PDA

View Full Version : Phingo Talk Trial Expiring

apengrg
24-02-2008, 06:48 PM
Anyone still using it after trial expiried? Worth paying for the service? I personally feel it is still not very reliable to be a paid service. Many a time cant call out or someone called and not diverted.

liangtam
24-02-2008, 07:07 PM
Long ago expired and on complimentary basic plan.
Call out issue is UDP connection issue bah.

eddy2099sg
24-02-2008, 07:24 PM
I did not renew after the complimentary plan expired. Did not think it was worth the money.

megaweb
24-02-2008, 10:28 PM
na .. me either ... no interested in paid service.

apengrg
25-02-2008, 12:44 PM
Yah, same sentiment. But nice to hv a soft phone that can call local fix or mobile line. Any alternatives.

SNAG
25-02-2008, 01:57 PM
Actually, I think this service is a godsend for those users who are overseas - I definitely used it a lot when I was overseas last year.

seowbin
25-02-2008, 02:13 PM
it's nice lar when pair with a voip phone + 3.5g service..woohoo..

i using basic plan, 1c per min :s13:

hangyong
25-02-2008, 05:19 PM
Actually, I think this service is a godsend for those users who are overseas - I definitely used it a lot when I was overseas last year.

that was when its free....

now that they start charging, its not that attractive anymore... even with a month fee of $5.30 for the next 18months, its still rather expensive, in some sense.

And even if we go with the basic plan of $0.01/min, and free subscription for the next 12 months, its still rather expensive, in a long run.

I have since switched to pennytel, where calling to Singapore is A$0.08 (or S$0.10) and talk all I want.

That is if you travel like me, approx once per month, and make about a call of about 15mins each day, each trip lasting about 3-5 days.

pennytel would have cost me $0.10x5=$0.50
Pfingo would have cost me $0.01x15x5=$0.75
Pfingo Pro would have cost me $5.30

of course, am talking about overseas calls or calling back to Singaporeonly lah... not considering local calls.

Pennytel can call USA/China/Canada/Australia/Singapore for $0.10 and talk for as long as you like, and this is something Pfingo cannot fight in terms of price... and I need to call these countries very often.

However, I have to agree that its godsent when it was on trial and free.

liangtam
25-02-2008, 06:25 PM
going run my credit dry and not pay starhub any single cent for the poor cust/tech service rendered.

seowbin
25-02-2008, 06:48 PM
hangyong : pennytel's sip server ish what address arh? wanna ping ping it to see lag bo :D

anyway, how's the quality? good?

spell
25-02-2008, 08:30 PM
mine expired few weeks ago too & did not renew. The only saving grace is their 3 series no whereby your contacts could call you back. Other that that, there are alternatives like voipcheap/voipstunt that allows you to call land/mobile lines in SG.

liangtam
25-02-2008, 08:58 PM
VoIP cheap, stunt and the derivative resell UK companies is not free leh, u nid to topup money from time to time.

spell
25-02-2008, 09:22 PM
VoIP cheap, stunt and the derivative resell UK companies is not free leh, u nid to topup money from time to time.

but i've been using voipcheap/stunt to call SG mobile/land lines when i'm overseas, so far is FOC leh.

hangyong
25-02-2008, 10:56 PM
hangyong : pennytel's sip server ish what address arh? wanna ping ping it to see lag bo :D

anyway, how's the quality? good?

sip.pennytel.com

quality good... better than gizmoproject

hangyong
25-02-2008, 11:00 PM
but i've been using voipcheap/stunt to call SG mobile/land lines when i'm overseas, so far is FOC leh.

cannot be bah....

VoIP Stunt:

Not only can you call your online friends for free, VoipStunt also offers free* calls to any regular land-line in various popular destinations (see panel).

To counter misuse of our network we have limited these free* calls for our trial users. If you want to enjoy longer free* calls to these destinations, just top up your account by buying credit.
VoipStunt Freedays

Buying credit entitles you to 120 Freedays (unless stated otherwise). This means you can call all countries marked as "Free" in our rates list for a period of 120 days at no costs. When the 120 days are over, the normal rate will be charged for these destinations. You can get more Freedays by topping up your account with credit.
Fair Use and Restrictions

New users can try VoipStunt out for free for a total of 60 minutes. During this trial period you can only call the destinations marked as free. Register your account by buying credit in order to extend your free calls.

Registered users get max 300 minutes per week of free calls, measured over the last 7 days and per unique IP address. Unused free minutes cannot be taken to the following week(s). If limit is exceeded the normal rates apply. During your Freedays you can call all destinations listed as "Free" for free. When you have run out of Freedays, the normal rates apply. You can get new Freedays by buying credit.

skysky3110
24-01-2009, 01:42 AM
hi bro

which plan u using for pennytel, a few of their plans seems very attractive. also which phone u using? does it make a different in voice quality for diff type of phone use? i dun mind getting a iphone if it is better interm of better menu selection or clarity. :s12:

sip.pennytel.com

quality good... better than gizmoproject

Obviouz
24-01-2009, 01:57 AM
pfingo not bad la. good to use. but then, they never really go all out, their services are really bad...

liangtam
24-01-2009, 02:35 AM
what has an iphone got to do with whether u get better quality or not?

hangyong
24-01-2009, 08:13 AM
hi bro

which plan u using for pennytel, a few of their plans seems very attractive. also which phone u using? does it make a different in voice quality for diff type of phone use? i dun mind getting a iphone if it is better interm of better menu selection or clarity. :s12:

for mobile, I am usingthe TyTNII. For home, I am using the Siemens S450IP.

You can also use its call back service to call any numbers in the world, but you will be charge for both legs of the call.

quality wise, its not that bad.

ab_cat
24-01-2009, 02:25 PM
my a/c also expiring soon. Seldom use it leh, just that I use it to divert my phone to pfingo voice mail service. dun think will extend.

skysky3110
25-01-2009, 01:46 AM
for mobile, I am usingthe TyTNII. For home, I am using the Siemens S450IP.

You can also use its call back service to call any numbers in the world, but you will be charge for both legs of the call.

quality wise, its not that bad.

make a fast check online, reviews seems bad. cancellation of service also quite troublesome it seems. quality is ok for u, is it ? are u using the monthly $5 plan ?

hangyong
25-01-2009, 09:45 AM
make a fast check online, reviews seems bad. cancellation of service also quite troublesome it seems. quality is ok for u, is it ? are u using the monthly $5 plan ?

their service is good, but technical support is pretty crappy.

But I have not had problems with them other than 1 billing incident. where they overcharged same call twice.

instead of crediting $0.08 back to me, they credited $0.10 after that...

personally, I am using the Free Access Untimed. I came from the old school plan, so I had the free land number other than the pennytel number.

And yes, I am very very happy with the call quality.