View Full Version : StarHub MaxOnline has improved after complaining to IDA
suntzu
01-12-2007, 10:49 AM
Look, it is good that StarHub has seriously look into their performance issue after our numerous complaints to IDA.
Any performance issue for the other folks?
If Yes, please post your speedtest result.
Tested - Saturday 10:40am (MaxOnline Ultimate)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/207617276.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/207616640.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/207616853.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/207617057.png
ThyPig33
01-12-2007, 11:00 AM
now not peak hours no use one... later at night around 2100 you go try and see
dadeadman
01-12-2007, 11:50 AM
Thats some sucky ping
suntzu
01-12-2007, 12:21 PM
Sure, will post the night result as well as Sunday evening result.
now not peak hours no use one... later at night around 2100 you go try and see
liangtam
01-12-2007, 12:57 PM
Jump rah :o
To TenGinS or PacMan...
http://www.speedtest.net/result/207636158.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Or use nearby public institute flee connection oso good :D
cracker
01-12-2007, 01:40 PM
first time managed to watch clips from youtube w/o any stoppages on a saturday afternoon !!!
let's see tonight result.
yodajedi01
01-12-2007, 02:15 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/207645001.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/207645373.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
That the result so far.
But I did a few more Speedtest to Canada Prince Rupert
Damn Lag
http://www.speedtest.net/result/207646799.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
slack
01-12-2007, 02:32 PM
lol. i think i beta stick to snbb but their recontract offer not good...i want to upgrade to 6 mbps but they offering Wii...not xbox 360 or ps3..haiz
suntzu
01-12-2007, 02:44 PM
May I ask, what plan are you on?
If there is still problem. I will write to StarHub CEO Mr Terry at terry_clontz@starhub.com
MaxOnline Ultimate - Saturday 2:40pm
http://www.speedtest.net/result/207650542.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/207645001.png (http://www.speedtest.net/)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/207645373.png (http://www.speedtest.net/)
That the result so far.
But I did a few more Speedtest to Canada Prince Rupert
Damn Lag
http://www.speedtest.net/result/207646799.png (http://www.speedtest.net/)
yodajedi01
01-12-2007, 03:02 PM
May I ask, what plan are you on?
If there is still problem. I will write to StarHub CEO Mr Terry at terry_clontz@starhub.com
MaxOnline Ultimate - Sunday 2:40pm
http://www.speedtest.net/result/207650542.png
MOL 6mb
Damn Need 10char
watzup_ken
01-12-2007, 03:53 PM
One word to describe MOL at the moment, SLOW. The speed is fine at the moment cause its the afternoon. Night time is the worst. Everywhere lags... I think I am switching to Singnet this month.
suntzu
01-12-2007, 03:55 PM
I stay near Central.
How about you?
MOL 6mb
Damn Need 10char
watzup_ken
01-12-2007, 04:01 PM
lol. i think i beta stick to snbb but their recontract offer not good...i want to upgrade to 6 mbps but they offering Wii...not xbox 360 or ps3..haiz
Personally, I rather go for a better ISP than think of the gifting first. No point thinking of the gift when you suffer big time when using the core service. Think again pal.
yodajedi01
01-12-2007, 04:23 PM
I stay near Central.
How about you?
Hougang Area
wad3v3r
01-12-2007, 04:48 PM
serangoon north area
http://www.speedtest.net/result/207669807.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
yodajedi01
01-12-2007, 05:24 PM
test again
http://www.speedtest.net/result/207676422.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/207676619.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
suntzu
01-12-2007, 07:30 PM
Apparently, Hougang area are so much more congested then my area.
Or could it be that Starhub deliberately QoS certain areas so that some area look better than others?
Tested at 7:38pm - Saturday.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/207703828.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/207703047.png
test again
http://www.speedtest.net/result/207676422.png (http://www.speedtest.net/)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/207676619.png (http://www.speedtest.net/)
NoStar
01-12-2007, 07:46 PM
The IDA is the one that should act instead of just put up the datas they tested on diff. ISPs, not just to "help consumer make an informed choice". In S'pore, how many choices do we have ?
Imagine if u still have contract with them, what is your choice ?
IDA should set a "min speed" and not just "max possible speed" !!!
http://forums.hardwarezone.com/images/icons/icon8.gif
deskoh91
01-12-2007, 07:52 PM
starhub simply added more sites on the speedtest.net sites to their QoS. it should become rather obvious when you just try surfing the net at night. dont bother.
naxchua
01-12-2007, 08:36 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/207717497.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/207718876.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
mine... located in hougang... MOL Ultimate... :(
FinalTidus
01-12-2007, 08:52 PM
How come I am using MOL 6k and my ping is 800+??? Using speedtest to UK London... :s31: :s16:
Shun99
01-12-2007, 09:28 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/207730437.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
MOL 12000
I was very surprised this morning i could stream video very smoothly. happy man. hope its not just for the sitex period =X
http://www.speedtest.net/result/207727893.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/207729832.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/207728200.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
during actual test, D/L was most of the time less than 100kbps until the last part suddenly burst. similarly for u/l most of the time below 200kbps
the funny thing when i tried testing to New York is, i get 8ms ping then 1ms the 2nd time. but both times can't complete the test coz waiting forever, yet the latency is as if LAN speed... lol... wonder what starhub folks are doing =)
maybe its sitex lah. selective maybe but i dont really care as long as they maintain this type of performance even after sitex and good conn to the locations i surf. i mean we seldom surf german websites rite? :p
cracker
01-12-2007, 10:32 PM
at jurong west, time = 2230, using MOL 6000 and wireless.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/207746806.png
but New York & London are pathetic
http://www.speedtest.net/result/207748293.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/207749045.png
tkboy85
01-12-2007, 10:52 PM
I think speedtest.net *may* be selectively "enhanced" by ISPs, now that many pple are using it to prove slow downloads.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/207752286.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
compare to this
http://www.speedtest.net/result/207752890.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
I don't believe an overseas link can be almost as fast as a local one...
(Disclaimer: IMO only =:p )
KOPS1974
01-12-2007, 10:55 PM
Compared to morning surfing speed... still lag ley.....
Dun think anything was fixed..
:s27:
miltongoh
01-12-2007, 11:33 PM
But my speed isn't improving. Sigh! Even surfing here at peak hour is so much different from the past.
t3zuka
01-12-2007, 11:57 PM
no improvements..
ET240
02-12-2007, 04:04 AM
WTH.... Jurong West Starhub express =X
http://www.speedtest.net/result/207846226.png
cracker
02-12-2007, 08:46 AM
WTH.... Jurong West Starhub express =X
http://www.speedtest.net/result/207846226.png
Jurong West..just checked at 0845,,using MOL Express
http://www.speedtest.net/result/207913602.png
mikeeeey
02-12-2007, 09:36 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/207922084.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
MOL Premium @ hougang
the ping scares me..
suntzu
02-12-2007, 10:59 AM
After gathering all the speedtest.net results.
It's seem that StarHub performance has indeed improved at least for certain parts of Singapore.
Let's give StarHub few more weeks to see what is the outcome of their islandwide equipment upgrade.
ideatalk
03-12-2007, 02:51 PM
i m presently experiencing slow speed, at jurong west. r yor speed ok?
optimus_prime888
03-12-2007, 03:26 PM
Toa Payoh.. ok for now
suntzu
03-12-2007, 09:47 PM
My speed looks stable too. - 9:40pm.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/208334656.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/208335039.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/208335337.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/208335827.png
Toa Payoh.. ok for now
yodajedi01
03-12-2007, 11:10 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/208357819.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/208358348.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/208358885.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
rinni
03-12-2007, 11:42 PM
speed is ok, BT is NOT!
miltongoh
04-12-2007, 07:56 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/208535859.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
The upload speed is really pathetic. Download speed is reasonable lah, if download is always like this then not much complain but the upload speed really buay tahan man....
singaporeboy
04-12-2007, 04:55 PM
someone create an online petition!!!
miltongoh
04-12-2007, 05:22 PM
someone create an online petition!!!
Where? Haha!
