PDA

View Full Version : Viewing Distance Discussion Thread

Adventia
13-02-2008, 05:55 PM
MOD Edit:

Buying the right size TV according to how far you sit allows you to enjoy HD and Full HD at its best. This website gives good tips and calculates the distance for you:

Maxing Out Resolution

Optimize Your Seating Distance for Your Screen Size and Resolution.

by David Ranada
February/March 2006

Getting the best picture resolution remains one of the chief goals of HDTV shoppers. But as I explained in last month's "Tech Talk," human visual acuity limits how much detail you can see in any image, live or onscreen. This month I'm laying it all on the line - or rather, the several trace lines in the accompanying graphs, which relate diagonal screen size for 16:9 widescreen TVs (in inches across the bottom) to seating distance (in feet on the vertical axis). The two graphs are the same except that the one with curved lines uses a logarithmic scale for the vertical axis (I'll explain the advantages of that below).
The traces indicate for various image formats what combinations of screen size and viewing distance will "saturate" your eyes with detail to the point where any more detail in the image would not be visible. They were calculated using only the horizontal pixel count of each format and assuming progressive display of still images. You won't get quite as much detail with real-world video programs and screens.
http://www.soundandvisionmag.com/assets/image/2006/Q1/152006182933.jpg (http://www.soundandvisionmag.com/assets/download/0602_tech_talk2_large.jpg) Click image for larger view If your combination of screen size and seating distance places you below any particular image-format trace, you're sitting too close. That is, a TV of that format and size can't provide all the detail your eye is capable of seeing at that distance, and the picture will look "softer" the closer you get. For example, watching a 60-inch TV at 11 feet puts you below the trace for 720p HDTV, so a high-def program on a 720p HDTV - or a 720p program viewed on a 1080i or 1080p HDTV - might look a little soft.
If your screen-size/distance point puts you above a particular trace, your eyes will be saturated with detail before you reach the resolution limit of an image in that format. Watching a 60-inch screen from 11 feet puts you well above the 1080i/p HDTV trace, meaning that a 1080i program can produce more detail than you can actually make out at that distance. You could even move closer, to around 8 feet, before your ability to see details in the image will max out. That is close to the recommendation of the Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers (SMPTE) that the width of a screen should span at least 30° of your field of view (anything below the orange trace).
As might be expected, Lucasfilm THX's recommendation for the comparable angle for watching movies in theaters (light purple trace) is much more demanding, namely 36°. Neither a 1080i/p HDTV nor even a 2k Digital Cinema projection is capable of providing full visible resolution for a picture of that width. For a 36° image you'll need to leap to 4k Digital Cinema encoding. Such 4k pictures allow you to sit less than a screen width away, which is what often happens when you arrive late to the theater.
http://www.soundandvisionmag.com/assets/image/2006/Q1/152006182917.jpg (http://www.soundandvisionmag.com/assets/download/0602_tech_talk1_large.jpg) Click image for larger view This graph can be used to help set up your system or to shop for a TV. How you use it depends on what you are able to vary in your viewing room - the space allotted for a screen or the distance from the screen to the main viewing area. If you want to go for a full theaterlike presentation, select among 1080i/p screens and sit at just the right distance for your screen size as indicated on the green trace. Only a 1080 set will produce the minimum SMPTE picture width of 30° without running out of resolution.
If your room layout restricts either your viewing distance or the screen size, you actually have more choices. Say you're limited to a seating distance of around 10 feet and a screen width of 50 inches. In this case buying a 1080i/p set won't get you better resolution than a 50-inch 720p set (the 10-foot/50-inch point lies above the 1080i/p trace). You might be able to save some money by choosing a 720p model. Then again, all screen sizes seem to be switching over to 1080i/p pixel counts, and eventually 720p sets may be hard to find.
When comparing screen size/distance tradeoffs, it's easy to go overboard with the straight-line version of the graph, which can be misleading as to the improvements/degradations in resolution you'll get. Transformation of the vertical axis to logarithmic scaling, as in the curved-line version of the graph, will help prevent this. The logarithmic version contains the same information as the "linear" version, but scaled so that the vertical intervals are more perceptually meaningful. Equal vertical movement on the logarithmic version corresponds to equal changes in perceived or possible resolution. For example, descending along the same vertical line from the DVD trace (orange) to the HDV camcorder line (magenta) corresponds to a doubling of horizontal pixel count (from 720 to 1,440) and is the same distance as between the 2k (dark purple) and 4k (dark blue) Digital Cinema traces, which also involves a doubling of pixel count (from 2,048 to 4,096). From the logarithmic version, you can see that slight changes in viewing distance from the 1080i/p line correspond to larger changes in viewing distance from a 720p screen of the same size. The lower-rez screens are more forgiving of seating-distance variations.
Hmm,i am wondering whats the viewing distance and angle you guys set for your LCD TVs.As in viewing distance that does not cause eyestrain but rather comfortable to the eyes.This distance is subjective to personal opinions.So no definite right or wrong.I just want the opinions from you guys.

Note:I am NOT asking about optimum viewing distance for quality visual and audio experiences.I am aware of the sites that does the calculations for that.

For a start,MYPaper reported that experts from HK said that the best distance to reduce eyestrain is like 5X the width of the TV.Personally,thats like .........too far.....

So please shoot your comments...thanks...:s12:

lwm999
14-02-2008, 12:38 AM
That 5x distance guideline is for SD. You can sit closer for HD.

Bernie7
14-02-2008, 08:46 AM
When watching HDTV, you can sit as near as 2.5X screen size apart.

Adventia
14-02-2008, 07:09 PM
That 5x distance guideline is for SD. You can sit closer for HD.

Objection!!!

Not SD,strictly HDTV,......That distance is comprising quality.......

kalpbo
28-02-2008, 10:20 PM
is it better to get 37" or 32"?

will be using it as a tv monitor + ps3 + watching tv(currently sd but planning to go hd)

petetherock
28-02-2008, 10:30 PM
3.5m?
Thata pretty far. For HDTV, 50-60" and to appreciate full HD, even bigger.
Best to sit closer or get a bigger screen than 32". Size matters.

Cheers

kalpbo
28-02-2008, 10:36 PM
3.5m?
Thata pretty far. For HDTV, 50-60" and to appreciate full HD, even bigger.
Best to sit closer or get a bigger screen than 32". Size matters.

