PDA

View Full Version : Testing out some of the ddr2 rams currently on market :

clon22
10-11-2007, 07:04 PM
Went around window "shopping" last week
and decided to get some rams to test
that are currently on sale on the market.
Prices were then @ the point of time.
Now prices may have dropped.

toopid hwc can only post 4 pics/post....nbz... hehe..

Thanks to some old buddies from SLS too!!!

My setup :
My bet, the ones in yellow are the best.
(I think everyone knows that)

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/ram_shootout/setup.jpg

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/ram_shootout/ram_galore.jpg

Results are few, so juz read for reference loh. :D
I did a default boot test of spi1m & 32m and highest cl4/cl5.
I set my processor to 400fsb so all rams will boot @ 800mhz
on a 1:1 divider no matter what.
Juz a note :
*all of them can go much higher but were not stable for 32m nor orthos but
good enough for quick benches.)

E4300 @ 400fsb 1:1
cpuz 1.41
super pi mod1.5 XS
default boot @ 1.9v
max vdimm used : 2.3v
all managed to clear orthos-ram 1hr

1st one i tested was the kingston hyperX 6400LL..
they have been on sale on market for a long long time liao.
Spotting a new hs design.
but on 1st looks, how come look like Gskill ones???
Anyway, See if they have improved.
Pray hard that they bin the rams to 800mhz this time.

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/ram_shootout/hyperx_cl4.jpg

clon22
10-11-2007, 07:05 PM
default boot @ 5-5-5-15
spi1m :

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/ram_shootout/khx_3600mhz_default_spi1m.jpg

Sigh, they are still @ 667mhz, 3.0ns.
So ppl who are not into o/c, this pair of rams will run slower @ default as compared
to the other as they are 667mhz.
So if you buy, pls tell the shopkeeper to set for you if possible.

spi32m 14m42s :

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/ram_shootout/khx_3600mhz_default_spi32m.jpg

highest @ 4-4-4-12 : 960mhz

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/ram_shootout/khx_max_44412.jpg

highest @ 5-5-5-15 : 1005mhz

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/ram_shootout/khx_max_55515.jpg

Rams : KHX6400D2LL
Chipset used : Elpida 6E-E (still the same after so long)
Price : $98/module

clon22
10-11-2007, 07:08 PM
Next : OCZ 6400 platinum rev.2
Very nice looking heatspreaders w/the timg

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/ram_shootout/ocz_plat_rev2.jpg

Default boot @ 5-5-5-13
Spi1m :

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/ram_shootout/ocz_3600mhz_default_spi1m.jpg

spi32m : 14m40s

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/ram_shootout/ocz_3600mhz_default_spi36m.jpg

Highest @ 4-4-4-12 : 950mhz

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/ram_shootout/ocz_max_44412.jpg

clon22
10-11-2007, 07:10 PM
Highest @ 5-5-5-15 : 980mhz

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/ram_shootout/ocz_max_55515.jpg

I know ppl have hit much higher with this set.
I could have gotten a bad pair
or my mobo pms... hee...

Rams : OCZ 6400c4 Platinum Rev.2
Chipset used : Promos or Qimonda. (not sure as the hs is very well secured)
Price : $99/module

Next : Value ddr2 800mhz rams by SIS.
Basic, no heatspreaders but very cheap.

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/ram_shootout/winston_6400_cl5.jpg

A friend tested this for me,
so i'd tot i oso post and show you all.

Highest @ 4-4-4-12 : 880mhz

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/ram_shootout/winston_880mhz_44412_orthos.jpg

Highest @ 5-5-5-15 : 940mhz
http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/ram_shootout/winston_940mhz_55515_orthos.jpg

Rams : Winston ddr2 800mhz cl5 by SiS
Chipset used : Elpida
Price : $59/module

clon22
10-11-2007, 07:12 PM
Last : Crucial 6400 Ballistix
Very easy to see what underneath...
as the hs dun stick well..
D9GMH w/the ballistix logo.. wow wow...

