View Full Version : FAQ: Where to purchase DSLR? [Part 2]
Hi folks,
I see the rising need for a FAQ for DSLRs (unlike buying digital cameras but somewhere they are still similar, trying not to redo the already FAQ'd thread).
TOC
===
1) Pitfalls of purchasing a DSLR.
i) Camera Body
ii) Warranty Information
iii) Mount Cap
iv) 30~50% charged battery & charger
v) Warranty Card *IMPT*
vi) USB Cables/FireWire Cables
vii) Software
viii) Strap
ix) Kit Lenses
x) Ensure Sensor is fine
xi) LCD Works?
xii) Paying up
2) Shops to avoid and WHY
i) Sim Lim Square
ii) Lucky Plaza
3) Recommended Shops
i) Which shop(s)?
ii) Return Policies
iii) Exchange Policies
4) Grey Set Shops
1) Pitfalls of purchasing a DSLR.
======================
Before you purchase a DSLR, you should ask yourself, do you know what you're getting? If you do, then you're good to go. If not go online check the accessories that comes together with the package before you purchase one.
The package contents are mostly similar for DSLRs by different makes, but again this is a guideline to what the package should contain (MUST-HAVE items)
i) Camera Body
Not much explanation needed, 'cos, if you bought a set without a camera in the box. Go kill yourself =:p J/K.
ii) Warranty Information
DSLRs are electronic equipment, thus like their counterparts - compact cameras, do not come with INTERNATIONAL WARRANTY. Anybody claiming they have sets that are international warranty is a fake.
The widest coverage for DSLR known is the Canon system, covering their DSLRs in China, Indonesia and Singapore. All other makes of DSLRs are covered by local warranties only.
iii) Mount Cap
These are generally used for covering the lens mount when no lens is fixed on, prevents dust and particles from entering through the mount and also to prevent accidental touch to the mirror/prism/shutter inside. Which will cause you to cry because of the fees needed to repair the internal parts.
iv) 30~50% charged battery & charger
IF, IF a shop tells you the set don't come with batteries and needs to be purchased additionally, ask the shop go fly kite.
Please loh, a TV remote also comes with batteries, how can they sell a camera without batteries? Even if it's a nobrand camera using AA, at least 2 generic AA batteries will be included in the package.
v) Warranty Card *IMPT*
This is the most important part of your package. Without it. YOUR CAMERA IS A GREY SET. No warranty means that all repairs/service will be chargable from the moment you leave the shop. Normal warranty for camera(s) and lenses is minimum of ONE year by the MANUFACTURER, not SHOP, nor promises, nor anything else. ONLY by MANUFACTURER.
vi) USB Cables/FireWire Cables
Alright, before you stone me, yes I know most of us would have owned a dozen of these cables so it might not seem important to you, but still, just a highlight.
Data cables used for transferring images from the camera to the computer directly WILL be provided by the manufacturer.
vii) Software
There will be at least one trial or easy to use software (which normally CAN be downloaded from the manufacturer's website) will be included on CDs.
Eg:
Nikon - Picture Project
Canon - Zoombrowser EX
These software provides you the capabilities to transfer the images (rotate them, if any) and edit the images. Personally I don't use the bundled software. :) Your mileage may vary.
viii) Strap
For DSLRs. Always, a neck strap is included in the package. Canon would have their "EOS Professional" printed on the strap, and for Nikon, "Nikon Digital SLR". Fuji has theirs as FujiFilm I believe.
ix) Kit Lenses
For those purchasing sets with kit lense, make sure the lenses comes with a front cap (snap on usually) and a rear lens cover (either a screw on, or snap on as well).
REMEMBER: The above is by far NON-EXHAUSTIVE! Exercise your discretion to search online (google) or the manufacturer's website for the exhaustive list!!
-----------
A few things needs to be verified before you say OK and pay (sign in blood? =:p) Do run through the list.
x) Ensure Sensor is fine
One most expensive part of the camera is the sensor, aka imaging sensor. The piece of chip in the camera that creates the image to display.
Hot Pixels - They show up as a tiny dot of colour that stays as is. Eg: Red/green/blue all the way. Sometimes they disappear after a while, sometimes they never go. Usually, one pixel won't hurt much given that it's 1 out of say... 8 million pixels.(Nikon D80)
Dead Pixels - They show up as a tiny dot of black that will never display colour(s). Forever BLACK. As again, 1 dot won't matter much vs 8 million of it.
