View Full Version : Unbeatable Singtel Mobile Broadband Festive Bundle! Sign 12 mth FREE 6 Mth!
ironman4672
28-04-2008, 08:42 PM
mine is S$16.40
But their billing very complicated, still don't understand how this works.
first one should be pro-rated... depends on ur service start date and billing date i think....;);););)
ironman4672
28-04-2008, 08:49 PM
??? i tot is 3 mth free one month, if subscribing < 12 mths?
got such promo meh....;);););)
ironman4672
28-04-2008, 08:54 PM
You forgot about those who got it paying 6 mth only for a yr subscription reh.
The cost adds up to $134.52, which must have cost for the service, modem and free sim reh.
Sounds like making a loss.
i think they are trying to promote this bbom service... that's why they come out with this excellent promo to benefit the customer....;););)
PatchAdam
28-04-2008, 09:02 PM
first one should be pro-rated... depends on ur service start date and billing date i think....;);););)
i also paying 16.40.....
but i am nt paying for the first time...
was confused also when i received the bill was expecting something like 22...
I just got this BBOM with 24mths contract, with 12mths free and the huawei hdspa modem free. This is on a new data line (i.e. they gave me a free sim card with a different number for this BBOM)
Previously I had BBOM on my singtel line, which was a VAS. So i terminated it today.
From what I know, you get the $100 voucher only if you sign up BBOM as a VAS on your current mobile line, you will not be entitled to the free hsdpa modem.
Only if you sign up a new data line (which is FOC), then you can get the hdspa modem free but NOT the $100 voucher.
Hope its accurate and clears up
Actually, no, it is not accurate. The old promotion is GONE!
Currently, for VAS, you not only do not get $100 voucher, you do not have the 12 mths free with 24 mths contract.
Currently, 12 mths free with 24 mths contact is applicable to data line only.
The_Davis
29-04-2008, 12:26 AM
Currently, for VAS, you not only do not get $100 voucher, you do not have the 12 mths free with 24 mths contract.
hmm so what does that mean?? Cannot surf on the same mobile line?? can only surf on laptop/pc? :s11:
mosmos
29-04-2008, 09:54 AM
M1 now giving free speed upgrade. :s22:
http://m1.com.sg/broadband/m1bb.htm
http://i27.tinypic.com/28i6ybt.jpg
steffan7
29-04-2008, 10:23 AM
M1 now giving free speed upgrade. :s22:
http://m1.com.sg/broadband/m1bb.htm
http://i27.tinypic.com/28i6ybt.jpg
Wah.. unlimited usage... fast speed.... cool... too bad i with singtel broadband.. my mobile line with the data line in one sim..
liangtam
29-04-2008, 11:32 AM
upgrade end user speed oso no point, the backbone will still remain choke.
tanjhj
29-04-2008, 02:15 PM
upgrade end user speed oso no point, the backbone will still remain choke.
Yah mo point lah, gimmick lah.
just look at starhub, everytime gif upgrade only to have slower and slower speed for my mol.
if the infrastruture never upgrade also no point. M1 didnt upgrade their infrastructure yet how to make it better? even than ST is still cheaper for the monthly fees.
Desmond_
29-04-2008, 03:14 PM
Yah mo point lah, gimmick lah.
just look at starhub, everytime gif upgrade only to have slower and slower speed for my mol.
if the infrastruture never upgrade also no point. M1 didnt upgrade their infrastructure yet how to make it better? even than ST is still cheaper for the monthly fees.
upgrade then our speed get worst.... the more upgrade... more choke pipe :o
The_Davis
29-04-2008, 03:34 PM
hmm so what does that mean?? Cannot surf on the same mobile line?? can only surf on laptop/pc? :s11:
anyone?? I don't understand
komatineni
29-04-2008, 07:51 PM
even M1 give 7Mbps still the backbone is the same old pipe. Pure marketing gimmick.
war3craft2003
29-04-2008, 08:31 PM
I just upgraded my 512kps to 1.8kps last month and I get 3 months free and the $100 off for new 3G phone purchase. My mobile and BBOM is same number. I have dual sim.
My first 12 mth subscription under 512kps plan have not even ended and they allow me to upgrade.
gundamz
29-04-2008, 08:38 PM
Wonder whether got recontract once left with 3 months for my BBOM?
When was this BBOM first introduced? I believe the first batch should have less than 3 months left on their 1 year contract.
Recontract to get a free modem which I'll then sell it away :D
Singtel BBOM staff, you read that and you know alot of people are selling the modem. Singtel so nice to give free modem unlike M1.
Wonder what's the cost price of the modem to Singtel since they earn only $290 for the duration of the 2 years contract.
They probably use the money that people exceed the data usage to pay for the usb modem..
They can earn $10-20k easily within few days.. just keep quiet and let end user pay for it. :D
I just upgraded my 512kps to 1.8kps last month and I get 3 months free and the $100 off for new 3G phone purchase. My mobile and BBOM is same number. I have dual sim.
My first 12 mth subscription under 512kps plan have not even ended and they allow me to upgrade.
yes, that is last month. not anymore now.
in fact, if you do it 2 weeks ago. you will still get the 12mths free with 24 mths contract as a VAS, and the $100 off.
if you do it 4 weeks ago, you should still have the 6 mths free with 12 mths contract as a VAS, and the $100 off or the modem.
what i am saying is NOW, currently, no more. or rather since 26-Apr. all the great promotion is GONE.
What I am interested on M1 is the Wi-fi enable 3G modem from Linksys or huawei.
The_Davis
30-04-2008, 12:52 PM
yes, that is last month. not anymore now.
in fact, if you do it 2 weeks ago. you will still get the 12mths free with 24 mths contract as a VAS, and the $100 off.
if you do it 4 weeks ago, you should still have the 6 mths free with 12 mths contract as a VAS, and the $100 off or the modem.
what i am saying is NOW, currently, no more. or rather since 26-Apr. all the great promotion is GONE.
now 12 mths free with 24 mths contract not good ah? (with free modem)
IntelFlash
30-04-2008, 12:55 PM
I've a hp number under my bro's name, and i got this mobile bb, can i share my bandwidth onto my hp?
now 12 mths free with 24 mths contract not good ah? (with free modem)
yes, that is new data line. not applicable for VAS. so, if you have a good 3.5G phone, you cannot have it as a add-on VAS to your mobile voice plan and use it on your phone. you must get a separate data sim card, a new separate data line.
The_Davis
30-04-2008, 05:04 PM
yes, that is new data line. not applicable for VAS. so, if you have a good 3.5G phone, you cannot have it as a add-on VAS to your mobile voice plan and use it on your phone. you must get a separate data sim card, a new separate data line.
then if want to have it as VAS must pay extra moolah?
the data-plan alone means my current sim card must take out then put the new sim card to surf net? :s22:
or get those dual sim card thing ah?
liangtam
30-04-2008, 05:12 PM
think wat he means ish no discount when sign as VAS. Not sure if its true, call ST bah.
