PDA

View Full Version : Unbeatable Singtel Mobile Broadband Festive Bundle! Sign 12 mth FREE 6 Mth!

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7

undiscern
12-12-2007, 01:40 PM
Check out the latest offering!

Sign 12 mth, free 6 mths. Free data sim card, free registration, free monthly $5 multisim fee, free USB/PCMCIA modem!

Effectively about $11 per month! and its 50GB cap per month!

kitaeshi
12-12-2007, 01:53 PM
wow cheap... can use as home broadband?

AeroSix
12-12-2007, 02:01 PM
Check out the latest offering!

Sign 12 mth, free 6 mths. Free data sim card, free registration, free monthly $5 multisim fee, free USB/PCMCIA modem!

Effectively about $11 per month! and its 50GB cap per month!

Where did u see it from?didnt see the above mentioned offer on the smbb site. thanks.

seowbin
12-12-2007, 02:28 PM
non singtel custoemr got such offer also? :D

undiscern
12-12-2007, 02:32 PM
http://home.singtel.com/bbmobile/HS_price.htm

Apparently just started on 11 Dec! I went down to sign, thinking the Christmas bundle is very cheap liao (free 3mths, singnet 30% off, but need to pay sim card and registration fee). Then was told this new promotion. So cheap! I use it as a home broadband.

Of course for people needing faster access and multiple usage, SNBB is still useful. But if you are the only single user in your household, then this MBB is unbeatable! Of course things may change at the end of contract, but heck care, lets enjoy it for 1 yr and see wats in store after the contract.

hq83
12-12-2007, 02:33 PM
non singtel custoemr got such offer also? :D
should be for everyone..

hq83
12-12-2007, 02:33 PM
http://img412.imageshack.us/img412/3719/bbomkx6.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

undiscern
12-12-2007, 02:35 PM
non singtel custoemr got such offer also? :D I think so. Because they will issue a new sim card and you will sign a contract. It has nothing to do with your mobile phone line. Think of it as signing a new mobile line, everyone is welcome. but that is what I think, no harm going down to check.

btw connection is pretty smooth, and no hick up yet. Huawei network selection is auto-switching between WCDMA and HSPDA but no disruption to surfing.

hq83
12-12-2007, 02:37 PM
look like now theres no more 30% off for singnet/mio subscriber already..

undiscern
12-12-2007, 02:40 PM
look like now theres no more 30% off for singnet/mio subscriber already..
Yup, but this new offering is a much better deal than the 30% off promo.

I read some where that people queue up 5 hrs at Taka singtel fair last weekend for the MBB with free data sim card... poor thing...

dk2000
12-12-2007, 03:00 PM
should i get this for wireless surfing on my laptop?

huige
12-12-2007, 03:21 PM
is there anyway to monitor the usage so that we will not over the limit of 50G /mth?

gundamz
12-12-2007, 03:46 PM
Yup, but this new offering is a much better deal than the 30% off promo.

I read some where that people queue up 5 hrs at Taka singtel fair last weekend for the MBB with free data sim card... poor thing...

weekend leh! of course it is crowded.

=:p

I waited at another hello shop in the west for about 1 hour ++ though.. next time i dun want go sign up thing during weekend again.. SO CROWDED! freaking long queue!

Lucky, this offer come at the right time.. i was planning to go for 30% discount plan..

CubeFX
12-12-2007, 03:47 PM
is there anyway to monitor the usage so that we will not over the limit of 50G /mth?

previously singtel said they will come up with this kinda utility but not sure if it's ready..

i only know M1 one confirm have.. although they have unlimited usage now.

l2008l
12-12-2007, 04:04 PM
chiu can also call dem

http://home.singtel.com/bbmobile/HS_contact.htm

huige
12-12-2007, 04:05 PM
previously singtel said they will come up with this kinda utility but not sure if it's ready..

i only know M1 one confirm have.. although they have unlimited usage now.

does they use the same modem? probably can use M1's software to monitor :> or there may be 3rd party software to monitor?

Tempted to signup right now, but wondering which of the three I should take up. No where to feel the speed difference leh. btw, is it comparable in terms of downloading as compare to normal bb?

VickyToh
12-12-2007, 05:01 PM
Yes. I can testify that "undiscern"'s info given is correct. I've just signed up few days back.

Mine was 512Kbps at $11/- per month effectively. I'll be billed every alternate month. But take note that when the 12 months contract period is over, I have to pay $22/- plus $5/- each month. Checked with CSO that cencellation is 3 days in advance, so got to make it a point to remember cancellation date.....

My 512kbps is being used as secondary BBom service, speed wise cannot compare with my existing SHMM unlimited..... Also please note that Singnet BBom 512kbps is NOT your regular ADSL 512kbps, its much slower...... but good enough for light surfing and emails, etc. Otherwise you'll have to subscribe for higher speed service..... and pay more too!

lightchaser
12-12-2007, 05:14 PM
is the Singtel 512 plan fast enuff ? I am on the M1 512 plan...very slow leh

seowbin
12-12-2007, 05:19 PM
anyone know if i go sign up now will get everything bo? :D

will return my m1 bb later den sign up singtel one again :s13:

Desmond_
12-12-2007, 05:21 PM
wah lau... damn cheap sia..

undiscern
12-12-2007, 05:41 PM
does they use the same modem? probably can use M1's software to monitor :> or there may be 3rd party software to monitor?

Tempted to signup right now, but wondering which of the three I should take up. No where to feel the speed difference leh. btw, is it comparable in terms of downloading as compare to normal bb?

The Huawei E220 modem comes embedded with the auto installation programme; Mobile Partner

This utility allows you to connect/disconnect, send sms and most importantly, monitor data usage (daily, monthly & yearly, can be reset) and show transfer speed (upload and download).
http://img440.imageshack.us/img440/2972/mobilepartnerfj7.jpg

undiscern
12-12-2007, 05:44 PM
is the Singtel 512 plan fast enuff ? I am on the M1 512 plan...very slow leh

In layman terms, it took 4 sec (from the point I click on QUOTE till the Reply to Thread Message box) to load the Reply page for me to enter the message.

I would say it is reasonably fast. Of course it depends on your area and time too.

huige
12-12-2007, 05:46 PM
The Huawei E220 modem comes embedded with the auto installation programme; Mobile Partner

This utility allows you to connect/disconnect, send sms and most importantly, monitor data usage (daily, monthly & yearly, can be reset) and show transfer speed (upload and download).

Yes, I just verify this too in Hello Shop. The Huawei software can let you track usage (good!), there is connection of 3.6 Mbps for testing in Hello shop, speed is quite ok.

undiscern
12-12-2007, 06:02 PM
Yes. I can testify that "undiscern"'s info given is correct. I've just signed up few days back.

Mine was 512Kbps at $11/- per month effectively. I'll be billed every alternate month. But take note that when the 12 months contract period is over, I have to pay $22/- plus $5/- each month. Checked with CSO that cencellation is 3 days in advance, so got to make it a point to remember cancellation date.....

My 512kbps is being used as secondary BBom service, speed wise cannot compare with my existing SHMM unlimited..... Also please note that Singnet BBom 512kbps is NOT your regular ADSL 512kbps, its much slower...... but good enough for light surfing and emails, etc. Otherwise you'll have to subscribe for higher speed service..... and pay more too!
Well, we can only hope that by the end of our contract, there will be new promotion to encourage us to recontract.:)

Personally I would think that price should drop as technology improves and market share grows.

ware_hard
12-12-2007, 09:00 PM
Bro, please PM me if your decided to sign up and opt for $100 phone voucher. I'll pay $150 for the USB Modem. :look:

micromousez
12-12-2007, 09:04 PM
E speed is abit slow la... So recommended for light surfing only... I sign up for e 512 plan...

DingJie
12-12-2007, 09:06 PM
how come is 11 dollar? for 50gb is 22 and above rite?

seowbin
12-12-2007, 09:37 PM
where u all sign up?

i went to queue at tamp just now... the usb version out of stock... WTF?!

make me if go onsite, must ask customer for internet access liao for the time being as i cancel my m1 bb liao... :sad:

gundamz
12-12-2007, 11:04 PM
where u all sign up?

make me if go onsite, must ask customer for internet access liao for the time being as i cancel my m1 bb liao... :sad:

WA! i find usb version is better since i can plug to any computer..
Try go to other hello shop and try.. maybe call up first ..

pci card can only be use with laptop.. :s16:

undiscern
12-12-2007, 11:27 PM
how come is 11 dollar? for 50gb is 22 and above rite?
$22 * 6 (pay 6 mths in a yr) / 12 = $11 plus monthly for the whole year.

undiscern
12-12-2007, 11:31 PM
where u all sign up?

