PDA

View Full Version : Help needed for london/venice/paris

unity58
17-12-2007, 08:59 PM
Hi guys,

I need help in planning for my london trip. This will be my honeymoon trip with my soon-to-be wife. I be departing on the 11th March 08 and returning on 25rd March 08, taking british airway. During the trip, I wish to tour between london, venice, paris and possible to florence also or even barcelona. Can you guys roughly give me some ideas on how to travel (transport) from one state to another state and where to book the transport tixs? Can also advise me on which hotels that have a private bathroom, cheap, good and convenient? Below is roughly my plan. Hope you guys can greatly advise me your expertise. Thank You.

Guys any advise for the transport and hotel? Thanks.

Inix
18-12-2007, 09:59 AM
Hi guys,

I need help in planning for my london trip. This will be my honeymoon trip with my soon-to-be wife. I be departing on the 11th March 08 and returning on 23rd March 08, taking british airway. During the trip, I wish to tour between london, venice, paris and possible to florence also. Can you guys roughly give me some ideas on how to travel (transport) from one state to another state and where to book the transport tixs? Can also advise me on which hotels that have a private bathroom, cheap, good and convenient? Below is roughly my plan. Hope you guys can greatly advise me your expertise. Thank You.

11th March 08 - Depart from singapore to london (confirmed).
12th March 08 - Reach london heathrow airport. Staying in waterloo hotel (confirmed).
13th March 08 - Staying in waterloo hotel (confirmed).
14th March 08 - Depart from london to venice (transport?). Staying in venice (hotel?).
15th March 08 - Staying in venice (hotel?).
16th March 08 - Depart from venice to florence (transport?). Staying in florence (hotel?).
17th March 08 - Staying in florence (hotel?).
18th March 08 - Depart from florence to paris (transport?). Staying in paris (hotel?).
19th March 08 - Staying in paris (hotel?).
20th March 08 - Staying in paris (hotel?).
21st March 08 - Staying in paris (hotel?).
22nd March 08 - Depart from paris to london (transport?). Staying in london (hotel?).
23rd March 08 - Depart from london to singapore (confirmed).
24th March 08 - Reach singapore.

Guys any advise for the transport and hotel? Thanks.
You can check out EasyJet and RyanAir if you don't mind flying budget. (Its only 2 hours max)

I would fly London - Pisa (Florence) - Paris - Venice - London via EasyJet. EasyJet does not fly from Pisa to Venice and I would be a little hesitant to take RyanAir unless I absolutely have to. (EasyJet is way better on all accounts IMHO).

For Hotels, you can stay in Etoile Park Hotel (Its besides Champ Eylsee) if you have the budget for it. It costs around 150 - 180 Euros a night, but you wake up to Arch de Triomph. Let me know if you need help. Cheers

unity58
18-12-2007, 08:25 PM
bro thanks for your info...but I think I really need help...first time going free and easy and somemore europe....so rather stress up now..how to plan as have to book the tixs and hotels fast else wait no more...

can kindly email me unity58@hotmail.com on your advise....I am now going to depart on the 11th March 08 and departing on the 25th March 08. So I am now going to spend more days in Europe. London (3 days - 1 day on 12th March and 2 days on 23rd and 24th March), Venice (2 days enough?) and Paris (4 days) is defintely a must.......what other places are recommended and where to book the tixs and hotels.....please advise.....thanks alot.

Inix
18-12-2007, 11:14 PM
bro thanks for your info...but I think I really need help...first time going free and easy and somemore europe....so rather stress up now..how to plan as have to book the tixs and hotels fast else wait no more...

can kindly email me unity58@hotmail.com on your advise....I am now going to depart on the 11th March 08 and departing on the 25th March 08. So I am now going to spend more days in Europe. London (3 days - 1 day on 12th March and 2 days on 23rd and 24th March), Venice (2 days enough?) and Paris (4 days) is defintely a must.......what other places are recommended and where to book the tixs and hotels.....please advise.....thanks alot.
Bro, I prefer to reply here. It helps everyone. To push me to take a look @ this thread, in case if its bumped off, you can drop me a PM...... So lets start.

First and foremost. Do NOT panic. Europe is very easy to Navigate and the I have first hand experience of the places (barring florence) that you are looking for.

Secondly. Plan the exact destination of your trip. Decide on where you want to go. If you're looking to go to these places, alone and no more, then I suggest that you fly the way I've planned.

Thirdly. Confirm the number of days that you intend to stay @ Each Location. This is also VERY important.

Forthly. Book Flights using the Budget Airlines Website (earlier better, later is more expensive)

By the time you get to here, 1 week would have gone. Think about this and come back when you have a firmer plan. When this is done, we'll move on.

unity58
18-12-2007, 11:43 PM
Bro, I prefer to reply here. It helps everyone. To push me to take a look @ this thread, in case if its bumped off, you can drop me a PM...... So lets start.

First and foremost. Do NOT panic. Europe is very easy to Navigate and the I have first hand experience of the places (barring florence) that you are looking for.

Secondly. Plan the exact destination of your trip. Decide on where you want to go. If you're looking to go to these places, alone and no more, then I suggest that you fly the way I've planned.

Thirdly. Confirm the number of days that you intend to stay @ Each Location. This is also VERY important.