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/ram_shootout/ballistix_6400cl4_2.jpg

Default boot @ 5-5-5-15
spi1m :

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/ram_shootout/crucial_3600mhz_default_spi1m.jpg

spi32m :

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/ram_shootout/crucial_3600mhz_default_spi32m.jpg

Highest @ 4-4-4-12 : 1020mhz

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/ram_shootout/crucial_max_44412.jpg

clon22
10-11-2007, 07:12 PM
Highest @ 5-5-5-15 : 1220mhz

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/ram_shootout/crucial_max_55515.jpg

Rams : Crucial Ballistix 6400c4
Chipset used : Micron D9GMH
Price : $119/module

Amazing performance on cl5.
But cl4 was unexpectedly low.
I didn't get a bad pair.. they juz wouldn't go well @ cl4.
As compared to this pair of micron D9gmH i bought last month @ $49/gb 667mhz.
(but i did flash to my custom spd bin)

1080mhz 4-4-4-12 @ 2.3v

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/ram_shootout/clon22_max_44412.jpg

Here a suicide shot of the ballistix @ 2.3v
1250mhz :

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/ram_shootout/crucial_55515_suicide_shot.jpg

I've killed 6gb of D9 rams altogether.
this article is for you guys.
so dun be surprised if ur D9 fail memtest @ even 2.1v
or die for no reason... heehee

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=140870&highlight=micron+high+voltages

Results will vary with different individuals thou.
I try to get some others to test.
Haf fun playing with your rams. :D

clon22
10-11-2007, 07:20 PM
sh|t...
it looks bloody messy...
arrgghhh...
anyway...
i forgot the corsair modules...
they sort of doa by accident..
heehee...
So i'll leave them out.. =:p

bryanwumf
10-11-2007, 07:44 PM
Nice nice! some more please!

jtchoy
10-11-2007, 07:47 PM
Nice shootout. Love my new ballistix even more, just haven't had the time to OC them even more yet...

bryanwumf
10-11-2007, 09:04 PM
http://img229.imageshack.us/img229/911/kvr667vq8.jpg
http://img229.imageshack.us/img229/2906/transcendin0.jpghttp://img229.imageshack.us/img229/3612/cvs667ki3.jpg
http://img61.imageshack.us/img61/1926/oczhd9.jpg

NightRaven
10-11-2007, 10:30 PM
haha good going guys :) good read!

clon22
10-11-2007, 10:31 PM
Lemme add 2 more to the database

good good..
pls add more..
if there's anyone who has more results.. its you.. :D
I still got one more.. tomolo then post..
(me posting from outside.. heehee..)

PetPet
10-11-2007, 11:29 PM
woah thanks for sharing bro.

bryanwumf
10-11-2007, 11:34 PM
I'll try to add more in the future.

mugee_
12-11-2007, 04:19 PM
wah....finally u post ah...never post ur C3
lol when u gonna post ur rapidchill

clon22
17-11-2007, 11:19 PM
hehe.. ups for reads...
now oso got kvr 667/1gb elpida 6e-e..
maybe someone can post and share the $30+ ram performance..
LS, bryan???... :D

mugee_
27-11-2007, 08:35 PM
u help me test never post..nm i post loh

Tested by clon22

booted @ stock @ 833mhz @ 1.9v 4-4-4-10
on my E4300 @ 3ghz.

Some pics and initial tests...
heehee....

http://i231.photobucket.com/albums/ee235/weealvin/Mugee_Gskill_hz_1.jpg

http://i231.photobucket.com/albums/ee235/weealvin/Mugee_Gskill_hz_3.jpg

1000mhz @ 2.2v 4-4-3-5.
Pretty good...

http://i231.photobucket.com/albums/ee235/weealvin/mugee_gskill_hz_1000_4435.jpg

http://i231.photobucket.com/albums/ee235/weealvin/Mugee_Gskill_hz_2.jpg

bryanwumf
27-11-2007, 08:45 PM
Okie.. here's the Elpida 6E-E

http://img509.imageshack.us/img509/1872/kvr667ww4.jpg

gripen
30-11-2007, 09:34 AM
Have anyone tried overclocking generic TwinMOS DDR800 ram yet? It's the 2nd cheapest ddr800 ram in sls besides Elpida. :D

clon22
16-12-2007, 02:20 PM
Another one by Bryanwu : Corsair 6400C5 DHX
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1809608 :D
heehee...

bryanwumf
16-12-2007, 02:22 PM
Add 2 more!

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1791381&highlight=Edevices

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1801620&highlight=Twinmos

clon22
16-12-2007, 03:07 PM
Power!!...
You can be called The Ram Guy liao...
So many lobangs and stuffs. :D

FinalTidus
16-12-2007, 10:30 PM
I am using Sis chips rams by the Winston brand.. Don know if I am the only one using it.. DDr2-800..

longsiew
18-12-2007, 02:45 PM
I am using Sis chips rams by the Winston brand.. Don know if I am the only one using it.. DDr2-800..

