PDA

View Full Version : [Interest Check] Flash DIR-300 to DD-WRT session

shadowandy
01-12-2007, 10:52 PM
What will we be doing
Basically it is a session where DIR-300 owners gather and get their routers flashed to DD-WRT firmware. So if you think the original firmware cannot suit your needs. You might want to give DD-WRT a try. Or you have the burning desire to flash it to DD-WRT but you don't know how to do it, come over.

Who will be involved
Currently, three person will be helping out with the flashing (richneo, liangtam, shadowandy).

When would it be
If there are sufficient demands, it will probably be one of the days from the 7th (evening) to 9th of December. Yes, weekends only.

Where would you all be at
Don't know. Still scouting for a place where there are sufficient power points and cosy enough to stay for a fair bit of time to do the flashing.

How much would it cost
Free. If you wish, you can treat them a cup of drink.

What are the risks
There is a risk of bricking the router. Bricking means that the router won't be functioning anymore. No risk, no gain. If bricked, don't hold the people responsible. They have flashed their own DIR-300 to DD-WRT successfully so their chance of success should be higher.

Why would I want to flash to DD-WRT firmware
DD-WRT offers functionalities which the original firmware doesn't come with. For the feature list of DD-WRT, refer to here (http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/What_is_%22DD-WRT%22%3F#Features).

So do state if you are interested in this session. If the response is not good, then I think we might call this event off.

shadowandy
01-12-2007, 10:53 PM
Interested Parties

jasonho - FON
hirokoboi - DIR-300
Nichi - DIR-300

liangtam
03-12-2007, 01:37 AM
Up for all to see.
Can cover for La Fonera oso. Other models will depend...

shuinx2
03-12-2007, 01:59 AM
hey i have tried and having some problem.. i already can't get tru the first step then u post in ur blog... whenever i hold reset and power on for 30 sec and release... the icon only have 2 lit.. and my network connection is not responding... and oso canot telnet to 192.168.20.81:9000
need more advise...

liangtam
03-12-2007, 02:28 AM
It ish hair pulling for first timers.
You may wan attend??

shuinx2
03-12-2007, 03:28 AM
It ish hair pulling for first timers.
You may wan attend??
haha no thanks i finally get a hand on it bcoz i realise the cable must be plug to the internet port of DIR-300 but not to the LAN port -.-

Nichi
03-12-2007, 10:21 AM
location can try the mac at kallang there...

stadium that one...

they provide quite afew power bricks there...

at least thats wad i saw the last time i was there.

not sure about now though

ngbc
03-12-2007, 10:40 AM
Ngee Ann Poly may be a good location on a Sat/Sun... Many study areas there with power points. Can have some snack/drink after that at the canteen ;)
Anyway, I don't own this router, just kapo only.

Nichi
03-12-2007, 10:53 AM
Ngee Ann Poly may be a good location on a Sat/Sun... Many study areas there with power points. Can have some snack/drink after that at the canteen ;)
Anyway, I don't own this router, just kapo only.
u must be canteen operator!

jk

liangtam
03-12-2007, 01:42 PM
might as well come my school TP.
No food stalls on a sat tho. :s22:

But then both school dosn't seems like a nice place for flashing session :o

naxchua
03-12-2007, 01:50 PM
might as well come my school TP.
No food stalls on a sat tho. :s22:

But then both school dosn't seems like a nice place for flashing session :o

wahahaha... but TP, outsider can easily access to the compound meh? the securities there are like very strict...

hirokoboi
03-12-2007, 01:51 PM
can i know what's the benefits of flashing to ddr-wrt as compared to the default f/w?

dragonhole
03-12-2007, 04:19 PM
ngee ang poly can! But quite out of the way. The security abit lax de, then tonnes of power strip all around the place.

hirokoboi
03-12-2007, 04:51 PM
dun go school lar... i would prefer a public place...

liangtam
03-12-2007, 05:44 PM
can i know what's the benefits of flashing to ddr-wrt as compared to the default f/w?
More stable, basing on linux core.
Reasonable bug fix and more additional functionality??

