PDA

View Full Version : [GPGT] Those having Starhub MaxOnline speed problems.. Here is the reason why

ac3knight
14-01-2008, 08:18 PM
StarHub MaxOnline 12mbps:- Overseas
http://www.ida.gov.sg/images/content/Publications/Publications_Level3/rbs/hpSinglethruputStarhubUS12000.png

vs

SingNet Unlimited 10000kbps:- Overseas
http://www.ida.gov.sg/images/content/Publications/Publications_Level3/rbs/hpSinglethruputSingnetUS10000.png

More explanations and chart comparisons in my Consolidated Complaints thread-> http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1835237

NightRaven
14-01-2008, 08:25 PM
WHAT!!!!!!!!!!!! wahlau eh....

ac3knight
14-01-2008, 08:26 PM
StarHub MaxOnline Express (6mbps) Local:-
http://www.ida.gov.sg/images/content/Publications/Publications_Level3/rbs/hpSinglethruputStarhubSG6000.png

- VS -

SingNet Unlimited (6000kbps) Local:-
http://www.ida.gov.sg/images/content/Publications/Publications_Level3/rbs/hpSinglethruputSingnetSG6000.png

FinalTidus
14-01-2008, 08:28 PM
*stunned*

*rushes to phone to cancel maxoffline*

*dials to enquire about singnet*

fatworm
14-01-2008, 08:53 PM
sian lioa just sign up starhub 2 mth only there DL speed so slow... :(

jtchoy
14-01-2008, 08:57 PM
Not surprised la...

After all, they promised UP TO 12mbps for premium what...

devilcup
14-01-2008, 09:02 PM
this is really S**T man...

so slow...

ragnarok95
14-01-2008, 09:03 PM
Hmm...i have no problem on my side? Load still veri fast.

Fr3ziX
14-01-2008, 09:06 PM
Depends lah.Some blocks like mine alot maxonline users all share thats why slow make me piss of.I want to go cancel liao since my contract ending soon

ShinigamiX
14-01-2008, 09:11 PM
lucky i didnt switch..... juz recontracted like 2 mths or so ago :s42:

PetPet
14-01-2008, 09:15 PM
woah......

coyote
14-01-2008, 09:15 PM
Does that simply means Starhub has overtaken Singnet as the ISP with the biggest pool of subscribers?

PetPet
14-01-2008, 09:28 PM
Does that simply means Starhub has overtaken Singnet as the ISP with the biggest pool of subscribers?
correct me if i am wrong.
wrong it proved that starhub is one lazy company who refuses to buy bandwidth :(

fatworm
14-01-2008, 09:44 PM
my playing COD4 is ok but DL less than 15kbps.... ... WFT so slow.....

Lordzephyr9
14-01-2008, 09:48 PM
i so regret recontracting.. no wonder they are giving out better gifts... cos service sux too much.
upgraded to 12k MOL also no diff with my previous 6kMOL.. should have signed Singnet....

romeo78
14-01-2008, 10:08 PM
WTF.. I JUST RECONTRACT WIF MOL 2 MTHS AGO!!

ac3knight
14-01-2008, 10:09 PM
from this image:-

http://www.ida.gov.sg/images/content/Publications/Publications_Level3/rbs/hpSinglethruputStarhubUS12000.png

u can see that starhub probably has reached a connection bottleneck at 8pm... so it isn't the fault of the San Jose and Texas line because they can't possibly both look like this at the same time unless a bottleneck is forcing the connection to die out to the same, extremely low throughoutput.

compare the above to the singnet 1 below which has sufficient available bandwidth for everyone:-
http://www.ida.gov.sg/images/content/Publications/Publications_Level3/rbs/hpSinglethruputSingnetUS6000.png

you can see the San Jose and Texas line have different throughoutputs, and its not being forced into a single similar line and there is no bottleneck present.

sunsetbay
14-01-2008, 10:59 PM
send this findings to stomp, let starhub reply on it. :slant:

M_16
14-01-2008, 11:32 PM
singnet can publish this in their adverts lo!!!

beehive3783
14-01-2008, 11:32 PM
precisely why i made the switch. and no regrets.

goenitz33
14-01-2008, 11:36 PM
Singnet not that bad also bah

but sometimes if it sucks badly usually is because of yr phone line

it is especially so in older houses where u got older phone lines

anyway i have been on Singnet since the dialup era and i find not that bad.

only reason i find lacking is that if yr phone line got something happens then there goes yr ADSL line too

which i kanna for quite a few times le =x

FinalTidus
14-01-2008, 11:46 PM
Singnet will use this for their advertisements soon!!!

WTF Starhub you suck....

bigbuffalo
14-01-2008, 11:51 PM

only reason i find lacking is that if yr phone line got something happens then there goes yr ADSL line too

I agree. Singnet might not be good for all. It has consistent speed when

everything goes well. But the adsl line is susceptible to EM interference, eg.

aircon. The 2wire modem/router singnet provided have got its glitches. So it all

depends. To have Singnet, u need to make sure u have good line quality. Else,

either crack your head trying to figure out why u keep on getting dropped lines

or follow the congested big green pipe. For me, i was a red to green then finally

back to red user. I'm sticking to the red camp for now.

dk2000
15-01-2008, 12:07 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/222086336.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

http://www.speedtest.net/result/222086827.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

http://www.speedtest.net/result/222087180.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Soon__
15-01-2008, 12:32 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/222086336.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

http://www.speedtest.net/result/222086827.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

http://www.speedtest.net/result/222087180.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/222095603.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

I was BTing on another system and uploading a file into my E-Mail.

Quite comfortable with my speed.MOL Surf Lite.

koknkw
15-01-2008, 12:40 AM
I agree with Bro goenitz, the reason y i'm staying wif Sh*thub is becoz my hse phoneline is very very lousy. That's the ONLY reason y i stayed wif them. If not... Singnet, here i come!!

ravener
15-01-2008, 12:58 AM
i almost switch to laghub last year when the odex crap happened...

but didnt because of the works needed to actually install the damn ****... (my router is in the study room, the most rear end of the apartment)

so right now... i'm still using sinknet...

PetPet
15-01-2008, 01:01 AM
ya i still remember the xedo incident. Funny the website is still dead.
But ya. Gives me an impression that singnet doesn't protect the users' privacy. So... ya.

bigbuffalo
15-01-2008, 01:27 AM
I doubt there is any privacy at all to begin with. We are all being watched. Its all

a matter if they have a ligitimate reason to check or not. U think the private

phone line u subscribed can't be traced. Think again.:s11:

ravener
15-01-2008, 01:34 AM
traced by the company itself nvm, since we are the one who engaged their services, there are some things that you must tolerate...

but give out your personal particulars to a third-party, and one without official warrant... that an outright disappointment!

but lets keep odex stuff out of here...

jtchoy
15-01-2008, 02:01 AM
I agree with Bro goenitz, the reason y i'm staying wif Sh*thub is becoz my hse phoneline is very very lousy. That's the ONLY reason y i stayed wif them. If not... Singnet, here i come!!
Ya lor, last time I used singnet also, a lot of interference and disconnection...

After they checked a few times and more frustration, they pushed the blame back to me, say my house internal wiring problem, have to get own contractor to check since only up to the point where the cable enter the house is their problem...

So bo bian, switch to starhub... Now want to switch back also cannot lor...

ravener
15-01-2008, 02:04 AM
IIRC, phonelines and any other copper lines should be checked every 20 years, especially in Singapore where the high humidity and heat, does not bode well for copper based wires...

silthfire
15-01-2008, 02:22 AM
haha i juz moved to singnet le...but my fren using starhub mol nvr tio the slow speeds leh

allanzzz
15-01-2008, 02:25 AM
MOL user here, i m still online posting

Sendoh82
15-01-2008, 02:32 AM
that not the only explaination.

i think starfug network gana attack or smth. or they limit the http port until very jia lat.

when the bloody lag happens. website cant even load. and BEST OF ALL EVEN STARHUB WEBSITE

Sendoh82
15-01-2008, 02:33 AM
haha i juz moved to singnet le...but my fren using starhub mol nvr tio the slow speeds leh

in some areas only. Bukit Gombak area sure can feel it

jtchoy
15-01-2008, 02:34 AM
IIRC, phonelines and any other copper lines should be checked every 20 years, especially in Singapore where the high humidity and heat, does not bode well for copper based wires...
I don't think my house is 20 years yet leh...

Actully my house got 2 lines, 1 main line, 1 for fax and internet last time. Then the internet one got problem, changed to starhub maxonline and change line to digital voice...

