PDA

View Full Version : StarHub Consolidated Complaints Thread [SCCT]

ac3knight
08-01-2008, 10:49 PM
18th Jan Update:-
The intermittent, unable to surf the web problem seems to have improved.
However internet access is still very slow during peak hours.
Latency and ping response seem to be fine, but downstream speeds are slow.

-

I am creating this thread to consolidate complaints and negative feedback regarding StarHub's poor speeds.

The latest problem which has been going on for the past 2 or 3 months from October/November 2007 to January 2008, is an unpredictable and intermittent lag which does not allow you to surf the internet at all but yet, still enables you to use MSN Messenger or game online.

This 'lag-spike' is unpredictable and can occur at anytime such as in the afternoon, evening, and even at odd hours such as 2-3am which I have personally experienced before. The most common occurrence is from 7pm-10pm.

StarHub should stop offering free-gifts to lure consumers, and instead save all that money buying better equipment.

I have consolidated several of the more outstanding complaints below which have attracted more replies, some of which date back to May 2007. If you have any major complaints, start a separate thread and if it garners sufficient attention, I will link to it from here.

Problematic throughputs:-

***MaxOnline Premium (12Mbps):-***
http://www.ida.gov.sg/images/content/Publications/Publications_Level3/rbs/hpSinglethruputStarhubUS12000.png
Note the throughput towards the end is forced into a converging and decreasing single line. This is the sign of a bottleneck.
Too many suscribers? Insufficient bandwidth? Your guess is as good as mine.

- VS -

SingNet (10000kbps Unlimited Plan):-
http://www.ida.gov.sg/images/content/Publications/Publications_Level3/rbs/hpSinglethruputSingnetUS10000.png
Throughput without bottleneck, the San Jose and Texas lines are separate, distinct, and are not converging.

***MaxOnline Express (6Mbps):-***
http://www.ida.gov.sg/images/content/Publications/Publications_Level3/rbs/hpSinglethruputStarhubUS6000.png

- VS -

SingNet (6000kbps Unlimited Plan):-
http://www.ida.gov.sg/images/content/Publications/Publications_Level3/rbs/hpSinglethruputSingnetUS6000.png

Didn't bother to put Starhub 30mbps, SingNet 10000kbps beats it easily..
In fact it looks even WORSE than the Starhub 12mbps plan!

Complaints (Newest First)

Is this causing the STARHUB MOL "intermittent unable to surf webpages" problem? (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1839736)
Starhub internet problem (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1837889)
Anyone having website problem with MOL? (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1828599)
SH slowing to a crawl? (http://forums.vr-zone.com/showthread.php?t=218717)
Gamers upset about sluggish broadband speed (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1265035)
After fugshub upgrade... can u feel the speed? (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1829496)
stupid ass starfug rag again.. (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1833351)
HELP!!! My MaxOnline Premium Very Slow Leh?! (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1830072)
Starhub MaxOnline Express Connection Intermittent (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1775398)
Why starhub so wols (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1828242)
Starhub speed issue (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1826450)
Starhub Got Problem? (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1825564)
WAHH...Starhub very lagg... (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1806346)
felt CHEATED by Starhub & BAD Customer Services & They CAN'T do anything about it (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1800929)
STARHUB = MASS PORT BLOCKER !!! (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1784300)
Starhub maxonline in crawling state from 1930 to 2330 (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1780360)
Why IDA not doing anything about the slow broadband speed? (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1786101)
starfug loadin slow like fug (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1784902)
Starhub replied my angry email (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1782412)
LAGHUB IS ACTIVATED!!!!! (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1780211)
wah buey tahan liaoz... starhub users plz help speedtest (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1712643)
WHAT IS WRONG WITH STARHUB??? (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1757419)
Slow Starhub BB (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1627982)
Is Starhub misleading customers with its fat green pipe ? (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1628528)
Starhub speed (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1573760)
Starhub internet speed ridiculously slow (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1596780)

Comparisons from users who have switched over to SingNet

My results: StarHub vs Singnet (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1818980)
Good bye Starhub. Paying you cash to continue contract (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1766433)
Very Happy convert from SH MAXONLINE to Singnet (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1803747)

The permanent JOKE OF THE DAY!

