View Full Version : Unbeatable Singtel Mobile Broadband Festive Bundle! Sign 12 mth FREE 6 Mth!
panda88
16-01-2008, 06:34 PM
where can i find the latest mobile partner software? currently on 11.002.03.01.88
manga33
16-01-2008, 07:15 PM
hi....just wanna ask those using the mobile partner software to monitor your usage...is it reliable. Assuming i use 49G of usage per mth as stated in the software.....will i be consider safe when the bill arrive.:D
liangtam
16-01-2008, 07:43 PM
hi....just wanna ask those using the mobile partner software to monitor your usage...is it reliable. Assuming i use 49G of usage per mth as stated in the software.....will i be consider safe when the bill arrive.:D
As accurate as what Windows can report.
manga33
16-01-2008, 08:27 PM
As accurate as what Windows can report.
OK..........thanks!:)
BlackTribal
16-01-2008, 08:41 PM
Supposedly no nid. If they do change their policy to become like that, theres nothing u can do also.
Aww, that's bad. Anyway, much appreciate ur reply, cheers!
glay78
16-01-2008, 10:29 PM
OK now my very last question.
I'm currently using an M1 line with sunsurf 22 plan.
Sunsurf 22 = 1gig at 384kbps max $22 monthly.
M1 line with me for 10+years and contract ending july if i'm not wrong.
I normally clock around 300-400mb of data permth on my PDA only, which means I under utilised the 1gig plan.
I also have a secondary Singtel line which I took up 2 year plan like 4mths ago for a new phone.
Question is should I jump ship to Singtel for the 512 plan as VAS since its same price but faster and 49gig more? or should I just stay with M1?
I am thinking since its the same price I might as well jump to Singtel and at the same time I can use it for laptop surfing also as I didn't use my M1 for laptop cos I am thinking 1gig will not be enough.
So if i take up Singtel I will most likely to cancel my M1 which is 10+years old with me :s11:
What will you all do if in my situation?
fcsega
16-01-2008, 11:02 PM
I normally clock around 300-400mb of data permth on my PDA only, which means I under utilised the 1gig plan.
I also have a secondary Singtel line which I took up 2 year plan like 4mths ago for a new phone.
Question is should I jump ship to Singtel for the 512 plan as VAS since its same price but faster and 49gig more? or should I just stay with M1?
I am thinking since its the same price I might as well jump to Singtel and at the same time I can use it for laptop surfing also as I didn't use my M1 for laptop cos I am thinking 1gig will not be enough.
So if i take up Singtel I will most likely to cancel my M1 which is 10+years old with me :s11:
i will cancel M1 and change to singtel as it is 50% cheaper for the festive promotion
benedict888
16-01-2008, 11:42 PM
if i rem correctly.. M1 is unlimited now.. no cap
singtel got cap, 50GB
glay78
16-01-2008, 11:46 PM
if i rem correctly.. M1 is unlimited now.. no cap
singtel got cap, 50GB
I'm using Sunsurf 22 its a VAS to my current SIM Card and its 1gig. The broadband mobile is unlimitted but thats not a VAS it require different SIM Card and its unlimmited. Its 2 different thing
sgmem88
17-01-2008, 01:58 AM
Signed up in the evening at golden shoe outlet, service still have not activate after more than 8hrs. So disappointed !!! :s27:
Luckily the queue is less than half hr.....
liangtam
17-01-2008, 02:02 AM
Signed up in the evening at golden shoe outlet, service still have not activate after more than 8hrs. So disappointed !!! :s27:
Luckily the queue is less than half hr.....
its 1 working day, not 8 hours only.
sin77
17-01-2008, 09:57 AM
I'm using Sunsurf 22 its a VAS to my current SIM Card and its 1gig. The broadband mobile is unlimitted but thats not a VAS it require different SIM Card and its unlimmited. Its 2 different thing
to end your suffering of comtemplation, just sign singnet.
I nv look back since then.
I have been with M1 for 10yrs!
But now i cancelled their bb and mobile plan.
Singnet more flexible.
1 sim card use for laptop.
another sim card use for mobile phone (multisim service @$5/mth).
Both can surf net at the same time.
Mobile phone still can make calls.
Monthly bill for my internet usage is only 22+5 = 27 (of coz excluding my mobile plan of 20+)
But considering that 6mths free, modem free, and better connection and stability, why not?
And i can't utilise 50GB in a month, so why worry so much just because some companies make it unlimited for u to compare?
Singaporean mentality.
pesicola123
17-01-2008, 10:13 AM
Where can the R-angle Connector be bought at?
sgmem88
17-01-2008, 10:15 AM
its 1 working day, not 8 hours only.
Thanks.
But see ppl in this forum most got it activated same day leh
mine still not activate till now...
I remember last time m1 activate it on the spot and test on my laptop.
hope bbom activate soon so that I can terminate m1 bb
glay78
17-01-2008, 10:29 AM
to end your suffering of comtemplation, just sign singnet.
I nv look back since then.
I have been with M1 for 10yrs!
But now i cancelled their bb and mobile plan.
Singnet more flexible.
1 sim card use for laptop.
another sim card use for mobile phone (multisim service @$5/mth).
Both can surf net at the same time.
Mobile phone still can make calls.
Monthly bill for my internet usage is only 22+5 = 27 (of coz excluding my mobile plan of 20+)
But considering that 6mths free, modem free, and better connection and stability, why not?
And i can't utilise 50GB in a month, so why worry so much just because some companies make it unlimited for u to compare?
Singaporean mentality.
Haha agree.. think I'm going to apply later. Wont be getting multi sim jus the service to tag to my current sim will do. :D
myhomemas
17-01-2008, 10:29 AM
I went to causewaypoint M1, handed in my 3G broadband device and terminated the subscription.
walked over to the other side for the singtel mobile broadband.
I wanted to stay with M1 and go for the V1800 plan but their internet line was not up to the mark. i was on 1800.
I subscribed 1800 from singtel and still waiting for it to be activated.
Keep your fingers crossed, guys.
Hopefully a good one.
last time I tried to stream youtube during night time with M1, it was really slow.
and footytube.com too
I will know whether the connection improved with singtel when I use these 2 sites.
stay tuned
seowbin
17-01-2008, 10:30 AM
Thanks.
But see ppl in this forum most got it activated same day leh
mine still not activate till now...
I remember last time m1 activate it on the spot and test on my laptop.
hope bbom activate soon so that I can terminate m1 bb
i terminate m1 bb before i get singtel bb... lol
won't die one lar... just a few hrs diff...
sin77
17-01-2008, 10:48 AM
I went to causewaypoint M1, handed in my 3G broadband device and terminated the subscription.
walked over to the other side for the singtel mobile broadband.
I wanted to stay with M1 and go for the V1800 plan but their internet line was not up to the mark. i was on 1800.
I subscribed 1800 from singtel and still waiting for it to be activated.
Keep your fingers crossed, guys.
Hopefully a good one.
last time I tried to stream youtube during night time with M1, it was really slow.
and footytube.com too
I will know whether the connection improved with singtel when I use these 2 sites.
stay tuned
I complained to M1 about the slow surfing speed.
Then they gave me free trial 1 mth for 1800.
The speed is EXACTLY the same as 512!
So pissed that i jumpship
sgmem88
17-01-2008, 10:57 AM
At least they still kind enough to give u trial 1800
they call me, ask a few qns and say will come back to me but nvr hear from them aft a wk !!!:s27:
sin77
17-01-2008, 11:14 AM
At least they still kind enough to give u trial 1800
they call me, ask a few qns and say will come back to me but nvr hear from them aft a wk !!!:s27:
i told them i feedback a few times and also suggested to them how to solve the problem and letting them know tat the market is very competitive nowadays.
So duno why auto offer me 1 mth trial.
But the trial sux! and they call it 1800??? my foot la
sgmem88
17-01-2008, 01:11 PM
Finally activated!! :)
Now surfing, speed is much much better.
I hv complained a few times over the whole yr since jan 2007, they hv waived fee before. I guess I hv been very very patience with them, too bad they finally lost a loyal cust like me :D
I guess it also abt time to change my 2 mobile lines with them to someone else... :s13:
glay78
17-01-2008, 01:47 PM
i tried M1's 512k mobile broadband b4. speed quite slow. think singtel should be faster as what ppl says here
misshanako
17-01-2008, 02:37 PM
u complain to them in wat lang?
myhomemas
17-01-2008, 02:44 PM
i wonder will it be activated later tonight. it will 24 hours after yesterday's registration with singtel.
hopefully it will!
jimmyhan
17-01-2008, 02:58 PM
This is my first week on the BBOM, for the pass 2 days spamcop freeze the IP which resulted in a ton of unsend mail.
