View Full Version : Debit Card CapitaCard users n Potential users..
FireHobbit
16-12-2007, 03:19 PM
I just applied for this card by going to the bank and hand over the application to the counter....
http://www.dbs.com/img/sg/personal/cards/capita/card_mastercard.jpg
Thinking of seeing what the others users say abt this card since not much infor discuss in this forum like its restrcition or advantage...
:s12::s12:
FireHobbit
28-12-2007, 01:14 AM
me finally received my card on 26122007... super nice card for debit... will post more when i start using and my feeling abt it... a great debit card... http://friendsforever.foren-city.de/images/smiles/a084.gif
Hippo_dance
28-12-2007, 01:23 AM
haha ... yes it is... i have it long ago :D
yuri79
28-12-2007, 01:27 AM
All the rebate % seems to have shrink after the recent revise of the rebate.
FireHobbit
28-12-2007, 01:32 AM
yup.. i also seeing thru what is recent rebate seem like quite sian le... but so far any prob buying things online or over counter? http://www3.b92.net/ipb_images/style_emoticons/default/huh.gif
weisianz
28-12-2007, 11:16 AM
yup.. i also seeing thru what is recent rebate seem like quite sian le... but so far any prob buying things online or over counter? http://www3.b92.net/ipb_images/style_emoticons/default/huh.gif
no prob.. been using for more than 6 months liao
luna_sea83
28-12-2007, 07:01 PM
No problem for me too, using for close to 1 yr le, but b4 buying anything from Capitamalls, u might wana ask counter whether does it entitle to any discount cos not all shops will have it.
:D
aloysius
28-12-2007, 07:48 PM
used this card for abt 2-3 yrs liao
at first when i got this card, everyone thought it was a credit card till i told them its not a credit card but debit card LOLX
Anyway ...used for so long liao...find it okay lor....normal debit card though it seems to have lots of benefits when i just took up the card...now not much hype liao....
if i am not wrong , there shld be one similar design which is really a credit card.....think its a visa??
hmm
FireHobbit
29-12-2007, 12:27 AM
there is a visa credit card for the same financial instuitions.. yup...
the rebates is bring to next year or reset on beginning of year?
http://img116.exs.cx/img116/934/z0tdntknw.gif
rAcEr
29-12-2007, 01:06 AM
the credit card version n debit card version has been launched long time ago. come to think of it its my first credit card...but now its in the drawer already cos i dun find that it has that much privileges or discounts. good thing about it is it can double up as my atm card as well (jus like other DBS credit cards) so u save some space in ur wallet
AlphaAV
29-12-2007, 04:01 AM
i prefer my citibank smrt card (except no online purchase nia as it's a debit card too)
cos can earn rebate for trains/bus rides
tomicaguy
29-12-2007, 07:33 PM
How does the Capital$ work?
If I chalk up $50 of rebates, I just use the card at any participating shops is it?
Meaning if I spend $50 on the item, no money is deducted from my bank.
rAcEr
29-12-2007, 09:32 PM
yah thats correct. u can redeem Capital$ at participating merchants
FireHobbit
06-01-2008, 02:54 AM
non particiating merchnt got rebates?
rAcEr
06-01-2008, 08:46 AM
.3% lor......
tomicaguy
06-01-2008, 10:36 AM
At 0.3%, I rather use Citibank cards. :D
FireHobbit
06-01-2008, 12:04 PM
citibank only got credit card... me need debit cus not enough income.. http://ganjataz.com/01smileys/images/smileys/Mad%20Jester.gif
chrisvin
08-01-2008, 04:04 PM
i prefer my citibank smrt card (except no online purchase nia as it's a debit card too)
cos can earn rebate for trains/bus rides
Hmm.....Citibank SMRT is a debit card? I thought is a credit card with transport facilites?
Any confirmation?
ironman4672
08-01-2008, 06:24 PM
Hmm.....Citibank SMRT is a debit card? I thought is a credit card with transport facilites?
