PDA

View Full Version : SacredSoul's uTorrent Tweaking Guide.

sacredsoul
14-03-2008, 02:20 AM
Ive seen many people not configure their setting properly in their respective torrent clients. For example, people getting 10kbps download speeds. This guide will concentrate on the best torrent client (at least to me), uTorrent.

Disclaimer: I am not responsible if you screw up your system in anyway. Although highly unlikely, its a necessary precaution. With that out of the way, lets start.

Before we go about tweaking, we should do the following.

1) Get your download/upload speeds at Speedtest.net. Make sure to choose Singapore as the country.

2) Patched TCPIP.sys to allow more concurrent half-open connections.

For XP users --> Go to http://www.lvllord.de/ and download the patch.
For Vista users --> http://www.yaronmaor.net/repair.htm and download the respective patch.
Run the patch and reboot your system.

3) Download uTorrent if you haven't done so.

4) Run this test and follow all the steps it tells you to GREATLY improve your cable/dsl connection.
http://www.broadbandreports.com/tweaks
Under advertised speed, use the max speed you got after taking the speed test. This is only for XP though as Vista have on-the-fly tuning by default.

5. Also try TCP Optimizer from SpeedGuide.net. This improves your connection in all aspects.

Configuring uTorrent

1. Go to SpeedGuide. We should look at kBps and not kbps. 1kB is 8kb aka 1 kilobyte is 8 kilobits. Getting the correct setting in the SpeedGuide is important. Calculate according to your SpeedTest results. In the SpeedGuide, xx/128k mean unlimited downloads and 128kbps limit on upload.

2. PortForward. Did you notice a red exclamation mark or a yellow exclamation mark? It means you have not portforwarded or did not portforward properly. Navigate to portforward.com, choose the model of your router, and port forward correctly. Also, make sure you give both TCP and UDP permissions for the port in your firewall.

3. [/color][/color]uTorrent by default disables protocol encryption. We need to enable this so that the ISP's packet shaping hardware will detect our bit torrent traffic as normal traffic and hopefully let it pass.
Click on Options, Preferences.
Click on BitTorrent.
Change Protocal Encryption to Enabled and tick "Allow incoming legacy connections" if it isnt already ticked.4. Change the net.max_halfopen. Click Advanced under Options and scroll to find the net.max_halfopen. Change it to 100. Make sure you do this step AFTER patching your TCPIP.

These are the essentials. Once they are done, head down to http://distribution.openoffice.org/p2p/
to download a test torrent to see the speeds you get.

Some random uTorrent tips

1. Make sure your upload limit isnt set too high. In my case, it was set to 35kbps and I am on SNBB 3mbps. I lowered it to 15kbps. Its recommended you at least seed at 10kbps or trackers will see you are not seeding enough and may limit your speed.

2. This is obvious but download torrents that have seeds that are more then peers. For example, a torrent with 120 seeders and 80 leechers will perform better then a torrent with 2600 seeders and 4000 leechers.

3. Use an IP Filter to filter out the unwanted IP's such as govt agencies that track your downloads and act as a fake seeder that may affect your download speed. Search for "ip filter utorrent". Google is your friend here :)

4. NEVER set your download or upload to 0 (no limit). This will bring about undesirable consequences such as unable to surf the web.

5. Some people have reported speed increases by setting the peer.lazy_bitfield setting to false in Advanced Preferences.

6. Some people have reported increased speeds in an older version of uTorrent, namely uTorrent V1.6 (http://www.bootstrike.com/Files_NO_LINK_Pls_gc23v/articles/BittorrentGuide/utorrent16.exe).

7. Change the Protocol Encryption (Options, Preferences, Bittorrent) to Forced. This will force encryption on all outgoing packets and will not fallback to un-encrypted mode if the peer refuses to co-operate. Good to connect to only encryption-enabled peers. Avoid doing this for torrents with low peers/seeds.

8. Remove the check for "Allow Incoming Legacy Connections" (Options, Preferences, Bittorrent). This will make all your outgoing and incoming packets fully encrypted, except for tracker communications. Peers who are using a torrent software that doesn't support encryption are dropped. Avoid doing this for torrents with low peers/seeds.