StarHub MaxOnline has improved after complaining to IDA (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1796885)

Bardiel
08-01-2008, 11:08 PM
moi ish sappork chiu.

farm man. i premium user. 12k speed? BULL ****.

surf net also lag
download patch also lag
game. don mention anymore. i got dc 8 times a day in battlefield 2 singapore frag server

knn. can go CASE n complain anot? i feel like terminate my line. THEY NV GIVE THE CUSTOMER WAD THEY STATED. CHEATING OUR MONEY OR WAD.

ac3knight
08-01-2008, 11:35 PM
its the congestion... they are not doing anything about it and they think its our problem..

maybe they should really go and do proper maintenance for once and troubleshoot all their problems.

mikeeeey
09-01-2008, 12:06 AM
MOL Premium

it feels like dial up sometimes. and the speed they promised were never delivered.

mikeeeey
09-01-2008, 12:12 AM
but then again, what can you do with this consolidation?

do u think they will come and read, and lastly, even care?

avanade
09-01-2008, 12:43 AM
i seriously wonder is it because they allow hubstation user to surf internet using their set top.

because seems like eversince the hubstation was used, the problems started to surface.

deadsoul79
09-01-2008, 12:52 AM
ultimate user here.....yet i am using singtel's bbom to post this. dunno why suddenly down at t.pagar area.:s27:

reson90
09-01-2008, 06:38 AM
Nice 1 TS! ... Ultimate user here too i have no idea what starhub doing, always tell me no problem end up after awhile having problem and tell me when have the problem do a traceroute and bandwidth test and send them, while im behind a router >.> so user unfriendly

ac3knight
09-01-2008, 09:10 AM
if u are experiencing the new problems, like randomly not being able to surf but still being able to use msn and play online games, traceroute won't help u detect anything cos it still works.. the browser does make connection to the websites, it just refuses to load after that, and it is happening to everyone else!

i heard problems in early november were caused by maintenance on a spoilt underground-cable but don't know it its true..

carey
09-01-2008, 12:44 PM
if u are experiencing the new problems, like randomly not being able to surf but still being able to use msn and play online games, traceroute won't help u detect anything cos it still works.. the browser does make connection to the websites, it just refuses to load after that, and it is happening to everyone else!

i heard problems in early november were caused by maintenance on a spoilt underground-cable but don't know it its true..

Yes, more likely it is a timeout...

Traceroute is not affected cos we can still connect but the loading is taking so long that sometimes the browser returns with the error "page not found"...

Downloading of stuff like patches take forever - very often it is 12k or less

And don't even get me started on streaming video...watching them on youtube is akin to watching old fashion start-stop animation...

Zhi
09-01-2008, 01:01 PM
Love letter to SH: http://forums.vr-zone.com/showthread.php?t=222936

ricko_tee
09-01-2008, 02:30 PM
Love letter to SH: http://forums.vr-zone.com/showthread.php?t=222936

I post rock!

Ultimate user here. I doubt it will work but i guess i will give it a try as i have absolutly no other choice.

Ultimate user here.
LOADS of problem at peak hour.

keiiii
09-01-2008, 02:54 PM
Encounter problem surfing from 8pm-1am every night since Nov. It's like using a 33.6k modem. Pages never get to load be it local or international. Calling Customer Service is like talking to the wall cause you get the same explanation every time, do some tracert, find no problem then point it to the user's problem instead of the infastructure.

If Starhub is not gonna solve our connectivity problem, who IS?

Premium User - Jurong East

hackson
09-01-2008, 04:25 PM
Come to think about it,
It seem avanade is right,
Traffics starts to congest eversince they intro topbox surf.

Btw can those users experiences problem state the area you live?

Premium User - Woodland Ave 3

bloke2529
09-01-2008, 07:43 PM
Express User - Jurong West Ave 1

beehive3783
09-01-2008, 08:13 PM
Ex-Starhub Premium user here. Never felt better after switching to Singnet 3Mbps.