Forthly. Book Flights using the Budget Airlines Website (earlier better, later is more expensive)

By the time you get to here, 1 week would have gone. Think about this and come back when you have a firmer plan. When this is done, we'll move on.

okie thanks bro.....will follow your guidelines...keep you update then...thanks.
by the way.....only budget airlines har? not recommend to take train like pisa to venice and then paris to london?

jarvis
19-12-2007, 05:52 AM
pros and cons of flying and eurostar... time wise if u're taking eurostar (about 3 hours if i recall), it might actually be faster than flying between london and paris - because u need to factor in travelling to and from the airport + waiting for check in, etc...

mustn't forget to factor in where the airport is if u're flying and how much it will cost u to get to the airport - especially in London where transport (as are most things) is expensive.

i personally didn't like Venice much cuz i went as a poor student... everything's expensive and touristy. Didn't help that i stayed on the main island to save on accom and travelled over to venice by boat.

preferred florence. nicer and friendlier. less touristy. we stayed at Hotel Leonardo Da Vinci... one of those business class hotels - nice, new, clean and not expensive. Quite cheap actually.

Inix
19-12-2007, 09:37 AM
pros and cons of flying and eurostar... time wise if u're taking eurostar (about 3 hours if i recall), it might actually be faster than flying between london and paris - because u need to factor in travelling to and from the airport + waiting for check in, etc...

mustn't forget to factor in where the airport is if u're flying and how much it will cost u to get to the airport - especially in London where transport (as are most things) is expensive.

i personally didn't like Venice much cuz i went as a poor student... everything's expensive and touristy. Didn't help that i stayed on the main island to save on accom and travelled over to venice by boat.

preferred florence. nicer and friendlier. less touristy. we stayed at Hotel Leonardo Da Vinci... one of those business class hotels - nice, new, clean and not expensive. Quite cheap actually.
Like what Jarvis has mentioned, there are both pros and cons in taking Trains. Trains are generally more expensive (much much more), but they show you a nicer side to the European Cities.

Its faster to take the Train from London - Paris, and it might be worthwhile if you're looking for the Eurostar experience. Otherwise, I wouldn't find the 2 hours saved worth it at all.

Inix
19-12-2007, 09:43 AM

To unity58

Never been to florence so can't say much. But there is a cheap accomodation to Venice if you want it. I've stayed with my wife in a Homestay Apartment somewhere in outskirts Venice. Its pretty cheap, and its a nice room with a TV, Internet PC and WIFI. I also like the fact that you're staying where the true blue venicians stay.

I quite like the place, and its cheap. Let me know if you're keen so that I can send you the details. Oh BTW, I would find a way to add Barcelona into the Picture. Its a nice place for both skirts and pants. Shopping is very cheap, the place is nice, the people is friendly, and 10 euro can get you a very decent set meal (including buffet too!), so I loved the place. One bad point is that pickpockets are abound so do be careful.

MNG is from Barcelona and if your wife is a shopper, S$500 can get you a hell lot in Barcelona's MNG's factory outlet, its only 1 season behind, and that its at least 50 - 80% cheaper then Singapore.

unity58
19-12-2007, 06:50 PM
To unity58

Never been to florence so can't say much. But there is a cheap accomodation to Venice if you want it. I've stayed with my wife in a Homestay Apartment somewhere in outskirts Venice. Its pretty cheap, and its a nice room with a TV, Internet PC and WIFI. I also like the fact that you're staying where the true blue venicians stay.

I quite like the place, and its cheap. Let me know if you're keen so that I can send you the details. Oh BTW, I would find a way to add Barcelona into the Picture. Its a nice place for both skirts and pants. Shopping is very cheap, the place is nice, the people is friendly, and 10 euro can get you a very decent set meal (including buffet too!), so I loved the place. One bad point is that pickpockets are abound so do be careful.

MNG is from Barcelona and if your wife is a shopper, S$500 can get you a hell lot in Barcelona's MNG's factory outlet, its only 1 season behind, and that its at least 50 - 80% cheaper then Singapore.

Inix, the place you stay at venice is it inconvenient to go to airport or city coz I do not really want to waste much money on transport......and ya barcelona I heard a lot of bad things about pickpockets and that is what I worried the most....so dun know should go or not.....

and ooh ya.....if I wanna take train where should I book? from singapore agent? as for easyjet...there is so many add on like extra baggage and etc...do I need those? what is the weight limit for baggage? scared mine later overweight since I going there so long...

jarvis
20-12-2007, 08:31 AM
if u don't have that many days, then don't be too ambitious. It's a holiday so enjoy it at your own pace. don't rush thru everything. If your wife is into brands then there is an outlet mall near florence - confirm harmful to your VISA.

For eurostar, they have a website. Although u can't book it online, the website has their singapore agents' office. there are also rail passes that allow u to travel unlimited for certain number of days/countries. if you want the european train schedule, go to
http://reiseauskunft.bahn.de/bin/query.exe/en

unity58
20-12-2007, 09:36 AM
okie....so now I have shortlisted the following locations...can you guys advise...

London - 3 days
Paris - 4 days

Florence
Pisa
Venice
Barcelona

after deducting london and paris, I left with about 6 days left. So guys which one do you advise?

jarvis
20-12-2007, 10:45 AM
if you do florence then u might as well make a day trip to pisa as well. think it's about an hour by train or thereabouts.

if u want to be nice to the wife for the honeymoon, then u can go shopping at the outlet mall

(http://www.italy.artviva.com/essential_italy/bargain_shopping_outlets_florence_milan_venice_rome_italy) it's under the header "The Mall (outside florence)". it makes buying brands affordable so if the wife is into such things, she will be a happy camper.

