PDA

View Full Version : UOB SMART$ & UNI$

slayerccy
27-11-2007, 04:27 PM
Anyone knows what's the difference between UOB's SMART$ & UNI$ ???

I'm confused..

applefreak
27-11-2007, 11:13 PM
SMART$ is like cash rebate, SMART$1 is equivalent to S$1 and you can use it in your next purchase

UNI$ is just a nice name for points. accumulate certain points and you can redeem rewards in the form of products or vouchers.

Raider04
27-11-2007, 11:18 PM
SMART$ is like cash rebate, SMART$1 is equivalent to S$1 and you can use it in your next purchase

UNI$ is just a nice name for points. accumulate certain points and you can redeem rewards in the form of products or vouchers.
By the way, UOB is ending the Uni$ program in Feb 2008. :D

sumsum80
27-11-2007, 11:49 PM
for Smart$... only some participating shop allow u to gain the prividlege.... if next time no more UNI , mean if we buys thing from shop or online... we can earn any Smart $????

dexboi
28-11-2007, 12:20 AM
By the way, UOB is ending the Uni$ program in Feb 2008. :D

Please do not mislead people before making sure that Uni$ is ending.
It is in fact only e-Uni$ that is ending, that is the reward points for internet banking transactions. Link below:
http://www.uobgroup.com/pages/personal/eservices/pib/euni.html

I have a thousands of Uni$ under my credit card and even if they were to end it, there will be alternatives announced and grace period of at least 1 year for such a huge reward program.

Make yourself clear. Don't cause panic to the public. Thank you.

quekky
28-11-2007, 07:47 AM
ya loh, e-UNI$ ended, now I no more free UNI$ liao (200 e-UNI$ = 100 UNI$, i always pay bill/transfer $ to get all 200 e-UNI$)

pipika
28-11-2007, 09:41 AM
Haha... probably they see too many of us abusing the eUni$ (max the transfers to gain points) so they stop it... ya... sad that they end it.... I start maximising only recently coz didnt realise got such things earlier. Other banks no perks for ebanking:(

slayerccy
28-11-2007, 10:37 AM
oh...

so meaning only selected store offers SMART$.

while UNI$ can be earned from any purchase from the credit card, $1 spent = 1 UNI$ ??

Cash7888
28-11-2007, 10:51 AM
Every S$5 charged to the card = UNI$1

Raider04
28-11-2007, 12:31 PM
Please do not mislead people before making sure that Uni$ is ending.
It is in fact only e-Uni$ that is ending, that is the reward points for internet banking transactions. Link below:
http://www.uobgroup.com/pages/personal/eservices/pib/euni.html

I have a thousands of Uni$ under my credit card and even if they were to end it, there will be alternatives announced and grace period of at least 1 year for such a huge reward program.

Make yourself clear. Don't cause panic to the public. Thank you.
Thank you for making the clarification. :)

slayerccy
28-11-2007, 02:32 PM
Every S$5 charged to the card = UNI$1

okay.. noted.. thanks!

currently got UOB Platinum & UOB ONE... i always charge to Platinum... only use ONE for treats like cathay those...

waiting for ABN Switch also...

Don't know which one to use if got my ABN Switch, coz got 3X point for the first month after issue.

Any better cards good for points collection?

quekky
28-11-2007, 06:35 PM
for SMART$ it depends on merchant, some merchant 1%, some 5%

if you shop at SMART$ merchants, you don't get any UNI$ (stated on the bill these recent few months, uob used to give both)

jarvis
29-11-2007, 06:44 AM
okay.. noted.. thanks!

currently got UOB Platinum & UOB ONE... i always charge to Platinum... only use ONE for treats like cathay those...

waiting for ABN Switch also...

Don't know which one to use if got my ABN Switch, coz got 3X point for the first month after issue.

Any better cards good for points collection?

The ONE card is a rebate card - AFAIK it does not have UNI$ (i.e. u get the rebate instead of points which u then convert to vouchers)

thing about 3X points is that are u going to accumulate enough points from that first month spending to make a difference as to what you can redeem? If so then use that. If not then there's no use having, for e.g., 900 points when it takes 5000 points to redeem a $20 voucher.

slayerccy
29-11-2007, 08:48 AM
The ONE card is a rebate card - AFAIK it does not have UNI$ (i.e. u get the rebate instead of points which u then convert to vouchers)

thing about 3X points is that are u going to accumulate enough points from that first month spending to make a difference as to what you can redeem? If so then use that. If not then there's no use having, for e.g., 900 points when it takes 5000 points to redeem a $20 voucher.

ya... so my main card now will still be UOB Platinum, while others i will see what are the benefits of the card that ties with the merchant, cab, etc...

