View Full Version : Security Suites Discussion Thread
ballastic90
22-03-2008, 09:08 PM
as above
have a really bad ( terrible ) experiences with Norton360 (07)
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1868275&highlight=norton
and Panda Platinium Internet sercurity 06 .
so any really solid all in one sercurity suites to recommend ?
MCAFEE Internet sercurity 08 ?
ZoneAlarm Internet sercurity ?
Kaspersky Internet Security 7.0 ?
:s22:
hope the next one wun be that bad
cannotliao
22-03-2008, 09:37 PM
try the free one.
anti-virus got AVG, Avira AntiVir, Avast, Comodo
firewall got Comodo or Online Armor Personal Firewall
http://www.techsupportalert.com/best_46_free_utilities.htm#3
for Adware/Spyware Remover pick one from above link.
then once or twice month go scan with free Kaspersky or Bitdefender online scanner. you are quite safe liao.
for pay version. you may want try Kaspersky or Bitdefender.
Piak_Piak
22-03-2008, 09:54 PM
Kaspersky Internet Security 7.0
a024601976
22-03-2008, 10:43 PM
Kaspersky Internet Security 7.0 :) ... i mean since it's having a discount ...
ballastic90
22-03-2008, 10:59 PM
Kaspersky Internet Security 7.0 :) ... i mean since it's having a discount ...
Kaspersky Internet Security 7.0
wah
seems alot of people jie shao this
hmm
what about virus detection leh ?
how is it?
mun_hoe
23-03-2008, 11:24 AM
Eset Smart Security.......I'm using it, no resource hog, far better than norton craps :)
a024601976
23-03-2008, 11:28 AM
wah
seems alot of people jie shao this
hmm
what about virus detection leh ?
how is it?
You can always give the trial a try before you buy it. So far it's been pretty good. :)
ballastic90
23-03-2008, 10:09 PM
You can always give the trial a try before you buy it. So far it's been pretty good. :)
what about the tech support ?
ok not ?
hope won't end up like the Norton360
simply horrible:s22:
a024601976
23-03-2008, 10:14 PM
what about the tech support ?
ok not ?
hope won't end up like the Norton360
simply horrible:s22:
Got no reason to call so far :) ... better ask someone else.
littleprincey
23-03-2008, 11:57 PM
I am using MS live onecare. It is not bad.
ab_cat
24-03-2008, 12:06 AM
http://internet-security-suite-review.toptenreviews.com/
ballastic90
24-03-2008, 02:29 PM
but heard say the virus detection not so good ah ?:s22:
erwinrommel
24-03-2008, 06:03 PM
Good luck to you! =:p
erwinrommel
24-03-2008, 06:05 PM
I am using Kaspersky IS. Both Kaspersky and NOD32 (ESET) are getting rave reviews.
If you have a powerful processor, I suggest you go for Kaspersky. If you have lower-end hardarwe, ESET security should be better. :)
BoonMee
24-03-2008, 06:54 PM
Any1 knows in sls.. which shops got sell bitdefender suite.
ballastic90
24-03-2008, 08:12 PM
Good luck to you! =:p
hahaha
why good luck to littleprincey ??:s22:
that 1 also lots of problems?
ASM_HWZ
24-03-2008, 09:24 PM
http://internet-security-suite-review.toptenreviews.com/Oop... my dear friend, no no no...
ab_cat
24-03-2008, 09:27 PM
lol y no? But for the list, I guess I will choose KIS ba..
erwinrommel
24-03-2008, 10:02 PM
hahaha
why good luck to littleprincey ??:s22:
that 1 also lots of problems?
It has one of the worst detection in numerous tests. Only NOD32 and Kaspersky are always in the top 3 detection tests.
