PDA

View Full Version : Starhub capping Bittorrent speed?

Cococokie
10-11-2007, 04:01 PM
I noticed for a few weeks already that my Bittorrent connection is painfully slow. Even with 100+ seeders and 40 peers, I'm getting 0.2 - 0.5kbs, even left for 2 hours and still same. How come?? My upload speed is fine, it's turns out normal.

My utorrent is well tweaked since i've been using it for more than 1 year. Did starhub capped all BT download speed due to the ODEX download pursue case?

I'm using Maxonline 6000, Anyone has the same problem?

1. I reset my modem (replug ethernet cable on both ends) - no use
2. i clear more space for download (10gb on hd) - no improvement
3. I defragment my hd - no use
4. i reduce my download task by a lot - other tasks (still 0.X kb/s) except one has 40+kbs.

delson_tan
10-11-2007, 07:21 PM
Aiya... Even if there is 100+ seeds but all don't wanna upload much, you also will have slow download speed... BT is not exactly a good judge of speed.

suntag881
10-11-2007, 07:50 PM
It's like that one. Agree with delson above. It depends on how seeders configure their clients. If all restrict upload bandwidth, not much you can do.

suntzu
10-11-2007, 10:41 PM
Fully agreed with you! Starhub is doing a FULL Throttle to all P2P traffic.

I am on their Ultimate plan and they throttle my upstream to 200kbps.

It's like that one. Agree with delson above. It depends on how seeders configure their clients. If all restrict upload bandwidth, not much you can do.

liangtam
10-11-2007, 10:43 PM
Lol, contradiction of statements... :s13:

deskoh91
10-11-2007, 10:52 PM
I wont call it "throttling" but "shaping". starhub does not have enough bandwidth left for P2P programs after handling the prioritised http traffic.

though I have to say that BT is actually faster than youtube video loading for me. oh well.

NYC
11-11-2007, 12:08 AM
as per my avatar

Jwlng
11-11-2007, 03:30 AM
I'm getting max of abt 150kb/s down from BT on MOL Premium. So I dun think SH is capping

suntag881
11-11-2007, 08:20 AM
I'm getting max of abt 150kb/s down from BT on MOL Premium. So I dun think SH is capping

proves that it depends a lot on seeders and peers... how cooperative they are :)

Syraxius
11-11-2007, 10:29 AM
i've been using BT since i got my starhub connection. forwarded all the ports correctly and it always worked.

all the while could hit 800-900kb/s on top100tpb torrents. the worst kind of speeds i got overnight was the 150-200kb/s kinds.

after october 1st maintenance at 3am, and till now, my speeds have been choked at 30-80kb/s, sometimes even down to 5kb/s (like now). that's not for one torrent, that's for literally EVERY torrent in the top100tpb list. it does NOT resolve even if the modem is plugged directly to the system.

Cococokie
11-11-2007, 03:39 PM
after october 1st maintenance at 3am, and till now, my speeds have been choked at 30-80kb/s, sometimes even down to 5kb/s (like now). that's not for one torrent, that's for literally EVERY torrent in the top100tpb list. it does NOT resolve even if the modem is plugged directly to the system.

Ya every torrent of mine is going not more than 10kb/s even those a lot of seeders ones. I can say i 'almost fully' understand how BT seeders/peers rate works to get good speed. *no offense pls*

400 seeders + 100 downloaders = you get super fast speed.
400 seeders + 4000 downloaders = you get ard 20-50kb/s speed.
10 seeders + 40 downloaders = you get ard 10-25kb/s speed.
2 seeders + 10-100 downloaders = you get 1-15kb/s speed.

Before october I can get speed up to my cap which is 300kb/s. I think SH is doing something fishy behind...

RawMeat
27-11-2007, 06:35 PM
after october 1st maintenance at 3am, and till now, my speeds have been choked at 30-80kb/s, sometimes even down to 5kb/s (like now). that's not for one torrent, that's for literally EVERY torrent in the top100tpb list. it does NOT resolve even if the modem is plugged directly to the system.I encountered the exact same prob... i troubleshooted for weeks and nearly bought a new router until fellow singaporeans at bittorrent websites using maxonline all highlighted the same issue.

Before october I can get speed up to my cap which is 300kb/s. I think SH is doing something fishy behind... .It's no longer fishy, its obvious what they re doing. If I didn't have a contract, I'll terminate straight away. Singnet ppl still downloading fast n furious.... and they're giving out nintendo wii!!

pessimist
27-11-2007, 08:00 PM
i agree with u TS..
suddenly for the past 2 weeks, wat used to be 300+ to 400+ kps BT speeds, now BT has reduced to 56-75kbps.. luckily my contract was long finished. Will be switching ISP, problem is to which ISP only ? :s22:

suntzu
27-11-2007, 08:50 PM
Yes, StarHub will be aggressively throttle all P2P traffic in such a way that HTTP would be faster.

StarHub strategy is to "squeeze" - "maximise" their small Internet pipe so that they can make more money from their Subscriber.

The logic is simple, spend more more to BUY more sandvine box. Throttle, P2P - YouTube, Upstream, Block all the MegaUpload port, Block Port 80, etc.

Save money in buying more bandwidth.

i agree with u TS..
suddenly for the past 2 weeks, wat used to be 300+ to 400+ kps BT speeds, now BT has reduced to 56-75kbps.. luckily my contract was long finished. Will be switching ISP, problem is to which ISP only ? :s22:

MarineX
27-11-2007, 09:08 PM
Seriously and honestly..

my downloads via torrent is still going strong 100kb/s-600kb/s i don't really understand whether you guys are just some people who are being paid by singnet to badmouth shub.. wierd.

louisliao
27-11-2007, 09:14 PM
is it possible that safesurf is affecting torrents speeds? can confirm those got "throttled" are you using the starhub safesurf?

if so, i oso wanna cancel it liao.. free until dec 2008 i oso dun wans

Syraxius
27-11-2007, 09:14 PM
Seriously and honestly..

my downloads via torrent is still going strong 100kb/s-600kb/s i don't really understand whether you guys are just some people who are being paid by singnet to badmouth shub.. wierd. as i said, it's area dependent. people have been whining far longer than me. i thought they were noobs who doesn't know how to optimize their settings till i got f ucked on 1st october, then i realized something stupid was going on. it's either they've got a new noob engineer or there's really some throttling behind our backs

maleman
27-11-2007, 09:33 PM
Same thing happened to my MOL 6000... in Tampines since Oct.

Since no more contract, i decided to save $10, switch over to SNBB 3Mbps, ended up with faster downloads (up to 300+ kB/s), free Ipod Touch.... no regrets...... yet..... :D

wiShfulStone
27-11-2007, 09:48 PM
Mine isn't being throttled, still can get an average of 100-150kB/s nowadays, I think its really the torrent itself.

chimtology
27-11-2007, 10:40 PM
Same thing happened to my MOL 6000... in Tampines since Oct.

Since no more contract, i decided to save $10, switch over to SNBB 3Mbps, ended up with faster downloads (up to 300+ kB/s), free Ipod Touch.... no regrets...... yet..... :D

Don't scared of ODEX or related company ? :D

maleman
27-11-2007, 10:44 PM
Mine isn't being throttled, still can get an average of 100-150kB/s nowadays, I think its really the torrent itself.

for a week, i had both SNBB and MOL. For the same files being downloaded, SNBB was very much faster.....

ducklegsux
27-11-2007, 10:49 PM
Fully agreed with you! Starhub is doing a FULL Throttle to all P2P traffic.

I am on their Ultimate plan and they throttle my upstream to 200kbps.

i am also on ultimate, upstream currently at 561kpbs

Thinker
27-11-2007, 10:54 PM
Im downloading stuff at 400kb/sec now on my Maxonline Express.

What throttling.

rc79
27-11-2007, 11:18 PM
Getting KNN slow speeds recently.

Use to be able to BT *cough cough* Stuff in like 20mins when it is just released. Now? Farking Hell, takes me 1 whole hour to finish. WTF?

