View Full Version : Samsung G400 Soul
kokshen159
06-03-2008, 04:49 AM
Here comes the dual-screen clamshell of Samsung's SOUL... the G400! Featuring 2 screens (external + internal) of 2.22" and supporting up to 262k colours. Only external one is touchscreen, i supposed.
This will be a good alternative if u, as a clamshell-phone lover, are looking at the U900 Soul.
Flash is not xenon however...
Anyone interested?
For specifications: pls visit Samsung's G400 Soul (http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_g400_soul-2314.php)
http://i.gsmarena.com/vv/newsimg/08/03/samsung-g400/gsmarena_001.jpg
http://i.gsmarena.com/vv/newsimg/08/03/samsung-g400/gsmarena_004.jpg
kokshen159
06-03-2008, 04:51 AM
2 similar screens in a phone...
hmmmm battery juice enough?
Da_Vinci
06-03-2008, 06:55 AM
design looks decent.
mechiavellian
06-03-2008, 09:45 AM
such a beauty!
kokshen159
07-03-2008, 02:29 AM
This is a very good phone for taking 5mp self-potrait when it is flip-opened.. zi-pai!
Guyver02
07-03-2008, 07:03 PM
no optical zoom... NEXT!
kokshen159
08-03-2008, 09:43 PM
anymore interested?
i think got to see e actual phone photos so to attract more pple....
kokshen159
10-03-2008, 02:48 AM
up for SAMSUNG high end clamshell phone!
Evoluti0n11
11-03-2008, 07:46 AM
nice~~ the d-pad oso same as the u900?
kokshen159
11-03-2008, 01:36 PM
nice~~ the d-pad oso same as the u900?
dun think so...shld be the traditional type of navi pad. touchscreen is the external scrn only..
limitedde
13-03-2008, 09:55 AM
finally a high-end and non-touch sensitive phone (not including the external). i always like samsung 3G interface phone. but they always offer touch-sensitive buttons or a big size model like U700 and G800. finally a decent one. hope the buttons are user-friendly.
brownpaper2
14-03-2008, 06:12 PM
Is it out in Singapore?
How much is it?
inxlee
14-03-2008, 08:13 PM
looks nice for business use:)
xav_email
09-06-2008, 11:53 PM
definately gng to get one, is it launching ? price ?
Firestone
27-06-2008, 11:52 PM
very @#$%^ big in size omg.. i thought Z720 is bad enough.. this one takes the cake!
lunasonata
28-06-2008, 11:59 AM
very @#$%^ big in size omg.. i thought Z720 is bad enough.. this one takes the cake!
haha how fat is it? fatter than g810?
Firestone
30-06-2008, 09:28 AM
haha how fat is it? fatter than g810?
G810
Dimensions 103 x 52.9 x 17.9 mm
Weight 139 g
G400
Dimensions 102.8 x 51.5 x 15.2 mm
Weight 107.8 g
Z560
Dimensions 97.3 x 51.3 x 16 mm
Weight 94 g
Mugen
16-09-2008, 10:48 PM
Might plan to get it since long time never use clamsell liao. :)
But the price really turn off leh. 400.00 EUR = 813.845 SGD!
extricate
27-09-2008, 01:19 AM
anyone know whether this phone will be out?
mrslam
28-09-2008, 04:24 PM
i'm a clamshell lover!
any idea when this hp will be out???
i'm planning to buy! :)
Mugen
02-10-2008, 05:20 PM
i'm a clamshell lover!
any idea when this hp will be out???
i'm planning to buy! :)
Heard it will be out this month.
felialvin
11-10-2008, 12:26 AM
hey this phone is out already!!!
mobilesquare selling for 668 and iposh selling at 638...
anyone know how much is it with 2yrs plan?
cant wait to use this phone! :s12:
jjaks
11-10-2008, 09:38 AM
Its $348 for M1 and $368 with Starhub normal plans.
mrslam
11-10-2008, 07:03 PM
i went to m1 to see already! but now all available is in mirror black colour... i prefer the metallic finish... don't know when it's coming out. :(
felialvin
11-10-2008, 08:20 PM
huh? there is 2 colour? i thought only one???
mrslam
11-10-2008, 11:44 PM
i think got 2 colours... actually i almost wanted to buy today... but the m1 ger told me now only has this metallic black colour... she say she also wanted to buy this model, with metallic silver. in fact, the photos we seen so far is the silver color... not the black.
i wonder if they will release the sivler color edition.
Jumpman23
11-10-2008, 11:54 PM
I just got the phone today. Mirror black colour.