Nichi
03-12-2007, 06:55 PM
wad abt smu?

more central location but not sure abt power

shadowandy
03-12-2007, 07:29 PM
wad abt smu?

more central location but not sure abt power

Sounds like a nice place. But I think we need somebody to check that place out. Most of the location are rather crampy with limited power plugs (e.g. starbucks, coffeebeans)

bakashi
03-12-2007, 07:41 PM
http://img523.imageshack.us/img523/5465/dir300ddwrtiy1.jpg

Bought 1 at Sitex @ $79 with free antenna upgrade
Flashed using your guide. Quite EZ.
Happy user now :) Cheers!!!

shadowandy
03-12-2007, 07:52 PM
Try going to RC5, it solves some of the bugs. You can simply download the bin file and upgrade through dd-wrt's interface.

liangtam
05-12-2007, 01:24 AM
no one interested in ddwrt flashing??

jasonho
05-12-2007, 01:32 AM
no one interested in ddwrt flashing??

I am interested but my device is FON :)

hirokoboi
05-12-2007, 02:44 AM
I'm interested.

RSKeisuke
05-12-2007, 10:35 AM
i'm about to buy this router DIR-300. will flashing to a third party firmware void the lifetime warranty by Dlink?

weeguy
05-12-2007, 10:53 AM
i'm about to buy this router DIR-300. will flashing to a third party firmware void the lifetime warranty by Dlink?
yeah, i'm concerned about this as well. it would be a major turnoff if the warranty is voided since Dlink's lifetime warranty is a big draw for many of us.

shadowandy
05-12-2007, 11:09 AM

There is a way of flashing back to original firmware provided your DIR-300 is still bootable. Flashing DIR-300 back to Original Firmware (http://www.shadowandy.net/_html/archives/2007/10/flashing_dir300_back_to_origin_1.html)

RSKeisuke
05-12-2007, 11:27 AM
is there any reason why the original firmware is no good? if i dun do BT, do i need to use DD-WRT?

shadowandy
05-12-2007, 11:47 AM
is there any reason why the original firmware is no good? if i dun do BT, do i need to use DD-WRT?

Yes, you can choose not to go DD-WRT. DD-WRT only offers some additional features like QoS, xbox kaid (playing PSP games/xbox games with other people over the Internet), DynamicDNS, etc.

DD-WRT just add some functionalities which you can refer here (http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/What_is_%22DD-WRT%22%3F)

liangtam
05-12-2007, 05:26 PM
I am interested but my device is FON :)

The 3 of us had La Fonera(s) as well :)
However, we cannot confirm on the f/w version being downgraded upon reset yet.

jasonho
05-12-2007, 05:40 PM
The 3 of us had La Fonera(s) as well :)
However, we cannot confirm on the f/w version being downgraded upon reset yet.

Yes I fully understand, looking forward to the session

hirokoboi
06-12-2007, 10:27 AM
response so bad?

RSKeisuke
06-12-2007, 10:31 AM
i checked the retail pack, all of them revision A1, but there's difference in the firmware version..
1.00 and 1.01.

Which should I get?

Also is the 5dBi antenna necessary? Mediapro gave free upgrade to that during Sitex which I missed out..

duffy
06-12-2007, 02:15 PM
sorry noob here.

juz wanna check i am using Linksys Wireless-G Broadband Router WRT54G
i think is ver5

can change to firmware to DD WRT?

i have check the DD-WRT website and i think it appears on this site http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Supported_Devices

it means can support ar?

shadowandy
06-12-2007, 02:41 PM
i checked the retail pack, all of them revision A1, but there's difference in the firmware version..
1.00 and 1.01.

Which should I get?

Also is the 5dBi antenna necessary? Mediapro gave free upgrade to that during Sitex which I missed out..

Both are fine. 5dbi antenna is a plus to your wireless signal strength

shadowandy
06-12-2007, 02:54 PM
sorry noob here.

juz wanna check i am using Linksys Wireless-G Broadband Router WRT54G
i think is ver5

can change to firmware to DD WRT?

i have check the DD-WRT website and i think it appears on this site http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Supported_Devices

it means can support ar?

if it is version 5 then you can use the micro builds only.

duffy
06-12-2007, 04:15 PM
haha okok thanks

i see this line from the site...

"Having said that, if you have one of these neutered models, you'd still be much better off selling it and getting something else that is a supported device."

lolx

Nichi
07-12-2007, 01:39 PM
me me!

interested also!

shadowandy
07-12-2007, 10:56 PM
bump......

hirokoboi
08-12-2007, 09:30 AM
upz for all to see...

aptget
08-12-2007, 10:44 AM
just got a DIR-300, happy user with default firmware actually.
Quite surprised with the coverage, i was using an old SMC2804 barricade and
coverage was bad in a 5-rm flat... the DIR300 gave me complete coverage right now

I just went thru the DD-WRT site, and it says I can push the TX power up to 281mW ?
has any one tried pushing it to the limit ? Is it stable @ 281mW ?

