~~~~~
garnett is super.. i hope he dont get injured or else celtics will collapse
elevate
11-11-2007, 01:31 PM
still got pierce and rayallen mah..heh.
miami heat has lost like 16 straight. 4 games against bulls in teh playoffs..7 preseason..and 0-5 this season. hah.
ankl3br3aker
11-11-2007, 11:02 PM
CHICAGO BULLS FTW~~~~~
kobe1989
14-11-2007, 11:06 PM
well, i guess Celtics would be hot favourites this season. As for LA lakers, i doubt kobe himself alone, has got what it takes to bring the team to more than the first room of playoffs.
i mean players like brown, pretty ****ty ain it/
elevate
15-11-2007, 12:20 AM
boston 6-0 already. woo.
and ure rite bout the lakers man. kobe can only do that much...
burtonho1990
17-11-2007, 12:37 PM
LOL why only care kobe we have andrew bynum can grab rebounds block shots , lamar odom , derek fisher too , lakers can reach playoffs but will not win . thats it ..
burtonho1990
17-11-2007, 12:41 PM
without odom nontheless. haha. other suprising teams are new orleans and pacers. hope starhub cable decides to show some bucks games. i wanna watch yi jianlian get a facial.
pacers can say goner lol . got jermaine oneal , danny granger dunleavy but rest like useless
new orleans will improve of course with 3 pter peja stojakovic chris paul mo peterson tyson chandler david west , they may push to playoffs
lol celtics definitely a team to watch =)
Gaddy23
20-11-2007, 05:28 PM
lil dun!. lol. hate him. next larry bird my ass. magic playing well despite the crappy 110 million for rashard lewis.
burtonho1990
23-11-2007, 04:20 PM
who ? er paul pierce ? are yu sure 110m ? u mean sing currency ? cause kobe contract only 88m ... u mean rashard worth more LOL ?
implicit
23-11-2007, 04:44 PM
I used used to be a Kings fan, but with this season being 1 that every team has a chance of making it to the playoffs makes it very interesting. I would personally say that orlando is doing a great job surrounding the team with good 3pt shotters and rebounders.
cathicabbage
28-11-2007, 10:11 AM
I would like to think that the Celtics would take it all, but I think that we can pretty much see how their lack of depth is an issue, and Rondo isn't exactly the pointguard who can run this team. As much of a KG fan I am, skipping from the TWolves to the Celts, this year has to be the Suns' year.
HardCore__Gamer
28-11-2007, 01:38 PM
Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket
Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket Rocket
wally_world
22-12-2007, 04:43 PM
Suns got this one!!! about time... been the runner-up (i feel) for the past 2 to 3 years... if not for the Spurs or that stupid gambling ref the Suns = champion liao lor!!!
outlander
04-01-2008, 10:11 AM
With the win over Rockets, the Celtics now matched their best 30-game start with a record of 27-3. I will be surprised if they don't go deep into the playoffs.
mingz15
11-01-2008, 09:07 AM
SUNS SUNS SUNS SUNS SUNS SUNS SUNS !!!!!!!!!!!!1
nobody play better than nash .
nobody dunk it like amre .
nobody run like marion .
nobody defend like bell .
nobody shoot it like barbosa .
nobody can match the SUNS .
WE ARRRRRRRRRRRRRRREEEEEEEEEEEEEE THE CCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAMMMMMMMMMMPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPIIIIIIIIIOOOOOOOOOOOONNNNNNNNNN
Gaddy23
19-01-2008, 10:00 PM
up this thread. celtics lost a few recently. portland is killing it. lakers are top of the west? wtf? rockets struggling without tmac. injured for a month or so. suns have a shot. they just need to get past spurs.
and lebron is godly. 50 points 9 rebounds 8 assists.
outlander
21-01-2008, 03:56 PM
Lakers is performing better than expected due to the efforts of Andrew Bynum and other bench players. However with Bynum sidelined with injury till Mar, have to keep fingers crossed on whether they will continue to win like this.
GloveK8
21-01-2008, 09:33 PM
Lakers are good as Lamar odom is good as a 3rd option as compare to a 2nd option, thus when bynum is healthy he is the 2nd option... lamar is those tat like to do sai kang, like rebounding passing all those, u see him never score much when bynum is healthy but when u see his stat line is like 10+ rebound 15+ points den 4 or 5 assists.. but bynum now injure...
Celtics need to get more depth... but they are really very good.......I think the spurs are rather quiet now... the west is so tight, the top 8 record are all so near as compare to the east.. east i only think 2 teams are contenders, celtics and pistons ...
sapphire01
22-01-2008, 07:35 AM
my fav has always been the Cavs!! =) Lebron Jamessss haha.. he single handedly dragged the team into the finals.. I think if they add abit more class.. Surely.. the next champs! But they have been disappointing and like some of you guys mentioned over dependent on 1 guy JAMES ~ haha..
outlander
23-01-2008, 04:43 PM
my fav has always been the Cavs!! =) Lebron Jamessss haha.. he single handedly dragged the team into the finals.. I think if they add abit more class.. Surely.. the next champs! But they have been disappointing and like some of you guys mentioned over dependent on 1 guy JAMES ~ haha..
It'll be tough to go deep into the playoffs depending only on 1 man. It's indeed an extraordinary feat for Lebron to single-handedly bring the Cavaliers to the finals, but I doubt they will be able to repeat this again.
Teams with only 1 star player are typically not able to go far. Just look at Lakers (Kobe), Sixers (when Iverson was there) and Wolves (when Garnett was there).
rudylili
25-01-2008, 03:05 AM
I used to adore Jordan, Shaq, A.I, and all the big stars with their moves.
However as i grow, i felt reluctiant to look at superstars.
Now, i am keen to look at Portland Trailblazers. They really have a good team with 11players that can play on the starting lineup anytime as being called upon.
Gaddy23
26-01-2008, 10:48 PM
yea. there a very young team with a promising star in brandon roy. plus they have greg oden coming back next season. lots of potential. new orleans is looking good. chris paul and tyson chandler and david west, not to mention peja. best record in the east
outlander
27-01-2008, 10:06 PM
Portland is really the surprise this season.
sellotape
29-01-2008, 08:55 PM
It'll be tough to go deep into the playoffs depending only on 1 man. It's indeed an extraordinary feat for Lebron to single-handedly bring the Cavaliers to the finals, but I doubt they will be able to repeat this again.
Teams with only 1 star player are typically not able to go far. Just look at Lakers (Kobe), Sixers (when Iverson was there) and Wolves (when Garnett was there).
Everybody always be talking about how Lebron single handedly brought Cavs to the Finals but thats overated. Lebron indeed played really well on a personal level but he always had Big Z, Carlito lookalike guy from Brazil I forgot his name, some vets like Eric Snow playing Defense and Damon Jones hitting a couple impt threes once in a while, Sasha Palvolvic producing on the offensive end. Other than Larry Hughes being injured all the time, Lebron's been having help from his teammates but its his superstar shine that kind of makes them seem useless but cmon now.
Well, Sixers went far in 2001 and Lakers are doing great now but of course I'd say part of the credit goes to Bynum too tho.
outlander
30-01-2008, 05:49 PM
Everybody always be talking about how Lebron single handedly brought Cavs to the Finals but thats overated. Lebron indeed played really well on a personal level but he always had Big Z, Carlito lookalike guy from Brazil I forgot his name, some vets like Eric Snow playing Defense and Damon Jones hitting a couple impt threes once in a while, Sasha Palvolvic producing on the offensive end. Other than Larry Hughes being injured all the time, Lebron's been having help from his teammates but its his superstar shine that kind of makes them seem useless but cmon now.
Well, Sixers went far in 2001 and Lakers are doing great now but of course I'd say part of the credit goes to Bynum too tho.
Well, a great player makes his teammates better. Although I'm not a Lebron fan, I'd have to agree that his teammates tend to play better when he's around.
sellotape
31-01-2008, 01:00 AM
Yeah u got a point I guess its a mutual thing. Neither can do without the other but I still believe his teamates are pretty good. Big Z was an all star ahha and I forgot to mention Drew Gooden
outlander
03-02-2008, 11:17 AM
The Los Angeles Lakers have acquired forward Pau Gasol in a trade with the Memphis Grizzlies, it was announced today by General Manager Mitch Kupchak. The Lakers will also receive the Grizzlies second round draft choice in 2010. In exchange Memphis will receive forward Kwame Brown, guard Javaris Crittenton, guard Aaron McKie (who the Lakers signed earlier today), the draft rights to Marc Gasol and first round picks in 2008 and 2010.
Gasol, a 7th year player out of Spain, is averaging 18.9 points, 8.8 rebounds and 1.44 blocked shots per game this season. The 27 year old 7’0” forward/center has career averages of 18.8 points and 8.6 rebounds. A 2006 NBA All-Star and 2001-02 NBA Rookie of the Year, Gasol also won a gold medal with Spain at the 2006 FIBA World Championships while being named tournament MVP.
Hopefully this will make them a title contender. :s31:
Gaddy23
12-02-2008, 05:43 PM
its highway robbery. lopsided deal. bynum gasol odom kobe fish with turiaf vlad ariza walton farmar on the bench. they are contenders for sure. ANYWAY SHAQ GOT TRADED TO THE SUNS?!?! WTF. might be worse deal or best deal depending if he stays healthy and motivated.
wally_world
13-02-2008, 12:55 AM
its highway robbery. lopsided deal. bynum gasol odom kobe fish with turiaf vlad ariza walton farmar on the bench. they are contenders for sure. ANYWAY SHAQ GOT TRADED TO THE SUNS?!?! WTF. might be worse deal or best deal depending if he stays healthy and motivated.
are you the Gaddy i know? lols...
outlander
16-02-2008, 04:37 PM
I think it's a bad move by Phoenix. They are already the top team in the west. By shipping Marion off, they are taking a big gamble that Shaq can perform. Given the health problems faced by the ageing Shaq, I don't think he can fit into the fast paced running game that the Suns perfected.
SpinFire
16-02-2008, 05:26 PM
NBA All-Star Saturday on ESPN @ 9am tomorrow! Wooohooo! :D
outlander
01-03-2008, 07:56 PM
Damn! Lakers 10-game winning streak just got ended by Trailblazers.
perosoka
02-03-2008, 03:20 AM
cavaliers is so strong now.. much stronger than last sem
my bet is cavaliers vs spurs/lakers in finals this year
SpinFire
02-03-2008, 11:56 AM
Damn! Lakers 10-game winning streak just got ended by Trailblazers.