I opened this thread coz Ive seen many sites that help you and other sites that give you wrong settings which can screw up your network. What I did was to get the best info and compile them so you wouldnt have to do the job yourself. The settings are taken from various sites and some if not most are my own. One site I took tips from (a very good uTorrent guide IMO) is http://www.bootstrike.com/Articles/BitTorrentGuide/

Thats all I have for now. Ill update the guide whenever possible.

CyberMew
14-03-2008, 03:22 AM
i would advise you to get 1.8 beta... got new thing to prevent traffic shaping by isp i heard

liangtam
14-03-2008, 07:22 AM
Up for u :)

sacredsoul
14-03-2008, 12:22 PM
i would advise you to get 1.8 beta... got new thing to prevent traffic shaping by isp i heard

Yea I am using 1.8 beta. From what Ive heard, some trackers are banning uTorrent 1.7.7.

Up for u :)

Thanks!

Rogue
14-03-2008, 12:32 PM
Still have some more tweaks. E.g TCPIP parameter changes in the registry as well as DNS tweaks.

ab_cat
14-03-2008, 12:37 PM
thx for sharing, bookmark first..

sacredsoul
14-03-2008, 12:39 PM
Still have some more tweaks. E.g TCPIP parameter changes in the registry as well as DNS tweaks.

Yea as I said, will update when I get more info. But this should be enough to get satisfactory speeds. Or even max out your connection. With a well seeded torrent, I get 370kbps at max with my 3mbps line without even touching the registry.

Rogue
14-03-2008, 02:10 PM
Yea as I said, will update when I get more info. But this should be enough to get satisfactory speeds. Or even max out your connection. With a well seeded torrent, I get 370kbps at max with my 3mbps line without even touching the registry.

Just pointing the way for "generic" tweaks.

Specific tweaks can be hardware level, including firmware hacks or mods, e.g from PC/Client all the way down to the Modem.

DouYa89
14-03-2008, 03:25 PM
4. NEVER set your download or upload to 0 (no limit). This will bring about undesirable consequences such as unable to surf the web.

u said nv put ur download/upload to 0 , no limit,
do i have to put the download speed limit to the max of my isp ?
cos i'm having MOL premium.

coldboy
14-03-2008, 05:29 PM
download limit put as 0 while upload limit you can set to about 80% of your output throughput, i.e: ~30kb/s

liangtam
14-03-2008, 05:40 PM
download limit put as 0 while upload limit you can set to about 80% of your output throughput, i.e: ~30kb/s

Generally, 60% for cable, >80% is possible for xDSL.

BuNengShuoDeMiMi
14-03-2008, 07:22 PM
thx , bookmarked

ab_cat
14-03-2008, 09:08 PM
thats quite high, anyway, I also use the same SNBB 3Mbps plan as u, hoping to see improvement :)

sacredsoul
14-03-2008, 10:55 PM
thats quite high, anyway, I also use the same SNBB 3Mbps plan as u, hoping to see improvement :)

Try this settings for TCP Optimizer for 3mbps.

General Settings tab:
Custom settings - check
Modify All Network Adapters - check
network adapter selection - your NIC
MTU 1492
TTL - 64
TCP Receive Window - 127776
MTU Discovery - Yes
Black Hole Detect - No
Selective Acks - Yes
Max Duplicate ACKs - 2
TCP 1323 Options:
Windows Scaling - checked
Timestamps - uncheck

Advanced Settings tab:
Max Connections per Server - 10
Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 20
LocalPriority - 1
Host Priority - 1
DNSPriority - 1
NetbtPriority - 1
Lan Browsing speedup - optimized
QoS: NonBestEffortLimit - 0
ToS: DisableUserTOSSetting - 0
ToS: DefaultTOSValue - 80
MaxNegativeCacheTtl - 0
NetFailureCacheTime - 0
NegativeSOACache Time - 0
LAN Request Buffer Size - 32768
Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect

wweixian
15-03-2008, 12:55 AM
Ive seen many people not configure their setting properly in their respective torrent clients. For example, people getting 10kbps download speeds. This guide will concentrate on the best torrent client (at least to me), uTorrent.