If not mistaken. It is using Elpidia Chipset

gripen
29-12-2007, 06:37 AM
The Twin MOS ram seems to be pretty good for the price, managed to pass 9 runs of Memtest at DDR-800 with 4,4,4,12 timings from the default 5,5,5,15 timings.
Got to increase the voltage to 1.95v though.

FinalTidus
29-12-2007, 09:32 AM
If not mistaken. It is using Elpidia Chipset

i see... so is it good??

clon22
30-12-2007, 12:56 PM
I though there are some results of it in the 1se page?? :)

bryanwumf
05-01-2008, 09:25 PM
DDR2-667 @ DDR2-1020 1.8v.

http://img116.imageshack.us/img116/3039/92418587du8.jpg

Gum
07-01-2008, 02:22 AM
Clon22: Great reviews!

I was looking forward to your review on the Corsair TWIN2X2048-6400 cos I jus bought it myself and want to know its limits. But sad to you posted that it DOA... :(

If you can get another pair, do post it pls. Tks! :)

clon22
10-01-2008, 12:25 AM

I was looking forward to your review on the Corsair TWIN2X2048-6400 cos I jus bought it myself and want to know its limits. But sad to you posted that it DOA... :(

Thanks! :D

clon22
14-02-2008, 02:13 AM

I'm scouting around these few days...
:D
Hope I find some... :)

keith
14-02-2008, 09:12 PM
hi bro,

OT a bit, seems most OC is abt pushing RAM MHz, what abt pushing the timings

i m deciding betw a pair of 2*2GB OCZ ram, either the Gold or Titanium series. diff is the $$ and CAS, one is 5-5-5-18, the other is 4-4-4-15.

Is there chance that i can push the 5-5-5-18 to 4-4-4-15 at stock speed of 400MHz ??

Price diff is USD17 :yawn: ..

ty ty

keith

clon22
14-02-2008, 11:19 PM
hi bro,

OT a bit, seems most OC is abt pushing RAM MHz, what abt pushing the timings

i m deciding betw a pair of 2*2GB OCZ ram, either the Gold or Titanium series. diff is the $$ and CAS, one is 5-5-5-18, the other is 4-4-4-15.

Is there chance that i can push the 5-5-5-18 to 4-4-4-15 at stock speed of 400MHz ??

Price diff is USD17 :yawn: ..

ty ty

keith
It really depends on the what memory chipsets are being used.
Usually D9gmh/gkx and highly binned promos can do pretty tight timings @ high frequencies.
Really depends...
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=134742
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=138

But purely 800mhz @ cl4...
many chips can do those..
Elpida, PSC... :)

keith
15-02-2008, 08:09 AM
It really depends on the what memory chipsets are being used.
Usually D9gmh/gkx and highly binned promos can do pretty tight timings @ high frequencies.
Really depends...
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=134742
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=138

But purely 800mhz @ cl4...
many chips can do those..
Elpida, PSC... :)

thanks

keith

aaronlow
16-02-2008, 08:07 PM
you r the man

clon22
16-02-2008, 09:34 PM
you r the man
Yo Aaron!
How are you? :)
Its been awhile man...
kekeke...
Btw, ni nian kuai le! :D

hwsinn
21-02-2008, 04:22 PM
the crucial one quite good....
wad abt the corsair ones...how come din try that out

clon22
23-02-2008, 03:21 AM
the crucial one quite good....
wad abt the corsair ones...how come din try that out
One stick was sort of faulty then...
kekeke....

clon22
23-02-2008, 03:38 AM
Finally got time to post my hoots... :D
kekeke....

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/Corsair_6400c5dhx/My_hoots.jpg

I couldn't find the C4 version for the rams.
PCThemes no stock...
But managed to find this C5 but v2.1. :D...
Bumped into Longsiew also...
he also scouting for some stuffs...
kekeke....

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/Corsair_6400c5dhx/Corsair_6400c5dhx.jpg

clon22
23-02-2008, 03:49 AM
http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/Corsair_6400c5dhx/Corsair_6400c5dhx_1.jpg

PC6400 rated @ 800mhz 5-5-5-18 @ 1.8v
but v2.1... Promos chipset...
kekeke....

I forget to adjust my setting @ juz replace the rams in my casing and boot...
Wow, they booted into windows @ 1068mhz 5-5-5-13 @ 1.95v
hahaha...
Notbad....

