PDA

View Full Version : Palit N73PV Motherboard

jayjaydaman
26-11-2007, 09:07 PM
Hi to Convergent staff

Thinking of upgrading my computer around X'mas, so I am curious to know if the Palit N73PV motherboard has enough clearance to install a 3rd party CPU HSF like the Scythe Samurai Z Revision B ?

This is important as I intend to reuse my Scythe Samurai where possible. I posted a similar question regarding the Palit N68S & it seems that the N68S cannot fit the Scythe Samurai. From pictures of the N73PV, it seems that there is sufficient space between the CPU socket & the RAM slots ?

Appreciate your honest advice here as I do not wish to end up with a rude shock after getting the motherboard and having been told otherwise. Thanks !

jayjaydaman
27-11-2007, 09:05 PM
Eh, definitely would appreciate a reply from someone @ Convergent. Thanks :)

jeuda
29-11-2007, 08:10 AM

I am looking for reviews on this mainboard too. I only know there are 3 such boards using the GF7100/n630i at videopro now.

They are the first, GA-N73PVM-S2H retail 169
The Abit I-N73HD retails at 140.
And the Palit N73PV at 115.

The Abit board is the latest... just saw it on Video pro web yesterday.

what processor are you going to pair with it?

winguy
29-11-2007, 08:48 AM
oh convergent brought in abit too ? I-N73HD and I-N73H or just I-N73HD ?

jeuda
29-11-2007, 09:05 AM
Only saw the Abit I-N73HD.

Wonder how's the performance of this board with P35 chipset.

jayjaydaman
29-11-2007, 08:02 PM
Dunno why Convergent has yet to respond to my query... :o

jayjaydaman
30-11-2007, 08:17 PM
Seriously, Convergent also got no idea is it ? :o

testament
30-11-2007, 09:49 PM
just curious, ur HSF how they tested before on the previous board u said?/? They take ruler to measure or a cooler of similar size?/? think they these few days all rushing sitex stuff lolx

jayjaydaman
30-11-2007, 10:36 PM
just curious, ur HSF how they tested before on the previous board u said?/? They take ruler to measure or a cooler of similar size?/? think they these few days all rushing sitex stuff lolx
One look at the motherboard can tell already, the RAM slots are so freaking close to the CPU socket... I asked on the Palit N68 thread, Convergent also mentioned cannot... Dunno if they test or not, but it does seem very unlikely my Scythe will fit...

jayjaydaman
01-12-2007, 03:43 PM
No reply ?

jayjaydaman
04-12-2007, 06:59 PM
Maybe now that Sitex is over, Convergent can spare a wee bit of time to look at my thread... :(

ColinYip
04-12-2007, 11:58 PM
One look at the motherboard can tell already, the RAM slots are so freaking close to the CPU socket... I asked on the Palit N68 thread, Convergent also mentioned cannot... Dunno if they test or not, but it does seem very unlikely my Scythe will fit...

I dont think so la. U fit scythe on MATx board veyr cramp. This cooler is freaking huge, besides u dont need such a big HSF on this motherboard.

What you need is Zerotherm BTF90. Compact and efficient with thermal control system

ColinYip
05-12-2007, 12:00 AM
oh convergent brought in abit too ? I-N73HD and I-N73H or just I-N73HD ?

We Brought in abit I-73HD.

Elvin_Chong
05-12-2007, 12:52 PM
No review on this board yet? Thinking of setting up a budget rig with this board.

nannan82
05-12-2007, 01:40 PM
one question... how much is tis board alone witout any bundle??????

reyreina
05-12-2007, 03:52 PM
think is 140. sold at videopro. but not much reviews out there. looking for reviews myself too. wonder hows the oc capabilities

nannan82
05-12-2007, 04:27 PM
so ex meh???? bundle wit 2160 cost 220 like tat..... minus the processor.. i tot it should be in the legion of sub $100

jayjaydaman
07-12-2007, 04:36 PM
I dont think so la. U fit scythe on MATx board veyr cramp. This cooler is freaking huge, besides u dont need such a big HSF on this motherboard.

What you need is Zerotherm BTF90. Compact and efficient with thermal control system
Scythe on mATX board not necessarily very cramp...

My MSI mobo has more than enouigh clearance for one... ;)

ColinYip
07-12-2007, 11:57 PM
Scythe on mATX board not necessarily very cramp...

My MSI mobo has more than enouigh clearance for one... ;)

Scythe is a veyr big HSF! ITs not about the clearance..but i prefer matx set up to be compact and clean;)

jayjaydaman
08-12-2007, 12:25 AM
Scythe is a veyr big HSF! ITs not about the clearance..but i prefer matx set up to be compact and clean;)
So could you clarify ?

Can install Scythe Samurai for both N68S & N73PV is it ? Just that because you all like mATX to be compact & clean so tell me cannot ? Because the impression from previous replies from Convergent sources in my threads was that I cannot even install my Scythe in...

So if I happily insist on installing my Scythe Samurai it will still fit in fine with the Palit mobos ?

ColinYip
08-12-2007, 12:28 AM
So could you clarify ?

Can install Scythe Samurai for both N68S & N73PV is it ? Just that because you all like mATX to be compact & clean so tell me cannot ? Because the impression from previous replies from Convergent sources in my threads was that I cannot even install my Scythe in...

So if I happily insist on installing my Scythe Samurai it will still fit in fine with the Palit mobos ?

We dont didstribute scythe HSF leh...how to test for you?:(

jayjaydaman
08-12-2007, 12:39 AM
We dont didstribute scythe HSF leh...how to test for you?:(
Ok, at least got an honest reply at last...

Instead of another Zerotherm BTF90 sales pitch in response to my queries... :o

ColinYip
08-12-2007, 12:48 AM
Ok, at least got an honest reply at last...

Instead of another Zerotherm BTF90 sales pitch in response to my queries... :o

Everytime matx and people use 3rd party cooler...i always btf 90. Standard.

