PDA

View Full Version : Finally... Good news for UOB Signature CC holders

o0KelviN0o
16-12-2007, 10:06 AM
We can finally earn UNI$ instead of the stupid Signature UNI$

Moreover, it's UNI$2 for every SGD5 spent :)

ironman4672
16-12-2007, 12:34 PM

wah... more than what Platinum visa card earned le...

o0KelviN0o
16-12-2007, 07:41 PM
wah... more than what Platinum visa card earned le...

what's Platinum? it's no big deal anymore...

ironman4672
16-12-2007, 08:04 PM
what's Platinum? it's no big deal anymore...

who said got what big deal, i got say anything abt that meh? dun add ur assumption. now every card is also platinum one..

u dun know what is uob platinum visa card, then check out their website on ur own....;);)

Raffles88
16-12-2007, 09:01 PM
wah rich leh. signature somemore.

o0KelviN0o
16-12-2007, 09:02 PM
who said got what big deal, i got say anything abt that meh? dun add ur assumption. now every card is also platinum one..

u dun know what is uob platinum visa card, then check out their website on ur own....;);)

ok ;)

rAcEr
16-12-2007, 11:55 PM
ironman4672, were u formerly known by the nick luckyboi??

pipika
17-12-2007, 12:32 AM

Errhh... where did u get this source? I've combed the Visa Sig details under UOB website and I dont see it? Is there a dateline for this?
The existing sig Uni$ convertable to uni$?

o0KelviN0o
17-12-2007, 01:10 AM
Errhh... where did u get this source? I've combed the Visa Sig details under UOB website and I dont see it? Is there a dateline for this?
The existing sig Uni$ convertable to uni$?

they sent me a letter :)

either u redeem your Signature UNI$ now or let it roll over to UNI$ @ 1-for-1 rate

pipika
17-12-2007, 08:56 AM
No letter yet. No wonder cant find this info. Gonna use my visa sig then. Too bad 1st yr free almost over liao.....

ironman4672
17-12-2007, 12:23 PM
anyone knows what is the lowest income requirment for the visa sig card? i am not interested on the official income requirement, what i mean is that anyone got the card with income lower than the official requirement?

Thai_Rak_Thai
17-12-2007, 12:33 PM
anyone knows what is the lowest income requirment for the visa sig card? i am not interested on the official income requirement, what i mean is that anyone got the card with income lower than the official requirement? 50K bro...

rAcEr
17-12-2007, 12:44 PM
i tink ard 40k shd be enough.

anyway i also recv e letter already about e signature dollars

Inix
17-12-2007, 01:15 PM

Damn. I got the card simply because of the fact that it can change for travel vouchers and this happens. I'm blurdy pissed now. I just hope that they don't scrape the UOB Travel Planner Vouchers. If not, I'm switching all my spending to DBS Altitude!

ARGH!!!!

jiabin88
17-12-2007, 02:18 PM
anyone knows what is the lowest income requirment for the visa sig card? i am not interested on the official income requirement, what i mean is that anyone got the card with income lower than the official requirement?

if your salary is higher than the official income just apply for it, on the other hand if ur salary is lower, just wait until your salary can justify you to have this card. No need to try your luck man.

ironman4672
17-12-2007, 05:52 PM
50K bro...

50k is stated officially one, but usually even u lower than that u can still get it... like the ABN AMRO Switch Platinum, stated 50k also, but everyone got it even without the stated income....

ironman4672
17-12-2007, 05:54 PM
i tink ard 40k shd be enough.

anyway i also recv e letter already about e signature dollars

i see, so u got it with 40k also?

ironman4672
17-12-2007, 05:56 PM
if your salary is higher than the official income just apply for it, on the other hand if ur salary is lower, just wait until your salary can justify you to have this card. No need to try your luck man.

why cannot try? u are not the ceo of the bank, u are not in the position to tell ppl what to do.... :s8::s8::s8:

seeseelooklook
17-12-2007, 06:15 PM
sure anot??