Nothing adjusted...
My usual setup is 4ghz(445 x 9) , 1066mhz @ 5-5-5-13 @ 1.95v(My custom SPD rams)

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/Corsair_6400c5dhx/1068mhz_55513_2v_cpuz_default.jpg

But I needed 2.1v to do large FFT test...
kekeke... =:p

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/Corsair_6400c5dhx/1068mhz_55513_21v_cpuz_orthos.jpg

clon22
23-02-2008, 03:57 AM
the performance not bad leh...
kekeke...

Spi32m : 800mhz 4-4-3-8 @ 2.0v

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/Corsair_6400c5dhx/400x9_800mhz_4438_2v_spi32m.jpg

Spi32m : 1000mhz 4-4-3-8 @ 2.3v
performance lvl 6

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/Corsair_6400c5dhx/400x9_1000mhz_4438_23v_spi32m_memse.jpg

thinking... juz try for fun..
see can do the same by upping the divider...
hehe,....
Still can boot into windows...

Spi1m : 1200mhz 5-5-5-18 @ 2.4v
still at performance lvl 6...
32m not stable... but who cares...
heehee.... dirt cheap ddr800 rams...
somemore looks beri cool...

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/Corsair_6400c5dhx/400x9_1200mhz_55518_23v_spi1m_memse.jpg

Not bad... :D
Beri late le....
go zzzzzzzzzz le....

MacClipper
23-02-2008, 10:03 AM
Argh, was hoping you would jump over to testing 2 x 2GB sticks next. :D

hwsinn
23-02-2008, 11:24 AM
the performance not bad leh...
kekeke...

Spi32m : 800mhz 4-4-3-8 @ 2.0v

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/Corsair_6400c5dhx/400x9_800mhz_4438_2v_spi32m.jpg

Spi32m : 1000mhz 4-4-3-8 @ 2.3v
performance lvl 6

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/Corsair_6400c5dhx/400x9_1000mhz_4438_23v_spi32m_memse.jpg

thinking... juz try for fun..
see can do the same by upping the divider...
hehe,....
Still can boot into windows...

Spi1m : 1200mhz 5-5-5-18 @ 2.4v
still at performance lvl 6...
32m not stable... but who cares...
heehee.... dirt cheap ddr800 rams...
somemore looks beri cool...

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/Corsair_6400c5dhx/400x9_1200mhz_55518_23v_spi1m_memse.jpg

Not bad... :D
Beri late le....
go zzzzzzzzzz le....
u mean u set ram multiplier to 3?

FinalTidus
23-02-2008, 03:12 PM
Sorry guys.. Just wanna ask. Is Winston rams using the Elpidia Chipset??? Sorry noob..:s11:

clon22
23-02-2008, 03:44 PM
Argh, was hoping you would jump over to testing 2 x 2GB sticks next. :D
Kekeke...okok..
next time i go see see..
actually i did.. but the pair no good.. =:p

clon22
23-02-2008, 03:51 PM
Sorry guys.. Just wanna ask. Is Winston rams using the Elpidia Chipset??? Sorry noob..:s11:
You mean this one??

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=26593894&postcount=4

Yah, the pair my fren bought.
Should be elpida...
We compared with the elpida sticks..

clon22
23-02-2008, 03:53 PM
u mean u set ram multiplier to 3?
U meant mem divider izzit??..
Yah...
fsb 400mhz, ratio @ 2:3=600mhz....
ddr2 600mhz = 1200mhz... :)

FinalTidus
23-02-2008, 11:50 PM
You mean this one??

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=26593894&postcount=4

Yah, the pair my fren bought.
Should be elpida...
We compared with the elpida sticks..
I see. So how does it rate compared to other chipsets?? As this brand is pretty unknown I am not sure about its reliability and overclockability... I do have 2 x 1gig DDR2 800 and I overclocked it to 820 at 4-4-4-12 and upped it to 2.0v..

Can it tahan???

hwsinn
24-02-2008, 02:23 AM
U meant mem divider izzit??..
Yah...
fsb 400mhz, ratio @ 2:3=600mhz....
ddr2 600mhz = 1200mhz... :)

i still dun get it.
If base fsb is 400 then multiplier set to 3 then isnt it alrdy at 1200mhz. Why 600mhz nia

clon22
24-02-2008, 03:07 PM
i still dun get it.
If base fsb is 400 then multiplier set to 3 then isnt it alrdy at 1200mhz. Why 600mhz nia
Correct.
Its 1200mhz(DoubleDataRate)
:)

clon22
24-02-2008, 03:07 PM
I see. So how does it rate compared to other chipsets?? As this brand is pretty unknown I am not sure about its reliability and overclockability... I do have 2 x 1gig DDR2 800 and I overclocked it to 820 at 4-4-4-12 and upped it to 2.0v..