Go to the HQ. Hello shop at Comcenter.

seowbin
12-12-2007, 11:31 PM
confirm have arh? :D

fcsega
12-12-2007, 11:39 PM
just now about 8pm i also went happily to compass point Hello! shop to sign up for the 512 plan but was told by the CSO that whole of singapore singtel shop got no stock for the usb device. Only left with PCMCIA. Luckily haven't cancel my M1 BB. Good stuffs dun LAST!!!

seowbin
12-12-2007, 11:41 PM
sucks man :(

wasted :sad:

gundamz
12-12-2007, 11:44 PM
just now about 8pm i also went happily to compass point Hello! shop to sign up for the 512 plan but was told by the CSO that whole of singapore singtel shop got no stock for the usb device. Only left with PCMCIA. Luckily haven't cancel my M1 BB. Good stuffs dun LAST!!!

sure or not!
I think they must be selling like hotcake since last weekend..

fcsega
13-12-2007, 12:06 AM
sure or not!
I think they must be selling like hotcake since last weekend..

thats what the CSO told me at the counter. I even ask can sign the plan and get the device when the stock come? He says cannot. Too bad my laptop do not have pcmcia slot if not will get that.

undiscern
13-12-2007, 12:07 AM
confirm have arh? :D
Me went there (comcenter) on 11 dec. Got stock ... not sure abt today.

FireHobbit
13-12-2007, 01:05 AM
Just now went shopping at west mall at ard 9pm.. they like still got stock based on what i see over the counter..

seem like the responce is like when at comex the starhub maxmobile promo of sign 2 yr get one year free the one year is 50 % off.. http://img246.imageshack.us/img246/8399/thumbsup4kk.gif

liangtam
13-12-2007, 02:23 AM
I'm interested in e220 :o
Wonder if it will extend

bevios
13-12-2007, 04:05 PM
izzit really $11 per month nia?? coz i checked it seems like there is another $5 charges every month for the 3g data plan...so the existing user can share with us how much does it cost actually per month?

n95crazy
13-12-2007, 04:31 PM
you call this unbeatable???
what a lousy promotion!

FireHobbit
13-12-2007, 04:52 PM
what a lousy promotion!

what promo is good for u?:s12::s12:

undiscern
13-12-2007, 05:14 PM
After using for a few days, I would say that it is faster than dialup but can't really replace traditional broadband yet. Good for light and mobile surfing. anyway, only $11, what the heck :)

liangtam
13-12-2007, 09:07 PM
what a lousy promotion!

So free 512k, modem, sim card without contract is a good promo?
You go fly kite la. :s22:

nicholaslee
13-12-2007, 09:11 PM
hi can someone enlighten me on this question.

I understand this can be used in compatible mobile phone right? which means the card should also have a "line" within right?

if i have starhub line and want to use this on my phone possible? :s11:

n95crazy
13-12-2007, 09:33 PM
So free 512k, modem, sim card without contract is a good promo?
You go fly kite la. :s22:

how about free creative zen vision M 30gb, free huawei modem
2 yrs contract, 50% off 1st year, 100% off 2nd year.

if this promotion is any good, i will really go fly kite

liangtam
13-12-2007, 09:50 PM
how about free creative zen vision M 30gb, free huawei modem
2 yrs contract, 50% off 1st year, 100% off 2nd year.

if this promotion is any good, i will really go fly kite

hello!? the above u refer, esp 50% only applies to existing MOL user. And even the creative zen i heard has a limit of 10 units per day for comex

undiscern
13-12-2007, 10:41 PM

I understand this can be used in compatible mobile phone right? which means the card should also have a "line" within right?

The card is like a normal sim card, except it is dedicated for data. U can use it on 3g mobile phone to surf the net (e-Ideas internet). alternatively, U can view Huawei modem as a 3.5G phone without voice feature. The free bundle usage (login account) is tied to the sim card, not the device used.

n95crazy
14-12-2007, 01:08 AM
hello!? the above u refer, esp 50% only applies to existing MOL user. And even the creative zen i heard has a limit of 10 units per day for comex

it was 100 per day for 3 days. i'm already a MOL user so that promotion was unbeatable
this current singtel mobile promotion is lousy!

go fly kite!

liangtam
14-12-2007, 02:42 AM
it was 100 per day for 3 days. i'm already a MOL user so that promotion was unbeatable
this current singtel mobile promotion is lousy!

go fly kite!

For the cheapest and basic usage with:

ST BBoM, pay $134.52 and can terminate already, somemore ish 1 yr contract with 6 months included.

SH MM, need pay $436.56 for a yr then can claim another free yr of usage.

With the amount, good enough to buy other brand of MP3 player u like than creative and still some money spare when mobile bb was not download on the go in mind.

PS: Any light user will find maxmobile promo crap instead. Besides, habe you exceeded 50GB yet?

quekky
14-12-2007, 07:26 AM
how come the picture say promo ends 14 Dec but the website says 31 Dec?

hq83
14-12-2007, 08:21 AM
mayb extend liao lor..
last time only under the hot deals..
which is the picture..
the website dun haf this..
until few days ago then they put it into the website..

leinad
14-12-2007, 09:33 AM
jeRrRKKKK spotted. Banned yet back. :s22:

/Dan

n95crazy
14-12-2007, 11:18 AM
For the cheapest and basic usage with:

ST BBoM, pay $134.52 and can terminate already, somemore ish 1 yr contract with 6 months included.

SH MM, need pay $436.56 for a yr then can claim another free yr of usage.

With the amount, good enough to buy other brand of MP3 player u like than creative and still some money spare when mobile bb was not download on the go in mind.

PS: Any light user will find maxmobile promo crap instead. Besides, habe you exceeded 50GB yet?

dunno how you do your maths.
$36 x 12 = 432
creative zen - $200
huawei e270(more advanced model) - $350
total cost of freebies: $550
freebies less subsription: $550 - $432 = -$118
this is not even counting the 2nd yr free subscription.

btw, i used 72gigs the last mth. i have a laptop at home that is 24/7 connected to bt and mmobile can support 20 torrents at 1 go without problems.

i won't want to be worried about having to check my data counter everyday and worry what happens if i receive a $2000 bill. as wat people have received. check newspapers for more information.