Any confirmation?
got smrt debit card also la... from citibank also... but u need to open a savings account with them....
mosmos
08-01-2008, 07:27 PM
this one from capitacard also, $20 per card with $10 usable value.
http://i2.tinypic.com/73buyja.jpg
RepulsE
09-01-2008, 08:55 PM
I just applied for it last weekend. Now waiting for my card to come.
Elnin0
10-01-2008, 12:11 AM
Just came to know got such a forum.. heehee..
Only got 0.3%. Only in those Capital malls?
I only use it while buying clothings in OG, Jn little,.... so no rebates.
I got this card for my overseas use. But currently more no much chance to go overseas.
Bought alot of biscuit from taiwan after my EX there.
During R&R, the Singapore dollar raised. I actually save money to use card than paying by cash.
FireHobbit
12-01-2008, 01:59 AM
everywhere not only in capita mall got the .3% rebates.. as long is a singnature based transaction got rebate le.. http://img246.imageshack.us/img246/8399/thumbsup4kk.gif
Elnin0
12-01-2008, 09:45 AM
everywhere not only in capita mall got the .3% rebates.. as long is a singnature based transaction got rebate le.. http://img246.imageshack.us/img246/8399/thumbsup4kk.gif
where got?
I bought clothing $93.. they also deduct $93 exact from me leh. :s11:
tomicaguy
12-01-2008, 11:44 AM
If I chalk up $50 Capital$ and intend to accumulate even more,
How do I go through the process of accumulating or using the Capital$ during payment?
Is it like any Capital$ u have accumulated will be deducted straight away from the next transaction?
Or is it you have a choice of continuing to pay by credit or through your accumulated capital$?
Citiguy
12-01-2008, 06:52 PM
Then what happens to the balance $10?
mosmos
12-01-2008, 08:36 PM
$10 is the cost of card. :o
Citiguy
12-01-2008, 10:25 PM
Oh I see. Wah, quite expensive hor.
quekky
12-01-2008, 10:54 PM
u can redeem the cap$ at most captiland stores.
some store give 10% rebate, i'm quite surprised when my friend buying 2 heavily discounted items of $70+ from fila, still get back $7.xx of cap$!
FireHobbit
13-01-2008, 01:23 AM
debit card can be seen as a good way to know how u can control u spenting.. as least debit u spent your own money.. but imagine if u first time take credit card.. that is the easiest and worse method to be in debts.. imo
http://www.todojuegos.com/modules/Forums/images/smiles/gathering.gif
FireHobbit
13-01-2008, 10:15 AM
that day the card got eaten up by atm machine... http://www.netpond.com/images/smilies/pcfite.gif
limitation
15-01-2008, 06:28 PM
one thing i dun like is need to pay annual fee..me now using posb Go! card..lolz..no annual fee..
mosmos
17-01-2008, 10:40 AM
Oh I see. Wah, quite expensive hor.
:o sorry for wrong info. Card itself is free, usable value is min. $20, depending how much you want to top-up.
But only 1 time top-up allow. :crazy:
Citiguy
17-01-2008, 02:28 PM
:o sorry for wrong info. Card itself is free, usable value is min. $20, depending how much you want to top-up.
But only 1 time top-up allow. :crazy:
Thanks for the update, Bro.
mosmos
17-01-2008, 09:02 PM
Thanks for the update, Bro.
i just bought 2 cards today for collection. :o
no need any verification, just pay and go.
will try to use to top-up my ezlink card online tomorrow, see whether it's possible.
mosmos
18-01-2008, 04:04 PM
just topup my ezlink card online with capitagift card, no 25 cents service charge as i got the ezlink card reader. :s7:
so the card now is actually free, good for card collectors :s13:
Although it mention can't do online purchase, i am not sure why it can do that.
