View Full Version : Unbeatable Singtel Mobile Broadband Festive Bundle! Sign 12 mth FREE 6 Mth!
nicholaslee
29-12-2007, 12:08 AM
promo ended?....or still avail?
until 31st dec
hpv500
29-12-2007, 10:15 AM
thx for the info
ginseng1
29-12-2007, 11:18 AM
I subscribed it too today around 5pm at golden shoe! took the PCMCIA card.
I installed the Wireless Manager 5 and al drivers installed successfully. But when i launch the software and it tries to register itself, I got a "Registration Denied" Error message.. In this case, I assume it is still not activated yet right? :)
to go with your x61 right? :D
nicholaslee
29-12-2007, 11:24 AM
yeah it's activated! :D
http://www.speedtest.net/result/216387780.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
tested from my room, 2nd floor.. Jalan Besar...
liangtam
29-12-2007, 11:30 AM
huai ish chiu upload so WOLS? Or you using your ham phone as modem?
nicholaslee
29-12-2007, 11:41 AM
huai ish chiu upload so WOLS? Or you using your ham phone as modem?
using the SE PC300 card with x61.. maybe because it's an an enclosed area bah
naxchua
29-12-2007, 12:02 PM
Yah got the USB modem, but don't think got resale value. Anyone who wants a plan will be given a modem, why buy from outside market? This E220 is like the A1000 during the early days of ADSL.
Mabbe that's why you guys got the White modem with Huawei logo? More resale value than the Black Singtel one?
the White Modem with Hua Wei Logo is "limited" edition one... cos not enough stocks... hahahaha... u all wun see it in near future... cos 99% u all will be getting the Black Modem with SingTel Logo... :)
PS: Black or White makes no different... except the firmware version is slightly different... :)
naxchua
29-12-2007, 12:04 PM
eh... wat is the level of reception bar in the wireless manager? and wat plan did u subscribe to?
liangtam
29-12-2007, 12:13 PM
near SLS?
Later can come out compare bah, lol, if u wan to.
eugene_nyc82
29-12-2007, 01:10 PM
Anyone here using 1800 plan? What is the speedtest result? Youtube streaming smooth?
I'm planning to sign up 1800 plan. I'm staying somewhere near Old Airport Road.
Scuderia
29-12-2007, 01:12 PM
Anyone here using 1800 plan? What is the speedtest result? Youtube streaming smooth?
I'm planning to sign up 1800 plan.
For watching YouTube no need 1800 plan. 512K is sufficient. Watching YouTube on Mobile Broadband 512K better than StarHub MOL 12Mbps. No pauses, smooth video all the way from start to finish.
liangtam
29-12-2007, 01:30 PM
Gotch occassional pauses for moi :o
eugene_nyc82
29-12-2007, 01:47 PM
Gotch occassional pauses for moi :o
You are on 512 or 1800? :s12:
liangtam
29-12-2007, 04:16 PM
You are on 512 or 1800? :s12:
512 lor :o
alvinyew99
29-12-2007, 05:12 PM
I have the Sony Ericsson PC300 PC Card from Singtel.
It is brand new and unused.
Bro who wish to trade for the Huawei USB modem pls PM me.
eugene_nyc82
29-12-2007, 06:06 PM
512 lor :o
Thanks bro. I will sign up 1800 plan then. :D
sg_trader
29-12-2007, 07:37 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/216458987.png
from my house.. just signed yesterday!
liangtam
29-12-2007, 07:56 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/216466465.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Seems like dl increase, upload reduced.
sg_trader
29-12-2007, 08:01 PM
tested to play dota.. no prob.. besides once in awhile spikes..
wrxykh
29-12-2007, 08:02 PM
Wonder if BB Mobile can be used for bit torrent?
liangtam
29-12-2007, 08:20 PM
Wonder if BB Mobile can be used for bit torrent?
Definitely NOT!!!
chunxi
29-12-2007, 08:22 PM
they extend the promo to 18 jan :)
still got time to think :D
eugene_nyc82
29-12-2007, 08:54 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/216458987.png
from my house.. just signed yesterday!
http://www.speedtest.net/result/216466465.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Seems like dl increase, upload reduced.
Hi sg_trader & liangtam, above result tested via 512 or 1800 plan?
wrxykh
29-12-2007, 09:06 PM
Definitely NOT!!!
Just try a sample file, looks like it is working well. I guess just don't go beyond limit can liao!
liangtam
29-12-2007, 09:20 PM
Just try a sample file, looks like it is working well. I guess just don't go beyond limit can liao!
You cant rly connect well as there is no incomin port. Also, think you will have a better experience doing it at home bah.
wrxykh
29-12-2007, 09:31 PM
You cant rly connect well as there is no incomin port. Also, think you will have a better experience doing it at home bah.
Well, test result...from home internet connection (starhub), d/l speed for 1 file is less than 2kb/s.
For MobileBB, d/l the same file, speed is around 40kb/s.
Surprise? Yes, I'm very surprise!
sg_trader
29-12-2007, 09:37 PM
Hi sg_trader & liangtam, above result tested via 512 or 1800 plan?
erm.. 512...
nicholaslee
29-12-2007, 11:00 PM
eh... wat is the level of reception bar in the wireless manager? and wat plan did u subscribe to?
it's about 3-4 bars out of 5.. 512k lor :P
youtube is so smooth like my snbb 6mbps :D
unless watching "high quality" youtube videos where the filesize is larger, the speed still max out to download the video
bitsoffish
29-12-2007, 11:40 PM
i dunno wats wrong with the connection today... its so f*cking slow now that i want to stab myself with a knife waiting for the pages to load..
madpandaz
29-12-2007, 11:42 PM
my manager never show any bar leh.. but still can surf.. funny
pkchukiss
30-12-2007, 12:33 AM
I'm experiencing the same issue... Any page takes more than 4 minutes to load. My recent speed test for any overseas website cannot even complete. It could be that the network is overloaded or something
liangtam
30-12-2007, 12:46 AM
Errm, does anyone have occassional dark blue LED on the e220(3G), and alternates with the teal(3.5G) colour?
If no, I go bring it for RMA liao.
liangtam
30-12-2007, 12:48 AM
I'm experiencing the same issue... Any page takes more than 4 minutes to load. My recent speed test for any overseas website cannot even complete. It could be that the network is overloaded or something
So far seems ok-ok. But what I feared after sign up, did came. LOL.
pkchukiss
30-12-2007, 01:25 AM
Actually, mine acts like yours, but back 2 days ago I was still getting quite fast transfer rates, so it should be normal for it to act like that. If it helps, one of my friend is using M1's mobile broadband service, and he is seeing the same thing on the E220.
I didn't use it for the past one day or so, but when I came around to using it today, I had to wait a long time for my Gmail to load. It is crazy!
pkchukiss
30-12-2007, 01:31 AM
Ok, now the speed seems to be back to normal right now. I wonder what happened the entire of today. I was doing a group project outside today, and we had to suffer from Wireless@SG when my HSDPA was doing a worse showing than it...
liangtam
30-12-2007, 02:14 AM
Since I've gotton the e220, have the problem of modem switching back and forth between WCDMA and HSDPA.
Anyway, rly must wait till the promo over first and see what happens.
OT: Got alot project for 1st yr student :s11:
naxchua
30-12-2007, 02:18 AM
Errm, does anyone have occassional dark blue LED on the e220(3G), and alternates with the teal(3.5G) colour?
If no, I go bring it for RMA liao.
it's normal....
if PDP idle, the 3.5G RAB may be release back to the network... when u r downloading again, it will give u 3.5G RAB if within coverage...
dodgybutters
30-12-2007, 04:34 AM
I signed up last weekend and I must say I'm a very satisfied user!
I've read all the reviews about the 3 main ISPs that provides Mobile Broadband and I was, like most of you guys I believe, spoilt for choice!
There were Pros and Cons about all threes. M1 being the short tie-down period, Singtel with the free modem, Starhub with the quickest at 7.2 and also that attractive 50% off (I was planning on getting my cousin to sign up for me).
I analyzed abit, and I was dead sure all I needed was 512 (for Work only. I'm regrettably tied down with PacNet at Home) and my choices boiled down to M1 and Singtel.
I was dead sure on the M1 (because I didn't think I was gonna stay in this job for that long) unless, rather fortuitously, I stumbled upon a thread on this Forum while doing a FINAL research.
12 months contract, w/ 6 months free, w/ free registration and SIM Card and w/ a free Modem.
I must be mentally disturbed by a FAT J of Weed if I were to choose M1 over Singtel!
