View Full Version : What is the most prestigious credit card to hold in Singapore
econsexpert
24-11-2007, 02:24 PM
I need to apply for a visa or master card in Singapore. The only Singapore-based credit card I have now is Amex Platinum, and Amex is not widely accepted in Singapore. Don't want to hold a card like Citi Clear that apparently every kid has now.
I'm based in US. Thanks.
Sky_High
24-11-2007, 02:26 PM
I'd rather have a card which has more benefits than being 'prestigious'. If i'm not wrong, the one with the most benefits now is HSBC?
econsexpert
24-11-2007, 02:35 PM
No, I'm not interested in the rebate and what not. Prestige and rarity is what I'm looking for. I have my reasons for that.
Anyone any recommendation?
undiscern
24-11-2007, 03:31 PM
ABN AMRO Van Gough Card or HSBC Premier Card.
LonelyMan
24-11-2007, 03:36 PM
Bring $1,000 notes, think that is prestige enough. Issue cheques for lunch, since it is so prestige that you are credit worthy.
econsexpert
24-11-2007, 03:43 PM
Bring $1,000 notes, think that is prestige enough. Issue cheques for lunch, since it is so prestige that you are credit worthy.
You don't sound like a very sophisticated person. Why sign check when you can use a credit card? And $1000 notes? Is that stupid or what.
econsexpert
24-11-2007, 03:53 PM
ABN AMRO Van Gough Card or HSBC Premier Card.
Frankly, neither seem prestigious. Both are just credit cards for preferred banking customers.
Is there a card for those who earn in excess of 250K per annum, or at least 100K at the very minimum?
undiscern
24-11-2007, 04:00 PM
Both cards are for customers with at least S$200k CASH with the banks.
One may earn 100-250k salary but may not have $200k in solid cash with the banks.
Your AMEX is platinum credit card or charge card. Plat Charge card is hell more prestigious and by invitation only.
Cash7888
24-11-2007, 04:14 PM
UOB INFINITE (min 350K, by invitation only)
CITIBANK ULTIMA (min 350K, by invitation only)
AMEX PLATINUM CHARGE CARD(min 150K, by invitation only)
AMEX CENTURION (USD 250K spending within 1 year to qualify, by invitation only)(CARD IS MADE OF TITANIUM. PRESTIGIOUS ENOUGH)
undiscern
24-11-2007, 04:25 PM
Just to addon to Cash7888, UOB VISA INFINITE annual is S$1500.
Prestigious enough? Or rather, foolish enough?
Assimilator
24-11-2007, 05:00 PM
Hehehe... if one can earn min $350K annually, $1.5k would be like small change. Some more these cards come with personal concierge service if i'm not wrong... real concierge service, not those "concierge services" advertised in Pt cards that are dished out like nobody business. ;)
undiscern
24-11-2007, 05:18 PM
That would be what most people who dont earn that amount assume. Its a misconception. Most people who are earning that kind of salary are also very super stingy and miser. $1 also want to bargain.
Cash7888
24-11-2007, 05:34 PM
not to mention the 2k joining/initiation fees. haha..
However, people who would use cards like the amex centurion which has a annual fee of $5k are normally frequent flyers where the air tickets and hotels upgrades very much covers the annual. Useful if you travel alot.
devilish_me
24-11-2007, 05:55 PM
Both cards are for customers with at least S$200k CASH with the banks.
One may earn 100-250k salary but may not have $200k in solid cash with the banks.
Your AMEX is platinum credit card or charge card. Plat Charge card is hell more prestigious and by invitation only.
not true la....they anyhow issue one. if you've some mortgage loan with abn amro..they'd already make you a vangogh customer & will give you the card.
PennywisE
24-11-2007, 06:18 PM
So have you decided on which card to apply for?
tomicaguy
24-11-2007, 06:26 PM
Isn't it that if you are that "high profile" in being the top earners, the banks will look for you automatically.
