PDA

View Full Version : 〓Softbank 911T MAY already be unlocked (Interested buyers pls read this README first)

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

Haonan
17-12-2007, 06:56 PM
LATEST UPDATE: 20th March 2008

The purpose of this thread is to create a list of user-guide FAQs on this model and its features that can be unlocked and usable here, now that the Softbank 911T has finally been unlocked officially. These information here are what I have gathered so far, and might be subjected to future updates without prior notice.

Main Features
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v389/Haonan/Toshiba_911T-01.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v389/Haonan/Toshiba_911T-02.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v389/Haonan/Toshiba_911T-03.jpg

Product Overview & Specs

Availability: Announced March 2007 (Released under Softbank Spring 2007 Collection)
Network: WCDMA/UMTS network support with HSDPA capability
Specs: 51×112×17.9mm @ 145g
Screen: 3-inch wide LCD TFT screen at WVGA resolutions (800 x 480pixels) with Toshiba's REGZA technology
Camera: 3.2megapixels CMOS camera with Auto-focus (with support of video-recording up to VGA resolutions (640 x 480pixels) @ 30fps
Onboard Memory/Expansion Slot: 1GB onboard memory with memory expansion up to 2GB via microSD cards
Other Features: Supports TV-output, Adobe Macromedia Flash Lite 2.0, IrDA, Bluetooth (with Stereo A2DP profile support), 1-Seg TV-tuner (unusable in Singapore), Facial Recognition for Security Lock, Electronic Dictionary, 3D screensavers and stuffs like Yahoo mocoa, S! FeliCa (also known as NFC Electronic Payment) and S! GPS Navi (Softbank's GPS service) etc which doesn't concern us here.

What's usable and what's not

Phone calls and smses can be made or received normally, but ONLY if u're subscribed on a 3G network via a local telco provider. (all subjected to network reception availability, so Starhub 3G users/owners please take note)
Supports English T9 for SMS messenging.
Supports Bluetooth, a list of supported profiles can be found here (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=27381782&postcount=254).
Camera/Video-camera features can be used. For pictures samples taken by 911T's mobile-camera please read this thread over here (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1826032) for some of the photos uploaded by fellow 911T owners.
MMS and GPRS/Data Connectivity via the built-in Internet Browser ARE NOT usable/supported at all, as the MMS/GPRS settings are network-locked in the sense that only by doing a reprovisioning via an active Softbank 3G-USIM allows u to download the MMS/GPRS configuration settings for the phone. (ex-803T and 904T owners, this is definitely a downgrade for u)
Music features can be used. You will need to use he bundled Toshiba BeatJam software to transfers your MP3 music to the phone for playback, which will do the auto-conversion to AAC 128kbps format for you. Or you can simply use Apple iTunes or dBpowerAMP software to convert your existing MP3 music to AAC format for music playback.
Ringtones are supported in AAC-LC, HE-AAC formats as well as the usual MMF and MIDI formats this time. (Note: MP3 is not supported for ringtones) Up to 5MB filesize limitation for AAC-LC/HE-AAC format, 300KB filesize limitation for MMF format.
Ringtone Conversion Guide in chinese can be found here (http://www.mobile01.com/topicdetail.php?f=218&t=474822&p=1). An english explanation of the guide can be read here (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=27635923&postcount=578), credits and thanks goes to Tian__Cai.
The 1-Seg TV-tuner application cannot be used locally here, due to differences in broadcasting network compatibility, as 1-Seg aka Digital TV is based on ISDB-T technology while locally here in Singapore we are adopting and using DVB-T and DVB-H technology standards for Digital TV Broadcasting. However it's reported by fellow owners that the TV-tuner application can be used as per normally when u're travelling in Japan itself, with your own telco simcard. (Note: The 1-Seg TV-tuner application won't work w/o a valid simcard inserted into the phone or when the phone's switched to offline mode)
Chinese text input isn't supported here as only japanese kanji is supported as usual in japanese phones, so please take note you will only be able to read 80% of supposed chinese characters if you were to receive any chinese sms, and no pinyin chinese text input is supported obviously. (if you know how to type japanese text you can convert it to kanji to type out traditional chinese text though)
Reprovisioning alert prompt on the 911T cannot be turned off by default, as this is a software feature on all current Softbank phones so there is no way around it, unless you use the shortcut button to access the phone functions.
The Softbank 911T is ONLY available in the original japanese firmware, so ex-803T/904T owners would be glad to know that. There is no cross-flashing or HK/Taiwan firmware for this phone currently, please do not ask whether there's any chinese firmware available for this model or not. English/Japanese languages are both supported in its JP firmware though, so it shouldn't be a problem for you.

Additional useful notes for owners/potential owners-to be

Memory expansion for this model is officially known to be restricted to 2GB maximum capacity via MicroSD memorycard format, there's no support for 4GB/8GB options due to the inability to support microSDHC memory format. (official information from Toshiba)
International Roaming is not supported on this model, read this post (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=27514897&postcount=366) to find out why. However, this phone was reported by fellow owners to be able to roam successfully in Japan only at the current moment, to read and understand more about this issue, please read this post over here (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=28426697&postcount=1355). In short, there's no official international global roaming support for this model, but it's able to be roam correctly in Japan, as long as you have Auto-Roam subscribed via your own telco provider of course.
Phonebook entries have to be sorted via the Reading order in order to search correctly, as per normally with Sharp/Toshiba phones. Read this post (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=27296484&postcount=186) to find out why.
In order to see the names of your phonebook entries during received voice-calls/smses, read this post over here (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=27282497&postcount=143) and follow the instructions given. (Example: 2 phone number entries are needed for each phonebook name entry, one without +65 and one with +65 as stated in order for caller-ID display to be shown correctly on the phone)
To know how to add/edit some of the phone's functions into your shortcut list, just follow this guide over here (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=28849092&postcount=1553), plenty of thanks and credits goes out to goodtastingsteak for contributing this useful information.
A review write-up summary of this phone can be found here (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=27276543&postcount=123), many thanks and credits goes out to yukaguri who has contributed the lengthy and informative review.
A list of bundled items that are included in the default phone package of the 911T can be found here (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=27236147&postcount=31).
The built-in antenna area for Softbank 911T is located and shown in this picture over here (http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v389/Haonan/Toshiba_911T-Antenna.jpg). (Fellow owners may wanna take note of this when using the phone, to avoid poor reception situations)
Fellow owners may want to download the official English PDF manual for this phone, to understand alittle more abt the phone's various functions, especially if u're a first-timer in regards to using a Softbank phone. Download links can be found here (http://mb.softbank.jp/mb/en/support/after/manual/).

All 4 official colors available for the Softbank 911T: Click here (http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v389/Haonan/Toshiba_911T-04.jpg).

Here's also a comparison picture btw the Toshiba 911T and Sharp 903SH, for those who are curious about the real dimension and size of this phone: Click here (http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v389/Haonan/Toshiba_911T-SizeComparison.jpg).

All above information are subjected to changes without prior notice, to be constantly updated.
By Yours Truly.

slardar
17-12-2007, 10:18 PM
wah... drools at the HUGE screen.. damn power specs/features..

an unlocked set would probably cost around 1k?

http://mb.softbank.jp/mb/en/product/3g/911t/img/products.jpg

theory_87
17-12-2007, 10:32 PM
that is good news... hopefully more model will be unlock

ipwnj00
18-12-2007, 12:24 AM
good news there haonan, the looks of it already is good enough to melt my heart =)

Haonan
18-12-2007, 01:06 AM
good news there haonan, the looks of it already is good enough to melt my heart =)

It's definitely gd news bro. I'm still waiting for more concrete updates to turn up before deciding putting down my money for one. This is definitely some positive sign for the exotic scene currently as this means there might be hope in future for more WCDMA-only 1seg models in Japan under Softbank to be unlocked for local usage. I have to also bring up one point that is Asian countries like ours are very lucky actually, as we're using a similiar 3G-network band frequency (2100Mhz) as Softbank's 3G network as well as countries in the UK, thus why it will work if it's unlocked. But in countries like the US whereby most of their operators 3G networks are actually based on a different frequency (1700Mhz), so therefore this model won't work in places like the US even if it's unlocked.

In fact, with China's (operator China Mobile comes to mind) very own standardised 3G standard established there known as TD-SCDMA, it's quite affirmative that current and future WCDMA-only handsets under Softbank won't be able to work in China in future, even if in future such handsets gets unlocked. For now, only countries that's adopting the WCDMA 2100Mhz-band 3G standard like UK, HK, Taiwan and Singapore etc will be able to benefit from such handsets under Softbank if they were to be unlocked.

@slardar: They are not that expensive actually, a quick check on the Yahoo TW and HK auctions revealed that unlocked 911Ts are retailing for 18000NT and 2900HKD respectively. I'm not sure why it's retailing more expensive in Taiwan at the moment, could be because stocks are more rare over there. If u do ur own math, a set retailing in Yahoo HK now is only around or less than 550SGD. Toshiba handsets aren't actually selling that well in HK and they are considered water-goods exported sets, thus thats why they are seemingly more affordable than the other brands usually.

Haonan
18-12-2007, 01:11 AM
that is good news... hopefully more model will be unlock

Theory_87 I have a very strong feeling after this latest stunt by the unlockers, the upcoming Softbank 920SC by Samsung will be unlocked sometime after it's native launch. Since u're such a sucker for Samsung phones maybe u can start to save up for one. ^ ^

I may not be a strong fan for slider phones (still prefer clamshells/flips actually) but I will be saving up for an unlocked 911T white or red soon lol.

slmka
18-12-2007, 01:33 AM
Finally a possible replacment for my 903sh...3" LCD, 4x sharper than LG Viewty

Haonan, if any news on MO pls update us... ^ ^

awong614
18-12-2007, 01:38 AM
http://www.howardforums.com/showthread.php?p=10390525#post10390525

damnit again it wont work with att/cinuglar sim in hong kong roaming, I guess I should just get one as a toy or have to use local sim

obentou
18-12-2007, 01:41 AM
I think the 911T has already been unlocked... someone on HowardForums is selling one already! In white.

Haonan
18-12-2007, 01:55 AM
Finally a possible replacment for my 903sh...3" LCD, 4x sharper than LG Viewty

Haonan, if any news on MO pls update us... ^ ^

I'm not doing a MO for this model actually, it's just to give an update on the status of this model in terms of the unlocking, and to share which usuable features can be used here in Singapore locally. ^ ^

Yes this is definitely a worthy replacement for the 903sh, in terms of on-board memory and multimedia features. However since the functions of the phone at the moment are locked down 50% (MMS/Browser/Music functions aren't exactly working) it's kinda like saying we're paying for a crippled 911T actually, lol. Still if u dun mind paying for the nice 3" screen and a decent 3.2MP camera (it ain't any better than 903sh though mind u) as well as u like slider phones, then this is an absolute must-grab as this model's exterior design simply exudes class and elegance IMHO.

Haonan
18-12-2007, 01:57 AM
I think the 911T has already been unlocked... someone on HowardForums is selling one already! In white.

And so are the ppl on Yahoo TW and HK respectively. Selling it doesn't mean anything, I can grab and sell a 911T straight from Japan directly and tell u it's unlocked too. Until some pictures and evidence show up to claim this fact, I will just keep my fingers crossed for now. :)

VenusInTheDark
18-12-2007, 08:45 AM
oh oh~~ so exicited!! gd news..

theory_87
18-12-2007, 01:37 PM
Theory_87 I have a very strong feeling after this latest stunt by the unlockers, the upcoming Softbank 920SC by Samsung will be unlocked sometime after it's native launch. Since u're such a sucker for Samsung phones maybe u can start to save up for one. ^ ^

I may not be a strong fan for slider phones (still prefer clamshells/flips actually) but I will be saving up for an unlocked 911T white or red soon lol.:s8: I'll be sticking with my LG Viewty as of now;)

slmka
18-12-2007, 02:40 PM
i think the biggest disappointment is the ringtone (dun know can it use 903sh method to cheat... :D ) and unable to surf net.

I am using 2 handphones so I can have all my call auto diveret when 3G signal is down, so is not really a big issue

johnsonheng
18-12-2007, 05:53 PM
confirm unlock , i can get stock,

as for restrictation , yet to confirm...

Haonan
18-12-2007, 06:07 PM
confirm unlock , i can get stock,

as for restrictation , yet to confirm...

If u manage to get ur stocks and sell @ 550SGD, I'm sure alot of bros here like me will support u. But seeing as to how in the past u used to sell 811T and the other Toshiba handsets, highly unlikely u can match this pricing. :)

Restrictions in functions is as reported in my first post, I believe it's quite accurate. It's subjected to changes, so I will update my first post again if I find out new stuffs/changes. 911T will feature reprovisioning issue just like in japanese firmware 903sh, so interested to-be owners pls take note of this, if u have never used a japanese handset like 903sh before.

Haonan
18-12-2007, 06:12 PM
:s8: I'll be sticking with my LG Viewty as of now;)

U bought LG Viewty recently? Wah follow Dreamer75 sia, but I thought u all along only the S-brands fan (Sharp, Samsung and Sony Ericsson)? Defected liao ah? =:p

I have to agree that the Viewty is a nice phone, partly due to it's huge LCD screen and camera features. However after the 911T unlock news, I'm more interested in this one so prolly dropping the idea of getting the Viewty liao. Besides, since the Viewty doesn't come with a proper physical keyboard, I'm not sure if I can get used to smsing via touchscreens. Had an iPaq 6828 before and was passed on to my mum eventually because I'm not exactly used to using touchscreen phones, still prefer a normal phone with keypads.

johnsonheng
18-12-2007, 06:15 PM
OK
THE PHONE CANNOT USE GPRS, BUT THE MUSIC FUNCTION WORK ...

johnsonheng
18-12-2007, 06:17 PM
BUT THE IS A NEW MODEL. it not that i dun wnana sell cheap. but price is been quote more than xxx...
expensive.
anyway i got 2 sets coming IN FROM HK NOW...
pricing else pls refer to my sales thread..

johnsonheng
18-12-2007, 06:19 PM
it white color...