Is there something I can do? I email singtel, no responses, 3rd day.
Thank you
myhomemas
17-01-2008, 03:01 PM
call them, jimmyhan. if it is urgent, call them.
if not so urgent, then you should just wait for them to response your email.
yukita
17-01-2008, 04:06 PM
guys, question to ask:
if i take out the simcard from e220 modem then put in my mobile and browse internet, there will not be additional charge right?
it will just deduct my 50gb quota, am i correct?
just need to confirm ....
thanks.
yukita
17-01-2008, 05:41 PM
Yes, it does.
your answer is for my 1st question or 2nd question?
thanks....
guys, question to ask:
if i take out the simcard from e220 modem then put in my mobile and browse internet, there will not be additional charge right?
it will just deduct my 50gb quota, am i correct?
just need to confirm ....
thanks.
No additional charge.
Deducted from your 50GB quota.
You should not be able to make calls at all.
But if you send SMS/MMS, will kena SMS charged.
zzz2006
17-01-2008, 06:10 PM
so basically bbom speed is way better than m1bb right?
sin77
17-01-2008, 06:23 PM
so basically bbom speed is way better than m1bb right?
at least wont be as pissed as M1.
SNBBoM is not perfect though.
Sometimes no connection sometimes slow.
But not as bad as M1
myhomemas
17-01-2008, 07:03 PM
activated
1800 plan. speed is SUPERB!!!
youtube is superb!!!
I also installed fasterfox for firefox to increase performance
1st impression is great!
hope it maintains!
cisconet
17-01-2008, 09:09 PM
Anyone who have the SE PC300 and wish to change for E220 USB Modem, can look here
http://deluxeforums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1842357
edwin21
17-01-2008, 11:35 PM
does bbom support vpn out connection?
sparky3
17-01-2008, 11:41 PM
Can anyone tell me which one better speed? The pcmcia card or usb modem? I just signed up and took up the usb modem, now a little regret, maybe the pcmcia card would be better... considering i intend to get notebook for home use as well. Anyone can help?
yi_shiang
17-01-2008, 11:55 PM
speed wise shdl be same, some complain the SE pcmcia modem signal is not as stong.
which plan r u on? im on 512 and can get 600+ kbps on speedtest using usb
sparky3
18-01-2008, 12:07 AM
I am on 512 M1 . Just jumped ship tonite. Will return my M1 equpmet 2mlo. M1 damn slow... only 100+ at nite... very frustrating.
So the usb is better... still waiting for someone on the card to give opinion... tks.
sin77
18-01-2008, 12:33 AM
side report:
right now my connection speed is crawling at 56K only.
Tried to call 1626, the answering machine ask me call back at 8am.
If those urgently need to use internet or activate autoroaming, then how?
sparky3
18-01-2008, 12:47 AM
whao.. ur are on STBB?? Which area are u at?
M1 tested at 260kbps at 12:46am. Alamak i just signed up Signtel.. But anyway, still cheaper than M1 even if same speed.
liangtam
18-01-2008, 01:14 AM
There's pay-as-u-roam.
yukita
18-01-2008, 09:27 AM
i already have 512 plan, cus of this promo cannot upgrade but i keen on faster speed, i will sign another 1800 later....
will their promo extend?
johanjr
18-01-2008, 09:30 AM
Got mine yesterday at golden shoe outlet and im able to access this morning.
This thing i did was this.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/223510893.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
manga33
18-01-2008, 09:32 AM
my BBOM 1800 test:)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/223511111.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
sin77
18-01-2008, 10:10 AM
Check with operator the rates, because pay-as-you-roam might be very expensive. U might be better off using cyber cafe.
The stupid thing about bbom is once u signed the plan, they don allow u to upgrade even if u throw money at them. M1 would be happier if u wanna do upgrade.... but ironically, m1 upgrade or not upgrade all same speed...lol
As for my side report:
This morning, the modem light is still green (not blue) and its connected at 56k.
I plug out the modem and reinsert, restart pc and reconnect, still the same.
So I called singtel, the lady put me to the technical dept but no one pick up.
So she took down my details and would do a check for me later.
Until now, no reply.
Since its so slow, i better do something myself.
I saw from my mobile i'm connected to 3G, hence it means my area is well covered by 3G network.
Next, i took out my data sim from the modem and put in another data sim, and it is blue light.
Then, i reinsert back the original sim card, and bingo...connected at 3G speed.
Problem settled quickly. hahahaha.
So you guys should try this method if something occurs.
Even restart pc and plug out modem also no use.
U need to use another sim card to boost it.
larry
18-01-2008, 11:17 AM
Can someone please confirm that if you get additional data sim ($5/mth) together with your singtel mobile(voice + data) you will be able to surf both at the same time?
Total data usuage from both device is 50GB?
Can get 2 data sim ($10/mth) on top of the your singtel mobile (voice + data) and surf from 3 devices at the same time?
Thanks
sin77
18-01-2008, 11:24 AM
Can someone please confirm that if you get additional data sim ($5/mth) together with your singtel mobile(voice + data) you will be able to surf both at the same time?
Total data usuage from both device is 50GB?
Can get 2 data sim ($10/mth) on top of the your singtel mobile (voice + data) and surf from 3 devices at the same time?
Thanks
Yes, i am using 1 exta data sim @$5/mth.
Both devices (hp + laptop) can surf at same time.
Total usage for both devices must not exceed 50GB for upload and download.
For 2 extra sim cards i nv try, but i know should be the same thing.
My advice:
Call Singtel hotline to check thoroughly before going down singtel shop.
And before signing, also confirm again with the staff there.
myhomemas
18-01-2008, 11:26 AM
the promotion will end tomorrow according to their flyers and their website (under hot deals)
hope the speed is maintained
liangtam
18-01-2008, 01:13 PM
By right not supposed to use bbom on both devices. But then I guess they nvr practise it.
sin77
18-01-2008, 02:48 PM
By right not supposed to use bbom on both devices. But then I guess they nvr practise it.
wat is called not supposed to? you checked with singtel or not?
technology and policies can always change as market changes.
liangtam
18-01-2008, 03:05 PM
wat is called not supposed to? you checked with singtel or not?
technology and policies can always change as market changes.
Supposedly not simultaneously.
http://home.singtel.com/consumer/products/mobile/value_added_services/multisim_faq.asp
sin77
18-01-2008, 03:15 PM
Thanks for the link, i alrdy read it.
i asked before signing up.
Let me explain wat they trying to say in that webpage.
Data and voice are totally different.
For data, u can use it simultaneously either with voice or with another data sim.
Only for voice, only 1 at a time.
liangtam
18-01-2008, 03:18 PM
I also ask the same thing at hell-o, apparently, the nice lady was more relevant in speech as indicated on the FAQ of multiSIM page.
Nevertheless, why bother. Just use lor.
larry
18-01-2008, 03:21 PM
Any idea for sms.
Can sent sms simultaneously with voice and another data sim (insert data sim to hp)?
Also actually the data sim can also make voice call when put in hp?
Thanks
liangtam
18-01-2008, 03:53 PM
Any idea for sms.
Can sent sms simultaneously with voice and another data sim (insert data sim to hp)?
Also actually the data sim can also make voice call when put in hp?
Thanks
If you sign it seperately, both can SMS. But the one meant for BBoM will be charged 5c for each local SMS, not deductible from free SMS on voice plan.
Voice call out will be possible with multiSIM.
twosix
18-01-2008, 04:28 PM
Today LAST DAY to SIGN UP!
sin77
18-01-2008, 05:17 PM
i already have 512 plan, cus of this promo cannot upgrade but i keen on faster speed, i will sign another 1800 later....
will their promo extend?
I just called singtel. They allow me to upgrade. Btw, the upload speed is pegged slightly more than half of the download speed. Hence is not 384 across all plans, which is unlike m1. So if sign 1800, you get 1000 for upload? Can ppl of higher plans verify this?
sin77
18-01-2008, 05:37 PM
btw i'm using n95 8gb. Will 1800 be restricted by this phone? I heard it's not worth the upgrade if using on hp. Is it true? Anyone using this phone with 1800 can do a review?
zzz2006
18-01-2008, 07:55 PM
can someone post a updated speedtest of bbom at night during the peak usage?
liangtam
18-01-2008, 08:12 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/223633699.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
yi_shiang
18-01-2008, 10:42 PM
my bbom not working
runestyx
18-01-2008, 10:52 PM
my bbom not working
Yes I'm also having problems here. Tried on phone and modem, seems like its dead. Anybody else?