If normal ATX...really up to you:D

jayjaydaman
08-12-2007, 01:01 AM
Ok, 1 last question then, this one you should know the answer...

Can the Palit N73PV support CPU FSB adjustment in the BIOS ? No point buying the E2180 to run at stcok right ? :o

ColinYip
08-12-2007, 01:04 AM
N61S / N68S / N520A
* AM2+ Support
* Over-clocking option released (differs by each model's hardware design)
* Fix NV G92 reference card not booting on worldwide MCP68 based MB issue.

:D

jayjaydaman
08-12-2007, 01:06 AM
N61S / N68S / N520A
* AM2+ Support
* Over-clocking option released (differs by each model's hardware design)
* Fix NV G92 reference card not booting on worldwide MCP68 based MB issue.

Brother, I ask you N73PV leh.. but good to hear about N68S as well... Now must choose between AMD Black & Intel E21xx series...

jayjaydaman
08-12-2007, 01:09 AM
How about N73PV ?

jayjaydaman
08-12-2007, 01:17 AM
Leave me in suspense sia... post info about the N68S but not the N73PV... :o

jayjaydaman
08-12-2007, 02:17 PM
How come no reply sia... :(

Convergent_Tech
10-12-2007, 12:06 AM
Thousand apologies!!!

Will test and update you here tomolo!!! :s12:

Cheers :)

Convergent_Tech
10-12-2007, 02:04 PM
Ok, 1 last question then, this one you should know the answer...

Can the Palit N73PV support CPU FSB adjustment in the BIOS ? No point buying the E2180 to run at stcok right ? :o
YES! Palit N73PV supports CPU FSB adjustment in BIOS :D

Sorry again for the late reply.

jayjaydaman
10-12-2007, 08:28 PM
Thanks for the reply, better late than never... :)

So this is a new feature as previous users were howling over how there were zero options in the BIOS to overclock... LAtest BIOS flash should thus give me the ability to overclock ?

ColinYip
10-12-2007, 08:44 PM
http://img232.imageshack.us/img232/2720/cid5780905041012200731aac3.jpg

Yes, u can adjust FSB thru system clock mode.:)

jayjaydaman
10-12-2007, 08:49 PM
Can adjust CPU voltage or not ? Is it through NB Voltage ? :o

Wondering how much this board can O/C as well... Can chiong 333FSB on 667 RAMs ? :P

ColinYip
10-12-2007, 08:50 PM
Can adjust CPU voltage or not ? Is it through NB Voltage ? :o

cpu voltage cannot adjust,:D

jayjaydaman
10-12-2007, 08:52 PM
cpu voltage cannot adjust,:D
Ok, so better pray hard that next BIOS release will enable... :P

Time to whack one this weekend with a E2180 & see whether FSB333 is obtainable... :P

ColinYip
10-12-2007, 08:53 PM
Ok, so better pray hard that next BIOS release will enable... :P

Time to whack one this weekend with a E2180 & see whether FSB333 is obtainable... :P

I trust Palit and xpertvision. If they can do it, they do best. If cannot, they tell you cannot:D

jayjaydaman
10-12-2007, 08:56 PM
I trust Palit and xpertvision. If they can do it, they do best. If cannot, they tell you cannot:D
I think they added it to N68S, CPU voltage options... So perhaps it's just a matter of time... But by right, FSB333 still not pushing it too far, in fact for E2180 only need to push to FSB300 to reach the magic 3.0ghz barrier... I'm very optimistic... :o

ColinYip
10-12-2007, 08:59 PM
I think they added it to N68S, CPU voltage options... So perhaps it's just a matter of time... But by right, FSB333 still not pushing it too far, in fact for E2180 only need to push to FSB300 to reach the magic 3.0ghz barrier... I'm very optimistic... :o

okay!! i dunno whetehr to get this board or n68s with a HTPC. Intend to use it with a Gecube 3850 leh....

jayjaydaman
10-12-2007, 09:04 PM
okay!! i dunno whetehr to get this board or n68s with a HTPC. Intend to use it with a Gecube 3850 leh....
Confirm is the N73PV together with the E2160 or E2180...

AMD got nothing much to offer against the Core 2 Duo onslaught... I quite like the AMD X2 5000+ Black Edition (Brisbane Core) with unlocked multipliers as it can safely O/C w/o the need to push any other settings beyond default, also can hit 3.0ghz on default settings, merely adjust multipliers... Reminds me of the good old pencil trick days of the Athlon XP... :o

But after seeing how an overclocked E2160 can go head to head with a E6750/6850 plus the fact that the AMD X2 6000+ does not even come anywhere close to an Intel part... :(

ColinYip
10-12-2007, 09:10 PM
Sigh..another guy telling me same thing. But i really want AMD:s11:

maybe ill use this board. Abit AN-m2HD. Best quality matx around. Take a look when ur free.

Inside still have the dvi-HDMI cable...:D

jayjaydaman
10-12-2007, 11:40 PM
Jialat, I went to this French website that reviewed the Palit N73PV, they say this board can forget about overclocking... I guess even though the option for CPU FSB is there, there's not much overhead for O/C... :o

Elvin_Chong
13-12-2007, 10:55 AM
I already built 4 machines using this board. Really value for money board and drivers only need to install the latest nforce and realtek sound drivers only. I only wish they give additional SATA cables and now most of the stuff are now SATA.

jayjaydaman
13-12-2007, 07:28 PM
I guess so...

Too bad I went for the ASRock Conroe1333-D667 in the end... Cheaper yet still can fit my needs... Somemore also can overclock... Best of all there is so much clearance for my Scythe Samurai cooler... :o

ColinYip
13-12-2007, 08:37 PM
I already built 4 machines using this board. Really value for money board and drivers only need to install the latest nforce and realtek sound drivers only. I only wish they give additional SATA cables and now most of the stuff are now SATA.
will take note!