Anyway, its MS fault that the OS has so many flaws. You sure you wanna buy their own anti-virus to cover its own design flaws? :s22:
mata_hippo
24-03-2008, 11:22 PM
bitdefender not recommended for slower coms
hlots123
25-03-2008, 01:27 AM
lol y no?for one perspective on why not, see "anti-virus testing websites" apr 2007 article at av-comparatives.
ahs3ng
25-03-2008, 12:14 PM
why buy from sls? Challenger got sell also
I just brought 2 licenses of it for my company
Review of BitDefender IMO:
Pros:
Good and cheap(brought 2 licenses for near 90sgd, 2yrs warranty), all in one. Im using BitDefender Internet Security 2008; consists of antivirus, antispyware, antiphishing(this one i dont find it useful at all), antispam, firewall(very easy to configure), parental control(not using), gamer mode(havent try)
Cons:
When you first install it, it will prompt u for ur programs's allow or deny action; quite irritating but after that is ok. Its not recommended for slow processor though.
ballastic90
25-03-2008, 03:26 PM
why buy from sls? Challenger got sell also
I just brought 2 licenses of it for my company
Review of BitDefender IMO:
Pros:
Good and cheap(brought 2 licenses for near 90sgd, 2yrs warranty), all in one. Im using BitDefender Internet Security 2008; consists of antivirus, antispyware, antiphishing(this one i dont find it useful at all), antispam, firewall(very easy to configure), parental control(not using), gamer mode(havent try)
Cons:
When you first install it, it will prompt u for ur programs's allow or deny action; quite irritating but after that is ok. Its not recommended for slow processor though.
so as compared this to kapersky
which is better
in terms of better detection and scanning time
ahs3ng
25-03-2008, 04:36 PM
which is better
this i cant comment, as i never use kapersky before :p
erwinrommel
25-03-2008, 05:00 PM
which is better
How do you define "better"?
Normally, there are a few factors to consider:
1) Resource-hogging?
2) Quick updates?
3) Good heuristic analyzer?
4) Powerful virus dictionary (signature) scan?
5) Cost?
ballastic90
26-03-2008, 01:40 PM
1) Resource-hogging?
2) Quick updates?
3) Good heuristic analyzer?
4) Powerful virus dictionary (signature) scan?
5) Cost?
erms
options 1 and 3
Kevin10
26-03-2008, 02:07 PM
How abt ahnlab ? Install till now , i am still happy with it and is cheap. =)
erwinrommel
26-03-2008, 02:13 PM
erms
options 1 and 3
NOD32 for you then. :) And its more expensive.
ASM_HWZ
26-03-2008, 09:31 PM
lol y no? But for the list, I guess I will choose KIS ba..I prefer the one done by av-comparatives. At least they share their view in forum, along with 1 or 2 AV developers.
ASM_HWZ
26-03-2008, 09:42 PM
1) Resource-hogging? - ESS is better than KIS
2) Quick updates?KIS (depend on the setting), but there are occasion where NOD is faster
3) Good heuristic analyzer?Eset AH Engine, no doubt; this is what they are famous for... Some signature could even detect virus variants without update. They are the one and only that could do this.:s16:
4) Powerful virus dictionary (signature) scan?KIS for sure, has the bigger of all.
5) Cost?KIS is expensive than Eset:s16: Thats why they are people looking for sale in KIS/KAV. Eset, dun expect too much sale or special discount.Personally, I own NOD32, KIS and Bitdefender, I must say all are good; but BD is a good buy if your system is not slow.
tifosi
27-03-2008, 12:53 PM
i think i would recommend Outpost Security Suite.
Its pretty damned good
PsyNidE
27-03-2008, 01:26 PM
I'm using KIS 7.0. Prior to that I was using NOD32. Both are just as good. Kaspersky is signature base while NOD32 is heuristics based. Now NOD32 has launched their all-in-one security suite called Eset Smart Security.
I might just change back to ESS next time after my KIS expires in 2009.
ballastic90
30-03-2008, 04:03 PM
I'm using KIS 7.0. Prior to that I was using NOD32. Both are just as good. Kaspersky is signature base while NOD32 is heuristics based. Now NOD32 has launched their all-in-one security suite called Eset Smart Security.
I might just change back to ESS next time after my KIS expires in 2009.
wah
not got 3 choices
1) KIS 7.0
2) NOD 32
3) Bitdefender
what about zonealarm ?
how come no1 mention it ah ?
not good?
mun_hoe
30-03-2008, 04:16 PM
zonealarm used to be good when it started out a few yrs back, then it got bloated and laggy....used it back in yr 2001 till 2002
ASM_HWZ
31-03-2008, 03:09 AM
zonealarm used to be good when it started out a few yrs back, then it got bloated and laggy....used it back in yr 2001 till 2002To be frank, it was good because they heavily advertised it and its free. Back then, the good one were Sygate, kerio and Agnitum, BlackICE...
