View Full Version : Cruise To Penang & Phuket
blueberry_berry
02-03-2008, 09:23 PM
Anybody been cruise to Penang & Phuket b4? :s8:
blueberry_berry
04-03-2008, 12:16 PM
Nobody went to Penang & Phuket trip b4 by cruise???
dleodleo
05-03-2008, 01:26 PM
I ever went with star virgo. Wat u like to know? Just fyi star virgo will not be in singapore by end march. Star Aquaries will be back. The itineries will be different, no more 2 nites cruise and 3 nites cruse during weekdays. Only 4 nites cruise and 1 nite cruise if i'm not wrong.
legacy_gt
06-03-2008, 09:21 AM
what would you like to know ?
blueberry_berry
08-03-2008, 09:07 PM
I ever went with star virgo. Wat u like to know? Just fyi star virgo will not be in singapore by end march. Star Aquaries will be back. The itineries will be different, no more 2 nites cruise and 3 nites cruse during weekdays. Only 4 nites cruise and 1 nite cruise if i'm not wrong.
Actually, i've already booked my 5D4N cruise to Penang & phuket during next mth.
Just wanna to check whether if Star Aquarius cruise do hv a mini fridge inside the cabin bedrm. Just wondering cos intend to buy a small cake for celebration of birthday during the trip there.
Btw, check wif u on the difference between Star Virgo & Star Aquarius. Any difference on these 2 ships?
legacy_gt
10-03-2008, 11:43 AM
don't think there's any mini fridge in room.
aquarius is bigger. more people, more crowded...
dleodleo
10-03-2008, 02:31 PM
No lah. Virgo is bigger and newer than Aquaries. For more info on facilities and etc, pls refer to their website.
blueberry_berry
10-03-2008, 09:08 PM
don't think there's any mini fridge in room.
aquarius is bigger. more people, more crowded...
I've heard from 1 of my fren said that there sure got mini fridge in the room leh. Anybody knw???
rasserie
12-03-2008, 11:59 AM
Actually, i've already booked my 5D4N cruise to Penang & phuket during next mth.
Just wanna to check whether if Star Aquarius cruise do hv a mini fridge inside the cabin bedrm. Just wondering cos intend to buy a small cake for celebration of birthday during the trip there.
Btw, check wif u on the difference between Star Virgo & Star Aquarius. Any difference on these 2 ships?
most ppl prefer the virgo than the aquarius. but the aquarius is a casino ship if im not wrong.
legacy_gt
12-03-2008, 11:21 PM
No lah. Virgo is bigger and newer than Aquaries. For more info on facilities and etc, pls refer to their website.
opps my mistake ;) Maybe that time i was still young that why's seems bigger :D
anyway, both has casino...
n2btg
15-03-2008, 09:56 AM
I went Penang and Phuket on Star Virgo, quite nice. The ship is big enough not to feel over crowded. My opinion first night is the best, poolside BBQ - lots of nice food, especially like the fried hokkien noodles.
Penang you have to be transported to land by small boats, very well organised I must say. I took the free & easy - shopping at few shopping centres. Nothing to buy really except if you want pirated DVDs
Phuket is by the dock then transport to Phuket seaside. Ofcourse you can join other fancy organised tours but you have to pay extra.
Tips:
For captain's night dinner you have to book early which restaurant you want to eat. Lots of kiasu people will queue very early to book the better restaurants the moment they board the cruise. Join them if you want! :-)
Make sure you use up your free credits as there will be no refund. Which I did the last time was go to the bar at last day and exchange them for bottles of wine and bring home.
Land tours, make sure you be kiasu and book early as well otherwise you will be jammed up at the back of the queue when they transport you.
blueberry_berry
16-03-2008, 12:18 PM
most ppl prefer the virgo than the aquarius. but the aquarius is a casino ship if im not wrong.
As which type of cruise ppls will prefer, this one, im not very sure of it liao.
Both Star Virgo & Star Aquarius cruise aso got casino.
blueberry_berry
16-03-2008, 12:30 PM
I went Penang and Phuket on Star Virgo, quite nice. The ship is big enough not to feel over crowded. My opinion first night is the best, poolside BBQ - lots of nice food, especially like the fried hokkien noodles.
Penang you have to be transported to land by small boats, very well organised I must say. I took the free & easy - shopping at few shopping centres. Nothing to buy really except if you want pirated DVDs
Phuket is by the dock then transport to Phuket seaside. Ofcourse you can join other fancy organised tours but you have to pay extra.
Tips:
For captain's night dinner you have to book early which restaurant you want to eat. Lots of kiasu people will queue very early to book the better restaurants the moment they board the cruise. Join them if you want! :-)
Make sure you use up your free credits as there will be no refund. Which I did the last time was go to the bar at last day and exchange them for bottles of wine and bring home.