My thoughts after switching to Singnet 3Mbps:

- Although downloads are not as fast as before (300kBps Singnet vs 500-700kBps Starhub on BT), at least it's consistent and I am regularly maxing out my theoretical download bandwidth. Download speeds for me on ex-Starhub Premium were never consistent and I have no idea why.
- Singnet 3Mbps is more affordable and is more superior to Starhub Premium in a few factors, the most notable being loading of Youtube videos. Now I don't have to pause the video to wait for loading anymore.
- Starhub Premium started off as a 3Mbps plan 4 years back, and I have no issues continuing my internet experience with Singnet 3Mbps. The upgrades for Starhub Premium over the years are just bullcrap to me.

Well that's all from me. To summarise, I pay less and enjoy the internet service more. I leave it to current Starhub users to decide whether it is worth the switch.

* My location is at Yew Tee btw, in case anyone needs to know *

Wardenised
09-01-2008, 08:21 PM
express - Tampines

silthfire
09-01-2008, 08:22 PM
seriously...its not fair for those abv premium and ultimate...pay so much and get this ****.......eh anyone got database error sometimes while surfing hwz tdy?

armaniex
09-01-2008, 08:26 PM
i think most pple have comment on the load of the website in one of the thread those information can be really useful.. i have experience it in the past 2 weeks and nothing is done after calling in .. Premium User - Sembawang

nuilnuil
09-01-2008, 08:28 PM
Ultimate user in Toa Payoh. Getting interminttent connection.

hocks
09-01-2008, 08:59 PM
I am also facing intermittent connection. Ultimate plan. Toa Payoh.

Maikeru
09-01-2008, 09:58 PM
Am on Premium. So sad I got their HP notebook, now tied till Apr 2009 :( and not very happy.

Phrajile
09-01-2008, 10:10 PM
Bedok Express user here.

Eversince Jan 1st, just reset my modem, and now the connection, at least on my end, seems slightly better.

Testing with Speedtest also showed some improvement:

http://www.speedtest.net/result/220171297.png

Previously, it was:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210332406.png

Connection to L.A. isn't too shabby either:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/220182361.png

ac3knight
13-01-2008, 05:06 PM
Bedok Express user here.

Eversince Jan 1st, just reset my modem, and now the connection, at least on my end, seems slightly better.

Testing with Speedtest also showed some improvement:

http://www.speedtest.net/result/220171297.png

Previously, it was:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/210332406.png

Connection to L.A. isn't too shabby either:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/220182361.png

what do u mean reset your modem?

ac3knight
13-01-2008, 05:10 PM
anyway because we signed a contract with them, they have to abide by their service terms.

since there is this intermittent, unable to surf net problem it is a breach of terms and we can complain to IDA

Spongy
14-01-2008, 01:59 PM
Ultimate user here. Have complained to them a few times but they keep coming back to ask me to traceroute and download stuff and then in the end come back and say no problem. Is there anything we can do about it ?

Z_Dash
14-01-2008, 02:22 PM
Ultimate user here. Have complained to them a few times but they keep coming back to ask me to traceroute and download stuff and then in the end come back and say no problem. Is there anything we can do about it ?

Same here.....been getting callback from them asking "how's the connection now? Our engineers are still monitoring"

Monitoring wad f**k? We wan the stable connection.....not those page timeout etc.
Bros.....try doing tracert with www.starhub.com or www.cnn.com and see. I get timeout upon 5th hops and above.....its pretty crap.

I'm a MOL Premium user staying at bedok resevoir 6xx area. They keep blaming on my router when i told them i bypassed it for a few days liao.....knn. :s16:

ac3knight
14-01-2008, 02:30 PM
its not possible to tracert starhub n cnn, but its not a connection problem becos some sites mask their ips too, but im not sure wats the problem with the poor 'intermittent unable to surf net problem'..

pikeplace
14-01-2008, 02:45 PM
Are SingNet users able to surf YouTube at night without intermittent stops? I am on MOL Premium and I can't watch YouTube (and some China YouTube wannabes) properly.

I always have to pause the video for a while until the red bar is full before I can watch it without pauses. :s27:

ac3knight
14-01-2008, 07:00 PM
i came here to post b4 the stupid thing happens again, it was 6.40.-6.55pm when all of a sudden i couldn't surf the net

lawrence90
14-01-2008, 08:06 PM
It is very laggy.

even with a few downloads with download speeds of a total of 10kb/s and upload speed of 5kb/s, i lag badly and cannot even load pages(eg. HWZ). WHile playing game, i will lag badly, thus not allowing me to on and will disconnect also.