The only downer was the Waiting time, and how the bloody promotion is not available in their Exclusive Distributor outlets. What were they thinking? The Queue at the Hello! stores were horrendous, and once you've gotten you're Waiting Number, you gotta wait again. It was frustrating, I swear.
Sorry this sounds like a personal Blog entry, but I wanted to share this with you lads.
I stay in Outram Park and I work at Clementi. No problems with Connection/Speed etc.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/216599888.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
sin77
30-12-2007, 08:04 AM
now with all the god damn sons signing up the singnet bb on mobile, the network slowed to a crawl!
magix
30-12-2007, 09:07 AM
Where did u guys sign up from? call 1626 a few time and was always told the USB modem no more stock until JAN08.
l2008l
30-12-2007, 09:16 AM
chiu can ask dem which hello! shop gotch usb modem lors. moi gotch e white usb modem. :D:s22:
Since I've gotton the e220, have the problem of modem switching back and forth between WCDMA and HSDPA.
Anyway, rly must wait till the promo over first and see what happens.
OT: Got alot project for 1st yr student :s11:
I think it is normal. When not downloading, it goes blue (WCDMA). When downloading, it goes teal (HSDPA).
Last night was really bad. It totally hang. But then last night even SNBB was slow.
liangtam
30-12-2007, 01:43 PM
I think it is normal. When not downloading, it goes blue (WCDMA). When downloading, it goes teal (HSDPA).
Last night was really bad. It totally hang. But then last night even SNBB was slow.
No reh, when I download, it goes blue(or it alternates) occasionally. When I don't, it stays on HSDPA. :s22:
heydude
30-12-2007, 03:59 PM
Hi
just to share my experience.
Went to Comcentre Hello shop on Dec 27th evening to sign up though I had called 1626 2 days before and was told the Huawei E220 was out of stock islandwide.
Got a queue number and confirmed that they had stock of the E220 before I continued queuing! Signed up for the 512 plan. Was told that I had to pay $5/mth to subscribe to a data plan. This is a brand new line! Hence total cost per mth is $11 + $5 + GST!
Was told that it will take 3 working days for activation. But called 1626 the next day and surprised found my account activated already.
Discovered that the free 50 GB data plan includes both upload and download data! :eek:
Anyway connected the Huawei E220 to my Asus EEE PC Xandros/Linux and was up and surfing without the need for additional software or configuration!
:s12:
liangtam
30-12-2007, 04:24 PM
Yar, 50GB for both download and upload.
mokhc_
30-12-2007, 04:27 PM
Went to AMK Hub Hello shop on 28th Dec at 4pm. Got stock but queue too long. Didn't want to wait.
Wife pick up at Golden shoe Hello shop later at 7pm. Got stock, no queue.
28th supposed to be last day of promotion but CSO told her promotion extended.
Was with M1BB when they started. M1 CSO has the cheek to ask why when we ask to terminate.
Experience so far better than M1BB.
Maserati
30-12-2007, 05:11 PM
Went to AMK Hub Hello shop on 28th Dec at 4pm. Got stock but queue too long. Didn't want to wait.
Wife pick up at Golden shoe Hello shop later at 7pm. Got stock, no queue.
28th supposed to be last day of promotion but CSO told her promotion extended.
Was with M1BB when they started. M1 CSO has the cheek to ask why when we ask to terminate.
Experience so far better than M1BB.
How to terminate M1BB? I also need to cut mine heard got to return the modem
sin77
30-12-2007, 05:37 PM
How to terminate M1BB? I also need to cut mine heard got to return the modem
Yes must return modem, all the cables/adapter, cd, etc.
I called the hotline, they even say need to bring the data sim card.
Termination can only be done at M1 service centre.
nicholaslee
30-12-2007, 07:50 PM
test again~
http://www.speedtest.net/result/216763644.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
now at ground level.. window is just behind the lappy..
mosmos
30-12-2007, 08:02 PM
test again~
http://www.speedtest.net/result/216763644.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
now at ground level.. window is just behind the lappy..
:s22: seems like their upload speed had been capped lower~?
mosmos
30-12-2007, 08:03 PM
Where did u guys sign up from? call 1626 a few time and was always told the USB modem no more stock until JAN08.
:s11: I went to westmall branch on friday and they had all usb modem, no more pc card.
xtrioxton
30-12-2007, 08:28 PM
sianx why they capped upload, i rather last time download 500+ , upload around 200+.
pesicola123
30-12-2007, 09:53 PM
utorrent setting? it seem that utorrent required me to do port forwarding?
Direct plug in already.
quekky
30-12-2007, 10:31 PM
Yes must return modem, all the cables/adapter, cd, etc.
I called the hotline, they even say need to bring the data sim card.
Termination can only be done at M1 service centre.
no need data sim card, just make sure all cables are in
eugene_nyc82
30-12-2007, 10:48 PM
I just sign up this afternoon at Bugis Junction Hello Shop.
planned to take 1800 plan. But was told by the sales person that I can take 512 first and upgrade my plan later, and still enjoy the promo.
But once upgraded, no downgrade allowed.
I saw the $5 charge reflected on the service agreement. But she told me they will waive off for me. Dunno what is that $5 for???
Until now, I still can't get online with my HuaWei. sianzz.
liangtam
30-12-2007, 10:49 PM
planned to take 1800 plan. But was told by the sales person that I can take 512 first and upgrade my plan later, and still enjoy the promo.
I saw the $5 charge reflected on the service agreement. But she told me they will waive off for me. Dunno what is that $5 for???
Need 1 working day la.
sg_trader
31-12-2007, 12:33 AM
eh bro,
better call ST to check.. i signed my plan at parkway hell-o. then the CSO tell me, if upgrade, no more promotion...
pesicola123
31-12-2007, 07:42 AM
utorrent setting? it seem that utorrent required me to do port forwarding?
Direct plug in already.
anyone can help?
huige
31-12-2007, 09:14 AM
eh bro,
better call ST to check.. i signed my plan at parkway hell-o. then the CSO tell me, if upgrade, no more promotion...
The message I got when signup during mid-Dec is that it can be upgraded to higher plan but not lower plan, they checked the system before telling me so I guess should not be wrong -- anyway I think its still ok for me the speed of 512.:)
Niaoson
31-12-2007, 09:15 AM
i think for all contracts is like that de. who will say no to more money?
pesicola123
31-12-2007, 09:41 AM
any1 to help?
eugene_nyc82
31-12-2007, 10:08 AM
The message I got when signup during mid-Dec is that it can be upgraded to higher plan but not lower plan, they checked the system before telling me so I guess should not be wrong -- anyway I think its still ok for me the speed of 512.:)
eh bro,
haha.. dun worry. if upgrade no more promo, I will go back to that Hello shop to bang table liao..
lolxx. :s22:
mosmos
31-12-2007, 10:27 AM
I just called 1626 and they said plenty of pc card available in westmall. :s22:
why that westmall information counter girl said don't have? :mad:
richneo
31-12-2007, 10:42 AM
I just called 1626 and they said plenty of pc card available in westmall. :s22:
why that westmall information counter girl said don't have? :mad:
cos pc card is not the same as usb modem :s34:
pc card is the sony ericcson pc300 which can only be used with a laptop on pcmcia slot
and most ppl wanted the usb modem which is the e220 and is low on stock :D
pesicola123
31-12-2007, 10:46 AM
PC card better or USB modem better? :)
liangtam
31-12-2007, 11:07 AM
1626 ish not always correct. To really check the status of stock, go down better.
mosmos
31-12-2007, 11:44 AM
cos pc card is not the same as usb modem :s34:
pc card is the sony ericcson pc300 which can only be used with a laptop on pcmcia slot
and most ppl wanted the usb modem which is the e220 and is low on stock :D
:s11: but on friday she said don't have pc card leh, wasted my time queuing up.
guess tmr morning going to westmall again :(
mosmos
31-12-2007, 11:46 AM
:o I am not sure abt singtel one. Only using singtel pc card now.
But my experience in M1 with usb and pc card, pc card is faster (can really feel less lag) + have better reception. :s22:
mosmos
31-12-2007, 11:48 AM
1626 ish not always correct. To really check the status of stock, go down better.
:crazy: have to queue for 30mins at information counter again to check.
pesicola123
31-12-2007, 12:19 PM
mosmos... BT using this??
is it very lousy??
pesicola123
31-12-2007, 12:22 PM
http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c37/fcsega07/IMAGE_090.jpg
here it goes
where to buy this! :)
TIA
richneo
31-12-2007, 12:28 PM
where to buy this! :)
TIA
its together inside the 3g modem box mah
magix
31-12-2007, 12:43 PM
Yeah! Singtel 1626 sure lose out to M1 Shop hotline in terms of STOCK status.