Cheers

wa but in bedroom rarely get very very big screen one right? 2.5 x screen size apart so for 32" is 80 inch(~2m) away?

petetherock
28-02-2008, 10:41 PM
Some basic guidelines:

http://myhometheater.homestead.com/viewingdistancecalculator.html

http://reviews.cnet.com/4520-7608_7-1016109-2.html

After a couple of days that 32" is going to look rather small....

kalpbo
28-02-2008, 10:50 PM
Some basic guidelines:

http://reviews.cnet.com/4520-7608_7-1016109-2.html

After a couple of days that 32" is going to look rather small....

no choice.... budget only around 1k :(

petetherock
28-02-2008, 11:10 PM
Buy within your budget and sit closer, no worries and why ask about 37"? Not possible at current prices.

Just buy what you can and enjoy.

kalpbo
28-02-2008, 11:16 PM
Buy within your budget and sit closer, no worries and why ask about 37"? Not possible at current prices.

Just buy what you can and enjoy.

was thinking if 37" more suitable for bedroom use then i increase my budget...

CI
28-02-2008, 11:30 PM
This helps?

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v255/yufan/Miscell/soundandvisionmag-small.jpg

lwm999
29-02-2008, 10:13 AM
no choice.... budget only around 1k :(

You got to be clear about your budget and requirement before asking for help.

If the bedroom TV is only watched occasionally, then just get an average one will do. It will be easier at least to state your intended viewing distance, which should be quite fixed.

petetherock
01-03-2008, 01:14 AM
If you can get a 37" thats nice, few people complain of a bigger screen, but the viewing distance is imperative.

Having reviewed extensively HD and Full HD panels for months on end, your viewing diet is also important. You can do a search here on my review on the 40" M81 Samsung. I found it inferior to a 768p Pioneer plasma for SD viewing and unless you sit close and use Full HD source such as Blu Ray or Hd DVD, at 3.5m the difference between a full HD and a HD ready is not significant. Best to try and See for yourself if it is discernable, otherwise you may be wasting money.

If Hi Def sources form the staple of your video consumption, then it is worth the expense with Full HD, as the picture is a sight to behold at Optimum viewing distances. The detail is marvelous and if you are sitting at the suggested distances, not only will be obvious but it will make for comfortable viewing. It won't cause your eyes to bleed at all. Otherwise when seated too far away, it is mainly marketing hype.

Bernie7
01-03-2008, 01:16 AM
One thing to note about the chart folks is it is talking about the LIMIT of visibility.

So, for a HD-ready 50" screen playing 1080i video, you must sit 10 ft or CLOSER to benefit from the HD quality. More than 10 ft you might as well be watching SD on the screen or using an SD screen.

iMbEst
04-03-2008, 01:31 PM
guidelines are there for you to "kick start". However, we're human, not machine, if you dun like it, dun force yourself to follow the so-called "standards" lor....just get the right combi that suits you :D

jokerpoker81
22-03-2008, 08:05 PM
http://www.squidoo.com/Full_HD_Ready_HDTV

"As a general guideline, if you are getting a HDTV set which is less than 42 inch, you won't be able to notice the resolution difference between a HD Ready set vs a Full HD set. Thus, you will be able to get almost the same visual enjoyment at a lower budget if you buy a HD Ready HDTV (720p) instead."

is the above statement accurate ??? then a HD ready set is more worth it isnt it ??? rather than spending on Full HD ???

petetherock
22-03-2008, 08:21 PM
Bro
Have you read through this thread at all?
See the post on viewing distance and then after Reading it, you will understand why
If you sit very far away, the benefit of Full HD is negated. READ the posts....

http://www.squidoo.com/Full_HD_Ready_HDTV

"As a general guideline, if you are getting a HDTV set which is less than 42 inch, you won't be able to notice the resolution difference between a HD Ready set vs a Full HD set. Thus, you will be able to get almost the same visual enjoyment at a lower budget if you buy a HD Ready HDTV (720p) instead."

is the above statement accurate ??? then a HD ready set is more worth it isnt it ??? rather than spending on Full HD ???

jokerpoker81
26-03-2008, 02:00 PM
Bro
Have you read through this thread at all?
See the post on viewing distance and then after Reading it, you will understand why
If you sit very far away, the benefit of Full HD is negated. READ the posts....

hi bro, dunno wat toking u....but nvm, thx la anyway.

lwm999
26-03-2008, 09:22 PM
You should get the Full HD model.
No point for 42".

hdtvsg
26-03-2008, 10:26 PM
No point for 42".

Yes, anything below 50" is waste of money buying a full HD.

petetherock
27-03-2008, 08:31 AM
Viewing distance is an essntial part of the buying process. Sit too far away and you will be wasting money on a full HD panel. Thats as simple as I can put it. And I already posted that in this forum. If thats too hard to find its here:
http://myhometheater.homestead.com/viewingdistancemetric.html
If thats still hard to find, then I have nothing more to add.

cscs3
27-03-2008, 08:32 AM
Yes, anything below 50" is waste of money buying a full HD.

Completely wrong concept. This type of reply is only from those who aleady bought HD Ready TV. Or sales person in those retail shop trying to sell all the HD Ready stock.

If price is the same, around the same or lower. Always pick a Full HD TV. This is the way it go. You will find the dot pitch is much smaller and almost not noticeable at same view distance. Also it covers about 20%+ more area even you are viewing non HD program.

In the next few months. You are going to see Full HD model even for 32".

petetherock
27-03-2008, 08:39 AM
Unless you have proof otherwise cscs3, do not decieve others here about full HD panels being always better.

Readers should know that sitting too far away from a panel negates the benefits of a full HD panel. That is a fact.

iMbEst
27-03-2008, 08:53 AM

how many months in exact? 3 months 6 months or 12 months? want to bet 1? It won't be out for the next 6 months for sure, and I seriously doubt it will be available in SG....

actually the panel itself could not be the most important factor. Most of the time, it's the source that you feed in. If you have a full HD source compared to a SD source or 720p source, you maybe able to see much more details even for HD-models. To be more practical, most people can't be bothered about this thing. We dun torture our eyes just to see more details, squeeze more juice out from our TV, it's not like playing with overclocking on your PC or something like that. Watching TV supposed to be a joy......

try that out with some apple quicktime movie trailers with different resolutions............

skthk21
27-03-2008, 10:25 AM

Last time people use 14" crt in their room.
i think 32 is abt just nice, maybe even 26 can.
Some people use 32 for their living room even.

iMbEst
27-03-2008, 02:21 PM
Last time people use 14" crt in their room.
i think 32 is abt just nice, maybe even 26 can.
Some people use 32 for their living room even.

again, size is very subjective to individual taste :D

jokerpoker81
27-03-2008, 09:37 PM
Viewing distance is an essntial part of the buying process. Sit too far away and you will be wasting money on a full HD panel. Thats as simple as I can put it. And I already posted that in this forum. If thats too hard to find its here:
http://myhometheater.homestead.com/viewingdistancemetric.html
If thats still hard to find, then I have nothing more to add.