Last time, maybe a few months ago, all my downloads were on and there was like at least 20 simultaneous downloads with a total of 100kb/s and upload speed of 10kb/s.

i still can play my games without lag and download without disconnection

MOL premium and i am getting such services. :s16:

ac3knight
14-01-2008, 08:27 PM
StarHub MaxOnline Express (6mbps) Local:-
http://www.ida.gov.sg/images/content/Publications/Publications_Level3/rbs/hpSinglethruputStarhubSG6000.png

- VS -

SingNet Unlimited (6000kbps) Local:-
http://www.ida.gov.sg/images/content/Publications/Publications_Level3/rbs/hpSinglethruputSingnetSG6000.png

xboxseller
14-01-2008, 09:31 PM
barely 1000kpbs compared to singnet 6000kpbs.
ratio dont look to good too. 6:1 bandwidth

singnet 3Mb at $40
starhub 6mb at $60

OreO84
14-01-2008, 11:29 PM
im just waiting for my bloody contract to be over... knn almost $100 a month for crap speed

Shun99
14-01-2008, 11:38 PM
support TS. thanks for taking the time to consolidate. we can have a good picture of how bad the starfug experience is.

still experiencing very slow loading of webpages right now, even local internet banking can't do smoothly.

counting the days to the end of contract. if no drastic improvements, they lost one customer forever.

PS > this customer is also involved in the corporate bb scene... :)

chunlianghere
14-01-2008, 11:45 PM
StarHub MaxOnline Express (6mbps) Local:-
http://www.ida.gov.sg/images/content/Publications/Publications_Level3/rbs/hpSinglethruputStarhubSG6000.png

- VS -

SingNet Unlimited (6000kbps) Local:-
http://www.ida.gov.sg/images/content/Publications/Publications_Level3/rbs/hpSinglethruputSingnetSG6000.png

wa..starhub really bad. :eek:

eh..where u get this from to measure speed?

ShinigamiX
15-01-2008, 01:16 AM
i m so glad i m on SNBB 6mbps.......... :o

chipsake
15-01-2008, 01:31 AM
I still tot my router having problem. No wonder my internet is so slow lah ..
Will call them to terminate tomorrow

ac3knight
15-01-2008, 01:44 AM
I heard from a source that StarHub outsources the IT skilled labour to Nokia, so in fact they just own the hardware and get pple to run the show for them..

LuffyMonkey
15-01-2008, 02:15 AM
Measured Performance of Residential Broadband Service Plans in Singapore

http://www.ida.gov.sg/Publications/20061213184450.aspx#performance

Bloodlust
15-01-2008, 02:20 AM
its the congestion... they are not doing anything about it and they think its our problem..

maybe they should really go and do proper maintenance for once and troubleshoot all their problems.
They already have the best tai-chi lameass masters for tech-support. :D

Plutonian
15-01-2008, 02:22 AM
"Last time, maybe a few months ago, all my downloads were on and there was like at least 20 simultaneous downloads with a total of 100kb/s and upload speed of 10kb/s."
u bit torrenting ah?
illegal leh

"I heard from a source that StarHub outsources the IT skilled labour to Nokia, so in fact they just own the hardware and get pple to run the show for them.. "
ermm... what u referring to??
MOL they employ ppl frm nokia
-_-'''

anyway i tink there are more then enough threads for starhub already

gomobile
15-01-2008, 03:03 AM
MY GOD, NOKIA PEOPLE..... Good luck to all of us.

fuzzyball
15-01-2008, 03:34 AM
I'm using MOL Express - Tampines. on wireless. My house running on 3 laptops including mine.

I tot my 3 laptops use up too much speed or my brother play WOW take up too much bandwidth.

I think the thread is monitor, so be careful

fuzzyball
15-01-2008, 03:39 AM
support TS. thanks for taking the time to consolidate. we can have a good picture of how bad the starfug experience is.

still experiencing very slow loading of webpages right now, even local internet banking can't do smoothly.

counting the days to the end of contract. if no drastic improvements, they lost one customer forever.