For the above, unlikely and very likely, you will be able to even see it on the image printed/taken if it's only 1 pixel. Unless it's multiple pixels near each other and/or really a lot, else, you can't tell at all.
xi) LCD Works?
After taking an image, review it on the LCD behind (do note some LCDs are protected by a film later, peel off to view the LCD in it's clarity).
The LCD behind consists of slightly less pixels, approximately 260K+. However, if the LCD is faulty - dead/hot pixels. It shows up almost immediately when reviewing.
What should you do?
Knock your head if you say it's ok, EXCHANGE for a new set. Well, you're going to pay for it.
xii) Paying Up
Now comes the painful experience of parting with your money. Why is this last in this section?
'cos it's supposed to be done after you've completed the checklist above :P
2) Shops to avoid and WHY
Basically, just 2 places to avoid buying.
i) Sim Lim Square
Famous for electronics, hardware, computers, CD-Rs, etc. Why is this NOT a good place to make your purchases?
Most of these shops uses enticing methods (aka super low price) to lure you into their shops, psyche you with a 'good' price only to get you all excited then alas - they tell you no stock. In turn, they recommend you a different model, which they then overcharge you because you haven't been doing your HOMEWORK and pressure you to purchase what they recommended. Once you refuse, they start to hurl abuses at you and make you embarrassed.
It's a tourist trap. Remember that.
ii) Lucky Plaza
Read the above ^
Remember: If it's too good to be true, it ISN'T TRUE!
3) Recommended Shops
This list is my personal shopping list, I only get my equipment from these places so I shall list out these. I know the way they work and trust them for their professionalism. You may prefer other shopping spaces but as again, this is my preference.
i) TK Foto Technic
100 Beach Road, #02-45
Shaw Towers
Tel: 62928167
By far, one of the best places I shop at with fun and obliging sales staff. No pressure tatics, true to ground pricings for everybody, be it foreigners or Singaporeans. Price is not the cheapest for most items, but they go as low as possible to make their customers happy.
Patient, nice and cosy place to do your shopping at ease. Location isn't too hard to get to either.
A variety of digital cameras, to tripods to bags and DSLRs available there. Prices also works best when paid with cash due to surcharge from credit card and NETS companies.
My vote for this is 5/5.
ii) Cathay Photos (Peninsula Plaza)
#01-11/14 Peninsula Plaza
111 North Bridge Road
Tel: (65) 6337 4274
One of the earlier places where I started my photography purchases from. Knowledgeable, but prices aren't the most competitive around in the market. Various types of payment methods are available at the shop with no extra surcharges for credit cards/NETS.
People there are generally very friendly and though it's been a long time since I bought anything from them, people there still acknowledge my presence when I step into the shop(s). Nice people.
They have two pricing systems in CP, red and green tagged items. Green tagged items are priced double of the actual sale value they intend to sell at, you can bargain safely about 40~50% of the price tagged on the items.
For red tagged items, it's fixed, you can't go any lower than what is printed there. So, watch out!
Don't really like this kind of price system, but oh well, they're still good in their area of photography equipment. They've been around for a long time already.
My vote is 4.5/5.
ii) Return Policies
No decent shop in SG for hardware will allow return policies. Imagine the shop allows you to return the set, imagine the set you owned might have gone through a dozen sales! Now, you won't want that do you?
Neither would you like the shop to tell you "oh, you can return and top up for a different one if you like". Same. The sets probably changed more owners than you've ever changed clothes. Avoid these shops.
iii) Exchange Policies
Similarly to above. As well as faulty sets. Most shops would throw out the warranty back to the manufacturer of your camera once it leaves the shop. However, to my best of knowledge. TK Foto and CP will allow you withing a period of reasonable time to return the sets and get a working copy.
TK Foto can even send in the faulty equipment after the period of time, for the convenience of the customer to send/pick up from. A one stop solution.
The known time for exchange for faulty sets I last recall is 1 week? Please verify if they still offer such a service.