Very good built quality & finish. :D
mrslam
12-10-2008, 01:56 AM
do review! hahaha... i dunno if i wanna wait for the other colour to be released!
felialvin
12-10-2008, 02:51 AM
wau!!! eh someone post the black version one leh... i want to seee...... put both la then we compare!!! hahaa...
jumpman23: do review for the phone!!! thanks!! is the speaker loud n clear?!?!?
AlphaAV
12-10-2008, 06:44 AM
http://img180.imageshack.us/img180/32/03ls3.jpg
wat ish tis color?
not metallic blue ba...
Jumpman23
12-10-2008, 10:00 AM
First impressions:
- Phone's dimensions are slightly on the large side but I like it cos it feels more sturdy
- Ringtone is nice and loud in contrast to U900
- Keypad has good tactile feedback
- Camera is quick to shoot
If you guys have any questions just ask I will try to answer! ;)
sugarkittyx
12-10-2008, 10:47 AM
should i wait for telco prices to drop further? hmmm. since its the first week of release.
been looking forward since september.
i wonder if there are more colours, since gsmarena said it was only in silver but turns out there's black too!
anyway black's really cool, something different from the traditional silver for the soul series.
even if i only had the choice between black and silver i'll find it hard to make up my mind!
for me, its the external touch screen display that won me over. omgs so pretty, after i saw gsmarena's review.
mrslam
12-10-2008, 12:50 PM
i have been waiting since like end of aug? i need to see how silver looks like first? then do a comparison. maybe til then, prices will drop too.
mrslam
12-10-2008, 12:53 PM
how's the photos quality? when u flip open, able to self-portrait right? that will be in 5mp resolution too?
felialvin
12-10-2008, 02:03 PM
http://img180.imageshack.us/img180/32/03ls3.jpg
wat ish tis color?
not metallic blue ba...
wau!!!!! ya it look like metallic blue!!! OMG!!! i want!!! i want!!!!
i guess this phone is like mitsubishi M900 if anyone of u know which model is it... quite sometime ago..
jumpman23: is everytime user friendly??? because i have been using sony ericsson for very long already... the last time i use samsung phone was 2yrs ago with Z540... u tried the video call already??
felialvin
12-10-2008, 02:13 PM
http://pocketgames.jp/blog/wp-content/uploads/2008/samsung-g400-1.jpg
http://static.mobime.ru/news/2008/03/05/samsung-g400-soul-clamshell.jpg
i found the gold online!!! but i think probably the best now is still black!! or if really have metallic blue...
Jumpman23
12-10-2008, 06:19 PM
This phone should have 4 colours eventually: black, silver, gold & blue.
Menu is user friendly enuff. I've been using Nokia & SE most of the time and I dun find it hard to use at all.
Photo quality is excellent, of cos not the same level as N82 or innov8 but it's good enuff. When u open the flip u can take self potrait.
crayon99
12-10-2008, 10:40 PM
according to the brochure, the 4 colours are Mirror Black, Titanium Silver, Luxury Gold and Romantic Pink. Not sure which colours will be in though...
btw, is there any screen protector available in the market? wan to buy but need protection for the touch screen first. scared kenna scratch.
sugarkittyx
12-10-2008, 11:18 PM
omgggggg are you serious about pink??
sorry damn bimbo but i'm horribly excited now.
felialvin
12-10-2008, 11:51 PM
yeah i saw the brochure just now too... black, silver, gold and pink... i dun think the pink nice leh... i think black still the best lor... i just asked the samsung staff... she said they also not sure if other colour will be coming in... right now all operators only selling black.... yeah... I CANT WAIT LE! I SHALL GET IT SOON!!! i just play with it... jumpman23 is right... its quite user friendly... but i find the screen abit too small for such a big phone... ya... only 2.2inch... should at least 2.5inch man! the speaker is DAMM POWER!! haha
PoshPosh
13-10-2008, 12:42 AM
I would personally strongly recommend G400 if you're a clamshell lover! Totally in luv with it! :D
kyocraze
13-10-2008, 10:06 AM
wooo.... finally out, have been waiting for more than half a year....
can just check
- is the sms tone customisable? if yes, what format? I hope it is not restricted to .mid files.
- how's the sms texting? i understand that U700 and J750 and some others quite a "retard".
have to go in and out quite a few times.
for those with brochures, possible to scan all the stated colours?
Jumpman23
13-10-2008, 10:52 AM
wooo.... finally out, have been waiting for more than half a year....
can just check
- is the sms tone customisable? if yes, what format? I hope it is not restricted to .mid files.
- how's the sms texting? i understand that U700 and J750 and some others quite a "retard".
have to go in and out quite a few times.
for those with brochures, possible to scan all the stated colours?