I kind of expected it. Besides, the Lakers played another game the night before, so probably fatigue slowed the team down.
acecmopu17
15-03-2008, 03:13 PM
<object width="425" height="355"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/SrB6JjQbQko&hl=en"></param><param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/SrB6JjQbQko&hl=en" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="355"></embed></object>
I;'m thinking of Lakers vs Celtics in the 2008 finals!!!! Kobe FTW! Though Gasol's ankle injury is gonna leave a big question mark..
wally_world
15-03-2008, 06:42 PM
<object width="425" height="355"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/SrB6JjQbQko&hl=en"></param><param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/SrB6JjQbQko&hl=en" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="355"></embed></object>
I;'m thinking of Lakers vs Celtics in the 2008 finals!!!! Kobe FTW! Though Gasol's ankle injury is gonna leave a big question mark..
Nash and the Suns will kick the lakers @ss...
outlander
15-03-2008, 08:05 PM
It'll be an interesting match on Sun when the Lakers meet the Rockets to see if they can end the Rocket's 21-game winning streak. Too bad Bynum and Gasol are injured and the Lakers are not at their full strength.
acecmopu17
15-03-2008, 11:41 PM
It'll be an interesting match on Sun when the Lakers meet the Rockets to see if they can end the Rocket's 21-game winning streak. Too bad Bynum and Gasol are injured and the Lakers are not at their full strength.
Rockets look like their gonna have their way, but I got the feeling KB24 is gonna serve them up smth to prove he is worthy of MVP status
outlander
16-03-2008, 02:46 AM
I hope that Kobe gets MVP this year. It'll really be a pity if one of the best player in history finishes his career without getting an MVP award at least once.
acecmopu17
16-03-2008, 08:57 PM
I hope so too, he's done too much for the Lakers. 3 championships, and ever since Shaq left he has taken over the helm as the team's leader, suffered through the rape case, fought off critics saying he was a ball hog, scoring 81 points in a game, he has done it all.
acecmopu17
17-03-2008, 09:08 AM
Rockets go for 22nd win over the lakers!!! NOOOOOOOOOOOOOO =(((
<object width="425" height="350"> <param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/YdZm-JiLq7I"> </param> <embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/YdZm-JiLq7I" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="425" height="350"> </embed> </object>
acecmopu17
19-03-2008, 06:27 PM
Rockets streak ends at 22 after facing the Boston celtics!!!
<object width="425" height="355"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/H-tiQuwbTa0&hl=en"></param><param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/H-tiQuwbTa0&hl=en" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="355"></embed></object>
HmMmMm
21-03-2008, 02:46 PM
vujacic from LA looks abit like ruud van lol
acecmopu17
22-03-2008, 01:31 PM
vujacic from LA looks abit like ruud van lol
lol he does?
anyways...doesnt anyone in singapore care about the NBA?
boston sweeps the texas triangle highlight mix!
<object width="425" height="355"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/WhyMGqVH03M&hl=en"></param><param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/WhyMGqVH03M&hl=en" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="355"></embed></object>
kkkkkk
22-03-2008, 11:12 PM
lets see lakers own when gasol and bynum get back
outlander
25-03-2008, 02:36 AM
lol he does?
anyways...doesnt anyone in singapore care about the NBA?
boston sweeps the texas triangle highlight mix!
<object width="425" height="355"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/WhyMGqVH03M&hl=en"></param><param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/WhyMGqVH03M&hl=en" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="355"></embed></object>
Seems like NBA is not really that popular compared to soccer.
yellowsubmarine
26-03-2008, 10:50 PM
Singapore only interested in pushing soccer rather than basketball. :(
outlander
27-03-2008, 09:18 PM
Nevermind, there will always be diehard fans like me.
MrWeiWei
27-03-2008, 10:43 PM
think today kobe bryant kanna ejected from the game for committing 2 technical fouls...
if not lakers still have chance to win bobcats....
chuan3205
28-03-2008, 09:13 AM
what a 'pwned dip dip by KB24' video! :o
seldom lurk outside EDMW so didn't know got NBA thread ~
I'm a fan also :s34: Lakers ftw but doubt it can win this season thou.
outlander
28-03-2008, 02:00 PM
Apprarently the MVP race is now bet Kobe and Chris Paul. Hopefully the Lakers can extend their good performance for the remaining few games of the season so that Kobe can have a serious shot at becoming MVP. CP is still young and have plenty of time.
oyebto
28-03-2008, 04:15 PM
miss shaq in his good old days man..
outlander
28-03-2008, 04:18 PM
miss shaq in his good old days man..
He should be thankful that he got out of the stinking Heats and joined the Suns.
acecmopu17
28-03-2008, 05:44 PM
<object width="425" height="355"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/C4jvzKZIdvs&hl=en"></param><param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/C4jvzKZIdvs&hl=en" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="355"></embed></object>
Some of you may know Chris Webber has announced his retirement from the NBA not too long ago, so I decided to do a little tribute for him! This is just part 1, the beginning!
MrWeiWei
29-03-2008, 11:09 AM
think kobe bryant gonna break 60pts today against the bears liao . 1st quarter oledi scored 23pts
chuan3205
29-03-2008, 10:45 PM
Lakers lost again!!! :sad:
vasilli07
30-03-2008, 01:18 AM
Can anyone tell me how come lakers become the powerful? :s11:In the beginning of the season, Kobe still kpkb that he wans to leave becoz the team is not a championship material team. :s8:
outlander
30-03-2008, 11:50 AM
Can anyone tell me how come lakers become the powerful? :s11:In the beginning of the season, Kobe still kpkb that he wans to leave becoz the team is not a championship material team. :s8:
The supporting casts have been playing better and rising up to the challenge, esp Lamar Odom and Jordan Farmar. Kobe is having more confidence in them and hence passes the ball more. In the earlier part of the season, Andrew Bynum is a major contributor and showed that he is a legitimate rising star before he was injured and sidelined. Then came the trade for Paul Gasol who also helped tremendously, but unfortunately is also injured now.
acecmopu17
07-04-2008, 01:12 AM
<object width="425" height="355"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/01acf-rpbSA&hl=en"></param><param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/01acf-rpbSA&hl=en" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="355"></embed></object>
outlander's words in action above ^
outlander
08-04-2008, 10:21 PM
<object width="425" height="355"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/01acf-rpbSA&hl=en"></param><param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/01acf-rpbSA&hl=en" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="355"></embed></object>
outlander's words in action above ^
Nice find there.
acecmopu17
09-04-2008, 01:25 PM
Yup..I made that...
outlander
10-04-2008, 09:47 AM
Yup..I made that...
Well done!
outlander
15-04-2008, 04:20 PM
Heheh, Lakers sitting at the top of Western Conference now with only 1 game left to play.
outlander
17-04-2008, 05:54 PM
The season is wrapped up today. Let the playoffs begin!
Eastern Conference
(1) Boston Celtics vs. (8) Atlanta Hawks
(2) Detroit Pistons vs. (7) Philadelphia 76ers
(3) Orlando Magic vs. (6) Toronto Raptors
(4) Cleveland Cavaliers vs. (5) Washington Wizards
Western Conference
(1) Los Angeles Lakers vs. (8) Denver Nuggets
(2) New Orleans Hornets vs. (7) Dallas Mavericks
(3) San Antonio Spurs vs. (6) Phoenix Suns
(4) Utah Jazz vs. (5) Houston Rockets
burtonho1990
17-04-2008, 07:32 PM
lol lakers to triumph the best of 7
pacific2000
20-04-2008, 12:44 PM
I'd say lakers win the nuggets in 5 games.
Garrison
21-04-2008, 10:32 PM
I forsee a Lakers-Celtics finals, Kobe for season MVP. The rest is still too early to predict. But the eastern conference is soo lobediede this season. Celtics and Detroit have the best record in the league, but the 4th - 8th seed have less than 45 wins! The western conference is totally different. Only 7 wins seperate the top 8 seeds.
outlander
22-04-2008, 04:59 PM
This is shaping up to be one of the finest playoffs in history. Other than the competitive west, the rivalry between Wizards and Cavaliers is also worth a look.
Garrison
25-04-2008, 02:46 AM
Lakers win game 2! Woohoo! 49 points by Bryant.
Garrison
27-04-2008, 10:28 AM
Lakers 3-0! Nuggets can't stop them.
wally_world
27-04-2008, 05:13 PM
Suns should be ashamed... even Hawks can beat Celtics and they friggin didnt give enough heart in game 3... Mike D'Antoni needs to get fired... Boris Diaw is getting wayyyyyy too many minutes... Steve Kerr also should get fired... why did we let such a good GM like Brain Colangelo (sp?) go???!!! Suns = done... this year dont win means over liao... Nash is 34, Hill 35, Shaq 36... hate to see Nash retire without a ring like other great PGs, Stock and Kidd (he's probably done as well) FREE STEVE NASH!!! wanna see him land in Cleveland with King James... any chances of this happening?
S&T Gibson, Big Z for Nash? maybe a 3rd team should get involved... Suns knows Amare needs a pass-first PG... maybe TJ Ford or Jose Calderon? let me work this out...
NASH TO CAVS!!!! :D
Garrison
30-04-2008, 02:46 AM
Lakers Sweep the nuggets!
I think Nash was better in Dallas with Dirk. Cavs are a one man show, and that nots enough to carry them to the finals. Not this year, I think.
yfWong
30-04-2008, 08:35 PM
I have been a long time Lakers and Kobe fan and this is the first time I visit this thread.
Lakers looks good now though their defense is sometimes bad but they seems to step up according to the opponent they played against.
Right now for round 2, choosing between Jazz and Rockets, I am more scared of Rocket because of TMac and their defense. When TMac is bad, he is really bad but when he is good he is nearly as unstoppable as KB24. Lakers has beaten Jazz 3 out 4 time and won big, so Lakers should be able to handle them.
What you guys think?
silenthill
05-05-2008, 07:10 PM
Well, it is pretty much a done deal for the heroic Rockets.