Pokémon
08-12-2007, 10:45 AM
How I wish I could bring my bricked FON to join the session too (if OK)... =:p

Oh well, but the response doesn't seem too good.

calvin_
08-12-2007, 02:16 PM
can the router do WDS with dd-wrt flashed onto it?

what is the dbi of the orginal antenna? 2dbi?

richneo
08-12-2007, 04:32 PM
can the router do WDS with dd-wrt flashed onto it?

what is the dbi of the orginal antenna? 2dbi?
yes to all

hirokoboi
08-12-2007, 09:59 PM
more upz...

richneo
08-12-2007, 10:13 PM
more upz...
u brining ur tablet with 4gb ram there? :s34:

hirokoboi
10-12-2007, 09:20 AM
u brining ur tablet with 4gb ram there? :s34:

wa, chiu stalking me ar? haha... can bring down for the gathering. but the battery life for my only 4 cell battery very bad. maximum 1 hr 40 mins usage with wifi surfing... :(.

i think i need to buy a 6 cell battery soon...

richneo
10-12-2007, 09:39 AM
wa, chiu stalking me ar? haha... can bring down for the gathering. but the battery life for my only 4 cell battery very bad. maximum 1 hr 40 mins usage with wifi surfing... :(.

i think i need to buy a 6 cell battery soon...
mine only 1 hours of wired surfing leh....

2.5gb now dunno wanna whack 1 piece 1gb or 2gb

hirokoboi
10-12-2007, 10:58 AM
mine only 1 hours of wired surfing leh....

2.5gb now dunno wanna whack 1 piece 1gb or 2gb

wa! why so short? mine is set to 'power saver' with screen brightness to the lowest... Vista 32bit os supports up to 3gb. i put 4gb, the last 1 gb is wasted.

might consider getting another 1gb ram...

naxchua
10-12-2007, 11:09 AM
wa! why so short? mine is set to 'power saver' with screen brightness to the lowest... Vista 32bit os supports up to 3gb. i put 4gb, the last 1 gb is wasted.

can i bring my WRT54GL there? :D

liangtam
10-12-2007, 11:10 AM
can i bring my WRT54GL there? :D

GL can flash directly ma...
Altho we don't mind if u still wan attend, lol

naxchua
10-12-2007, 11:26 AM
GL can flash directly ma...
Altho we don't mind if u still wan attend, lol

hahaha... no la... sorry... was just playing a fool here... hahaha... I m actually on Thibor... gonna flash to DD WRT soon... maybe when I have time... cos ThiBor is already stable and sufficient for my usage...

hirokoboi
10-12-2007, 12:33 PM
hahaha... no la... sorry... was just playing a fool here... hahaha... I m actually on Thibor... gonna flash to DD WRT soon... maybe when I have time... cos ThiBor is already stable and sufficient for my usage...

If chiu ish not interested then why chiu cumz here didi siao siao... :s22::s27:

facialtissuesoftness
10-12-2007, 12:52 PM
hmm im interested, running on dir-300 default firmware, crashes all the time.. damn duu lan haha

aptget
10-12-2007, 01:46 PM

How much did you get yr 2GB ram for ? I might be interested in taking it off yr hands :)
You used it on yr HP TX1209 tabletPC right ?

hirokoboi
10-12-2007, 01:51 PM
How much did you get yr 2GB ram for ? I might be interested in taking it off yr hands :)
You used it on yr HP TX1209 tabletPC right ?

I got it from BB @ $65 per 2gb. Not selling mine though. I can use the 2gb on my another laptop at home. Yupz, mine is tx1209au.

aptget
10-12-2007, 01:54 PM
hmm im interested, running on dir-300 default firmware, crashes all the time.. damn duu lan haha

Mine crashed as well ( I think )

Bought on Monday, Tuesday came back and there's no internet whatsoever.
Had to unplug modem and router and it was fine after that.... is this considered CRASH?

I'm still on the default firmware and wonder if the new firmware would do any good

liangtam
10-12-2007, 02:03 PM
Mine crashed as well ( I think )

Bought on Monday, Tuesday came back and there's no internet whatsoever.
Had to unplug modem and router and it was fine after that.... is this considered CRASH?