The_Davis
30-04-2008, 05:20 PM
think wat he means ish no discount when sign as VAS. Not sure if its true, call ST bah.
i think i go ask my friend how much he is paying for the VAS
tanjhj
01-05-2008, 03:39 AM
What I am interested on M1 is the Wi-fi enable 3G modem from Linksys or huawei.
whats the point of that modem or even they gif router when the speed so slow. me on 512kb plan and can surf faster than on mol8000.. M1 sucks lah, dun think they have money to upgrade their server soon
cheong
01-05-2008, 09:50 AM
I making a complaint to ST as they did not mention anything about the VAS cannot enjoy the pay 12 months and get 12 months on their brochures, very misleading. lets complain together if you think I am right and want to enjoy the promo
FireHobbit
01-05-2008, 11:28 AM
this service some with free 1mpbs wireless@sg account?
danong
01-05-2008, 02:16 PM
I just signed up yesterday for 512kbps, took the samsung modem but they dont allow me to tag onto my existing Singtel voice plan as VAS. Says Multi-sim no longer allowed.
ironman4672
01-05-2008, 09:58 PM
I just signed up yesterday for 512kbps, took the samsung modem but they dont allow me to tag onto my existing Singtel voice plan as VAS. Says Multi-sim no longer allowed.
now i feel that the samsung modem is not very good.....;););) it drains too much power from usb which it causes my other usb device like mouse to malfunction....
liangtam
01-05-2008, 10:37 PM
More of USB cant supply enough power than the device eating too much power ba.
Even the huawei does.
andies
02-05-2008, 12:22 AM
sigh really hoping that singtel will allow hsdpa via my current voice line rather than a separate data sim card.. imagine the prowess of having a dopod d810 which allows to check your mail everywhere and double up as a hsdpa modem? woohooo.. the separate sim card will probably mean that i have to find a slot in my wallet to store it..:(
liangtam
02-05-2008, 12:56 AM
You are prolly still allowed to sign as a VAS, just that u dun get the half rate promo nor modem ba.
andies
02-05-2008, 08:52 AM
i have alreayd committed to a 2 year contract :( looks like the other option is to purchase a dual sim card adapter for my pda... anyone got lobang for this?
liangtam
03-05-2008, 02:49 AM
Dunno issit just me...
Anyone finds BBoM slower these few days?
tanjhj
03-05-2008, 03:16 AM
yah it is slower but still can watch youtube and dota leh.. on 512kb
once you sign up as a separate data line, you cannot tag to existing singtel voice plan. data line does not allow multi-sim.
if you sign up as VAS, you pay the standard rate (no 12 mths free with 24 mths). no modem. i think multi-sim is still allow.
today, $100 off is back. thought is applicable to VAS. called singtel, this 12 mths free with 24 mths not applicable to VAS. to sign as VAS, must pay standard rate.
danong
03-05-2008, 08:20 AM
Anyone using BBom with Nokia 6120 and then bluetooth to laptop? So effectively:
laptop ->>bluetooth->> N6120 ->>BBoM->> Internet
Does it work?
I'm having Samsung Z800 now but troublesome to plug in and out. Bluetooth much easier.
Not sure about 6120, but E51 and E61i works.
andies
03-05-2008, 10:06 AM
hmm anyone planning to sign up for the bbom to use on their PDA?
liangtam
03-05-2008, 10:13 AM
sounds rike multiSIM ish badly abused.
Desmond_
03-05-2008, 11:08 AM
just sign up for 24month contract at Jurong Point ( New Line ) :o free 12month plus huawei modem
the counter person say that is pay one month free one month until contract end... :)
andies
03-05-2008, 11:25 AM
eh yeah thats right but in my opinion..the samsung z800 is a better choice (bar all the drivers issues)
why?
1) Has direct USB connection to your laptop without the modem flopping around like huawei modem. If you prefer to use the dongle, there's an additional usb cable supplied with the modem too
2) The size of samsung modem is approximately 2/3 that of huawei (or is it smaller than 2/3?)
The_Davis
03-05-2008, 12:22 PM
so how :( if want to surf on mobile phone must apply for VAS ah?
Desmond_
03-05-2008, 03:39 PM
so how :( if want to surf on mobile phone must apply for VAS ah?
get a spare 3G phone get a new data line :o but you have to carry two handphone around like me :s22:
danong
03-05-2008, 07:03 PM
get a spare 3G phone get a new data line :o but you have to carry two handphone around like me :s22:
I may just do that. The z800 is good but everytime must poke in/out my notebook. Bluetooth connect notebook to HP would be better. Right now considering getting sleek samsung u700. Anyone doing that with this HP?
kennyboy
03-05-2008, 08:57 PM
I use e51 and joikuspot to surf with starhub 3.5g. If phone battery low then use usb to charge phone.
works nice for me so far. :D
Jade Seah
03-05-2008, 11:28 PM
anyone try d/l a file size of 300kb?
how long does it take to complete?
sukhoi37
04-05-2008, 11:34 AM
Hi guys, just want to know is it ok i play online game (dota, cabal and etc) with singtel bbom?
I'm planning to sign the 1.8mbps package.
I'm staying at east side, Pasir Ris.
raijinshou
04-05-2008, 05:42 PM
Is the line stable? I may think of it when M1 contract finish. M1 is damn sux: http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?p=29830650#post29830650
FireHobbit
05-05-2008, 12:59 AM
starhub now use the maxonline got free maxmobile... http://img99.exs.cx/img99/8577/yupi3ti.gif
alvino77
05-05-2008, 02:10 AM
starhub now use the maxonline got free maxmobile... http://img99.exs.cx/img99/8577/yupi3ti.gif
damn it! just when i'm planning to switch to Singtel mobile and singnet bb tis coming june and aug....
This type of good deals make decisions difficult!
liangtam
05-05-2008, 02:36 AM
damn it! just when i'm planning to switch to Singtel mobile and singnet bb tis coming june and aug....
This type of good deals make decisions difficult!
hokay, dunch comes =:p
i0ri86
05-05-2008, 12:42 PM
I 1 2 subscribe but promotion end liao...:sad: Donno when will another promotion start... :(
aCidz
05-05-2008, 02:20 PM
http://home.singtel.com/bbmobile/HS_price.htm
Promotion is still available what.
i0ri86
05-05-2008, 03:51 PM
Didn't notice. how blur of me. :s22: Thanks!
The_Davis
05-05-2008, 09:34 PM
so troublesome :(
ginseng1
05-05-2008, 10:04 PM
Care to elaborate?
procmail
07-05-2008, 12:43 PM
I subscribed to my BBOM last December.
Just called the customer service hotline to enquire about combining my current voiceline with this BBOM line, and they said these are 2 separate lines so cannot be done. I told them about something called Multi-SIM and the person told me the only way to do this multi-SIM is to apply for BBOM using my voice line, so effectively I will end up having 2 BBOMs, as the current BBOM contract will end in December.
But I thought some people in the forum already did this?
procmail
07-05-2008, 02:03 PM
Anyone?
I'm thinking of going down to Hello Shop today to get this done, if possible.
liangtam
07-05-2008, 04:53 PM
Nope, not allowed already. Everyone knews about it started abusing it.
The_Davis
07-05-2008, 09:11 PM
?? so cannot have mbb tied to current phone line, plus still have a card to access it using the modem? :(
liangtam
07-05-2008, 09:17 PM
?? so cannot have mbb tied to current phone line, plus still have a card to access it using the modem? :(
Yar, cannot liao. You try during other promo see if their policy regarding this removed or not lor.
procmail
07-05-2008, 10:20 PM
Yar, cannot liao. You try during other promo see if their policy regarding this removed or not lor.
Yeah, just checked at Hello Shop and they also said cannot.
