PDA

View Full Version : Seeking Advice on Hokkaido Tour

NTB2DO
04-12-2007, 09:44 PM
I will be going on packaged tour to Hokkaido with my family soon. Just wonder if anybody had just returned from there and could advice me on the followings:

1. How was the weather like (temperature?), has it started snowing already?
2. What to buy over there?
3. Any other advice?

Thank you very much!

gundamhamtaro
04-12-2007, 11:48 PM
1. yes snowing. Hokkaido will snow once Nov comes. probly about 5c now.
2. depends on u really.
3. bring lots of winter clothing lol. hardly a day without snow over there. i still love it though. but the locals hate it hahaha

NTB2DO
05-12-2007, 12:02 PM
1. yes snowing. Hokkaido will snow once Nov comes. probly about 5c now.
2. depends on u really.
3. bring lots of winter clothing lol. hardly a day without snow over there. i still love it though. but the locals hate it hahaha

Thanks! Haha glad to hear that it's snowing, think my kids would love it--they hv never experienced snow before..

As for shopping, I was just wondering if there's something unique and worth buying there, both as souvenir and as gift to relatives back home?

gundamhamtaro
05-12-2007, 03:53 PM
the one thing tt most pple buy there will probably be White Lovers (shiroi koibito). its choc waffle, but VERY thin. other than that its up to u what u want i guess. try drinking the milk there haha. i dont know where yr tour will bring u in winter, but if u r going to the Sapporo Clock Tower be prepared to be disappointed lol

NTB2DO
05-12-2007, 07:21 PM
Haha jialat we are really going to the (Tokeidai) Clock Tower leh, that's after visiting a chocolate factory..Maybe we could try to stay a bit longer there so that we would spend lesser time at the clock tower lor..Thanks for your info, pal!

gundamhamtaro
05-12-2007, 07:39 PM
np. anyway just spend around 5 mins at the clock tower, after that just walk down to the Sapporo TV Tower or the Oodori park. much worth yr time more than that stupid small Tokeidai

NTB2DO
05-12-2007, 09:23 PM
Lol thanks anyway!

NTB2DO
23-12-2007, 05:38 PM
For those who are going to Hakkaido by ANA beware: they only provide 1 miserable meal (lunch) for the entire 10-hour (8-hr from Sing to Jap, 2-hr from Tokyo to Hokkaido) flight. Better prepare some snacks with you if you cannot tahan hunger man!

And for those who plan to visit the "white lover" chocolate factory, the factory has closed down temporarily due to some unhygenic practice (uncovered by their authorities). However, you can still take picture outside their factory lah--quite a fairytale-like place, reminds me of the Charlie the chocolate factory movie..

Hokkaido is really a very beautiful and romantic place--even their snow also falls in a romantic manner, haha!