Then can we still redeem the same items (e.g. travel vouchers) using the UNI points after the switch???

quekky
17-12-2007, 10:30 PM
50k is stated officially one, but usually even u lower than that u can still get it... like the ABN AMRO Switch Platinum, stated 50k also, but everyone got it even without the stated income....
30k at the roadshow when they started this card. btw I didn't sign up

pipika
17-12-2007, 11:37 PM
Ya. They offered it to me after I got a normal cc with UOB shortly after launch. Nvr use much coz not keen to accumulate the miles. Tot its Uni$... end some special signature uni$. Talking abt it.. they cheated me on the $20 olio dome voucher that was promised during the signup. But we all know.. with UOB's record the wait for the CSO is not worth it=p

ironman4672
18-12-2007, 12:15 AM
30k at the roadshow when they started this card. btw I didn't sign up

I see... anyway, i am not really interested in applying this card, just that seems like this card is one of the popular among all uob credit cards, so just ask ask... ;););) thanks for the info....

i am quite happy with my current platinum visa card which is my one and only one UOB credit card... like the black color, looks classy....:D

adesignforlife
18-12-2007, 11:16 AM
visa platinum is good enough. :)

ironman4672
18-12-2007, 03:42 PM
visa platinum is good enough. :)

ya i also think so... i like my visa platinum and using it all the time...

Inix
19-12-2007, 02:39 PM
For guys who are holding the Visa Signature, here is something which might be of interest. The Visa Signature is currently changeable to KrisFlyer Miles on a block of 250 Uni$ to 1000 Miles. This effectively means, for Visa Signature, its actually 1 Uni$ for 4 Miles, and it translates to 1 Mile for every $1.25.

If you have qualified for the 3x points / 2x points during Sep - Dec. Then your 1 Mile can now be as low as $0.625 or $0.416 Spent. Thought that people might be interested here..

rAcEr
19-12-2007, 07:11 PM
its quite unfair really. to convert 1 SIG UNI$ to 1 UNI$...if u look at the current conversion rates, a S$50 Zuji voucher requires 750 SIG UNI$ or 1850 UNI$.

UOB are obviously shortchanging us!

actually earning 2 UNI$ per S$5 spent is not attractive...i rather switch my spending to DBS Altitude or even Citi Premiermiles

Inix
21-12-2007, 02:36 PM
its quite unfair really. to convert 1 SIG UNI$ to 1 UNI$...if u look at the current conversion rates, a S$50 Zuji voucher requires 750 SIG UNI$ or 1850 UNI$.

UOB are obviously shortchanging us!

actually earning 2 UNI$ per S$5 spent is not attractive...i rather switch my spending to DBS Altitude or even Citi Premiermiles
argh. I guess I'm stuck. I just hope at the end of Jan 08, I have enough SIG Uni$ to change for my UOB Travel Planner $500 Voucher. That will help me.. Otherwise, change to KrisFlyer also don't make sense as I don't have enuf to change 2 tix!. ARGH

rAcEr
24-12-2007, 11:34 AM
so e pts will be transferred end jan 08?

Inix
24-12-2007, 12:27 PM
so e pts will be transferred end jan 08?
Yes. End of Jan 08. This is honestly quite ridiculous.. SIGH...

seeseelooklook
26-12-2007, 06:02 PM
kns, this card will be relegated to my drawer come jan 08.

Inix
27-12-2007, 02:50 PM
kns, this card will be relegated to my drawer come jan 08.
Its still better then your average UOB card I guess. Just that its a step down from the Signature Uni$. I mean, at 2 Points for every $5, it adds up quickly...

o0KelviN0o
27-12-2007, 04:29 PM
Its still better then your average UOB card I guess. Just that its a step down from the Signature Uni$. I mean, at 2 Points for every $5, it adds up quickly...

that's good news to me :D

double points with my DBS Black & UOB Signature

Inix
28-12-2007, 05:16 PM
that's good news to me :D

double points with my DBS Black & UOB Signature
Bro, change to DBS Altitude man.. Altitude is 3 x Points. I like that better.. hehehehe

JUNNIE247
28-12-2007, 05:19 PM
I thought it was 2 points for $5 charged?:s11:

Inix
28-12-2007, 05:45 PM
I thought it was 2 points for $5 charged?:s11:
My post was a mistake. I was referring to DBS Altitude instead...

JUNNIE247
28-12-2007, 05:59 PM
My post was a mistake. I was referring to DBS Altitude instead...

Oh... haha, it's okie. :s22:

BTW, i tot of having the altititude card. I am holding to amex black. Will I be eligible for the altitude then? Any restrictions, any requirements et cetera?