OK bro, so means u agree or dun agree to the statement below, from the site i gave? coz normal hdb flat....viewing dist at most 3-5m? nia.....

"As a general guideline, if you are getting a HDTV set which is less than 42 inch, you won't be able to notice the resolution difference between a HD Ready set vs a Full HD set. ".

poring24
29-03-2008, 01:45 PM
Lol i do...

adslboi
02-04-2008, 02:03 PM
in my room i have viewing distance of no more than 3 feet, is a 32" LCD tv too huge ??? hahaa :eek:

wat is the recommended size for my case? :s12:

acme
02-04-2008, 02:17 PM
anyone know wads the best viewing distance for 26" since im using it as desktop monitor

petetherock
02-04-2008, 02:29 PM
See the viewing distance chart above in this thread.
Cheers
anyone know wads the best viewing distance for 26" since im using it as desktop monitor

acme
02-04-2008, 02:32 PM
haha i dont know my lcd tv fall under which cat

acme
02-04-2008, 02:45 PM
See the viewing distance chart above in this thread.
Cheers

how do i find out which cat my LCD tv falls in?

war3craft2003
02-04-2008, 03:51 PM
Viewing distance for LCD TV...

http://asia.cnet.com/digitalliving/tips/0,3800004921,39213503,00.htm

acme
02-04-2008, 04:03 PM
16:9 TV diagonal screen size Minimum distance (m) Maximum distance (m)
26 inches 1 2
30 inches 1.1 2.3
34 inches 1.3 2.6
42 inches 1.6 3.2
50 inches 1.95 3.8
65 inches 2.5 5
71 inches 2.8 5.4

*no idea how to create spacing -.-

xypher
26-05-2008, 09:49 PM
Hi guys,

I still using CRT tv now, and have been trying to catch up with the lcd/plasma tv happenings..
Is there a rule of thumb or formula to determine the ideal size for my living room?

From my sofa to the wall where the tv will be mounted, the distance is 8-9 feet. My dad says 32 inch looks alright but i think 37/42 will be a more ideal size..

Also, do glossy screens pose lots of glare problem?

Thank you for reading..

Kristy_Tan
27-05-2008, 10:17 AM
Completely wrong concept. This type of reply is only from those who aleady bought HD Ready TV. Or sales person in those retail shop trying to sell all the HD Ready stock.

If price is the same, around the same or lower. Always pick a Full HD TV. This is the way it go. You will find the dot pitch is much smaller and almost not noticeable at same view distance. Also it covers about 20%+ more area even you are viewing non HD program.

for gaming on ps3 and watching blu-ray movie, i agree full-hd is important

but for watching media corp or cable tv, hd-ready is sufficient

correct me if i wrong.

congster2
27-05-2008, 10:43 AM
since full HD tvs are cheap these days, just get full HD lah. samsung 5 series are really a great bargain.

endokid
28-05-2008, 05:34 PM
i'm doing 3m for 40" LCD.. good for DVD but too big for free-to-air (too pixelated)

endokid
28-05-2008, 05:35 PM
Hi guys,

I still using CRT tv now, and have been trying to catch up with the lcd/plasma tv happenings..
Is there a rule of thumb or formula to determine the ideal size for my living room?

From my sofa to the wall where the tv will be mounted, the distance is 8-9 feet. My dad says 32 inch looks alright but i think 37/42 will be a more ideal size..

Thank you for reading..

i used to have 32" for 3m (9ft) viewing distance. too small for my liking.

petetherock
28-05-2008, 05:38 PM
I use a 50" 768p plasma for DVD and Hi Def viewing at 2.3m

Hi guys,

Thank you for reading..

Soul77
29-05-2008, 01:16 PM
I used 37" full hd LCD watching 1080p content from 1.5m distance :)

Kristy_Tan
03-06-2008, 09:27 AM
i dont fully agree with their views. must buy 46 inch then can see the difference... :eek:

petetherock
03-06-2008, 10:49 AM
You all now realised that....

This is a good sign, all my efforts to spread the message are getting some results...

Write in to them and tell them!

crewcutboy
03-06-2008, 12:37 PM
I'm thinking of getting the Pioneer 428, but feeling a little hesitant because at a resolution of 1024x768, it's not even considered a HD-ready display. I know that there's more to a good picture than just pixels, and the Pioneer Kuro range is known for deep blacks and vibrant colours. But surely the number of pixels has to count for something, especially when the Pioneer plasmas cost so much more?

americanbabuseng
03-06-2008, 01:09 PM
You all now realised that....

This is a good sign, all my efforts to spread the message are getting some results...

Write in to them and tell them!

hi pete, not sure what your views ar. as in, you agree with DL that only about 46inch and above that can tell difference, or you agree with Kristy Tan (who disagree with DL's view above)?

I read through some of your links in the "stickies" section, got quite good (but very technical and cheem) write ups on HD ready v Full HD - those views tend to agree with the DL view - that generally, only at very big size, then can see difference.

Some more, if the SOURCE is not full HD, then full HD also no sure right, no matter how big?

petetherock
03-06-2008, 01:35 PM
See the thread on viewing distance for more info.

Simple points to note:

1 - there is more than simple specs

2 - number of pixels doesn't tell you everything

3 - the correct viewing distance is important, be it 40" or 46"

4 - I spent quite a bit more than the rest when I paid for my Pioneer 507 but it has been worth it, Full HD or HD ready, the most important is to SEE with your Own Eyes.

Obviously if you can afford it, the Full HD Pioneer is even better. But a Full HD LCD is not defintely better than a 768p Pioneer. Your EYES will be the judge.

I had both, and all the visitors to my home, choose the Pioneer.

** I don't work for Pioneer **

Read up on the Pioneer thread for more info

Cute_Hippo
03-06-2008, 01:53 PM
why bother about whether is 10 or 8 scar ? :D

Quest
03-06-2008, 11:15 PM
which is a better choice? Pioneer 428 or panny PV80?

Eightfold
03-06-2008, 11:40 PM
40'' , viewing distance 4-5feet. Can or not?