Haonan
18-12-2007, 06:19 PM
i think the biggest disappointment is the ringtone (dun know can it use 903sh method to cheat... :D ) and unable to surf net.

I am using 2 handphones so I can have all my call auto diveret when 3G signal is down, so is not really a big issue

I think the biggest disappointment to me is that this is a HSDPA-capable handset but it's unable to support 3.5G/GPRS after the unlock and the browser feature is locked down. Cos in a normal 911T usable under Softbank USIM, the 911T features a proper PC browser that works just like the the iPhone browser, u will be able to browse and surf in horizontal mode in widescreen format, as well as zoom in/zoom out of internet pages. Saw the 911T official catalog scans before, so to be honest it's quite missing some features after the unlock.

Abt the ringtone issue it's quite definite it cannot be cheated anymore, the IMA hack is only restricted to 902sh/903sh handsets, and even so it's also depending on ur firmware as well. You will have to use MMF if u wanna make custom ringtones on the 911T, that's for sure.

Haonan
18-12-2007, 06:22 PM
BUT THE IS A NEW MODEL. it not that i dun wnana sell cheap. but price is been quote more than xxx...
expensive.
anyway i got 2 sets coming IN FROM HK NOW...
pricing else pls refer to my sales thread..

Understandable, since ur supplier have to feed and u also have to feed urself. That's why I mentioned before in the 904sh unlocking thread before, if u are getting japanese handsets outside of Japan, it's never cheap in the first place due to middlemen sellers/exporters like you. =:p

Those who don't want the hassles of importing yourself for the 911T, pls feel free to support and order from johnsenheng in his sales thread in the mobile bazaar. ^ ^

hencanz
18-12-2007, 06:23 PM
yeah, same here...disappointed also can't surf anymore...i used my 903SH browser a lot...:(

johnsonheng
18-12-2007, 06:25 PM
ok
i giving an offer, i got 2 set of white coming in soon.
if anyone get both set at the same time
pricing will be 30 dollars less per set...
that mean 770 dollars.

johnsonheng
18-12-2007, 06:26 PM
i got to pay gst for all this stuff, i been caught for not paying gst a few times liao
coz my pricing have to factor in the gst...
sorry...

Haonan
18-12-2007, 06:28 PM
yeah, same here...disappointed also can't surf anymore...i used my 903SH browser a lot...:(

I don't mind if cannot use built-in browser to surf, as least if the GPRS is workable, I can download Opera Mini myself since I prefer to use that instead of the default internet browser on my 903SH. But now even GPRS function is locked down, so in this case to be honest the large 3" screen has just gone wasted. :s22:

Haonan
18-12-2007, 06:30 PM
i got to pay gst for all this stuff, i been caught for not paying gst a few times liao
coz my pricing have to factor in the gst...
sorry...

Yah we all understand, like I said it's understandable since u guys have to earn and feed urself, for the effort and hassles of bringing it in. Some ppl prefer that, so rest assured u will have some customers de. Anyway if possible I would like to keep my thread clean on topic, so dun spam ur sales details in my thread thanks. You can post ur sales details in ur own relevant sales thread in mobile bazaar. :)

johnsonheng
18-12-2007, 06:31 PM
hahaha

ok...
haha

johnsonheng
18-12-2007, 06:34 PM
take note if anyone decided to import themself.
kindly take note that the bluetooth earpiece/sunglass have been remove out of the packages... if i'm am not wrong by the jap...
haha

johnsonheng
18-12-2007, 06:35 PM
sharing wat i know as from the package....

Haonan
18-12-2007, 06:51 PM
take note if anyone decided to import themself.
kindly take note that the bluetooth earpiece/sunglass have been remove out of the packages... if i'm am not wrong by the jap...
haha

There's no bluetooth earpiece/sunglasses included in the package by default. If u're referring to the Oakley O ROKR Bluetooth Sunglasses made in collaboration by Oakley and Motorola, those are only avail as optional accessories (it was sold as a limited exclusive package with the black set in Japan during launch also but as since sold out), which consumers will have to purchase from Softbank shops themselves if they want it. I will put out a list of what's to be expected in the phone accessories included in the default phone package below.

911T Handset
Battery (Lithium 800maH)
AC Charger
Desktop Holder
USB Cable
User Manuals & Utility Software

http://img178.imageshack.us/img178/4200/softbank911tpackagehr6.jpg

Haonan
18-12-2007, 06:58 PM
Here's the Oakley Bluetooth sunglasses I'm talking abt, as well as a review of the sunglasses here (http://the-gadgeteer.com/review/oakley_o_rokr_sunglasses) for those who're interested to purchase. If I'm not wrong, it's currently retailing for abt 16800yen in Japan currently (abt 200SGD) and can be used with 911T as well as Apple iPods as well.

http://img529.imageshack.us/img529/3215/softbank911tbluetoothoajv3.jpg

kuro
18-12-2007, 07:03 PM
if music is locked, the sunglass a bit useless though it look sci-fi and cool

Haonan
18-12-2007, 07:31 PM
if music is locked, the sunglass a bit useless though it look sci-fi and cool

Music function is apparently not locked, but restricted to AAC format at the moment. (current info from Yahoo HK sellers) I'm not sure what they mean by that, as in must concert MP3 files to AAC format first before loading into phone memory for playback, or is it the included BeatJam Software will auto do the conversion for u when u load ur MP3 files into the phone. I'm trying to get an answer now from the related Yahoo HK seller so I will update my first post again when I get an answer.

kuro
18-12-2007, 07:45 PM
i see. that is good news. something to excite the commnuity.

xingan87
18-12-2007, 07:56 PM
so sad that it unable to use GRPS...

at least i can watch soccer on e phone. =(

is it totally no way that we can use the gprs? or unlock solution will be out later? any possibility??

Haonan
18-12-2007, 08:05 PM
i see. that is good news. something to excite the commnuity.

Yes bro, this is definitely some gd news for the exotic scene now. With the recent unlocking of WCDMA-only handsets like the 805SC by Samsung as well as the 911T by Toshiba now, it seems that there might be hope in the near future for more such handsets from Softbank to be unlocked for local usage. I can only cross my fingers for more of such exotic goodness for now. :)

Glad to see that u're back in the exotic phone business. Unfortunately I think I will only be getting my set straight from Yahoo as I've already kinda overspent this mth due to my O2 Cocoon order as well as xmas shopping, so I have to minimise my expenses. But if I have any friends who're interested in getting this model next time, I will be sure to let u know first. ^ ^

kuro
18-12-2007, 08:06 PM
for now only HK people know how to unlock.

Haonan
18-12-2007, 08:08 PM
so sad that it unable to use GRPS...

at least i can watch soccer on e phone. =(

is it totally no way that we can use the gprs? or unlock solution will be out later? any possibility??

Confirm + Chop cannot use GPRS on this handset. Data connections are network hard-locked to Softbank network only, and only by obtaining the required GPRS settings by doing a reprovisioning via an active Softbank USIM, would make the phone able to use GPRS. It's quite unfortunate actually but it's the fact for this current unlock for now, and I'm not sure in future if further improved unlocks would be released, so I can't comment on this further for now.

I will be sure to update this thread if there's any new development in regards to the unlock for this handset. :)

Haonan
18-12-2007, 08:11 PM
for now only HK people know how to unlock.

Yup prolly. Japanese unlockers have no incentive in unlocking this actually, as I had mentioned in the other thread at exotic phone lounge. The reason been since this is a WCDMA-only handset, it already works natively in Japan (unless the user itself wants to change provider in Japan, then that's another story altogether). So even if it's unlocked by the japanese, most likely it won't concern the japanese 911T owners in Japan as most of the time when they are interested in an unlock is only because the phone comes with GSM capability as well which allows them to do roaming in other countries with GSM networks.

kuro
18-12-2007, 08:20 PM
hope they work on other phones...
drool at AW 07 collection.

Seifer28
18-12-2007, 08:25 PM
this phone is DAMN nice........
HKD2900 is affordable too.......less than $600 sing......hmmz.....

xingan87
18-12-2007, 08:27 PM
Confirm + Chop cannot use GPRS on this handset. Data connections are network hard-locked to Softbank network only, and only by obtaining the required GPRS settings by doing a reprovisioning via an active Softbank USIM, would make the phone able to use GPRS. It's quite unfortunate actually but it's the fact for this current unlock for now, and I'm not sure in future if further improved unlocks would be released, so I can't comment on this further for now.

I will be sure to update this thread if there's any new development in regards to the unlock for this handset. :)

tks for yr info... =(

hencanz
18-12-2007, 09:22 PM
I don't mind if cannot use built-in browser to surf, as least if the GPRS is workable, I can download Opera Mini myself since I prefer to use that instead of the default internet browser on my 903SH. But now even GPRS function is locked down, so in this case to be honest the large 3" screen has just gone wasted. :s22:

i'm using opera as well...being able to surf on the go is really useful, it saved me a few times when i was backpacking to Japan :D

yeah, i agreed, the 3" really wasted since can't watch TV & can't surf

theory_87
18-12-2007, 10:20 PM
U bought LG Viewty recently? Wah follow Dreamer75 sia, but I thought u all along only the S-brands fan (Sharp, Samsung and Sony Ericsson)? Defected liao ah? =:p

I have to agree that the Viewty is a nice phone, partly due to it's huge LCD screen and camera features. However after the 911T unlock news, I'm more interested in this one so prolly dropping the idea of getting the Viewty liao. Besides, since the Viewty doesn't come with a proper physical keyboard, I'm not sure if I can get used to smsing via touchscreens. Had an iPaq 6828 before and was passed on to my mum eventually because I'm not exactly used to using touchscreen phones, still prefer a normal phone with keypads.haha... i've been trying out nokia phone too... i have to say, nokia and LG improve quite alot. Only moto seems to be not moving ahead...

gxelan
18-12-2007, 10:38 PM
ooh man..unable to use gprs..hmm..

anyways..this is still sth to rejoice abt, at least the exotic thread is starting to move again after like months of being stagnant

slardar
18-12-2007, 10:38 PM
haha... i've been trying out nokia phone too... i have to say, nokia and LG improve quite alot. Only moto seems to be not moving ahead...

lol motorola seems to be stuck with the same old design... v3, v3i, v3x, v8, v9 blah blah... even functions are almost similar. lol..

the antenna is for the TV? so this 911T has TV broadcasting feature, just that the function is locked? if can watch tv i sure buy liao.. the design, the screen, and the affordable price is pure ownage.

johnsonheng
18-12-2007, 10:53 PM
that phone cannot use to to tv...
if runing on different technology...
haha
do u all think it worth it for me to get the unlocking toolkit..

it damm exp...

Haonan
18-12-2007, 11:01 PM
the antenna is for the TV? so this 911T has TV broadcasting feature, just that the function is locked? if can watch tv i sure buy liao.. the design, the screen, and the affordable price is pure ownage.

All 1Seg models in Japan come with an antenna on the phone itself, it's for TV broadcasting reception purpose, just like those portable TV gadgets u get to buy outside in electronic shops. The TV function is locked in the sense that the technology is not compatible here, because locally here in Singapore we are using DVB-T and DVB-H networks for mobile video-broadcasting, while in Japan all their 1Seg models are based on ISDB-T technology for mobile video-broadcasting. The TV-function is also locked down in the sense that without detecting an active Softbank USIM, u won't be able to launch the TV-tuner app on the phone.

Not sure whether the unlockers manage to work ard this feature though, if they manage to break this security thing it means when we bring our 911Ts to Japan with our local USIM, when we're overseas in Japan the TV-tuner thing might work on our phones. I can't comment further on this for now until someone tries this out or feedback regarding this feature. So for now it's safe to say that this function is totally unusable for us.

johnsonheng
18-12-2007, 11:32 PM
i will try it out tomorrow, my phone is on it way to singapore...
damm expensive for dhl.... shippings..
anyway i have tried out the 805sc tv feature.
i dun think i cna work also...

johnsonheng
18-12-2007, 11:34 PM
anyway i just call the supplier in hk...

they told me the team who unlock the 911t is the same team who unlock 811t.
so unlikely they are going to share the unlock solution...... damm
my supplier trick me again...
tell me he know how to unlock....

singpal
18-12-2007, 11:36 PM
to me the biggest dissappointment is that there is NO Roaming function for 911T. means if u are using singapore 3g sim card, u can only use the phone here. when u travel overseas,u have to get hold of a 3g sim card of that country to use the phone :s22:

Haonan
18-12-2007, 11:48 PM
to me the biggest dissappointment is that there is NO Roaming function for 911T. means if u are using singapore 3g sim card, u can only use the phone here. when u travel overseas,u have to get hold of a 3g sim card of that country to use the phone :s22:

Yes apparently it is, on Softbank's own product website it's stated that 911T doesn't support Global Roaming service, so roaming via this handset is definitely out of question. Not much of a disappointment for me since I have other spare handsets for use when I wanna go overseas, I just wanna use this locally. ^ ^

kuro
19-12-2007, 12:25 AM
anyway i just call the supplier in hk...

they told me the team who unlock the 911t is the same team who unlock 811t.
so unlikely they are going to share the unlock solution...... damm
my supplier trick me again...
tell me he know how to unlock....

when jerry came out 902sh unlock, my supplier and him came to a deal for him to sell it at 10000USD, but later he backed out.

anyway, with money anything is possible.

