PDA

View Full Version : To change from $30 to $50 Topup for Citibank Tap&Save SMRT Card

blue12
16-11-2007, 01:13 PM
This post has been updated, and is accurate as of 28 Jan 08...

- Please also take note that Citibank Tap & Save SMRT Card is a DEBIT CARD
(There are no income requirements and it is a savings account)
http://img338.imageshack.us/img338/3697/bannermainna2.gif
http://www.citibank.com.sg/SGGCB/APPS/portal/loadPage.do?tabId=Investments%20And%20Deposits&path=/prod/det/id_tapnsave.htm

Finally, got my auto $50 auto topup letter last Saturday (26 jan 08). Just went to activate my card just now (28 jan 08). You won’t believe the trouble I had to go through to change from $30 to $50 topup.

Citibank CSO will tell you straight up that it cannot be done. But if you tell them you want to do it on your own through Transitlink, they will then understand what you mean. But my advice is to save the trouble, because most of the time I have the feeling that they are pretty much clueless themselves. A lot of times, I felt like they are just leading me on a wild goose chase :(

So here are the some simple steps that I’ve compiled though my experience.

STEP 1:

For new card holders-
Bring the initial EZlink activation letter, IC, and card to any TransitLink Office. Ask the counter staff to activate, and TERMINATE at the same time. You need to pay $13, $3 for card deposit, and $10 for initial value.

For existing card holders-
Bring card to TransitLink Office. Ask the counter staff to TERMINATE your auto topup.

In both cases, make sure you get a receipt that looks like this:
http://img253.imageshack.us/img253/5834/22080301sl5.jpg

STEP 2:
Wait 1 week (5 working days) for the system at both Ezlink and Citibank to ”capture” your card’s termination.
Meanwhile, you can still make manual topups (no rebates, but no charges also) to your card at any Transitlink office or topup machines that look like this:
http://img179.imageshack.us/img179/9576/15051567xu3.jpg

Go to Ezlink’s website www.ezlink.com.sg to download "Manual Auto Credit card top-up form" (direct link: http://www.ezlink.com.sg/CrditCardTopUpApplicationForm.pdf.)Fill it up and send it through snail mail, after 1 week from termination. It should take 2 weeks to process.Take note that the card is a DEBIT CARD, so you cannot apply for auto topup online, regardless of what citibank cso tells you.

STEP 3:
You should receive the $50 activation letter in 2 weeks or less. Bring the activation letter, IC, and card to Transitlink office to activate your $50 topup. DONE!

If you don't receive your new activation letter in 2 weeks, call Ezlink (1800-2255-663) to enquire your application status. Ezlink might tell you that citibank has blocked your application. If so, call citibank to check if the $30 topup is still active on your card. If it still is, tell them to cancel it for you.

Useful numbers:
Ezlink : 1800-2255-663
citibank : 6225-5225

TransitLink website:
http://www.transitlink.com.sg/

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

More on my experience:

I started this thread for all those who are interested the topup value from $30 to $50, to share experience, and hopefully also get some useful info for myself. But it seems not many people are doing that. But I will update this thread anyway, since I started it.

First, I went to TransitLink office to activate as well as terminate my autp topup. For some reason, the transitlink staff did not terminate my auto topup, even after I repeatedly ask her to do so. I was given some receipts, and when I checked through, noticed that none said "termination", so I thought maybe there was no receipt for termination.

After many failed attempts to apply for $50 auto topup online (and many calls), I went down to citibank branch office for help. I was quite surprised the cso there was even more clueless than those on the hotline. But eventually, the cso called me, telling me that the $30 auto topup was still active on my card. Frustrated, I went back to Transitlink office to get the $30 topup terminated again. This time I got a receipt.

So I waited 1 week and tried applying online again. Failed. Called ezlink, they said my application was again rejected by citibank. So I called citibank, and the cso told me that my card was a debit card and have to download the form to apply manually. I did that, and after 2 weeks, found out from ezlink that my application was still being rejected by citibank.

I called citibank again, this time the cso found out that my $30 auto topup was still active on my card! I told him that I have already terminated it and even got the receipt for it. He said maybe it was a freak incident, and offered to do the termination for me. He also told me that I can apply for $50 topup online, even though it is a debit card. Two different citibank hotline cso with conflicting answers!

So I tried applying for $50 topup online, again, and failed as usual. Called ezlink to enquire, and they told me its due to some technical glithes on their side. ok, and so it was solved, and I tried applying online again but still can't.

I gave up and just submit the manual application through snail mail again. Got my activation letter in 1 week even though it was stated that he processing time will take 2 weeks.

This is the email I got from citibank in nov, which convinced me that it can be done:

"We wish to clarify that on application of the Tap & Save account, we
would have already applied for the Auto Top-Up facility automatically on
your behalf. As such, re-application would not be possible because the
for successful application, an activation code would already be tagged
to the EZ-Link. And you will receive the activation code via email or
mailed to your billing address within 14 business days. Thereafter, you
will need to activate the Auto-Top facility by visiting TransitLink
office personally with your card and the email/ mailer.

Please confirm if you have activated your Auto Top-Up facility (with the
email notification and physical card at TransitLink office). If you
have already done so, you will need to visit a TransitLink office
physically to deactivate this $30 top-up (not via website). Thereafter,
please wait for about 3 - 5 business days before going to EZ-Link
website to apply for preferred $50 top-up value.

Should you have any queries, please call our 24-Hour CitiPhone Banking
at 6225-5225.

Thank you for banking with Citibank.

Yours sincerely

Marilynn Wong
Customer Correspondence & Services"

This is the message I get from ezlink website everytime I try to apply for $50 topup. According to them, it is a standard error message, and could mean anything (not necessary network problems):

"Due to network problems, we are unable to continue with the purchase. Please try again.

