PDA

View Full Version : Unbeatable Singtel Mobile Broadband Festive Bundle! Sign 12 mth FREE 6 Mth!

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7

pesicola123
10-03-2008, 09:19 AM
Hello ... Multi sim question

I had signed 12month singtel MoBB since last Dec. If the number they give to me is 'A'. And my current singtel mobile line is 'B'

Is it possible to link this A to B, so sim card B can use in my mobile phone to surf?

TIA...

liangtam
10-03-2008, 11:34 AM
Hello ... Multi sim question

I had signed 12month singtel MoBB since last Dec. If the number they give to me is 'A'. And my current singtel mobile line is 'B'

Is it possible to link this A to B, so sim card B can use in my mobile phone to surf?

TIA...

Try call them and ask.

PS: For multiSIM, they WILL offer u 2 new SIM care(or more if opted), ur existing ones needs to be replaced. Since this was not done during december, i guess u'll nid to pay registration fee and one-time charge of 2 new sim cards.

pesicola123
10-03-2008, 11:53 AM
but for the Handphone mobile 'B', can i still retain the number?

mamboberg
10-03-2008, 01:12 PM
same here too, I got lucky and got a nice prize from the lucky draw too. Acer mini computer with a 17'' widescreen. hehe

:s31:you are one lucky ****!

riderxps
10-03-2008, 02:47 PM
Aiyah, lucky to win the prize. But today went down to hello singtel to get multi sim and was told that mine data sim line from the IT show must be new line and not use my existing line.sian. Cannot change to my existing line.sian

trojan75
10-03-2008, 03:37 PM
I signed up for the BBOM 1800 during the IT show. Got a new data sim card and the huawei usb modem. I specifically asked the Singtel personnel who served me whether I can tie up this BBOM with my singtel mobile line. He told me CAN but they are unable to do so at the IT show. I have to make a trip to Singtel Hello shop.

So I went down to Parkway Hello shop this afternoon, waited 30min to be served and the CSO told me its not possible. I told him his colleague who served me at IT show said its possible and he gave me a sarcastic look and told me to go look for that person. Damn it, where do I go to look for him? At IT SHOW which is already closed??? Then he told me to call the BBOM hotline 18004844688 to check.

I left the Hello shop a disgusted and angry customer. :mad:

I made a call to BBOM hotline at 12.14pm and spoke to the CSO, he also said I cannot tie the BBOM to my mobile line. I told him the same story again, I had confirmed with the CSO during IT show that I am able do so before I signed up the BBOM. He told me he needs to check with his manager and would call me back in 10mins. 12.45pm, still no call from them. So I called the hotline again, served by another CSO and she told me to wait the call as they need time to check. Now its already 3.35pm still no call.

Sian ah.....

riderxps
10-03-2008, 05:47 PM
Bro, we in the same boat lah. I told the cso they never told me must be new line sign up only. but she don't believe me and said they all super experience cso there and cannot have made a mistake so it must be me the customer law.

Sambuca78
10-03-2008, 05:54 PM
same here too, I got lucky and got a nice prize from the lucky draw too. Acer mini computer with a 17'' widescreen. hehe

how come there is not lucky draw when i went with my fren to sign up the 512??? :s11:

JiaJiaLoveU
10-03-2008, 06:24 PM
I signed up for the BBOM 1800 during the IT show. Got a new data sim card and the huawei usb modem. I specifically asked the Singtel personnel who served me whether I can tie up this BBOM with my singtel mobile line. He told me CAN but they are unable to do so at the IT show. I have to make a trip to Singtel Hello shop.

So I went down to Parkway Hello shop this afternoon, waited 30min to be served and the CSO told me its not possible. I told him his colleague who served me at IT show said its possible and he gave me a sarcastic look and told me to go look for that person. Damn it, where do I go to look for him? At IT SHOW which is already closed??? Then he told me to call the BBOM hotline 18004844688 to check.

I left the Hello shop a disgusted and angry customer. :mad:

I made a call to BBOM hotline at 12.14pm and spoke to the CSO, he also said I cannot tie the BBOM to my mobile line. I told him the same story again, I had confirmed with the CSO during IT show that I am able do so before I signed up the BBOM. He told me he needs to check with his manager and would call me back in 10mins. 12.45pm, still no call from them. So I called the hotline again, served by another CSO and she told me to wait the call as they need time to check. Now its already 3.35pm still no call.

Sian ah.....

same result, I also want to link 2 sim card without paying additional charge for my replace both of my sim cards, but seems cannot...... i did not go to the hello shop but only call 1626

riderxps
10-03-2008, 06:31 PM
how come there is not lucky draw when i went with my fren to sign up the 512??? :s11:
I went on 1st day leh, the cso told me have lucky draw behind so after sign up, present the form to the girl and she let will allow you to turn a machine for the lucky ball to drop for your sure win prize. maybe later days finish already.

JiaJiaLoveU
10-03-2008, 06:35 PM
I got one white color Huawei modem during the IT show and go to huawei's website flash the latest firmware...... what's the difference between the black huawei Singtel logo modem and the white one? I believe in terms of hardware revision black one should be newer, and better, right?

and anyone tried to compare the samsung and huawei's performance? actually before i sign, i did study online, someone said for samsung and huawei's modem the downloading speed is almost the same but the uploading speed huawei can exceed 100kbps but samsung's is about 50+, so i choose the huawei, but today after the service has been activated, i got this result.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/244434542.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
the uploading and downloading speed should be proportional to each other regardless the location which means if at location A, the device got 5xx kbps for downloading and 5x for uploading, then if location B the device got 3xx for downloading, more or less the uploading should be 3x kbps.
then why the huawei's uploading is a little poor, since I saw someone post 5xx for downloading and 13x for uploading

anyone here can share there samsung modem's performance? you may go to http://www.speedtest.net/ to check, remember to close all your downloading and uploading during testing.

mosmos
10-03-2008, 07:02 PM
samsung modem speed in jurong east. :o

http://www.speedtest.net/result/242929531.png

mosmos
10-03-2008, 07:12 PM
the uploading and downloading speed should be proportional to each other regardless the location which means if at location A, the device got 5xx kbps for downloading and 5x for uploading, then if location B the device got 3xx for downloading, more or less the uploading should be 3x kbps.
then why the huawei's uploading is a little poor, since I saw someone post 5xx for downloading and 13x for uploading
max upload speed for all plans is only 384k, fine print below got mention :o

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/scan0003.jpg

JiaJiaLoveU
10-03-2008, 07:42 PM
for the mobile modem there are 3 parts of "software"
1. firmware
2. driver
3. dial-up client software which you can connect/disconnect and monitor the status.

for Huawei's modem
1. firmware can upgrade, i saw there are some quite new released in the past 1 year and the latest version is few days ago which means they are still supporting the device.
2. driver, this one no need bother both windows xp and vista can detect
3. this one must install by yourself, which means if i go to one PC like school PC which i do not have the administrator right, the PC may can detect my device but i am also not able to install the client software for me to connect/disconnect the connection...... the modem is still useless on the PC which i do not have the administrator right....... it is not REAL plug and play....

then what happen for the samsung device, can anyone here help to state in terms of firmware, driver and dial-up clients?
1. can i assume firmware for samsung is quite few compare with huawei's one but since it's performance is not bad so no need release so many firmware to fix/improve anything?
2. for the driver, someone said it is not plug and play but sine installation also cannot avoid for huawei, can i simly load the driver into the memory card of the device and install the driver on the new PC?
3. client software also need to install or it is even better can load direct from memory card?

mosmos
10-03-2008, 08:51 PM
then what happen for the samsung device, can anyone here help to state in terms of firmware, driver and dial-up clients?
1. can i assume firmware for samsung is quite few compare with huawei's one but since it's performance is not bad so no need release so many firmware to fix/improve anything?
2. for the driver, someone said it is not plug and play but sine installation also cannot avoid for huawei, can i simly load the driver into the memory card of the device and install the driver on the new PC?
3. client software also need to install or it is even better can load direct from memory card?1. no idea are there any new firmwares.

2. yes, there's a cd included to install the driver.

3. client software also need cd to install

actually samsung modem is same as sony ericsson pc card, drivers + client software are installed from a cdrom.