SMS tone can be customised: mp3 or aac no prob
For texting what do u mean by have to go in and out?
frankman
13-10-2008, 02:31 PM
Can any user post some photo taken by this phone in the day and night, thanks in advance.
kyocraze
13-10-2008, 06:51 PM
SMS tone can be customised: mp3 or aac no prob
For texting what do u mean by have to go in and out?
thanks for replying my 1st question.
and as for the 2nd one, i will give an example,
i want to send a SMS. I will go to messages-> create message->text message (not sure is this the same for all samsung phones, but so far, i have been using 3 different models, it is around the same procedure)
Then i will text my message. After which, i will send the message.
Once the message is being send. I am not be able to stay in the Message menu. I am being brought to the main menu. Quite troublesome when you want to delete messages. Cos when you want to delete some other messages as well, you have to go into the Inbox of the Messages menu again. Therefore, i called this "go in and out". :p
Same applies to replying messages.
Hope you got what i mean. Difficult to express in words... kekekeke
AlphaAV
13-10-2008, 08:30 PM
wau!!!!! ya it look like metallic blue!!! OMG!!! i want!!! i want!!!!
i guess this phone is like mitsubishi M900 if anyone of u know which model is it... quite sometime ago..
jumpman23: is everytime user friendly??? because i have been using sony ericsson for very long already... the last time i use samsung phone was 2yrs ago with Z540... u tried the video call already??
i guess it's a reflection of teh sky ba
since it's seems like only got 4 colors nia
Jumpman23
13-10-2008, 10:30 PM
thanks for replying my 1st question.
and as for the 2nd one, i will give an example,
i want to send a SMS. I will go to messages-> create message->text message (not sure is this the same for all samsung phones, but so far, i have been using 3 different models, it is around the same procedure)
Then i will text my message. After which, i will send the message.
Once the message is being send. I am not be able to stay in the Message menu. I am being brought to the main menu. Quite troublesome when you want to delete messages. Cos when you want to delete some other messages as well, you have to go into the Inbox of the Messages menu again. Therefore, i called this "go in and out". :p
Same applies to replying messages.
Hope you got what i mean. Difficult to express in words... kekekeke
Just tested the following 3 procedures:
1. Compose and send out new message -> stays in message menu
2. Delete message -> stays in message menu, can continue to delete other messages
3. Replying message -> stays in message menu after message is sent
Exception: if u configure "create new message" as one of the directional key shortcut in the standby screen, after message is sent out u will return back to the main screen.
crayon99
13-10-2008, 11:43 PM
hi, did you get any screen protector for the touchscreen? is it available?
kyocraze
14-10-2008, 07:28 AM
jumpman23, thanks for testing and replying my question.
Really thanks alot.
But, heee... can i ask a few more?
a) any idea what is the internal built in memory for this phone?
b) for the video, is there a limit duration of video taking? my current samsung hp has, only allow a certain time range.
c) understand there's telcom name on the hp, possible to "remove" it?
d) is the external screen for navigating thru the menu very sensitive or kekeke - retarded?
e) have u tried taking photos at night? clear and precise?
This is just for hp beautiful sake - can it hold hp strap or ornaments? cos my current one cannot. kekekeke...
sorry... ask too much...
Jumpman23
14-10-2008, 09:49 AM
jumpman23, thanks for testing and replying my question.
Really thanks alot.
But, heee... can i ask a few more?
a) any idea what is the internal built in memory for this phone?
b) for the video, is there a limit duration of video taking? my current samsung hp has, only allow a certain time range.
c) understand there's telcom name on the hp, possible to "remove" it?
d) is the external screen for navigating thru the menu very sensitive or kekeke - retarded?
e) have u tried taking photos at night? clear and precise?
This is just for hp beautiful sake - can it hold hp strap or ornaments? cos my current one cannot. kekekeke...
sorry... ask too much...
No worries, will try to help wherever I can.
a. Internal mem: 120MB
b. 1hr QVGA video recording
c. Haven't found any way to hide telco name yet ;)
d. Not iphone responsive but difintely not laggy as well, can adjust haptic feedback level on outer screen
e. Need to test night shots
f. Got lanyard loop at the hinge (similar to motorola v8/v9)
mrslam
14-10-2008, 01:27 PM
arghhh. i'm super gian. think i will go down and buy later! haha
kyocraze
14-10-2008, 02:48 PM
thanks jumpman23.
wooo... u have answered all my questions....
thanks... really thanks....
have taken some of your time... so paiseh...
sugarkittyx
14-10-2008, 06:04 PM
does the brochure have a picture of the pink one?
i cant find one online, cant decide if i should wait for the pink one or just get the black one...
super gian also!
crayon99
14-10-2008, 10:50 PM
To know how the pink looks like, you can access:
http://euroset.ru/catalog/mobile/phones/samsung/-/samsung-sgh-400-romantic-pink/
personally, i think its too pink and most prob will settle for mirror black. Jus hope that the market has the screen protector for the touchscreen before buying.