If you are still having problems with the transaction, please call the following :
Singapore Hotline : +65 68989090
Malaysia Hotline : +6603 89965655
or email help@telemoney.com.sg.

Message reference #9210"

ironman4672
17-11-2007, 12:23 AM
It was quite confusing to me when reading the Citibank Tap&Save SMRT card thread regarding changing the default $30 Topup to $50. So I am opening a new thread just to discuss on this, and share my experience.

I called up Citibank to ask how it can be done. The Customer Service officer told me that they have no mechanism for it to be done.

Then I checked with TransitLink Office, and here is what they told me to do:

1. Bring the initial EZlink activation letter and IC to the TransitLink Office. Tell the counter staff to activate, and DEACTIVATE at the same time. You need to pay $13, $3 for card deposit, and $10 for initial value.

(After deactivation, the card can still be used, just no auto topup, you can do manual cash topups at any Transitlink office.)

2. Wait 3 working days (although the ezlink website says 2 working days), then apply for Ezlink $50 topup online at http://www.ezlink.com.sg

3. Wait to receive the new Ezlink activation letter. Bring down new letter and IC to activate new topup amount.Done.

I did step 1 on Wednesday. So I will apply for $50 topup online next Monday. :)I think u are not in the good position to advise ppl yet... i sure u will be suprised to see what will be happened for step 2, it will tell u that ur card is already applied for auto top up...

blue12
17-11-2007, 01:18 AM
I think u are not in the good position to advise ppl yet... i sure u will be suprised to see what will be happened for step 2, it will tell u that ur card is already applied for auto top up...

Well, as I wrote in my posting, its what the counter staff at Transitlink office told me to do. I will continue to update.

Since you know, why not share?

ironman4672
17-11-2007, 02:20 AM
Well, as I wrote in my posting, its what the counter staff at Transitlink office told me to do. I will continue to update.

Since you know, why not share?already shared the process of it before... check carefully on the other thread....

Goonies_88
17-11-2007, 09:22 AM
keep us updated. thanks

blue12
17-11-2007, 03:54 PM
already shared the process of it before... check carefully on the other thread....

I did, and that was why I was confused. Should I write email to Ezlink as well? Or should I just go to Transitlink to deactivate? Both are described in your post, so which to follow?

And I also don't want to be retorted with responses like this:
do u think i care to prove? u try it urself, u are also lazy to do, one word to u... u are hopeless

That is also why I am opening up a new thread, for a more open discussion. And I am also adding more details like the $13 to prepare during activation.

If you have constructive contributions, like what I did wrongly, you are always welcomed.

If not, you can continue to participate in the other thread, and not be bothered about this thread if you know.

blue12
17-11-2007, 03:54 PM
keep us updated. thanks

OK...... :)

ironman4672
17-11-2007, 08:15 PM
I did, and that was why I was confused. Should I write email to Ezlink as well? Or should I just go to Transitlink to deactivate? Both are described in your post, so which to follow?

And I also don't want to be retorted with responses like this:

That is also why I am opening up a new thread, for a more open discussion. And I am also adding more details like the $13 to prepare during activation.

If you have constructive contributions, like what I did wrongly, you are always welcomed.

If not, you can continue to participate in the other thread, and not be bothered about this thread if you know.u are trying to act expert on the process of this while u have yet to try out? i think u better go thru all the process first before u try to act smart here... in my previous post in other thread, i had listed super clearly on how i go about changing my top up amount from $30 to $50, u are just lazy to go thru it.... then u expect ppl to spoon feed u? ;)

blue12
17-11-2007, 08:40 PM
u are trying to act expert on the process of this while u have yet to try out? i think u better go thru all the process first before u try to act smart here... in my previous post in other thread, i had listed super clearly on how i go about changing my top up amount from $30 to $50, u are just lazy to go thru it.... then u expect ppl to spoon feed u? ;)

No, I am not trying to act expert. Pls read my first post CAREFULLY. I wrote it with the intention of Discussing. If I am expert, why need to discuss, I can answer all questions right?

Also, like I mentioned, I will be updating. If I am already expert, I can write everything in 1 post, why need to update?

Whatever I wrote is under the advise of TransitLink staff, not mine. I am sharing with butties who would like to know.

I have gone through the whole other thread, every page of it, and still find your posts confusing to say the least. Only you think its clear.

If I am lazy to go through it, why am I sharing my experience here? Is starting a thread sharing info on what transitlink says called "spoonfeeding"?;)

ironman4672
17-11-2007, 08:43 PM
No, I am not trying to act expert. Pls read my first post CAREFULLY. I wrote it with the intention of Discussing. If I am expert, why need to discuss, I can answer all questions right?

Also, like I mentioned, I will be updating. If I am already expert, I can write everything in 1 post, why need to update?

Whatever I wrote is under the advise of TransitLink staff, not mine. I am sharing with butties who would like to know.

I have gone through the whole other thread, every page of it, and still find your posts confusing to say the least. Only you think its clear.

If I am lazy to go through it, why am I sharing my experience here? ;)i tot my post is "IDIOT PROOF"... any mind then, since the proof does not work....;)

blue12
17-11-2007, 08:49 PM
i tot my post is "IDIOT PROOF"... any mind then, since the proof does not work....;)

An Idiot cant write anything thats "Idiot Proof" ;)

KIng&Queen
18-11-2007, 03:39 AM
An Idiot cant write anything thats "Idiot Proof" ;)

Good one Blue! hahaha... :s13:

Goonies_88
18-11-2007, 03:43 PM
haha.... hey blue, i just collected my smrt card just now. So i guess i would needa wait for my activation letter to arrive before i can follow up with you right?

