View Full Version : Sony Ericsson XPERIA X1 Thread
Pages :
[
1]
Nuttie
18-02-2008, 03:41 PM
Its so cool!!
but dun tink will be out in sg soon rite.... Wonder when is it cumin to SG?
kelvinth
18-02-2008, 09:36 PM
Should be. Else it won't be in SonyEricsson Singapore Website
lawrence90
19-02-2008, 12:26 AM
looks not bad~
but wait till end of year see got better ones coming out anot :)
carlover76
19-02-2008, 09:11 AM
Should be. Else it won't be in SonyEricsson Singapore Website
It will be out 2nd quarter of this year so just a few months later. :s12:
daniel_83
19-02-2008, 10:37 AM
i read that it's OCT
or even much later
not 2 quarter ba
daniel_83
19-02-2008, 10:39 AM
"Well, the truth is Sony Ericsson's XPERIA X1 is a sleek gadget - compact, yet powerful. We didn't have a chance of giving it a test drive, since at this early production stage (release is due in more than 6 months) the showcased devices were rather limited in their functionality. No one but the Sony Ericsson folks was allowed to touch the units."
from gsmarena.com
Nuttie
19-02-2008, 04:39 PM
"Well, the truth is Sony Ericsson's XPERIA X1 is a sleek gadget - compact, yet powerful. We didn't have a chance of giving it a test drive, since at this early production stage (release is due in more than 6 months) the showcased devices were rather limited in their functionality. No one but the Sony Ericsson folks was allowed to touch the units."
from gsmarena.com
wah.. still only in production stage... :s22:
Hua_Hui
19-02-2008, 05:24 PM
wah... pricey fone
nick_tan
20-02-2008, 03:56 PM
Is it out to rival the rest of the PDA phones? Will the prices be good enough ...
tekster
21-02-2008, 01:57 PM
dunno man, but it sure makes me drool.
hope the windows is not a letdown on this sleek gadget.
gkhchay
21-02-2008, 02:12 PM
yup, that's my main concern also. altho it has improved a lot, windows mobile is still relatively unstable compared to the Symbian 60, UIQ, Palm & Blackberry platforms..
badsector
21-02-2008, 11:20 PM
yup, that's my main concern also. altho it has improved a lot, windows mobile is still relatively unstable compared to the Symbian 60, UIQ, Palm & Blackberry platforms..
care to elaborate?
personally i prefer wm or blackberry or iphone(no chance to test yet)
gkhchay
22-02-2008, 12:16 AM
I've used Palm, Symbian & Blackberry - more stable in that u hv less resets than WM.
badsector
22-02-2008, 04:51 AM
I've used Palm, Symbian & Blackberry - more stable in that u hv less resets than WM.
i see. have not experience tat so far.
but i do find most 3rd party software unstable at times. software hang but phone still functioning.
heard X1 using wm6.1. definately on my waiting list.
let's wait for reviews.
btw, some interesting results
http://www.roughlydrafted.com/2007/12/14/canalys-symbian-apple-iphone-already-leads-windows-mobile-in-us-market-share-q3-2007/
http://www.canalys.com/pr/2008/r2008021.htm
gkhchay
22-02-2008, 11:02 AM
i see. have not experience tat so far.
but i do find most 3rd party software unstable at times. software hang but phone still functioning.
heard X1 using wm6.1. definately on my waiting list.
let's wait for reviews.
btw, some interesting results
http://www.roughlydrafted.com/2007/12/14/canalys-symbian-apple-iphone-already-leads-windows-mobile-in-us-market-share-q3-2007/
http://www.canalys.com/pr/2008/r2008021.htm
in terms of 3rd party software, palm is the most stable but the OS is way too obsolete. symbian & blackberry pretty close but then again, both of these platforms have much less 3rd party software than either palm or WM...
having said that, i'm also damn keen on the Xperia...
Vulpix
22-02-2008, 06:19 PM
I love Windows Mobile... Eversince I switched from Blackberry to Windows Mobile I never looked back, as long as you take care of your PPC and don't install too much rubbish you won't have much trouble of intermittent resets, etc.
novaflare
23-02-2008, 09:16 PM
msn can use on this phone?
seowbin
24-02-2008, 02:47 AM
of course can, no problem ! :D
might be buying it also but getting e51 to 'dong' for the time being.. cheap phone
emahnic
26-02-2008, 11:09 AM
Depend on individual. I used symbian and WM before. I still prefer WM. :)
zerohacker
03-04-2008, 12:07 PM
Depend on individual. I used symbian and WM before. I still prefer WM. :)
Agree, I also prefer to WM...
It's the best and the most flexible mobile operation system.
ipporek
03-04-2008, 06:36 PM
Too bad it'll only be out towards the end of the year. Just feel like switching over to WM right now and guess there's no point in switching to a KS20 or Touch Cruise when ultimately this is the one I want.
l19g9g91l
04-04-2008, 01:03 AM
maybe out in sept 2008, still got long way to go.. from www.pdadb.net
daniel_83
04-04-2008, 01:39 AM
haiz long wait
the i780 not bad but poor camera..
and quite big.. altho slim
ipporek
22-04-2008, 09:22 AM
Was watching the movie Midnight Eagle last night and at one point one of the characters took out a PDA phone to use. Was just wondering if it was the X1 cos it sure looked like it (or at least the keyboard did). Anyone else caught the show?
ipporek
02-05-2008, 12:48 PM
Saw in a timeline chart that X1's supposed to be out in Sep 2008, together with Paris. Anyone know if that's accurate?
4LegsGood
02-05-2008, 01:38 PM
oh man 4 more months.. hope the price is right! :)
VainKid
06-05-2008, 12:45 AM
General 2G Network GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900
3G Network HSDPA 850 / 1900 / 2100 / 1700
Announced 2008, February
Status Coming soon
Size Dimensions 110 x 53 x 17 mm
Weight 145 g
Display Type TFT touchscreen, 65K colors
Size 800 x 480 pixels, 3 inches
- Full QWERTY keyboard
- Optical joystick navigation
Ringtones Type Polyphonic, MP3
Customization Composer, download
Vibration Yes
Memory Phonebook Practically unlimited entries and fields, Photocall
Call records Practically unlimited
Card slot microSD (TransFlash)
- 400 MB internal memory
- 128MB RAM, 256MB storage memory
- Qualcomm MSM7200 528MHz processor
Data GPRS Class 10 (4+1/3+2 slots), 32 - 48 kbps
HSCSD No
EDGE Yes
3G HSDPA, 3.6 Mbps
WLAN Wi-Fi 802.11b/g
Bluetooth Yes, v2.0 with A2DP
Infrared port No
USB Yes, v2.0
Features OS Microsoft Windows Mobile 6.1 Professional
Messaging SMS, MMS, Email, Push E-Mail, IM
Browser WAP 2.0/HTML (IE), RSS feeds
Games Yes + downloadable
Colors Solid Black, Steel Silver
Camera 3.15 MP, 2048x1536 pixels, autofocus, video(VGA@30fps), flash; secondary videocall camera
- Built-in GPS receiver
- A-GPS function
- Java MIDP 2.0
- FM radio with RDS
- MP3/AAC/MPEG4 player
- Motion sensor (with UI auto-rotate)
- TrackID music recognition
- Picture editor/blogging
- Organiser
- T9
- Built-in handsfree
- Voice memo/dial
Battery Standard battery, Li-Po 1500 mAh (BST-41)
Stand-by
Talk time
LCD color display is only 65k and surprisingly its using tflash aka microsd instead of m2 :D
ipporek
06-05-2008, 09:20 AM
More I read about the P5i, the more I'm starting to wonder whether to get the X1 or P5i.