Inix
28-12-2007, 11:15 PM
Oh... haha, it's okie. :s22:

BTW, i tot of having the altititude card. I am holding to amex black. Will I be eligible for the altitude then? Any restrictions, any requirements et cetera?
The card's official limit is 80K. But I would reckon if you have 50K you should be able to try. Alternatively, if you're their customer for quite a while, pays on time, uses enough money, I fail to see why they won't give it to you if you cross 40K.

Its worth a try...

rAcEr
29-12-2007, 01:04 AM
if uob are honest, they should actually credit us 2 UNI$ per 1 SIG UNI$ that we hold. disgusting tactics man...im glad i didnt go for the 2x or 3x bonus points programme for the signature card cos in the end all u will get is UNI$ instead of SIG UNI$.

cheapo tactics

seeseelooklook
31-12-2007, 02:59 PM
That is why I said I'll relegate the card to my drawer. All the 2x or 3x points will be credited to your card after 31 Dec and all you'll get is UNI points. And IIRC, rewards that are specific to Sig UNI will no longer be available.

I'll never use the UOB card again wef tom onwards. I guess I'll go back to Citibank Dividend.

Inix
02-01-2008, 02:11 PM
That is why I said I'll relegate the card to my drawer. All the 2x or 3x points will be credited to your card after 31 Dec and all you'll get is UNI points. And IIRC, rewards that are specific to Sig UNI will no longer be available.

I'll never use the UOB card again wef tom onwards. I guess I'll go back to Citibank Dividend.
Actually, I don't think that Citibank Dividend is a good card. Considering that its 0.5% for most spending, for an average spending of 15KPA, we'll be looking at cashback of $75.00PA. Another part I don't like about the card, is the fact that you need $50 to be able to get the cheque. Waste of time.

We're better off with the One Card if you can maintain spending levels of a mininum $300pm.

Putting things into perspective, @ 2 x Uni$ per $5 spent, 15KPA spending on the signature card would now nett you 6000 Uni$, which will translate to vouchers of around $150. It depends on what you want you guess...

rAcEr
02-01-2008, 06:41 PM
i use dividend for dining, pharmacies and petrol...which is 2, 2 and 5% respectively...
for other purchases i usually wun use dividend unless there is a citibank discount

seeseelooklook
02-01-2008, 06:58 PM
citibank dividend is good if you drive. I have no problem reaching the minimum sum of $50.

Petrol $400 per month for 12 months will cost $4800 pa which will work out to be $240 in rebate already.

Of course other expenses I won't charge to citibank dividend. anythink less that 3%, I'll switch to other cards with 3x points.

Considering the rewards available for signature card now and then, you'll realise that it's definitely not worth it. Sig UNI rewards are definitely much better that normal UNI rewards. But then UOB seems to be updating their rewards. We shall find out come 3 jan. :)

cscs3
02-01-2008, 09:04 PM

That is because of the outsorucing company that do the promotion for the bank is doing some trick for you.

quekky
02-01-2008, 09:21 PM
which card got 3x points?

very sian with 2x for some spending only, always takes months then can change something

nicholaslee
02-01-2008, 09:24 PM
used it alot previously until i switched over to citibank dividends card instead until now hehe

rAcEr
02-01-2008, 11:42 PM
which card got 3x points?

very sian with 2x for some spending only, always takes months then can change something

dbs altitude american express - 3x points for all spending.

invigorated
03-01-2008, 10:29 AM
Considering the rewards available for signature card now and then, you'll realise that it's definitely not worth it. Sig UNI rewards are definitely much better that normal UNI rewards. But then UOB seems to be updating their rewards. We shall find out come 3 jan. :)

The UOB rewards this year are worse off. Should have redeemed them last year, now they are worth much lesser. Used to be $30 per 1000 uni$ but now it's worth only $20. It's time for me to switch cards. =(

Realised the SIG$ category is also gone. I thought redemption can be done till 31 Jan.

See link: https://uniservices.uobgroup.com/NASApp/RUS/CategoriesServlet?member=no

Inix
03-01-2008, 12:06 PM
The UOB rewards this year are worse off. Should have redeemed them last year, now they are worth much lesser. Used to be $30 per 1000 uni$ but now it's worth only $20. It's time for me to switch cards. =(

Realised the SIG$ category is also gone. I thought redemption can be done till 31 Jan.