Disclaimer: I am not responsible if you screw up your system in anyway. Although highly unlikely, its a necessary precaution. With that out of the way, lets start.

Before we go about tweaking, we should do the following.

1) Get your download/upload speeds at Speedtest.net. Make sure to choose Singapore as the country.

2) Patched TCPIP.sys to allow more concurrent half-open connections.

For XP users --> Go to http://www.lvllord.de/ and download the patch.
For Vista users --> http://www.yaronmaor.net/repair.htm and download the respective patch.
Run the patch and reboot your system.

3) Download uTorrent if you haven't done so.

4) Run this test and follow all the steps it tells you to GREATLY improve your cable/dsl connection.
Under advertised speed, use the max speed you got after taking the speed test. This is only for XP though as Vista have on-the-fly tuning by default.

5. Also try TCP Optimizer from SpeedGuide.net. This improves your connection in all aspects.

Configuring uTorrent

1. Go to SpeedGuide. We should look at kBps and not kbps. 1kB is 8kb aka 1 kilobyte is 8 kilobits. Getting the correct setting in the SpeedGuide is important. Calculate according to your SpeedTest results. In the SpeedGuide, xx/128k mean unlimited downloads and 128kbps limit on upload.

2. PortForward. Did you notice a red exclamation mark or a yellow exclamation mark? It means you have not portforwarded or did not portforward properly. Navigate to portforward.com, choose the model of your router, and port forward correctly. Also, make sure you give both TCP and UDP permissions for the port in your firewall.

3. [/COLOR][/COLOR]uTorrent by default disables protocol encryption. We need to enable this so that the ISP's packet shaping hardware will detect our bit torrent traffic as normal traffic and hopefully let it pass.
Click on Options, Preferences.
Click on BitTorrent.
Change Protocal Encryption to Enabled and tick "Allow incoming legacy connections" if it isnt already ticked.4. Change the net.max_halfopen. Click Advanced under Options and scroll to find the net.max_halfopen. Change it to 100. Make sure you do this step AFTER patching your TCPIP.

These are the essentials. Once they are done, head down to http://distribution.openoffice.org/p2p/
to download a test torrent to see the speeds you get.

Some random uTorrent tips

1. Make sure your upload limit isnt set too high. In my case, it was set to 35kbps and I am on SNBB 3mbps. I lowered it to 15kbps. Its recommended you at least seed at 10kbps or trackers will see you are not seeding enough and may limit your speed.

2. This is obvious but download torrents that have seeds that are more then peers. For example, a torrent with 120 seeders and 80 leechers will perform better then a torrent with 2600 seeders and 4000 leechers.

3. Use an IP Filter to filter out the unwanted IP's such as govt agencies that track your downloads and act as a fake seeder that may affect your download speed. Search for "ip filter utorrent". Google is your friend here :)

Thats all I have for now. Ill update the guide whenever possible.

Im a vista user, but I dunno which TCPIP.SYS patch I shd download. Im using a 64bit one. Bought near end of last year. Also, does TCP Optimizer affect download speed also??

sacredsoul
15-03-2008, 08:45 AM
Im a vista user, but I dunno which TCPIP.SYS patch I shd download. Im using a 64bit one. Bought near end of last year. Also, does TCP Optimizer affect download speed also??

I would be a little careful when you patch the TCPIP for Vista. It said it was successful but gave me a BSOD on startup so I had to redo the patch. TCP Optimizer affects your download speed, it increases it :)

mata_hippo
15-03-2008, 12:56 PM
wa all the technical jargons in those apps :s22:

any spoonfeeding for a starhub 12mbps user? =:p

sacredsoul
15-03-2008, 01:22 PM
wa all the technical jargons in those apps :s22:

any spoonfeeding for a starhub 12mbps user? =:p

Whoa 12mbps. Whats your torrent speed without any tweaks?