VainKid
07-05-2008, 12:53 AM
dont get SE if u want smart phone, get HTC.
tfkmueh
07-05-2008, 11:07 AM
Xperia design seem to take back market share from HTC leh, same design but only banana like.
ipporek
07-05-2008, 02:47 PM
Only prob is it's taking so long to be released. By then there'll be phones like the HTC Touch Diamond and E-Ten V900 out already.
ipporek
08-05-2008, 12:25 PM
Oh ya, by the way, just like to hear some opinions, if I'm planning to get the X1, but am gonna be holding on to 2 phones, the other of which I might wanna get sooner, should I go for another WM phone, like the LG KS20 (or HTC Touch Diamond if its out soon enough), or for a Symbian one, like the G900 (or maybe just a normal one like the C902)?
http://asia.cnet.com/crave/2008/05/06/possible-mid-september-release-for-sony-ericsson-xperia-x1/
Let the XPERIA hysteria begin. Thanks to loose-lipped mobile content provider Handango, we may now know the general launch date of the Sony Ericsson XPERIA X1. According to a newsletter Handango sent out to its partners, the highly anticipated Windows Mobile smart phone will launch in "mid-September 2008" with the Handango InHand service onboard. Earlier, rumors had put it at delayed till 2009.
The company also noted that if partners want their software to be considered for the catalog, it must support "International English, French, German, Italian, and Spanish", so presumably, the smartphone will be available in appropriate markets. Now, we're not taking this as definitive word, but at least it's a little more encouraging than Sony Ericsson's more generic "second half of the year" response.
aloysius_xavier
11-05-2008, 02:47 AM
http://www.engadgetmobile.com/tag/x1
mid-sep 2008 rumoured? how true?
looking at the handango newsletter, let's hope it's mid sept ! my m1 contract ends by then..
psgboy
12-05-2008, 10:12 AM
it seems like this and paris phone will be launch quite close to one another....
might be confusing for consumers...
ipporek
12-05-2008, 11:02 AM
They look quite different actually. For me I'll definitely get the X1, but just can't decide for my 2nd phone should I get the Paris or a G900/C902.
daniel_83
12-05-2008, 12:08 PM
i'll get the P5i first
den maybe the X1 after that :P
Is there any news on P5 ? Some live photos came out recently only.
ipporek
12-05-2008, 04:53 PM
Just photos and some features here and there. No official annonucement yet. Haven't even managed to find any details on the exact size of the phone.
So X1 should be out first as their official specs is on their website.
Globe
16-05-2008, 08:38 PM
seems tasty this phone :D
ipporek
16-05-2008, 11:48 PM
Seems HTC Raphael's gonna be out in September too, and it's comparable to the X1.
http://www.intomobile.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/04/htc-touch-pro-raphael-small.jpg
It's smaller (99x51x17mm vs 110x53x17mm), has TV out, has eGPS instead of aGPS (not sure if true since the Diamond has aGPS), and orientation sensor (still a little confused as to whether X1 has this). But the battery's only 900mAh (as compared to X1's 1500 mAh), and well, X1 has a 3.5m headphone jack. Well, gotta wait and see how it's gonna turn out.
http://www.inxperia.com/components/com_mojo/wp-content/uploads/2008/03/x1_01.png
* Quad-band EDGE: 850/900/1800/1900 MHz
* Tri-band HSPA:
o X1a: (850/1900/2100 MHz)
o X1i: (900/1900/2100 MHz)
* X1a model supports MPEG4, H.263 24fps encoding at QVGA only and not H.264
* Size: 110.5 x 52.6 x 17 mm (formerly 110 x 53 x 16.7 mm)
* Weight: 158g
* Memory:
o NAND Flash 512MB
o SDRAM 256MB
* Stanby Time:
o 580 hours on GSM
o 833 hours on UMTS
* Talk Time:
o 10 hours on GSM
o 6.5 hours on UMTS
* Video Call Talk Time: 3.1 hours
* Camera scene modes: Auto, Portrait, Landscape, Twilight, Sports, Document
* DRM: OMA DRM 1.0 and WMDRM 10
256MB SDRAM !! Specs can be found in the white paper. : http://developer.sonyericsson.com/getDocument.do?docId=100340
jezzmatezz
25-05-2008, 12:47 PM
any idea when this phjone would be released?
cool ass looking phone... the only sad thing is.... no track ID and it just has a 3.2Megapixel camera
2nd half of the year
http://www.inxperia.com/components/com_mojo/wp-content/uploads/2008/05/handango.jpg
xecuter
25-05-2008, 02:26 PM
lets not expect too much. it might just be another let down. might look good in pics but not in real life. lol.
goenitz33
25-05-2008, 02:33 PM
Mid Sep 2008 - OMG
by the time its out its outdated le =x
ipporek
25-05-2008, 02:46 PM
Well, there has even been rumours it might be delayed past September.
simonth
25-05-2008, 04:28 PM
Some videos from youtube on the phone
O0z8F6jUzVc
SvGofpi5DEs
the first rumor of delay was due Feb 2009. :) But this news is recent.
While we were still sitting eating the remnants of our lunch, R from Sony-Ericsson gave a presentation on their new SE XPERIA X1. W00t! He gave us demos of the interface and most of the issues we had seen with lagging screens (mainly from Mobile World Congress reports) seem to have been resolved. They said it at the time, that this was not a finished device and that it was a work in progress, so it is great to see that progress is indeed being made.We tried to pin him down on a date for the release, but second half of the year was as specific as he would get.
http://www.geardiary.com/2008/05/14/mobius-seattle-2008-day-one-second-half-sony-xperia-x1/
But of coz, knowing Sony Ericsson since T68/T610 days, there are bound to be delays and bugs.
simonth
25-05-2008, 04:31 PM
diamond does give me the wow factor. Unique interface
CoaXA9un7YE
ipporek
25-05-2008, 05:50 PM
Can't compare Diamond with X1. No keyboard. Compare gotta compare Raphael with X1.
dreamz13
26-05-2008, 04:55 PM
Hope it launches soon. Can't wait.
ipporek
26-05-2008, 06:03 PM
Can't wait also gotta wait 4 months minimum, till September.
unrealx262
26-05-2008, 06:14 PM
judging from those utube videos , the X1 seems to be lagging
Globe
27-05-2008, 08:30 AM
keeping my fingers cross on the pic quality of the cam ... gonna be so sold if it's at least comparable to k800
PiLiP3
31-05-2008, 10:53 PM
For diamond, I would recommend IPhone user to switch to it. As from the video, operation whilst is almost the same. As for X1, it is a combination of HTC touch capability and a camera auto focus function. I dare say X1 is not original in its class except the touch auto focus function and its design. Diamond is so much closer to Cruise and i expect once Diamond is release, pricing for Cruise would drop.
ipporek
31-05-2008, 11:25 PM
keeping my fingers cross on the pic quality of the cam ... gonna be so sold if it's at least comparable to k800
Gotta bear in mind the flash ain't a Xenon though, so can't compare also.
Globe
01-06-2008, 10:59 AM
Gotta bear in mind the flash ain't a Xenon though, so can't compare also.
the way i see it ... even if it have flash, doesn't helps much ...
i own a k800i and and even with xenon , night shots rarely turn out okay anyway ..
Vulpix
01-06-2008, 11:43 AM
It's a universal rule that camera phones from HTC must suck. Since this piece is designed by HTC, there's a 98% chance the camera will be terrible and maybe tolerable.
Well not just HTC, most WM camera sucks.
Hope Sony Ericsson will have a booth at Communicasia08, couldn't find another information on the site.
Globe
01-06-2008, 02:39 PM
why ... something to do with the software or something ?
ipporek
02-06-2008, 09:54 AM
the way i see it ... even if it have flash, doesn't helps much ...
i own a k800i and and even with xenon , night shots rarely turn out okay anyway ..