Keep me updated here. thanks dude. appreciated!

aa4f4fsd47
18-11-2007, 06:25 PM
This is the 13th post and until now nobody has posted how to change $30 to $50 !
hHAHAHA

blue12
18-11-2007, 07:03 PM
haha.... hey blue, i just collected my smrt card just now. So i guess i would needa wait for my activation letter to arrive before i can follow up with you right?

Keep me updated here. thanks dude. appreciated!

Yes, make sure you have $30.25, or you will never receive the activation letter. The system needs to lock-in that amount in your account before the activation letter can be sent :)

This is the 13th post and until now nobody has posted how to change $30 to $50 !
hHAHAHA

isn't it in the first post? That is the instruction given by Transitlink counter service.

Goonies_88
18-11-2007, 07:27 PM
icic.. but dude, now i just collected my cards, i do not have the initial activation letter yet. so at the mean time i have to wait right?

blue12
18-11-2007, 09:12 PM
icic.. but dude, now i just collected my cards, i do not have the initial activation letter yet. so at the mean time i have to wait right?

Yes, you will have to wait.

I did asked if I can just ignore the initial activation letter (dont use it to activate), and just apply for $50 topup. She said no.

Goonies_88
18-11-2007, 10:28 PM
ic.. okie... no choice.. hee

i will tune in to this thread everyday then to see any updates while i wait for my stupid letter. :D

aloysius
19-11-2007, 12:02 AM
so the benefit of increasing the top up amt is less freq of paying the auto top up fees rite?? the rebate still remains at 2% rite?

Goonies_88
19-11-2007, 04:15 PM
yup........

coffeeSG
20-11-2007, 07:39 PM
wa so troublesome. no point getting this card.

Goonies_88
20-11-2007, 07:48 PM
oh man... then its quite sad...... so result now is cannot be done?

ironman4672
20-11-2007, 07:48 PM
Sorry dude, cannot be done. I have just sent a letter of complaint to citibank.

There are 3 parties involved here, Citibank, TransitLink, and Ezlink.

Citibank - says no mechanism for $50 top-up

TransitLink - says can be done, through Ezlink.

Ezlink -

I applied online for $50 top-up since yesterday (Mondday), but kept receiving this error message: "Application not submitted.Due to network problems, we are unable to continue with the purchase. Please try again."

After an email and numerous calls to Ezlink, the service staff finally found out that my applications were all blocked on Citibank's side, and not them.

So I finally called citibank again, and re-confirm with them, and of course, they say it cant be done. In addition, they also explained that it was available for earlier card holders, but it is no longer available now, so I have to request for another $30 top-up activation letter to be sent to me, since i have already deactivated ny card :(If it is true, then good luck to ur guys man, lucky i am the earlier batch card holders... :D

tomicaguy
20-11-2007, 08:20 PM
Smart move by Citibank.

They knew more people will sign up with the tap and save account since previously I presume this card was available only as a credit card.

More people signing up, and if the card had stayed at $50 top-up, that means they lugi more in the long run. (More rebates given out)

So push down the top-up value to $30.

ironman4672
20-11-2007, 08:24 PM
Smart move by Citibank.

They knew more people will sign up with the tap and save account since previously I presume this card was available only as a credit card.

More people signing up, and if the card had stayed at $50 top-up, that means they lugi more in the long run. (More rebates given out)

So push down the top-up value to $30.yup, if they really impose this new rule, must be becos of this... lucky the old card holders are not affected... i am still enjoying my $50 top up.... $30 top up makes the rebates not really worth it anymore...

blue12
20-11-2007, 10:48 PM
oh man... then its quite sad...... so result now is cannot be done?

It can be done, refer to my updated first post.

blue12
20-11-2007, 10:51 PM
This is the email reply I got from Ezlink, before they found out that my application has been blocked by citibank.

"Thank you for your feedback.

There could have been some communication error in the system at the time of your application. We sincerely apologise for the inconvenienced caused.

You may want to try to reapply online again at http://www.ezlink.com.sg/topup_welcome.htm , alternatively, since you are applying for the Auto Top-up facility for your Citibank SMRT Visa Platinum Card, we could forward your request to Citibank to apply the facility on your behalf.

Should you wish us to forward your request for the application to be applied by Citibank, please provide me with your NRIC number and contact number for their follow up.

If you have further queries, please feel free to email us at enquiries@ezlink.com.sg or call EZ-Link’s Hotline at 6496 8300 between 8.00AM and 6.00PM daily except public holidays. Should you need to call outside these hours, you could still leave a voicemail.

With regards,

Janice Xu

EZ-LINK PTE LTD"

aa4f4fsd47
20-11-2007, 11:12 PM
Yes, i encountered the same error too, but when i check my application status on the ezlink, it show Application in progress..

blue12
20-11-2007, 11:20 PM
Yes, i encountered the same error too, but when i check my application status on the ezlink, it show Application in progress..

For $50 top-up application too? I checked my application status, and it just showed the same message.

aa4f4fsd47
21-11-2007, 09:17 AM
For $50 top-up application too? I checked my application status, and it just showed the same message.

Also showing Application in progress? Lets just wait for the letter first. Last week actually show the ezlink aunty the letter that approved the $30 top up, told her i want her to change to $50, but she told me to ignore that letter and apply for $50 top up at their website. So lets just wait.

Goonies_88
21-11-2007, 01:15 PM
icic..... though $30 is a lesser bit of savings....

at most, i will just keep this card at home then, since no implications even if i dun use it for the entire year. Then end of the year, i will just terminate it.

aa4f4fsd47
21-11-2007, 09:42 PM
Application rejected. ez-link card application already on auto top up facility.