BradenHeat
15-03-2008, 01:46 PM
One thing about the patch, please for those who go beyond the 50 cap, please dont exceed 10k .....

i exceeded and it screwed up my whole internet, cant surf web etc...:s16:

sacredsoul
15-03-2008, 01:56 PM
One thing about the patch, please for those who go beyond the 50 cap, please dont exceed 10k .....

i exceeded and it screwed up my whole internet, cant surf web etc...:s16:

lol 10k. 100 is more then enough.

provider
15-03-2008, 03:11 PM
if you are copying tips from other sites, please have the courtesy to cite the source

the random utorrent tips were picked from this guide
http://www.bootstrike.com/Articles/BitTorrentGuide/

liangtam
15-03-2008, 03:21 PM
Most of the BT guides are more or less the same given the fixed config ma.

sacredsoul
15-03-2008, 03:26 PM
if you are copying tips from other sites, please have the courtesy to cite the source

the random utorrent tips were picked from this guide
http://www.bootstrike.com/Articles/BitTorrentGuide/

Haiz. You search anywhere also they will give you the same tips. The tweaks are universal. I opened this thread coz its better to find the best tweaks in one thead then to google so many sites that may or may not help you. Anyway you are right, I shout credit them.

wweixian
16-03-2008, 01:39 AM
erm...there's a problem with the TCPIP crack i downloaded.

It says,
"The CrackTcpipv668.zip package consists of 5 files:

CrackTcpip.sys
Install.reg
TestInstall.reg
TestRun.bat
Uninstall.reg"

but when i un-rar it, it does not have the <TestInstall.reg> <TestRun.bat><Install.reg>

Any help?!

PinZzz
16-03-2008, 10:33 AM
erm...there's a problem with the TCPIP crack i downloaded.

It says,
"The CrackTcpipv668.zip package consists of 5 files:

CrackTcpip.sys
Install.reg
TestInstall.reg
TestRun.bat
Uninstall.reg"

but when i un-rar it, it does not have the <TestInstall.reg> <TestRun.bat><Install.reg>

Any help?!

you unrar the .sys only? u need to unrar all the files into the same folder i guess..

Y_Shun
16-03-2008, 02:07 PM
I think it will be better for say, we have guides like SingNet 1mbps/3mbps/8mbps/10mbps, StarHub 2mbps/8mbps/12mbps

Then the settings all spoon fed...and pin it up!

Then no more such questions liao!!! LOL

wweixian
16-03-2008, 05:37 PM
you unrar the .sys only? u need to unrar all the files into the same folder i guess..

I did. unrar the zip file. Inside only have these 5 files

St1ckMan
27-03-2008, 01:00 AM
Upzzz for a gd n informative thread! =D

silthfire
27-03-2008, 04:10 PM
i self pwned...format my com ytd....and i did back the same settings for my utorrent....in the end my max speed now only hit 10kbps....sianz sia.....shudn't format....use to hit 100kbps one....tried on same torrent file..exactly same settings as previous one leh..

jujube
27-03-2008, 04:12 PM
use portable utorrent la

sacredsoul
27-03-2008, 05:17 PM
i self pwned...format my com ytd....and i did back the same settings for my utorrent....in the end my max speed now only hit 10kbps....sianz sia.....shudn't format....use to hit 100kbps one....tried on same torrent file..exactly same settings as previous one leh..

This happened to me once when I went back to XP from Vista. I cant go above 3kbps. That was on my laptop. I just bought my desktop with XP and I can reach like 1.4mbps at the absolute max. Cant go above liao. ANd 1.4 mb in uTorrent is rare for me. Usually 1mbps to 1.1 mbps. I am on SNBB10mbps. Ill post a screenshot soon.

SaDnEsS82
31-03-2008, 04:21 PM
Bookmarked. Will try it later on when i reached home.