Main line still using singtel, but now this one also kena some problem, line always very noisy... Sian, I think call singnet, they will come and check and then say its my internal wiring again... Both lines gone case liao... :(

doomslayerz
15-01-2008, 01:03 PM
ahahah noticed the exact same pattern with my previous starhub 12mb connection... exactly those timings it will slow down ALOT. just switched to singnet 10mbps with mio plan.... very stable, non fluctuating speeds and very cheap if u take the mio plan internet, home phone and handphone lol =:p

blackestvoid
15-01-2008, 06:04 PM
Anyone wants to let go of their Starhub plan?

silthfire
15-01-2008, 06:12 PM
my fren hillview.....i bukit batok....lol.

xBlackHawkx
15-01-2008, 06:26 PM
I been using Singnet for many years... i have never regreted it... Maxonline is more onto streaming videos la... Singnet leads on its upload bandwidth & online gaming...

PetPet
15-01-2008, 06:36 PM
not true.
I stream videos @ youtube at an incredible speed. Some 5 minutes youtube video takes like 6 - 8 mins to stream or doesn't even load at all.

xBlackHawkx
15-01-2008, 06:46 PM
not true.
I stream videos @ youtube at an incredible speed. Some 5 minutes youtube video takes like 6 - 8 mins to stream or doesn't even load at all.

5mins video took you 6-8mins? I think not always like this right?

MichaelTan
15-01-2008, 06:52 PM
this was not always the case lah. Singnet sucked in 2005-6. Starhub ruled then, then end 2007 Starhub screwed up.

I no contract now. Waiting for starhub to respond. On ultimate, you see how I cry man... much more lugi ...

waiken
15-01-2008, 07:13 PM

ha moi at SengKang dun even nid tat long... stay 2years liao fixed fone always got prob until nid to call SingTel tech twice :s27:

Nicky198u
15-01-2008, 07:17 PM
this was not always the case lah. Singnet sucked in 2005-6. Starhub ruled then, then end 2007 Starhub screwed up.

I no contract now. Waiting for starhub to respond. On ultimate, you see how I cry man... much more lugi ...

omg u sign ultimate ah:( i switched from SH 12mbs to SN 10mbs, the difference is Huge!!

The only downside is that i occasionally disconnect la, its ok when im surfing or torrenting because it connects in a few secs. But its damn irritating to disconnect in the middle of world of warcraft or dota or anyother online game:s16::s16:

coyote
15-01-2008, 07:32 PM
Then you should have stay with starhub lah. How can the so call 'occasional disconnect' is acceptable between games?

Singnet is good in giving more consistent bandwidth but occasional disconnect(depending on phone line conditions). Starhub, slow at peak hours, but hell, no disconnect in months...

omg u sign ultimate ah:( i switched from SH 12mbs to SN 10mbs, the difference is Huge!!

The only downside is that i occasionally disconnect la, its ok when im surfing or torrenting because it connects in a few secs. But its damn irritating to disconnect in the middle of world of warcraft or dota or anyother online game:s16::s16:

PetPet
15-01-2008, 07:34 PM
i nvr d/c b4 using starhub. cept during taiwan earthquake that time :)

Nicky198u
15-01-2008, 07:36 PM
Then you should have stay with starhub lah. How can the so call 'occasional disconnect' is acceptable between games?

Singnet is good in giving more consistent bandwidth but occasional disconnect(depending on phone line conditions). Starhub, slow at peak hours, but hell, no disconnect in months...

ill never go back to starhub man, unless singnet really cmi

surfing net or torrenting after six is hell man

i'd rather disconnect occasionally than surf on a '56k speed' everyday

PC
15-01-2008, 07:41 PM
For singnet, modem plays a part for dc issues. My previous modem has occasional dc problems, sometimes right at the start when I log in to windows. But the problem solved when I renew contract and given a new modem. No dc from then on, so if your line is good, singnet is still better. At least I can get consistent speed throughout the day.

No point paying more for more speed on paper, that's what I been telling my friends. Most of the time, my singnet 3mbps is faster than my MOL friends.

PetPet
15-01-2008, 07:43 PM
Ya sometimes it's not your telephone line issue.
My friend changed modem and he stopped d/cing frequently :)

ideatalk
16-01-2008, 01:34 PM
interesting leh. so many complaint on SH but they didnt seem to be bothered. maybe CASE can help

keigo
16-01-2008, 01:53 PM
ill never go back to starhub man, unless singnet really cmi

surfing net or torrenting after six is hell man

i'd rather disconnect occasionally than surf on a '56k speed' everyday

So badly affected? I don't surf much at night, most of the time is gaming n torrenting. I admit it is slower than in the morning, my torrents doesn't reach more than 1MB/s in the night, daytime still can hit 1.5MB/s for certain torrents.

sepultura
16-01-2008, 02:21 PM
For some of you complaining about problems with the ADSL line, let me tell you, I have faced enough problems with laghub too. Our cable services got disrupted three times last year. One time it took 2 days for them to repair some switching equipment and we (our block and many blocks around) were without TV, phone and net for that period.

I've had almost weekly / monthly problems with poor signal strength. My cable modem would refuse to work properly - I would call laghub and complain, they would do a trace and find poor signal quality, then they would "fix" it and I'd be online for some weeks or month++ before it would happen again. Sucks.

***** that - I just went and signed up for singnet today. Let's see how that goes.

GrimaH
16-01-2008, 02:59 PM
Starhub has the equivalent of a dc rate of 30 times per hour during peak hours.

ravener
16-01-2008, 03:39 PM
funny, i have never been dc-ed on my sinknet before... haven't tried to switch to laghub yet... thinking of the installation costs makes me high man...

drpanda
16-01-2008, 04:32 PM
since starhub and singnet also got problem then dont use.? use back 56k ... :D

wisely98
16-01-2008, 04:43 PM
still hv 6 more months till my starhub maxonline 8mbps contract expire but have signed up to singnet 3 mbps (cos of the ipod touch hehehe). Singnet is so much faster and much more consistent. with SH, i cant even watch anything off youtube even though i'm not on BT. but now i can do it wif SNBB...

Absolutely no regrets wif the switch !!!

ry0suk1
16-01-2008, 06:16 PM
bting + gaming = no lag use SH ultimate!!!
watching youtube wholeday without waiting for it to load.
downloading hmmmm depend on the website la, some website gives 2+mbps some 1+mbps and except for local one highest 12.2mbps, using download manager to handle d/l....
Absolutely no regrets moving to SH ultimate!!!

athenaesword
16-01-2008, 06:18 PM
=s i'm also experiencing retarded speeds during peak hours. can those who're on the 10mb SN plan tell me if the 1MB/s upload speed is actualy true? if so i might really consider switching. even starhub's 12mb plan only has 384kbps upload, which is making it really hard to maintain ratios while downloading high definition torrents...

reimina
16-01-2008, 07:01 PM
Heng ah!! I never switch to maxoffline. :s42:

kinakono
17-01-2008, 09:56 AM
those who think starhub sucks, think again. singnet keeps getting super slow speed at times recently, to the point of almost dc.

ry0suk1
17-01-2008, 10:05 AM
every ISP got their own good, so which one you like jus go for it. no use complain here complain there which they wont know about it here!
for some convert to ST say they very good, for some convert to SH say their very good, so jus keep the point to yourself!

athenaesword
17-01-2008, 11:53 AM
those who think starhub sucks, think again. singnet keeps getting super slow speed at times recently, to the point of almost dc.

can you elaborate more on this please? I think us starhubbers would like to know more about the problems about the red camp as well, so we can decide if it's really worth the switch.

athenaesword
17-01-2008, 11:55 AM
every ISP got their own good, so which one you like jus go for it. no use complain here complain there which they wont know about it here!
for some convert to ST say they very good, for some convert to SH say their very good, so jus keep the point to yourself!

if we kept all complaints to ourselves, it wouldn't really be called complaining would it? I think it's important to share problems we're having with particular services, so as to create awareness that we're not alone in our frustrations, and not make the mistake of purchasing new and expensive routers, for example. If it upsets you, then I suggest you do not subscribe to this thread.

kinakono
17-01-2008, 01:54 PM
can you elaborate more on this please? I think us starhubbers would like to know more about the problems about the red camp as well, so we can decide if it's really worth the switch.

wan't i quite clear? 1min ure sufing with good speed, the next slow like hell that cant like cant connect at all. happen only recently.

i dun know if the rest of singnet user r using during normal working days as well, my office using n it's quite bad.

the point is if u want a very stable network, go subscribe from 2 isp, that way just switch if 1 got problem :D

kinakono
17-01-2008, 02:13 PM
if we kept all complaints to ourselves, it wouldn't really be called complaining would it? I think it's important to share problems we're having with particular services, so as to create awareness that we're not alone in our frustrations, and not make the mistake of purchasing new and expensive routers, for example. If it upsets you, then I suggest you do not subscribe to this thread.

i think ry0suk1 means to say each hv their own peak n down time, no use complaining or bragging about how good or bad. ultimately it's still up to individual to decide what each wants, n test 4 himself.

for me, i only take this as a review. the final decision will also factor in other considerations like cost.

holocast
17-01-2008, 02:25 PM
starhub should seriously upgrade that nonsense upload speed of theirs... 384 kbps for 12mbps is way too pathetic!!!