I don't see why it's an "abuse" though; not as though we don't have to pay extra for the multi-sim.
Ah well, once my contract is up, I'll terminate and re-sign under my existing phone line.
liangtam
07-05-2008, 11:14 PM
You see earlier pages lor, ppl hog and connect twice simultaneously leh.
As for other reason, quite obvious la.
seowbin
08-05-2008, 12:17 AM
but the other reason not quite right leh
especially multi sim, how to SIC :s13:
if multi sim using data den ......
Desmond_
08-05-2008, 12:24 AM
btw the data simcard sms incoming is free? only outgoing need to pay extra?
liangtam
08-05-2008, 12:39 AM
btw the data simcard sms incoming is free? only outgoing need to pay extra?
Ya
*10 char*
outlimit
08-05-2008, 11:46 PM
if currently i got a data sim on samsung z800, can i take out that sim & put inside 3G phone and surf the net?
liangtam
08-05-2008, 11:57 PM
if currently i got a data sim on samsung z800, can i take out that sim & put inside 3G phone and surf the net?
Ya
*10 char*
edisonchen
08-05-2008, 11:57 PM
Dont see why that would be a problem.
ironman4672
09-05-2008, 11:00 AM
my 512k singtel mobile broadband is good sia... surprising....
http://www.speedtest.net/result/269146956.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Forseti
09-05-2008, 11:56 AM
Yeah, my 512 bbom surprised me by being faster than m1 1mb (which i prev used).
tanjhj
09-05-2008, 01:02 PM
Yeah, my 512 bbom surprised me by being faster than m1 1mb (which i prev used).
and cheaper by 50% compared to m1... dumb are those that sign up with m1 siah. M1 is a goner..
MoreGoodEars
09-05-2008, 01:48 PM
and cheaper by 50% compared to m1... dumb are those that sign up with m1 siah. M1 is a goner..
then they are absolutely right
YOUDESERVEBETTER SG
undiscern
09-05-2008, 07:05 PM
We have to give credit to M1. They started broadband mobile here. If not for their existence, u think sinktel will offer so much discount and freebies and cheap price? Thank you M1 !
ironman4672
09-05-2008, 07:12 PM
We have to give credit to M1. They started broadband mobile here. If not for their existence, u think sinktel will offer so much discount and freebies and cheap price? Thank you M1 !
starter does not mean it is good...
afterwall, human is smart, they will compare, which one is better, they go to which one.... :):):):)
Forseti
09-05-2008, 09:02 PM
then they are absolutely right
YOUDESERVEBETTER SG
Ya man...
I had been using m1 mobile bb for >1 yr liao, ever since it was launched, I've repeatedly written/feedback to them tt singtel offering half price leh...how abt giving me some special price since I with them so long.
the reply from them was like...Tks for ur feedback, the management noted. Tt;s it! Nothing!!
WTS!!!
NOW they got this campaign abt listening to customers! What hypocrites!
l2008l
09-05-2008, 09:50 PM
will bbom b unlimited huh?? :s11::s11:
liangtam
09-05-2008, 09:55 PM
will bbom b unlimited huh?? :s11::s11:
Better not.
detonate
09-05-2008, 10:50 PM
http://cubestation.homeip.net:8080/share/t&c.jpg
http://home.singtel.com/windowsmobile/SWtnc.htm
Do you think they will honor what they put in their t&c?
Free modem and $100 additional discount on any 3G phones?
wind30
10-05-2008, 07:21 AM
http://cubestation.homeip.net:8080/share/t&c.jpg
http://home.singtel.com/windowsmobile/SWtnc.htm
Do you think they will honor what they put in their t&c?
Free modem and $100 additional discount on any 3G phones?
errr... actually there is nothing wrong with the english. it just mean that both offers are applicable only for 12 month contracts.... doesn't mean you get both offers at the same time....
ironman4672
10-05-2008, 07:35 AM
http://home.singtel.com/bbmobile/moredetail.pdf
now they bundle the home broadband (singnet) one with mobile broadband as well le... exactly the same promo as starhub sia....=:p=:p=:p=:p
The_Davis
10-05-2008, 04:51 PM
but can register under current phone line, then use phone as modem right?
wind30
10-05-2008, 05:38 PM
http://home.singtel.com/bbmobile/moredetail.pdf
now they bundle the home broadband (singnet) one with mobile broadband as well le... exactly the same promo as starhub sia....=:p=:p=:p=:p
actually the promo is exactly the same price if you have signed up seperately... no further discount leh.
detonate
10-05-2008, 10:13 PM
Free USB modem and additional $100 off the LG KS20 phone offer or any 3G/3.5G phone are applicable for 12-month BroadBand on Mobile (512/1800/3600) plan.
They should replace the and with or..
I read it as
(Free USB Modem AND (additional $100 off the LG KS20 phone offer OR any 3G/3.5G phone))
The_Davis
10-05-2008, 11:18 PM
Free USB modem and additional $100 off the LG KS20 phone offer or any 3G/3.5G phone are applicable for 12-month BroadBand on Mobile (512/1800/3600) plan.
They should replace the and with or..
I read it as
(Free USB Modem AND (additional $100 off the LG KS20 phone offer OR any 3G/3.5G phone))
lol can go sue then if they deny haha... i would take free usb modem + 3.5G phone :s34:
mosmos
13-05-2008, 12:12 PM
look at how expensive is the mobile modem selling in malaysia :s22:
http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/scan0001-32.jpg
http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/scan0002-18.jpg
chunxi
13-05-2008, 01:44 PM
they no contract one leh.
sukhoi37
13-05-2008, 01:57 PM
they no contract one leh.
yup, but their service sux, lousy signal even they claim it's under coverage area.
not to mention the frequent disconnection problem. :s22:
liangtam
13-05-2008, 03:13 PM
Actually, the modem is not exactly that expensive. Just that it is overpriced everywhere, except when they bundle it out with promotions here.
The_Davis
13-05-2008, 07:55 PM
http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/scan0001-32.jpg
http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/scan0002-18.jpg
mosmos, if i sign up as VAS no modem leh :( like that not worth it hor?
mosmos
13-05-2008, 08:08 PM
mosmos, if i sign up as VAS no modem leh :( like that not worth it hor?
you want to sign celcom mobile broadband?:s11:
the pc card modem price reasonable. :s22:
The_Davis
13-05-2008, 08:37 PM
huh? moi want sign singtel bb mobile
mosmos
13-05-2008, 08:41 PM
huh? moi want sign singtel bb mobile
sign the one with free modem more worth. :o
The_Davis
13-05-2008, 08:51 PM
anyway to sign vas and get modem at the same time :s11: their terms and conditions got state such a thing? :(
mosmos
13-05-2008, 08:56 PM
anyway to sign vas and get modem at the same time :s11: their terms and conditions got state such a thing? :(
not sure. :o
saw the previous post that they don't allow multi-sim card already. :s22:
The_Davis
13-05-2008, 09:27 PM
moi want it to be vas leh~~ not all phone can have dual sim right? else how to fit in battery?
tanjhj
14-05-2008, 05:03 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/270983597.png
512k plan
just found out a trick. when u find ur connection too laggy. can disconnect and reconnect again. may works..