I'm still on the default firmware and wonder if the new firmware would do any good

Interested w/ dd-wrt??

facialtissuesoftness
10-12-2007, 02:05 PM
yeah same for me. if i try to surf alot of web pages at a go, the whole router needs to be on-off again.

hirokoboi
10-12-2007, 02:51 PM
frankly speaking, my unit is generally quite stable. ecept for the 1st 2 days have hang issues. it has been working fine till now. but i'm interested to flash it to dd-wrt to enhance the router even more even though it might brick the router. anyway i complaint is the restarting time for the router is very slow...

liangtam
10-12-2007, 06:05 PM
Leave it running 24/7 will do.

Caesium
10-12-2007, 11:47 PM
Hmm, I flashed my DIR-300 to DD-WRT, everything went rather smooth (ok, i lied, it was hair-pulling) but...

now I can't login to my router, even with default username (root) and default password (admin).

Did hard reset a few times still to no avail. I know my router isn't bricked since it will still respond to my ping.

Any idea to solve this :s11:

hirokoboi
13-12-2007, 08:59 AM
my router for no reason decided to hang on me last night. have to reset it... when is the session coming?

liangtam
13-12-2007, 11:58 AM
Up for all...
But no idea when wor :o

Kiwi8
13-12-2007, 04:04 PM
It's unfortunate that the Tomato firmware has not supported DIR-300 yet. :o

aptget
13-12-2007, 09:33 PM
Hmm, I flashed my DIR-300 to DD-WRT, everything went rather smooth (ok, i lied, it was hair-pulling) but...

now I can't login to my router, even with default username (root) and default password (admin).

Did hard reset a few times still to no avail. I know my router isn't bricked since it will still respond to my ping.

Any idea to solve this :s11:

Any gurus can answer the above ?

Just in case i flash it myself, and face the same problem later...

liangtam
13-12-2007, 09:51 PM
Bring it to us do la...
Wonder if this weekend can commit(for them) or not? I very free since term test ober liao :D

TiOnGSquare
13-12-2007, 10:10 PM
my fon brick for sometime le...possible to unbrick it for me? :I

hirokoboi
13-12-2007, 10:48 PM
this week when?

shadowandy
13-12-2007, 11:14 PM
I could only help out after 18th December as I've got db2 certification on that day. >_<

TiOnGSquare, I could unbrick for you when we meet up. Past few days was busy teaching so I didn't really surf hwz and my own blog.

aptget
14-12-2007, 12:58 AM
Not DD-WRT related ...

You guys installed the router with the CD ? I have this Pure Networks Network Magic installed with the CD, but it says I have to BUY or ACTIVATE it after XX days.

Where can I find this activation key ? or do I have to buy it ??!!? I thought after buying the DIR-300, the software is FREE ???

liangtam
14-12-2007, 02:46 AM
Why use that software when Windows has its own file sharing tool inbuilt.

hirokoboi
14-12-2007, 09:01 AM
was surfing song song till 1+am this morning then went to sleep... when i woke up again at 8am i found that my router hung!!! sian... looking forward to the dd-wrt gathering...

richneo
14-12-2007, 09:47 AM
was surfing song song till 1+am this morning then went to sleep... when i woke up again at 8am i found that my router hung!!! sian... looking forward to the dd-wrt gathering...
where u stay?

hirokoboi
14-12-2007, 10:26 AM
where u stay?

amk...

10 chars

richneo
14-12-2007, 10:36 AM
amk...

10 chars
u meet me somewhere near hougang power point lor i flash for u first

hirokoboi
14-12-2007, 10:37 AM
u meet me somewhere near hougang power point lor i flash for u first

smji ish hougang power point? :s22:

richneo
14-12-2007, 10:38 AM
smji ish hougang power point? :s22:
typo

i mean somewhere in hougang WITH power point :s34:

naxchua
14-12-2007, 10:40 AM
typo

i thot hougang since when open a new clubbing place called "Hougang Power Point"

richneo
14-12-2007, 10:41 AM
i thot hougang since when open a new clubbing place called "Hougang Power Point"
its a combi of hougang point and saint james power station :s34: :D

hirokoboi
14-12-2007, 10:42 AM
typo

icic... :D

thanks... can pm me your contacts? then see when we can arrange to meet. this 1 must treat you coffee... :)

anyway i'll still be looking forward for the gathering... to learn more for you sexperts... :)

richneo
14-12-2007, 10:45 AM
icic... :D

thanks... can pm me your contacts? then see when we can arrange to meet. this 1 must treat you coffee... :)

anyway i'll still be looking forward for the gathering... to learn more for you sexperts... :)
my contact is richneo.. u can pm me ur mobile =p

hirokoboi
14-12-2007, 10:45 AM

chiu still cums in to di di siao siao... :s22:

hirokoboi
14-12-2007, 10:49 AM

pmed liao...