Kristy_Tan
03-06-2008, 11:42 PM
40'' , viewing distance 4-5feet. Can or not?

make it 8 to 9 feet :D

wedgehammer
04-06-2008, 12:30 AM
make it 8 to 9 feet :D

according to this site: http://myhometheater.homestead.com/viewingdistancecalculator.html, maximum viewing distance for viewing 1920x1080 on a 40" is 5.2ft (Viewing Distances Based on Visual Acuity)

petetherock
04-06-2008, 05:30 AM
Please post any further discussions on viewing distance here:

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1866569

Cheers

Eightfold
04-06-2008, 09:38 PM
Second that. Viewing distance is actually 6ft.

Currently 32'' HD-ready LCD, wanna upgrade to 40'' Full-HD..

any comments.. i shud get 32'' or 40''.. scare 40'' i play game all this kena giddy spells; too near big screen.

whongtk
06-06-2008, 06:41 AM
Second that. Viewing distance is actually 6ft.

Currently 32'' HD-ready LCD, wanna upgrade to 40'' Full-HD..

any comments.. i shud get 32'' or 40''.. scare 40'' i play game all this kena giddy spells; too near big screen.

I have also upgraded to FHD 42" LCD in the living room - the old 32" in the bedroom now. Viewing distance of the FHD - 1.8m (to sofa) - 2.5m (to dining table)

I am using SH HD set top on the 42" - SD prog do look pixelated (level of pixelation depends on the source) - the HD prog is beautiful :yawn: - inching to get a blu-ray player :)

petetherock
10-06-2008, 03:34 PM
I think it is a timely reminder for members to read this thread as the PC show approaches.

Full HD is far bigger a hype than it should be. Check the size of your room and how far awa do you sit. If you are seated beyond the correct distance, you are simply wasting your $$.

For example, the average size TV in our forum is 32" to 40". Sitting across a HDB room of about 3m across will make a full HD panel as the same resolution as a HD ready set.

xypher
10-06-2008, 11:13 PM
Hi all,

the general opinion is that for 42', one is better of buying the HDready model rather than the Full HD model.

For a 3 meter distance, does 42' HD-ready suffice? Cos anything bigger than 42', the prices are so expensive..

lwm999
11-06-2008, 10:36 AM
Hi all,

the general opinion is that for 42', one is better of buying the HDready model rather than the Full HD model.

For a 3 meter distance, does 42' HD-ready suffice? Cos anything bigger than 42', the prices are so expensive..
3 metre distance is too far for 42" to enjoy HD. Get a 50" if possible. Panasonic should have some decently priced 50" plasma. Or you may find a hugely discounted Pioneer 507.

petetherock
11-06-2008, 05:35 PM
http://www.straitstimes.com/STI/STIMEDIA/common/theStraitsTimes2.gif
Print Article

[/URL]June 11, 2008

Judging HDTV: Viewing distance crucial

I REFER to the article, 'Finally, the truth about high-definition' (June 3).
The article claims that when one buys a new television under 46 inches, one cannot discern the difference between full high definition (HD) and HD-ready resolutions. While I laud the writers' efforts to dispel a lot of marketing hype on new full-HD TVs, especially in smaller sizes, they miss a crucial point: viewing distance.
As a rule of thumb for optimum TV viewing distance, the nearest seating position should be limited to about twice the screen width (more precisely, 1.54 times the screen width), and the furthest distance should be no more than five times the screen width. Furthermore, the eyes should be level with the middle of the screen when one is seated in a normal viewing position.
In addition, the content shown, whether standard definition such as from free-to-air channels or HD from a Blu Ray disc, also matters.
The new buyer of any technology is strongly advised to do a little homework, perhaps visit local forums online such as www.xtremeplace.com (http://www.straitstimes.com/ST%2BForum/Story/STIStory_246538.html), or [url]www.hardwarezone.com.sg for forums discussing buying a new TV. In this way, the buyer can sieve out marketing hype perpetuated by retailers and get the right TV at a good price to meet his needs. Ever since the Government proclaimed a rollout of HD in Singapore, dissemination of information by the authorities has been slow and piecemeal, if it exists at all. For the transition to full HD not to stall and die a premature death, the dissemination of information to the man in the street is so important. This should be followed by more comprehensive programming that is readily available free to air for everyone to enjoy. We exalt ourselves as a tech-savvy nation, and we should demonstrate this in an everyday matter such as TV.

vade
29-07-2008, 09:47 AM
hi all,

need some advise. i'm planning to get a tv for my new house. viewing distance is about 3.2m or 10.5 feet. i only intend to get a hd-ready set as i'm mostly watching sd content.

my question is, do i get a 42in or go for 50in? most calculators i've tried say 42in should be enough, but i'm worried that, as pete will say, "that 42in tv will start to look smaller and smaller after a few days" haha. on the other hand, i'm wary of getting too big a tv that will affect viewing pleasure.

any advice will be much appreciated :)

petetherock
29-07-2008, 09:59 AM
I sit 2.3m from my Pioneer 50 " and I find it small

hi all,

need some advise. i'm planning to get a tv for my new house. viewing distance is about 3.2m or 10.5 feet. i only intend to get a hd-ready set as i'm mostly watching sd content.

my question is, do i get a 42in or go for 50in? most calculators i've tried say 42in should be enough, but i'm worried that, as pete will say, "that 42in tv will start to look smaller and smaller after a few days" haha. on the other hand, i'm wary of getting too big a tv that will affect viewing pleasure.

lwm999
30-07-2008, 10:39 AM
hi all,

Which distance calculator did you use? Is the calculator meant for SD? For HD content, you need at least 50" at 3.2m.

Bernie7
02-08-2008, 09:53 AM
Which distance calculator did you use? Is the calculator meant for SD? For HD content, you need at least 50" at 3.2m.

It's worse than that....according to the chart on the first page of this thread, you'll need a monster 76" screen to see the glory of 1080i HD at 3.2m.

cscs3
02-08-2008, 11:59 AM
This kind of topics has been discussed many times. It is not the problem of just the viewing distance and you can or cannot see the different. Full HD model is getting cheaper, and along with it, more feature compared to those withour Full HD.

So if you can affort another 2 to 3 hundred more. Go for Full HD. Never never believe in theory of you cannot find the different etc. The reason is very clear, all dealer is trying to clear their non Full HD model in preparing for the Full HD days. They will give you all knind of reason why Full HD is not the way to go till HD ready model is going out of the market.