4) Grey set shops
What do grey set shops refer to? Essentially, these shops are the one(s) that do not sell local products, they ship in parallel imported stuff from overseas, thus their stock is
i) Cheaper
ii) Without warranty (no warranty cards)
The set will be recognised for repair and servicing at the local service centres but of course with a charge since it'll be treated as a out-of-warranty set. So you can still get it serviced, but without the benefits of a warranty set.
Some of the grey set shops
i) The Camera Workshop
ii) Orient Photo
Hope this helps.
James Tang
22-11-2007, 04:41 PM
Another good FAQ.
Just to add:
DO not believe fully in E-quotes. I experience a great difference between e-quote and telephone quote from the SAME shop (as big as 5%)
I believe it may even be cheaper if you present yourself at the shop asking nicely.
Another good FAQ.
Just to add:
DO not believe fully in E-quotes. I experience a great difference between e-quote and telephone quote from the SAME shop (as big as 5%)
I believe it may even be cheaper if you present yourself at the shop asking nicely.
Oh, I never go by e-quote :P I go by verbal asking through phone. But if I know something I really die die must have, buy first, talk later :P
souluv
23-11-2007, 12:04 AM
3) Recommended Shops
i) Which shop(s)?
Maybe stores like Courts, Audio house, harvey .. maybe more expensive.. but i guess fits ur criteria of trustsworthdiness..
3) Recommended Shops
i) Which shop(s)?
Maybe stores like Courts, Audio house, harvey .. maybe more expensive.. but i guess fits ur criteria of trustsworthdiness..
But not pre-sales/after-sales service and knowledge. :) neither are prices/packages better than outside shops.
So, I left those out. Thanks for highlighting :)
Bfrost
23-11-2007, 09:57 AM
I think you can add John 3:16 at funan to your list of recommended shops.
I went there once for queries, and the sales service was fantastic even though I didn't buy anything in the end.
I think you can add John 3:16 at funan to your list of recommended shops.
I went there once for queries, and the sales service was fantastic even though I didn't buy anything in the end.
They are not authorised resellers for most brands.
James Tang
23-11-2007, 02:13 PM
3) Recommended Shops
i) Which shop(s)?
Audio House is not in my category of trust-worthy shops due to the following reasons:
1. The sales person are not professional enough in my opinion
2. They always advertise items at very cheap pricing, but if you go there and try to buy those items, you will find those out of stock, even on the FIRST day of sales, and early. This happened to me at their Sims Drive store years back.
Just my own opinion...
archbishopchia
23-11-2007, 10:44 PM
my parents just bought a cannon 400D from the camera workshop. Got it for $950 for the camera Free UV filter $50 for 2gb compact flash and one carrying bag but its not cannon. Comments?
Hi, TCW deals mostly with grey sets, that's why I did not put them into the list. I do not want to mislead interested buyers.
antimony
25-11-2007, 06:57 AM
How come no one mention Alan Photo ah? Anyway, you will get special price when they are familiar with your presence. IMHO, they know their products and prices reasonale.
Their prices are mostly fluctuating from salesperson to salesperson. Like you mentioned, you need to purchase there frequent enough for them to really notice you. Also, they did sell grey sets before. Not too sure about current situation. Thus I did not put them into the list.
The salesperson(s) I find, aren't very friendly, a bit of the kind of preferential treatment. That's why I recommend TK and CP which doesn't do that. Automatically, TK treats everybody the same, CP as well. There will be no worry about warranty problems because all the sets they sell are authorised stock from the distributors locally.
I have reasons not to put the above shops recommended by others into the list. I have purchased from AP before but their prices through e-quote was for grey sets. Lured me down then tell me it's grey set price. Disappointed with this kind of tactics.
antimony
26-11-2007, 06:23 AM
Their prices are mostly fluctuating from salesperson to salesperson. Like you mentioned, you need to purchase there frequent enough for them to really notice you. Also, they did sell grey sets before. Not too sure about current situation. Thus I did not put them into the list.
The salesperson(s) I find, aren't very friendly, a bit of the kind of preferential treatment. That's why I recommend TK and CP which doesn't do that. Automatically, TK treats everybody the same, CP as well. There will be no worry about warranty problems because all the sets they sell are authorised stock from the distributors locally.
I have reasons not to put the above shops recommended by others into the list. I have purchased from AP before but their prices through e-quote was for grey sets. Lured me down then tell me it's grey set price. Disappointed with this kind of tactics.