PS > this customer is also involved in the corporate bb scene... :)

login before peak hours. I did call them up about it, they will ask you to do some stuff to check on your connection. So in the end, can only iBank before 7pm. after that, try not too, cause it will be super lag.

idiort
15-01-2008, 03:40 AM
i just pray it will be resolved soon.. maybe by today?? lol....

chunlianghere
15-01-2008, 06:34 AM
u bit torrenting ah?
illegal leh

haha..in fact, many of us here torrenting. bittorrent is not illegal. :D

AttentioN
15-01-2008, 08:11 AM
This is a good thread. Email this thread to starhub upper management and let them know of their own problems.

Asakura
15-01-2008, 09:20 AM
haha..in fact, many of us here torrenting. bittorrent is not illegal. :D

the thing itself is not illegal, its what you seed and download that is illegal.

wisely2000
15-01-2008, 12:19 PM
Aiya .. i was thinking of extending my contract with them when they have future promotion for a Compaq desktop ..

seems stuck now .. and my home pc is dying soon ...

BTW .. Korea internet speed is awesome .....

one 700mb of divx movie takes only 1 to 2 hrs ......

when Singapore will reach that kind of speed ??? i guess it will be long long long time ....

Asakura
15-01-2008, 01:17 PM
isnt tat a normal speed also in sgp to get 700mb file ?

taugeh
15-01-2008, 01:45 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/222344359.png

for the last 3 mths my 12mbps plan is having this speed, eh starhub can consolidate me for that 3 mths of paying for a service that never happened? PAY SO MUCH GET NOTHING.

wisely2000
15-01-2008, 04:20 PM
isnt tat a normal speed also in sgp to get 700mb file ?
dun think so .. i could never download a 700mb file for 1 or 2 hrs back in Sgp using SH ... not sure about singnet though

lawrence90
15-01-2008, 05:27 PM
"Last time, maybe a few months ago, all my downloads were on and there was like at least 20 simultaneous downloads with a total of 100kb/s and upload speed of 10kb/s."
u bit torrenting ah?
illegal leh

"I heard from a source that StarHub outsources the IT skilled labour to Nokia, so in fact they just own the hardware and get pple to run the show for them.. "
ermm... what u referring to??
MOL they employ ppl frm nokia
-_-'''

anyway i tink there are more then enough threads for starhub already

bo leh~ torrent can mean alot things leh.

wackykid
15-01-2008, 05:33 PM
Measured Performance of Residential Broadband Service Plans in Singapore

http://www.ida.gov.sg/Publications/20061213184450.aspx#performance

thanks for the site!! excellent URL... added into my bookmark... will monitor the ISPs before i decide to hop ship to singnet...

regards,
wacky

weibchen
15-01-2008, 06:21 PM
**** this ****.
come june i'd be on pacman~~
scew this ****ing starhub, i'm tired of paying money for crap!!

wackykid
16-01-2008, 07:17 PM
bump this up... keep it on first page..! :s12::s12:

regards,
wacky

athenaesword
16-01-2008, 08:50 PM
same here intermittent refusal to load pages. especially at night. sometimes happens during the day as well though. and i second the youtube thing. i stay priv estate btw

ekardo
17-01-2008, 11:08 AM
my download is also slow...watching videos from games site also cannot make it!!

Questin
17-01-2008, 11:15 AM
http://welovetheiraqiinformationminister.com/images/07-minister.jpg

All of us here only use bittorent to torrent things like open office, nobody uses it to illegally download mp3s, movies or games at all.

ac3knight
17-01-2008, 02:12 PM
lol

ninkuboy
26-01-2008, 03:55 PM
up this thread, for the week's complaints.

Success
10-01-2009, 02:44 AM
another user posted in stomp

http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singaporeseen/viewContent.jsp?id=50174

daveaha
10-01-2009, 01:24 PM
I'm premium user staying at Hougang. Still facing same problem since the early December. Connection interrupted all the times regardless of whether peak or non peak hours. Browsing webpages is really a pain in the *** nowadays.
Megaupload stopped working eversince also...

Preacher1010
11-01-2009, 01:22 AM
dun think so .. i could never download a 700mb file for 1 or 2 hrs back in Sgp using SH ... not sure about singnet though

takes me only 10mins to download 700MB DivX anytime of the day with

....yup you guessed it ,....SNBB!

pete10pete
23-01-2009, 02:04 PM
West Coast, Express user
Im so pissed off with tis starsucks service.