1mbps aleast la... and aleast something like 3 mbps for utlimate... totally screwed man...

in japan they got 100mbps down.. 30mbps up.. i know its local ...and their content is inside.. but hey... 30? if divided by 10 and get 3mbps i'm happy :(

cschua76
17-01-2008, 02:51 PM
its simple those who have problem just switch, those who no problem stay lor, not all housing is suitable to use SH or SN, it will depends on the distance between their location and the ISP.

darkmatt
17-01-2008, 03:40 PM
no problems here leh... normal loadings and all at all times.... ultimate user...

But i think the earthquake last year really screwed up the green pipe... only after the earthquakes, then the complaints all came in..

the only problem i have with SH is the port blocking... damn it...

BurgerLim
17-01-2008, 05:21 PM
Hi all
one green to red camp here..yeah.. can feel the different in peak hours.. for SH try your youtube in the morning 6 to 8am.. wah.. like rocket.. back at the night.. become snail.
SNBB while very fregile (the modem) to lighting / etc.. is more stable.. i feel its much faster then express for sure.. hands down (btw, i leave in north part.).
download speed wise.. think both is equally fast.. true enug.. for past 2 years 05 to 06 starhub is superb (then on premium 6mpbs) but is definately fast! then down to express last oct.. (waiting for sitex offer) then things become unacceptable.. think too many on this segment.. so maybe your ip is pool together with the rest on a slower server.. or simply too many on the pipe.
heng, Never extend with the lappy offer (not quite interested with the spec and not interested in ultumate.. (just too much for any connection world wide.. as local not much content leh).. Now with SN.. quite happy so far upload test reach 850kbps was told by the installer its very fast among.. (maybe he try make me happy :D)... only down side is mio tv is pathetic.. leh.. looking at the content almost freakout!
now miss my hubclub offer & discount! which workout to be around 300$ after 24 months. :D

Sorry for the essay! :D

athenaesword
17-01-2008, 06:20 PM
i think ry0suk1 means to say each hv their own peak n down time, no use complaining or bragging about how good or bad. ultimately it's still up to individual to decide what each wants, n test 4 himself.

for me, i only take this as a review. the final decision will also factor in other considerations like cost.

lol us individuals won't really know what to expect unless we hear feedback from others would we? unfortunately it's not feasible to subscribe to both and then back out on one after a month or so of comparisons, so the next best thing is feedback from other subscribers on the other side. at least, from various customers' feedback, we'll know what to expect, like frequency of downtime, severity of speed drop etc. personally i think this thread has been beneficial to me, because like i said, i was on the verge of buying another router cus i've changed virtually everything else, save for the line and the router.

sure cost is important, but it's only a good point for comparison if all the goods are delivered as promised.

as for specifics on the problems your'e facing on SN, you could elaborate on the times during the day or night which you encounter such problems, how recent is recent, and possibly SN's response to your reports on the issue (assuming u've bothered reporting).

pker88
17-01-2008, 07:01 PM
ha moi at SengKang dun even nid tat long... stay 2years liao fixed fone always got prob until nid to call SingTel tech twice :s27:

sorry u r on singnet or hub?
as my frend moving to sengkang too wonder if he taking up singnet plan is good too

sepultura
17-01-2008, 08:39 PM
And here are my laghub results for today at 8.35pm, on 6mbps plan.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/223234938.png

I think that's 6 milli-bits / sec, not megabits/sec. This laggy speed is within singapore!! Imagine how much slower it is going outside.

Jamesykl
17-01-2008, 08:54 PM
Here is the result of my speedtest. A surprising drop of 5000 kb/s from about 12000 kb/s when I tested it yesterday at around 11 pm. I am using Maxonline Premium.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/223238935.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

lerkaile
17-01-2008, 09:13 PM
how did the thread starter come up with the graph man.

sepultura
17-01-2008, 09:16 PM
Here is the result of my speedtest. A surprising drop of 5000 kb/s from about 12000 kb/s when I tested it yesterday at around 11 pm. I am using Maxonline Premium.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/223238935.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Bah! Fusspot! 7.8 megs and 200++ kb puts you in the privileged elite class compared to my 1.6megs and 18k upload - rubbish chute cleaner class! :P :P

And your latency is a miniscule 30ms compared to my 150++ms. So you're the one stealing all my pings. :P

wherehouse
17-01-2008, 09:21 PM
copy and paste postcount+1

Other factors can limit ADSL speeds. For instance, the further you are from the telephone exchange, the slower it gets. Speed also drops depending on the quality of the phone line. This can mean additional cost, as ADSL users may need to buy a microfilter to improve transmission quality.

There's more than enough for all with MaxOnline.
Some service providers tell you that with 'shared' access, speeds will drop as more people on your block go online. That won't happen with MaxOnline. Because MaxOnline delivers a massive reservoir of bandwidth, there's always more than enough for everyone.

Reservoir of bandwidth = Singapore Reservoir

Besides, IDA has quantified (in 2007 report) that our speeds to international IXes is excellent for 70% of the time in a 24hour day.

junkai21
18-01-2008, 12:04 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/223299980.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Me on SINGNET BB 3500 plan :)

Bro streaming internet radio at the moment the test was held

nangka1
18-01-2008, 08:19 AM
same problem with me leh somemore I use ultimate.

Bloody sheet.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/223493340.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

I feel cheated.

wisely2000
18-01-2008, 08:29 AM
has been skypeing with my wife every night .... no complains from her on the green pipe so far ..

thinking of waiting for SH promotion on giving out gifts like a Compaq desktop ....

athenaesword
18-01-2008, 10:55 AM
last night felt less intermittent than usual...

dk2000
19-01-2008, 01:07 AM
100% pure broadband

http://www.speedtest.net/result/223731019.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

chunxi
19-01-2008, 01:33 AM
Other factors can limit ADSL speeds. For instance, the further you are from the telephone exchange, the slower it gets. Speed also drops depending on the quality of the phone line. This can mean additional cost, as ADSL users may need to buy a microfilter to improve transmission quality.

There's more than enough for all with MaxOnline.
Some service providers tell you that with 'shared' access, speeds will drop as more people on your block go online. That won't happen with MaxOnline. Because MaxOnline delivers a massive reservoir of bandwidth, there's always more than enough for everyone.

Reservoir of bandwidth = Singapore Reservoir

distance don't apply to singapore context.
we are not like oversea, teleco in city pull wire to rural area.

cable also have to get good quality splitter.
reservoir is more = bedok reservoir. :D
maybe reservoir is big enough, but which user is not greedy ? =:p

Jamesykl
19-01-2008, 07:38 AM
Check out my impressive bandwidth at early morning around 7:40 am!!!

http://www.speedtest.net/result/223875369.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

athenaesword
19-01-2008, 11:09 AM
Check out my impressive bandwidth at early morning around 7:40 am!!!

http://www.speedtest.net/result/223875369.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

if that's premium, it's only about 2/3 the promised ul speed...

anyway, for me the ul speed does drop at night till dawn, but these 2 days it seems the problem with the pages loading slowly seems to have diminished somewhat. hopefuly this's the big break we've all been waiting for.

nangka1
19-01-2008, 02:44 PM
This is my speed on Ultimate
KNS....

http://www.speedtest.net/result/223958877.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

athenaesword
19-01-2008, 03:15 PM
that looks like speed for premium haha. ay yall give speedtest results got ensure the connection is copmletely free anot.. including other computers connected to the network. otherwise it's not a good test.

icyrooker2
19-01-2008, 03:58 PM
luckily i switch.. but singnewt so slow... nid wait for so long for them to come.. :(
and wii nid to wait till end of month

kevinbox
19-01-2008, 04:18 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/223973634.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

i am on Premium....

t3zuka
19-01-2008, 07:38 PM
this is the worst today...cant play any online game at all

http://www.speedtest.net/result/224017311.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

nangka1
19-01-2008, 09:16 PM
Saturday Ultimate speed

Like sai...

http://www.speedtest.net/result/224043175.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

runestyx
19-01-2008, 09:53 PM
Sat nite on Premium, crap!

http://www.speedtest.net/result/224053795.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

suntzu
19-01-2008, 09:57 PM
how did the thread starter come up with the graph man.