Can it tahan???
2.0v is good....
so shldn't be a prob.. :)

clon22
24-02-2008, 03:10 PM
Corsair 6400C5DHX v2.1 @ 1000mhz 4-4-3-5
Passed spi32m sub 13min @ 3.6ghz. :D
(Somemore i suck @ Super PI...)
Not bad... =:p

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/Corsair_6400c5dhx/400x9_1000mhz_4435_23v_spi32m_cpuz_.jpg

kekeke... :D

hwsinn
24-02-2008, 10:05 PM
Correct.
Its 1200mhz(DoubleDataRate)
if DDR 1200 means the base for ram is 600 mah?
wad does mem divider mean in the 1st place

clon22
29-02-2008, 02:20 AM
Hooted Corsair 2 X 2GB 6400C5DHX.
Not bad...

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/Corsair_4096_6400c5dhx/08022819582000.jpg

Went until 858mhz @ 2.2v but didn't have time to do testing...
Agar agar... keke...
I very impressed with the trp clocks..
heehee...
CL5 managed 1066mhz @ 2.0v, 1100 @ 2.1v and 1120 @ 2.2v.
But trp all @ 3clocks... not bad..
Able to boot @ 1140 but cannot load windows.

1120 was good for spi32m..

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/Corsair_4096_6400c5dhx/3735_1120_55315_spi32m.jpg

longsiew
29-02-2008, 03:32 PM
Not bad for a 2gb x 2 kit at 5-5-4-X

version 4.1 is using elpida??

bryanwumf
29-02-2008, 04:11 PM
I think still PCS

DarkBlue
29-02-2008, 11:47 PM
Where to buy DDR800s with Elpida chips ?? :s11:

n00b abt ram OC

clon22
01-03-2008, 03:50 AM
Not bad for a 2gb x 2 kit at 5-5-4-X

version 4.1 is using elpida??

I think still PCS

Sorry bros.. forgot to update... =:p
I checked back @ xs...
4.1 is using Qimonda...
My reapers were using PSC...
can be seen on the 3rd ppic..
kekeke...

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/OCZ_ReaperX_HPC/details_1.jpghttp://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/OCZ_ReaperX_HPC/details_3.jpghttp://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/OCZ_ReaperX_HPC/details_4.jpg
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1881921

My C5DHX were slightly wider...
hehehe...

clon22
01-03-2008, 03:55 AM
Where to buy DDR800s with Elpida chips ?? :s11:

n00b abt ram OC
The 667mhz ones shld be juz as good. :)
If you need the SPD bin for 800mhz,
i can send u oso.. :)

Ther 667mhz 6e-e and 800mhz 8e-e perform abt the same...
I did tested the 800 8e-e Elpida recently...
Ard 920mhz 4-4-4-12 and 980mhz 5-5-5-13
@ 2.3v max.... thats all.. :)

clon22
01-03-2008, 03:57 AM
Tested Elpida 667mhz 2gb sticks x 4pcs...
pretty okay too...
THese are kvr 667 modules...

8gb @ 800mhz 5-5-5-15 2.0v

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/Elpida_8gb.jpg

DarkBlue
02-03-2008, 12:51 PM
wow.. great chips

clon22
09-03-2008, 12:01 AM
THanks thanks...
:D:D

Now ddr2 prices oso beri the cheap..
=:p

stoned22
19-03-2008, 02:21 PM
sian, one of my kingston elpidas spoil, after rma convergent return me this ram with 'kingston' branded chips one it. now end up 2 different rams (cause they only change the 1 stick that spoil), not very optimistic on the overclocking ability.

anyone got use those valueram with 'kingston' brand chip before?

clon22
21-03-2008, 11:19 AM
Oic...
thats the thing about value rams loh...
Sometimes really bopian one...
take a pic of ur rams n let us see.. :)
set everything to 5-5-5-18 @ 2.2v and test how high they can run loh. ;)

stoned22
23-03-2008, 09:27 AM
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v233/stoned22/SDC10046.jpg

my cheapo samsung digicam sucks at close up shots and the words on the chips came quite faded, the chip is