Just use the similar thinking of the monitor you use for your PC. Why in the old days 640 resolution, then 1024 and now getting higher and higher? Now a day, a TV is not just for TV use anymore!

petetherock
02-08-2008, 12:41 PM
This poster wants forummers to buy Full HD models regardless of viewing distance, others reading this should think very hard about this opinion.

This kind of topics has been discussed many times. It is not the problem of just the viewing distance and you can or cannot see the different. Full HD model is getting cheaper, and along with it, more feature compared to those withour Full HD.

So if you can affort another 2 to 3 hundred more. Go for Full HD. Never never believe in theory of you cannot find the different etc. The reason is very clear, all dealer is trying to clear their non Full HD model in preparing for the Full HD days. They will give you all knind of reason why Full HD is not the way to go till HD ready model is going out of the market.

Just use the similar thinking of the monitor you use for your PC. Why in the old days 640 resolution, then 1024 and now getting higher and higher? Now a day, a TV is not just for TV use anymore!

tas888
03-08-2008, 06:14 PM
This poster wants forummers to buy Full HD models regardless of viewing distance, others reading this should think very hard about this opinion.i think what he said is sound pretty ok to me.

petetherock
03-08-2008, 07:26 PM
So long as you are privvy to the facts, its your money

Cheers

i think what he said is sound pretty ok to me.

Forsteri
23-08-2008, 04:35 PM
OK bro, so means u agree or dun agree to the statement below, from the site i gave? coz normal hdb flat....viewing dist at most 3-5m? nia.....

"As a general guideline, if you are getting a HDTV set which is less than 42 inch, you won't be able to notice the resolution difference between a HD Ready set vs a Full HD set. ".

Based on I read, the view distance for 42" TV to be between 10 - 12ft and therefore, within this range for normal HDB flat, HD Ready is already good. Furthermore, if we only view it on Standard free TV program. In this case, HD Ready set is good already instead of wasting money on full HD. Do anyone agree? :yawn:

They're many shop having good offer for cheap HD Ready set. Good time to buy?

thhbppt
29-08-2008, 01:49 PM
Hi guys, it is true tat for FULL HD Plasma tv you can only see the diff if you are buying 52" and above? For 50" there are no diff btw FULL HD and HD Ready. In terms of graphics that they project.:s11:

Planning to buy a PY800 50". If not diff btw FULL HD and HD Ready for 50" might go for the PV80H.

Need some help guys. Thanks! :s13:

_LoNeLySouL_
29-08-2008, 03:58 PM
Hi guys, it is true tat for FULL HD Plasma tv you can only see the diff if you are buying 52" and above? For 50" there are no diff btw FULL HD and HD Ready. In terms of graphics that they project.

Planning to buy a PY800 50". If not diff btw FULL HD and HD Ready for 50" might go for the PV80H.

Need some help guys. Thanks!

i believe this qn not only applies to plasma...also applies to lcd...
it really depends on the distance from the tv that u are viewing from. it's just like taking one of those eye tests with numbers and letters..how much u can read also not only depends on ur eyesight, but also distance...

petetherock
06-09-2008, 03:44 PM
Someone recently mentioned that that 42" "shrunk" after a few weeks...

Yes, welcome to the shrinking phenomenon... :)

Small TVs in small bedrooms to suit our budgets are fine and one thing, but to use a small 40" in a large living room would be a mistake where the budget allows.

A 50" is a medium sized panel and even that will begin to get smaller the moment you get it. So size up the space, the viewing distance properly first.

Then sit back and enjoy!

Forsteri
06-09-2008, 06:10 PM
I read somewhere that the ideal viewing distance is 3 times of the size of TV screen.
For example:
42" TV x 3 = 126" (10.5ft)
50" TV x 3 = 150" (12.5 ft)

iMbEst
06-09-2008, 06:28 PM
there is no such thing as "ideal". at most it's just a reference point.

your eyes and my eyes are so different. We are human, not machines lor.....

ragnarok95
06-09-2008, 10:10 PM
Agree with imbest.

petetherock
02-10-2008, 09:31 PM
This thread needs to be brought forward again and those considering full HD or HD ready, be it plasma or LCD should take note of this and the sticky above.

petetherock
07-10-2008, 09:42 AM
There has been a trend recently of new buyers looking for 32" full HD panels.

bear in mind that you need to sit almost within arm's reach of the panel to enjoy the benefit of full HD, otherwise you are wasting money.

Do your homework before you are seduced by all the marketing speak!

americanbabuseng
07-10-2008, 01:41 PM
Sometimes, I wonder why manufacturers make full hd 32inch models.

ragnarok95
07-10-2008, 01:44 PM
Sometimes, I wonder why manufacturers make full hd 32inch models.

So that when you hook it up to your PC, it look better than a HD ready LCD TV. :)

boonkeng
07-10-2008, 04:30 PM

how many months in exact? 3 months 6 months or 12 months? want to bet 1? It won't be out for the next 6 months for sure, and I seriously doubt it will be available in SG....

actually the panel itself could not be the most important factor. Most of the time, it's the source that you feed in. If you have a full HD source compared to a SD source or 720p source, you maybe able to see much more details even for HD-models. To be more practical, most people can't be bothered about this thing. We dun torture our eyes just to see more details, squeeze more juice out from our TV, it's not like playing with overclocking on your PC or something like that. Watching TV supposed to be a joy......

try that out with some apple quicktime movie trailers with different resolutions............

Well isn't 32inch full hd out in less then 6 months.

boboys
14-10-2008, 11:43 AM
I would love to get a plasma, but my living room a bit small, a bit less than 3 metres viewing distance, too near for a 42 inch plasma right?

So maybe get 37 inch lcd, just hope SD don't turn out too bad. Or maybe get a new house...haha

alanchia67
14-10-2008, 11:55 AM
if you get full hd plasma, 3m is too far for 42"

TsQ
14-10-2008, 12:08 PM
at 3m , 42" ok .. just nice actually.. u can google "viewing distance" and see those calculators.. most say 42" needs 10.50 Feet.. which is slightly more then 3Meter

boboys
14-10-2008, 12:26 PM
So 42" should be quite ok for SD viewing at 3m? Hmmm...maybe should start looking for that Kuro or PV...instead of Samsung series.

aaragore
14-10-2008, 03:11 PM
hmm my room's sofa to my tv is ard 6 feet...n im thinking of getting a 46" full hd lcd..is the distance alrite?

TsQ
14-10-2008, 04:40 PM
go a google search.. lots of guide on that ..