But the thing i really enjoyed about florence was renting a car and staying in the country side at some agriturismo place. it was very nice and relaxing - a good break.

That said, it shows the kind of things i like to do on holiday - so if you're not that way inclined then u might want to go other places. Instead of spending all that time travelling to italy, u could perhaps consider doing a bit more of the french country-side or belgium or something... never been there myself, but just a thought.

I personally didn't really like venice so i'm a bit prejudiced. never been to barcelona so cannot comment much.

unity58
20-12-2007, 05:10 PM
if you do florence then u might as well make a day trip to pisa as well. think it's about an hour by train or thereabouts.

if u want to be nice to the wife for the honeymoon, then u can go shopping at the outlet mall

(http://www.italy.artviva.com/essential_italy/bargain_shopping_outlets_florence_milan_venice_rome_italy) it's under the header "The Mall (outside florence)". it makes buying brands affordable so if the wife is into such things, she will be a happy camper.

But the thing i really enjoyed about florence was renting a car and staying in the country side at some agriturismo place. it was very nice and relaxing - a good break.

That said, it shows the kind of things i like to do on holiday - so if you're not that way inclined then u might want to go other places. Instead of spending all that time travelling to italy, u could perhaps consider doing a bit more of the french country-side or belgium or something... never been there myself, but just a thought.

I personally didn't really like venice so i'm a bit prejudiced. never been to barcelona so cannot comment much.

okie bro....so florence should stay how long? pisa also? do I need to stay a night at pisa? as you mentioned train...where can I book the train?

Inix
21-12-2007, 10:46 AM
I agree with jarvis on the part of the rush. I did a 1.5 month Europe Whirlwind tour of 6 locations starting from Paris and while I did most places, I can't say that it wasn't too rushed.

Venice

For Honeymoon, I would think that Venice should be a must go. It give your wife bragging rights for one, and secondly, woman need that "romanticness" anyway. Having said that, I don't think you should stay there too long. Its pretty much a boring place unless you want to visit the outlying Islands.

From my perspective, there is nothing much about Venice (Its just canals + canals + canals), and after 2 hour of walking, you reach St Marks' Square. Then you drink some coffee, but beyond that, its the outlying islands tours which might be interesting. If you want to go Venice, then just do 2 nights and it should be more then enough.

Barcelona

For Barcelona, it is generally a nice place with good matches of everything. Hotels are relatively cheap, and it is generally safe (albeit from pickpocketing). However, considering that you'll be going in March, which is mid-early spring, you will probably need to wear jackets.

This means that if you put your wallet / purse inside your jackets, and zip it up, you should be OK. Hardly any city is as safe as this little red dot, so just bear in mind the basic personal security (no putting of mobile, wallets in tables or chairs etc). Keep valuables close...

Obviously, you shouldn't discount the need to buy Travel Insurance. Look at Citibank's Annual Insurance. Its very very cheap for families.

Inix
21-12-2007, 10:48 AM
Inix, the place you stay at venice is it inconvenient to go to airport or city coz I do not really want to waste much money on transport......and ya barcelona I heard a lot of bad things about pickpockets and that is what I worried the most....so dun know should go or not.....

The place I've stayed is a Homestay. Its not a Hotel, but rather's someone's home. I slept in a real venician's home. She is a very very nice lady, and its a 15 min bus ride to Venice Central.

and ooh ya.....if I wanna take train where should I book? from singapore agent? as for easyjet...there is so many add on like extra baggage and etc...do I need those? what is the weight limit for baggage? scared mine later overweight since I going there so long...

For Trains, you can book on the Internet. If you do not feel safe, you can book from Agents. But I've never taken the trains as I never like taking trains anyway lar.. haha..

For EasyJet, yes there are additional charges. Hold Baggage means Checked In Baggage, and you need to pay for these. For European Travel, I would suggest that you take a total of 3 Luggage. 1 Check In, 2 Cabin. This means, you will only pay for 1 hold luggage. Actually 2 Cabin would be more then enough if you pack properly, but I'm factoring in your additional load later during your shopping trips.

For EasyJet, the Cabin Luggage does NOT include any Weight Limit, so as long it fits into your Cabin Sized luggage, it goes in.

When you're flying budget in Europe, learn to pack your luggage properly. I am pretty sure with EasyJet there is almost no way you can exceed your luggage requirements if you pack properly.

Pack the heavy stuff into your cabin and the bulky (but light) stuff into your checked in luggage. That would help. Reach the Airport Earlier and Check In Earlier so to ensure that if your luggage is a little too heavy, you can still spread it around.

unity58
21-12-2007, 04:26 PM
I agree with jarvis on the part of the rush. I did a 1.5 month Europe Whirlwind tour of 6 locations starting from Paris and while I did most places, I can't say that it wasn't too rushed.

Venice

For Honeymoon, I would think that Venice should be a must go. It give your wife bragging rights for one, and secondly, woman need that "romanticness" anyway. Having said that, I don't think you should stay there too long. Its pretty much a boring place unless you want to visit the outlying Islands.

From my perspective, there is nothing much about Venice (Its just canals + canals + canals), and after 2 hour of walking, you reach St Marks' Square. Then you drink some coffee, but beyond that, its the outlying islands tours which might be interesting. If you want to go Venice, then just do 2 nights and it should be more then enough.

Barcelona

For Barcelona, it is generally a nice place with good matches of everything. Hotels are relatively cheap, and it is generally safe (albeit from pickpocketing). However, considering that you'll be going in March, which is mid-early spring, you will probably need to wear jackets.