I believe that the Jazz-L.A.kers series will likely go to 6 games with the L.A.kers winning it. Although i am rooting for Utah. I am a KB24 "disliker" (don't hate him but dislike him).
Me rooting for a Celtics-L.A.kers finals and finally, Celts through to second round...Go KG!
outlander
06-05-2008, 04:56 PM
It's really surprising to see Celtics going to game 7 with the Hawks. I wonder if the draining series will have any impact on them in the 2nd round. Let's see how they fare against Cavaliers tonight.
Another surprise is the Hornets vs Spurs series. I really didn't expect the Spurs to succumb so easily for 2 straight games.
silenthill
06-05-2008, 06:07 PM
Aw, man bro. Tell me about it! The Celts should never have allowed the series to drag to a game 7 for sure. Didn't know what they were doing and thinking.
The Cavs-Celts game would be very interesting. i think that they should just keep the defensive player of the year on King James through the whole game, much like the "Jordan Rules".
The Hornets are legit! Although i am surprised like you are, Chris Paul is absolutely phenomenal. Duncan and Tony need to up their game for sure. I think Ginobilli needs to dig deep and become an even dirtier player to get the Spurs outta the funk they are in.
btw, bro wanna get together for a bball game? a few guys and i trying to organise one.
I believe that i can get 3-4 friends to come play as well.
yfWong
06-05-2008, 11:06 PM
I rooted for Hornets to win the series against Spurs but I did not expect a 2-0 starting and blow outs, wow! Chris Paul is fantastic and should be included in the US Team in this Olympic games.
Garrison
07-05-2008, 12:56 AM
I expected Spurs to win the series, actually, so I surprised to see them blow out 2 games. Hornets are good only when they run at their pace, cause they ahve a lot of young atheletic players. Spurs need to dominate on defence and force them to slow down the pace. They are a good defence team. Bruce Bowen is a v tough defender. He needs to step up and help Parker stop Chris Paul.
And I really hope Celtics sweep Cavs. I'm sick of Cav's one man show. But seeing how Celtics too 7 games to beat Hawks, I think Cavs will at least take them to 6 games.
Lakers-Jazz... I think Lakers in 5 games. 6 max. Andre could stop Kobe in game 1, and Gasol-Odom combo inside the paint is too strong for Jazz.
Magic-Piston.... Piston seems to have turned on their game, and are doing quite good. Magic is almost as much a one man show as Cavs. Stop Superman, Magics have no more tricks up their sleeves. No pun intended.
silenthill
07-05-2008, 08:59 AM
Actually, the Hornets are not really playing a run-and-gun game per se like the Phoenix Suns or Sacramento Kings of old. They play a very good half court game. I have watched a few of their games in the 1st round against the Mavericks and the secret of their success is a well spaced offence - with Peja at the 3pt line along with Morris Peterson. David West at the high post and Tyson Chandler at the low post. Chris Paul penetrates and can finish any where on the court and is always ready to dish.
Another thing which some may not have notcied is that they have great defenders in Tyson Chandler and David West. Peja is also playing great defence. His height at 6' 10" is giving other Small Forwards fits.
Also, they ALL rebound! It is no secret that if you have 4 guys crashing the offensive and defensive boards all the time, you will dominate.
Quickness on the court is often underlooked and the guys on the Hornets are all pretty quick and they play great cover defence.
Go Hornets!
outlander
07-05-2008, 10:21 AM
It's official. Kobe Bryant Wins Most Valuable Player Award. http://www.nba.com/news/kobe_mvp_080506.html
NEW YORK, May 6, 2008 – Kobe Bryant of the Los Angeles Lakers is the winner of the Maurice Podoloff Trophy as the 2007-08 NBA Most Valuable Player presented by Kia Motors, the NBA announced today.
The 11-year NBA veteran totaled 1,105 points, including 82 first place votes, from a panel of 126 sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada. Players were awarded 10 points for each first-place vote, seven points for each second-place vote, five for third, three for fourth and one for each fifth-place vote.
As part of its support of the Most Valuable Player Award, Kia Motors will donate a brand-new 2009 Kia Borrego seven-passenger SUV on behalf of Bryant to the East L.A. Boys and Girls Club. Kia Motors presented a Borrego to the charity of choice of each of the four year-end 2007-08 award winners as part of the “The NBA Performance Awards Presented by Kia Motors.”
Rounding out the top five in voting for this season’s award were New Orleans’ Chris Paul (889 points), Boston’s Kevin Garnett (670 points), Cleveland’s LeBron James (438 points) and Orlando’s Dwight Howard (60 points).
Bryant finished the season ranked second in the league in scoring at 28.3 ppg, having shot .459 from the field, .840 from the free-throw line and .361 from three-point range. In addition, Bryant added 6.3 rebounds, 5.4 assists and 1.8 steals per game. The 6-6 guard led the Lakers to the best record in the Western Conference (57-25, .695), a 15-game improvement over last year (42-40, .512), and the franchise’s 19th Pacific Division title.
Bryant is the youngest player in NBA history to score 20,000 career points and the 16th player in league history to tally 21,000 points and 4,000 assists. This season, Bryant moved past 12 players on the all-time scoring list, including Hall of Famers George Gervin, Bob Pettit, Walt Bellamy and Hal Greer, to 24th all-time. Bryant was named NBA Western Conference Player of the Week three times (Jan. 14, March 3, April 7) and NBA Western Conference Player of the Month presented by Kia Motors twice this season (February, April).
Garrison
09-05-2008, 12:14 AM
And then goes on to score 34 in LA's game 2 win over Utah! Eat that, Kobe doubters.
silenthill
09-05-2008, 12:47 PM
i don't think people doubt KB24's ability to score and play the game but what most people have issues with is his ability to lead and his EGO.
Now, it is safe to say that the best players in NBA history have big egos as well - Wilt, Russell, Isiah, Bird, Magic, Jordan etc - all have rather big egos.
However, because of their willingness to share the ball, motivate their team mates, play team ball and do whatever it takes (defence, offence, drive to the ground for the ball) to WIN as a TEAM; they are seen more as "Confident" rather than egotistical. They are seen as Leaders and Winners.
KB24 is trying to emulate that but i still think that he is just a little short.
He can definitely play but so can so many other players.
Look at King James. Pretty much singlehandedly, with a less-than-stellar supporting cast, he was able to lead the Cavs to the Finals. He was able to lead his team past so many obstacles. Look, in this season, his stats says it all. Scoring, Assists, Rebounds. Doing it all.
Now, to me and most people, that is a leader. That is someone who is confident but not egotistical and he sure as hell didn't ask his team to un-retire a legendary great's jersey number just so he can "play in a right frame of mind".
Garrison
09-05-2008, 04:00 PM
I guess different people have different definations of MVP. Sure, Lebron carried the Cavs this far. Without him the cavs won't even be in the playoffs. But one of the criteira of MVP is that they make the other players better. The problem with Cavs is that the entire team consist of just Lebron. If you watch TNT Inside NBA, Charles Barkly has said this many times. They basically give the ball to Lebron and let him go one on five. Statistically, he's puttin up huge numbers. But that's cause the team just keeps feeding him. That, to me, is not a leader. That is a do-er. That's the guy in the office everyone dump their workload to, and he takes it willingly. The only difference is that Lebron gets plenty of recognation. A leader has to motivate the team, call plays, like a second coach on the court. And we don't see that in Lebron.
Lookat Kobe, his scoring is down this year, compared to last 2-3 years when he had to carry the team, and they were eliminated in the first round. But everyone else in the team is scoring more. Definately, Lakers has a much better team than Cavs, outside of the 2 stars. But because he gets the team more involved, he helped the young player develop, and of course, the addition of Pau Gasol, that's why the Lakers are top in the west.
Jordan
09-05-2008, 04:29 PM
I agree that KB is more deserving of MVP than LBJ this season. And he's less selfish this season compared to previous seasons as well. But without the role players stepping up (Odam, Fisher, Walton, etc) and him trusting them to deliver shots when he is double-teamed, I think you will see him back to his old self. Of course the addition of Gasol is really the steal of the season, and they got a heck of a 1-2 punch, where the defenders got to pick their poison. So, essentially he became less "selfish" simply because he got better team mates around him. But I dun think he make the team better through his leadership.
I will pick CP3 over KB anytime for the impact he have on the Hornets.
yfWong
09-05-2008, 07:44 PM
Kobe has been more willing to share the ball with his teamates because they have improved over last summer, Andrew & Sasha in particular. Their shots began to fall. Maybe Kobe's outburst last summer had motivated them to prove to Kobe they are worthy teamates. If they do not shoot well, Kobe will be Kobe.
Tomorrow games at Utah will be really tough and I hope Lakers can stamp their authority in the 1st quarter.
I am suprised Lebron choked for the 2nd time.
outlander
09-05-2008, 08:09 PM
Lebron is doing all that Kobe has been doing since the departure of Shaq. You can't blame a player for being selfish if the supporting cast is not capable of rising up to it. So it's either the superstar shoulders the load and tries to do it all, or everybody goes down together.
In my view, Kobe is definitely worthy of MVP this season. In fact he was so close to it when he scored tons of points the last 2 season (including a whopping 81 points against Raptors), but he was not able to get it as his team did not have a winning record. Having won it only in his 12th season, it's considered way too late for a player widely recognized as the best in the league. Having a good supporting cast does not necessarily takes his credit away. And don't forget, the Lakers remain the only unbeaten team in the playoffs. Celtics which arguably has more talented players needed 7 games to proceed to 2nd round. And MVP for last year, Dirk Nowitzki, got ousted in the 1st round playoffs.
Garrison
09-05-2008, 09:26 PM
Actually, Lebron averages 6-7 assist per game. The problem is that every possession, they basically pass the ball to Lebron, and let him make the play, when that is usually the guard's role. And they usually give him the ball from beyond the arc. So he always end up two on one, three on one, driving against a wall of defenders, and that means two other guys are open. And more often than not, he tries to score than pass. So when you consider 6-7 assist out of 30-40 possession per game, that's not a lot.
outlander
11-05-2008, 11:12 AM
Cavaliers managed to get a win and is now 1-2 against the Celtics. It's really surprising that the Celtics still has not managed to win a single playoff game away from their home court. But that shouldn't pose a problem since their season best record gave them home court advantage throughout the playoffs.
acecmopu17
11-05-2008, 03:13 PM
back from situational test, getting less than 24 hrs of rest before the 5 and a half day field camp...but somehow it felt good seeing Kobe lifting the MVP trophy...coz he's finally reaping the rewards of his work done
silenthill
11-05-2008, 08:35 PM
Interesting fact, so far in this season, ALL the Home Teams have won on their home courts.