P.S. Not talking about Prawnz

MarineX
30-11-2007, 02:02 AM
for a week, i had both SNBB and MOL. For the same files being downloaded, SNBB was very much faster.....

hmm, my friend's 10mbps SNBB seems to download slower than mine(premium) via utorrent thou.. everyone seems to have different kinds of answers towards what they've experience..

sooqing
30-11-2007, 02:14 AM
http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showpost.php?p=26935790&postcount=88

RawMeat
30-11-2007, 08:49 PM
Just to comment on some remarks.
It cannot be the torrent itself, we're not noobs here... this can be easily tested with popular torrents like OO2.2, etc...
Other ISPs are not paying me anything. And nobody is bashing SH, everybody are just stating facts. And its in almost all bittorrent forums' tech area w singaporeans.

This is a issue that even programmers of torrent download programs were puzzled at first..until they realise all the ppl who reported problems, glitches recently were all SH users.

Anyway, was thinking of getting SN, the paying two ISP (both SN and SH) for the next 6mths or so until my SH contract ends.... and get a nintendo wii free.. :)... still calculating my losses...

terraj
01-12-2007, 12:07 AM
I'm pretty sure there's throttling done at night in my case between 8-12PM. I've been connected to a set of torrents (not many seeds) from the same source the last few days. If I start downloads in the afternoon/morning I get a pretty decent speed of 30k considering the no. of seeds. But if I start downloading anything at night during the aforementioned times, the speed slows down to 1-5k. If I were to disconnect the torrents that were getting 30k in the afternoon and try to reconnect again, the reconnection speeds slow down to 1-5k. Last night, I was monitoring the speeds, somewhere around 1AM the speeds shot up from the average crappy speeds to 30k for each torrent and this persisted for the whole morning and afternoon despite multiple disconnections and reconnections.

NoStar
01-12-2007, 12:00 PM
Now SH's Safesurf blocked isohunt or similar sites ? I encountered this since yesterday.

wiShfulStone
01-12-2007, 12:04 PM
Now SH's Safesurf blocked isohunt or similar sites ? I encountered this since yesterday.
Call them up and ask them to remove safesurf

NoStar
01-12-2007, 02:53 PM
Thanks wiShfulStone.

suntzu
01-12-2007, 02:59 PM
Ya, the poor GreenMan are throttling their pipe to squeeze more money from you guys.

Sad but StarHub has been the champion laggard since day 1.

SingNet has much lesser complains.

Only problem with SingNet is their line quality, DC problem.

Just to comment on some remarks.
It cannot be the torrent itself, we're not noobs here... this can be easily tested with popular torrents like OO2.2, etc...
Other ISPs are not paying me anything. And nobody is bashing SH, everybody are just stating facts. And its in almost all bittorrent forums' tech area w singaporeans.

This is a issue that even programmers of torrent download programs were puzzled at first..until they realise all the ppl who reported problems, glitches recently were all SH users.

Anyway, was thinking of getting SN, the paying two ISP (both SN and SH) for the next 6mths or so until my SH contract ends.... and get a nintendo wii free.. :)... still calculating my losses...

MarineX
02-12-2007, 02:44 PM
I beg to differ - even people who supports their own ISP, Singnet also do have tons of complains..

every ISP will have their own faults cause nothing is perfect.. i seriously don't think singnet is of any better to extend of people promoting it. Does you guys gets any commission from it? if no, just leave your own comments on the reserve list. wUlus!

frozenkid
02-12-2007, 04:07 PM
ppl are not promoting it, like myself. i myself am using singnet and really really satisfied with it. and there are many ppl like me. they are jus suggesting/advising ppl that are sick with problematic ISPs.

sharing the happiness? lol

MarineX
02-12-2007, 06:07 PM
People like me using starhub and too i am extremely satisfied with the services.

deckcard
02-12-2007, 09:35 PM
People like me using starhub and too i am extremely satisfied with the services.
Not sure why you asked people to keep their comments to themselves. This is a public forum and nobody has the right to tell anybody what they should or should not do. Including you...

Anyway, Can you post some benchmark from speedtest.net during peak hours? Test LA server for instance. I would really like to see how "EXTREMELY" fast speed from SH that makes you extremely satisfied.

I was only getting 100ish kb/s (note kilo bits, not bytes 2x of dial up) for a 6mbps line. Needless to say, I switched to singnet and has never been happier. BT reached the advertised speed of 3.5mbps which I have never got using SH.

rinni
02-12-2007, 11:44 PM
http://img235.imageshack.us/img235/1617/70803678jy9.th.jpg (http://img235.imageshack.us/my.php?image=70803678jy9.jpg)
i'm on MOL premium mind you.

bloody nice upload speeds. i let it run unlimited for around 15mins, when i came back, the highest it reached was 13kb/s :s8:

frozenkid
03-12-2007, 05:20 AM
rinni, try utorrent client . im singnet and 1 1/2 month ago comet has issues with me for some reason(keep having no seeds, speed dont go up) , after switching to utorrent it goes back NORMAL. dun know bout u but suggesting

suntag881
03-12-2007, 07:06 AM
http://img235.imageshack.us/img235/1617/70803678jy9.th.jpg (http://img235.imageshack.us/my.php?image=70803678jy9.jpg)
i'm on MOL premium mind you.

bloody nice upload speeds. i let it run unlimited for around 15mins, when i came back, the highest it reached was 13kb/s :s8:

i've got bad days like that too..

rinni
03-12-2007, 10:21 AM
hi frozenkid, thanks fo the advice, however, the problem here is not the software i believe. i'm unable to surf the net if i'm BTing.

usually when i hit over the 80% mark, i see a change in speed(slower) while i surf the net. however, for the past week, surfing the net has been an extremely tedious process and a great test of patience. before this problem, 30kb/s for upload was no problem. however, i'm unable to hit the 30kb/s mark right now. only when BT is off then can i continue browsing the web.

if i'm not wrong, the client is nt a factor. i think the ISP is at fault here..

MarineX
03-12-2007, 10:50 AM
hi frozenkid, thanks fo the advice, however, the problem here is not the software i believe. i'm unable to surf the net if i'm BTing.

usually when i hit over the 80% mark, i see a change in speed(slower) while i surf the net. however, for the past week, surfing the net has been an extremely tedious process and a great test of patience. before this problem, 30kb/s for upload was no problem. however, i'm unable to hit the 30kb/s mark right now. only when BT is off then can i continue browsing the web.

if i'm not wrong, the client is nt a factor. i think the ISP is at fault here..

are you using linksys router? try either one of this methods - change and use utorrent instead, upgrade your firmware to a 3rd party software or do a direct connection it will solve your problems.

you will need some configurations for some hardware you can pm me if you need assistance. will only get back to you on thurs night.

consigliere
03-12-2007, 10:56 AM
People like me using starhub and too i am extremely satisfied with the services. i seriously don't think starhub is of any better to extend of people promoting it.

rinni
03-12-2007, 10:58 AM
i'm on DIR-655

KMJ3943
03-12-2007, 11:08 AM
Myself b4 with Starhub Ultimate plan on a old max. 30mbps modem, could get 400~800+ kbps on a good bt sharing.

Now downgraded to Premium plan (12mbps) with the same old modem could get around 150~400kbps of a good bt sharing.

MarineX
03-12-2007, 11:14 AM
Myself b4 with Starhub Ultimate plan on a old max. 30mbps modem, could get 400~800+ kbps on a good bt sharing.

Now downgraded to Premium plan (12mbps) with the same old modem could get around 150~400kbps of a good bt sharing.

personally i download animes i can get around 600 - 800kb/s under premium.

rinni
03-12-2007, 11:27 AM
i USED to get that sort of speeds as well. not until 1 week ago :mad:

towtan
03-12-2007, 03:49 PM
I noticed for a few weeks already that my Bittorrent connection is painfully slow. Even with 100+ seeders and 40 peers, I'm getting 0.2 - 0.5kbs, even left for 2 hours and still same. How come?? My upload speed is fine, it's turns out normal.