Now Agnitum, OnLine Amour, Comodo... ...
ASM_HWZ
31-03-2008, 03:11 AM
Anyway Guys... just one good news. Kaspersky Version 8 is release as RC. So I guess, official release will be round the corner
ballastic90
31-03-2008, 10:38 PM
To be frank, it was good because they heavily advertised it and its free. Back then, the good one were Sygate, kerio and Agnitum, BlackICE...
Now Agnitum, OnLine Amour, Comodo... ...
OnLine amour ?
hmmm
heard that the sygate firewall can trace back the ip of whos trying to access ur pc ,
seems good leh
ASM_HWZ
01-04-2008, 09:02 PM
OnLine amour ?
hmmm
heard that the sygate firewall can trace back the ip of whos trying to access ur pc ,
seems good lehYes... but useless foe some of us here... no point tracking back unless you want to block their IP.
spinning_quirK
01-04-2008, 11:57 PM
For an antivirus comparison, www.av-comparatives.org is a good reference.
For a firewall comparison, this is a good reference: http://www.matousec.com/projects/firewall-challenge/results.php
Basically shows that although KIS' firewall isn't the best, it still thrashes Eset's firewall, because the latter's firewall doesn't fight leaktests.
ballastic90
02-04-2008, 12:24 AM
For an antivirus comparison, www.av-comparatives.org is a good reference.
For a firewall comparison, this is a good reference: http://www.matousec.com/projects/firewall-challenge/results.php
Basically shows that although KIS' firewall isn't the best, it still thrashes Eset's firewall, because the latter's firewall doesn't fight leaktests.
wheres norton firewall in that link ?
not even in that leauge ah ?
erwinrommel
02-04-2008, 01:25 AM
Most probably its not tested. Otherwise, McAfee will surely appear in the list. Their firewall is quite good and it simply does'nt make sense that the MS Live One-care can make it to the list while McAfee doesn't.
yslimsg
02-04-2008, 09:11 AM
using F-secured.. Lol
ballastic90
03-04-2008, 01:34 PM
Most probably its not tested. Otherwise, McAfee will surely appear in the list. Their firewall is quite good and it simply does'nt make sense that the MS Live One-care can make it to the list while McAfee doesn't.
yea lor
kinda werid
MS live actually beat McAfee ??
Would highly recommend SOPHOS. They are 1 of the elite in internet securities.
dragonics
03-04-2008, 06:05 PM
Kaspersky Internet Security 7.0 now selling $38 for 3PC 1yr
ASM_HWZ
03-04-2008, 09:58 PM
Would highly recommend SOPHOS. They are 1 of the elite in internet securities.Yes, and their firewall technology is base on Agnitum Outpost, same as Ad-Aware.
ASM_HWZ
03-04-2008, 10:00 PM
not even in that leauge ah ?He has minimized the list... as they don't respond to him... he tested most of the firewall in the market, one that he didn't touch on si far is Injoy.
spinning_quirK
04-04-2008, 04:41 AM
They switched to new testing criteria recently. Their previous round of testing somewhere on the website had a long list of firewalls.
hlots123
04-04-2008, 01:00 PM
The old list is still there wot, http://www.matousec.com/projects/windows-personal-firewall-analysis/leak-tests-results.php
But I think his tests seem more like a reflection of how strong / weak the firewall's HIPS-component is. So the top firewalls there, many novices (like moi) simply rush to install then dunno how to configure or answer pop-ups & cause unnecessary problems for themselves. Or complain too noisy or too complicated etc...
Q.: You conduct extensive research of firewalls’ functionality. Can you name the five top features that should be present in every firewall of choice?
A.: It should be noted that the products we mostly focus on are not common firewalls. We work with products that implement process-based security, we call them personal firewalls.
There are many software firewalls that do not do that and just filter packets. These firewalls are not worse than personal firewalls, they are just different kind of software - for different kind of users. We require personal firewalls to include host protection features too.