Haonan
19-12-2007, 12:45 AM
when jerry came out 902sh unlock, my supplier and him came to a deal for him to sell it at 10000USD, but later he backed out.

anyway, with money anything is possible.

Ever since Jerry Kee and 3siu splitted up in 2006, things have been very different or stagnant for the HK exotic scene. But yeah I guess when u have money, you certainly have the power to make changes. However some ppl won't give up to monetary reasons, reason been principles or pride or whatever. (not only limited to this unlocking matter, but parts and parcel of life)

dreamer75
19-12-2007, 12:46 AM

I have to agree that the Viewty is a nice phone, partly due to it's huge LCD screen and camera features. However after the 911T unlock news, I'm more interested in this one so prolly dropping the idea of getting the Viewty liao. Besides, since the Viewty doesn't come with a proper physical keyboard, I'm not sure if I can get used to smsing via touchscreens. Had an iPaq 6828 before and was passed on to my mum eventually because I'm not exactly used to using touchscreen phones, still prefer a normal phone with keypads.

Haonan, great news here!
Finally, something to explode the exotic forum again :D

I have never been a fan of Samsung phones tho. Yet to use a SE before cos of its not-so-nice design. Except SE W910i.

Kinda get used to the touch screen keypad/keyboard on LG Viewty, simply love it.

BUT i would get this 911T for sure (if the price is right) :)

dreamer75
19-12-2007, 12:48 AM

GPRS cannot work....sad....

dreamer75
19-12-2007, 12:51 AM
Yes apparently it is, on Softbank's own product website it's stated that 911T doesn't support Global Roaming service, so roaming via this handset is definitely out of question. Not much of a disappointment for me since I have other spare handsets for use when I wanna go overseas, I just wanna use this locally. ^ ^

sounds like the unlocked 911T is a bit crippled here.

slardar
19-12-2007, 12:56 AM
imo this phone gonna be the nxt big thing in this exotic forum..
i think it might be as hot as sharp903 in its prime years

im addicted to big screens.. thats why im hanging on the pda phones for now. lol..

come to think of it, theres loads of china made phones in the market with huge screens, tv, bunch of features etc.. but having a reputable brand is very important to attract people..

damn wasted.. cant use GPS Navi/tv/mp3 music/GPRS. any chance to say that these features will become available soon?

kuro
19-12-2007, 01:01 AM
yes, i like big screen too.

china may have a lot of phones with big screen but the design is -_-"""

dreamer75
19-12-2007, 01:04 AM

wow bro...u bringing in this babe :D

slardar
19-12-2007, 01:07 AM
lol.. i went to simlim square just now.. such a wide variety of china phones.. complete with promoters from china. yea, their designs really not good. lol.. maybe their imitation models look better than those models with original designs.

Haonan
19-12-2007, 01:08 AM

China QC for most their products is questionable. I dun even wanna start rambling abt their design for their UIs etc in their china-branded phones, mostly is really :s22: one lor...

Sharp and Toshiba is diff, besides we all know it's made in Japan. No issues with build quality, paintwork on the housing etc. My 903sh and 803t housing is still pretty mint after such a long period of usage, tells u very much abt its build quality.

johnsonheng
19-12-2007, 01:09 AM
not sure about unlocking solution..
but to me, if i can have thw whole pie to eat. why should i share with it..
and to what i know / hear. the unlocking in tw and hk by the same group belong to the same boss..
not sure whether will they sell the solution for usd 100000, i really not sure, for to me, i doubt i will sell, coz even till now , now one can unlock newer version of toshiba phone..
other than themself they the pricing they are sellin is damm high and it control by them...
they eating the whole pie now...
i sure it even more than 100000 us dollars..

my 2 cents worth..

slardar
19-12-2007, 01:14 AM
wah.. hope some local hackers start to look into these phones.. and get a share of the pie.
a dumb question, are these unlocking stuffs actually legal? can softbank take legal actions against hackers?

kuro
19-12-2007, 01:16 AM
if can't get the unlocking tool. guess have to do MO from hk as it is cheaper there.

anyone interested in MO for this phone.

looking at 2900 HKD = 600 SGD + shipment + misc charge (gst, bank tranksfer fee) should be around 650 to 700 SGD.

Haonan
19-12-2007, 01:21 AM
wah.. hope some local hackers start to look into these phones.. and get a share of the pie.
a dumb question, are these unlocking stuffs actually legal? can softbank take legal actions against hackers?

Duh, unlocking is of course illegal in Japan. There's already a couple of such illegal unlocking news posted in youtube before already, saw the news before. Kuro also saw the news before I believe, happened back in 2006.

The way how things work in terms of the telecommunication industry in Japan is different as to the rest of the world. They (telco providers) actually gives the funds for R&D for handsets that are made by the mobile manufacturers (Sharp, Toshiba etc comes to mind) every season, and all these development costs are damn high and costly, thus that's why telcos themselves have the deciding factor when it comes to which handsets come with what features, and how they are going to market it. Thus why some models only turn up exclusively for one telco provider compared to the other. (Ever wondered why Sharp Corporation has never made an optical-zoom enabled Sharp model for NTT Docomo, but phones like 902sh,903sh,904sh and 910sh under Softbank has it? Softbank was also one of the first japanese provider there to receive a 5MP cameraphone from Sharp, which is the 910sh in question.)

endlessx
19-12-2007, 01:21 AM
Hmmz... most ppl i know out there will be on GSM mode even if they are using 3G...
But then.....
Think better save up & put aside some spare cash 1st :D

ARGH~~ 911T! Cocoon!! No $$$ lol

kuro
19-12-2007, 01:30 AM
there may be no unlocking tool at all.. haha

endlessx
19-12-2007, 01:51 AM
Anyway, some good news before christmas :)
Huat Ar!!

johnsonheng
19-12-2007, 01:55 AM
i heard rumour 910t and other model may be unlock soon once the unlockers clear most of their 911t stock . they will work on the 910t and other toshiba phone...

awong614
19-12-2007, 02:13 AM
good to hear about 910t, I'll be waiting for that model since it has gsm support

johnsonheng
19-12-2007, 02:16 AM
i be more keen in the new batch of softbank phone that has gsm support...

xingan87
19-12-2007, 07:26 AM
yah loh, don't 3 min fever 1st.... @.@

last few week already spend too much marneee, haha. = p

yup, and also it only support 3G network... local 3G network nt very strong, and also at my home there is no 3G coveage. =S really need to consider ~

stanff11
19-12-2007, 08:26 AM
SWWWEEETT! Those who got please shared your review.

>> Haonan. The ringtone restriction, as in mmf files still having the 300Kb file size limit?

Haonan
19-12-2007, 09:18 AM
i heard rumour 910t and other model may be unlock soon once the unlockers clear most of their 911t stock . they will work on the 910t and other toshiba phone...

Rumours aside, pls try to keep on topic as this thread is all abt sharing 911T information and it's current unlock status, and not things like whether other handsets like the 910T will be unlocked or not after 911T stocks runs out. I don't see where u manage to get ur sauce for all that speculation. In the first place, the 910T was actually a 06 A/W winter season model under the Softbank line-up, released together along with such models like the Sharp 910SH as well as the Toshiba 810T and 811T. Why would they still work on the 910T when the 811T and 810T had been unlocked like aeons ago? (ok I exaggerated, the unlocking news for 810T/811T only came out ard Feb this yr, but u get my drift)

On the other hand, since the 911T model was released in Japan under the 07 A/W spring season line-up this year together along with the 813T (which was also released previously in Taiwan and HK recently during this yr in July) it would only make perfect sense that the native 911T release was unlocked since they are from the same season line-up series, and it's probably also due to its relatively good specs and high demand/request for its design, that prompted the unlockers to work on the high-end 9XX series for Toshiba handsets under Softbank.

I would even go as far as to speculate that it's even possible that it was because of the domestic release of the 813T (908A for Taiwan and TX82 for HK) that has actually aided in the unlocking of the 911T, since they might have shared some simliarities in terms of the software security, which the unlockers managed to figure out after the domestic release of 813T in Taiwan and HK respectively. (it's just my speculation theory so dun take it too seriously)

And for those who aren't aware, the sales of the 911T model was actually relatively good in Japan and it was quite a good success that it actually prompted Toshiba to create a new successor model for it which is the Toshiba 920T (http://k-tai.impress.co.jp/cda/article/news_toppage/36811.html) that was announced back in Oct this year under the Softbank 07 A/W Winter season models line-up. Toshiba has even gone as far as to incorporate their LCD TV technology known as REGZA, and markets it as their strongest contender so far in terms of outstanding 1Seg-TV models in Japan.

Though the overall specs are relatively similiar as the 911T model, Toshiba has explained that it's using the REGZA branding for this new 1Seg model this time to emphasize on its outstanding quality screen for TV-viewing, as well as an improved battery life with an improved battery capacity of 930maH instead of 800maH on the 911T. (the above information was taken from a japanese interview article with K-tai Watch)

johnsonheng
19-12-2007, 09:41 AM
WOW, IMPRESSIVE....

Haonan
19-12-2007, 09:48 AM
>> Haonan. The ringtone restriction, as in mmf files still having the 300Kb file size limit?

After seeing ur msg, I actually did a check on 2CH BBS and some japanese blog-hopping 10min ago, and discovered a nice surprise. I retract my earlier statements, it seems that the 911T this time supports AAC files as ringtones, and not just restricted to MMF or Midi only. Sauce (http://mbphone.blog102.fc2.com/blog-entry-7.html#more) provided. More info on how to make the required AAC files as ringtones can be found here (http://www.nurs.or.jp/~calcium/wiki/index.php?911T). (For those who have no experience with using 3GP Calcium Convertor, I will make an english guide again for the rest of u when I get my phone)

dreamer75
19-12-2007, 10:17 AM
how's the video recording and playback capabilities?

bluerr
19-12-2007, 11:08 AM
Er..noob question: Does this phone support English T9?

theory_87
19-12-2007, 11:28 AM
Nope... Jap handset usually do not have t9

slmka
19-12-2007, 11:45 AM
But 911T can change the lang. to English display? my Jap is ultra lously......

johnsonheng
19-12-2007, 01:07 PM
will tell u when i see the phone tonight..

K_Gokiburi
19-12-2007, 01:38 PM
Nope... Jap handset usually do not have t9

904T has T9 though :s12:

stanff11
19-12-2007, 01:54 PM
After seeing ur msg, I actually did a check on 2CH BBS and some japanese blog-hopping 10min ago, and discovered a nice surprise. I retract my earlier statements, it seems that the 911T this time supports AAC files as ringtones, and not just restricted to MMF or Midi only. Sauce (http://mbphone.blog102.fc2.com/blog-entry-7.html#more) provided. More info on how to make the required AAC files as ringtones can be found here (http://www.nurs.or.jp/~calcium/wiki/index.php?911T). (For those who have no experience with using 3GP Calcium Convertor, I will make an english guide again for the rest of u when I get my phone)

Thanks for answering and the link too but i dont understand/cant read... haha.
Anyway is there still a limit in the ringtone file size? Hope you get it soon. With AAC format wish there's no small file size restriction. :D

hencanz
19-12-2007, 02:03 PM
tough choice...really love this handset...

lemme see wat we'll get from upgrading from 903SH...

pros:
- obviously 3" lcd wif 4x increase in resolution :s12:
- much thinner, less than 2/3 of 903SH thickness
- onboard 1GB memory
- A2DP Bluetooth
- video recording 640 x 480 at 30fps
- cool charging dock
- one of the latest models :D

cons:
- no GPRS/MMS :s16:
- inferior camera quality & no optical zoom
- no T9

stanff11
19-12-2007, 02:16 PM

pros:
- onboard 1GB memory
- A2DP Bluetooth
- cool charging dock

cons:
- no T9

Nice short summary. Use mirco SD. The GPS also cant use ..... sad

dreamer75
19-12-2007, 02:55 PM

pros:
- onboard 1GB memory
- A2DP Bluetooth
- cool charging dock

cons:
- no T9

for me, no GPRS is terrible tho u can save data charges cos u r being blocked from using it.

The 3.2MP cam is a norm now, so still all right as only a 2 or 3 5MP hps just started its launch in SG market recently.

hencanz
19-12-2007, 03:06 PM
for me, no GPRS is terrible tho u can save data charges cos u r being blocked from using it.

The 3.2MP cam is a norm now, so still all right as only a 2 or 3 5MP hps just started its launch in SG market recently.

3.2MP is good enough...but until now, not many phones can beat the picture quality of 903/904/910SH

check out the comparison between 911T & 904SH PQ here:
http://mbphone.blog102.fc2.com/blog-entry-2.html

anyway, for ppl who're used to other 3.2MP or 5MP phones, maybe its not a big issue...but for 903SH users, picture quality is probly something tat u'll have to give up

dreamer75
19-12-2007, 03:20 PM
definitely man, 903sh still rox :)

theory_87
19-12-2007, 04:43 PM
904T has T9 though :s12:that y usually... :D

Thai_Rak_Thai
19-12-2007, 05:08 PM
will tell u when i see the phone tonight.. waiting for your field report bro :)

johnsonheng
19-12-2007, 07:15 PM
i will tell basic report...
mainly report will be written by someone else..
not by me...

Haonan
19-12-2007, 08:17 PM

Don't need to wait for johnsonheng's FR, I can definitely tell u this handset is English & Japanese Bilingual, in fact generally all Softbank handsets are in such cases, so yes u will be able to switch to eng language to operate the phone menu/functions etc.

Haonan
19-12-2007, 08:21 PM
Er..noob question: Does this phone support English T9?

Found out from a japanese blog that this model does come with english T9, similiar to 904T. So be assured if u do use english predictive text input. :) For me doesn't matter, I'm not a T9 person. ^ ^

Haonan
19-12-2007, 08:50 PM
how's the video recording and playback capabilities?