Kingston
S0060170
0740 SAP
D6308TR1CGL3

S0063007PECXA

i'll test it after figuring out my Patriot PSD21G8002 ddr800 rams which i can't seem to get past 435mhz even at 2.1v

bryanwumf
23-03-2008, 09:54 AM
ProMoS based ICs.. dunno if its good or not..

clon22
23-03-2008, 02:33 PM
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v233/stoned22/SDC10046.jpg

my cheapo samsung digicam sucks at close up shots and the words on the chips came quite faded, the chip is

Kingston
S0060170
0740 SAP
D6308TR1CGL3

S0063007PECXA

i'll test it after figuring out my Patriot PSD21G8002 ddr800 rams which i can't seem to get past 435mhz even at 2.1v
Yup, ProMOS...
Can give a try....
The previous Patriot 800mhz wif d blue heatspreaders were using PSC...
Not bad...
800mhz 4-4-4-12 @ 2.0v

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/Patriot_6400-2H_blue/460x8_3680mhz_44412_23v_Spi32m.jpg

Dun know if they are still the same.. :)

stoned22
23-03-2008, 02:50 PM
i tried, and was surprised that the ram stick i got back from RMA was defective, it would hang during POST :s22:

seems like 440mhz at 5-5-5-15 is pretty much the limit for my PSD21G8002 (my FSB still has plenty of room to go), going to try reducing the latency at lower clock next.

ahgrypig
26-03-2008, 05:54 PM
bro u mean can flash kingstonddr667 to ddr800??Only applicable for epida chipsets?

The 667mhz ones shld be juz as good. :)
If you need the SPD bin for 800mhz,
i can send u oso.. :)

Ther 667mhz 6e-e and 800mhz 8e-e perform abt the same...
I did tested the 800 8e-e Elpida recently...
Ard 920mhz 4-4-4-12 and 980mhz 5-5-5-13
@ 2.3v max.... thats all.. :)

ahgrypig
27-03-2008, 02:19 AM
You mean Kingston DDR800 actually runs at 667mhz only?Which brand in the $30-$40 per GB range better than the kingston?

clon22
30-03-2008, 01:23 AM
bro u mean can flash kingstonddr667 to ddr800??Only applicable for epida chipsets?
Any ram can be flash as long as you know their capabilities... :)
What speeds, what voltage and latencies...
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1554145
For 2gb sticks you also have to take note of the trfc clocks...

clon22
30-03-2008, 01:34 AM
You mean Kingston DDR800 actually runs at 667mhz only?Which brand in the $30-$40 per GB range better than the kingston?
Are you referring to the 6400LL hyperX?
The pair i received were not binned to 800mhz thats all... :)
Brands in general dun make much diff...
its the chipsets.. :)

Last checked a few days ago..
ballistix 800 still have single and double on the market...
(My cust's single sided ones bsod @ 1066mhz 5-5-5-15 @ even 2.2v)
hyperX 800 & 1066 are using the same Elpida chipsets but different bin lvls..
(I did not test)
kvr667 hynix are not bad...
(My fren bought it)
Spotted corsair 2gb/667mhz sticks with the same Qimonda chip on my 6400C5DHX 4096 v4.1 (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1881921)
(trp 3clks shld be easy.)

kekeke... :)

concept_fuel
30-03-2008, 06:29 AM
Just to add.....some good reading material on memory....
tells u why ICs...chipsets...DRAM Packaging is important....
part of the article.....

BGA-PCB Joints Stress
On the other hand, shorter connectors arranged in a grid fashion at the bottom of the chip can result in non-uniform stress between each pin or solder ball during thermal expansion and contraction cycles. This happens when the DRAM heats up and expands at a different rate relative to the attached Printed Circuit Board (PCB).

The different rate of expansion between the PCB and the DRAM chip stresses the soldered balls and can result in fractured connections - this is one of the reasons why users should not increase the DRAM voltage higher than the specification, unless there is extra effort applied to keeping the memory cool. Higher voltage will generate more heat and degrade the internal DRAM circuitries at a faster rate.

Certain memory modules by OCZ (FlexXLC, Reaper, ReaperX) and Corsair (DHX, Dominator) have advanced thermal technology that reduces the discrepancy between DRAM and PCB during thermal cycles.