Why would you need to go n look for them instead?
econsexpert
24-11-2007, 07:12 PM
i work in New York, get paid in my NY bank account, and pay NY tax.
get it?
undiscern
24-11-2007, 07:14 PM
i work in New York, get paid in my NY bank account, and pay NY tax.
get it?No Singapore salary, local banks can issue singapore card?
econsexpert
24-11-2007, 07:15 PM
UOB INFINITE (min 350K, by invitation only)
CITIBANK ULTIMA (min 350K, by invitation only)
AMEX PLATINUM CHARGE CARD(min 150K, by invitation only)
AMEX CENTURION (USD 250K spending within 1 year to qualify, by invitation only)(CARD IS MADE OF TITANIUM. PRESTIGIOUS ENOUGH)
I have the AMEX Platinum, and I use the AMEX Centurion in US, and my Centurion card has no preset limit. Actually I am looking for a master/visa similar to centurion. Will check citi ultima out. Not a big fan of local banks.
Thanks.
econsexpert
24-11-2007, 07:18 PM
No Singapore salary, local banks can issue singapore card?
Yes, I got the Singapore AMEX Platinum card using my US-based salary information. They courier my card to NY, just for your info. The problem is a lot of shops in SG don't accept AMEX, so I'll trying to look for a Master/Visa equivalent of AMEX Plantinum or Centurion.
econsexpert
24-11-2007, 07:22 PM
My firm foots the annual fee, so I don't really care. If my company pays business class on a non-stop SQ flight for me at least 6 times a year for work, do you think 1500 is anything?
Personally, I wouldn't go for credit card with annual fees over 50 if I have to pay, but like I say, I have my reasons for getting a prestigious card, and it is not for my own usage, not primarily at least.
LonelyMan
24-11-2007, 09:09 PM
You don't sound like a very sophisticated person. Why sign check when you can use a credit card? And $1000 notes? Is that stupid or what. My statement is meant to look stupid.
Comeon, just pick up your phone and call up the Priority/Privileged/Premier banking of foreign banks located in Singapore, tell them your income range and needs. It is so much better to ask around here, where most people here do not earn much to get the such cards. Even if they do, they would not likely to tell others.
For your information, I work for a foreign bank here and I can tell you that whichever foreign bank that do not contact you after the first call within 1 day, you can forget about this bank. (Please, I am not in personal financial services but involved in corporate banking).
There is only one prestige visa card in Singapore as far as I know, this card issuer values branding and prestige, of which all local banks do not and most other foreign banks do not. Of cause you still get to enjoy the privileges like its 2nd tier cards, which not any tom dick and jerry can hold.
mrbean008
24-11-2007, 09:10 PM
i tink US has more credit cards for u to choose
alexsoon1984
24-11-2007, 10:24 PM
OT a bit here.
In the past during poly days, don't understand why friends around me simply hand-itchy wana get a credit card in their wallet. Now i grow up, working liao, i think i understood now.
Back to the thread, for a person to be earning 350 000 per annum is tough, unless u are your own boss running a big-time business, CEO of some bigtime company, or u are a high-flying sales person. No more others.
If one can earn more than 350 000, he/she have every right to show off.
Thai_Rak_Thai
25-11-2007, 01:09 AM
I need to apply for a visa or master card in Singapore. The only Singapore-based credit card I have now is Amex Platinum, and Amex is not widely accepted in Singapore. Don't want to hold a card like Citi Clear that apparently every kid has now.
I'm based in US. Thanks. Just bring your pay slip to the banks...the prestigious division RMs will look for you
Thai_Rak_Thai
25-11-2007, 01:13 AM
If one can earn more than 350 000, he/she have every right to show off. as a human being...totally understandable...maslow Theory also states that...
however in SG no use lah...i worked so hard to attain GOLD card status back then...but now, everyone got PLATINUM card. Think they should revert back to old system...it devalues the status of the card
yazzzidy
25-11-2007, 01:53 AM
That would be what most people who dont earn that amount assume. Its a misconception. Most people who are earning that kind of salary are also very super stingy and miser. $1 also want to bargain.
Super agree with you... I work at harvey norman and i face this kinda people.. Ask for pathetic bargains.. Discounted products and yet ask for more discount.. are they blind or what ? what are promotions for.. DUH !