My utorrent is well tweaked since i've been using it for more than 1 year. Did starhub capped all BT download speed due to the ODEX download pursue case?

I'm using Maxonline 6000, Anyone has the same problem?

1. I reset my modem (replug ethernet cable on both ends) - no use
2. i clear more space for download (10gb on hd) - no improvement
3. I defragment my hd - no use
4. i reduce my download task by a lot - other tasks (still 0.X kb/s) except one has 40+kbs.I did occasional BT and experienced similar problem about 2 to 3 weeks ago, even normal web surfing was badly affected. I thought there's something wrong with my Linksys router and swapped to my old Netgear router. The problem went away after that.

Nevertheless, I didn't give up on finding the root cause. I went through the Linksys router's configuration, swapping between Linksys and Netgear again and again. The same problem persisted. Finally something struck me last night when going through the Linksys router's configuration again. Starhub could be throttling my bandwidth based on the MAC address of the Linksys router ! :s12:

I quickly changed the MAC address of the Linksys router and rebooted the cable modem and router. To prove that I am right, I started BT after that and finished downloading a new movie last night. Everything is back to normal now ! :D

Syraxius
03-12-2007, 03:58 PM
anyone's speed got fixed after last night's (or this morning's) 2:30am maintenance?

i'm from the kallang area.

my neighbour and my speeds are finally hitting 300+kb/s after all these months since oct :D

MarineX
I did occasional BT and experienced similar problem about 2 to 3 weeks ago, even normal web surfing was badly affected. I thought there's something wrong with my Linksys router and swapped to my old Netgear router. The problem went away after that.

Nevertheless, I didn't give up on finding the root cause. I went through the Linksys router's configuration, swapping between Linksys and Netgear again and again. The same problem persisted. Finally something struck me last night when going through the Linksys router's configuration again. Starhub could be throttling my bandwidth based on the MAC address of the Linksys router ! :s12:

I quickly changed the MAC address of the Linksys router and rebooted the cable modem and router. To prove that I am right, I started BT after that and finished downloading a new movie last night. Everything is back to normal now ! :D

so the problem lies with the router and NOT the ISP am i right to say that? nevertheless.. all you need to do is to install dd-wrt(3rd party) firmware on your linksys router and that your BT will get the speed that you love. its that simple. :")

frozenkid
i'm on DIR-655hi rinn, try utorrent(as utorrent auto find an open port for u) 1st and see if there is any changes, if not ur ports and etc, if not most likely starhub -_- or like what marine says

Syraxius
03-12-2007, 04:01 PM
I did occasional BT and experienced similar problem about 2 to 3 weeks ago, even normal web surfing was badly affected. I thought there's something wrong with my Linksys router and swapped to my old Netgear router. The problem went away after that.

wait a sec, i think the fixing of my speeds may not be the maintenance last night after all

cuz both my neighbour and i resetted cleared router's nvram last night, could that have changed the mac too? :eek:

towtan
03-12-2007, 04:40 PM
so the problem lies with the router and NOT the ISP am i right to say that? nevertheless.. all you need to do is to install dd-wrt(3rd party) firmware on your linksys router and that your BT will get the speed that you love. its that simple. :")The problem lies with the ISP, Starhub throttled my bandwidth using the MAC address of my router. I am probably blacklisted for doing BT.

I installed DD-WRT on my Linksys WRT54G V5 before, the performance is worst than the native Linksys OS though it offers more features. I reverted since then.

djcoolmax
03-12-2007, 06:04 PM
i've got bad days like that too..here's mine on Express

http://img101.imageshack.us/img101/7148/mybtspeed4torrentjy0.th.jpg (http://img101.imageshack.us/my.php?image=mybtspeed4torrentjy0.jpg)

not bad for a popular released torrent.

rinni
03-12-2007, 06:25 PM
shouldn't the MAC address be from the modem instead of the router?

lolipop
03-12-2007, 06:44 PM
shouldn't the MAC address be from the modem instead of the router?

ya lo... router got mac address?... sure or not?

djcoolmax
03-12-2007, 06:48 PM
ya lo... router got mac address?... sure or not?yes it does. :)

lolipop
03-12-2007, 06:53 PM
yes it does. :)
alamak... then i dunno how to change the mac liao... hehe....

last time download nar*to only 30 mins... lately download need 3 days... so obvious la...

BurgerLim
03-12-2007, 08:00 PM
Could we change model MAC? any advise?

nannan82
03-12-2007, 08:10 PM
well... chance upon tis thread.... glad to find out i not alone for slow bt-ing.... ok.. well.... chance mac add can liao????router or modem???

rinni
03-12-2007, 08:29 PM
http://cabletv.starhub.com/promo/mol_macidswap_login.jsp
sld be the modem.

towtan
03-12-2007, 08:32 PM
ya lo... router got mac address?... sure or not?Yes, the router actually grabs a 59.189.x.x range address from Starhub's DHCP server, and at the same time registered its MAC address.

I can't say this will work for everybody BUT it works for me.

towtan
03-12-2007, 08:35 PM
http://cabletv.starhub.com/promo/mol_macidswap_login.jsp
sld be the modem.You submit this form when you changed your cable modem. The MAC address I changed is my Linksys router's. You can change it yourself by going into the configuration page of the router, normally http://192.168.1.1 for Linksys router. I am not sure about other routers.

It's a 12 characters alphanumeric string, just enter any combination, unlikely to clash with others. Clone the PC or network card's MAC if you router allows.

forumics.net
03-12-2007, 08:39 PM
how much is the speed capped at?

towtan
03-12-2007, 08:54 PM
how much is the speed capped at?I didn't bother to measure, basically web surfing was like snail crawling.

Just to share another test I did. I connected the PC directly to the cable modem, (ie. bypassed the router) and everything was normal.

There's another incidental finding. My plan is the Express plan (ie. 6 Mbps). However when I used the network utilities at Starhub's website (http://utilities.starhub.com/conexon/en/UtilitiesStartFrame.jsp), it showed a throughput of 15 - 18 Mbps after fixing the problem last night. Here's the result :

Connecting to Server ...
Logging on to Server ...
Starting 1st download
Starting 2nd download
Download Successful !!

Download Stats:

Transfer Time: 6672 milliseconds
Total File Size: 10240000 bytes

Top Speed Attained: 16.51 Mbps

Evangion
03-12-2007, 11:49 PM
Please lor, stupid speed tests within its own server only.

Download Stats:

Transfer Time: 4578 milliseconds
Total File Size: 10240000 bytes

Top Speed Attained: 22.26 Mbps

My BT speeds are craaaaaawling at 100 b/s to 1.5 kbp/s only. 4746 seeds and my BT has been crawling for a week plus.

MarineX
03-12-2007, 11:58 PM
Does the torrent speed not increases during downloading of popular animes?

if i can remember, by this week i will screenshot my utorrent download speed..

cause my naurto seldom takes more than 10mins to complete downloading?

i am using DD-WRT sp1 instead of SP2. my friend is using his normal wrt54g firmware whereas i am using WRT54GS and DD-WRT firmware - both have got no complains so seriously i don't think the faults lies with the ISP.. its the configuration? But different people seems to have different kind of experience... hmms...

MarineX
07-12-2007, 11:00 AM

rinni
07-12-2007, 06:54 PM
finally can BT and surf the net at the same time. however the speeds on BT are atrociously slow.
the port has been forwaded however bitcomet/utorrent downloads like there hasn't been any forwarding done -______________-

Nicky198u
07-12-2007, 08:37 PM
http://www.imghype.com/data/31e2076fe9Speed.JPG (http://www.imghype.com/)

think its better if censor your screenshot= = bleach AND naruto is under ODEX

liangtam
07-12-2007, 08:42 PM
Get rdy to be d'6ed by ODEX!

pessimist
07-12-2007, 09:39 PM
:eek: .. MarineX still dare to dl..