From here,

http://www.ida.gov.sg/Publications/20061213184450.aspx

From this site, reference to the online picture or chart at

nangka1
19-01-2008, 11:30 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/224086363.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Toa Payoh now....f***

ravener
20-01-2008, 09:35 AM
well i post mine here...

using SNBB MIO plan with basic 3Mbps plan...

http://www.speedtest.net/result/224280395.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

nangka1
20-01-2008, 10:17 AM
this Sunday better....
http://www.speedtest.net/result/224288014.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Hope it last.

W(0.0)W
20-01-2008, 10:26 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/224289713.png

MOL premium Bishan.

Firestone
20-01-2008, 10:59 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/224295124.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

annai
20-01-2008, 11:13 AM
Better jump ship fast. Speedtest on Singapore Server has no bearing compared to the result posted by TS.

CarteBlanche
20-01-2008, 12:07 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/224306027.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

MOL Premium Yio Chu Kang

1920_me
20-01-2008, 02:08 PM
Bloodly hell, the surf speed is crawling now. Guess we have to wait till the new high-speed lines are constructed for there to be decent speed.

Toturisc
20-01-2008, 02:37 PM
mol 8k

http://www.speedtest.net/result/224328857.png

chesterqw
20-01-2008, 03:36 PM
why singtel so fast because everyone jump after xedo....

athenaesword
20-01-2008, 07:10 PM
Bloodly hell, the surf speed is crawling now. Guess we have to wait till the new high-speed lines are constructed for there to be decent speed.

is this materialising anytime soon? o.0

masayuki
20-01-2008, 07:29 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/224381373.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

athenaesword
20-01-2008, 08:03 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/224381373.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

sweeeeet upload

teokiatuan
21-01-2008, 12:48 AM
I been using Singnet for many years... i have never regreted it... Maxonline is more onto streaming videos la... Singnet leads on its upload bandwidth & online gaming...

got difference meh? gaming and videos and... end of the day, isn't it all just information, just used to show different things?

G4
21-01-2008, 12:55 AM

well... when they finish the high-speed lines... the will come to squeeze our pockets for $$$ liao. then u will have 2 choice, either pay poll for the highway or take the road with lots of traffic lights... (an analogy)

avinchandra
21-01-2008, 01:18 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/224478962.png
OMG... WTH .... i'm Max Online Ultimate user@ ECP ... s****T

solidghost
21-01-2008, 08:33 AM
yup, at times i really find starhub mol slow. this has been going on for a few months already. not sure whether it's the proxy that is causing all these problem or is starhub throttling the bandwidth during peak hours

ninkuboy
21-01-2008, 11:18 AM
Wow. you guys aren't kidding.

I just logged on to my comp after the weekend, which had decent speeds I guess, but today my MOL ultimate feels like there's been an submarine cable cut. it's that slow!

ninkuboy
21-01-2008, 11:19 AM
anyone know what happened in the last week that triggered this huge speed lapse?

jastan
21-01-2008, 12:26 PM
anyone know what happened in the last week that triggered this huge speed lapse?

Mi @punggol also encounter sudden lag spike while pak Wow during nite time (8pm - 12am)!...the latency could shoot up to 1kms suddenly...scarly...:s31:

opera5
21-01-2008, 12:36 PM
MOL Express..

http://www.speedtest.net/result/224659202.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

ninkuboy
21-01-2008, 01:05 PM
well, the one thing we can be "happy" about is that plenty of us are encountering this problem. so it's not isolated cases, i can't imagine it will last too long.

but if it does last more than a week, i'm letting go my non-contract ultimate and signing up for singnet which will be so much cheaper since my sister got staff discount.

carey
21-01-2008, 01:36 PM

I can voucher for that...sigh

Trying to watch Youtube (and adult equivalent =:p ) is a real test of patience :s27:

hello8985
21-01-2008, 02:06 PM
i sort of regret that recontract with them

ninkuboy
26-01-2008, 03:50 PM
Thanks to the participants in this thread. I awaiting my Singnet on 31st. Starhub lost an ultimate subscriber, damn heng never sign contract with them.

andrewys
26-01-2008, 06:38 PM
Speedtests results
Singapore to Penang server.
A: [Sing] Friend lives near me 3Mbps
Download: 2000++kbps
Upload: 300++kbps

B: [Star] Me 6Mbps
Download: 1000++kbps
Upload:200++kbps

commonjunk
26-01-2008, 08:03 PM
Grass looks greener on other side, i am 10Mb/s Singtel user and most of my work require to connect to my overseas servers. I can tell you that some times it is dam slow using vpn and TS can really show me drag but other times it is fast. Downloading file from my dedicated server in US can reach to 1.3~1.4Mb/s but some times only 100KB/s so be careful before jumping ship.

moronden
26-01-2008, 08:24 PM
The problem now with starhub is during peak hours it is slow due to the load, during off peak hours they are doing servicing to solve their internal networking problem. Either way we are screwed for now.

ninkuboy
26-01-2008, 08:43 PM
Grass looks greener on other side, i am 10Mb/s Singtel user and most of my work require to connect to my overseas servers. I can tell you that some times it is dam slow using vpn and TS can really show me drag but other times it is fast. Downloading file from my dedicated server in US can reach to 1.3~1.4Mb/s but some times only 100KB/s so be careful before jumping ship.

Using ftps to download? Cause that's the most important thing to me. If my overseas server need me to clean up video and huge image files, I need to assure them my isp allows me to get the files and do whatever job they need me to do because i have deadlines.

starhub has made me giving up quite a high paying assignment this week. the worst part about it is that starhub is not taking any responsibility at all so i have no reassurances that it will be ok anytime soon, no choice but had to bite the bullet and change isps.

xboxer
26-01-2008, 10:06 PM
The problem now with starhub is during peak hours it is slow due to the load, during off peak hours they are doing servicing to solve their internal networking problem. Either way we are screwed for now.

Wah lan eh.... Knn one man. Any idea when they solve their screwed up network problem?

SH forever got this type of nonsense. A 24 month contract I wonder if 12 months are problematic.

xboxer
26-01-2008, 10:14 PM
http://www.starhub.com/online/maxonline/images/p_monthlyplans.jpg

I see this only I want to laugh. What a joke man. Someone should sue them for false advertising. I hope they end up like another NKF.

commonjunk
26-01-2008, 11:32 PM
I think if i work in US is better than working from Singapore. I can have static IP in US only by paying about 60$ for home, here in SG i call singtel they say cannot assign static IP for home users. About the speed if i will singtel they will give me same pathetic reason that your overseas server is not giving you enough bandwidth to download at highspeed. Now i stop calling them as i know they will have no other answer.

wherehouse
27-01-2008, 12:49 AM
I think if i work in US is better than working from Singapore. I can have static IP in US only by paying about 60$ for home, here in SG i call singtel they say cannot assign static IP for home users. About the speed if i will singtel they will give me same pathetic reason that your overseas server is not giving you enough bandwidth to download at highspeed. Now i stop calling them as i know they will have no other answer.

apart from getting leased line from them...

liangtam
27-01-2008, 12:49 AM
Who say no habe static IP? SingTel Magix PremiumSurf is static IP.
Also, if u need a special plan, it can be catered, except you will not get it at cheap rate, or even if so, no freebies to speak.

nangka1
27-01-2008, 09:42 AM
we are all cheated by them.

birdfoot
27-01-2008, 10:25 AM
I'm staying near Bt Gombak area and using MOL Premium.

It's been laggy for me since beginning 2008 but the lag only became bad (to the point of being disruptive) this Monday (21 Jan 08). Surfing speeds were as usual but with annoying timeouts from time to time since beginning Jan. But for this entire week, I'm almost unable to play GW properly with an average of 1~5s ping times throughout the entire day with more consistent lag after 6/7pm; this is the same for a friend who plays WoW and is staying near me.

P.S. Just to add on, I haven't tried BT speeds and my lag isn't affected by BT.

ben_dan
27-01-2008, 12:20 PM
Hi, I am staying in the Bukit Batok area. Ever since a month ago. My Maxonline Premium has been giving me hell...