sugarkittyx
14-10-2008, 11:59 PM
To know how the pink looks like, you can access:
http://euroset.ru/catalog/mobile/phones/samsung/-/samsung-sgh-400-romantic-pink/
personally, i think its too pink and most prob will settle for mirror black. Jus hope that the market has the screen protector for the touchscreen before buying.
yeah it really looks like barbie phone. but yet kinda cute.
ahhh.. i think i shall wait for the pink one after all.
mrslam
15-10-2008, 01:23 PM
jumpman: u managed to find any screen protector?
i bought the hp ytdy afternoon! hahha... loving it man...
hey but the ringtone like not v loud??? hmm...
felialvin
17-10-2008, 12:54 AM
any problem with transferring contact number from .vcf files?? cuz i wonder how am i gonna transfer all my phone contacts from my sony ericsson phone to samsung... and i got 800 contacts n my sim card only can store 500...
Mugen
17-10-2008, 02:48 AM
The price w/o contract drop very fast leh. Last week check on MS selling at $688, yesterday dropped to $638 then now I check again dropped to $610?? :s22:
I'm holding on my horse for it drop further....
Anyone bought the G400 from M1?
Can I check if the G400 firmware is the original factory version or has it been customized for M1?
Wanted to get one, but was afraid that the firmware will come with unremovable MiWorld shortcut, and tacky orange colours.
Would appreciate your help.
felialvin
18-10-2008, 12:07 AM
The price w/o contract drop very fast leh. Last week check on MS selling at $688, yesterday dropped to $638 then now I check again dropped to $610?? :s22:
I'm holding on my horse for it drop further....
wow mugen u are right... the price really drop fast... i hope i can get it with plan at lower price too!!! UPDATE HERE OK! :s13:
hello_gladyz
19-10-2008, 05:07 PM
can someone inform me when the pink one comes out? i really cant wait le.. so love it
Mugen
22-10-2008, 11:29 AM
Price going down again at MS for $608 now. :D wait wait wait...... was hoping to see new colors coming in soon.....
felialvin
22-10-2008, 09:13 PM
Hey Jumpman23,
can i ask u.... can assign photo to the contact right??? then when the person call, the photo will it display on the external screen??? is it full size or just a small part of the screen is displayed???? thanks :)
Mugen
24-10-2008, 02:34 PM
Update again, price is now $598 at MS! :s31:
felialvin
24-10-2008, 10:36 PM
wat the!!!!!! hahahaha they every 3 days drop $10!!!!
AlphaAV
06-11-2008, 12:45 AM
no more updates?
KingHenryXIV
07-11-2008, 01:21 PM
Hi
Any feedback on call quality, battery life? Anyone encounter any hang or lag issues?
venuscat
12-11-2008, 05:11 PM
hi ppl~
would like to know is there video flash? as in able to video in dark places witht he flash light on?
and any limit on the duration on the sms mp3 ringtone? like some phones is like 5 sec nia.
duntellmi
13-11-2008, 11:49 AM
Hi guys do you think that the pink colour G400 will even make it to Singapore? Cos the U900 Soul didn't.....But then again, Tocco pink colour are abundant. Since after pink is black colour already I scared later cannot wait that long haha.
sugarkittyx
14-11-2008, 03:03 AM
SAME. i also wait until damn sian alr.
zutto168
16-11-2008, 12:13 AM
Does G400 got reject list feature?
infifinity
16-11-2008, 09:50 PM
hello guys, may i know what's MS? I'm pretty new in singapore =/ where is it located? cuz i checked on singtel today n the price is still $638. Anyone knows whether the silver color will be out anytime soon???? is it ever going to come out in singapore? cuz i just lost my phone and I dunno whether i should wait for the silver color or get the mirror black now......I don't really like the black....
Anyway, I heard the phone scratches easily though, is it true???
vanilla_star_8
17-11-2008, 02:35 AM
hello guys, may i know what's MS? I'm pretty new in singapore =/ where is it located? cuz i checked on singtel today n the price is still $638. Anyone knows whether the silver color will be out anytime soon???? is it ever going to come out in singapore? cuz i just lost my phone and I dunno whether i should wait for the silver color or get the mirror black now......I don't really like the black....
havent seen the silver
but i saw the black and it is soooo sexxyy
AlphaAV
17-11-2008, 09:40 AM
MS shld be mobile square
try google
PChan2008
23-11-2008, 07:26 PM
Okay I have tested the phone. Kinda cool.
Just wandering what ways should be taken to take care of the hp from getting scratches??? I try asking for invisible shield but no for this model. So how to take care of the casing???