MarineX
07-12-2007, 10:17 PM
no, i am just here to prove to people that the download speed can still be achieved its not like what they kept saying tht starhub bts are freaking slow..

the only thing slow is their configuration or the user's problem

Nicky198u
08-12-2007, 02:47 AM
i have no issue with starhub BT speeds, its the web surfing makes me wanna suicide lol

on starhub premium, can hit 200-300 kbs on utorrent, but when surfing web it takes so long to load@_@

MarineX
08-12-2007, 11:35 AM
i have no issue with starhub BT speeds, its the web surfing makes me wanna suicide lol

on starhub premium, can hit 200-300 kbs on utorrent, but when surfing web it takes so long to load@_@

hmm.. try in your router's configuration page:
IP Filter Settings (adjust these for P2P)
Maximum Ports: XXXX

change the figure to a higher number if your router permits. that's because either your router or modem is limiting the amount on the maximum ports its not ISP problem here. likewise if it doesnt support that function, lowering down the Global Maximum number of connections in Utorrent will help for eg, to 512-1000. The router settings is the more recommended choice. Once that is settled, your web browsing will not be affected.

Kei_Li
08-12-2007, 02:18 PM
I need someone to tell me how to change router MAC address on a DD-WRT firmware linksys router?

MarineX
08-12-2007, 08:56 PM
I need someone to tell me how to change router MAC address on a DD-WRT firmware linksys router?

why do you need to change the address of it?

MarineX
09-12-2007, 01:28 PM
so for this thread wise, it can be stripped off. the only thing capping is the user and not the ISP.

GrimaH
09-12-2007, 01:33 PM
Any way of changing the MAC address on a Motorola modem and no router?

MarineX
09-12-2007, 05:06 PM
im still wondering if why people still insists on changing mac address but perhaps this site might help: http://cabletv.starhub.com/promo/mol...swap_login.jsp

i doubt that works, its more like updating or when during the change of a hardware then you re-register your new hardware.

as far as i am concern mac address comes with per hardware like an identification for networking products - can you change your I/C number? dots.

popdjdysh
01-01-2008, 04:22 PM
ISP definitely has a part to play. Try using VPN and all these problems will go away whether or not the user has made changes to configuration. Try emule and you can see that non-encrypted data cannot go through. There is a limit to what the user can 'correctly' configure.

Galvatron
01-01-2008, 06:11 PM
I got a noob question regarding port fwding using DIR 615.

The ip address for the computer to be included, is it the main ip address 222.xxx.xxx.xxx or the own assigned via dhcp to my own pc 192.168.xxx.xxx?

My utorrent speeds have been crawling.

Thanks

walt113
04-02-2008, 04:09 PM
Instead of bragging about how fast your connection speeds are, etc, etc....

Why don;t the people who are still having good download speeds give out their ISPs, area they are stay at, network setup and configure screenshots?

don't think it will take a lot more time then putting up one screenshot of your high down speeds.

i think this will really contribute to the forum and everyone will thank you for it....starting with me...thank you in advance

chesterqw
04-02-2008, 04:23 PM
ummm.. gods, how to configure the azureus arh?

what is port forwarding?

i only use the tcpip optimizers nia...

cleodux
04-02-2008, 05:15 PM
@Galvatron: i think it is the ip add that your router assign for you. since you are forwarding a port from your system/computer to the router right?

I am a premium 12 MaxOn user, and i don't think StarHub capped your BT traffic. I can upload/download with no problem. But i never get 400k (like MarineX got with Bleach lol) anyway, did you capped your upload MarineX? bad boy ah.. only leech but never seed :)

I set unlimited with my upload slot, cause sometime i am using a private tracker, ratio is your life >_< but i think capping your upload has a play too. Like when you are downloading you need to cap, so that more bandwidth for your download, and when seeding change the number again.

Oh and i am at Tampines, port forwarding with SMC router then and Linksys WRT54g(can't remember which ver) router now (prefereably SMC but it is too old >_< and no wireless support)

GamerZ
04-02-2008, 10:20 PM
i am MOL Premium user, only recently my BT is slow like hack. On normal days somethings I can download about 800KB per sec constant. I can seed at 40KB per sec also.

terruskoh
20-02-2008, 05:18 PM
Instead of bragging about how fast your connection speeds are, etc, etc....

Why don;t the people who are still having good download speeds give out their ISPs, area they are stay at, network setup and configure screenshots?

don't think it will take a lot more time then putting up one screenshot of your high down speeds.

i think this will really contribute to the forum and everyone will thank you for it....starting with me...thank you in advance

how do you define a good high download.I know around midnight , my download is around 200Kps whereas day time , it crawls:s22:

bug3156
21-02-2008, 05:03 PM
I've been a MOL user ever since SCV came out with cable modems and broadband..it was ok at 1st but recently(actually for the past 2-3years) it has been testing my patience.

I was originally on express when Starhub introduced the plans for MOL..damn slow..so I upgraded to Premium instead...however I'm still using the original SCV Motorola SB4100 cable modem which is capable of 38mbps downstream and 10mbps upstream and supports DOCSIS 1.0 1.1...from the wall outlet I'm using a splitter to connect to my STB and Cable modem..from which It's by wire to my laptop.

Things are frustrating slow..Can forget about viewing Youtube at night...a 3min clip can take up to 10mins to load..web browsing is slow even without bt d/l..even d/ling mail attachments can be a pain in the arse..the only fast d/l I can get is from Apple website when getting new software updates where speed sometimes hit 1-2mbps..that's it..watching streaming videos is never a good experience for me.

Talking about bt...i can never get legendary speeds like the rest who have 400kbps and above..even after setting up my bt client to the best I know how..the best I can get is 150kbps(with 7000seeds and 800+ connected, swarm speed at 10mbps) but it's never stable..most of the time it's 50-70kbps only and these are on the best and most healthy torrents only!a 350mb file takes me about 2-3hrs to finish fastest!

My sister's bf was comparing speeds with me and I was just so ashamed and fedup..he is using SNBB in a flat over wireless network and he is steadily getting 400kbps-600kbps with a plan that is lower than mine..my sister brought her laptop(both of us using mac) there and d/l the same file as me..got it done in 20+mins..a 1GB movie file can be done in 40+ mins if healthy..and this is at night..crap man!

I'm staying in a landed property and have 2 cable modems plans with SH because of fears that 1 modem to serve 4 computer will be too slow..so I have my own dedicated modem and my parents and sister shares one thru wireless network..called up SH and ask why issit so slow..they tell me it's liddat one...maybe your area's connection is slow..dun worry every household also the same..wah hot man..why should I be penalised just because I stay in a particular area..if it's a known problem then we shouldn't be paying the same amount as another area that is not so clogged up right?

Anyway not to complain..as I'm moving house liao and i dun have contract with SH anymore was contemplating changing over to singnet..I know both have their own problems but I'm definitely not getting anything near my money's worth with starhub..really sian...maybe wait for IT show and see what offers SN comes up with before making up my mind..in the meantime..anyone has any ideas or suggestions how I can up my surfing and d/l speeds? I've tried everything liao man!

ckling
21-02-2008, 06:16 PM
i am MOL Premium user, only recently my BT is slow like hack. On normal days somethings I can download about 800KB per sec constant. I can seed at 40KB per sec also.

i also...so slow until i shut down my pc..dun want to waste the electricity...:s27:

maleman
22-02-2008, 10:32 AM
I've been a MOL user ever since SCV came out with cable modems and broadband..it was ok at 1st but recently(actually for the past 2-3years) it has been testing my patience.....I can up my surfing and d/l speeds? I've tried everything liao man!