Now, if it is clear what kind of products we are talking about, we can discuss what we expect from them.http://www.securityteacher.com/2008/02/26/david-matousek-matousec-transparent-security-shares-his-views-of-internet-security/
spinning_quirK
04-04-2008, 01:52 PM
Well, most firewalls filter packets perfectly. There are only 3 things left that allow them to be differentiated:
1) resource usage
2) price
3) strength of the anti-intrusion system
The top two firewalls in terms of 3 are also free and use very little resources.
hlots123
04-04-2008, 02:24 PM
I agree too. But wat I meant was, some pple look at the list & write-off those "middle or bottom" firewalls w/o understanding - when actually those may suit them better than "top" firewalls after considering the user's pc usage, knowledge, tolerance of pop-ups etc...
ballastic90
04-04-2008, 08:31 PM
Well, most firewalls filter packets perfectly. There are only 3 things left that allow them to be differentiated:
1) resource usage
2) price
3) strength of the anti-intrusion system
The top two firewalls in terms of 3 are also free and use very little resources.
what about simplcity useage ?
one thing good about norton is their firewall mostly all automatic configure de leh
and hence lesser pop out :s22:
Kapersky got not ah ?
techmatic
05-04-2008, 05:03 PM
Kapersky is AV or just IS ?
looking into buying one to replace my expiring LiveOneCare.. If no promo, going back to LiveOneCare I think since I can get rebates..
PsyNidE
05-04-2008, 05:29 PM
looking into buying one to replace my expiring LiveOneCare.. If no promo, going back to LiveOneCare I think since I can get rebates..
Kaspersky has only the AV standalone or KIS= Kaspersky Internet Security ... so you decide on which product of theirs do you need?
NWT1978
05-04-2008, 07:41 PM
LiveOne Care their detection bad
promo at challenger for Kapersky 3 users at 34.50 for member and 38.50 for non member :D just purchased it today and now updating hope it better than zonealarm...
ballastic90
06-04-2008, 02:26 PM
LiveOne Care their detection bad
promo at challenger for Kapersky 3 users at 34.50 for member and 38.50 for non member :D just purchased it today and now updating hope it better than zonealarm...
so for now kapersky the latest version is which 1 ah ?
later i buy liao got new one coming out
wah :s22:
a024601976
06-04-2008, 02:34 PM
so for now kapersky the latest version is which 1 ah ?
later i buy liao got new one coming out
wah :s22:
Then you just go to www.kaspersky.com and download the new version and reuse your old license key. Upgrades are FREE! :P
ballastic90
07-04-2008, 01:11 PM
Then you just go to www.kaspersky.com and download the new version and reuse your old license key. Upgrades are FREE! :P
wah
sure bo
so good !? :s22:
but kapersky is it resource hog and sucks alot of power from processor ?
downloading the trail soon
hope all goes well
PsyNidE
07-04-2008, 01:18 PM
wah
sure bo
so good !? :s22:
but kapersky is it resource hog and sucks alot of power from processor ?
downloading the trail soon
hope all goes well
have you actually used kaspersky? I've been using it since last year and it's not a resource hog for sure.
ballastic90
07-04-2008, 01:24 PM
have you actually used kaspersky? I've been using it since last year and it's not a resource hog for sure.
nope
never leh
stick with norton now regret
but lucky expiring soon
PsyNidE
07-04-2008, 01:26 PM
http://forums.vr-zone.com/showthread.php?t=259304
Someone is selling away KIS 7.0 with 3 licence
Jas007
07-04-2008, 01:32 PM
nope
never leh
stick with norton now regret
but lucky expiring soon
be sure to uninstall Norton thoroughly
make sure you follow the steps given on their webbie
may have to use their Removal Tool
i not sure for N360 ...
but by not doing a full uninstall .. you WILL be in a world of mental anguish when you do install the new IS or AV kit
ballastic90
09-04-2008, 06:38 PM
be sure to uninstall Norton thoroughly
make sure you follow the steps given on their webbie
may have to use their Removal Tool
i not sure for N360 ...
but by not doing a full uninstall .. you WILL be in a world of mental anguish when you do install the new IS or AV kit
will conflict right ?
hmmm
but norton 360 when uninstalled from the add/remove programs should be ok bahs ?:s13:
Jas007
09-04-2008, 06:53 PM
will conflict right ?