NeedHELP
04-12-2007, 05:56 PM
No way are they improving ... at least for CCK area. Accessing HWZ or VR Zone is slow throughout the day and errors during the night. Don't nid to tok about other sites ... I was trying to read an article on TomsHardware last nite and it took me 30mins with multiple refresh and I got to only pg. 3??! I resorted to surfing using MaxMobile and what a difference! Finished the whole thing (12 pages) in less than 10mins. Feeling frustrated, I went to my neighbour house, continue surfing on his SNBB and downloaded some files :s27:
Fat green pipe? More like a clogged artery ... !
miltongoh
04-12-2007, 06:02 PM
Gosh, the upload speed to a local server filled with bandwidth is only about 150Kb/s. Dot dot dot dot dot dot dot. Somemore also on the Green network. Haha!
suntzu
04-12-2007, 06:38 PM
Is Starhub really that bad?
Did you guys did any speedtest.net?
If you do, please post your readings so that we can all reference.
Thanks.
No way are they improving ... at least for CCK area. Accessing HWZ or VR Zone is slow throughout the day and errors during the night. Don't nid to tok about other sites ... I was trying to read an article on TomsHardware last nite and it took me 30mins with multiple refresh and I got to only pg. 3??! I resorted to surfing using MaxMobile and what a difference! Finished the whole thing (12 pages) in less than 10mins. Feeling frustrated, I went to my neighbour house, continue surfing on his SNBB and downloaded some files :s27:
Fat green pipe? More like a clogged artery ... !
miltongoh
04-12-2007, 06:43 PM
4th December 2007 @ 6.40PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/208651764.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/208652079.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/208652321.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Now seems so much better than before. We shall see if in the middle of the night (SGT), the speed is relatively fair anot.
cracker
04-12-2007, 07:33 PM
Location = Jurong West (opp NTU)
date/time = 041207/1930
MOL express via wireless.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/208661902.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/208662450.png
miltongoh
04-12-2007, 11:14 PM
4th December 2007 @ 11.09PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/208715082.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/208715430.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Speed seems good, but surfing HWZ is slow. So is problem lying on hub hub side?
Guyver02
04-12-2007, 11:21 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/208718754.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
MOL Premium...
Me at Bukit Panjang...using MOL Premium...
Freaking slow now...can't even post this reply properly...:s27:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/208723373.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/208722691.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/208724293.png
miltongoh
05-12-2007, 12:07 AM
Me at Bukit Panjang...using MOL Premium...
Freaking slow now...can't even post this reply properly...:s27:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/208723373.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/208722691.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/208724293.png
The speed seems good from the speedtest results. Seems fair mah.
cptc12
05-12-2007, 12:09 AM
using ultimate plan
location bt batok
http://www.speedtest.net/result/208733027.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
miltongoh
05-12-2007, 12:21 AM
lol, paying for ultimate plan but e performance we get is wrost de those normal plan.
some more got cheated by em saying if u nver get e 6100 moderm ur sped will be veri speed
Lol! Quite true! Haha! Mine is MOL Premium.
Sp1der
05-12-2007, 12:22 AM
should IDA at least impose a rule that our bandwidth must not be lower than x% of the plan we subscribe to?
at least i feel this will better justify what we are actually paying for.
compare to older days when 256k broadband can surfnet at lighting speed.
miltongoh
05-12-2007, 12:24 AM
should IDA at least impose a rule that our bandwidth must not be lower than x% of the plan we subscribe to?
at least i feel this will better justify what we are actually paying for.
compare to older days when 256k broadband can surfnet at lighting speed.
I agree, maybe upload speed should always be consistent at maybe at least 128Kb/s and download speed should be at least a quarter out of the advertised speed, then it would seems logical.
tidus792
05-12-2007, 12:29 AM
I gave up waiting to load this page before 12AM.
miltongoh
05-12-2007, 12:31 AM
I gave up waiting to load this page before 12AM.
It seems to load smoothly now. Before 12am, I think HWZ server also abit high peak cos I received the msg that the system load is high.
NeedHELP
05-12-2007, 12:47 AM
I am uploading this using MAXMOBILE cos my MAXONLINE is not working ..... :eek: Tried so many many times but jux can't connect to speedtest ... sianz. Maxmobile is working though .. :s22:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/208741858.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/208734501.png
Is Starhub really that bad?
Did you guys did any speedtest.net?
If you do, please post your readings so that we can all reference.
Thanks.
glacieraze
05-12-2007, 12:52 AM
hwz a lot ppl surfing of course slow :s16:
wherehouse
05-12-2007, 01:33 AM
Oh it's off peak time now.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/208761438.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Will downgrade to surflite and test lol
Volexr
05-12-2007, 03:07 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/208794970.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
win_man
05-12-2007, 08:02 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/208893214.png
MOL 6000 Pasir Ris :s22: also considering surflite liao...
suntzu
05-12-2007, 09:11 AM
Well said that IDA should impose min speed at least.
For your reference:
http://www.ida.gov.sg/Policies%20and%20Regulation/20060424165216.aspx
What should I do if I do not receive an acceptable level of service from my service provider? (javascript:handleParent(2))
If you are dissatisfied with the level of service provided by a particular service provider, you should raise the matter to the service provider concerned. IDA has established a set of minimum Quality of Service (QoS) (http://www.ida.gov.sg/Policies%20and%20Regulation/20060424141236.aspx) standards for telecommunication services for compliance by the relevant service providers. IDA will ensure compliance of service providers with the minimum standards set.
Look at what they have mandated in their outdated policy!!!
All this are useless QoS.
http://www.ida.gov.sg/images/content/Policies%20and%20Regulation/Policies_and_Regulation_Level3/20070921160402/NetworkAvailability.GIF
http://www.ida.gov.sg/images/content/Policies%20and%20Regulation/Policies_and_Regulation_Level3/20070921160402/LocalNetworkLatency.GIF
http://www.ida.gov.sg/images/content/Policies%20and%20Regulation/Policies_and_Regulation_Level3/20070921160402/InternationalNetwork%20Latency.GIF
http://www.ida.gov.sg/images/content/Policies%20and%20Regulation/Policies_and_Regulation_Level3/20070921160402/Complaints.GIF
carey
05-12-2007, 10:02 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/208535859.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
The upload speed is really pathetic. Download speed is reasonable lah, if download is always like this then not much complain but the upload speed really buay tahan man....
Wah, your ping is terrible...
They sure live up to their name, StarLAG
The speed seems good from the speedtest results. Seems fair mah.
If you are paying more than $70 a month and are satisfied with this kind of result...
I have nothing to say...
miltongoh
05-12-2007, 10:32 AM
If you are paying more than $70 a month and are satisfied with this kind of result...
I have nothing to say...
To be realistic, the download speed I get is around 11Mbps in Singapore, they promised up to 12Mbps and I am not getting like pathetic 1-2Mbps issues, I think the download speed have improved alot over the past weeks as for the upload I am still not quite please about but I hope they would resolved this issue a.s.a.p.
suntzu
05-12-2007, 10:59 AM
Ya, download speed from US using Single TCP is around 1mbps.
Look at the test result published by IDA. We're getting decent speed of 1.5mbps at 10am.
Check it out at
LINK (http://www.ida.gov.sg/Publications/20061213184450.aspx)
http://www.ida.gov.sg/images/content/Publications/Publications_Level3/rbs/hpSinglethruputStarhubUS12000.png
To be realistic, the download speed I get is around 11Mbps in Singapore, they promised up to 12Mbps and I am not getting like pathetic 1-2Mbps issues, I think the download speed have improved alot over the past weeks as for the upload I am still not quite please about but I hope they would resolved this issue a.s.a.p.
miltongoh
05-12-2007, 11:13 AM
There are far too much factors to consider, by proving they have already fulfill the promise of providing substantial amount of bandwidth regardless local or overseas then it is logical they have fulfilled what they advertised. There might be some T&C with IDA that there must be some substantial minimum amount of throughput to the overseas connectivity, but that is definitely not within the full rights of hub hub.
Well, if the local speed is also really jialat, then is really nothing to say loh. Haha!
Ya, download speed from US using Single TCP is around 1mbps.
Look at the test result published by IDA. We're getting decent speed of 1.5mbps at 10am.
Check it out at
LINK (http://www.ida.gov.sg/Publications/20061213184450.aspx)
http://www.ida.gov.sg/images/content/Publications/Publications_Level3/rbs/hpSinglethruputStarhubUS12000.png
Throughout this thread...
I highly suspect you are SH representitive...lol...
What we complain is surfing speed at night is totally unbearable...
There are far too much factors to consider, by proving they have already fulfill the promise of providing substantial amount of bandwidth regardless local or overseas then it is logical they have fulfilled what they advertised. There might be some T&C with IDA that there must be some substantial minimum amount of throughput to the overseas connectivity, but that is definitely not within the full rights of hub hub.