Citiguy
18-01-2008, 07:22 PM
i just bought 2 cards today for collection. :o
mosmos, where & how you bought the cards ah? :s11:
Citiguy
18-01-2008, 07:28 PM
just topup my ezlink card online with capitagift card, no 25 cents service charge as i got the ezlink card reader. :s7:
How you do that, mosmos? :s11: You used the Sony PaSoRi contactless card reader (RC-S320)?
mosmos
18-01-2008, 07:42 PM
mosmos, where & how you bought the cards ah? :s11:
I bought at Lot 1 information counter or can buy at any capitamall shopping centre information counter :o
just tell them you want to buy this card. Payment only in cash or DBS cards. No NETS.
mosmos
18-01-2008, 07:43 PM
How you do that, mosmos? :s11: You used the Sony PaSoRi contactless card reader (RC-S320)?
yah, i have this reader. :o
topup ezlink card can only use visa card.
Citiguy
18-01-2008, 07:59 PM
I bought at Lot 1 information counter or can buy at any capitamall shopping centre information counter :o
just tell them you want to buy this card. Payment only in cash or DBS cards. No NETS.
yah, i have this reader. :o
topup ezlink card can only use visa card.
Thanks for the infos, mosmos. BTW, I almost typed in 'Bro mosmos' earlier, but I thought that I might get your gender wrong, so I deleted it before I posted. :s22:
FireHobbit
20-01-2008, 11:22 AM
this card good for those who don wan to get scam at releasing their actaul debitcard details can uy this prepaid one...
limitation
21-01-2008, 10:10 AM
this card good for those who don wan to get scam at releasing their actaul debitcard details can uy this prepaid one...
ya..but u can't reload the value into it..use finish the credit inside the card, that's it..:s8:
FireHobbit
21-01-2008, 03:47 PM
buy a new card to re value like that as least u can keep track of your finance better to a certain extend.. http://webpages.charter.net/kylegdb/smilies/21.gif
mosmos
22-01-2008, 11:41 AM
ya..but u can't reload the value into it..use finish the credit inside the card, that's it..:s8:
I think only maybank prepaid card can do that, but mastercard electronic can't use on internet.
http://info.maybank2u.com.sg/personal/card_services/precious_moments_card.htm
Another way is to apply for fairprice plus debit card, no min deposit.
limitation
22-01-2008, 07:24 PM
Another way is to apply for fairprice plus debit card, no min deposit.
yup..me applied already..:D
FireHobbit
26-01-2008, 03:04 AM
captial card debit can use for online purchaseing..http://forum.allsiemens.com/images/smiles/icon_blahblah.gif
FireHobbit
02-02-2008, 01:10 AM
the processing of card seem a bit lag this month.. my frens applied but no news so far..
FireHobbit
07-02-2008, 02:00 AM
some got tehir card le..
FireHobbit
16-02-2008, 02:31 AM
anyone using it also?
hanlsn
16-02-2008, 02:59 AM
So with this card can i make online purchases?
hwmook
16-02-2008, 03:29 AM
So with this card can i make online purchases?
Yes, you can. In fact, every card can unless explicitly stated.
FireHobbit
16-02-2008, 09:14 AM
posb go card cannot.. some debit card also cannot..
FireHobbit
16-02-2008, 09:26 AM
Read this before you swipe! Debit-card dangers
Yes, debit cards are convenient — but consider these points of caution
By Sloan Barnett
TODAY
First, some basics: A debit card looks just like your credit card, but works like an electronic check. The payment is deducted directly from your checking or savings account. When you use your debit card to purchase items, you or the cashier slides the card through a scanning machine that enables your bank to verify that the funds are available and then approve the transaction. Most debit cards can also be used to withdraw cash at ATMs, and can also look just like your ATM card (look at the face of the card to find the “debit” language).