alfred_62
14-12-2007, 11:30 AM
I am a happy user of ST BBoM
Signed up for the $38
Very responsive
Lucky I didn't sign up for max mobile even though I am a subscribe.
~~~~~

hirokoboi
14-12-2007, 11:31 AM
dunno how you do your maths.
$36 x 12 = 432
creative zen - $200
huawei e270(more advanced model) - $350
total cost of freebies: $550
freebies less subsription: $550 - $432 = -$118
this is not even counting the 2nd yr free subscription.

btw, i used 72gigs the last mth. i have a laptop at home that is 24/7 connected to bt and mmobile can support 20 torrents at 1 go without problems.

i won't want to be worried about having to check my data counter everyday and worry what happens if i receive a $2000 bill. as wat people have received. check newspapers for more information.

If at home i would rather use my mol ultimate or snbb 10mbps to download liao.

SHMM or STBOB is meant for mostly on the go surfing...

liangtam
14-12-2007, 01:47 PM

Haha, caught you lying!! Maxmobile does not allow incoming port, this will reduce the number of TCP connection established. Furthermore, downloading from MapleSEA torrent, cannot even exceed 10kb unlike where you do it with a fixed line bb reaching 1MB/s is possible.

billa13
14-12-2007, 01:51 PM
it seems that 1 of my friends on SMBB, singtel is giving a 6mth free extension for NOTHING.. which i didnt recieve.. neither i am on contract..

wonder any current SMBB subscriber receive that too? cos it will be good if i could get that free 6 mth too..

gundamz
14-12-2007, 02:35 PM
it seems that 1 of my friends on SMBB, singtel is giving a 6mth free extension for NOTHING.. which i didnt recieve.. neither i am on contract..

wonder any current SMBB subscriber receive that too? cos it will be good if i could get that free 6 mth too..

The promotion apply for new subscriber only..

You may had miss out this promotion..

billa13
14-12-2007, 03:52 PM
The promotion apply for new subscriber only..

You may had miss out this promotion..

do u get my understandin wrong?

i)the user is existing singnet bbom
ii)receive sms on 6mth free (for no cost at all out of nowhere the sms came)

so r u sure on the basis on ur quote? cos the user is totally on different citeria as u claim. so it might be different promotion/target overall.

guile
14-12-2007, 04:46 PM
Bad news for those who wants the USB modem. It's out of stock. The next stock will come in Jan only which is after the promotional period.
I just called 1626 asking whether it's possible to sign up now and reserve and collect the USB modem later when it's available but they said it's not possible that's why they offering you to choose from 2 devices.

Haiz, wasted a good deal.

liangtam
14-12-2007, 04:55 PM

Where did u saw it? The website still wrote 14 dec.
Just went down hell-o shop, they refuse let me sign up with my existing line oso.

hq83
14-12-2007, 05:24 PM
Just went down hell-o shop, they refuse let me sign up with my existing line oso.

Festive Bundle Promotion: Applicable to all 3G postpaid customers. Promotion ends 31 Dec 2007. Free 6 months' subscription fee (applicable on 2nd/4th/6th/8th/10th/12th month) is applicable for a minimum 12-month Broadband on Mobile (512/1800/3600) plan only. Standard monthly subscription fee for the individual service plan will apply on 1st/3rd/5th/7th/9th/11th month. Free SingTel-Huawei USB modem or Sony Ericsson PCMCIA card or $100 handset discount and free Data SIM card are applicable for 12 months’ BroadBand on Mobile (512/1800/3600) plans. Not applicable with any other BroadBand on Mobile promotions. $100 handset discount is subject to penalty for early termination. Not applicable for $0 phone offers and purchases at singtelshop.com.

http://home.singtel.com/bbmobile/HS_pptnc.htm

joo_ng
14-12-2007, 10:06 PM

Niaoson
14-12-2007, 10:11 PM

they will issue u one more sim card to swap when u want to use singtel bbom. but i think very leche.

why not u consider switching over to singtel? so that next year when i join starhub have one less user to fight with :D

noobified
14-12-2007, 10:43 PM
Got the DATA SIM does it mean if i got 2 hp.. i can use one for surfing net and another one for incoming/outgoing calls?

n95crazy
14-12-2007, 10:47 PM
Haha, caught you lying!! Maxmobile does not allow incoming port, this will reduce the number of TCP connection established. Furthermore, downloading from MapleSEA torrent, cannot even exceed 10kb unlike where you do it with a fixed line bb reaching 1MB/s is possible.

MMobile is so much better than using MOL to BT. i guess maybe STMOB doesn't allow incoming port but MMobile can. go home i screenshot for you to see.

liangtam
14-12-2007, 10:54 PM
MMobile is so much better than using MOL to BT. i guess maybe STMOB doesn't allow incoming port but MMobile can. go home i screenshot for you to see.

No need, you need me to even take peekture for you to see that i have a e270 with me printed with starfug logo not?

liangtam
14-12-2007, 10:54 PM

You got the SE pcmcia ?

seowbin
15-12-2007, 01:35 AM
can sign up the plan den get device later bo

last time for m1 i did that

Visitor
15-12-2007, 02:22 AM
WTF, i signed during their taka roadshow recently, only free 2mths... NOW FREE 6MTHS?! WTF...

*jump*

liangtam
15-12-2007, 02:35 AM
WTF, i signed during their taka roadshow recently, only free 2mths... NOW FREE 6MTHS?! WTF...

*jump*

No what, u shld be happy that you're on virgin theory what?? :crazy:

Visitor
15-12-2007, 02:39 AM
No what, u shld be happy that you're on virgin theory what?? :crazy:

hi, i understand what chiu mean. but this account is shared by a group of people. and i just happened to be the smarter one :D

PatchAdam
15-12-2007, 02:47 AM

*jump*

i also signed during the 2 mths...

but hey surprise surprise...yest i received one sms from singtel
saying my plan has been upgraded...
meaning....
first 2 mths free....
subsequently i have to pay one mth free one mth....

meaning i only pay for 5 mths instead of 10
:D
singtel rox

Visitor
15-12-2007, 02:55 AM
i also signed during the 2 mths...

but hey surprise surprise...yest i received one sms from singtel
saying my plan has been upgraded...
meaning....
first 2 mths free....
subsequently i have to pay one mth free one mth....

meaning i only pay for 5 mths instead of 10
:D
singtel rox

how come so good one? r u singnet bb or miotv subscriber?

noobified
15-12-2007, 08:59 AM
Can put the data SIM inside hp anot ar.. can it work?

leinad
15-12-2007, 09:04 AM
Can put the data SIM inside hp anot ar.. can it work?
Yes. For Data only. No voice.

/Dan

joo_ng
15-12-2007, 09:50 AM
You got the SE pcmcia ?

yes. prefer this to Huawei which i also have thru M1 which I returning next week.

PCMCIA card flush in neatly and firmly to Laptop with no need to fix and dismantle to transport your notebook, unlike Huawei. Unless one intent to use for desktop too.

PatchAdam
15-12-2007, 11:42 AM
how come so good one? r u singnet bb or miotv subscriber?

i am nt a sub of singtel....
nt on singnet bb or miotv...
u go chk ur smses
maybe u will get it too..:)

maybe cos i used my fren's VIP card to register ba
but i doubt tat matters

PatchAdam
15-12-2007, 11:46 AM
yes. prefer this to Huawei which i also have thru M1 which I returning next week.

PCMCIA card flush in neatly and firmly to Laptop with no need to fix and dismantle to transport your notebook, unlike Huawei. Unless one intent to use for desktop too.

planning to get hsdpa sim card readable laptop next time...so no issue....:P

anyway i gt the usb modem too....

zapp!
15-12-2007, 11:23 PM
sigh too late to hop into the deal called up 1626 no stock left so they claimed...

liangtam
15-12-2007, 11:34 PM
sigh too late to hop into the deal called up 1626 no stock left so they claimed...

You must go down SingTel shop and sign ur name in a piece of paper that they'll give u, but not sure they will still allow not.

zapp!
15-12-2007, 11:48 PM
hmm guess i will try that. Worth a shot lol...

Visitor
16-12-2007, 04:22 AM
i am nt a sub of singtel....
nt on singnet bb or miotv...
u go chk ur smses
maybe u will get it too..:)

maybe cos i used my fren's VIP card to register ba
but i doubt tat matters

ok noted. thanks :)

anyone else here oso got the free upgrade?

liangtam
16-12-2007, 03:41 PM

Errm, you on multiSIM with your existing line not? They gotch ask u pay $5 each month for additional SIM?

liangtam
16-12-2007, 04:43 PM
Anyone wans a black in colour e220 in exchange for a white color notch?
I ish habe fetish with white-in-color :o

http://www.gmeow.com/blacke220.jpg

Niaoson
16-12-2007, 05:46 PM
so the S$5 is for multisim?

AsteroidS
17-12-2007, 05:53 AM
not sure...

thiamhui
17-12-2007, 06:40 AM
so the S$5 is for multisim?
Yes... $5.35 per month...

http://home.singtel.com/consumer/products/mobile/value_added_services/multisim_overview.asp

liangtam
17-12-2007, 09:37 AM
Too bad multiSIM ish not waived in this promo :o

seowbin
17-12-2007, 09:49 AM
wavied for the new sim card very good liao leh :D

leinad
17-12-2007, 10:07 AM
I chose not to take the new SIM Card. Didn't want to pay $5+ every month for multi-sim, yet.

Using my D810 as the modem and as a surfing device for my MBP.