Thai_Rak_Thai
23-11-2008, 10:58 PM
review
http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_g400_soul-review-263.php
aiyah...why not like i550w or Innov8 use symbian? not so used to their interface
also the front looks very prone to fingerprints
i think the price is weighted better than Innov8...
infifinity
25-11-2008, 11:03 PM
hello! i juz got the phone today, maybe im juz being paranoid but i cant help wondering if they gave me the used one instead, cuz they date and time has been set when the phone was first activated and there's this starhub wallpaper inside?? anyway to those that have bought the phone, may i ask whether the inside screen has plastic covering it?
sugarkittyx
30-11-2008, 05:43 AM
i'm so tired of waiting, not even sure if the pink one will land in singapore ):
getting really tempted by the lg pink icecream (kf350)
infifinity
01-12-2008, 12:44 PM
well i asked around for the other colors and they told me other colors might never make it to singapore, so in the end i settled for black :(
PChan2008
02-12-2008, 01:44 AM
Available colour is silver, black and gold. Gold is slightly expensive compare to the other 2 colour.
Pink is not available yet. Not sure will ever be available here or not.
infifinity
02-12-2008, 09:23 AM
did you juz say silver and gold color are available now in Singapore????? where did u see it?
PChan2008
02-12-2008, 09:29 AM
I'm from Malaysia. I assume that what's available in Malaysia surely will also be available in Singapore as well. But it's not the same the other way round. Haha.
Sorry for the confusion caused.
infifinity
02-12-2008, 03:01 PM
oooOo yeah i know other colors besides pink r available in KL. Too bad up until now in Singapore, I have never seen other colors yet and I've been asking around only to get 'sorry, only black is available' reply................sucks!
PChan2008
17-12-2008, 11:39 AM
In order to read texts while the phone is still closed via touchscreen, you must download the new firmware. To do this, do the following:
1. Got to this address:
http://uk.samsungmobile.com/supports/softwaremanuals/softwareUpdate.do
2. Download and install the new version of PC Studio listed, but DON'T run it.
3. Install the Phone Software Updater provided at the link. This is an addon for PC Studio.
4. Open your G400 and go to Settings -> Phone settings -> PC Connections select "Samsung PC Studio"
5. Connect the phone to your computer via USB cable.
6. Open PC Studio and select Phone Software Update.
This process will take a while, depending on your internet connection. Took me 30 minutes. Make sure to NOT disconnect the phone during this time. Do not turn off your computer either. And don't disable your internet either. Any errors can permanently ruin your phone. Updating the firmware is a sensitive process so please do so at your own risk. I also did this with an english language phone so if you're using one that is in a foreign language, you may consult your region's website.
AlphaAV
18-12-2008, 01:03 AM
bring to samsung service centre then ask em update can or not?
take beri long?
miyamiya
23-12-2008, 04:31 PM
In order to read texts while the phone is still closed via touchscreen, you must download the new firmware. To do this, do the following:
1. Got to this address:
http://uk.samsungmobile.com/supports/softwaremanuals/softwareUpdate.do
2. Download and install the new version of PC Studio listed, but DON'T run it.
3. Install the Phone Software Updater provided at the link. This is an addon for PC Studio.
4. Open your G400 and go to Settings -> Phone settings -> PC Connections select "Samsung PC Studio"
5. Connect the phone to your computer via USB cable.
6. Open PC Studio and select Phone Software Update.
This process will take a while, depending on your internet connection. Took me 30 minutes. Make sure to NOT disconnect the phone during this time. Do not turn off your computer either. And don't disable your internet either. Any errors can permanently ruin your phone. Updating the firmware is a sensitive process so please do so at your own risk. I also did this with an english language phone so if you're using one that is in a foreign language, you may consult your region's website.
Hi Pchan2008,
When you update the software using the UK site, did it affect the languages? More importantly, will there still be Simplified Chinese in the language menu? Can u still read and send sms in chinese, malay etc?
wat abt the internet and text message center settings for the phone? will updating the firmware overwrite those things?
My phone firmware seems to be modified to M1, my phone provider, so I'm not sure if updating the firmware from the UK is a good idea... it may turn my phone into an european one...
But the option to read sms on the external screen is a huge plus for most of the users here... tink go to service centre to ask later..
darklunatica
24-12-2008, 01:32 AM
I got my g400 today and tried to update the firmware.
I couldnt do it because something went wrong when i trying to install the software updater to my samsung pc studio. it says:
Error Number: 0x80040702
Description: Failed to load DLL:ISUtil
Set up will now terminate.
Whats wrong with this? I followed the steps correctly and tried reinstalling the PC studio a few times. And i am sure that i got the latest version. Can anyone please help?
miyamiya
24-12-2008, 08:31 AM
Which PC Studio u using? The one from singapore samsung or the one in the UK samsung? They have different version numbers. The latest should be 3.2.2 but different countries have different alphabets after the 3.2.2.