hmmm
but norton 360 when uninstalled from the add/remove programs should be ok bahs ?:s13:
but Norton has been notorious for its uninstalling problems
best to visit Symantec wbebie to check if there's any Removal Tool for your Norton 360
failure to do so if need be ... you might have to :
(1) repair your windows (and no, you cant use sticky tape to pave over the cracks)
(2) do a fresh install of your OS
dont play play ok :s13:
slightly OT ...
when i suspected my system had viruses ... i installed a few at once and scanned them one at a time ...
my main one then was Trend Micro IS ...
i also installed Avira, Avast, Spyware Terminator ... all in the system together ...
didnt encounter any problems :s13:
but then again i was already prepared to do a fresh install .. ultimately if need be
tot i see how much of a salvaging act i can perform lol
kiasu .. no .. i was desperate ...
kiasu is when u install a few in your system for everday use lol
erwinrommel
09-04-2008, 09:27 PM
I just help my brother installed the first KIS 7 3 user license that I have bought. He was originally using Norton 2006 OEM copy.
To uninstall, I went to Add/Remove program and uninstall, followed by reboot. Next, I went to their website and download the correct removal tool. This will run slowly and remove all the update options, registries, etc.
Next, I run a CCleaner and remove those invalid registry entries.
Lastly, I install KIS 7, and then run an update, followed by a full system scan while tweaking the scan settings. :s13:
Jas007
09-04-2008, 10:04 PM
I just help my brother installed the first KIS 7 3 user license that I have bought. He was originally using Norton 2006 OEM copy.
To uninstall, I went to Add/Remove program and uninstall, followed by reboot. Next, I went to their website and download the correct removal tool. This will run slowly and remove all the update options, registries, etc.
Next, I run a CCleaner and remove those invalid registry entries.
Lastly, I install KIS 7, and then run an update, followed by a full system scan while tweaking the scan settings. :s13:
hmm ... just wondering if it would have been batter to :
1) website and download the correct removal tool
2) disconnect from internet and network
3) Add/Remove program and uninstall, followed by reboot.
4) run the removal program
5) run cCleaner
my thinking is that no unnecessary risk cos without protection, since you already uninstalled your Norton 2006 and then connecting to the internet
6) install KIS 7
7) at the prompt for activation, enable internet connection ... then proceed to activation AFTER making sure UPDATES are being downloaded already
SpinNaker
10-04-2008, 12:11 AM
have u tried downloading? from their website, they only say there's 30% discount for recurring customers... nowhere does it state free upgrades...
a024601976
10-04-2008, 08:06 AM
have u tried downloading? from their website, they only say there's 30% discount for recurring customers... nowhere does it state free upgrades...
Download from here and install as per usual regardless of which version activation code you got (http://www.kaspersky.com/downloads). Only thing is if you have KIS you have to upgrade to another KIS and vise-versa.
ballastic90
10-04-2008, 08:10 PM
Download from here and install as per usual regardless of which version activation code you got (http://www.kaspersky.com/downloads). Only thing is if you have KIS you have to upgrade to another KIS and vise-versa.
o.O
so ish got or dun have ah ?
wah
left 9days b4 360 Expire !!
:s13::look:
Jas007
10-04-2008, 09:11 PM
o.O
so ish got or dun have ah ?
wah
left 9days b4 360 Expire !!
:s13::look:
brother,
i willingly forfeited 2 months (balance) of my Trend Micro after getting myself KIS v7 :s13:
smith2006
10-04-2008, 09:33 PM
For an antivirus comparison, www.av-comparatives.org (http://www.av-comparatives.org) is a good reference.
This site is good but it has not been updated for awhile.
http://www.firewallleaktester.com/
ballastic90
10-04-2008, 11:37 PM
brother,
i willingly forfeited 2 months (balance) of my Trend Micro after getting myself KIS v7 :s13:
must make money's worth .
haha
trend micro not so good also huh?
Jas007
11-04-2008, 12:10 AM
must make money's worth .
haha
trend micro not so good also huh?
let's just say KIS 7 is better :D
almost everything about it is better, the looks, the interface, the configurations, etc
and more importantly, i think KIS has a wider AV database
ballastic90
11-04-2008, 08:08 PM
brother,
wah
2months alot leh :s22:
ov2rey
11-04-2008, 08:13 PM
still prefer Symantec Endpoint Protection
ballastic90
11-04-2008, 08:27 PM
still prefer Symantec Endpoint Protection
huh
whats that ?
ov2rey
11-04-2008, 08:37 PM
huh
whats that ?