BTW, guys, i am not a KB24 hater per se. I do not deny his ability to score and play. I just question his leadership. I have been following his career since he joined the league when he was 18 years old and i am sure that some of the things which he had done and said on and off the court are pretty ....
However, he is starting to win me over especially his decision to play injured after the Pau Gasol trade.
Please note that i am not a King James' diehard fan. I used King James as a comparison as he and KB24 are the closest facsimile amongst the MVP candidates in terms of position and role in their respective teams.
I am a diehrad KG fan from when he was 18 years old for his talent, skill and most of all, his passion on the court.
IMHO, the MVP should have gone to ... Chris Paul for so many reasons which some have already said. Well, of course, if the Hornets make it to the Finals, we can still hope for a Finals MVP for Chris Paul, no?
I am really hyped for a Celts-Pistons Eastern Conf. Finals and a Hornets-Jazz Western Conf. Finals. Don't count the Jazz out. They have a very complete team and it is fun to watch the good old Pick & Roll + High Screen Flex vs the Triangular Offence + Doberman Defence.
Garrison
12-05-2008, 05:37 PM
Interesting fact, so far in this season, ALL the Home Teams have won on their home courts.
Not true. Lakers swept the Nuggets in the first round.
In the second round, Detriot is the only team to have an away win so far. All the other second round matches had the home team winning.
Jordan
12-05-2008, 09:00 PM
After watching Lakers last 2 games (including last night 3.30am game), I think the Lakers do not really have the bench players to make the big plays down the stretch. For instance, just like Game 3, Derek Fisher got 2 quick fouls from guarding Deron Williams, and his back up point guard Jordan Farmar is really bad. Kobe and Odom has to carry the team down the stretch for the Lakers in Game 4, but of course not enough. I think the key to this series is Game 7, which I think Lakers will prevail.
On the other hand, for the Spurs-Hornets series, really impressed in Game 4 by the way they swing the ball around to the perimeter players and knocking down 3s. Tony Parker was equally impressive with his drives to the baskets, as well as TD's determination to score in the paint which saw him pick up quite a few 3 point plays and of course helping Tyson Chandler chalked up 5 fouls even before the 3rd quarter ends. This will be an interesting series depending on the types of adjustments each team makes for Game 5.
outlander
12-05-2008, 10:38 PM
Well, the Lakers bench could be pretty decent if they play well. Jordan Farmar is an up-and-coming premier point guard and Luke Walton has always been impressive with his court vision and understanding of the triangle offense. Sasha Vujacic and Vladimir Radmanovic are good 3-point shooters and Ronny Turiaf is the forever enthusiatic guy. However they are still a very young team and learning to play more consistently.
Jordan
12-05-2008, 11:07 PM
I dun think Jodan Farmar is the answer for a back-up point guard, loses ball too easily and defensively not good enough. I like Luke Walton for his energy and yes, he does know the system very well. Ronny is also full of energy, but not sure if he will be out of Game 5 due to his Flagrant-2 foul. Kind of silly to make that play in my opinion, when Lakers are down at that time. So Lakers had to play short handed the rest of the way. If Lakers can make 1 or 2 more new additions to beef up their bench, they will be a force to be reckon with, after Andrew comes back from injury. But not sure if they will make me eat my words this season though by winning the Holy Grail. :D
Garrison
13-05-2008, 10:42 AM
Farmar is a little like the younger Jason Williams. Tries to be flashy, sometimes it cost him. Definately Lakers need someone to back up Fisher
outlander
13-05-2008, 01:47 PM
As much as I hate to admit, the Lakers does face an uphill task in winning the championship. The fact that they emerged the western conference champions is already surprising. They've had a good season considered Kobe had demanded a trade at the start of the season and the Lakers had not advance past the 1st round playoffs since Shaq's departure. Next season should even be better provided Bynum returns and the cast stays healthy.
yfWong
13-05-2008, 09:10 PM
Momentum now is with Utah, Lakers is facing an uphill task against the surging Jazz. Lakers' defense was bad the last 2 games, they just could not stop Utah's offense and they came out flat in game 4. Now I am not so sure Lakers can win the series.
Jordan choked and rumoured that he maybe sidelined next game and Sasha will be the 2nd backup pointguard. I just don't like Sasha driving baseline, turnover resulted when he did so.
Bynum is good but will he return the same? Gasol then will have to play PF, he will have problem facing faster opponent PF because Gasol is slow and soft. Matchup is the issue.
outlander
13-05-2008, 09:57 PM
Bynum certainly shows lots of promise before he was injured. His finesse is more akin to Duncan and less like the dominant Shaq and Dwight Howard style. If not for the injury, this was supposed to be his breakout season. With his strong fundamentals and talent, I think it will not be difficult for him to become one of the best centres in the league.
yfWong
13-05-2008, 10:11 PM
Bynum is also up for a contract extension and may get max money before his injury. I was impressed with his improvement all round this season. I just hope he continue to work hard after the contract extension because his work attitude was questioned by PJ before this season. Just look at Luke Walton, his got his contract extension and he played badly, some attributed the problem to his injury, true or not who knows.
Garrison
13-05-2008, 10:56 PM
Well, Celtics got blown out in Cleveland again, despite a league best away record during the regular season. Detroit is still the only team with an away win in the second round. Is the home crowd really that significant?
outlander
14-05-2008, 10:59 AM
3 out of the 4 second round playoffs are going to full 7 games. Whether Celtics or Cavaliers advance to eastern conference finals, they'll be tired and facing a well-rested Pistons.
Garrison
14-05-2008, 05:45 PM
why do you say that? All the other three match ups can still be won in 6 games.
Jordan
14-05-2008, 05:57 PM
I agree. There's quite a high chance of Game 7s in all 3 conference semis. You are talking about the home court advantage of Lakers, Utah, San Antonio, Boston and Cavs. By no means an easy feat to win in these venues. As basketball fans, Game 7s are what we live for, right? A biting finish to the end.
outlander
15-05-2008, 08:23 AM
Heheh, I'm just making a prediction looking at the way the series is turning out. This year's matchups are so tight and fun to watch that it'll be a pity for it to end early. :)
outlander
15-05-2008, 02:00 PM
Home court advantage continues to play a major role today as Lakers and Celtics both won at home.
elbib00
16-05-2008, 11:01 AM
STARHUB!!!! WHAT THE HELL YOU DOING!!!!
Today is NOH v SAS game 6!!! And you show the replay at 5pm??? Who the hell is gona replay at 5pm since most of us are at work!!!!
Even better, for tmr's game 6 of LAL vs Jazz and there is no replay at all!! Come on now. WTF!!!!!
Do some justice to NBA fans in sg.
The NBA regular season converage is pitiful, but I can look past that. BUT THIS IS THE PLAYOFFS!!!
Even MLB got more coverage. Everytime I see is a Yankee match. Balls man.
/rant
elbib00
16-05-2008, 11:07 AM
Apart from ranting, heres a little contribution to the thread... I thought it was a great pic! Hahahah
http://i28.tinypic.com/1zxmj53.gif
outlander
16-05-2008, 11:50 AM
Apart from ranting, heres a little contribution to the thread... I thought it was a great pic! Hahahah
http://i28.tinypic.com/1zxmj53.gif
Haha, nice pic.
Garrison
16-05-2008, 11:55 AM
hahaha!! Really great one! But that should be lamar Odom in there instead of Sasha.
Home team continues to dominate as Suprs win to tie the series at 3-3.
Jordan
16-05-2008, 02:33 PM
That's why now I dun rely on StarF*** for NBA games already. They either show those "people dun want to watch NBA games" or worst still delayed telecast. Luckily I still have my sopcast to rely on during weekends. This weekend will be fun! Full of Game 6s and 7s!
elbib00
16-05-2008, 05:23 PM
That's why now I dun rely on StarF*** for NBA games already. They either show those "people dun want to watch NBA games" or worst still delayed telecast. Luckily I still have my sopcast to rely on during weekends. This weekend will be fun! Full of Game 6s and 7s!
I only relied on them for repeat telecast.
Weekdays, most people are working and they replay it at 5pm. Grow a brain man, Star***.
And why is there no repeat telecast for tmr's game??? Its the MVP playing... Surely they can find a 2-hr slot for the replay!! Just take out some golf, asian football, tennis & BASEBALL!!!!!!! WHO CARES ABT BASEBALL IN SOUTHEAST ASIA!!!!!????
If there is no slot in ESPN, cant they find a spot in Starsports?
cj4_elmo
17-05-2008, 10:52 AM
Bynum is also up for a contract extension and may get max money before his injury. I was impressed with his improvement all round this season. I just hope he continue to work hard after the contract extension because his work attitude was questioned by PJ before this season. Just look at Luke Walton, his got his contract extension and he played badly, some attributed the problem to his injury, true or not who knows.
don't think they'll extend bynum contract this year, more likely next season. his contract ends at 2010 right?
cj4_elmo
17-05-2008, 10:59 AM
anyone else feels that the lakers are just one point guard away from having a potentially dominating team in the west?
SpinFire
17-05-2008, 02:01 PM
StarHub cocked up the NBA broadcast this morning, started the Lakers-Jazz game 15mins late!
Anyway, Lakers through to the Conf finals already, hope to see a Pistons-Lakers finals!
yfWong
17-05-2008, 02:40 PM
don't think they'll extend bynum contract this year, more likely next season. his contract ends at 2010 right?
First of all, congrat to Lakers for advancing to WCF! But I got heart attack in the last min of play, game 6. This series both teams have had chances to win every game, it was close unlike Hornets vs Spurs series.
Seems like next season Bynum will be up for an extension. Just hope he continues to work hard and stay healthy.
Fisher is a decent PG. Imagine if Lakers have D Will or CP3 in the mix, argh not going to happen.
yfWong
17-05-2008, 02:42 PM
I only relied on them for repeat telecast.