JiaJiaLoveU
10-03-2008, 09:11 PM
1. no idea are there any new firmwares.

2. yes, there's a cd included to install the driver.

3. client software also need cd to install

actually samsung modem is same as sony ericsson pc card, drivers + client software are installed from a cdrom.

so which means the samsung one even i set the modem as one thumb driver with memory card, the device still need drive to be detectable by the PC?

or if use the samsung modem as a thumb drive so that there is no drive needed for windows to detect this device then I can copy the whole CD-ROM into the memeory card inside the samsung device, after install the driver and clients software then convert it to be a modem, is it possible?

mosmos
10-03-2008, 09:17 PM
so which means the samsung one even i set the modem as one thumb driver with memory card, the device still need drive to be detectable by the PC?

or if use the samsung modem as a thumb drive so that there is no drive needed for windows to detect this device then I can copy the whole CD-ROM into the memeory card inside the samsung device, after install the driver and clients software then convert it to be a modem, is it possible?

only 1st time use modem then install driver.

the "thumbdrive" is auto-detect and install as mass storage, just as any thumbdrive/card reader. :o

I have not tried copying into its microsd card and try. Now the modem already in my sister house. :o

ohzzsej
11-03-2008, 11:10 PM
Hi, one knows whether still got this promotion or not.. the 12 months free 6 months....

mamboberg
11-03-2008, 11:37 PM
i notice this plan can SMS .. i do not own any singtel number so how much do i need to pay per sms? same rates or is there a certain free sms?

westkimi
12-03-2008, 12:26 AM
Why the Samsung modem software everytime startup always default to GB Vodafone UK profile?

steffan7
12-03-2008, 12:39 AM
Hi, one knows whether still got this promotion or not.. the 12 months free 6 months....

On monday, i went to ask , they still have it

mosmos
12-03-2008, 09:42 AM
Why the Samsung modem software everytime startup always default to GB Vodafone UK profile?

:s22: yah loh, but also can connect as per normal.

hpv500
12-03-2008, 09:45 AM
i notice this plan can SMS .. i do not own any singtel number so how much do i need to pay per sms? same rates or is there a certain free sms?

there's a singtel number to ur sim card. Refer to ur singtel confirmation letter. sms is charged at 5cents each...no free ones...

cnotsniw
12-03-2008, 10:13 AM
Those who are thinking of jumping onto the bandwagon, do re-consider. This is my experience so far.

6/3 : Signed up @ IT Show; got the Samsung Z800
10/3: Still not connected. Called up CSO who said she'll do an urgent activation.
11/3: Still no connection
12/3: Still no connection. Called up CSO and did some Internet/Network settings. Still no connection. Error message "Setting APN failed" She said need to contact Samsung to check fault and would get back to me in 1-2 days! :eek: asked her if can change modem @ any Hello Shops. Answer: No! Checked with her and the contract date is effective 6/3. 1 week liao and no connection ... sibei TL already ... told her that i wanna set the contract date to be effective from date of activation (if it ever gets activated); otherwise, im gonna terminate the contract. :mad:

Together with the lemon Jabra BT they gave ... im helluva disappointed ....

So, bros/sis out there. Do think twice or thrice ....

kotori
12-03-2008, 10:59 AM
hmm...

i subscribe my plan on friday evening at the it show, chose the huawei modem, the cso informed me that it will be activated on tuesday. i stayed up late just to try it at 1AM tuesday and it was working fine..

i think it is quite reknowned that singtel's helpline sucks bad, but maybe u're just a little unfortunate this time?

a paying customer has the right to choose, if it fails to work for you, try another lor.

anyway hope u get u thingy working fine

cheers!

mosmos
12-03-2008, 11:04 AM
Those who are thinking of jumping onto the bandwagon, do re-consider. This is my experience so far.

10/3: Still not connected. Called up CSO who said she'll do an urgent activation.
12/3: Still no connection. Called up CSO and did some Internet/Network settings. Still no connection. Error message "Setting APN failed" She said need to contact Samsung to check fault and would get back to me in 1-2 days! :eek: asked her if can change modem @ any Hello Shops. Answer: No! Checked with her and the contract date is effective 6/3. 1 week liao and no connection ... sibei TL already ... told her that i wanna set the contract date to be effective from date of activation (if it ever gets activated); otherwise, im gonna terminate the contract. :mad:

So, bros/sis out there. Do think twice or thrice ....try to put the sim card in a 3G mobile phone and see if there's any signal. Use the 3G phone to surf net, if oyu know the settings.

see if sim card not working or modem.

Igene
12-03-2008, 06:09 PM
Got a question about this HuaWei modem. It comes with a utility to check statistics. That is so cool but I discovered that when I reboot the computer (I don't leave my computer on forever so...), the statistics got reset to ZERO (0) leh. Like that I don't know how much is my accumulative usage liao.

fi5hbone
12-03-2008, 06:41 PM
Signed up on Monday evening. Activated Tuesday evening. No further issues. But I believe you do have a case in asking for the billing to start upon activation.

So, bros/sis out there. Do think twice or thrice ....

dtsl
12-03-2008, 07:59 PM
does anyone know why the upload is always limits to about 50kbps? How to solve this? Upload has never go more than 60kbps

FireHobbit
12-03-2008, 08:19 PM
the data sim card cannot call out or in...

mosmos
12-03-2008, 08:56 PM
does anyone know why the upload is always limits to about 50kbps? How to solve this? Upload has never go more than 60kbps

which modem are you using? :s11:

dtsl
12-03-2008, 09:03 PM
which modem are you using? :s11:

Huawei... :(

mosmos
12-03-2008, 09:10 PM
Huawei... :(you seems to have same problem as him.

Maybe it's area reception problem?

dtsl
12-03-2008, 09:21 PM
you seems to have same problem as him.

Maybe it's area reception problem?

Can't imagine its 7 times slower than the expected speed! Anyone can help?

liangtam
12-03-2008, 09:28 PM
Upload seems more of the base problem instead.

Kinetic
12-03-2008, 09:35 PM
Hi
Was told by the customer officer at the IT show that I can sign up for 2 data sim cards, just like multisim (as I don't have any voice plans with them). Since they are busy, they told me to go any singtel shop to sign pay (gotta pay registration and monthly multisim fees).

Did anyone sign for another data sim card? Can it be done without having any singtel voice subscription?

Tks

Has anyone signed up multisim as 2 data sim cards? Or any other alternatives? Or has to sign a voice plan to sign up for multisim?

Martel
12-03-2008, 11:44 PM
Hi All,

Using Huawei E220 as a modem for my laptop, in order to get the max speed for 512mb do i need to turn on N95 to 3g ?

I did some test as follows : -

without turn on the N95 to 3g
speedtest result down: less than 200 and up:less than 100

turn on the N95 to 3g
speedtest result down:690kbps up:340kbps

Pls advise cos i don't feel like turn on the 3g on the HP wasting battery power...

Martel
13-03-2008, 11:29 PM
Hi All, anyone can advise me ?

leinad
13-03-2008, 11:58 PM
I overheard someone saying that 50GB per month is unlimited, so I sat down to calculate the figures.

Take for example, 50GB. I'll take that to be 50,000,000,000 bytes per month max.

Suppose a person is connected every second downloading at 100% capacity. The maximum possible length of time would be:
31 (days) x 24 (hours) x 60 (minutes) x 60 (seconds) = 2,678,400 seconds a month

For a person with a 512kbps plan:
512kbps = 64 kbytes per second (using a divide-by-8 to convert bits to bytes).

That works out to be : 171,417,600,000 bytes, or about 171.5GB! So yes, you can exceed if you are connected 24/7 at 100% efficiency.

And yes, the numbers just grow accordingly if you have faster plans. Please do take note of the 50GB limit. Even at 50% efficiency (which is much more realistic), you are still exceeding by a good 35GB of data (85,708,800,000)!

So for those of you who think you can torrent on the go, think twice please.