I called Singtel 2 times yesterday to see if there are stock on the USB modem in Comcentre. Both CSO ( 1 took 1 min another 1 took 5 mins) and get back to me saying they confirm no USB modem there.
I still asked them you sure no modem ah!
So I took the risk by taking MRT from Boon lay down and wah! Got the modem there!
pesicola123
31-12-2007, 12:55 PM
its together inside the 3g modem box mah
i only got USB cables (2x)
dun have this socket leh..
it look better... :(
stephen8
31-12-2007, 01:08 PM
pc300 card rate is 3.6mbps,integrate with card slot.
huawei usb modem rate is 7.2mbps, can connect to any pc with usb connector.
Choice is up to u.
magix
31-12-2007, 01:23 PM
:s11: I went to westmall branch on friday and they had all usb modem, no more pc card.
Mosmos Thanks... Saw your message
liangtam
31-12-2007, 01:23 PM
i only got USB cables (2x)
dun have this socket leh..
it look better... :(
Likely M1 gibe, both ST and SH's huawei modem does not have it supplied.
mosmos
31-12-2007, 01:30 PM
mosmos... BT using this??
is it very lousy??
Never tried using with BT before. :o
mosmos
31-12-2007, 01:31 PM
Mosmos Thanks... Saw your message
1626 said got plenty of pc card modem today at westmall :s22:
don't know want to go down later, always see the queue at hello! shop can faint. :crazy:
liangtam
31-12-2007, 01:53 PM
Go infront ask got stock then queue lor.
Scuderia
31-12-2007, 01:59 PM
Any one encounter slow down at night? Was surfing HWZ and Soccernet using Mobile Broadband at 11pm+, but encounter really slow page loading or time out.
Niaoson
31-12-2007, 02:06 PM
mobile broadband also kena?
pkchukiss
31-12-2007, 02:30 PM
Any one encounter slow down at night? Was surfing HWZ and Soccernet using Mobile Broadband at 11pm+, but encounter really slow page loading or time out.
Yeah, the service is definitely slowing down. Even when I try to watch a YouTube video now, the video needs to buffer for quite a bit before it can play smoothly. Evenings are the worst - the pages load very, very slowly, sometimes they even time-out. From 8pm onwards, MSN would take 4 to 5 minutes just to log in. When I try to load GMail, the page gets stuck on the loading screen.
Things were better near the middle of this month, but I'm guessing that there are many more new users since then, which has overloaded the service. Morning time remains the fastest period, but that's because most people are either working, schooling, or are sleeping at home.
Scuderia
31-12-2007, 02:37 PM
What is the use of Broadband Mobile when the QOS is even worse than old days 56Kbps dial-ups? Think ST Mobile network congested by all the new subscribers jumping onto this promotion.
xtrioxton
31-12-2007, 02:50 PM
and they extend the promotion to 18jan..... haiz if they know they cant support so much people, then they should have adjust according.
pkchukiss
31-12-2007, 05:05 PM
and they extend the promotion to 18jan..... haiz if they know they cant support so much people, then they should have adjust according.
I've actually used the service since October, and the service is like a roller-coaster. It would be good for a few days in the month, and then degrade until it becomes nearly unusable. Then, it would become ok a few days after I called the customer service hotline to complain about the bad speed. Then it starts to degrade again. It is a crazy cycle if you ask me... The previous round got so bad I had to stop all my work and do it at home.
Each time I call in, the CSO will assure me that they are onto the problem, and would fix it as soon as possible, which does happen, but I would really appreciate if they could maintain some consistency in the service...
steamywoks
31-12-2007, 07:12 PM
So both ST and M1 BB on mobile cannot make it one. Better wait longer until speed improves. No point pay to surf at speeds less than that of dial-up.
Actually so far ok leh. Only at night slow. But since I use SNBB at night I am ok.
It is meant to be supplementary for me when I am out in town so alright.
liangtam
31-12-2007, 09:36 PM
SingTel > M1.
nicholaslee
01-01-2008, 02:40 AM
my is so far still ok..:o
3/5 bars signal
http://www.speedtest.net/result/217147130.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
5/5 bars signal
http://www.speedtest.net/result/217148056.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
actually slower! :eek:
same room.. different placement of lappy..
pesicola123
01-01-2008, 12:35 PM
need to enquiry about the billing cycle.
The CSO mention they will send me a bill in next 2 week. So how is it being prorated?
Are we really getting 6month (paid) with 6 month (free) in reality?
Please teach.
nicholaslee
02-01-2008, 08:51 AM
Posting from an island located 6.5 km southwest of Singapore :s22:
look at the UPLOAD!!! :eek:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/217470849.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
leinad
02-01-2008, 09:10 AM
Posting from an island located 6.5 km southwest of Singapore :s22:
look at the UPLOAD!!! :eek:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/217470849.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Pardon the ignorance, but isn't Pulau Bukom the petrol island? :crazy:
You can use mobile communications devices wherever and whenever you like there, or is it only restricted to demarcated zones?
/Dan
pesicola123
02-01-2008, 09:17 AM
The CSO mention they will send me a bill in next 2 week. So how is it being prorated?
Please teach.
anyone ?
mosmos
02-01-2008, 09:44 AM
speedtest in tuas for 512k :eek:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/217479952.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/217480510.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
tohdj
02-01-2008, 09:54 AM
do i need to have fixed-line broadband subscription in order to subscribe to the mobile broadband?
mosmos
02-01-2008, 10:01 AM
do i need to have fixed-line broadband subscription in order to subscribe to the mobile broadband?
for singtel no need. :o
pesicola123
02-01-2008, 10:22 AM
mosmos,
can help answer the enquiry on billing cycle?
Singtel is still better than M1, but between 10pm to 1am, Singtel is equivalent bad. That time is impossible to surf. The upload is almost zero all the time. But, the download is acceptable. The contradict is that when i run speedtest, the results shows ok for both upload and download. So puzzling :s11:
mosmos
02-01-2008, 10:59 AM
mosmos,
can help answer the enquiry on billing cycle?
:o i got a $0.00 bill in dec. :s22:
1dec to 10 dec = $0.00
10-dec to 10 jan = $0.00
according to terms and condition, it should be 1,3,5,7,9,11 free.
Please teach.
According to Singtel CSO, you will be billed $22+ (assuming 512K) on 1,3,5,7,9,11 month. Then get free 2,4,6,8,10,12 month.
I have mine integrated with my existing Singtel billing account so cannot answer how it is prorated. Have not received my bill yet. Will call up Singtel after getting bills. Singtel bills are very confusing nowadays.
mosmos
02-01-2008, 11:01 AM
Singtel is still better than M1, but between 10pm to 1am, Singtel is equivalent bad. That time is impossible to surf. The upload is almost zero all the time. But, the download is acceptable. The contradict is that when i run speedtest, the results shows ok for both upload and download. So puzzling :s11:
M1 is getting from ok to bad, connected but no data coming in, have to restart modem again.
The reception in tuas is only 1-2 bar while singtel 3-4 bars.:(
nicholaslee
02-01-2008, 11:35 AM
Pardon the ignorance, but isn't Pulau Bukom the petrol island? :crazy:
You can use mobile communications devices wherever and whenever you like there, or is it only restricted to demarcated zones?
/Dan
yeap ur right :o
mobile communications only at the main offices.. "inside" cannot bring in mobile devices :s22:
pesicola123
02-01-2008, 11:54 AM
:o i got a $0.00 bill in dec. :s22:
1dec to 10 dec = $0.00
10-dec to 10 jan = $0.00
according to terms and condition, it should be 1,3,5,7,9,11 free.
why 1 dec to 10dec is 0? since 10dec -10jan is 0 too?
cos it should be alt month having the 'free' thingy
mosmos
02-01-2008, 12:18 PM
why 1 dec to 10dec is 0? since 10dec -10jan is 0 too?
cos it should be alt month having the 'free' thingy
:s22: bill like that say one mah.
slsquare
04-01-2008, 03:11 PM
Where did u saw it? The website still wrote 14 dec.
