View Full Version : Unbeatable Singtel Mobile Broadband Festive Bundle! Sign 12 mth FREE 6 Mth!
layzibum22
30-08-2008, 11:59 AM
:s13::s13::s13::s13::s13::s13::s13::s13:
Bro... how u got ur VPN to work on ur BBOM???
ironman4672
30-08-2008, 12:05 PM
Bro... how u got ur VPN to work on ur BBOM???
i dun use vpn one... i'm still good life enough that no need to work at home :D:D:D:D:D
layzibum22
30-08-2008, 12:17 PM
i dun use vpn one... i'm still good life enough that no need to work at home :D:D:D:D:D
But not all cannot connect to VPN right?
layzibum22
30-08-2008, 12:29 PM
there are a few type of VPN connection, if ur company relies on the one which is claimed by SingTel ppl not able to support(in the other thread), then u suay lor. wait for them fix it when they switch ppl to public ip
When would they switch to public IP?
ironman4672
30-08-2008, 12:33 PM
When would they switch to public IP?
i dun think they will resolve the prob by giving public ip... their customer base are too much liao... especially with the 1mbps plan with free modem given......dun think they will bother so much to resolve it so quickly... u can just wait and see... if not switch telco or use fixed line bb... anyway, $11 per mth is very cheap..... especially with free modem given.. + vouchers + lucky dip.....:D:D:D:D:D
layzibum22
30-08-2008, 01:22 PM
i dun think they will resolve the prob by giving public ip... their customer base are too much liao... especially with the 1mbps plan with free modem given......dun think they will bother so much to resolve it so quickly... u can just wait and see... if not switch telco or use fixed line bb... anyway, $11 per mth is very cheap..... especially with free modem given.. + vouchers + lucky dip.....:D:D:D:D:D
I am going to shove it back their asses... damn dulan...
No wonder my heart has always been with M1...
Now waiting to see how they going to resolve this... Im on their most expensive plan... they have no reason not to bother...
ironman4672
30-08-2008, 01:35 PM
I am going to shove it back their asses... damn dulan...
No wonder my heart has always been with M1...
Now waiting to see how they going to resolve this... Im on their most expensive plan... they have no reason not to bother...
np signing up the most ex plan at all... i would rather sign 2x1mbps i also won't sign 1x3.6mbps plan...:D:D:D:D:D
Hanwudi
30-08-2008, 02:22 PM
i'm using aventail ssl vpn, no problem.
layzibum22
30-08-2008, 02:35 PM
Ok, they claim that they would start this service in Sep... not sure which date... though...
I am bringing down to the 2mbps... cos their service don give me tt confidence... and would still be using my m1bb...
M1BB FTW!!!
Enishi
30-08-2008, 03:03 PM
nothing wrong what... what are u talking abt... u dun know how to do the conversion of the speed ah... it's around 1Mbps what.....:s8::s8::s8::s8::s8:
and whats your F problem?
before you shoot off, you might want to read again
xfiles_wolvie
30-08-2008, 07:27 PM
How to connect to my company VPN ah??? My M1 can connect lei...
they can only support IPSEC VPN. PPTP VPN cant be done. Might have to get their technical staff to check.
xfiles_wolvie
30-08-2008, 07:56 PM
Here is my story about my questions.
1 VPN PPTP cant work with BBoM
2 Hello STaff told me that when using HSDPA, voice calls and SMS cant come in. Voice calls would be considered engaged by the other party.
its rather long, so bear with me.
I can't believe what ST staff told me on Monday on a followup call to my online feedback since last friday.
He called me on Monday, as promised on Friday, and gave me an update on the case.
I mentioned 2 things.
1) ST BBoM does not support VPN GRE protocol. I.E.: VPN using PPTP to tunnel thru, does not work at all. But if using IPSEC, can go thru.
My question to them: Why wasn't the user notify of this in the first place?
2) ST Hello Store staff told me that if the BBoM is tied to the phone line as a VAS, voice calls and SMS WILL NOT come in when the 3.5G signal is shown on the phone.
My question to them: Why is it that when I use IDEAS Internet, I can receive calls when I am downloading a file from the internet?
He said he called to update me on issue 1) and issue 2) has to wait for a while more before he can update us as the Hello Store staff are all too busy with IPHONE!!!
He said with regards to issue 1), it is a KNOWN fact that BBoM does not support VPN. So I ask him, if it IS a KNOWN fact, then why wasn't it inform to customers upfront? Why must customer subscribe, try, feedback, then tell us that its a KNOWN fact? he said that I never ask the staff that's why they never tell me. I was like HUH?
So I retorted to him saying, you can't expect all customer to be so tech-savvy? How would one know what to ask when they want to try a new product?
He gave me an example. When a person goes to buy hi-fi set, if he never ask the question, how would the sales answer/tell you what you need to know?
This is the last straw. I told him as a service provider, if you know that it is a KNOWN fact, why wasn't it convey to customers? Why wasn't the customer service went the extra mile?
He replied he will feedback on this to the product manager and value my feedback. I ask for product manager email address and he said its internal so they will feedback on my behalf.
On issue 2), he said he is sorry that he couldn't get the reply and will call me again on Wednesday.
On Wednesday, .......there is no call back until Thursday.
Thursday morning he called to inform me that his Tech support people came up with a workaround to resolve the VPN issue and he will forward the email to me.
Thereafter, he said he will transfer the BBoM line to my hp number but he has to check on the rate for BBoM on hp. I told him that there shouldn't be any difference in rate as that was advertised so I sign up. He said he would double check in case give wrong message.
I thanked him for the call and he said he will transfer the VAS within a day or two and will update me again when it will take effect and the rate.
He called me in the afternoon again and told me that he can actually transfer by coming Saturday.
Told me not to use the service on Friday. Told me that contract might have to be restarted again.
I told him no way. they are the one that gave me wrong information that causes all these problems. then he gave in readily. I can still keep my contract, trsf to my hp line and use the same rate.
So I ask him about the Hello store staff and what's the reason they tell me what they told me. He replied, we take our customer's word for it and will conduct internal investigations on this. I speechless liao lor.
The next thing I did was to check the FAQ on singtel site again and NOW they indicate that you can received voice calls and SMS when using HSDPA. WAH. But then VPN still do not have any FAQ on their site.
I called 1626 on Sat night and the person told me that it has transfered to my hp line.
All along I am fine with their service up till NOW.
liangtam
30-08-2008, 09:46 PM
wall of text.....
undiscern
31-08-2008, 12:24 PM
So far i am very happy with bbom. Its tie to mobile no, can call, sms and surf on the go on my nokia e61 at the same time. I have another one which is connected via huawei to laptop purely for desktop surfing. What is the frustration experienced? Vpn? I hope u guys know this is mobile broadband, not your typical broadband. U cant expect a swiss army knife to perform the same as a chainsaw right?
layzibum22
31-08-2008, 01:22 PM
So far i am very happy with bbom. Its tie to mobile no, can call, sms and surf on the go on my nokia e61 at the same time. I have another one which is connected via huawei to laptop purely for desktop surfing. What is the frustration experienced? Vpn? I hope u guys know this is mobile broadband, not your typical broadband. U cant expect a swiss army knife to perform the same as a chainsaw right?
Er... are you working? There is a difference between a want and a need...
For some ppl... to have VPN to their company network to do work like connecting to emails, file server, etc is important... translate to productivity...
And the issue with me and some is that Singtel says that no vpn is a KNOWN issue... but its not clearly stated at all... and best is other provider can do it...
ironman4672
31-08-2008, 07:28 PM
For some ppl... to have VPN to their company network to do work like connecting to emails, file server, etc is important... translate to productivity...
And the issue with me and some is that Singtel says that no vpn is a KNOWN issue... but its not clearly stated at all... and best is other provider can do it...
u switch back to ur m1 then... if u are not happy.... like what singtel said, it has been a known issue since the first day they launched this service.. it has been nearly 1 year they have launched this service... if u cannot survive until they do something to it...just switch... no pt complaining so much, they won't do anything now just becos of u.....;);););););)
liangtam
31-08-2008, 08:06 PM
instead of switching, just ask ur coy change vpn method la :s22:
layzibum22
31-08-2008, 09:02 PM
Sure... how???
layzibum22
31-08-2008, 09:06 PM
u switch back to ur m1 then... if u are not happy.... like what singtel said, it has been a known issue since the first day they launched this service.. it has been nearly 1 year they have launched this service... if u cannot survive until they do something to it...just switch... no pt complaining so much, they won't do anything now just becos of u.....;);););););)
No need to switch back cos i still on M1...