Maximum up to 640x480 (VGA resolution) at 30FPS for video-recording mode. For video playback capability, please refer to this chart (http://www.nurs.or.jp/~calcium/wiki/index.php?SoftBank(Vodafone)) for actual statistics.

Haonan
19-12-2007, 08:53 PM
Thanks for answering and the link too but i dont understand/cant read... haha.
Anyway is there still a limit in the ringtone file size? Hope you get it soon. With AAC format wish there's no small file size restriction. :D

First post has been updated, pls read it again as I had already clarified abt this issue already after finding out some new information this morning. ^ ^ IIRC, AAC filesize limit is up to 5MB. (feedback from japanese users in 2CH BBS)

slmka
19-12-2007, 09:35 PM
Sorry Haonan, can check SMS ringtone can be change also?

With support of AAC filesize of 5MB (usual ringtone about 1min) is more than enought to create wonderful ringtone with the dual speakers onboard ^ ^

Thank you for your great updates on the 911T

Haonan
19-12-2007, 09:44 PM
3.2MP is good enough...but until now, not many phones can beat the picture quality of 903/904/910SH

check out the comparison between 911T & 904SH PQ here:
http://mbphone.blog102.fc2.com/blog-entry-2.html

anyway, for ppl who're used to other 3.2MP or 5MP phones, maybe its not a big issue...but for 903SH users, picture quality is probly something tat u'll have to give up

Ah, interesting comparison there, thanks hencanz for the heads-up. Even before I haven't read this comparison article, I had already know and mentioned b4 that the 911T camera cannot be measured up to the 903sh as mentioned in the other thread the other day. (think was in kuro's thread in mobile bazaar)

To OT abit, in fact for 903sh and 904sh, it's actually been widely leaked before and known that both models are actually sharing the same camera modules underneath the hood, just that 904SH uses a better/small filesize data compression when the camera UI is saving your pictures taken by the camera. Below are some rough specs for the CCD camera module for 903SH/904SH/910SH respectively.

Sharp 903SH/904SH

Module no: LZ0P3758
CCD size: 1/2.5
Specs: F2.8 (Wide) - F4.1 (Tele)

Sharp 910SH

Module no: LZ0P3770
CCD size: 1/2.5
Specs: F3.6 (Wide) - F7.1 (Tele)

It's been widely debated that in modern times these days, CMOS and CCD aren't actually any much difference when it comes to picture quality. However my stand and conclusion currently is that CCD sensor-based cameraphones still takes better pictures than cameraphones powered by CMOS-based sensors. The only downsides to CCD-powered cameraphones so far is yes, it's an imminent fact that CCD drains more battery life than CMOS, due to how it works.

Sharp Corporation has been abandoning this factor though in recent times for a smaller/slimmer form-factor for their latest models instead of a better and outstanding camera module for it, in handsets like the recently released Softbank 920SH for example, which comes with a 3.2MP CMOS sensor instead of CCD, prolly due to space constraints as well as battery life issue. (and it really takes bad pictures) Alot of japanese 2CH forumers was arguing/debating abt it sometime back that Sharp is losing it's stand in the mobile industry camera crown, as it's been widely debated in the past that only camera quality found in mobilephones like Sharp and Casio models are considered first-class in Japan. So to be honest, after 910SH, there hasn't been a true successor to it and alot of Sharp fans in Japan are hoping they will come out with a true successor to 910SH soon. (?>910SH>903SH>904SH)

In fact if u ask me, if I were to opt for a new 5MP cameraphone to truly replace my 903SH, the only worthy successor IMHO would only be the 910SH, cos after I found and read this blog article (http://gabrin.sakura.ne.jp/mobile/2006/12/softbank_910sh_500.html) sometime back earlier on this yr, I was convinced that the 910SH was decent enough for day to day casual-shooting, has mechanical shutter (it totally fixed the optical smearing thing found previously in 903sh/904sh) as well as a true 28mm wide-angle lens on it for building and wide scenary shooting.

In Japan , IMO so far the only true 5MP cameraphones that actually comes really close in terms of lens quality as well as picture quality, is probably the Casio W53CA (http://k-tai.impress.co.jp/cda/article/showcase_top/36073.html) by au KDDI as well as probably the upcoming Sony Ericsson SO905iCS (http://k-tai.impress.co.jp/cda/article/news_toppage/37002.html) by NTT Docomo which isn't launched yet. (will take another 2-3+ mths I believe, SEMC Japan said will be launched before 07 A/W winter season ends)

Just my 2 cents worth on this, sorry for the lengthy post. :)

Haonan
19-12-2007, 09:49 PM
Sorry Haonan, can check SMS ringtone can be change also?

With support of AAC filesize of 5MB (usual ringtone about 1min) is more than enought to create wonderful ringtone with the dual speakers onboard ^ ^

Thank you for your great updates on the 911T

Until I get my phone, I can't input further affirmative updates in regards to the ringtone function. But from what I gathered in 2CH japanese BBS, users have reported that this model supports AAC files for chaku-uta. By what they mean by chaku-uta, it stands for ringtones actually in Japan. (telco operators there usually have dedicated download service for such stuffs, in fact u can download lotsa content onto ur phone like games or ringtones if u're residing in Japan, but u need to pay moola accordingly) So presumingly if this is true, it's correct to say also we can use AAC files for sms ringtones as well. :)

stanff11
19-12-2007, 11:36 PM
First post has been updated, pls read it again as I had already clarified abt this issue already after finding out some new information this morning. ^ ^ IIRC, AAC filesize limit is up to 5MB. (feedback from japanese users in 2CH BBS)

Thank you. Will refer to page 1. Will wait for more update from you as well as others.

johnsonheng
20-12-2007, 12:24 AM
bro i back...
the phone support sms T9
and the camera is not bad...
but sadly the phone is reserve , hence i cnanot use it to test.

stanleyj
20-12-2007, 06:25 AM
though i am not getting this set but good news......all in all and if more sets and models can be unlocked we may see the revival of the EXOTICs
i wonder why the sharp ones are still so tightly LOCKED!! sigh

johnsonheng
20-12-2007, 08:59 AM
gprs and mms is a must for bro stanleyi
haha

blazin
20-12-2007, 09:12 AM
Wonder if this phone can be further unlocked...then i will get it...XD

johnsonheng
20-12-2007, 09:42 AM
not sure...
but mms and gprs will not work
coz i cannot even find the optiion for setting .
unlike 707sc, u can still find the settings, but only that we cannot edit it..
totoall different..
haha
with t9 support, this is a very tempting phone to get...
i would say...

dreamer75
20-12-2007, 09:46 AM
Wonder if this phone can be further unlocked...then i will get it...XD

this is what i hope too.
i hope there will be one day that it follows the footsteps of 903sh...with the different f/ws being released :o

johnsonheng
20-12-2007, 09:48 AM
this is what i hope too.
i hope there will be one day that it follows the footsteps of 903sh...with the different f/ws being released :o
bro, u not getting this model..
i thou u alway have a fav for white color phones..

dreamer75
20-12-2007, 10:03 AM
bro, u not getting this model..
i thou u alway have a fav for white color phones..

bro....still considering....

this babe a bit crippled lor. :x

johnsonheng
20-12-2007, 10:04 AM
same as 707sc...
only no gprs u should got to used to it by now, like the 707sc u got for me..
ahah
but then

Beta_Tester
20-12-2007, 11:34 AM
i very very very gian.. but no mms n gprs.. sians.. lol..

xingan87
20-12-2007, 11:45 AM
goot morleng everybody~ =S

any try transfer video to 911T? how is the display? =P

johnsonheng
20-12-2007, 12:06 PM
haha, no one has the phone other than me. anyway i call the buyer see if she keen to write review...

dreamer75
20-12-2007, 12:11 PM
goot morleng everybody~ =S

any try transfer video to 911T? how is the display? =P

read page 1...

johnsonheng
20-12-2007, 12:16 PM
SO NICE.. THE SCREEN..

stanleyj
20-12-2007, 09:34 PM
gprs and mms is a must for bro stanleyi
haha

not really leh....days of mms is over...
but i dun quite dig Toshiba leh.....hehe

maybe u can poison me....haha

johnsonheng
20-12-2007, 10:05 PM
U ARE IMMUNE TO POSION....

stanleyj
20-12-2007, 10:08 PM
U ARE IMMUNE TO POSION....

getz bro... sangkut...already?? he is truly the king of poison.....

johnsonheng
20-12-2007, 10:10 PM
I WILL BE HAVING A WHITE SET
FOR ALL TO TEST AT EVERTON PARK ON SATURDAY.
THOSE WHO ARE KEEN IN SEEING THESET, PLS KINDLY REGISTER AT MY SALES THREAD..

WANNA SEE WHO WILL POISON

Nystalia1990
20-12-2007, 10:31 PM
I WILL BE HAVING A WHITE SET
FOR ALL TO TEST AT EVERTON PARK ON SATURDAY.
THOSE WHO ARE KEEN IN SEEING THESET, PLS KINDLY REGISTER AT MY SALES THREAD..

WANNA SEE WHO WILL POISON

what is the timing like? will like to have a look. poisoning.

johnsonheng
20-12-2007, 10:43 PM
should be satuday monday just in time for breakfast. i will upload the time on friday night pls kindly refer to
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1814046

i will update the time on friday night, once i got the phone.

Haonan
20-12-2007, 11:13 PM
this is what i hope too.

Sorry bro, if u're expecting the 911t to turn up with various iterations of firmware as like what was the case previously with the Sharp 903sh, u will be disappointed. Toshiba has made it a point that their 9XX high-end model series will never make it outside of Japan ever, if u have monitored their past history of releases. 904t (the only other 9XX series by Toshiba that was ever unlocked) has never seen a release outside of Japan, it's only available as an export set in its native original japanese fw when it's unlocked, and so was the case with the latest 911t now. The 7XX/8XX series are different, because Toshiba makes it a point to release their lower and middle-end models to countries outside of Japan with a localised firmware for that particular region market in HK or Taiwan. (ie: TX60,TX62,TX80,TX82 etc)

This info was also released awhile back in an forum thread I read before, as mentioned by a reviewer/blogger called Samuel Chan from Mobileburn, who does reviews of their handsets and interviews with representatives from Sharp and Toshiba before in Japan.

yukaguri
21-12-2007, 12:46 AM
Hi folks, proud owner of 911t here! (Thanks Johnson)

I'll consider posting a detailed review later (with images), but for the moment perhaps a couple of points for those who are considering getting the phone. Haven't been able to take any photos of my pwecious just yet. :P

1. The screen blew me away.

As I'm sure Johnson will attest to, the 480 by 800 px resolution screen is absolutely marvelous! There's plenty of real estate and your wallpapers will appear extremely crisp. The idle screen is also relatively clutter free, which allows full showcase of your wallpaper. This, for me, was a huge selling point. Flash wallpapers can be used.

2. No MMS or GPRS

Sadly, the truth of the matter is, MMS and GPRS will not work simply because there's only an option to download network settings on the phone via Softbank Japan. Obviously, that'll not work here. There isn't even a greyed out option available like the 707SC. Not a dealbreaker for me since I don't use MMS nor GPRS (I would surf the web if I could, but I'm not fond of doing that either).

I'd love for this to work obviously, so that I can have a fuller range of functions, but it won't kill me not to have it.

3. Music player: AAC files (.m4a)

If you've got iTunes, then converting mp3 files to .m4a is easy. The phone plays music well through the built-in speakers. I haven't tried customising ringtones yet, although I do know that you can't use .m4a files for this.

My beef is that the set doesn't come with a stereo earpiece. I can imagine how good music will sound on this if I had earphones available.

4. Messaging: hello T9

The presence or lack of T9 doesn't really bother me. However, you will be happy to know that T9 is available in both the Japanese and English UIs. Another thing I love about Japanese phones are the cute text emoticon images, which you can freely use in your SMS. Using the coloured pictogram images would be pointless since your SMS will be converted to S!Mail which can't be sent anyway, but I do get a kick out of using them everywhere else (e.g. memos).

The tactile feedback of the keypad also allows for easy messaging (especially without T9 aid) and is easy on the fingers.

5. Other bits and pieces that were pleasant surprises

a) The camera has a number of different modes (e.g. mobile picture mode, digital camera mode, video mode, etc) and the photos taken seem to be relatively crisp on the phone screen. The video capture is excellent as well, with crisp sound (although I tried video-ing a show in a pretty silent room). I'll update when I've actually seen the products on a computer screen.

b) Office-related functions: time-table, calendar, memo, tasks, etc. What really impressed me was the choice of a Mini Tool, such as Memo, which appears on every screen, right at the top, beneath the indicator bar (it was previously a calendar set by default). You can choose to have a calendar, memo, picture of Kuman walking around, etc. This feature is pretty nifty especially for the forgetful (i.e. me).

c) Kuman, the 3D walking bear is only available on the idle screen, walking and sprouting various Japanese phrases on the Japanese UI. It's cute and I'm a fan of cute.

OVERALL VERDICT

If you're not a heavy user of MMS or GPRS, this phone is certainly worth getting. Otherwise, then I suppose you might as well kiss it goodbye since it's severely crippled in that aspect.

Reception-wise, I haven't had any problems on 3G (I'm on the generally less-reliable Starhub also). Above ground that is. I haven't been at basement levels at shopping centres or in MRT tunnels yet, so I'll update when I've had some experience in this regard.

I'm certain to get plenty of mileage with this phone. It's just brilliant in terms of the screen and the utilities present. But I'm obviously way beyond biased.

