PDA

View Full Version : Nice jap food around town area.

DestinyFate
10-11-2007, 11:08 PM
As topic above..hmm de only jap restaurant i went is always sakae or suki sushi..any others to recommend?thanks

Assenkay
10-11-2007, 11:40 PM
Depends on what type you are looking for...

Ramen u can go to the ramen thread. There's a whole list there.

Waraku at Marina Square I heard is not bad

alanchia67
11-11-2007, 12:19 AM
i've always liked waraku at east coast - very authentic. thus i belief other waraku couldnt be bad (although i've not tried them yet).

i dont like sakae sushi, somehow.

info_guy
11-11-2007, 01:08 AM
Millenia walk - Rakuzen, very nice atmosphere, average to good food, expensive

Cuppage - A few nice ramen shops

Katong - Waraku

foreverluv
11-11-2007, 08:24 PM
Can try sushi tei?

How's the pricing at waraku?

Assenkay
11-11-2007, 09:30 PM
http://www.waraku.com.sg/

They have the menus online. :D

noeltanwh
12-11-2007, 05:05 AM
Waraku, what more can i say

sleepnsleep2003
12-11-2007, 05:33 AM
http://www.waraku.com.sg/

They have the menus online. :D

Went to the marina sq outlet last month, ordered a bake pasta, the portion is so little...

DestinyFate
12-11-2007, 10:01 AM
ic..seems like waruku quite a few recommendation..hmm is sellk sushi etc de right?cos i se is like pasta ha..

delson_tan
12-11-2007, 10:46 AM
ic..seems like waruku quite a few recommendation..hmm is sellk sushi etc de right?cos i se is like pasta ha..Just go to the link and check out the menu online. They got lotsa things.

LiquidShaDow
12-11-2007, 12:38 PM
Tried Akashi (http://smallpotatoesmakethesteaklookbigger.blogspot.com/2006/11/akashi-paragon.html), Aoki (http://smallpotatoesmakethesteaklookbigger.blogspot.com/2007/01/aoki-shaw-centre.html) or Sushi (http://smallpotatoesmakethesteaklookbigger.blogspot.com/2007/11/return-to-yoshida.html) Yoshida (http://smallpotatoesmakethesteaklookbigger.blogspot.com/2007/09/lunch-sushi.html)?

camemberu
12-11-2007, 02:39 PM
Tatsuya is pretty good too. Go for the lunch sets (S$26++) as dinner can get expensive.

http://camemberu.blogspot.com/2007/06/tatsuya-sushi-bento.html

duckie85
12-11-2007, 02:44 PM
I tried the outlet at marina square, not really fantastic.
Maybe i didnt ordered the correct food.

vurtomatic
12-11-2007, 05:23 PM
Second Akashi and recommend Sun and Moon.

durain
12-11-2007, 06:46 PM
WARAKU RINDO SET MEAL.....the best cold noodle meal in town....very very worth your money. The Tempura there is best

souluv
12-11-2007, 07:21 PM

nod nod .. Waraku is not bad..

grunt
12-11-2007, 07:42 PM
I am not sure if there is Sushi Tei in town but its also worth a mention. Can fight with Waraku and def way better than Sakae.

camemberu
12-11-2007, 07:44 PM
Never liked Waraku. Once I had a sashimi salad where the maguro was greyish and fishy (ikura also smelly); yakitori that came cold; and ramen that just simply was a waste of noodles. Maybe I ordered wrong stuff?

jarvis
12-11-2007, 09:15 PM
i agree that Tatsuya is very good... the set lunches are value for money and the ala carte can be damn expensive...

Other nice jap places would be Kazu Sumiyaki (yakitori place)... also not exactly cheap.

snap99
12-11-2007, 09:24 PM
Nirai-Kanai okinawa rest. at tanglin shopping centre.

Sauron
12-11-2007, 09:53 PM
just went for dinner at tatsuya 2 weeks ago. the sushi and sashimi are sublime but you really do pay for it.

bartleby
13-11-2007, 02:43 PM
I am not sure if there is Sushi Tei in town but its also worth a mention. Can fight with Waraku and def way better than Sakae.
Here's the list of Sushi Tei's outlets:

China Square Central
Holland Village
Ngee Ann City
Paragon
Raffles City Shopping Centre
Serangoon Gardens
VivoCity

sinequanon88
13-11-2007, 03:08 PM
if cost is not a problem

Aoki by Kunio Aoki (under Les Amis group)
set lunches are from 30++ to 60++
lunch omakase is 100++

dinner sets are from 40++ (basic 7 piece sushi) to 75++ (nine piece sushi) to 165 for dinner omakase and around 250-300++ for chef omakase

DestinyFate
14-11-2007, 03:15 PM
hmm roughly 30+ per pax..any recommendation for dinner??sushi tei? or Waraku??seems like got a few dun like waraku?haa

dreamzzit
14-11-2007, 05:57 PM
u can try minori at UE square near clarke quay mrt.
its a buffet around 35 bucks.
the food quality and spread is one notch above sakae.