STREAM2
15-10-2008, 12:25 AM
Hi All,
I curious and hope someone can help:

If a 42" can display 1920 X 1080 lines and a 50" or 65" having the same, wouldn't the pixels be smaller on the 42" ?

Cheers!

alanchia67
15-10-2008, 12:41 AM
yes you are right - the pixel will be smaller on 42" since the panel resolution (1920x1080) is constant. as such, the dpi will be different amongst the panels.

alanchia67
15-10-2008, 12:49 AM
at 3m , 42" ok .. just nice actually.. u can google "viewing distance" and see those calculators.. most say 42" needs 10.50 Feet.. which is slightly more then 3Meter

couldnt be. at 42", hd resolution is resolvable at max distance of about 5 feet. are you reading the correct chart?

http://s3.carltonbale.com/resolution_chart.html

perhaps you meant 480p? my response was full hd.

TsQ
15-10-2008, 01:55 AM
couldnt be. at 42", hd resolution is resolvable at max distance of about 5 feet. are you reading the correct chart?

http://s3.carltonbale.com/resolution_chart.html

perhaps you meant 480p? my response was full hd.

not too sure.. i think mine calculate do no consider HD or not.. just normal viewing distance according to screen size.

petetherock
15-10-2008, 05:54 AM
This is why we sit further for a larger screen.
Cheers
Hi All,
I curious and hope someone can help:

If a 42" can display 1920 X 1080 lines and a 50" or 65" having the same, wouldn't the pixels be smaller on the 42" ?

Cheers!

alanchia67
15-10-2008, 11:45 AM
not too sure.. i think mine calculate do no consider HD or not.. just normal viewing distance according to screen size.

this method is no longer valid. you need to consider the screen resolution.

Recce5
16-10-2008, 01:07 PM
hmm my room's sofa to my tv is ard 6 feet...n im thinking of getting a 46" full hd lcd..is the distance alrite?

I'm sitting less than 2 meters away from my 46" HD-Ready Bravia (distance measured from eye to screen panel).

aaragore
16-10-2008, 01:33 PM
I'm sitting less than 2 meters away from my 46" HD-Ready Bravia (distance measured from eye to screen panel).
oh n how is it? coz rite now im using a samung 32"...n it seems smaller by the day..haha

josephsbs
16-10-2008, 03:38 PM
i choose my screen size based on my viewing distance, not the other way round =:p

distance & pixelation (picture "quality"):
significance of screen resolution and viewing distance is on "pixelation". suppose you have two 42" same brand/model HD ready screens (1366x768), 1st at 5' and 2nd at 10' away. the nearer 5' screen will look more pixelated (lines becomes jagged, see less details, fine graphics become blurish, etc.) than the 10' away screen whose pixels are visually smaller even though actual pixel sizes are the same for both screens.

distance & viewing comfort (eye strain & headache?):
another important issue to consider is viewing comfort. supposed you replace the 5' away screen with full HD screen (1920x1080), picture quality will obviously improve. the issue now lies with comfort. when closer to the screem, our eyes have to cover a relatively wider angle and will become tired faster (may develop headache over time). this is because our eyes work under "pin-point" focus mode and they have to scan/hop around the screen to get a clear full picture. imagine watching a movie sitting at 1st row in a cinema, very tiring on the eyes. move further away and you will find more comfort for the eyes.

just my 2cts opinion

TsQ
16-10-2008, 04:00 PM
i choose my screen size based on my viewing distance, not the other way round =:p

distance & pixelation (picture "quality"):
significance of screen resolution and viewing distance is on "pixelation". suppose you have two 42" same brand/model HD ready screens (1366x768), 1st at 5' and 2nd at 10' away. the nearer 5' screen will look more pixelated (lines becomes jagged, see less details, fine graphics become blurish, etc.) than the 10' away screen whose pixels are visually smaller even though actual pixel sizes are the same for both screens.

distance & viewing comfort (eye strain & headache?):
another important issue to consider is viewing comfort. supposed you replace the 5' away screen with full HD screen (1920x1080), picture quality will obviously improve. the issue now lies with comfort. when closer to the screem, our eyes have to cover a relatively wider angle and will become tired faster (may develop headache over time). this is because our eyes work under "pin-point" focus mode and they have to scan/hop around the screen to get a clear full picture. imagine watching a movie sitting at 1st row in a cinema, very tiring on the eyes. move further away and you will find more comfort for the eyes.

just my 2cts opinion

good advice.. as many ppl look at ur 1st poing and forget 2nd point... ie the classic one that we use to consider in days of CRT tv and projectors

alanchia67
16-10-2008, 08:36 PM
that's the reason behind thx's recommended distance for particular screen size ignoring resolution.

Recce5
17-10-2008, 09:01 AM
oh n how is it? coz rite now im using a samung 32"...n it seems smaller by the day..haha

LOL! When I first got this TV 2 years back my sofa was more than 2.5 meters away. Now it's less than 2 meters so the question is, why?

Because as time goes by my TV seem to shrink in size and I had to keep shifting my sofa towards the TV every month! Hahaha....

ragnarok95
17-10-2008, 09:03 AM
Mean telling u i need an upgrade!!!! :D

alanchia67
17-10-2008, 09:48 AM
for full understanding of distance vs resolution vs display size, i'll suggest everyone read this first

aaragore
17-10-2008, 10:22 AM
LOL! When I first got this TV 2 years back my sofa was more than 2.5 meters away. Now it's less than 2 meters so the question is, why?

Because as time goes by my TV seem to shrink in size and I had to keep shifting my sofa towards the TV every month! Hahaha....
exactly!~ haha but im abt the max i can shift my sofa...which means no other choice but to get a bigger tv :s22:

X3no
18-11-2008, 11:34 AM
great guess im not alone!

46" TV and my sofa is just shy of 2m away :D

petetherock
30-12-2008, 10:17 AM
A good post on why a widescreen TV can be smaller:

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=34638884&postcount=552

http://kerrywebster.com/images/Widscreen-Standardscreen-comparison.gif

iMbEst
31-12-2008, 01:55 PM
but well....you can't get a 50" CRT though.....

GaaraOfTheSand
01-01-2009, 02:25 PM
Need advice from you guys before I buy our new tv. Our viewing distance away from the tv screen is only about 2m. Is a 46" Samsung Series 9 LCD TV (1920*1080 resolution, 2million:1 contrast) too big for viewing comfort? Anyone using this model at about the same viewing distance too?

petetherock
01-01-2009, 02:39 PM
Can you try and give more info???

SD TV or HD TV?