Debit cards are handy — so handy, in fact, that two-thirds of American households have them. They are more convenient to carry than cash or a bulky checkbook, plus swiping the card is easier and faster than writing a check. In addition, there are no interest payments. The money is deducted out of your account right when the purchase is made. Finally, you can use your debit card’s cash-back feature to get cash when you make purchases at a store, avoiding a separate trip to the bank or the ATM.
Despite all these benefits, there are some cautions to keep in mind:
FireHobbit
16-02-2008, 09:27 AM
Credit-building
You are not building credit with a debit card like you do with a credit card. Your debit card purchases do not enable you to build up positive credit. That means your good habits go unnoticed. However, by using your debit card instead of your credit card, you can avoid running up a big bill and making late payments, harming your credit. So if you have trouble making payments on time, a debit card would be the way to go.
Fraud protection
Debit cards do not give you the same fraud protection as credit cards do. The federal regulations are very different for debit cards than for credit cards when it comes to financial liability. When using a credit card, you are generally responsible for the first $50 of fraudulent charges, whereas your liability on many debit cards can be as high as $500. In addition, unlike a credit card, if there is a problem with your purchase, you are not able to withhold payment until further investigation by the credit-card company. If your debit card is stolen or lost, report it to your bank immediately. In many cases, if you wait more than 60 days to report your card lost or stolen, you could be responsible for all of the damages. Of course. always check with your bank to understand its policies and applicable state laws. Don't take this lightly: A recent study in 2007 put fraud losses from debit-card purchases at $245 million.
Lost or stolen cards
A debit card is like a blank check, so you need to guard the card and the number on the card. If your card gets stolen, a thief can empty your bank account in minutes. Thieves don’t even need your card. As long as they have your name and card number, they can shop online or over the phone with your card information. If your debit card is lost or stolen, call your bank immediately! Follow the phone call with a letter.
Protect your debit card by holding on to your debit-card receipts and checking them against your bank statement each month.
Merchant disputes
If there is a dispute regarding a purchase you make, you are in a weaker position when you use a debit card instead of a credit card. The merchant already has your money when you pay with a debit card. So while the dispute is taking place, your money will remain with the merchant and you will only see that money again if you win the dispute.
Rewards
While some debit cards are beginning to offer rewards, they are still far fewer and less valuable than those offered by credit cards. Ask your bank if there is a rewards program you can enroll in to earn points toward travel or goods every time you use your debit card. Most likely the rewards will not be as valuable as the ones you get with your credit card.
Immediate deduction
When you use a debit card, the money is immediately taken out of your banking account. With a credit card, there is a float period between the time you make the purchase and the date the credit-card bill is due. This means that you earn a little bit of extra interest on your money sitting in your bank account when you use a credit card vs. a debit card.
FireHobbit
16-02-2008, 09:27 AM
No added services
Credit cards often come with added benefits, such as extended warranties on products purchased and insurance for rental cars and airline travel. Debit cards do not offer these services.
Tracking spending fees and overdrafts
When using a debit card, it can be difficult to keep track of what you purchased if you aren’t diligent in writing down everything or if you don’t go online constantly to check your account. Making a mistake on the balance can cause you to think you have more in the account than you really do, and can ultimately result in accidental overdrafts.
If you unintentionally let your balance get too low, each debit that comes through will bounce. With fees as high as $34 per bounce, this can add up to hundreds of dollars in a matter of seconds. So, for example, if you forgot to track a few debits and you have written a large check, many banks will honor the large check and then bounce all the debits, even debits as small as $2.
Even if you do keep track of your accounts, the bank's calculations may not be as accurate as you are. It takes time for deposits to become available and the funds may not be accessible as soon as you would like, leading you to believe you have more in your account than you really have access to. This can cause you to spend more than is in the account and rack up overdraft fees.
Debit-card overdraft loans are more expensive than overdraft loans from any other source, including overdrafts by check. Debit-card overdrafts cost people $2.17 in fees for every dollar borrowed, compared to check overdrafts, which cost $.86 per dollar borrowed.