The way OCZ and Corsair confirm the effectiveness of their PCB heat transfer technology is by stressing their modules to extreme temperature cycles for long period, and then inspect the DRAM ball connections for fractures with X-ray. This is an extremely time consuming process and one of the important points for overclockers to keep in mind.

http://images.bit-tech.net/content_images/2007/12/the_secrets_of_pc_memory_part_2/cooling.jpg
specialised PCB cooling for FBGA DRAM from OCZ and Corsair
Source: OCZ Technology and Corsair Memory

As previously mentioned, another variation of BGA technology is known as Fortified-BGA. Like the name implies, it improves DRAM reliability during thermal cycles (from hot to cold, vice versa) by fortifying the connecting points. Solder ball diameter at the bottom of the DRAM chip is directly proportional to solder joint reliability during temperature cycles. The large the diameter, the more reliable it will be – this is one of the reasons why certain memory modules can tolerate higher temperature.

http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/2007/11/15/the_secrets_of_pc_memory_part_1/1
http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/2007/12/17/the_secrets_of_pc_memory_part_2/1
http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/2008/02/08/the_secrets_of_pc_memory_part_3/1
http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/2008/02/10/the_secrets_of_pc_memory_part_4/1

clon22
12-04-2008, 04:44 AM
Nice info man.. :)
Got 2 sets of rams to test over the weekend..
heehee...
some crucials and some corsairs...
kekeke...
update again...

clon22
13-04-2008, 12:04 AM
Managed to get some rams to test yesterday...
kekeke....
This is a pair of Ballistix 8500 sticks...
No rating or any timings/voltages stated...
nebermind.. can check the EPP values in cpuz later..
heehee...

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/ram_shootout/ballistix8500.jpg

Nice shine..
keke...
aiyah.. suay... i got a pc doa...
heng still got 1pc can work..
still can test...

On initial boot test @ 1066mhz..
it doesn't boot @ all...
tried until 2.2v...
then i realise they're single sided 128mb chips...

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/ram_shootout/insides.jpg

hmm...
I had to adjust tRFC to 52clks before they can boot...
so those mobo bios whose Dram sub timings aren't auto adjustable..
most likely, they wun boot...
Juz take note... remember to manual adjust them..

These chips should be the same ones as those 2gb sticks...
You can take these results similar to the 2gb sticks...

Default 1066mhz : 5-5-5-15 (52) @ 1.95v

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/ram_shootout/1066_55515_52_spi32m_cpuz.jpg

As 1gb sticks, it quite troublesome to use...
but as 2gb modules... not bad...
keke...
(Except the heatspreaders abit the.... kekeke)

Highest CL4 @ 2.3v.. 920mhz...

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/ram_shootout/920_44412_52_spi32m_cpuz.jpg

clon22
13-04-2008, 12:15 AM
Highest CL5 @ 2.3v.. 1160mhz

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/ram_shootout/920_44412_52_spi32m_cpuz.jpg

They still can do higher..
but ain't stable for My 32mil settings...
kekeke...

There you have it.. keke...
My thoughts...
Too much trouble required(settings) to run @ 1gb sticks if you o/c...
but as 2gb sticks... i think they are very good.....
kekeke...

Next....
Corsair 2 x 2gb 800mhz sticks...
4096 6400C4DHX ver 1.1 ....
Are these newer??...
Anyway me own a pair too... but are C5DHXs...
kekeke...

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/ram_shootout/4096c4dhx.jpg

After some checking...
Found out their PSC chipsets...
Then they should perform the same as my previous
Reapers 4GB EB editions...
Since these are 2GB modules...
I'll keep the vdimm @ 2.2v max...

Default 800mhz 4-4-4-12 @ 2v
(Actually they can do 4-4-3-12 without any problem too..)

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/ram_shootout/800_44412_spi320_cpuz.jpg

Highest CL4 @ 2.2v... 850mhz
Pretty much in line with the other 2GB PSC sticks on market..

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/ram_shootout/850_44412_spi320_cpuz.jpg

clon22
13-04-2008, 12:23 AM
Highest CL5 @ 2.2v... 1125mhz 5-5-5-15-(56)
Take note... for 2gb modules...
remember to manual adjust your tRFC clocks if ur mobo
bios Dram sub timing do not have auto settings..

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/ram_shootout/1125_55515_spi320_cpuz.jpg

There you have it...
Nice looking heatspreaders oso...
kekeke...

Out of curiosity...
I was wondering if they can do tRP of 3clks as well...

Notbad....
They do leh.. kekeke...
PC8888 @ 5-5-3-15...

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/ram_shootout/1111_55315_spi320_cpuz.jpg

Once trp is lower...
all the other sub timings tighten tremendously too...
Which is very good if you find the sweetspot and the voltage..
Check put XS Gskill review...
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=163668
User "Enjoy" has some very powerful PSC chips...
kekeke...