And by the way I wanted to cancel one... they say Sep would have VPN sarpork...
And seriously... I really don noe they don support VPN since day 1...
Downgraded my plan to 2mbps also to reduce the risk...
xfiles_wolvie
31-08-2008, 09:56 PM
tats the reason. since its suppose to be mobile, makes no sense that i still gt to find wireless @sg places and then do my VPN and work there. then no mobility liao. no offence to anyone here. just stating my case.
quite true as well. ST would never do such thing for anyone. But i believe we are not the only fews who complain abt vpn not working.
tats thinking out of the box. but then using the same concept as to how ST wont change just for the few of us, it will be the same as to the company, IT admin wont change just cos only you cant connect to vpn. sigh.
Sure... how???
get ur IT pple if they are willing, to change to IPSEC VPN. they should noe wat that means. normal corporate firewall has these 2 standard options. ipsec & pptp. correct me if im wrong.
ironman4672
01-09-2008, 02:26 AM
tats the reason. since its suppose to be mobile, makes no sense that i still gt to find wireless @sg places and then do my VPN and work there. then no mobility liao. no offence to anyone here. just stating my case.
quite true as well. ST would never do such thing for anyone. But i believe we are not the only fews who complain abt vpn not working.
tats thinking out of the box. but then using the same concept as to how ST wont change just for the few of us, it will be the same as to the company, IT admin wont change just cos only you cant connect to vpn. sigh.
get ur IT pple if they are willing, to change to IPSEC VPN. they should noe wat that means. normal corporate firewall has these 2 standard options. ipsec & pptp. correct me if im wrong.
so since ST won't change, ur company won't change, then shouldn't u the one who change?
so conclusion -> switch ISP or u wait, but no pt complaining...
undiscern
01-09-2008, 01:30 PM
Could u use logmein 3rd party service? I can use it to access company desktop.
Kermitfm
01-09-2008, 03:33 PM
Here is my story about my questions.
1 VPN PPTP cant work with BBoM
2 Hello STaff told me that when using HSDPA, voice calls and SMS cant come in. Voice calls would be considered engaged by the other party.
You can receive calls whem the phone is using 3.5G. Just do a simple experiment. Call your own mobile when on a data connection. Your phone should ring. Mine did. For ref, I am on BBoM as a VAS.
liangtam
01-09-2008, 06:16 PM
Hamachi works.
xfiles_wolvie
01-09-2008, 08:09 PM
so since ST won't change, ur company won't change, then shouldn't u the one who change?
so conclusion -> switch ISP or u wait, but no pt complaining...
hi ironman, i m not complaining to forum here, sharing my bad experience with ST only. I complain to ST only. heheh. thanks for reading and replying.
serious? nvr occur to me to think of that.
You can receive calls whem the phone is using 3.5G. Just do a simple experiment. Call your own mobile when on a data connection. Your phone should ring. Mine did. For ref, I am on BBoM as a VAS.
thanks kermitfm, i tried that before I made the complain. thats why i dare to complain to them cos i tried.
Hamachi works.
thanks liangtam for sharing this software name. i will google for it.
thanks all for suggesting 3rd party s/w. seriously nvr tot of it. tats y post in forum. hehe
quekky
01-09-2008, 08:21 PM
hi ironman, i m not complaining to forum here, sharing my bad experience with ST only. I complain to ST only. heheh. thanks for reading and replying.
so did ST give u something as compensation? complain must at least get something mah, something like they offer to let you cancel the account without penalty...
actually the tech guy told me cannot vpn at all (didnt say can't do GRE). I only found out can't do GRE after some wireshark and testing. openvpn works. but i dunno how to configure ipsec client, got struck at l2tp
Hanwudi
02-09-2008, 04:05 PM
Just to share my thought on this vpn discussion above.
For singtel, as an ISP, they have to provide common access standard. if pptp vpn is a common standard, then only providing ipsec vpn is not enough. u can check with singtel tech support on its stand and verify with IDA if there is any violation.
For co IT, normally only provide one common standard to access. To set up a diff standard means getting another set of h/w & s/w and it's very costly. Co will always focus on its main business.
undiscern
02-09-2008, 04:08 PM
Or your company could implement WebVPN...
seowbin
02-09-2008, 05:22 PM
u all say till machiam he own the company like that :s13:
go create one new vpn access method need to go thru duno how many approver, change management, risk assessment, maybe need auditor or some global team to approve somemore, involve duno how many ppl ...
the worst is...... maybe he don't even know who is in charge :s13:
can create a helpdesk ticket nia... keke... even i do network, i don't even know who's the one in charge of my company internal's network :s34:
applied online on sat night till now no call from singtel. think going down to check this weekend if still no calls. :(
quekky
02-09-2008, 11:31 PM
Just to share my thought on this vpn discussion above.
For singtel, as an ISP, they have to provide common access standard. if pptp vpn is a common standard, then only providing ipsec vpn is not enough. u can check with singtel tech support on its stand and verify with IDA if there is any violation.
For co IT, normally only provide one common standard to access. To set up a diff standard means getting another set of h/w & s/w and it's very costly. Co will always focus on its main business.
to singtel, this is for personal usage. so for personal usage the soa is only to surf web and that's it.
unless you get a corporate account, then they need to fix the pptp
M1 initially cannot vpn, then we complained and they solve it within a week. Coz it's a corporate account, the AM got more power. But the web surfing and downloading speed, AM cannot do anything coz is "up to xxx, depending on blah blah blah"
Saline
03-09-2008, 01:34 AM
btw how do you guys use the modem?
I read from the manual that using the usb cable provided will give you better signal?
apart from using the cable that can place it far away from your notebook to search for the signal, is there any other particular reason why its better?
ironman4672
03-09-2008, 04:19 AM
btw how do you guys use the modem?
I read from the manual that using the usb cable provided will give you better signal?
apart from using the cable that can place it far away from your notebook to search for the signal, is there any other particular reason why its better?
yes, u can just use it to search for better signal and place it that's it... but for singtel actually no need to search, at any location also can get signal.. but it does not mean strong signal must be equal to good speed.... :s7::s7::s7::s7::s7:
becos my singtel, less than 50% signal, speed is good also....
for starhub then it matters, for my maxmobile, i need to search for location to get good speed, and good signal all the time, and the speed is so inconsistent, the speed does not stay more than 5 mins, most of the time...
ironman4672
03-09-2008, 04:20 AM
applied online on sat night till now no call from singtel. think going down to check this weekend if still no calls. :(
usually take more than one week to get their call one......:s7::s7::s7::s7:
ironman4672
03-09-2008, 04:24 AM
the 50% promo is really gone again after 30 Aug... back to 30% discount now...
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3295/2821956561_8736660dcd_o.jpg
kitaeshi
03-09-2008, 07:20 AM
yes, u can just use it to search for better signal and place it that's it... but for singtel actually no need to search, at any location also can get signal.. but it does not mean strong signal must be equal to good speed.... :s7::s7::s7::s7::s7:
becos my singtel, less than 50% signal, speed is good also....
for starhub then it matters, for my maxmobile, i need to search for location to get good speed, and good signal all the time, and the speed is so inconsistent, the speed does not stay more than 5 mins, most of the time...
weird..i using my friend 2mb maxmobile n get consistent speed of 200KB+!! but when using my own 1mb singtel getting inconsistent speed of 30-100... -_- also getting basically nothing when i tries @ shentonway fuji xerox tower... -_-
ironman4672
03-09-2008, 07:47 AM
weird..i using my friend 2mb maxmobile n get consistent speed of 200KB+!! but when using my own 1mb singtel getting inconsistent speed of 30-100... -_- also getting basically nothing when i tries @ shentonway fuji xerox tower... -_-
for maxmobile u use it at which area??? :s11::s11::s11::s11::s11:
wan shoot singtel liao. signed up online since last sat, today called 1626 ask them why they haven call me back to cfm the contract, they say dun have my record. then say will call me back. :(
Ok, ignore my previous post.
Received the call not long ago. Free delivery to my house on 11th Sept.
crobin
05-09-2008, 10:05 PM
I just got my extra BBOM 1Mbps plan with E169. Somehow in the same area, my other BBOM 1MBps register 1Mbps on speedtest.net. But with the new plan, its registering 1.9Mbps! Seem too good to be true.