See link: https://uniservices.uobgroup.com/NASApp/RUS/CategoriesServlet?member=no
Yes its gone. I just called in to screw them. I was under the impression that the SIG$ category will be maintained until 31st, but apparently this is otherwise. Damn pissed. I wanted to change 3750 SIG$ to 15K KF Miles, but they changed it to 2.5K UNI$ for 5K KF Miles.

ARGH. All my plans all wrecked. But I guess I still have enuf for my NZ Trip.

Isomatrix
03-01-2008, 05:22 PM
Yap.... i notice also.... they sucks man.... keep increasing the points reward redemption. Even u redeem last year, all voucher needed to be used by Jan 31st. Last time is 6 months period. Now they want you to use fast fast....

seeseelooklook
03-01-2008, 05:38 PM
kns, just checked the website for the rewards available. All like sai!!!

Confirm relegated to my drawer unless i am going somewhere which has discount for UOB card.

I still prefer to receive cash rebates. So citibank dividend will still be my main card for petrol and for stuff with rebates at 2% and above.

UOB really cannot make it.

Make us happy with the 2x and 3x points for the last 3 months then come back tell us the points awarded will be UNI instead of SIG UNI. PUI!

JUNNIE247
03-01-2008, 09:12 PM
Yikes! What happened to their rewards?!?!

I remembered that when I was their debit card holder 4 years ago, I can redeem the vouchers partially with my points, and their voucher is valid for 6 months!

But now! What happened?

I really regretted not redeeming my points before 1st January, because the points needed to redeem something was low.

But now?!?

And theres no more partial redemption for usual stuffs...

Sad...

Isomatrix
04-01-2008, 08:39 AM
That's why when they terminate my Tiger card and switch me to ONE card. I completely din use it at all. Only one wierd time at Topman. UOB card entitled 10% discount for discount items but not for normal items.
If, there's discount or SMART$, i will use la, else i see nothing good about it lo... Even u use it oversea, they also charge u higher at 1.5% for the currency coversion. Worse than paypal rate.
As for points..... 600pts for $10? That is $3000 spending.... Siao....

seeseelooklook
04-01-2008, 12:28 PM
i just read the website.

They mentioned that we can redeem sig uni by 31 jan 08 or else they'll convert it 1:1. but what can we redeem now as everything is in uni???

pipika
04-01-2008, 07:34 PM
U redeem early I think all oso expire 31 Jan 08. I redeem 2 BK voucher early dec. Imagine my shock that valid till 31 jan... N I had 1 in my wallet... luckily I managed to use 2... so 1 more voucher. Sighz.. think nowadays I need to go for carl's junior. No more BK vouchers for redemption. N so little things to redeem... what cards to go for next?

Inix
05-01-2008, 09:44 AM
I'm damn sian because of this. Imagine I got the card on Sep because of the promotion (I was doing a card switch anyway), then I managed to clock around 3.8K Sig Uni$ Points since then.

Going on the old scheme, I would have been able to change 15K KrisFlyer Miles just based on 3.8K Points (its 250 Sig Uni$ for every 1K KF Miles). Now? I can only change 5K with 2.5K Uni$

Thank God I still have enough to clock my NZ Trip. Otherwise... SIGH....

JUNNIE247
11-01-2008, 08:09 PM
I've decided to cancel UOB Visa Sigature Card for good. I'll just keep my UOB Platinum Mastercard. BTW, I've seen Citibank's PremierMiles Card and their perks are far better than UOB, and not forgetting DBS Altitude Card.

piquadro
14-01-2008, 01:25 AM
I called the Signature hotline to ask if I could still redeem from the Signature Rewards catalogue but was mechanically told that I can only redeem from the regular Rewards catalogue and that they have updated the catalogue in 2008 to exclude the Signature rewards programme. Of course I know it was removed, that was why I called.

Further complaint prompted the customer service agent to add that existing Signature Uni$ will be converted to 2 times the regular Uni$. So, it will be a 1xSig$ to 2xUni$ exchange. I wonder if they offered me that only because I called or does it apply to all customers since the letter they sent out indicated a 1 to 1 exchange for existing points.

However, I still think I've been shortchanged. With about 12,000 Sig$, I could have redeemed for $800 worth of Zuji travel vouchers. But with the 2x conversion (24,000 Uni$) I could only redeem $450 worth of Zuji air vouchers now.