Haonan
21-12-2007, 01:08 AM
http://plusd.itmedia.co.jp/mobile/articles/0705/14/news061.html

Here are some comparison pictures taken by the camera on the 911t for those who're interested against the Toshiba W52t by au KDDI. Both handsets are similiar in specs in terms of hardware, and both are slider-phone models and made from the same manufacturer as well.
In-depth explanation abt the camera UI as well as a short video-capture from the phone's camera are featured in the 3rd and 4th page of the article respectively for those who are curious abt the camera's performance. Credits and thanks goes to ITmedia Japan for the article review.

IMO, this phone will appeal to those who likes to take pictures on the go, as you have a 2GB memory expansion memoryslot to rely on, apart from the 1GB onboard memory, which will give u sufficient space for plenty of picture-taking as well as video-recording. Sure the picture quality isn't as good as the 903sh in terms of sharpness and contrast, but it is certainly decent enough for day to day casual-shots as well as those who likes to 自拍 on their cameraphones. :)

kuro
21-12-2007, 01:27 AM
http://www.eprice.com.tw/news/?news_id=6454

quite a nice review done.

Haonan
21-12-2007, 01:55 AM
1. The screen blew me away.

As I'm sure Johnson will attest to, the 480 by 800 px resolution screen is absolutely marvelous! There's plenty of real estate and your wallpapers will appear extremely crisp. The idle screen is also relatively clutter free, which allows full showcase of your wallpaper. This, for me, was a huge selling point. Flash wallpapers can be used.

Hey yukaguri, first of all would like to say thanks for ur input and mini-review on this phone. Yup I believe the 3-inch wide LCD with the crisp 480x800 resolution would be one of those main factors that actually enticed ppl to this phone, at least it's one of the factors for me, as I'm a sucker for phones with huge screens myself. ^ ^

2. No MMS or GPRS

Sadly, the truth of the matter is, MMS and GPRS will not work simply because there's only an option to download network settings on the phone via Softbank Japan. Obviously, that'll not work here. There isn't even a greyed out option available like the 707SC. Not a dealbreaker for me since I don't use MMS nor GPRS (I would surf the web if I could, but I'm not fond of doing that either).

I'd love for this to work obviously, so that I can have a fuller range of functions, but it won't kill me not to have it.

To be frank, I still use MMS or the internet browser on my phones once in awhile. So yeah although I'm a little disappointed here, it's not really a deal breaker for me either, as I can live with it. Yup network settings for the MMS/GPRS are hard-locked to Softbank network, so unfortunately unless u have an active Softbank USIM and u're residing in Japan (obviously for downloading reasons) u will not be able to use the reprovisioning function to download the settings for the phone's MMS/GPRS configuration.

3. Music player: AAC files (.m4a)

If you've got iTunes, then converting mp3 files to .m4a is easy. The phone plays music well through the built-in speakers. I haven't tried customising ringtones yet, although I do know that you can't use .m4a files for this.

My beef is that the set doesn't come with a stereo earpiece. I can imagine how good music will sound on this if I had earphones available.

As far as I know, yes AAC files are supported for music playback on the music player of the phone easily. I usually use iTunes/dBpowerAMP software to do the conversion. In fact if u had checked out the 903sh guru guide before, I did mentioned before (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=24782967&postcount=2521) that although AAC file format is not as ubiquitous as MP3 format, it's actually been widely-supported in most phones as well as majority of mp3 players these days. The quality of it are actually tested to be much better than MP3 when compared on the same bitrates for both formats, so this isn't a big qualm/disadvantage to me. As for customised ringtones, it's been mentioned on a japanese blog (do read my first post) that AAC files are been accepted for chaku-uta this time, as well as MMF as usual. The MMF file size restriction is still the same, must be less or 300KB per file, and it supports up to MA-7 format via Yamaha's Wave Sound Decorator (http://smaf-yamaha.com/tools/wsd.html) just like on the 903sh/904t.

There's actually also a way to transfer ur MP3 files onto the phone, via the provided BeatJam software on ur CD and also using the provided USB cable. But I can't test it out now till I get my phone so I can only comment on it later.

4. Messaging: hello T9

The presence or lack of T9 doesn't really bother me. However, you will be happy to know that T9 is available in both the Japanese and English UIs. Another thing I love about Japanese phones are the cute text emoticon images, which you can freely use in your SMS. Using the coloured pictogram images would be pointless since your SMS will be converted to S!Mail which can't be sent anyway, but I do get a kick out of using them everywhere else (e.g. memos).

The tactile feedback of the keypad also allows for easy messaging (especially without T9 aid) and is easy on the fingers.

Abt the messenging interface, need you to do a favour for me. Can u pls check whether u're able to send out long-SMSes via a single SMS. (meaning character limit >160chars). As far as I know, this SMS limitation was found on the default japanese firmware on 903sh, 803t as well as 904t, it will auto convert ur SMS to MMS once the characters limit are over 160 for ur SMS. And yeah I do love the built-in emoticons images as well, but if I'm not wrong this can only be sent to Softbank/Vodafone phone models generally, doesn't work if u send it to other phone users using other phone brands.

5. Other bits and pieces that were pleasant surprises

a) The camera has a number of different modes (e.g. mobile picture mode, digital camera mode, video mode, etc) and the photos taken seem to be relatively crisp on the phone screen. The video capture is excellent as well, with crisp sound (although I tried video-ing a show in a pretty silent room). I'll update when I've actually seen the products on a computer screen.

b) Office-related functions: time-table, calendar, memo, tasks, etc. What really impressed me was the choice of a Mini Tool, such as Memo, which appears on every screen, right at the top, beneath the indicator bar (it was previously a calendar set by default). You can choose to have a calendar, memo, picture of Kuman walking around, etc. This feature is pretty nifty especially for the forgetful (i.e. me).

c) Kuman, the 3D walking bear is only available on the idle screen, walking and sprouting various Japanese phrases on the Japanese UI. It's cute and I'm a fan of cute.

Yup the Kuman walking bear is known as the 3D screensavers function, as stated in my first post. This was implemented in the recent latest models from Toshiba, I think it was from 910T series onwards if I recall correctly, rem reading it in a japanese interview. Apparently it's also possible to install themes on this phone, changing ur overall menu look, battery as well as network indicators on your stand-by screen. But I'm not sure whether you need to download the themes via the built-in internet browser, or just by syncing to your phone and installing it via the provided USB cable. I can only give further updates regarding this after I get my phone.

Thanks for ur review once again. Feel free to feedback more stuffs abt this phone and share with us when u have the time. ^ ^

yukaguri
21-12-2007, 02:15 AM
Abt the messenging interface, need you to do a favour for me. Can u pls check whether u're able to send out long-SMSes via a single SMS. (meaning character limit >160chars). As far as I know, this SMS limitation was found on the default japanese firmware on 903sh, 803t as well as 904t, it will auto convert ur SMS to MMS once the characters limit are over 160 for ur SMS. And yeah I do love the built-in emoticons images as well, but if I'm not wrong this can only be sent to Softbank/Vodafone phone models generally, doesn't work if u send it to other phone users using other phone brands.

The SMS converts to MMS after 160 characters, which I forgot to mention. It's also a bit of a peeve for me, so generally, I try to keep my SMSes succinct.

Text emotes, that is those of the (^_^)o etc variety can be sent to other phone models. I use these regularly with a friend who uses a Motorola Rokr 2 and she receives the images (including Japanese text) quite well. The coloured emotes/images/pictograms can't be viewed though.

Do feedback too, when you get your phone. I'm quite keen to learn more about it.

Also, there's a reprovisioning alert each time you access the menu via the key in the centre of the d-pad and also the message inbox via the dedicated key. I've gotten used to saying "no" since I used a 703SHf before. But access to the menu via the dedicated shortcut button seems ok although you can't access settings through that means. I'm still trying to figure out how to edit the shortcuts.

slmka
21-12-2007, 02:36 AM
I heard there is a time limit on video, may I know what is the max time I can record? and how long does it take to save after record? Thx

genocider_x
21-12-2007, 02:59 AM
wait when johnson said only 3g card means this phone will only work with only latest sim card in the past 2 years rite??

if my sim card at least 5 years old, i will not be able to use it on this phone to make call, jsut wanna confirm my doubt :D

kuro
21-12-2007, 03:08 AM
if your SIMCARD is a local SIM that support 3G, confirm can work.

yours 5 years, time to change =p

johnsonheng
21-12-2007, 03:12 AM
wait when johnson said only 3g card means this phone will only work with only latest sim card in the past 2 years rite??

if my sim card at least 5 years old, i will not be able to use it on this phone to make call, jsut wanna confirm my doubt :D
brother u need a 3g sim card to work....

SpellSinger
21-12-2007, 03:13 AM
omg im so excited too...but price gonna be veri ex i gather.

Haonan
21-12-2007, 09:23 AM
I heard there is a time limit on video, may I know what is the max time I can record? and how long does it take to save after record? Thx

No time limit, when u record it fills up until the maximum that your onboard memory/expansion memory can support. So it's dependable on how much memory space is left actually in terms of ur onboard memory/expansion memory status. This was also the same case as with my 803t so there shouldn't be any changes. Of course pls check that you have switched it to camcorder mode instead of MMS video/short video modes, as those are taken in limited time modes.

xingan87
21-12-2007, 09:27 AM
what abt phone book? rmb those prob with 903T =(

Haonan
21-12-2007, 09:28 AM
omg im so excited too...but price gonna be veri ex i gather.

The price for one is cheap enough for a phone with such specs actually if u consider seriously. At least it's much cheaper than when the 903sh was just unlocked. Ask kuro and the rest of those early 903sh adopters and they will agree with me. The prices for 903sh during its prime days was probably machim like playing stock market, if u ask me lol.

Haonan
21-12-2007, 09:29 AM
what abt phone book? rmb those prob with 903T =(

That one have to ask yukaguri liao, must ask her to feedback. But I would expect it to be the same as with previously all Toshiba phones with japanese firmware, one entry for caller ID one entry for SMS.

johnsonheng
21-12-2007, 09:36 AM
if i remember right. i will be like samsing... then u can select from name...
nvm i will check for u ..
i ask my frd later.

slmka
21-12-2007, 09:50 AM
The price for one is cheap enough for a phone with such specs actually if u consider seriously. At least it's much cheaper than when the 903sh was just unlocked. Ask kuro and the rest of those early 903sh adopters and they will agree with me. The prices for 903sh during its prime days was probably machim like playing stock market, if u ask me lol.

Yeah...luckily I bought the 903sh at its beta stage ($750) (802SE->902SH->903SH), have seen price go as high as $1.2k during its peak period. My friends are still suprised to see how much this phone still worth today.

VenusInTheDark
21-12-2007, 10:11 AM
903sh has one of the best cam i believe.. the onli wow thing for 911T i wld say is onli the 3-inch display.. which is not necessarily a must have.. to me at least.. that is..

johnsonheng
21-12-2007, 10:16 AM
the phone lcd is not actually big to me, as compare to iphone, but the design is are melt my heart..

dreamer75
21-12-2007, 11:15 AM

903SH test mode - $780 :p

i rem prices went up to as high as $1k :)

dreamer75
21-12-2007, 11:25 AM
Sorry bro, if u're expecting the 911t to turn up with various iterations of firmware as like what was the case previously with the Sharp 903sh, u will be disappointed. Toshiba has made it a point that their 9XX high-end model series will never make it outside of Japan ever, if u have monitored their past history of releases. 904t (the only other 9XX series by Toshiba that was ever unlocked) has never seen a release outside of Japan, it's only available as an export set in its native original japanese fw when it's unlocked, and so was the case with the latest 911t now. The 7XX/8XX series are different, because Toshiba makes it a point to release their lower and middle-end models to countries outside of Japan with a localised firmware for that particular region market in HK or Taiwan. (ie: TX60,TX62,TX80,TX82 etc)

This info was also released awhile back in an forum thread I read before, as mentioned by a reviewer/blogger called Samuel Chan from Mobileburn, who does reviews of their handsets and interviews with representatives from Sharp and Toshiba before in Japan.

bro, i actually expected that.
So this is another push factor that we should get this phone, really exotic :o

yukaguri
21-12-2007, 12:27 PM
That one have to ask yukaguri liao, must ask her to feedback. But I would expect it to be the same as with previously all Toshiba phones with japanese firmware, one entry for caller ID one entry for SMS.

You would be correct. A +65Mobile for SMS and without the +65 for caller id.

It's a hassle to duplicate numbers per entry, but unfortunately that's the way it works since the Japanese actually use email addresses for mailing if I'm not mistaken.

I'm still converting my phonebook over. Slowly. A bit agonizing.

As for the video times, I can confirm with you on this too. No time limit in regular mode, dependent on memory available.

slardar
21-12-2007, 01:07 PM
is the audio jack for this phone the same as 903sh? if thats the case then can easily get 3.5mm adapters

big screen + nice design + exotic-ness = everyone's dream..
the sharpness and contrast of 904sh's vga screen is already beyond comparison for local phones.. i cant imagine what is this screen like..

the white 1 is really damn frigging chio!!! i gotta stop reading this thread before the poison infiltrates my brain.. noooooooooo.......

hencanz
21-12-2007, 01:34 PM
thx to yukaguri & Haonan for the comprehensive reviews :s12:

if not because of the crippled GPRS, i'd have grabbed the white one faster that u can say "exotic phone!" :D

but i've been pondering for a few days now...this could well replace my aging Nano...despite being a fan of Apple, i'm not too keen on iPod Touch or iPhone...

does anyone know whether it support album arts?

coz the brochure below shows something like a placeholder for album art...
http://mobiledatabank.jp/911T/7.jpg

also, the brochure indicates there's an image stabilizer built in?...:s12:
http://mobiledatabank.jp/911T/5.jpg

800x480 = awesomeness!

hencanz
21-12-2007, 01:36 PM

lol, got my 1st 903SH at $800

then after i've lost it on a bus less than a year later...i bought a 2nd hand 903SH at $700...=:p

vengence_angels
21-12-2007, 01:51 PM
deeply poisonened..

gonna forgo my N95 8GB for this..

slmka
21-12-2007, 01:52 PM
Btw, does anyone knows my phone book from 903sh can export to 911t? or else it will be a nightmare to key in all entries >_<

kuro
21-12-2007, 02:00 PM
yup can, but you still need to enter one more set of number +65

johnsonheng
21-12-2007, 02:13 PM
YES I THINK THERE IS IMAGE STABLISE IN THE PHONE, BUT I DID NOT REALLY GO THROU IT..
WILL CHECK AGAIN WHEN I REACH HOME...