SquallLH
18-01-2008, 11:07 PM
Yes I'm also having problems here. Tried on phone and modem, seems like its dead. Anybody else?
Falling in, I see upload stats but nada for download stats.
Knew there was a catch somewhere for ST to come up with such a good lobang LOL...
liangtam
18-01-2008, 11:09 PM
Lol, it happens after I tested the speed.
And I thot it was jus me :o
blackink
18-01-2008, 11:24 PM
Today LAST DAY to SIGN UP!
my bbom not working
Falling in, I see upload stats but nada for download stats.
Knew there was a catch somewhere for ST to come up with such a good lobang LOL...
Lol, it happens after I tested the speed.
And I thot it was jus me :o
Welcome to Singapore, where a good deal is never what it seems. and i thot we had all learnt from pre and post elections!
:D
SquallLH
18-01-2008, 11:26 PM
Welcome to Singapore, where a good deal is never what it seems. and i thot we had all learnt from pre and post elections!
That's what we call Uniquely Singapore.
Cheer up, at least we're only bonded for 12 mths in this case :D
liangtam
18-01-2008, 11:28 PM
Actually ah, I sign up BBoM ish for MSN purpose only. :o
Gap bettwen BBoM value and 512 transfer is huge, so if its down, dosn't bother me :D
sparky3
18-01-2008, 11:32 PM
Oh man!!! I just signed up lat nite at 7pm. Had to call them in the afternoon to check why still not activated. CSO told me my records not updated!! can u belive that !!! Now, waitng for my BBOM line to be activated. How do you guys check by the way?
sparky3
18-01-2008, 11:37 PM
Ironic isn't it? I had to use M1 mobile to post this. Once my STBBOM up, gonna chop M1. Tried calling 1626, on hold for 15mins still waiting and waiting waiting...
blackink
18-01-2008, 11:48 PM
That's what we call Uniquely Singapore.
Cheer up, at least we're only bonded for 12 mths in this case :D
*****GASP****
BONDED TO 12 MONTHS OF THIS SH*T FROM DAY ONE?? ..WHAT ARE U THINKING?? :D
Actually ah, I sign up BBoM ish for MSN purpose only. :o
Gap bettwen BBoM value and 512 transfer is huge, so if its down, dosn't bother me :D
oh you got what you wanted alright. sign up for MSN only - MASSIVELY SUCKY NETWORK.
blackink
18-01-2008, 11:50 PM
Ironic isn't it? I had to use M1 mobile to post this. Once my STBBOM up, gonna chop M1. Tried calling 1626, on hold for 15mins still waiting and waiting waiting...
hahhaa NOW i suppose you might be wondering WHOS THE REAL DEAL SHARK
liangtam
18-01-2008, 11:53 PM
oh you got what you wanted alright. sign up for MSN only - MASSIVELY SUCKY NETWORK.
lol, u think too much le. :s13:
blackink
19-01-2008, 12:01 AM
hahah aiyah nothing to do while the 'MSN' down mah, so break codes betwen lines lo
sin77
19-01-2008, 08:52 AM
then be like me, standby a maxonline modem at home.
Once snbbom is down, activate maxonline pay-per-use.
But ,,,damn,,,, i lent my modem to my sis and she nv return to me
sin77
19-01-2008, 09:00 AM
can u all post more speed test?
wanted to see how's the speed of those who signed higher plans
sg_trader
19-01-2008, 09:25 AM
hmm... on 512.. from marine parade =)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/223903133.png
sin77
19-01-2008, 09:57 AM
here's my 512K
http://www.speedtest.net/result/223909979.png
second test was
http://www.speedtest.net/result/223910803.png
sin77
19-01-2008, 10:05 AM
Btw whats the highest speed N95 8GB can go?
If i use 1800, is it very underutilised?
For ppl who use 1800, can let us know your upload speed?
myhomemas
19-01-2008, 10:51 AM
Woodlands Circle
1800 plan
http://www.speedtest.net/result/223918181.png
I called around 10PM yesterday because I can't browse the net at all. manage to get thru after few minutes and chat with the operator. he said SERVER DOWN, engineer is looking at it. up in 2 hours.
my blackberry also not working till around 1130PM...
sin77
19-01-2008, 11:34 AM
Woodlands Circle
1800 plan
http://www.speedtest.net/result/223918181.png
I called around 10PM yesterday because I can't browse the net at all. manage to get thru after few minutes and chat with the operator. he said SERVER DOWN, engineer is looking at it. up in 2 hours.
my blackberry also not working till around 1130PM...
Ok ... it seems tat 1800 plan only got 384 upload speed.
Coz i called singtel few times alrdy.
Some said download speed divide by 2 = upload speed.
It means 1800 plan should get 900 upload speed.
I might not upgrade liao.
For those who wanna upgrade, these are what i found out:
1. Can i upgrade via phone call to singtel?
Ans: Yes
2. Must wait how long to activate?
Ans: 1 working day.
3. If I still have 1 yr contract can i upgrade to say 1800? And wat if i want to revert back to 512k plan within that 1 yr contract?
Ans: You can upgrade and still enjoy the alternate months free subscription. But when u want to revert during that 1 yr contract, you need to pay up the 1800 subscription fees for the remaining months of the contract. Hence it means not worth to revert back, since you are still paying 1800 price.
blackink
19-01-2008, 11:53 AM
well looks like 'MSN' is up. :D
for now that is.
I wonder when will they 'unveil' themselves again, the next peak period? 'screening' starts everyday from 7pm til midnight? hahaha
i am just waiting for someone to finally start reporting back that having got thru to 'relate' to the customer service, their reply is, "oh you mean you had intermittent issues with the half price access ah, oh." :)
cbyen
19-01-2008, 12:48 PM
I'm really pissed off w Singtel..
Yesterday afternoon, I called up 1626 & spoke up to the CSO. told her im interested to sign up the promotion for 512 BBOM & my requirements (both my mobile & laptop able to surf) she confirmed that I need not have to pay anything, except the sub of 22.42 + 5.00 per mth.
Went down last evening, Q for almost 1/2 an hour and served by this lady CSO. She gave me 2 options:
1) sign up the promo, get a new data sim card only & i dont hv to pay. BUT i will only be able to surf on the data card. if i want to surf on my mobile, switch card lor..
or
2) pay for a NEW SET OF SIM CARD (same my current hp number) at $40+ (cant rem the exact amt).. + reg fee $10.70, then i can surf on both.
I was like OOO.. i read thru all posts, no 1 mentioned that I have to change my current sim card??!.. it was last day of the promotion, how? & under promotion, reg & data sim card is free, y shld i pay for it? she insisted & its a "up to you" kind of attitude..
no choice, sign up & feel very sore abt it.. did you guys w muiltSIM hv to pay for it as well? i mean the new set if sim card & reg free.
liangtam
19-01-2008, 12:55 PM
Subscribing to multiSIM requires you to change to a new set of SIM card. similarly, terminating multiSIM will require you to get another new SIM card.
Which branch did u sign up at?
sin77
19-01-2008, 12:57 PM
yes have to pay. You are not short changed
cbyen
19-01-2008, 01:01 PM
Tampines Mall
all the 3 ladies at 1626 that I spoken to never mention abt this costs at all.
and AFTER i was abt to leave, i was told that its a 1year sub tagged to my mobile line, so even when my line's contract ends, i'll still hv to continue till this BBOM expire.
Lucky thing is my mobile line's contract will due almost same time..
cbyen
19-01-2008, 01:02 PM
yes have to pay. You are not short changed
Thanks, at least i dont feel that bad now.. haha..
sparky3
19-01-2008, 05:01 PM
Yeah!! My STBBOM is online now. Very good compared with M1. Just used my M1 mobile and the speed ia 175. Now on singtel 400++ .
Going down to return my vodaphone later. No regrets. Will monitor the nite speed .
sparky3
19-01-2008, 05:04 PM
By the way... I also got multi sim... Gotta pay too.. U are not alone.
twosix
19-01-2008, 05:07 PM
Upload speed is max 384kbps for 3G. Anything higher, you'll need HSUPA, the uplink equivalent of HSDPA.
crobin
20-01-2008, 12:23 AM
Since there seems to be many blur CSO around Singapore, I choose to go to HQ Comcentre for my BBOM as the people there in theory should be the most knowledgeable or at least have the fastest access to correct information. I went to Singtel Comcentre and changed my no contract 512k BBOM to 12 month contract BBOM. The Q at Comcentre on Sat early pm was quite short (about 10 mins).