FYI I sit about 2.1m from a 50" Pioneer HD ready screen, and IMO it is ok or actually growing smaller by the day....

Need advice from you guys before I buy our new tv. Our viewing distance away from the tv screen is only about 2m. Is a 46" Samsung Series 9 LCD TV (1920*1080 resolution, 2million:1 contrast) too big for viewing comfort? Anyone using this model at about the same viewing distance too?

GaaraOfTheSand
01-01-2009, 04:44 PM
Can you try and give more info???

SD TV or HD TV?

FYI I sit about 2.1m from a 50" Pioneer HD ready screen, and IMO it is ok or actually growing smaller by the day....

The model I'm considering is Full HD. Model LA46A950D1M. Here's the link:
Samsung Series 9 LED 46" LCD TV (http://www.samsung.com/sg/consumer/detail/detail.do?group=television&type=television&subtype=lcdtv&model_cd=LA46A950D1MXXS)

Yours is 50" and 2.1m away... do you have problem taking in the whole screen length at one glance? comfortable?

Drexter
31-03-2009, 09:41 AM
Just got a 42" full HD LCD from LG.

Purpose to play PS3, watch Blu-Ray from PS3 and watch video files from my computer.

I'm sitting about 2meters away from the LCD. It looks great from 1-3meters. Unfortunately for TV channels(non-HD), it's pixelated from 1-3 meters.

sHrike
01-04-2009, 03:58 PM
basically I feel viewing distance is subjective...especially after I get my 42" LCD TV.

I feel that a minimum distance of 2 metres from the TV for viewing comfort. Any closer will make me awkward. First of all, what kinda of experience are u looking for... a movie theater experience, then my frens...a 46" at 2m oso not enough. maybe u need 100"...:s13:

However, I not only use it to watch my movies but also news and daily programs. 42" at 2m is more than enough. I feel it is big enough and for SD programs not so pixelated. The bigger screen u get the more pixelated it will be.

Another issue is the brightness, is also up to individuals. I find it too bright if I switch to dynamic mode...yes the colour is nice but I feel it is too straining for the eyes if you are at 2m away from the TV lor.

Ideally I will say the viewing be around at least 2-3m and a reasonable size will be 42" onwards.

More importantly....don't sit too near to the TV. It's bad for the eyes.

warr
04-05-2009, 04:48 PM

46 is too big for 2m. ur eyes will get tired.

for 2 meters, 37 is probably the best. anything bigger than that will hurt the eyes.
plus, u spend less on a smaller screen.

petetherock
06-05-2009, 10:57 PM
Is your advice based on some scientific principle?
If you see the chart, 2m can easily accomodate a 46" screen.

I sit 2.3m from my full HD 50" Pioneer, no issues.

In my living room, I use my HDready 50" Pioneer for SDTV, at 3m, also very comfortable.

46 is too big for 2m. ur eyes will get tired.

for 2 meters, 37 is probably the best. anything bigger than that will hurt the eyes.
plus, u spend less on a smaller screen.

archtomato
19-05-2009, 07:42 PM
Personally at 3.7m, I find 42" too small. 50" will be ok.

For watching free to air, which is mainly SD, plasma looks better than LCD.

I stay in a 3 room flat and wanna get a Plasma for my living room. But i am not sure if would be an overkill in terms of size. I read somewhere that the viewing distance for a 40inch should be about atleast 5 meters.

Anyone staying in a 3 room owning a big tv?

petetherock
19-05-2009, 08:53 PM
Mod - moved to the viewing distance thread.

Where in the world did you read that a 40" should be viewed from 5m?

Even for SD TV, for that distance, a 65" screen would not look too large.

I stay in a 3 room flat and wanna get a Plasma for my living room. But i am not sure if would be an overkill in terms of size. I read somewhere that the viewing distance for a 40inch should be about atleast 5 meters.

Anyone staying in a 3 room owning a big tv?

aaragore
17-06-2009, 02:05 PM
omg 5m for a 40" is terrible, wouldnt be able to pick up all the fine details high definition has to offer.

ixoral
18-06-2009, 11:10 AM
my tv is 40" and i sit abt 2.5m away. To me, it's just nice, any thing smaller wld be too small. For my distance, prob can take in 42". 46" wld be abit too much i feel.

blacvios
26-06-2009, 11:18 AM
Hi guys need some advise, viewing distance around 2.5-3m. Looking at plasma either 42" full hd or 50" hd ready. Need some feedback from current users on pros and cons for both at this display. I am leaning towards the HD ready 50". Thanks in advance.

TsQ
26-06-2009, 11:25 AM
isnt there a lot of website that recommend viewing distance? (not meaning hv to follow but as a guide)

http://www.thx.com/home/setup/display.html

for me, if u are on a 42" or 50" i dont think its gonna be much issue (unless ur room is damn small)...

those have this problem are with projectors since the price does not go up too much when they screen size go bigger.. so they hv to decide what size of screen they need to buy.. and it can easily goes too big for the viewing distance..

blacvios
26-06-2009, 12:16 PM
I have read most this thread and would like personal reviews from current users at the distance with the above mentioned sizes. To me i see a difference between the 2 sizes, to me 50" is the way to go. Just need to come to terms with nearly 2X price with the 8" diagonal size difference.

cscs3
05-07-2009, 04:08 PM
omg 5m for a 40" is terrible, wouldnt be able to pick up all the fine details high definition has to offer.

This is very subjective. Assuming the day of CRT TV. Most people are only using 29" !
If you consider 2 meter for a 40" LCD TV. I assume only a few people can enjoy the TV program as within the 2 meter and 178 degree viewing angle. You can only sit a few persons. When you connect your home TS. You are so close to the speaker and you cannot really enjoy the suround sound !

Another factor is also if you are using LCD or Plasma. If you use a HD plasma (ie none 1080 resoultion). Even an oldman like me can see each of the square pixes on the plasma. Really you cannot enjoy the show at all.

fatesealer
13-07-2009, 06:39 PM
Well i have bought an LG 50" HD ready set and at 720p, watching a transformer 1080p blue ray movie on my PS3 is still very sharp at 3.5m away from the screen. No obvious square pixels or complains of the pictures appearing soft, but is the noise normal in that movie in dark scenes? But i think for a htpc, its best to go 1080p right?

katoboy
15-07-2009, 11:58 AM
I watch my SD channels with my LG 50inch Plasma at 2.5m is is great and view on HD programme is even greater :s12:

warr
15-07-2009, 12:17 PM
yes. never felt the need for 1080p on my 50inch at 3 meters.

but oddly, people with 37 or 42 inch TVs, they need a 1080p, otherwise, they can see pixels. ;)
They must have gotten the bee's eyes!

cannotliao
15-07-2009, 10:35 PM
is a 40'' LCD too big for 2meters distance?
or should i play safe and go for a 37''?

muah123
27-07-2009, 11:51 PM
I am watching my 40" Sony full HD TV from a distance of about 1.6 meters, looks just nice

usmugh
23-10-2009, 06:40 PM
Wow...I find my 42" at 2.5m too big already. Even though it is good to watch but bad for my eyes.