Just went down hell-o shop, they refuse let me sign up with my existing line oso.
hi, i just go to hello shop today (4/jan/08) to sign up this festival season package.. using my existing BBoM (i'm on BBoM 512 w/o contract)=:p to tied it with a 1 year contract to get the free 6 mth package. howvere i gotta pay $10 reg free and $30 for multi-Sim card one time charge and $5/mth to allow my N95 to be able to go online when i am outside w/o and pop in the PCMICA card if i have a laptop. alll in all still cheaper than to go without the contract which cost $22++
hee. i call up and check. the promo is till 18 jan
huige
04-01-2008, 03:17 PM
hi, i just go to hello shop today (4/jan/08) to sign up this festival season package.. using my existing BBoM (i'm on BBoM 512 w/o contract)=:p to tied it with a 1 year contract to get the free 6 mth package. howvere i gotta pay $10 reg free and $30 for multi-Sim card one time charge and $5/mth to allow my N95 to be able to go online when i am outside w/o and pop in the PCMICA card if i have a laptop. alll in all still cheaper than to go without the contract which cost $22++
Check with you, do the PCMICA card completely slot into the PC card slot, or still got some portion showing outside?
mosmos
04-01-2008, 03:30 PM
Check with you, do the PCMICA card completely slot into the PC card slot, or still got some portion showing outside?
slightly out.
http://www.imagevimage.com/images/DSC00722.JPG
ToriQQ
04-01-2008, 07:28 PM
imo, very much compact compared to usb modem
ToriQQ
04-01-2008, 07:29 PM
http://i19.tinypic.com/6ue8b45.jpg
http://i2.tinypic.com/6slz804.jpg
liangtam
04-01-2008, 07:33 PM
There is no registration fee nor multiSIM one time charge payable under this promo! You tio ripped by hell-o!
There is no multi-sim or one-time charge if you get new line. But for existing line. They keep saying got charge. I talked with the CSO until vomit blood also cannot.
liangtam
04-01-2008, 11:12 PM
There is no multi-sim or one-time charge if you get new line. But for existing line. They keep saying got charge. I talked with the CSO until vomit blood also cannot.
I oso combined with existing what.
Need to clarify, you are saying that there is no 1-time charge of $10+$30. But monthly $5 is still applicable.
Or everything is no charge.
I also ask for to combine with my exisitng SIM, but the CSO. They keep insisting I pay $10 + $30 + $5/mth. Refuse to waive anything.
In the end I have to get a new SIM with a data only and keep my existing sim with voice only. :frus:
I don't even get to choose the number for my data sim.
lc_wen
05-01-2008, 06:07 PM
May someone help to let me know if iPAQ6818 can use this SIM for intelnet surf... thanks
liangtam
05-01-2008, 07:33 PM
Need to clarify, you are saying that there is no 1-time charge of $10+$30. But monthly $5 is still applicable.
Or everything is no charge.
I also ask for to combine with my exisitng SIM, but the CSO. They keep insisting I pay $10 + $30 + $5/mth. Refuse to waive anything.
In the end I have to get a new SIM with a data only and keep my existing sim with voice only. :frus:
I don't even get to choose the number for my data sim.
multiSIM has a charge of $5 per month. You may wan refer to previous post in the thread for more detail on other matters.
liangtam
05-01-2008, 07:35 PM
May someone help to let me know if iPAQ6818 can use this SIM for intelnet surf... thanks
GPRS only.
lc_wen
05-01-2008, 08:28 PM
Thank u very much, Have a good night!
Fi3v3l
05-01-2008, 10:18 PM
erm got questions
can i open a new mobile line and tag this bbom plan together?
Does anyone know if the Huawei E220 USB modem or the Sony Ericsson PC300 PCMCIA Broadband modem card is sim-locked to SingTel SIM cards only?
Or can I put in an M1 or StarHub SIM card and get it to work as well?
cstanhwz
05-01-2008, 10:41 PM
Does anyone know if the Huawei E220 USB modem or the Sony Ericsson PC300 PCMCIA Broadband modem card is sim-locked to SingTel SIM cards only?
According to the CSO, they are not locked. But not sure true or not.
Signed up BBOM with my existing line today. The CSO waived the SIM card charges. But charge me S$10 for registration in my next bill.
If supposed to be no S$10 regisatration charge then going to call Singtel hotline.
Any website from Singtel or leaflet to support this claim? Thanks.
liangtam
05-01-2008, 11:45 PM
Dosn't seems to be at all. Anyway, other ppl have already tested it.
According to the CSO, they are not locked. But not sure true or not.
Signed up BBOM with my existing line today. The CSO waived the SIM card charges. But charge me S$10 for registration in my next bill.
If supposed to be no S$10 regisatration charge then going to call Singtel hotline.
Any website from Singtel or leaflet to support this claim? Thanks.
Tied with existing line or seperate??
There is a page which says free registration, but never stated clearly if you got the multiSIM:
http://home.singtel.com/bbmobile/HS_price.htm
huige
06-01-2008, 04:51 AM
Thanks to mosmos and ToriQQ for the photo! Seeing it is better then talking! :-)
erm got questions
Yes. Then get the $100 rebate for phone lor
KOPS1974
06-01-2008, 10:48 AM
Yes, i am doing that currently.
I think may be new card can do that bah... old card cannot...:s8:
erm got questions
cstanhwz
06-01-2008, 12:37 PM
Dosn't seems to be at all. Anyway, other ppl have already tested it.
Tied with existing line or seperate??
There is a page which says free registration, but never stated clearly if you got the multiSIM:
http://home.singtel.com/bbmobile/HS_price.htm
Existing line.
Forgot to add that I applied for multi SIM VAS. The S$10 charge is supposed to be the registration for the multi SIM cards (2 pcs). No registration for BBOM.
But can only confirm these on my coming bill.
pesicola123
06-01-2008, 06:01 PM
Question time for those BB gurus!
previously using SH MOL. So i do not have to press anything to access internet. However this SBBOM, i need to open program -> Mobile partner -> press the connect.
My question is : Is there any way which it will auto connect without me pressing here and there?
TIA :)
liangtam
06-01-2008, 06:24 PM
Question time for those BB gurus!
previously using SH MOL. So i do not have to press anything to access internet. However this SBBOM, i need to open program -> Mobile partner -> press the connect.
My question is : Is there any way which it will auto connect without me pressing here and there?
TIA :)
Yes. Install the Mobile Partner first if you have not. Connect in at least once. Go to view Windows network connection / DUN portion, SingTel profile will be there. Pls ensure the modem is correct in option.
To make it auto connect when there is application requesting for it, set it to remember password and connect automatically in IE.
pesicola123
06-01-2008, 06:28 PM
Do not have leh.
Anyway mobile partner is auto installed? right to say so?
Where to set "remember password"
cant find this option.
TIA
liangtam
06-01-2008, 06:30 PM
Do not have leh.
Anyway mobile partner is auto installed? right to say so?
Where to set "remember password"
cant find this option.
TIA
You have to install and connect in at least once!!!
pesicola123
06-01-2008, 06:43 PM
install where?? auto install when i 1st plugged? it alrady installed..
khuancc
06-01-2008, 10:54 PM
I noticed my Mobile Partner software could not tell my accumalated data that i have used. Each time i start the program, the statistics (data counter) will reset. Anyone faced this problem? Thanks.
sin77
06-01-2008, 11:33 PM
everything is auto install one.
so far no problem tracking the usage.
btw do u all ever think will exceed the 50 gb limit?
Not a 24/7 hardcore downloader. But sometimes video chat.
And many many hrs on hwz. Each page is like 0.5 to 1mb.
Niaoson
06-01-2008, 11:37 PM
nope. even my MOL at home never exceed 10GB a month.
liangtam
06-01-2008, 11:45 PM
Not a 24/7 hardcore downloader. But sometimes video chat.
And many many hrs on hwz. Each page is like 0.5 to 1mb.
HWZ has too much crappy bloats, lol. Adblock them to save ur bandwidth transfers. :D
As for videos, surf wisely bah.
shioks
07-01-2008, 06:50 AM
just wondering 50gb is consisting of both u/l & d/l?
Sambuca78
07-01-2008, 08:51 AM
ST BBoM users, which access point u using?
IDEAS WAP or IDEAS Internet?
:s11:
huige
07-01-2008, 09:50 AM
just wondering 50gb is consisting of both u/l & d/l?
yes total of both.:yawn:
bitsoffish
07-01-2008, 09:51 AM
i thought the program will auto pick for u one?
I think he is using a 3.5G phone. According to Singtel CSO, it does not matter. WAP is just a legacy. Still got IDEAS MMS and Streaming
PentiumPC
07-01-2008, 12:13 PM
Still stuck with M1, M! cannot tie broadband to existing phone line.
forced to take sunsurf22 for $23.90 , only 1 gig in volume.
Switch to Singtel when contract expires...
for singtel I can use my phone as a modem right??
astudent
07-01-2008, 03:00 PM
Any one use Pfingo with Singtel Mobile Broadband? I can use Pfingo with M1, but thought of switching, but only if I can use Pfingo
SquallLH
07-01-2008, 03:21 PM
Anyone managed to get the SE PC300 card working with linux?