This means that if you put your wallet / purse inside your jackets, and zip it up, you should be OK. Hardly any city is as safe as this little red dot, so just bear in mind the basic personal security (no putting of mobile, wallets in tables or chairs etc). Keep valuables close...

Obviously, you shouldn't discount the need to buy Travel Insurance. Look at Citibank's Annual Insurance. Its very very cheap for families.

hmm....abit stuck now....okie venice I will stay 2 days....so now I left with 4 days.....thinking of florence and barcelona but is 2 days each enough since florence I wanted to go pisa too.....

by the way i heard from my friend saying that there a company who can plan youe europle trip called contiki....say more cheaper...is it true? is it more better to go thru agent or plan yourself? really want to know how cheap can it go.....

Inix
23-12-2007, 04:04 PM
hmm....abit stuck now....okie venice I will stay 2 days....so now I left with 4 days.....thinking of florence and barcelona but is 2 days each enough since florence I wanted to go pisa too.....

by the way i heard from my friend saying that there a company who can plan youe europle trip called contiki....say more cheaper...is it true? is it more better to go thru agent or plan yourself? really want to know how cheap can it go.....
Never took Contiki before but don't think they are cheap. At the end of the day, if you have a guide, you'll be paying someone for his time and this IMO, can be better saved for personal shopping etc.

The upside however, is to have someone with the local knowledge, and make your journey more seemless....

NTB2DO
23-12-2007, 10:53 PM
Don't mean to splash cold water lah. But if this is your honeymoon trip as well as your first trip to Europe, then I feel it is better for you to join a package tour lah. You know why?

Firstly, unless your wife is those anything also nevermind type, there bound to be some disagreement on where or how to go etc, and hence may results in unhappiness--not so good since this is your honeymoon mah.

Secondly, while English is becoming more common, you may not be able to understand the heavily accented English that the French and Italian speak (if they do ie), hence it could result in some misunderstanding. Plus most of the road signs and instructions are not in English too (except in London).

Thirdly, cost of living is extremely high in these countries. Everything, including meals, cost a bomb---unless you stick to Macdonalds or sandwiches everytime lor--so you could hv end up paying more than what you hv budgeted! This happen to us then (we joined packaged tour followed by 1-week free and easy) and we had to request for emergency cash through our credit card company while over there!

Lastly, touch wood but what if you kenna pick-pocketed (could easily happen in Italy)? If you join a tour at least there'll be someone there to help you mah..

Btw if you are going to Florence, do take a look at their jewellery. They are very beautiful and fashionably designed--too bad I am not rich enough to buy everything that catch my eye lah (sigh)..

(PS: So I hv guessed correctly afterall--your gf must be very touched by the beautiful diamond ring you hv specially chosen for her right? LOL congrats!)

unity58
24-12-2007, 01:12 AM
Don't mean to splash cold water lah. But if this is your honeymoon trip as well as your first trip to Europe, then I feel it is better for you to join a package tour lah. You know why?

Firstly, unless your wife is those anything also nevermind type, there bound to be some disagreement on where or how to go etc, and hence may results in unhappiness--not so good since this is your honeymoon mah.

Secondly, while English is becoming more common, you may not be able to understand the heavily accented English that the French and Italian speak (if they do ie), hence it could result in some misunderstanding. Plus most of the road signs and instructions are not in English too (except in London).

Thirdly, cost of living is extremely high in these countries. Everything, including meals, cost a bomb---unless you stick to Macdonalds or sandwiches everytime lor--so you could hv end up paying more than what you hv budgeted! This happen to us then (we joined packaged tour followed by 1-week free and easy) and we had to request for emergency cash through our credit card company while over there!

Lastly, touch wood but what if you kenna pick-pocketed (could easily happen in Italy)? If you join a tour at least there'll be someone there to help you mah..

Btw if you are going to Florence, do take a look at their jewellery. They are very beautiful and fashionably designed--too bad I am not rich enough to buy everything that catch my eye lah (sigh)..

(PS: So I hv guessed correctly afterall--your gf must be very touched by the beautiful diamond ring you hv specially chosen for her right? LOL congrats!)

ya bro thanks.....my gf like the ring.....thanks for all your advice....

and the reason why I cannot join package tour coz we actually won a pair of tixs to london and 2 night stay.....and of coz since we there we like to explore more....so no choice have to free and easy lor.....

anyway still thanks for your advice...

jlimo77
24-12-2007, 08:04 AM

and the reason why I cannot join package tour coz we actually won a pair of tixs to london and 2 night stay.....and of coz since we there we like to explore more....so no choice have to free and easy lor.....

Accommodation and transportation are usually not cheap and comfortable in Europe. Unless, you can afford it. All accommodation do not comes with water boilers or freebies and budget accommodation is just a bed for you to stay. Some Airlines required you to walk at least a short distance to the plane in cold weather. So do not be surprise as well.

For transportation tips, try to go out from the City during early mornings where cheap tickets can be found. Go for EasyJet or RyanAir but also do not forget the National Airlines while searching for cheap tickets, I had found USD 80 ticket(with Taxes) from Athens to Rome before and I am sure there are if you do a lots of research. That's a bargain considering the time save flying direct.

One more tip, buy EuroPass in Singapore, and plan from there. Do a night sleeper and save some dollars.

Anyway your trip is in Mar. Do more reseach and ask your wife to be to participate. Let your wife participate on the planning as well. At least when things goes wrong, She will understand.