/Dan

liangtam
17-12-2007, 07:59 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/212857562.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
:s34:

The signal reported by the e220 ish bad while my phone says gd reh :o

vanilor
18-12-2007, 12:06 AM
I chose not to take the new SIM Card. Didn't want to pay $5+ every month for multi-sim, yet.

Using my D810 as the modem and as a surfing device for my MBP.

/Dan

u mean have to pay extra $5 every mth for the new data sim card, that is to be put in either the pcmcia or usb modem?

liangtam
18-12-2007, 12:50 AM
u mean have to pay extra $5 every mth for the new data sim card, that is to be put in either the pcmcia or usb modem?

Yes, if u wan the ability to use the BBoM plan on either ur handphone or 3.5G modem at any one time.

Kelvin0217
18-12-2007, 09:05 AM
Only applicable if you are using the same mobile number. If you take a new number, then don't have to pay extra $5 monthly.

SquallLH
18-12-2007, 11:08 AM
Yes, if u wan the ability to use the BBoM plan on either ur handphone or 3.5G modem at any one time.

Only applicable if you are using the same mobile number. If you take a new number, then don't have to pay extra $5 monthly.

Contradicting statements here...

spyder79
18-12-2007, 11:09 AM
so now everywhere is out of stock for the huawei modem ???

Niaoson
18-12-2007, 11:10 AM
okay should be liddat. S$5 is for multisim which means u have a singtel mobile line and you get another sim card linked to your line dedicated to surfing.

Vulpix
18-12-2007, 11:10 AM
When are they getting stock for the PCMCIA card man... Still waiting for it...

liangtam
18-12-2007, 12:22 PM

Where got contradicting? read and intepret carefully.

liangtam
18-12-2007, 12:23 PM

I went sun they still have quite a few SE PCMCIA card

alfred_62
18-12-2007, 12:26 PM
should still have the pcmcia card.
can go to amk singtel shop to subscribe.

SquallLH
18-12-2007, 12:42 PM

Hmm... you said there's a need to pay additional $5 every month as long as you're getting the new sim card.
Kelvin0217 said there's no need to pay the $5 if you're getting a new sim card.

Sounds contradicting to me no?

But currently for me, the $5 charge for the 3G Supplementary plan is on my receipt...
I believe this is the charge you're talking about?
It appears I'll be paying around ~16 instead of ~12 bucks every month instead. Sales guy didn't brief me about this charge either... :s27:

Cheers

SquallLH
18-12-2007, 12:45 PM

Don't mind trading my 5 day old pcmcia card with you if you get the usb modem from huawei.
The pcmcia card doesn't have any drivers in linux yet... so total millage on that card is like 2 hrs max.

pm me if you're interested?

Cheers

liangtam
18-12-2007, 12:46 PM
Hmm... you said there's a need to pay additional $5 every month as long as you're getting the new sim card.

But currently for me, the $5 charge for the 3G Supplementary plan is on my receipt...
It appears I'll be paying around ~16 instead of ~12 bucks every month instead. Sales guy didn't brief me about this charge either... :s27:

Cheers

Pls READ my post carefully. I said I tied both my hp voice/sms and data plan together. This means I use the same number for both the SIM card, and thus liable to a charge of multiSIM $5 per month. Where got contradict each other statement?

SquallLH
18-12-2007, 12:57 PM
Pls READ my post carefully. I said I tied both my hp voice/sms and data plan together. This means I use the same number for both the SIM card, and thus liable to a charge of multiSIM $5 per month. Where got contradict each other statement?

Relax, don't get so agitated.
I'm just saying Kelvin's statement doesn't tally with yours, I'm not saying you're wrong in your post...

So in your bill, the $5 charge is labelled as "multiSIM" charge?

I didn't tie my hpp voice/sms and data plan together and got a new data sim card.
However, I have a $5 charge for "3G Supplementary Data Priceplan", do you have this charge in your bill statement?

liangtam
18-12-2007, 01:11 PM
I'm just saying Kelvin's statement doesn't tally with yours, I'm not saying you're wrong in your post...

I didn't tie my hpp voice/sms and data plan together and got a new data sim card.
However, I have a $5 charge for "3G Supplementary Data Priceplan", do you have this charge in your bill statement?

If u get both to be seperate, then u are actually not required to pay for it. You on this new 6 mth festive promo or?

PS: My bill have NOT come yet.

SquallLH
18-12-2007, 01:12 PM
If u get both to be seperate, then u are actually not required to pay for it. You on this new 6 mth festive promo or?

Yup, am on the new 6 mths promo.
I'm mulling over this charge, called up Singtel but they're not sure either themselves...

undiscern
18-12-2007, 02:05 PM
I'm mulling over this charge, called up Singtel but they're not sure either themselves...
according to the salesman, the $5 should be waived for 1 yr if your data sim card is an entirely new number, meaning nothing to do at all with ur current hp line.

SquallLH
18-12-2007, 03:54 PM
Hi undiscern,

Well... He didn't tell me anything in regards to this matter...
I just saw it on the Service agreement later when the cashier printed it out...

I'll talk to singnet's cso again and we'll see how...

Vulpix
18-12-2007, 05:21 PM
I called Singtel already, there is no stock for the PCMCIA card islandwide... :(

liangtam
18-12-2007, 05:54 PM
I called Singtel already, there is no stock for the PCMCIA card islandwide... :(

1626 not 100% accurate one, u must go down hell-o shop urself one.
If that branch rly dun habe, then they will ask u to fill your name and reserve a set for u when stock does arrive. Else, rush for the usb modem.

Vulpix
18-12-2007, 06:17 PM
I want to try Ang Mo Kio but I don't want to waste a trip, travel all the way there for nothing... If someone here lives near AMK can check for me I will rush down tomorrow first thing in the morning.

naxchua
18-12-2007, 06:22 PM

I checked with 1626 last week, i was told Hello Compasspoint got stock leh....

Vulpix
18-12-2007, 06:30 PM
I checked with 1626 last week, i was told Hello Compasspoint got stock leh....

Bro yours is last week ler... I called today... :(

naxchua
18-12-2007, 06:46 PM
Bro yours is last week ler... I called today... :(

hehehe... so sorry... i think got to wait lor... :(

Vulpix
18-12-2007, 10:15 PM
Eh the Sonyericsson PC300 card doesn't support Vista is it? From the URL of the PC300 card (http://www.sonyericsson.com/cws/products/pccards/overview/pc300?cc=sg&lc=en), it looks like Vista in the list. Anyone can confirm if it works?

SquallLH
18-12-2007, 10:28 PM
Hmm... the quick start guide that comes with the pcmcia card says it supports vista 32/64 bit OS.
The wireless manager version on the PC300 page is slightly newer than the one provided on the cd.

Cheers

alfred_62
18-12-2007, 11:58 PM
i got from amk hello shop~

leinad
19-12-2007, 12:21 AM

Cheers

Hi undiscern,

Well... He didn't tell me anything in regards to this matter...
I just saw it on the Service agreement later when the cashier printed it out...

I'll talk to singnet's cso again and we'll see how...
Squall, nothing contradicting here... If you sign up for BBoM under the promo, you will get an entirely brand new data-only (ie, no voice) line for it, and the 50GB is exclusive to that new line. Should you surf data on your main voice line, you will be billed seperately (ie, the data you use on your main plan does not come from the "free 50GB" since they are technically 2 seperate lines and thus, 2 seperate accounts).

I wanted the ability to use that same 50GB on both my Huawei USB and my mobile (my Dopod D810), so that I could save money by "sharing" the alloted 50GB. I checked with 3 CSOs at 3 completely seperate branches (Comcentre, West Mall and Parkway Parade) and they all confirmed this independently. In fact, flapdoodle, a forumer who uses the BBoM service, also confirmed the same thing I was told.

Singtel offers us an alternative - that we subscribe to the Multi-SIM VAS - which means that all issued SIM cards are tied to the same billing account and same number (although only one can be used to receive phone calls at any one time - they call this one the master SIM and you can switch between all your SIM cards under that account). However, this service comes with a $5+GST monthly fee.

I might take up multi SIM, but only after I switch my broadband and mobile to MIO, and thus save some money in the process. But so far, using my D810 as a modem has generally worked well for my MBP.

I hope that makes it clear enough for you, and for everyone else who has the same doubts.

/Dan

SquallLH
19-12-2007, 08:21 PM
Squall, nothing contradicting here... If you sign up for BBoM under the promo, you will get an entirely brand new data-only (ie, no voice) line for it, and the 50GB is exclusive to that new line. Should you surf data on your main voice line, you will be billed seperately (ie, the data you use on your main plan does not come from the "free 50GB" since they are technically 2 seperate lines and thus, 2 seperate accounts).