I was in the same exact position as you.
So in Nov '07, I switch over to a 3MB SNBB plan, save some money, get a free Ipod Touch, and best of all, enjoyed speeds i couldn't get from SH for the last 2 years.
Youtube was so smooth, d/l speeds were steady and reliable and up to the speed i was paying for. With SH, I was paying more for 6MB plan getting 1MB speed and choppy performance on youtube.... what for right?

bug3156
22-02-2008, 10:45 AM
I was in the same exact position as you.
So in Nov '07, I switch over to a 3MB SNBB plan, save some money, get a free Ipod Touch, and best of all, enjoyed speeds i couldn't get from SH for the last 2 years.
Youtube was so smooth, d/l speeds were steady and reliable and up to the speed i was paying for. With SH, I was paying more for 6MB plan getting 1MB speed and choppy performance on youtube.... what for right?

Wah...you liddat say make me more gian to jump man...sian of the slow speed man..sometimes d/l until i dulan just off the bloody darn thing...vomit blood..some torrents can be 5kbps when i'm connect to 100seeds and swarm speed is at least 1mbps..crap!

andies
02-03-2008, 07:05 PM
Wah...you liddat say make me more gian to jump man...sian of the slow speed man..sometimes d/l until i dulan just off the bloody darn thing...vomit blood..some torrents can be 5kbps when i'm connect to 100seeds and swarm speed is at least 1mbps..crap!

there's something damn wrong about starhub + bittorrent! havent been able to get a download going AT ALL.. and i am talking about speed of 0.000001KB/sec argh! really wished i can jump ship to singnet but starfug "gave" me 24 months of maxonline express cause i have to pay $2000+ just to fugging connect up my home to their fugging network for cabletv

andies
02-03-2008, 07:08 PM
so for this thread wise, it can be stripped off. the only thing capping is the user and not the ISP.

seriously.. the world can do without you.

Curufew
05-03-2008, 01:44 AM
Hi guys, I'm quite noob at this kind of things but my BT dling speed is horrible. Not going above 20 kps. I'm connected to my Starhub Express connection from my laptop to a WRT54G router. I'm using Bit Comet and everything is put at default ( I use set up router, installed bitcomet and let things run)

Any solutions to solve this problem?

mata_hippo
05-03-2008, 06:56 AM
Hi guys, I'm quite noob at this kind of things but my BT dling speed is horrible. Not going above 20 kps. I'm connected to my Starhub Express connection from my laptop to a WRT54G router. I'm using Bit Comet and everything is put at default ( I use set up router, installed bitcomet and let things run)

Any solutions to solve this problem?

you need to do some settings in your bitcomet

you need to forward port or set DMZ

you need to do the tcpip patch thingy

xingmax
05-03-2008, 01:47 PM
are starhub users safer when dl 'friendly' stuff? i see so many starhub complaints but seldom singnet, is it because singnet easily catch that's y u all don't go over?

3 more mths till ord from starhub...

MarineX
08-03-2008, 12:55 AM
seriously.. the world can do without you.

seriously and honestly the world without your existence will be far better without your whining comments.

LunarWolfspirit
21-02-2009, 08:40 PM
I don't mean to restart an old thread, but while doing a google search this was the first result that came up.

As you can see this thread started as far back as the year 2007, but I only started suspecting problems in the year 2009.

Ever since Starhub did a "maintenance" under my block, my torrent speeds have gotten very, very sluggish. I'm talking like 0.1kb/s down, but for upload I get smooth speeds like 70kb/s. Every now and then however, suddenly the download speed works completely fine. I observed this trend to occur amongst all the torrents running in my client. Worst of all, I started disconnecting while playing my MMOs.

I consider myself a fairly competent computer user, but this just baffles me. There has been no hardware changes. I even took the extra step to try boosting methods, like changing TCP/IP maxopen, change utorrent port etc to no avail. I have no other answer to this then to suspect Starhub throttling bittorrent. (Or blocking Port 80)

I have read threads online, that can bypass torrent throttling by encrypting your connection, going thru a VPN service, but I do not know if this is considered "illegal".

Have some of the victims to this "phenomena" decided to change their ISP to Singnet? They've recently changed their price plans and I do not mind jumping over if this crap does not exist. I believe this has been my 6th time calling starhub to ask them to fix my connection and every response takes a few days and they've said they "optimized" the connection, but I see no noticable difference.

MarineX
22-02-2009, 01:05 AM
I don't mean to restart an old thread, but while doing a google search this was the first result that came up.

As you can see this thread started as far back as the year 2007, but I only started suspecting problems in the year 2009.

Ever since Starhub did a "maintenance" under my block, my torrent speeds have gotten very, very sluggish. I'm talking like 0.1kb/s down, but for upload I get smooth speeds like 70kb/s. Every now and then however, suddenly the download speed works completely fine. I observed this trend to occur amongst all the torrents running in my client. Worst of all, I started disconnecting while playing my MMOs.

I consider myself a fairly competent computer user, but this just baffles me. There has been no hardware changes. I even took the extra step to try boosting methods, like changing TCP/IP maxopen, change utorrent port etc to no avail. I have no other answer to this then to suspect Starhub throttling bittorrent. (Or blocking Port 80)

I have read threads online, that can bypass torrent throttling by encrypting your connection, going thru a VPN service, but I do not know if this is considered "illegal".

Have some of the victims to this "phenomena" decided to change their ISP to Singnet? They've recently changed their price plans and I do not mind jumping over if this crap does not exist. I believe this has been my 6th time calling starhub to ask them to fix my connection and every response takes a few days and they've said they "optimized" the connection, but I see no noticable difference.

hmm, i don't see anything happened at my area.

frozenkid
22-02-2009, 09:51 AM
MarineX maybe u wanna do a lil research.

http://web20.telecomtv.com/pages/?newsid=43185&id=e9381817-0593-417a-8639-c4c53e2a2a10&view=news

http://www.hardwarezone.com.my/news/view.php?id=10759&cid=8

It is confirmed and proven starhub is indeed throttling torrents since some time ago. World study also shows that in singapore, the only ISP throttling torrent is starhub

Adwlin
22-02-2009, 09:53 AM
Not sure if this helps.

Let me share my experience.

Recently, I revisited a private torrent torrent site.

Realised that my ip captured by that torrent site is different from my actual ip.

Hence I am unable to DL any torrents off that site as it is unable to recognise my ip.

I went on to DL a software and it actually helped. Now I can DL as per before.

Dont know if I can post it here, but I will be more than ready to share via PM.

liangtam
22-02-2009, 10:09 AM

http://web20.telecomtv.com/pages/?newsid=43185&id=e9381817-0593-417a-8639-c4c53e2a2a10&view=news

It is confirmed and proven starhub is indeed throttling torrents since some time ago. World study also shows that in singapore, the only ISP throttling torrent is starhub

All ISP does it, not just Starhub

ngbc
22-02-2009, 10:21 AM
Not sure if this helps.
I went on to DL a software and it actually helped. Now I can DL as per before.
Dont know if I can post it here, but I will be more than ready to share via PM.

May be can just shared with us here the name of the shareware ;)

LunarWolfspirit
22-02-2009, 10:21 AM
From one of Frozenkid's link:
We did not see any blocking of BitTorrent transfers from DSL hosts in these countries.

Singnet does not utilise a cable broadband service right? Is there any rationale in their part to throttle traffic? A DSL line doesn't affect another person's DSL line correct?

As for Starhub, since it is one "big green pipe", if one guy consumes too much bandwidth in that pipe, it becomes unhealthy and thus they introduced throttling or "shaping" as they claim.

MarineX
22-02-2009, 11:51 AM

i have done my self-research at home. AND I DID NOT FIND ANY THROTTLES AT MY END - WHY DO YOU STUBBORNLY WANTS ME TO ACCEPT THAT IT THROTTLES?

And kindly read the other posts. ALL ISP throttles! EVEN SINGNET. So if you are a SINGNET Subscriber, please disconnect your line now since it throttles as well.

Shawn^
22-02-2009, 11:52 AM
i have done my self-research at home. AND I DID NOT FIND ANY THROTTLES AT MY END - WHY DO YOU STUBBORNLY WANTS ME TO ACCEPT THAT IT THROTTLES?