Webbyboy
14-05-2008, 08:25 AM
Nope, not allowed already. Everyone knews about it started abusing it.
you sure cannot? they called me last friday to confirm my multisim i asked they assured that i can use it for BBoM.
cstanhwz
14-05-2008, 08:48 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/270983597.png
512k plan
just found out a trick. when u find ur connection too laggy. can disconnect and reconnect again. may works..
Yap. That works for me too. Just a bit troublesome.
seowbin
14-05-2008, 12:15 PM
last time they was 99rm i think when m1 vas is $68 or what.. when i'm in NS
that time desperate till i still hoot.. heng near ord, they come out with a cheaper plan :s13:
haylui
14-05-2008, 12:26 PM
upz for the goot plan
goot years ahead
if sign as vas tied to voice plan, can multi-sim. If sign data plan, no multi-sim.
sign vas, no modem, $100 off 3G phone if you buy a new phone. Sign data, got modem.
FireHobbit
14-05-2008, 01:53 PM
the disconnect is true... really wan to know how this 3.5g technology actually work..
merlot6230
14-05-2008, 05:36 PM
I would like to use handphone to surf on my mobile broadband, can anyone advise which model to use.
tks in advance
ginseng1
14-05-2008, 05:46 PM
3 working days and I've yet to receive a call from BBOM dept.
Must be very good business.
liangtam
14-05-2008, 06:29 PM
you sure cannot? they called me last friday to confirm my multisim i asked they assured that i can use it for BBoM.
If you don't tie it with modem promo, that is.
The_Davis
14-05-2008, 09:31 PM
if sign as vas tied to voice plan, can multi-sim. If sign data plan, no multi-sim.
all phones can multisim? anyway i tot VAS is tied to current voice line? what multisim you refering to? :s22:
silentmax
15-05-2008, 08:03 AM
how do you know you have gone over the 50gb threshold??
how do we monitor our usage
i use a lot of youtube ive done the calculation if i went over 50gb then charge is 1 gb = 500sgd :eek:
FireHobbit
15-05-2008, 09:16 AM
they will send u a sms when u hit 40gb
yi_shiang
15-05-2008, 09:44 AM
how do you know you have gone over the 50gb threshold??
how do we monitor our usage
i use a lot of youtube ive done the calculation if i went over 50gb then charge is 1 gb = 500sgd :eek:
http://www.ideas.singtel.com/BOM/HS_usage01.jsp
tanjhj
15-05-2008, 02:53 PM
Uses everyday to pah game and surf also uses less than 1gb.. Those who wanted unlimited of m1 really con by them.. wahahha. 50 gb really hard to exceed..
http://img111.imageshack.us/img111/9211/48706597ia7.png
Desmond_
15-05-2008, 07:44 PM
why i keep on getting this msg when i check on my usage?
"Thank you for using BroadBand on Mobile service. We regret that your request could not be processed currently."
ironman4672
15-05-2008, 10:04 PM
anyone knows where is the location of the workshop?
Hanwudi
16-05-2008, 09:52 AM
"Thank you for using BroadBand on Mobile service. We regret that your request could not be processed currently."
i got 2 lines and can access the usage record without problem.
make sure you got the right mobile number prefix with 65.
call 1626 if still got problem.
aetosteo
16-05-2008, 11:53 AM
still got 1 for 1 promo?
afoongwl215
16-05-2008, 04:56 PM
you must get your first bill den can use the program
ginseng1
16-05-2008, 05:39 PM
5 working days and I've yet to receive a reply?
Is this promo only for new customers cos I already current BBOM customer
Stokes
16-05-2008, 08:58 PM
does the huawei and samsung usb modem work with mac?
FireHobbit
17-05-2008, 12:04 PM
u account activated le?
Stokes
17-05-2008, 05:00 PM
sorry all, just got the samsung modem
is there a driver for mac?
ironman4672
17-05-2008, 06:03 PM
sorry all, just got the samsung modem
is there a driver for mac?
NO NO NO NO NO
FireHobbit
17-05-2008, 06:56 PM
samsung don ahve driver for MAC
Hanwudi
17-05-2008, 09:46 PM
5 working days and I've yet to receive a reply?
Is this promo only for new customers cos I already current BBOM customer
existing customer also can.
i sign up 2nd BBoM line with the 1-for-1 promotion after 3mths.
Hanwudi
17-05-2008, 09:47 PM
does the huawei and samsung usb modem work with mac?
my colleague using a huawei with mac. there's cd for mac in the box.
not sure about samsung though.
raijinshou
18-05-2008, 04:20 AM
Someone explain a way to make Samsung Z800 usable in MAC: http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1921300
Seems like he used normal dialled rather than depending on the modem's driver and modem's software.
Said to work on Leopard, but Tiger needs more configuration.
Hope it helps.
Btw is the Singtel-Huawei modem locked (not usable for other SIM card) since it will be a wasted "free" if it's locked?
alvino77
18-05-2008, 02:01 PM
anyone would like to trade his/her black singtel huawei with my white one?
yi_shiang
18-05-2008, 04:42 PM
Btw is the Singtel-Huawei modem locked (not usable for other SIM card) since it will be a wasted "free" if it's locked?
no, i am able to use it with other provider oversea.
Hanwudi
18-05-2008, 10:59 PM
Someone explain a way to make Samsung Z800 usable in MAC: http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1921300
Seems like he used normal dialled rather than depending on the modem's driver and modem's software.
Said to work on Leopard, but Tiger needs more configuration.
Hope it helps.
I tried my colleagues m1 sim card on my singtel huawei modem and it works.:D
ironman4672
10-06-2008, 12:25 AM
the z800 can work in mac? serious??;);););)
mosmos
12-06-2008, 01:57 PM
:eek: 512k free upgrade speed to 1m
http://home.singtel.com/bbmobile/HS_home.htm
http://i25.tinypic.com/w725on.jpg
http://i28.tinypic.com/35jckdd.jpg
idiort
12-06-2008, 03:03 PM
now so ex sia.. i wish i sign up the 11+ a month sia
ironman4672
12-06-2008, 03:17 PM
now so ex sia.. i wish i sign up the 11+ a month sia
song sia... i am existing 512kbps users....11+ per mth...:D:D:D:D
liangtam
12-06-2008, 03:43 PM
oh noes, more lag coming soon
ironman4672
12-06-2008, 04:35 PM
oh noes, more lag coming soon
my speed nvr get up to 1Mbps le... still 512kbps i think based on result of speedtest... and the singtel bbom is super slow... now....:s27::s27::s27::s27: now even during day time...
eD1s0n
12-06-2008, 04:41 PM
did they finally complete the upgrade on their infrastructure? or is this just another "maximum theoretical speed" marketing gimmick...