/Dan

mosmos
14-03-2008, 10:29 AM
speed test between M1BB & singtel mobile in Tuas using SE pc card.

today I am terminating M1BB, so got chance to test both now.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/246107056.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

http://i25.tinypic.com/zxmixu.jpg

http://www.speedtest.net/result/246108711.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

http://i25.tinypic.com/10ptu38.jpg

FireHobbit
14-03-2008, 10:37 AM
which part os tuas u are in?

mosmos
14-03-2008, 10:47 AM
which part os tuas u are in?

tuas cresent. :o

micromousez
14-03-2008, 10:51 AM
I overheard someone saying that 50GB per month is unlimited, so I sat down to calculate the figures.

Take for example, 50GB. I'll take that to be 50,000,000,000 bytes per month max.

Suppose a person is connected every second downloading at 100% capacity. The maximum possible length of time would be:
31 (days) x 24 (hours) x 60 (minutes) x 60 (seconds) = 2,678,400 seconds a month

For a person with a 512kbps plan:
512kbps = 64 kbytes per second (using a divide-by-8 to convert bits to bytes).

That works out to be : 171,417,600,000 bytes, or about 171.5GB! So yes, you can exceed if you are connected 24/7 at 100% efficiency.

And yes, the numbers just grow accordingly if you have faster plans. Please do take note of the 50GB limit. Even at 50% efficiency (which is much more realistic), you are still exceeding by a good 35GB of data (85,708,800,000)!

So for those of you who think you can torrent on the go, think twice please.

/Dan

nice calculation...

Forseti
14-03-2008, 11:29 AM
Looks like singtel better, I'm gonna ditch my stupid m1 plan, so more no promo, no offers for us

1 qn, i know 512 offers best value. but does the 1.8mb plan really translates to faster download speeds in the real world? not sure which plan to get

aCidz
14-03-2008, 11:37 AM
Hi All,

Using Huawei E220 as a modem for my laptop, in order to get the max speed for 512mb do i need to turn on N95 to 3g ?

I did some test as follows : -

without turn on the N95 to 3g
speedtest result down: less than 200 and up:less than 100

turn on the N95 to 3g
speedtest result down:690kbps up:340kbps

Pls advise cos i don't feel like turn on the 3g on the HP wasting battery power...

Yes, you need to turn on 3G in order to utilize HSDPA(3.5G) speeds, else it's only GPRS.

fastcar
15-03-2008, 04:42 AM
Can this kinda mobile plan be used in for my networked computers at home? I run a vv conventional ADSL with a D-Lnk ethernet router. IS there any way/device to insert the SIm card into and connect to the D-link router so the whole network can use the internet connection?

FireHobbit
15-03-2008, 06:40 AM
there is such thing as a 3g router.. From dlink n linksys

Ideasmiths
15-03-2008, 08:09 AM
Can this kinda mobile plan be used in for my networked computers at home? I run a vv conventional ADSL with a D-Lnk ethernet router. IS there any way/device to insert the SIm card into and connect to the D-link router so the whole network can use the internet connection?

Try this router.....being sold on ebay singapore (http://http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/NEW-D-LINK-DIR-451-Wireless-USB-3G-UMTS-HSDPA-54Mbps-1_W0QQitemZ200141060996QQihZ010QQcategoryZ51268QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem)

I searched the whole of Sim Lim the other day, nobody sells it....(yet). Am also thinking of changing over to this after my fix line one expire

Ideasmiths
15-03-2008, 08:18 AM
Anyone selling their older Sony Erisson PC-300 PC card? I got the Samsung one and prefer to have a card inside my laptop underutlized PC express slot. Pm me pls. Thanks

westkimi
15-03-2008, 05:04 PM
Anyone notice the Samsung modem very hot after a few minutes?

fi5hbone
15-03-2008, 05:16 PM
Wanna get a PCMCIA card as well. Any recommendations?

mosmos
15-03-2008, 06:39 PM
Anyone notice the Samsung modem very hot after a few minutes?

yes, same as huawei modem and pc card modem. :o

mosmos
15-03-2008, 06:40 PM
Wanna get a PCMCIA card as well. Any recommendations?

:s11: I thought singtel only have sony ericsson pc card.

wangwangthedog
15-03-2008, 11:02 PM
Anybody knows the best tool for tracking the usage for SingTel BBOM?

Just signed up BBOM with z800 device today... hope can start using it tmr?

Do I need to key in username & password in order to connect to the Internet? SingTel CSO didnt give me any info of that? I tot it supposed to be auto connect to the Internet when I plug in the device... am I right?

mosmos
15-03-2008, 11:05 PM
Anybody knows the best tool for tracking the usage for SingTel BBOM?

Just signed up BBOM with z800 device today... hope can start using it tmr?

Do I need to key in username & password in order to connect to the Internet? SingTel CSO didnt give me any info of that? I tot it supposed to be auto connect to the Internet when I plug in the device... am I right?not sure abt tracking usage software. :o

no need username or password.

you need to install the samsung software before pluging in.

you need to click on connect, no auto-connect for samsung software.

wangwangthedog
15-03-2008, 11:18 PM
not sure abt tracking usage software. :o

no need username or password.

you need to install the samsung software before pluging in.

you need to click on connect, no auto-connect for samsung software.
tks mosmos.... anybody using the tracking software? if not, how do we know whether is 50gb has exceeded or not?

westkimi
15-03-2008, 11:23 PM
Samsung software info tab there have usage tracking.

wangwangthedog
15-03-2008, 11:29 PM
Samsung software info tab there have usage tracking.
oooo ic ... tks tks :)

avault1810
16-03-2008, 04:01 AM
On monday, i went to ask , they still have it

I was looking at the website and it says sign 12 months and the promo is for 3 months free.
Can anyone verify the 6 month free is still on? If yes how to get the better deal?

I really want to ditch my M1 BB. It really sucks! At least once a day when I'm using it will just have 0kb in and out. And I have to disconnect and reconnect. In the past it used to be every hour get dropped signal. Stupid M1!

Anyhow what's the comments about Starhub's MaxMobile?

mosmos
16-03-2008, 08:29 AM
I was looking at the website and it says sign 12 months and the promo is for 3 months free.
Can anyone verify the 6 month free is still on? If yes how to get the better deal?

I really want to ditch my M1 BB. It really sucks! At least once a day when I'm using it will just have 0kb in and out. And I have to disconnect and reconnect. In the past it used to be every hour get dropped signal. Stupid M1!

Anyhow what's the comments about Starhub's MaxMobile?http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=28755063&postcount=4
Ok
I called up their Hotline and the Promo extended to this 16th March

Went down to my nearby Hello Shop just now and signed up :D

***Just to let you guys know
The CD Provided with it is those mini cd; cant be used for my Laptop
Got to burn one :s27:

wangwangthedog
16-03-2008, 05:09 PM
Able to connect to Internet now.... my speed as below:

http://www.speedtest.net/result/247004698.png

FireHobbit
16-03-2008, 08:39 PM
symbian phone can use the bbom like a router.. cool right.. haha..

can check my thread on how to do it..

ironman4672
17-03-2008, 11:05 AM
In consistent. some CSO ask you to pay, some waived off. I spend 3 hours arguing with the CSO, in the end still not insisted that I pay. So I got 2 separate sim card. 1 for voice, 1 for data. :(

subscribe to SNMM must subscribe a voice line with them also? :s11::s11:

ironman4672
17-03-2008, 11:16 AM
1. No, you dont need to.
2. Can be both, new number or tie toexisting humber.

so if i have existing mobile phone line with singtel, and i sign up the mobile broadband... i still can cancel my existing singtel line anytime even before my mobile broadband's contract end rite?;););)

ironman4672
17-03-2008, 11:36 AM
samsung modem speed in jurong east. :o

http://www.speedtest.net/result/242929531.png

mosmos u sign up two times for these singtel broadband on mobile ah? how come u seems to get the PCMCIA modem during dec and u got samsung modem in mar?? u use two lines together?? :s31:

mosmos
17-03-2008, 11:47 AM
mosmos u sign up two times for these singtel broadband on mobile ah? how come u seems to get the PCMCIA modem during dec and u got samsung modem in mar?? u use two lines together?? :s31:

yah, i got 2 singtel broadband mobile now, one for office use (pc card), other is for my sister home use (samsung).

Actually my sis wants the pc card, but now only can choose between huawei and samsung, both usb.

ironman4672
17-03-2008, 11:49 AM
yah, i got 2 singtel broadband mobile now, one for office use (pc card), other is for my sister home use (samsung).