SaDnEsS82
01-04-2008, 12:32 AM
Seems to work? Can't see the significant improvement though. Maybe it's because of the torrent that i'm testing on. Anyway thanks for the guide, :D

monkeymon
01-04-2008, 02:07 AM
Whoa 12mbps. Whats your torrent speed without any tweaks?

im on 12mbps too, without any patch and tweak, im getting 100+kbps total speed on well seeded torrents. But im using bitcomet....

off track abit.. no one using bitcomet here?? all using utorrent ??? im used to be a utorrent user but for the past 1 month utorrent is getting super slow and so i tried bitcomet which give me a very good download speed...

maybe i should try tweak :) and use back utorrent..

annoymous
17-04-2008, 08:04 PM
up up up this is a gd thread actually cant detect any seed stuck at 0.1 now jump to 60 normal

guynextdoor
17-04-2008, 08:21 PM
This is the guide I used for mine:

http://torrentfreak.com/optimize-your-BitTorrent-download-speed/

Some of the stuff like encryption and the half-open TCP connections are the same, but there's some stuff on max ul/dl speed, maximum connected peers per torrent and maximum upload slots. Hopefull it might be useful for you as well :D

wingism
15-05-2008, 08:08 PM
hi guys!
Need some help here. A pretty noob question. =p
I tired to open the Patch file but the windows prompted me "Windows cannot access the specified device, path, or file. You may not have the appropriate permissions to access the item." I'm using Xp Pro and the only user/account for this computer..hmm...

TIA!

qristeele
14-06-2008, 12:45 PM
Hi All,

I downloaded Utorrent last week and had no problems downloading two files from there. However, this week, I tried to download a file but the download bar does not move at all. In fact all the columns are showing values of '0'. I did not change any of my settings whatsoever.

What I can do so that I can resume downloading again?

supergmail
15-06-2008, 04:58 PM
bookmark for reading later

pewpewpew
15-06-2008, 06:51 PM
dear all,

i am a snBB 1mbps user. 1st question: issit 1 mega bit or mega byte per second?!

my download speed is capped at 110kb/s. upload speed around 25kb/s

my speedtest result shows 1100kb/s download upload is at 250kb/s

even if im downloading/seeding good torrents, these utorrent speeds are only at 10% of my max, is that normal?

let me know, experts!

ab_cat
15-06-2008, 07:46 PM
I think is 1Mbps is 1 Megabit per second.
Your download speed is 110 KiloBytes per second.
Your speedtest result is 1100KiloBits per second.

1Mbps = 1000Kb = 122.07KB
From http://www.speedguide.net/conversion.php.

pewpewpew
16-06-2008, 08:57 AM
fkk!! haha last time i all along thght 1mbps = 1 mega byte per sec!!

kena con sia! haha so actually is just 125mByteps

wtf!!

ThyPig33
16-06-2008, 05:27 PM
sacred soul, am singnet user, using the 2700HGV-2 modem give free during the previous round of offer. need some help on portforwarding here. windows firewall off, Connection in DMZ mode. in utorrent still show port blocked. how? my speed is around 60kB/s and upload 60 kB/s. so almost ratio is 1.

FroztSpectre
17-06-2008, 12:52 PM
Waaa see liao i even more confused.

Edited:
Link down

yeah82
17-06-2008, 01:26 PM
is this really useful??

kokoki888
18-06-2008, 12:43 PM
is this really useful for BBOM 2mbps??

Lampard
18-06-2008, 12:55 PM
anyone able to use lvllord patch on sp3 ? when i apply the patch it got error msg

ab_cat
18-06-2008, 02:37 PM
np here..

dubberinc
19-06-2008, 07:46 PM
i did everything the same as you told us to..but there isnt much significant improvement at all to the download speed..how come??

tidalstorm
22-06-2008, 10:24 PM
any bros here got any idea why I could not connect ot any seeds? Tried the settings but still the same. Utorrent not able to connect to any seeds and hence no download. Did port forward but still get amber light. I used to be able to download at 1.2mbps with the amber light.... but suddenly, my utorrent cannot connect to any seeds even thpse well seeded ones...

Any bros can help out?

thanks

Asakura
23-06-2008, 09:02 AM
are trackers being blocked??
kinda wierd. i've been portforwarding every single port. it stays green for awhile, maybe last me a torrent or so, and then it turns amber again. And i have to PF another new port. Same thing repeats again after awhile...

Any bros having the same problem?

chunlianghere
23-06-2008, 01:36 PM
anyone able to use lvllord patch on sp3 ? when i apply the patch it got error msg

jus use the one previously wit sp2..jus patch it.

tidalstorm
23-06-2008, 10:40 PM
are trackers being blocked??
kinda wierd. i've been portforwarding every single port. it stays green for awhile, maybe last me a torrent or so, and then it turns amber again. And i have to PF another new port. Same thing repeats again after awhile...