3 pages already still no viable solution?

aloysius
21-11-2007, 09:48 PM
just went to activate the smrt credit card....and asked if i can use $50 for auto topup....the auntie straightaway say NO to me :(

CoffeeLover
21-11-2007, 09:53 PM
Sian.
I also applied for the acc- like the card quite pointless.
I mean how many times do u top up each month?
50 bucks is alot better- If the bank only cares for itself, I think we should encourage more sign up, let more people more about it before making their choice!

aa4f4fsd47
21-11-2007, 09:55 PM
I got a friend who manage to get 50sg top up upon her first application.

Infact the correct procedure is, bring ur smrt card to ezlink office, pay 10sg deposit to make this smrt card as ezlinkcard, after that go ezlink.com.sg to apply for 50sg top up.

CoffeeLover
21-11-2007, 10:01 PM

Infact the correct procedure is, bring ur smrt card to ezlink office, pay 10sg deposit to make this smrt card as ezlinkcard, after that go ezlink.com.sg to apply for 50sg top up.

Recently or what? Does the 50 top up have rebates?

aa4f4fsd47
21-11-2007, 10:19 PM
Recently lor.. The 50sg has rebates mah..

blue12
22-11-2007, 11:10 AM

hmmm, isnt this SMRT card already an ezlink card? It has the ezlink logo at the back.

Looks like citibank is quite confused themselves. I wrote an email to complain abt not being able to change to $50 top-up, and this is what they reply to me yesterday:

"Thank you for your email.

We wish to clarify that the EZ-Link Auto Top-Up facility for SMRT Debit Card (for the Tap and Save Account) is default at $30.00 - the default amount when this account type was first launched.

However, customers can choose to change the top-up amount subsequently on their own, by deactivating the existing $30 top-up and then re-applying for a preferred amount. To deactivate the existing top-up, please visit a TransitLink to make the request, then re-apply with EZ-Link (http://www.ezlink.com.sg) after deactivation completed.

Should you have other queries relating to your Citibank account, please call our 24-Hour CitiPhone Banking on 6225-5225. Alternatively, you may login to Citibank Online at www.citibank.com.sg using your 16-Digit Citicard or Credit Card Number and the respective ATM PIN to send us a message. If you do not have an ATM PIN, please call our 24-Hour CitiPhone Banking.

Thank you.

Marilynn Wong
Customer Correspondence & Services"

At least 2 persons (including me :P) in this thread has already tried this method and it does not work!

aa4f4fsd47
22-11-2007, 11:49 AM
Thank you for your feedback.

I believe the earlier $30 Auto Credit Card Top Up facility application was made by Citibank on your behalf. Hence, you may want to check with them on this application,

Please note that for changes in the auto top up amount, a termination of the Auto Credit Card Top Up facility is required. Upon your confirmation, I will terminate the Auto Credit Card Top Up facility on your behalf as the facility has not been activated.

Please wait for 5 working days and re-submit your application with your credit card details and the desired top up amount at http://www.ezlink.com.sg/topup_welcome.htm . Alternatively, you may complete the manual application form and fax it back to us at 6372 4321 so that we can reapply for you once the facility has been deactivated.

Once the new application is successful, the activation code for the new auto top up amount would be sent via your email address for you to activate at any TransitLink Ticket Office.

If you have further queries, please feel free to email us at enquiries@ezlink.com.sg or call us at 6496 8300 between 8.00AM and 6.00PM daily except public holidays. Should you need to call outside these hours, you could still leave a voicemail.

Warmest regards,

Jonathan Ang
EZ-LINK PTE LTD
www.ezlink.com.sg

fire
22-11-2007, 11:51 AM
I had recently de-activated my card and change the top-up amount from $30 to $50. It had already been approved.

You can try de-activating the card, then proceed to any citibank card-collecting centre. Ask them to fill in a form for the activation of the top-up amt for you. The current form now has only a standard $30 top-up but tell them that u had previously asked over the phone and the CSO told you it can be change. Ask them to strike off the $30 option and put in a hand-written $50 top-up then submit the form :)

tomicaguy
22-11-2007, 08:06 PM
I will hold out on this top up thing till the stance is very clear on all parties.

Goonies_88
22-11-2007, 08:31 PM
can i just apply directly from https://securepayments.telemoneyworld.com/ezlink/topup/initForm.jsp instead?

I was told to fill up the application form for the activation n fax them. :(

blue12
22-11-2007, 09:31 PM
Thank you for your feedback.

Please wait for 5 working days and re-submit your application with your credit card details and the desired top up amount at http://www.ezlink.com.sg/topup_welcome.htm . .....

hmmm, ezlink webby says 2 working days, transitlink said 3 working days. And now they say 5 working days

I had recently de-activated my card and change the top-up amount from $30 to $50. It had already been approved.

You can try de-activating the card, then proceed to any citibank card-collecting centre. Ask them to fill in a form for the activation of the top-up amt for you. The current form now has only a standard $30 top-up but tell them that u had previously asked over the phone and the CSO told you it can be change. Ask them to strike off the $30 option and put in a hand-written $50 top-up then submit the form :)

Hey that may work, tomorrow go to their branch and try, thanks for sharing.

can i just apply directly from https://securepayments.telemoneyworld.com/ezlink/topup/initForm.jsp instead?

I was told to fill up the application form for the activation n fax them. :(

Thats the website that I went to apply for $50 top-up, and got rejected. You can try. Frankly, I'm now quite confused myself, so can't advise.

rustybullet
24-11-2007, 11:10 PM
Its set.. new applicants can only have $30 ATU but previous applicants can choose to have $50 and cannot chnage.. next change will only be set to $30.

found out from a citibank personnel.