NTB2DO
24-12-2007, 10:03 AM

Haha how come I never got this kind of luck one huh? Anyway actually just nice lah. You know what we did (Btw the Europe tour was my honeymoon trip too!!)? We booked Insight tour through Thomas Cook--a tour agency-- in Singapore. This tour (Insight) started from London, ie we join the guide and the rest of the group members over there, and ended in Paris. So we get Thomas Cook to help us purchase the air tickets and arrange our first night's accomodation in London.

Fyi while that was my very first trip to Europe, my other half (a Singaporean also lah) had been living there for a few years liao and had backpacked around Europes a few times while staying there.. But still, we chose to join a packaged tour becos we just want to relax and enjoy our honeymoon to the fullest lah!

Insight package may cost a little on the high side, but there are many other similar package that may hv suit your budget lah, I don't know if Thomas Cook is still around but there do hv agencies that offer such package (ie starts from London), why don't you go and check it out leh?

(Btw European trip is really damn expensive man--one trip already wipe out all our savings then!!!)

Inix
24-12-2007, 11:10 AM

I tend to agree with this to some extent. During my last 1.5 month EU Tour, I had a major argument with my GF in Barcelona. I was not really keen in the Gothic Architecture while she is. But considering I'm the boh chup type, I end up agreeing to go with her, and just act interested inside the churches that she wanted to visit.

I think the Italians, Spanish are alright. The accent is there, but its audible lar.. The problem will come in France. Do learn a little bit of French, or you will probably find 1/2 the people you approach will reject your request for assistance.

Its a little bit of anglophobic, arrogance, and pride in their culture all in one. But if you do learn a little french (its only 1 line, not too tough), you're chance of getting help will improve by another 50%.

Yes & No lar.. Research, Research & Research. There are cheap and nice food available everywhere. You just got to search for it. The internet is your best tool. Otherwise, you can always cook yourself for dinner. I've rented an apartment in France and we made our own dinner.

You can buy 1 whole week of groceries with 40 Euros. Thats not too expensive. For other locations, we bought along a small Induction Cooker and we made our own dinner sometimes. Othertimes, we ate out.

Actually, considering its early spring, unlikely lar.. IF they observe basic security, and they put their purses & wallets in their jackets, should be pretty safe....

But I got to add that its always safe to keep a few emergency numbers in tow. Store your Credit Card Number (Visa Platinum / Signature Best), the Visa Platinum Conceriege Hotline for the country you're heading, the Singapore Embassy / Consulate in the country, Singapore Banks (not the 1800 Number) Number are some key and important numbers to keep.

You might also want to buy a Credit Card Insurance from some Insurance Companies that protects against Credit Card loss, in case you dropped your card and you're not aware. They cover the CC excess..... Travel Insurance is something which cannot be discounted too. Look at Citibank's Annual Plan. Cheap and good.

Inix
24-12-2007, 11:24 AM
Accommodation and transportation are usually not cheap and comfortable in Europe. Unless, you can afford it. All accommodation do not comes with water boilers or freebies and budget accommodation is just a bed for you to stay. Some Airlines required you to walk at least a short distance to the plane in cold weather. So do not be surprise as well.

Depends on how you define cheap lar.. 50 Euros a night can get you some pretty decent location to stay in most parts of Europe (except London), and these arn't Hostels.

Hot Water, Satellite TV, Ensuite (Private Bathroom) are available sometimes, but you really need to search. My wife is really good at this though.. haha....

Some good Websites that I used last time around is HotelClub, and wotif (last minute booking). Do note that Spring is a peak traveling period, so I think its best to book early. What I would do, is perhaps book online first (get those which allows for cancellation FOC), and then search for last minute deals in wotif. Cancel on a need-to-basis.

Anyway your trip is in Mar. Do more reseach and ask your wife to be to participate. Let your wife participate on the planning as well. At least when things goes wrong, She will understand.

I can't agree more with this. I left the entire planning to my wife, I only "approved" per say, and we're very happy with the way the trip turn out to be.

Another thing that I want to highlight is be clear on your own expectations. During planning, ask your spouse, and yourself a few questions;

1. Whats your objective (sightseeing? tasting of local cusine / culture?, ego?)
2. How much are you prepared to spend? (This co-relates to your spending pattern)
3. Whats the MININUM expectations for Hotels? (Ensuite? Hot Water? Breakfast? Near Transport? In City?)

I don't know if Thomas Cook is still around but there do hv agencies that offer such package (ie starts from London), why don't you go and check it out leh?

OT: Thomas Cook is damn big in Europe. Their Air Tix is pretty cheap.. hehehe

(Btw European trip is really damn expensive man--one trip already wipe out all our savings then!!!)

Its how you spend lar.. My 1 1/2 month tour in Europe and Dubai costs only $5K for 2 inclusive of Air Tix & Hotel, considering my company paid for my Air Tix as I'm there for Biz. If I didn't factor that part in, we spent a total of around $7K.

Inix
24-12-2007, 11:25 AM

No wonder why you stay in such a nice and expensive hotel in London.. hahaha

bollocksman
24-12-2007, 11:33 AM
Hi

Just a few tips for Europe , as having sutdied and basically there on extended tour for 3 years.

Cheap food can be found easily in europe , One got to be more independent and learn 2 words : Self Catering ( i.e Either cooking yourself or buy ready made meals from Supermarket).