I wanted the ability to use that same 50GB on both my Huawei USB and my mobile (my Dopod D810), so that I could save money by "sharing" the alloted 50GB. I checked with 3 CSOs at 3 completely seperate branches (Comcentre, West Mall and Parkway Parade) and they all confirmed this independently. In fact, flapdoodle, a forumer who uses the BBoM service, also confirmed the same thing I was told.

Singtel offers us an alternative - that we subscribe to the Multi-SIM VAS - which means that all issued SIM cards are tied to the same billing account and same number (although only one can be used to receive phone calls at any one time - they call this one the master SIM and you can switch between all your SIM cards under that account). However, this service comes with a $5+GST monthly fee.

I might take up multi SIM, but only after I switch my broadband and mobile to MIO, and thus save some money in the process. But so far, using my D810 as a modem has generally worked well for my MBP.

I hope that makes it clear enough for you, and for everyone else who has the same doubts.

/Dan

Thanks leinad for the long explaination hee.
I'll scan my Service Agreement say on Friday and post it up here.
Those who did not subscribe to multiSIM can take a look and let me know if they have this item in their Service Agreement.

Cheers

Quest
19-12-2007, 11:55 PM
anyone neo if the usb moderm stock has arrived??:s11::s11:

Epee
20-12-2007, 12:39 AM
Hmmm kinda confused now. So can I sign up this service, enjoy the 6 mths free promo, gets a free USB (or PCMCIA) modem, tie the service to my existing voice plan and pay $5 every month for MultiSIM?

I went to one of the reseller 2 weeks ago and was told this is strictly a standalone service and a new data only SIM card will be issued.

Regards,
JK

leoloe
20-12-2007, 01:07 AM
Eh the Sonyericsson PC300 card doesn't support Vista is it? From the URL of the PC300 card (http://www.sonyericsson.com/cws/products/pccards/overview/pc300?cc=sg&lc=en), it looks like Vista in the list. Anyone can confirm if it works?

Posting this from my lenovo T61p with vista business. no problems... using the pc300 with starhub maxmobile... hehe

liangtam
20-12-2007, 01:29 AM
Hmmm kinda confused now. So can I sign up this service, enjoy the 6 mths free promo, gets a free USB (or PCMCIA) modem, tie the service to my existing voice plan and pay $5 every month for MultiSIM?

I went to one of the reseller 2 weeks ago and was told this is strictly a standalone service and a new data only SIM card will be issued.

Regards,
JK

If you seperate voice and data, it will be as per normal pricing you pay for ur ham phone usage and the price of BBoM less 1 month every alternating week.

If you wan to be able to use bbom on both ur ham phone and the 3.5g modem, you can get multiSIM which ish $5 per month.

Hope this clarifies all the doubt and confusion again :)

liangtam
20-12-2007, 01:29 AM
anyone neo if the usb moderm stock has arrived??:s11::s11:

Told u all liao ma, go down hell-o shop and sign ur name and contact on it.
Even if the stocks does arrive, you'll not get it because you're not on the reserve list and they do not have enough incoming batch to supply.

procmail
20-12-2007, 05:53 AM
Told u all liao ma, go down hell-o shop and sign ur name and contact on it.
Even if the stocks does arrive, you'll not get it because you're not on the reserve list and they do not have enough incoming batch to supply.

Well, I signed such a slip, no one called me. But I passed by an outlet, asked if they had stocks (previously they said no), they said they have a few left. While stocks last, have to join the quite-long queue outside the shop, they said.

Epee
20-12-2007, 09:44 AM
If you seperate voice and data, it will be as per normal pricing you pay for ur ham phone usage and the price of BBoM less 1 month every alternating week.

If you wan to be able to use bbom on both ur ham phone and the 3.5g modem, you can get multiSIM which ish $5 per month.

Hope this clarifies all the doubt and confusion again :)

Yes, I know that :) But when I ask the shop, the fellow say cannot cannot combine. If I want to tag BBOM to my existing phone, it will be the usual 2 months free only, ie I do not get to enjoy the 6 months free + modem deal. This is where I'm confused :P

Is the deal still on? Maybe I try Singtel shop instead of a reseller :D

Regards,
JK

joo_ng
20-12-2007, 11:33 AM

i'm using the PC300 with Vista.

liangtam
20-12-2007, 01:13 PM
Yes, I know that :) But when I ask the shop, the fellow say cannot cannot combine. If I want to tag BBOM to my existing phone, it will be the usual 2 months free only, ie I do not get to enjoy the 6 months free + modem deal. This is where I'm confused :P

Is the deal still on? Maybe I try Singtel shop instead of a reseller :D

Regards,
JK

Don't go reseller shop la. Maybe they don't offer multiSIM, thus tell you cannot combine.

alfred_62
20-12-2007, 01:37 PM
i am also using this plan with vista.
amazin speeds~
very amazin speeds with this one~

xtrioxton
20-12-2007, 01:40 PM
i am also using this plan with vista.
amazin speeds~
very amazin speeds with this one~

amazing speed mean what?

u get the full 512 speed?

alfred_62
20-12-2007, 02:02 PM
amazing speed mean what?

u get the full 512 speed?
i using 1.8 mbps
can stream video
very responsive.

Vulpix
20-12-2007, 02:56 PM
Just got my HSDPA Huawei modem. Sorry, but not going to exchange. Gonna keep it instead.

Vulpix
20-12-2007, 08:10 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/213871938.png

Not too bad I guess?

Quest
20-12-2007, 11:36 PM
Just got my HSDPA Huawei modem. Sorry, but not going to exchange. Gonna keep it instead.

which hello shop u got it from?:s11:

benttw
21-12-2007, 10:07 PM
bro, check with you, are you using the USB Huawei or Sonyericsson PC300 ? I have two of them, why cos one for my gf.. I did a test and realise that at the bottom right near the window , normally will show our connection speed... When I plug in the huawei it shows 7.2mbps, but when i plug in the sonyericsson is shows me only 3.6mbps.. any bro out there care to comments which type you are using and what is your speed ?

undiscern
21-12-2007, 11:11 PM
Guys, just received my SIngtel bill.

Two issue, 1st is the wrong data count (see thread: http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1817369

2nd issue is the subscrition fee. from 15 Dec to 14 Jan, 512 plan promo is $18.xx ?? I thought is $22.xx and next month free?

liangtam
21-12-2007, 11:23 PM
Guys, just received my SIngtel bill.

Two issue, 1st is the wrong data count (see thread: http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1817369

2nd issue is the subscrition fee. from 15 Dec to 14 Jan, 512 plan promo is $18.xx ?? I thought is $22.xx and next month free?

Last time I use BBoM Value plan they oso bill me half-half(not 50/50%) for each alternating mth. Or maybe it applies only for first 2 mth :s11:

unwanted
21-12-2007, 11:41 PM
quick question.
i using o2 stealth, have a kohjinsha.

Can i use multisim and use on both service?
o2 stealth is not a 3g phone, can i still use the 50gb bandwidth

Niaoson
21-12-2007, 11:44 PM
yes u can. just that u won't get 3G speed

PatchAdam
22-12-2007, 12:02 AM
quick question.
i using o2 stealth, have a kohjinsha.

Can i use multisim and use on both service?
o2 stealth is not a 3g phone, can i still use the 50gb bandwidth

dont see why would u wanna do tat....
get the modem and surf on hsdpa...cfm faster

SquallLH
22-12-2007, 03:30 AM
bro, check with you, are you using the USB Huawei or Sonyericsson PC300 ? I have two of them, why cos one for my gf.. I did a test and realise that at the bottom right near the window , normally will show our connection speed... When I plug in the huawei it shows 7.2mbps, but when i plug in the sonyericsson is shows me only 3.6mbps.. any bro out there care to comments which type you are using and what is your speed ?

Basically, that wireless lan icon shows the maximum speed it can attain.

The pc300 card can only go up to 3.6mbps. Something like a hardware limit hence if you have a higher plan say starhub's 7.2mbps, I think it'll not be able to utilise all the 7.2 as it can only reach 3.6mbps. huawei's limit might be 7.2mbps, don't know cause I don't own one of those.

liangtam
22-12-2007, 09:11 AM
Basically, that wireless lan icon shows the maximum speed it can attain.

The pc300 card can only go up to 3.6mbps. Something like a hardware limit hence if you have a higher plan say starhub's 7.2mbps, I think it'll not be able to utilise all the 7.2 as it can only reach 3.6mbps. huawei's limit might be 7.2mbps, don't know cause I don't own one of those.

HuaWei e220 only supports 3.5G/HSDPA which is only 3.6mbps. Reporting value of 7.2 ish a bewilderment.

SquallLH
22-12-2007, 05:32 PM
I see... that's weird indeed then...

mosmos
22-12-2007, 07:14 PM
singtel pc card.

http://i16.tinypic.com/87lqvew.jpg

wrxykh
22-12-2007, 07:25 PM
Just sign up 1 today at taka Singtel.

The CSO said has many stock, she gave me te white color one, I like it.

Did not sign up for multisim, coz need to pay additional 1 time charge of 42 dollors to register your existing 3G mobile sim card.

bockers
22-12-2007, 08:50 PM