Weekdays, most people are working and they replay it at 5pm. Grow a brain man, Star***.
And why is there no repeat telecast for tmr's game??? Its the MVP playing... Surely they can find a 2-hr slot for the replay!! Just take out some golf, asian football, tennis & BASEBALL!!!!!!! WHO CARES ABT BASEBALL IN SOUTHEAST ASIA!!!!!????
If there is no slot in ESPN, cant they find a spot in Starsports?
I have given up on SH on broadcasting basketballl sports long time ago.
wally_world
17-05-2008, 02:50 PM
LBJ23 vs KB24 NBA finals....
perosoka
17-05-2008, 04:05 PM
I guess different people have different definations of MVP. Sure, Lebron carried the Cavs this far. Without him the cavs won't even be in the playoffs. But one of the criteira of MVP is that they make the other players better. The problem with Cavs is that the entire team consist of just Lebron. If you watch TNT Inside NBA, Charles Barkly has said this many times. They basically give the ball to Lebron and let him go one on five. Statistically, he's puttin up huge numbers. But that's cause the team just keeps feeding him. That, to me, is not a leader. That is a do-er. That's the guy in the office everyone dump their workload to, and he takes it willingly. The only difference is that Lebron gets plenty of recognation. A leader has to motivate the team, call plays, like a second coach on the court. And we don't see that in Lebron.
Lookat Kobe, his scoring is down this year, compared to last 2-3 years when he had to carry the team, and they were eliminated in the first round. But everyone else in the team is scoring more. Definately, Lakers has a much better team than Cavs, outside of the 2 stars. But because he gets the team more involved, he helped the young player develop, and of course, the addition of Pau Gasol, that's why the Lakers are top in the west.
lol do-er
so are u trash?
Jumpman23
17-05-2008, 06:02 PM
Celtics really beh zai ar, cannot close out Cavaliers. Now go to game 7, anything can happen liao. If they lose this KG can really suck thumb. Must be thinking "What the hell do I have to do to win a title?"
outlander
17-05-2008, 09:22 PM
Celtics will make history if they advance to Eastern Conf finals without a single away game win. No other teams have done that before, though I'm not sure whether that's an honour they want!:s22:
outlander
17-05-2008, 09:31 PM
anyone else feels that the lakers are just one point guard away from having a potentially dominating team in the west?
I always feel that Lakers is lacking in PG and Centre, until Bynum suddenly burst out this season and Gasol gets traded in. Now left only the PG position, though I must say Fisher is quite a decent PG. Very experienced and steady and can provide some leadership to essentially still a very young team. Smush Parker was a disappointment though he initially played well when he first joined the Lakers. Prob that's why Kobe was clamouring for the Lakers to acquire Jason Kidd last season.
Garrison
19-05-2008, 01:57 PM
After a long battle, Cletics finally advance to the eastern finals. They could potentially be the first team ever to play 21 games to win the eastern conference. Detroit will be well rested, Billups should be ready to play. Boston will have a another tough matchup ahead if they continue to suck away from home.
Jordan
19-05-2008, 02:26 PM
That was a hell of a match! Saw it live last night on sopcast at 3.30am and was blown away by every single play by Pierce and LBJ. The Cavs really lost due to their key players not stepping up in Game 7, except for Delonte West who had quite a good game. Even the Celtics had problems themselves, with Ray Allen missing a lot of open looks from the 3 point line. But the main highlights are really the LeBron vs Pierce shooting contest. Both of them got 30 points even before the 4th quarter started! And Cavs could have taken the lead, if West had made his open 3 pointer. But instead, PJ Brown was the Celtic that stuck the dagger into the hopes of the Cavs with a jumper with less than 2 min to play, and from then on Cavs got no closer than 3 pts. Looking forward to Game 7 of Hornets-Spurs matchup tomorrow!
wally_world
19-05-2008, 04:48 PM
pistons or celtics in finals = boring... hate defensive match-ups...
outlander
19-05-2008, 07:55 PM
Both Celtics and Pistons are well-deserving teams. They'll be a force to reckon no matter who wins.
outlander
20-05-2008, 01:52 PM
Spurs beat Hornets to advance to western conf finals. Now I'm worried for the Lakers.
yfWong
20-05-2008, 02:09 PM
A duel between one of the best offensive teams and the best defensive team. Go Lakers!
wally_world
20-05-2008, 07:28 PM
if Spurs vs Pistons/Celtics NBA Finals i dont watch le... scared bored to death!
Jordan
20-05-2008, 08:30 PM
Spurs vs Hornets now showing replay at sopcast. PM me for the link
outlander
20-05-2008, 09:36 PM
if Spurs vs Pistons/Celtics NBA Finals i dont watch le... scared bored to death!
Yah man, really hope its Lakers vs Celtics or Pistons. If it's against Celtics, we can relive the great rivalry of the 80s. If it's against Pistons, we can see the Lakers trying to exact revenge for the defeat in 2004 finals.
Garrison
21-05-2008, 10:44 AM
hard to say... Spurs have a very all rounded team... big shot Rob, Duncun, Parker, Manu, Bruce Bowen... Laker's bench players have not been very consistent.
wally_world
21-05-2008, 12:21 PM
how about the Bulls man! landing the 1st pick in the draft... alot of options for them... Beasley would be an ideal choice if they decide to keep the guards... he'll fill in for the low post offence... if they decide to trade Hinrich or Gordon away for perhaps JO they can draft Eric Gordon or Derrick Rose depending on their needs... i personally think they should just play punk and draft Beasley and screw the Heat up! haah
NutritionPark
22-05-2008, 09:37 AM
looking forward to beijing '08..with asia's v own nba the big yao! woohooo
iori_del
22-05-2008, 11:00 AM
looking forward to beijing '08..with asia's v own nba the big yao! woohooo
not big yao leh, is stingy yao.. hahah
BTW SPurs won the first Game at Lakers Home..
Kobe play like ****
GloveK8
22-05-2008, 11:54 AM
Hello... The lakers rally and won it 89-85 =).. Kobe is the best...
yfWong
22-05-2008, 01:25 PM
Kobe play like ****
Wow you did not watch the complete game. Cannot blame you I almost switch off after they were down 20 and seemingly going nowhere then Kobe became Kobe again!
Amazing come back against a defensively tough team like Spurs.
outlander
22-05-2008, 01:44 PM
Kobe play like ****
Hey, your bogus news made my heart skipped a beat leh.
yfWong
22-05-2008, 03:37 PM
Kobe textbook pawnage on Manu
http://i31.tinypic.com/2nhq0rp.jpg
GloveK8
22-05-2008, 04:29 PM
Kobe did not play very badly in the 1st half .. he just never took much shots... but most of people is only see how many points he score or watever.... but kobe being kobe bring the Lakers back =)
GloveK8
22-05-2008, 04:33 PM
how about the Bulls man! landing the 1st pick in the draft... alot of options for them... Beasley would be an ideal choice if they decide to keep the guards... he'll fill in for the low post offence... if they decide to trade Hinrich or Gordon away for perhaps JO they can draft Eric Gordon or Derrick Rose depending on their needs... i personally think they should just play punk and draft Beasley and screw the Heat up! haah
they wun draft eric gordan... he is not in the same level with rose and beasly as of now... but from reports derrick rose got more potential than beasley.. i hope the bulls get Rose though.. and trade away ben gordan.. he is not tat good anyway.. only can score but do nothing much.....
Garrison
22-05-2008, 05:09 PM
I loved Ronny Turiaf's Rodman-ish rebound and put back jam.
sellotape
23-05-2008, 04:56 PM
Man I saw the highlight and there was one where Kobe was playing ginobilli one on one and he went one side and quickly threw it behind his back, caught it and faked it one time, ginobilli bit again, and then Kobe went for the bank shot. MAD SKILLS FROM MR 81
Anyways, how come OJ dropped so much in the draft? I've heard of how crazy he was since like when he was 14 and hes been on all kinds of magazines and stuff. SHouldn't he be like at least top 3 as opposed to the mock draft where everybody put him like 5th and 6th
P.S Kevin love sibei chao lao wit the moustache
Gaddy23
23-05-2008, 07:53 PM
oj mayo was exposed in college. undersized SG with average speed and jumping ability. he has a mid range game though. at best he will be a better jamal crawford to me.
brook lopez and jerry bayless are others fighting out for the 3rd spot.
imo beasley is a better pick. the bulls need a sf/pf scorer and trade dumb gooden away. bulls have kirk hinrich although he seems to have regressed this year.
Gaddy23
23-05-2008, 07:54 PM
kevin love is the sleeper of the draft. dude has skills. plus hes losing weight.
sellotape
24-05-2008, 02:45 AM
I was watching the draft candidates highlight videos and OJ mayo seemed pretty explosive and looks like somebody that cna create his own shot. But of course that was a highlight tape la. Compared to Derrick or whatever the name and Beasely, he seems more athletic. Thats what I can see from the highlight tapes la. Derrick's got an outside shot it seems but I dno't know haven watched them play before but who knows them dudes might get so hyped up but end up like kwame brown, JJ reddick, micheal olowokandi, whatver.
wally_world
24-05-2008, 12:26 PM
they wun draft eric gordan... he is not in the same level with rose and beasly as of now... but from reports derrick rose got more potential than beasley.. i hope the bulls get Rose though.. and trade away ben gordan.. he is not tat good anyway.. only can score but do nothing much.....
yeah... havent really been catching up with college ball... it's probably Rose/Beasley... and the T-Wolves better not screw themselves up by drafting Brook Lopez... both Lopez's in the draft are overrated...
oyebto
24-05-2008, 12:49 PM
Kobe textbook pawnage on Manu
http://i31.tinypic.com/2nhq0rp.jpg
manu is not tat slow, but kobe's way too fast
yfWong
24-05-2008, 01:42 PM
manu is not tat slow, but kobe's way too fast
Kobe caught him with a fake move.
A great Game 2 win by the Lakers. Defense bucked up, Fisher, Odom and Jordan's stepping up coupled with Spurs' poor shooting contributed to the blow out win.
Waitng for the highly anticiptated game 3. Go Lakers!
outlander
24-05-2008, 10:48 PM
Game 3 is likely to be tough. The spurs are not going to go down quietly and they have not lost a single home game yet in this playoff.