Land tours, make sure you be kiasu and book early as well otherwise you will be jammed up at the back of the queue when they transport you.
When was the time that u went to this trip?
Do u mean that if the cruise were to reach Penang, there won't hv a place to dock the ship & we will need to be transferred to those small boats & they will send us to the land??? Regarding abt those optional tours, i've already in mind which tour to take up from. We decided to go Queensbay Mall, Prangin Mall & Komtar Mall. As what i've gained much infos from my god sis, she mentioned that these 3 shopping malls r not in the same area. So most likely, we will just go to Prangin Mall & Komtar Mall as the things there will be much more cheaper as whereby Queensbay Mall is like our Spore - Vivo City like that. im aso thking of buying some DVDs back but not sure whether we can get some back or not. Dunno whether the custom side will check us.
As for Phuket side, we've aso decided to take up another optional tour as well. We will choose to go to Patong beach area & some of the shops that they will bring us around too + include lunch.
Thks for ur infos abt being more kiasu to book early for the optional tour & better restaurants when board the cruise.
By the way, u r saying on the free credits as there will be no refund. Can I check wif u what is this all abt on the free credits? ;)
Dr.Vijay
16-03-2008, 01:06 PM
Yes, the ship is too big to berth at the dock. So it's anchored offshore and they'll use the ship's own mini boats to transfer people to and fro. Well conducted, no issues.
As for the optional tours, keep a tab on what you would like to do, but check when you're onboard to ensure those tours are running, cos there could be changes to the availability to optional tours - sometimes.
Thosre free credits are the Dining Credits. They can be used to enjoy other paid-restaurents. Forgot the value given. But Balcony-class folks are given a decent amount - which I didn't finish using the last time.
When was the time that u went to this trip?
Do u mean that if the cruise were to reach Penang, there won't hv a place to dock the ship & we will need to be transferred to those small boats & they will send us to the land??? Regarding abt those optional tours, i've already in mind which tour to take up from. We decided to go Queensbay Mall, Prangin Mall & Komtar Mall. As what i've gained much infos from my god sis, she mentioned that these 3 shopping malls r not in the same area. So most likely, we will just go to Prangin Mall & Komtar Mall as the things there will be much more cheaper as whereby Queensbay Mall is like our Spore - Vivo City like that. im aso thking of buying some DVDs back but not sure whether we can get some back or not. Dunno whether the custom side will check us.
As for Phuket side, we've aso decided to take up another optional tour as well. We will choose to go to Patong beach area & some of the shops that they will bring us around too + include lunch.
Thks for ur infos abt being more kiasu to book early for the optional tour & better restaurants when board the cruise.
By the way, u r saying on the free credits as there will be no refund. Can I check wif u what is this all abt on the free credits? ;)
Dr.Vijay
16-03-2008, 01:07 PM
haha... very true. Many things appear bigger than usual when we're young; revist the same place later and it doesn't appear to be the same anymore :s22:
opps my mistake ;) Maybe that time i was still young that why's seems bigger :D
anyway, both has casino...
Dr.Vijay
16-03-2008, 01:10 PM
i can't recall.... though my wife says there was. :s22:
I've heard from 1 of my fren said that there sure got mini fridge in the room leh. Anybody knw???
Dr.Vijay
16-03-2008, 01:14 PM
Virgo is roughly 30% to 40% larger.
When the ships are bigger, they get to have more features, services, options available for their passengers than the smaller ships and if you do try a variety of ships, you'll realize the differences. Plus, bigger ships are usually more grand.
However, if you're mainly interested in the port of calls and just the feeling/fun of being out in the ocean, then it doesn't matter which ship you take :)
blueberry_berry
16-03-2008, 05:55 PM
Yes, the ship is too big to berth at the dock. So it's anchored offshore and they'll use the ship's own mini boats to transfer people to and fro. Well conducted, no issues.
As for the optional tours, keep a tab on what you would like to do, but check when you're onboard to ensure those tours are running, cos there could be changes to the availability to optional tours - sometimes.
Thosre free credits are the Dining Credits. They can be used to enjoy other paid-restaurents. Forgot the value given. But Balcony-class folks are given a decent amount - which I didn't finish using the last time.
ic...ic...dunno whether does the ship apply to Penang & Phuket as well to anchore offshore & will transfer ppls to & fro???