Chain stores Like : SainsBurys, Safeway, One stop , Tescos , ADSA in Britain .
In France : carrefour, Geant , Intermarche
Italy : GS

Sorry mate not much info on Italy or France, except some side trips via Eurostar. which may be faster than taking easyjet as easyjet terminals are usually far from city centre of London , they fly from Standstead or Luton which is an hr trip from Liverpool street train terminal.

For train time tables try : http://www.nationalrail.co.uk/ (http://www.nationalrail.co.uk/)for UK train time tables.

anyway for a complete trip to europe, 2 days in one city is far too little time, anyway one thing you need to factor in is weather , especially in france and britain- weather is unpredictable and may spoil your plans for visiting that city.

best time is between May to Sept. Do try to make one city the base of your "operations " in Europe and u can leave the heaviy stuff and your past shopping at left baggage facilities at train stations or airports. travel light and you can be spared some of the hassles of loss luggage , theft and other assorted hassles.

unity58
26-12-2007, 06:39 PM
wow so many reply.....thanks for your help bro..

now my wife and me have decided to fly the following way.

London - 1 day
Venice - 2 days
Barcelona - 3 days
Paris - 5 days
Lodon - 2 days

Now I am quite fan about a few things.

1. London Accomodation (1 night) - Which hotel should I stay? Must be near to the airport that I am flying off to Venice.

2. London to Venice - which airline should I take?

3. Venice Accomodation (2 nights) - Which hotel should I stay? Must be convenient to the city and the airport that I flying off to Barcelona

4. Venice to Barcelona - which airline should I take?

From the above things, I actually trying to reduce my transportation. And as for the rest of the trip, I getting my wife cousin to help us settle as she is currently in UK, Newcastle now.

Any guys can help on the 4 points above? Thank You.

Inix
26-12-2007, 11:08 PM
wow so many reply.....thanks for your help bro..

now my wife and me have decided to fly the following way.

London - 1 day
Venice - 2 days
Barcelona - 3 days
Paris - 5 days
Lodon - 2 days

Now I am quite fan about a few things.

1. London Accomodation (1 night) - Which hotel should I stay? Must be near to the airport that I am flying off to Venice.

2. London to Venice - which airline should I take?

3. Venice Accomodation (2 nights) - Which hotel should I stay? Must be convenient to the city and the airport that I flying off to Barcelona

4. Venice to Barcelona - which airline should I take?

From the above things, I actually trying to reduce my transportation. And as for the rest of the trip, I getting my wife cousin to help us settle as she is currently in UK, Newcastle now.

Any guys can help on the 4 points above? Thank You.
Its pretty late now, so I'm just gonna advise you on the flight first. If we're going fully on EasyJet and no RyanAir (You can try other full service Airlines, but I don't think they will beat their price), you will not be able to fly the following way.

Instead, I would suggest you do this..

Singapore Changi to London Heathrow
London Gatwick (Secondary Airport) - Venice Marco Polo
Venice Marco Polo - Paris Charles De Gualle
Paris Orly (Secondary Airport) - Barcelona Intl Airport
Barcelona Intl Airport - London Luton (Secondary Airport) / London Gatwick (Secondary Airport)

One note. I've never flown from Gatwick, so I don't know how the transport functions for Gatwick. You will need to search more information for that. For Paris CDG, and Barcelona International Airports, there is a Direct Train.

For Paris Orly, you will need to take a train, and Orly Bus. For Luton, EasyJet sells this thing call the EasyBus. Its a service from central London. I think there is such a thing for Gatwick as well. Check it out. The last time when I was at Venice, I flew to Treviso, not Marco Polo. You will need to check that out as well....

Inix
27-12-2007, 02:18 PM
Singapore Changi to London Heathrow
Venice Marco Polo - Paris Charles De Gualle
Paris Orly (Secondary Airport) - Barcelona Intl Airport
Barcelona Intl Airport - London Luton (Secondary Airport) / London Gatwick (Secondary Airport)

Have some time on hand so decided to build on this. The above-mentioned flights are flying purely using EasyJet. If you would prefer to fly your manner then you can fly the following manner;

Singapore Changi - London Heathrow
Venice Treviso (Secondary Airport) - Barcelona Girona (Secondary Airport) <-- Via RyanAir
Barcelona - Paris Orly
Paris Charles De Gualle - London Luton (Secondary Airport)
London Heathrow - Singapore Changi

If you're flying this manner, it would mean that you would need to take RyanAir as EasyJet does not fly from Venice to Barcelona. They key disadvantage for flying this manner, is that the transport is a little more cumbersome.

To get from Venice Central - Venice Trevesio Airport, you will need to pre-purchase a ATVO Bus from Treviso Central to get to Trevieso Airport. Its timed for RyanAir Flights. Once you reach Girona (Girona is a City 120KM away from Barcelona), you can take a direct bus to Barcelona Sants.

The key advantage, is that you can go to Paris Last (prior to London), and you can choose to take the Eurostar from Paris to London. Its more expensive, but its an experience!

Inix
27-12-2007, 02:30 PM
unity58, during my last visit to Europe, I've prepared a to-do, to-visit, and budgeting table for my entire stay. It contains most of the stuff, including flights and hotels which I've stayed.

Some of them might not be valid anymore (price changes etc), but most things should have remained the same. I sure hope it'll help you. You can download it from here (http://inix.netvity.org/docs/Europe-On-The-Cheap-Generic-Excel.xls)

jarvis
28-12-2007, 07:11 AM
alternative to flying within the continent is to take the overnight train and get yourself a sleeper carriage (2 persons). u pay for that but if not u would be paying for the hotel anyways.

i prefer taking trains cuz i don't like the waiting at airports and also the transport to and from the airport cuz that can take quite a while and cost quite a bit in Europe (especially London). but that is personal preference.