Any bros having the same problem?

how to check if the trackers are being blocked? Could it be the gahmen monitor me and block all my trackers? Seems weird that all of the sudden, everything also cannot. Last time, it was good leh...

Any bros here got use peer guardian or the one from bluetack??? I used PG2 but like no luse like dat.....

advice?

FroztSpectre
04-09-2008, 10:42 AM
I can't portfoward with my router 2Wire 2700HG.

I forwarded the ports but when i used utorrent to check the ports, its not open.

Weird.

FroztSpectre
22-11-2008, 01:41 AM
Sorry for bumping this up.
But i have some questions i would like to ask.

After months, i am finally able to port forward.

Right now, im testing out downloading something using uTorrent.

And at the bottom, it says that i am having a Down Speed of 65.4kB/s and Up Speed of 20kB/s.

Is this correct or am i doing it wrongly? There's a green circle with a tick, that means i know i've port forwarded properly.

And my speed test results says that im having a download speed of 20000kbps.

If i am using RapidShare to download, i can easily reach 1mb/sec.

So am i doing it right?

Seeds: 7 of 7 connected (4 in swarm)
Peers: 2 of 9 connected (0 in swarm)

Thanks for helping.

provider
22-11-2008, 02:50 AM
seeds too little and seed to peer ratio is low

FroztSpectre
22-11-2008, 02:57 AM
Mind explaning more in detail?

I new to using torrents.

Edited:
I'm not used to the slow speed that torrents have.

Normally if i am using rapidshare, i can download a 100mb within 2minutes.

But right now, downloading a 80mb file takes me around 30mins already -_-

Edited again:
Ok here's the weird thing.
I tried downloading another file.
I'm receiving a speed of around 100kB/s(Down Speed) and 50kB/s(Up Speed).

Then i converted 50kB into kilobytes. And i found out that 50kB is actually around 400kb/sec.

Well, if the thing is really downloading at a speed of 400kb/sec, i should be able to download a 4gb file within 4hours. But im Estimated end of ending is around 16hours....

What's wrong?

provider
22-11-2008, 12:25 PM
The ratio of seed to peer .. e.g. if a torrent has 5 seeds and 7 peers, it means that peers will be 'fighting' for bandwidth hence the download will be slow

if a torrent has 100 seeds and 5 peers, then you can expect very fast download as the peers are much lower than the number of seeds

FroztSpectre
22-11-2008, 04:44 PM
What are seeds and how do i increase the seeds?

provider
22-11-2008, 04:51 PM
seeds are those who continue uploading to others after downloading 100% of the files

you can try to find more seeds by downloading the same torrent from isohunt.com

FroztSpectre
22-11-2008, 05:09 PM
Ok, what about the downloading speed?

Then i converted 50kB into kilobytes. And i found out that 50kB is actually around 400kb/sec.

Well, if the thing is really downloading at a speed of 400kb/sec, i should be able to download a 4gb file within 4hours. But im Estimated end of ending is around 16hours....

What's wrong?

lamesensei
22-11-2008, 05:36 PM
Ok, what about the downloading speed?

What's wrong?

lol whut?

u say downloading but u use the upspeed as measurement

and kB is already kilobytes.

provider
22-11-2008, 05:57 PM
lol whut?

u say downloading but u use the upspeed as measurement

and kB is already kilobytes.

kB is kiloBYTES
kb is kiloBITS

you are downloading at 100 kiloBYTES per second and uploading at 50 kiloBYTES per second not 400 kiloBYTES (but 400 kilobits) per sec

FroztSpectre
22-11-2008, 06:00 PM
Ok i understand now.

Looks like torrenting is seriously slow.

10x slower than RapidShare.