Well said. Frankly I dislike preferential treatment also. Basically ALL prices should be the same regardless of which Salesperson you approach, after which, your bargaining chip comes in, then its ok. My 2 cts worth.
James Tang
26-11-2007, 11:44 AM
One thing I like about CP is that although if you look at the price tag on their items, you will have heart attack. But whether you are experienced or familiar or not to them, when you ask the price, they will give you their best price. No haggles needed.
Although they may not be the cheapest out there. I have confidence that I wont get chopped nor getting grey sets. Service is generally good, be it Peninsula or Marina
felixcat8888
29-11-2007, 10:46 AM
The other shop you can add is M S Color at Ang Mo Kio
Blk 711 Ang Mo Kio Ave 8 #01-3501C Tel 64576380
I am a photobuff and this is one other shop that I frequent besides Cathay and T K Foto.
The other shop you can add is M S Color at Ang Mo Kio
Blk 711 Ang Mo Kio Ave 8 #01-3501C Tel 64576380
I am a photobuff and this is one other shop that I frequent besides Cathay and T K Foto.
Oh I've been there once, twice before, but pricing wise, think it's because they're located at AMK where the rental's substantially higher at HDB areas(?), price is not very competitive, but I must say Florence's a nice lady to work with. Been past the branch at AMK Hub, but never been inside to test the service.
One day I must go in and check it out. :)
felixcat8888
29-11-2007, 11:37 AM
AMK Hub shop is always manned buy newbies so prices not competitive. Shop at Central better prices as Mr Loh and Mrs Loh (Florence) are always around and they quote better prices. Some pricing they quote me the assistants cannot find in their price bible hehe . . .
Mr Loh quoted me the Fuji S6500FD in June 07 at $550 with 2GB XD card at $550 and when I collected it, Both not around and the assistant did a double take when I quoted the price Mr Loh gave me. He had to call Mr Loh to confirm the price again bec he looked into the list and could not get that price. Maybe because I am an old customer there also lah and the guy who served me I never see before.
AMK Hub shop is always manned buy newbies so prices not competitive. Shop at Central better prices as Mr Loh and Mrs Loh (Florence) are always around and they quote better prices. Some pricing they quote me the assistants cannot find in their price bible hehe . . .
Mr Loh quoted me the Fuji S6500FD in June 07 at $550 with 2GB XD card at $550 and when I collected it, Both not around and the assistant did a double take when I quoted the price Mr Loh gave me. He had to call Mr Loh to confirm the price again bec he looked into the list and could not get that price. Maybe because I am an old customer there also lah and the guy who served me I never see before.
Sometimes it's like that because the staff are informed to calculate the pricings based on a certain forumla, so if it's out of their allowed buffer, they cannot commit it to the customers. I guess we need to spare a thought for them because if they give the wrong price, it's coming out of their pockets. :)
Dearboy87
27-12-2007, 03:35 PM
ix) Ensure Sensor is fine
One most expensive part of the camera is the sensor, aka imaging sensor. The piece of chip in the camera that creates the image to display.
Hot Pixels - They show up as a tiny dot of colour that stays as is. Eg: Red/green/blue all the way. Sometimes they disappear after a while, sometimes they never go. Usually, one pixel won't hurt much given that it's 1 out of say... 8 million pixels.(Nikon D80)
Dead Pixels - They show up as a tiny dot of black that will never display colour(s). Forever BLACK. As again, 1 dot won't matter much vs 8 million of it.
For the above, unlikely and very likely, you will be able to even see it on the image printed/taken if it's only 1 pixel. Unless it's multiple pixels near each other and/or really a lot, else, you can't tell at all.
how exactly can we check the sensor? same as take a picture.. den review it on the lcd screen?
or bring a notebook.. take picture from different colours den review it on the notebook.
ix) Ensure Sensor is fine
how exactly can we check the sensor? same as take a picture.. den review it on the lcd screen?
or bring a notebook.. take picture from different colours den review it on the notebook.
No need to be so mafun. As long as the image reviews on the LCD without much issues, it can be deemed working fine.
If you want to be very particular, zoom in on the image as you review to check. If you want to bring a notebook along, it's up to you, it's pretty much of an hassle IMHO. When I purchase I don't even check until I bring home.