Oh well, anyway since X1 ain't a camera phone, can't expect too much as well. For me all along I haven't placed too high expectations on the camera. That ain't what I'm getting it for anyway.
Just another note on the Q4 date. :)
http://www.inxperia.com/components/com_mojo/wp-content/uploads/2008/05/q4.jpg
From some presentation slide (http://www.ericsson.com/ericsson/investors/doc/cmd_08/ericsson_080514.pdf)
mikengtw
02-06-2008, 09:54 PM
Wa have to wait until Q4 date to release , like dat make me boring....:(
No choice, they make product annoucement so early, way before it's release date. Makes you wait. Hope it's a good wait.
Looking at the specs, looks like a few other WM phones will be meeting X1 specs as well.
mikengtw
03-06-2008, 12:20 PM
No choice, they make product annoucement so early, way before it's release date. Makes you wait. Hope it's a good wait.
Looking at the specs, looks like a few other WM phones will be meeting X1 specs as well.
Let hope so not like the last time I brought the Nokia E90 that one drive me crazy over
the mic problem on the first batch release on the market. I do hope that SE better do
a good testing on the hardware don't wish to see come out the market face all kinds
of problem...
http://reviews.cnet.co.uk/mobiles/0,39030106,49297115,00.htm
In June ? Yummy... hold on to your pockets !
hojx93
04-06-2008, 03:27 AM
http://www.sonyericsson.com/cws/file/1.483493.1212232803/X1_see_the_product_large_1.png
http://www.sonyericsson.com/cws/file/1.483506.1212233473/X1_see_the_product_large_2.png
http://www.sonyericsson.com/cws/file/1.483514.1212234379/X1_see_the_product_large_3.png
http://www.sonyericsson.com/cws/file/1.483526.1212235056/X1_see_the_product_large_4.png
not bad leh
ipporek
04-06-2008, 08:11 AM
http://reviews.cnet.co.uk/mobiles/0,39030106,49297115,00.htm
In June ? Yummy... hold on to your pockets !
June? Impossible la. I'm already hoping it won't be delayed pass September, which seems it will.
daniel_83
04-06-2008, 08:41 AM
i say mid OCT
staedtler_07
04-06-2008, 09:11 AM
Hmm... By nov it should be out right?
ipporek
04-06-2008, 09:44 AM
Hmm... By nov it should be out right?
Well, there ain't a confirmation as to when it'd be out (except just a 'Q4'), so it might just even end up released last day of December.
lunasonata
04-06-2008, 11:04 AM
darn..dat's so slow la..they should like release during the GSS..much more pple will get it..lol!
AsusEpoxy
04-06-2008, 02:58 PM
its using tflash aka microsd instead of m2 :D
that's a tell tale sign that it's a rebadged product.
ipporek
04-06-2008, 06:31 PM
Argh... with the unknown date of release for the X1, this is making my hand itch. And it's supposed to be out late summer meaning Q3 (as opposed to X1's Q4 now).
http://www.engadgetmobile.com/media/2008/06/htc-touch-pro-official-02-sm.jpg
daniel_83
04-06-2008, 09:40 PM
hey that's nice too
might as well get it since it's the same..
GAZ1121
11-06-2008, 09:53 PM
Just still waiting and hoping it comes soon. On June 17th SE has a Singapore and Amsterdam press function, so that could be the time to learn when we can get our hands on the Xperia. If some one has better infos please let know=:p
outlimit
13-06-2008, 11:26 AM
i wonder wat xperia x1 camera lens and it flash will be?? same as those cybershot phone??
Chirashi
14-06-2008, 01:52 AM
With the iPhone 3G coming out soon, the execs at SE are sure to push for the X1's release soon.
Each day the product is delayed is a day of revenue sales lost to its competitors.
mortpenguin
15-06-2008, 09:40 PM
actually im deciding bet the x1 and samsung omnia. both have their pros and cons:
omnia has 5mp camera, 16gb internal storage, and faster processing speed.
but its colour sucks.
x1 has a nice screen, qwerty keypad.
but camera only 3.2mp.
prob have to examine both closely when they're released.
outlimit
16-06-2008, 03:16 PM
i think 3g iphone real comptitior will be htc touch pro... since both emphasing graphic...
darknez
17-06-2008, 02:28 AM
I think the iPhone is just a big gimmick.
chuachongchee
17-06-2008, 08:31 AM
sian.... SE X1 vs HTC TOuch PRO... who will prevail? ;D
Evilmerlin
17-06-2008, 10:39 AM
No WiFi?
EEXOOO
17-06-2008, 12:24 PM
http://www.bengalboy.com/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?topic_id=1107&forum=8
Great review, do note that it is VERY graphic intensive.
Btw it's has very appealing pictures of the SE.X.1
darknez
17-06-2008, 05:02 PM
nice.... SE.X.1
chuachongchee
17-06-2008, 11:13 PM
http://www.bengalboy.com/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?topic_id=1107&forum=8
Great review, do note that it is VERY graphic intensive.
good review.... excluding the "distracting nothing nice to see" thingy'ies...
Hmmm, so many coverage on Sony Ericsson @ Communicasia, no mention of SEX1. :(
xecuter
19-06-2008, 02:23 PM
how much do u think this phone will cost when it gets released? w/ and w/o contract? i think i want save money liao.
chuachongchee
19-06-2008, 03:25 PM
how much do u think this phone will cost when it gets released? w/ and w/o contract? i think i want save money liao.
This is a WM pda phone.... expect no less than 1k i thinks
adix_82
19-06-2008, 03:42 PM
This is a WM pda phone.... expect no less than 1k i thinks
Everything is so standard.. 1098 1288 1388..
xecuter
19-06-2008, 04:28 PM
wow. u guys are talking abt w/o contract right? so most likely with contract will be 800++?
daniel_83
19-06-2008, 07:12 PM
since DIAMOND is $1098
i believe TOUCH PRO is $1398
and X1 should be 1398 too... or maybe 1298...
but... maybe only $800+?
u nv know :D
mikengtw
19-06-2008, 08:28 PM
since DIAMOND is $1098
i believe TOUCH PRO is $1398
and X1 should be 1398 too... or maybe 1298...
but... maybe only $800+?
u nv know :D
I doubt it will sell at $800 it should be around $1k , unless if it contract with any
service operator...
dave14
23-06-2008, 08:16 PM
wow! when will this phone come? SH just sent me a $200 for mobile upgrade and it expires on 31st july!
Vulpix
23-06-2008, 09:31 PM
Not anytime the next few months so you can LLST.
aldrick7
24-06-2008, 07:26 PM
I doubt it will sell at $800 it should be around $1k , unless if it contract with any
service operator...
yup i think so too and on top of that X1 is made by HTC for sony... so it should be roughly a little lower than touch pro
darknez
25-06-2008, 04:28 AM
now that sucks.....
chuachongchee
25-06-2008, 07:54 AM
now that sucks.....
This is a PDA phone... dont expect the price to be less than 1k odd.... if u wann something less than 1k.. get regular phones.... or Nokia E series...
I jus hope not to repeat HTC Diamond price drop at launch... if thats the case i would not think about it le.... look at now... Diamonds are flooded in the streets..... in my office... jus one weekend +2 diamonds le...
aditzz
30-06-2008, 06:47 AM
nice premium phone, the bad thing is...it doesnt have any accelerometer (while all of its competitor have...) and it seems to have a late-release :(:(.
chuachongchee
30-06-2008, 07:55 AM
Is accelerometer required?? Not really imho... for iphone and diamond... yes... coz they do not have a keyboard and games that run on tilt... X1 has a full qwerty... doesnt make sense to put a accelerometer..
ipporek
30-06-2008, 08:18 AM
Is accelerometer required?? Not really imho... for iphone and diamond... yes... coz they do not have a keyboard and games that run on tilt... X1 has a full qwerty... doesnt make sense to put a accelerometer..