Did not sign up for multisim, coz need to pay additional 1 time charge of 42 dollors to register your existing 3G mobile sim card.
USB modem or PC card?

liangtam
22-12-2007, 09:26 PM

Gotch white-colour e220 liao ah?? :(

wrxykh
22-12-2007, 09:56 PM
USB modem or PC card?

USB modem, damn nice.

Can't use now, data sim will only be activated on Monday!

liangtam
22-12-2007, 10:08 PM
Moi ish vely sad now:sad:

xtrioxton
22-12-2007, 10:44 PM
USB modem or PC card?

is there a white color pc card? I guess she mean usb modem...

stephen8
23-12-2007, 12:35 PM
Too bad as told by the cso in commcentre u must be a singtel mobile line holder to subscribe for this BBOM promotion. I have to bring along my family member to subscribe again:s11:

djsadist
23-12-2007, 01:05 PM
Wah... Confuse ler... So USB modem or PC Card is better?

alfred_62
23-12-2007, 01:10 PM
Too bad as told by the cso in commcentre u must be a singtel mobile line holder to subscribe for this BBOM promotion. I have to bring along my family member to subscribe again:s11:
nope.
i am not a singtel subscriber
yet i can subscribe

stephen8
23-12-2007, 01:28 PM
nope.
i am not a singtel subscriber
yet i can subscribe

Info differ from each cso, wasted my trip to commcentre this morn. n $2.00 pk fee.:s8:

liangtam
23-12-2007, 01:41 PM
Seowbin oso signed without being a SingTel mobile user.

alfred_62
23-12-2007, 01:50 PM
Info differ from each cso, wasted my trip to commcentre this morn. n $2.00 pk fee.:s8:
thats where i got it from

stephen8
23-12-2007, 01:59 PM
thats where i got it from

Thanks brothers, how is 512 plan? just norm web surf and email. pc300 or usb moderm?

seowbin
23-12-2007, 02:00 PM
Seowbin oso signed without being a SingTel mobile user.
hehe.. how come my nick is being mention :D

ya... me not singtel mobile sub...

alfred_62
23-12-2007, 02:07 PM
Thanks brothers, how is 512 plan? just norm web surf and email. pc300 or usb moderm?
for normal sufring 512kb not bad
for watcing youtube etc~
subscribe 1.8mbps
solid ah~

pkchukiss
23-12-2007, 04:36 PM
Sometimes the CSOs may not be very well informed on their own products... I called when I wanted to upgrade my BBOM plan, and the nice lady explained to me the details... She told me that the data allowance was 10 GB (it is now 50 GB by the way), and that she would have to check to see if I would still get the loyalty discount (for existing SingNet users, there was a discount of 30% if you sign up for BBOM).

I have to give them the credit though, the CSOs are really quite nice, though you might have to ask them to escalate matters for you if they can't resolve it. A bit like telling them what to do, but when they themselves don't really know what to do, it is best to request them (politely of course) to escalate the issue for you.

I was also not an existing subscriber of STM when I signed up for the plans, so I don't see why anybody else cannot sign up too.

alfred_62
23-12-2007, 06:09 PM
Sometimes the CSOs may not be very well informed on their own products... I called when I wanted to upgrade my BBOM plan, and the nice lady explained to me the details... She told me that the data allowance was 10 GB (it is now 50 GB by the way), and that she would have to check to see if I would still get the loyalty discount (for existing SingNet users, there was a discount of 30% if you sign up for BBOM).

I have to give them the credit though, the CSOs are really quite nice, though you might have to ask them to escalate matters for you if they can't resolve it. A bit like telling them what to do, but when they themselves don't really know what to do, it is best to request them (politely of course) to escalate the issue for you.

I was also not an existing subscriber of STM when I signed up for the plans, so I don't see why anybody else cannot sign up too.
there was one time when i asked whether its vista,
they said, you have to check with the seller.
blur man

Unclemun
23-12-2007, 10:55 PM
USB modem, damn nice.

Can't use now, data sim will only be activated on Monday!

You will be surprised. Mine was activated within 6 hours. No harm checking earlier

fcsega
24-12-2007, 12:17 AM
sorry side-tracked a bit... anyone knows where can buy the right-angle connector for the usb device? used to have the connector when i signed with M1 BB. But seems like the modem thats comes with singtel package do not have this right-angle connector.

alvin81
24-12-2007, 12:34 AM
I went to the Hello! shop at Com Center this afternoon and signed up for the MOBB with the free HW USB Modem. I subscribed to the 1.8Mbps plan and I was also told that the service will take one working day to be activated. But I still tried my luck and I am able to connect successfully. I can even send sms to my own mobile phone (don't know why though).

The CSO that attended to me was not very sure of the product and the T&Cs. But all in all, the transaction went smoothly.

My speed test. Some pages loaded a lil slow though.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/214827889.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Btw, does this support Linux and Windows Vista?

sin77
24-12-2007, 12:47 AM
i am using the 512k...so far so good
i dont think i need tat high speed esp when its so ex.
just wondering, wats the upload speed for my 512k and also 1.8mbps plan

alvin81
24-12-2007, 12:56 AM

Cheers

I just realised that I have the above same charge on my Agreement Letter as well. The CSO also didn't brief on about this charge.

I told the CSO that I want a seperate SIM and mobile number. She even gave me a list of mobile number to choose from. Since mine is not a multi-sim service, why am I still required to pay $5 every month?

liangtam
24-12-2007, 02:04 AM
If the plan has not been updated into their system and you start using, good luck to you. Get ready to pay lots.

If the other SIM is a different number, of course u can SMS in lah.

alvin81
24-12-2007, 02:27 AM
If the plan has not been updated into their system and you start using, good luck to you. Get ready to pay lots.

If the other SIM is a different number, of course u can SMS in lah.

Haha... I really hope that they are efficient enough. But on the bright side, I only used bout 5mb max and after that I disconnected.

I did asked the CSO regarding SMS using the new data sim card. She shook her head and say cannot be used for SMS. So being curious, I tried sending a SMS using the Mobile Partner software to my other SingTel mobile line and walla! I was able to receive the SMS that I sent using the data only SIM card.

I also replied to the SMS using my mobile to the data SIM card and the data SIM was able to receive the SMS.

BTW, anyone got the answer to why there is a $5 monthly charge on my Sales Agreement? I am not using any multi-sim service. I opted for a new mobile number for my BBoM.

SquallLH
24-12-2007, 03:11 AM
so much discrepancies... typical of singtel I guess... I'll post a pic of my service agreement tomorrow of the 5 bucks charge...

sin77
24-12-2007, 07:48 AM
sorry side-tracked a bit... anyone knows where can buy the right-angle connector for the usb device? used to have the connector when i signed with M1 BB. But seems like the modem thats comes with singtel package do not have this right-angle connector.

same here .

liangtam
24-12-2007, 11:41 AM
I did asked the CSO regarding SMS using the new data sim card. She shook her head and say cannot be used for SMS. So being curious, I tried sending a SMS using the Mobile Partner software to my other SingTel mobile line and walla! I was able to receive the SMS that I sent using the data only SIM card.

I also replied to the SMS using my mobile to the data SIM card and the data SIM was able to receive the SMS.

Is can use, but you have to pay 5 cent per SMS sent, it cannot be deducted from your existing hp plan, because u got it seperate.

For multiSIM, cannot receive SMS on modem, but can send, and deductible from free SMS.

liangtam
24-12-2007, 11:42 AM

Gotch peekture?

fcsega
24-12-2007, 03:00 PM
Gotch peekture?

http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c37/fcsega07/IMAGE_090.jpg

here it goes

yenilim
24-12-2007, 04:53 PM
Just called Singtel again & was informed that there is still no stock of the Huawei modem
island wide. Been visiting afew hello shop as well over the weekend without luck:s11:
Wondering if there is any small resellers that might have a few of these modems?

Btw does it mean that by paying $5 I will be able to enjoy the 50gb on both my current Hp as well as on the new data only SIM?

Regards

fcsega
24-12-2007, 05:10 PM
Just called Singtel again & was informed that there is still no stock of the Huawei modem
island wide. Been visiting afew hello shop as well over the weekend without luck:s11:
Wondering if there is any small resellers that might have a few of these modems?

Btw does it mean that by paying $5 I will be able to enjoy the 50gb on both my current Hp as well as on the new data only SIM?

Regards

so fast?? thought they brought in a lot of stock. i signed mine with usb modem yesterday (23Dec) at about 8pm at hello! compass point.

sin77
24-12-2007, 05:23 PM

Regards