Just STFU bitch. If 9 say it's being throttled, 1 that says it isn't is living in denial.

lamesensei
22-02-2009, 11:53 AM
i agree with marinex, if ur speed is slow most likely = user problem. Throttle != low/no speed, just lesser speed.

and lol shawn, if i can enjoy higher speeds i rather live in denial then live with reality speeds =.="
(ever heard of isolated cases?)

MarineX
22-02-2009, 11:55 AM
From one of Frozenkid's link:

Singnet does not utilise a cable broadband service right? Is there any rationale in their part to throttle traffic? A DSL line doesn't affect another person's DSL line correct?

As for Starhub, since it is one "big green pipe", if one guy consumes too much bandwidth in that pipe, it becomes unhealthy and thus they introduced throttling or "shaping" as they claim.

Another super wrong concept. Green pipe if there is more users connecting to Starhub at a same point obviously they will make the pipe even "fatter" for everyone needs and extra bigger to cater for new users.

What kind of concept is that? What makes you think that Singnet doesnt have any pipe? If what you mentioned was correct shouldnt when singnet backend is faulty, it only affects 1 particular user instead why does it affect the entire area? That means to say everyone shares the same backend - isn't that as good as sharing the same PIPE?

yawnz, WAKE UP please. Im neither helping any sides is just that i hate to see people biased based on silly reports alone and not tested them out to ensure the correct results.

oh and 1 more thing. if singnet doesnt cap speeds - why offering different plans to suits different users? it should just launch out unlimited bandwidth speed for everyone. in other words it caps according to how much you paid for. Simple. it caps.

MarineX
22-02-2009, 11:59 AM
Just STFU bitch. If 9 say it's being throttled, 1 that says it isn't is living in denial.

seriously, who are you to call me names? WHy? i hurt your fav. ISP? LOL

that you couldn't accept it that it throttles as well? LoL. I'm sorry but this is a fact.

MarineX
22-02-2009, 12:05 PM
i agree with marinex, if ur speed is slow most likely = user problem. Throttle != low/no speed, just lesser speed.

and lol shawn, if i can enjoy higher speeds i rather live in denial then live with reality speeds =.="

hahas. yup i agree. and 1 thing he misses out is that STARHUB will never drag their cable into denial locations. does he even know about it before stating his wrongful claim? LOL.

Shawn^
22-02-2009, 12:20 PM

the only "isolated case" of something here is you and your lameness.

Shawn^
22-02-2009, 12:21 PM
seriously, who are you to call me names? WHy? i hurt your fav. ISP? LOL

that you couldn't accept it that it throttles as well? LoL. I'm sorry but this is a fact.

are u a tool? I know bloody well of the throttle. The only isps worldwide that do not throttle are ones which do not offer unlimited internet. And why should they? They want u to use up all your month usage as fast as possible so u can pay for more through your ass.

So pls do not pose as an internet thug unless u are willing to back them in real life.

I don't care about no lame throttle. I can wait longer if need be for whatever I'm downloading. I do have a life outside unlike most people.

What pisses me off is mass overselling by the providers both singtel and starhub.

MarineX
22-02-2009, 12:23 PM
are u a tool? I know bloody well of the throttle. The only isps worldwide that do not throttle are ones which do not offer unlimited internet. And why should they? They want u to use up all your month usage as fast as possible so u can pay for more through your ass.

So pls do not pose as an internet thug unless u are willing to back them in real life.

seriously, i pity your claim and more, you.

frozenkid
22-02-2009, 12:23 PM

And kindly read the other posts. ALL ISP throttles! EVEN SINGNET. So if you are a SINGNET Subscriber, please disconnect your line now since it throttles as well.

ok wait, why are you acting like an idiot? lol i just show you what the world survey found out. There was news that even starhub themselves admit they throttle so i just show it to you.

Acting suck up someone? :look:

MarineX
22-02-2009, 12:25 PM
ok wait, why are you acting like an idiot? lol i just show you what the world survey found out. There was news that even starhub themselves admit they throttle so i just show it to you.

what are you? you believe things based on reports. LoL. You are another joke. Mas Selemat or whatever that is break and escaped from prison. Do you believe it? You believe as reports tells u so. But is that a fact? God knows? Lol!

Seeing is believing - ever heard of this before ?

Now, what are you?

Shawn^
22-02-2009, 12:26 PM

they only reason his is not throttled is because they are monitoring his internet and they want him to download as much copyrighted material he can before they lock him up and watch people enter his tiny orifice.

frozenkid
22-02-2009, 12:27 PM
he act so defensive lol, im just lol-ing. i just show him what sources shows, no other intention.

:D

MarineX
22-02-2009, 12:27 PM
they only reason his is not throttled is because they are monitoring his internet and they want him to download as much copyrighted material he can before they lock him up and watch people enter his tiny orifice.

oooh, so by agreeing they throttles means i wouldn't be locked up? LoL. another joker.

MarineX
22-02-2009, 12:29 PM
and why should we not. can u give me a reason?

i gave it, can you read? Please, read.

ooops. i remembered. you are the type who reads and believes whatever you desired and dump the rest into the ocean without even giving a damn. lol.

Shawn^
22-02-2009, 12:32 PM
oooh, so by agreeing they throttles means i wouldn't be locked up? LoL. another joker.

Don't lie mofo. We all know why u are not being throttled. Just don't bend over no matter how many soaps drop on the shower floor.

Shawn^
22-02-2009, 12:33 PM

ooops. i remembered. you are the type who reads and believes whatever you desired and dump the rest into the ocean without even giving a damn. lol.

Why should I be like you and believe everything is a lie even official reports?

MarineX
22-02-2009, 12:33 PM
Don't lie mofo. We all know why u are not being throttled. Just don't bend over no matter how many soaps drop on the shower floor.

thanks for making me believe that whatever i said was correct. thanks! So kindly refrain from passing wrongful claims to others in future without doing your research properly.

Shawn^
22-02-2009, 12:34 PM
thanks for making me believe that whatever i said was correct. thanks! So kindly refrain from passing wrongful claims to others in future without doing your research properly.

The only research I need do is that you are tool. And I need everyone to know that. Here's one more thing that is not throttled BUT SHOULD BE throttled big time and that is your post count and reply speed to the forum boards.

Once that is throttled everyone will be much happier.

I'm out.

MarineX
22-02-2009, 12:37 PM
Why should I be like you and believe everything is a lie even official reports?

Haha. I wonder why IT forums have to do their benchmark test even when every single manufacturer had stated that their mainboard is the best.

The reason is simple, seeing is believing. Not just purely based on reports from ABC and determine the outcome. You will only experience true results only when you - the consumer is using it.

Simple?

MarineX
22-02-2009, 12:40 PM
The only research I need do is that you are tool. And I need everyone to know that. Here's one more thing that is not throttled BUT SHOULD BE throttled big time and that is your post count and reply speed to the forum boards.

I'm out.

HAHA. I paid for it, cant you see? Or is your ISP throttling even your webpage bandwidth thus making your forum page loads slower? LoL. again you made my day by telling others that my claims is 100% correct when i stated:

and your claims is only based on reports that favors you - alone.

lamesensei
22-02-2009, 12:44 PM

the moment u said this shows that ur arguements hold no value and u had to resort to immature flaming.

fail more.

Don't attack others. Personal attacks on others will not be tolerated. Challenge others' points of view and opinions, but do so respectfully and thoughtfully ... without insult and personal attack.

Repeated offence by any member will be deemed as an act of purpose violation of our Terms of Use and www.hardwarezone.comŽ reserves the right to ban offenders from using this forums without prior notice.

Shawn^
22-02-2009, 12:45 PM
HAHA. I paid for it

Ya I know exclusive member. Did mummy get you the 1 year subscription for your birthday?

Ya I manage to prove that your internet access ain't throttle. Are u happy? Or do u realize the sacrifice u have to make for that is a torn painful rear end?

Think of me when you become someone's bitch.

:)

Shawn^
22-02-2009, 12:47 PM
the moment u said this shows that ur arguements hold no value and u had to resort to immature flaming.

fail more.

and your nick does what?