SpellSinger
21-12-2007, 02:23 PM
lol, got my 1st 903SH at $800

then after i've lost it on a bus less than a year later...i bought a 2nd hand 903SH at $700...=:p

i feelyou brother, i lost my 903sh on bus also....but i nvr got another one after, i tried to move on but every phone i bought ever since only lasted 2-3 months and i wanted to change liao. exotic phones just raises the bar on what you expect on phones, looks and feature wise, very hard to settle with anything mainstream after. i thnk most of you can feel my drift, hence i'm damn interested in the 911T, And where I live (here in AU) there is completely no market for jap phones, no enthusiast other than a very very small minority who only exist on ebay...

i think no matter how malu the UI is and the fact that i have to change my phon provider from 2G to 3G is also worth it just to get back into the scene :P. When i go back sg late jan i think i will hoot liao, who should i contact there? also sg can buy prepaid 3G sim card wan a not?

hencanz
21-12-2007, 02:41 PM
YES I THINK THERE IS IMAGE STABLISE IN THE PHONE, BUT I DID NOT REALLY GO THROU IT..
WILL CHECK AGAIN WHEN I REACH HOME...

thx, johnsonheng!

this would be a deal sealer, coz 903SH no matter how good the quality will blurry in low lighting...

hencanz
21-12-2007, 02:45 PM
i feelyou brother, i lost my 903sh on bus also....but i nvr got another one after, i tried to move on but every phone i bought ever since only lasted 2-3 months and i wanted to change liao. exotic phones just raises the bar on what you expect on phones, looks and feature wise, very hard to settle with anything mainstream after. i thnk most of you can feel my drift, hence i'm damn interested in the 911T, And where I live (here in AU) there is completely no market for jap phones, no enthusiast other than a very very small minority who only exist on ebay...

i think no matter how malu the UI is and the fact that i have to change my phon provider from 2G to 3G is also worth it just to get back into the scene :P. When i go back sg late jan i think i will hoot liao, who should i contact there? also sg can buy prepaid 3G sim card wan a not?

lol, yeah...after u use 903SH, u really can't get use to mainstream phones in the market no matter how advanced they are...

i got the K800i shortly after i've lost the 903SH. K800i was uber camera phone during tat time, but i sold it within 2 days & started looking for 903SH again :D

u can scout mobile bazaar here & look for johnsonheng or kuro :)

Nonsense
21-12-2007, 02:46 PM
Quite sian by the restrictions already, especially the one where by the sms hits 160 and it becomes MMS..then must be like Haonan..sms long sms and it comes in few smses..lol!!

SpellSinger
21-12-2007, 02:51 PM
but for someone on 2G 150 characters and above u will be sending 2 sms also...so i got no problem with that...but become auto mms? then how...? can put sretting so once hit 150 and above it still remains a 2 part sms?

ay re read the first post and it says this phone is actually sim unlocked by manufacturer....wouldn't that cause conflict between toshiba and softbank? some more softbank website for the 911T specifically got say for "Japan use only".

johnsonheng
21-12-2007, 02:52 PM
WHEN THE SMS HIT MORE THAN 160 LETTERES, IT WILL DEFAULT BECOME A MMS, but then , since the phone cannot support mms, the sms will not be able to sent out..
anyway i doubt u good at writting compostion...
right...
no offends. bro..
cheers and merry christmas..

johnsonheng
21-12-2007, 02:56 PM
thx, johnsonheng!

this would be a deal sealer, coz 903SH no matter how good the quality will blurry in low lighting...
to reconfirm i need to ask those who bought the phone from me,
as i did not really play the phone,,, all i could say, they lcd is damm good and bright. will update u with more info later....
but then a downside , i find that the phone reponse time is slower than what i expected...
maybe due to in running flash files.

SpellSinger
21-12-2007, 03:02 PM
WHEN THE SMS HIT MORE THAN 160 LETTERES, IT WILL DEFAULT BECOME A MMS, but then , since the phone cannot support mms, the sms will not be able to sent out..
anyway i doubt u good at writting compostion...
right...
no offends. bro..
cheers and merry christmas..

not true, i very dependant on sms de....i quite frequently than not send 2 page sms....how :(?

ipwnj00
21-12-2007, 03:11 PM

It's a hassle to duplicate numbers per entry, but unfortunately that's the way it works since the Japanese actually use email addresses for mailing if I'm not mistaken.

Is there any pc suite in the package that can be used to key in the entries? hahah if not it'll be a hassle to edit every contact's information but i've done that before so no issues... hahaha

I guess we all have to live with the restrictions found in the 911T. Even for the 160 chars per SMS issue, the UI is such =)

johnsonheng
21-12-2007, 03:16 PM
ONE MOE ISSUE, IT THE REPRO, PROBLEM....
IT BE A BIG PROGRAM FOR SOMEONE WHO HAS NTO GOANNA REPRO PROBLEM...

hencanz
21-12-2007, 03:21 PM
to reconfirm i need to ask those who bought the phone from me,
as i did not really play the phone,,, all i could say, they lcd is damm good and bright. will update u with more info later....
but then a downside , i find that the phone reponse time is slower than what i expected...
maybe due to in running flash files.

thx,

hmm, hopefully it will be more responsive if without flash files

not true, i very dependant on sms de....i quite frequently than not send 2 page sms....how :(?

i also frequently write 2-3 pages sms in one go :s22:
well, guess i have to discipline myself if i were to get this phone :D

SpellSinger
21-12-2007, 03:31 PM
i guess we can write till lmit send then, write again then send lor :P.

ok johnsonheng my fren also interested in 1 handset...so i buy 1 white and 1 red....u got all colours right?

also got quantity discount bo :)?

i add you on msn liao, but u not online reh...

SpellSinger
21-12-2007, 03:34 PM
ONE MOE ISSUE, IT THE REPRO, PROBLEM....
IT BE A BIG PROGRAM FOR SOMEONE WHO HAS NTO GOANNA REPRO PROBLEM...

i got a locked 705sh i got experience before, sian but bo pian, my fren use 703shf she knows....so it's all good can can!

dreamer75
21-12-2007, 03:36 PM
Quite sian by the restrictions already, especially the one where by the sms hits 160 and it becomes MMS..then must be like Haonan..sms long sms and it comes in few smses..lol!!

this one no issue as i already typed sms (no long than 160 chars) for > 2 yrs on my 903sh and 803t.

dreamer75
21-12-2007, 03:38 PM
Is there any pc suite in the package that can be used to key in the entries? hahah if not it'll be a hassle to edit every contact's information but i've done that before so no issues... hahaha

I guess we all have to live with the restrictions found in the 911T. Even for the 160 chars per SMS issue, the UI is such =)

this issue is the same as 803t, cant rem if there's any file which we can import.

slardar
21-12-2007, 04:18 PM
is it impossible to play video files on this fone? curious about the movie watching experience on the insane screen. lol..

johnsonheng
21-12-2007, 04:26 PM
IT WORK LAR BUT U HAVE TO CONVERT LOL....

SpellSinger
21-12-2007, 04:39 PM
hey johnson dunno why so many problems to add u to msn...sigh...

what is ur price now anyways? and do u do discount if i bought 2 handsets? will u reserve a price for me if i commit to buy? i willing to do paypal deposit first then pickup later if u gimme a fixed price now.

johnsonheng
21-12-2007, 04:49 PM
bro go the sale thread please ...
if not i going to get fire by the forumers here...

Da_Vinci
21-12-2007, 11:59 PM
white is chio but the issue of it turning yellowish aft some time is another problem...

slardar
22-12-2007, 12:05 AM
is the 903sh white really pure white when its brand new? cos i bought a used white one, and my friend also bought 1, but both looks yellowish to me. lol..

theory_87
22-12-2007, 12:13 AM
903sh is pearl white in colour

SpellSinger
22-12-2007, 12:44 AM
so anyone think this will turn yellow.. is it the material used on the phones or just generally any white will turn yellow de

Beta_Tester
22-12-2007, 01:31 AM
i get paranoid of white phones. Like my bro 903 turn yellowish.. My w850i.. I got it as a gift.. I used it for 1 week and i put back to 'cold storage' for abt 9 months.. it became yellowish. I love white though.

kuro
22-12-2007, 02:17 AM
unlock available on some HK tele shops. good news that they are opening up on the unlock.

Haonan
22-12-2007, 02:58 AM
Yeah...luckily I bought the 903sh at its beta stage ($750) (802SE->902SH->903SH), have seen price go as high as $1.2k during its peak period. My friends are still suprised to see how much this phone still worth today.

Same here, bought my 903sh from kuro at 815 during test mode firmware period (ok slightly more ex, cos black more in demand last time). Even u see the 2nd-hand market prices now, if I sell it I also won't lose more than 50% of what I invested. That's telling very much of the phone's market value and capability. But I'm not those kind of ppl who buy phones to resell to profit, so honestly it doesn't matter to me.

Most ppl who know me on this forum, will know I'm quite a japanophile, that's why I really like japanese keitais very much.

Haonan
22-12-2007, 03:06 AM

Prices for new sets of 903SH once went as high as 1.2-1.3k SGD before, some examples I remembered would be from Taiwan shops or Yesasia.com. Even till now, refurbished unlocked 903SHs are selling for 3980HKD (4280 for white sets now I think) respectively on Yahoo HK auctions. This is quite astounding, considering that this model is already 2 years old. And there are still demand for it trust me, ppl are still buying it. (as the chinese saying goes, who scare good phones nobody would buy? in the literal sense of the word)

Haonan
22-12-2007, 03:09 AM

As for the video times, I can confirm with you on this too. No time limit in regular mode, dependent on memory available.

Thanks for clarifying on this issue yukaguri. I initially thought that I can bypass these hassles by simply importing my phone by using the backup function on my 803t, then importing it via memorycard. Then suddenly just realised that cannot, since 911t uses microSD not miniSD lol. Sigh but it's alright, I'm just gonna import and rename my contacts slowly when I get my 911t, daijoubu ne.

Haonan
22-12-2007, 03:20 AM
thx to yukaguri & Haonan for the comprehensive reviews :s12:

if not because of the crippled GPRS, i'd have grabbed the white one faster that u can say "exotic phone!" :D

but i've been pondering for a few days now...this could well replace my aging Nano...despite being a fan of Apple, i'm not too keen on iPod Touch or iPhone...

does anyone know whether it support album arts?

coz the brochure below shows something like a placeholder for album art...
http://mobiledatabank.jp/911T/7.jpg

also, the brochure indicates there's an image stabilizer built in?...:s12:
http://mobiledatabank.jp/911T/5.jpg

800x480 = awesomeness!

No prob there hencanz, it's my pleasure to be able to share information abt this phone with fellow forumers. From what I know, the bundled BeatJam software doesn't seem to be able to support Album Arts, as it's similiar to BeatEngine actually in terms of working interface. But I could be wrong, can only test it out and feedback again when I get my.

Whether this is a good replacement for ur mp3 player or Apple iTouch/iPhone or not, all I can say is this is still a phone afterall, so do not expect its music functions/capability to totally replace your dedicated music device. I had always believed in convergence in devices in the past, but so far most devices are not efficient at pushing convergence, so I choose not to nitpick anymore and just use it as what it's meant for. The music functions on the 911t are just bonuses, nothing more. I will still use the 911t as a phone mainly, as I already have a dedicated music mp3 player.

Regarding the image stabiliser, please take note that generally mobilephones these days that markets its camera functions with image stabiliser feature, are actually just using software image stabiliser. It's not like pro-consumer DCs/DSLRs where they come with optical image stabiliser, so don't read too much into this function for mobilephones. Same case as with digital zoom/optical zoom, some ppl just can't diff much btw this 2 functions, but real photography enthusiasts like you and me who owns the 903sh before, knows that only optical zoom on phones truly matters. :)

kuro
22-12-2007, 03:22 AM
Thanks for clarifying on this issue yukaguri. I initially thought that I can bypass these hassles by simply importing my phone by using the backup function on my 803t, then importing it via memorycard. Then suddenly just realised that cannot, since 911t uses microSD not miniSD lol. Sigh but it's alright, I'm just gonna import and rename my contacts slowly when I get my 911t, daijoubu ne.

use your computer to copy the backup file over.

Haonan
22-12-2007, 03:23 AM

Lol bro, u know me so well haha. But I already used to this issue already, so used that I'm actually pretty efficient now in smsing using my 803T, as u know urself when I send u long SMSes haha. So this won't poise a problem for me when I switch to the 911T. ^ ^

So bro, which color are you getting?

ipwnj00
22-12-2007, 03:24 AM
I think this phone will also have the issue of searching for contacts in the phonebook. Doing a sort by "Reading" would actually require the user to input the name in the Field called "Reading" to be able to fully utilise the search function.

Haonan
22-12-2007, 03:29 AM
is it impossible to play video files on this fone? curious about the movie watching experience on the insane screen. lol..