They bargain like mad ,ask for SUPER HIGH CLASS SERVICE (eg : help me test the set , give me some more plastic bag,wah your air-con not working,so hot.Got provide water? More free gifts leh. If u buy 2 give me more discount la. )
Haiz.... sadly but true.
tellim
25-11-2007, 11:59 AM
the so called prestigious AMEX Plat is not widely accepted coz it is 'prestigious' and limited to customers. if u want commonly accepted card will be visa and mastercard.
warboy85
25-11-2007, 12:20 PM
visa infinite?
econsexpert
25-11-2007, 12:32 PM
the so called prestigious AMEX Plat is not widely accepted coz it is 'prestigious' and limited to customers. if u want commonly accepted card will be visa and mastercard.
isn't that what i'm asking for? what's your point of repeating my question?
epigram
25-11-2007, 10:13 PM
citibank ultima, uob infinite visa and uob empire world mastercard come to mind.
henrylbh
26-11-2007, 04:12 PM
citibank ultima, uob infinite visa and uob empire world mastercard come to mind.
I think it's more prestigous carrying a pile of cash. That day at mustafa, there was a foreigner taking a pile of cash and I really mean a pile (of $100 bills) to pay for his purchases of a few hundred. And there I was using a platinium card for less than $100 purchases.
Whatever credit cards do not matter to me. But when you see a pile of cold cash, it surely draw your attention.
Thai_Rak_Thai
26-11-2007, 06:43 PM
......But when you see a pile of cold cash, it surely draw your attention. TO BE ROBBED BRO!!!!!
:D
but seriously, it's ok how little or much the bill is and we choose to use our cards, for many other reasons. There is no "defined" or "correct" way. Cash in pocket can also be vulnerable...similarly, credit card lost also vulnerable.
Mustafa open 24 hrs ... no issue. (true story) one day late at night...wallet no money, no one at home picks up the phone, ATM machine spoilt...taxi comes up...only can pay by mastercard...see how relieve you are bro. (the finance/admin fee for doing this transaction does not even come to mind with suce convenience)
icyspawn
26-11-2007, 07:37 PM
since it's for your company, y not a corporate card?
Thai_Rak_Thai
26-11-2007, 09:24 PM
TS - u hold this card is it currently?
http://www.americanexpress.com/lacidc/iccsite/american_express_centurion_card_benefits.shtml
applefreak
26-11-2007, 10:01 PM
infinite is a brand of visa, not uob
so any bank can have visa infinite cards
just like platinum and signature cards
now scb is having the signature card too, but by invitation only
Thai_Rak_Thai
26-11-2007, 10:06 PM
infinite is a brand of visa, not uob
so any bank can have visa infinite cards
just like platinum and signature cards
now scb is having the signature card too, but by invitation only oh, that explains why the Premier Miles card also is a "Visa Signature"
cherry_pie
27-11-2007, 04:12 AM
I think it's more prestigous carrying a pile of cash. That day at mustafa, there was a foreigner taking a pile of cash and I really mean a pile (of $100 bills) to pay for his purchases of a few hundred. And there I was using a platinium card for less than $100 purchases.
Whatever credit cards do not matter to me. But when you see a pile of cold cash, it surely draw your attention.
Obviously you are not wealthy or affluent. The wealthy and affluent do not flaunt their wealth in the form of cold cash.
dihtdaeruoynac
27-11-2007, 10:39 AM
Whats wrong with you guys?
The TS already said his point of wanting a prestigious card. If you can do a good deed by telling him. If not just take a look and stay off. Whats the point of questioning the use of his card and doubting his ability. You guys are just jealous or what? Live with the fact there are rich people living around. Having a occasion visit from the rich in this
mingkiat
27-11-2007, 02:23 PM
isn't that what i'm asking for? what's your point of repeating my question?
Don't think you'll get any sensible answer from this thread judging by the way the thread is develop.
Why don't you ask your personal banker or finance minister?
In hardwarezone, they'll ask you to get DM Card . :s13:
cherry_pie
27-11-2007, 02:32 PM
Don't think you'll get any sensible answer from this thread judging by the way the thread is develop.