i would highly recommend this place as its value for money.

dreamzzit
14-11-2007, 06:00 PM
another highly recommendable buffet style would be at sushi kikuzawa.
price around the same as minori.

enjoy.

sinequanon88
14-11-2007, 08:34 PM
u can try minori at UE square near clarke quay mrt.
its a buffet around 35 bucks.
the food quality and spread is one notch above sakae.

i would highly recommend this place as its value for money.
one notch above sakae means nowhere still leh.

dreamzzit
14-11-2007, 10:38 PM
tsk tsk.
then where would you recommend?

sleepnsleep2003
15-11-2007, 09:53 PM
Ichiban Boshi Suntec and Great World City outlets are the only ones I have been to. Found out menu at Ichiban Boshi (not comparing with Ichiban Sushi) for different outlets have slight difference.

Price reasonable, food and service quite good. I like their Lobster Sushi and Dobinmoshi. Others like Teriyaki Chicken Don also good.

hexsox
16-11-2007, 12:26 AM
Akira Japanese Restaurant located on Emerald Hill Road. Serves excellent Japanese dishes at extremely affordable rates.

hopesalive
02-06-2008, 06:52 PM
Anyone know where can I find this kind http://img233.imageshack.us/img233/3887/254378740962f53913f3uk2.th.jpg (http://img233.imageshack.us/my.php?image=254378740962f53913f3uk2.jpg)

of Japanese grilled style shop (where you grill the raw meat by yourself), be it in town area or not. This should be buffet style right?

Hippo_dance
03-06-2008, 12:01 AM
ah... which one offer membership card o0

erictan1234
04-06-2008, 11:36 AM
i last night try one at the parkway parade basement.... think call the fish market or what...
at the corner there one... the sashimi very fresh...

info_guy
04-06-2008, 11:48 AM
Gyukaku at chijmes

OnlyHuman
04-06-2008, 04:22 PM
Those ppl who wants to eat authentic okonomiyaki & monjya yaki can go to nanjya monjya @ Waterfront plaza.. this is the link http://www.nanjya-monjya.com/

For those ppl who wants to try out Japanese stype of Western Cuisine can go to Ma Maison. There are 2 branches in Singapore. In Bugis Junction & The Central (Clarke Quay Mrt)

And lastly for ra-men lovers, you guys can go to miharu (at gallery hotel). Its a rather small japanese ramen shop but its very authentic :)

Hope these helps :)

Nichi
04-06-2008, 05:18 PM
WARAKU RINDO SET MEAL.....the best cold noodle meal in town....very very worth your money. The Tempura there is best
hoho rindo is the best lol...

i like their pork...

beri soft and juicy...

but the waraku outlet at east coast damn bloody noisy...

the wait staff shouting around...

applefreak
04-06-2008, 11:13 PM
waraku cannot make it
last visit to the cuppage branch resulted in me spending a public holiday at the A&E - food poisoning
honestly i find that waraku sells food catered to singapore taste buds

for ma maison, the bugis outlet is nicer
for sun moon, the wheelock outlet is nicer
both also taste-wise, so far no bad experience with their service

TS, it really depends on your budget
if you want authentic jap food and ultra fresh ingredients
be prepared to pay more

Nichi
04-06-2008, 11:43 PM
waraku cannot make it
last visit to the cuppage branch resulted in me spending a public holiday at the A&E - food poisoning

for ma maison, the bugis outlet is nicer
for sun moon, the wheelock outlet is nicer
both also taste-wise, so far no bad experience with their service

TS, it really depends on your budget
if you want authentic jap food and ultra fresh ingredients
be prepared to pay more
that bad meh?

i ate at waraku many many times already no problems lei...

food cant be that bad bah.. i ate at cuppage outlet once onli though,,

mostly eat at marina square...

fyi greenhouse at ritz carlton gets their sushi from waraku for their buffet..

as for sun and moon got a thread here complaining about their very bad service lei..

CuteBoiBoi
05-06-2008, 07:42 AM
kopitiam at vivo de not bad.

applefreak
05-06-2008, 11:31 PM
hehehe, i don't eat sushi
but waraku is not a place i'd go if i want jap food lah...
and greenhouse is definitely not know for their sushi at the buffet :p

so far my experiences at sun and moon is pleasant
maybe i was lucky so far

His Food Blog
06-06-2008, 01:35 AM
How about Tetsu (http://www.hisfoodblog.com/2008/05/tetsu-live-kushi-style-restaurant.html) - authentic Kushi-style Tempura along with Tonkatsu menu, prepared “LIVE” before your eyes by the chef?

You can get the set @ $35+++ - everything is fried and served on the spot, so you do not get the oily aftertaste.

info_guy
06-06-2008, 09:21 AM
How about Tetsu (http://www.hisfoodblog.com/2008/05/tetsu-live-kushi-style-restaurant.html) - authentic Kushi-style Tempura along with Tonkatsu menu, prepared “LIVE” before your eyes by the chef?