this is wat the singtel ppl told me.
every month extra $5, i can use on both my hp and laptop at the same time.
But they share under the same 50GB bundle.

wrxykh
24-12-2007, 08:47 PM

Regards

Today I've just accompanied my 2 friends to sign up @ Bugis Singtel, still have plenty of stocks...

wrxykh
24-12-2007, 08:53 PM
OK guys, about the charges, let me clear the air a bit...as I have just sign up on last Sat @ taka, and today I accompanied 2 friends to sign up @ Bugis...so here it goes :

1) About the $5 3G SIM Charges that shown on the invoices, it is there coz Singtel System can not accept $0 for this field. Both Singtel shops has explained that this will not be charged, so don't worry

2) If you are using multi sim, the data sim that comes with it will be free from registration fees etc etc...but your mobile sim will have to incurred 1 time charge for registration (around $42) and monthly charge of $5

3) Billing will be done every 2 months, around $22 buckaro..

4) Can send SMS from your data sim, each SMS cost 5 cents

Of course, i opt for not to pay additional one time charge and monthly charge, so I only get the data sim at ZERO cost.

That is all I knew, and I'm pretty sure that i'm correct as I am very careful about additional charges. But still...don't quote me yah...=:p

yenilim
24-12-2007, 11:07 PM
Today I've just accompanied my 2 friends to sign up @ Bugis Singtel, still have plenty of stocks...

Well, it seems that the Singtel CSO doesn't really know the actual stock status at all. Guess I will have to try my luck at bugis tmr. btw do u have the phone number to Bugis Singtel. Don't want to make a wasted trip all the way there.

liangtam
24-12-2007, 11:14 PM
Just received my bill. Charges seems correct :D

wrxykh
24-12-2007, 11:26 PM
Well, it seems that the Singtel CSO doesn't really know the actual stock status at all. Guess I will have to try my luck at bugis tmr. btw do u have the phone number to Bugis Singtel. Don't want to make a wasted trip all the way there.

Nope, individual Singtel shops don't have tel for cust to call. This was what I did!

Called the CSO, ask them to check whether Bugis has stock, they will note down your phone numbers and call you back. For today, the CSO called back within 2 min to inform me that Bugis has stocks. Very good service from the CSO.

cy
24-12-2007, 11:52 PM

Just sign up this morning at Comcentre, ask the CSO got Plenty of stock, both white and Black. Give Comcentre a shot:)

I took white cos not too obvious w finger prints :)

liangtam
24-12-2007, 11:57 PM
white!!!

I ish vely sad again :sad:

KOPS1974
25-12-2007, 02:09 PM
Hi Bros,

I am confused with the $ 5 thingy.
I signed a new phone line and subscribed to BBoM as VAS ( 1 SIM card).... my sales agreement never said $ 5.
So is there a $ 5 for the following:
1. 1 Number : 2 SIM cards
2. 2 Numbers : 2 SIM cards
3. 1 Number : 1 SIM card
4. ???

alvin81
25-12-2007, 05:29 PM

Regards

Hello! Shop at Com Center got stock leh... I signed up on 23 Dec 2007 around 1700 hours

alvin81
25-12-2007, 05:34 PM
white!!!

I ish vely sad again :sad:

I got the white one too! But sadly without the SingTel logo.... lol.... I would prefer white with SingTel logo.

alvin81
25-12-2007, 05:37 PM
Hi Bros,

I am confused with the $ 5 thingy.
I signed a new phone line and subscribed to BBoM as VAS ( 1 SIM card).... my sales agreement never said $ 5.
So is there a $ 5 for the following:
1. 1 Number : 2 SIM cards
2. 2 Numbers : 2 SIM cards
3. 1 Number : 1 SIM card
4. ???

Okok... I just called SingTel last evening to confirm about the $5 charge.

The $5 must be there for the transaction to pass.

IT WILL ONLY BE CHARGEABLE IF, you choose to have a multi-sim service.
When you subscribe, if they got ask you to choose a mobile number (totally new number) for your data plan only SIM card, then you can ignore about the $5.

Else, the $5 charge just treat it as "bai swee" only. Won't charge. BUT, the CSO told me to take note of the bill. If got charge, must call them so that they can rectify it.

fi5hbone
25-12-2007, 06:20 PM
Sigh still contemplating whether to sign up for it or not. Don't think i will really need it but the price seems too good to be true. What happens if you overuse the cap?

KOPS1974
25-12-2007, 09:11 PM
Pay lor, just like handphone bah...:s8:

Sigh still contemplating whether to sign up for it or not. Don't think i will really need it but the price seems too good to be true. What happens if you overuse the cap?

KOPS1974
25-12-2007, 09:13 PM
In short, 1 number for many SIM cards then got to pay....right...:s12:

Okok... I just called SingTel last evening to confirm about the $5 charge.

The $5 must be there for the transaction to pass.

IT WILL ONLY BE CHARGEABLE IF, you choose to have a multi-sim service.
When you subscribe, if they got ask you to choose a mobile number (totally new number) for your data plan only SIM card, then you can ignore about the $5.

Else, the $5 charge just treat it as "bai swee" only. Won't charge. BUT, the CSO told me to take note of the bill. If got charge, must call them so that they can rectify it.

Sp1der
26-12-2007, 07:57 PM

you be charge at SGD$1900 per GB and no maximum cap

i just sign up 512k plan recently

Mclairs83
26-12-2007, 09:34 PM
you be charge at SGD$1900 per GB and no maximum cap

i just sign up 512k plan recently

if its available tis weekend i go chiong liao. Will be using EEE PC soon..

dle4e_2005
26-12-2007, 09:41 PM
Singtel needs how many days to activate the 3G?
I sign up on Monday but the CSO in Hello shop told me that they need 3 working days to activate it.(Which means friday)

And how do I know if Singtel have activated it?

xtrioxton
26-12-2007, 09:58 PM
Singtel needs how many days to activate the 3G?
I sign up on Monday but the CSO in Hello shop told me that they need 3 working days to activate it.(Which means friday)

And how do I know if Singtel have activated it?

i think they fake us de. My one 5 hours like that activated le.

dle4e_2005
26-12-2007, 10:24 PM
i think they fake us de. My one 5 hours like that activated le.

How you check yours has been activated?

stephen8
26-12-2007, 10:57 PM
How you check yours has been activated?

If u had install the mobile partner, plug in the modem and u can see the dial-up ion is on full bar means activated:yawn: already.Just connect and surf. I subscribe this morn at amk, and less than 2 hours already on.

mcferrari
26-12-2007, 11:09 PM
Is this promotion still on? Plus the freebies? Thanks.

stephen8
26-12-2007, 11:23 PM
Is this promotion still on? Plus the freebies? Thanks.

Promotion with freebies on until 31 Dec 07. Got my white usb modem today.

dle4e_2005
26-12-2007, 11:31 PM
If u had install the mobile partner, plug in the modem and u can see the dial-up ion is on full bar means activated:yawn: already.Just connect and surf. I subscribe this morn at amk, and less than 2 hours already on.

Just called 1626 and the CSO comfirmed that mine has been activated.

Thanks alot.

liangtam
26-12-2007, 11:44 PM
Usually less than 1 working day. But pls do call in and confirm that your BBoM plan has been activated, not the SIM if getting new one(usually together though).

Do beware of pro-rated data transfer for the first month as well.

mcferrari
27-12-2007, 06:38 AM
Tempted to subscribe before 31 Dec...

Some question guys...

Can I surf anywhere in Singapore? Even at those ulu ulu place or

at those Singtel Wireless Zone only?

Planning to take the USB Huawei... Can use for Asus EeePc?...:s22:

liangtam
27-12-2007, 10:33 AM

Some question guys...

Everywhere la. Why bother subscribing if its only at Wireless hotspot zone.

nicholaslee
27-12-2007, 10:42 AM
ehh i'm so tempted to get it too! not singtel mobile subscriber can apply also right? will opt for the pci card instead..

mosmos
27-12-2007, 12:00 PM
ehh i'm so tempted to get it too! not singtel mobile subscriber can apply also right? will opt for the pci card instead..

:s11: got pci card meh?

no need to be singtel subscriber.

war3craft2003
27-12-2007, 01:05 PM

Some question guys...

As long as there is a phone network...not exactly everywhere... :)

Niaoson
27-12-2007, 01:53 PM
if u stay in jurong west try not to subscribe :D

sigh
27-12-2007, 03:58 PM
Just signed up with a Black Huawei E220. Simply loving it.
Home still using SNBB 3Mbps service. This one is for casual surfing.

Best is that office network blocked a lot of sites (including HWZ forum), now I simply disconnect from office network and use SNBOM to do surfing. :D

Question: Noticed that the connection is rated as 7.2Mbps. I thought Huawei e220 is only up to 3.6Mbps. And I signed up for only 512K plan. Why the discrepancy?

apengrg
27-12-2007, 04:28 PM
Why everyone prefer the White USB Modem over the Black Modem? Heard White one Faster is it?

madpandaz
27-12-2007, 05:04 PM
Question: Noticed that the connection is rated as 7.2Mbps. I thought Huawei e220 is only up to 3.6Mbps. And I signed up for only 512K plan. Why the discrepancy?

Usually your computer will show the max bandwidth of your network card can support, that mean the e220 support max up to 7.2Mbps.