I went for option 2 - get new set of SIM card (same as current hp) in multisim arrangement. I would have to pay S$5 per month for the multisim service .. BUT .. the set of multisim (2 cards) was FREE and the registration was also FREE. I also choose the PC300.
I was offered the Chinese New Year promo of 3 months free (well the Christmas promo was better at 6 months free, which I missed). But since I was a Singnet Broadband user, I was also entitled to 30% off the monthly bill, but can't have both (3 month free and 30% off). So in the end, I took 30% off as it worked out to be cheaper.
So seems that you got overcharged S$40+10.70 ... That's worth also another 3 months subscription .. raw deal ..
I'm really pissed off w Singtel..
Yesterday afternoon, I called up 1626 & spoke up to the CSO. told her im interested to sign up the promotion for 512 BBOM & my requirements (both my mobile & laptop able to surf) she confirmed that I need not have to pay anything, except the sub of 22.42 + 5.00 per mth.
Went down last evening, Q for almost 1/2 an hour and served by this lady CSO. She gave me 2 options:
1) sign up the promo, get a new data sim card only & i dont hv to pay. BUT i will only be able to surf on the data card. if i want to surf on my mobile, switch card lor..
or
2) pay for a NEW SET OF SIM CARD (same my current hp number) at $40+ (cant rem the exact amt).. + reg fee $10.70, then i can surf on both.
I was like OOO.. i read thru all posts, no 1 mentioned that I have to change my current sim card??!.. it was last day of the promotion, how? & under promotion, reg & data sim card is free, y shld i pay for it? she insisted & its a "up to you" kind of attitude..
no choice, sign up & feel very sore abt it.. did you guys w muiltSIM hv to pay for it as well? i mean the new set if sim card & reg free.
sin77
20-01-2008, 12:59 AM
maybe because its special deal?
blackink
20-01-2008, 01:35 AM
share some experience, was with friends over at ST earlier, when overheard a cust being served asked for the 6mths free promo, whne the CSO inform promo over, the lady cust ask if can help pls for her, then the guy CSO quietly nodded and mumble like ok la, but i think he caught us catching that and abt to look up so we turn walk away. dont know what might have happen after tho
liangtam
20-01-2008, 02:24 AM
I didn't pay for the registration and multiSIM new SIM card charges as well :)
liangtam
20-01-2008, 02:25 AM
share some experience, was with friends over at ST earlier, when overheard a cust being served asked for the 6mths free promo, whne the CSO inform promo over, the lady cust ask if can help pls for her, then the guy CSO quietly nodded and mumble like ok la, but i think he caught us catching that and abt to look up so we turn walk away. dont know what might have happen after tho
Which branch?
In consistent. some CSO ask you to pay, some waived off. I spend 3 hours arguing with the CSO, in the end still not insisted that I pay. So I got 2 separate sim card. 1 for voice, 1 for data. :(
blackink
20-01-2008, 03:54 PM
yeh very inconsistent one leh, like very adhoc promo last min not very informed like that,
i have had experienced foc sim foc reg, pay sim foc reg, pay sim pay reg, free 50%, free 6mths, free extra 1st mth, even free mthly discount margin
haha depends on luck and power of nego
alvin81
20-01-2008, 07:08 PM
Their website still shows festive promo
http://home.singtel.com/bbmobile/HS_price.htm
yukita
20-01-2008, 07:19 PM
I just called singtel. They allow me to upgrade. Btw, the upload speed is pegged slightly more than half of the download speed. Hence is not 384 across all plans, which is unlike m1. So if sign 1800, you get 1000 for upload? Can ppl of higher plans verify this?
yup when i'm about to sign up a new 1800, the guy said actually you can upgrade to 1800 for the next month. BUT YOU CAN ONLY UPGRADE BUT NOT DOWNGRADE.
anyway i end up signing 2 line 1 is 512 and another one is 1800. the upload speed of the both is same 384 but download is different.
up now still quite satisfied with the speed. it is better compared to M1 (before the unlimited cap apply)
liangtam
20-01-2008, 07:52 PM
But then T&C wrote promo ends 31 Dec, back to originally what it was :)
sin77
20-01-2008, 08:16 PM
yup when i'm about to sign up a new 1800, the guy said actually you can upgrade to 1800 for the next month. BUT YOU CAN ONLY UPGRADE BUT NOT DOWNGRADE.
anyway i end up signing 2 line 1 is 512 and another one is 1800. the upload speed of the both is same 384 but download is different.
up now still quite satisfied with the speed. it is better compared to M1 (before the unlimited cap apply)
i'm not too sure whether it must be within the first month to do upgrade.
But since the upload speed is the same, i dont think i will upgrade.
mosmos
20-01-2008, 08:46 PM
But then T&C wrote promo ends 31 Dec, back to originally what it was :)
:o promo now is free only 3mths.
manga33
20-01-2008, 09:40 PM
Hi everyone.....Just one concern question. It stated in terms & condition.
1. Standard GPRS/3G roaming rates apply.
My understanding is that as long i don`t use it overseas...there is no charge for GPRS/3G.As long i don`t exceed the monthly usage [50GB]locally....there is no other charges except the plan u subscribe to. Correct me if I`m wrong. Thanks!
liangtam
20-01-2008, 09:43 PM
Yes, no use it overseas or exceed 50GB, only pay the amount of the plan's subscription fee.
manga33
20-01-2008, 09:49 PM
Yes, no use it overseas or exceed 50GB, only pay the amount of the plan's subscription fee.
WOW.....that was fast...:s12:
Thanks...anyway.:)
mosmos
20-01-2008, 09:49 PM
:eek:
1st time getting a $10k bill. :s13:
http://i32.tinypic.com/315egpw.jpg
sin77
20-01-2008, 10:49 PM
why must they show $10k?
To impress customers?
manga33
20-01-2008, 10:58 PM
how come for 26 days, your data usage is only about 2.9GB.Btw......what is your monthly usage from singtel.:s11:
liangtam
20-01-2008, 11:10 PM
Standard billing for system ma.
Anyway, can say it as reminder to those forgetful that got 50GB and not to exceed it?
mosmos
20-01-2008, 11:13 PM
how come for 26 days, your data usage is only about 2.9GB.Btw......what is your monthly usage from singtel.:s11:
:o i only subscribed in dec. Maybe it's pro-rated bill.
sin77
20-01-2008, 11:21 PM
actually 50GB is alot to me.
where got everyday use 1 GB leh?
micromousez
21-01-2008, 02:07 PM
F la... now e speed is getting slower n slower... most of e time it just dun load... worst than 56k...
too many ppl sign up due to this promo la...
liangtam
21-01-2008, 02:59 PM
F la... now e speed is getting slower n slower... most of e time it just dun load... worst than 56k...
ok ah. Now i using my phone to post this :D
blackink
21-01-2008, 04:49 PM
strangely i get poor recept some time some places, but speedy access other places same time, or same places different times.
i think its rather like the sharing pool concept, the more people use in that area, the more the assigned service gateways in that area get jammed up, its natural to think they migth set up more in the more populated areas, but hey its also natural for the vendor to think why need pay more to set up more in just one area, when people move ard isnt it, as in its broadband on mobile ha
glay78
21-01-2008, 07:22 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/224728483.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
My speedtest from punggol on 512k
sin77
21-01-2008, 08:55 PM
Did you read my earlier post? I suspect your slow connection show green light instead of blue? Reset it using another sim card.
nicholaslee
21-01-2008, 09:50 PM
today a strange thing happened..
My connection was on HSDPA.. then suddenly the max it went was only GPRS! no matter what it just could not go higher.. My lappy was stationed the same excat spot on my desk all the while. :(
manga33
23-01-2008, 12:20 PM
hi again......just asking whether if i use handphone and sms to my BBOM.......will there be any charges on either side. Thanks!
twosix
23-01-2008, 03:25 PM
Mine is still pretty fast. Can watch youtube with minimal lag.
twosix
23-01-2008, 03:26 PM
hi again......just asking whether if i use handphone and sms to my BBOM.......will there be any charges on either side. Thanks!
Receive SMS no charge. Send SMS will be charge.
manga33
23-01-2008, 08:37 PM
Receive SMS no charge. Send SMS will be charge.
i assume u r saying BBOM.......Thanks
twosix
24-01-2008, 08:52 AM
i assume u r saying BBOM.......Thanks
Yes. Actually, the incoming SMS is free for all plans, including BBOM. But sending SMS from your BBOM data sim will be chargeable, unless you are using your phone line sim as data sim.
thiamhui
24-01-2008, 12:05 PM
Did anyone here convert from separate SIM to Multi-SIM??? That is, re-tact BBoM to existing HP number and take the Multi-SIM VAS.