Also, I have heard that samsung phones in singapore are locked, so maybe cannot upgrade urself. That's why I'll be going to samsung service center to ask.
EDIT: Just went to the Samsung Service Center. Apparently the firmware is still the latest... so no way to upgrade it... sigh... may have to try the UK updater...
PChan2008
27-12-2008, 12:09 PM
I update to the latest firmware via the UK link I posted before this. The latest version is 3.2.2. The process takes around 30 minutes depending on your connection speed. Now I'm able to read the sms received using the external display. I'm from Malaysia. I posted the method in the Malaysian forum as well and other users are able to update their phone as well.
I will check later whether the chinese language and messaging related stuff is still there.
nunuxx
28-12-2008, 12:35 AM
hi i have a question about the firmware upgrade via the UK website
can someone confirm that the local language (whether chinese, malay, thai, etc) in the phone menus as well as in sms (typing, reading) is still there? also, what about the operator specific gprs/edge settings? what actually happens after the firmware upgrade? does it become a UK generic g400? or does it still remain operator branded or something?
also, i am also curious whether the sms reading on the outside supports local languages? lastly, is it able to view the call log on the outside yet?
thanks a lot guys! i'm really close to getting this phone now! any comments will be appreciated! what color do you guys think is cooler? black or silver?
miyamiya
28-12-2008, 08:52 AM
Let's hope PChan2008 can give some answers regarding the languages. As for the call log, you can know which person is calling you on the external screen. ie. the name of the person calling will be in a box and the external screen will tell you to open flip to answer. But for received/dialled calls etc still need to open up phone and go into the menu to see.
PChan2008
28-12-2008, 03:39 PM
Yup all languages are still available after the update.
You can read chinese messages from the external screen as well.
But for the calls log, you still have to flip the phone open to read.
Hopefully future update will provide this feature.
It's a great phone. I choose the mirror black. Very stylish. But i'm still figuring out how to "protect" this phone from unwanted scratches. Any ideas???
kyocraze
29-12-2008, 11:27 AM
PChan2008, not sure is this possible?
but can i have a picture taken on how the sms will look like in the hp on the external screen?
PChan2008
30-12-2008, 08:12 PM
I will upload the pics of the phone if I have the time.
Reading the sms via the external screen:
1. You will received a notification: "1 NEW MESSAGE"
2. Just tap on that notification to read the message. I think it's a standard text and font. Didn't find any setting to change that. The colour of the text will depend on your external screen colour.
3. If you have more than 1 message, just tap the next button to read the following message.
But still, to reply you will still have to flip up the phone.
miyamiya
31-12-2008, 04:27 PM
Alright, success. I upgraded the firmware of my g400 without a problem. And incoming text messages can be read on the external screen. But only when they are incoming and you haven't open and read them.
Just like wat PChan say, when there is "1 New Message" on the external screen, you just press the box, and the message will appear. Once you read and press back, the message will disappear and u need to open the phone to view it again or reply.
I still havent try messages that are more than one screen long, not sure can scroll down on the external screen or not.
For those unsure of how to upgrade the firmware, this is wat I did:
1. download and install Samsung PC Studio 3.2.2 from Singapore samsung (or whatever country u from).
2. check for update from server for PC Studio (optional I think)
3. run update from server
4. download and install Software updater from the UK site link found in PChan2008 post.
5. Phone updater icon will be in Samsung PC Studio
6. click on the phone updater and follow instruction
7. I had to retry many times because the updater cannot connect to the update server.
8. But once connected, the updater will tell you how to update ur phone.
9. Sometimes when the updater tell u to click on "next" to continue, the button cannot be click, so just wait until the "next" button can be clicked.
10. wait for around 30 min for the whole thing to finish.
11. Once finish, phone will ownself turn off.
12. Turn on phone and you can now see incoming messages on external screen.
After updating, my contacts and messages are still in the phone. All the internet settings etc still the same. Language settings also the same. In fact, not much different from before, just that u can read sms on the external screen.
The only difference I see on the external screen is the four dots at the bottom (for going into menu) become one straight line instead of four dots in a square.
Also, now the loading of picture thumbnail on the menu and external screen is much faster than before.
I hope this helps.
PChan2008
31-12-2008, 08:10 PM
Can you transfer the sms from the phone to the computer using the PC studio???
I tried but failed. Don't know what's the problem.
The phone has 160MB memory but can only store 200+ sms in the inbox. What a letdown.
miyamiya
31-12-2008, 11:29 PM
Ah yes, I'm experiencing the same thing as well. PC studio is unable to retrieve the sms in my phone...