ColinYip
13-12-2007, 08:38 PM
I guess so...

Too bad I went for the ASRock Conroe1333-D667 in the end... Cheaper yet still can fit my needs... Somemore also can overclock... Best of all there is so much clearance for my Scythe Samurai cooler... :o

make me sad.:(

jayjaydaman
13-12-2007, 10:06 PM
make me sad.:(
Don't worry, I'm accompanying my friend to SLS this weekend to help him DIY his rig which will include the Palit N73PV... :)

He needs DVI output & would prefer onboard GFX as he also don't play games so Palit N73PV is suitable for him...

ColinYip
13-12-2007, 10:09 PM
Don't worry, I'm accompanying my friend to SLS this weekend to help him DIY his rig which will include the Palit N73PV... :)

He needs DVI output & would prefer onboard GFX as he also don't play games so Palit N73PV is suitable for him...

:Du rock

What card u buy? Sexpertvision?

jayjaydaman
13-12-2007, 10:11 PM
:Du rock

What card u buy? Sexpertvision?
The ASRock motherboard got Intel G945 graphics onboard already... :o

But could be getting a cheapo GFX card just so that I can disable onboard graphics and start to overclock... :P

ColinYip
13-12-2007, 10:14 PM
The ASRock motherboard got Intel G945 graphics onboard already... :o

But could be getting a cheapo GFX card just so that I can disable onboard graphics and start to overclock... :P

Gecube 3850 256mb at 269 is good.;)

Elvin_Chong
13-12-2007, 11:01 PM
Today just built my fifth machine using the N73PV, so far so good. Sixth and seventh on the way soon.

ColinYip
14-12-2007, 11:11 AM
Today just built my fifth machine using the N73PV, so far so good. Sixth and seventh on the way soon.

I love you:love:

jayjaydaman
15-12-2007, 05:04 PM
Gecube 3850 256mb at 269 is good.;)
Alamak, I don't even play any PC games ask me spend $269 on GFX... :o

But anyway, despite the heavy downpour today, my friend dragged me down to SLS to get his rig...

Palit N73PV & Kingston RAM, plus a LG LCD monitor... Should be enough display of support for Convergent products right ? :o

stonie
15-12-2007, 08:11 PM

upi open lan shop ar? :D

what config you build? and how much cpu and mobo combo can get cheapest ar?

cos i wanna get the amd and palit combo. but dun mind intel

Elvin_Chong
15-12-2007, 08:35 PM
upi open lan shop ar? :D

what config you build? and how much cpu and mobo combo can get cheapest ar?

cos i wanna get the amd and palit combo. but dun mind intel

So far have built N73PV with 2 x 2140 ($210), 1 x 2180 ($23?), 1 x 4500 ($278)

PC Themes should be the cheapest but they have limited Palit Intel boards. :D

Elvin_Chong
15-12-2007, 08:36 PM
Can go and hoot 2GB x 2 for this board. Onboard GFX already take 512MB leaving 3.5G for XP just nice.

stonie
15-12-2007, 08:59 PM

thanks. how do you think this combo N73PV + 2140(how many Gig?) compare with ASRock Conroe1333-D667 + 2140, N68S + AMD4000 and biostar TA690G + AMD4000??

And the onboard takes 512M!!!! so much ar! i only can afford 2x1G leh.

kenzi87
16-12-2007, 01:50 AM
So how is the onboard graphic on current games? crysis playable in low mode?

Elvin_Chong
16-12-2007, 11:43 AM
So how is the onboard graphic on current games? crysis playable in low mode?

Don't think so. Didn't try it as don't think Crysis with on board GFX can run smoothly.

lemonn
16-12-2007, 03:38 PM
This mobo max memory 2GB? Cannot put 2x2GB ah :(

Elvin_Chong
16-12-2007, 04:20 PM
This mobo max memory 2GB? Cannot put 2x2GB ah :(

Can, max is DDR800 2GB per memory slot. Some of the PC I built is running off a single stick of 2GB.

lemonn
16-12-2007, 05:10 PM
Oh thx, coz i see the webbie there they put max memory 2gb.

stan
22-12-2007, 01:34 PM

Hi Elvin,

You have build a many system with this N73PV.
Can this mb overclock? Some say cannot oc. Confused.
If can oc, which cpu u think is the best for it and value for $$ ?

Was thinking of getting this mb + 2140/60/80 or 4500

Elvin_Chong
22-12-2007, 11:26 PM
Hi Elvin,

You have build a many system with this N73PV.
Can this mb overclock? Some say cannot oc. Confused.
If can oc, which cpu u think is the best for it and value for $$ ?

Was thinking of getting this mb + 2140/60/80 or 4500

I only built this PC for those people who don't overclock their PC. The firmware is not mature yet for OC but is stable enough as a regular usage PC. Best bang for buck I think will be the 2140 which gives the N68S 4000+ AMD a run for the money. Today just gotten another 3 N73PV system from PC Themes for my colleagues, no complaints so far. :D

The board is out of stock at PC Themes till next week. Gotten the last 3 from their place. :D

stan
25-12-2007, 01:32 PM
I only built this PC for those people who don't overclock their PC. The firmware is not mature yet for OC but is stable enough as a regular usage PC. Best bang for buck I think will be the 2140 which gives the N68S 4000+ AMD a run for the money. Today just gotten another 3 N73PV system from PC Themes for my colleagues, no complaints so far. :D

The board is out of stock at PC Themes till next week. Gotten the last 3 from their place. :D

Wow, cool man. Will be good if someone can confirm if this board can overclock.
Just want to oc e2160 or e4500 to 3ghz

KalTorak
04-01-2008, 05:54 PM
Sorry for bringing up this thread but I'd just like to check when will new stocks of the board be available?
Was at sls today and the only 2 retailers which HAD them are all out of stocks.
Any ETA on this? Was hoping to build a new rig this weekend. Any input appreciated.

stan
12-01-2008, 12:10 PM
http://img232.imageshack.us/img232/2720/cid5780905041012200731aac3.jpg

Yes, u can adjust FSB thru system clock mode.:)

I bought it and adjust the fsb higher. e2180 from 800mhz to 1066mhz (2.67ghz) .
Easy but cannot hit 1333mhz. May need extra voltage.