Well, supposedly WM7 will require accelerometer.
The screen orientation is changed when the keypad is slided open..
xecuter
30-06-2008, 11:10 AM
like ya? portrait when qwerty not open and auto change to landscape when qwerty open? hmm.
chuachongchee
30-06-2008, 02:41 PM
Well, supposedly WM7 will require accelerometer.
"supposedly"
ipporek
02-07-2008, 02:19 PM
Hmm... just realized that X1's 400MB internal memory pales in comparison to Omnia's 16GB...
xecuter
02-07-2008, 02:43 PM
yeah. but omnia isn't that great like it sounds.
Rashkae
02-07-2008, 03:58 PM
yeah. but omnia isn't that great like it sounds.
I agree. I'm so glad I sold mine.
chuachongchee
02-07-2008, 09:47 PM
Hmm... just realized that X1's 400MB internal memory pales in comparison to Omnia's 16GB...
Do you need that space? On my own P1i... Honestly i have not even used more than half.. on my mem card, its the music and my application installers that take up space, even still... its 800mb out of the 1gb..
ov2rey
03-07-2008, 07:42 AM
if u compare..
Omnia and SOny X1
i would said sonyX1 is better.. alot...
I tried Omnia, the interface really sucks. I hope SE can do better. at least up to HTC Touch Flo level
steffan7
03-07-2008, 10:30 AM
X1, still have to wait loh....
KeijiGenesis
03-07-2008, 12:23 PM
ya lor...damm slow man....:(
X1, still have to wait loh....
Rashkae
03-07-2008, 04:02 PM
I tried Omnia, the interface really sucks. I hope SE can do better. at least up to HTC Touch Flo level
Considering it's being co-designed with HTC, I'm sure a lot of TouchFlo DNA will go into it.
steffan7
03-07-2008, 04:17 PM
Considering it's being co-designed with HTC, I'm sure a lot of TouchFlo DNA will go into it.
Hardware from HTC, doesn't mean software will be with it. I know Sony Ericsson will be coming out their own theme... the 6 button configuation
xecuter
03-07-2008, 08:27 PM
lol. it doesnt matter anyway. touchflo isn't that great after all.
ahaha of coz that is relative to what other interfaces that you may compare. If iphone.. haha the touch is nothing. But compare with the bare WinMo interface, it's much much better.
Rashkae
04-07-2008, 09:34 AM
Hardware from HTC, doesn't mean software will be with it. I know Sony Ericsson will be coming out their own theme... the 6 button configuation
Yes, but the software is also being co-developed with HTC.
ipporek
16-07-2008, 01:48 PM
Read this from some Eldar Murtazin guy:
Guys - Frankly I was support SE for ages for creativity, design, for the best quality/price ratio. All things are gone
I worked with almost all models which are coming to the market in next 12 months, except X2, X5.
I dont believe in any single products, no such hero products. UIQ is very weak - they trying to make Paris with more memory - ridicioulos. Next year - some new products based on S60 - hey who is the winner? Nokia may be?
X1 will be on selected markets in December - 700-800 Euro. Internally SE discussed that stable version of software will be roll out not untill Feb or even later.
W585 - the same problems with keys like in w580. They know about it now. But discussed - what will be the best way, lauch phone with problems or repair it in house. Funny talking...
I will prepare a long article about crisis inside of SE. It isnt strong company anymore, they dont have clear goals. Pity for me
And after all - they thinking that it isnt SE problems, it is my point of view and all products are nearly great... They are living in imaginery world, not the real one
I dont like average products and bad build quality. But they loose market share, margin and try to create a new economy - rubbish materials = more margin. Really hate this.
December??? And stable software only in Feb or later??? Just hope this ain't true...
KeijiGenesis
16-07-2008, 02:18 PM
tats so true for the w580 keys problem, and SE launched phones with problems and let the service center tackling it :s22:.....yup most of the software are buggy when they launched the phones then later which are slowly resolved with newer firmware upgrades.:D
Read this from some Eldar Murtazin guy:
December??? And stable software only in Feb or later??? Just hope this ain't true...
Chirashi
17-07-2008, 11:21 PM
tats so true for the w580 keys problem, and SE launched phones with problems and let the service center tackling it :s22:.....yup most of the software are buggy when they launched the phones then later which are slowly resolved with newer firmware upgrades.:D
you must be living in a shell if you believe that SE is the only company practising this.
chuachongchee
18-07-2008, 12:07 AM
you must be living in a shell if you believe that SE is the only company practising this.
well.... keys is a smaller problem that the you-know-what brand that refuses to acknowldge and fix their flawed graphics driver which caused unpar performance throughout the phone... >.<
maxell_diskettes
18-07-2008, 04:50 PM
hi... can i ask...
1. is a-gps better than gps?
2. this is microSD right, not microSDHC? - what is the max size microsd can handle? rough price now?
ToopidDuck
20-07-2008, 09:33 AM
TouchFLO dna will not be in there.... even thou it's a hidden true fact that X1 is a hardware by HTC, wats make u think so that HTC will let the TouchFLO software to be inside X1?
Cos HTC are targeting Touch Series as their Flagship phones now... so ideally, they will keep TouchFLO onli in their phones...
hahaha... i hope so too.... at the moment, i still like the fishes... :D
ToopidDuck
20-07-2008, 09:36 AM
hi... can i ask...
1. is a-gps better than gps?
2. this is microSD right, not microSDHC? - what is the max size microsd can handle? rough price now?
A-GPS now has changed...
A-GPS is better than GPS... cos you can choose to activate network assistance to define where you are and download the skyline of Satelites in the sky... this will give u faster fix on your GPS Position.... of cos since u use network, network data charges may apply...
X1 should support MicroSDHC.... should be 8GB....
KeijiGenesis
20-07-2008, 11:15 PM
lol...of course not only SE tats doing this, i know tat...:D
peterchia41
22-07-2008, 01:00 PM
When do you think it would be available? I intend to get it for my brother's brithday...
I'm concern over this as his birthday is in September and there seems to be no date in sight :(
HELP!!!
xecuter
22-07-2008, 01:43 PM
should be around there la.. but i guess it will be damn ex :( and im still considering whether to get this.. cause the ui might suck if its the normal windows mobile looking ui.. why nvr make like touch diamond's one..
peterchia41
22-07-2008, 03:05 PM
should be around there la.. but i guess it will be damn ex :( and im still considering whether to get this.. cause the ui might suck if its the normal windows mobile looking ui.. why nvr make like touch diamond's one..
i agree with you on that point... but lets consider that...
The phone looks really cool!
The phone seems to feel cool with its "metallic" feel
The camera is another plus
And lets not forget, the screen TFT!!!
In all products and items, there are some pro and cons, its a matter what you're looking for in the phone... I have been using Windows Mobile ever since CE was out (that was looooong)... I am used to it.
I really hope it comes out asap or I really don't know what to get for my brother. Maybe I shall 2!!! one of myself and I can retire my HP for good!!
ipporek
22-07-2008, 06:04 PM
Definitely not September. Supposed to be out in Q4, meaning October at least. And well, judging from the news here and there, seems it might be November or even December before it's out. Am getting quite tempted to go for the Touch Pro instead with this long wait.
Anyway, X1 doesn't have TouchFlo but it does have it's own UI. Think that's probably what's holding it up (as in bugs in the software).
Vulpix
22-07-2008, 11:07 PM
Damnit, my contract already over. I am just waiting for the X1 release so I can ask for voucher from Singtel.
peterchia41
22-07-2008, 11:58 PM
Definitely not September. Supposed to be out in Q4, meaning October at least. And well, judging from the news here and there, seems it might be November or even December before it's out. Am getting quite tempted to go for the Touch Pro instead with this long wait.