Hope the number of new users don't crash the network...
liangtam
12-06-2008, 05:47 PM
Gotch the mailer on the free upgrade by snail mail
gundamz
12-06-2008, 07:25 PM
same here. up to 1mbps download..
wind30
12-06-2008, 07:51 PM
I thought when I signed up the 512k plan for $11/month 1 yr contract with $50 taka voucher + free modem, it is like a super deal. Now they give me free upgrade to 1mps plan somemore.....
mosmos
12-06-2008, 07:52 PM
http://i28.tinypic.com/i4ea10.jpg
ironman4672
13-06-2008, 01:40 AM
yes me too..... and my speedtest now reflect the upgrade also... so previously ppl got 9xxkbps speed on the speedtest, it becos of the upgrade la... tot only they got the special treatment... it's actually a global update....:D:D:D:D
ironman4672
13-06-2008, 01:42 AM
I thought when I signed up the 512k plan for $11/month 1 yr contract with $50 taka voucher + free modem, it is like a super deal. Now they give me free upgrade to 1mps plan somemore.....
yup, god damn good deal......:D:D:D:D
cal3135
13-06-2008, 08:10 AM
just open up snail mail this morning, yes.. Free upgrade 1Mbps.. It's a steal.. :) but one thing is mail put $22+/mth,, guess this standard mail 4all.. :)
Hanwudi
13-06-2008, 09:29 PM
i signed up 2 x 512k plan each for $11/month 1 yr contract...
now upgrade to 1mbps liao :s12::s12::s12:
Hanwudi
13-06-2008, 09:32 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/283536915.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Download is fantastic but upload is pathetic :o
ironman4672
13-06-2008, 11:24 PM
i signed up 2 x 512k plan each for $11/month 1 yr contract...
now upgrade to 1mbps liao :s12::s12::s12:
u got the $20 taka voucher? and what lucky dip prize u got? ;););)
ironman4672
14-06-2008, 08:35 AM
any 1Mbps user can do the speed test... my speed now is 512kbps only le...
how come ah?
http://www.speedtest.net/result/283765498.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
alwayschampion
14-06-2008, 11:04 AM
You live at Punggol ?
ironman4672
14-06-2008, 11:52 AM
You live at Punggol ? NO;);););)
cal3135
14-06-2008, 01:55 PM
any 1Mbps user can do the speed test... my speed now is 512kbps only le...
how come ah?
http://www.speedtest.net/result/283765498.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/283831575.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
FireHobbit
15-06-2008, 12:07 AM
seem not much difference leh
odiseus
15-06-2008, 12:44 AM
I just subscribe to 1mbps as well today. just now i try to use the data sim card on my 3g mobile phone can connect quite fast. do mobile browsing check email etc no problem. BUt I have priblem installing the huawei E169 usb 3g modem. Connect it to my PC desktop, windows recognize is as cdrom then in few seconds its gone. I try to unplug the usb modem and re-plug it again few times but always same thing happen, I can only see the usb drive few seconds only and then its gone. The mobile broadband application always say can not find any device. Did I got a spoilt device or something wrong with my windows? I use win xp pro
undiscern
15-06-2008, 01:10 AM
I would prefer they upgrade the capacity to manage so many new subscribers rather than uping the speed (which works in theory and seldom in reality). Seems like getting slower these days.
siron
15-06-2008, 04:48 AM
I am with M1 Data plan now... Wanna do a switch! But might wanna wait for the iPhone deal! :)
Ratix0
15-06-2008, 11:49 AM
Need some advice. If I go down to PC Show to sign up for the SNBB 1000, whta things should I expect to see?
6 months free? What else? Is the modem on loan like M1's or is it given out?
odiseus
15-06-2008, 12:02 PM
I just subscribe to 1mbps as well today. just now i try to use the data sim card on my 3g mobile phone can connect quite fast. do mobile browsing check email etc no problem. BUt I have priblem installing the huawei E169 usb 3g modem. Connect it to my PC desktop, windows recognize is as cdrom then in few seconds its gone. I try to unplug the usb modem and re-plug it again few times but always same thing happen, I can only see the usb drive few seconds only and then its gone. The mobile broadband application always say can not find any device. Did I got a spoilt device or something wrong with my windows? I use win xp pro
ok, i finally fix my own problem :)
it just need to re-enable the windows autorun/autoplay setting.
last time I install vmware and it turning off the autorun/autoplay setting
Can use the TweakUI or regedit to enable this back
potatohead
15-06-2008, 12:17 PM
confirm got speed upgrade, am on 512K, samsung z800, cck area.
latency and speed is bad at night (I would say that is the norm), though still bearable.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/284170772.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
FireHobbit
15-06-2008, 12:22 PM
the ip address is static?
Hanwudi
15-06-2008, 03:53 PM
u got the $20 taka voucher? and what lucky dip prize u got? ;););)
ya, got the $20 voucher and lucky draw got a post-in note and dinning voucher... haha=:p
Hanwudi
15-06-2008, 04:00 PM
I would prefer they upgrade the capacity to manage so many new subscribers rather than uping the speed (which works in theory and seldom in reality). Seems like getting slower these days.
agree. it was much faster when i first sign up 6 months back. hardly ever DC. now slower and occasionally DC, esp at night. :(
mistersoh
15-06-2008, 05:25 PM
agree. it was much faster when i first sign up 6 months back. hardly ever DC. now slower and occasionally DC, esp at night. :(
now its $17+ for 12 months..
worth to sign ?:s11:
Stokes
15-06-2008, 09:22 PM
confirm got speed upgrade, am on 512K, samsung z800, cck area.
latency and speed is bad at night (I would say that is the norm), though still bearable.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/284170772.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
your speed is good, in comparison, my speed is simply atrocious
http://www.speedtest.net/result/284280937.png
blurpasta
15-06-2008, 10:45 PM
Here's mine, just sign up for the 2mbps plan today. using the huawei e169...
http://www.speedtest.net/result/284274164.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
FireHobbit
15-06-2008, 11:17 PM
maybe pls include area and signal level when show speedtest
odiseus
16-06-2008, 01:28 AM
my speed
to singapore server
http://www.speedtest.net/result/284353555.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
to SF USA server
http://www.speedtest.net/result/284354450.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
I subscribe for SMBB 1000, stay at redhill. Seems the speed exceed from what I subscribe :) hope they charge me correctly end of the month.
BTW my E169 huawei modem light color is turning a cyan color so its using HSDPA
when the light is blue you should expect slower connection then
mosmos
16-06-2008, 09:44 AM
they have not upgrade my speed. :(
http://www.speedtest.net/result/284479025.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
ironman4672
16-06-2008, 10:15 AM
my speed now at tampines walau... so much difference from west side...
much faster....
http://www.speedtest.net/result/284485342.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
ironman4672
16-06-2008, 11:18 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/284496632.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Exposure
16-06-2008, 11:27 AM
the offer looks attractive... but i am doubtful of its network peformance.
Hanwudi
16-06-2008, 11:28 AM
now its $17+ for 12 months..
worth to sign ?:s11:
1mbps now is $11+ for 12 months. very worth lor.
Hanwudi
16-06-2008, 11:43 AM
Here's mine, just sign up for the 2mbps plan today. using the huawei e169...
http://www.speedtest.net/result/284274164.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
i got a new e169 and the speedtest similar to yours.
my old e220 can get this:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/283536915.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
But when i test download a large file:
e220: less than 100kB/s
e169: around 200+ kB/s
the e169 downsloads much faster. from these results, i find speedtest is not a good indicator of the speed can acheive.:s11:
cstanhwz
16-06-2008, 12:40 PM
When I did a speed test, it still shows 512kpbs speed.
Seems like mine not upgraded yet.
dunforget
16-06-2008, 01:30 PM
I want to sign up for the BBOM. I want to tie it into my EXISTING current mobile phone number. I looking fro the 2000 17+ per month plan.
AGAIN, every customer officers will give u different answers:
1. In IT SHOW, the officer told me: You are existing customer. You cannot enjoy the free SDCard+free modem. But you can call 1626 to activate, YOU STILL CAN GET THE 17+ per month price. (I DOUBLE CHECKED WITH HIM IS THE PRICE STILL !&+ for 2Mbps for existing customer, he said yes).