If u are flying, u can check out whether ur BA tix can be added on. I last went
SG --> Lon
Lon --> Pisa
Milan --> SG
and it cost me an addition of about S$100 or something for adding the Pisa leg and making it open jaw. Since u won the tix, i don't know if u can do add-ons like this but u can check it out.

unity58
07-01-2008, 04:18 PM
okie bros.

I already booked all my air tixs liao......so sad that the london to venice air tixs increases for about 5 pounds per person.....really regret never book earlier......anyway this is how I am going now.

Singapore Changi to London Heathrow (British Airways)
London Gatwick - Venice Marco Polo (Easyjet)
Venice Marco Polo - Paris Charles De Gualle (Easyjet)
Paris Orly - Barcelona Intl Airport (Easyjet)
Barcelona Intl Airport - London Luton (Easyjet)
London Heathrow to Singapore Changi (British Airways)

So now is the transport to and fro to the airport. Which one should I take. And the hotels, who is more recomended.

For Heathrow airport to central london, I am thinking to take the national express as more cheaper and I can book a return trip together too. Do I need to book and pay online or go to the airport to buy the tixs directly? I fear the tixs will be sold out. Or should I take the tube which is defintely much cheaper but can my luggage squeeze into the tube. I be arriving at heathrow at 450am and leaving heathrow to singapore at about 915pm. Any recommendation guys?

Another problem is I be going from london (gatwick) to venice and the flight is 645am which is very early. I am thinking which transport should I take since it so early. I thinking to live at a hotel near to both victoria coach and train station. The 1st train gatwick express and 1st coach national express is at 330am. Gatwick express cost more and need 30 mins but national express is cheaper and need about 1 hour. Do Which is more recommended? Meanwhile I can seem to find any coach timetable for london to gatwick at the national express website? Is it because during that period, they dun service that line. The date is 13th March 08. Which is more recommended? Train or coach? And should i need to book the tixs online in advanced?

Will need to know the tpt from venice airport too.

Thanks guys for the help. Think will need more help as it goes on coz I really know nuts about free and easy and europe.

jarvis
08-01-2008, 05:45 AM
just note that london traffic can be terrible during peak hours. 450am (by the time u clear customs and if there is no delay, probably about 530am) traffic should be ok. but the evening one, traffic might be a concern if u are going to travel by road.

depending on the difference in price, ur budget, and the tube station for ur accommodation, u may wish to consider heathrow express. It is more expensive than national express, but it is an express train from heathrow to paddington station.

If you surf around at www.baholidays.com there are transfers listed there. U can consider the "Dot 2 Dot" transfer shuttle. It's a mini bus straight to the hotel. cheaper than taxis and yet it goes straight to the hotel. useful if you do not want to get lost in a city you have just arrived in.

Inix
08-01-2008, 02:50 PM
Singapore Changi to London Heathrow (British Airways)

The Tube connects directly from Heathrow to town. Download the Tube Map and you should be off. Its pretty easy.

London Gatwick - Venice Marco Polo (Easyjet)

Taken from easyJet's Website. http://www.easyjet.com/EN/Planning/Destination/LGW.html

London Gatwick

By rail

GATWICK EXPRESS

Save 10% when pre-booking the Gatwick Express (http://www.easyjet.com/redirect.asp?t=GE&l=EN). Only 30 minutes between Gatwick Airport and central London (giving access to Victoria underground), with trains departing every 15 minutes during the day.

For more details about the service please call +44 (0)845 850 1530 for information.

By bus/coach

All coach services stop at London Gatwick's coach station on the ground floor of the South Terminal. A transit service operates between the South and North terminals.

Speedlink Airport Services Ltd operate the coach and bus information desks in both terminals, and also in the coach station. For information call the Bus and Coach Travel Line between 08.00 and 20.00 hours on +44 (0) 990 747777.

The Flightline 777 coach from Victoria connects services from most parts of Britain to the airport.

Venice Marco Polo

By bus:
There are two buses from Marco Polo Airport to Piazzale Roma, the Blue Bus (30 mins - cost EUR 2.50 - purchase ticket from driver) or the No 5 (50 mins - cost EUR 0.80 - ticket from terminal newsagent). Buses leave from outside the airport terminal. Always validate your ticket by punching it in the machines provided.

Waterbus. From Airport to San Marco, quay 1 every hour - buy ticket from booth left of customs at the airport; journey time 60 mins; cost EUR 8.

Inix
08-01-2008, 03:03 PM
Venice Marco Polo - Paris Charles De Gualle (Easyjet)

Paris Charles De Gualle

You'll be landing in T3. If I'm not wrong, you can walk to the RER Station (RER B). Otherwise, there is a free bus. Can't really remember. Just look for the signs, and ask around. Its not too difficult to navigate CDG.

BTW, it costs 10 Eur to get from Paris City to CDG per person. Taxi is 50 Euros.

Paris Orly - Barcelona Intl Airport (Easyjet)

Paris Orly

Orly has its own Train Station. It connects to Antony in RER B. You can take a train to Antony, and change. Not too sure about the price, but should be affordable.

Barcelona Intl Airport

Barcelona Airport has its own Metro Station. It connects directly to town. Just take the metro.