Anyway, X1 doesn't have TouchFlo but it does have it's own UI. Think that's probably what's holding it up (as in bugs in the software).
If they keep dragging, their inovation will become old-vision and the phone won't kick off as expected.
I think anything lter than Sept/Oct would mean SE will not get a good market sale... Touch Pro is almost out... Can they afford to delay considering HTC and Apple have the initiative now?
chuachongchee
23-07-2008, 12:42 AM
well.. on the plus side... they come out late means they will fight on pricing... good for us... ;D
xecuter
23-07-2008, 03:43 AM
really? lol. that's the one thing i hate about SE. wonder why they so cheeky announced their phone so early then keep everybody waiting until bored liao.. haha..
touchpro is? codename raphael issit? sorry if wrong. cant rmbr correctly..
well.. the ui should really make up for the time their delaying, if not im gonna consider getting another phone too.
daniel_83
26-07-2008, 12:19 PM
latest news is OCT release
$700+ EUROS
means SGD$1400+
xecuter
26-07-2008, 08:48 PM
wahh.. siao.. so ex ah.. wonder if with contract how much..
ipporek
27-07-2008, 01:17 AM
Someone mentioned the HTC Touch Pro's gonna be released before National Day. If that's the case, really tempted to just get it rather than wait for the X1. No idea gonna wait till when.
Vulpix
30-07-2008, 03:42 PM
Someone mentioned the HTC Touch Pro's gonna be released before National Day. If that's the case, really tempted to just get it rather than wait for the X1. No idea gonna wait till when.
At least touch pro got a solid release schedule. X1 until now still nothing...:s27:
chuachongchee
30-07-2008, 11:34 PM
I cannot wait le.. I switched to E66.. see how Touch Pro n X1 goes...
ipporek
31-07-2008, 04:29 PM
Oh no... based on this (http://www.se-store.co.uk/index.cfm?objectid=FED6335A-3005-8DAD-19B78C0E964DF956) seems X1's gonna be released in Jan 2009...
If that's the case I'm going for the Touch Pro liao...
KeijiGenesis
31-07-2008, 07:06 PM
oh man....:eek: i forgotten where i read about the X1 that the stable version will be out in jan or feb....so it's true then, that's so far away
Oh no... based on this (http://www.se-store.co.uk/index.cfm?objectid=FED6335A-3005-8DAD-19B78C0E964DF956) seems X1's gonna be released in Jan 2009...
If that's the case I'm going for the Touch Pro liao...
rizal5150
09-08-2008, 06:54 PM
according to this (http://www.pocket-lint.co.uk/news/news.phtml/16747/17771/sony-ericsson-xperia-x1-phone.phtml),looks like the Xperia X1 will be released this yr after all...
Play.com has announced that it will be selling the Sony Ericsson Xperia X1 Sim free from the 30 October.
Customers keen to get their hands on Sony Ericsson new smartphone are being promised day one delivery and the chance to get it without having to sign up for any lengthy contracts.
The price? 599.99 of your fine British pounds to get your hands on the HTC made HSDPA, 3.2 megapixel camera, slide out Qwerty keyboard touting phone that runs a heavily customised version of Windows Mobile 6.1.
600 british pounds is abt...600x2.7=1620SGD. LOL :s13::s13::s13:
outlimit
09-08-2008, 08:00 PM
touch pro officially release in UK 8 aug 08.......
Play.com has announced that it will be selling the Sony Ericsson Xperia X1 Sim free from the 30 October.
Customers keen to get their hands on Sony Ericsson new smartphone are being promised day one delivery and the chance to get it without having to sign up for any lengthy contracts.
The price? 599.99 of your fine British pounds to get your hands on the HTC made HSDPA, 3.2 megapixel camera, slide out Qwerty keyboard touting phone that runs a heavily customised version of Windows Mobile 6.1.
http://www.play.com/Mobiles/Mobile/4-/5192163/Sony-Ericsson-XPERIA-X1-Sim-Free-Unlocked-Mobile-Phone/Product.html#
daniel_83
10-08-2008, 03:17 PM
i going to get HTC touch PRO instead...
xecuter
10-08-2008, 11:07 PM
₤599.99 converted to SGD is $1616.44 . wtf price.
chuachongchee
11-08-2008, 07:49 AM
This is a full wm PDA phone... dont expect prices to be like a normal mobile phone...
That price 6 months ago is still ok. But for now it looks like another Neonode N1.
dereth
11-08-2008, 11:06 AM
SE is really courting death.
dereth
11-08-2008, 11:15 AM
T610. I started out with that.
T630 came out it was fat and plasticky. Skipped that.
K700 came out, the camera did not show much improvement. Still slow interface. Skipped that.
K750i. That one was good. Bought it. Love it.
K800. DAMN THICK. Camera cover problematic. Wife's and dad's k800 camera cover gone case.
K810 came out. Bought it. Love it. But it's just an improved K800.
K850. Whoever the FARK came out with the interface, joystick, touchscreen concept should be castrated.
C902. Why they hell they have to crippled the screen?!
C905. WHY THE BLOODY HELL THEY HAVE TO MAKE IT A SLIDER?!
The last 3 are my most recent sequential considerations and all 3 disappoints me.
If they botch up this time with the X1, I'm off SE for good liao.
Probably HTC or Samsung. Or maybe Apple.
Vulpix
11-08-2008, 11:33 AM
Still waiting for X1. If they are going to do a Jan 2009 release date I'll just settle with TouchPro.
ipporek
11-08-2008, 01:52 PM
Same. Anything past December and forget it.
daniel_83
14-08-2008, 08:03 AM
sian htc touch pro is so thick :(
X1 is so late :(
touch diamond no qwerty :(
chuachongchee
14-08-2008, 08:06 AM
haha.... i got e66 in the interim period.... i gonna wait for x1 still...
actually touch pro is just 1mm thicker than p1 i think.. :)
rizal5150
16-08-2008, 07:34 PM
different release dates here...
according to this site Sept 19
http://www.popularelect.com/product_info.php?products_id=937&gclid=CMzO1_n2jpUCFRxNagod0E2TPA
but here in the panels its Sept 24...look closer
http://www.sonyericsson.com/cws/download/1/349/013/1202654315/X1_Front%20Open.jpg
and early October here...
http://www.reghardware.co.uk/2008/08/14/sony_ericsson_expansys_xperia/
when its coming to SG we dont noe....:s22:
mikengtw
16-08-2008, 08:57 PM
different release dates here...
according to this site Sept 19
http://www.popularelect.com/product_info.php?products_id=937&gclid=CMzO1_n2jpUCFRxNagod0E2TPA
but here in the panels its Sept 24...look closer
http://www.sonyericsson.com/cws/download/1/349/013/1202654315/X1_Front%20Open.jpg
and early October here...
http://www.reghardware.co.uk/2008/08/14/sony_ericsson_expansys_xperia/
when its coming to SG we dont noe....:s22:
If like this keep on going on guess when it comes..I would have change my mind
of getting other brand . Hey Sony if you are reading this better wake up your mind
lar..! Can't you all make up.. Make me very sick of waiting .
:(
ipporek
17-08-2008, 09:02 AM
Don't forget there were also rumours of it to be out in December and even in January next year ah.
daniel_83
17-08-2008, 04:05 PM
actually touch pro is just 1mm thicker than p1 i think.. :)
http://www.mobiletechaddicts.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/08/htc-pro31.jpg
similar to size of N95 8Gb...
big or small to u guys?
i feel big... but acceptable
as long not E90 size can liao... haha
ipporek
18-08-2008, 12:48 AM
Isn't this the X1 thread? How come talking about Touch Pro instead?
mikengtw
18-08-2008, 10:01 AM
Isn't this the X1 thread? How come talking about Touch Pro instead?