U're asking the obvious my friend. If older models like 803t and 903sh can playback video files easily on each respective handset, why wouldn't the 911t be able to playback videos? What's more this has already been answered (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=27255430&postcount=96) in this thread b4, I suggest you to read through this thread again in case u have missed any previous posts that has answers to ur enquiries, as it's quite hard to keep repeating answers in this thread as it makes the thread very draggy with repeated questions.

Haonan
22-12-2007, 03:33 AM
is the 903sh white really pure white when its brand new? cos i bought a used white one, and my friend also bought 1, but both looks yellowish to me. lol..

903SH's white is pearl white actually as mentioned by theory_87, which has a faint tint of yellow-ish color. Also one of the reasons why I never had a liking for 903SH in white color, as I only like phones or gadgets in those pure milky white, like iPods. Toshiba 911T's white is actually considered milky glossy white, so it shouldn't be yellowish. But as we all know white things/shirts will change color accordingly depending on dirt/sweat, as the salt in our sweat is acidic, I wouldn't bet on it that the phone wouldn't turn yellow-ish after some time. Best it's up to ur preference, make ur own choice.

Haonan
22-12-2007, 03:35 AM
use your computer to copy the backup file over.

Bro thanks for reminding me, I really forgotten abt this. Guess the late night is making me tired I guess, can't really think lol. Thanks for the heads-up, I guess inputing contacts into my 911T shouldn't be a major prob for me anymore then. ^ ^

Haonan
22-12-2007, 03:38 AM
I think this phone will also have the issue of searching for contacts in the phonebook. Doing a sort by "Reading" would actually require the user to input the name in the Field called "Reading" to be able to fully utilise the search function.

Same case as 903sh in japanese firmware actually, yes u have to fill in the column field under ' Reading' to actually sort by name. Maybe u haven't encountered this before since ur SX833 is in HK or UK firmware only, but it's always been like this for the japanese 903sh in its original japanese firmware. I got no issues with this though, and for Toshiba phones u can actually scroll very fast thru ur phonebk in ascending or descending order using the * and # keys on ur keypad.

awong614
22-12-2007, 03:52 AM
you can also just get a microsd then get minisd converter to fit a micro in minisd and backup

btw just wondering how mature is sg 3g network? Enough that its mostly covering the whole area and only places like deep inside buildings and underground you guys will have issues with just 3g only

iori48
22-12-2007, 10:02 AM
I think someone mention about 3.5mm earpiece in previous post...

i think i want to know wat if i plug normal headset (using for mp3 players) into 911T is possible?

Or die die must use bluetooth ear set? I am glad anyone have own that phone give a reply for it. thank u

johnsonheng
22-12-2007, 10:50 AM
I think someone mention about 3.5mm earpiece in previous post...

i think i want to know wat if i plug normal headset (using for mp3 players) into 911T is possible?

Or die die must use bluetooth ear set? I am glad anyone have own that phone give a reply for it. thank u
it is possible, ...

kuro
22-12-2007, 12:27 PM
3G Signal is weaker on MRT tunnel, sometimes no signal.

slmka
22-12-2007, 12:48 PM
decided to get white (think red is too hot for guys to hold) from Kuro. We exotic phone users must have behave well this year since Santa give us such a good news.(or bad news when I look at my bank statment) Ho Ho Ho!

slmka
22-12-2007, 12:50 PM
does anyone Toshiba comes with a PC software to manage the phonebook? I think would like to take this chance to "spring clean" my phonebook ^ ^|||

johnsonheng
22-12-2007, 12:59 PM
it does have a software. but not sure whether does it mange the phone book...

johnsonheng
22-12-2007, 01:00 PM
all of u pls take note the imei number mention in the box may not matach the phone imei...

blazin
22-12-2007, 02:42 PM
I search for some other phones and accidentally found this blog...

http://xumdeo.blogspot.com/

It says...

1. GPS will not work
2. no luck with getting online just yet
3. MMS requires tedious manual setting "he is able to make till it can MMS? or is it he donno it cant?"
4. call in call out SMS no prob
5. one-seg DMB won't work, of course
6. neither would Felica electronic money work
7. some re-provisioning issues with early firmwares, still working
8. no MP3 ringtones, but yes to 3G2 (MP4) and MMF
9. music can be dragged and dropped with a card reader (as reported by itmedia)
10. A2DP works fine

sigg12
22-12-2007, 06:13 PM
I search for some other phones and accidentally found this blog...

http://xumdeo.blogspot.com/

It says...

1. GPS will not work
2. no luck with getting online just yet
3. MMS requires tedious manual setting "he is able to make till it can MMS? or is it he donno it cant?"
4. call in call out SMS no prob
5. one-seg DMB won't work, of course
6. neither would Felica electronic money work
7. some re-provisioning issues with early firmwares, still working
8. no MP3 ringtones, but yes to 3G2 (MP4) and MMF
9. music can be dragged and dropped with a card reader (as reported by itmedia)
10. A2DP works fine

how to??? MMS confirm cannot 1 lah.
just got a set (black beauty) from johnson and now charging the battery. Whoot.....the screen is awesome!!!

johnsonheng
22-12-2007, 06:40 PM
hehe, thanks bro for ur support.

Raffles88
22-12-2007, 11:31 PM
anyone buying the 911t, pls check if it has the wallpapers and themes.
if it doesnt has it, which means it has been master-reset and u wont be able to get back the wallapaers and themes. so be carefull

johnsonheng
23-12-2007, 12:37 AM
HMMMM... WELL I DUN KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT THAT..
COZ I SAw WALLPAPER IN IT..

kuro
23-12-2007, 05:11 AM
HMMMM... WELL I DUN KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT THAT..
COZ I SAw WALLPAPER IN IT..

after master reset, the themes will be gone.

icycoldice
23-12-2007, 10:18 AM
anyone buying the 911t, pls check if it has the wallpapers and themes.
if it doesnt has it, which means it has been master-reset and u wont be able to get back the wallapaers and themes. so be carefull

the wallpapers and themes are there, is just that its a little tedious to set them back to the original. but I have tried so many times, and looked through all the wallpapers and animations, they are all so wonder ful.

just a question. since the phone is 3g only. is my phone number suppose to be cut to any one calling me from a 2G phone. since I can't get any voice calls, but rather I can voice call.

SpellSinger
23-12-2007, 10:34 AM
got such thing i thought default firmware reset liao will reload all the original fw + wallpaper??

then exactly what theme does it default to when u master reset?

also i know quite pointless to ask...but i m guessing it has no support to run .jar applications? (java)

johnsonheng
23-12-2007, 10:47 AM
there is noting much also, i think...
if ur phone really got problem , what else can u do other than master reset...

kuro
23-12-2007, 01:32 PM
i do not have the phone with me till tuesday. but one thing for sure is TW forum, users have been reporting that after doing master reset, the themes are gone.

red_devilz
23-12-2007, 04:27 PM
this is really tempting...hmmm...sweet sweet phone....

ipwnj00
23-12-2007, 05:50 PM
Anyone to owns the phone, where can the themes be found?

sigg12
23-12-2007, 06:21 PM
Anyone to owns the phone, where can the themes be found?

there are total of 3 themes and 1 original default theme.
1. press the center button.
2. once in the main menu, press the right button (the menu button)
3. select "set images".
4a. if u select "phone memory", there are 3 themes (Extreme, Lively and Ku-man).
4b. if u select "original" then u have the default theme.

Lestat_26011974
23-12-2007, 07:23 PM
Have a bery strange feeling that more models(capable of unlock) might be coming out next year...(just my guts feeling)...

Why??? Becos:-

1. Japan Telco side started to release new models which are capable of WCDMA & GSM. There must be a reason why they put back the GSM network.

2. Suddenly, 911T can be unlocked. (although with limited phone functions)
If they really want to "locked" the phone, to them, it seems very easy. (Just like 904SH)

If the above is guess correctly, it could mean similar unlock techniques might be possible for later models capable of GSM/WCDMA, & the Telco side might be loosening their grip on the security technology for later models since 911T can be unlocked.

Just my 2 cents of "wild" thoughts....

blazin
23-12-2007, 07:30 PM
Hope so...XD

Then i can get 1 of those TV flip phones screen that are able to tilt sideways...XD

Haonan
23-12-2007, 07:47 PM
how to??? MMS confirm cannot 1 lah.
just got a set (black beauty) from johnson and now charging the battery. Whoot.....the screen is awesome!!!

Actually, xumdeo was the guy who I was making references in my earlier posts, the guy called Samuel Chan who writes reviews on Mobileburn, and occasionally hangs out at MR and Esato forums. His insider info news are usually quite accurate, as he often conducts interviews and turns up for special press events when it comes to phone releases from Sharp or Toshiba, as well as more of those notable local brands like Nokia and SE too.

However, I believe the MMS thingy that he mentioned in his blog post is a minor confusion, as I believed he has only played with the japanese handset straight from Softbank only, thus why he said the MMS configuration was possible and tedious. Up until now, GPRS is locked in the unlocked version of 911T, and to use MMS obviously u would need GPRS data configuration settings. So its affirmative to say there's a slight mistake here, MMS definitely cannot be used.

Haonan
23-12-2007, 07:49 PM
also i know quite pointless to ask...but i m guessing it has no support to run .jar applications? (java)

Games and java content like Opera Mini have to be downloaded via built-in phone browser, and then installed. You can't do it via PC or by transferring to expansion memory then installing it if I'm not wrong. And since in 911T's case the phone browser can't work, it's pretty positive to say yes you can't download java applications to ur phone.

Haonan
23-12-2007, 08:04 PM
Have a bery strange feeling that more models(capable of unlock) might be coming out next year...(just my guts feeling)...

Why??? Becos:-

1. Japan Telco side started to release new models which are capable of WCDMA & GSM. There must be a reason why they put back the GSM network.

2. Suddenly, 911T can be unlocked. (although with limited phone functions)
If they really want to "locked" the phone, to them, it seems very easy. (Just like 904SH)

Your point number 1 is actually pretty baseless and invalid, the real reason I can tell u is because in Japan right now, the only real operators there that are offering GSM international roaming capabilities within their 3G handsets are only NTT Docomo and Softbank. au KDDI is not included because they are running on a different technology, and most of their handsets do not come with GSM-roaming capability unlike handsets on NTT Docomo or Softbank. au KDDI do come with Global Roaming services though, it's just that it's quite troublesome that u will have to purchase a seperate GSM handset on ur own to use ur own the au USIM in it.

NTT Docomo has already started offering GSM capabilities within their handsets since the 903i series, and Softbank has noticed this so obviously they can't lose to the other competitor when it comes to Japan, where NTT Docomo is also one of the biggest (but also one of the fastest to losing new subscribers in recent mths) telco operator in Japan in terms of base subscribers. Softbank has actually stepped up their acts in Japan quite tremedously, and in return they had actually done pretty well in 2007 in terms of new subscribers growth (http://www.japantoday.com/jp/news/422622) compared to the other 2 main telco operators in Japan itself.

About ur point number 2, I'm not sure of the real reason myself behind the unlock of 911T, but it's in recent trend that we had starting to see WCDMA-only handsets been unlocked (805SC by Samsung was the first of such handsets actually) so it's pretty affirmative we will get to see more handsets been unlocked in the near future, if the unlockers are actually doing their work. One thing I'm pretty sure though, Sharp handsets aren't that easy to unlock anymore, so I'm only putting my hope on those newer Toshiba and Samsung handsets by Softbank.

Just my 2 cents.

SpellSinger
24-12-2007, 12:46 AM
thanks for ur 2cents, it helps consumers make more informed decisions. ty.

SpellSinger
24-12-2007, 01:09 AM
hey can anyone with a 911T confirm if .aac/mp4 can be used as ringtones/smstones? i'm getting th vibe from a seller only can use .mmf

SpellSinger
24-12-2007, 01:42 AM
hey can anyone with a 911T confirm if .aac/mp4 can be used as ringtones/smstones? i'm getting th vibe from a seller only can use .mmf

sorry but i post 3 times, but i found this @ the sogi website, looks like it CANNOT play aac or mp3 as ringtone :(.

可惜的是,911T 在內的日本手機,都無法使用非法下載的音樂作為鈴聲,在日本也只能夠過下載的方式來下載。而台灣的消費者,僅能自行灌入 mmf、midi 檔格式來作為鈴聲,不能使用 MP3、AAC 等高音質原音。

haiz :(, haonan mebbe u should update ur first post....:(

sigg12
24-12-2007, 10:15 AM
Looks like you are correct. I can't get the phone to set the aac file as ringtone after converting it to m4a using apple i-tune. The phone player can play the m4a file but it just cannot be set as ringtone.
Anybody succeed in using m4a file as ringtone?

VenusInTheDark
24-12-2007, 10:20 AM
eh.. tis phone cam got flash? if have, will it b as lame as 903's flash? and how's the zoom? issit digital or optical?

cookies_n_cream
24-12-2007, 12:02 PM
eh.. tis phone cam got flash? if have, will it b as lame as 903's flash? and how's the zoom? issit digital or optical?

wad u mean will be as lame as 903's flash.. :s22:

VenusInTheDark
24-12-2007, 12:19 PM
u noe.. the flash is juz a LED light.. its equivalent to no flash to me tt is.. not like those flash of SE phones..

SpellSinger
24-12-2007, 05:26 PM
it's not xenon flash la. ez. its juz led flashlight nia.

johnsonheng
24-12-2007, 06:24 PM
but the phone shuttle speed is fast. as compare to other camera phone.

stanff11
24-12-2007, 08:23 PM
but the phone shuttle speed is fast. as compare to other camera phone.