Well, if the local speed is also really jialat, then is really nothing to say loh. Haha!
I think next time their ads have to state that only certain website in SG will get up to 12Mbps...
Overseas site at most 500Kbps download speed...lol...
suntzu
05-12-2007, 11:22 AM
:s12: ................................
Throughout this thread...
I highly suspect you are SH representitive...lol...
What we complain is surfing speed at night is totally unberable...
miltongoh
05-12-2007, 11:24 AM
I think next time their ads have to state that only certain website in SG will get up to 12Mbps...
Overseas site at most 500Kbps download speed...lol...
Haha! Marketing strategy won't work this way de. Haha! That's why the words "up to" is in placed. Haha!
Or maybe they have to state that "Our broadband plan is only suitable to those who only surf net in daytime and totally not using internet at night"...
Hahaha...
miltongoh
05-12-2007, 11:39 AM
Or maybe they have to state that "Our broadband plan is only suitable to those who only surf net in daytime and totally not using internet at night"...
Hahaha...
I think the number of people(s) using the connection concurrently also affecting the bandwidth mah. The number of users in the daytime is low while night is sky high.
It is logical to get more bandwidth to sustain the night time but all revolve around budget budget budget. Haha!
suntzu
05-12-2007, 11:47 AM
If we look at SingNet 10mbps, SingNet does not have the Peak Hour issue.
If you search through the forum, there isn't many complaints around about SingNet.
The number of StarHub complaints were astronomical.
There are countless complains that StarHub is slow, is lag, can't do this can't do that. Port Blocking! - P2P slow, etc.
Look at SingNet!!!! They are OK.
http://www.ida.gov.sg/images/content/Publications/Publications_Level3/rbs/hpSinglethruputSingnetUS10000.pngI think the number of people(s) using the connection concurrently also affecting the bandwidth mah. The number of users in the daytime is low while night is sky high.
It is logical to get more bandwidth to sustain the night time but all revolve around budget budget budget. Haha!
I think the number of people(s) using the connection concurrently also affecting the bandwidth mah. The number of users in the daytime is low while night is sky high.
This tells us that SH increases their user base exponientially these few weeks by giving out lots of freebies...
But they still maintain the same backbone infrastructure...
So the fat green pipe now becomes green clogged pipe at night...
NeedHELP
05-12-2007, 12:09 PM
What I am pissed off with is the attitude of SH when it comes to complaint ... "everything is ok on my side ... backend is fine .. blah .. blah .. blah"
Why don't YOU come to my house and try surfing at ANYTIME of the day and see for yourself ... I woke up this morning and tried to chck my pacnet mail. 34 new messages and it stopped downloading at no. 15 ... clicked Send/Receive 3 times to finish the routine. Next, I tried slashdot and it couldn't load the main page. HWZ took forever with 'Done but with errors' .... BUT accessing speedtest was fast!! Clocked in at over 7000 kb/s .... this is pure bullsh*t. SH probably dedicate more bandwidth 'there' to make themselve look good.
Graphs and stuffs don't mean much to me ... There are no such issues surfing on a slower service (like on my office's 512K now), you do expect more from a fat pipe!
suntzu
05-12-2007, 12:12 PM
The same goes for SingNet too.
StarHub strategy is to use the bare minimum resources to earn big money - this is what the industrial call "The Short-Changing tactics".
This will only happen in places where there is monopoly and consumer has no other choices.
This tells us that SH increases their user base exponientially these few weeks by giving out lots of freebies...
But they still maintain the same backbone infrastructure...
So the fat green pipe now becomes green clogged pipe at night...
yodajedi01
05-12-2007, 12:34 PM
4th December 2007 @ 6.40PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/208652321.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Now seems so much better than before. We shall see if in the middle of the night (SGT), the speed is relatively fair anot.
WTF, 4mb Downspeed for oversea ........
can someone explain this to me (or us)
suntzu
05-12-2007, 09:04 PM
Hi Mr Yoda, please post your speedtest result for reference.
Thanks.
miltongoh
05-12-2007, 10:42 PM
What do you want me to explain? Explain why I get 4Mbps? Haha!
mikeeeey
05-12-2007, 10:49 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/209061790.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/209062942.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
MOL Premium @ Hougang
miltongoh
05-12-2007, 11:05 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/209066014.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/209066260.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Wow...tonight is the first time for over a month that I can watch youtube video without hiccup...
Almost cry liao...lol...
http://www.speedtest.net/result/209086248.png
miltongoh
06-12-2007, 12:18 AM
Wow...tonight is the first time for over a month that I can watch youtube video without hiccup...
Almost cry liao...lol...
http://www.speedtest.net/result/209086248.png
Too touched liao right? Haha!
Spock
06-12-2007, 12:19 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/209087629.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/209088512.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
MaxOnline Premium
BurgerLim
06-12-2007, 12:32 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/209091956.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
MOL EXPRESS, NORTH..
sweet_vanilla
06-12-2007, 10:05 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/209265236.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
MOL Express too, West Side.
Erm, need to ask something. Why is it that only in the morning, the speed is actually faster than noon? I did complain to SH about the slow speed. They did say they will call me back but nothing came back from that. I have a friend, using the same plan but her speed is like so much faster than mine. Anyone can help out?
Too touched liao right? Haha!
Ya man...almost used up one box of tissue...
Haha...
nonamesg
06-12-2007, 03:53 PM
CCK area. MOL Express.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/209321305.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
BurgerLim
06-12-2007, 04:22 PM
wah.. good speed ? think only during off peak.. :(
suntzu
06-12-2007, 06:34 PM
I would jolly think that our relentless effort in pursuing to help the StarHub MaxOnline community to improve their Internet performance has bear fruits.
It's seems to me that StarHub has upgraded their network in certain part of Singapore to ease congestion.
Anyway, I would urge you to post your location as well such that others can reference.
It would be good if we can collectively inform StarHub CEO Mr Terry Clontz terry_clontz@starhu.com that we are experiencing slowness on their MaxOnline.
He is a niceguy and of course willing to help. Cheers to Mr Terry.
Pls post more data OR send more email.
Thanks for all your active partication.
wah.. good speed ? think only during off peak.. :(
ideatalk
06-12-2007, 07:12 PM
mine premium plan still very slow this few days
miltongoh
06-12-2007, 08:01 PM
mine premium plan still very slow this few days
how slow? Do a speed test now. :D
nonamesg
06-12-2007, 08:57 PM
2nd test for the day, MOL Express
http://www.speedtest.net/result/209377333.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Now I have a problem is whether to jump to MIO $69.xx versus this MOL uncontract rate of $59.xx
Additional test to different destination.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/209378642.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/209378872.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
miltongoh
06-12-2007, 09:05 PM
6th December 2007 @ 9.03PM
MOL Premium
http://www.speedtest.net/result/209379159.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/209379408.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/209379691.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
lotus108
06-12-2007, 09:26 PM
The "BIG" green pipe kena choked? :mad:
miltongoh
06-12-2007, 09:29 PM
Choked? Now also choked? If my local upload less than 100Kbps then should be choked till quite bad. Haha!
suntzu
06-12-2007, 09:47 PM
The result looks ok.
In fact, unconvincely fast.
Choked? Now also choked? If my local upload less than 100Kbps then should be choked till quite bad. Haha!
suntzu
06-12-2007, 10:18 PM
It is quite obvious that StarHub Senior Management is monitoring this thread and send their Engineer to QoS all the speedtest.net sites.
I have tried another independence speedtester and Guess what?
I am getting 220kbps at 10:05pm.
You can test it out at,
http://speedtest.purdigital.net/ (http://speedtest.purdigital.net/)
liangtam
06-12-2007, 10:39 PM
It is quite obvious that StarHub Senior Management is monitoring this thread and send their Engineer to QoS all the speedtest.net sites.
You can test it out at,
Too early to rejoice yet :o
I knew it, act of QoS :s22:
Jump rah :D
liangtam
06-12-2007, 11:20 PM
You might be more happy with...
iIguUda_EJg
:D
miltongoh
06-12-2007, 11:50 PM
Ho! just 29 minutes later after your posting, the video is no longer available.... dot dot dot. Haha!
liangtam
07-12-2007, 12:02 AM
Ho! just 29 minutes later after your posting, the video is no longer available.... dot dot dot. Haha!