Actually my sis wants the pc card, but now only can choose between huawei and samsung, both usb.

ic... the samsung one is not too bad rite.. i find the design is quite nice.. somemore u get a free 1gd microSD card with adapter....still waiting for my service to up.....

mosmos
17-03-2008, 11:54 AM
ic... the samsung one is not too bad rite.. i find the design is quite nice.. somemore u get a free 1gd microSD card with adapter....still waiting for my service to up.....

yah, samsung one very small & compact, huawei need to attach a cable which is very troublesome.

But the best still is pc card, slot into laptop nicely.

ironman4672
17-03-2008, 12:19 PM
yah, samsung one very small & compact, huawei need to attach a cable which is very troublesome.

But the best still is pc card, slot into laptop nicely.

yup, pcmcia is good for laptop... but also good to get a usb one which can be used on both laptop and desktop...

besides, mosmos, this modem cannot be supported on linux and mac rite? yesterday the queue no lady got ask me if i am using mac, i said windows... then later when going to the service lady... she just directly gives me the samsung modem without asking me to choose the model....

mosmos
17-03-2008, 12:25 PM
yup, pcmcia is good for laptop... but also good to get a usb one which can be used on both laptop and desktop...

besides, mosmos, this modem cannot be supported on linux and mac rite? yesterday the queue no lady got ask me if i am using mac, i said windows... then later when going to the service lady... she just directly gives me the samsung modem without asking me to choose the model....I guess samsung now only include a windows driver.

I saw on samsung website that this modem also support mac, maybe drivers not out yet?

gundamz
17-03-2008, 01:46 PM
mine is a black color usb modem. It is abit hot if you leave it on for an hour or so..
what if the usb modem spoil because of overheat or faulty hardware? will singnet help replace a new one for us?

mosmos
17-03-2008, 01:55 PM
mine is a black color usb modem. It is abit hot if you leave it on for an hour or so..
what if the usb modem spoil because of overheat or faulty hardware? will singnet help replace a new one for us?I had asked the CSO during signup. :o

If modem spoilt, would need to go back to manufacturer, not singnet. eg. samsung modem had to go to samsung service centre for service.

FireHobbit
17-03-2008, 06:11 PM
is the promo still on now?

ironman4672
17-03-2008, 06:58 PM
is the promo still on now?

over liao... i purposely rushed down to hello shop @ nite to sign up.... yesterday is last day....:D:D

sigh
18-03-2008, 03:30 PM
what if the usb modem spoil because of overheat or faulty hardware? will singnet help replace a new one for us?

Left it running for 48 hours. No problem. Anyway your modem under warranty.

fi5hbone
18-03-2008, 04:26 PM
Singnet 512 kbps:

http://www.speedtest.net/result/247803678.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Strange isn't it. In Tessarina @ Bukit Timah.

mosmos
18-03-2008, 06:24 PM
Singnet 512 kbps:

http://www.speedtest.net/result/247803678.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Strange isn't it. In Tessarina @ Bukit Timah.

:s11: did you try to test again?

Hanwudi
18-03-2008, 07:59 PM
so if i have existing mobile phone line with singtel, and i sign up the mobile broadband... i still can cancel my existing singtel line anytime even before my mobile broadband's contract end rite?;););)
Yes, if your bbom and phone are not the same number.:s22:

Hanwudi
18-03-2008, 08:17 PM
I am facing similar problem. I got mine for 3 month liao. Got the chance to test it more than half a dozen different places. Bedok, Bishan, Tampines, Marina etc... can't remember all. Upload always 50 to 60 kbps. How to solve this?:s11:

Overall i am very happy using it. Signed up a 2nd bbom line at IT show. one use for laptop and one for the phone.;)

blackgenius007
18-03-2008, 10:33 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/247900265.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

SINGTEL BBOM speed recently very sucks....now managed to get this snails speed in 95% +- of signal strength. Already bth liao, almost 2 months. Prev can hit to 1700kbps up and 350kbps down and same signal strength.

KNN called to singtel, assist me to change some setting and blah blah blah, no improve at all.

I never change the location of my Huawei dongle, paste on the wall since the 1st day...super tulan

ironman4672
18-03-2008, 10:48 PM
I am facing similar problem. I got mine for 3 month liao. Got the chance to test it more than half a dozen different places. Bedok, Bishan, Tampines, Marina etc... can't remember all. Upload always 50 to 60 kbps. How to solve this?:s11:

Overall i am very happy using it. Signed up a 2nd bbom line at IT show. one use for laptop and one for the phone.;)

wah u are very supportive le.. sign up two lines.. both are data line only rite... no voice? what's the point?

if ur the other line got link to ur current mobile line and is not a seperate no then use for phone, it is more practical lo....

liangtam
18-03-2008, 10:49 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/247900265.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

SINGTEL BBOM speed recently very sucks....now managed to get this snails speed in 95% +- of signal strength. Already bth liao, almost 2 months. Prev can hit to 1700kbps up and 350kbps down and same signal strength.

KNN called to singtel, assist me to change some setting and blah blah blah, no improve at all.

I never change the location of my Huawei dongle, paste on the wall since the 1st day...super tulan

Its called broadband on mobile for a reason, u know?

blackgenius007
18-03-2008, 11:17 PM
Its called broadband on mobile for a reason, u know?

lan lan lor...

Kinetic
19-03-2008, 08:45 AM
wah u are very supportive le.. sign up two lines.. both are data line only rite... no voice? what's the point?

if ur the other line got link to ur current mobile line and is not a seperate no then use for phone, it is more practical lo....

Hi ironman
Do you have any solutions if i need 2 data sim card (besides signing up for 2 data plans)? I try not to sign up another singtel voice plan cos already tied up with SH and coy also provide another hp line). Cos now very troublesome got to take out/put pback the data sim card between the pda phone and modem (for home desktop).

dtsl
19-03-2008, 10:50 AM

What modem did you use? Dont know if the slow upload is a modem problem or signtel problem.... So frustrating, especially sending large filesize emails.

fi5hbone
19-03-2008, 11:40 AM
Why don't you call up Singtel to ask for a solution for this? Seems fair enough that they should come up with a logical solution right?

Hi ironman
Do you have any solutions if i need 2 data sim card (besides signing up for 2 data plans)? I try not to sign up another singtel voice plan cos already tied up with SH and coy also provide another hp line). Cos now very troublesome got to take out/put pback the data sim card between the pda phone and modem (for home desktop).

Hanwudi
19-03-2008, 11:40 AM
What modem did you use? Dont know if the slow upload is a modem problem or signtel problem.... So frustrating, especially sending large filesize emails.

Huawei E220...

pkchukiss
19-03-2008, 12:24 PM
I'm also experiencing slow data transfer speed with the BBOM. I called to complain, and they told me that they will feedback to the engineering section. The thing is, I have no way of checking to see if they're going to do anything about this issue at all...

liangtam
19-03-2008, 12:36 PM
So far BBoM speed ish still reasonable. Else must offload ppl riao :)

gundamz
19-03-2008, 02:05 PM
I guess samsung now only include a windows driver.

I saw on samsung website that this modem also support mac, maybe drivers not out yet?

Left it running for 48 hours. No problem. Anyway your modem under warranty.

ok. Thanks alot. :s7:

Hanwudi
19-03-2008, 08:15 PM

ya, both data line and no voice. bcos my voice line belong to the company.:look:

FireHobbit
23-03-2008, 11:19 AM
u supporter of singtel sia..

Hanwudi
24-03-2008, 08:31 AM
u supporter of singtel sia..
not really lah... if the connection sucks, i will terminate them. i'm not a heavy user. so i find the speed acceptable and reasonably stable.

pesicola123
24-03-2008, 06:56 PM
Is the 25gb/45gb alert real-time? Or lagging by 10min,1hr,12hr,1day?

Just recevied 25GB alert. As shown as text, the msg is sent out 13:58 which i am not using this service..

TIA

FireHobbit
24-03-2008, 07:44 PM
the alert is when u reach it will activate le..

liangtam
26-03-2008, 01:21 PM
My Singtel bill also something like that.