2. This morning, called 1626. THE STUPIDIEST Officer i have ever met.
me: "I want to sign up broadband mobile the 2000 plan...blahblah"
officer: "you just need to sms to *9xxx to get password to get online..blahblah
me: Huh? I wan tto pay the 17+ permonth to get the 50GB, i dunno need to do anything just to sendt the sms to get the password? And i want to tie it to my exisiting mobile line.
officer: ook ya we can tie in to your existing mobile line. tmr will be activated. BTW, do you need the USB modem? (WAO SOUNDS LIKE AN OPTION!)
me: Oh ya, am I still eligible to get one? yesterday the IT Show officer told me, i m existing customer so i m not able to get the free USB modem.
officer: oh can u tell me what he told u?
me: he said i m exisiting customer, i need to call 1626 which is what i m doing now, to activate on my broadband on mobile on my existing line. I can only get free usb modem if i sign up new data sim card.
officer: O ya tat's true. Sorry you are unable to get this promotion bcoz u r existing customer. You need to sign up new data sim card.
me: HUH? I WANT IT TO TIE WITH MY CURRENT SIM CARD> I THOUGHT U ARE ABOUT TO DO SO FOR ME JUSTNOW????
officer: No, you cannot. if you want to tie to ur existing mobile. That's totally a different thing with the new DATA SIMCARD signup..
ME: OKAY! (hang up).
3rd officer (in the afternoon):
me: Hello I want to know, IF i want to sign up Broadband on mobile as a Value Added Service ON MY EXISTING lines, what are my options available and the price?
officer: yes you have this option.that option..blahblah..1000,2000,36000 (THATs WAT I WANT!) You can tie with ur existing number (no problem) (he is as sure as the IT SHOW officer!)
me: what's the rate then?
officer: 1000 is 22, 2000 is 34...
me: Oh so I cannot enjoy the promotion price of 17 for 2000 plan? The advertised rate for IT show.
officer: Sir, IT SHOw ended yesterday.
me: But the website says the promotion ends at 30th JUNE!
officer: Is it? eh...(long pause, very young man)
me: Yes, so you mean the 34 for 2000 is TODAY's latest price? yestreday is 17 today is 34???
officer: Yesss.....(VERY UNSURE). You can go to helloshop to sign up..
me: Ok. thanks.
============================
Well well well.
SINGTEL.
Company too big everyone give different answers!
Really wasting my time!
liangtam
16-06-2008, 01:53 PM
Try to call till someone gives u the best deal, lol...
But u still nid to go hello! shop afterall
Exposure
16-06-2008, 02:38 PM
I want to sign up for the BBOM. I want to tie it into my EXISTING current mobile phone number. I looking fro the 2000 17+ per month plan.
1. In IT SHOW, the officer told me: You are existing customer. You cannot enjoy the free SDCard+free modem. But you can call 1626 to activate, YOU STILL CAN GET THE 17+ per month price. (I DOUBLE CHECKED WITH HIM IS THE PRICE STILL !&+ for 2Mbps for existing customer, he said yes).
me: Huh? I wan tto pay the 17+ permonth to get the 50GB, i dunno need to do anything just to sendt the sms to get the password? And i want to tie it to my exisiting mobile line.
officer: ook ya we can tie in to your existing mobile line. tmr will be activated. BTW, do you need the USB modem? (WAO SOUNDS LIKE AN OPTION!)
me: Oh ya, am I still eligible to get one? yesterday the IT Show officer told me, i m existing customer so i m not able to get the free USB modem.
me: he said i m exisiting customer, i need to call 1626 which is what i m doing now, to activate on my broadband on mobile on my existing line. I can only get free usb modem if i sign up new data sim card.
officer: O ya tat's true. Sorry you are unable to get this promotion bcoz u r existing customer. You need to sign up new data sim card.
me: HUH? I WANT IT TO TIE WITH MY CURRENT SIM CARD> I THOUGHT U ARE ABOUT TO DO SO FOR ME JUSTNOW????
officer: No, you cannot. if you want to tie to ur existing mobile. That's totally a different thing with the new DATA SIMCARD signup..
me: Hello I want to know, IF i want to sign up Broadband on mobile as a Value Added Service ON MY EXISTING lines, what are my options available and the price?
officer: yes you have this option.that option..blahblah..1000,2000,36000 (THATs WAT I WANT!) You can tie with ur existing number (no problem) (he is as sure as the IT SHOW officer!)
me: Oh so I cannot enjoy the promotion price of 17 for 2000 plan? The advertised rate for IT show.
me: Yes, so you mean the 34 for 2000 is TODAY's latest price? yestreday is 17 today is 34???
Well well well.
SINGTEL.
Really wasting my time!
well ... i suggest dun waste time begging the red pipe for services... i dun understand why people want to queue 4 hours just to get some freebies from them...
liblib
16-06-2008, 03:48 PM
I dont understand why they discourage VAS user. VAS user tends to consume less bandwidth becoz you cant do that many things on teh mobile phone while still paying the same price as data sim card
joanlee
16-06-2008, 04:19 PM
1mbps now is $11+ for 12 months. very worth lor.
Where to sign up this ?
Hanwudi
16-06-2008, 04:56 PM
Where to sign up this ?
Hello shop...
Exposure
16-06-2008, 05:03 PM
I dont understand why they discourage VAS user. VAS user tends to consume less bandwidth becoz you cant do that many things on teh mobile phone while still paying the same price as data sim card
well.. those call centres are just paid to answer questions and take down complaints .. they are not require to push sales... unlike the sales and marketing folks...
kennyboy
16-06-2008, 05:35 PM
The huawei and the samsung z800, are either of them locked to singtel?
ironman4672
16-06-2008, 06:00 PM
The huawei and the samsung z800, are either of them locked to singtel?
NO........;);););)
kennyboy
16-06-2008, 06:20 PM
NO........;);););)
but which is better? or exactly the same? :D
ironman4672
16-06-2008, 06:27 PM
but which is better? or exactly the same? :D
design wise i like Samsung Z800.... it is quite stable... no dc etc.... manual install of driver needed before can use....
i like E220, the black color version, quite nice... and it can support mac + auto install of driver.....
mosmos
16-06-2008, 07:01 PM
the new huawei modem look like thumbdrive, design very nice, wonder how it performs vs samsung. :s22:
Hanwudi
17-06-2008, 11:25 AM
the new huawei modem look like thumbdrive, design very nice, wonder how it performs vs samsung. :s22:
just got the new e169 on sunday. the design is beautiful. smaller, lighter and act as microSD card reader. my relative got samsung. i feel the performance is the same. samsung dont support Mac OS and must manually install s/w b4 use. e169 and e220 auto install.
see this link for compariosn
http://home.singtel.com/bbmobile/HS_devices.htm
ironman4672
17-06-2008, 11:36 AM
but the design not nice le.... and white color not nice....too normal design liao... even starhub huawei E170 looks better than this... in fact the old E220 black color version looks nicer....
performance wise i dun know abt huawei one... so far the samsung z800 performance is good... no dc... speed is also very fast... i hit 12xk for my bt speed yesterday midnite......i'm on singtel bbom 1mbps plan...
ironman4672
17-06-2008, 11:38 AM
just got the new e169 on sunday. the design is beautiful. smaller, lighter and act as microSD card reader. my relative got samsung. i feel the performance is the same. samsung dont support Mac OS and must manually install s/w b4 use. e169 and e220 auto install.
see this link for compariosn
http://home.singtel.com/bbmobile/HS_devices.htm
samsung one can works on mac... no need to install driver... just configure a dialer can already.... ;););)
dunforget
17-06-2008, 11:53 AM
I finally activated a 2000 plan by calling Singtel again today.