CoffeeLover
25-11-2007, 10:13 AM

Fire,
for a card that havent been activated- just received it withouyt the pin, can can it be done? Can you share some card-collecting centre-their opening hrs and closing time?

fire
25-11-2007, 04:52 PM
Fire,
for a card that havent been activated- just received it withouyt the pin, can can it be done? Can you share some card-collecting centre-their opening hrs and closing time?

I don't think so. I have to activate and de-activate mine first before I could request for the change in top-up. FYI, citibank n translink have contrasting views. Citibank CSO said it can be done if you have not activate but translink say other-wise.

sorry, i dun work for citibank ;) the easiest way is to call up citibank and enquiry abt their operating hrs... :D

FireHobbit
25-11-2007, 07:25 PM
sorry to hijack thread... anyone mind sharing how long it takes for the smrt card to be received after application online? no calls from them so far...

great thanks

ironman4672
26-11-2007, 09:33 PM
sorry to hijack thread... anyone mind sharing how long it takes for the smrt card to be received after application online? no calls from them so far...

great thankstook a about two weeks in total... if u choose to ask them to mail to u...

ironman4672
26-11-2007, 09:36 PM
On my SMRT Visa Platinum Card bill, stated WEF 5 NOV 2007, Application of EZ-LINK AUTO TOP-UP Facility by Citibank will be fixed at $30 for new & replaced cards...

lucky i am the earlier batch of customer, can still enjoy $50 top up, but must make sure i do not lose the card or spoil the card...:D

ironman4672
26-11-2007, 09:37 PM
Just checked my SMRT$ earned up to date... it is $5.65... another $3.35 to redeem the voucher....

:D

CoffeeLover
26-11-2007, 10:12 PM
Tap and save also earn voucher?
How long does the point last?

ironman4672
26-11-2007, 10:44 PM
How long does the point last?what is tap and save..

the points last for 1 year only... so make sure u got enough pts to redeem within a year....

LeonVX
26-11-2007, 11:12 PM
How long does the point last?
tap and save earns cash rebate not in the form of voucher.

Goonies_88
27-11-2007, 09:31 PM
this card cant be used in ntuc to get 5% rebates?

tomicaguy
27-11-2007, 09:33 PM
I believe the same card has 2 categories.

Those who applied via credit card only and no tap and save account.

And those who applied a tap and save account and then got this card.

The former has more rebates.

Correct me if I am wrong.

CoffeeLover
27-11-2007, 10:41 PM
what is tap and save..

the points last for 1 year only... so make sure u got enough pts to redeem within a year....
The thread is about tap and save account btw. not the credit card

bloodymiko
09-12-2007, 08:50 AM
i applied for this card 2 wks ago.... but hw come have yet to receive the notification letter from them for the activation?

they auto apply for the activation or i have to call them first before they will send me the letter? usually hw long it takes?

so am i suppose to top up 10 into the card first so i can start using the ez-link immediately? then bring the letter to activate the card for the auto top-up?

blue12
28-01-2008, 06:43 PM
Finally! Got to change my auto topup to $50. I've also updated my first post :)

MikeDirnt78
29-01-2008, 09:09 AM
On my SMRT Visa Platinum Card bill, stated WEF 5 NOV 2007, Application of EZ-LINK AUTO TOP-UP Facility by Citibank will be fixed at $30 for new & replaced cards...

lucky i am the earlier batch of customer, can still enjoy $50 top up, but must make sure i do not lose the card or spoil the card...:D

this is a very terrible move by citibank. new applications wont be able to do $50 top up. im planning to switch to UOB one card and top up my normal ezlink with UOB one card

blue12
29-01-2008, 10:41 AM

At least for Citibank Tap&Save Debit Card, you can still change from $30 to $50 topup by applying through ezlink. Did it yesterday. Read my first post updated yesterday.

this is a very terrible move by citibank. new applications wont be able to do $50 top up.
You still can do $50 topup by applying through ezlink. It takes a bit more effort though. Just follow my steps in the first post.

im planning to switch to UOB one card and top up my normal ezlink with UOB one card
You can do that, but every topup will have a service charge of $0.25. Not a big amount, but in the long run could be substantial, depending on how you look at it.

For this citibank tap & save debit card. Every topup earns 2% rebates. So you actually earn a few cents for every topup.

Even for $30 auto-topup, $0.35 will be credited to your account for every topup.

For $50 auto-topup, $0.75 will be credited into your account for every topup.

MikeDirnt78
29-01-2008, 01:01 PM
At least for Citibank Tap&Save Debit Card, you can still change from $30 to $50 topup by applying through ezlink. Did it yesterday. Read my first post updated yesterday.

You still can do $50 topup by applying through ezlink. It takes a bit more effort though. Just follow my steps in the first post.

You can do that, but every topup will have a service charge of $0.25. Not a big amount, but in the long run could be substantial, depending on how you look at it.

For this citibank tap & save debit card. Every topup earns 2% rebates. So you actually earn a few cents for every topup.

Even for $30 auto-topup, $0.35 will be credited to your account for every topup.

For $50 auto-topup, $0.75 will be credited into your account for every topup.
for citibank, actually it is $0.85 rebate. but nett of charges for $50 top up is actually $0.60 after $0.25 fees

if you compute properly a person like me who spends $150 to $200 on ezlink monthly, if i were to charge $50 top up on UOB one card, my potential rebate is higher. just need to add on your hp bills, internet, etc with UOB one card to reach $300 monthly

spend $300 monthly you can already earn $10 rebate per month. effective rebate in terms of % is 3.33%. there is no way the citibank smrt can earn that much rebates.

im waiting for my UOB one card and intend to transfer all my transactions to that card till reach $300. more than that i will use my citibank m1. 0.5% rebate on non participating merchants.