Cheers
benedict888
07-01-2008, 03:34 PM
dont know.. i use ideas internet
sounds more right
:)
sin77
07-01-2008, 10:25 PM
Still stuck with M1, M! cannot tie broadband to existing phone line.
forced to take sunsurf22 for $23.90 , only 1 gig in volume.
Switch to Singtel when contract expires...
for singtel I can use my phone as a modem right??
If u subscribe to multi sim, u can surf on both pc and phone exclusively/independently.
Well i just switched to singtel and it bring me 3 benefits.
1. It allows me to combine my bb with phone line.
2. It is cheaper due to 6mths free and also a free modem!
3. More responsive and stable connection than M1. Less jam.
Sambuca78
07-01-2008, 10:32 PM
I think he is using a 3.5G phone. According to Singtel CSO, it does not matter. WAP is just a legacy. Still got IDEAS MMS and Streaming
I used to set IDEAS WAP, but having prob connecting to the net lately. After i change to IDEAS Internet it work again. So i wondering which shld be the preferred one?
Btw, i called the ST helpdesk, i was told to use the IDEAS Internet also
sin77
07-01-2008, 11:52 PM
I used to set IDEAS WAP, but having prob connecting to the net lately. After i change to IDEAS Internet it work again. So i wondering which shld be the preferred one?
Btw, i called the ST helpdesk, i was told to use the IDEAS Internet also
They say is same and ask me use IDEAS WAP.
i heck care... just use IDEAS Internet....hahahha
liangtam
08-01-2008, 01:08 AM
e-ideas or internet does not actually matter.
lc_wen
08-01-2008, 06:51 PM
Good evening everyone,
How do i know the actual data used? Is there any hot line or other service from singtel let us to check /know? I do not think the shown data in the Mobile partner is what i have been download ... thanks in advance.
liangtam
08-01-2008, 07:44 PM
Good evening everyone,
How do i know the actual data used? Is there any hot line or other service from singtel let us to check /know? I do not think the shown data in the Mobile partner is what i have been download ... thanks in advance.
There is no other way of referencing other than from mobile partner, besides, the value reported by Mobile partner is what Windows would have provided.
quekky
08-01-2008, 09:51 PM
that day i tried, WAP is much faster then IDEAS Internet. think i'll try the speed again, today on bus keep getting connection failed
anyway for me some sites dun work in IDEAS Internet, eg the musicVibe which is hardcoded to the right button...
sin77
08-01-2008, 11:00 PM
can anyone confirm again WAP or INTERNET is better?
liangtam
09-01-2008, 12:10 AM
does it rly matter that much between different APN?
Sambuca78
09-01-2008, 09:06 AM
that day i tried, WAP is much faster then IDEAS Internet. think i'll try the speed again, today on bus keep getting connection failed
anyway for me some sites dun work in IDEAS Internet, eg the musicVibe which is hardcoded to the right button...
Some issues i encountered recently with IDEAS WAP
- able to surf net on phone.
- unable to sign in MSN Messenger on phone.
- PC unable to online completely.
But all issues resolved with IDEAS Internet... :s8:
Maikeru
09-01-2008, 01:12 PM
Anyone knows if the Mobile Broadband Festive Bundle promo still on?
bunswin
09-01-2008, 01:39 PM
Anyone knows if you can read?
Just got my bill. Wah liao, very heart attack one.
The bill states that I transfer about 1GB of data amounting to $3600, then give you rebate back of $3600. Even though you still only pay $21, the $3.6K bill can give you a very bad scare.
I really hate the Singtel billing format.
Maikeru
09-01-2008, 05:03 PM
Anyone knows if you can read?
If you can't give a clarifying answer then shut up. Their website still says it's ok, but someone says it's over. Or perhaps you have godly knowledge and totally has knowledge of everything going on in the world which I doubt because of your lame answer.
Maikeru
09-01-2008, 05:14 PM
The bill states that I transfer about 1GB of data amounting to $3600, then give you rebate back of $3600. Even though you still only pay $21, the $3.6K bill can give you a very bad scare.
IIRC, one guy who is in SH mobile broadband also received a bill over thousands, in which SH said to ignore. But of course, the customer panicked when he received it.
goalshot
09-01-2008, 06:50 PM
I wonder what speed you guys are getting? I'm in Hougang and only get 150k for my 1.8 M plan
Sp1der
09-01-2008, 08:00 PM
that mean if my usage is around 20 gb i should see an estimate amount to $72,000 bill being waived
that is really scary.
Maikeru
09-01-2008, 08:44 PM
that mean if my usage is around 20 gb i should see an estimate amount to $72,000 bill being waived
that is really scary.
In the news, a man who downloaded a lot of movies in his phone surpassed his GB limit - can't remember by how much (long time ago). And SN really billed him around $5,000 for his download addiction.
andromeda2000
09-01-2008, 09:09 PM
In the news, a man who downloaded a lot of movies in his phone surpassed his GB limit - can't remember by how much (long time ago). And SN really billed him around $5,000 for his download addiction.
So die die cannot exceed the limit... Just be careful...
Thus 50GB download is equivalent to $180,000!!! And now it is only $11 per month. This is extremely ridiculous and outrageous. It should be the same for all 3 operators right? They should really start adjusting the charge out rate to make better sense.
alvino77
10-01-2008, 12:56 AM
hello to those who have received their 1st bill or 2nd..
I looked under the contract recently.. to realise that there's a monthly charge of 5 bucks for "3G supplementary Data Priceplan".
Is that suppose to be free? I was leaded to think it's 22.xx /mth nett with alternate mth free. Can any kind soul explain to me?
Thanks
Maikeru
10-01-2008, 08:11 AM
Thus 50GB download is equivalent to $180,000!!! And now it is only $11 per month. This is extremely ridiculous and outrageous. It should be the same for all 3 operators right? They should really start adjusting the charge out rate to make better sense.
Well, that's the beauty of competition. SH's selling point is unlimited downloads, but still expensive - only ideal for heavy users.
bunswin
10-01-2008, 08:43 AM
If you can't give a clarifying answer then shut up. Their website still says it's ok, but someone says it's over. Or perhaps you have godly knowledge and totally has knowledge of everything going on in the world which I doubt because of your lame answer.
If you are too lazy to call up and ask then you should shut up. Expect people here to serve information on a plate for you. Now you show yourself to be illiterate and lazy.
Maikeru
10-01-2008, 09:52 AM
If you are too lazy to call up and ask then you should shut up. Expect people here to serve information on a plate for you. Now you show yourself to be illiterate and lazy.
Your answers that doesn't even on the topic of this thread shows how rude and arrogant you are. Oh well, pests are so common around.
If you can't give a clarifying answer then shut up..
Geez, what part of what I said didn't you understand, and obviously didn't give any clarifying answer at all. Hence maybe you're the one who doesn't know how to read?
Wait? Or maybe you know how to read but cannot think? A trillobyte like you shouldn't be in forums. Don't worry, science will find a brain implant for you soon enough.
Fly a kite for the meantime. Or get a girlfriend to teach you manners.
(Sorry, OT, but have to answer to try to put logic inside a monkey...)
jennyviv
10-01-2008, 10:04 AM
Hi, from what I heard they've extended the promo but not sure until when. Funny their webby not updated.
bunswin
10-01-2008, 10:09 AM
Your answers that doesn't even on the topic of this thread shows how rude and arrogant you are. Oh well, pests are so common around.
Geez, what part of what I said didn't you understand, and obviously didn't give any clarifying answer at all. Hence maybe you're the one who doesn't know how to read?
Wait? Or maybe you know how to read but cannot think? A trillobyte like you shouldn't be in forums. Don't worry, science will find a brain implant for you soon enough.
Fly a kite for the meantime. Or get a girlfriend to teach you manners.
(Sorry, OT, but have to answer to try to put logic inside a monkey...)
Doesn't change the fact you are still lazy and illiterate.
"Your answers that doesn't even on the topic of this thread" WTF?????????
And also stupid.
jennyviv
10-01-2008, 10:13 AM
Doesn't change the fact you are still lazy and illiterate.
"Your answers that doesn't even on the topic of this thread" WTF?????????
And also stupid.
Funny, he is asking about Singtel Broadband, that's the topic isn't it?
Can you please stop flaming threads and respect the TS?
bunswin
10-01-2008, 10:13 AM
A trillobyte like you shouldn't be in forums.
Do you mean trilobite? If you want to insult at least don't be so retarded to spell it completely wrong. I guess you just can't help your retardation.
hello to those who have received their 1st bill or 2nd..
I looked under the contract recently.. to realise that there's a monthly charge of 5 bucks for "3G supplementary Data Priceplan".