Yesterday Bugis Hello Shop confirmed with me again can activate BBOM as a VAS on existing line, with the 6 month free promotion applies. No stock for the free modem.
Today called 1626 again, finally a very confident girl confirmed again BBOM as VAS also has 6 month free as advertised. Just no modem. Activated.
Yeah~
larry
17-06-2008, 12:43 PM
dunforget
what do you meant by "just no modem", you meant no free modem if you choose VAS or the modem is out of stock (collect later)?
thanks
Utopia
17-06-2008, 01:53 PM
From my understanding of the current singtel BBOM policy
-
If you get FREE Modem(the promotion), you WILL get Data Card[new data line], and CANNOT tie to your phone line. This is the catch, why they can offer you modem even at such a cheap subscription. Of course it's good for users who just want the modem for laptop surfing and not HP surfing.
dunforget
17-06-2008, 02:11 PM
ya the above is right.
What i meant is:
if you subsribe BBOM as a new data sim card:
you get the 6 month free in a year promotion
you get the free usb modem 1gd microsd card blahblah promotion.
but if you subscribe BBOM as a VAS over existing singtel number:
you only get the 6 month free in a year promotion.
e.g. 2000 plan is effectively 17+ per month.
no free usb modem for you even if have stock.
potatohead
17-06-2008, 02:31 PM
they dont care abt bandwidth and current clients, they just want NEW signups, such is the myopic nature of most business nowadays ...
potatohead
17-06-2008, 02:41 PM
Well well well.
SINGTEL.
Really wasting my time!
this situation is not unique to singtel, some mncs are worse off as their call centres are overseas e.g. china and india, and the csos all have standard answers for each different unique problem that each unique customer has ... duh ...
u made 1 mistake in this instance, never bother wasting ur time trying to 'clarify' things with the cso, if you hear a good offer from them (in this case, the 2nd cso that offers the modem), act 'dumb' and commit to it, and make sure you take down his/her name (most of the time the call is monitored too for 'quality purpose').
if the company is not able to fulfill their end of the bargain later, simply cancel the deal as the fault does not lie with you. as long as the original bargain/offer is not ridiculous in nature, most of the time mnc will close 1 eye and honour it, even if they cant fulfill it completely, concessions may be made.
action99
17-06-2008, 02:42 PM
dunforget
Do you need to pay $5 per month on top of the $17+ per month for your BBoM as VAS on existing line?
Thanks
supergmail
18-06-2008, 10:20 PM
does anyone know if the Hua wei E169 modem is better or the Samsung Z800?
anyone with the E169 experience disconnection?
liangtam
18-06-2008, 10:34 PM
dunforget
Do you need to pay $5 per month on top of the $17+ per month for your BBoM as VAS on existing line?
Thanks
Nope.
dunforget
18-06-2008, 10:57 PM
update:
surfing net thru the BBOM in 3.5G samsung phone feels smooth.
BUT, once connected to the laptop, abit like turtle. Not sure is it BOONLAY or is it MY PHONE's problem.
The speed is only 230.4Kbps!! web pages come out slowly...terrible.
will try again at midnite later.. see will it be better.
localbus
18-06-2008, 11:56 PM
update:
surfing net thru the BBOM in 3.5G samsung phone feels smooth.
BUT, once connected to the laptop, abit like turtle. Not sure is it BOONLAY or is it MY PHONE's problem.
The speed is only 230.4Kbps!! web pages come out slowly...terrible.
will try again at midnite later.. see will it be better.
not your problem... same here... only 120kbps... on the phone is ok.. cos the phone is slow.. compensate the speed...
Igene
19-06-2008, 12:00 AM
I received a letter to inform me that the 512Kb plan has been upgraded to 1Mbps for free...
Oh is that so? I find it's even slower sia... It's F.U.C.K.I.N.G slow that kind lor...
AlpineEscape
19-06-2008, 12:09 AM
you can go change the speed to the maximum allowed by configuring your modem (ie. phone).
ironman4672
19-06-2008, 12:16 AM
I finally activated a 2000 plan by calling Singtel again today.
Yesterday Bugis Hello Shop confirmed with me again can activate BBOM as a VAS on existing line, with the 6 month free promotion applies. No stock for the free modem.
Today called 1626 again, finally a very confident girl confirmed again BBOM as VAS also has 6 month free as advertised. Just no modem. Activated.
Yeah~
if u sign up new line + new bbom as VAs i think u can get $100 off the price for the 3G phone u buy.....;);););)
kevin0426
19-06-2008, 12:25 AM
Check out the latest offering!
Sign 12 mth, free 6 mths. Free data sim card, free registration, free monthly $5 multisim fee, free USB/PCMCIA modem!
Effectively about $11 per month! and its 50GB cap per month!
1Mbps plan also have discounts??
dunforget
19-06-2008, 01:19 AM
if u sign up new line + new bbom as VAs i think u can get $100 off the price for the 3G phone u buy.....;);););)
hoho def not an option for me since i just got this singtel line not long ago..
p/s: btw, as wat another thread is saying, 8 to 12midnite is really a turtle period.
finally my 2000plan clocked 1Mbps download speed at 1+AM now.
i really scared is my samsung phone's prob. at least now can sleep better. hope they
enlarge their pipe asap...
ironman4672
19-06-2008, 01:22 AM
hoho def not an option for me since i just got this singtel line not long ago..
p/s: btw, as wat another thread is saying, 8 to 12midnite is really a turtle period.
finally my 2000plan clocked 1Mbps download speed at 1+AM now.
i really scared is my samsung phone's prob. at least now can sleep better. hope they
enlarge their pipe asap...
then waste the 100 dollars sia...:p
yup, not the samsung modem prob,it's singtel congestion prob.... ;);););)
Yevin227
19-06-2008, 03:01 AM
is the 11bucks + 1mbps mobile bradband with free samsung modem stil on?tempted to sign as i have no modem to use with my recent signing of the mol express plus plan.
liangtam
19-06-2008, 04:25 AM
everyone buy the serbice thinking can use at home as replacement nia, haha.
ironman4672
19-06-2008, 08:53 AM
everyone buy the serbice thinking can use at home :D:D:D:D as replacement nia, haha.
i am using as replacement....http://i58.photobucket.com/albums/g260/kindaichi81/BBOM-1.png
hyper_rev
19-06-2008, 09:39 AM
is the 11bucks + 1mbps mobile bradband with free samsung modem stil on?tempted to sign as i have no modem to use with my recent signing of the mol express plus plan.
Just signed this yesterday... Got the free samsung modem, free sim card, free activation, free registration. Monthly is $11+.. Huawei modem no stock....
Btw, CSO said the promo will end at the end of the month...