BTW, will the cab drivers kbkp when you pay by credit card instead of cash? Coz i know most of them prefer to have cash payment...

ironman4672
29-11-2007, 12:02 PM
ya... so my main card now will still be UOB Platinum, while others i will see what are the benefits of the card that ties with the merchant, cab, etc...

BTW, will the cab drivers kbkp when you pay by credit card instead of cash? Coz i know most of them prefer to have cash payment...
They can kbkp, but they have not entitled with the "right" to... unless u are taking the yellow color cab, other blue cab all accept cash, nets and credit card.... they have no right to refuse to accept...

i once encountered a cab driver said cannot when i asked if i could pay via credit card... i was nearly want to say i want to lodge complaint to his company liao...

next time if i encountered the same type of cab driver, i will definitely revert back to him i will report to his company if the cab driver refuses to accept credit card...

but if u want to play safe, ask if he accepts credit card before u board the cab...

applefreak
29-11-2007, 09:48 PM

why don't spend your first $300 or $800 on the UOB one card?
the cash rebate is around 3% which is the best around town, considering it's on anything and everything
;)

jarvis
30-11-2007, 05:41 AM

reason being that they do not earn the extra charges - those go to the CC company and to the cab company.

Instead, they end up having to wait (sometimes for weeks) before they can receive the payment. Then if someone disputes the transaction...

So if everyone pay by CC, they get no cash-flow + they have to make payment for the rental / diesel in the interim.

That's why there's no incentive for them to accept CC payment. and for the amount of cab fare, it's not like it's such a big sum that people really need to pay by CC.

slayerccy
30-11-2007, 09:36 AM
why don't spend your first $300 or $800 on the UOB one card?
the cash rebate is around 3% which is the best around town, considering it's on anything and everything
;)

But can the rebate can only be used in selected merchant right with SMART$ sign? Need to monitor the spending on ONE card leh... my period is going to pass... is from Nov - Jan.. Nov i didn't spent on ONE card..

As for the Platinum i can collect the UNI$ can look back to what I can redeem mah... so many choices to redeem..

this is what i think la..

Yah, sometimes i pity the cab driver also... like earn so little..

phelyk
30-11-2007, 08:46 PM
reason being that they do not earn the extra charges - those go to the CC company and to the cab company.

Instead, they end up having to wait (sometimes for weeks) before they can receive the payment. Then if someone disputes the transaction...

So if everyone pay by CC, they get no cash-flow + they have to make payment for the rental / diesel in the interim.

That's why there's no incentive for them to accept CC payment. and for the amount of cab fare, it's not like it's such a big sum that people really need to pay by CC.

For Comfort Taxis its 48hrs and directly deposited into the cabdriver accounts, not too sure about other smaller cab companies. But the additional 30cents for Nets and 17% for credit cards confirm go to the cab companies for administrative charges, not to the cabbie. 48hours might not mean much to some, but some really have tight finances, so they frown on card payment...

applefreak
30-11-2007, 09:34 PM
But can the rebate can only be used in selected merchant right with SMART$ sign? Need to monitor the spending on ONE card leh... my period is going to pass... is from Nov - Jan.. Nov i didn't spent on ONE card..

no it's cash rebate, it will be credited into your card account
just got my first prorated cash rebate
it just offset my credit card bill :D

slayerccy
03-12-2007, 11:03 AM
no it's cash rebate, it will be credited into your card account
just got my first prorated cash rebate
it just offset my credit card bill :D

i see... cash rebate... dont quite like the cash rebate idea le... prefer to redeem something else.. =p

haiz... how how

applefreak
03-12-2007, 10:54 PM
use the cash rebate and buy the something?
for the same amt spent, think can get something sooner :)

Isomatrix
04-12-2007, 08:45 AM
If i spent less than 300 a month, what do i get? I believe i dun have case rebates right? Wat about UNI$, still earning?