Fees
Banks prefer the credit option when you use your debit card, because they make more money in fees. For a $200 transaction, for example, a bank could make $1.99 if the customer chooses the “credit” option and signs his or her name. This is more than three times the 60 cents they usually make from customers who choose “debit” and enter a PIN number.
WHAT YOU CAN DO:
Here are some ways to stop banks from stealing your hard-earned money.
Keep your balance up
Keep a cushion of money in your account to avoid bouncing checks or debits. Decide that you are not going to let your account fall below a certain amount, like $1,000; when you see it getting close, transfer money into it from another account. If you don’t have the money to replenish it, then you should cut back on spending.
Track your account
Sign up for your bank’s online banking program. This is an easy way to see what is going on with your checking account. Pay close attention to the available balance.
A lot of us think that once you deposit a check in the bank, it’s yours for the spending. Watch out, this is not the case! Most banks put holds on checks for several days, even up to a week. Until the money clears, you should not use your debit card. Debits go through right at the time of purchase, and if the bank is holding your deposit, you’ll get huge fees on the overdrawn debits. If you need the money right away, take the check to the bank and have it turned into cash, then deposit it. When you deposit cash it is available almost immediately.
Call your bank
When it comes to overdraft fees, banks hope you won’t fight back and request courtesy credits. Many banks will credit you back the fee or part of the fee if it’s your first offence.
Use cash
Cash can’t bounce and that’s the beauty of it. If you are not willing to use a credit card, then cash is the next best option. I’ve found spending actual cash makes you more aware of what you are spending. It seems when you swipe a debit card, you tend to spend more because it doesn’t seem like spending “actual” money. At the beginning of each week, take out what you think you’ll need and stick with that.
Raffles88
17-02-2008, 03:26 PM
for this card i can use it as debit card,nets and withdraw money from posb atm right?:s11:
FireHobbit
17-02-2008, 05:32 PM
for this card i can use it as debit card,nets and withdraw money from posb atm right?:s11:
yuppy... all the above also can... most impt online purchase also can...
hanlsn
18-02-2008, 09:52 PM
Good post by firehobbit is kinda Scary when u know u have basically a blank cheque on ur hands
FireHobbit
23-02-2008, 11:41 AM
the situation is alot of people thou the card is good... but the danger is realy there... be careful guyshttp://e.deviantart.com/emoticons/b/boing.gif
Elnin0
23-02-2008, 01:34 PM
where to see the points I can redeem?
can't seems to find.
is it in the ibanking? where where?
mosmos
23-02-2008, 02:09 PM
where to see the points I can redeem?
can't seems to find.
is it in the ibanking? where where?
:s11: i think ibanking got show the rebates available.
to redeem, you just tell the cashier you want to redeem all the cash inside to offset your purchase.
FireHobbit
23-02-2008, 04:07 PM
u also call 1800-111-1111
azerie
09-03-2008, 08:01 PM
anyone knows the latest promos & priv. for capitacard? =s nomore "discounts brocherz", sian!!
FireHobbit
14-03-2008, 11:06 AM
they will send u email also de... www.capitacard.com.sg
FireHobbit
23-03-2008, 11:30 AM
haha.. the cpitacpoint is quite good to redeem...http://friendsforever.foren-city.de/images/smiles/a084.gif
azerie
24-03-2008, 02:00 PM
thanx2.. btw, about the points, how to check eh? i mean thru net. other than deduct the price of purchases....
FireHobbit
24-03-2008, 07:52 PM
call up 1800 111 1111
FireHobbit
12-04-2008, 01:18 PM
internet banking also have the point redemebale...
fun123
03-05-2008, 08:52 PM
Can this card use for online purchase?
thank.
FireHobbit
04-05-2008, 01:00 AM
yes... can be used online
FireHobbit
12-05-2008, 06:25 PM
the NEW UOB card is making a debute... guess is privledge vs each other
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.