I would like to know if with a 2x conversion, I would effectively not lose out if I redeem KrisFlyer Miles instead?

One final question; they launched the card to target travellers as one can redeem travel privileges much quicker than other UOB cards they have. Now that they removed that privilege, do all of you feel short changed that you have even considering applying for the card in the first place? It's like buying a house and 2 years down the road, the government wants to redevelop the land. Do we have any avenue for redress? I am truly frustrated.

rAcEr
14-01-2008, 10:55 AM
hmm i tink its reasonable to offer 2 times the points. but im not sure if it applies to all customers.

there is no real avenue for redress, simply becos u can always cancel the card or just chuck it into our drawer. it's not like a transaction where we have invested $$$ in it...just transfer e spending to some other card lor...it is uob's loss

Inix
14-01-2008, 04:40 PM
I've decided to cancel UOB Visa Sigature Card for good. I'll just keep my UOB Platinum Mastercard. BTW, I've seen Citibank's PremierMiles Card and their perks are far better than UOB, and not forgetting DBS Altitude Card.
The UOB Visa Signature is still better point for point, dollar for dollar, as compared to the UOB Platinum Mastercard, its still better.

Inix
14-01-2008, 04:47 PM
I called the Signature hotline to ask if I could still redeem from the Signature Rewards catalogue but was mechanically told that I can only redeem from the regular Rewards catalogue and that they have updated the catalogue in 2008 to exclude the Signature rewards programme. Of course I know it was removed, that was why I called.

Further complaint prompted the customer service agent to add that existing Signature Uni$ will be converted to 2 times the regular Uni$. So, it will be a 1xSig$ to 2xUni$ exchange. I wonder if they offered me that only because I called or does it apply to all customers since the letter they sent out indicated a 1 to 1 exchange for existing points.

However, I still think I've been shortchanged. With about 12,000 Sig$, I could have redeemed for $800 worth of Zuji travel vouchers. But with the 2x conversion (24,000 Uni$) I could only redeem $450 worth of Zuji air vouchers now.

I would like to know if with a 2x conversion, I would effectively not lose out if I redeem KrisFlyer Miles instead?

One final question; they launched the card to target travellers as one can redeem travel privileges much quicker than other UOB cards they have. Now that they removed that privilege, do all of you feel short changed that you have even considering applying for the card in the first place? It's like buying a house and 2 years down the road, the government wants to redevelop the land. Do we have any avenue for redress? I am truly frustrated.
@ 24K Uni$, you might be better off changing for KrisFlyer Miles. With 24K Uni$, you can change 9 x 2.5K Uni$ for 45K Miles. Dollar to Dollar, this will be better as compared to the Zuji Voucher that they have now.

Inix
14-01-2008, 04:50 PM
hmm i tink its reasonable to offer 2 times the points. but im not sure if it applies to all customers.

there is no real avenue for redress, simply becos u can always cancel the card or just chuck it into our drawer. it's not like a transaction where we have invested $$$ in it...just transfer e spending to some other card lor...it is uob's loss
I believe you need to complain hard enough for it to happen. Its not exactly their loss too. Its also my loss considering that I could have clocked my Altitude / Premier Miles, and I would have far more miles now as compared to using Signature.

The only reason I used this card then, is because I could have converted the Sig$ to exchange for around a UOB Travel Planner Voucher of $500 for my flight tickets.

pipika
14-01-2008, 09:40 PM
Cancelled my Visa Signature since they refuse to waive off the annual fee.... with the new increase in points for redemption, no point using my ladies card too....(1 movie ticket with UOB needs to spend 2.1k compared to 1.6 with maybank etc...) now what card to get?

rAcEr
15-01-2008, 12:14 AM
for e record, i managed to double the conversion rate so ill be getting 2 UNI$ for every 1 SIG UNI$. Managed to do it by calling up UOB and saying that its not fair to convert 1:1, especially for KF miles. On a goodwill basis, they agreed to convert 1:2.

piquadro
15-01-2008, 01:01 AM
for e record, i managed to double the conversion rate so ill be getting 2 UNI$ for every 1 SIG UNI$. Managed to do it by calling up UOB and saying that its not fair to convert 1:1, especially for KF miles. On a goodwill basis, they agreed to convert 1:2.