Shld be accessible in awhile's time :o
miltongoh
07-12-2007, 12:07 AM
Shld be accessible in awhile's time :o
Lol! It is working! Nice one! Haha!
octacon
07-12-2007, 01:00 AM
You can test it out at,
Hope that what you said is really true , if those SH senior management is monitoring this threads, just want to tell them that their annual offer of a lousy laptop or a lousy desktop is a total turn off plus lousy bandwidth from the green choked pipe , now some of us are already preparing to terminate the maxonline liao, their tactic of "upgrade the numbers and not the bandwidth" will not make us happy.
GrimaH
07-12-2007, 09:56 AM
I realised that long ago.
nonamesg
07-12-2007, 12:17 PM
iIguUda_EJg
NICE 1 :s12: I have interruption running this clip with SH
JieJie
07-12-2007, 12:27 PM
Starhub Ultimate
http://www.speedtest.net/result/209636413.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
wth is this :s27::s27:
suntzu
07-12-2007, 08:16 PM
Well this is ridiculously slow.
Was wondering are you on wireless LAN while you execute this test?
Starhub Ultimate
miltongoh
07-12-2007, 09:30 PM
Starhub Ultimate
Wah, some more you do the speed test in the morning! My god! This speed is ridiculous, any Express can match your download.
wherehouse
08-12-2007, 12:13 AM
Starhub Ultimate
are you doing this on a 54G WIRELESS connection?
JieJie
08-12-2007, 10:09 AM
are you doing this on a 54G WIRELESS connection?
yes i'm on a WRT54G wireless..
does this explain for this ridiculous speed?
:s22::s22:
Guyver
08-12-2007, 10:14 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/209943625.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
miltongoh
08-12-2007, 10:14 AM
Try putting on LAN and try again.
suntzu
08-12-2007, 10:20 AM
I used to have WRT-54G too.
That router max throughput btw WAN and LAN is cap at 18Mbps.
This route limit your speed to a max of 18Mbps
Try putting on LAN and try again.
deskoh91
08-12-2007, 12:15 PM
Wah, some more you do the speed test in the morning! My god! This speed is ridiculous, any Express can match your download.
it is 4am GMT. about 12 noon GMT+8 (Singapore Time)
calvin_
08-12-2007, 02:04 PM
jyar... the speed is capped by your wireless throughput.
but anyway Starhub's local connectivity is very fast, should be close to 100mpbs if you are on lan.
it's the foreign speed that is painful.
pilotsnoopy
08-12-2007, 07:43 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210031193.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210032246.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210032548.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210032772.png
tot Ultimate is capped at 2mbps... -_-
pilotsnoopy
08-12-2007, 07:43 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210033246.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210033631.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210033818.png
KOPS1974
08-12-2007, 08:19 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210041233.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210041859.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
suntzu
08-12-2007, 08:37 PM
StarHub Engineering team posting their test results.
Another concrete proof to show that Speedtest.net has been hard QoS by StarHub.
pilotsnoopy
08-12-2007, 08:40 PM
StarHub Engineering team posting their test results.
Another concrete proof to show that Speedtest.net has been hard QoS by StarHub.
look at my previous posts...i signed up for ultimate tablet pc promotion last 2 weeks...don't assume...zzz
suntzu
08-12-2007, 09:03 PM
To show that you are senior engineer from Starhub.
Here's the proof.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210049711.png
look at my previous posts...i signed up for ultimate tablet pc promotion last 2 weeks...don't assume...zzz
pilotsnoopy
08-12-2007, 10:05 PM
Here's the proof.
Where is the proof? lol me engineer...funny you.
cracker
08-12-2007, 11:07 PM
Location = Jurong West
Time = 23 05
Plan = MOL Express via wireless
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210081017.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210081697.png
suntzu
08-12-2007, 11:10 PM
How you explain your upload speed at 22.158Mbps?
This type of upload speed is only possible if you are testing from the NOC.
Where is the proof? lol me engineer...funny you.
miltongoh
09-12-2007, 01:06 AM
Wow, this is incredible fast! Doubt any of the residential line can hit 22Mbps ba! Haha! Somemore for upload wor!
Sp1der
09-12-2007, 01:15 AM
my speed at
location = sengkang
plan = MOL Express
Connection = wireless 54mbps
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210119773.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210122684.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210123526.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210124109.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
suntzu
09-12-2007, 10:11 AM
Message to StarHub Engineer and Senior Management:
Kindly upgrade the StarHub MaxOnline Network at SengKang.
The performance there is way below mine.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210250949.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210251140.png
my speed at
location = sengkang
plan = MOL Express
Connection = wireless 54mbps
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210123526.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210124109.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
suntzu
09-12-2007, 10:24 AM
Anyway, we have to give credit to the poor StarHub engineer who has to work on Saturday and Sunday to upgrade the StarLag.
It's is indeed a good effort by all of you to post test results.
Hope that StarHub can use this tests result n Location to identify performance problem in their network.
Wow, this is incredible fast! Doubt any of the residential line can hit 22Mbps ba! Haha! Somemore for upload wor!
kwekey
09-12-2007, 10:26 AM
location = ponggol
plan = MOL Express
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210252571.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210253137.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210253318.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Adolez
09-12-2007, 10:46 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210255699.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
i'm on MOL Premium but getting lower than express speed.
sian.
TigerGoD
09-12-2007, 11:14 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210258497.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
i'm on SNBB 10Mbps but getting lower than express speed.
sian.
miltongoh
09-12-2007, 12:59 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210258497.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
i'm on SNBB 10Mbps but getting lower than express speed.
sian.
Lol! Then you want Starhub engineer to upgrade Singnet network ah? HAha!
Toturisc
09-12-2007, 02:12 PM
mol 6k
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210283156.png
Techno Pride
09-12-2007, 03:29 PM
Here's the proof.
why is the ISP different?
miltongoh
09-12-2007, 03:30 PM
why is the ISP different?
Cyberway belongs to Starhub, a subsidiary / child company that handle internet services long long long time ago before Starhub take it under it own wings.
Techno Pride
09-12-2007, 03:33 PM
Cyberway belongs to Starhub, a subsidiary / child company that handle internet services long long long time ago before Starhub take it under it own wings.
Yes, I know that.
But everyone else's ISP display name shows "Starhub cable vision". Unless that person has a different IP range from the rest of us, why doesn't his show "SH Cable vision"?
miltongoh
09-12-2007, 03:39 PM
Yes, I know that.
But everyone else's ISP display name shows "Starhub cable vision". Unless that person has a different IP range from the rest of us, why doesn't his show "SH Cable vision"?
There are many reasons behind it which we are out to guess...
1) He/she is not on the Maxonline as what we are using, thus resulting in this high speed.
2) He/she might in the data centre where Starhub servers are, which are using dedicated pipeline which is not under the maxonline pool.
3) He/she IP isn't classify under the pool assigned to Maxonline in the APNIC records.
botoguy
09-12-2007, 03:59 PM
Message to StarHub Engineer and Senior Management:
Kindly upgrade the StarHub MaxOnline Network at SengKang.
The performance there is way below mine.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210250949.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210251140.png
same here. currently having both singnet bb and starhub maxonline. starhub engineers, pls do something really good improvement to starhub area....
Techno Pride
09-12-2007, 04:02 PM
1) He/she is not on the Maxonline as what we are using, thus resulting in this high speed.
2) He/she might in the data centre where Starhub servers are, which are using dedicated pipeline which is not under the maxonline pool.
3) He/she IP isn't classify under the pool assigned to Maxonline in the APNIC records.
I saw the other thread. A person under Maxmobile didn't get the "SH Cable Vision" display name as well.
That doesn't explain how our rude engineer got 37Mbps upload though.
liangtam
09-12-2007, 04:15 PM
All along, maxmobile was on a different IP, since the beginning of introduction
suntzu
09-12-2007, 04:27 PM
This StarHub engineer is in fact working out to hard QoS all the speedtest.net server in such a way that their performance will look exceptional good.