naxchua
14-12-2007, 11:47 AM
chiu still cums in to di di siao siao... :s22:

i ish where gotch di di siao siao... i ish gotch one DI624+ okay? :(

hirokoboi
14-12-2007, 11:50 AM
i ish where gotch di di siao siao... i ish gotch one DI624+ okay? :(

here ish for dir-300 hor...

liangtam
14-12-2007, 01:35 PM

I still haben see ur tablet yet :o

hirokoboi
14-12-2007, 02:31 PM
I still haben see ur tablet yet :o

wa, chiu also stalking me ar? :s22:

naxchua
14-12-2007, 02:36 PM

he quote richneo leh....

BHB Spotted....

richneo
he din quote u leh.... :s34:

richneo
he quote richneo leh....

BHB Spotted....

:s13: :s13: :s13:

hirokoboi
14-12-2007, 02:44 PM
he quote richneo leh....

BHB Spotted....

he din quote u leh....

:s13: :s13: :s13:

jia lat man.

just had lunch now very sleepy.

keeping thinking that i kena stalk... :look:

naxchua
14-12-2007, 02:53 PM
he din quote u leh.... :s34:

ur fault la... keep stalking him on his tablet + 4GB ram... now he phobia liao... i also gotch 4GB ram in my tablet... hahaha...

I ish drink HL milk one... :)

hirokoboi
14-12-2007, 02:56 PM
ur fault la... keep stalking him on his tablet + 4GB ram... now he phobia liao... i also gotch 4GB ram in my tablet... hahaha...

I ish drink HL milk one... :)

Chiu and lichneo ish lich people. i ish belong to different league wan~:s22:

richneo
14-12-2007, 02:57 PM
Chiu and lichneo ish lich people. i ish belong to different league wan~:s22:
yar we lich so have to leech starfug for free tablet

u ish rich can buy tablet :s34:

hirokoboi
14-12-2007, 03:01 PM
yar we lich so have to leech starfug for free tablet

u ish rich can buy tablet :s34:

But but but mine ish also from laghub wor~:s31:

TiOnGSquare
14-12-2007, 03:07 PM
richneo koes how to unbrick fon bo? i stay hougang too =I

naxchua
14-12-2007, 03:13 PM
i ish also libe in Hougang... dunno whose house very near my house... :P

hirokoboi
14-12-2007, 03:18 PM

i ish also libe in Hougang... dunno whose house very near my house... :P

all stay hg show off lor...

richneo
14-12-2007, 03:53 PM
cannot..

i ish dun have the jtag for fon

TiOnGSquare
14-12-2007, 03:56 PM
kk...anyone koes where got provide fon unbrick service?

richneo
14-12-2007, 04:00 PM
kk...anyone koes where got provide fon unbrick service?
got

check out www.shadowandy.net

RSKeisuke
14-12-2007, 08:46 PM
what's the square button at the top(when placed vertically)/side(when placed flat down) for? not stated in manual that i downloaded...

quekky
14-12-2007, 08:52 PM
its a combi of hougang point and saint james power station :s34: :D
this 1 u must bring me there:s16:

liangtam
14-12-2007, 08:59 PM
what's the square button at the top(when placed vertically)/side(when placed flat down) for? not stated in manual that i downloaded...

Wireless security lor, not implemented yet.

liangtam
14-12-2007, 09:01 PM
this 1 u must bring me there:s16:

Ask me along oso :o

hirokoboi
15-12-2007, 01:39 AM
today confirm or not confirm?

liangtam
15-12-2007, 01:44 AM
today confirm or not confirm?

u mean hougang power point ah? :o

hirokoboi
15-12-2007, 09:23 AM
u mean hougang power point ah? :o

ya... lichneo did not contact me leh...

naxchua
15-12-2007, 09:31 AM
lichneo lip lai~~~

richneo
15-12-2007, 10:01 AM
lichneo lip lai~~~
richneo reporting

naxchua
15-12-2007, 10:12 AM
richneo reporting

how is the meeting at hougang powerpoint? still on?

richneo
15-12-2007, 10:13 AM
how is the meeting at hougang powerpoint? still on?
waiting for it to be built leh :s34:

uncle hiro havent get back to me on the venue

naxchua
15-12-2007, 10:15 AM
waiting for it to be built leh :s34:

uncle hiro havent get back to me on the venue

i ask unkle hiro now....

