View Full Version : SMRT Citibank CC, how to redeem the cash rebate huh?
sAxman_Returns
25-11-2007, 04:41 PM
it mentioned 1.7% rebate if you spend less than dunno how much. But how do I redeem it? and hoh, how can I increase the top up amount huh?
any idea?
CoffeeLover
26-11-2007, 12:40 AM
I thought the card don't have cash rebate?
Correct me if I am wrong.
ironman4672
26-11-2007, 12:54 AM
I thought the card don't have cash rebate?
Correct me if I am wrong.got la.. this is also a rebate card, just that the rebate are in SMRT$ which it can only be used to exchange for SMRT voucher if u accumulated at least 10 SMRT$
ironman4672
26-11-2007, 12:54 AM
one SMRT$ = SGD1.
similar to the rebate offered by UOB SMART$
sAxman_Returns
26-11-2007, 01:23 AM
OMG, if using $30 per top up kind of rebate, you need min 20 top upz b4 you can request for the rebate leh.....
ironman4672
26-11-2007, 01:47 AM
OMG, if using $30 per top up kind of rebate, you need min 20 top upz b4 you can request for the rebate leh.....yup, u are rite, unless u spent on those participating merchants like supermarket, restaurant etc for more rebates....then u can hit $10 faster...
for $50 top up, 12 top up will entitle u an exhange of $10 voucher... so if u spent $50 per mth on transport, one year later u can redeem one voucher...
sAxman_Returns
26-11-2007, 08:12 AM
but actually it's ezylink mah, you can use it to purchase stuff also, like that very fast to have top up liao lor......
but once I get the first voucher, I'm going to terminate the arrangement and switch to ONE card visa top up. 3.33% is so much higher than 1.7%....duh....
yellowcoral
26-11-2007, 11:17 AM
although is ezylink, cannot use citibank-smart cc to buy mcdonalds!
test n tried = fail
anyone tried with other merchandiser?
aloysius
26-11-2007, 11:45 AM
i tot if u go coffee bean....TCC....cold storage etc...all will earn rebate....shld be easier to earn rebate ma....
correct me if i am wrong.
ironman4672
26-11-2007, 12:18 PM
although is ezylink, cannot use citibank-smart cc to buy mcdonalds!
test n tried = fail
anyone tried with other merchandiser?
the rule is now if ur ezlink is enabled with auto top up, u cannot use it to make purchase at merchants or fast food restaurant which accepts ezlink...
ironman4672
26-11-2007, 12:20 PM
i tot if u go coffee bean....TCC....cold storage etc...all will earn rebate....shld be easier to earn rebate ma....
correct me if i am wrong.
coffee bean i dun know got participate or not, but yes, if drink coffee at TCC or buy things at cold storage etc, can earn rebate too.. but not very much...
it is always hard to earn rebates becos the return rate is too low...
aloysius
26-11-2007, 01:17 PM
i see is 4.7% leh.....
slowly accumulate lor...
think u all expectation quite high la...want a lot :D
CoffeeLover
26-11-2007, 09:14 PM
got la.. this is also a rebate card, just that the rebate are in SMRT$ which it can only be used to exchange for SMRT voucher if u accumulated at least 10 SMRT$
So let me get this straight, it is ezlink voucher for rabte in ezlink is it? Not cash rebate for purchasing stuffs like everyday card?
ironman4672
26-11-2007, 09:31 PM
So let me get this straight, it is ezlink voucher for rabte in ezlink is it? Not cash rebate for purchasing stuffs like everyday card?of course dun have la... it is SMRT credit card, remember this, the rebates u earn can only be used to redeem SMRT voucher.. that's it... ;)
CoffeeLover
26-11-2007, 09:56 PM
OK. thanks for clarifying.
sAxman_Returns
26-11-2007, 11:41 PM
i see is 4.7% leh.....
slowly accumulate lor...
think u all expectation quite high la...want a lot :D
show me how you get 4.7%, I already got my first statement, zhun zhun 1.7% coz it's below $600 in total for a statement. Harder to earn rebate than the UOB one card....
http://www.citibank.com.sg/APPS/portal/loadPage.do?tabId=Credit%20Cards&path=/prod/det/cc_xx_smrt06.htm
Can purchase in McDonald's, 7-11 etc without problems, tested and bought bau, sorry I meant burger, also bought banana from 7-11 etc :D
1.7%? less the $0.25, you're only left with 0.86% rebate only. I dun see any advantage of using this card.
Most probably I will terminate the Giro tomorrow, reactivate it to ONE card which gives 3.33%. Funny huh? Citibank card use UOB CC account to do giro top up lol!
marco622
27-11-2007, 08:58 AM
the UOB's 3.33% rebate is under the condition of 3 mths' spending of total $900, hence $300 for each month. then mean each month you get 1.11% rebate only.
aloysius
27-11-2007, 09:47 AM
show me how you get 4.7%, I already got my first statement, zhun zhun 1.7% coz it's below $600 in total for a statement. Harder to earn rebate than the UOB one card....
http://www.citibank.com.sg/APPS/portal/loadPage.do?tabId=Credit%20Cards&path=/prod/det/cc_xx_smrt06.htm
Can purchase in McDonald's, 7-11 etc without problems, tested and bought bau, sorry I meant burger, also bought banana from 7-11 etc :D
1.7%? less the $0.25, you're only left with 0.86% rebate only. I dun see any advantage of using this card.
