View Full Version : ASTON SPECIALITIES @ East Coast
mikehwz
19-11-2007, 02:37 PM
Will like to recommend above place.
It serve western food.
The food is good and price is very reasonable.
My wife and I like the seafood pasta. Cost only $7.90 with free soup of the day.
No service charge and price quoted is gst inclusive.
Careful that long queue most of the time!!
TitanSmall
19-11-2007, 03:49 PM
my fren also comment tat its nice.....shld go and try one day.....
mikehwz
19-11-2007, 05:23 PM
heehee.....night time really long queue. although long queue, they served the dish pretty fast.
best time is sat lunch time. btw, it closed on monday.
Ore0_Cheescake V2.0
19-11-2007, 06:00 PM
actually they open a new shop called aston Prime. its just round the corner.
dreamzzit
19-11-2007, 06:04 PM
actually they open a new shop called aston Prime. its just round the corner.yea. anybody tried the astons prime before??
mikehwz
19-11-2007, 07:05 PM
nearby ah? never see le......
maybe i go try soon.....
wang63
19-11-2007, 07:24 PM
Which part of East Coast? Any address? Thanks.
bartleby
19-11-2007, 07:29 PM
Which part of East Coast? Any address? Thanks.
Opposite Katong Mall
radish
19-11-2007, 07:43 PM
i went by the aston near katong mall a few times
wow man... always long long queue
are their food really that gd?!
but i notice a lot of youngsters there.
elevate
19-11-2007, 07:59 PM
everyday oso damn long queue! =(
mikehwz
19-11-2007, 09:22 PM
great food and cheap.....
even the soup of the day taste much better than those cartel, swensen, billy bomber etc.
duckie85
19-11-2007, 09:58 PM
Whats their blog huh?
swatchie
19-11-2007, 11:25 PM
yea. anybody tried the astons prime before??
I have tried it twice. Go there only if you want to try more premium cuts of meats. Can see my writeup here (http://timelessfacade.blogspot.com/2007/10/astons-prime.html). :o
demongod
20-11-2007, 12:04 AM
Sad quite mafan to go east coast from jurong west
Tristessee
20-11-2007, 12:54 AM
their foods are not strongly recommended, though it's a proper restaurant but the foods are hawker centre standard.
mikehwz
20-11-2007, 08:56 AM
their foods are not strongly recommended, though it's a proper restaurant but the foods are hawker centre standard.
disagreed...if their food are hawker centre standard, then singapore shopping centres were flooded with hawkers.
At least to me, their seafood pasta was one of the best I have eaten in singapore.
LiquidShaDow
20-11-2007, 09:32 AM
I think their food standards are definitely a noticeable notch above hawker fare. It might not be the best around, but definitely not hawker standard.
See here (http://smallpotatoesmakethesteaklookbigger.blogspot.com/2007/08/astons-prime-ribeye-extra-cut.html) and here (http://smallpotatoesmakethesteaklookbigger.blogspot.com/2006/10/astons-specialties-east-coast-road.html)
wang63
20-11-2007, 01:18 PM
Opposite Katong Mall
Thanks.....
Tristessee
20-11-2007, 03:31 PM
http://img143.imageshack.us/img143/4240/funcresizerphpyn2.jpg
Apparently the standard is not consistent or else i wouldnt be getting this. This was supposed to be a 250 grams ribeye extra cut. But it definitely did not look like it.
birdman82
20-11-2007, 08:11 PM
http://img143.imageshack.us/img143/4240/funcresizerphpyn2.jpg
Apparently the standard is not consistent or else i wouldnt be getting this. This was supposed to be a 250 grams ribeye extra cut. But it definitely did not look like it.
this one i tried b4, some parts tastes like rubber, and others taste like raw meat.... :s22:
yours looks like they cut from some left over scrap meat... :o
Nuttin special at Aston Specialties. The way they cook is like hawkers - all cook in bulk. Quality can be highly inconsistent. Can't help, they got to meet the high volume of customers.