ColinYip
12-01-2008, 11:02 PM
Sorry for bringing up this thread but I'd just like to check when will new stocks of the board be available?
Was at sls today and the only 2 retailers which HAD them are all out of stocks.
Any ETA on this? Was hoping to build a new rig this weekend. Any input appreciated.

Sorry for the late reply. The stocks would be ready on Monday! Many places sold out already! Cheers!:)

boston74
14-01-2008, 07:37 AM
Hi ColinYip!
Need to ask a few questions abt this mobo.... :)

How much performance hits for having a single-channel memory controller?

Can I have a IDE harddisk and a SATA optical drive on the mobo? Can the SATA optical drive bootup winxp cd and install OS onto the IDE harddisk? In other words, can the IDE harddisk be used as a OS drive? (sorry if this question sounds stupid, juz wanna make sure becoz of this thread http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1813592 )

Is it true that the mobo chipset doesn't support Purevideo? And according to HWZ's articles, it cannot playback HD contents smoothly.
http://www.hardwarezone.com/articles/view.php?cid=6&id=2392&pg=5

Thank you!

Elvin_Chong
20-01-2008, 06:37 PM
Anyone OC their chips on this MB.

Let me start with mine first, Chip E4400@2.66Ghz - Linked 5:4 CPU FSB 1066. Temps 45C idle using stock Intel cooler. Any comments? Don't want to OC too aggressively.

manyu882
20-01-2008, 10:48 PM
WAH.. i can't believe that you guys are talking about this board. i bought it at VIdeo pro with e2160 processor.. so far so good. i finally can play half life 2 smoothly lol..

damn sad.. i bought 2 x 1gb stick. initially i wanna buy 2 2gb stick ( as stated in manual) but than the uncle say play safe cos the box outside say 2 gb..

well, i can say that this board is good for people who are looking into low budget + best bang for buck com.

advantage of this board
1. is that its a very mobo with entry card integrated which can beat gmax3000 easily. and already, gma x3000 can play quite lots of game. at it has dvi + vga ports.. cool eh?
http://213.193.228.70/quickSearch.do?hardwareId=GPU_1076

2. 4gb max space( as mentioned by some forumers). which means enough max capacity for running win XP.

3. 4 sata ports( no need too many la actually). can plugin your sata

4. one IDE port which supports 2 IDE devices.. good for people who wanna use back old hard disk or disc drive.

5. board small.. good for so no need to buy a big casing.. which can also save $$

6. lastly.. surprisingly it has a port for floopy disk... by right if u see a board which can support 1333mhz, you would think that floopy dirive no chance liao. however, its good for people who still sticks totraditional floopy disk. :D

oh one more thing to add.. the rams seems like cannot run on dual channel.. anyone can clarify>

Elvin_Chong
20-01-2008, 11:14 PM
The memory controller is single channel.

manyu882
20-01-2008, 11:27 PM
Hi ColinYip!
Need to ask a few questions abt this mobo.... :)

How much performance hits for having a single-channel memory controller?

Can I have a IDE harddisk and a SATA optical drive on the mobo? Can the SATA optical drive bootup winxp cd and install OS onto the IDE harddisk? In other words, can the IDE harddisk be used as a OS drive? (sorry if this question sounds stupid, juz wanna make sure becoz of this thread http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1813592 )

Is it true that the mobo chipset doesn't support Purevideo? And according to HWZ's articles, it cannot playback HD contents smoothly.
http://www.hardwarezone.com/articles/view.php?cid=6&id=2392&pg=5

Thank you!

can la..i can boot windows with my IDE hard disk. but than i already got windows inside liao. didn't install from any dvd sata drive. however, i try to boot with windows vista... got problem

manyu882
20-01-2008, 11:32 PM
The memory controller is single channel.

thx for clarification. single channel is good enought :s12::s12:

windwaver
01-02-2008, 10:30 AM
Anyone OC their chips on this MB.

Let me start with mine first, Chip E4400@2.66Ghz - Linked 5:4 CPU FSB 1066. Temps 45C idle using stock Intel cooler. Any comments? Don't want to OC too aggressively.

I'm clocking a e2160@2.7Ghz, Unlinked 3:4 FSB:1200 Temps are 39c idle/51c load (prime95). Stock intel cooler.

BSOD on FSB:1333 (think needs a little more juice on the CPU which n72pv bios currently cannot). Anybody else have a better o/c experience?

Stallone
06-03-2008, 10:48 AM
can OC, good, but can the board sustain the OC??

Elvin_Chong
06-03-2008, 12:16 PM
can OC, good, but can the board sustain the OC??

Been running it for 2 months OCed, no problems yet. :)

goenitz33
24-03-2008, 02:50 AM
just got this board for my gf today

must say its quite good and no frills :D

quite feature packed IMO

only complain is why is the FRONT PANEL AUDIO located at the END Of the board instead of being in front near the SATA ports -.-

nannan82
24-03-2008, 10:35 PM
running it @ 2.6ghz..... wit a e2160 processor... bios is v1.02....

XxRPxX
24-03-2008, 11:41 PM
Wah...the board seems good =D plan to get one for myself next week.

XxRPxX
24-03-2008, 11:45 PM
For pple hu have this mobo, do u all still buy external graphics or use the onboard?

Another thing is ... does the onboard "eat" the ram up?

ColinYip
25-03-2008, 12:23 AM
For pple hu have this mobo, do u all still buy external graphics or use the onboard?