What are your experiences? Anyone hit close to 2Mbps with 1Mbps plan?
liangtam
05-09-2008, 10:28 PM
I just got my extra BBOM 1Mbps plan with E169. Somehow in the same area, my other BBOM 1MBps register 1Mbps on speedtest.net. But with the new plan, its registering 1.9Mbps! Seem too good to be true.
What are your experiences? Anyone hit close to 2Mbps with 1Mbps plan?
Can what, when base no other ppl using lor
ironman4672
06-09-2008, 12:46 AM
Can what, when base no other ppl using lor
u tried using different modem with different sim card and get different speed while both of them are 1mbps plan at the same time same area?
why dun u just try two sim with same modem at same time same area? then u can confirm if it is really the case....;);););)
liangtam
06-09-2008, 03:42 AM
u tried using different modem with different sim card and get different speed while both of them are 1mbps plan at the same time same area?
why dun u just try two sim with same modem at same time same area? then u can confirm if it is really the case....;);););)
:s11::s11:
Pathfinder
06-09-2008, 04:30 AM
http://b.imagehost.org/0146/Capture.jpg
No more 30% for BBOM 1000.
ironman4672
06-09-2008, 08:12 AM
yup, no more 50% off... but i think the next IT show they will have it again.....:s22::s22::s22::s22::s22:
tanjhj
06-09-2008, 02:41 PM
what is this mobile value added service?
crobin
07-09-2008, 10:22 AM
I tried again using the same 1MBps BBOM plan using 3 sim cards and 3 devices at the same place and time. results:
1. Using Dlink Dir 451 (3g router) with E220 USB modem - at most around 900kbps download, 50kbps upload.
2. Using Sony Ericsson PC300 PCMCIA card - at most 1500kbps download, 250kbps upload.
3. Using Huawei E169 USB modem - at most 2000kbps download, 350kbps upload.
So I attribute the differences to the difference device hardware and corresponding drivers. I'm not surprised that the latest E169 would perform the best, since it probably the best optimised.
Any thoughts on this?
ironman4672
07-09-2008, 10:57 AM
anyone can tell me how to solve the huawei modem can only work on one usb port problem? i installed in more than one laptop all same prob......
ironman4672
09-09-2008, 08:20 PM
walau, singtel bbom is blocking/capping torrent speed le... WTF.....:s27::s27::s27::s27::s27::s27:
localbus
09-09-2008, 08:51 PM
u must be kidding me right ? how can u cap torrent when surfing is only 200kbps ?
so now they capped.. and the speed at nite become 150kbps... ? wow... SingTel... salute u !!!
ironman4672
09-09-2008, 09:09 PM
u must be kidding me right ? how can u cap torrent when surfing is only 200kbps ?
so now they capped.. and the speed at nite become 150kbps... ? wow... SingTel... salute u !!!
i'm very sure either they block or they cap the torrent speed, before that i can hit 100k for the total speed for my 1mbps plan one.. but less than 5-10k for the total torrent speed....
i have starhub maxmobile also, i tried on the same laptop, i can hit high speed with no prob at all... so i am very confirmed that singtel is blocking or capping......:s27::s27::s27::s27::s27:
Vulpix
09-09-2008, 09:28 PM
Now UOB Singtel card holders got 10% off if they subscribe with it now...
ironman4672
10-09-2008, 12:31 AM
where u got this info? anyway, now the singtel bbom is nothing good as last time liao.. now the torrent speed sucks big time... damn it....:s27::s27::s27::s27::s27:
FireHobbit
10-09-2008, 01:30 AM
really? like quite good offer..
pker88
10-09-2008, 01:59 AM
how uget the info from
UOB singtel card holder got discount?
macarons
10-09-2008, 02:09 AM
i'm very sure either they block or they cap the torrent speed, before that i can hit 100k for the total speed for my 1mbps plan one.. but less than 5-10k for the total torrent speed....
Why would they wanna do that?
ironman4672
10-09-2008, 02:13 AM
Why would they wanna do that?
i dun know but very obviously my torrent speed is dramatically slow down to less than 10k/s nowadays... dun know what's happening...
maybe singtel got too many bbom customers, so they want to limit the speed...
is ur torrent speed still as fast as previously???????:s11::s11::s11::s11::s11::s11:
localbus
10-09-2008, 11:33 AM
i dun know but very obviously my torrent speed is dramatically slow down to less than 10k/s nowadays... dun know what's happening...
maybe singtel got too many bbom customers, so they want to limit the speed...
is ur torrent speed still as fast as previously???????:s11::s11::s11::s11::s11::s11:
u mean is my BBOM as slow as previously ? yes... its slow like b4.. no change.. :)
localbus
11-09-2008, 10:50 AM
last nite is very very terrible.... not moving at all....
macarons
11-09-2008, 10:59 AM
Do you guys get disconnected by itself? Is this common? I noticed I got disconnected a few times...
macarons
11-09-2008, 11:01 AM
huh? it was ok for me... pretty fast, in fact.
localbus
11-09-2008, 01:55 PM
your location pls ?
ironman4672
11-09-2008, 04:22 PM
yup, exactly same thing... 8pm-1am no access for singtel BBOM
Got the package today. Pretty fast, Speedtest.net gives me 1261kbps down, 360kbps up. Latency around 220ms. Singapore server, Sengkang using BBoM1000.
Korn123
11-09-2008, 11:29 PM
For those who subscribed at Comex, did u all see yur bill for the month?
I thought the bill was supposed to be 11.21? I got billed 14.66 instead. Anyone else the same?
ironman4672
12-09-2008, 12:23 AM
I thought the bill was supposed to be 11.21? I got billed 14.66 instead. Anyone else the same?
nothing wrong at all... u just dun understand the billing...
check ur bill correct...
firstly u need to know what is the date for ur billing cycle every mth... e.g. if u sign up on 31 aug.... and ur billing date is 7 sept.... ur first bill they will charge u pro rate from 31 aug to 7 sept, and one more month subscription from 8 sept to 7 oct..
first month bill is always like that.... check ur bill u will know what i mean....
:s7::s7::s7::s7::s7:
ironman4672
12-09-2008, 12:25 AM
there is no pt for u to argue with ppl on the speed u get... and there is no need for u to deny the speed that ppl is getting...
becos it's totally location based... u stay in ulu place.. chances are that u will most likely getting higher as lesser subscribers....
for me and localbus, we can confirm our area the singtel bbom is totally useless from 8pm-1am... this is confirmed one... no need to argue....
and u no need to show off even u are not the case, u are just lucky only... :s7::s7::s7::s7:
ironman4672
12-09-2008, 12:26 AM
Do you guys get disconnected by itself? Is this common? I noticed I got disconnected a few times...
i have no disconnection prob... but the speed sucks from 8pm-1am daily.....:s7::s7::s7::s7::s7::s7:
ironman4672
12-09-2008, 12:29 AM
Got the package today. Pretty fast, Speedtest.net gives me 1261kbps down, 360kbps up. Latency around 220ms. Singapore server, Sengkang using BBoM1000.
good for u then, hope it will carry on as it is now for u....
anyway, u get it now... the price is not very attractive... i got two singtel bbom plan... both @11++ per mth only haha... got vouchers somemore....=:p=:p=:p=:p=:p + sure win lucky dip........
ironman4672
12-09-2008, 12:34 AM
last time...less than half month i can finish the quota already... now 6 more days going to 1 mth already... i can only manage to clock 30GB usage only....
and last time, i just leave my com on for one nite for torrent on my bbom, abt 8 hrs only...my usage for both download and upload can hit 3.5GB also no prob... now it has become past tense liao......:(:(:(:(:(:(
Korn123
12-09-2008, 12:39 AM
Well I did. I wouldn't be asking if I didn't understand. I got one for 28 Aug to 4 Sep $3.79 and one for 5 Sep to 4 Oct $14.66.
It's nothing to do with the billing cycle.
Thanks for trying to help anyway.
ironman4672
12-09-2008, 12:53 AM
Well I did. I wouldn't be asking if I didn't understand. I got one for 28 Aug to 4 Sep $3.79 and one for 5 Sep to 4 Oct $14.66.
It's nothing to do with the billing cycle.