Prime is totally different in terms of service and quality of food. But of course u got to pay much more. On the average, a meal at Prime will be roughly 3x of that in Specialties. :D
bwaysaigan
21-11-2007, 01:54 AM
the inconsistency ish the biggest problem - apart from the Q n time waiting outside like a goon.
sad to say the quality was better when they were at the KPT
then move next door riao - start spiralling down riaos. neber mind tot new shop b- gibe a break 1st see how things r when 2-3 months down the road.
unfortunately imo nothing changed ...
moi totally stop going there now.
ok lah if u really neber eats b4.
ish cheep n good partly bcos of that reason only lor.
sgpaikialang
21-11-2007, 02:43 AM
omg im hungry already. anyone knows any good food area in west zone?
n2btg
21-11-2007, 09:07 AM
Been there once but I find the steak very average. Maybe I will try the pasta next time.
Still don't understand why the long queue? is the price or that place got good fengshui? :-)
seePyou
21-11-2007, 09:40 AM
Been there once but I find the steak very average. Maybe I will try the pasta next time.
Still don't understand why the long queue? is the price or that place got good fengshui? :-)
the long queue is more or less the problem with the system.
you order first then u get your seat
the problem comes in here
during dinner timings, there bound to be more people
you ordered and u STILL have to wait for your seat
You have one chunk of people stucked at the entrance waiting for seats and a row of people queuing up to get their orders done
and you know, singaporeans are gimmicked monkeys; monkey see monkey do
georgeleong
21-11-2007, 11:10 AM
OoOo is this the shop Makan sutra reccomended on ytd episode?
seems familiar hahha, must go n try liaoz since so many reviews
cracker
21-11-2007, 03:31 PM
went once on a saturday morning ard 11 am back in Oct....
it was abt 30% full
Ordered 4 items....waiter said OK.....
one of the item came with soup of the day.
after 20 min...another waiter passed me the reciept...and it only indicates 2 items..told them I ordered more than tat...
15 min later,,,another waiter came over and asked what did i order...repeat my order and she said ok ok...
another 15 min later,,,,asked another waitress...can I have my soup first ?
she said ok ok...and return with it 10 min later..
then another waitress passed me the new reciept..and it only indicate 3 items !!
10 min, the second and third of my 4 items arrived... another 10 min later,,,told another waitress,,they still owe me one more item..she said ok ok....be right back... 10 min later..the last item came.
Spent almost 1.5 hrs inside the restuarant.....makan 4 items but only paid for 3.
my 2 cts comment...."ok ok ,, I wont go again" :s13:
earthyblue
22-11-2007, 01:41 AM
my 2 cts comment...."ok ok ,, I wont go again" :s13:
No wonder long queue..... :s13:
Tristessee
22-11-2007, 09:05 AM
After my last encounter, i am not too sure about whether would i go back again for more. ;)
camemberu
22-11-2007, 12:08 PM
Correct. The long queues are mainly due to a bad process, not so much by popularity.
You have to order your meal at the entrance before you get to sit down. People spend a lot of time perusing the menu board deciding what to eat, and what side dishes to go for. Result = blockage.
I don't know why they can't let patrons sit down and look through menus. That would be more comfortable.
And this is their very sad wagyu steak (http://camemberu.blogspot.com/2007/05/aston-wagyu-beef-steak.html) - $38.90 for gristly chewy bits.
http://farm1.static.flickr.com/221/498761912_980f1f3d77.jpg
xEno84ph
22-11-2007, 12:51 PM
Correct. The long queues are mainly due to a bad process, not so much by popularity.
You have to order your meal at the entrance before you get to sit down. People spend a lot of time perusing the menu board deciding what to eat, and what side dishes to go for. Result = blockage.
I don't know why they can't let patrons sit down and look through menus. That would be more comfortable.
And this is their very sad wagyu steak (http://camemberu.blogspot.com/2007/05/aston-wagyu-beef-steak.html) - $38.90 for gristly chewy bits.
http://farm1.static.flickr.com/221/498761912_980f1f3d77.jpg
eh... actually its not true that the long queues are mainly due to a bad process.
most of the time the staff will try to fill up the tables with customers once the tables are cleared.
its popular because of the relatively cheap price, not really becoz the food is really nice or wat..