However, it didn't work quite well for some part of Singapore.
pilotsnoopy
09-12-2007, 05:26 PM
Look suntzu, I don't work for StarHub as some engineer or whatever, I have 2 connections at home, 1 StarHub Ultimate with the SB6100 modem and SingNet 6mbps on a 3Com Modem/Router, both have exceptional performance, and if its working well, why would I go and complain, i am already taking a stupid risk here revealing it and there you are on your own assumptions irritating me. I might as well not share it and do not have to put up with your irritating accusations.
take your anti-starhub or anti-singnet stance out of the equation and stop assuming will you? I am a mechanical/process engineer in my own family's biz...yes and I am lucky and do have the resources to make conditions up to the last mile in my residence optimal for performance, and the rest is up to the isp.
it is just too bad and too hopeful if you think starhub/singnet engineers have the time to come into this website on weekends, if they don't already burn enough weekends? why don't you just go through the proper channels and present your findings and dispute with them? if you have such irrefutable proof, starhub/singnet would find it very difficult to be uncompromising.
give me a break, instead of some constructive discussion, all that bull**** about engineers coming in blah blah blah crops up...zzz
pilotsnoopy
09-12-2007, 05:28 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210308474.png
SingNet 5/6mbps
tad slower today but no complains.
miltongoh
09-12-2007, 06:23 PM
I saw the other thread. A person under Maxmobile didn't get the "SH Cable Vision" display name as well.
That doesn't explain how our rude engineer got 37Mbps upload though.
I will be interested to see how maxmobile now can pull 37Mbps of upload speed. Haha!
miltongoh
09-12-2007, 06:25 PM
This StarHub engineer is in fact working out to hard QoS all the speedtest.net server in such a way that their performance will look exceptional good.
Apart from telling us that the engineer is working hard on the QoS, is there any concrete evidence that the engineer were actually doing so other than speedtest? Haha!
My 2 cents.
mikeeeey
09-12-2007, 06:34 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210318844.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210319037.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210319201.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
suntzu
09-12-2007, 07:23 PM
There is no hard concrete evidence. Hard concrete evidence is only possible at Supreme Court.
If you had followed the forum closely, it is not difficult to detect the traces left behind by StarHub Staff.
Anyway, the strategy in getting the attention from StarHub senior management has bear fruits.
Anyway, I feel good that StarHub is fixing the performance issue for their 380k of cable subscribers.
Apart from telling us that the engineer is working hard on the QoS, is there any concrete evidence that the engineer were actually doing so other than speedtest? Haha!
My 2 cents.
miltongoh
09-12-2007, 07:25 PM
There is no hard concrete evidence. Hard concrete evidence is only possible at Supreme Court.
If you had followed the forum closely, it is not difficult to detect the traces left behind by StarHub Staff.
Anyway, the strategy in getting the attention from StarHub senior management has bear fruits.
Anyway, I feel good that StarHub is fixing the performance issue for their 380k of cable subscribers.
It is really quite subjective ba. it is still a kind of mystery to everyone that hub engineer is really monitoring but i can see some changes in the bandwidth shape to individual gradually.
pilotsnoopy
09-12-2007, 07:30 PM
How you explain your upload speed at 22.158Mbps?
This type of upload speed is only possible if you are testing from the NOC.
Anyway, we have to give credit to the poor StarHub engineer who has to work on Saturday and Sunday to upgrade the StarLag.
It's is indeed a good effort by all of you to post test results.
Hope that StarHub can use this tests result n Location to identify performance problem in their network.
balls to you...stop dreaming.
suntzu
09-12-2007, 08:01 PM
To tell u the true.
I heard this from the mouth of StarHub Senior Management.
He said that he is aware of what is happening here in Hardwarezone forum.
They are actively monitoring it.
It is really quite subjective ba. it is still a kind of mystery to everyone that hub engineer is really monitoring but i can see some changes in the bandwidth shape to individual gradually.
miltongoh
09-12-2007, 08:31 PM
To tell u the true.
Well, then i shall put a 50% trust in then. :D
suntzu
09-12-2007, 10:18 PM
Btw, do you think that SingNet folks are monitoring this threads as well?
They seems to me that they have no concern that their users are complaining.
Anyway, I do know that some of the anguished folk here have written emails to both IDA and CEO of StarHub.
Well, then i shall put a 50% trust in then. :D
Adolez
09-12-2007, 11:28 PM
hope they do something about it.
waiting until end of the month.
else i'm going to terminate.
contract already ended, in sept.
Sendoh82
09-12-2007, 11:47 PM
i seriously dont like the idea that people using ultimate plan having same upload and download speed on overseas speed test with express or premium plans. it is just not right.
ultimate supposed to be 8 times faster than premium and 15 times faster than express..:s16:
wherehouse
10-12-2007, 12:10 AM
To tell u the true.
To tell u the true oso... I am aware of what is happening here in Hardwarezone forum.
I are actively monitoring it.
And I are here to +1
:s16:
Sp1der
10-12-2007, 12:17 AM
we dont need anyone to monitor the thread
we need action to resolve the issue
wherehouse
10-12-2007, 12:24 AM
you are right on.
LemonT
10-12-2007, 12:28 AM
I believe all ISPs in sg are closely monitoring threads in this forum.
miltongoh
10-12-2007, 12:28 AM
To tell u the true oso... I am aware of what is happening here in Hardwarezone forum.
I are actively monitoring it.
And I are here to +1
:s16:
Nice one! Haha!
Raruku
10-12-2007, 12:35 AM
yah. now youtube and google video are back to unwatchable state(ie. take 1/2hr to load a 4min clip or never load at all). hmmm... aiyah, but we think should give starhub some credit. at least they did solve this months-old problem for 5days, although now the connection back to the same old crawling state. the only difference is that speedtest still report decent speed for starhub :s22:
Adolez
10-12-2007, 12:55 AM
the only difference is that speedtest still report decent speed for starhub :s22:
for me it's not the case.
i'm on premium but the speed shows even lower than express.
sadded.
Raruku
10-12-2007, 02:43 AM
Actually there is no point checking the speedtest. Despite showing decent (I don't mean good) speed for my connection, I can't even load videos from various websites. And normal web surfing is also slow. So obviously starhub has rigged the speedtest result.
Anyway the main issue is that MaxOnline is still damn fricking slow. If you want to game, go subscribe to other ISP. If you want to surf net or watch youtube, go subscribe to other ISP. If you want to download stuff, just go subscribe to other ISP. If you want to saboh someone, tell him/her to subscribe starhub maxonline.
miltongoh
10-12-2007, 08:27 AM
Actually there is no point checking the speedtest. Despite showing decent (I don't mean good) speed for my connection, I can't even load videos from various websites. And normal web surfing is also slow. So obviously starhub has rigged the speedtest result.
Anyway the main issue is that MaxOnline is still damn fricking slow. If you want to game, go subscribe to other ISP. If you want to surf net or watch youtube, go subscribe to other ISP. If you want to download stuff, just go subscribe to other ISP. If you want to saboh someone, tell him/her to subscribe starhub maxonline.
You mean load video from certain website, and please name the certain website.
Raruku
10-12-2007, 10:31 AM
You mean load video from certain website, and please name the certain website.
Couldn't load videos in gametrailers, youtube, google videos, some websites from gawker media.
But right now (monday 10:25am), they're fine. I guess not much ppl are sharing the green fat pipe right now.
Are you from starhub? If so pls resolve this bandwidth issue. thanks
jittery
10-12-2007, 11:30 AM
u dun want the Wii i can buy it from u.
pilotsnoopy
10-12-2007, 11:38 AM
To tell u the true.
I also heard from *** of StarHub Senior Management,
they don't give 2 hoots to people like you speculating badmouthing on assumptions.
pilotsnoopy
10-12-2007, 11:52 AM
Couldn't load videos in gametrailers, youtube, google videos, some websites from gawker media.
But right now (monday 10:25am), they're fine. I guess not much ppl are sharing the green fat pipe right now.
-_- please leh...
jyphay
10-12-2007, 01:03 PM
SH 12mbps damn slow... Veoh.com, youtube.com, Crunchyroll.com, very lagging.. SH told me to install video acc to improve the buffering which i find it so bull shxx. In that case wats the point of getting 12mbps bb service. Buffering rate slower den snbb 3.5mbps. Why!! Sigh... If singnet did not d/c so frequent, i wouldn't have subscribe SH 12mbps.
http://byfiles.storage.live.com/y1prPsiJKR_JTmf_81VZaYd4CpSWdNi3O1rQ4G_IvbHLn4vOjROBtFVymlTNJK24J7cO2Rgxw7Defc
http://byfiles.storage.live.com/y1prPsiJKR_JTmbArEVjw5x9Jzi9wFJzhhRs0lzGjclSQYQKW_PGg14QiEWeMljko7MaC5dKqubm6c
:s11::s27:
tormont
10-12-2007, 03:14 PM
Starhub internet speed has indeed becoming slower and slower.... I'm on starhub 12mb/s plan (premium) and at lots of times the internet speed is not tolerable.... Last thursday night, at around 9 near 10pm, my internet connection is down..... i tried restarting my com, use other computers, restarting my modem etc... but none works.