MyNameIsNas
23-01-2009, 07:40 PM
Im a Maxmobile user and probably being affected too! Now getting constantly below 60kbps. in fact, most of the time below 20kbps. Very-very dissapointed. Sometime, i need to download a torrent to allow more internet usage at the same time increasing the speed. haizzz...

FireHobbit
26-01-2009, 02:39 AM
maxmobile now is super slow... in Jurong West

liangtam
26-01-2009, 02:43 AM
maxmobile now is super slow... in Jurong West

err, st bbom is oso super slow wor

pills
26-01-2009, 11:41 AM
my 2Mbps is very slow... it's from the triple freedome pack lite package... :(

keiiii
28-01-2009, 01:14 AM
Please link this too
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=2235198&highlight=connection+interrupted

SolarBurn
28-01-2009, 10:00 AM
i support u too

maybe TS wanna start a petition?

urbanone
28-01-2009, 11:42 AM
I operate websites hosted in the USA - the speeds on SH Ultimate plan to connect to my servers is so bad that I cannot do any work on upgrading my websites - at first i though my site server was overloaded - then after testing via 2 different SH connections and other telco connections I realised SH was the problem.

ANYONE GOT THE EMAIL ADD FOR SH TECHNICAL?

(I CAN'T EVEN FIND THIS AS THEIR SILLY SITE IS TOTALLY DESIGNED TO ONLY CATER FOR NEW USER AND UPGRADE ENQUIRIES)

Moniker
28-01-2009, 12:33 PM
I can't load Facebook properly. The pictures do not load quickly, unlike last time.
No such problem when surfing using Wireless@SG

gumzgumz
05-02-2009, 05:58 PM
stay in the east and used to be starhub user. paid 80 bucks/mth for ridiculously slow speeds. recently jumped ship to SNBB 3mbps. surfing and downloading speeds are much much faster. looks like i made a good choice

antisaviour
05-02-2009, 08:56 PM
Read this guys!!!

Starhub is under Temasek Holdings whose EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR & CEO is Ho Ching, wife to PM Lee Hsien Loong.

Ho Ching: Investor

Wife of SINGAPORE's Prime Minister

On the afternoon of July 20, Lee Hsien Yang, brother of Singapore’s Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong and CEO of its biggest listed company, Singapore Telecom (SingTel), walked into a hastily convened press conference and dropped a bombshell.

The 48-year-old told journalists he had quit, but would stay on until the SingTel board finds a replacement. He gave no reason for his decision.

SingTel is a member of Temasek, the huge investment firm owned by the Singapore government and run by Ho Ching. Ho, in her early 50s, is the wife of the PM.

Three hours after Lee Hsien Yang's announcement, Temasek held its annual dinner and dance. It was subdued. Lee did not make an appearance. Many top Temasek officials were also missing. The guests talked quietly among themselves. Neither Temasek chairman S Dhanabalan, a retired cabinet minister; nor Ho Ching made a speech.

Lee has presided over SingTels long court battle with StarHub, another Temasek company over which Ho Ching has more direct control. The dispute is over client accessibility. It is not known whether the dispute has any bearing to his decision to quit.

Early this year, after buying 12% of the British bank Standard Chartered, Temasek drew up a list of answers to possible media questions. The list was leaked to the media. It made interesting reading, especially item 33 (of a total 59):

Question: "Your CEO is also the PM’s wife. The PM is also the Minister for Finance, heading MOF which is your shareholder. Is her appointment politically motivated? Wouldn't there be conflicts of interest?"

Answer: "We are not here to discuss politics since we are not politicians or a political organisation. Our CEO is accountable to the Board of Directors, who is headed by an independent Chairman, just like any other commercial organisation."

Temasek has been playing this same tune over and over again as it embarks on an aggressive buying spree out of Singapore. When the deals are in the West, such as the aborted takeover of P&O of the UK, it is easy to believe Temasek acts on nothing more than commercial concerns. Inside Asia, it is a different story.

From the many investments in Chinese banks to the controversial purchases of Indosat (the Indonesian government wants to buy back shares of this company) and Shin Corp (from Thai Prime Minister Thaksin Shinawatra), it is difficult to separate Temasek's motives from Singapore's political agenda.