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=26784597&postcount=90
ballastic90
13-04-2008, 10:57 PM
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=26784597&postcount=90
wah
but that 1 seem not pretty popular ?
seems solid though
ov2rey
14-04-2008, 12:18 AM
wah
but that 1 seem not pretty popular ?
seems solid though
lorxz... it's cost super super big bomb on ur pocket if u able to buy it..
cost 5 users 499 dollars!!!!! SG!!!!!
1 usrs 399DOLLAR!!!!!! do u think good anot?
hlots123
14-04-2008, 12:50 AM
Excluding SEP's proactive intrusion module, wudn't it's malware detection capability be on par with norton's?
Jas007
14-04-2008, 01:49 AM
lorxz... it's cost super super big bomb on ur pocket if u able to buy it..
cost 5 users 499 dollars!!!!! SG!!!!!
1 usrs 399DOLLAR!!!!!! do u think good anot?
its targeted at corporate clients aint it ?
ov2rey
14-04-2008, 06:22 AM
its targeted at corporate clients aint it ?
normal home os also can use
like Xp Home
Xp professional
Vista all kind of edition also can use...
i using that software it's great easy setup and never get any virus
and eating lesser ram
Jas007
14-04-2008, 12:21 PM
normal home os also can use
like Xp Home
Xp professional
Vista all kind of edition also can use...
i using that software it's great easy setup and never get any virus
and eating lesser ram
so then it brings about my next question ....
why cant they (Symantec) IMPROVE on their Norton 360 / NIS / etc
this suite you showed us ... shows that they are more than capable of doing so ...
now why wont they ?
ov2rey
14-04-2008, 12:31 PM
so then it brings about my next question ....
why cant they (Symantec) IMPROVE on their Norton 360 / NIS / etc
this suite you showed us ... shows that they are more than capable of doing so ...
now why wont they ?
a..
i don't know how to answer ur question but norton did release 360 version 2...
and their NIS improve alot since like version 2007
ballastic90
14-04-2008, 08:08 PM
a..
hmmm
dun think got much improvement de bahs
especially their tech support.
need improvment
yea lor
also want know why the suite u show use never release for we all to use de ?
werid
:yawn:
Jas007
14-04-2008, 08:38 PM
a..
no lah bro ...
not pressing you for an answer lah :s13:
you not spokesman for Symantec lah
but appreciate you trying out all the softwares and posting your findings in the forum
is that part of your job scope ?
as for Norton, i last time i always use Norton ... cos i naive :s13:
now i dun trust their products anymore ... well, the one u using is an exception :D
ov2rey
15-04-2008, 05:22 AM
no lah bro ...
not pressing you for an answer lah :s13:
you not spokesman for Symantec lah
but appreciate you trying out all the softwares and posting your findings in the forum
is that part of your job scope ?
as for Norton, i last time i always use Norton ... cos i naive :s13:
now i dun trust their products anymore ... well, the one u using is an exception :D
okie.. let me explain i use alot of software for testing and recommend which anti virus or any tweak tools software is good.. that why i posted alot of software thread for people to preveiw it before buying it...
rather test before buy right?
and for ballastic90
i can tell you that Symantec Endpoint Protection software is way better high then KIS or normal Home edition Norton like NIS, Norton 360 ver 2, Norton anti virus.. etc.. other brand
but maybe there is one or more software is better then Symantec Endpoint Protection but we never know it..
and Symantec Endpoint Protection is a newer technology for detect and scanning for virus, it's newer then Norton 360 and NIS..
and Symantec Endpoint Protection have been recommended to those File Server or networking or company, it can be use as home too
i would say that Symantec Endpoint Protection is a very good product that they release..
anyway i not Symantec FAN!!!!
i only use software that are eating lesser memory and loading and good detecting..
i can say that
Symantec Endpoint Protection is 100% better then NOD32,NIS,Norton 360,Norton anti vius, Symantec Anti vius, McAfee ANti -virus or other ....
i have tested between NOD32 and Symantec Endpoint Protection
Symantec Endpoint Protection detect virus is faster then NOD32.
that all i can say since i am using that software now.
and Symantec Endpoint Protection firewall protect is very good easy to use for those torrent or p2p downloader...