Thanks for trying to help anyway.
nah... u are totally noob... it's exactly what i meant..... ur bill date will not follow the start date of ur service one... that's why first month is pro rated.... nvr mind think u are too noob to understand.....:s7::s7::s7::s7::s7::s7:
think i am like playing music for a cow.....
macarons
12-09-2008, 01:41 AM
your location pls ?
central near town. u?
ironman4672
12-09-2008, 01:50 AM
central near town. u?
near to town, no wonder la... not many ppl are rich enough to stay in town sia...:s7::s7::s7::s7::s7:
michael_thm
12-09-2008, 06:02 AM
Hi I am having some problem with my BoM data usage check. The SingTel website seems to be giving me the session data usage instead of total data usage? Anyone else have this problem?
lol duhz korn was billed 14.66 for one full mah lah from 5 sep to 4 oct. Mr ironman before u shoot him like u very pro u got read his post? He was charged 3.79 for his pro rated like his post mentioned.
mr korn i think u shld ask singtel instead, maybe they made a mistake.
macarons
12-09-2008, 06:33 AM
lol duhz korn was billed 14.66 for one full mah lah from 5 sep to 4 oct. Mr ironman before u shoot him like u very pro u got read his post? He was charged 3.79 for his pro rated like his post mentioned.
:s13::s13::s13::s13::s13:
macarons
12-09-2008, 06:46 AM
This is weird. I haven't gotten my bill yet. Sub at comex too. Thanks for pointing that out. Will check when mine arrives. Meanwhile, maybe you can ask the billing dept about it?
I totally agree. I always ask questions here when I need help and the guys here are always very helpful.
macarons
12-09-2008, 06:49 AM
Hi I am having some problem with my BoM data usage check. The SingTel website seems to be giving me the session data usage instead of total data usage? Anyone else have this problem?
Juz checked mine. I get total data usage. Maybe you try again? :)
ironman4672
12-09-2008, 07:06 AM
sure or not? i have two accounts, all correct what... give me the total........;);););)
ironman4672
12-09-2008, 07:11 AM
there is no mistake at all..... u guys serious dun understand what i mean.... it is totally correct... like i said, singtel will change pro-rated from the date u signed up to ur first bill date + charge one more full month until the next bill date (like ur mobile phone bill or singnet bill, singtel will always charge the monthly subscription in advance... so u pay first before u use).THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE BILLING... FIRST MONTH IS ALWAYS PRO-RATE + ONE FULL MONTH!!!
THIS IS TOTALLY HAS THING TO DO WITH UR BILL DATE...., IF U DUN BELIEVE, U CAN ALWAYS ASK SINGTEL....IT's TOTALLY BASIC BILLING THING, THERE IS NOTHING DIFFICULT TO UNDERSTAND... UR BILL DATE IS 5th of EVERY MONTH... THAT'S WHY THE PREVIOUS MONTH IS PRO-RATED, AS SIMPLE AS THAT... UR BILL WILL ALWAYS BE 5TH OF EVERY MONTH....AND U WILL ALWAYS SEE UR BILL GENERATED ON 8TH OF EVERY MONTH... AS SIMPLE AS THAT....
ironman4672
12-09-2008, 07:35 AM
This is weird. I haven't gotten my bill yet. Sub at comex too. Thanks for pointing that out. Will check when mine arrives. Meanwhile, maybe you can ask the billing dept about it?
I totally agree. I always ask questions here when I need help and the guys here are always very helpful.
macarons, i think u are noob also.... i have already explained so many times that there is nothing wrong for first, just u guys noob and try not to believe, dun understand why dun ppl who do not know anything, and again try to act smart or being stubborn...
and macarons, u dun know anything, u should stop making noob comment too... though noob ppl tend to noob together....
if u guys dun believe, below is the proof of my saying, this is my first starhub maxmobile bill... i think pic tells everything, u can see the way starhub charges is totally same as singtel... i want to say the very last time, THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH HIS FIRST BILLING... see mine and compare....I signed up my maxmobile on 25 aug and my bill date is always 14th of the month.
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3196/2849724982_42110cee02_o.jpg
ironman4672
12-09-2008, 07:42 AM
hwaa, u are noob also... i had mentioned in my post thousands time already... this is the correct way for first month charging.... NOTHING WRONG WITH IT ALL there are 3 stubborn noob ppl here are noobing together....;);););););)
hello8985
12-09-2008, 07:49 AM
cheap.......
Korn123
12-09-2008, 07:52 AM
Dude. If it's one full month why shouldn't that full month be 11.21?
My total bill is 3.79+14.66 = 19.79 la.
I'm not querying on the 3.79 part. And my understanding is that 1 month's sub is 11.21. I'll be checking with Singtel on this. For sure.
zzzz it may be peanuts to you but it's a matter of getting my facts rite. And they (hwaa and macarons) were trying to offer alternative PoVs. Thanks.
And besides, why should I want to be Pro in handing out my money to the telcos?
ironman4672
12-09-2008, 08:00 AM
Dude. If it's one full month why shouldn't that full month be 11.21?
My total bill is 3.79+14.66 = 19.79 la.
I'm not querying on the 3.79 part. And my understanding is that 1 month's sub is 11.21. I'll be checking with Singtel on this. For sure.
zzzz it may be peanuts to you but it's a matter of getting my facts rite. And they (hwaa and macarons) were trying to offer alternative PoVs. Thanks.
And besides, why should I want to be Pro in handing out my money to the telcos?
14.66?? this is even more clear cut, meaning u are on 30% promo, instead of 50% promo,;);););););)
14.66x1.07=15.69
the bill definitely clearly stated u are on 30% or 50% promo... isn't straight foward to tell what's the prob?
and ur previous's comment is totally wrong, this has TOTALLY to do the bill date at all... so it is ONE FULL MONTH subscription... nothing wrong
the prob is only that u are on 30% promo not 50% promo
Korn123
12-09-2008, 08:09 AM
14.66?? this is even more clear cut, meaning u are on 30% promo, instead of 50% promo,;);););););)
14.66x1.07=15.69
the bill definitely clearly stated u are on 30% or 50% promo... isn't straight foward to tell what's the prob?
Thanks. I called them. It's a billing error. Guys pls check ur bill. It doesn't say anything about 30 / 50% off. Just (Promo). If its so clear cut why didn't u spot it earlier?
They gave me 30% off on my subscription and asked for my original contract.
ironman4672
12-09-2008, 08:10 AM
Thanks. I called them. It's a billing error. Guys pls check ur bill. They gave me 30% off on my subscription and asked for my original contract.
so there is nothing with the first month bill calculation that i mentioned at all....;);););););)
Pathfinder
12-09-2008, 10:27 AM
so there is nothing with the first month bill calculation that i mentioned at all....;);););););)
Ironman4672, i cannot help but LOL at your reply to korn123's billing saga. You're making a fool of yourself here.
:s22::s22:
Hanwudi
12-09-2008, 10:47 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/321992651.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
BBoM 1M, morning at east coast... it's good i must say.
Seldom use recently. When got chance, i will post the peak hour stat.
liangtam
12-09-2008, 12:35 PM
Ironman4672, i cannot help but LOL at your reply to korn123's billing saga. You're making a fool of yourself here.
Hmm, what is?
ironman4672 may be putting it in a harsh way, but most telco's billing cycle cuts at a date where they set their billing cycle to. so if the machine was set to 15 of every mth and u subscribe on the 13, it will be pro-rate 13-15 and the following mth 16-14 etc.
macarons
12-09-2008, 01:23 PM
Hmm, what is?
Korn already said ST made an error with the bill when he called them to check.
Thanks for sharing this info with us, Korn. Will keep a lookout when my bill is here. :)
Korn123
12-09-2008, 01:24 PM
Hmm, what is?
ironman4672 may be putting it in a harsh way, but most telco's billing cycle cuts at a date where they set their billing cycle to. so if the machine was set to 15 of every mth and u subscribe on the 13, it will be pro-rate 13-15 and the following mth 16-14 etc.
Hey Liangtam. I think you've got it wrong. This has nothing to do with the billing cycle. And I never did mention about billing cycles when I first posted.
Anyway for those who subscribed during Comex pls check ur contract. The terms might have stated 30% off instead of 50% off.
Am awaiting the resolution of this matter. The specific promotion was 50% off BBOM even at the Hello shops for the length of Comex. I'm incredulous at how they think that my premiums were at 30% off.
macarons
12-09-2008, 02:02 PM
Precisely. And he was going on and on acting smart and putting people down, wasn't even listening to what Korn was really saying and only to make a fool outta himself in the end. Hilarious.
lol, ironman we're all noobs or u're living in yr own world? The posts are all there, and ppl can read. Korn asked a correct qn and u shoot him like u damn pro, what u trying to prove here? we are all here to help and share with one another... If u think he is noob then dont bother to lah, i'm sure others will help..
macarons
12-09-2008, 03:55 PM
lol, ironman we're all noobs or u're living in yr own world? The posts are all there, and ppl can read. Korn asked a correct qn and u shoot him like u damn pro, what u trying to prove here? we are all here to help and share with one another... If u think he is noob then dont bother to lah, i'm sure others will help..