In hardwarezone, they'll ask you to get DM get.
finance minister? u mean like Lee Hsien Loong? :s22:
wherehouse
27-11-2007, 02:34 PM
LOL this has got to be one good reply
icyspawn
27-11-2007, 03:15 PM
In hardwarezone, they'll ask you to get DM Card . :s13:
the problem is, if he is really so serious in looking for a prestigious card, he should be calling up his PB or any PB for that matter to ask for their bank's most prestigious card for corporate use... not prestigious enough? "ok, thank you. i'll consider" and call up the next bank!
which high networth hotshot posts in such a forum anyway?
as quoted from Batman Begins "It's not who you are underneath, it's what you do that defines you"
Thai_Rak_Thai
27-11-2007, 05:58 PM
as quoted from Batman Begins "It's not who you are underneath, it's what you do that defines you" "...for everything else, there's Mastercard" =:p
Thai_Rak_Thai
28-11-2007, 09:49 AM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Centurion_Card
rAcEr
06-12-2007, 02:39 PM
indeed. TS comes across as a really arrogant person. if u earn millions, why are u coming to hwz to post and ask such questions. go look for the bank RMs instead la.
game goondu
07-12-2007, 10:23 AM
the problem is, if he is really so serious in looking for a prestigious card, he should be calling up his PB or any PB for that matter to ask for their bank's most prestigious card for corporate use... not prestigious enough? "ok, thank you. i'll consider" and call up the next bank!
which high networth hotshot posts in such a forum anyway?
as quoted from Batman Begins "It's not who you are underneath, it's what you do that defines you"
this i have to agree with you. where got ppl come to hwz and ask such a question one...
go to forums like shareinvestor.com more like it.
come knocking on the wrong door. :)
boucyfirebal
11-12-2007, 01:24 PM
well there a new rumour of a better higher end amex card
epigram
11-12-2007, 08:23 PM
what card is that?
applefreak
11-12-2007, 10:57 PM
think centurion already very high end liao right?
they have a uniformed chauffeur who delivers the card right to your door step
how much more high end can it go???
epigram
11-12-2007, 11:49 PM
yes, centurion is truly high end. there are only an estimated 900 centurion card members in singapore. actually, the platinum charge card is also quite high end. there are only an estimated 4,200 platinum charge card members in singapore.
applefreak
12-12-2007, 09:17 PM
unless you count the bejewelled mastercard, the card itself already cost $30k
it's for the RICH only :p
boucyfirebal
12-12-2007, 11:28 PM
haha heard frm the currents centenrion card holder
msmurf
13-12-2007, 05:36 AM
indeed. TS comes across as a really arrogant person. if u earn millions, why are u coming to hwz to post and ask such questions. go look for the bank RMs instead la.
hanor hanor, usually rich men dont show face one, they hide behind the scene. mayby thats why they seek help from the net. at least they dun look stupid when they are not invited for the prestigious card.
btw, i think rich men usually dun need to carry card as their PA will bill for them. :s12:
cheers!
Dudick
13-12-2007, 08:48 AM
My firm foots the annual fee, so I don't really care. If my company pays business class on a non-stop SQ flight for me at least 6 times a year for work, do you think 1500 is anything?
Personally, I wouldn't go for credit card with annual fees over 50 if I have to pay, but like I say, I have my reasons for getting a prestigious card, and it is not for my own usage, not primarily at least.
The company you work for sound like a big Corporation so how come they do not have a corporate card that you can use?
boucyfirebal
13-12-2007, 11:28 AM
i know im new;)
but isnt that enuf bashin?