You can get the set @ $35+++ - everything is fried and served on the spot, so you do not get the oily aftertaste.

looks good and good ambience to bring clients to.

Beta_Tester
06-06-2008, 12:04 PM
That Japanese Restaurant chef that cooked for MM Lee and his family that one quite good. Santaro i think is his name. Heard good things abt him. Anyone know where's his restaurant?

addict951
06-06-2008, 12:13 PM
why are yall so reluctant to talk about Sushi Tei here?
I find it good leh. I'm a big fan of sushi tei. Prices are reasonable and many notches above suckae sush|t and that ichiban rubbish

I also find sushi tei to be far superior than Hanabi bukit timah

Nichi
06-06-2008, 12:26 PM
That Japanese Restaurant chef that cooked for MM Lee and his family that one quite good. Santaro i think is his name. Heard good things abt him. Anyone know where's his restaurant?
this?

http://skinny-epicurean.blogspot.com/2007/11/santaro-japanese-restaurant.html

happycat
06-06-2008, 12:36 PM
waraku cannot make it

my waraku experience : while i was eating the staff started lying on the seats around me..SLEEPING/NAPPING or eating..best.

Nichi
06-06-2008, 01:13 PM
my waraku experience : while i was eating the staff started lying on the seats around me..SLEEPING/NAPPING or eating..best.
wah...

where was it?

info_guy
06-06-2008, 01:55 PM
why are yall so reluctant to talk about Sushi Tei here?
I find it good leh. I'm a big fan of sushi tei. Prices are reasonable and many notches above suckae sush|t and that ichiban rubbish

I also find sushi tei to be far superior than Hanabi bukit timah

Sushi from sushi tei, sakae sushi, ichiban sushi definetely cannot make it. Just puttting fish on top of cold rice is just not sushi.

Beta_Tester
06-06-2008, 02:37 PM
this?

http://skinny-epicurean.blogspot.com/2007/11/santaro-japanese-restaurant.html

yeah.. :) :D=:p

ikileo
06-06-2008, 02:49 PM
Waraku is good for those on a budget as they have pretty good value, but don't expect ultra fancy stuff. I have to give and 'A' to Waraku for expanding their menu and adding some originality in their selection.

But personally, being a raw fish person who cannot afford places like tatsuya yet, usually frequent Akashi at tanglin shopping centre outlet and Kuriya at the Shaw location. I have a personal dislike for local conveyor belt and local japanese buffets.

sorryguy
21-11-2008, 02:09 PM
Sakuraya at Anchorpoint is very fresh and good

Cashcow
21-11-2008, 02:13 PM
EDMW got this Kuishin Bo outing. After I go, den tell chiu the reviews.

His Food Blog
24-11-2008, 03:38 PM
Can try Wasabi Tei (http://www.hisfoodblog.com/2008/11/wasabi-tei-hfbs-investigation.html) in Far East Plaza. It is located at #05-70.

Complimentary dish of Braised Seaweed with Beancurd Skin and Chicken
http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_CLa1GsENXIk/SSLsMZApdjI/AAAAAAAADjg/oU5MN0i5-bI/s400/DSCF5110.JPG
Sashimi Moriawase
http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_CLa1GsENXIk/SSLsMp84_yI/AAAAAAAADjo/rivaEv_pEVA/s400/DSCF5112.JPG
Chawamushi
http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_CLa1GsENXIk/SSLsM8g43EI/AAAAAAAADjw/EANP-5pnfek/s400/DSCF5117.JPG

However, be warned that the owner is a Food Nazi and hygiene level might be compromised at times.

Beta_Tester
24-11-2008, 04:24 PM
Go Kuriya @ Raffles City. Wont go wrong. :)

erwinrommel
26-11-2008, 04:27 PM
Need anyone mention Honjin (at Tanjong Pagar area)? :D

Other than the salmon belly sashimi, Honjin is also famous for their long tempura prawn. But then the chawanmushi not very nice though.

pillz-
26-11-2008, 06:27 PM
Can try Wasabi Tei (http://www.hisfoodblog.com/2008/11/wasabi-tei-hfbs-investigation.html) in Far East Plaza. It is located at #05-70.

Complimentary dish of Braised Seaweed with Beancurd Skin and Chicken
http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_CLa1GsENXIk/SSLsMZApdjI/AAAAAAAADjg/oU5MN0i5-bI/s400/DSCF5110.JPG
Sashimi Moriawase
http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_CLa1GsENXIk/SSLsMp84_yI/AAAAAAAADjo/rivaEv_pEVA/s400/DSCF5112.JPG
Chawamushi
http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_CLa1GsENXIk/SSLsM8g43EI/AAAAAAAADjw/EANP-5pnfek/s400/DSCF5117.JPG

However, be warned that the owner is a Food Nazi and hygiene level might be compromised at times.

heard it's not bad. What's a food nazi?

Nichi
26-11-2008, 06:46 PM
veri fierce and rude lol

dreamer75
29-11-2008, 01:05 AM
there's one jap restaurant at far east shopping centre. quite nice IMOO :0