GloveK8
25-05-2008, 05:21 AM
I believed the Lakers is going take either game 3 or 4 in San antonio... But the spurs being the spurs.. They cannot be underestimate... But manu is hurting though... I would like manu to be healthy.. So the lakers can beat a healthy spurs team.. =\
yfWong
25-05-2008, 09:10 AM
Game 3 is going to be hotly contested. If Spurs is going to win a game, game 3 is the mostly likely one.
Hopefully the Lakers can get split at Spurs. Manu & their bench got to step up if the Spurs want to have a winning chance.
hobochua
25-05-2008, 10:14 AM
Kobe is going to expedite the process of creating a dynasty....
Garnet needs to obliterate his past failures and look over and indulge in the free flowing offense and stellar defense.
yfWong
25-05-2008, 11:12 AM
If Kobe continues to stay within the offensive plan, his teamates continue to produce & Andrew can come back and fill the softy Gasol's position, a dynasty is in the making.
But Celtics is more likely to win the title this year if they can beat the Piston.
cowed77
25-05-2008, 11:33 AM
nice move by kobe!
but i thought he might have travelled? after that shot fake? i thought he used the other foot to step thru...
might be wrong tho, the video too fast for me.
yfWong
25-05-2008, 12:45 PM
Bordering to a travel but the 3 refs did not call it and Spurs did not protest.
chuan3205
25-05-2008, 05:21 PM
if u watch most games, oftenly ref closed one eye so as not to interrupt the game and break the beauty of the shot/movement.
:(
chuan3205
25-05-2008, 05:25 PM
this season i feel that Kobe has improved tremendously, in terms of teamwork.
now he tends to assist more and work in defense in first half, and usually, step up and carry the team thru in the last quarter.
sweet :)
wally_world
25-05-2008, 06:39 PM
here's my mock draft and team's off-season analysis...
Chicago - Michael Beasley... as much a favorite Derrick Rose is, Beasley is a much more ideal pick... he'll fit great into Chicago and his low-post scoring is what they need... this is unless Chicago can somehow trade Hinrich for a big-time low post scorer like Elton Brand... JO will not be a good fit even though he's easier to get... i doubt the Bulls will take a chance on somehow who hasn't been healthy for the past 3 years...
Miami - Derrick Rose... no brainer since (if) Chicago took Beasley... Derrick Rose alongside Wade will be sick... but i've gotta admit Beasley will be a better fit in Miama... Miami then needs to pick up a Center in the FA market or through some trades... Blount obviously isn't the right starter... with their 54th pick then can select perhaps Shan Foster to provide some shooting off the bench... and also the bench needs to get deeper if they wanna make the playoffs...
Minnesota - Trade Away The Pick!!! lots of mock drafts are saying they'll pick Brook Lopez or OJ Mayo but i beg to differ... what they really need is a PG, a floor general... someone to make Al Jefferson dominant... the 3rd pick value is high so trade it away! TJ Ford will probably be leaving Toronto... Minny should try to get him... Bassy and the pick for TJ and Bargnani/Nesterovic sounds decent... TJ, Foye, Brewer, Gomes/Bargs, Jefferson looks good... McCants is a 6MOY candidate being the scorer off the bench... Raptors can then go on to pick Brook Lopez/Kevin Love... either one of them down low with CB4 will be sick! win-win situation...
Seattle - Jerryd Bayless... another no brainer... their PG's have been very inconsistent... Bayless, Durant and Green will be a force to be reckoned with in the future... then they must find a way to get rid of Ridnour... perhaps packaging him up with Wilkins (decent trade value due to some good games) to get a scoring spark off the bench... and they've got Wilcox, Collison and Swift in the front court which i think are good enough...
Memphis - Brook Lopez/Kevin Love... whichever Toronto didnt pick... they desperately need some size down low... dont tell me you're gonna start Kwame or Jason Collins... they'll then end up with a decent and very young 7-man rotation in Conley, Miller, Gay, Warrick, Love/Lopez, Navarro, Milicic... too bad they're in the West or they might actually have a shot at the playoffs...
yfWong
25-05-2008, 06:43 PM
Kobe deserves the MVP award.
wally_world
25-05-2008, 07:27 PM
New York - Danilo Gallinari... as much as i like OJ Mayo on D'Antoni's team... Crawford's staying and Gallinari has some ties with Mike... he'll probably end up in New York... but hey... it ain't a bad pick... alot like Bargnani and he'll benefit from D'Antoni's run and gun style... D'Antoni will then force Isiah to get rid of Marbury, Curry/Randolph or both... get ready for Nate Robinson, Jamal Crawford and David Lee to run the team!!! and revive the Knicks!
LA Clippers - Eric Gordon... the hardest decision to make... OJ Mayo or Eric Gordon... came to a decision and chose Eric Gordon... i feel that he meshes better with MAX, Brand etc rather than Mayo... he plays more maturely... alot like the Clippers... after which the Clips can trade away Kaman or Brand for more depth... it will be sad to see either go but they need to take a chance... Gordon, MAX, Thornton, Brand/Kaman along with a stronger bench will make them better...
Milwaukee - OJ Mayo... it's time to rebuild (again)... Redd can be a 1st option on a bad team... and i doubt the Bucks wanna be regarded as a bad team... build around Bogut and get rid of Redd's big contract... Mayo can fill in for Redd... Redd, CV and Mo Williams/Sessions for a young forward in a team contending for the title will be good... perhaps Josh Howard or Booz if he falls out in Utah...
Charlotte - Anthony Randolph... they need a versatile scorer down low alongside Okafor... Randolph would be a good fit... he can definetly play the 4 and not worry about getting pwn'd defensively as they isn't many twin towers in the East and Okafor's a reputable defender/shot-blocker... Gerald Wallace can then shift back to his natural SF position... the starting 5 would look darn good... add a little more depth in Larry Brown's system = playoffs...
New Jersey - DeAndre Jordon... start him down low with Krstic and you'll have a offensive-defensive force... with Stro/Boone and Sean Williams off the bench and you'll have another offensive-defensive force... alot like what the Cavs were doing... now build the team around RJ... VC's a has been he needs to get traded rather than hogging up shots for RJ... Houston hasn't been able to get over the hump the last few years... reunite VC and TMac and join them with Yao... in exchange NJ get a couple of young stars and Battier (to make salaries work) from the deep deep Houston Rockets... add that with Nachbar, Macrus Williams... sick! another win-win situation...
outlander
25-05-2008, 08:30 PM
If the Lakers are able to take game 3, the spurs are as good as gone. Then hopefully the Cetics-Pistons series can stretch to 7 games, leaving the winner exhausted.
yfWong
25-05-2008, 08:55 PM
Kobe has the killer instinct, Lakers will have to give out 110% effort. They wanted game 3in Utah but came out flat in the 1st quarter. This time round they need to bring in more energy than the one in Utah.
A win will demoralise the Spurs! Go Lakers!
wally_world
25-05-2008, 09:06 PM
other picks... (shorter explanation cause v tired liao... haha!)
Indiana - Russell Westbrook... simple... they need someone who can compliment Granger... his pass-first mentality would be great since Tinsley's on the decline... they also have way too many scrubs... package em up with JO and get some young players back...
Sacramento - Joe Alexander... versatile player who can play the 3 and 4... will fit ideally since Artest will probably be gone,.. then wait for the contracts to expire before making a big move... will probably be the worst team next season...
Portland - Darrell Arthur... backup for Aldridge... very quick feet and loads of potential... then sign or trade for a pass first PG... dont have to be good... more of a Rajon Rondo of last season...
Goldenstate... DJ Augustin... they need to find a backup for B-Diddy if they decide to start Monta... DJ can set up all the offensive weapons the Warriors have... also... if Brandan Wright gets more minutes i find him a legit contender for MIP...
Phoenix... Roy Hibbert... they need more size... cant have Boris Diaw backing up Shaq... Hibbert might slow down their pace but they should face the fact that they should... with a new coach they need to rebuild around Amare Stoudemire... and a slightly biased remark... i hope the Suns free Stene Nash... put him in a 3/4 way trade and hopefully land him in Cleveland alongside LeBron... i dont wanna see my favourite player retire without a ring... here's an idea... very raw... just on the back of my head...
Cleveland gives - Daniel Gibson (S&T), Joe Smith
Cleveland gets - Steve Nash
Milwaukee gives - Michael Redd, Mo Williams, Charlie V
Milwaukee gets - Carlos Boozer
Phoenix gives - Steve Nash, Boris Diaw, #15
Phoenix gets - Mo Williams, Michael Redd, Joe Smith
Utah gives - Carlos Boozer
Utah gets - Charlie V, Daniel Gibson, Boris Diaw, #15
why Cleveland does this? Nash + LeBron = rings (i believe)... it might be a pain to see Boobie go but Delonte is just as good... no point keeping em both...
why Milwaukee does this? Redd isn't working out... like i said in my previous post... they have an emerging PG in Ramon Sessions and there's no point keeping Mo Williams... he also has the larger contract of the two... Charlie's there to sweeten the deal...
why Phoenix does this? it's time to rebuild... Nash should leave now when his value is still high... Diaw's got a bad contract but his value is high as well after a decent playoff run... Mo Williams and Redd is young... join them with Amare and you have a force to be reckoned with for the next 5-6 years... Joe Smith can provide some bench scoring as well...
why Utah does this? Booz got trashed after his 2nd round performance... and Utah basically got killed because the Lakers were deeper than them... Millsap deserves to start... his intensity will be great to the starting lineup... CV and Diaw off the bench would be great as they are very versatile defensively and offensively... and Boobie can backup DWill (they dont have a backup PG!)... the bench of Boobie, Almond/Price, Korver/Diaw, CV, #15(Roy Hibbert) is unselfish and versatile and very very deep...