Another thing is ... does the onboard "eat" the ram up?

yes! a little bit only! 128mb! :D

my suggestion is get this board a mid range gpu will do !;)

ColinYip
27-03-2008, 09:55 AM
For those who are asking for this board, the 2 memory slots both can support up to 2gb of memory each. A total of maximum 4gb can be supported by this motherboard.:)

XxRPxX
28-03-2008, 12:44 AM
Ok =D thanks. Upup for this thread.

ColinYip
28-03-2008, 12:15 PM
You are welcome! Hope everyone enjoying this board now. The on board DVI is shiokness:)

M-Lights
29-03-2008, 09:22 AM
running it @ 2.6ghz..... wit a e2160 processor... bios is v1.02....

Is that the max with stock fan, have you tried to push beyond 2.6Ghz, may b 3Ghz ?

XxRPxX
30-03-2008, 12:58 AM
Weeheee I bought the Palit N73PV today wif E2200 for $206 @ Bliss.

I saw my graphics is 512mb lehs .... but it eat 256 of my RAM =(

Can i set it to not eat my RAM at all? and if it is so, how many MB of graphics do i get?

Here is my comp specs

- Palit N73PV w/ E2200 (Core Duo 2.2ghz) - $206
- 2 X 1GB Kingston DDR2/667Mhz - $52
- 250Gb Seagate SATA II Hdd - $85
- LG Dvd-RW SATA - $42
- Casing + 450w PSU - $40

Total - $425

Also, i checked the BIOS for the temperature of the CPU. Mine is like 48 degrees. Isit normal?

M-Lights
30-03-2008, 10:30 AM
Weeheee I bought the Palit N73PV today wif E2200 for $206 @ Bliss.

I saw my graphics is 512mb lehs .... but it eat 256 of my RAM =(

Can i set it to not eat my RAM at all? and if it is so, how many MB of graphics do i get?

Here is my comp specs

- Palit N73PV w/ E2200 (Core Duo 2.2ghz) - $206
- 2 X 1GB Kingston DDR2/667Mhz - $52
- 250Gb Seagate SATA II Hdd - $85
- LG Dvd-RW SATA - $42
- Casing + 450w PSU - $40

Total - $425

Also, i checked the BIOS for the temperature of the CPU. Mine is like 48 degrees. Isit normal?

Where u got rest ? Or all fm 1 shop ? By cash ?

48 deg at idle ? quite high leh.

goenitz33
30-03-2008, 12:51 PM
just for information i built it in an MATX Casing
Powerlogic Allegra 500 with 2 60mm fans as exhaust

Using Intel Stock Cooler
E2160

Idle at 37-38C

XxRPxX
30-03-2008, 03:07 PM
Where u got rest ? Or all fm 1 shop ? By cash ?

48 deg at idle ? quite high leh.

I buy from different shops. If ask one shop to quote, Total will be like $20-30 more expensive.

RAM from Best Bargain
Hdd from C.A.S.H
Mobo, processor and Dvd-Rw from Bliss
Casing + PSU from one ulu shop at lvl3

I jus place it at the Bios screen and see the temp den it stable at 48 degree. My case lousy =( got no side fan expansion. Only have 1 back 12mm fan and some lousy PSU

Maybe the thermal paste need time to "eat in" den more effective??? Thats wad i read from some sites

XxRPxX
30-03-2008, 03:10 PM
just for information i built it in an MATX Casing
Powerlogic Allegra 500 with 2 60mm fans as exhaust

Using Intel Stock Cooler
E2160

Idle at 37-38C

Yours got side fan? Mine oni one slot for 120mm fan. I later post the pic of the comp

Btw the temp u gave is the cpu temp or the core temp? my core temp is 33 degree but the CPU is 50 and mobo temp is 45.

Is there any way to modd a fan on the mobo itself? I saw some shops doing it but i duno how

goenitz33
30-03-2008, 07:55 PM
mine is Coretemp. not CPU temp.

side panel no fan but the casing got quite abit of holes for air to escape.

XxRPxX
30-03-2008, 10:47 PM
mine is Coretemp. not CPU temp.

side panel no fan but the casing got quite abit of holes for air to escape.

Oo My core temp is 33-34 degree but CPU temp is high =( I got feeling i put my fan wrong side.

Until now i duno how see which way is in and out. :look:

XxRPxX
31-03-2008, 12:48 AM
Here is the pic of my new rig

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b18/isaaccheang/Image043.jpg

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b18/isaaccheang/Image044.jpg

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b18/isaaccheang/Image046.jpg

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b18/isaaccheang/Image047.jpg

nannan82
31-03-2008, 01:03 AM
Is that the max with stock fan, have you tried to push beyond 2.6Ghz, may b 3Ghz ?nv try..... but i believe wit good o/c skill.. u can do tat... no sweat...

nannan82
31-03-2008, 01:23 AM
Here is the pic of my new rig

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b18/isaaccheang/Image047.jpgi realise u like to put yr rom drive in the 2nd slot??? funny huh?? hahaha

yr temp is quite high at idle.. before i o/c... my temp only 30 plus????? and it in a super cramp matx casing..... pci slot all use up and wit a 7600gt and 2 hdd.... 1 exhaust fan too.... resit yr heatsink maybe???

http://i216.photobucket.com/albums/cc315/zhengnan82/DSCF0296.jpg

XxRPxX
31-03-2008, 12:41 PM
i realise u like to put yr rom drive in the 2nd slot??? funny huh?? hahaha

yr temp is quite high at idle.. before i o/c... my temp only 30 plus????? and it in a super cramp matx casing..... pci slot all use up and wit a 7600gt and 2 hdd.... 1 exhaust fan too.... resit yr heatsink maybe???

Ok i will resit my heatsink =D And i think i might have placed my fan the wrong way =X the thing is blowing in instead.

I dun wan put the DVD-RW at 1st slot cos it is very cramped wif the PSU.

XxRPxX
01-04-2008, 12:44 AM
nv try..... but i believe wit good o/c skill.. u can do tat... no sweat...