Playing GW and TSO are close to impossible!!! Ninja all the way!!!

A 5 mins Youtube video will take 30 mins to load, most of the time not loading at all.

And as of this morning, internet banking is down too. Check out the tracert to DBS and HSBC

Tracing route to www.hsbc.com.sg [203.112.93.8]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 8 ms 22 ms 10 ms cm1.kappa196.maxonline.com.sg [58.182.196.1]
2 8 ms 34 ms 9 ms 172.20.52.65
3 11 ms 8 ms 8 ms 172.26.52.5
4 26 ms 9 ms 11 ms 172.20.9.213
5 13 ms 14 ms 13 ms 203.116.6.37
6 16 ms 17 ms * 203.117.161.145
7 215 ms 217 ms 217 ms POS3-0-0.GW4.SJC7.ALTER.NET [157.130.211.153]
8 * 218 ms 218 ms 0.so-6-0-0.XL1.SJC7.ALTER.NET [152.63.48.242]
9 219 ms 217 ms 217 ms 0.so-6-0-0.XT1.SCL2.ALTER.NET [152.63.0.149]
10 219 ms 216 ms 216 ms 0.so-6-0-0.BR1.SCL2.ALTER.NET [152.63.57.49]
11 218 ms 220 ms 218 ms pos6-2.cr02.sjo01.pccwbtn.net [63.218.7.25]
12 220 ms * 219 ms pos6-1.br01.hkg04.pccwbtn.net [63.218.114.138]
13 * * * Request timed out.
14 * * * Request timed out.
15 * * * Request timed out.
16 * * * Request timed out.
17 * * * Request timed out.
18 * * * Request timed out.
19 * * * Request timed out.
20 * * * Request timed out.
21 * * * Request timed out.
22 * * * Request timed out.
23 * * * Request timed out.
24 * * * Request timed out.
25 * * * Request timed out.
26 * * * Request timed out.
27 * * * Request timed out.
28 * * * Request timed out.
29 * * * Request timed out.
30 * * * Request timed out.

Trace complete.

Tracing route to www.dbs.com [203.127.2.1]

1 11 ms 7 ms 10 ms cm1.kappa196.maxonline.com.sg [58.182.196.1]
2 9 ms 11 ms 9 ms 172.20.52.65
3 10 ms 8 ms 8 ms 172.26.52.1
4 11 ms 7 ms 8 ms 172.20.8.81
5 13 ms 13 ms 11 ms 203.117.189.131
6 10 ms 14 ms 12 ms 202.172.210.5
7 * * * Request timed out.
8 12 ms 13 ms 41 ms 202.172.213.2
9 187 ms 223 ms 229 ms FE-3-1-0.newton.singnet.com.sg [165.21.12.77]
10 * * * Request timed out.
11 * * * Request timed out.
12 * * * Request timed out.
16 * * * Request timed out.
17 * * * Request timed out.
18 * * * Request timed out.
19 * * * Request timed out.
20 * * * Request timed out.
21 * * * Request timed out.
22 * * * Request timed out.
23 * * * Request timed out.
24 * * * Request timed out.
25 * * * Request timed out.
26 * * * Request timed out.
27 * * * Request timed out.
28 * * * Request timed out.
29 * * * Request timed out.
30 * * * Request timed out.

Trace complete.

liangtam
27-01-2008, 12:33 PM
Lol, you self pwn urself.
You dunno that ICMP ping can be blocked by the site owners meh? Somemore a bank site.

ben_dan
27-01-2008, 12:39 PM
Lol, you self pwn urself.
You dunno that ICMP ping can be blocked by the site owners meh? Somemore a bank site.

Ohh my... shucks...
Then how should i report to Starhub that I can't access these banking sites :(

ninkuboy
27-01-2008, 12:54 PM

It's been laggy for me since beginning 2008 but the lag only became bad (to the point of being disruptive) this Monday (21 Jan 08). Surfing speeds were as usual but with annoying timeouts from time to time since beginning Jan. But for this entire week, I'm almost unable to play GW properly with an average of 1~5s ping times throughout the entire day with more consistent lag after 6/7pm; this is the same for a friend who plays WoW and is staying near me.

Same, mine also started on Monday. The ping rates went through the roof!

tomb
27-01-2008, 01:55 PM
wah piang now surfing speed improve but http download very slow.

Feador
27-01-2008, 01:57 PM
dont understand why they keep boasting about increasing broadband speed but yet we still get slow s*** speed...1.6k ping FTW!

nangka1
27-01-2008, 02:21 PM
the technician came to my house and checked. He said my modem can only download to 9 mbs. Bloody hell and thats normal. Normal my arse, My download speed is like dialup...very slow... boh pian....just wait to jump ship lor..

ninkuboy
27-01-2008, 02:34 PM
say already, starhub diverting all their traffic to surfing speed. so downloads and gaming are now being affected. that's why when you call them, no matter you paying Ultimate or not, they'll only ask how is your website surfing.

nangka1
27-01-2008, 03:26 PM
say already, starhub diverting all their traffic to surfing speed. so downloads and gaming are now being affected. that's why when you call them, no matter you paying Ultimate or not, they'll only ask how is your website surfing.
Hey bros, if Starsuck tell you that a technician come to your house to solve your problem. My advise is "DON"T WASTE TIME" they all talk cock. Never solve anything. Only make you angry.

xboxer
27-01-2008, 03:28 PM

That was what I was guessing.

My BT problem started on Fri. Just in time for them to divert all traffic to surfing for the weekend. No wonder my BT cannot work. It seems they have insufficient bandwith to cater for both downloading and surfing.

Bloody con job by SH.

tomb
27-01-2008, 03:33 PM

like that also can. so can we just pay the rates for surfing speed?

daniujie
27-01-2008, 04:01 PM
That was what I was guessing.

My BT problem started on Fri. Just in time for them to divert all traffic to surfing for the weekend. No wonder my BT cannot work. It seems they have insufficient bandwith to cater for both downloading and surfing.

Bloody con job by SH.

my problem started on thursday/friday also sad, gaming keep lag out :(

moronden
27-01-2008, 04:01 PM
As I said they are having problem with their network at the moment, thus diverting all resources to web surfing although I hate to say it that is the correct decision. It is better to have the bare minimum working rather than having the whole service in scramble. I mean there would be a greater uproar if even surfing is not working. That said I am not happy with the downtime. They are taking too long to retify the problem. At the very least come clean with the public, we consumers are not idiots and certainly not unreasonable. We want to know the reason and official statement on what is going on behind the scene, we paid good money for the services and we deserved to get inform before we push for replies, that's too late. And stop bombarding us we lies, excuses and standard template answers to cover the incompetency.

What are the contingency plans to mitigate these issues in the future, this is not the first time this had happen. In the IT industry you have to up the system and resume original service asap.

ninkuboy
27-01-2008, 04:06 PM
As I said they are having problem with their network at the moment, thus diverting all resources to web surfing although I hate to say it that is the correct decision. It is better to have the bare minimum working rather than having the whole service in scramble. I mean there would be a greater uproar if even surfing is not working. That said I am not happy with the downtime. They are taking too long to retify the problem. At the very least come clean with the public, we consumers are not idoits and certainly not unreasonable. We want to know the reason and official statement on what is going on behind the scene, we paid good money for the services and we deserved to get inform before we push for replies, that's too late. And stop bombarding us we lies, excuses and standard template answers to hide the incompetency.

That's exactly it. I wouldn't have been forced to subscribe to Singnet if I had reassurances that SH are working round the clock to fix whatever problem they have and that there is a date being targeted to solve the problem. Right now, I've given up a relatively well paying job because I can't download material from my employers, collectively spent hours on the phone with their tech guys telling me to reboot and traceroute and telling me they'll call me back but never do. This is close to, if not already, bordering on illegal trade practices. Transparency is out the window.

xboxer
27-01-2008, 04:08 PM
my problem started on thursday/friday also sad, gaming keep lag out :(

As I said they are having problem with their network at the moment, thus diverting all resources to web surfing although I hate to say it that is the correct decision. It is better to have the bare minimum working rather than having the whole service in scramble. I mean there would be a greater uproar if even surfing is not working. That said I am not happy with the downtime. They are taking too long to retify the problem. At the very least come clean with the public, we consumers are not idiots and certainly not unreasonable. We want to know the reason and official statement on what is going on behind the scene, we paid good money for the services and we deserved to get inform before we push for replies, that's too late. And stop bombarding us we lies, excuses and standard template answers to hide the incompetency.