Thai_Rak_Thai
13-12-2007, 11:32 AM
yes, centurion is truly high end. there are only an estimated 900 centurion card members in singapore. actually, the platinum charge card is also quite high end. there are only an estimated 4,200 platinum charge card members in singapore. 900 in SIngapore? that is a tad too much for being ultra exclusive....just my opinion
Platinum charge card is also by invitation only but i'm sure many in SG can make $250K per annum
i was thinking worldwide Centurion count be less than a thousand, during urban legend days, only the likes of Tom Cruise and Mike Jordan had one...and they are worth US 200 million a year (at least) :eek:
boucyfirebal
13-12-2007, 11:51 AM
its true but they have loosen and and u cant deny there alot more rich ppl out there now but not to the level of poor growths
epigram
13-12-2007, 07:33 PM
900 in SIngapore? that is a tad too much for being ultra exclusive....just my opinion
Platinum charge card is also by invitation only but i'm sure many in SG can make $250K per annum
i was thinking worldwide Centurion count be less than a thousand, during urban legend days, only the likes of Tom Cruise and Mike Jordan had one...and they are worth US 200 million a year (at least) :eek:
the latest statistics from IRAS indicates that there are:
2090 taxpayers with income >$1,000,000
5717 taxpayers with income $500,001-$1m
4238 taxpayers with income $400,001-$500,000
9213 taxpayers with income $300,001-$400,000
22957 taxpayers with income $200,001-$300,000
so you are right. many people make $250k per annum. that's as many as the number of flats (assuming each flat is occupied by only one person and not one family) in ang mo kio.
Cash7888
14-12-2007, 03:21 PM
900 in SIngapore? that is a tad too much for being ultra exclusive....just my opinion
There are currently 17,000 centurion cardholders in the world and according
to some current cardholders, the standard of service and has dropped so significantly
that some of them feel it is not worth the membership fees anymore.
If you want to know more about the centurion card or is kaypoh enough to want to know
which celebrity has it, visit the site below.
www.amex-black.com
www.amex-black.com/known-cardholders/
Thai_Rak_Thai
14-12-2007, 03:30 PM
the latest statistics from IRAS indicates that there are:
2090 taxpayers with income >$1,000,000
5717 taxpayers with income $500,001-$1m
4238 taxpayers with income $400,001-$500,000
9213 taxpayers with income $300,001-$400,000
22957 taxpayers with income $200,001-$300,000
so you are right. many people make $250k per annum. that's as many as the number of flats (assuming each flat is occupied by only one person and not one family) in ang mo kio.
to some current cardholders, the standard of service and has dropped so significantly
If you want to know more about the centurion card or is kaypoh enough to want to know
www.amex-black.com (http://www.amex-black.com)
www.amex-black.com/known-cardholders/ (http://www.amex-black.com/known-cardholders/) thanks bros...something to work towards before i die :)
$8-10K isn't too hard once you've crossed the $5K barrier. The hardest is to cross the $10K barrier. Once you've done that, hitting the $20K is the next.. haha
epigram
14-12-2007, 09:57 PM
www.amex-black.com
www.amex-black.com/known-cardholders/
actually, that's too few cardmembers.
the latest statistics (mar 07) are that there are 42,900 EME cardmembers, 13,300 in HK/Singapore, 5,500 in Australia.
don't know about USA.
Cash7888
15-12-2007, 07:00 AM
actually, that's too few cardmembers.
the latest statistics (mar 07) are that there are 42,900 EME cardmembers, 13,300 in HK/Singapore, 5,500 in Australia.
don't know about USA.
What is EME card?
epigram
15-12-2007, 07:35 AM
europe and middle east
sabirin
18-12-2007, 07:22 PM
u should consider ez link card or starhub prepaid card.ez link can get points once accumilate can go to batam for free.
Thai_Rak_Thai
19-12-2007, 02:04 AM
u should consider ez link card or starhub prepaid card.ez link can get points once accumilate can go to batam for free. at least do a spell check so your post would show some credibility :s7:
AlphaAV
19-12-2007, 03:15 AM
TS hints advice and gone to another forum to seek answer liao? o.O
Vadimur
26-12-2007, 05:11 AM
He's just wasting his time.
The most prestigious cards in sg were already mentioned, but he do not qualify as he's not a singaporean & not applying it as a individual. (*& unless the bank invites him) These cards are generally meant for affluent individuals, definitely not for company employees.
JUNNIE247
28-12-2007, 05:12 PM
Hey! Where is the originator of this thread? I didn't see him anymore.
Anyway, credit cards are simply a payment mechanism for the sake of convenience.