I would say that the food is perhaps juz slightly above average but sumtimes sub-standard due to different ppl cooking. the kitchen staff is always changing coz of rapid turnover.
how come i know ? coz i've worked there during my hols b4.
would not recommend ppl who are particular about quality of the food there but rather students or ppl who don't want to spend too much for dinner.
seePyou
22-11-2007, 04:42 PM
I would say that the food is perhaps juz slightly above average but sumtimes sub-standard due to different ppl cooking. the kitchen staff is always changing coz of rapid turnover.
unable to retain staff is a bad symptom for business
WuSangui
22-11-2007, 04:57 PM
eh... actually its not true that the long queues are mainly due to a bad process.
most of the time the staff will try to fill up the tables with customers once the tables are cleared.
its popular because of the relatively cheap price, not really becoz the food is really nice or wat..
how come i know ? coz i've worked there during my hols b4.
would not recommend ppl who are particular about quality of the food there but rather students or ppl who don't want to spend too much for dinner.
So TS who started this thread claiming ASTON food is good actually got no standard one :D
xEno84ph
22-11-2007, 05:19 PM
So TS who started this thread claiming ASTON food is good actually got no standard one :D
if you're comparing hawker food, Aston's is much better.
If u'r comparing with steakhouses, then you should go to Aston's Prime.
Heard it serves much better quality food but at a much higher price.
Tristessee
22-11-2007, 05:21 PM
Based on the poor performance of aston specialties, i do not have much faith in aston prime. Though i dont mind paying more for better quality of foods and better service.
seePyou
23-11-2007, 12:01 AM
Aston Prime is NOT cheap and the portion is quite sad
earthyblue
23-11-2007, 03:49 AM
The big problem with many food eateries is that they cannot produce the kind of consistent results on a consistent basis.
Having to serve 100 plates a night and 500 plates a night, the food ought to have the same taste. Because patrons pay the same price. But in reality, most eateries as the volume goes up, the standard falls.
Seriously, I look at the plate of wagyu steak, it looks pathetic. Just look at the onion rings, looks crap and definitely brings the food a few notches down.
macguire
23-11-2007, 05:12 AM
heres my review for this place
http://eatandtrain.blogspot.com/2007/08/astons-specialties.html
http://eatandtrain.blogspot.com/2007/08/astons-revisit.html
went there twice... standard of their medium wasn't consistent... but nv the less.. the fact that remains tt they serve above average for for a ver good price... all my frens love it too...
n2btg
23-11-2007, 07:43 AM
heres my review for this place
http://eatandtrain.blogspot.com/2007/08/astons-specialties.html
http://eatandtrain.blogspot.com/2007/08/astons-revisit.html
went there twice... standard of their medium wasn't consistent... but nv the less.. the fact that remains tt they serve above average for for a ver good price... all my frens love it too...
OMG! 1.5hr waiting.... no joke man!!
Better bring your own stool and PSP next time so can sit and wait at the same time! :-)
earthyblue
23-11-2007, 12:10 PM
OMG! 1.5hr waiting.... no joke man!!
Better bring your own stool and PSP next time so can sit and wait at the same time! :-)
Go UNO or go toa payoh 2nd flr hawker centre also no need to wait this long
sg_trader
25-11-2007, 03:29 PM
wah liu.. moi got eat yesterday... now they don allow refill of water!
zzz...
next time don eat liao... charge us 30 cents for water yet don allow to refill!
n2btg
25-11-2007, 08:16 PM
wah liu.. moi got eat yesterday... now they don allow refill of water!
zzz...
next time don eat liao... charge us 30 cents for water yet don allow to refill!Sure or not? cannot refill water? ?
just past by this evening at about six something, about 10 people in the queue. Looks like quite an orgy outside with people discussing and taking orders! went to Cafe Oliv further down the road to eat instead.
tellim
25-11-2007, 08:51 PM
the price is very cheap liao IMO. so u cant expect them to give free water coz if not, help to make more money haha. its a cheap place for teens.
sg_trader
25-11-2007, 09:50 PM
wah liu...
water not free lehh.. 30 cents for one cup.. if they no water i go hdb downstairs put 20cents give them 1 pail lahh...
zzz.... water also don give, wad kind of business?
delson_tan
26-11-2007, 10:32 AM
wah liu...
water not free lehh.. 30 cents for one cup.. if they no water i go hdb downstairs put 20cents give them 1 pail lahh...
zzz.... water also don give, wad kind of business?There are other places that are charging 50 cents a cup already...
tellim
26-11-2007, 07:51 PM
aiya all these restaurants are cooked by part timers...mostly students or dropout lor. if u work at pizza hut, ex-ponderosa u sld noe....
u dun need a chef to cook at such outlet.
butterbarter
28-11-2007, 12:07 AM
its cheap for sure, hence the long queue. Is it good ? Depends.