So with the 1:2 exchange, will the KrisFlyer miles amount to the same if it was following the old Sig Uni$ scheme? My cousin has Sig Uni$6000 and was considering this option. How many KrisFlyer points will she get under the old Sig Uni$ scheme and how many under the new scheme considering that she will get Uni$12000 if she gets a 1:2 exchange.

Also, if we redeem KrisFlyer miles now, when will they expire? Thanks.

rAcEr
15-01-2008, 02:30 AM
KF miles expire in three years. i doubt u can redeem in the old scheme anymore...hence not much point talking about e past...can check wif the uob call centre to confirm.

Serendib78
18-01-2008, 12:08 AM

rAcEr, thanks for the tip, called up the hotline to complain and they converted 1 SIG UNI$ to 2 UNI$.
Gave them an earful about their dirty tactics and poor rewards programme in 2008.

lky001
19-01-2008, 11:48 AM

Good job piquadro,

I have gotten the same by emailing them. They have agreed to double the UNI$ that they given during the 3x promotion but say nothing about my existing SIG UNI$.

I would recommend you to convert the doubled UNI$ to KF as they are of the same conversion after the doubled. S$5 = 1 SIG UNI$ = 2 UNI$ = 4 KF Miles

The concern I have now is what should we do to quickly spread this news to those Signature card holders to prevent them from being taken advantage of.

Any suggestions?

I want to teach UOB a lesson for trying to cheat us.

Boycott UOB Signature card!!!

Anyway for those who want to redeem your credit card points for miles, Altitude and Premier card offers better conversion rate. See comparision as follow

Signature - S$ 5 = 2 UNI$ = 4 miles
Premier - S$ 5 = 6 miles
Altitude - S$ 5 = 6 miles for local expenditure
- S$ 5 = 10 miles for oversea expenditure (valid till 29 Feb 2008)

Cheers!

Serendib78
19-01-2008, 03:49 PM
yes i'm quite peeved with UOB too. Only going to use the Sig card for Shell now cos they have 5% discount plus smart$

o0KelviN0o
20-01-2008, 12:43 AM
Cancelled my Visa Signature since they refuse to waive off the annual fee.... with the new increase in points for redemption, no point using my ladies card too....(1 movie ticket with UOB needs to spend 2.1k compared to 1.6 with maybank etc...) now what card to get?

i agree that UOB rewards getting worse, did a comparison on th dining rewards btn UOB & DBS... DBS is much better :)

what an improvement by DBS

lky001
21-01-2008, 09:17 PM
rAcEr, thanks for the tip, called up the hotline to complain and they converted 1 SIG UNI$ to 2 UNI$.
Gave them an earful about their dirty tactics and poor rewards programme in 2008.

HI Serendib78,

I tried to call UOB this Richie said that the top management only agreed to double the SIG UNI$ earned under the 2x, 3x promotion last year.

For the existing SIG UNI$ I earned previously, it will still be converted 1:1. :s27:May I know which officer you talked to?

Thanks.

ipaq4444
22-01-2008, 05:52 PM
so that mean even if they double our uni$, it is still not worth it as compared to what we can get for our uni sig $?

will converting it to mile be worth it then?

JUNNIE247
27-01-2008, 08:12 PM
Never mind about the points... I've decided... I'll cancel my UOB Visa Sig card for good, just keep my MasterCard Platinum.:s27:

By the way, the UOB issue aside. I've just applied for both the PremierMiles and Altitude Card. Is there any way to ask for a waiver for these 2 cards, especially for the Altitude Card when it has stated no waiver unless a spent of $25000 is met...:s11:

tianxin
29-01-2008, 01:26 AM
huh i tot all convert to 1sig = 1 uni... so muz call in to complain then will have such conversion..if not 1:1 ?

spacey20
21-04-2008, 11:07 AM
Hi

Just saw this thread, hmm all the talk abt the uob visa signature, any comments on the other 2 cards?

I did a rough comparison, for citi its like 5k miles for 50 bux, so translate to ard 1.2% for everyday dollar spent?

polarbear
22-04-2008, 12:09 AM
Talking about miles, is the Krisflyer Gold American Express card any good for miles? It seems like the miles conversion is so so, but the good thing is that it credits directly into your Krisflyer account.