PDA

View Full Version : Singnet torrent speed why so slow? (tio throttle izzit?)

SleepyBoi
31-12-2007, 05:30 AM
why singnet dl speed like SAI nowadays?

they throttle our speed for real? how long they going to do it?

apparantly my plan has already expired 3 months ago (held off signing to look out for promo), and if they are doing this they will bet their arse they are losing me as a customer.

last time can hit 330kbps, now less than 20kbps.

i tried to change the port number around to no avail.

W-T-F

Darken_Law
31-12-2007, 12:16 PM
I recently upgrade to 2wire. experiencing same problem. can only see <5 peers/seeds.
If I use Prolink Hurricane 9000/B, everything is ok.

steamywoks
01-01-2008, 12:45 AM
Torrents by nature are terribly slow, nothing to do with the ISP. There are many other factors involved. If you want fast downloads, then try usenet services whereby you only download and need not upload. Google and you can see there are many out there for you to subscribe. For this you have to pay. Torrents are free, so expect the slowness as there are both up and downloads involved. If you are a die hard torrent freak, then get a Network Access Storage whereby you can leave the PC off and continues to download/upload torrents through router.

SleepyBoi
01-01-2008, 01:00 AM
steamywoks, im not someone new to torrents.

i do know torrent speed varies with a lot of factors like seeds and peers.

^ thats not my problem.

obviously i searched around and asked around and came to that conclusion.

other ppl in EDMW also said the same thing.

eraserhead
01-01-2008, 02:22 AM
To experienced torrent users, this is a clear-cut case of throttlling from singtel.

SleepyBoi
01-01-2008, 02:48 AM
eraserhead, i have search for the "list of bad ISPs" that block BT traffic and singnet is not on it. only starhub is on it.

if this is so, will they unthrottle after some time? or this will stay permanent?

is there any solution? or should i just sign up to a new ISP?

thx

axisv
01-01-2008, 02:59 AM
no problems for me... so I don't think singnet throttle the speeds... they probably just report you.. when you're caught... lolz...

SleepyBoi
01-01-2008, 06:00 AM
axisv, what do you mean?

means they specifically limit my speed because i was using too much bandwidth traffic?

some other users have the same issue with me, while others are fine like you.

im not too sure why and how they decide to limit who.

im gonna need to go read up on traffic shaping

Y_Shun
01-01-2008, 06:25 PM
Ok leh...31dec 2-4, downloaded some file at around 300kb/s

mike911
02-01-2008, 07:24 PM
erm i think i read somewhere about changing port no.s to higher range than default random ports in bt (e.g. 10k 20k range) probably can try ranges from 50k and above. i tried on mine and was able to get about 20-30% improvement., but i think overall it also depends on the seeders/leechers if they dun seed imo also no point.

first thing i tested to see if it was singnet throttling or blocking, probably can try downloading torrents like maplesea/auditionsea, you will see that the torrent speed can go up to 1.3kbps

wrong dun flame me orh, im also learning

SleepyBoi
02-01-2008, 08:15 PM
Y_Shun, there are users not affected by you. thx for your feedback.

mike911, thx for your suggestion, i will try it out. meanwhile, my speed managed to reach 70kBps at its peak and still crawling.

anyone called up singnet to ask yet? =\

mike911
05-01-2008, 12:57 AM
anyone called up singnet to ask yet? =\

erm... u sure u wanna call singnet and ask "Harlo??? Singnet is it??? yar ask u arh why my bittorrent so baaaan... (hokkien = slowwww)?"

maybe u can give it a try... see how they respond.

let me recall their SOP. you will most likely face to this when u call them.
step 1. are u on direct connection ? (1pc only?), microfilter got unplug boh?
step 2. u go "c_ina m_l_ysia d_mark" in run then type "ftp ftp.singnet.com.sg"
step 3. download the 10meg or 1meg file
step 4. once done, they will smoke u say "Mr <ur name>, ur internet speed is fine actually from the download test. i dun see any issues from my side."

maybe try talking abit nicer to them, then they might be nice and help u on torrent case. good luck!

Chizuru
28-03-2008, 01:34 AM
Sad, got this problem also now... from 200kbps now 20 kbps -.-

silthfire
01-04-2008, 11:56 AM
me too....i tot its bcoz i format my com....but last week still manage to hit over 300kbps....but now only barely reach 10kbps.....i can confirm the files i dl have healthy seeds

PureLife
01-04-2008, 12:05 PM
Hmm... strange... I've downloaded some animes and game clients files last night hitting over total of 2000kbps on all my torrents. Using 25Mbps plan on analog line though. I opt out from digital line.

jiewei
01-04-2008, 08:27 PM
i using mio , but my torrent for anime is cheong full speed if there alot of seed

kimurra
02-04-2008, 12:01 AM
my torrent speed is crawling at 60kb/s these few days.
usually can hit 300+ easily.

any suggestions ?

kuroro2
02-04-2008, 03:33 PM
my torrent speed is crawling at 60kb/s these few days.
usually can hit 300+ easily.

any suggestions ?

Same...

but as a side note, most likely you guys already did it but just incase make sure ur encryption is on to forced/enable. (for thos 20kb ppl)

But still overall slow sia...

simwayne
02-04-2008, 05:29 PM
you guys might wanna try download some popular linux distros or open office to test your torrent speed.

UptheToon
02-04-2008, 09:36 PM
yup. same problem. uTorrent speed very slow sia. good amount of seeds too. normally easily can reach 400+kbps.. now hovering around 100kpbs.

a case of throttling i guess.

shot26x
04-05-2008, 01:48 PM
is there still any bt throttling? thinking of signing SN cos i cannot tahan starhub already

ironman4672
05-06-2008, 07:09 PM
my singtel bbom can hit the max for bt no prob....:D:D:D:D

bankai_99
07-06-2008, 09:20 PM
do u guys use the modem they provide when u signup ? or use 3rd party ones ?

Chika Ito
10-06-2008, 08:27 PM
most of the complainers are people who download anime/games illegally anyway.

kudos to the speed throttling.

oyebto
16-06-2008, 06:54 PM
most of the complainers are people who download anime/games illegally anyway.

kudos to the speed throttling.
well said.

Imprison
02-05-2009, 11:13 PM
moi speed now ish 0.2kb :sad:

reimina
03-05-2009, 09:14 AM
Torrents by nature are terribly slow, nothing to do with the ISP. There are many other factors involved. If you want fast downloads, then try usenet services whereby you only download and need not upload. Google and you can see there are many out there for you to subscribe. For this you have to pay. Torrents are free, so expect the slowness as there are both up and downloads involved. If you are a die hard torrent freak, then get a Network Access Storage whereby you can leave the PC off and continues to download/upload torrents through router.

Dude. You are wrong. ISP throttles the BT and torrent downloads are not slow. Different people may have different experienced.

anewbie
12-05-2009, 07:58 PM
same here, felt that bt download speed has dropped
previously can easily hit 200kB/s on a 512kbps plan, now can only hit 150kB/s on a 8Mbps plan, wtf?
that was after I tweaked the TCP/IP connection limit of windows XP SP3.

phuque99
12-05-2009, 09:21 PM
Dude. You are wrong. ISP throttles the BT and torrent downloads are not slow. Different people may have different experienced.

try those .torrent files from here to see if throttle exist, coz you can rule out kiam-siap seeders:

http://releases.ubuntu.com/8.10/