FYI...i've booked my cruise under Superior Oceanview Stateroom with window under CA session. im not sure whether i will get any dining credits or how much credits or not.
blueberry_berry
16-03-2008, 05:59 PM
i can't recall.... though my wife says there was. :s22:
One of my fren just came back last week from Star Virgo cruise (cruise to nowhere) & tot me that this ship dun hv any mini fridge in her cabin at all.
blueberry_berry
16-03-2008, 06:03 PM
Virgo is roughly 30% to 40% larger.
When the ships are bigger, they get to have more features, services, options available for their passengers than the smaller ships and if you do try a variety of ships, you'll realize the differences. Plus, bigger ships are usually more grand.
However, if you're mainly interested in the port of calls and just the feeling/fun of being out in the ocean, then it doesn't matter which ship you take :)
Actually, i dun mind the ship is bigger or smaller. Talking abt the facilities, it does not really interest me as i got more or less faciliites in my home now. I just wish to land on the place that i wanna to go to for relax.
Dr.Vijay
17-03-2008, 12:16 PM
Hmmz.. Phuket was definitely off-shore.
Penang should be berth-able.
ic...ic...dunno whether does the ship apply to Penang & Phuket as well to anchore offshore & will transfer ppls to & fro???
blueberry_berry
19-03-2008, 10:28 AM
Hmmz.. Phuket was definitely off-shore.
Penang should be berth-able.
ic...Hv u went by cruise b4 to Penang & Phuket?
legacy_gt
20-03-2008, 01:55 PM
the last time i went to Phuket via Virgo, it was already evening when the ship docked (off shore) then we transfer to a smaller boat to go to main land. Then took a bus to phuket itself. The whole transfer took about 2 ~ 3 hours. Personally I think it's not worth it, but stay on board also quite boring :)
blueberry_berry
20-03-2008, 10:20 PM
the last time i went to Phuket via Virgo, it was already evening when the ship docked (off shore) then we transfer to a smaller boat to go to main land. Then took a bus to phuket itself. The whole transfer took about 2 ~ 3 hours. Personally I think it's not worth it, but stay on board also quite boring :)
ic...since if transfered to a smaller boat to go to main land. How many ppls in the small boat itself? How did u take the bus to phuket? Where did u take the bus from? Where did u go to?
legacy_gt
24-03-2008, 12:00 AM
wow... that was years ago lei, the "small boat" can take about 30 ~ 40 if i remember correctly :) anyway, we bought the "package" on board so the bus is taken care of, took us into one of their night markets for a couple of hours.
my friends and i were actually getting sick on board so decided to get off, but the "small boat" actually make it worse :D then the hour long bumpy bus into the town really made me green...
blueberry_berry
24-03-2008, 12:27 PM
wow... that was years ago lei, the "small boat" can take about 30 ~ 40 if i remember correctly :) anyway, we bought the "package" on board so the bus is taken care of, took us into one of their night markets for a couple of hours.
my friends and i were actually getting sick on board so decided to get off, but the "small boat" actually make it worse :D then the hour long bumpy bus into the town really made me green...
The "small boat" really so jialat meh??? :s31:Dun scared me leh...
Which cruise did u take last time? Was it expensive that time?
Since u aso bought the "package" on board, which of the night market did u go to?
legacy_gt
24-03-2008, 03:25 PM
The "small boat" really so jialat meh??? :s31:Dun scared me leh...
Which cruise did u take last time? Was it expensive that time?
Since u aso bought the "package" on board, which of the night market did u go to?
it was more than 5 years ago, can't remember much also :D no idea at all which market.
it was virgo, 2 to a room, price is around $500 per pax. expensive for a poly student that time =:p
maybe that time the tide wasn't too friendly on us, my memories were "quite jialat". but you can get to "dry land" after so many hours on the ship,
the time at the market also not 3 not 4, go far not enough time, stay there walk finish liao nothing much also. it was night time by the way, so can forget about having fun at the beach.
blueberry_berry
25-03-2008, 08:09 PM
it was more than 5 years ago, can't remember much also :D no idea at all which market.
it was virgo, 2 to a room, price is around $500 per pax. expensive for a poly student that time =:p
maybe that time the tide wasn't too friendly on us, my memories were "quite jialat". but you can get to "dry land" after so many hours on the ship,
the time at the market also not 3 not 4, go far not enough time, stay there walk finish liao nothing much also. it was night time by the way, so can forget about having fun at the beach.
oic...btw, can u still rememebered that Star Virgo cruise got any mini fridge inside the cabin or nt?
legacy_gt
25-03-2008, 08:12 PM
oic...btw, can u still rememebered that Star Virgo cruise got any mini fridge inside the cabin or nt?
:D sorry, really can't remember...
blueberry_berry
26-03-2008, 11:47 AM
:D sorry, really can't remember...
ic...den nv mind lor....
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.