Very simple reason is many are start to look at HTC Touch Pro, even as I myself also
start to shift to HTC. As days goes by you look at the forum you see there been talk
about X1 been delay for whatever reason we may not know.
Chirashi
18-08-2008, 07:37 PM
Very simple reason is many are start to look at HTC Touch Pro, even as I myself also
start to shift to HTC. As days goes by you look at the forum you see there been talk
about X1 been delay for whatever reason we may not know.
Fully agree with ya. I saw my colleague's HTC Diamond the other day and tried it out. Looks and feels really good! Screen is impressive. Though the touchscreen sms will take a little getting used to, the Raphael will probably solve it with its qwerty pad.
Chirashi
24-08-2008, 01:39 AM
Oooo.. The HTC Raphael/Touch Pro is coming soon. Maybe as early as coming Thu@Comex.. I guess i'll skip the X1 for this http://www.tracyandmatt.co.uk/blogs/index.php/2008/08/14/htc-touch-pro-unboxed-exclusive
xecuter
24-08-2008, 10:29 AM
only thing stopping me now is this design :( i love the arc design on x1..
http://www.vodafonebusinessshop.co.uk/Details-Phone-Sony-Ericsson-X1-3041.html
Launch Expected for Vodafone, Oct
wailyt
25-08-2008, 11:25 AM
Xperia preview : http://smape.com/en/reviews//Sony_Ericsson_XPERIA_X1-prev.html
Looks close to production methinks. Maybe.
Vulpix
25-08-2008, 11:29 AM
I played with the phone at CommunicAsia and wasn't very impressed with the keypad. Will be skipping this phone...
damn i was at communicasia, couldnt find the phone..
Kwein
25-08-2008, 12:00 PM
the wait is too long getting bored liao...*yawn*
KeijiGenesis
25-08-2008, 08:55 PM
:(:(yup agreed....:yawn::yawn::yawn::yawn:
the wait is too long getting bored liao...*yawn*
ipporek
26-08-2008, 12:13 AM
Ya, long wait, and that's why lot of ppl jumping ship to Touch Pro instead ah
rainyjerk
26-08-2008, 04:35 PM
bcoz is both running on MW instead of SE symbian UIQ
ipporek
27-08-2008, 04:32 PM
According to someone who's been testing out a final model of the X1 (in Asia), it appears the keyboard hasn't improved much. Sigh. So guess that means the keyboard's still gonna be an issue.
Paladium
28-08-2008, 12:12 PM
According to someone who's been testing out a final model of the X1 (in Asia), it appears the keyboard hasn't improved much. Sigh. So guess that means the keyboard's still gonna be an issue.
Sorry, what's wrong with the keyboard again?
yuto_kagui
29-08-2008, 12:29 AM
according to online sources the x1 will arrival in UK stores early October 2008. To prove it, the local mobile stores have already received demo sets of the mobile... but the price seems to be high.
ipporek
29-08-2008, 08:17 AM
Uh? Do OUR local stores have the demo sets already?
disappointing news.
http://www.engadget.com/2008/08/29/sony-ericssons-xperia-x1-delayed-to-end-of-the-year/
mikengtw
30-08-2008, 10:12 AM
disappointing news.
http://www.engadget.com/2008/08/29/sony-ericssons-xperia-x1-delayed-to-end-of-the-year/
Oh there more to it , see more bad news and rather skip X1 forever. Click the link
you read and see just how bad it is going to be..
http://www.unwiredview.com/2008/08/27/sony-ceo-considering-dumping-ericsson-for-sucking-so-much-at-mobile-phone-business-lately/
Another one
http://msmobiles.com/news.php/7601.html
After you reading above you might wonder why they want to do it, come to end as a end
users I would rather paid a company who makes a good PDA rather than break up or all
the bloody problems never ends.
dreamz13
30-08-2008, 10:36 AM
Pwhah..looks like SE not doing too well....
rizal5150
30-08-2008, 11:59 AM
ytd went to comex and asked one of the cute girls at the Singtel booth. :P she said Xperia coming out end of September. but that was b4 i read that news of its delay. :( :(
if xperia really delayed or even cancelled (touch wood) then the touch pro will be a gd alternative. played with it ytd very nice sia. smaller and slimmer than i thought. qwerty keys need a little adapting but its all gd. :D
EDIT: just came across this...http://www.se-store.co.uk/index.cfm?objectid=27157A31-3005-BC7A-20179276E84F64AB&pid=C6A3403C-1372-3F50-72B525B731F38B93
cud be a gd sign...
xecuter
31-08-2008, 08:16 PM
still for waiting for x1 despite all the let downs and rumors... although im tempted to get the touch pro.. any idea how much the touch pro cost w and w/o plan?
maxell_diskettes
31-08-2008, 08:24 PM
1248 for those who preorder at comex
KeijiGenesis
31-08-2008, 10:10 PM
im waiting for the X1 so i can decide which one is better...X1 or Touch Pro....;)
Chirashi
31-08-2008, 10:35 PM
the firmware looks unstable..
perhaps i'll wait for the "X2" coming out sometime in "2nd half of 2009", lol.
xecuter
01-09-2008, 01:51 AM
1248 for those who preorder at comex
sounds like w/o plan.. with plan have?
the firmware looks unstable..
perhaps i'll wait for the "X2" coming out sometime in "2nd half of 2009", lol.
lol. i think if you have contract and you renew now, the X2 still havent come out when the contract ends. haha
ipporek
01-09-2008, 09:39 AM
Now the main concern to me is not about when it'll be released, but rather whether it's worth the wait, and further down the road (with all the recent news about Sony and Ericsson splitting), whether there'd be the support, firmware updates etc.
mikengtw
01-09-2008, 10:22 AM
Now the main concern to me is not about when it'll be released, but rather whether it's worth the wait, and further down the road (with all the recent news about Sony and Ericsson splitting), whether there'd be the support, firmware updates etc.
Hi..
It would be wise not to touch the X1 phone until someone use it or tested than we know,
further more looking at SonyEricsson future not so bright after all. So it is best that you
wait and see how the things as it follows..
ipporek
01-09-2008, 02:16 PM
That's why highly likely I might just go for the Touch Pro instead.
chuazy
01-09-2008, 03:25 PM
Reply from SE Singapore after I contacted their CSO.
The exact date has not been confirmed, but you may check out our Ad placements in the newspapers.
Last but not least, we thank you for your great interest towards Sony Ericsson products.
If we can be of further assistance, please email to us at questions.sg@support.sonyericsson.com or contact us at our Customer Support hotline. For un-resolved issue, please do quote your cases ID for quick reference purposes.
Thank You and have a nice day.
Best regards,
Sonny Gale
ipporek
01-09-2008, 04:06 PM
Well, hopefully some confirmation before the Touch Pro actually releases here in the telcos or else I might just go ahead and get that.
rizal5150
01-09-2008, 10:16 PM
@chuazy gd news there.:s12: touch pro gonna release later this month. :D
Chirashi
02-09-2008, 12:08 AM
We are happy to inform you that it is estimated to be released in Singapore in 4th quarter of the year (around the 2nd week of October).
Best regards,
Sonny Gale
wow a glimmer of hope from an official source. i may hold out the Raphael for X1 if it comes out before Nov in sg. and hopefully sony remains with ericsson long enough to come out with a stable firmware for the phone.
Vulpix
02-09-2008, 12:28 AM
wow a glimmer of hope from an official source. i may hold out the Raphael for X1 if it comes out before Nov in sg. and hopefully sony remains with ericsson long enough to come out with a stable firmware for the phone.