But according to the memory status in the phone, I can store up to 500 text messages.
I think I'll write to customer support regarding the PC studio problem...
PChan2008
01-01-2009, 11:52 AM
500 is the total text messages incuding draft, outbox, etc.
For inbox i think the max is 200+ only.
greentea6056
09-01-2009, 02:59 PM
anyone has difficulties in taking out the battery cover? i tried with all my strenth but the cover just wont move a mm..
miyamiya
09-01-2009, 10:53 PM
anyone has difficulties in taking out the battery cover? i tried with all my strenth but the cover just wont move a mm..
Hmm I had that problem the first time. Then I just used my 2 thumbnails to go into the gap of the cover and just use a little force to widen it and then at the same time pull the cover down with my thumb and nails. The cover will come out easily.
So instead of trying hard to slide it down, u have to use ur nails to help u. After a few tries, you will get used to it. Just don't use too much force or u may scratch the metal paint of the cover.
PChan2008
10-01-2009, 11:29 AM
so miyamiya, can you now transfer the messages from the phone to the computer?
the limited space allocated for messages really a letdown.
miyamiya
10-01-2009, 03:30 PM
No, samsung still hasn't replied to my emails. Think I will keep on spamming them til they give me an answer.
And I think we're not the only ones, think many are facing the same sms problems with PC Studio.
miyamew
10-01-2009, 04:04 PM
wah G400 is $198 for PowerValue 300 today! same price as F480 :s22:
kyocraze
30-01-2009, 09:02 PM
just wondering anyone knows how to reject a call without flipping the phone?
[edit]
never mind, i found how to.
hikarinoa
03-02-2009, 02:07 AM
hello!
i love this phone
but can any one help me ?
i want to have korean language on my phone. all other languages are there. when i bought i i tot there would be a korean language option.
is there any way to add another language to this phone??
ive updated my phone already.
thanks!
Hukiko
03-02-2009, 04:55 PM
Anyone know which shop now offer the lowest price for brand new set for Samsung G400 Black color without contract?
naiertn
04-02-2009, 04:10 PM
URGENT!!
where can i buy Samsung G400 black?? i wan trade in with my Samsung Omnia...but all M1, ST, SH all OOS..even some dealers i check is OOS!!! anyone know where got sell Brandnew local set?
missusyessum
12-02-2009, 01:10 PM
Alright, success. I upgraded the firmware of my g400 without a problem. And incoming text messages can be read on the external screen. But only when they are incoming and you haven't open and read them.
Just like wat PChan say, when there is "1 New Message" on the external screen, you just press the box, and the message will appear. Once you read and press back, the message will disappear and u need to open the phone to view it again or reply.
I still havent try messages that are more than one screen long, not sure can scroll down on the external screen or not.
For those unsure of how to upgrade the firmware, this is wat I did:
1. download and install Samsung PC Studio 3.2.2 from Singapore samsung (or whatever country u from).
2. check for update from server for PC Studio (optional I think)
3. run update from server
4. download and install Software updater from the UK site link found in PChan2008 post.
5. Phone updater icon will be in Samsung PC Studio
6. click on the phone updater and follow instruction
7. I had to retry many times because the updater cannot connect to the update server.
8. But once connected, the updater will tell you how to update ur phone.
9. Sometimes when the updater tell u to click on "next" to continue, the button cannot be click, so just wait until the "next" button can be clicked.
10. wait for around 30 min for the whole thing to finish.
11. Once finish, phone will ownself turn off.
12. Turn on phone and you can now see incoming messages on external screen.
After updating, my contacts and messages are still in the phone. All the internet settings etc still the same. Language settings also the same. In fact, not much different from before, just that u can read sms on the external screen.
The only difference I see on the external screen is the four dots at the bottom (for going into menu) become one straight line instead of four dots in a square.
Also, now the loading of picture thumbnail on the menu and external screen is much faster than before.
I hope this helps.
Hi I followed your instructions, installed PC Studio and Phone Updater. However when I get to step 1 of 4 (checking phone information) it says that it does not support the phone connected. If you have any idea what I did wrong or why it doesnt work for me can you please let me know. I must have tried like 20 times and still get the same result. I have also tried reinstalling both PC studio and phone updater but nothing works. Thanks again.
cbyen
16-02-2009, 09:52 AM
my dad also looking for a G400 to replace his dying z720.. anyone knows where selling without contract?
