PDA

View Full Version : GMask iPhone

existence
04-11-2007, 04:16 AM
hi all,

anyone here gmasked their iPhone?
how much does it cost and which outlet does gmasking perfectly...
i hear that some ppl's gmasked phone got scratched by the person who does it.

:s22: :s22: :s22:

Radeon_Tan
04-11-2007, 12:41 PM
recommend u use gelaskins

:)

http://aycu09.webshots.com/image/32568/2001217113797053194_rs.jpg

natasang
04-11-2007, 05:42 PM
recommend u use gelaskins

http://aycu09.webshots.com/image/32568/2001217113797053194_rs.jpg

Hi Radeon,

Did you paste your gelaskin over BSE or somthing like that? Getting a gelaskin but already have bse on. Dunno what are the complications if i stick over BSE. Any Advice?

Radeon_Tan
04-11-2007, 07:45 PM
Hi Radeon,

Did you paste your gelaskin over BSE or somthing like that? Getting a gelaskin but already have bse on. Dunno what are the complications if i stick over BSE. Any Advice?i paste over Invisible shield

but actually using gelaskin alone is enough

except the front must use martin fields ..

MeteorFlare
04-11-2007, 08:49 PM
nice gelaskinned iphone

went to check out how much a gelaskin cost.. and it's $55!! so expensive! O.O..

and worst still, if want to sell, buyer don't like the skin = DIE!

natasang
04-11-2007, 08:54 PM
actually i see most of the places are retailing at S$59. But over here http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=1758938 very more affordable.

What happen to your camera? you stick over? Is there anything to note when sticking over the invishield? i.e. when you want to re-adjust after sticking a bit?

Radeon_Tan
04-11-2007, 09:45 PM
nice gelaskinned iphone

went to check out how much a gelaskin cost.. and it's $55!! so expensive! O.O..

and worst still, if want to sell, buyer don't like the skin = DIE!order on-line how much?

wait for two weeks lor

if sell your iphone, just remove the skin if buyer dont like

Radeon_Tan
04-11-2007, 10:43 PM
Gelaskin for Iphone = USd$14.95

Link: https://www.gelaskins.com/skins.php?Device=8&Category=16&Skin=64&ProductCode=175

petemonsy
06-11-2007, 02:45 AM
Gelaskin for Iphone = USd$14.95

Link: https://www.gelaskins.com/skins.php?Device=8&Category=16&Skin=64&ProductCode=175

In fact after a my personal market study Gelaskins are the best skin in the market... you actually have to use or see one to know why.... unlike other skins these are artist designed skins and Gelaskins are using a 3M material the same one as how the paste decals on Formula One Racing Cars... u can take it out and use another design when u feel like it.. unlike other skins of vinyl material a one time thing.. I got a friend who changes the design every now and than on his PB.... lol

Anyway I bought in quite a lot of Gelaskins for Singapore ... let me know what designs u guys need... iPhone, iPod Touch, iPod Classic and MacBook 13" and MBP 15"

special for HZ members only prices will lower than SRP.. but you guys got to keep this quiet...

prices as follows; we do not have all the prices but you can check with me the designs ... and types available...

HWZ Members
PowerBook, MacBook, MacBook Pro 13" 15" selling for $50.00/-
iPod Video, iPod Classic, iPod Touch, iPhone seling for $36.00/-
iPod Nano 1G 2G 3G selling for $32.00/-

You guys can reach me at pete.monsy@gmail.com for stocks and designs available....

uRiZEn
06-11-2007, 03:11 AM
unlike InvisibleShields or BodyGuardz clear film protectors, which go to extremes to cover as much of the iPhone’s body as possible, the GelaSkins don’t even fully mask iPhone’s back, let alone its sides, top, or bottom. Rather, the stickers are cut generically with round edges, leaving substantial parts of the phone’s body exposed.
Link (http://www.ilounge.com/index.php/ipod/review/gelaskins-gelaskins-for-iphone/)

Looks more like to glam up the phone rather than to protect against scratches.
@Radeon_Tan: With both IS and gelaskin u got problems docking the iphone?

ziricote
15-11-2007, 06:02 PM
eh i see from some pictures that the gela skin actually covers the camera... is that true?

also the gela skins are all glossy in nature?

thanks.

ipwnj00
15-11-2007, 06:12 PM
eh i see from some pictures that the gela skin actually covers the camera... is that true?

also the gela skins are all glossy in nature?

thanks.http://www.ilounge.com/assets/images/reviews_gelaskins/iphone/1.jpg

This picture is from iLounge, apparently, the skin doesn't cover the camera =)

ipwnj00
15-11-2007, 06:16 PM
http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1308/1208043312_b199886fe7.jpg

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2142/1880936295_88ec3ffb0a_o.jpg

existence
15-11-2007, 09:06 PM
nice! :D

<10 chars>

Cryptrus
16-11-2007, 03:18 PM
does it also cover the chrome rim in the front?