Any idea what’s the charges like for this conversion???
liangtam
24-01-2008, 03:38 PM
Did anyone here convert from separate SIM to Multi-SIM??? That is, re-tact BBoM to existing HP number and take the Multi-SIM VAS.
Any idea what’s the charges like for this conversion???
$5 per month.
Other charge(one-time) would be for purchasing of the 2 SIM cards/registration.
VickyToh
24-01-2008, 05:44 PM
why must they show $10k?
To impress customers?
Yeah! well said. Impress customer or what? :s8:
Just look into your Starhub MaxMobile bill and compare...... SH don't even bother to mention any single cents, they simply indicate $0/- that's it. Now, that's what i call "Got Standard"....:D
It looks "Silly" for any company to "Offset/Absorb" "such huge amount of $$$$ incurred", for a mere $11/- x 12months plan.
Just imagine "loosing" $10,000/-(typical assumption) X 12months per subscriber, plus free modem worth $400/- or more!!!!! That's simply Nonsense! Singtel is doing some sort of money laundering or what?:s8:
Singtel is trying to justify to all its shareholder thats' the reason why Singtel cannot affort to give more divident or what????
komatineni
24-01-2008, 08:26 PM
I think it's done by most of the service providers. I am not a subsc of SH HSDPA but their Cable/Dig Voice always shows that how many minutes i talked and how much "discount" i received. Even for incoming minutes i see the same on mobile bill although it's advertised "free" everywhere.
meokok
24-01-2008, 08:52 PM
Hi People, would like to know if the mobile parther's "statistic" is really acurate?i'm afraid that if it is not acurate,then i may exceed the 50gb.
liangtam
24-01-2008, 09:11 PM
Starhub MM is unlimited ma, in that sense, no matter how much u use, to the billing system, extra charges will still amount to........
$0
Not with ST BBoM tho - and its 50GB limit.
Anyway, I would consider it IMHO a good scare tactic to remind customer not to exceed 50GB, but its rly up to the individual to perceive it
komatineni
24-01-2008, 09:47 PM
yeah. i agree with that. It's up to individual pers. But the singtel e-bill seems good. can see quite detailed. just a funny thought. what if they do the same for bom :s8:
pesicola123
27-01-2008, 09:05 AM
I have a problem here. I remember signing up the service on 29/DEC and it got activated on 31/DEC. So far, i did not received any bill. Why is it so? I thought after 2 weeks of usage, i should received?
Also, recently i went to a hotel over at JB and was using SNMBB. I do monitor the [Mobile Partner]
It is alway in
1 WCMA, 2 HSPA or 3. GPRS which is the slowest.
I assume I will not be incurring roaming charges?
Also this SNMBB should not have roaming services? Or it is preset to activate roaming?
TIA.
Regards.
pesicola123
27-01-2008, 09:11 AM
still looking for R-angle USB connector. Please advice.
Asakura
27-01-2008, 10:20 AM
hi guys
would singnet users be able to use the d-link router dir-655 ??
thanks
liangtam
27-01-2008, 11:44 AM
hi guys
would singnet users be able to use the d-link router dir-655 ??
thanks
For what u wan hook it to a router? You nid to write what u wan to achieve.
pesicola123
30-01-2008, 02:45 PM
up again..............
wahoo
01-02-2008, 11:36 PM
Hi i want to ask singtel give how many installation inside the E220 usb package? is it got 2 red cd inside, 1 for win xp install and another seperate cd for Mac ?
cos i forget how many cd singtel give me, now i left 1 red cd.Recently i try to install in another system, It can install in xp but cannot use. Mobile Connect say invalid win32 file. I wonder is that cd for mac instllation only.
if really got 2 cd that mean i lost the other cd i need to search the storeroom cos i confirm misplace it already..
Sintel bbom those who take e220 usb modem can i ask you all inside the blue box package got how many cd include give to u?
thank for querying my doubt
liangtam
02-02-2008, 12:09 AM
Hi i want to ask singtel give how many installation inside the E220 usb package? is it got 2 red cd inside, 1 for win xp install and another seperate cd for Mac ?
cos i forget how many cd singtel give me, now i left 1 red cd.Recently i try to install in another system, It can install in xp but cannot use. Mobile Connect say invalid win32 file. I wonder is that cd for mac instllation only.
if really got 2 cd that mean i lost the other cd i need to search the storeroom cos i confirm misplace it already..
Sintel bbom those who take e220 usb modem can i ask you all inside the blue box package got how many cd include give to u?
thank for querying my doubt
1 disc - for Mac only!!!
Windows driver is by default inside the e220. On top of e220 as a modem, ut act as a thumbdrive as well, but specifically for its installation file only.
wahoo
02-02-2008, 12:19 AM
1 disc - for Mac only!!!
Windows driver is by default inside the e220. On top of e220 as a modem, ut act as a thumbdrive as well, but specifically for its installation file only.
Can i ask, you mean Singtel only Give 1 cd and that cd is for Mac only?
For xp installation it is auto detect is it? no need cd driver to install?
i want to ask if window xp mangae to install the default driver for E220, Where to get the file to install "Mobile Partner" ? to check the bandwidth static use and to click to connect to internet?
In general do we need any cd for installation for E220 xp sp2?
I want to ask last question is E220 can act as a thumb dirve to save file? How to trigger it to thumb drive instead of modem?
thanks for helping
Asakura
02-02-2008, 12:26 AM
For what u wan hook it to a router? You nid to write what u wan to achieve.
jus wondering, i bought the router for my current starhub connection. in any case if i were to switch to singnet one day, wanna know if this router will be of use..
i dun quite like the modem+router provided by singnet thou, so was thinking whether dir-655 can replace that together with another modem...
liangtam
02-02-2008, 12:27 AM
Can i ask, you mean Singtel only Give 1 cd and that cd is for Mac only?
Yes, don't have to reconfirm it. Only 1 disc, and is meant for Mac.
For xp installation it is auto detect is it? no need cd driver to install?
Everything else for Windows is inside the modem, no need disc but need to install.
i want to ask if window xp mangae to install the default driver for E220, Where to get the file to install "Mobile Partner" ? to check the bandwidth static use and to click to connect to internet?
Everything for windows is inside modem
In general do we need any cd for installation for E220 xp sp2?
As above.
I want to ask last question is E220 can act as a thumb dirve to save file? How to trigger it to thumb drive instead of modem?
thanks for helping
Can only read, cannot change file inside.
If your PC usb driver or windows is corrupted and it does not load, gd luck to u.
BTW, pls try before u ask the qn, since you already have it.
liangtam
02-02-2008, 12:28 AM
jus wondering, i bought the router for my current starhub connection. in any case if i were to switch to singnet one day, wanna know if this router will be of use..
i dun quite like the modem+router provided by singnet thou, so was thinking whether dir-655 can replace that together with another modem...
You talking about fixed line broadband or mobile broadband, if fixed bb. Wrong thread.
wahoo
02-02-2008, 12:46 AM
Yes, don't have to reconfirm it. Only 1 disc, and is meant for Mac.
Everything else for Windows is inside the modem, no need disc but need to install.
Everything for windows is inside modem
As above.
Can only read, cannot change file inside.
If your PC usb driver or windows is corrupted and it does not load, gd luck to u.
BTW, pls try before u ask the qn, since you already have it.
Hi i just try, it will auto install the driver from the modem itself. After that it will pop out a window ask me to read rule and regulation before i click next to install mobile partner.
I click next can install the mobile partner.
Finish installation, i double click on the mobile partner, it pop out a window say mobilepartner.exe is not a win valid 32 file, althought i had success install and rebbot already wihtout any mac cd in my cd tray.
dunno where goes wrong i think tomorrow i format my window start fresh all over again.
FireHobbit
02-02-2008, 01:03 AM
the promo still on?
liangtam
02-02-2008, 01:07 AM
the promo still on?
1mth free every 3 paying mth lor.
unlimit3d
02-02-2008, 05:23 PM
got any d/c for singtel mio user?
liangtam
02-02-2008, 06:37 PM
got any d/c for singtel mio user?
BBoM /= mio
bbomob
05-02-2008, 01:43 PM
Is there any way to get a new dynamically generated IP address?
I tried to off the laptop, unplug the modem, plug back the modem, turn on the laptop, but the IP is still the same. (i'm using linux on eee pc).
liangtam
05-02-2008, 04:25 PM
Is there any way to get a new dynamically generated IP address?