Bro :)

Hows the casing? Isit working fine?

XxRPxX
01-04-2008, 12:47 AM
I need help BIG TIME =( My usb ports are always on even tough i have not even powered up my system. I just on the electricity den the mouse light came on.

Even the casing usb was able to charge my creative mp3 player. I feel that there is some problem. Can anyone tell me if this is normal?

** Only when i shut down my computer will the mouse off totally

shuttlex
01-04-2008, 01:43 PM
Hi guys! Got things to ask. Hope to get some help here.

Thinking of getting this Palit mobo plus E2180, but can i install Vista 64bit? :s11:

Please advice. TIA.

goenitz33
01-04-2008, 02:24 PM
why do need Vista 64BIT?

shuttlex
01-04-2008, 02:44 PM
why do need Vista 64BIT?

for more rams? :s11:

goenitz33
01-04-2008, 04:18 PM
this board maximum 4GB only its like a waste to use 64BIT on this :)

shuttlex
01-04-2008, 04:34 PM
this board maximum 4GB only its like a waste to use 64BIT on this :)

ok, thanks for the reply. will take note of it. sry if my ques sound too noob. :o

BoonShin
08-04-2008, 01:13 PM
anyone got problems trying to mount the Intel Stock CPU fan onto the N73PV mobo? It appears that after mounting the default fan, the board seems to warp a little due to the stress from the mounting clips.

I used the stock fan from my Intel E2180 CPU with box bundle.

ColinYip
08-04-2008, 01:31 PM
I need help BIG TIME =( My usb ports are always on even tough i have not even powered up my system. I just on the electricity den the mouse light came on.

Even the casing usb was able to charge my creative mp3 player. I feel that there is some problem. Can anyone tell me if this is normal?

** Only when i shut down my computer will the mouse off totally

No worries.

Here you go~ Please find the RD reply as follow:

Let me explain the situation as below.

USB power is from 2 sources (5V or 5V standby in PC power supply). If the customer use back panel USB ports, he only needs to switch the jumper (please check the attached photo) to VCC 5. Then, the USB mouse won't light after shut down.

However, when users plug USB mouse on the front panel USB ports, the situation will be changed. We connect 5V standby power to front USB ports directly since most people use front USB port for charging. It has no jumper to modify the 5V power. In this case, USB mouse will keep lighting even after shut down. The solution is to plug USB mouse on back panel and follow the above step.

http://img256.imageshack.us/img256/793/minausbquestionbb3.jpg

Kopi_si
08-04-2008, 04:06 PM
I bought this board last Sunday. There is a warranty card but with no shop chop. Do I need to send the warranty card for warranty or the receipt is just sufficient for the warranty?

Convergent_Tech
08-04-2008, 05:13 PM
I bought this board last Sunday. There is a warranty card but with no shop chop. Do I need to send the warranty card for warranty or the receipt is just sufficient for the warranty?
Just keep the warranty card and bring along during your warranty visit.

goenitz33
09-04-2008, 01:11 PM
i got 2 warranty cards from PCT :D

does that mean i got 2 x 3 years ? =X

XxRPxX
10-04-2008, 02:55 PM
Thanks Colin =D So means there is no way to change my mouse not to light up when i "on the power socket switch" & have nt on my comp power button?

** I use back panel for my mouse and it lights out only on shutdown but nt before start up

Up for this thread PALIT FTW

DeMoBLiTzer
14-04-2008, 06:24 PM
No worries.

Here you go~ Please find the RD reply as follow:

Let me explain the situation as below.

USB power is from 2 sources (5V or 5V standby in PC power supply). If the customer use back panel USB ports, he only needs to switch the jumper (please check the attached photo) to VCC 5. Then, the USB mouse won't light after shut down.

However, when users plug USB mouse on the front panel USB ports, the situation will be changed. We connect 5V standby power to front USB ports directly since most people use front USB port for charging. It has no jumper to modify the 5V power. In this case, USB mouse will keep lighting even after shut down. The solution is to plug USB mouse on back panel and follow the above step.

http://img256.imageshack.us/img256/793/minausbquestionbb3.jpg

Hey colin, I am comparing the above pic with the one I got of the 73pv below

http://img520.imageshack.us/img520/3317/palitn73pvbrd2rd8.jpg

The PCI-E slots are quite close to the PCI slots, contrary to the other pic you have there with the PCI mini connector.

I will be looking to install 2 PCI cards, so dual slot gfx card such as the 8800GT will be out of the question if it takes up 2 slots, Is the one in retail stores is most likely which one?

This is a good board, pity the ram have no dual channel mode...

M-Lights
16-04-2008, 09:23 AM
Thanks Colin =D So means there is no way to change my mouse not to light up when i "on the power socket switch" & have nt on my comp power button?

** I use back panel for my mouse and it lights out only on shutdown but nt before start up

Up for this thread PALIT FTW

How's yr sys running ? Tried OC ?

M-Lights
16-04-2008, 09:25 AM
How come got 2 diff layout design for the same model number ?

XxRPxX
19-04-2008, 01:39 AM
How's yr sys running ? Tried OC ?

My sys is running good. Haven try OC yet. Plan to get ICUTE casing wif CM Hyper TX2 cooler next week cos my comp abit hot (50 degree)

XxRPxX
20-04-2008, 09:05 PM
Latest updates from SLS.

Video Pro selling Palit N73PV CHEAP!!!!

Price after deduction of 2%

E2200 - $191.1
E2220 - $205.8

To Convergent Staff:

Jus to check with u...is there any SRP for Palit motherboards? It seems that every few weeks, the SLS vendors jus slash their prices as they wish.

MichaelTan
21-04-2008, 11:04 AM
Latest updates from SLS.

Video Pro selling Palit N73PV CHEAP!!!!