I also on free 6 mth BBom.

Can anyone confirm is it like that one?

Discussed before few times riao ma, it ish rike tat one:)

Hanwudi
27-03-2008, 08:22 AM
ya lor. if you add the amount every 2 months, it total = $22. get it?:s8:

fannboy
27-03-2008, 03:50 PM
any other way of checking the total amount used apart from the alert sent from singnet?

liangtam
27-03-2008, 04:40 PM
No
*10 char*

yi_shiang
28-03-2008, 02:27 PM
hey, just noticed that the upload speed is capped to 64kbps?

http://www.speedtest.net/result/251951569.png

when i first sign up i got ard 384kbps

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2111/2195128764_25d0c8d992.jpg

i am using the huawei modem

liangtam
28-03-2008, 02:42 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/251956403.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Upload ish base problem

yi_shiang
28-03-2008, 03:13 PM
what do you mean by "base" problem?

Martel
28-03-2008, 03:51 PM
Hi All,

Did anyone connected the E220 modem to PSP ? Can use PSP to surf net ? Pls advise...

Thanks in advance,....

yi_shiang
28-03-2008, 03:55 PM
Hi All,

Did anyone connected the E220 modem to PSP ? Can use PSP to surf net ? Pls advise...

Thanks in advance,....

I don't think it is possible to connect E220 directly to PSP via USB, you could however, purchase a 3G HSDPA Router, attach E220 modem to the router, and connect the PSP via wifi to the router.

OR

Use your laptop to share the connection from E220 to wifi, connect your PSP using ad-hoc network.

liangtam
28-03-2008, 04:00 PM
Even if for some reason can, the power output required by the modem would have killed the PSP :o

FireHobbit
29-03-2008, 01:52 PM
I don't think it is possible to connect E220 directly to PSP via USB, you could however, purchase a 3G HSDPA Router, attach E220 modem to the router, and connect the PSP via wifi to the router.

OR

Use your laptop to share the connection from E220 to wifi, connect your PSP using ad-hoc network.

if u got symbain phone u can install the special software to change the phone into a wlan hotspot...

mistersoh
29-03-2008, 07:03 PM
Sorry.. this is late but, is it still worth it to sign up for this now ?

no more promotion... :s11:

yi_shiang
29-03-2008, 09:11 PM
if u got symbain phone u can install the special software to change the phone into a wlan hotspot...

fone mush gotch wifi function..

mosmos
29-03-2008, 10:13 PM
This week bill has disconnect rebate. :s22:

not sure what is that but seems like very good.

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/scan0001-14a.jpg

yi_shiang
29-03-2008, 10:16 PM
13k!!!! mine only 10k :(

FireHobbit
30-03-2008, 12:03 AM
wow.. imagine that amount need to pay up... sure faint

liangtam
30-03-2008, 12:33 AM
my bbom usage ish only till $93, less than 30mb transfer used :o

ginseng1
30-03-2008, 02:01 AM
Just wondering though whether BBOM got recontract 3 months before the 1 year contract is due?

When was BBOM launched?

FireHobbit
30-03-2008, 09:46 AM
singtel lauch ard last year aug...

quekky
30-03-2008, 12:04 PM
This week bill has disconnect rebate. :s22:

not sure what is that but seems like very good.

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/scan0001-14a.jpg
free 2 mths, dat's good for u :D

FireHobbit
30-03-2008, 12:41 PM
waiting for the promotion now...

mistersoh
30-03-2008, 08:24 PM
waiting for the promotion now...

Hope got promotions coming soon! :D

ironman4672
30-03-2008, 09:22 PM
Hope got promotions coming soon! :D

dun think they will have promo until the next it show....

mistersoh
30-03-2008, 10:11 PM
dun think they will have promo until the next it show....

well... gonna wait already.. =/

ernestlee
09-04-2008, 02:19 PM
oh finally singtel bbom users can track their usage online. :)

http://www.ideas.singtel.com/BOM/HS_usage01.jsp

idiort
09-04-2008, 03:45 PM
i also waiting next it show promotion.. lol

twosix
09-04-2008, 04:34 PM

Thanks for sharing, but it seems to be not working. Got the following error:

Thank you for using SingTel BroadBand on Mobile Data Usage Record Query service. Your NRIC/Passport/CRN number is invalid. Please ensure that this NRIC/Passport/BRN number is registered with the BroadBand on Mobile service.

xsashimix
09-04-2008, 07:17 PM
now still can signup for promo?

Igene
09-04-2008, 08:36 PM

Can ah... I just checked it. The phone number you entered is the number for the SIM card. I called to check the other time cause I got 2 accounts. 1 for my friend so need to find out which and which. You know there is a number printed on the SIM card, they can check your mobile number using the number printed on the SIM card.

liangtam
09-04-2008, 10:33 PM
wa, notch bad :D

As at <08 Apr 2008> < 21:44:46>
Local Data Usage <449.18>MB (include download and upload usage)
Your next bill statement will be on <18 Apr 2008>

mistersoh
09-04-2008, 11:41 PM
Hi brothers and sisters,
aware of this ?

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/340381/1/.html

Good news ? ! ? :look:

mosmos
09-04-2008, 11:45 PM
Hi brothers and sisters,
aware of this ?

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/340381/1/.html

Good news ? ! ? :look:

:s22: our free modem now can't receive that kind of speed.

ernestlee
09-04-2008, 11:47 PM
it works and like what Igene said, the mobile number is the Data SIM card tied to your BBOM plan. :) How I found out mine was I tried sending a SMS out from the Huawei Mobile Partner program to my mobile and the number is your Data SIM card.

ernestlee
09-04-2008, 11:50 PM
:s22: our free modem now can't receive that kind of speed.
yeap, back then i was wonder what is the difference between Starhub and Singtel Huawei modem and I realise its the maximum download speed. :|

liangtam
10-04-2008, 12:04 AM
40Mbps!? This isn't HSPA/HSDPA anymore.

Vulpix
10-04-2008, 12:18 AM
Certain areas in Singapore got WiMax already. Can't say where though.

liangtam
10-04-2008, 01:37 AM
WiMax? Qala has it orly...

war3craft2003
10-04-2008, 11:50 AM
Just wondering though whether BBOM got recontract 3 months before the 1 year contract is due?

When was BBOM launched?

Just call them and ask...

I got my new PDA & BBOM(512kps) from them last Sept but did a upgrade to 1.8mps last month and got 3 months free + $100 off another new 3.5G handphone purchase for my wife. :s13:

war3craft2003
10-04-2008, 11:51 AM

Thanks..works for me...

Desmond_
10-04-2008, 05:10 PM
Hope got promotions coming soon! now want to sign up but dun have good promotion :(

yi_shiang
10-04-2008, 06:01 PM
As at <09 Apr 2008> < 13:47:09>

Local Data Usage <4176.13>MB (include download and upload usage)

Your next bill statement will be on <20 Apr 2008>

mistersoh
10-04-2008, 11:57 PM
Hope got promotions coming soon! now want to sign up but dun have good promotion :(

Yup !
Me is waiting too... =)

michael_thm
11-04-2008, 03:21 AM
Hi, got a few questions for you guys...

1) Can make voice calls and SMSes from data sim?
2) Can recieve calls and SMS on BBoM number? If yes, is it free?
3) Ever encounter no signal anywhere?
4) Is VoIP blocked?

Anyone pairing Pfingo with BBoM?

quekky
11-04-2008, 07:29 AM
1) yes, must pay
2) yes, incoming calls must pay, incoming sms free
3) so far so good
4) dunno, never try

michael_thm
11-04-2008, 02:12 PM
Thank you quekky.

Anyone else can answer the last question for me?