I tried to off the laptop, unplug the modem, plug back the modem, turn on the laptop, but the IP is still the same. (i'm using linux on eee pc).
Not possible.
bbomob
05-02-2008, 04:27 PM
Not possible.
So you mean each of us get a unique static IP which cannot be changed?
liangtam
05-02-2008, 04:39 PM
So you mean each of us get a unique static IP which cannot be changed?
Neither.
Its a single external IP shared by all BBoM user. 10.x.x range is internal only.
bbomob
05-02-2008, 05:04 PM
Neither.
Its a single external IP shared by all BBoM user. 10.x.x range is internal only.
but my friend using BBoM is having a different IP from mine.... so is there >1 such external IP shared? anyway to get a dedicated IP?
liangtam
05-02-2008, 05:07 PM
but my friend using BBoM is having a different IP from mine.... so is there >1 such external IP shared? anyway to get a dedicated IP?
Everyone will have a different internal IP, but there is only 1 external IP allocated for BBoM AFAIK. Have you used a router before?
BTW, what is your point in trying to figure out how to get a new IP and the such?
bbomob
05-02-2008, 08:40 PM
Everyone will have a different internal IP, but there is only 1 external IP allocated for BBoM AFAIK. Have you used a router before?
BTW, what is your point in trying to figure out how to get a new IP and the such?
Hmm... it seems that there are more than 1 IP, coz only the 1st 2 sets of numbers in the IP are the same, the last 2 sets of numbers are different for me and my friend's case.
Yes, I have used a router before.
liangtam
05-02-2008, 08:58 PM
Ok, so tell me, what is the first two parts of the IP then?
bbomob
05-02-2008, 09:00 PM
Ok, so tell me, what is the first two parts of the IP then?
the 1st 2 sets of numbers are 203.127
liangtam
05-02-2008, 10:05 PM
You mean 203.127.74.49??
bbomob
05-02-2008, 10:51 PM
You mean 203.127.74.49??
haha, that's different from what I have.
liangtam
05-02-2008, 10:59 PM
Actually, dosn't matter la. You can't open port for bittorrent or host daemon anyway.
Or unless you have some other reason?
bbomob
06-02-2008, 03:10 AM
Actually, dosn't matter la. You can't open port for bittorrent or host daemon anyway.
Or unless you have some other reason?
I'm not using those.
Thanks for your help anyway :)
Anyone can offer better advice on how to change the IP of singnet broadband on mobile?
FireHobbit
06-02-2008, 03:14 PM
singtel can run torrent on its mobile bb?
liangtam
06-02-2008, 06:53 PM
singtel can run torrent on its mobile bb?
Can.
But this service was never meant for BT in the first place, so incoming connections are not possible.
chewren
06-02-2008, 11:44 PM
Does singtel mobile bb plans work with the nokia n73?
liangtam
07-02-2008, 12:17 AM
Yes, up to 384kbps
FireHobbit
07-02-2008, 01:27 AM
haha.. can be used on phoen too...
Yes, up to 384kbps
Also upload is limited to max 56kbps. Tried it, it is best to run off the E220 and the PCMCIA card.
FireWood
10-02-2008, 07:27 PM
Should I get HTC TyTn or E220 USB Modem?
Can HTC TyTn function as 3.5G modem when connected to notebook?
liangtam
10-02-2008, 07:47 PM
I ish lecommend e270 instead :)
sAxman_Returns
10-02-2008, 07:50 PM
waste of money....what do you guys use it for?
FireWood
10-02-2008, 07:54 PM
waste of money....what do you guys use it for?
can enlighten?
sAxman_Returns
10-02-2008, 08:05 PM
can enlighten?
must see what do you guys use it for lor.....
liangtam
10-02-2008, 08:07 PM
use it for..... MSN :D
sAxman_Returns
10-02-2008, 08:08 PM
use it for..... MSN :D
*faint*
I think 3G more practical nia....for MSN...
sin77
10-02-2008, 11:00 PM
ok guys this is my setup:
At home not many internet connection pt and subscription plans are ex.
Anyway since i got laptop, why not get something flexible? ie wireless broadband, so that i can use it while i'm outside. Don need to hunt for wireless@sg.
And how much we looking here? $22/mth
Apart from this, I add another $5/mth so that i can also surf net and msn using my mobile phone.
Both laptop and mobile can surf net at the same time..
How much are we talking here? $27 lor... simple maths
sAxman_Returns
10-02-2008, 11:08 PM
bro sin77, like that okay lar, but unfortunately I already have free broadband from starhub liao.....hehe
blackink
11-02-2008, 12:42 AM
Should I get HTC TyTn or E220 USB Modem?
Can HTC TyTn function as 3.5G modem when connected to notebook?
contrarily HTC or any pdaphone-dem for the matter.
it means 1 less device 1 less subscription yet 1 more access on the road.
i lost track how frequently i silently thk g*d for the existence of the service on my phone any place any time i want it.
sin77
11-02-2008, 07:48 AM
hubbro sin77, like that okay lar, but unfortunately I already have free broadband from starhub liao.....hehe
Why got free starhub broadband?
I don't think you can use the phone as a modem and then use Pocket IE to surf at the same time.
But if you have a E220 + Laptop on 1 SIM card, Your HTC with another SIM Card (Multi-SIM), you may surf concurrently
Kinetic
11-02-2008, 11:13 AM
Hi all
Noob on this mobile BB, can I clarify:
1. Must I have an existing 3G Sim card/service with singtel to subscribe to this? Cos currently using coy 2G phone under corporate plan.
2. The extra data SIM card given if subscribe 1 year, is it another number? Or tied to the existing 3G sim hp number?
Thanks
Hanwudi
11-02-2008, 12:53 PM
Hi all
1. Must I have an existing 3G Sim card/service with singtel to subscribe to this? Cos currently using coy 2G phone under corporate plan.
2. The extra data SIM card given if subscribe 1 year, is it another number? Or tied to the existing 3G sim hp number?
Thanks
1. No, you dont need to.
2. Can be both, new number or tie toexisting humber.
quekky
11-02-2008, 12:54 PM
I don't think you can use the phone as a modem and then use Pocket IE to surf at the same time.
But if you have a E220 + Laptop on 1 SIM card, Your HTC with another SIM Card (Multi-SIM), you may surf concurrently
not sure about HTC, but on my W910i I can use my phone as modem and surf on the phone at the same time
quekky
11-02-2008, 12:56 PM
use it to check what time the bus arrive (iris) :s16:
no lah, office pay for it so die die must subscribe, if not go customer place no internet cannot work:s7:
my plan is the 30% discount, didnt get the multi-sim as I can use my phone as modem
larry
11-02-2008, 06:22 PM
Hi quekky
You said you got 30% off your plan, so how much does your mobile broadband cost per month?
Thanks
blackink
11-02-2008, 07:05 PM
whats 30% when theres 100% keke :D
liangtam
11-02-2008, 08:20 PM
Use phone as modem phone batt gets drained first.
Use modem, laptop drain fast.
sin77
11-02-2008, 10:07 PM
Use phone as modem phone batt gets drained first.
Use modem, laptop drain fast.
Use modem, only laptop drained.
Use phone as modem, both laptop and phone get drained.
quekky
11-02-2008, 10:33 PM
larry: around $15.70/mth nett for 1 year, 1st 2 months free. promo during outside taka roadshow
liangtam/sin77:
if use bluetooth, laptop + phone drain (but seems like phone drain not that fast, still can use 2 days)
if use cable, only laptop drain, coz cable can charge my phone :D
liangtam
11-02-2008, 10:44 PM
Use modem, only laptop drained.
Use phone as modem, both laptop and phone get drained.
Its a matter of which device u wan it not to be depleted first.
liangtam
11-02-2008, 10:49 PM
liangtam/sin77:
if use bluetooth, laptop + phone drain (but seems like phone drain not that fast, still can use 2 days)
o'rly?
My phone drained itself in just 2 hour time using bluetooth to serve as modem.
quekky
12-02-2008, 08:23 AM
o'rly?
My phone drained itself in just 2 hour time using bluetooth to serve as modem.
so bad ah? WM phone?
actually i nv try 2 days bluetooth, only tried 2 hours but after that my phone still can use normally for 2 days + a few internet here and there. Doesn't matter to me coz I can always plug in cable if my phone goes flat
Kinetic
12-02-2008, 09:17 AM
larry: around $15.70/mth nett for 1 year, 1st 2 months free. promo during outside taka roadshow
liangtam/sin77:
1. No, you dont need to.
2. Can be both, new number or tie toexisting humber.
Thanks for the replies.