From the interviews and the likes, it doesn't seem like X1 will have a lot of support like HTC is providing in terms of software/firmware upgrades... I'm not very confident with it, plus the keypad was terrible...
xecuter
02-09-2008, 12:52 AM
lets wait till the final product shall we? maybe they will improve on the keypad.
btw, i found this article, click (http://www.reuters.com/article/rbssConsumerGoodsAndRetailNews/idUSL141066120080901)
Sony Ericsson says x1 is on track :D
htc touch pro is up on starhub's web, but no price. lol.
http://img395.imageshack.us/img395/6005/72285919yd3.png
mikengtw
02-09-2008, 10:03 AM
The exact date has not been confirmed, but you may check out our Ad placements in the newspapers.
Last but not least, we thank you for your great interest towards Sony Ericsson products.
If we can be of further assistance, please email to us at questions.sg@support.sonyericsson.com or contact us at our Customer Support hotline. For un-resolved issue, please do quote your cases ID for quick reference purposes.
Thank You and have a nice day.
Best regards,
Sonny Gale
Well from I read looks there is hope to see this X1 coming ,so cross my finger now ... My next target will be Touch Pro if X1 can not performace as what I expect of it.
ipporek
02-09-2008, 12:13 PM
At least some glimmer of hope from this piece of news (http://wmpoweruser.com/?p=824)
And a new video (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CBjV2fYWlik)
ipporek
03-09-2008, 05:59 PM
Sony Ericsson releases SDK for Xperia X1 Panel Interface (http://www.sonyericsson.com/cws/corporate/press/pressreleases/pressreleasedetails/key.PressResource.SonyEricsson_Xperia_X1_panel-20080903). Hopefully this means some good news.
kennerv
03-09-2008, 09:13 PM
sry to interupt but i heard from my lao peh that last time he saw on a site which he cant rmb now that the X1 that is going to be on sale in Singapore wun have WM6 but will be fitted with SE's own OS. Can anyone enlighten me on this? thanks. :)
Vulpix
03-09-2008, 09:49 PM
sry to interupt but i heard from my lao peh that last time he saw on a site which he cant rmb now that the X1 that is going to be on sale in Singapore wun have WM6 but will be fitted with SE's own OS. Can anyone enlighten me on this? thanks. :)
That's rubbish. There's no such news anywhere so far about this.
ipporek
03-09-2008, 10:06 PM
He probably thought the panels was an OS.
kennerv
03-09-2008, 10:16 PM
okay. many thanks again. guess i shall target this phone so that i can have a compare with his diamond. :D thanks.
Chirashi
05-09-2008, 12:10 AM
And a new video (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CBjV2fYWlik)
The X1 is a natural extension of your life. Wow. Double-wow.
When i saw the touch-focus function of the camera, its so freaking cool.
If... I.... can.... hang on..... a... little.........bit......................longer...
hj_dragon
05-09-2008, 02:14 AM
Just 3 meg camera.
Why don't the put in a 5 meg camera.
xecuter
05-09-2008, 05:28 AM
i thought touch focus have been implemented before? if im not wrong.. G900? can't rmbr. correct me if im wrong.
aditzz
05-09-2008, 06:38 AM
does xperia have accelerometer? I heard it only has a software to rotate the display once it's slided.
ipporek
05-09-2008, 07:28 AM
does xperia have accelerometer? I heard it only has a software to rotate the display once it's slided.
As far as I know it doesn't. Which is one point in which Touch Pro wins.
xecuter
05-09-2008, 08:49 AM
according to specs from gsmarena (http://www.gsmarena.com/sony_ericsson_xperia_x1-2246.php), it does have accelerometer sensor for auto rotate.
Disclaimer. We can not guarantee that the information on this page is 100% correct.
lol.. I remember in videos, the screen rotates only when you flip open the keypad. Other than that, I can't recall if an accelerometer was mentioned.
xecuter
05-09-2008, 10:55 AM
lol. yeah. i saw the vids too. i guess we can only wait for the final product yeah :)
it would be really dumb it there isnt one.
ipporek
05-09-2008, 05:26 PM
Seems Touch Pro's gonna be out this weekend... but at least a month to go before X1's out...
halocast
05-09-2008, 05:34 PM
a month?
i dun think so.. i think release december man.. :s13:
anyway.. from what i see.. nothing groundbreaking on xperia..
frankly speaking.. the "panels" seem gimmicky..
Design wise i think its pretty sleek and nice..
SE realli have lost their touch.. they just churning out phones.. :s13:
ipporek
05-09-2008, 06:02 PM
Design wise? Frankly speaking, the more I look at the X1 the more I feel it looks kinda ugly. Only reason I still have it in my thoughts is cos it's by SE.
Vulpix
05-09-2008, 09:27 PM
Starhub posted an ad about the X1 being released in late november...
xecuter
05-09-2008, 10:50 PM
? where's the ad?
SeeNoEvil
06-09-2008, 12:40 AM
Anyone have idea on SRP for X1?
i saw at starhub vivo. they have some flyers with iphone, x1 etc. Title is Media Phones, saying coming soon for some models, Nov or Oct or some. I can't really recall.
ipporek
06-09-2008, 12:17 PM
Touch Pro out! Gotta make a choice liao... to wait or not to wait...
Computeron
07-09-2008, 11:31 AM
Touch Pro out! Gotta make a choice liao... to wait or not to wait...
i'll prefer X1 keyboard than Touch pro.
ipporek
07-09-2008, 07:29 PM
i'll prefer X1 keyboard than Touch pro.
I like the idea it's more spaced out too. But there's been a lot of negative comments about the keys apparently.
Computeron
07-09-2008, 11:16 PM
I like the idea it's more spaced out too. But there's been a lot of negative comments about the keys apparently.
such as? or link?
ipporek
08-09-2008, 12:40 AM
Oh, read the comments about the keyboard from forums (feedback and comments from people who either got to try out the test sets). Can't really remember the problem though. Was just hoping that in the actual set the issue would be fixed. And well, guess maybe ultimately is still better to wait for the X1 to be out and then compare it's keyboard against the Touch Pro's.
SeeNoEvil
08-09-2008, 10:41 AM
Touch Pro is definitely more high end compared to X1.
ipporek
08-09-2008, 11:56 AM
Touch Pro is definitely more high end compared to X1.
More high end? X1's supposed to be pushed out as a more premium product than Touch Pro leh (with it's metal casing and all that).
ipporek
08-09-2008, 02:54 PM
Well, perhaps might be able to get the answer to one of my questions myself. Saw someone's post in another forum and realized that the Omnia too has a 'non-standard' resolution. In fact, it's proportionate to X1's (half in fact).
Samsung i900 Omnia - 400 x 240 pixels, 3.2 inches
Samsung i780 - 320 x 320 pixels, 2.55 inches
Sony Ericsson XPERIA X1 - 800 x 480 pixels, 3.0 inches
LG KS20 - 320 x 240 pixels, 2.8 inches
HTC Touch Pro - 640 x 480 pixels, 2.8 inches
HTC Touch Diamond - 640 x 480 pixels, 2.8 inches
HTC Touch Cruise - 320 x 240 pixels, 2.8 inches
HTC Touch Dual - 320 x 240 pixels, 2.6 inches
HTC Touch - 320 x 240 pixels, 2.8 inches
HTC TyTN II - 320 x 240 pixels, 2.8 inches
HTC P3400i - 320 x 240 pixels, 2.8 inches
i-mate Ultimate 9502 - 640 x 480 pixels, 2.8 inches
i-mate Ultimate 8502 - 320 x 240 pixels, 2.6 inches
O2 Xda Atom Life - 320 x 240 pixels, 2.7 inches
Eten glofish X500+ - 640 x 480 pixels, 2.8 inches
ASUS P320 - 320 x 240 pixels, 2.6 inches
Asus M930 - 400 x 240 pixels, 2.6 inches
Palm Treo Pro - 320 x 320 pixels, 2.5 inches
BlackBerry Curve 8320 - 320 x 240 pixels
BlackBerry Pearl 8120 - 260 x 240 pixels
Most of the other phones seem to have either the standard 640x480 or 320x240 pixels resolution.