Dearboy87
28-12-2007, 01:14 AM
No need to be so mafun. As long as the image reviews on the LCD without much issues, it can be deemed working fine.
If you want to be very particular, zoom in on the image as you review to check. If you want to bring a notebook along, it's up to you, it's pretty much of an hassle IMHO. When I purchase I don't even check until I bring home.
i ns now.. poor ma...
but i heard if the sensor got defects.. under warranty.. even one pixel dead.. they will change for u?
since it will affect the picture..
and how u usually test ur camera when u bring home... especially regarding the hot pixel..
Dearboy87
28-12-2007, 08:57 PM
ejb?????????
i ns now.. poor ma...
but i heard if the sensor got defects.. under warranty.. even one pixel dead.. they will change for u?
since it will affect the picture..
and how u usually test ur camera when u bring home... especially regarding the hot pixel..
One dead pixel out of a 10MP image is really cannot tell. 1 out of 10, 000, 000, The resolution is already also above what a 30" LCD can display at 100%. So tell me, can you tell if 1 pixel is dead or hot?
Frankly, I've never checked the camera's sensor for dead/hot pixels. However basically I do check that the review LCD behind had no dead/hot pixels.
Sometimes you pay so much but worry over little things, can really make you find it hard to enjoy your purchase.
kitchionh
29-12-2007, 09:58 PM
Called a few shops askintg about prices. Think Parisilk at Holland quotes the cheapest price.
Rgds,
Called a few shops askintg about prices. Think Parisilk at Holland quotes the cheapest price.
Rgds,
Only downside with Pairsilk is that they don't allow testing nor checking of camera until you've paid up. I did however purchase my previous Nikon D100 from them. Now I stick only to TK for most of my purchases.
Dearboy87
31-12-2007, 12:36 AM
Only downside with Pairsilk is that they don't allow testing nor checking of camera until you've paid up. I did however purchase my previous Nikon D100 from them. Now I stick only to TK for most of my purchases.
mmm TK does allow testing and everything before u purchase?
where else do u recommend or have a good time dealing with? Alan photo? john 3:16?
extreme2076
04-01-2008, 01:58 PM
Can also try Bargain City (www.bargaincity.com.sg (http://www.bargaincity.com.sg)) . They're an online store with pretty good service and have been around for 5-6 years i think. I've gotten two cameras from them (IXUS 850 & 860), so far no complaints. But they only do delivery, which is convenient for me since I work till 9nish and they deliver all the way to 11pm haha! :)
Otherwise, if ur more comfortable with a traditional store, try Alan Photo or Cathay. Alan prices are better altho service can be a little frustrating. Cathay prices are not that good anymore. I used to shop at Cathay, my father also used to buy from them, but these days, their prices are getting higher and higher. By the way, Bargain City also offers a 7-day 1-for-1 exchange for any manufacturer defects, eg. dead pixels etc, so i guess that offers a peace of mind...
yanyewkay
06-01-2008, 12:51 PM
your "list" of where to buy cam equipment isn't my favourite.. I prefer to stay off CP. A handful of CP staff are quite ignorant or probably arrogant and don't provide good service at all. If they get the slightest feeling you're just testing out a lens for fun, you don't get much service. Only 1 or 2 are helpful and service orientated. I've been to both the MS and PP branch. Same service. There was once I was asking for a foba QR plate, the guy over the counter just said "$200" I was like 'wah.. so ex here?' then he just turned away. I did my homework before doing down to ask. In the end I got my QR plate from another online retailer instead. The rest of the CP staff make me feel as if they're there just to pass time.
No experience at TK though.
I prefer MS-colours in AMK, Florence will personally make sure you are absolutely happy with your set before you make payment. You can try to your heart's content and she'll still smile at you. Free drinks at her shop too even if you aren't buying. Just drop by and ask for a drink also can.
John 3:16 at Funan is another good place. Though not the cheapest around but I get honest opinions about short comings and definitely no frills good service with no strings attached.
Lords at Lucky Plaza is a good place as well. It's very well regarded and does not pull any funny stunts like the others.
I'm not a regular at either shops but have a few very good experience there.
Like I said, it's my recommended list.
As for CP, it really depends on who you speak to, the younger salespeople are pretty ignorant and don't really respect people asking stuf etc.