NoobWithStuff
28-04-2008, 11:10 AM
No offence but gelaskin look stupid, just a piece of paper sticking onto the back, its not even wrapping to the chrome part.

taurian
28-04-2008, 09:24 PM
My wife's phone was gmasked after I fouled up the Invisible Shield installation:s27: rendering the pieces of plastic scratched, ugly and making her iPhone looked old. So she selected a nice Disney design plus a glitter layer so total damage was $56.
The gmask is a generic piece of sticker for all devices so it was not designed with specific holes and slots for various devices. So after it is applied over the iPhone, the installer has to use an art cutter to cut out the various holes and slots. This cutting WILL inevitably CUT your device although you won't notice the cuts till you remove the gmask eventually so do consider if you want to gmask.
My wife and I decided to do it as it's better than leaving the iPhone naked. After all, we can always apply another gmask if we are tired of the current design and cover up all the cut marks.
By the way, I was very kiasu and bought a capdase screen protector for her iPhone as it is fingerprint and grease resistant. So far it has greatly reduced the fingerprints so I'm looking for one for my HTC Touch Cruise as well ;)

h34rtbr34k
28-04-2008, 09:41 PM
srsly, gelaskin for iphone is like total waste of money leh. one piece of sticker cover the behind. Might as well just buy the screen protector for the front. The behind not easy t scratch. Mine is naked for 3 months liao, i dun see any scratches on the behind alumimum part.

adrictan
28-04-2008, 09:43 PM
Some ppl find the silver backing a bit boring and skins allow you to choose whichever designs you want. I use Decalgirl.

fade_white
29-04-2008, 01:27 AM
IIRC, i saw gelaskins for sale in funan MMI store...

but not sure if it's for ipod touch or iphone or both. someone check it out n post here?

stanleyj
29-04-2008, 07:44 AM
there are just too many harrowing experience with gmask, the risk is obviously there...the problem is that the gmask itself can be very nice, but the whole thing rest on the person who does it for u. so unless you are aware of his/her experience...it is scary to leave it in the hands of someone who does not love your phone as much as you do....

just like martin field...notably the folks at doml or mobilesquare are 'best' in doing a fantastic job putting it on for you...literally flawless.

so non permanent protectors are best....

tintin-san
15-03-2009, 02:23 PM
there are just too many harrowing experience with gmask, the risk is obviously there...the problem is that the gmask itself can be very nice, but the whole thing rest on the person who does it for u. so unless you are aware of his/her experience...it is scary to leave it in the hands of someone who does not love your phone as much as you do....

just like martin field...notably the folks at doml or mobilesquare are 'best' in doing a fantastic job putting it on for you...literally flawless.

so non permanent protectors are best....

does anyone know where to mask the back with Swarovski crystals besides GMask?
i'm really apprehensive on GMask after the numerous lousy service + scratches reports.

tingyuan
15-03-2009, 03:42 PM
GMASK really not worth. Price from $49-59. They let you sign a form if the staff scratches your iPhone is not their fault.

tintin-san
15-03-2009, 08:14 PM
GMASK really not worth. Price from $49-59. They let you sign a form if the staff scratches your iPhone is not their fault.

That's really WTF service la. Digging their own graves.

oyebto
15-03-2009, 08:36 PM
No offence but gelaskin look stupid, just a piece of paper sticking onto the back, its not even wrapping to the chrome part.
on the contrary, i like it because it doesnt cover the chrome haha. i mean, phone looks nice with chrome.. den even if it does scratch den nvm lor.. my design is the swan one.

tingyuan
15-03-2009, 09:58 PM
if you standing in front of them, watching the staff do the wrapping for you, it is den scary as they using art pen knife to cut the skin on your iPhone. I realised the skin is not made of good quality. Very oily and sticky.

Never go for GMASK.

roslee7
16-03-2009, 12:16 PM
i did my iphone with g-mask 1 year ago when i just bought the phone at plaza spore. cost me $48 for whole body. Last week, i peel off everything and it looks like brand new iphone after taking it off. I chosed transparent one to maintain the originality of iphone. i can see, g-mask is quite good that invisible shield coz invisible shield, after a while, will accumulate dirts and looks yellowing but gmask is looks ok

chanvh
16-03-2009, 02:39 PM
Oh yeah I saw the Gmask shop in Plaza SG the other day . The shop looks deserted and unless your iphone is really old and needs serious refurbishing then go for it. Otherwise, better stick with normal silicon casing and all.

roslee7
16-03-2009, 03:19 PM
if you want to keep your iphone in good condition as for resale value, its good to fully cover it with g-mask or invisible shield. After 1 year of using my iphone, it still looks brand new.

irfanzain
24-03-2009, 07:45 PM
Got my iphone gmasked a few days back and was very dissatisfied with the finish.
The tape that they used to seal the chrome front wasn't pasted smoothly giving it sharp tips at certain places. The usb connector port wasn't nicely cut either. Had to do some DIY cutting after i got home and cable wouldn't fit coz there was a bit of sticker blocking the top bit. The best part was.......when i got my phone back, the girl who did it forgot to cut a hole for the cam. so 2 thumbs down from me.

tintin-san
24-03-2009, 09:19 PM
Got my iphone gmasked a few days back and was very dissatisfied with the finish.
The tape that they used to seal the chrome front wasn't pasted smoothly giving it sharp tips at certain places. The usb connector port wasn't nicely cut either. Had to do some DIY cutting after i got home and cable wouldn't fit coz there was a bit of sticker blocking the top bit. The best part was.......when i got my phone back, the girl who did it forgot to cut a hole for the cam. so 2 thumbs down from me.

haha. epic FAIL. nothing to say.

i'm never going to GMASK now even if they're the monopoly in masking stuff.