Looks like i gotta stick with RapidShare for now.

provider
22-11-2008, 06:12 PM
like i said, it depends on the seeds. try downloading ubuntu and you'll get high speeds
http://torrent.ubuntu.com:6969/file?info_hash=3%82%0D%B6%DD%5EY%28%D2%3B%C8%11%BB%AC/J%E9L%B8%82

Pank85
23-11-2008, 03:15 AM
any 1 can guide me on installing the tcp/ip patch for vista 32 bit ? i downloaded the file, when i run the patch, i got some error access denied.

man_of_principles
23-11-2008, 07:49 PM
I'm on MOL Premium, and getting just 10kB/s to 25kB/s uTorrent download speed in the afternoon and evening for the past week when I would have gotten above 100kB/s in the past. Is anyone else getting this kind of crappy speed?

FroztSpectre
17-12-2008, 12:49 AM
Sorry dig thread again.

Tried reconfiguring my uTorrent.

Tried to download ubuntu.
57 Seeds(764)
36 Peers (495)

My download speed is around 316kB/s
My upload speed is around 1.3kB/s

Here's my internet connection speed.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/373859780.png

Is this the best speed i can get? I think i should be able to get more right?
I set my maximum upload rate to 60kB/s

I've seen people downloading at a speed of 800kB/s or more. And their connection is 10mbps.

Or the only way for me to increase the speed is to find a file with more seeds?

raijinshou
17-12-2008, 03:15 AM
any 1 can guide me on installing the tcp/ip patch for vista 32 bit ? i downloaded the file, when i run the patch, i got some error access denied.
use this patch: http://half-open.com/download_en.htm

chunlianghere
17-12-2008, 07:12 AM
Sorry dig thread again.

Tried reconfiguring my uTorrent.

Tried to download ubuntu.
57 Seeds(764)
36 Peers (495)

My download speed is around 316kB/s
My upload speed is around 1.3kB/s

Here's my internet connection speed.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/373859780.png

Is this the best speed i can get? I think i should be able to get more right?
I set my maximum upload rate to 60kB/s

I've seen people downloading at a speed of 800kB/s or more. And their connection is 10mbps.

Or the only way for me to increase the speed is to find a file with more seeds?

although "the higher upload rate, the better", but dont tink its recommended. try put between 10 to 20. did u try the torrent on openoffice? which is posted on 1st page?

FroztSpectre
18-12-2008, 06:38 PM
although "the higher upload rate, the better", but dont tink its recommended. try put between 10 to 20. did u try the torrent on openoffice? which is posted on 1st page?

Wow works nicely! (For the torrent on openoffice)
I am getting around 790kB/sec for download. Have around 77 Seeds and 1 Peer.

reny17
19-12-2008, 06:50 PM
hi i cant seem to use the broadband tweak form the website from a missing dll file. Any help?

phuque99
19-12-2008, 07:25 PM
Wow works nicely! (For the torrent on openoffice)
I am getting around 790kB/sec for download. Have around 77 Seeds and 1 Peer.

Does it actually show that there's no so-called ISP issue, need to dunno open what port, and all those nonsense because legitimate torrent is so fast? And the actual cause of so called slowness is because pirated content having slow seeds? :D

raijinshou
19-12-2008, 07:34 PM
Does it actually show that there's no so-called ISP issue, need to dunno open what port, and all those nonsense because legitimate torrent is so fast? And the actual cause of so called slowness is because pirated content having slow seeds? :D
There is ISP issues. One of them: limiting the number of connections. That's where most probably you got the slow speed.

But when you are connecting to legitimate torrent, they host the file at "server" which normally has speed of 100 Mbps or 1 Gbps server. That's where your speed is fast. You can see that there is one SEEDER that give you "fabolous" speed.

Raytrace
24-12-2008, 09:12 AM
There was a debate about the tcpip patch on Neowin forums a few years back which i think is still kinda relevant. Because a lot of people do not know what the patch really does or how it works.

http://www.neowin.net/forum/lofiversion/index.php/t267665.html

It's a good read. I myself do not use the tcpip patch and have no problems with torrenting. I do, however, wish that a reputable networking website would actually do a test to confirm or bust this 'myth'.