Al-Jay
23-10-2009, 08:46 PM
Wow...I find my 42" at 2.5m too big already. Even though it is good to watch but bad for my eyes.
I tried 200" using a xga DLP projector watching GI Joe at 2.5m, it is awesome. But 42" HD ready plasma watching GI Joe at 2.5m, abit uncomfortable. Still researching why the different in experience though.

petetherock
03-11-2009, 07:49 AM
How big is your room? If you have limited space in the room you're planning to place your new TV, a giant screen might not be the best for both your viewing pleasure and your eyes.
Large TVs in tiny rooms will dominate decor and instantly shrink the size of the entire space to a Lilliputian scale. The tricky part is, when viewing them in a spacious showroom like that of an electronics store or an IT fair, they don't look too big.
http://digital.asiaone.com/Digital/Features/Story/A1Story20091102-177409/2.html

To make sure you don't end up with a too large (or too small) TV, make sure you take measurements of the area that you intend to place the TV, and the distance from where you intended to view it from.

Ideally, viewing distances should be something along the lines of this rough guide:

Screen SizeRecommended Viewing Distance
26 inches 3.5' to 10.5'
32 inches 4' to 13'
37 inches 4.5' to 15'
40 inches 5' to 16.5'
42 inches 5.5' to 17.5'
46 inches 6.0' to 19'
52 inches6. 5' to 21.5'

strawberrypicker
07-12-2009, 06:04 PM
hi guys, the distance of sofa to tv is about 4.7m...is 50 inch plasma tv ok for that? will i get motion sickness?

Al-Jay
07-12-2009, 06:17 PM
hi guys, the distance of sofa to tv is about 4.7m...is 50 inch plasma tv ok for that? will i get motion sickness?
4.7m, u probably need 90" to get motion sickness.

Al-Jay
07-12-2009, 06:21 PM
2metres only??!!

then better get 32" maximum

else u gonna get motion sickness
The 42" diagonal dimension is 103cm. So 1.5x or 2x of this dimension is okay. Else u might find it too small at > 2m and find the pixelized picture at < 1.5m.

chunxi
07-12-2009, 07:15 PM
according to sony website
http://www.sony.com.sg/product/resources/en_SG/pdf/LCD/lcdguidebook.pdf

http://i47.tinypic.com/mv6jr7.jpg

2m can go 52"

Al-Jay
08-12-2009, 05:35 PM
according to sony website
http://www.sony.com.sg/product/resources/en_SG/pdf/LCD/lcdguidebook.pdf

http://i47.tinypic.com/mv6jr7.jpg

2m can go 52"
Pretty good guide fr Sony to buy a bigger size TV.

pker88
08-12-2009, 11:17 PM
hi guys i am interested to get a samsung led tv
32inch

i use a measureing tape
its say 5 ft

from the distance to my sofa or bed

how to convert it to those guide above?

i did a online converted

it say 5 feet = 1.524 meter

i am looking at replaceing my crt tv in my own bedroom
so looking at 32inch preferable
as 40 and above looks kinda too big and too energy consumptions which i think so

ajax_84
09-12-2009, 03:36 AM
32inch

i use a measureing tape
its say 5 ft

i did a online converted

as 40 and above looks kinda too big and too energy consumptions which i think so

Don't worry, it's just a guide, feel free to +/- abit here and there. a 32" at 1.5m is definitely good =)

Al-Jay
09-12-2009, 08:19 AM
32inch

i use a measureing tape
its say 5 ft

i did a online converted

Distance is fr yr ideal tv location to yr viewer's eyes. U can take 1.5m/1.5=100cm or 1.5m/2=75cm. So yr ideal tv diagonal size is 75 to 100cm. So probably a 32" to 42" should be okay.

Sony actually recommend a 40" to 46" to replace a 29" CRT and 1.5m is 40". Sony probaly factor in the fact that one save about 60cm of space removing a CRT.

Since u getting LED TV, maybe 32" is good for yr bedroom.

pker88
09-12-2009, 09:04 PM
Distance is fr yr ideal tv location to yr viewer's eyes. U can take 1.5m/1.5=100cm or 1.5m/2=75cm. So yr ideal tv diagonal size is 75 to 100cm. So probably a 32" to 42" should be okay.

Sony actually recommend a 40" to 46" to replace a 29" CRT and 1.5m is 40". Sony probaly factor in the fact that one save about 60cm of space removing a CRT.

Since u getting LED TV, maybe 32" is good for yr bedroom.

yup i plan for a 32inch
as i find 40 is kinda too big and too energy wastage

nomoney25
20-12-2009, 10:07 PM
My viewing distance for my sony 40 inch lcd tv is about 2.5 m, i don't think it is very near and while watching bluray movies, the screen still look small for me especially those movie that filmed in 1:2.40 format, i will say if u sit more than 2m away from screen, get a 50 inch and above

derrickgoh
06-02-2010, 03:03 PM
In my bedroom, my TV is about 2 to 2.5m away from me. Am currently using a 32" Sony LCD. Couldn't afford anything bigger when I bought it.

Since prices have dropped, when my LCD conks out I'm definitely looking at a bigger screen. Can't be too big of course as my TV table is located between my room door and my cupboard. If too big, either room door can't open all the way or cupboard door can't open all the way. :s13: I'm guessing the max I can have is 46" if I want to be able to open either door without knocking the TV over.

Based on my 2 to 2.5m distance (that's about 6 to 8 feet), Cnet buying guide says 42" is ideal. However, based on the Myhometheater calculator, its says for 42" screen, distance of 15 feet (abt 4.6m) is max. Doesn't talk about minimum distance.

My 32" is okay but can always be bigger I suppose. There's no way I have space or budget for a 50" or larger so no concern to me whether those big screens suit me. Only question now is whether I should get 40/42" for my future TV or just stick to 32"?

If I get 32" I can definitely afford the Samsung LED. If its 40 or 42" LED is definitely too ex so its LCD only.