Raffles88
29-01-2008, 07:58 PM
yr monthly statement more than $600 = 2%

lesser = 1.7% rebate

i am using smrt cc and able to top up $50 instead of $30. Just go to ezlink website to do the auto topup.

MikeDirnt78
30-01-2008, 08:26 AM

lesser = 1.7% rebate

i am using smrt cc and able to top up $50 instead of $30. Just go to ezlink website to do the auto topup.

yes you are right. mine is < $600. :eek:

phelyk
30-01-2008, 11:38 PM
this is a very terrible move by citibank. new applications wont be able to do $50 top up. im planning to switch to UOB one card and top up my normal ezlink with UOB one card

Hmzzz... how do you top up ezlink cards with a credit card? wasnt aware that that was possible.

AlphaAV
31-01-2008, 01:21 AM
Hmzzz... how do you top up ezlink cards with a credit card? wasnt aware that that was possible.
refer to 1st post :D

MikeDirnt78
31-01-2008, 01:36 AM

yes it is possible. before that i thought only citibank smrt can be auto top up :s31:

phelyk
31-01-2008, 05:19 PM

yes it is possible. before that i thought only citibank smrt can be auto top up :s31:

AlphaAV was referring "Manual Auto Credit card top-up form", so have to do some paperwork. I was wondering whether the top up machines accepts credit cards tho'.

blue12
01-02-2008, 10:26 PM
AlphaAV was referring "Manual Auto Credit card top-up form", so have to do some paperwork. I was wondering whether the top up machines accepts credit cards tho'.

If you just want to make your normal ezlink card to be auto top-up, you can link it to your visa card.

Just go to http://www.ezlink.com.sg/ and select "Auto top-up with Visa today" on the left of the page, and apply online. There is no need to download the "Manual Auto Credit card top-up form".

But do take note that every top-up will incur a $0.25 administrative charge.

Only citibank smrt cards will give you rebates for every top-up.

blue12
01-02-2008, 10:33 PM

You are right, but this thread is about the smrt debit card, and with this card you CANNOT apply for $50 top-up through the website. I have been trying to explain that.

AlphaAV
02-02-2008, 01:01 AM
You are right, but this thread is about the smrt debit card, and with this card you CANNOT apply for $50 top-up through the website. I have been trying to explain that.
think u edit ur 1st post
with BIG BIG words stating Debit card =X

Raffles88
02-02-2008, 11:00 AM

is it? they r diff even the design is same huh?:s11:

blue12
02-02-2008, 11:01 PM
is it? they r diff even the design is same huh?:s11:

Yes they are different, product name is also different. What you have is:
Citibank SMRT Visa Platinum Card
This is a credit card. Rebate is 1.7% or 2% depending on monthly statement amt. Rebates are also in the form of smrt$ (point system)
http://www.citibank.com.sg/SGGCB/APPS/portal/loadPage.do?tabId=Credit%20Cards&path=/prod/det/cc_xx_smrt06.htm

This thread is about:
Citibank Tap and Save Account (with smrt card)
This is a debit card (relatively new pdt introduced only last yr). Rebate is 2% flat, no other spending required as it is basically a savings account. Rebates are in the form of cash credited directly into your account. Cannot be used for online purchases.
http://www.citibank.com.sg/SGGCB/APPS/portal/loadPage.do?tabId=Investments%20And%20Deposits&path=/prod/det/id_tapnsave.htm

Discussion threads:
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1722442
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1738003

blue12
02-02-2008, 11:20 PM
for citibank, actually it is $0.85 rebate. but nett of charges for $50 top up is actually $0.60 after $0.25 fees...

No, for citibank tap&save (debit card), it is $1 rebate, and nett of charges for $50 top up is actually $0.75 after $0.25 fees...

windwaver
18-02-2008, 08:19 PM
Yes they are different, product name is also different. What you have is:
Citibank SMRT Visa Platinum Card
This is a credit card. Rebate is 1.7% or 2% depending on monthly statement amt. Rebates are also in the form of smrt$ (point system)
http://www.citibank.com.sg/SGGCB/APPS/portal/loadPage.do?tabId=Credit%20Cards&path=/prod/det/cc_xx_smrt06.htm

This thread is about:
Citibank Tap and Save Account (with smrt card)
This is a debit card (relatively new pdt introduced only last yr). Rebate is 2% flat, no other spending required as it is basically a savings account. Rebates are in the form of cash credited directly into your account. Cannot be used for online purchases.

Discussion threads:
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1722442
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1738003

It may not necessarily mean savings for SMRT Visa card. Note that vouchers are only issued per $10. Say if you hit $9.99 when it expires, the $9.99 will be forfeited.

mktkmktk
02-03-2008, 01:00 AM
It may not necessarily mean savings for SMRT Visa card. Note that vouchers are only issued per $10. Say if you hit $9.99 when it expires, the $9.99 will be forfeited.