Moreover, i tried calling starhub and waited almost 12-15minutes, but no technicians responded due to overwhelming no. of calls... WAT THE?
Currently my contract with starhub has ended and I'm really thinking of switching to singnet... BTW starhub's isn't giving any gd offers nowadays.... i think singnet giving better deal though singnet's promotions are much like monthly installment..... I think getting a wii is quite a gd choice...... though i preferred Xbox360 or PS3... hahaha
Starhub pls buck up.... BIG FAT GREEN PIPE?
Sendoh82
10-12-2007, 03:34 PM
SH 12mbps damn slow... Veoh.com, youtube.com, Crunchyroll.com, very lagging.. SH told me to install video acc to improve the buffering which i find it so bull shxx. In that case wats the point of getting 12mbps bb service. Buffering rate slower den snbb 3.5mbps. Why!! Sigh... If singnet did not d/c so frequent, i wouldn't have subscribe SH 12mbps.
http://byfiles.storage.live.com/y1prPsiJKR_JTmf_81VZaYd4CpSWdNi3O1rQ4G_IvbHLn4vOjROBtFVymlTNJK24J7cO2Rgxw7Defc
http://byfiles.storage.live.com/y1prPsiJKR_JTmbArEVjw5x9Jzi9wFJzhhRs0lzGjclSQYQKW_PGg14QiEWeMljko7MaC5dKqubm6c
:s11::s27:
-_-" my ultimate same speed as u for overseas. simi lan sia. starfug
alex22
10-12-2007, 03:39 PM
Starhub internet speed has indeed becoming slower and slower.... I'm on starhub 12mb/s plan (premium) and at lots of times the internet speed is not tolerable.... Last thursday night, at around 9 near 10pm, my internet connection is down..... i tried restarting my com, use other computers, restarting my modem etc... but none works.
Moreover, i tried calling starhub and waited almost 12-15minutes, but no technicians responded due to overwhelming no. of calls... WAT THE?
Currently my contract with starhub has ended and I'm really thinking of switching to singnet... BTW starhub's isn't giving any gd offers nowadays.... i think singnet giving better deal though singnet's promotions are much like monthly installment..... I think getting a wii is quite a gd choice...... though i preferred Xbox360 or PS3... hahaha
So, they are not lying. they do own a big fat green pipe.
only that the pipe is actually connected to a pump operated tap like those in toilets...
LOL
alex22
10-12-2007, 03:40 PM
Ok noted.
10 characters
Sendoh82
10-12-2007, 03:43 PM
Look, it is good that StarHub has seriously look into their performance issue after our numerous complaints to IDA.
Any performance issue for the other folks?
If Yes, please post your speedtest result.
Tested - Saturday 10:40am (MaxOnline Ultimate)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/207617276.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/207616640.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/207616853.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/207617057.png
bro got sample complain letter? i also wan send..
nb ultimate plan same connection speed as express and premium. knn shortchanging us
BurgerLim
10-12-2007, 05:52 PM
wah.. so many complains.. i find starhub is discriminating royal cust. and i find its MOL not really fast in most of the case unless.. those "regular" sites..
so going by the thread name then has SH improved over its MOL? :D
suntzu
10-12-2007, 06:20 PM
Good, please send your crude complains to Starhub CEO
terry_clontz@starhub.com and timothy@starhub.com
I also heard from anus of StarHub Senior Management,
they don't give 2 hoots to people like you speculating badmouthing on assumptions.
suntzu
10-12-2007, 06:22 PM
Please let your voice be heard and send all your complain to StarHub top management.
terry_clontz@starhub.com
http://www.listedcompany.com/ir/starhub/images/management1.gif
suntzu
10-12-2007, 06:29 PM
Aiyo, just write anything. You can even scold the CEO upside down if you wanted to.
bro got sample complain letter? i also wan send..
nb ultimate plan same connection speed as express and premium. knn shortchanging us
miltongoh
10-12-2007, 07:36 PM
I think it is a good ethics not to ask anyone to send any cat/dog comments to other people email? :D
Sp1der
10-12-2007, 07:57 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210624813.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210625518.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210625898.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
i just want to say
CMI
lunik88
10-12-2007, 10:43 PM
haiz...imo i wouldnt trust speedtest to usa now lor...starhub prob QoSing the speedtest usa servers...i bet if try other ulu ulu server, knn the speed also drop like fug liddat...
cycadb
10-12-2007, 11:21 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210654610.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210672735.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210673877.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210674345.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
mol express....good? bad?
Adolez
10-12-2007, 11:26 PM
it's not too bad.
i'm on maxonline premium but getting around the same speed as you.
so damm frustrating.
miltongoh
10-12-2007, 11:32 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210676837.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210677580.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Ho! Is this consider good? But why I am getting sucky speed everywhere? Haha!
Adolez
10-12-2007, 11:37 PM
you're on maxonline premium?
miltongoh
10-12-2007, 11:43 PM
you're on maxonline premium?
Yes, MOL Premium.
kangzhengxing
10-12-2007, 11:53 PM
beginning to feel the slowness again...
been quite bad this december...
miltongoh
10-12-2007, 11:57 PM
Quite sad if the upcoming number of days of holiday where the speed is so bad! How can people stay at home and rest well?!?!?!?! Haha! Is really rest well without the internet le. HAha!
Adolez
11-12-2007, 12:04 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210686081.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
finally.
managed to 'solve' the problem.
Tool18
11-12-2007, 01:16 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210708156.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210710124.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210711365.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210711886.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
MOL Express
weibchen
11-12-2007, 03:46 AM
recently i'm having some sort of disconnect with my SH connection.
while connecting to hwz or vrz it doesn't show the page, and after 2 - 3 refresh
then it'll load.
but everything else is fine, MSN & BT..
really weird.
Sendoh82
11-12-2007, 04:28 AM
it's not too bad.
i'm on maxonline premium but getting around the same speed as you.
so damm frustrating.
lol i using ultimate also same.
do u feel better now?
nb si lang starfug
miltongoh
11-12-2007, 07:22 AM
MOL premium
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210839662.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210839971.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Gosh, why is my speed like the same throughout??? But only morning then I feel that surfing website is a joy. HAha!
suntzu
11-12-2007, 08:25 AM
Isn't this good or bad? :s11:
MOL premium
Gosh, why is my speed like the same throughout??? But only morning then I feel that surfing website is a joy. HAha!
pilotsnoopy
11-12-2007, 08:28 AM
SingNet SingNet...where is your purported upcoming ADSL technology that can go above 24mbps...
hopefully SingNet is planning a move like StarHub did on the MaxMobile...slower rollout but superior technology reliability...
pilotsnoopy
11-12-2007, 08:29 AM
MOL premium
if its Premium...supposed to be 384kbps upload...then should be good bah...errr..upload overseas faster than local...1 time fluke ar
cycadb
11-12-2007, 10:04 AM
looks like i might be dropping starhub soon.... no contract for long time liao.....
BurgerLim
11-12-2007, 10:40 AM
looks like i might be dropping starhub soon.... no contract for long time liao.....
really feeling the same,
1st they dun allow me to get the lcd tv, then bb is like very slow.. but now is the only time where they will show good offer (as usual) and looking by the way they promote offer this time trying to shift ppl from year end to early / mid of year by introducing 28 months / 30 months maybe this is to allow their tech more time to sort subscription / DB etc.
really worth looking if thing get better after new year but its now to sign up or loose out those better bundle toys :D
:just my 2 cents.
miltongoh
11-12-2007, 11:07 AM
if its Premium...supposed to be 384kbps upload...then should be good bah...errr..upload overseas faster than local...1 time fluke ar
Yah loh. quite weird hor. Haha!
Adolez
11-12-2007, 11:08 AM
i'm waiting for end of the month to see if things will improve.
else byebye to starhub.
miltongoh
11-12-2007, 11:10 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210888289.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Starhub corporate line? Haha?
lolipop
11-12-2007, 11:11 AM
else byebye to starhub.
if year end improve by 1 month... then after that it returns back to sucky condition.... hows that gonna affect your decision?... what if by then u already recontracted?...
carey
11-12-2007, 11:25 AM
SingNet SingNet...where is your purported upcoming ADSL technology that can go above 24mbps...
hopefully SingNet is planning a move like StarHub did on the MaxMobile...slower rollout but superior technology reliability...