Well-said!!! :s21::s21: Woohoo! *thumbs up*
Pathfinder
12-09-2008, 04:05 PM
being noob is not a crime, it's a logical cycle one has to go thru for everything. if one consider oneself as non-noob, then they should render help without running down the noobs.
but this time rd, ironman did a self pwning.
liangtam
12-09-2008, 04:10 PM
Thx for clarification.
I think u should have written 30% discount you're getting in the first place.
It would allow for easier intepretation.
Excellent self pawn thread. +1.
Yowzer
12-09-2008, 06:46 PM
But Singtel got a data rate charge of $5, which the other Telcos don't have I believe. In the end, with this hidden cost, all the plans actually cost $5 more ?
Btw. Can anyone help ? I'm not able to send out emails with my BBOM connection when I use it on my PC.
I already point my account to use the BBOM connection.Surfing, receiving email & all else ok. Just cannot sent out only.
Keeps saying' rejected by the server' or something. Thanks
xfiles_wolvie
12-09-2008, 09:31 PM
extra $5? i dun have ah. im using ST BBoM.
U got to check if ur email smtp server uses SSL. most of the time smtp server with SSL cant go thru.
if not check ur antivirus. disabling scanning outgog email helps at times to eliminate factors.
seowbin
12-09-2008, 11:23 PM
just ignore the iron pu*sy lar ... :s13:
liangtam
13-09-2008, 12:17 AM
$5 applies when you register, BUT will get waived one
apatheticme
13-09-2008, 12:39 AM
hmm... to his credit, he was the 1st to notice that korn's billing matches that of the 30% discount.
anyone has a BBoM 1000(Promo) that cost $5.59 in their bills? what is that? i was under the impression alternate months will be totally free (6months free promo) and not with a $5.59 charge.
edisonchen
13-09-2008, 02:19 AM
hmm... to his credit, he was the 1st to notice that korn's billing matches that of the 30% discount.
anyone has a BBoM 1000(Promo) that cost $5.59 in their bills? what is that? i was under the impression alternate months will be totally free (6months free promo) and not with a $5.59 charge.
Erm.. my case was a 2 yr contract with 50% off; essentially, for every two months, you pay the full price for your BBOM price (for my case every two months, i pay $22 for the 100Mbps plan). Its got to do with Singtel's billing cycle and when you started your BBOM plan I believe.
apatheticme
13-09-2008, 04:04 AM
hmm for the sake of all the people who can help me with the problem, i signed up for the bbom1000 1 year contract with 6 months free. this is the 2nd or 3rd or 4th bill i have recieved, but i didnt really read or keep the 1st few bills because i was quite sure singtel wouldnt screw anything up, and the billing will go like full amount, free, full amount. den i read that there's a 5 bucks thingy here, and i see a $5.59 charge in my bill, when its supposed to be either $22 or nothing at all. where in the world did the $5.59 come from?
they really should add real descriptions for each line in the bill.
liangtam
13-09-2008, 11:59 AM
thats not how the free 6 months go by. it does not alternate one month free one month pay.
instead you are required to pay a small portion for first month, bigger portion for 2nd portion which does tally $22.42 and repeats
apatheticme
13-09-2008, 07:54 PM
thats not how the free 6 months go by. it does not alternate one month free one month pay.
instead you are required to pay a small portion for first month, bigger portion for 2nd portion which does tally $22.42 and repeats
thank you! shall look at my next month's bill =:p
How long it takes to activate after i subscribe to bbom as a vas?
Cloud_K
16-09-2008, 07:54 PM
bump.
today's straits times, got 50% off on all BBOM 12mths plan and free huawei modem.
Yowzer
16-09-2008, 08:14 PM
http://i36.tinypic.com/6rlute.jpg
I'm not sure how the billing works, whether the amount is incremental or on alternate months. But what I read from my contract, there is an additional $5 per month. As such my actual payment is $20+ per month for the 1000mbs BBOM.
Hope LiangTam is right & it will be waived, because it seems to be a 3G data rate plan or sometthing, I'm quite confused really.
http://i36.tinypic.com/6rlute.jpg
I'm not sure how the billing works, whether the amount is incremental or on alternate months. But what I read from my contract, there is an additional $5 per month. As such my actual payment is $20+ per month for the 1000mbs BBOM.
Hope LiangTam is right & it will be waived, because it seems to be a 3G data rate plan or sometthing, I'm quite confused really.
$20.95 is the amount you will be paying after the promotion that this contract is based on, ends. Which in this case, is 12 months later upon signing up.
ironman4672
17-09-2008, 12:10 AM
bump.
today's straits times, got 50% off on all BBOM 12mths plan and free huawei modem.
is it? so good? offer again.....;););););)
quekky
17-09-2008, 01:03 AM
Erm.. my case was a 2 yr contract with 50% off; essentially, for every two months, you pay the full price for your BBOM price (for my case every two months, i pay $22 for the 100Mbps plan). Its got to do with Singtel's billing cycle and when you started your BBOM plan I believe.
how you get 100mbps plan?
archtomato
17-09-2008, 01:07 AM
bump.
Saw the ad also, but not reflected on the webbie ... Think its for businesses only.
invisible01
19-09-2008, 02:09 PM
anyone can tell me how to solve the huawei modem can only work on one usb port problem? i installed in more than one laptop all same prob......
anyone has this problem too? quite strange the device is not detected on other usb ports.
Gausss
19-09-2008, 09:40 PM
hihi jus got my huawei modem.. no stamp or watever so do we need send the warranty card back?? or jus keep both copy .. jus checking :D
michael_thm
20-09-2008, 02:30 AM
Is it correct to connect to IDEAS WAP when using the BoM data sim on a mobile phone? Will the IDEAS WAP give broadband speed or those 56K dial up speed ah?
shokbakgoc
20-09-2008, 10:02 AM
wah, ST still busy signing up subscribers. network will get worse & worse :mad: time to jump to less crowded network...
liangtam
20-09-2008, 12:22 PM
IDEAS Internet.
But both are fine.
xiaozhi86
25-09-2008, 04:34 PM
woot, haha, i also receive my billing le, they give me 30% nia..
haha, still must fax in my contract..so guys, please check carefully once again
Desmond_
28-09-2008, 04:03 PM
no more 12 month liao???????
ironman4672
30-09-2008, 10:24 AM
wah, ST still busy signing up subscribers. network will get worse & worse :mad: time to jump to less crowded network...
yup, exactly..:s7::s7::s7::s7:
ironman4672
30-09-2008, 10:52 AM
no more 12 month liao???????\\
is it??? :s11::s11:
spyder79
30-09-2008, 11:50 AM
ya lor..
last time very gd one.. now super slow...sigh....
liangtam
30-09-2008, 12:58 PM
there are no 'less crowded' network, maybe except Mx
liangtam
30-09-2008, 07:19 PM
What's MX ?
The from-2nd-became-3rd mobile operator lor.
primera_p12
30-09-2008, 08:37 PM
It's also known as X1.
McGraw
03-10-2008, 08:50 PM
did you guys 'safety remove' the device when you shutdown your computer ? :s11:
ironman4672
04-10-2008, 01:28 AM
now the promo is really lousy sia... 24 contracts + need to pay extra activation fee + no more 50% 1mbps plan discounts.....:s22::s22::s22::s22::s22::s22:
liangtam
04-10-2008, 02:02 AM
u dun find it slow meh?
apatheticme
04-10-2008, 02:18 AM
No, he find 50 gigs to be inadequate for a mobile broadband.
Desmond_
04-10-2008, 12:28 PM
now the promo is really lousy sia... 24 contracts + need to pay extra activation fee + no more 50% 1mbps plan discounts.....:s22::s22::s22::s22::s22::s22:
wait for IT show lor :o
Just a curious question on the contract:
Can I say sign up for BBoM, get the modem, and then later switch it to a VaS on my mobile line?
Hanwudi
04-10-2008, 09:36 PM
no u can't. i am talking about singtel. not sure about others.
pker88
04-10-2008, 10:11 PM
wait for better promo if u dontneed it in a rush lor
We got the last pcshow end of year to see too
no u can't. i am talking about singtel. not sure about others.