If you are after steaks, then no, its not good. Good quality steak is expensive, and there is no way they can give you good steak for a price lower than Botak Jones and yet be good. If all you want is a hunk of meat and you think Jack's Place steaks are good, then you will probably like Astons. But if you know your steaks, then pay more and try somewhere else.
I tried Aston Prime as well, and wasn't really impressed by their New York Steak. Next time I'll try the ribeye and see if its any good.
But, let me plug their ieat Superburger. This one was one excellent burger. Their steaks aren't much to shout about, but their freshly made super burger was excellent. Juicy and generous, you can't go wrong. Highly recommended. My theory is that cheap steaks aren't good on their own, but when a cheap steak is chopped up into a burger, it beats all those processed burgers you get at MacDonald's or Carls Jr by miles.
kendrick272
07-10-2008, 11:55 AM
I tried it once before at serangoon garden on a sat afternoon. the queue was quite long. but worth waiting. the portion they served is huge and nice.
i order takeaway chicken burger and fries. the burger is huge man! 4.50 for one and the fries is very nice. not those normal salt fries that you see.
where are all the location of aston?
His Food Blog
07-10-2008, 09:41 PM
My experience last year at Aston Specialities (http://www.hisfoodblog.com/2007/09/prime-meat.html) in Katong was pretty good. The doneness of the steak was well executed.
But since it is abit too far for me, I have been visiting their new outlet at Cathay instead. Been there 4-5 times since and it has been ok so far for me. Can read my experience here (http://www.hisfoodblog.com/2008/08/aston-specialities-cathay.html)if you are interested.
However, the experience was mixed when I visited Aston Prime (http://www.hisfoodblog.com/2008/01/astons-prime-birthday-treat-or-trick.html). Service and Food was equally not up to par.
siaoboy
09-10-2008, 02:36 AM
Aston was good before they become popular ....the standard these days are like hawker western food store. Nothing fantastic
ack33
09-10-2008, 10:07 PM
Aston was good before they become popular ....the standard these days are like hawker western food store. Nothing fantastic
cant expect good stuff when its packed with diners. When stressed food quality will definitely go down really really alot. Quantity goes down too. haha
macguire
11-10-2008, 11:53 PM
astons at amk! (http://eatandtrain.blogspot.com/2008/10/ribeye-steak-at-astons-ang-mo-kio.html)
http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_d7e0FLqcEgU/SPDF2kpkNRI/AAAAAAAACvY/qJnFM3Tlq2A/s400/IMAG0106.jpg (http://eatandtrain.blogspot.com/2008/10/ribeye-steak-at-astons-ang-mo-kio.html)
fass74
13-10-2008, 04:22 PM
astons prime does live up to promise of serving up more up-market fare, i think aston should just close it and focus on the rest of the outlets
twtan14
18-11-2008, 08:25 AM
Read on Sunday newspaper that they are opening a store in Sembawang Shopping Centre this month or next, but Sembawang Shopping Centre not due for completion until 1Q of next year leh.
Beta_Tester
18-11-2008, 09:08 AM
went to eat at AMK yesterday,
sncxlpss
26-11-2008, 07:55 AM
i dun understand what is good about aston,
their quality of food is inconsistant, their service is terrible, the staff are mostly standing around trying to act busy when they are actually not doing anything. i always suspect that there is only 1 or 2 cooks in the kitchen, which shows y the food usually takes ages to be served.
xp20046
26-11-2008, 11:19 AM
i dun understand what is good about aston,
their quality of food is inconsistant, their service is terrible, the staff are mostly standing around trying to act busy when they are actually not doing anything. i always suspect that there is only 1 or 2 cooks in the kitchen, which shows y the food usually takes ages to be served.
I agree, for budgeted steak, i rather go Jack's place lunch set meal. Service and food is at least consistant. I hate queuing up and waiting an hour for food.
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.