Unkle Hiro, Lip lai~~~~

lichneo ask chiu to put time put place...

hirokoboi
15-12-2007, 10:19 AM
i ask unkle hiro now....

Unkle Hiro, Lip lai~~~~

lichneo ask chiu to put time put place...

Hiro mm leporking. jia lat leh. i dun think hougang mac is a good place to use their powerpoint for the router leh... lichneo, if other place is it ok? at most i ghost pick chiu up. chiu hab time constrain?

richneo
15-12-2007, 10:38 AM
Hiro mm leporking. jia lat leh. i dun think hougang mac is a good place to use their powerpoint for the router leh... lichneo, if other place is it ok? at most i ghost pick chiu up. chiu hab time constrain?
wah pick me up..

chui is lich.... dribing...

okie i no issue.. i wait for liangtam to wake up first cos i wanan borrow something from him

hirokoboi
15-12-2007, 10:47 AM
wah pick me up..

chui is lich.... dribing...

okie i no issue.. i wait for liangtam to wake up first cos i wanan borrow something from him

headache ar, i ish dunno where will be a good place to find power points. coz i think go mac to use their power point for router abit weird. anyway roughly how long will it take to flash?

richneo
15-12-2007, 10:52 AM
headache ar, i ish dunno where will be a good place to find power points. coz i think go mac to use their power point for router abit weird. anyway roughly how long will it take to flash?
ard 20 mins to be safe baz

hirokoboi
15-12-2007, 11:57 AM
ard 20 mins to be safe baz

hey bro,

can you call me soon? i've gotten permission to use my friend's place at hougang. If possible we set around 3+ pm ok?

liangtam
15-12-2007, 12:04 PM
Lemme know early wor, then I ish take bus 25 from bedok

hirokoboi
15-12-2007, 12:19 PM
Lemme know early wor, then I ish take bus 25 from bedok

are we meeting chiu as well?

liangtam
15-12-2007, 12:36 PM
are we meeting chiu as well?

I ish meeting lichneo ma.
Oops, you're more lich :o

hirokoboi
15-12-2007, 12:42 PM
I ish meeting lichneo ma.
Oops, you're more lich :o

i ish not lich hor? anyway lichneo ish notch online leh. how to contact him? i'll be going offline soon leh...

richneo
15-12-2007, 12:59 PM
i ish not lich hor? anyway lichneo ish notch online leh. how to contact him? i'll be going offline soon leh...
okie im here

jsut cant find a place with power

u decide?

liangtam coming to meet us

hirokoboi
15-12-2007, 01:01 PM
okie im here

jsut cant find a place with power

u decide?

liangtam coming to meet us

call me now...

zeroex
16-12-2007, 02:51 PM
Hey guys... seems like RC5 still have the DHCP bug hor ?

richneo
16-12-2007, 02:58 PM
got zeroex bug

only happens to zeroex :s34:

:D

yesterdae liangtam flashed for hiro liaoz

zeroex
17-12-2007, 02:05 AM
:( mine still got bug leh DHCP bug... everytime reset router must pull out the lan cable >.<

hirokoboi
17-12-2007, 09:38 AM
Thanks to liangtam and richneo. now my dir-300 is DD-WRT RC5 liao. it's working great!!!

gimp1225
30-12-2007, 11:46 AM
Hey guys ... was searching the net about dir-300 hanging problems when i came across this thread ... Would there be anymore upcoming sessions by any chance ? ... i am stuck with my DIR-300 hanging twice a day ... realli could use the help ... Happy holidays ...

Pokémon
30-12-2007, 12:55 PM
Hey guys ... was searching the net about dir-300 hanging problems when i came across this thread ... Would there be anymore upcoming sessions by any chance ? ... i am stuck with my DIR-300 hanging twice a day ... realli could use the help ... Happy holidays ...

Running BT? Try flashing with the latest firmware v1.03 from here (http://www.dlink.com.sg/support/supportdl.asp?pid=602).

gimp1225
30-12-2007, 03:15 PM
Thx for the prompt reply pokemon ... will be testing the 1.03 firmware out for BT ....:s22:
Will update on whether it works ...