Barcelona Intl Airport - London Luton (Easyjet)

London Luton

Luton is easyJet's major hub and its extremely easy to travel from Luton out. You can book easyBus (http://www.easybus.co.uk/Booking/ebusBook.asp?ReferURL=001), a company from easyJet, and the earlier you book, the cheaper it is. It takes around an hour.

There is also this Green Bus there. You can just buy your tickets there.

Inix
08-01-2008, 03:07 PM
Bro, now that you're done with booking the Air Tix. Next thing to do is Hotels. Some gentle reminders for Hotels.

1: Be realistic. The more money you pay. The better you get, and the nearer town you'll be.
2: Select Hotels beside Metro / Tube Stations. As long they are within walking distance, and 30 min to town, its OK for me.
3: Check if Hotels is En-Suite (comes with attached Toilets), as opposed to Shared Toilets
4: Check if Hotels comes with Breakfast. Not all hotel comes with it, and general no breakfast = cheaper.

icequeenz
08-01-2008, 03:34 PM
Remember to check if there's any planned closure of the tube.

Inix
08-01-2008, 04:32 PM
Remember to check if there's any planned closure of the tube.
And Strike in Paris Metro too...

rAcEr
09-01-2008, 12:42 PM
ahh i saw this thread pretty late. u sure u dun want to take a train across cities at least once in europe? its part of the entire touristy holiday experience...

the last time i was in london, i took the heathrow express (14.95 pounds 1-way per person) from the heathrow airport to london paddington train station. there is plenty of luggage space on the heathrow express...once u r there, u can buy the 1 or 2 day unlimited pass for tube/bus travel throughout london, priced at under 8 pounds per day. zone 1-3 should be enough to get u around central london. that should cover your transport around london (cabs are damn bloody ex)

for hotels, i recommend the ibis chain, quite decent accommodation priced at under SGD 200 per nite, with individual bathrooms, clean sheets, TV, pay internet access, etc...and there are quite a lot of them located around europe. if you can afford it, why not go for marriott or some international hotel chains on the weekends, since its your honeymoon afterall. Prices will be starting from SGD 300 per nite. and tend to be cheaper on the weekends for international hotels as compared to weekdays...

rAcEr
09-01-2008, 12:47 PM
also just in case, get an Amex credit card...cos if **** really happens n u lose ur card in europe, they shd be able to courier the replacement card to you within 1-2 working days, so that ur holiday wun be entirely spoilt.

unity58
09-01-2008, 04:53 PM
wow thanks to bro for all the replies....

was at first thinking to take train across the cities but beoz of the way we have plan the trip....it hard to take the train and then my gf cousin who is also going with us to paris and barcelona say that train are too expensive and hence she do not want to take train so we just follow suit.....anyway she is working in newcastle now so we just follow her advice as she know more about there.

hmm.......actually I was thinking to take the bus to london central when I reach there coz it very early and I cannot check in so early and was also thinking to get a hotel near the victoria coach station. However I am also thinking about the tube. But I saw from books that tube are very squeezy....hard for you to put your luggage....is this true? By the way how do I check whether the tube will be closed or metro strike?

How about the morning flight that I taking to venice. It a 645am flight...meaning I need to be at airport ard 5am. What transport do you guys recommend I take? As mentioned I try to live near victoria station. Right now I know gatwick express I can buy tixs. But national express dun have any records at the moment....why is it? rather confused which one should I take.

By the way, bro, should I buy all these transport tixs online or just buy from the airport or coach station or train station? I know easybus is cheap buying online so I bought the luton to london central already but the rest like gatwick express and national express I not too sure should I buy online just in case there is no more tixs? I need our guys experience. Thanks.

Inix
11-01-2008, 01:39 PM
hmm.......actually I was thinking to take the bus to london central when I reach there coz it very early and I cannot check in so early and was also thinking to get a hotel near the victoria coach station. However I am also thinking about the tube. But I saw from books that tube are very squeezy....hard for you to put your luggage....is this true? By the way how do I check whether the tube will be closed or metro strike?

You're right. The Tube is generally small. Think the MRT's width divide by 2 for the smallest train. However, considering that you'll be landing at around 5AM+ for the Sing - Heathrow sector, its not yet rush hour, and you shouldn't have a major concern with the train.

As for where you stay, it depends on yourself I guess. Most of the European Transport Train Stations does not come with any elevator and if your luggage are huge and arn't easy to tow around, then I would think its best to take the Heathrow Express.

How about the morning flight that I taking to venice. It a 645am flight...meaning I need to be at airport ard 5am. What transport do you guys recommend I take? As mentioned I try to live near victoria station. Right now I know gatwick express I can buy tixs. But national express dun have any records at the moment....why is it? rather confused which one should I take.

Whao. So early. I'm not sure what time Gatwick Express will start. You need to check. Alternatively, you can book a Gatwick Airport Hotel, and get a Cab from there. The last method, would probably sleep in your usual hotel, and take the check the TFL Website on how to get there. Its quite detailed, but be prepared to be bored to death in the Airport for a while.

Finally, you can do what I did. I slept in Luton Airport (my wife wanted this!) as my flight was also around 6am.

By the way, bro, should I buy all these transport tixs online or just buy from the airport or coach station or train station? I know easybus is cheap buying online so I bought the luton to london central already but the rest like gatwick express and national express I not too sure should I buy online just in case there is no more tixs? I need our guys experience. Thanks.

This type of thing, no right no wrong. Buy online MIGHT have offers. U just need to check and be sure lor..