What are the contingency plans to mitigate these issues in the future, this is not the first time this had happen. In the IT industry you have to up the system and resume original service asap.

HA! Guess I am not the only one who think that way. I called them up last evening and they told me ALL THEIR SERVERS are working FINE. Such arrogance! :mad:

If they had come clean and admitted that they had a problem and are working to rectify it I will never have said anything against them and given them time. After all machines break down.

Problem is "THEIR SERVER IS WORKING FINE". So if it is working fine and I get atrocious service, I guess it is my right to speak up against them.

ninkuboy
27-01-2008, 04:08 PM
As I said they are having problem with their network at the moment, thus diverting all resources to web surfing although I hate to say it that is the correct decision. It is better to have the bare minimum working rather than having the whole service in scramble. I mean there would be a greater uproar if even surfing is not working. That said I am not happy with the downtime. They are taking too long to retify the problem. At the very least come clean with the public, we consumers are not idiots and certainly not unreasonable. We want to know the reason and official statement on what is going on behind the scene, we paid good money for the services and we deserved to get inform before we push for replies, that's too late. And stop bombarding us we lies, excuses and standard template answers to cover the incompetency.

Anyway thanks for confirming our suspicions. Can you try to keep us updated on SH's "efforts" to restore their network? If indeed, it's gonna take months then I definitely made the right decision in switching ISPs.

Then again I pity those with contracts. If SH isn't going to come clean then it'd be impossible for these folks to get discounts, rebates or a way out of the contract.

ninkuboy
27-01-2008, 04:14 PM
What's the point of HWZ being owned by SPH if their reporters don't come here and see all these complaints? Obviously there's something wrong with SH.

There's a story here, you ignorant journalist pricks.

ninkuboy
27-01-2008, 04:16 PM
the technician came to my house and checked. He said my modem can only download to 9 mbs. Bloody hell and thats normal. Normal my arse, My download speed is like dialup...very slow... boh pian....just wait to jump ship lor..

dude, 9mbit? or 9megs/sec ? iirc you're on MOL Ultimate, how can the technician say with a straight face that 9mbit is normal?? You should have asked for his name and supervisor right there and then.

xboxer
27-01-2008, 04:20 PM
dude, 9mbit? or 9megs/sec ? iirc you're on MOL Ultimate, how can the technician say with a straight face that 9mbit is normal?? You should have asked for his name and supervisor right there and then.

If his modem is those old one like mine, there is a limit to how high it can go.

If I remember, 9mbps seems about right for an older modem.

But knn, what is the farking point. Now 0.9 mbps also don't know have or not loh. :s8:

moronden
27-01-2008, 04:31 PM

To tell you are truth I don't blame the technicians or poor call service guys. I believe they are told on what to do by the upper management to divert responsibilities as far as possible. Otherwise I don't see the reason why there is not even one good technician or customer service who could provide us with an answer instead of rehashing template answer which I believe most of us here have heard dozens of times and could possibly recite them.

I am seriously considering my options in 6 months time when my contract expire.

nangka1
27-01-2008, 05:13 PM
It is really wrong for Starsiht to deal with us from a point of "they are up there and we are down here". And the common people cannot dp anything to get justice. Singapore there is no one to go to for justice against these giants. Well. Have to accept fate and suffer in silence. Except release steam here.

moronden
27-01-2008, 05:25 PM
What to do, in Singapore there is no such thing as consumers bargaining power. The only thing we can do is put the wallet where our mouth is.

athenaesword
27-01-2008, 08:37 PM
damn webbies taking forever to load for me again right now =s

sepultura
27-01-2008, 09:39 PM
What to do, in Singapore there is no such thing as consumers bargaining power. The only thing we can do is put the wallet where our mouth is.
As long as we are in this state, we can only consider ourselves as trying to still achieve first world status. We're not really there yet. You can't really blame the country for that - capitalism works this way. Countries like Norway and Germany balance that by strong legislation empowering people.

moronden
27-01-2008, 09:56 PM
As long as we are in this state, we can only consider ourselves as trying to still achieve first world status. We're not really there yet. You can't really blame the country for that - capitalism works this way. Countries like Norway and Germany balance that by strong legislation empowering people.

There is only a period of time when the people have power. During elections.=:p

XGhost
27-01-2008, 11:38 PM
I'm using a friend's account to post this (with permission) message which I've posted in the vr-zone forums as well.

I'm not sure if speed tests are the right way to go about confronting Starhub.

I've personally gotten 200kbps down/200kbps up for the last 2 weeks (my usual would be 1600kbps down/280kbps up). Even at those horrendous speeds (for the Express plan that I'm on), I would expect sites to load up relatively quickly. Anyway, it got me wondering if traffic was being throttled or rerouted due to some network lines that needed fixing .

So I embarked on a barrage of traceroutes/pingtests to popular search engines and overseas gaming servers. My findings are that we're not 'lagging' per se to the servers overseas, but more of losing a ridiculous amount of packets to those servers. My tests show 5-10% packet loss on ping tests run over 200-300 times per IP. This is completely UNACCEPTABLE and pretty much has nothing to do with users and their home network setup. I was flabbergasted when Starhub replied my feedback mail 4 days late and on top of that expecting me to do their legwork for them.

What legwork?

With regard to your e-mail, we would appreciate it if you could
provide the following so that our engineers can investigate:

You may wish to note that the following conditions must be fulfilled
for an accurate test result:

1. Computer connected directly to cable modem (i.e. bypass the
router, if any).
2. No wireless connection.
3. Latest Java plug-in (Download the latest at
http://www.java.com/en/download/manual.jsp)
4. Use UTP (100BaseT) whenever possible.
5. No other Internet software running

If the speed test does not meet the minimum speed despite fulfilling
the above conditions, we would appreciate it if you could provide us
with the following information so that our engineers may investigate:

1. HFC MAC ID (found at the barcode sticker on the cable modem):
2. Cable modem light status :
3. When did the problem start and what time the problem would occur
most likely:
4. Operating system (OS version / Service Pack):
5. Can the problem be resolved when PC directly connected to cable
modem (bypass router):
6. Firewall, anti-virus, peer-to-peer software running in your PC.
(Please include vendor and version) :
7. Have you done any tweaking to the Registry:
8. Does the problem persist when using another PC:
9. Port number and IP address of the site/server that is having
latency :
10. Test account userID and password (if any) :
11. Server admin's contact number or email :
12. Java Version (Refer to Utilities.txt for a guide to verify the
Java version) :
13. Please connect your cable modem directly to the computer,
bypassing any router when performing the following tests. 3 x
Download speed, ping statistic, traceroute to the website you
experience slow access, pathping, IP configuration detail. (Refer to
Utilities.txt for the guide to obtain the information from our
website)
14. Date and time the results are performed:
15. How long does it take for you to load up the website that you
experience slow access with?

I'll like to reiterate that speed tests do nothing to show how bad the service we're getting is and that if you guys are keen to 'speed up' their investigations, do the above and forward it to helpdesk@starhub.com.

athenaesword
28-01-2008, 12:14 AM
There is only a period of time when the people have power. During elections.=:p

unfortunately starhub isn't a candidate.

dk2000
28-01-2008, 12:29 AM
my d/l is limited to 100kb/s( using mol premium now)

Garford
28-01-2008, 12:48 AM
Hi, I've reached the same conclusion as you; packet loss is quite high right now, affecting gaming/etc performance on starhub.

In my case, I've been experiencing issues since Saturday and have since setup a ping/tracert script to a sample size of 30 sites. I've collected about 200mb worth of logs so far and have forwarded them to Starhub. However they haven't gave me any decent replies regarding it yet.

The breakdown of the location of the 30 sites:

5 Japanese Sites
5 German Sites
5 UK Sites
5 Australian Sites
5 China Sites
5 USA Sites

100 pings were done to each site every 90mins. Nothing is running when the script is executed, not even Instant Messaging clients.

From my logs, from the evening 20th January 2008 till around early morning of 24th January 2008, both ping and packet loss to sites were high.

The only period where connection were fine on those days were from around 3am till around 6pm for me.