Is that suppose to be free? I was leaded to think it's 22.xx /mth nett with alternate mth free. Can any kind soul explain to me?
Thanks
Should be free, the only $5 applicable is if you sign up for multi-sim. My "3G supplementary Data Priceplan (Promo)" is stated as "Free".
Separate topic, Singtel billing is really headachey, everytime signup/cancel something sure got billing error/confusion. And processing refunds often take a few billing cycles.
Maikeru
10-01-2008, 10:24 AM
Do you mean trilobite? If you want to insult at least don't be so retarded to spell it completely wrong. I guess you just can't help your retardation.
Oh thank you for correcting me oh great spell checker! Sorry, but I am human. And humans makes mistakes.
I am unlike you omnipotent godly being who thinks his perfection is beyond HWZ members. So please forgive me of my mistakes! And the mistakes of other forumers who had mispelled their english! We are not worthy of your presense.
Please, enlighten us. How to be perfect? How to double my allowance? How to be a perfect one like you?!
bunswin
10-01-2008, 10:36 AM
I am unlike you omnipotent godly being who thinks his perfection is beyond HWZ members. So please forgive me of my mistakes! And the mistakes of other forumers who had mispelled their english! We are not worthy of your presense.
Good to see you acknowledge me as a god.
huige
10-01-2008, 11:38 AM
I just apply another line yesterday and the promotion still on :> - hope flaming stops in this thread :-)
ginseng1
10-01-2008, 06:46 PM
Today applied for my second BBOM. USB last set taken by one lucky fellow. I opted for PCMCIA to go with my X61.
I agree with huige that flaming should stop. What's the point in continuing such senseless acts. Only shows how egoistic one is:D
fattyboi
10-01-2008, 07:19 PM
Is this offer still valid?
woodland-valley
10-01-2008, 09:40 PM
i have a white usb modem willing to exchange with PCMCIA. signed up abt 2wks ago. PM mi if u are interested to exchange. thanks.
Today applied for my second BBOM. USB last set taken by one lucky fellow. I opted for PCMCIA to go with my X61.
I agree with huige that flaming should stop. What's the point in continuing such senseless acts. Only shows how egoistic one is:D
alvino77
10-01-2008, 11:58 PM
Should be free, the only $5 applicable is if you sign up for multi-sim. My "3G supplementary Data Priceplan (Promo)" is stated as "Free".
Separate topic, Singtel billing is really headachey, everytime signup/cancel something sure got billing error/confusion. And processing refunds often take a few billing cycles.
I din take up Multi-sim service since i don need the same number for the BBoM. Okay thanks, i will call them and pester. cos my sister has the same monthly "3G supplementary Data Priceplan". stupid singtel CSO!
SquallLH
11-01-2008, 02:34 PM
Agreed, am very unimpressed with their billing system...
twosix
11-01-2008, 09:38 PM
I signed up 2 hrs ago and I am surfing the net now. 8) A bit not used to the 512kbps compared to my MOL's 12mbps.
Speed at 9pm+ still acceptable.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/220899651.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
ginseng1
12-01-2008, 01:42 AM
i have a white usb modem willing to exchange with PCMCIA. signed up abt 2wks ago. PM mi if u are interested to exchange. thanks.
Will be using the PCMCIA. Why don't you do a search in Marketplace for this guy wanting to buy USB modem for $160. You can then sign on another contract and choose the PCMCIA. Promo till 18/1.
sin77
12-01-2008, 10:40 AM
Agreed, am very unimpressed with their billing system...
not really lah..
my bill came thru VPOST and i can see my bill in PDF.
All the amount is correct and they did not charge me for using data on my mobile phone for a few days before signing the bbom-512k.
I think i saved a few bucks or even $10.
alvino77
12-01-2008, 04:17 PM
not really lah..
my bill came thru VPOST and i can see my bill in PDF.
All the amount is correct and they did not charge me for using data on my mobile phone for a few days before signing the bbom-512k.
I think i saved a few bucks or even $10.
Then the more the billing system is cocked up. By you saving a few dollars or 10 due to their discrepancy doesn't make them better you know :)
SquallLH is right!
astudent
12-01-2008, 05:13 PM
Just got my Singtel Mobile BB 2 days back. Its a lot faster than M1. Pages load faster and I get less drop out.
However, M1's SIM can be used to call out as a normal mobile phone, but Singtel's can't. Also getting problem with Pfingo on SMBB, voice being delayed (longer than 10s) and distorted, although I can hear other party clearly. Strangely pfingo works OK with incoming call. Truphone works fine as well.
Also my phone getting hot when I leave E61i voip client on, and battery discharges very fast, which never used to happen on my M1MBB, with pfingo, although it used to happen with truphone.
Just to let people thinking of switching over from M1 and using pfingo know. I'm happy to be switching to Singtel, since I don't use pfingo that much because can't get connection sometimes. Wonder if Singtel is screwing with Pfingo's IP packets, when you make outgoing calls.
micromousez
12-01-2008, 05:18 PM
now surf on SMBB is getting slower n slower...sian...
alvino77
12-01-2008, 05:31 PM
Hi me again asking more questions to fellow Singtel's BBoM!
I have been ONLY getting GPRS connection everywhere, is this normal? I'm only connected with up to 53.6kbps/s speed max....
I vaguely remember i was connected to 7.2mbps speed on the 1st day of activation. Then after always only GPRS signal! I have tried at places likie novena sq, Tiong bahru plaza, bugis MOS burger etc.. alwsays only GPRS...
is this normal? or could it be just damn singtel's network not fulfilling the customers pool?
BlackTribal
12-01-2008, 05:33 PM
Does anybody knows if the black USB model still avail from SingTel? Many thks.
seowbin
12-01-2008, 05:42 PM
Just got my Singtel Mobile BB 2 days back. Its a lot faster than M1. Pages load faster and I get less drop out.
However, M1's SIM can be used to call out as a normal mobile phone, but Singtel's can't. Also getting problem with Pfingo on SMBB, voice being delayed (longer than 10s) and distorted, although I can hear other party clearly. Strangely pfingo works OK with incoming call. Truphone works fine as well.
Also my phone getting hot when I leave E61i voip client on, and battery discharges very fast, which never used to happen on my M1MBB, with pfingo, although it used to happen with truphone.
Just to let people thinking of switching over from M1 and using pfingo know. I'm happy to be switching to Singtel, since I don't use pfingo that much because can't get connection sometimes. Wonder if Singtel is screwing with Pfingo's IP packets, when you make outgoing calls.
most likely is because u are behind NAT with singtel while in M1 bb, u are issue a WAN address directly
try setting stun server or other auto detect feature for NAT, see whether it improves?
liangtam
12-01-2008, 05:54 PM
Hi me again asking more questions to fellow Singtel's BBoM!
I have been ONLY getting GPRS connection everywhere, is this normal? I'm only connected with up to 53.6kbps/s speed max....
I vaguely remember i was connected to 7.2mbps speed on the 1st day of activation. Then after always only GPRS signal! I have tried at places likie novena sq, Tiong bahru plaza, bugis MOS burger etc.. alwsays only GPRS...
is this normal? or could it be just damn singtel's network not fulfilling the customers pool?
have u flashed ur e220?
sin77
12-01-2008, 07:34 PM
can merge singtel mobile plan with snbbom
nicholaslee
12-01-2008, 11:52 PM
Singtel waived $3000++ for my bill! :D :s22:
alvin81
13-01-2008, 01:12 AM
Why is your bill so high???
liangtam
13-01-2008, 02:41 AM
lol!?
Its a rebate of the 50GB right :s13:
PatchAdam
13-01-2008, 04:18 AM
sorry side-tracked a bit... anyone knows where can buy the right-angle connector for the usb device? used to have the connector when i signed with M1 BB. But seems like the modem thats comes with singtel package do not have this right-angle connector.
http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c37/fcsega07/IMAGE_090.jpg
here it goes
anyone knws??? sorry but i find this item very useful...so far nt yet to find in any of the stores in singapore...
anyone knws where to find...pls share...thanks!!!!
twosix
13-01-2008, 08:11 AM
anyone knws??? sorry but i find this item very useful...so far nt yet to find in any of the stores in singapore...
anyone knws where to find...pls share...thanks!!!!
I believe this came with the M1 modem.
FireHobbit
13-01-2008, 10:10 AM
Why not the subsrciber start to post screen shot of either network signal and also the area they live in? will help those considering to have better idea...
me side using maxmobile but like to have another acc for my camp phone too...
http://smileys.smileycentral.com/cat/11/11_9_10.gif
sin77
13-01-2008, 10:56 AM
only $3000? i think mine is $9000?
u are shortchanged....lol
PatchAdam
13-01-2008, 01:17 PM
I believe this came with the M1 modem.
sigh...meaning...no chance of it sold individually?
sin77
13-01-2008, 01:50 PM
sigh...meaning...no chance of it sold individually?
u can buy from pple who got M1 bb lor.