use speedtest.net to check your bandwidth. I check mine and usually hover around 500-600 kbps (up) and 330-380 kbps (down)for my 512kbps BBOM plan.:yawn:

xtrioxton
27-12-2007, 05:21 PM
Usually your computer will show the max bandwidth of your network card can support, that mean the e220 support max up to 7.2Mbps.

use speedtest.net to check your bandwidth. I check mine and usually hover around 500-600 kbps (up) and 330-380 kbps (down)for my 512kbps BBOM plan.:yawn:

wow isnt that cool, usually isp wont give us extra, but this time round singtel really learn to treasure all it customers.

eugene_nyc82
27-12-2007, 05:34 PM
Anyone here using the ST BBoM 1800 plan? Can give some simple user review on how stable is the connection to youtube and oversea connection?
Best if you can perform some test at speedtest.net and post it here.

Thanks.

madpandaz
27-12-2007, 06:57 PM
my latest test.. sending now from a bus :)

http://www.speedtest.net/result/215799998.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

nicholaslee
27-12-2007, 06:59 PM
:s11: got pci card meh?

no need to be singtel subscriber.

sorry i meant the pcmcia for my lappy...

Quest
27-12-2007, 07:09 PM
Just signed up with a Black Huawei E220. Simply loving it.
Home still using SNBB 3Mbps service. This one is for casual surfing.

Best is that office network blocked a lot of sites (including HWZ forum), now I simply disconnect from office network and use SNBOM to do surfing. :D

y need to d/c office network? i surf net from SNBOM & check office email at the same time :D

anyway...SNBOM is much better then M1 :s8:

maxzone
27-12-2007, 07:51 PM
Do they loyalty discount (30%) still vaild for the promotion is the $100 discount given in the form of voucher or must buy on the spot ?

eugene_nyc82
27-12-2007, 08:56 PM

Hi madpandaz, are you on 512 plan or 1800 plan?

Maserati
27-12-2007, 09:09 PM
Signed up today and waited for 3 hrs :mad: very bad experience every time as ST may be listed CO but only have 10 Hell-0 shops. Worst still they have different queue nos 1000 series , 2000 series and 6000 series waiting there for my queue series takes of 6 nos difference takes 3hrs (from 4:30 to 7:30) even though the estimated time is 30+ mins lucky I don't have to queue to pay them $$ every mth otherwise I will be a :frus: ANy way it is over.

By the way if those ppl signed up for multi sim , if their hp sim is changed to "data" also that means they can used the data sim (pcmia or usb modem) to and also their hp to surf 3.5g simultaneously?

Maserati
27-12-2007, 09:11 PM
Do they loyalty discount (30%) still vaild for the promotion is the $100 discount given in the form of voucher or must buy on the spot ?

I think the 30% is old advertisement now is 50% refer to their website

thiamhui
27-12-2007, 09:37 PM
y need to d/c office network? i surf net from SNBOM & check office email at the same time :D
How you managed to do that???

My LAN can't work properly when my BBoM is online... Got to DC BBoM to check office e-mail...

xtrioxton
27-12-2007, 10:19 PM

if that is on 1800 plan, then it really not worth it liao.

xtrioxton
27-12-2007, 10:22 PM
anyway...SNBOM is much better then M1 :s8:

totally agree with u. however m1 is unlimited, whereas singtel still capped at 50gb. So whenever i surf or dl or play games, i still fear it will hit the 50gb target. So always do things with care haizzz. hope it will just get to unlimited soon.

sigh
27-12-2007, 10:35 PM

Should be 512. My results are about the same and I'm on 512 plan.

madpandaz
27-12-2007, 10:36 PM

512kbps ;)

Quest
27-12-2007, 11:46 PM
How you managed to do that???

My LAN can't work properly when my BBoM is online... Got to DC BBoM to check office e-mail...

I using static route for my office network, default gateway for BBoM~ :s12:

Sp1der
27-12-2007, 11:47 PM
Why everyone prefer the White USB Modem over the Black Modem? Heard White one Faster is it?

i'm on the dark side :evil:

Quest
27-12-2007, 11:49 PM
totally agree with u. however m1 is unlimited, whereas singtel still capped at 50gb. So whenever i surf or dl or play games, i still fear it will hit the 50gb target. So always do things with care haizzz. hope it will just get to unlimited soon.

if no d/l of iso,dvdrip stuff..very unlikely will go over 50gb.....I can't even reach 5gb when i was using M1 for the pass 6mth :s22::s22:

geeli80
27-12-2007, 11:50 PM
Went golden shoe hell o shop during lunch time to sign up today.
Waiting time only 10 mins for my turn.
it works well for my nokia e61.
using it to surf net and msn quite ok
512k not good enough for pfingo internet call, lag too much. Not usable

sigh
28-12-2007, 12:27 AM
Went golden shoe hell o shop during lunch time to sign up today.
Waiting time only 10 mins for my turn.
it works well for my nokia e61.
using it to surf net and msn quite ok
512k not good enough for pfingo internet call, lag too much. Not usable

E61 is not HSDPA. Can tap full bandwidth?

liangtam
28-12-2007, 01:40 AM
One thing I notice about some Nokia phone is that the upload speed is very slow, this affects VoIP calls.

biglobe
28-12-2007, 02:34 AM

I also tried while in a cab just now. the connection keeps dropping when vehicle was moving. Can only resume when the cab was stopped by the traffic lights :s7:

materick
28-12-2007, 07:49 AM
ONE quick question.

Using iphone can connect to this singtel service via multi sim?

iphone got no 3g. only edge/gprs.

Thanks.

geeli80
28-12-2007, 07:59 AM
No problem surfing in underground, tap full speed or not is not my concern as long can surf is good enough. Iphone should be able to use gprs to surf. Reporting at city hall mrt now

geeli80
28-12-2007, 08:02 AM
The problem with voip is not download speed but upload speed. I can hear the other side very well but lag when i talk my side

mosmos
28-12-2007, 06:47 PM
went to west mall hello! shop just now, wanted to subscribe another 1.

all usb modem, no more pc card modem already. :sad:

xtrioxton
28-12-2007, 07:11 PM

didnt know pc card so popular. COz usb was suppose to be more versatile.

liangtam
28-12-2007, 07:27 PM
didnt know pc card so popular. COz usb was suppose to be more versatile.

I think they knew less ppl will take pc card so they stock less.

sigh
28-12-2007, 07:41 PM

I subscribed a new data SIM card. Now I am considering whether to get the E51 for my data SIM card so it becomes a data modem + surfing device.

Alternative is to subscribe my existing Voice SIM card with BBoM as well. Then really underutilize liao.

SquallLH
28-12-2007, 07:50 PM
Finally managed to get around to my scanner.
Here's the charge.

http://img297.imageshack.us/img297/1935/singtelwk2.th.jpg (http://img297.imageshack.us/my.php?image=singtelwk2.jpg)

I've read some of the above posts and I guess I'll wait till my bill arrives before making a fuss with Singtel again.

Cheers

sg_trader
28-12-2007, 09:52 PM
just got my usb hua wei at parkway hell-o. shld still have stocks. according to the CSO, still got stocks..

will post my speedtest when it's activated..

mosmos
28-12-2007, 09:57 PM
I subscribed a new data SIM card. Now I am considering whether to get the E51 for my data SIM card so it becomes a data modem + surfing device.

Alternative is to subscribe my existing Voice SIM card with BBoM as well. Then really underutilize liao.

:s11:

but they only give $100 discount for 3G handset. :crazy:

get a modem more worth.

liangtam
28-12-2007, 10:34 PM
Yar, haha.
Buy and sell gets u cash, probably can also offset your 6 month bill as well, making the 512k practically free.

Get voucher, can only use at SingTel shop for some unworthy ham phone.

nicholaslee
28-12-2007, 10:49 PM
I subscribed it too today around 5pm at golden shoe! took the PCMCIA card.

I installed the Wireless Manager 5 and al drivers installed successfully. But when i launch the software and it tries to register itself, I got a "Registration Denied" Error message.. In this case, I assume it is still not activated yet right? :)

sigh
28-12-2007, 11:05 PM
I subscribed it too today around 5pm at golden shoe! took the PCMCIA card.

I installed the Wireless Manager 5 and al drivers installed successfully. But when i launch the software and it tries to register itself, I got a "Registration Denied" Error message.. In this case, I assume it is still not activated yet right? :)

Try tomorrow morning lah. I got mine at about 4pm. Only activated the next morning.

sigh
28-12-2007, 11:12 PM
:s11:

but they only give $100 discount for 3G handset. :crazy:

get a modem more worth.

Yah got the USB modem, but don't think got resale value. Anyone who wants a plan will be given a modem, why buy from outside market? This E220 is like the A1000 during the early days of ADSL.

Mabbe that's why you guys got the White modem with Huawei logo? More resale value than the Black Singtel one?

dtsl
28-12-2007, 11:32 PM
Does anyone face very slow connection between 10pm to 12am? I notice this time is almost impossible to surf.

nicholaslee
28-12-2007, 11:39 PM
Try tomorrow morning lah. I got mine at about 4pm. Only activated the next morning.

haha okay :D excited mah.. donno issit my location no signal or wad :s22:

hpv500
29-12-2007, 12:06 AM
promo ended?....or still avail?