Min Ping/Max Ping/Average Ping/Packet Loss Breakdown during affected period (6pm to 3am)

Japanese Sites: 197ms / 2108ms / 387ms / 21%
German Sites: 523ms / 2900ms / 612ms / 23%
UK Sites: 397ms / 3104ms / 451ms / 26%
China: 797ms / 5109ms / 810ms / 61%
USA: 263ms / 1100ms / 401ms / 19%

From 24th till today, ping has gotten much better, but packet loss are still quite high

Japanese Sites: 173ms / 447ms / 205ms / 26%
German Sites: 210ms / 607ms / 291ms / 24%
UK Sites: 198ms / 413ms / 300ms / 17%
China: 143ms / 501ms / 172ms / 16%
USA: 262ms / 765ms / 279ms / 19%

Sorry if this post is a bit hard to read. >.>

High packet loss isn't really visible during surfing but it heavily affects things that requires constant connection, i.e.: SSH/Remote Desktops/Gaming

ninkuboy
28-01-2008, 03:27 AM
Something so strange happened just now. My downloads from my office ftp shot up to 1 meg/sec (which is supposed to be normal) from the now usual 15KB/sec and continued. I stopped it for awhile just to check the latency of my connection and when I resumed it, it was gone. Definitely SH is messing around with the traffic.

kinakono
28-01-2008, 09:28 AM
http://i272.photobucket.com/albums/jj177/kinakono/badsingtel.jpg

think singtel also affected...
during that time packet lost is like 90% to all sites.

terraj
28-01-2008, 09:33 AM
It's not strange; if you try alternative P2P (not just bittorrent) you'll see that they usually don't work at night but suddenly work perfectly fine during the day. Previously I only had this problem with one program I was using (problem started around 1.5 years ago) where nothing would connect or if they do the connections kept getting dropped; now it's extended to another (since end of December).

SH is definitely throttling certain types of applications. If I try to use these applications via VPN during the period in which SH craps up the connections become stable all of a sudden. Of course I've tried to call SH before but they gave me the usual bull**** (not reallyt eh fault of the CSO I guess who was really polite since they don't have the power to do much). I'm just waiting for the contract to be up and switching to maybe PacNet cable. If we could all participate in a class action suit add me in.

Something so strange happened just now. My downloads from my office ftp shot up to 1 meg/sec (which is supposed to be normal) from the now usual 15KB/sec and continued. I stopped it for awhile just to check the latency of my connection and when I resumed it, it was gone. Definitely SH is messing around with the traffic.

ninkuboy
28-01-2008, 10:40 AM
Well, it's improved now but still about 50% less than normal capacity. So whatever they did early morning must have help eased traffic back into other facets of usage.

XGhost
28-01-2008, 11:14 AM
Hi, I've reached the same conclusion as you; packet loss is quite high right now, affecting gaming/etc performance on starhub.

In my case, I've been experiencing issues since Saturday and have since setup a ping/tracert script to a sample size of 30 sites. I've collected about 200mb worth of logs so far and have forwarded them to Starhub. However they haven't gave me any decent replies regarding it yet.

Your test results are scarier than mine, the bottomline is though, as long as the destination site does not have strict traffic control in place, an ISP should be providing less than 1% packet loss. Even 5% is not acceptable and ignorant on the part of the ISP.

What I'd like to see is Starhub's official ISP representatives to come on here and offer us some insight/solution/rebates instead of being silent and oh-so-efficient in bill processing month after month.

Z_Dash
28-01-2008, 11:22 AM
What's the point of HWZ being owned by SPH if their reporters don't come here and see all these complaints? Obviously there's something wrong with SH.

There's a story here, you ignorant journalist pricks.

SPH will only pick news that's not damaging to economy. Starhub is controlled by whomever you should know.

kinakono
28-01-2008, 12:09 PM
What I'd like to see is Starhub's official ISP representatives to come on here and offer us some insight/solution/rebates instead of being silent and oh-so-efficient in bill processing month after month.

well, wait long long, i doubt any representatives fr any compy would come in 2 any forums n explain any issues regarding their services. they will only make public n put on thier website regarding big issues that affect their business.

dk2000
28-01-2008, 01:57 PM
It's not strange; if you try alternative P2P (not just bittorrent) you'll see that they usually don't work at night but suddenly work perfectly fine during the day. Previously I only had this problem with one program I was using (problem started around 1.5 years ago) where nothing would connect or if they do the connections kept getting dropped; now it's extended to another (since end of December).

SH is definitely throttling certain types of applications. If I try to use these applications via VPN during the period in which SH craps up the connections become stable all of a sudden. Of course I've tried to call SH before but they gave me the usual bull**** (not reallyt eh fault of the CSO I guess who was really polite since they don't have the power to do much). I'm just waiting for the contract to be up and switching to maybe PacNet cable. If we could all participate in a class action suit add me in.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/227396236.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

terraj
28-01-2008, 04:59 PM
dk2000: I don't see what'ts your point? You're testing from a local server using a direct connection. I'm also able to get that type of speed. I'm talking about P2P with direct connection and P2P via VPN. In any case the level of service given by starhub is unacceptable, in Sydney where I was for half of last year, that kind of shoddy support would have sent consumers flying for something better. And no, P2P there was perfect and rarely was I ever subject to stop-animation while watching from YouTube. (Of course, the disadvantage of Australian ISPs are the lame download quotas.)

1_Fang
31-01-2008, 10:06 AM
Having problem on your Maxonline, join us here

Mass Action - SHBB prob? = Hold payment! (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?p=27943624#post27943624)

carey
31-01-2008, 02:25 PM

I am at Bt Gombak too and also using MOL Premium (Lag)...

Stupid thing has been buggy since 19 Dec - I remember it clearly cos that was when I started my leave and the Internet died for 1/2 hour or more that day...

Called them and they confirmed that there was an issue at my area...

Even though service was "restored", the surfing speed and WoW gaming really CMI...sigh

lerkaile
02-02-2008, 11:51 AM
I swear i'll cut my MOL line come August...
I already started the Starhub exodus by discarding my Starhub mobile line and hence leaving their HubClub along the way.

JasonX
03-02-2008, 01:22 AM
Toa Payoh user here badly affected for 2 weeks already. I'm going to drop MoL and switch to Singnet as long as there are no reported issues of Singnet ppl having problem from Toa Payoh . My contract is already over.

dk2000
03-02-2008, 02:01 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/229667799.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

http://www.speedtest.net/result/229668381.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

cscs3
03-02-2008, 07:55 AM
I'm using a friend's account to post this (with permission) message which I've posted in the vr-zone forums as well.

I'm not sure if speed tests are the right way to go about confronting Starhub.

I've personally gotten 200kbps down/200kbps up for the last 2 weeks (my usual would be 1600kbps down/280kbps up). Even at those horrendous speeds (for the Express plan that I'm on), I would expect sites to load up relatively quickly. Anyway, it got me wondering if traffic was being throttled or rerouted due to some network lines that needed fixing .

So I embarked on a barrage of traceroutes/pingtests to popular search engines and overseas gaming servers. My findings are that we're not 'lagging' per se to the servers overseas, but more of losing a ridiculous amount of packets to those servers. My tests show 5-10% packet loss on ping tests run over 200-300 times per IP. This is completely UNACCEPTABLE and pretty much has nothing to do with users and their home network setup. I was flabbergasted when Starhub replied my feedback mail 4 days late and on top of that expecting me to do their legwork for them.

What legwork?

I'll like to reiterate that speed tests do nothing to show how bad the service we're getting is and that if you guys are keen to 'speed up' their investigations, do the above and forward it to helpdesk@starhub.com.

Another problem is the coverage. At some area, you can only get at best GPRS speed. In many other area. You get no signal at all !

Asakura
03-02-2008, 10:54 AM
hi guys, well starhub came over, they fixed smth abt my tx signal, now its alright...

nangka1
03-02-2008, 06:57 PM
they scared i jumps ship

http://www.speedtest.net/result/229908607.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

back to normal.
hope it last

sachiel
04-02-2008, 01:49 AM
i already jumped.... :P

been with starhub for 4 yrs plus, with 1 yr plus w/o contract and paying full rate. They didnt offer me anything and with constant lag during peak hours, I moved on..

hope my decision isn't wrong...

nangka1
04-02-2008, 08:33 AM
I still under contract leh. But it better already lately. At least can work. The stupid technician is an idiot. Cannot believe them. I just don't like to be fed bull****.
Back in business again.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/230152723.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Hope it last.

carey
04-02-2008, 11:01 AM
Just experienced a period of extreme lag on Sat morning - 10plus and I called SH's tech line...

As usual, once they hear I have a router, they push the fault to my router...

But more interestingly, I asked that guy if my call was registered as a complaint, he said no even I insisted that I was making a complaint...

According to him, it is just a feedback and until they can send a technican down to verify it is actually SH's fault (as if we don't already know), they will NOT lodge it as a complaint...