With that said, if you feel that it works for you, then go ahead and patch it.

liangtam
24-12-2008, 01:23 PM
There was a debate about the tcpip patch on Neowin forums a few years back which i think is still kinda relevant. Because a lot of people do not know what the patch really does or how it works.

http://www.neowin.net/forum/lofiversion/index.php/t267665.html

It's a good read. I myself do not use the tcpip patch and have no problems with torrenting. I do, however, wish that a reputable networking website would actually do a test to confirm or bust this 'myth'.

With that said, if you feel that it works for you, then go ahead and patch it.

The TCP/IP half open limit is just to slow down you opening more connection within a short timeframe. Its not something that needs to be mythbusted.

TheGhost
24-12-2008, 01:48 PM
More explanation can be found here also for those interested :D

http://www.p2pforums.com/viewtopic.php?f=111&t=32557

mun_hoe
27-12-2008, 02:30 PM
I'm on MOL premium, recently my utorrent speeds getting crappy, all along i've done portforwad to my router and the utorrent port checker shows my port is opened and green colour.

but this past week my speed is crap and the utorrent port checker shows my port is not opened and red colour, my router's IP address shows 58.182.24x.xxx but the utorrent port checker webpage that detects my IP is 218.186.10.xxx

or is starhub directing these ports to a "ghost" machine that does not exist?

edit: btw, i've tested my emule software and the ports that i specified are opened

mun_hoe
01-01-2009, 11:54 PM
I'm on MOL premium, recently my utorrent speeds getting crappy, all along i've done portforwad to my router and the utorrent port checker shows my port is opened and green colour.

but this past week my speed is crap and the utorrent port checker shows my port is not opened and red colour, my router's IP address shows 58.182.24x.xxx but the utorrent port checker webpage that detects my IP is 218.186.10.xxx

or is starhub directing these ports to a "ghost" machine that does not exist?

edit: btw, i've tested my emule software and the ports that i specified are opened

can anyone pinpoint this problem? :s12: :s22:

tigerwoods
02-01-2009, 08:08 PM
can anyone pinpoint this problem? :s12: :s22:

same here WTF!!!

provider
02-01-2009, 08:11 PM
use the port checker at http://www.bootstrike.com/Articles/BitTorrentGuide/ it redirects to a different port checker at utorrent.com .. dont use port 80 checker

lilprince
28-01-2009, 12:00 AM
thanks for the guide.. but starhub is still super slow!

phuque99
28-01-2009, 08:10 AM
thanks for the guide.. but starhub is still super slow!

lack of peers or very kiam siap peers problem

supergmail
15-02-2009, 09:29 PM
bookmark for reading

alexr
17-02-2009, 09:03 PM
thanks to TS i have a setting for my utorrent....

thumbs up!

RVS_SK
18-02-2009, 12:40 AM
just upgrade to utorrent v1.9 alpha, bypass throttle and stable during the last few months i test.

Ferrari^^
18-02-2009, 02:33 AM
lack of peers or very kiam siap peers problem

find the torrent with the most seeders

sacredsoul
18-02-2009, 05:47 AM
Trying uTorrent 1.9 Alpha now :)

steve dino
18-02-2009, 09:04 AM
how do i know which file in my pc is used for uploading in utorrent? is it the file that reside in the utorrent download section ?

undergrd
23-03-2009, 02:35 PM
just upgrade to utorrent v1.9 alpha, bypass throttle and stable during the last few months i test.

So how's the feedback on the v1.9 alpha? Any faster?

Jardel
23-03-2009, 09:17 PM
sudden death of utorrent downloading
dunno y
it was working fine before that
now nv touch anthing my dht at the bottom no more green colour

unrealx262
23-03-2009, 10:47 PM
wTF? i got 600kB/s downloading ubuntu holy **** :eek:

Moonlight
24-03-2009, 10:14 AM
where to get the IP filter list??? sound intresting....

pm pls...

Nichi
24-03-2009, 11:29 AM
wTF? i got 600kB/s downloading ubuntu holy **** :eek:
supposed to be fast or slow?

i had 1.4MBps avg speed on a torrent b4...

EuroR_CL7
25-03-2009, 07:45 PM
GOOD GUIDE!!! i finally managed to hit 10x my previous avg speeds!
kow tao to u!! 50kB/s to 500 is a big deal to me... LOL