I am interested in BBoM as my M1 voice plan contract is ending soon and I am thinking of switching to VoIP. Since my VoIP plan offer unlimited free calls and the basic VAS... I reckon that all I need is a stable data plan able to stream the VoIP calls. So will appreciate if anyone can enlighten me if VoIP is an issue on SingTel BBoM.

bearbear801
11-04-2008, 02:37 PM
The current promotion is sign 12 mths and free 3 mths so only need to pay 9 mths bill. I just sign up recently.

ironman4672
11-04-2008, 04:22 PM
The current promotion is sign 12 mths and free 3 mths so only need to pay 9 mths bill. I just sign up recently.

mine is 12 mths contract 6 mths free.....;);)

mistersoh
11-04-2008, 09:56 PM
mine is 12 mths contract 6 mths free.....;);)

that was a good promotion. but i missed it !

dao
12-04-2008, 08:26 AM
1) if it is data sim (ie not voice plan plux bbom as vas), cannot make voice calls. Sms can, 5cents/sms.
2) data sim cannot receive voice call. Sms can.
3) yes, rarely though
4) no

Yes, paired with pfingo. Seems to work better than maxmobile. However, a fully charged battery will be drained in hours, abt 3-4 hrs, simply stay connected to pfingo. Not to mention if you are making many calls.

Hi, got a few questions for you guys...

1) Can make voice calls and SMSes from data sim?
2) Can recieve calls and SMS on BBoM number? If yes, is it free?
3) Ever encounter no signal anywhere?
4) Is VoIP blocked?

Anyone pairing Pfingo with BBoM?

FireHobbit
12-04-2008, 10:28 AM
maxmobile is better with pfingo.. smooth and no hicupps...

mistersoh
12-04-2008, 12:30 PM

but its more expensive... :s27:

FireHobbit
12-04-2008, 01:10 PM
if u are with the maxmobile will be 50%

michael_thm
12-04-2008, 02:39 PM
1) if it is data sim (ie not voice plan plux bbom as vas), cannot make voice calls. Sms can, 5cents/sms.
2) data sim cannot receive voice call. Sms can.
3) yes, rarely though
4) no

Yes, paired with pfingo. Seems to work better than maxmobile. However, a fully charged battery will be drained in hours, abt 3-4 hrs, simply stay connected to pfingo. Not to mention if you are making many calls.

Bah, guess SingTel BBoM in its present form won't cut it for me then. M1 BBV does have what I need but the reviews here scare me...zzz

About being drained by staying connected to pfingo... exactly what I am checking here... to overcome this problem... I was thinking of call forwarding the pfingo number to the BB number. This way I need only direct connect to pfingo for outgoing calls. M1 BBV does offer free incoming calls.

Luckily I still can wait for 4 months until my M1 voice plan is outta contract (need to keep my 10 years old number). Hope that in the meanwhile either SingTel MMoB morph to offer the same as M1 BBV or M1 BB improve on its bandwidth issue.

Thanks for the info guys.

idiort
12-04-2008, 03:19 PM
now singtel mobile broadband promotion is 2 yrs contract,free 12 months,free registration and sim data card and the modem...

feels like getting for my eeepc but 2 yrs sia..

idiort
12-04-2008, 03:24 PM
dunno worth it anot.. its like same promotion during march it fair,just tat its 2 yrs...

quekky
12-04-2008, 03:29 PM
Bah, guess SingTel BBoM in its present form won't cut it for me then. M1 BBV does have what I need but the reviews here scare me...zzz

About being drained by staying connected to pfingo... exactly what I am checking here... to overcome this problem... I was thinking of call forwarding the pfingo number to the BB number. This way I need only direct connect to pfingo for outgoing calls. M1 BBV does offer free incoming calls.

Luckily I still can wait for 4 months until my M1 voice plan is outta contract (need to keep my 10 years old number). Hope that in the meanwhile either SingTel MMoB morph to offer the same as M1 BBV or M1 BB improve on its bandwidth issue.

Thanks for the info guys.
M1BB does not have free incoming, I called and asked them before.

What you can do (like me), is to get a normal voice plan from Singtel, then addon the SMBB to the voice plan. that way you can surf net, do your VOIP, got free incoming, got 100 mins outgoing, got 500 outgoing sms for only $30-$40/mth

michael_thm
12-04-2008, 03:53 PM
M1BB does not have free incoming, I called and asked them before.

What you can do (like me), is to get a normal voice plan from Singtel, then addon the SMBB to the voice plan. that way you can surf net, do your VOIP, got free incoming, got 100 mins outgoing, got 500 outgoing sms for only $30-$40/mth

Yes M1BB does not have free incoming... But I am referring to M1BBV at $36. M1 BBV got free incoming.

SingTel Voice Plan + BBoM = $40 nia meh?

quekky
12-04-2008, 11:19 PM
Yes M1BB does not have free incoming... But I am referring to M1BBV at $36. M1 BBV got free incoming.

SingTel Voice Plan + BBoM = $40 nia meh?
if you were to get it now u'll get 12 months free for 24 months contract, that's $11.20 monthly. Add in the $25 iOne Plus = $37, u still got some outgoing calls and sms + $100 off 3G phones or free HSDPA modem

and i find singtel have a more stable internet than M1, my collegues are using M1BB and they've been complaining about a lot of places no signal

FireHobbit
12-04-2008, 11:52 PM
m1 is now like helpless le... the service is really terrible

netsuAi
13-04-2008, 12:48 AM
on singtel e220, but on a particular laptop the connection frequently drops and sometimes outright there's no connection at all, any possible idea? quite a new laptop, on winxp pro.

FireHobbit
13-04-2008, 09:42 AM
you always stationery at a area or on the move dc?

Chips
13-04-2008, 03:50 PM
Is singtel BBOM down now? Using my pda or connect to my laptop both can't connect to the internet. Can get connected but can't do anything :s22:

hanseah
13-04-2008, 04:21 PM
BBoM seems to be down too! :s7:

dao
13-04-2008, 06:28 PM
my experience of maxmobile with pfingo is no good. Either other party cannot hear me or always no sound at about 3 mins. After swith to bbom, so much better. Only occasionally run into such problem.

chanbri
13-04-2008, 06:48 PM
since the last two days my 1.8mb BBOM has been very slow. and now cant even browse website.
good thing i stil have my m1 BBOM 512kbs. am posting using m1 now.

anybody else having connection probs with singtel bbom?

ahhnam
13-04-2008, 07:25 PM
since the last two days my 1.8mb BBOM has been very slow. and now cant even browse website.
good thing i stil have my m1 BBOM 512kbs. am posting using m1 now.

anybody else having connection probs with singtel bbom?

Yup having the same problem ... cannot even connect to the Internet now and have to resort to using my dialup account :(

l2008l
13-04-2008, 09:28 PM
moi also ~! :s22::s22: wat happened?? :s11::s11:

kungfoo
13-04-2008, 11:09 PM
I am a Northerner... Seems like it is down at my side too.

FireHobbit
13-04-2008, 11:19 PM
west also down...http://www.todojuegos.com/modules/Forums/images/smiles/gathering.gif

newcell
13-04-2008, 11:22 PM
from the west too, slow until 2kbps, singnet siow liaow.

kungfoo
13-04-2008, 11:26 PM
Seems like this is an island-wide problem... not isolated to North only :o

yukita
14-04-2008, 08:28 AM
i also have the same problem..... mine 1.8 and 512 both same problem....

eD1s0n
14-04-2008, 08:52 AM
I'm from the North
The connection has been terrible for the past few weeks with my 1.8M connection just averaging 512k and frequently 0 transfer speed...

I think the service went down abt 1am Sunday since that was the time when I was disconnected and can't reconnect ag.....

twosix
14-04-2008, 10:38 AM
I also have problems using BBoM. Can't connect (No gateway error message) or very very slow. Going to complain to Singtel.

mosmos
14-04-2008, 11:09 AM
connected but not a single data transmitted. :mad:

location in tuas, now have to use 56k modem.

mosmos
14-04-2008, 01:30 PM
data link is up again, can use as normal now. :s7:

war3craft2003
14-04-2008, 01:39 PM
The CSO told me yesterday they are upgrading their network...should have informed all user first... :s27:

System back on liao...

mosmos
14-04-2008, 01:48 PM
:eek: local faster now.

1st test
http://www.speedtest.net/result/259118500.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

2nd test
http://www.speedtest.net/result/259118643.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

USA test
http://www.speedtest.net/result/259118813.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

liangtam
14-04-2008, 02:06 PM
They changed IP again?

mosmos
14-04-2008, 02:09 PM
They changed IP again?

:s11: they always have fixed IP address?