I prefer to deal with the older and more experienced people. Probably younger sales people tend to be more punkish in their sales tactics and thinking. Still, they won't rip you off.
As for MS colour, refer to my post #17.
As for Lucky Plaza, once again, refer to the FAQ :)
James Tang
08-05-2008, 03:27 PM
Up for EJB.....
Edited Post #1 to include new section "ii) Warranty Information" left that out earlier, hope readers now realise the warranty coverage of DSLRs.
kenneth1991
10-06-2008, 01:36 AM
upzzz for sticky =)
ralliart12
27-06-2008, 02:54 PM
So if I'm looking for a place where I can really TRY the camera(demo set) to my heart's content, should avoid Cathay, AP and opt for MSColor and John 3:16 lah?
I've bought and negotiate(via sms somemore) prices with Ms. Florence Goh b4, she is rather friendly, I bought from her b4 at the AMK(not inside the AMK Hub) branch. Very nice to talk to, she never rushed me to quickly close the deal even though I'm 1st time MSColor customer.
But bcos I'm shortlisting a few different models, any shop that u fellows recommend that really really dun mind u try?
And it may be asking too much, but does any shop allow u to bring ur own SD card and laptop, then on the spot take test shots then transfer to laptop to view full-res version? If got such a shop I dun mind paying higher price.
So if I'm looking for a place where I can really TRY the camera(demo set) to my heart's content, should avoid Cathay, AP and opt for MSColor and John 3:16 lah?
I've bought and negotiate(via sms somemore) prices with Ms. Florence Goh b4, she is rather friendly, I bought from her b4 at the AMK(not inside the AMK Hub) branch. Very nice to talk to, she never rushed me to quickly close the deal even though I'm 1st time MSColor customer.
But bcos I'm shortlisting a few different models, any shop that u fellows recommend that really really dun mind u try?
And it may be asking too much, but does any shop allow u to bring ur own SD card and laptop, then on the spot take test shots then transfer to laptop to view full-res version? If got such a shop I dun mind paying higher price.
Most shop will not reject you with your SD and laptop, but if you overexcessively do it and not purchase in the end, it can get quite pissed. I think you also won't want to get such customers.
Online has many such images and reviews (http://www.dpreview.com) already, with full sized resolutions.
Anyway, I never understood the need to use own storage, shoot, download and view at full res. I guess to each his own.
233mmx
01-07-2008, 09:48 PM
stick 4 u & renamed it Part 2 ok? :)
As long as it's for the beneficial of those interested, why not? :)
Thanks B. :)
gundamx06
06-09-2008, 01:28 PM
what are the shops tt allow installment w 0% interest?
Most of the shops will. However it will be tied to a specific credit cards, since these are not fixed and always changes from merchants to merchants I have left them out.
Currently however, I do know that
TK Foto: OCBC, DBS/POSB
m1kid85
18-09-2008, 10:52 PM
eh hi i decide to go for canon D450 but where do u guys think is the cheapest place to get?
I think also need to try if is it easy to use for totally newbie like me so it the TK place, MS colour and the AMK hub the mrs florence good place to try?
superhohozor
11-12-2008, 10:30 PM
bringing laptop is sensible. LCD screen not meant to actually view the photo anyway. you wouldnt be able to tell if the photo is good just by looking at the LCD
eh hi i decide to go for canon D450 but where do u guys think is the cheapest place to get?
I think also need to try if is it easy to use for totally newbie like me so it the TK place, MS colour and the AMK hub the mrs florence good place to try?MS Colour both shops at AMK are by the same owner.
My choices for equipment purchase has been listed out in the first page, subsequent possible places of purchase I've also given my personal reasons to why I avoid them. Do weight and judge for yourself. Keep to the reputables ones to be safe, need not follow my list regligiously.
bringing laptop is sensible. LCD screen not meant to actually view the photo anyway. you wouldnt be able to tell if the photo is good just by looking at the LCDBring laptop is fine, but whether it is useful or not, I won't know. Out of an image of 12mp, if there's 1 dead/hot/stuck pixel, you won't be able to see it when printed or resized for display on web.
There is no benefit from complaining 1 pixel is spoilt on the sensor (though I have yet to come across a sensor as such upon purchase).