But if they nv return the thing, they gonna pay $20 to M1.
So that thing is worth at least $20.... wat a joke
liangtam
13-01-2008, 02:58 PM
Go SLS/SLT find lor, else you go construct one la.
PatchAdam
13-01-2008, 09:33 PM
Go SLS/SLT find lor, else you go construct one la.
construct one???
which shop will allow me to do that ah?
sorry noob at this.....
anyway i ordered one straight piece le....just feel that angle one would be better
wtneo
13-01-2008, 10:29 PM
Is GPRS included in the 50GB? Places I frequent has patchy reception for 3G and might roam to "2G" connection...
sin77
14-01-2008, 12:43 AM
Is GPRS included in the 50GB? Places I frequent has patchy reception for 3G and might roam to "2G" connection...
included .
alvino77
14-01-2008, 02:43 AM
have u flashed ur e220?
flashed the e220 modem? no i didn't.
Now even at my place always GPRS only 53.6kbps! gosh! can you advise me? or point me to a right direction?
thanks!
alvino77
14-01-2008, 03:39 AM
ok a little update. Guess i got a lemon.
Tried using my sister's e220 and try, i can get WCDMA signal and connected with very very decent speed. Use her sim card on my ****ty e220 only get GPRS signal.
Anyone can tell me where to get it change? i don't even know if singtel does 1to1 exchange? :(
alvino77
14-01-2008, 03:13 PM
damn i should have called up Singtel earlier. It was my setting that wasnt right, which i never make any changes at.
If anyone has the same problem as i do, do check your Tool, Option, Network, under Network Type choose "WCDMA only" instead of WCDMA preferred.
Now this speed is decent!!!
http://www.speedtest.net/result/221960835.png
twosix
14-01-2008, 04:03 PM
damn i should have called up Singtel earlier. It was my setting that wasnt right, which i never make any changes at.
If anyone has the same problem as i do, do check your Tool, Option, Network, under Network Type choose "WCDMA only" instead of WCDMA preferred.
ok thanks. at least we now know it is user problem. i have been getting pretty decent speed. All above 400kbps when i do speedtest.net.
alvino77
14-01-2008, 07:26 PM
ok thanks. at least we now know it is user problem. i have been getting pretty decent speed. All above 400kbps when i do speedtest.net.best thing is. i did no changes to anything. all default settings once installed. just me maybe! :(
sin77
14-01-2008, 10:03 PM
must do this in order to get decent speed??
prostcode
14-01-2008, 10:16 PM
Hi.
Anyone signed up for this SNBB promo and managed to sell the USB modem for at least $300+?
Thanks.
Niaoson
14-01-2008, 10:58 PM
Completely off topic. This is for the SNBBOM offer
liangtam
14-01-2008, 11:06 PM
The 50% off for the first year can save $244.20
Throughout the two years, it works out to be $30.53/mth..
Is it worth to re-contract ?
My contract ending in march..
I'm referring to the promo with the FREE ADSL2+ Ethernet Modem 24mth contract 3mbps
We're not discussing about SNBB plans at all. Rather SingTel BBoM.
blackink
14-01-2008, 11:27 PM
Hi.
Anyone signed up for this SNBB promo and managed to sell the USB modem for at least $300+?
Thanks.
its lucky if anyone who could have gotten away with even 30 now probably the whole world has it!
anyway i too itchy backside and finally caved in, but the service strangely didnt activate for damn long, so i call and complain, turns out, the fault somewhere on their side, but hey good news, i was offered extra 1st month wavier ha :D
liangtam
14-01-2008, 11:38 PM
its lucky if anyone who could have gotten away with even 30 now probably the whole world has it!
anyway i too itchy backside and finally caved in, but the service strangely didnt activate for damn long, so i call and complain, turns out, the fault somewhere on their side, but hey good news, i was offered extra 1st month wavier ha :D
So you got 7mth in the end? Gd for you.
The modem can sell for $150, at least someone in garage sales forum buy at this price.
blackink
14-01-2008, 11:49 PM
well, neither did i expect it, but hey i didnt do or ask anything wrong, i just waited..and waited.
no lah i dont believe really can sell so high, maybe some t&cs or agreement what, its like gahman buying back your house and let u stay free and make profit along the way some more haha
alvino77
15-01-2008, 12:25 AM
must do this in order to get decent speed??
not really unless u are always connected to GPRS mode only which for the past 1 week, i have been using only GPRS maxed out at 53.6kbps...
VickyToh
15-01-2008, 12:32 PM
I've signed up for SNBBom 512K in Dec2007 and just got my first bill lately.....
I'm so suprised to see that my bill indicates this: "Broadband on Mobile Data Usage (date) (14XXXXX Kbyte(s) - $5,xxx.xx/- !!!!!, then followed by another print on Discount & Rebates to off-set this data usage cost."
Now what I don't quite fully understand is what the heck Singtel is trying to do by indicating such $$$$$$$?:s11:
Insane right? After all, users are given 50Gb data cap and for my case I'm only using around 15Gb which is less that a quarter of my cap. So then what the heck Singtel is trying to indicate herein?
Are they trying to tell users that for their mere $20/- data plan, users are entitled to free data usage of value over $2x,xxx/-?????:s8:
Honestly, where the hell in this world to find such "Out of Propotional" rebate????? Something must be wrong with Singtel's accounting and billing system!!!!
But one thing for sure is ----- That works out to be around $350 per 1Gb of data. So users please take good note of this, just in case if you've accidental exceeded and Singtel will probably not hesitate to sent you a BIG BIG BIG BILL!!!!!! Good Luck!:D
leinad
15-01-2008, 12:54 PM
I've signed up for SNBBom 512K in Dec2007 and just got my first bill lately.....
I'm so suprised to see that my bill indicates this: "Broadband on Mobile Data Usage (date) (14XXXXX Kbyte(s) - $5,xxx.xx/- !!!!!, then followed by another print on Discount & Rebates to off-set this data usage cost."
Now what I don't quite fully understand is what the heck Singtel is trying to do by indicating such $$$$$$$?:s11:
Insane right? After all, users are given 50Gb data cap and for my case I'm only using around 15Gb which is less that a quarter of my cap. So then what the heck Singtel is trying to indicate herein?
Are they trying to tell users that for their mere $20/- data plan, users are entitled to free data usage of value over $2x,xxx/-?????:s8:
Honestly, where the hell in this world to find such "Out of Propotional" rebate????? Something must be wrong with Singtel's accounting and billing system!!!!
But one thing for sure is ----- That works out to be around $350 per 1Gb of data. So users please take good note of this, just in case if you've accidental exceeded and Singtel will probably not hesitate to sent you a BIG BIG BIG BILL!!!!!! Good Luck!:D
Guess it's your first time looking at a singtel bill. It's the same for their SMS/MMS and airtime usage - they tell you exactly what you have used, and they offset accordingly.
I believe it's proper accounting practise to account for what is used, and what is offset. That's what people term "transparency".
/Dan
PS: 50/4 is 12.5, so 15GB cannot be "less than a quarter". ;)
yi_shiang
15-01-2008, 05:18 PM
Just applied for BBoM at Parkway, tried to connect, can't, I got this error means not activated yet? No bar also.
http://img185.imageshack.us/img185/9880/42504475tn0.png
And one more question, can use it without installing the Mobile Partner software? I tried without installing, but Windows doesen't detect the Modem, only detect the Virtual Drive. Only after installing the Mobile Partner, then it detected the Modem.
alvino77
15-01-2008, 06:01 PM
Just applied for BBoM at Parkway, tried to connect, can't, I got this error means not activated yet? No bar also.
And one more question, can use it without installing the Mobile Partner software? I tried without installing, but Windows doesen't detect the Modem, only detect the Virtual Drive. Only after installing the Mobile Partner, then it detected the Modem.
take about 1 working day to get it activated.
grabejud
15-01-2008, 06:01 PM
i think you need the mobile partner to detect and connect. I got mine activated within the day.
liangtam
15-01-2008, 06:43 PM
Guess it's your first time looking at a singtel bill. It's the same for their SMS/MMS and airtime usage - they tell you exactly what you have used, and they offset accordingly.
I believe it's proper accounting practise to account for what is used, and what is offset. That's what people term "transparency".