Yups... thats all...

bryanwumf
13-04-2008, 01:18 AM
Saw some v5.2 6400C5DHX 4GB kit in SLS.. microns?

clon22
13-04-2008, 12:32 PM
Saw some v5.2 6400C5DHX 4GB kit in SLS.. microns?
I dunno leh...
stated @ corsair houseofhelp..
looks like micron....
Dun tempt me leh...
u see the ballistix ones...
can do cl4 very high for 2gb modules...
heehee... :D
arrgghhh.... =:p

stoned22
14-04-2008, 09:27 AM
how do you determine what value of tRFC to use?

clon22
14-04-2008, 11:21 PM
how do you determine what value of tRFC to use?
Trial and error loh... :)
Some need 62... some 42 can liao...
i'm referring to current 2gb modules...
keke.. :)

clon22
15-04-2008, 01:04 AM
Found an old thread in my "favourites"
heehee,,, :D:D

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=171375

clon22
19-04-2008, 01:51 AM
KHX8500 1GB x 2

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/ram_shootout/KHX8500.jpg

These are rated PC8500 @ 2.2v.
Though timings are not stated, its quite easy to guess...
Setting them to boot @ 1066mhz.
5-5-5-15 @ 2.0v (Rated 2.2v)
But they worked fine.. no probs...

As you can see, they are neither EPP set nor are
there any timings shown on the box.
Take note 1066 memory will still boot @ 800mhz by default.
800mhz 5-5-5-x is the highest JEDEC warranty standards.
Anything else is manufacturer's specs.
So please manual adjust.

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/ram_shootout/1066_55515_42_orthos.jpg

My Highest CL4 @ 2.3v : 920mhz

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/ram_shootout/920mhz_44412_spi32m.jpg

Highest CL5 @ 2.3v : 1067mhz
I could not get anything stable above that.
Even after re-installing windows.
Pls note... they are already at very very loose timings...
I did boot up until 1080mhz but nothing stable...
(tried performance lvl 9 as well)

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/ram_shootout/1067mhz_55515_spi32m_max.jpg

Whats inside?
Amazingly...
Elpida 6E-E.
The rest, you guys should have a good idea...
Least they are cheap.

Yup... thats all...

clon22
24-04-2008, 02:01 AM
Bumped for reads. :)

HeeroYuy84
15-01-2009, 12:28 AM
nice reviews

FinalTidus
04-04-2009, 11:31 AM
Upzzz..........

clon22
05-04-2009, 11:59 AM
Woah, this thread still alive. :p
Haven't tested any new ddr2 in ages..
Now more on ddr3 tri-ch.
Thanks for the upz. :)

FinalTidus
05-04-2009, 04:59 PM
Woah, this thread still alive. :p
Haven't tested any new ddr2 in ages..
Now more on ddr3 tri-ch.
Thanks for the upz. :)
No prob.. Its such a waste. Last post was a year ago!!!!! This thread should be a sticky man!!

You were the only one who posted a mini review of my previous Winston rams!!! If not NOBODY would have tot of Winston rams.

Just bought a 2x2 DDR2-800 Team Dark. What are your opinions on these rams???

clon22
08-04-2009, 01:11 AM
I was alittle crazy into memory perfromance.(Still am i think.:p)
Coz, memory is the most important component for me
in all my rigs/setups.

More than half the time, memory is always the limitation
for cpu scalability at a fix divider.(for me.)

Team dark are pretty good stuff for budget/semi-budget rams.
I remembered they were using PSC(powerchip) chips.
Pretty good @ low/acceptable voltage @ ~1066mhz.
And they also dun mind slightly lower tRP.
Eg, low freq @ 800, they can do 4-4-3 and high freq @ 1066, they can do 5-5-4
:p

Just remember if you need to test high freq for 2gb sticks,
loosen tRAS and tRFC clocks.
(Not sure if it still applies to current chipsets but
i think it does as it applies to ddr3 too.)

If u're pairing with high FSB, be sure to loosen performance lvl too.
Eases the stress on ur mobo's nb.
Enjoy ur new hoot.
http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j37/clon22/OCX_emoticons/ocx0915.gif

L33D3R
27-05-2009, 09:32 PM
Has anyone tested Hp RAM yet?

I was thinking of purchasing either the Hp RAM modules or the other brands' ones. TS, any advice on this??