FireHobbit
19-06-2008, 01:57 PM
how is u connection so faR?
liangtam
19-06-2008, 02:08 PM
yar, too many ppl then use at night ma, so everyone lag lor, haha..
supergmail
19-06-2008, 03:58 PM
by way, does anyone have the full technical spec of the samsung z800 modem?
also have heard that the starhub sim card cannot be recongise by the samsung modem from singtel?
localbus
19-06-2008, 04:30 PM
also have heard that the starhub sim card cannot be recongise by the samsung modem from singtel?
what technical specs u looking for ? the modem support up to 7.2MBps... with built in card reader, problem is when u use modem, reader cannot use, use as reader modem cannot use.. :)
haven't try on starhub b4... but tried on M1 and some overseas telco's card, its working fine.
ad359b
19-06-2008, 04:53 PM
spec from sumsaug web:s22:
http://sg.samsungmobile.com/en/phone/phone_view/phone_specification.jsp?p_pfid_1=SGH-Z800
supergmail
19-06-2008, 05:48 PM
what technical specs u looking for ? the modem support up to 7.2MBps... with built in card reader, problem is when u use modem, reader cannot use, use as reader modem cannot use.. :)
haven't try on starhub b4... but tried on M1 and some overseas telco's card, its working fine.
as compard to e169. seems like z800 does not support umts? or is umts and hsdpa the same?
ironman4672
19-06-2008, 06:43 PM
yar, too many ppl then use at night ma, so everyone lag lor, haha..
u just sign up for fun and not using at nite.. of course u are not affected....:D:D:D:D
yi_shiang
19-06-2008, 07:17 PM
i sign up to get the modem.. to use in indonesia.. hahahahahahahah
street
19-06-2008, 07:49 PM
Using the E169 right now...
Do I need to worry which network the modem connected to? Right now its a blue color (WCDMA network). Will it change to green (GPRS network) or Cyan (HSDPA network) on its own?
Thanks for advice!
supergmail
19-06-2008, 09:18 PM
if you are using the E169, does it get disconnect often?
liangtam
20-06-2008, 04:09 AM
u just sign up for fun and not using at nite.. of course u are not affected....:D:D:D:D
told u liao ma, i sign up for use and not for fun nia...
it is a gd form of backup actually.
siron
20-06-2008, 05:58 AM
I will be able to recontract soon.. hmmmm hope there will be great deals!!
ironman4672
20-06-2008, 07:44 AM
I will be able to recontract soon.. hmmmm hope there will be great deals!!
recontract the bbom can get the same deal? ;);););)
Hanwudi
20-06-2008, 08:56 AM
oh... the e169 i can use both the modem and card reader simultaneously.:s22:
street
20-06-2008, 12:24 PM
So far so good...got better upload speed at home.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/286150718.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
supergmail
20-06-2008, 01:05 PM
oh... the e169 i can use both the modem and card reader simultaneously.:s22:
any disconnection?
street
20-06-2008, 01:41 PM
any disconnection?
Still on testing...so far no disconnection but I think I didn't use it long enough. How often is your problem?
alvino77
20-06-2008, 03:45 PM
is our huawei modem locked? i tot i read somewhere themodem is locked for singtel use only?
Can anyone clarify? cheers
btw this is my speed at funan now
http://www.speedtest.net/result/286190446.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
liangtam
20-06-2008, 05:36 PM
It ish not locked la. regulation here cannot lock
alvino77
21-06-2008, 12:10 AM
It ish not locked la. regulation here cannot lock
i see. thanks for the answer :)
supergmail
21-06-2008, 03:51 AM
does any one know where can i still get the hua wei modem instead of the samsung?
ironman4672
21-06-2008, 04:46 AM
does any one know where can i still get the hua wei modem instead of the samsung?
i think very very hard to get liao... becos on their website they put only samsung modem only.....;);););););)
drift01
21-06-2008, 06:37 AM
if u live in the east area, u can try a small mobile shop in bedok central
i signed up for the BBoM on thur and got the e169
there is still 1 last huawei left if u r lucky enough :D
Hanwudi
21-06-2008, 12:48 PM
any disconnection?
diconnection sometimes in recent weeks... that happens even b4 i got the e169. so not the modem's fault.
supergmail
21-06-2008, 05:01 PM
if u live in the east area, u can try a small mobile shop in bedok central
i signed up for the BBoM on thur and got the e169
there is still 1 last huawei left if u r lucky enough :D
ok! got it already. hee hee
supergmail
21-06-2008, 10:04 PM
does anyone know when this plan end? forgot to ask the guy. my gf brother need to sign up too
rubicon
22-06-2008, 05:22 AM
i signed up at Suntec store...E169 still available as of Friday...
ironman4672
22-06-2008, 08:01 AM
i signed up at Suntec store...E169 still available as of Friday...
suntec got singtel store? :s22::s22::s22::s22:
rubicon
22-06-2008, 02:29 PM
suntec got singtel store? :s22::s22::s22::s22:
yes...3 in fact...
supergmail
22-06-2008, 02:47 PM
yes...3 in fact...
got full address of the shop? or at least know which area?
PentiumPC
22-06-2008, 02:49 PM
got it in Tampanies.. according to the sales person.. plenty of stock for Huawei 169, 0 for Z800.
FireHobbit
22-06-2008, 02:51 PM
nowaday like on off signal for the internet connection
supergmail
22-06-2008, 03:09 PM
but hua wei is better lar, no need to install drivers. just plug and play.
can someone with the z800 and the huawei modem post the modem wireless power spec?
FireHobbit
22-06-2008, 03:39 PM
how u get the power spec?
rubicon
22-06-2008, 08:46 PM
but hua wei is better lar, no need to install drivers. just plug and play.
can someone with the z800 and the huawei modem post the modem wireless power spec?
agree hua wei E169 is much much better than the others:
- has added 1gb memory sdisk FREE
- looks and feels just like a usb thumb drive
- not dangling off usb wires around very awkward
- much smaller than the rest, can carry around on key chain bunch
- faster than the other hua wei model (7.2 mbps)
- form factor looks really sleek and cool
supergmail
22-06-2008, 10:30 PM
agreed but as compared to the samsung Z800, it is about the same except that the ssmsung modem allow the thumbdrive to be folded but the drivers installation is not automated.
till now still cannot really determind if samsung or the huawei e169 is better
tanjhj
22-06-2008, 10:36 PM
i prefer samsung one. coz can fold. huawei one is like a stick sticking out from the side of ur laptop.. dun feel good with it.
FireHobbit
23-06-2008, 12:29 AM
heard the full speed can only be achieve by early augusthttp://img73.imageshack.us/img73/9026/bierre3jd.gif
localbus
23-06-2008, 09:35 AM
heard the full speed can only be achieve by early augusthttp://img73.imageshack.us/img73/9026/bierre3jd.gif
It didn't even cross July yet and they can put any month the like.. august seems to be good since NPD is coming. by end of july... u will know probably they will set to Sept since F1 is coming.. :) probably iPhone too...
can we terminate this thing ?
supergmail
23-06-2008, 10:25 AM
i prefer samsung one. coz can fold. huawei one is like a stick sticking out from the side of ur laptop.. dun feel good with it.
those that are having the sumsung modem, do you have indicator light on the modem indicting which type of network you are on?
dk2000
23-06-2008, 11:21 AM
is it possible to try out the mobile broadband just for a month?
ironman4672
23-06-2008, 11:59 AM
those that are having the sumsung modem, do you have indicator light on the modem indicting which type of network you are on?
no... the light only indicate u are on standby, ready, connected or usb mode... u won't know what type of network u are connecting to...:):):):)
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.