Ya lor, even in Sydney my girlfriend was already using ADSL2+ which offers 24mbps at A$49.95 with a 30G monthly limit...no need to pay extra if exceeded, just that the speed will be throttled back to 8mps for the rest of the month...
Singapore is supposed to be more technologically advanced but yet we are still on ADSL...yawn man
cycadb
11-12-2007, 11:31 AM
i'm not really interested in those "bundles"........ it'll only be a bonus if i happen to need that service...
what i need now is reliability and consistency..... it seems like for cable BB, the downside is it's all shared.... the fat pipe bull are all marketing gimmicks...
2yrs ago when i just moved in to my block, it was fast even at 2mbps.... my airport scanning showed only a handful of wireless users...less than 5... now? it's around 20! and that's only wireless users visible to me....not including wired users.... incidently, my connection speed has slowed down over the 2yrs period..... and now it's getting worst especially when everyone starts using from 9pm till late all days.....
i guess this type of speed inconsistency, or congestion if u like, is putting me off big time...
to be honest, i like SH services.... i switched from SN to SH 4yrs ago.... becos SN customer service sucks! SH has never given me big headaches on their services but the slowing of their BB speed is disappointing.... maybe it's natural...becos of the technology they adopted.... SHARED in HDB blocks.... too bad...that might not work for the future as far as i can see it....as more ppl are hopping in the congested pipe...
i'm reluctant to go SN becos of bad experiences BUT are there any other better alternatives? No, i dun think so... as least for now.... for gamers like me, unless singapore hosts their own servers for major game titles, the LAG is gonna kill.... and i dun think it's viable becos how many online gamers are there in a country with only 4m population? 50K? 100K? vs millions in those server hosting countries....
either way, online gamers screwed....for now...:s22:
hansking
11-12-2007, 12:27 PM
Starhub always lag ....
Fibre is still the best
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210897772.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
suntzu
11-12-2007, 01:19 PM
Please let your voice be heard and send all your complain to StarHub top management - CEO.
Few weeks ago, I emailed him complaining that my areas is slow.
The CSO called and after several days, my download speed really improved.
So, I would encourage all the unhappy MaxOnline user to send him email.
terry_clontz@starhub.com (terry_clontz@starhub.com)
else byebye to starhub.
cycadb
11-12-2007, 02:33 PM
Please let your voice be heard and send all your complain to StarHub top management - CEO.
Few weeks ago, I emailed him complaining that my areas is slow.
The CSO called and after several days, my download speed really improved.
So, I would encourage all the unhappy MaxOnline user to send him email.
were there any reasons given as to how they improve the speed or what was affecting the speed? if not, it may return to the same when left uncheck.... i believe with his email add circulating here, his inbox must be flooded....
i doubt this is the way to handle customer complaints and this is the way, professionally, to lodge a complain... of cos, we, the customers maybe fuming on our side that the services are sub-standard but surely a proper channel to complain must be established or available... and if the CEO of a ISP has to receive email complaints in order to get things corrected, then that is really sad.... it just shows how inefficient the company is being run....
anyway, i'll let their CSO know the "issues" when i go terminate their service...haha...
suntzu
11-12-2007, 06:09 PM
Well, I have called their CSO numerous times and end up wasting time running through all their useless check routine.
It doesn't help at all.
were there any reasons given as to how they improve the speed or what was affecting the speed? if not, it may return to the same when left uncheck.... i believe with his email add circulating here, his inbox must be flooded....
i doubt this is the way to handle customer complaints and this is the way, professionally, to lodge a complain... of cos, we, the customers maybe fuming on our side that the services are sub-standard but surely a proper channel to complain must be established or available... and if the CEO of a ISP has to receive email complaints in order to get things corrected, then that is really sad.... it just shows how inefficient the company is being run....
anyway, i'll let their CSO know the "issues" when i go terminate their service...haha...
ideatalk
11-12-2007, 07:12 PM
my SH also very eratic, sometime ok sometime slow not sure how to complain to SH ppl. n dont want to go thru the whole process of testing this and that as will be requested by SH technical ppl.
li9ht5peed
11-12-2007, 08:15 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210976789.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
miltongoh
11-12-2007, 08:21 PM
Starhub always lag ....
Fibre is still the best
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210897772.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
holy! Haha! This is nice!
deskoh91
11-12-2007, 08:24 PM
Ya lor, even in Sydney my girlfriend was already using ADSL2+ which offers 24mbps at A$49.95 with a 30G monthly limit...no need to pay extra if exceeded, just that the speed will be throttled back to 8mps for the rest of the month...
Singapore is supposed to be more technologically advanced but yet we are still on ADSL...yawn man
we are already on ADSL2+ in Singapore. a 25Mbps plan (actually 24Mbps) is available with Mio Plan. it was offered without Mio last time, but I guess they changed it since not much people took it up.
back on topic, I have decided to terminate my MOL connection when my contract expires. already called SH about it.
miltongoh
11-12-2007, 08:24 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210978918.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210979080.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
suntzu
11-12-2007, 08:27 PM
Well, this party on performance issues has drawn in expert from various Service Provider.
I did smell StarHub and now I sense that SingTel is also coming into this HOT party.
I doubt any ordinary people like us can GET upload speed like 44Mbps!!!
This is likely done in a DataCentre.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210897772.png
holy! Haha! This is nice!
liangtam
11-12-2007, 08:27 PM
we are already on ADSL2+ in Singapore. a 25Mbps plan (actually 24Mbps) is available with Mio Plan. it was offered without Mio last time, but I guess they changed it since not much people took it up.
back on topic, I have decided to terminate my MOL connection when my contract expires. already called SH about it.
No, is actually becos 24Mbps is not practically possible to achieve
liangtam
11-12-2007, 08:41 PM
xxx
Mai tu riao, jump rah :o
Don't bother waste ur time and rant, which seems beri futile.
Get this, low latency, gootch for overall experience :D
vb8DWDFe20A
suntzu
12-12-2007, 10:19 AM
So, I would encourage all the unhappy MaxOnline user like PilotSnoopy to send him email. Snoopy like anyone of us is complaining that MaxOnline is damn slow and challenge that StarHub top management is sitting on it.
pilotsnoopy
12-12-2007, 10:35 AM
sorry unlike you, i have respect for hierarchy and will complain through proper channels first.
you have totally no respect for Mr Terry or a fellow human being's rights, yes he is the CEO of StarHub but surely he deserves much more than you plastering his email and photo all over.
pilotsnoopy
12-12-2007, 10:37 AM
No, is actually becos 24Mbps is not practically possible to achieve
it is possible to achieve, but SingNet probably has a hard time to convince people to take up a 2nd phone line in order to achieve true 24mbps and use the other line for MIO TV, HD, VOIP content alone.
suntzu
12-12-2007, 10:54 AM
Good, as to your wish. More exposure.
I thought this is good for him especially for his career.
This would make him a celebrity. :s12:
Isn't Terry a celebrity?
http://ph.hardwarezone.com/img/data/nnews/2005/3155/Image/14.jpg
sorry unlike you, i have respect for hierarchy and will complain through proper channels first.
you have totally no respect for Mr Terry or a fellow human being's rights, yes he is the CEO of StarHub but surely he deserves much more than you plastering his email and photo all over.
suntzu
12-12-2007, 11:01 AM
Here's my advertisement as well.
iMode - Thumbs Up.
http://ph.hardwarezone.com/img/data/nnews/2005/3155/Image/14.jpgMai tu riao, jump rah :o
Don't bother waste ur time and rant, which seems beri futile.
Get this, low latency, gootch for overall experience :D
vb8DWDFe20A
miltongoh
12-12-2007, 11:03 AM
I feel that the admin/moderator should remove those images.
liangtam
12-12-2007, 11:36 AM
it is possible to achieve, but SingNet probably has a hard time to convince people to take up a 2nd phone line in order to achieve true 24mbps and use the other line for MIO TV, HD, VOIP content alone.
24 Mbps is not practically possible due to line stats and condition, you may wan to look at aus whirlpool data graph.
Combining of 2 line beats the purpose anyway.
liangtam
12-12-2007, 11:38 AM
Here's my advertisement as well.
iMode - Thumbs Up.