FireHobbit
14-04-2008, 02:17 PM
seem faster le... http://digilander.libero.it/le.faccine/faccinea/si_va/0001125.gif

hanseah
14-04-2008, 09:57 PM
Just to confirm, the BBoM proxy ip is 203.125.189.38? Located in Australia??

liangtam
14-04-2008, 10:18 PM
Just to confirm, the BBoM proxy ip is 203.125.189.38? Located in Australia??

where gotch wrong?? :s11:

inetnum: 203.125.189.32 - 203.125.189.47
netname: STMOPL-SG
descr: SINGTEL MOBILE PTE LTD (2)
descr: 185 UPPER EAST COAST ROAD
descr: #07-00 BEDOK TELEPHONE EXCHANGE
descr: Singapore 455282

seowbin
14-04-2008, 10:23 PM

wah, near our house

anyway, if no parket tx/rx is most likely due to oversubscription :(

hanseah
14-04-2008, 10:57 PM

Thanks, my mistake, dunno why the address lookup page give me the wrong country info.

kungfoo
14-04-2008, 11:17 PM
mine is 203.126.166.174.. another IP when in CBD area

Apex
14-04-2008, 11:28 PM
Anyone still getting time out error once in awhile today?

Guyver
14-04-2008, 11:45 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/259277309.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
mine at sengkang

war3craft2003
15-04-2008, 08:49 AM
Network very unstable sometimes can connect sometimes cant....

Dont think its network upgrade cant be taking that long to resolve.

bearbear801
15-04-2008, 08:51 AM
How come they dont inform the users on this network breakdown? Want to complain them already

Igene
15-04-2008, 08:54 AM
Mine already 2 days cannot connect liao. Called them yesterday and they said 'Maintenance' What a crappy excuse. Maintenance take so long and their subscriber not even informed about this?

And they say don't know until when some more when I asked. Then I asked them what can I do now? They said 'WAIT'... :s27:

bearbear801
15-04-2008, 11:40 AM
What maintenance takes so many days? All they say is wait only. I just subscribe last week and this is all i get.

myhomemas
15-04-2008, 04:02 PM
My connection was bad since Sunday. Is it confirm that the SLOWNESS was/is caused by the network upgrade?

qinzheng
15-04-2008, 09:18 PM
any promos noww?

NOw sign up for 2 yrs n get 1 yr free

hanseah
15-04-2008, 09:33 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/259657221.png

AS1
18-04-2008, 09:33 AM
http://home.singtel.com/consumer/roaming/default.asp?ctry=China&network=gsm%20900%20autoroam

usage from overseas can kill. How are the rates from foreign networks?

ironman4672
18-04-2008, 09:40 AM
how come u guys all got public ip? mine is a private ip 10.x.x.x!? they use NAT sia....:s27::s27::s27::s27:

liangtam
18-04-2008, 01:08 PM
All along is NAT ma

liangtam
18-04-2008, 01:09 PM
http://home.singtel.com/consumer/roaming/default.asp?ctry=China&network=gsm%20900%20autoroam

usage from overseas can kill. How are the rates from foreign networks?

You go there get prepaid card then use the serbice even cheaper...

edisonchen
18-04-2008, 09:45 PM
Hi All,

Need your inputs on this issue.

I've been following this thread and it seem the topic of BBOM with multi sim has not been discussed much lately.

I have signed up yesterday at the HELLO shop the BBOM with dual sim card. But this afternoon, i was called up by Singtel saying the BBOM promotion cannot be activated on dual sim functionality?

Has any of you faced a similar situation? How did you solve the issue?

Appreciate any advice/input on this.

Thanks!

I am using dual sim card for my Singtel mobile broadband. For an additional $5 per mth I have 1 sim card for my PDA and another for my laptop ver the free Hauwei E220 modem.

You will have a primary and seconday sim card. Primary sim card can do everything...surf web, send/receive SMS and make/receive calls. Secondary sim card you can surf web concurrently with the primary sim card but you can only make out going call/SMS.

All the usage will be under 1 plan...50gb free for data usage and for calling/receiving phone calls will be under whatever phone plans you got.

liangtam
19-04-2008, 12:52 AM
You already have an existing SingTel Voice plan?

ginseng1
19-04-2008, 01:39 AM
NOw sign up for 2 yrs n get 1 yr free

Cos free modem which is heavily subsidised.

The $100 off mobile handset not so worth.

Seems to have lots of buyers for Huawei modem. Probably they resell it elsewhere. Now that contract 2 years, the Huawei resale price should also increase proportionately.

liangtam
19-04-2008, 02:04 AM
Will be quite happy to sign again if they have the same 1yr promo this dec :D
But then looks like it wont happen :(

Hanwudi
19-04-2008, 03:12 AM
Will be quite happy to sign again if they have the same 1yr promo this dec :D
But then looks like it wont happen :(

yup, the 1 yr free 6 mth realy good deal. luckily i signed a 2nd line last month liao.:s12:

Hanwudi
19-04-2008, 03:31 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/261082738.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

how come my uplink has never gone beyond 60kbps?

ppl in this forum always get 200~300kbps... why mine so low???

but my down link is always good, above 600kpbs. so dont think its a coverage problem. i have tried at many diff areas, results are similar.

anyone know what shd i do?

aCidz
19-04-2008, 11:57 AM
Hi All,

Need your inputs on this issue.

I've been following this thread and it seem the topic of BBOM with multi sim has not been discussed much lately.

I have signed up yesterday at the HELLO shop the BBOM with dual sim card. But this afternoon, i was called up by Singtel saying the BBOM promotion cannot be activated on dual sim functionality?

Has any of you faced a similar situation? How did you solve the issue?

Appreciate any advice/input on this.

Thanks!
Are you using the 2-in-1 SIM or Multi-SIM? Only the latter is eligible. Here's their FAQ link that states that http://home.singtel.com/bbmobile/HS_faq.htm

FireHobbit
19-04-2008, 12:06 PM
great promotion now sia... http://www.comicguide.net/images/smilies/sun2.gif

FireHobbit
19-04-2008, 12:13 PM
Cos free modem which is heavily subsidised.

The $100 off mobile handset not so worth.

Seems to have lots of buyers for Huawei modem. Probably they resell it elsewhere. Now that contract 2 years, the Huawei resale price should also increase proportionately.

http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y261/GawkyEndymion000/snow2.gif

where u find this promotion?

singtel website don ahve..

edisonchen
19-04-2008, 12:23 PM
Yes, already was prior to signing up for BBOM

You already have an existing SingTel Voice plan?

edisonchen
19-04-2008, 12:24 PM
Multi Sim - One SIM for my phone and the other for the Huawei modem...

Are you using the 2-in-1 SIM or Multi-SIM? Only the latter is eligible. Here's their FAQ link that states that http://home.singtel.com/bbmobile/HS_faq.htm

mosmos
19-04-2008, 12:26 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/261082738.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

how come my uplink has never gone beyond 60kbps?

ppl in this forum always get 200~300kbps... why mine so low???

but my down link is always good, above 600kpbs. so dont think its a coverage problem. i have tried at many diff areas, results are similar.

anyone know what shd i do?

which modem are you using?

mosmos
19-04-2008, 12:28 PM
http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y261/GawkyEndymion000/snow2.gif

where u find this promotion?

singtel website don ahve..

in JB, selling huawei modem w/o contract or subscription at RM$999. :crazy:

I guess they are from sg?

uris
19-04-2008, 04:22 PM
Multi Sim - One SIM for my phone and the other for the Huawei modem...

Hmmm. I having the same problem.

Basically, I am already a Singtel subscriber. Currently have 1 SIM with 2 phones (i have to switch between them).

So I was thinking of getting the multi-sim and having 2 sims. Then I will be able to use the sim that is less often used for my mobile broadband as well... I was told cannot... now that I read the website, both the promo and the FAQ doesn't say it can't be done.

They give some nonsense what scared later 2 person use together to share. I reminded that there is a limit of 50GB... but they said it can be shared between 2 low usage users...

Gonna go back and throw the FAQ back into their face.

Hanwudi
20-04-2008, 08:32 AM
which modem are you using?

I'm using huawei E220 modem.

FireHobbit
20-04-2008, 09:24 AM
e220 and samsung z800 which one better?