Hukiko
24-02-2009, 05:32 PM
Anyone know where to get this G400 Brand New one? It's seem that even Samsung Mobile dun have the stock too. Tried calling Samsung they say that they also dun know when the stock will arrive. And no dealers actually demand for this model.
lcheetec
25-02-2009, 08:16 AM
I asked at the Samsung outlet in Century Sq last weekend and was quoted S$658. I did not ask about stock (and should have). I emailed spider88 and they said it was an "obsolete model".
daniel
Changi
temptemp
25-02-2009, 09:55 AM
can try these shops..
http://www.sgmobile.com.sg/phone.asp?PID=631
http://www.spider88.com/ProductPreview.aspx?prodid=522
and a few others..
Hukiko
06-03-2009, 11:39 AM
I send my order to sgmobile but till now no reply from them yet. I tried to call them but they say just send the order online can liao.
zukbang
13-03-2009, 03:41 PM
I need korean fonts support in this phone...any info??
I was hoping Chinese firmware might support korean fonts... anyone know about any version of the Chinese firmware? I just need them for MP3 right now...
I'm willing to try any firmware..
please help
jolin160401
13-03-2009, 11:38 PM
Anyone know if i can get this model in malaysia? Anyone know the pricing in malaysia?
PChan2008
15-03-2009, 11:13 AM
Anyone know if i can get this model in malaysia? Anyone know the pricing in malaysia?
malaysia price at around RM1280 now. :yawn:
Hukiko
17-03-2009, 02:47 PM
Any warranty? At which part of malaysia can i get this? Can help me to get the address or telephone number? JB has this model?
malaysia price at around RM1280 now. :yawn:
PChan2008
18-03-2009, 10:52 AM
Any warranty? At which part of malaysia can i get this? Can help me to get the address or telephone number? JB has this model?
Warranty from FMG (First Mobile Group) in Malaysia.
I'm from KL and you can get this phone in most areas.
Black, Gold and silver colour available here.
infifinity
18-03-2009, 10:21 PM
hi, anyone know how to insert symbol such as *, ', _ etc on text msg? its so annoying when i need to write like 'his friend's place' and there's no button to type this symbol '
i tried option>input method>symbol and after i chose ok, it just doesn't work, the symbol buttons still won't show..........is it just me and my phone or anyone else has this problem too?
Hukiko
19-03-2009, 11:19 AM
Sorry to trouble you but can help me to find out where in kl sell the lowest price for the black color one? So i can ask my friend to get for me.
Warranty from FMG (First Mobile Group) in Malaysia.
I'm from KL and you can get this phone in most areas.
Black, Gold and silver colour available here.
jolin160401
21-03-2009, 11:56 PM
Dear all, Samsung finally had new stock For G400. I just bought it from Samsung Mobile world at Jurong Point this evening. It's silver color and cost S$598 including GST. although abit steep but i still get it immediately after searching for so many months. So anyone who is searching for this model hurry down to samsung mobile world. I was told only selected outlet has this model.
Hukiko
24-03-2009, 05:49 PM
Anyone know for this phone it can support up to how many GB for the external memory card?
kpop91
26-03-2009, 01:02 AM
the samsung g400 soul got wad available colors? Anyone got pics of the silver n black one? Wanna compare.Unable find it online. Thanks in advance. And now where sell cheapest without contract? And the shops now is sell silver color only?
fireblade08
26-03-2009, 06:24 PM
the samsung g400 soul got wad available colors? Anyone got pics of the silver n black one? Wanna compare.Unable find it online. Thanks in advance. And now where sell cheapest without contract? And the shops now is sell silver color only?
Samsung Mobile at Jurong Pt having new stock which came in last wk. Price at $598 w/o contract. Located at the new extension basement.
fireblade08
26-03-2009, 06:25 PM
Anyone know for this phone it can support up to how many GB for the external memory card?
Up to 8GB...
PChan2008
28-03-2009, 05:50 PM
Sorry to trouble you but can help me to find out where in kl sell the lowest price for the black color one? So i can ask my friend to get for me.
you can try searching at low yat plaza. i'm sure all samsung phone booths or shops do have ready stock for this model. :)
Deeper
31-03-2009, 08:30 PM
any know where can get this phone other than retailer?i asked mobile square but dey dun have
fireblade08
01-04-2009, 12:28 PM
any know where can get this phone other than retailer?i asked mobile square but dey dun have
Only Samsung mobile had the stock atm. U won't be able to find the stock of this phone elsewhere..
Deeper
01-04-2009, 01:39 PM
Only Samsung mobile had the stock atm. U won't be able to find the stock of this phone elsewhere..
why is that so?i saw it at starhub too
fireblade08
01-04-2009, 04:35 PM
why is that so?i saw it at starhub too
U mean u saw it at the showcase??? I doubt they have the stock. Those r dummy set i think. Did u enquires at the counter?
PChan2008
02-05-2009, 05:32 AM
Any upgraded firware for this phone???
ahger_2311
15-07-2009, 10:25 AM
is the stock still available?
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.