**** what is wrong with u people? Classic case of pot calling the kettle black.

EPIC FAIL on your part.

lamesensei
22-02-2009, 12:49 PM
what does my nick have to do with any of this?

another personal attack>? pot calling kettle black?

liangtam
22-02-2009, 12:52 PM
im sure it does not just favours him alone, but then this shows badly how people do it just for their own personal benefits. be it whether they are truly shaped or user's problem

MarineX
22-02-2009, 12:59 PM
Ya I know exclusive member. Did mummy get you the 1 year subscription for your birthday?

Ya I manage to prove that your internet access ain't throttle. Are u happy? Or do u realize the sacrifice u have to make for that is a torn painful rear end?

Think of me when you become someone's bitch.

:)

erm, once again - you did it again. you only quote the sentence you wanted to see. not the full sentence.

next. Mummy get it for me? Lol - its only $18 not $1800 - why? you need mummy's payment for your broadband to come online? LOL.

next,

I'm out.

what is "I'm out" when you are still fighting for it? Contradict guy - you can't even make a proper decision let alone pin pointing errors in claims.!!! Wake up, please or forgo the fight. You ain't in a proper state of mind to make people believe in you.

MarineX
22-02-2009, 01:01 PM
what does my nick have to do with any of this?

another personal attack>? pot calling kettle black?

lamesensei: don't worry we will all know who is right and who is wrong (if a person is sensible) - its clear for all to judge :)

ohmygod1986
22-02-2009, 01:43 PM
l a m e ...

+!

wohouboy
22-02-2009, 01:53 PM
omg this thread has seriously degenerated!..

i'll just share my personal experience:

I live in private estate, was on starhub previously, climbed hill that time DAMN slow, emule damn slow, go xdcc get 5KB/sec.

got singnet about 2 years back, never looked back since, I'm constantly maxing out 10MBPS/sec and really wish singnet still had the 25mbps broadband service (without the MIO nonsense because i wanna watch epl) XDCCs, private trackers, emule with a lot of dls, all eat up my DOWNSTREAM bandwidth like siao.

my neighbour, who is on starhub, has access to the same private trackers, he's using a DIR-655, he says it takes 2-3 days to download a torrent from a PRIVATE tracker.. he said cycling his modem used to work but not anymore..

i think that's throttling at work right? just my 2 cents worth..

LunarWolfspirit
22-02-2009, 03:05 PM

LOL CAPS.

Look. Don't need to get all worked up. Like I said in my initial post, this thread has started since 2007. Prior to Jan 2009, I had absolutely no suspicions that they were throttling my connection -- Simply because they weren't. You can do whatever research you want to your existing connection, but if you're not being throttled at the moment, no evidence will appear. Only until they did a building maintenance, did my torrent speeds suspiciously plummet. Now there are of course, many other reasons for the drop in speed, but I seriously think it is a case of throttling, as I have called starhub on multiple occasions to fix the connection but whatever tweaking they do don't seem to affect my download speeds in torrent in any way.

kawaiiboi
22-02-2009, 03:09 PM
Starhub throttles.. FULL STOP lolz :P

LunarWolfspirit
22-02-2009, 03:20 PM
Another super wrong concept. Green pipe if there is more users connecting to Starhub at a same point obviously they will make the pipe even "fatter" for everyone needs and extra bigger to cater for new users.

What kind of concept is that? What makes you think that Singnet doesnt have any pipe? If what you mentioned was correct shouldnt when singnet backend is faulty, it only affects 1 particular user instead why does it affect the entire area? That means to say everyone shares the same backend - isn't that as good as sharing the same PIPE?

yawnz, WAKE UP please. Im neither helping any sides is just that i hate to see people biased based on silly reports alone and not tested them out to ensure the correct results.

oh and 1 more thing. if singnet doesnt cap speeds - why offering different plans to suits different users? it should just launch out unlimited bandwidth speed for everyone. in other words it caps according to how much you paid for. Simple. it caps.

Firsly, there is no such thing as super wrong. Only wrong or right. Now that we've got that out of the way....

As for making a pipe "fatter", you have to understand that the ISPs need to make money. Bandwidth = Money. Like it or not, Starhub is running a business. So, let's put this in relation to a buffet dinner:

5 customers go to this Starhub buffet. 4 customers eat like normal human beings, whereas 1 customer, eats without limit. He eats so much, that the other 4 customers are barely getting enough food for themselves. Starhub now has 2 options:
Option1: They can employ 10 more chefs, double the food supply. (Increase Bandwidth)
Option2: They just implement a new rule. All customers can now eat all he they want, but at a slower rate. They also cook less of the good stuff (Bittorrent Throttling)

As for Singtel, it is like going to the foodcourt.
You pay for a plate of rice, they give you a plate of rice. (Paying for a plan and getting your plan) No one else will be allowed to touch your food. (Other users in your block will not affect your connection, no point capping!) Neither will you get additional toppings. (Unlike starhub, it probably won't have speeds that vary in different times of day) You eat your food too fast you run out of food. (Clog your bandwidth with torrent, cannot surf web)

Kinda corny I know, but I hope it gets my point across.

MarineX
22-02-2009, 09:30 PM
Firsly, there is no such thing as super wrong. Only wrong or right. Now that we've got that out of the way....

As for making a pipe "fatter", you have to understand that the ISPs need to make money. Bandwidth = Money. Like it or not, Starhub is running a business. So, let's put this in relation to a buffet dinner:

5 customers go to this Starhub buffet. 4 customers eat like normal human beings, whereas 1 customer, eats without limit. He eats so much, that the other 4 customers are barely getting enough food for themselves. Starhub now has 2 options:
Option1: They can employ 10 more chefs, double the food supply. (Increase Bandwidth)
Option2: They just implement a new rule. All customers can now eat all he they want, but at a slower rate. They also cook less of the good stuff (Bittorrent Throttling)

You pay for a plate of rice, they give you a plate of rice. (Paying for a plan and getting your plan) No one else will be allowed to touch your food. (Other users in your block will not affect your connection, no point capping!) Neither will you get additional toppings. (Unlike starhub, it probably won't have speeds that vary in different times of day) You eat your food too fast you run out of food. (Clog your bandwidth with torrent, cannot surf web)

Nope, as usual your analysis is wrong.

Overly biased.

kawaiiboi
22-02-2009, 10:08 PM
MarineX how u know he is wrong?

MarineX
23-02-2009, 12:46 AM
MarineX how u know he is wrong?

kawaiiboi: don't know, do you know then?

person
23-02-2009, 04:06 AM

btw: singnet also has a shared "big red pipe" for all users. the dedicated connection is only to SN not to the host which the website you're surfing on is located (or the seed you're downloading from)

stressmage
23-02-2009, 04:33 AM
btw: singnet also has a shared "big red pipe" for all users. the dedicated connection is only to SN not to the host which the website you're surfing on is located (or the seed you're downloading from)

SN's "dedication" is your home copper wire to exchange/CO. dslam to isp and isp to internet, is "pipe". At least the "clog" start from the exchange, not your blocks of flats etc.

and of cos the internet is shared. lol:s22:

forumbot
23-02-2009, 06:59 AM
I hope when Fiber to the Home arrives for Singapore residential consumers, these problems will go away.

Fibre Optic lightspeed !

MarineX
23-02-2009, 07:59 AM

just when i am hoping for people to provide with this answer.

SN's "dedication" is your home copper wire to exchange/CO. dslam to isp and isp to internet, is "pipe". At least the "clog" start from the exchange, not your blocks of flats etc.

still, it clogs, isnt it? :)

JAson1980
23-02-2009, 09:51 AM
I can't even get connected in www.ilovetorrents.com
no matter how i try their guides.. WTH.

phuque99
23-02-2009, 12:04 PM
Lol, like religious war, no winner one lah, waste bandwidth and wall of text. Those enjoying fast torrent will continue to be fast regardless what anyone says here. Those on suffering torrents will continue to be slow despite what it is said and refusal to believe.