SG_Oops
20-04-2008, 12:14 PM
What maintenance takes so many days? All they say is wait only. I just subscribe last week and this is all i get.

1626 Send: "Maintenance? So i'm supposed to subscribe to a 2 years contract paying for your maintenance? Now i know why i know its a 1year-free-1year promotion. I'm supposed to expect it down half the time? Or maybe even better, more than half the time? You're fired!".

:s12:

hirocorn
20-04-2008, 09:25 PM
Currently im on singtel mobile plan and with a BBoM 512kpbs plan registered under my name. Can I still register another BBoM plan under my name? which mean i got 2 BBoM plan? pls help

mosmos
20-04-2008, 09:47 PM
Currently im on singtel mobile plan and with a BBoM 512kpbs plan registered under my name. Can I still register another BBoM plan under my name? which mean i got 2 BBoM plan? pls help
I also got 2x 512k BBOM plan :o

hirocorn
20-04-2008, 10:05 PM
the singtel stupid CSO told me CANNOT....IDIOT CSO.

liangtam
21-04-2008, 03:27 PM
huai ish nid so many BBoM plan?

MPH
21-04-2008, 04:21 PM
How is Singtel mobile broadband speed stability compared to Starhub maxmobile ?

FireHobbit
21-04-2008, 08:27 PM
comprative.. the stability...

MPH
22-04-2008, 10:16 AM
I am refering to the speed, stability (average speed), and reliability (uptime ?).

Comparing to maxmobile, what do you think ?

FireHobbit
22-04-2008, 01:22 PM
similar i will say... but coverage wise... alot a bit hard to say.. so far i tried the are got both... unless is underground.. some don ahve 3g.. http://e.deviantart.com/emoticons/p/paranoid.gif

ginseng1
22-04-2008, 06:57 PM
I wonder how's the promo for this coming PC show.

Subscribe 24 months and get more than 12 months free?

FireHobbit
22-04-2008, 07:49 PM
guess they will use the same two year promo le... sian...xhttp://forum.crystalxp.net/uploads/post-386-1127687954.gif

mistersoh
23-04-2008, 12:10 AM
guess they will use the same two year promo le... sian...xhttp://forum.crystalxp.net/uploads/post-386-1127687954.gif

i just hope they change to Unlimited usage soon..
then i dont need to keep thinking about me being over used... :look:

liangtam
23-04-2008, 12:38 AM
Rather habe 50GB limit then unlimited.
The very exact problem lies in ur statement.

ironman4672
23-04-2008, 07:38 AM
i just hope they change to Unlimited usage soon..
then i dont need to keep thinking about me being over used... :look:

u use so much meh? if urs is 512kbps, dun think need to worry so much.... unless u use 24x7....;););)

crobin
23-04-2008, 08:04 AM
u use so much meh? if urs is 512kbps, dun think need to worry so much.... unless u use 24x7....;););)

my calculations show that the limit would be 7 hrs x 30 days

ironman4672
23-04-2008, 12:18 PM
;);)my calculations show that the limit would be 7 hrs x 30 days

i use less than 1 hr per day... so for me i do not need to worry abt exceeding the limit at all.....

tanjhj
23-04-2008, 08:49 PM
BBOM is usually for mobile person with PDA or laptop. can battery last 7 hours?

The_Davis
25-04-2008, 03:42 AM
if subscribe six months got anything free?

ironman4672
25-04-2008, 04:03 AM

NO ;);););)

liangtam
25-04-2008, 02:10 PM

1 mth free nia

FireHobbit
25-04-2008, 06:02 PM
hard to reach that lmit...

dao
26-04-2008, 12:02 PM
the latest promotion is worst.

24 mths with 12 mths free is application for data plan only. no longer applicable for vas. also $100 off 3g phone is also gone.

FireHobbit
26-04-2008, 12:15 PM
100 dollar off is there...

dao
26-04-2008, 05:38 PM
100 dollar off is there...

today's strait times, not there. singtel website, not there. called 1626, told me not there. can tell me where you you see the 100 dollar off?

FireHobbit
26-04-2008, 08:45 PM
today's strait times, not there. singtel website, not there. called 1626, told me not there. can tell me where you you see the 100 dollar off?

i saw on http://home.singtel.com/bbmobile/HS_price.htm

but they removed le... guess no more promo le

renrub
27-04-2008, 01:10 AM
I just got this BBOM with 24mths contract, with 12mths free and the huawei hdspa modem free. This is on a new data line (i.e. they gave me a free sim card with a different number for this BBOM)

Previously I had BBOM on my singtel line, which was a VAS. So i terminated it today.

From what I know, you get the $100 voucher only if you sign up BBOM as a VAS on your current mobile line, you will not be entitled to the free hsdpa modem.

Only if you sign up a new data line (which is FOC), then you can get the hdspa modem free but NOT the $100 voucher.

Hope its accurate and clears up

liangtam
27-04-2008, 01:35 AM
oh noes, too many ppl abuse it riao....
next time must rly keep it to moiself :s34::o

davidginola
27-04-2008, 09:36 AM
I just got this BBOM with 24mths contract, with 12mths free and the huawei hdspa modem free. This is on a new data line (i.e. they gave me a free sim card with a different number for this BBOM)

Previously I had BBOM on my singtel line, which was a VAS. So i terminated it today.

From what I know, you get the $100 voucher only if you sign up BBOM as a VAS on your current mobile line, you will not be entitled to the free hsdpa modem.

Only if you sign up a new data line (which is FOC), then you can get the hdspa modem free but NOT the $100 voucher.

Hope its accurate and clears up

hi which hello shop u go to? thought most don't have huawei modem?

Bullseye
27-04-2008, 11:12 AM
To those that applied for BBOM during IT show March, how much did you all have to pay for this month's bill? (billing date 24Apr)

amihe
27-04-2008, 12:57 PM

Try the smaller HDB singtel reseller shops. My friend got her's yesterday at Tampines St 21. block 201. The big malls all don't have stock until wed or fri. I was told

ironman4672
27-04-2008, 01:10 PM
To those that applied for BBOM during IT show March, how much did you all have to pay for this month's bill? (billing date 24Apr)

20.9x......

The_Davis
27-04-2008, 09:17 PM
i go shop ask the person say subscribe 24 mths = 1 mth pay, 1 mth free leh :s22:

so which one is it?

liangtam
27-04-2008, 09:20 PM
i go shop ask the person say subscribe 24 mths = 1 mth pay, 1 mth free leh :s22:

so which one is it?

yar. You can choose between 12 mth pay 12 mth free & complimentary modem OR pay 2 mth free 1 mth ma.

The_Davis
28-04-2008, 10:34 AM
yar. You can choose between 12 mth pay 12 mth free & complimentary modem OR pay 2 mth free 1 mth ma.
??? i tot is 3 mth free one month, if subscribing < 12 mths?

renrub
28-04-2008, 11:01 AM

Golden Shoe Carpark Branch, near raffles place mrt

liangtam
28-04-2008, 03:30 PM
??? i tot is 3 mth free one month, if subscribing < 12 mths?

http://home.singtel.com/bbmobile/HS_price.htm

Read this and u'll understand better.

Kahlan
28-04-2008, 04:09 PM
20.9x......

mine is S$16.40

But their billing very complicated, still don't understand how this works.

The_Davis
28-04-2008, 04:37 PM
http://home.singtel.com/bbmobile/HS_price.htm

Read this and u'll understand better.
liao gai :s34:

hmm... buy 24 mths, got 12 mths free wor .............................

ginseng1
28-04-2008, 07:27 PM
Wonder whether got recontract once left with 3 months for my BBOM?

When was this BBOM first introduced? I believe the first batch should have less than 3 months left on their 1 year contract.

Recontract to get a free modem which I'll then sell it away :D

Singtel BBOM staff, you read that and you know alot of people are selling the modem. Singtel so nice to give free modem unlike M1.

Wonder what's the cost price of the modem to Singtel since they earn only $290 for the duration of the 2 years contract.

liangtam
28-04-2008, 07:52 PM
You forgot about those who got it paying 6 mth only for a yr subscription reh.
The cost adds up to $134.52, which must have cost for the service, modem and free sim reh.

Sounds like making a loss.