My SMRT$ balance was 8.17 on statement of 25 Jan
But this 8.17 is expired on 25 Feb. Not only SMRT$ I earned 1 year ago but also I earned last month was expired. The SMRT$ I earned on tatement of 25 Jan can be redeemed only between 25 Jan to 25 Feb. It never carry forward. It is very inconvenience.

ironman4672
02-03-2008, 02:17 AM
My SMRT$ balance was 8.17 on statement of 25 Jan
But this 8.17 is expired on 25 Feb. Not only SMRT$ I earned 1 year ago but also I earned last month was expired. The SMRT$ I earned on tatement of 25 Jan can be redeemed only between 25 Jan to 25 Feb. It never carry forward. It is very inconvenience.

just make sure u earn enough SMRT$ (at least $10 so that u can redeem) in one year time lo... i am having 9.xx SMRT$... can redeem next mth liao haha.... first redemption:D:D:D....

mktkmktk
02-03-2008, 12:02 PM
just make sure u earn enough SMRT$ (at least $10 so that u can redeem) in one year time lo... i am having 9.xx SMRT$... can redeem next mth liao haha.... first redemption:D:D:D....

I think it is very difficult to calculate how much do I have to use SMRT card to earn (10.00 - 9.xx) SMRT$, use SMRT card only that amount, never use SMRT card until next SMRT$ year starts.
Please use SMRT card carefully not to earn SMRT$ too much !:s22:

kisskiss
02-03-2008, 05:39 PM
Hello all,

I have a enquiry on auto top up for ezlink card via credit card.

As i know, the card will auto top up when it reach 0 or -ve. I have successfully applied for the auto top up scheme via CC. But I am seeing -ve dollars now. will it auto top up tomorrow?

Very newbie here...

TQeee..

ironman4672
02-03-2008, 06:17 PM
I think it is very difficult to calculate how much do I have to use SMRT card to earn (10.00 - 9.xx) SMRT$, use SMRT card only that amount, never use SMRT card until next SMRT$ year starts.
Please use SMRT card carefully not to earn SMRT$ too much !:s22:

u dun get the thing wrong, i nvr ever need to calculate or keep track my SMRT$, becos every mth my credit card will show it already... and i dun purposely take mrt because i want to earn the SMRT$. they are earned by on my normal daily travel only...

I had done my calculation before i applied this card... sure can earn enough to redeem and sure got extra earnings even after deducting the 0.25 for each time top up....

and i am using $50 top up so i can a lot of $0.25 top up fee comparing to those who uses $30 top up....;););)

ironman4672
02-03-2008, 06:18 PM
Hello all,

I have a enquiry on auto top up for ezlink card via credit card.

As i know, the card will auto top up when it reach 0 or -ve. I have successfully applied for the auto top up scheme via CC. But I am seeing -ve dollars now. will it auto top up tomorrow?

Very newbie here...

TQeee..

i will auto top up tmr la... no need to be spider (kanjiong) la....:D:D:D

kisskiss
02-03-2008, 07:29 PM
Thank you ...

Tqee...

kisskiss
03-03-2008, 12:48 PM
i will auto top up tmr la... no need to be spider (kanjiong) la....:D:D:D
Today see my account when tap the barrier at MRT = $50!!

However yesteryday trip is -ve something.

So CC bill will show $50.25? or 50.25 + -ve?

Please teach

tQeee..

Raffles88
03-03-2008, 09:07 PM
Today see my account when tap the barrier at MRT = $50!!

However yesteryday trip is -ve something.

So CC bill will show $50.25? or 50.25 + -ve?

Please teach

tQeee..

$50.25:s12:

kisskiss
04-03-2008, 09:29 AM
then why the -ve? shown on my last trip?

i dun understand..

TQee..

kkboy1
15-06-2008, 11:19 AM
The change of $30 to $50 still can apply for citibank?

kyma
15-06-2008, 11:42 AM
Yes, I just did it a few days ago. But, it is a troublesome process.

Raffles88
15-06-2008, 10:48 PM
Yes, I just did it a few days ago. But, it is a troublesome process.

kyma yr procedure is same as page 1?:s11:

kyma
16-06-2008, 12:29 AM
Similar, but you do not need to activate and deactivate for new users. Just unblock the EZ-Link function and told them that you wanted to change the amount and they will give you a number to call to cancel the S$30 top-up. Then, send in the form by snail mail. I sent twice as they told me they did not receive my first application upon questioning them.

kkboy1
16-06-2008, 08:54 PM
Similar, but you do not need to activate and deactivate for new users. Just unblock the EZ-Link function and told them that you wanted to change the amount and they will give you a number to call to cancel the S$30 top-up. Then, send in the form by snail mail. I sent twice as they told me they did not receive my first application upon questioning them.

So I just need to go to unblock the card first so no need to deposit $13 also.

kyma
16-06-2008, 10:27 PM
Of course you need to deposit the S$13, or else how to use the card without money?! :s11:

Depending on your card usage frequency, you may want to deposit more so that you do not have to manually top up that frequently while waiting for the auto top up to activate.

lassie
16-06-2008, 10:28 PM
Q49. Will I earn cash rebates for ATM cash withdrawal or ez-link payments?
A: No. Cash rebates are given only for Citibank SMRT Visa Platinum Debit transactions. You may earn cash rebates if you pay your telecommunication, utility bills etc by using the Visa Platinum Debit feature

The FAQ mention that can use the debit card can use to pay bills
Any1 tried alreadi?

blue12
18-06-2008, 10:12 PM

Hey glad to hear another success story! ;)

hersvim
22-06-2008, 12:12 AM
can't really see the need to trouble yourself this much.

50$ topup, save 1-0.25=0.75
30$ topup, save 0.6-0.25=0.35

For every 150S$ spent on ezlink, you save half a dollar by changing to 50$ topups
coz you have: 0.75*3=2.25 (50$ topup) vs 0.35*5=1.75 (30$ topup)

how much you spend on ezlink per year?

ironman4672
22-06-2008, 08:37 AM
So I just need to go to unblock the card first so no need to deposit $13 also.

u need to pay the $13 for sure to unlock the card.... only the ezlink function need to be unlocked... the credit card function is already there... no need to do anything... so if u are talking abt unlocking card, u MUST pay the deposit! :s7::s7::s7::s7:

blue12
22-06-2008, 11:54 AM

lesser = 1.7% rebate

ah, the good thing about this debit card version is that rebates are 2% flat, no minimum spending required, unlike the credit card version.