Price after deduction of 2%

E2200 - $191.1
E2220 - $205.8

To Convergent Staff:

Jus to check with u...is there any SRP for Palit motherboards? It seems that every few weeks, the SLS vendors jus slash their prices as they wish.
which product in SLS really can control price one?

xboxer
24-04-2008, 03:54 PM
Anyone tried OCing with this board? My Biostar GF7050 max out my E2180 at 2.6ghz nia. With this Palit can go higher?

bryanwumf
24-04-2008, 03:57 PM
the biostar can do higher fsb with bsel modding.. and has vcore to adjust..

the palit has bsel select mode but no vcore option..

xboxer
24-04-2008, 04:02 PM
the biostar can do higher fsb with bsel modding.. and has vcore to adjust..

the palit has bsel select mode but no vcore option..

Sorry, I until today still don't know what is BSEL modding. :s22: :D

bryanwumf
24-04-2008, 04:05 PM
http://www.techspot.com/gallery/data/501/DSCF0044.JPG

This is a BSEL 200--> 266 mod.. so the processor boots at 266x10 instead of 200x10..

works on most motherboards but not all.. helps in overclocking for some low end budget boards

eg. N73, 945GC based boards.

if you're wondering what that brown stuff is.. its copper paint

xboxer
24-04-2008, 06:39 PM

This is a BSEL 200--> 266 mod.. so the processor boots at 266x10 instead of 200x10..

works on most motherboards but not all.. helps in overclocking for some low end budget boards

I don't want to do that to my CPU...... :o:o

XxRPxX
26-04-2008, 11:26 AM
which product in SLS really can control price one?

I noe some MSI mobo got SRP. Everywhere u go also same price

emoGav
29-04-2008, 02:38 PM
max overclocking with e21xx series is how much for u guys? cant adjust cpu voltage huh?
supports 4gb?

ColinYip
29-04-2008, 03:32 PM
yes! 4gb is supported. Max 2gb each slot.

yauchong
30-04-2008, 12:18 AM
I noe some MSI mobo got SRP. Everywhere u go also same price
srp is just suggested retail price... can find lower wans... or maybe some black shops, higher.. :o

dexing0507
11-05-2008, 04:02 PM
how to overclock this board ? anyone ?

yauchong
11-05-2008, 04:36 PM
how to overclock this board ? anyone ?
read thru this thread... answers inside...

shuttlex
12-05-2008, 11:27 PM
anyone pair this board wif E4600/4700 CPU? :D

fatpiglet
21-05-2008, 06:21 PM
tempted to get this with Q6600.. only $417

LxIxVxE
22-05-2008, 07:24 AM
tempted to get this with Q6600.. only $417

can get @ $407 if u look harder~! :)
or maybe still got lower than that one~! :)

XxRPxX
23-05-2008, 11:00 AM
Hehehe...i got one wif $404. Get it from Bliss ... vid pro has the cheapest pricing palit mobo in SLS. But it does not have Q6600.

ColinYip
23-05-2008, 11:02 AM
Hehehe...i got one wif $404. Get it from Bliss ... vid pro has the cheapest pricing palit mobo in SLS. But it does not have Q6600.

wah bro..i really like your palit avatar.

xboxer
23-05-2008, 12:54 PM
This one can up the voltage by how much?

shuttlex
23-05-2008, 04:19 PM
Can the palit mobo up volt? :s11: Pls all users of palit mobo, pls advice.

XxRPxX
24-05-2008, 01:52 AM
wah bro..i really like your palit avatar.

:s34: Make me shy lols

shuttlex
24-05-2008, 04:57 PM
Can this mobo up the cpu volt & ram volt? Pls advice. TIA. :)

nannan82
20-07-2008, 01:40 AM
hmm... can palit set the post to having a palit logo ???? everytime i on the pc... see so many wording i also sian.. hahaha

XxRPxX
23-07-2008, 05:12 PM
For mine, i dun see mani words cos my monitor load slow. I see the XP loading screen when i switch on the comp :)

SnakeKing
24-07-2008, 02:27 AM
i would like to ask something regarding this mobo. does it support Wake-On-LAN? I can't seem to find it in the BIOS.

Theonestop
05-09-2008, 09:35 PM
Can this mobo up the cpu volt & ram volt? Pls advice. TIA. :)

can't up vcore . i'm stuck at 2.76ghz (e2140) because of that . :(

lwx100
08-09-2008, 09:39 PM
Just bought the Palit N73PV motherboard to replace my faulty old board. Use back my existing Pentium D 2.8Ghz processor. Installation went smoothly. Everything appears to run fine. However, I noticed the PC Health at the BIOS setup screen was showing temperature of 60C and CPU fan was at 3200rpm. To me this is way too high.

What could be the cause? What should I do?

Could it be the thermal paste between my processor and the heatsink? I actually had to removed my processor a few times while I was troubleshooting my old board.

Didn't think of re-applying it as there appears to be sufficient paste left.

I ran speedfan software to monitor the temperature. There are four temperatures indicated.
Temp1=63C. Temp2=52C. Temp3=21C Temp4=30C. Which is the correct temperature of the processor?

I touched the side of the heatsink and it didn't feel that hot at all. At most body temperature of 35~40C. Is the board indicating a false reading?

Theonestop
10-09-2008, 12:13 AM
Just bought the Palit N73PV motherboard to replace my faulty old board. Use back my existing Pentium D 2.8Ghz processor. Installation went smoothly. Everything appears to run fine. However, I noticed the PC Health at the BIOS setup screen was showing temperature of 60C and CPU fan was at 3200rpm. To me this is way too high.

What could be the cause? What should I do?

Could it be the thermal paste between my processor and the heatsink? I actually had to removed my processor a few times while I was troubleshooting my old board.

Didn't think of re-applying it as there appears to be sufficient paste left.

I ran speedfan software to monitor the temperature. There are four temperatures indicated.
Temp1=63C. Temp2=52C. Temp3=21C Temp4=30C. Which is the correct temperature of the processor?