applefreak
04-12-2007, 11:11 PM
hmm don't think you'll get any UNI$
this part i'm not very sure coz only interested in the cash rebate :p

hangyong
24-12-2007, 08:52 AM
sorry to bring this up again.... so SMART$ can be used to offset the credit card bill???

slayerccy
24-12-2007, 01:13 PM
sorry to bring this up again.... so SMART$ can be used to offset the credit card bill???

correct me if i'm wrong... only for on the spot offset purchases right from selected merchants??

hangyong
24-12-2007, 01:38 PM
correct me if i'm wrong... only for on the spot offset purchases right from selected merchants??

if that is the case, where can I get the list of merchants?? UOB site only show a few only, no full list of 500+ merchants.

quekky
25-12-2007, 01:44 AM
i think it's all these (http://www.uobgroup.com/pages/promotions/privi_smartclub_outlets.html), maybe u can call uob to confirm

anyway it helps me reduce my singtel bill with singtel-uob card

hangyong
25-12-2007, 08:35 PM
i think it's all these (http://www.uobgroup.com/pages/promotions/privi_smartclub_outlets.html), maybe u can call uob to confirm

anyway it helps me reduce my singtel bill with singtel-uob card

how does it reduce the bill??? the rebate can be used to reduce the bill?

the thing is that ST-UOB card does not give SMART$ to many things, like GPRS, etc.

I am also a red rewards user and it gives me 1% off the total bill.

Seriously considering which is a better deal.

quekky
25-12-2007, 10:03 PM
for me every 2 months rebate $1 loh

still reduce mah =:p

my bill is below $50 so i only get 1%. but i recently signup for hp so now should be 1.5% smart$. smart$ can be used to rebate the singtel bill, round down to the dollar, the remainding cents keep for next time

hangyong
26-12-2007, 08:53 AM

my bill is below $50 so i only get 1%. but i recently signup for hp so now should be 1.5% smart$. smart$ can be used to rebate the singtel bill, round down to the dollar, the remainding cents keep for next time

oh, you mean you can rebate the SMART$ for Singtel bills?? if so, then its a much better deal than red rewards for sure, since I can get 2% every month... compared to the 1% from red rewards.

quekky
26-12-2007, 07:20 PM
oh, you mean you can rebate the SMART$ for Singtel bills?? if so, then its a much better deal than red rewards for sure, since I can get 2% every month... compared to the 1% from red rewards.
i guess so. I just read the red FAQ and it seems either u get the red rewards or pay bill by singtel-uob

on uob site (http://www.uobgroup.com/pages/personal/cards/credit/singtelvisa.html), "Earn up to 3% SMART$ rebates on your SingTel bill and more."

u should be getting 2.5% rebate (2% singtel, 0.5% total spending)

chm527
20-01-2008, 12:43 AM
i was wondering how to check the amount of SMART$ i have.
for UNI$, the balance comes with the monthly statement, but there's no indication of SMART$.
does anyone knows?

Isomatrix
20-01-2008, 09:15 AM

below $50 is not 1% la.... is 0.5%, above $100 then you will get 2% lor...

http://www.uobgroup.com/pages/personal/cards/credit/singtelvisa.html

quekky
20-01-2008, 03:04 PM
below $50 is not 1% la.... is 0.5%, above $100 then you will get 2% lor...

http://www.uobgroup.com/pages/personal/cards/credit/singtelvisa.html
0.5% on st bills + 0.5% on total card bill = 1%

(i only spend st bills on this card)

slayerccy
21-01-2008, 06:35 PM
i was wondering how to check the amount of SMART$ i have.
for UNI$, the balance comes with the monthly statement, but there's no indication of SMART$.
does anyone knows?

i'm interested to know also... only way i know is to buy something from the SMART$ participating merchant & pay using the CC, the CC printout will show... haha.. lame hoh..

Isomatrix
22-01-2008, 10:20 AM
0.5% on st bills + 0.5% on total card bill = 1%

(i only spend st bills on this card)

Oh? means that if ur ST bill is $50, u will get $0.25 rebate + another $0.25 rebate, total $0.50?

quekky
22-01-2008, 07:56 PM
$50 u get $0.50 (1%) + $0.25 (0.5%) = $0.75

but can't redeem coz u can only redeem the dollar value