I don't see the point why you still refusely dun wan to jump. Or you gian too much marketing hype liao??
suntzu
12-12-2007, 12:43 PM
Well, I have all the 3 plans SingNet, PacNet and StarHub.
Anyway, I am using the SMC load balancer to aggregate all my lines.
Tested on DD-WRT, but the SMC is so much better.
I am doing this not for my personal interest but for those people who keep complaining that StarHub is slow.
I don't see the point why you still refusely dun wan to jump. Or you gian too much marketing hype liao??
suntzu
12-12-2007, 12:49 PM
Too much censoring is bad.
The reason or the driving force behind the Money Making hardwarezone forum is driven by the community who has something to VOICE.
The topic has to be controversial in such a way that will interest the General public. If everything is "censored" we might as well close down the Money Making HardwareZone forum.
You can inform StarHub to remove their link from their website.
http://www.starhub.com/corporate/aboutus/mgmt_terry.gif
I feel that the admin/moderator should remove those images.
miltongoh
12-12-2007, 06:39 PM
Too much censoring is bad.
The reason or the driving force behind the Money Making hardwarezone forum is driven by the community who has something to VOICE.
The topic has to be controversial in such a way that will interest the General public. If everything is "censored" we might as well close down the Money Making HardwareZone forum.
You can inform StarHub to remove their link from their website.
http://www.starhub.com/corporate/aboutus/mgmt_terry.gif
Well, it is rightful of starhub to actually put their copyrighted photos on their site, on their web servers, but definitely not in your right to use the image on other people site to be used as a topic for your to convey the message across the general public.
suntzu
12-12-2007, 08:12 PM
So you are talking about RIGHT in the context of Internet World.
Do you watch YouTube?
Well, it is rightful of starhub to actually put their copyrighted photos on their site, on their web servers, but definitely not in your right to use the image on other people site to be used as a topic for your to convey the message across the general public.
miltongoh
12-12-2007, 08:21 PM
So you are talking about RIGHT in the context of Internet World.
Do you watch YouTube?
So if people commit crime, you follow, it means you are correct lah? People you follow the majoirty lah? Haha!
Well, the choices is up to you! :)
Cheers!
suntzu
12-12-2007, 08:47 PM
Where did you get your cute penguin?
Did you get the permission or your legal RIGHT to use as your avatar?
BTW, we are all law abiding citizen and this explain why we are sitting in the comfort of our house chit chatting in an Open Forum.
Quote "if people commit crime, you follow ..." If that is the case, you will end up behind Bar chit chatting with TT Durai.
So if people commit crime, you follow, it means you are correct lah? People you follow the majoirty lah? Haha!
Well, the choices is up to you! :)
Cheers!
miltongoh
12-12-2007, 08:50 PM
Well, do whatever suits you. The end of our qualms. :)
Adolez
12-12-2007, 09:45 PM
chill dudes.
liangtam
12-12-2007, 09:55 PM
Where did you get your cute penguin?
Did you get the permission or your legal RIGHT to use as your avatar?
BTW, we are all law abiding citizen and this explain why we are sitting in the comfort of our house chit chatting in an Open Forum.
Quote "if people commit crime, you follow ..." If that is the case, you will end up behind Bar chit chatting with TT Durai.
Hello!? what do you associate Tux with when its goes hand-in with Linux?? Its prolly not GPL or like license, but .....
"The copyright holder of this file allows anyone to use it for any purpose, provided that you acknowledge lewing@isc.tamu.edu and The GIMP if someone asks."
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Image:Tux.png
pilotsnoopy
12-12-2007, 11:16 PM
dun bother about that suntzu lah...nutcase
miltongoh
12-12-2007, 11:26 PM
Hello!? what do you associate Tux with when its goes hand-in with Linux?? Its prolly not GPL or like license, but .....
"The copyright holder of this file allows anyone to use it for any purpose, provided that you acknowledge lewing@isc.tamu.edu and The GIMP if someone asks."
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Image:Tux.png
Haha! Thanks for digging out the information! :D
Techno Pride
13-12-2007, 01:26 AM
what has copyright got to do with maxonline speed? This is like the wrong thread to talk about law abiding and stuff?
Yishun. 13th Dec 2007 1:25am.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/211404174.png
suntzu
14-12-2007, 08:00 AM
Thanks, look like Starhub has fixed their Peak hour issue.
We shall close this case then.
what has copyright got to do with maxonline s
peed? This is like the wrong thread to talk about law abiding and stuff?
Yishun. 13th Dec 2007 1:25am.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/211404174.png
pilotsnoopy
14-12-2007, 09:12 AM
Thanks, look like Starhub has fixed their Peak hour issue.
We shall close this case then.
close simi case, not up to you.
stormbol
14-12-2007, 11:40 AM
11.40am
http://www.speedtest.net/result/211909138.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Kurow31
15-12-2007, 10:48 AM
I don't think they've fixed their peak hour issue yet. I'm still experiencing horrible lag in web-surfing and gaming on weekday nights which has been like this since November (latency is like 700-1000 ms when playing WoW).
Pasir Ris here. Just posting here in hopes that Starhub might really be monitoring this thread and kindly look into the problem. :)
tkboy85
15-12-2007, 11:26 AM
I don't think they've fixed their peak hour issue yet. I'm still experiencing horrible lag in web-surfing and gaming on weekday nights which has been like this since November (latency is like 700-1000 ms when playing WoW).
Pasir Ris here. Just posting here in hopes that Starhub might really be monitoring this thread and kindly look into the problem. :)
Same here. I feel that they don't seem to have fixed the peak hour issues. Just maybe improved the connection to speedtest servers :P
After all, if i can get reasonable speeds using speedtest at peak hours, why am I feeling the lag and slow page loads when accessing websites in the same region as the speedtest sites?
samuel21
15-12-2007, 11:35 AM
this is so crappy
just last nite i have problems surfing starhub web too at 9 pm. totally ridiculous. and i am using premium???!
deckcard
15-12-2007, 12:04 PM
Same here. I feel that they don't seem to have fixed the peak hour issues. Just maybe improved the connection to speedtest servers :P
After all, if i can get reasonable speeds using speedtest at peak hours, why am I feeling the lag and slow page loads when accessing websites in the same region as the speedtest sites?
If a company resorts this low to cheat their customers, they are seriously not worth it but until now, no one has prove they are cheating.
suntzu
15-12-2007, 12:06 PM
Any proof?
Kindly post your evidence using www.speedtest.net (http://www.speedtest.net)
Select overseas test sites, e.g. US, UK, HK, China and Japan.
Post together with your Time of test, Location and service plan.
We will look into your issue.
this is so crappy
just last nite i have problems surfing starhub web too at 9 pm. totally ridiculous. and i am using premium???!
pilotsnoopy
15-12-2007, 12:38 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/212227303.png
Ok brought back to earth...test behind NetGear WPN824
deckcard
15-12-2007, 12:52 PM
Testing Singapore server is like testing your home network or your company network. Useless imo unless you are trying to benchmark your equipments.
suntzu
15-12-2007, 02:31 PM
The Technician who did all the dirty work to monitor this forum, to setup QoS on their CMTS will know and have the evidence to testisfy that they are cheating.
If a company resorts this low to cheat their customers, they are seriously not worth it but until now, no one has prove they are cheating.
suntzu
15-12-2007, 02:33 PM
There are many sites which you can use to verify your slowness
http://speedcheck.mintel.net/SpeedCheck.php
List of speed test sites around the world.
http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest?more=1
this is so crappy
suntzu
15-12-2007, 02:41 PM
Found another sites that offer the same feature like Speedtest.net.
We can use this to cross verify.
http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest?flash=1
http://www.dslreports.com/im/41851058/6584.png
http://www.dslreports.com/im/41851235/2733.png
http://www.dslreports.com/im/41851291/9403.png
Testing Singapore server is like testing your home network or your company network. Useless imo unless you are trying to benchmark your equipments.
pilotsnoopy
15-12-2007, 02:43 PM
The Technician who did all the dirty work to monitor this forum, to setup QoS on their CMTS will know and have the evidence to testisfy that they are cheating.
wake up...still dreaming?
suntzu
15-12-2007, 03:10 PM
Thanks for your active participation.
You are most welcome to keep this thread on the Daily Top 10.
I suggest that you use stronger words. Bring out your rage.
wake up...still dreaming?
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.