Thanks. If that's the case, it's quite worthless, given that I'm signing for the same service, but I don't get the freebies..
gibson7
05-10-2008, 03:27 PM
its even worse for sh users. If u r a mobile user, & u want bbom as vas, only can take mm ult or surf value. U can't get the slightly lower priced plan called mm surflite.
wind30
31-10-2008, 10:21 AM
I just called up singtel to check on my contract status and they told me I am under 24month contract!!!! when I signed up for the 12mth free 6 mth,
did anything like that happen to u guys?
ironman4672
01-11-2008, 03:42 AM
I just called up singtel to check on my contract status and they told me I am under 24month contract!!!! when I signed up for the 12mth free 6 mth,
did anything like that happen to u guys?
no le... my one is also under the same promo, next march can cancel liao... after my 12 mths contract... confirmed with singtel cso before....:s13::s13::s13::s13: and i can two times waiver so far til now... meaning i didn't pay for 4 mths of the subscription out of this 12 mths contract...
me too. Got 2 data lines. All 12 months, 6 monts free. Contract ending 2009.
pker88
01-11-2008, 08:11 PM
now surfing on NEL mrt line its 3G hehee
On bbom notbad liao its upgraded unless no one knows it was gprs before
pker88
01-11-2008, 08:13 PM
test again it swtich between 3g and 3.5g ok notbad good imrpovement but it connection at hdb estate is still bad i tink too many user on it now using at hdb estate but in town or work place if not under hdb estate is smooth actually
ironman4672
01-11-2008, 09:37 PM
they are giving out 40% discount now for 2000 above plan....
i supposed during sitex, they will come back with the 50% promo again....:D:D:D:D:D
Igene
02-11-2008, 09:33 AM
Terminated both my accounts liao.
Cannot tahan the slowness at night leh. It's like not moving at all.
Somemore what happened. I called 1626 to report m problem, at the same time told them want to terminate since the speed CMI. Then the CSO say OK, will make a note. Then I told him will go return everything next week which day which at which branch. Basket this CSO didn't leave any note to that branch and I have to go and see the branch manager. The bloody branch manager also cannot do anything but to call them up and ask me to come back next time. Then went back few days after still have to go take Q number and Q for it. You know the F$%ing Q is damn long at CWP Hello!!!
guni_man
02-11-2008, 10:15 AM
now surfing on NEL mrt line its 3G hehee
On bbom notbad liao its upgraded unless no one knows it was gprs before
Wow, that is good news! Do you get 3G signal all the way on NEL?
I tested it in early Sep 08 and it was GPRS all the way.
quekky
02-11-2008, 11:01 AM
how you see is 3G or 3.5G?
my phone only shows "3" logo, i never see it show "H" logo before except in malaysia
ironman4672
02-11-2008, 11:10 AM
Terminated both my accounts liao.
Cannot tahan the slowness at night leh. It's like not moving at all.
Somemore what happened. I called 1626 to report m problem, at the same time told them want to terminate since the speed CMI. Then the CSO say OK, will make a note. Then I told him will go return everything next week which day which at which branch. Basket this CSO didn't leave any note to that branch and I have to go and see the branch manager. The bloody branch manager also cannot do anything but to call them up and ask me to come back next time. Then went back few days after still have to go take Q number and Q for it. You know the F$%ing Q is damn long at CWP Hello!!!
so u did return the devices for ur termination???:s11::s11::s11::s11:
Y_Shun
02-11-2008, 02:01 PM
Will they bundle it together with SNBB anot siah????
ironman4672
02-11-2008, 02:17 PM
Will they bundle it together with SNBB anot siah????
definitely not... i'm very sure.....;););););)
Starhub has covered NEL with HSPDA connection quite long.
ginseng1
02-11-2008, 08:15 PM
definitely not... i'm very sure.....;););););)
Sad. I was hoping for the X61 with HSDPA bundle to come back
FireHobbit
02-11-2008, 08:54 PM
NEL I use on clark quay now only... Still on GPRS signal
leonaheidern
03-11-2008, 10:10 AM
Er If I sign up for BBOM Basic today, can I start using it today?
Do I need to go to a shop to collect the BBOM Modem?
Any good shops near PSA Building I can go to to get the BBOM Modem?
I'm a post paid Singtel Customer.
liangtam
03-11-2008, 10:40 AM
Singtel/hell-o shop lor
leonaheidern
03-11-2008, 10:44 AM
yep i just called.
Sigh. Safe to assume its 3 working days to get the BBOM working.
I am on duty from 10am-7pm and the Hello Shop at Golden Shoe opens only at 10am. If not I'll probably get it working in 1 day.
Maybe I'll get it activated after this week. Or find some other workaround.
Igene
03-11-2008, 01:47 PM
so u did return the devices for ur termination???:s11::s11::s11::s11:
Ya. All give back. I also thought can keep after 3 months sia. Then ask them they say cannot. Dunno leh :s22:
ironman4672
08-11-2008, 11:05 AM
but seriously speaking, as bbom now has limited the speed for bt.... it is no longer worth it to subscribe.....;););););)
pker88
08-11-2008, 08:14 PM
bbom is better for normal surfing and mininum Dling but not advice to do BT lah
I tested again NEl from doby ghaut to end of line does have 3g or 3.5g if your simcard is 3g or phone is able to support
Now im posting in Nel now inside the train.
compare to maxmobile and bbom under singtel for now bbom offer u lowerst price liao even it on lower speed unless u wanna do major dling.
As for maxmobile cant comment since i not on maxmobile, so any maxmobile user here to comment on their 3.5G on all mrt lines? What abt the older mrt lines. Since NeL line is new so maybe more updated i suppose
And just now im at cityhall mrt bbom cant detect 3G even it still on gprs until i moved to doby ghaut then it automatic swtich to 3G asap
ironman4672
08-11-2008, 08:46 PM
bbom is better for normal surfing and mininum Dling but not advice to do BT lah
I tested again NEl from doby ghaut to end of line does have 3g or 3.5g if your simcard is 3g or phone is able to support
Now im posting in Nel now inside the train.
compare to maxmobile and bbom under singtel for now bbom offer u lowerst price liao even it on lower speed unless u wanna do major dling.
As for maxmobile cant comment since i not on maxmobile, so any maxmobile user here to comment on their 3.5G on all mrt lines? What abt the older mrt lines. Since NeL line is new so maybe more updated i suppose
And just now im at cityhall mrt bbom cant detect 3G even it still on gprs until i moved to doby ghaut then it automatic swtich to 3G asap
not only cityhall no 3G signal when the mrt first enters tunnel u cannot receive 3G signal already starting from tiong bahru station all the way until lavender there is no single 3G signal at all... i have been using my laptop along east west line, so i know...
for starhub, no 3G under tunnel also... same...
yes, bbom is good enough for normal surfing only, nowadays cannot do any bt at all... last time my 1mbps plan can hit 100k constantly no prob... now want to hit 10k also got prob... they block bt i think... damn singtel....
Better for them to do so that way, than to let a selective group of subscribers leech off most of the available bandwidth.
ironman4672
09-11-2008, 12:10 PM
there is no way they should block services as they wish without declaring to customers....