/Dan
PS: 50/4 is 12.5, so 15GB cannot be "less than a quarter". ;)
OT: Still waiting for your reply.
liangtam
15-01-2008, 06:43 PM
Must be installed and connect in once.
Connection can be made without running the software afterwards.
yi_shiang
15-01-2008, 06:51 PM
Okie, thanks, called Singtel, they said activated tmr :(
yi_shiang
15-01-2008, 08:21 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/222420163.png
:D
glay78
15-01-2008, 09:34 PM
OK here can anyone enlighten me?
I got a Singtel line and a 3.5g phone. I would like to get the 1.8Mbps plan tagged to my current sim card. Isit possible?? So I can surf on my phone when no laptop around.
liangtam
15-01-2008, 09:39 PM
OK here can anyone enlighten me?
I got a Singtel line and a 3.5g phone. I would like to get the 1.8Mbps plan tagged to my current sim card. Isit possible?? So I can surf on my phone when no laptop around.
Can, opt not to take the free modem but the $100 voucher OR get free modem without new SIM card issue, tie BBoM plan to existing 3G SIM.
glay78
15-01-2008, 09:51 PM
Can, opt not to take the free modem but the $100 voucher OR get free modem without new SIM card issue, tie BBoM plan to existing 3G SIM.
Cool thanks for quick reply. So for example I'm taking the 1.8Mbps plan. What do I have to pay when I register? Is there a $5 every month?
liangtam
15-01-2008, 10:11 PM
Cool thanks for quick reply. So for example I'm taking the 1.8Mbps plan. What do I have to pay when I register? Is there a $5 every month?
Practically nothing at the shop I think.
If you wan multiSIM service, $5 per month
glay78
15-01-2008, 10:15 PM
Practically nothing at the shop I think.
If you wan multiSIM service, $5 per month
Ok thank you very much. :s12:
pigdawz
15-01-2008, 10:40 PM
do i need a wireless card in mi pc if i want to surf usin my PC desktop?
yi_shiang
15-01-2008, 10:47 PM
u can get the usb huawei
pigdawz
15-01-2008, 10:51 PM
u can get the usb huawei
is the 512 plan fast enough to see streaming movie?>
yi_shiang
15-01-2008, 11:11 PM
youtube you mean? yes it is fast enough
mjboon
15-01-2008, 11:14 PM
Just sing up ST BB 3.6Mbps plan yesterday. Overall download speed is ok, but uploading speed is kind of slow :-(
Hence, if using Skype video call, I can see other party video smoothly, but the other party see my video with a delay of about 30 seconds. :-( Also, keep disconnecting every 30 minuted, and I am using on my MacBook Leopard. Any suggestion?
By the way, is there anyway to monitor my 50GB usage?
alvino77
16-01-2008, 01:02 AM
the $5 is only applicable after the promo contract is over. :)
as for 1.8mbps, for mobile use only. i think its an overkill, hi chance the connection is waiting for ur mobile's CPU and OS to digest the data packet. 512kbps connection already pretty fast ;) unless u have plans for other usage.
glay78
16-01-2008, 01:06 AM
the $5 is only applicable after the promo contract is over. :)
as for 1.8mbps, for mobile use only. i think its an overkill, hi chance the connection is waiting for ur mobile's CPU and OS to digest the data packet. 512kbps connection already pretty fast ;) unless u have plans for other usage.
I will be using pocketpc phone to surf most of the time. As for laptop wise not that often. Hmm...so should I still go with 1.8Mbps?
alvino77
16-01-2008, 01:12 AM
I will be using pocketpc phone to surf most of the time. As for laptop wise not that often. Hmm...so should I still go with 1.8Mbps?
liek someone said on top, unless u wan multi sim.. it's additional 5 bucks. other than that, no other costs.
seriously i think 512kbps more than enough... :) the extra speed go waste anyway
I think should go 512K 1st. It is too new to go for higher bandwidth. Might not reap the benefits for the extra cost.
glay78
16-01-2008, 10:45 AM
I think should go 512K 1st. It is too new to go for higher bandwidth. Might not reap the benefits for the extra cost.
I would like to know what speed has user here clocked with 521k and 1.8M
Maybe from there I can gauge which to take
blackink
16-01-2008, 11:33 AM
ok let me give a bit 0.02cents if helpful
i tried before various speeds, then i realised:
1. when the connection is clean and clear, 512 and any other speeds will have what i consider to be neglible differences when loading up either congested or uncongested sites
2. when the connection is poor and intermittent, 512 and any other speeds will also suffer similar difficulties
3. connection at the end of day is mostly dependent on the device used, its cache and the prowess of its electronic construct, i have witness older or less advance handhelds doing poorly on the same chip but doing quite ok on a newer/more advance unit.
4. don forget some mobile devices are only 2/2.5/3G? few are pure 3.5G to enjoy the real speed boost, even then its dependent on above other factors mentioned.
5. last last of all, i think most sign up (or the basic plan is worth sign up) becos its affordable fun (maybe even casual) internet access on the go as and when, rather than a hardcore surfer every sec once out on the road, so i would suggest trial first at 512, if really think CMI, then ask upgrade to other speeds lo
blackgenius007
16-01-2008, 01:52 PM
Just sing up ST BB 3.6Mbps plan yesterday. Overall download speed is ok, but uploading speed is kind of slow :-(
Hence, if using Skype video call, I can see other party video smoothly, but the other party see my video with a delay of about 30 seconds. :-( Also, keep disconnecting every 30 minuted, and I am using on my MacBook Leopard. Any suggestion?
By the way, is there anyway to monitor my 50GB usage?
FYI, BBoM under HSDPA newtwork, download speed may be vary but upload speed just 384kbps max.. wait until Singtel launch HSUPA or WiMax for higher upload speed..
by the way, is the area u using in good reception? becoz I din have this kind of problem under my 1.8Mbps plan..
glay78
16-01-2008, 03:11 PM
ok let me give a bit 0.02cents if helpful
i tried before various speeds, then i realised:
1. when the connection is clean and clear, 512 and any other speeds will have what i consider to be neglible differences when loading up either congested or uncongested sites
2. when the connection is poor and intermittent, 512 and any other speeds will also suffer similar difficulties
3. connection at the end of day is mostly dependent on the device used, its cache and the prowess of its electronic construct, i have witness older or less advance handhelds doing poorly on the same chip but doing quite ok on a newer/more advance unit.
4. don forget some mobile devices are only 2/2.5/3G? few are pure 3.5G to enjoy the real speed boost, even then its dependent on above other factors mentioned.
5. last last of all, i think most sign up (or the basic plan is worth sign up) becos its affordable fun (maybe even casual) internet access on the go as and when, rather than a hardcore surfer every sec once out on the road, so i would suggest trial first at 512, if really think CMI, then ask upgrade to other speeds lo
Thanks for the review. i'm currently using Glofiish x800 which supports 3.5g think i'll try 512k 1st if wan then upgrade ba. Don't know when wimax will be up
twosix
16-01-2008, 04:20 PM
Seriously, 512kbps is good enough. it is even good enough to view youtube seamlessly most of the time. therefore, unless u really need to download tons of stuff, 512kbps is good enough. dun waste the money on higher speed plans.
yi_shiang
16-01-2008, 05:31 PM
512kbps is fast enough.. surfing at night is *alot* faster than 12mb MOL..
skype also very usable.. round trip only 200ms to another BBoM..
from BBoM to snbb only 100ms roundtrip:D with video also no lag.
eugene_nyc82
16-01-2008, 05:42 PM
yeah yeah. I wanted to sign up 1800 plan. But change mind to try 512 first as the sales girl told me can upgrade later if I'm not satisfied with 512.
youtube smooth, browsing fast.. And I'm a happy 512 user now.
So, dun waste your money on higher plan. Althought it is only few dollars more monthly, but not worth it.
hehe.
BlackTribal
16-01-2008, 06:09 PM
Need to check with all those using BBoM currently, are all of you existing SingTel Mobile or Singnet users before signing up? It seems that when I'm at Comcentre to sign up for BBoM I was told I'm not eligible coz I'm neither a Singnet nor SingTel mobile user!
I tot someone earlier said that anyone can sign up for this BBoM, pls correct me if I'm wrong, many thanks.
liangtam
16-01-2008, 06:15 PM
Need to check with all those using BBoM currently, are all of you existing SingTel Mobile or Singnet users before signing up? It seems that when I'm at Comcentre to sign up for BBoM I was told I'm not eligible coz I'm neither a Singnet nor SingTel mobile user!
I tot someone earlier said that anyone can sign up for this BBoM, pls correct me if I'm wrong, many thanks.
Supposedly no nid. If they do change their policy to become like that, theres nothing u can do also.
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.