TiOnGSquare
30-12-2007, 10:36 PM
Thanks to liangtam and richneo. now my dir-300 is DD-WRT RC5 liao. it's working great!!!

i having dir-300 not able to grab isp ip frm my modem, juz flashed to rc6.1 hope it can slove the issue:D

liangtam
30-12-2007, 10:48 PM
Please restart modem if you're using MOL.

richneo
30-12-2007, 10:50 PM
i having dir-300 not able to grab isp ip frm my modem, juz flashed to rc6.1 hope it can slove the issue:D
so fast playing with it liaoz ah :s34:

gimp1225
01-01-2008, 04:18 PM
Hey .. just an update ... been using the dlink firmware 1.03 with lots of BT ... 2 days without DC or router hanging ... seems to work ... a gd alternative to those who dunno how to flash the wrt firmware .... Thx pokemon ... Happy new year to all !!! ... :)

TiOnGSquare
01-01-2008, 08:00 PM
is there a online guide for flashing dd-wrt to dir-300? thanks! =D

richneo
01-01-2008, 08:02 PM
is there a online guide for flashing dd-wrt to dir-300? thanks! =D
i tot urs is already flashed with dd-wrt?

http://www.shadowandy.net/_html/archives/2007/09/mini_flashing_guide_for_dir300.html

TiOnGSquare
01-01-2008, 09:37 PM
i tot urs is already flashed with dd-wrt?

http://www.shadowandy.net/_html/archives/2007/09/mini_flashing_guide_for_dir300.html

wan to learn the technique also :D

TiOnGSquare
01-01-2008, 09:58 PM
juz wondering, how cum last time the wrt54g can flash to dd-wrt to and fo without the need to access the redboot but juz flash thru the update feature in the configuration page, but fon and dir-300 need to flash thru redboot?

richneo
01-01-2008, 10:47 PM
cos the firmware cannot recognise the memory thus the initial step to make the memory recognizable before u can actually flash the firmware in

and after u have flash it before, u can jsut flash the dd-wrt firmware to dir-300 over web based.

TiOnGSquare
02-01-2008, 11:15 PM
huai!!! finally slove my dir300 prob, i did a hard reset and tats all to get it working hehe finally

TiOnGSquare
03-01-2008, 09:39 AM
rc 6.2 out...

richneo
03-01-2008, 09:57 AM
rc 6.2 out...
wahahahha means v24 should be officially out soon

snapkingfisher
14-01-2008, 08:08 PM
Using two DIR-300 with RC5 in client bridge mode too. Very stable. IS RC6.2 recommended for upgrade for this setup?

Xhitman
02-03-2008, 01:01 PM
@TiOnGSquare -

How did you install the version 6.2? Did you upgrade it from version 5? is it advisable to flash it straight to version 6.2 using the guide made by shadowdandy?

BTW was the bug wherein the router could not get the IP fixed already in 6.2? Thats the thing thats stopping me from switching. Thanks

destiny38
21-08-2008, 12:57 PM
Has anyone been able to restore the original firmware successfully?
i.e. with wireless security WPA fully functional?

jc777
03-11-2008, 08:39 AM
anybody encounter this problem? after flashing DIR-300 to DD-WRT, it does not seems to work properly. whenever i click on the save or apply buttons, the URL will change to 'apply.cgi' and stuck there?

richneo
03-11-2008, 08:57 AM
anybody encounter this problem? after flashing DIR-300 to DD-WRT, it does not seems to work properly. whenever i click on the save or apply buttons, the URL will change to 'apply.cgi' and stuck there?
try using a different browser

jc777
03-11-2008, 09:05 AM
try using a different browser
i am using firefox, is there some conflicts or incompatibilities? because for my fon, using FF no problem.

phuque99
03-11-2008, 09:33 AM
Worked perfectly on mine with V24-sp1, no problems with the apply settings.

jc777
03-11-2008, 09:48 AM
Worked perfectly on mine with V24-sp1, no problems with the apply settings.
you use this guide http://www.shadowandy.net/_html/archives/2007/09/mini_flashing_guide_for_dir300.html ? anything different did you do? think on the first run i accidentally entered 'Default server IP address:' to '9600', towards the end of the guide. does it matter?

phuque99
03-11-2008, 09:50 AM
You'll have to ask shadowandy directly. I'm not expert in messing with embedded firmware. I've even accidentally made a mistake in saving the firmware without startup script and I've to redo the whole thing again. I've flashed 3 so far with no issues.

jc777
03-11-2008, 09:55 AM
btw, i used tftpsrv instead of pumpkin. all the files i downloaded from http://www.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/down.php?path=downloads%2Fv24-sp1%2FConsumer%2FDlink%2FDIR-300/ . some of the addresses in my flashing process different from those in the guide.