Ho Ching, who has to balance being a first wife and the CEO of a huge investment firm, faces the same dilemma. How she copes will affect how Temasek fares in the future. It is an unenviable task.

The above info is taken from http://theasiamag.com/?q=node/116.

No way IDA will entertain your complains regardless is it Starhub or Singtel that you want to lodge a complain against.

Kyururu
06-02-2009, 10:42 AM
I got some 403 errors on certain random sites while using Maxonline. At first I thought those sites banned SG IPs. But when I tried with Singnet and Maxmobile, it doesn't have that error, so I suspect it could be the maxonline's transparent proxy. Anyway I've sent an email to starhub ytd and am still waiting for a reply.

kenloonglow
06-02-2009, 01:56 PM
I operate websites hosted in the USA - the speeds on SH Ultimate plan to connect to my servers is so bad that I cannot do any work on upgrading my websites - at first i though my site server was overloaded - then after testing via 2 different SH connections and other telco connections I realised SH was the problem.

ANYONE GOT THE EMAIL ADD FOR SH TECHNICAL?

(I CAN'T EVEN FIND THIS AS THEIR SILLY SITE IS TOTALLY DESIGNED TO ONLY CATER FOR NEW USER AND UPGRADE ENQUIRIES)

Dun email, they will just give u the same TEMPLATE...check your modem, check your router, Ping here Ping there, Tracert here Tracert there...the most effective method is to call and scold them, ask them to go your house to check :s13:

pills
06-02-2009, 06:13 PM
sigh.. anyone got their home line prob solved???

my home line has been having prob eversince the first day i've signed up with them!!!! :s12::s12::s12::s12:

how to solve it? they came and changed modem etc and fixing everyday (like real).

it's really ****ty!!!

AT_HWZ
06-02-2009, 07:08 PM
Was chatting to some U.S. folks on slow internet connection and they gave me two possible reasons:

1. SH has routing issues to overseas sites based on the traceroutes;
2. SH is traffic shaping for whatever reasons.

Okay, maybe 3 - BOTH! HORROR!!!:eek:

amazone
07-02-2009, 02:28 AM
1 more month and i will change. give up after 4 yrs with them. too much problem.

SpaceMonkey
07-02-2009, 05:49 AM
wah this is going hardcore

rvf79
07-02-2009, 11:26 AM
siannnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn

bykte
07-02-2009, 12:04 PM
This is so sad, even www.showmyip.com doesn't reveal my real IP anymore. Getting proxy.202.156.10.249.maxonline.com.sg (202.156.10.249) instead. They should just abolish this proxy rule or improve their performance. Starhub mindset so exactly like the Government. As long it's working, don't replace it even if performance/service degrades.

pills
08-02-2009, 12:29 AM
if use the damn line for fax instead, will faxing be affected??

santaboi
08-02-2009, 01:35 AM
Dun email, they will just give u the same TEMPLATE...check your modem, check your router, Ping here Ping there, Tracert here Tracert there...the most effective method is to call and scold them, ask them to go your house to check :s13:

its not just with starhub and singnet. i emailed LTA to get more information regarding a vehicle and they gave me the same reply. it goes something like this.

To do <blah blah blah>

You have to

1) blah blah

2) blah blah

3)blah blah

and if u tell them that u know the procedure and that u don understand why they would require u to do something that doesnt make any sense. they will still give u the same reply even if u have provided them with evidence backing up your statements.

pills
08-02-2009, 01:37 AM
its not just with starhub and singnet. i emailed LTA to get more information regarding a vehicle and they gave me the same reply. it goes something like this.

and if u tell them that u know the procedure and that u don understand why they would require u to do something that doesnt make any sense. they will still give u the same reply even if u have provided them with evidence backing up your statements.

i totally agree. it's a waste of time. when i did that. they replied asking me about some fo the same questions again like when did the probs occur, what happened etc?

and that is after i told them to call me instead of emailing me.

they're just patronizing their customers.

so.. call them up to scream. they won't attend to u until u make some noise, just like their phone lines!

renjitehsmex
09-02-2009, 09:11 PM
is anyone experiencing the freaking slow maxonline now?

AT_HWZ
09-02-2009, 09:25 PM
Me. Speedtest.net and Speedtest.com.sg are measuring less than 5 Mbps download speeds.