Was wondering any promo/road show now? Or any lobang? Tried at hello shop & called the CSO but don't budge, even though I'm a loyal Singnet & Singtel customer for many years :s7:
liangtam
12-02-2008, 08:35 PM
so bad ah? WM phone?
actually i nv try 2 days bluetooth, only tried 2 hours but after that my phone still can use normally for 2 days + a few internet here and there. Doesn't matter to me coz I can always plug in cable if my phone goes flat
Nokia n73, constantly connected and downloading half the time actually.
FireHobbit
16-02-2008, 01:24 AM
battery drain very fast when using hspda but use the usb huawei when using with laptop is better... save power.. http://webpages.charter.net/kylegdb/smilies/redxdance.gif
pesicola123
16-02-2008, 08:30 AM
Hello.
I am doing BT using 512Kpbs plan. However as far as i see, it will alway max out around 29-30 KB/s. I mean it will stablize around this speed range. Why is it so?
Nothing higher since 512 =64KB/sec
TIA
war3craft2003
16-02-2008, 09:22 AM
Hi all
Thanks
1. No you dont need as they will change your 2G sim card to a 3G sim card.
2. Its not extra sim card, it replaces your 2G sim card but you still can retain your number.
BumbleBee321
17-02-2008, 09:38 AM
Is this promo coming back anytime in the near future?
I am currently on M1 BB and want to switch to ST BB..
Any hope on this promo returning during the IT show in March?
twosix
17-02-2008, 09:59 AM
There is still the 3 mths free with 12 mths subscription.
Pokémon
17-02-2008, 10:15 AM
I'm also waiting for the 6 months free promo...
noobified
17-02-2008, 10:30 AM
Will there be seperate charges when I use internet on my mobile phone when I already have this data sim card for my laptop?
steamywoks
17-02-2008, 12:41 PM
Will there be seperate charges when I use internet on my mobile phone when I already have this data sim card for my laptop?
All data access using the Data Simm is FOC up till the limit they imposed. 50 Gb per month for Singtel, unlimited for M1.
Data Simm cannot make or take voice calls, but can send/receive SMS. Incoming SMS is free, outgoing is 5 cent per sms.
If you want to use internet on the mobile, then you have to swap the laptop card to the mobile phone.
Singtel does not provide extra Data Simm, one plan has one data simm only. Anyone out there have 2 simm cards for one mobile BB plan ? Ideally I want to surf net on my mobile and also my laptop using one plan and not having to share the one card with the 2 devices.
liangtam
17-02-2008, 01:02 PM
Theres multiSIM for a fee, but not for both online simultaneously.
FireHobbit
17-02-2008, 05:54 PM
hope the promo will come back again...
war3craft2003
17-02-2008, 07:10 PM
All data access using the Data Simm is FOC up till the limit they imposed. 50 Gb per month for Singtel, unlimited for M1.
Data Simm cannot make or take voice calls, but can send/receive SMS. Incoming SMS is free, outgoing is 5 cent per sms.
If you want to use internet on the mobile, then you have to swap the laptop card to the mobile phone.
Singtel does not provide extra Data Simm, one plan has one data simm only. Anyone out there have 2 simm cards for one mobile BB plan ? Ideally I want to surf net on my mobile and also my laptop using one plan and not having to share the one card with the 2 devices.
I am using dual sim card for my Singtel mobile broadband. For an additional $5 per mth I have 1 sim card for my PDA and another for my laptop ver the free Hauwei E220 modem.
You will have a primary and seconday sim card. Primary sim card can do everything...surf web, send/receive SMS and make/receive calls. Secondary sim card you can surf web concurrently with the primary sim card but you can only make out going call/SMS.
All the usage will be under 1 plan...50gb free for data usage and for calling/receiving phone calls will be under whatever phone plans you got.
BumbleBee321
17-02-2008, 08:13 PM
I was told that I need to be an existing Singtel Mobile customer before I can have dual sim.
Is this correct?
Is it not possible for me to have only Singtel BB Mobile with dual sim but no existing phone line contract with them?
liangtam
17-02-2008, 08:25 PM
I was told that I need to be an existing Singtel Mobile customer before I can have dual sim.
Is this correct?
Is it not possible for me to have only Singtel BB Mobile with dual sim but no existing phone line contract with them?
Yes.
You can subscribe to ST BBoM without any existing subscription with them. However, you cannot have more than 1 SIM for internet purpose only.
aiyoyo
17-02-2008, 10:02 PM
You can subscribe to ST BBoM without any existing subscription with them. However, you cannot have more than 1 SIM for internet purpose only.
According to the Multi-SIM FAQ at http://home.singtel.com/consumer/products/mobile/value_added_services/multisim_faq.asp, "At any one time, all Multi-SIM cards can make outgoing voice calls/video calls/SMS/MMS. Only 1 of the Multi-SIM card (term as Preferred Card) will be able to receive voice calls/video calls/SMS/MMS. ALL the Multi-SIM cards@ will be able to use data simultaneously. So, you can make a voice call while working / surfing using a PDA/laptop/Blackberry."
@ Only 1 IDEAS session is allowed.
So it seems that a ST BBoM subscriber with Multi-SIM can surf data simultaneously within the 50GB limit per month.
liangtam
17-02-2008, 10:11 PM
Cannot. Read carefully. Only 1 IDEAS session.
aiyoyo
17-02-2008, 11:07 PM
Cannot. Read carefully. Only 1 IDEAS session.
My understanding of IDEAS, as per http://www.ideas.singtel.com/ is they are Singtel's own services, and that IDEAS is not equal to Internet.
Can ST BBoM subscribers with Multi-SIM confirm whether they are able to surf Internet simultaneously with their 2 or more Multi-SIM cards.
war3craft2003
17-02-2008, 11:17 PM
My understanding of IDEAS, as per http://www.ideas.singtel.com/ is they are Singtel's own services, and that IDEAS is not equal to Internet.
Can ST BBoM subscribers with Multi-SIM confirm whether they are able to surf Internet simultaneously with their 2 or more Multi-SIM cards.
See my earlier reply on the function of dual sim card.
The answer is yes you can surf concurrently with both sim card. I am using dual sim one on my E220 and another on my pda.
liangtam
18-02-2008, 12:29 AM
Practically can use simultanously, tried and tested.
Supposedly no tho.
existence
18-02-2008, 12:32 AM
anyone know of any upcoming promos for this for march IT show?? :D
steamywoks
18-02-2008, 01:50 AM
I am using dual sim card for my Singtel mobile broadband. For an additional $5 per mth I have 1 sim card for my PDA and another for my laptop ver the free Hauwei E220 modem.
You will have a primary and seconday sim card. Primary sim card can do everything...surf web, send/receive SMS and make/receive calls. Secondary sim card you can surf web concurrently with the primary sim card but you can only make out going call/SMS.
All the usage will be under 1 plan...50gb free for data usage and for calling/receiving phone calls will be under whatever phone plans you got.
My Data Sim cannot make/receive calls but able to send/receive sms. I am not a Singtel mobile subscriber but got this data sim from x61 promo.
I checked by calling Singtel and told that I can have only 1 sim. I actually need another sim card for another device. One sim goes to laptop, the other to mobile phone.
Answers I read are all pointing everywhere, so can anyone confirm if 2 sim cards for my case above is possible ?? I don't need to make/receive calls as I have M1 line already. From what i know, multi-sim cards are for voice calls/sms only and not applicable for the BB on mobile plans.
war3craft2003
18-02-2008, 08:50 AM
My Data Sim cannot make/receive calls but able to send/receive sms. I am not a Singtel mobile subscriber but got this data sim from x61 promo.
I checked by calling Singtel and told that I can have only 1 sim. I actually need another sim card for another device. One sim goes to laptop, the other to mobile phone.
Answers I read are all pointing everywhere, so can anyone confirm if 2 sim cards for my case above is possible ?? I don't need to make/receive calls as I have M1 line already. From what i know, multi-sim cards are for voice calls/sms only and not applicable for the BB on mobile plans.
I suggest you call Singtel customer service to confirm if non-singtel subsriber can get dual sim for BBOM.
Personally think they should provide dual sim card service for non-singtel users since its not free. Also both sim card can use for data usage.
liangtam
18-02-2008, 10:02 AM
Cannot la, multiSIM nid voice plan.
twosix
18-02-2008, 10:45 AM
Practically can use simultanously, tried and tested.
Supposedly no tho.