Better for them to do so that way, than to let a selective group of subscribers leech off most of the available bandwidth.
sHiErShAo
09-11-2008, 11:30 PM
Hi all,
May I ask, is it still worth it to subscribe for torrent downloading for speed 2000mbps? Need advise on this. Thanks all. :)
ironman4672
10-11-2008, 12:46 AM
Hi all,
May I ask, is it still worth it to subscribe for torrent downloading for speed 2000mbps? Need advise on this. Thanks all. :)
a BIG BIG BIG BIG BIG NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO if u are talking abt singtel bbom, they blocked bt on bbom.... so u should know what to do.....:s7::s7::s7::s7::s7::s7:
pker88
10-11-2008, 12:59 AM
not only cityhall no 3G signal when the mrt first enters tunnel u cannot receive 3G signal already starting from tiong bahru station all the way until lavender there is no single 3G signal at all... i have been using my laptop along east west line, so i know...
for starhub, no 3G under tunnel also... same...
did u try your maxmobile under NEL mrt line?
some ppls say maxmobile got 3G access
for bbom for myself i got 3G and 3.5G and GRPS for NEL line from doby ghaut to end of the line
maybe need more time for the local telco to upgrade it mrt esp underground line to support 3G speed lor
but those above ground for older mrt line should be 3G right?
ironman4672
10-11-2008, 01:58 AM
did u try your maxmobile under NEL mrt line?
some ppls say maxmobile got 3G access
for bbom for myself i got 3G and 3.5G and GRPS for NEL line from doby ghaut to end of the line
maybe need more time for the local telco to upgrade it mrt esp underground line to support 3G speed lor
but those above ground for older mrt line should be 3G right?
nvr try at NEL.. but last time when i tried in my sk friend's house, both bbom and maxmobile speed sucks there....;);););)
pker88
10-11-2008, 02:06 AM
nvr try at NEL.. but last time when i tried in my sk friend's house, both bbom and maxmobile speed sucks there....;);););)
must be long ago u neve go Northeastern side haha
but on my bbom on HDB area is sometimes good sometime bad one
esp around hougang
seems like hougang alot of bbom user leeching or surfing lor
at AMK is better on hdb area
at sengkang or punggol is fine
just on and off is slow oly
well 3G is wireless lor cant expect it to be as stable as wired base broadband
even wired base broadband got it own quirks too let alone wireless broadband
but is a imprvovement liao compare to long ago it was WAP and GRPS only
sHiErShAo
10-11-2008, 09:52 AM
a BIG BIG BIG BIG BIG NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO if u are talking abt singtel bbom, they blocked bt on bbom.... so u should know what to do.....:s7::s7::s7::s7::s7::s7:
Hi pal, Thanks. Btw, What about starhub bbom? Can I subscribe this for BT download instead? :)
Just curious, why would you want to use BBoM for BT?
sHiErShAo
10-11-2008, 01:55 PM
Just curious, why would you want to use BBoM for BT?
Cos my home internet is slow in BTing so hoping to get a BBoM to do this. Any advice?
liangtam
10-11-2008, 02:35 PM
all mobile bb, be it from any operator was not really meant for such activity.
this service more oriented for biz user
pker88
15-11-2008, 01:48 PM
tested on mrt now from bishan to orchard on bbom ya not 3G or 3.5G enabled only NEL from doby ghaut to end of NEL i tested it already 3.5G enabled.
liangtam
15-11-2008, 02:18 PM
Try use HSUPA modem, can hit higher upload
undiscern
15-11-2008, 03:16 PM
it has been nearly 1 year, seems like singtel is getting smarter and no longer offer such a good deal anymore.
ironman4672
15-11-2008, 03:26 PM
it has been nearly 1 year, seems like singtel is getting smarter and no longer offer such a good deal anymore.
i think they won't offer 12 mths contract liao.....;);););););)
Just curious with some questions:
1) For the 24 mth contract, do they provide mobile discounts for those who use it as a VAS?
2) If I get the 24 mth contract + Multi SIM, would I be able to get the freebies?
pker88
15-11-2008, 10:09 PM
wait for sitex and see how lor
If ST will offer 12mth contract.
One thing ST bbom must do
As more ppls get on the bbom bandwidth
To make it more stable & dont need to reload webpage.
If want to bt dont go for bbom lor stick to the conventional wired broadband still more stable
leonardlcb
15-11-2008, 11:49 PM
I'm currently a BBOM 1000 subscriber. Does anyone know if current subscribers are affected by the new data quota? It used to be 50GB and it's now only 30GB.
liangtam
15-11-2008, 11:50 PM
wait for sitex and see how lor
If ST will offer 12mth contract.
One thing ST bbom must do
As more ppls get on the bbom bandwidth
To make it more stable & dont need to reload webpage.
If want to bt dont go for bbom lor stick to the conventional wired broadband still more stable
wont work de, ppl will still rush for it
ironman4672
16-11-2008, 12:28 AM
I'm currently a BBOM 1000 subscriber. Does anyone know if current subscribers are affected by the new data quota? It used to be 50GB and it's now only 30GB.
ya lo ho... saw from the website abt this also... but i think existing customer should not be affected... if so, they must issue us letter to inform also....
anyway, i dun use much bbom nowadays... speed for bt sucks since they started blocking it...
now want to hit 5GB per mth also not easy....:s7::s7::s7::s7::s7:
liangtam
16-11-2008, 12:33 AM
ya lo ho... saw from the website abt this also... but i think existing customer should not be affected... if so, they must issue us letter to inform also....
anyway, i dun use much bbom nowadays... speed for bt sucks since they started blocking it...
now want to hit 5GB per mth also not easy....:s7::s7::s7::s7::s7:
I posted in the other thread few day ago le mah
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?p=33659722
Jus went for a round to see if its like what our dear ironman4672 says. (PS: mobile bb not meant for this)
http://i35.tinypic.com/1fafqu.jpg
afternoon still reasonable bah :D
ironman4672
16-11-2008, 01:01 AM
I posted in the other thread few day ago le mah
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?p=33659722
afternoon still reasonable bah :D
i think u always show those isolated cases only... i try download most of the stuffs via bt, it is extremely slow... but when i download the ubuntu 8.10 via bt using bbom 1mbps, it is fast until it can hit 100k no prob...
obviously, singtel blocks nearly bt download except those legal one....like linux etc....;););););)
while on my other connection, i have no prob hitting full speed for any kind of bt download....
liangtam
17-11-2008, 01:34 AM
i think u always show those isolated cases only... i try download most of the stuffs via bt, it is extremely slow... but when i download the ubuntu 8.10 via bt using bbom 1mbps, it is fast until it can hit 100k no prob...
obviously, singtel blocks nearly bt download except those legal one....like linux etc....;););););)
while on my other connection, i have no prob hitting full speed for any kind of bt download....
u rly wan to see me dling ahem stuff ah? lets see when i go on a dling spree bah, then screencap for yours truly.
theres no way to selectively throttling leh.
ironman4672
21-11-2008, 01:57 AM
u rly wan to see me dling ahem stuff ah? lets see when i go on a dling spree bah, then screencap for yours truly.
theres no way to selectively throttling leh.
where is ur screenshot? ;);););););)
liangtam
21-11-2008, 11:23 AM
where is ur screenshot? ;);););););)
my dl spree only once in a blue moon leh
most of the time can find stuff on website, so haven bt yet
sukhoi37
21-11-2008, 08:02 PM
**ck! My data usage exceeded 50gb.
i need to pay extra $500 for that.
never know that the limit is including both download and upload usage.
is there any other way to ask them to discount for me?
mosmos
21-11-2008, 08:16 PM
:s11: what did you d/l?
I use on mon-fri 9-5pm non-stop, never exceed 8gb before.
ironman4672
21-11-2008, 08:38 PM
haha... well done... $500 enough to pay for 4 years at least of 1mbps subscription liao on 50% :D:D:D:D:D
apatheticme
21-11-2008, 09:04 PM
$500 lol..
PURCHASE ASUS Eee PC 901 with builtin HSDPA modem for $498 with the 3600/7200 plan! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D
zonetechs
21-11-2008, 09:06 PM
"case by case basic if you know what i mean.
should not be a problem to waive before
but due to current market condition do not know whether.....
If no choice can try your luck with MP help and hope for the best outcome."
ironman4672
21-11-2008, 09:09 PM
:s11: what did you d/l?
I use on mon-fri 9-5pm non-stop, never exceed 8gb before.
last time my 1mbps singtel bbom, i can easily hit 50GB for only half mth of usage... ever since they start capping the speed especially for bt... i can not even hit 5Gb per mth....;);););)
zonetechs
21-11-2008, 09:11 PM
next time be more careful and not be greedy.
"There no free lunch in this world"
School holiday started....
ironman4672
21-11-2008, 09:19 PM
next time be more careful and not be greedy.
"There no free lunch in this world"
School holiday started....
i'm more suprised how he can hit the limit, as singtel has capped heavily on the bt speed, and it is only 10k++ kind of speed....;););););)last time i can hit 100k.... also no prob, then hit 50Gb it is normal, i seriously dun understand how can hit 50Gb with such a low speed....:D:D:D
sukhoi37
21-11-2008, 09:20 PM
I torrenting quite often for games, i calculate the max should be 30gb with all the downloaded stuff.
I increase the upload speed without knowing that 50gb limit is including upload usage. :(
yeah, i'd ask them to send me the list.
i'll call 1688 tomorrow, wish me luck.
ironman4672
21-11-2008, 09:22 PM
I torrenting quite often for games, i calculate the max should be 30gb with all the downloaded stuff.