However, a dead pixel in the LCD (about 220K pixels) will be very obvious.
ChongJun
06-03-2009, 11:37 AM
I would like to ask about Laudigital.com.sg as well. shop at chinatown. isit good?
monkey_wyk
15-03-2009, 01:25 AM
i think,cheap doesn't mean good.resonable price will be more important.Just bought My lovely D90 from Harvey Norman Suntec City,good deal good service. 0% installment..
I would like to ask about Laudigital.com.sg as well. shop at chinatown. isit good?Never heard of this shop, but as most shops at Chinatown is targetted at tourists *ahem* my advice is to avoid them.
Presto80
19-06-2009, 11:59 PM
i would not recommend john 3:16 after a bad experience with them..
asobuu
07-07-2009, 03:16 PM
where is the best place to get a dslr, looking at the d450!
pls advised!
where is the best place to get a dslr, looking at the d450!
pls advised!
You might want to try reading the FAQ.
rsnfunky
07-07-2009, 07:57 PM
Dear EJB,
Thanks a lot, it was an excellent FAQ.
I am from India and will be in Singapore next week during the shopping festival. I wanted to buy a DSLR from there as a considerable price difference exists between India and Singapore with more models launched in Singapore.
After reading your thread I understand that there is no international warranty given. If this is the case, I should go for a 'Grey Market' piece. The only risk can be if the shops sells me a used piece stating as new.
What are some reputed grey market shops in Singapore to buy a Sony A300 so that the above risk may be avoided. Alternatively what would you recommend me?
Regards,
Dear EJB,
Thanks a lot, it was an excellent FAQ.
I am from India and will be in Singapore next week during the shopping festival. I wanted to buy a DSLR from there as a considerable price difference exists between India and Singapore with more models launched in Singapore.
After reading your thread I understand that there is no international warranty given. If this is the case, I should go for a 'Grey Market' piece. The only risk can be if the shops sells me a used piece stating as new.
What are some reputed grey market shops in Singapore to buy a Sony A300 so that the above risk may be avoided. Alternatively what would you recommend me?
Regards,
The more established ones are:
1) The Camera Workshop
2) Orient Photo
With some positive feedback from the people around me, however since I have not dealt with them, I cannot assure you of their integrity and service. My response to you is just in the context of your query, I do not endorse nor promise any interested buyers that purchasing from them will be hassle & worry free in the long run.
Etech80
27-12-2009, 02:06 AM
Hi EJB,
I would like to seek your expert in D300s, here is this website that sell D300s with lens. http://cgi.ebay.com/New-Nikon-D300s-Digital-SLR-5-Lens-64GB-Super-Kit_W0QQitemZ220523887471QQcmdZViewItemQQptZDigital_Cameras?hash=item33583f7b6f would like to know is it worth buying in the U.S at this site?
I am thinking of buying a D90 or D300s, do you think is necessary to buy a D300s?
Anyone know what is the body price of D90 and D300s now in Singapore, currently I am in the U.S.
Singaporean,
Cheers.
The more established ones are:
1) The Camera Workshop
2) Orient Photo
With some positive feedback from the people around me, however since I have not dealt with them, I cannot assure you of their integrity and service. My response to you is just in the context of your query, I do not endorse nor promise any interested buyers that purchasing from them will be hassle & worry free in the long run.
Hi EJB,
I would like to seek your expert in D300s, here is this website that sell D300s with lens. http://cgi.ebay.com/New-Nikon-D300s-Digital-SLR-5-Lens-64GB-Super-Kit_W0QQitemZ220523887471QQcmdZViewItemQQptZDigital_Cameras?hash=item33583f7b6f would like to know is it worth buying in the U.S at this site?
I am thinking of buying a D90 or D300s, do you think is necessary to buy a D300s?
Anyone know what is the body price of D90 and D300s now in Singapore, currently I am in the U.S.
Singaporean,
Cheers.
If you read my FAQ, you would know that I don't really support beginners to just jump in and get the highest end camera body, you can consider using the spare cash for lenses instead.
Whether it is justifiable for you to get the D300S or not, depends on your usage and as well as budget.
As for where to buy in the US, I'm sorry, I'm not very sure where is the best place you can purchase as I've not been there for a long time. Perhaps you can check with your local friends if they have any recommendations.
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.