CLEVELAND
PG-Nash/Delonte/Damon Jones
SG-Wally/#19 pick
SF-LeBron/Pavlovic
PF-Wallace/Dwayne Jones
C-Big Z/Varejao
MILWAUKEE
PG-Sessions/Royal Ivey
SG-OJ Mayo/Charlie Bell
SF-Desmond Mason/Bobby Simmons
PF-Boozer/Yi Jianlian
C-Bogut/Gadzuric
PHOENIX
PG-Mo Williams/Strawberry
SG_Raja Bell/Barbosa
SF-Redd/Hill (or Giricek)
PF-Amare/Joe Smith
C-Shaq/Skinner
UTAH
PG-DWill/Boobie Gibson
SG-Ronnie Brewer/Mo Almond/Ronnie Price
SF-AK47/Kyle Korver
PF-Millsap/CV
C-Okur/Diaw/Hibbert
wally_world
25-05-2008, 09:08 PM
let me know wad u guys think of my review... the Nash trade is abit random...
yfWong
25-05-2008, 09:24 PM
I am not analytical in this but advantage in the following order with regard to the trade:
1a. Phoenix
1b. Cleveland
2. Milwaukee
3. Utah
wally_world
25-05-2008, 09:33 PM
yea i feel so too... i tried to sweeten the deal for Utah... this is the best i could do... any other idea how to bring Nash to cleveland?
Gaddy23
25-05-2008, 11:38 PM
it wun happen. dream on wally world. knn. if only draft picks all turn out to be decent players. half of them dun most of the time.
wally_world
25-05-2008, 11:53 PM
it wun happen. dream on wally world. knn. if only draft picks all turn out to be decent players. half of them dun most of the time.
but my draft analysis decent right? im kinda impressed by myself! haha!
yfWong
26-05-2008, 12:00 AM
but my draft analysis decent right? im kinda impressed by myself! haha!
I am already impressed with the amount of research and knowledge you got there!
yfWong
26-05-2008, 11:14 AM
Lakers lost.
They came out with energy but play badly down the stretch. Poor shooting, low assistance, Lama forcing the issue and the bench did not produce. Spurs & Manu shot lights out at 3s.
Great win by Spurs.
outlander
26-05-2008, 12:19 PM
Ya, as expected, spurs rebounded back in Game 3. Game 4 will be crucial now for the Lakers.
yfWong
26-05-2008, 04:29 PM
If Spurs continue to shoot that well, Lakers will be in trouble 'cause Gasol cannot cover Tim alone without double teaming which leave shooters open. Gasol looks 'very soft' in offense and defense, bordering being sissy.
wind30
26-05-2008, 05:52 PM
Lakers lost.
They came out with energy but play badly down the stretch. Poor shooting, low assistance, Lama forcing the issue and the bench did not produce. Spurs & Manu shot lights out at 3s.
Great win by Spurs.
Is there any legal way to catch the western conference finals? ESPN is just showing the eastern conference finals but I am more interested in lakers vs spurs. I don't mind paying.
chuan3205
26-05-2008, 05:54 PM
For Lakers vs Spurs:
TNT live, FOC but no commentary.
http://www.tnt.tv/sports/nba/playoffs08_live/
Jordan
26-05-2008, 10:38 PM
Just saw the match, and Laker's bench really came out flat. Ginobilli was key in the 1st half with 5 3 pointers, while Barry was also key at the start of the 4th quarter when Duncan was rested with a few key plays that demoralized the Lakers. Very impressed with Bryant's shooting touch, and he actually shot something like 3 or 4 straight 3 pointers in the 4th quarter to pull the Lakers within 12, including one 3 pointer that he was fouled by Bowen but did not complete the 4 point play. From the way I look at Game 3, Gasol can't guard Duncan alone, and Vuracic can't guard a healthy Ginobilli either. Nice play by the Spurs to inflict Lakers worst loss in the playoffs so far. Game 4 will be delicious! =:p
outlander
27-05-2008, 01:42 PM
Pistons evened the series with Celtics. Great, now that the series is heading towards 7 games.
yfWong
27-05-2008, 01:50 PM
Just hope that Piston will come out victorious at the end of it.
Gaddy23
27-05-2008, 09:37 PM
although it will most likely be a pistons vs spurs finals, the league and most fans hope for a lakers vs celtics finals. jason maxiell is a beast. undersized but still a beast. blocked KG's dunk from behind.
spurs had to win game 3. they will probably take game 4 as well. im predicting that both series will go to game 7. Home teams will have advantage but both the pistons and spurs have shown they can win on the road.
wally_world
27-05-2008, 10:16 PM
check out my mock draft in page 12... :)
yfWong
28-05-2008, 08:57 AM
Lakers came onto the court 10 mins later than the Spurs for practice before tipoff, wtf?
chuan3205
28-05-2008, 09:09 AM
psychological tactic la :s13:
chuan3205
28-05-2008, 09:19 AM
oooooh, lakers starting well!
yfWong
28-05-2008, 10:31 AM
Lakers play with hustle but just not well enough and the Spurs is not shooting too well & Manu is 'Zip' from scoring.
Lakers are still missing lay-ups again. Don't expect the Spurs to shoot poorly in the 2nd half.
chuan3205
28-05-2008, 11:39 AM
hang on there! Go lakers!!
Garrison
28-05-2008, 11:57 AM
Lakers win by 2 points!!!
yfWong
28-05-2008, 12:30 PM
Yah they won but not a pretty game for the Lakers. Pau missing 2 free throws put the win on the line and the last no call on Fisher is going to be like be a fish bone sticking in Spurs fans' throats.
Is it a foul or not on Fisher in the last seconds? Pop said no himself.
wally_world
28-05-2008, 03:56 PM
Brent really made up for wad Manu didn't do today... too bad he missed the game winner...
yfWong
28-05-2008, 04:45 PM
Brent could not make a better shot 'cause he was disrupted and bumped by Fisher, could have been 2-FT for Spurs to tie the game.
The link to the last play between Barry and Fisher. Did Barry travel first before Fisher bumped into him?:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lDc31xBkBg0
Link to Odom goaltended, very close but looks like a good call by the ref:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JvQFQoTOPQ8
Link to Fisher's shot supposedly to have hit the rim that would give Lakers a 24 seconds possession instead of 2 seconds, can't really tell whether it hit the rim or the net:
http://www.lakersmedia.com/?p=141
However, Lakers made stupid mistakes in the games and they were lucky to escaped with a win. I am celebrating :s27:.
wally_world
28-05-2008, 09:28 PM
Brent could not make a better shot 'cause he was disrupted and bumped by Fisher, could have been 2-FT for Spurs to tie the game.
The link to the last play between Barry and Fisher. Did Barry travel first before Fisher bumped into him?:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lDc31xBkBg0
Link to Odom goaltended, very close but looks like a good call by the ref:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JvQFQoTOPQ8
Link to Fisher's shot supposedly to have hit the rim that would give Lakers a 24 seconds possession instead of 2 seconds, can't really tell whether it hit the rim or the net:
http://www.lakersmedia.com/?p=141
However, Lakers made stupid mistakes in the games and they were lucky to escaped with a win. I am celebrating :s27:.
BB was fouled... but im more of a Spurs hater... so... yay!
outlander
28-05-2008, 11:36 PM
Let's hope that Lakers won't squander the lead and finish off the spurs in Game 5.
yfWong
29-05-2008, 01:57 AM
Unfortunately, Lakers has the knack of making mistakes during critical time like the last game when Kobe rushed a shot & Pau missed 2 FTsw almost caused Lakers the game.
If any team that can come back from 1-3 down, Spurs is one of them. If they win Game 5, woo they will get to play game 6 at home.
Hope Lakers not only win but win big to close this series convincingly.
outlander
29-05-2008, 02:41 PM
Celtics won game 5. If they need 7 games to win, they would have played the maximum 21 games to win the Eastern Conference. :s22:
Garrison
29-05-2008, 05:32 PM
BB was fouled... but im more of a Spurs hater... so... yay!
I dunno. Looking at the slow motion replay, he saw Fisher was in the air when he turned around, and he leaned into Fisher to draw the contact.
Even if they had called the foul, Barry was not attempting a shot when he was bumped. They would at most give him 2 shot, which would send the game into overtime at best.
Garrison
30-05-2008, 12:09 PM
Lakers are the WESTERN CONFERENCE CHAMPIONS!!!! Woohoo!
outlander
30-05-2008, 12:11 PM
Lakers are the WESTERN CONFERENCE CHAMPIONS!!!! Woohoo!
Yes!! What a long way they've come, from exiting the 1st round in the past 2 years to Western Conference Champions.
yfWong
30-05-2008, 12:57 PM
Congrat to Lakers!!!
I hope they play the Pistons in the Final.
jumpmanz
30-05-2008, 09:56 PM
hope Lakers do well in game 5.
wally_world
31-05-2008, 12:23 AM
hope Lakers do well in game 5.
they already did... haha! Pistons Celtics will be fun to watch... Pistons didnt win Game 4 but they showed they can play well under pressure... cutting a 15pt 4th quarter deficit... it's gonna be up to the role players now... not the stars... whoever can step up besides their respective big 3s is gonna make a huge difference... just like how Perks, Rondo and Stuckey did in Game 4...
Garrison
31-05-2008, 01:17 AM
umm.... they...won. About 10 hrs ago. And there were three post stating that they did.
Jordan
31-05-2008, 11:36 AM
Celtics vs Lakers! Man, this is exciting!
Predictions pls!
Lakers in 6, I think. Kobe is the "Closer", and he's playing like an MVP. Doubt the defence of Celtics can do much to him, much like the Spurs. But the Celtics do have a formidable offensive players in Garnett, Pierce and Allen.
yfWong
31-05-2008, 11:43 AM
It is official:
Celtics vs Lakers
1st game next week's Friday, 6 June, Singapore time.
Both 1st seat in their respective conference, both with off-season block-buster trades, the 2 most prolific clubs in the NBA history and their rivalry in the 80s resumes.
KG vs KB24, who will come out clutch or choke?
I predict Celtics will prevail. I hope I am wrong. Go Lakers!
P.S. Pistons can only blame themselves for a number of costly turnovers.
GloveK8
31-05-2008, 11:45 AM
Lakers vs Celtics.. Lakers in 6 ... I think fatigue will catch in with the Celtics as they are not a vey young team except for rondo and perkins... Kobe will not let this chance to slip away.. But who knows because the Celtics are full of hungry old veterans... But i am always supporting the Lakers.. Gasol and odom shall be too much for the Celtics.. haha
GloveK8
31-05-2008, 11:47 AM
It is official:
Celtics vs Lakers
1st game next week's Saturday, 7 June, Singapore time.