So would that mean that if an application can run properly on Omnia, it can run on the X1 too?
Anyway hoping for some more news about the X1 during SE's announcement tomorrow, though more likely any updates would be during the webcast next week.
Boner
08-09-2008, 05:41 PM
Hope XPERIA will not be a laggy as OMNIA!
Computeron
09-09-2008, 01:08 AM
More high end? X1's supposed to be pushed out as a more premium product than Touch Pro leh (with it's metal casing and all that).
think he is referring to the specs bah?
aditzz
09-09-2008, 04:39 AM
if u judge from looks, Xperia X1 def will look more hi-end. But Touch Pro has better (as in more complete) keyboard and accelerometer. Moreover, TouchFlo seems nice :D:D
ipporek
09-09-2008, 07:28 AM
It's been all this differences between the Touch Pro and X1 that has gotten me thinking and thinking which one to get, whether to get the Touch Pro now (before the price increases), or wait for the X1 to be out and do an actual comparison (and with hopes there's improvement in certain areas like the keyboard etc).
Had done this comparison:
X1:
* WVGA (this a pro or a con?)
* Larger screen (but 'non standard' screen size that might cause some apps to not work)
* 4 row and supposedly crappier keypad (though good in that the keys are more spaced out)
* 3.5mm audio jack (which doesn't matter to me)
* Better video playback (or am I wrong)
* Slightly thinner and lighter
* Higher capacity battery (1500 vs 1340 mAh for Touch Pro)
* Metal casing
* Possibility of SE splitting (meaning loss in support?)
Touch Pro
* VGA
* 'Standard' screen size that 3rd party apps are built for
* 5 row and supposedly better keypad
* TV out (doesn't quite matter to me either)
* Accelerometer (till now no confirmation whether X1 has)
* Higher RAM (288 vs 256MB in X1)
* Slightly smaller
* Plastic casing
* Larger support community (whether X1 will have one remains to be seen)
But ultimately still undecided. Lack of TV out and accelerometer I can live with. The 1 row less of keys that I can live with too (though till now I do kinda find the combination of a black casing and silver keypad weird). And the bigger size doesn't quite bother me (since it's only by a little and the X1 is thinner and lighter). Support community, there's always the possibility that it'll grow. But the issue about the crappy keyboard and possible incompatibility with 3rd party apps those I can't quite ignore though.
LittleFox
09-09-2008, 06:19 PM
Will be changing my tytn ii to this babe~ :D
KeijiGenesis
09-09-2008, 10:19 PM
:(i too like the X1....but the after sales support is definately a must, and this is SE first WM phone. Wonder the service center is experienced to handle it??
It's been all this differences between the Touch Pro and X1 that has gotten me thinking and thinking which one to get, whether to get the Touch Pro now (before the price increases), or wait for the X1 to be out and do an actual comparison (and with hopes there's improvement in certain areas like the keyboard etc).
Had done this comparison:
X1:
* WVGA (this a pro or a con?)
* Larger screen (but 'non standard' screen size that might cause some apps to not work)
* 4 row and supposedly crappier keypad (though good in that the keys are more spaced out)
* 3.5mm audio jack (which doesn't matter to me)
* Better video playback (or am I wrong)
* Slightly thinner and lighter
* Higher capacity battery (1500 vs 1340 mAh for Touch Pro)
* Metal casing
* Possibility of SE splitting (meaning loss in support?)
Touch Pro
* VGA
* 'Standard' screen size that 3rd party apps are built for
* 5 row and supposedly better keypad
* TV out (doesn't quite matter to me either)
* Accelerometer (till now no confirmation whether X1 has)
* Higher RAM (288 vs 256MB in X1)
* Slightly smaller
* Plastic casing
* Larger support community (whether X1 will have one remains to be seen)
But ultimately still undecided. Lack of TV out and accelerometer I can live with. The 1 row less of keys that I can live with too (though till now I do kinda find the combination of a black casing and silver keypad weird). And the bigger size doesn't quite bother me (since it's only by a little and the X1 is thinner and lighter). Support community, there's always the possibility that it'll grow. But the issue about the crappy keyboard and possible incompatibility with 3rd party apps those I can't quite ignore though.
chuazy
10-09-2008, 10:19 AM
Announce next Monday at 12pm Singapore time.
xecuter
10-09-2008, 10:51 AM
i sure love sony ericsson commercials, demo videos, etc2.. and now some thriller. lol. anyway, those interested for the countdown.
http://www.sonyericsson.com/premiere/
new screens from dailymobile.se
http://dailymobile.se/wp-content/uploads/2008/09/sonyericsson-x1-xperia-screenshot02.jpg
http://dailymobile.se/wp-content/uploads/2008/09/sonyericsson-x1-xperia-screenshot04.jpg
http://dailymobile.se/wp-content/uploads/2008/09/sonyericsson-x1-xperia-screenshot05.jpg
more here (http://dailymobile.se/2008/09/07/pictures-sony-ericsson-x1-xperia-screenshots/)
ipporek
10-09-2008, 03:59 PM
Sony Ericsson announces launch dates for Xperia(TM) X1 (http://www.ad-hoc-news.de/drucken.html?art_id=19480502)
Too bad not 30th September for us.
xecuter
10-09-2008, 04:08 PM
crap! why! why isnt sg part of the 30th sept launch! oh well. we still dont know the launch date for singapore. :(
rizal5150
10-09-2008, 06:16 PM
ya lor...haiz....hopefully by end of october release...
been waiting so long for this.
Vulpix
10-09-2008, 06:32 PM
SG is getting it on Sept 30th as well. :D
ipporek
10-09-2008, 07:05 PM
SG is getting it on Sept 30th as well. :D
Uh? What makes you say that?
Sony Ericsson today announces 30 September 2008 as the official launch date for the highly anticipated Xperia(TM) X1 - initially available to consumers in the UK, Germany and Sweden. The handset will be available in other markets across Europe, Asia and Latin America throughout Q4 2008.
Only mentioned that UK, Germany and Sweden will have it on 30 September 2008.
chuazy
11-09-2008, 09:28 AM
Full press release on Sony Ericsoon Website
http://www.sonyericsson.com/cws/corporate/press/pressreleases/pressreleasedetails/johnnyxfinal-20080910
billovee
12-09-2008, 02:39 PM
Wondering if you compare x1 vs samsung omnia.
daniel_83
14-09-2008, 10:05 PM
Which color do u guys prefer?
silver or black?
rizal5150
14-09-2008, 11:00 PM
silver or black?
silver is not bad. but definitely black for me. :D
bad news. it DOES NOT come with an accelerometer. at least according to this latest vid.
http://www.theunwired.net/?item=videoview-hands-on-with-sony-ericsson-s-latest-xperia-x1-built
aditzz
16-09-2008, 12:09 AM
yeah...SE has just missed one of the current trend feature of gadget -> accelerometer.
Vulpix
16-09-2008, 01:04 AM
yeah...SE has just missed one of the current trend feature of gadget -> accelerometer.
Accelerometers are overrated. X1 change orientation just need to flick the keyboard.
aditzz
16-09-2008, 01:13 AM
Yeap...orientation can be changed by just flicking the keyboard. But with the addition of an accelerometer, more variety of games or softwares can be played. For ex. by shaking the phone, we can shuffle songs (Apple nano's feature).
Snoopy_
16-09-2008, 01:15 AM
silver or black?
prefer black
kennerv
16-09-2008, 12:40 PM
how important is the accelerometer actually? it would b a slight disappointment as they initially announced it to have the accelerometer for screen orientation. Hopefully the final product will have it.
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.