Furthermore, the rebates are in cash credited back into your account monthly, so no need to worry about points and expiry.

This is one of the main advantages of tap & save over smrt platinum cc.

Raffles88
22-06-2008, 07:35 PM
ah, the good thing about this debit card version is that rebates are 2% flat, no minimum spending required, unlike the credit card version.

Furthermore, the rebates are in cash credited back into your account monthly, so no need to worry about points and expiry.

This is one of the main advantages of tap & save over smrt platinum cc.

i know so i am going to cancel my smrt cc and apply for this 1:eek: after i redeem my $10

kyma
22-06-2008, 10:00 PM
Wah! Cancel credit card and go for debit card? Credit card more prestigious leh.

Raffles88
23-06-2008, 07:23 PM
Wah! Cancel credit card and go for debit card? Credit card more prestigious leh.

its just a plastic...btw is there "citicard" word on your smrt card?

kyma
23-06-2008, 07:50 PM
There is, another minus point not to get this debit card. :)

Raffles88
23-06-2008, 08:28 PM
There is, another minus point not to get this debit card. :)

no! i will get that!:eek:

kyma
23-06-2008, 11:41 PM
What is this Citicard for? I thought it meant to show people that it is a debit card? FYI, their Step-Up ATM-cum-debit card also has Citicard too.

sAxman_Returns
14-09-2008, 11:39 PM
any idea how can I activate the auto top up thingy ah? think it's better to have $100 top up nia.....

Raffles88
15-09-2008, 12:45 AM
any idea how can I activate the auto top up thingy ah? think it's better to have $100 top up nia.....

lol only $50 max

sAxman_Returns
15-09-2008, 12:59 AM
so how to activate it?

stupid funny. The card can hold $100, and it can only auto top up when it falls below $0. Why dun have $100 option? stupid one.... :s22:

TOKARA
21-09-2008, 01:29 AM
smrt$ rebates expires after 1 year?

blue12
18-10-2008, 08:38 AM
smrt$ rebates expires after 1 year?

the rebate for this card is credited directly back into your account, so no need to worry about smrt$ expiry :)

Still enjoying my $50 topups ! :s8:

ironman4672
18-10-2008, 08:45 AM
the rebate for this card is credited directly back into your account, so no need to worry about smrt$ expiry :)

Still enjoying my $50 topups ! :s8:

nah, there is expiry of the smrt$ after 1 year, if u nvr accumulate $10 before the expiry... u cannot redeem also... it will just expiry.....;);););)

blue12
18-10-2008, 08:52 AM
nah, there is expiry of the smrt$ after 1 year, if u nvr accumulate $10 before the expiry... u cannot redeem also... it will just expiry.....;);););)

This is a DEBIT CARD, silly. Pls read thread carefully. :s13:

sAxman_Returns
18-10-2008, 09:48 AM
blue12, i find that the convenient fee is such a turn off......currently if you use others, you dun need to pay for such fee....

but if you just use it for travelling, it's alright. My EZlink sometimes can scrap off $100 at 1 go....the auto top up is not real time one.....must wait up to 4 days to process....very stupid right?

kyma
18-10-2008, 10:39 AM
Wow! You can make so many public transport trips in just a few days! The public transport service providers really love you deep deep. But too bad, there is no "Loyal Customer" awards by them. =:p

sAxman_Returns
18-10-2008, 11:08 AM
no lar, not using it on transport. in fact I cut down 2 trips everyday by walking :D

kyma
18-10-2008, 11:31 AM
Then this card is not for you as you can only use it for transport. I guess you have to stick to your traditional EZ Link card then.

dralf
18-10-2008, 12:51 PM
the auto top up is not real time one.....must wait up to 4 days to process....very stupid right?
u mean if ur card reaches 0, it will not auto top up to the predesignated amt when u go tap on bus or mrt?:s11:

sAxman_Returns
18-10-2008, 01:10 PM
u mean if ur card reaches 0, it will not auto top up to the predesignated amt when u go tap on bus or mrt?:s11:

this card is also a tradditional EZLink card. The situation you mentioned is only allowed when it's in Giro. For Auto top up through Visa, you need 4 days for the next top up to be effective, and it can only be done over at SMRT gate.

kyma
18-10-2008, 02:54 PM
AFAIK, this card cannot be used in other places, such as McDonald's and Seven-Eleven, it can be used for transport only.

sAxman_Returns
18-10-2008, 03:31 PM
can, as long as you put in $3 as deposit and activate the card :D

kyma
18-10-2008, 03:47 PM
You did that? I am thinking of terminating the account but keep the card as a EZLink card as Maybank interest rate is revised back to 1.38% again.

sAxman_Returns
18-10-2008, 04:45 PM
you can, just activate the EZlink b4 you terminating the SMRT Visa. It's 2 separate thing but combined into 1 card. You can even tear it off and take out the RFID and place it somewhere in your wallet too :s22:

AlphaAV
19-10-2008, 11:29 AM
AFAIK, this card cannot be used in other places, such as McDonald's and Seven-Eleven, it can be used for transport only.
I've tis card since dec 2007
juz last nite i tried using it for teh 1st time in Mcdonald harborfront
n it works =D

muz place teh card for a while to let teh reader detect n deduct teh amt
cos i juz tap it once n it state some cannot detect msg