How to do it? Mine can only support 1 session at any one time.
sin77
20-02-2008, 07:58 AM
you better ask their customer service. I can surf net on both card simultaneously.
pesicola123
23-02-2008, 08:01 AM
Hello.
I am doing BT using 512Kpbs plan. However as far as i see, it will alway max out around 29-30 KB/s. I mean it will stablize around this speed range. Why is it so?
Nothing higher since 512 =64KB/sec
TIA
hello.
Just want to verify whether the max out speed for BT (downloading) is 30KB/s
TIA.
FireHobbit
23-02-2008, 11:00 AM
ard there.. sometime can hit 40kb/s
quekky
23-02-2008, 11:18 AM
that day tried 50+
lerkaile
23-02-2008, 12:14 PM
So I guess since I'm a current SingTel mobile user, I get to surf on my phone and my laptop at the same time?
FireHobbit
23-02-2008, 04:09 PM
after u subscribe for the service is on dual sim or another sim...
sgmem88
24-02-2008, 02:23 AM
something wrong with BBOM???
can logon but can't access any website :s11:
steamywoks
24-02-2008, 11:08 PM
After reading so many posts, I understand there are people using 2 data sim cards for 2 devices to surf net eg. one for laptop, the other for mobile phone. But they are paying for 1 BB mobile plan only.
As hotline is giving me different stories, can i find out:
how much to pay for extra card ?
Is is right that both cards can access data, send/receive sms without able to receive/make calls ?
I have already 1 BB on mobile sim card and need another one for internet use only.
aiyoyo
24-02-2008, 11:34 PM
After reading so many posts, I understand there are people using 2 data sim cards for 2 devices to surf net eg. one for laptop, the other for mobile phone. But they are paying for 1 BB mobile plan only.
Is is right that both cards can access data, send/receive sms without able to receive/make calls ?
I have already 1 BB on mobile sim card and need another one for internet use only.
You can find the answers under SingTel's Multi-SIM service at http://home.singtel.com/consumer/products/mobile/value_added_services/multisim_overview.asp
liangtam
24-02-2008, 11:34 PM
Told u liao ma, you need to have a postpaid voice plan.
All the cost details are listed here
http://home.singtel.com/consumer/products/mobile/value_added_services/multisim_overview.asp
lerkaile
25-02-2008, 10:52 AM
so at the end of the day, not only must you pay for Mobile Broadband, but also for the damn multi-sim that enables you to talk surf on say an iPhone and laptop lah.
liangtam
25-02-2008, 01:35 PM
so at the end of the day, not only must you pay for Mobile Broadband, but also for the damn multi-sim that enables you to talk surf on say an iPhone and laptop lah.
You don't have to what...
AFAIK, double SIM for voice/surfing as a single package does not seems to be provided by M1 or Starhub as a VAS even.
seowbin
25-02-2008, 01:58 PM
ask u arh, so i can have dual sim card bo?for data plan only :P
one to use on my extra hp , one to be on that huawei thingy
micromousez
02-03-2008, 01:38 PM
is there anything wrong with my bill???
sign during e promo 12mth free6mth
here is my bill:
10dec to 19dec : $6.98
20dec to 19jan: $14.19
20Jan to 19Feb: $6.76
20Feb to 19 Mar: $13.73
i m paying for every mth...
i thought is paying for alt mth only??
liangtam
02-03-2008, 01:52 PM
normal, SingTel billing does not seems to work that way.
pesicola123
07-03-2008, 09:32 PM
Hi liangtam and many here,
How to auto log in when i switch on my PC? there is no options to select. Please help.
Regards.
http://i29.tinypic.com/wh1fcx.jpg
mosmos
07-03-2008, 09:53 PM
http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/scan0003.jpg
mosmos
07-03-2008, 09:56 PM
size of samsung modem :o
http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/CIMG0164a.jpg
http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/CIMG0163.jpg
xsashimix
08-03-2008, 02:51 AM
can i reg this service and multi sim and use for starhub mobile line?
FireHobbit
08-03-2008, 06:13 AM
this promo seem good now.. finally is back...
mosmos
08-03-2008, 08:41 AM
Hi liangtam and many here,
How to auto log in when i switch on my PC? there is no options to select. Please help.
Regards.
http://i29.tinypic.com/wh1fcx.jpgdisable auto-startup for this software. Use IE internet connection instead.
FireHobbit
08-03-2008, 01:02 PM
the connection is instant activated?
liangtam
08-03-2008, 02:53 PM
No.
¤10 char¤
sooch
09-03-2008, 02:00 AM
it seems u have installed the software via the 3G modem lo.
PS: is ur SIMCARD activated?
please use another HP, place that Singtel 3G SIM into that HP, after power on, if u see unlimited svc means ur SIM not activated. wait for tomorrow lo.
I got the card yesterday. I just tried it a while ago, using the HP method, it shows SINGTEL! mai tu liao!
insert the SIM card.. OH YEAH! HUAWEI modem auto install and i am online!! weeee
fmradio
09-03-2008, 11:13 AM
I am using multisim for singtel Broadband on Mobile. Monthly fee is 5 bucks. Incoming for calls, sms is only active on 1 sim card, outgoing connections can be made on either cards.Quite happy with the service. The Voice plan, data plan is shared between the 2 sim cards on the same mobile number. However, I am not able to play wow with this connection can anyone do it?
Ratix0
09-03-2008, 11:37 AM
Wow. Im very tempted to sign on for the plan then use the simcard for my phone...
Just a question, if I have a singtel line and I have one of these, can I combine into 1 simcard?
micromousez
09-03-2008, 03:17 PM
u can use ur current sim card to surf...
pesicola123
09-03-2008, 05:46 PM
Hello,
I will like to highlight that singnet will send you sms alert if your useage is 25gb and 45gb respectively.
It kinda of useful.
:)
sin77
09-03-2008, 07:18 PM
i dun think i even hit 5GB a month
riderxps
09-03-2008, 07:25 PM
I signed up for the 512 mobile bb at the IT show on thursday and went to bugis junction on friday to subscribe to multi-sim so that I can use the data plan for 2 sim card. But the manager at the bugis junction singtel branch say that the data plan is only for 1 sim card and cannot be shared. Now I read that this possible and some have done it already. I was given a data sim with the huawei modem so my question is should I just subscribe to multi-sim anyway? And do I need to tie in my data plan with my mobile phone number as well?
fmradio
09-03-2008, 07:36 PM
haha I have subscribed to the plan and multisim at comcentre, have you got the sim card yet? It takes abt 1 working day to activate the new pair of sim card, just try when u get it lo. my plan is tied with my main mobile number for voice calls as well.
liangtam
09-03-2008, 07:57 PM
You shld be signing both on the spot and NOT after signing for BBoM. You're likely required to pay registration, double SIM one time fee etc.
riderxps
09-03-2008, 08:02 PM
You shld be signing both on the spot and NOT after signing for BBoM. You're likely required to pay registration, double SIM one time fee etc.
Paying is okay with me, what tick me off is that the manager actually came out and told me that the data plan will still only be tied to 1 sim even if I sub to multi-sim, so multi sim is no point for me at all.
mamboberg
09-03-2008, 08:34 PM
i just sign up during the IT show.. the best so far in term of pricing..$11+ per month! got $20 Taka voucher too and 1 MIo pink bag
liangtam
09-03-2008, 08:43 PM
Paying is okay with me, what tick me off is that the manager actually came out and told me that the data plan will still only be tied to 1 sim even if I sub to multi-sim, so multi sim is no point for me at all.
Can la, 2 sim card, main one can receive sms, call out, use up the allocated 50GB, additional tied SIM can make call/SMS out and use the same allocated 50GB
riderxps
09-03-2008, 09:56 PM
Can la, 2 sim card, main one can receive sms, call out, use up the allocated 50GB, additional tied SIM can make call/SMS out and use the same allocated 50GB
Yo, many thanks for info.will make another trip to sign up tomorrow.
riderxps
09-03-2008, 09:58 PM
i just sign up during the IT show.. the best so far in term of pricing..$11+ per month! got $20 Taka voucher too and 1 MIo pink bag
same here too, I got lucky and got a nice prize from the lucky draw too. Acer mini computer with a 17'' widescreen. hehe
Kinetic
09-03-2008, 10:16 PM
Hi
Was told by the customer officer at the IT show that I can sign up for 2 data sim cards, just like multisim (as I don't have any voice plans with them). Since they are busy, they told me to go any singtel shop to sign pay (gotta pay registration and monthly multisim fees).
Did anyone sign for another data sim card? Can it be done without having any singtel voice subscription?
Tks
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.