Both 1st seat in their respective conference, both with off-season block-buster trades, the 2 most prolific clubs in the NBA history and their rivalry in the 80s resumes.
Lol if KG is going to be the clutch man, Lakers will win.. But i think Celtics would depend on Ray allen and Paul pierce.. Because KG is so consistently good, he is about the same day in day out... If ray allen and Pierce get hot.. Trouble for the Lakers.. Hope that Vujacic can shut one of them down with his irritating defense...
yfWong
31-05-2008, 11:50 AM
Lakers vs Celtics.. Lakers in 6 ... I think fatigue will catch in with the Celtics as they are not a vey young team except for rondo and perkins... Kobe will not let this chance to slip away.. But who knows because the Celtics are full of hungry old veterans... But i am always supporting the Lakers.. Gasol and odom shall be too much for the Celtics.. haha
I hope you are right about Gasol. He is soft and playing against K Perkins, I can only pray. There is a reason why he is 0-12 in the postseason while in Memphis, of course that was without KB24 by his side.
yfWong
31-05-2008, 11:56 AM
Lol if KG is going to be the clutch man, Lakers will win.. But i think Celtics would depend on Ray allen and Paul pierce.. Because KG is so consistently good, he is about the same day in day out... If ray allen and Pierce get hot.. Trouble for the Lakers.. Hope that Vujacic can shut one of them down with his irritating defense...
Of course this game is just not about KG, there are PP and Ray Ray. Esp PP, if only Lama can lock him down. Don't forget the rest of the Celtics with the likes of Posey(reliable 3 point shooters), Cassel (streaky shooter) & Powe is another big body to bang the board for rebound.
I just wonder how much time Trevor Ariza get to play. He looked quick.
Jordan
31-05-2008, 12:11 PM
Celtics is pretty much a jump shooting team without a good point guard (No offence to Rondo, but I think he's not at the level of Tony Parker or CP3 yet who's able to drive into the paint and creating plays for his teammates). But they do have a better set of players, esp the bench, who can make big plays. Lakers, on the other hand, have KB. And if KB is able to play at the intensity just like he did in the Spurs series, I seriously doubt Celtics can do anything about it. Th way I see it, he really looks like MJ in one way or another, taking the game on his own with the game on the line. That's how a MVP should play, and he's won me over through and through in the playoffs, though I thought that CP3 should be MVP in the regular season.
One additional factor: Phil Jackson! His record in the Finals is phenomenal!
yfWong
31-05-2008, 12:28 PM
Celtics is pretty much a jump shooting team without a good point guard (No offence to Rondo, but I think he's not at the level of Tony Parker or CP3 yet who's able to drive into the paint and creating plays for his teammates). But they do have a better set of players, esp the bench, who can make big plays. Lakers, on the other hand, have KB. And if KB is able to play at the intensity just like he did in the Spurs series, I seriously doubt Celtics can do anything about it. Th way I see it, he really looks like MJ in one way or another, taking the game on his own with the game on the line. That's how a MVP should play, and he's won me over through and through in the playoffs, though I thought that CP3 should be MVP in the regular season.
One additional factor: Phil Jackson! His record in the Finals is phenomenal!
Celtics can also play good passing game too exploiting the openings. Lakers may need to double-team PP or KG if they create too much damage and that creates openings.
Celtics is also pretty good defensive team so Kobe and the gang has to play at a higher level they played Spurs, that means cutting down turnovers and stupid plays.
KB24 is really playing the MVP type of game so far.
outlander
31-05-2008, 01:39 PM
I'd hope that Lakers will play the Pistons, not because I like Pistons but because I felt Celtics is a better team and can seriously pose a threat to the Lakers. At their best, KG, PP and RA are unstoppable, and Lakers only have a superstar KB to counter them. Although Odom and Gasol are good, I don't think they are a match to Celtics' big 3. Hopefully I'm wrong and Celtics flounder like what they did in against the Hawks and Cavaliers.
yfWong
31-05-2008, 01:55 PM
I'd hope that Lakers will play the Pistons, not because I like Pistons but because I felt Celtics is a better team and can seriously pose a threat to the Lakers. At their best, KG, PP and RA are unstoppable, and Lakers only have a superstar KB to counter them. Although Odom and Gasol are good, I don't think they are a match to Celtics' big 3. Hopefully I'm wrong and Celtics flounder like what they did in against the Hawks and Cavaliers.
The same reason why I want Pistons to beat Celtics. Well, there is no other way around then. Lakers now has to the beat best to be the best!
yfWong
31-05-2008, 03:10 PM
8 out of 8 ESPN expert analysts picked LA to win the Final. Is LA that good even without Andrew Bynum? Just WOW!
Shadus
31-05-2008, 06:00 PM
If u ask me, i think Lakers have bigger problem with Spurs. was not expecting spurs to roll over for them in 4-1
GloveK8
01-06-2008, 01:23 PM
Lakers is really good this year.. even without bynum... I follow lakers so many years already and i think this team really have alot of chemistry although paper wise not as strong as the 2nd championship of the 3 peat... But this team really like everyone of them have a role tat they will do.. and odom is a underated defender, he also muz attack at Piece at the other end of the floor, he must exposed the difference in height against pierce..
Gasol is soft, but i like his passing game, like those analyst say, gasol is like a natural fit for the triangle, even though he is soft, but he is lucky for having a 7'5 wingspan, his wing span really very long, imagine Rasheed's wingspan also is 7'5. Hopefully Gasol will maintain the intensity from the Spurs series to the finals.. he play rather well against duncan.
For the lakers to win they muz play well on offense, their defense are better when they play well at the offensive end.. I really love vujacic Lol hopefully he can make more 3s ..
outlander
03-06-2008, 11:03 AM
Hopefully the series don't drag on and the Lakers can win at Celtics court. If not, the Celtics home court advantage may give them an edge down the road.
wally_world
03-06-2008, 11:06 PM
Lakers in 6... heck... make it 2...
pacific2000
04-06-2008, 04:08 PM
It is official:
Celtics vs Lakers
1st game next week's Saturday, 7 June, Singapore time.
It's Friday, not Saturday. Don't switch on your TV on Saturday just to find out it was aired the day before :)
yfWong
04-06-2008, 05:35 PM
It's Friday, not Saturday. Don't switch on your TV on Saturday just to find out it was aired the day before :)
Thanks, my bad!
outlander
05-06-2008, 08:16 AM
Today's Straits Times picked Lakers to win in 6 games.
Summary of who has the edge in the match-ups:
Bryant vs Allen - Lakers
Gasol vs Garnett - Celtics
Radmanovic vs Pierce - Celtics
Bench - Lakers
Coaching - Lakers
Intangibles - Lakers
Strange that there is no mention of Lamar Odom.
silenthill
05-06-2008, 10:23 AM
http://i195.photobucket.com/albums/z108/jemlee19/Misc/wallpaper_finals2008_800600.jpg
For more go to: http://www.nba.com/celtics/multimedia/wallpaper.html
Straits Times Sports writers for BBall are idiots lah. I never bother to read their articles.
I rather read on the web and it should be Lamar Odom > Paul Pierce. Radmanovic cannot defend for nutz.
Heart says BOSTON (because of "Da Kid") but brain whispers L.A.kers...
If Kendrick Perkins play the way he played Detroit, it would greatly increase the chances for Boston. However, in the PG dept, L.A.kers pwn Celtics....
wally_world
05-06-2008, 02:57 PM
Today's Straits Times picked Lakers to win in 6 games.
Summary of who has the edge in the match-ups:
Bryant vs Allen - Lakers
Gasol vs Garnett - Celtics
Radmanovic vs Pierce - Celtics
Bench - Lakers
Coaching - Lakers
Intangibles - Lakers
Strange that there is no mention of Lamar Odom.
radman and not Odom? WTF...
dont forget the machine aka sasha vujacic who absoluely shutted Ginobili down last series...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t1ewIkVRdEo
yfWong
05-06-2008, 03:12 PM
http://i195.photobucket.com/albums/z108/jemlee19/Misc/wallpaper_finals2008_800600.jpg
For more go to: http://www.nba.com/celtics/multimedia/wallpaper.html
Straits Times Sports writers for BBall are idiots lah. I never bother to read their articles.
I rather read on the web and it should be Lamar Odom > Paul Pierce. Radmanovic cannot defend for nutz.
Heart says BOSTON (because of "Da Kid") but brain whispers L.A.kers...
If Kendrick Perkins play the way he played Detroit, it would greatly increase the chances for Boston. However, in the PG dept, L.A.kers pwn Celtics....
LO > PP? PP will be a handful if LO is to defend him.
silenthill
05-06-2008, 05:53 PM
radman and not Odom? WTF...
dont forget the machine aka sasha vujacic who absoluely shutted Ginobili down last series...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t1ewIkVRdEo
eh. I really dislike sasha. He looks like a wanna-be star trying to build a rep by banging against a banged up Ginobili. Gino was hurt throughout much of the series and i believe that if Gino is 100%, Sasha will be pwned.
LO > PP? PP will be a handful if LO is to defend him.
To be honest, LO is also a handful to P Double to guard. I watched the game where they blew out Spurs and Odom was magnificent. Honestly, Odom can be a real beast and look. he didn't get into Team USA just because of his good looks, eh? heh heh! He is 6' 10", quick, with a 7' 2" wing span. Pierce is 6' 8" and lighter and Odom is actually more comfortable guarding Wing players and SGs then true PFs and Cs.
Well, in a way, after watching through the entire Eastern conference finals (and some west), i must say that both teams are brilliant at their best.
The L.A.kers offence is truly a thing of beauty. The triangle really suits KB24, Gasol and Odom very well. Gasol at low post solid and strong and passing - KB24 hovering and slashing and shooting from high post - Odom hovering opportunistically at the wing. Switch Odom with KB24. Switch Gasol to High Post and Odom low + KB24 at wing. Take your poison.
Boston Celtics' defence is truly like Cerebus (geek monster canine guarding the gates of hades) - 3 head, Relentless, Physical and capable of stopping anyone and everyone. Unlike the L.A.kers, they demolish people on defence and the Offensive boards.
I believe that this is probably the best finals in the past 3 - 5 years as we watch to see which team executes.
Defence vs Offence. Rebounding, i believe will be the key and if Ray can guard KB24. However, i