I touched the side of the heatsink and it didn't feel that hot at all. At most body temperature of 35~40C. Is the board indicating a false reading?

Temp2=52C. ( ur cpu temp)

M-Lights
13-09-2008, 12:56 AM
Where can get Copper Paint ? More lasting than Conductive ink ? can remove by alcohol also ?

yiptw89
06-10-2008, 01:23 AM

I am unable to update the board to the latest BIOS, v1.03.
I followed the steps to update the BIOS on Palit website.
I have tried using the DOS method and Windows flashing utility.
It shows that it has been successfully flashed to the latest version, but after restart and loading the default values, the startup page does not reflect the latest BIOs version.

What should I do?

Thanks.

LxIxVxE
06-10-2008, 07:10 AM

It shows that it has been successfully flashed to the latest version, but after restart and loading the default values, the startup page does not reflect the latest BIOs version.

What should I do?

Thanks.

if not wrong, should be something like this~

AFUDOS A223V103.ROM /P /B /N /C

yiptw89
06-10-2008, 07:47 AM
if not wrong, should be something like this~

AFUDOS A223V103.ROM /P /B /N /C

I used this command in the DOS mode. But it's not working.

carfanz
23-11-2008, 09:38 PM
Hi all, I've recently purchased Palit N73PV and so far it's ok..but I keep having having BSOD. The shop changed the whole mobo and ram but still I'm encountering blue screen whenever i play dota. Anyone can give any advice? Thx in advance!

dragonqq
24-12-2008, 11:58 PM
Just to share my nightmare since day ONE after getting this Palit N73PV MB with the following set-up:

C2D E8200 2.66
WD 250 GB SATA II HD
KINGSTON DDR2 2GB RAM
VANTEC 450W truepower PS

1st Nightmare:
Unable to hook up to Philips 23" LCD Monitor on day ONE via DVI port, non-stop flickering image appeared when connected (even after reformat). But able to work with other monitor via DVI input. Bring down to SLS shop also cannot solve the problem. No choice connect to VGA port.

So thought monitor fault went down to Philips in Jul 08 but tested alright with DVI connection. Even change a brand new DVI cable also won't work, But this monitor worked fine with my other CPU via DVI connection.

2nd Nightmare:
< 1 mth, CPU suddenly restart non-stop, so reformat CPU again.

3rd Nightmare:
Randomly re-sart occurred, especially playing on line children game "Nostale" and "Getamped". Re-start occurred as frequently as > 5 times on avg of 8 hrs duration. At times occurred even during normal net surfing. Check game site shows that my sys spec is (10X) more than enough to handle these "kucing kurat" games.

4th Nightmare:
Logitech cordless KB not working properly via rear USB port, even change new battery. Submit KB to McLogic for testing in Aug 08 (since got 5 yrs wrty), after 2 weeks of trial, no fault was detected. Discovered that one of the rear USB simply don't work well with this cordless KB but other corded KB no problem at all.

Recently, thought PS problem went down to Ban Leong for testing however no fault was detected.

It seems that this mb is very sensitive and unstable. Can convergent advise or help???????
Now quite regret of getting this board. The above is my strange experience for the last 6 months. So think twice before getting this board.

Convergent_Tech
26-12-2008, 05:54 PM
Hi all, I've recently purchased Palit N73PV and so far it's ok..but I keep having having BSOD. The shop changed the whole mobo and ram but still I'm encountering blue screen whenever i play dota. Anyone can give any advice? Thx in advance!

Just to share my nightmare since day ONE after getting this Palit N73PV MB with the following set-up:

C2D E8200 2.66
WD 250 GB SATA II HD
KINGSTON DDR2 2GB RAM
VANTEC 450W truepower PS

1st Nightmare:
Unable to hook up to Philips 23" LCD Monitor on day ONE via DVI port, non-stop flickering image appeared when connected (even after reformat). But able to work with other monitor via DVI input. Bring down to SLS shop also cannot solve the problem. No choice connect to VGA port.

So thought monitor fault went down to Philips in Jul 08 but tested alright with DVI connection. Even change a brand new DVI cable also won't work, But this monitor worked fine with my other CPU via DVI connection.

2nd Nightmare:
< 1 mth, CPU suddenly restart non-stop, so reformat CPU again.

3rd Nightmare:
Randomly re-sart occurred, especially playing on line children game "Nostale" and "Getamped". Re-start occurred as frequently as > 5 times on avg of 8 hrs duration. At times occurred even during normal net surfing. Check game site shows that my sys spec is (10X) more than enough to handle these "kucing kurat" games.

4th Nightmare:
Logitech cordless KB not working properly via rear USB port, even change new battery. Submit KB to McLogic for testing in Aug 08 (since got 5 yrs wrty), after 2 weeks of trial, no fault was detected. Discovered that one of the rear USB simply don't work well with this cordless KB but other corded KB no problem at all.

Recently, thought PS problem went down to Ban Leong for testing however no fault was detected.

It seems that this mb is very sensitive and unstable. Can convergent advise or help???????
Now quite regret of getting this board. The above is my strange experience for the last 6 months. So think twice before getting this board.

Hmmm.. can both of you bring down the motherboard with rams for us to do testing? We try to find out what is the problem with the boards and maybe a bios flash will help?

peAce

Convergent_Tech
26-12-2008, 05:55 PM

What should I do?

Thanks.

Bring down the board with rams, we help u to flash the bios.

peAce

batuchka
26-12-2008, 06:56 PM
Hmm my experiences with this mobo good leh - almost all dudes i DIY for with this mobo no complain but not a OC mobo lah hehe In fact problem cases more likely OC wrongly..

botoguy
12-11-2009, 08:32 PM
may i know if this motherboard supports 4gb?
on the box, it says 2 GB DDR2-800mhz
pls advise.

polike
12-11-2009, 10:09 PM
Yes, it supports 4GB. Many years and pages ago on this very thread mentioned by Colin himself.