Can someone please KINDLY tell him that if he has the tons of money to dispose of, ask him to throw whatever money he has in a bank, enroll in some whatever privilege banking scheme, and get the special credit card specially for such clients.
If he is not happy with the answers, there is nothing much we can do either!
And also, if he is such a high earner and high spender, various banks would have paid close attention to him long long ages ago and would try their best to sign him up, and not resorting to using this forum as a platform to announce to everyone how rich and powerful he is, for goodness sake!
Elven_Princess
07-05-2008, 10:34 PM
The most prestigious credit card to hold in SG is the AMEX CENTURION BLACK CARD. Period. By invitation only, even if u earn a cool $1 million per annum, u might not even be invited to be in the circle. There's no spending limit; u can charge an airplane to it. =)
Thai_Rak_Thai
07-05-2008, 10:53 PM
The most prestigious credit card to hold in SG is the AMEX CENTURION BLACK CARD. Period. By invitation only, even if u earn a cool $1 million per annum, u might not even be invited to be in the circle. There's no spending limit; u can charge an airplane to it. =)
:D [citation needed (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wikipedia:Citation_needed)]
Cash7888
07-05-2008, 11:58 PM
Amex will not invite you if you earn $1 million per annum. You have to spend USD250,000 on their charge card within 1 year before you will qualify for the invitation.
Amex's advertisement on no spending limit on their charge cards is just an advertisement.
They have a pre-set limit for everyone. Its just that they will adjust the limit based on the spending and PAYMENT pattern of the individual. The limit will be increased gradually as you increase your spending gradually. You have to show them that you can pay off an amount before they give you higher limit. If you get a centurion card and try to charge a plane to it, chances are you will get denied.
Rumours is that the one who charge a plane to the card is a prince of a oil producing country.
Forum on amex:
http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=410
MikeDirnt78
08-05-2008, 02:29 AM
obviously TS has the wealth but not that smart enough. like what so many people mentioned, if you are really wealthy why bother to ask in a forum and waste everyone's time. just pick up the phone and ask each bank directly. :yawn:
ReiszRie
08-05-2008, 09:20 AM
obviously TS has the wealth but not that smart enough. like what so many people mentioned, if you are really wealthy why bother to ask in a forum and waste everyone's time. just pick up the phone and ask each bank directly. :yawn:\
i don't see how forums naturally equates to inferior answers (as what you're implying) and how one shouldn't resort to forums for answers. Asking each bank directly wouldn't be the smartest thing to do either, since each and every bank would recommend their own products and services rather than those offered by another bank.
MikeDirnt78
09-05-2008, 11:34 PM
a boastful and arrogant tone of TS deserves the same tone in answering.
Harlot
13-05-2008, 12:18 AM
Well first of, I presume that when TS talks about his firm's ability to foot his 'bill's implies that he is an asset to them, and on top, with that kind of salary, has to be an intellect with the basic network to get what he wants.
So why the F is he coming here with his condescending tone seeking advice from people whom he eventually bashes down relentlessly with his asinine remarks?
TS just go ask your 'firm' or perhaps the mutually previleged clique you hang out with (or perhaps can't do that cos no one really befriends a dic* by choice).
Harlot
13-05-2008, 12:21 AM
whatever your 'reasons' for the most coveted card. I'm pretty sure a huge reckoning lies with a self-seeking need for respect. Am i right to say that?
Well let's put it this way, respect starts with a vivacious and kind character. Something you do not display much of.
K.M.T.
13-05-2008, 10:58 AM
haha, of course he is gone
he already got the replies he wanted
he just wanted to bash a few poor chaps and replied tons of info like
i work in NY
i got amex plat
i got centurion
i got a firm that pays my annual fees which sends me biz class non stop
which i think no one actually asked him for it cuz the info is quite irrelavant sorry to say..lol
he might be back
when he can think of something else to share about himself
and again should be something irrelavant waahhaha
2 cents from a citi bank clear (not clear plat ) holder, lolz
staedtler_07
13-05-2008, 09:15 PM
Well, he can check out the bank websites in Singapore!
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.