I increase the upload speed without knowing that 50gb limit is including upload usage. :(
yeah, i'd ask them to send me the list.
i'll call 1688 tomorrow, wish me luck.
what is the torrent speed u can hit? what plan u are using?;);););););)
sukhoi37
21-11-2008, 09:28 PM
plan 2000.
maximum speed is ~90kb/s.
oh yeah, to the sarcastics ones.
yup, it's a stupid mistake by me and $500 is a lot to me too.
heart pain, but life goes on. ;)
sukhoi37
21-11-2008, 09:39 PM
Download + Upload = usage data.
I increase the upload speed for the sake of 'Sharing is Caring'. LOL
note:
the download speed will be capped at 70kb/s(checked with speedtest.net) after exceeding the limit. upload speed will remain the same though.
sukhoi37
21-11-2008, 09:44 PM
Who??
500 is a lot man. I feel heartpain just reading it. Hope you get a discount tomorrow! :)
ironman4672
22-11-2008, 08:45 AM
Download + Upload = usage data.
I increase the upload speed for the sake of 'Sharing is Caring'. LOL
note:
the download speed will be capped at 70kb/s(checked with speedtest.net) after exceeding the limit. upload speed will remain the same though.
which area u are staying? ;);););););)
Mclairs83
22-11-2008, 10:18 AM
plan 2000.
maximum speed is ~90kb/s.
oh yeah, to the sarcastics ones.
yup, it's a stupid mistake by me and $500 is a lot to me too.
heart pain, but life goes on. ;)
Can't imagine u use BBoM to download ur torrents.
My BBoM i calculate the whole year.. i haven even reach 40gb yet.
I'm gonna terminate my Singtel BBoM nxt month liao.. no much fanciful promo
ironman4672
22-11-2008, 10:24 AM
Can't imagine u use BBoM to download ur torrents.
My BBoM i calculate the whole year.. i haven even reach 40gb yet.
I'm gonna terminate my Singtel BBoM nxt month liao.. no much fanciful promo
40GB for a year? if u are talking the speed now.. it is normal... but for speed before jun, i can hit 50Gb every mth for just half mth usage only no prob..
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3068/2813938503_49ba6dcf94.jpg?v=0
now the speed for BT sucks......i cannot even hit 5Gb per mth.....
micromousez
22-11-2008, 01:51 PM
my avg per mth only like 60MB++ nia.. lol..
going to cancel it when my contract finishing soon...
ironman4672
22-11-2008, 07:56 PM
my avg per mth only like 60MB++ nia.. lol..
going to cancel it when my contract finishing soon...
u got fixed line bb at home rite? then of course u dun download alot... i only have maxmobile and bbom at home... so i fully utilize it....:D:D:D:D:D
mistersoh
22-11-2008, 08:08 PM
anyway, nowadays the speed is terribly slow...
:yawn:
should be canceling it after contract ends...
:yawn:
ginseng1
23-11-2008, 01:30 AM
40GB for a year? if u are talking the speed now.. it is normal... but for speed before jun, i can hit 50Gb every mth for just half mth usage only no prob..
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3068/2813938503_49ba6dcf94.jpg?v=0
now the speed for BT sucks......i cannot even hit 5Gb per mth.....
That's because of such people.
SNBB should cap the d/l to 10gb and charge cheaper, say $8.88 monthly :D
liangtam
23-11-2008, 02:21 AM
$8 dun think will have modem wor, cos modem not cheap
BaLtO
23-11-2008, 07:42 AM
That's because of such people.
SNBB should cap the d/l to 10gb and charge cheaper, say $8.88 monthly :D
Ya, bt on mobile broadband is a bad choice ...
KongLanJiaoWei
23-11-2008, 02:08 PM
hi, would like to ask, with the usb modem, is there any need to login?
if there is a userid and password, we will get it on the spot of sign up or it will be mailed to our residential address?
lastly is the bill together with ur hp bill?
thanks!
liangtam
23-11-2008, 02:09 PM
theres no password
geckoSG
23-11-2008, 02:46 PM
In the first place, the idea of BBoM is not for torrent or huge files downloading.
It's more for people on the move to access mails, surf internet, connect to
office, etc...
So, I guess connection speed hasn't improve... :(
Hanwudi
23-11-2008, 10:00 PM
i use 1~2gb each month for a year liao. 3q this year was problematic, can't use at all. actually it has improve considerably and fairly consistent in my place now. good for surfing web.
no good promotion now. next mth going to terminate when contract ends. maybe try to take up company plan at 7.50 nia. but not sure can or not.
twosix
16-12-2008, 09:43 AM
Seems like no good promo recently. Only the 15% or 40% discount.
Poker
16-12-2008, 10:17 AM
got this promo meh?
i go down never see leh
the best one is the 50% off the PC show on sept only
kenji.endo
16-12-2008, 11:20 AM
got this promo meh?
i go down never see leh
the best one is the 50% off the PC show on sept only
got la... now is either 15% discount for one year contract or 40% for two years.....:D:D:D:D:D:D:D
kenji.endo
16-12-2008, 11:27 AM
the speed for bbom was terrible for the past few mths... but the speed has been improved recently....
:D:D:D:D:D
i can hit the max speed even for bt...i think they had uncapped bt.... while last two three mths... the speed for bt sucks....;);)
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3274/3111641215_c66249522a_o.jpg
liangtam
16-12-2008, 02:24 PM
If they rly did cap, why would they wan uncap n affect others? :s22:
kenji.endo
16-12-2008, 03:45 PM
If they rly did cap, why would they wan uncap n affect others? :s22:
believe or not then it depends on ur own self..... u always think u are right only....
i had used for the bbom to bt for so long, this is confirmed true one....;););););)
silencer22
16-12-2008, 03:48 PM
thinking of getting the singtel mobile broadband,
can i know how's the reception like on the train along EW line?
liangtam
16-12-2008, 04:03 PM
believe or not then it depends on ur own self..... u always think u are right only....
i had used for the bbom to bt for so long, this is confirmed true one....;););););)
u sounds familiar
whose crones are chiu =:p
a shared medium of cos must cap mah.
it like sharing a 56K line with few ppl
kenji.endo
16-12-2008, 04:49 PM
u sounds familiar
whose crones are chiu =:p
a shared medium of cos must cap mah.
it like sharing a 56K line with few ppl
as i said, bbom begining of the year until sept they dun cap bt at all, i can download at full speed 100k, after sept they cap it... my speed dropped down to 10-15k only, until recently dec, they uncap it, and my speed is back to 100k again... this is confirmed, becos i use it everyday, since u dun download especially bt, i think u are not in the good position to advise on whether they cap it or not..
even maxmobile they dun cap at all... i can hit 200k no prob....;););););)
liangtam
16-12-2008, 07:43 PM
as i said, bbom begining of the year until sept they dun cap bt at all, i can download at full speed 100k, after sept they cap it... my speed dropped down to 10-15k only, until recently dec, they uncap it, and my speed is back to 100k again... this is confirmed, becos i use it everyday, since u dun download especially bt, i think u are not in the good position to advise on whether they cap it or not..
actually, i did :o
hokay, moi noes who ish chiu riao. :D
seeyourhead_jiejie
16-12-2008, 08:24 PM
hello iron pu ssy :s13:
seeyourhead_jiejie
11-12-2009, 08:40 PM
Hi how much is the hua wei retailing.
:look::look::look:
this ish a 1yr old thread..
racerguy
11-12-2009, 08:45 PM
:look::look::look:
this ish a 1yr old thread..
Opps i only saw the date after searching for the modem and posted here.
I yr later and the same model modem still being used. :look:
divine315
16-12-2009, 03:00 PM
no wonder cannot see any promo
mosmos
07-01-2010, 01:09 PM
http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/WHS/Sale/scan0001-2.jpg
suryabhaskar
10-01-2010, 02:55 AM
I have a broad band on mobile connection with balance period 11 months. Currently I am paying 24.40. Speed 2Mbps per month and 50GB Per month limit.
Total payable for 11 months 268.4
I will pay you $100
Balance you will Pay 168
Average per month : $15 per month
what is the benefit for you :
1) Contract period will be over with in 11 months - you are free at the earliest time
2) $100 free money immediately
3) Mint condition wireless USB modem with CD, Cable etc
4) Absolute lower rental per month than the new offered by Singtel
if you are interested, you have come down to Somerset MRT in any week days.
Keep SMS 83583053
surya
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.