Hence this may go a long way in explaining why their official complaint count is so low!!

nangka1
04-02-2008, 02:38 PM
Just experienced a period of extreme lag on Sat morning - 10plus and I called SH's tech line...

As usual, once they hear I have a router, they push the fault to my router...

But more interestingly, I asked that guy if my call was registered as a complaint, he said no even I insisted that I was making a complaint...

According to him, it is just a feedback and until they can send a technican down to verify it is actually SH's fault (as if we don't already know), they will NOT lodge it as a complaint...

Hence this may go a long way in explaining why their official complaint count is so low!!
I think that the criteria for getting the technician job is a black belt in tai chi & must be able to talk cock with a superior level of sianing.....they all really are bull**** people...don't waste your time to get them to go down.
They will feed you with all their crap.

carey
05-02-2008, 11:57 AM
I think that the criteria for getting the technician job is a black belt in tai chi & must be able to talk cock with a superior level of sianing.....they all really are bull**** people...don't waste your time to get them to go down.
They will feed you with all their crap.

Yup, technical expertise is not a necessity...hahah

You know why? Because they don't have much work to do...before you get one to come down, the CSO will WARN you of the hefty charges you would incur if the fault is not due to SH...

Just like playing poker, a lot of people will not dare to call their bluff and back out...

In the end, SH users lan lan - StuckHub, SuckHub, take your pick :s27:

kinakono
05-02-2008, 02:15 PM
Yup, technical expertise is not a necessity...hahah

You know why? Because they don't have much work to do...before you get one to come down, the CSO will WARN you of the hefty charges you would incur if the fault is not due to SH...

Just like playing poker, a lot of people will not dare to call their bluff and back out...

In the end, SH users lan lan - StuckHub, SuckHub, take your pick :s27:

no i believe SH's hd is like HP's... if u call HP b4 u'll know, they all read fr the book 1, they make u until bo pian n back out or u kao pei until u able to talk 2 their supervisor then u get some service.

dk2000
06-02-2008, 08:31 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/230969744.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

wtf

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 4.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\jason>tracert www.youtube.com

Tracing route to www.youtube.com [208.65.153.251]

1 9 ms 9 ms 15 ms cm1.kappa196.maxonline.com.sg [58.182.196.1]
2 9 ms 7 ms 9 ms 172.20.52.65
3 7 ms 9 ms 8 ms 172.26.52.5
4 10 ms 8 ms 12 ms 172.20.8.137
5 7 ms 11 ms 9 ms atm0-0-0-13-r10.cyberway.com.sg [203.117.5.33]
6 41 ms 41 ms 42 ms 203.118.3.229
7 207 ms 222 ms 209 ms p16-0-2-0.r21.tokyjp01.jp.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.25
0.12.241]
8 213 ms 215 ms 221 ms ae-2.r20.tokyjp01.jp.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.3.2
09]
9 201 ms 202 ms 200 ms as-1.r20.snjsca04.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.2.3
4]
10 198 ms 195 ms 218 ms ae-0.r21.snjsca04.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.2.9
7]
11 197 ms 201 ms 207 ms te7-3.mpd01.sjc03.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.10.
49]
12 199 ms 197 ms 198 ms you-tube-llc.demarc.cogentco.com [38.101.188.146
]
16 1112 ms * 1084 ms 208.65.153.251

Trace complete.

C:\Documents and Settings\jason>

carey
06-02-2008, 11:05 AM
no i believe SH's hd is like HP's... if u call HP b4 u'll know, they all read fr the book 1, they make u until bo pian n back out or u kao pei until u able to talk 2 their supervisor then u get some service.

Whatever it is, it is bad customer service...

Then again, some of them are put in the firing line by their management...

They are also lan lan - they know that something is wrong but to protect their ricebowl, cannot say :s22:

AaronZzZ
06-02-2008, 11:24 AM
Damn unstable last night. DC every few minutes and back and dc and back and dc. My 56k days werent this bad. :s22:

JasonX
06-02-2008, 11:59 AM

All kinds of customer service got some kind of SOP to follow one. Usually for technical support, they need to check with customers all kinds of possibility to ensure that its not customers' side having problems. The more customer factors you have (router, online gaming lag...etc), the more things they need to take out of the picture before they will check their side.

Even if they know 99% its their side having issues, they will also make you check all possibilities to ensure that its not that 1% on your side. Usually, for customer support that is as inflexible as this, its a test of willpower to see whether the customers gives up 1st, or they give up and start working.

For my case, I gave up after calling them for 1 week straight. Switched from starfug to stinknet and now waiting for activation.

tandws
26-04-2008, 12:39 AM
got difference meh? gaming and videos and... end of the day, isn't it all just information, just used to show different things?

You can go to www.cbs.org and test any of the recorded Survivor Micronesia videos for youself. Starhub apparently imposes a quota on the video packet traffic such that it's near impossible to play the flash video. What's originally meant to be a 10 mins video will be buffered and interrupted many times and could take almost 1.5 hrs to view. This is to allow other Internet protocols such as email traffic to go through.

The point is that Starhub is not being honest in their advertisement, extolling the virtues of the fat green pipe being sufficient for everyone. I'm not fingering out gaming as it's a fact that if you do not want any lagging in speed of your online games, the choice is Singnet. However many of us wants to watch video on the Internet, and Starhub did not advise or inform us of this bandwidth packet filtering; they should inform us so that we customers can make an informed decision. The advertisement of the fat green pipe being shared by everyone with sufficient bandwidth is dishonesty. In truth the sharing of the fat green pipe, imposes a video packet quota that affect all users who wants to view video while sufficient usage of bandwidth threshold is reached

Now don't get too happy if you are not affected; it merely means for now there's less people in your area sharing the so-called "fat" green pipe. But in future?

tandws
07-08-2008, 08:31 PM
You can go to www.cbs.org and test any of the recorded Survivor Micronesia videos for youself. Starhub apparently imposes a quota on the video packet traffic such that it's near impossible to play the flash video. What's originally meant to be a 10 mins video will be buffered and interrupted many times and could take almost 1.5 hrs to view. This is to allow other Internet protocols such as email traffic to go through.

The point is that Starhub is not being honest in their advertisement, extolling the virtues of the fat green pipe being sufficient for everyone. I'm not fingering out gaming as it's a fact that if you do not want any lagging in speed of your online games, the choice is Singnet. However many of us wants to watch video on the Internet, and Starhub did not advise or inform us of this bandwidth packet filtering; they should inform us so that we customers can make an informed decision. The advertisement of the fat green pipe being shared by everyone with sufficient bandwidth is dishonesty. In truth the sharing of the fat green pipe, imposes a video packet quota that affect all users who wants to view video while sufficient usage of bandwidth threshold is reached

Now don't get too happy if you are not affected; it merely means for now there's less people in your area sharing the so-called "fat" green pipe. But in future?
Epilogue:
======
I switch from Green to RED and never had any more problems! You need to do some detective work or technical investigation. Make sure your configurations are okay before you point the finger at the Red Umbrella aka Singtel. Everybody points at the ISP except look and see whether it's your own issue.

1) Ensure that your phone line quality is okay. Check using the installed wire router web page, the ADSL SNR is withins acceptable limits(signal to noise attenuation), your distance to the nearest Telephone Exchange network(Mine is Telok Blangah which is near Telok blangah Crescent, thus less than 2 kms).

2) I mistakenly fitted a ADSL filter to my main analogue telephone line and Singtel repairman was professional and he told me so as I had a negative echo(which can be viewed from the 2wire router or Thompson Speedtouch modem). This was slowing me down initially.

3) My 2wire router is on 24 by 7 hrs, and the speed test from Speed testing websites shows consistently fast download speed of 3.3Mbit/sec. I'm only subscribing to 3MBit/sec plan from Sitex show.

4) My youtube video and survivor downloads are superbly fast and smooth.

ac3knight
07-08-2008, 10:40 PM
http://blog.wired.com/27bstroke6/2008/08/dns-flaw-much-w.html

CombatKrieg
09-01-2009, 12:11 PM
I'm definitely gonna jump ship... Every night dc, mid-afternoon also can dc... Afterwhich there's no default gateway etc.

kenloonglow
09-01-2009, 03:06 PM
Can ask IDA to investigate ?

phuque99
09-01-2009, 03:16 PM
Can ask IDA to investigate ?

Can use this one:
http://www.ida.gov.sg/General/Feedback.aspx

Obviouz
10-01-2009, 01:01 AM
no use one.

Success