Just got my set. I've play for a while with the camera, the capture speed is fast but there's seem to have a short lag before the picture shows up. Will explore more...:D

gaoxing84
25-12-2007, 04:58 AM
damn. just got to know this news after i get my k850i today. damn

johnsonheng
25-12-2007, 01:35 PM
self prawn....

okay k850 is a nice phone too..
merry x-mas...

adix_82
25-12-2007, 02:23 PM
let say.. if it only run on 3G network.. that means if u are in train tunnel.. they will be no reception? or any tunnel..

Your phone will be dead until u are out of the tunnel?

johnsonheng
25-12-2007, 03:13 PM
yes,,,,
in tunnel, ur phone is out of network......
if the best if u have a sprare phone with simcard. then when ur phont is down, u can divert the phone to ur other phone.

esence
25-12-2007, 07:07 PM
Huat Ar... merry X'mas and (advanced NY) ^^...

another white keitai^_^

johnsonheng
25-12-2007, 07:25 PM

another white keitai^_^
y brother u also got ur own sets....

ipwnj00
25-12-2007, 07:49 PM

another white keitai^_^

wah yo brother, huat man! you got urself another exotic? hahah grats.

ipwnj00
25-12-2007, 07:52 PM
http://gamereview.jp/images/911Tiphone1.jpg

Slide to Unlock ... lol

vengence_angels
25-12-2007, 08:19 PM
sleek..

i am deeply poisoned..
contemplating to sell off my N95 8gb to get a white 911T..

juz wondering how good the pics quality from this fellow is..

esence
26-12-2007, 12:32 AM
too much poisons le... lucky i immune 2 most *evil grins*

slardar
26-12-2007, 12:43 AM
sleek..

i am deeply poisoned..
contemplating to sell off my N95 8gb to get a white 911T..

juz wondering how good the pics quality from this fellow is..

for me i would keep the n95 8gb and give the 911T a miss.
its specs/functions owns the 911T.. maybe except for the screen/design

8gb + GPS + 5mpx = everyone's dreams..

gaoxing84
26-12-2007, 12:48 AM
exotic is back on track! hahaha. unlock more!!

vengence_angels
26-12-2007, 12:56 AM

not everyone's dream lah..

so much functions but do we really need those all the time?..

not exactly mah..

anyway..
juz abit tired of this fone..

tinking of getting a new toy..
hahah

SpellSinger
26-12-2007, 01:40 AM
i think 80% of reson why ppl would buy this is is coz it looks dam chio...none of that touch screen bull****....nice big screen with buttons to press like a mobile phone...not become a surface with a screen.

ipwnj00...im guessing that pics that show the iPhone wallpaper is just a picture display? i dun believe the time and 'slide to unlock' is actually part of the interface ?

Haonan
26-12-2007, 02:13 AM
sorry but i post 3 times, but i found this @ the sogi website, looks like it CANNOT play aac or mp3 as ringtone :(.

haiz :(, haonan mebbe u should update ur first post....:(

Gomen, but I choose to believe what I read on japanese user blogs who own the 911t rather than some speculation on some chinese site article. There's already 2 blog entries stated so far, written here (http://mbphone.blog102.fc2.com/blog-entry-7.html#more) and here (http://911t.jugem.jp/?eid=2), that mentioned that MPEG-4 audio chaku-uta files can be supported on the 911t. It's also recorded on the 3GP Calcum's official MobileHackerz Wiki (http://www.nurs.or.jp/~calcium/wiki/index.php?911T), that 911t can support both AAC and HE-AAC files as chaku-uta. This issue is getting abit conflicting as some of the local users here say AAC files cannot be use as ringtones, but on japanese sites and blogs it's stated that it can be supported.

Until I get my 911T and verify this for myself, the FAQ on first page will remain unchanged, till I get further updates on this after trying it out.

Haonan
26-12-2007, 02:15 AM
ipwnj00...im guessing that pics that show the iPhone wallpaper is just a picture display? i dun believe the time and 'slide to unlock' is actually part of the interface ?

It's a Flash wallpaper actually, I have that exact same flash wallpaper as well on my 903sh. Since the 911T can support Flash Lite, it will support flash wallpapers just fine as well, supported and seen on a bigger screen this time.

Haonan
26-12-2007, 02:29 AM

Toshiba 911t is LED Flash, just like on 903sh. Generally most japanese phone models only come with LED strobe flash (Sharp highest-end cameraphone model the 910SH was also based on LED strobe flash, not Xenon Flash) most prolly due to design/battery life issues. (Xenon Flash modules on mobilephones have limited voltage/lifespan) It's only very recently that phone models such as the Softbank 920sc by Samsung, is introduced with a Xenon Flash on it. (Softbank is marketing this model under their AW 2007 Winter season line-up as a camera-oriented phone actually, thus the designated brandname for this model known as PHOTOS 920SC (http://www.softbankmobile.co.jp/corporate/en/news/press/2007/20071022_02/001.html))

No optical zoom on this model, only digital zoom as with most cameraphones. Generally these days, alot of mobile manufacturers don't equip optical zoom feature on their models, except from companies like Sharp or Samsung.

Haonan
26-12-2007, 02:36 AM

Gaoxing u can always sell off ur K850i and grab the 911t if u really gian. Will always welcome u back to the exotics family de, it's been awhile since u sold off ur 903sh liao right? (haha Larc aka Nick who bought e set from u)

However if u really prefer camera-oriented feats, I would suggest u to keep ur K850i, it's preferably better since the camera features are better on it, and sports xenon flash for night-shooting as well. 911t is not a camera-oriented phone so take note of that before taking the plunge. However if camera is not ur main purpose for a phone, then I would say 911t is definitely worth getting, due to its huge LCD and resolution, as well as its slick design. Not to forget the build quality too, not much phones these days can match up to the build quality of phones from Sharp or Toshiba. ^ ^

Haonan
26-12-2007, 03:20 AM

I'm not trying to OT from this thread's topic, but let's just say the N95 8GB is on a different league/world of its own, and so is the 911T. My arguements and advantages on the 911t are stated as below.

1) Nokia N95 8GB is a slider smartphone, and it's great at that, as well as been a decent multimedia phone (with its 8GB memory storage) and also a 5MP camera with carl-zeiss to boot. The Toshiba 911t is not a smartphone to begin with, and with only 1GB memory onboard for storage, so of cos it can't be compared to N95 8GB. However, what the N95 8GB does not have, but the 911t has, is an expandable memoryslot. And we all know the convinience of a memory expansion slot. Let's say u want to print out photos taken by ur phone at a kiosk, just grab the microSD in ur 911t and u're good to go. But what abt the N95 8GB? The answer is pretty clear here.

2) Build quality issues. It's been well-known that Nokia doesn't make very good slider mechanism in their N95/N95 8GB. There's been such issues posted up on various internet forums, I don't have to repeat further. Sure the Toshiba 911t may not sport the best slider mechanism here, but at least from my knowledge of owning both the 803t as well as my W41t from Toshiba, the build quality on these japanese phones are great, so I have no doubts regarding the build quality on the 911t itself.

3) OS firmware stability. Don't even have to further debate on this. Especially when Symbian OS is based on Psion's EPOC, and is actually pretty CPU-dependant. (those who have come a long way from previous Symbian handsets shd know this by now) Rebooting/restarting issues? I certainly dun get them on my Toshiba handsets, that's for sure heh.

4) Screen Resolution. 480x800pixels @WVGA vs 240x320pixels @QVGA. Nuff said. I'm not even bringing in the LCD screen size comparison here, heh.

5) Phone Dimensions & it's Exterior Outlook. Sorry no offence to N95 8GB owners, but it's a pretty fat phone by today's standards, even in my eyes. The 911t may be much taller than N95 8GB by abit (112mm vs 99mm), but it's width (51mm vs 53mm) and thickness (17.9mm vs 21mm) obviously has a clear advantage compared to the N95 8GB. The height of 911t is probably pretty self-explainable, due to the huge LCD screensize sported on it.

Outlooks-wise, sorry but the 911t definitely gets my vote for been the sexiest Toshiba handset that has ever graced Softbank in awhile, even before the unlock news of it came out as it has already smittened me way back in March this year when it was announced during the Spring season line-up news. Nokia N95 8GB is honestly just too boring and fugly IMO, though this is pretty much subjective since a man's meat is another's poison so do forgive me. (but I'm sure some of the ppl here do agree with me that Nokia's design for their handsets can be pretty boring at times)

My 2 cents worth.

awong614
26-12-2007, 03:21 AM
http://gamereview.jp/images/911Tiphone1.jpg

Slide to Unlock ... lol
i got that wallpaper lol, have one that doesnt have slide part too

SpellSinger
26-12-2007, 03:55 AM
hello haonan uncle ur first post misleading, cannot do aac/m4a ringtones leh. plz change. i alredi mention to u liao. unless u prove me otherwise, i suggest a little edit would do the community a little good.

EDIT: ok i saw ur address it with a reply...but i think aac and m4a only work for downloaded ringtones that are protected/licensed.

ALSO, the apple iphone lookalike wallpaper...the time/date can work properly? if can i go back i sure hoot liao.

awong614
26-12-2007, 04:20 AM
yeah time and day work properly on both of them that i have

Lestat_26011974
26-12-2007, 09:27 AM
We forgot to mentioned the perfect, high quality gloss-finished paint work of the jap phone vs the ugly, "suspected" cheap paint work of Nokia..which always fade off or "corroded" easily....

I'm not trying to OT from this thread's topic, but let's just say the N95 8GB is on a different league/world of its own, and so is the 911T. My arguements and advantages on the 911t are stated as below.

1) Nokia N95 8GB is a slider smartphone, and it's great at that, as well as been a decent multimedia phone (with its 8GB memory storage) and also a 5MP camera with carl-zeiss to boot. The Toshiba 911t is not a smartphone to begin with, and with only 1GB memory onboard for storage, so of cos it can't be compared to N95 8GB. However, what the N95 8GB does not have, but the 911t has, is an expandable memoryslot. And we all know the convinience of a memory expansion slot. Let's say u want to print out photos taken by ur phone at a kiosk, just grab the microSD in ur 911t and u're good to go. But what abt the N95 8GB? The answer is pretty clear here.

2) Build quality issues. It's been well-known that Nokia doesn't make very good slider mechanism in their N95/N95 8GB. There's been such issues posted up on various internet forums, I don't have to repeat further. Sure the Toshiba 911t may not sport the best slider mechanism here, but at least from my knowledge of owning both the 803t as well as my W41t from Toshiba, the build quality on these japanese phones are great, so I have no doubts regarding the build quality on the 911t itself.

3) OS firmware stability. Don't even have to further debate on this. Especially when Symbian OS is based on Psion's EPOC, and is actually pretty CPU-dependant. (those who have come a long way from previous Symbian handsets shd know this by now) Rebooting/restarting issues? I certainly dun get them on my Toshiba handsets, that's for sure heh.

4) Screen Resolution. 480x800pixels @WVGA vs 240x320pixels @QVGA. Nuff said. I'm not even bringing in the LCD screen size comparison here, heh.

5) Phone Dimensions & it's Exterior Outlook. Sorry no offence to N95 8GB owners, but it's a pretty fat phone by today's standards, even in my eyes. The 911t may be much taller than N95 8GB by abit (112mm vs 99mm), but it's width (51mm vs 53mm) and thickness (17.9mm vs 21mm) obviously has a clear advantage compared to the N95 8GB. The height of 911t is probably pretty self-explainable, due to the huge LCD screensize sported on it.

Outlooks-wise, sorry but the 911t definitely gets my vote for been the sexiest Toshiba handset that has ever graced Softbank in awhile, even before the unlock news of it came out as it has already smittened me way back in March this year when it was announced during the Spring season line-up news. Nokia N95 8GB is honestly just too boring and fugly IMO, though this is pretty much subjective since a man's meat is another's poison so do forgive me. (but I'm sure some of the ppl here do agree with me that Nokia's design for their handsets can be pretty boring at times)

My 2 cents worth.

Da_Vinci
26-12-2007, 11:24 AM

My 2 cents worth.

I agree with you, people whom are out to appreciate exotics are not always multimedia inclined. The 911T does not have to be a powerhouse like the N95 8GB to win votes.

IMO, what matters is the visual aesthetics of the phone. I felt that the 911T does possess that charm whereas the N95 does not.

Imagine putting the 911T and N95 side by side, without considering the specs, i am sure we know which option would the masses pick:D

gaoxing84
26-12-2007, 02:39 PM
Gaoxing u can always sell off ur K850i and grab the 911t if u really gian. Will always welcome u back to the exotics family de, it's been awhile since u sold off ur 903sh liao right? (haha Larc aka Nick who bought e set from u)

However if u really prefer camera-oriented feats, I would suggest u to keep ur K850i, it's preferably better since the camera features are better on it, and sports xenon flash for night-shooting as well. 911t is not a camera-oriented phone so take note of that before taking the plunge. However if camera is not ur main purpose for a phone, then I would say 911t is definitely worth getting, due to its huge LCD and resolution, as well as its slick design. Not to forget the build quality too, not much phones these days can match up to the build quality of phones from Sharp or Toshiba. ^ ^

no more moolah after getting my k850i. haha. but nevermind. will still continue to support the exotics and will be waiting for more jap phones to unlock. will be joining back soon..

but still 903sh is the king. haha :)

kakaBoBo
26-12-2007, 05:32 PM
deeply poison liao.
hand itchy itchy.

ki_123
26-12-2007, 09:06 PM
17 pages i abit lazy to read so is there T9 for this phone and Bluetooth? and mention that Phone calls and smses can be made, but ONLY if u're on 3G network using with a 3G USIM. (subjected to network reception, Starhub users pls take note). 3G network won't affect the bill one hor? sorry i abit damn in tech stuff but the phone too nice liao.

SpellSinger
26-12-2007, 09:30 PM
i think the front page the first post alredi got say got english T9, bluetooth i notch sure...