Most probably I will terminate the Giro tomorrow, reactivate it to ONE card which gives 3.33%. Funny huh? Citibank card use UOB CC account to do giro top up lol!
i dun mean the smrt trip rebate...i mean the supermarket n coffee rebate
sAxman_Returns
27-11-2007, 11:48 PM
the UOB's 3.33% rebate is under the condition of 3 mths' spending of total $900, hence $300 for each month. then mean each month you get 1.11% rebate only.
time for maths tuition......
$80 cash rebate / $2400 total spendings in 3 months (sorry hoh, I dun look at $300/month one lor) = 3.33% or 1.11%? You go calculate yourself.
If you split it up, for the sake of easier calculation:
$30 cash rebate for 3 months, $10 per months, over a $300 total spendings per month, 3.33% or 1.11%? I think a pri 1 student will also know how to calculate..... :s22:
aloysius, supermarket rebate? 5% from POSB, coffee? (SMART$ + 3.33%) which one gives more, you think leh?
SMRT card sux!
jimmy
06-04-2008, 11:27 PM
The maximum rebate is based on $300 or $800. Say if you spend $600 a month, you get only (30/1800=)1.67% per month rebate only. Of course if you spend $300, then you get the max. (30/900=)3.33% per month.
sarukia
27-04-2008, 03:38 AM
is the smrt top up charge to the card? or giro from another a/c? i dont quite understand
voddie
27-04-2008, 10:53 AM
is the smrt top up charge to the card? or giro from another a/c? i dont quite understand
charge to the card
kkboy1
27-04-2008, 12:22 PM
How to redeem the SMRT points? Need to ask for a voucher from Citibank through internet banking or how to get the voucher if I got 10 SMRT?
ironman4672
27-04-2008, 12:24 PM
How to redeem the SMRT points? Need to ask for a voucher from Citibank through internet banking or how to get the voucher if I got 10 SMRT?
call the CS to redeem, they will post u the voucher... i just called last week for one first voucher....
sAxman_Returns
27-04-2008, 12:26 PM
charge to the card
there are 2 parts. 1 is the EZlink card itself, 1 is the top up portion. Ezlink card is just the same as other card. As for top up, you can choose not to use the Card itself to charge. You can top up from any other option. The only difference is that there is some stupid not really working types of cash rebate given to you if you're using the CARD itself to top up.
kkboy1
27-04-2008, 05:23 PM
call the CS to redeem, they will post u the voucher... i just called last week for one first voucher....
Oh,How do I check how many SMRT points I have? "CS" the citibank hotline?
voddie
27-04-2008, 09:32 PM
wait for your monthly statement. it shd be there. CS is customer service
ironman4672
27-04-2008, 09:35 PM
check ur credit card monthly statement... there is no way to check online... alternatively check with CS... yup CS is hotline...;););)
aloysius
27-04-2008, 10:45 PM
i always log on to citi internet bank...then view the previous month's SMRT pts......
btw i just redeemed $20 SMRT dollars voucher......
now still need $8 more to get another $10....then i can rest my mind liao....probably not gg to use this card...
ironman4672
27-04-2008, 11:15 PM
i always log on to citi internet bank...then view the previous month's SMRT pts......
btw i just redeemed $20 SMRT dollars voucher......
now still need $8 more to get another $10....then i can rest my mind liao....probably not gg to use this card...
only if u subscribe the e-statement (no more paper statement will be sent to u) then u can check online....
Boner
30-04-2008, 04:35 PM
stupid point only valid within one calendar year..
i just got "cheated" of 14.65 points.... so angry..
voddie
30-04-2008, 10:07 PM
stupid point only valid within one calendar year..
i just got "cheated" of 14.65 points.... so angry..
1 calendar year? not valid until the anniversary date of the card? hmm, kns. its not written anywhere
KhunNimzo
30-04-2008, 10:53 PM
sure on calendar year?hmmm
ironman4672
01-05-2008, 08:42 AM
1 calendar year? not valid until the anniversary date of the card? hmm, kns. its not written anywhere
it is written somewhere in the clause... u are the user just simply dun read it...
anyway, i already redeem mine....haha;););)
voddie
01-05-2008, 09:44 AM
it is written somewhere in the clause... u are the user just simply dun read it...
anyway, i already redeem mine....haha;););)
if you are that great a user, show me where is it written that the smrt $ is valid for only 1 calendar year
ReiszRie
01-05-2008, 11:57 AM
if you are that great a user, show me where is it written that the smrt $ is valid for only 1 calendar year
as stated in the Terms & Condition Page 19
(b) You may accumulate a maximum of 280 SMRT $ during any 12 month
period commencing from the date your Card is issued or the date your
Card account is renewed (as the case may be). Every 1 SMRT $ shall
(unless otherwise specified) represent S$1 in cash value.
Vincent_G
01-05-2008, 02:48 PM
Yes, it's only valid within one year. Luckily, I check in the Citibank Online, in the Rewards table, it's stated clearly, SMRT$ expiry date. Last year recieve 20$ SMRT voucher, 3-4 SMRT$ expired. But, Citi$ is life-time bonus, so can accumulate to get bigger item.
castafarian
01-05-2008, 09:10 PM
what can the vouchers be used for?
KhunNimzo
01-05-2008, 09:28 PM
as stated in the Terms & Condition Page 19
(b) You may accumulate a maximum of 280 SMRT $ during any 12 month
period commencing from the date your Card is issued or the date your
Card account is renewed (as the case may be). Every 1 SMRT $ shall
(unless otherwise specified) represent S$1 in cash value.
means if my card is issue on feb 2008 it will expire on feb 2009 right?
coz early on when i read someone posting,i thought valid on calendar year means,if card issue on feb 2008,it will expire on dec 2009..
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.