jc777
03-11-2008, 09:57 AM
You'll have to ask shadowandy directly. I'm not expert in messing with embedded firmware. I've even accidentally made a mistake in saving the firmware without startup script and I've to redo the whole thing again. I've flashed 3 so far with no issues.
alright. thanks. *paging for shadowandy*

phuque99
03-11-2008, 09:59 AM
Well, you have dd-wrt running right and it is routing your traffic and all? So I doubt your issue is with the flashing process because if it has gone bad, it would be a bricked router. Not sure you'll get any help here on this, either search dd-wrt forums for such similar issue or reflash again after a full reset.

richneo
03-11-2008, 10:03 AM
i am using firefox, is there some conflicts or incompatibilities? because for my fon, using FF no problem.
try using internet explorer first

jc777
03-11-2008, 10:12 AM
Well, you have dd-wrt running right and it is routing your traffic and all? So I doubt your issue is with the flashing process because if it has gone bad, it would be a bricked router. Not sure you'll get any help here on this, either search dd-wrt forums for such similar issue or reflash again after a full reset.
actually it does not seems to work. connected to my WAN modem but cannot get WAN IP. tried to make changes to the settings but click button liao stuck at 'apply.cgi' page. reflashed back to original firmware 1.04, but read that the WPA support will not be available. so, quite sian.

now back at dlink 1.04 firmware but cannot use WPA for wifi.

liangtam
03-11-2008, 10:31 AM
Have you forgotton to restart the modem if you're using mol?

wpa2 supplicant gone after you erase. Wrty voided. Gd luck to you.

jc777
03-11-2008, 10:51 AM
Have you forgotton to restart the modem if you're using mol?

wpa2 supplicant gone after you erase. Wrty voided. Gd luck to you.
need to restart modem? even if can connect to WAN, but if the save/apply cannot work properly also very difficult.

what is wpa2 supplicant? anyway to get back?

phuque99
03-11-2008, 01:59 PM
Brick it with the redboot firmware and go RMA? :P

liangtam
03-11-2008, 02:05 PM
then u change the firmware la, some is broken ma

jc777
03-11-2008, 02:10 PM
then u change the firmware la, some is broken ma
change to which firmware? which are broken? which are not broken?

shadowandy
03-11-2008, 02:15 PM
jc777 you should have just use IE to apply your settings. Your firefox's addons may have hindered the process.

jc777
03-11-2008, 02:34 PM
jc777 you should have just use IE to apply your settings. Your firefox's addons may have hindered the process.
sounded logical. but how you know my firefox got addon har? haha. but for the fon that i flashed to dd-wrt, firefox can be use properly without the same problem. probably will try flashing the dir-300 to dd-wrt again and use IE see got problem anot.

but which link do you use to get the firmware? from here ok? http://www.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/down.php?path=downloads%2Fv24-sp1%2FConsumer%2FDlink%2FDIR-300/

jc777
04-11-2008, 08:35 AM
are all those with dd-wrt on dir-300 using internet explorer only? can someone try to access your dd-wrt config page using firefox and see if the page get stuck when you click on save/apply buttons?

phuque99
04-11-2008, 10:25 AM
Works perfectly fine on my FF v3.03 on DDWRT v24 sp1. However I've no plugins or addons.

jc777
04-11-2008, 10:55 AM
Works perfectly fine on my FF v3.03 on DDWRT v24 sp1. However I've no plugins or addons.
actually for the laptop is used for flashing, the FF i used also no plugins and addons also. dont know why cannot. where you download your linux.bin from? got to wait til wkend then got time to try again.

phuque99
04-11-2008, 10:57 AM
actually for the laptop is used for flashing, the FF i used also no plugins and addons also. dont know why cannot. where you download your linux.bin from? got to wait til wkend then got time to try again.

Get from dd-wrt.com.

jc777
04-11-2008, 11:19 AM
Get from dd-wrt.com.
this link? http://www.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/down.php?path=downloads%2Fv24-sp1%2FConsumer%2FDlink%2FDIR-300/

lambert
06-12-2008, 10:50 PM
i just connect my dir300 to my starhub motorola 5101 modem (using flexisurf).. everything seems okie>>flash my firmware to 1.04 liao

but my wireless connection keep dc-ing leh + it will not auto connect .

can i check with u gurus>> what is my problem??

is it my starhub modem , not capable of doing wireless or is my wdir300 got problem???