So if don't believe or don't wanna listen, just use the favourite slogan: let's move on. :D

liangtam
23-02-2009, 03:58 PM

it does not matter where the clog starts.

afterall, the last mile infra CAN be upgraded. If neighbourhood A has a total of 8 customer and all are ultimate plans. You can hook one fibre as backbone to support, similarly, if the customer doubles, more fibre can be pulled and installed. This argument is thus invalid, the only point is this, half-fugged dedicated is no dedicated at all.

I hope when Fiber to the Home arrives for Singapore residential consumers, these problems will go away.

Fibre Optic lightspeed !

Let me burst ur bubbles.
Its shared also.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ftth#Passive_optical_network

wohouboy
23-02-2009, 04:33 PM
Lol, like religious war, no winner one lah, waste bandwidth and wall of text. Those enjoying fast torrent will continue to be fast regardless what anyone says here. Those on suffering torrents will continue to be slow despite what it is said and refusal to believe.

So if don't believe or don't wanna listen, just use the favourite slogan: let's move on. :D

AMEN TO THAT!!!

stressmage
23-02-2009, 05:52 PM
it does not matter where the clog starts.
afterall, the last mile infra CAN be upgraded. If neighbourhood A has a total of 8 customer and all are ultimate plans. You can hook one fibre as backbone to support, similarly, if the customer doubles, more fibre can be pulled and installed. This argument is thus invalid, the only point is this, half-fugged dedicated is no dedicated at all.

still, it clogs, isnt it? :)

Its all marketing, the truth is, nothing is dedicated.

Both uses its own technology and its radically different. of cos there is advantage and disadvantage with the particular "style of connection", like it or not.

Gallen
10-04-2009, 09:57 PM
Starhub definitely throttles torrent speeds, I have been experiencing low download speeds (about 1 KB/s to 2 KB/s per torrent) for months.

Just a few days ago, suddenly my download speed spiked up to 400KB/s and I was wondering what happened. I increased my download limit speed to 500KB/s and within a few seconds, I hit this new limit.

This high speed was achieved despite the fact that I have been downloading the exact same torrents for weeks so it was not due to new torrents with high number of seeds.

Unfortunately, I only enjoyed this high download speed for a few hours, the next day, it was back to 1 KB/s to 2 KB/s :s8:

LunarWolfspirit
10-04-2009, 10:18 PM
Switched to Singnet. Decided after so many years, this just crossed the line. Enjoying my speeds from the ol' glory days now. :)

fullerms
11-04-2009, 02:52 PM
last mile does not matter as long as you are on something better than dialup :) If M1 users on starhub's cable infra can get better performance than Starhub's customers, it means your last mile is not the problem.

What matters is the isp's policies towards user traffic, and their international bandwidth. Some isps may cap torrents for all customers, some may cap only for low end plans.

aedward
11-04-2009, 11:15 PM
I just finished my contract with SH (MOL Express - 8MBps) last March 09, 2009 and now got a new contract with Mio Home under 8MBps speed.

In all honesty, I will never go back to Slowhub.

tromba
12-04-2009, 05:53 PM
Switched to Singnet. Decided after so many years, this just crossed the line. Enjoying my speeds from the ol' glory days now. :)

Good for u
but my best wishes for you..

Pray hard is not an enjoy now Suffer Big time later..

Which is what happen to my good friend who is now paying his Arse off for download Anime using $inknet...
and another
Big Time problem with their technical support till i have to step in to help him out, problem still persist anyway....

Cheers

SzETo_023
14-04-2009, 02:52 AM
no way to make it faster? i really cant stand dl torrent with the pipe...

SaNZo
14-04-2009, 04:00 AM

So am I safe to say that StarHub users are richer than SingTel users, since StarHub users go for buffet (think: Seoul Garden) as compared to SingTel customers (think: a plate of chicken rice)? :)

Jokes aside (and before all of ST fanboys burn me to a crisp), MarineX was right in saying that your analysis is overly-biased. Flawed, I should say.

Your analogy of saying SingTel users each buys - or gets - a plate of rice is the flaw. In StarHub example, you assumed that the buffet eaters goes on for multiple rounds (unless you mean the people eat where they stand; right in front of the buffet table), whereas the ST example you assumed only 1 round (only 1 plate of rice mentioned) per person.

The absence of mentioning how many rounds a person gets to go before satisfying himself makes your analogy bias.

Besides, in the buffet analogy, how many plates can a single person carry - safely and without a tray - from the buffet table to his seat? 2 plates? 3 plates? 4 plates, if he's a juggler.

What if the person in the foodcourt eats too fast ('clog his bandwidth with torrents')? Does it not mean that he is a fast eater and/or have a huge appetite? When he is done with his plate (serving), what is stopping him from going for another round? And after he finishes his second serving, what is stopping him from going for a third? Is the foodcourt ready to handle such traffic from these people?

SingTel now has 2 options:

Option1: They expand their foodcourt to accomodate for these kind of people.
Option2: They implement a new rule, saying that each user can only have a maximum of x servings per y duration.

Either way, each ISP has to implement something to restrict their users from choking up all the bandwidth (and also to be fair to the rest who does not torrent). If the ISP are lax in their bandwidth regulations, users who download using torrents rejoice (and the rest who doesn't suffer). On the other hand, if the ISP are place strict policies regarding bandwidth usage, it makes users who casually surf and does light downloads happier, but incur the wrath of users who torrent. A double-edged sword, I should say. As Jedi Master Yoda would say, "A fight for balance, the ISPs are facing."

Errz
14-04-2009, 09:28 AM
So am I safe to say that StarHub users are richer than SingTel users, since StarHub users go for buffet (think: Seoul Garden) as compared to SingTel customers (think: a plate of chicken rice)? :)

Jokes aside (and before all of ST fanboys burn me to a crisp), MarineX was right in saying that your analysis is overly-biased. Flawed, I should say.

Your analogy of saying SingTel users each buys - or gets - a plate of rice is the flaw. In StarHub example, you assumed that the buffet eaters goes on for multiple rounds (unless you mean the people eat where they stand; right in front of the buffet table), whereas the ST example you assumed only 1 round (only 1 plate of rice mentioned) per person.

The absence of mentioning how many rounds a person gets to go before satisfying himself makes your analogy bias.

Besides, in the buffet analogy, how many plates can a single person carry - safely and without a tray - from the buffet table to his seat? 2 plates? 3 plates? 4 plates, if he's a juggler.

What if the person in the foodcourt eats too fast ('clog his bandwidth with torrents')? Does it not mean that he is a fast eater and/or have a huge appetite? When he is done with his plate (serving), what is stopping him from going for another round? And after he finishes his second serving, what is stopping him from going for a third? Is the foodcourt ready to handle such traffic from these people?

SingTel now has 2 options:

Option1: They expand their foodcourt to accomodate for these kind of people.
Option2: They implement a new rule, saying that each user can only have a maximum of x servings per y duration.

Either way, each ISP has to implement something to restrict their users from choking up all the bandwidth (and also to be fair to the rest who does not torrent). If the ISP are lax in their bandwidth regulations, users who download using torrents rejoice (and the rest who doesn't suffer). On the other hand, if the ISP are place strict policies regarding bandwidth usage, it makes users who casually surf and does light downloads happier, but incur the wrath of users who torrent. A double-edged sword, I should say. As Jedi Master Yoda would say, "A fight for balance, the ISPs are facing."

now we foodcourt, buffet and Star Wars :s13:

what's next

Tectrica
16-05-2009, 08:55 PM
Though I am a starhub user, accordingly to (sorry i forgot what is the name), singnet has a better Tier 1 network connection than starhub. Both are Tier 2 network but in terms of ranking, singnet rank at a much higher place compare to starhub.

It's unfortunate but honestly I don't really know whats causing the slow down in bt. But I do know in theory, singnet should peform better than starhub since it has connection to more Tier 1 network over the world.