Symantec Endpoint Protection also got build in a techology that can block a software to load or open the file.
a024601976
15-04-2008, 08:30 AM
okie.. let me explain i use alot of software for testing and recommend which anti virus or any tweak tools software is good.. that why i posted alot of software thread for people to preveiw it before buying it...
rather test before buy right?
and for ballastic90
i can tell you that Symantec Endpoint Protection software is way better high then KIS or normal Home edition Norton like NIS, Norton 360 ver 2, Norton anti virus.. etc.. other brand
but maybe there is one or more software is better then Symantec Endpoint Protection but we never know it..
and Symantec Endpoint Protection is a newer technology for detect and scanning for virus, it's newer then Norton 360 and NIS..
and Symantec Endpoint Protection have been recommended to those File Server or networking or company, it can be use as home too
i would say that Symantec Endpoint Protection is a very good product that they release..
anyway i not Symantec FAN!!!!
i only use software that are eating lesser memory and loading and good detecting..
i can say that
Symantec Endpoint Protection is 100% better then NOD32,NIS,Norton 360,Norton anti vius, Symantec Anti vius, McAfee ANti -virus or other ....
i have tested between NOD32 and Symantec Endpoint Protection
Symantec Endpoint Protection detect virus is faster then NOD32.
that all i can say since i am using that software now.
and Symantec Endpoint Protection firewall protect is very good easy to use for those torrent or p2p downloader...
Symantec Endpoint Protection also got build in a techology that can block a software to load or open the file.
I find it interesting that you have published results of other antivirus performance without testing them and can come up with a '100% better' score :).
I have SEP in my workplace, it is definitely more a resource hog than NIS not to mention the bootup is quite sloooww. As for detection rate i cannot comment ... but i can assure you we got hit by our fair share of viruses.
It has tons of features i dun think the home user needs. Disabling of external drives, centralized management (setup a server room in the toilet? :))
ov2rey
15-04-2008, 11:06 AM
I find it interesting that you have published results of other antivirus performance without testing them and can come up with a '100% better' score :).
I have SEP in my workplace, it is definitely more a resource hog than NIS not to mention the bootup is quite sloooww. As for detection rate i cannot comment ... but i can assure you we got hit by our fair share of viruses.
It has tons of features i dun think the home user needs. Disabling of external drives, centralized management (setup a server room in the toilet? :))
lorx.. u should read more on NOd32 forum there are fews virus that NOD32 unable to detect.. and SEP can detect it and ur working place it loading slow becasue of the mainboard checking networking when starting up and lot of services is running on the background.
if u don't use centralized management just don't set anything for centralized management option since it's not using... no point to care about it.
you are wrong.. SEP is loading faster then NIS and it look me less then 10 sec to load finish all my start up.
i think u have too many services that are not in use that are running might slow up the start up and boot up.
"I find it interesting that you have published results of other antivirus performance without testing them and can come up with a '100% better' score ."
pls search ur answer at the norton web site. and it have already give the answer at the official web site of norton and they got proof of the flash video that SEP is better then NIS and Norton 360.
SEP is design for server use and also can use it for home users
but it's recommended for company use..
it's same as Symantec ANti virus
i wish i have answer ur question.
a024601976
15-04-2008, 11:20 AM
lorx.. u should read more on NOd32 forum there are fews virus that NOD32 unable to detect.. and SEP can detect it and ur working place it loading slow becasue of the mainboard checking networking when starting up and lot of services is running on the background.
if u don't use centralized management just don't set anything for centralized management option since it's not using... no point to care about it.
you are wrong.. SEP is loading faster then NIS and it look me less then 10 sec to load finish all my start up.
i think u have too many services that are not in use that are running might slow up the start up and boot up.
"I find it interesting that you have published results of other antivirus performance without testing them and can come up with a '100% better' score ."
pls search ur answer at the norton web site. and it have already give the answer at the official web site of norton and they got proof of the flash video that SEP is better then NIS and Norton 360.
SEP is design for server use and also can use it for home users
but it's recommended for company use..
it's same as Symantec ANti virus
i wish i have answer ur question.
Vice-versa there are some that SEP cannot detect that others can. I do not see that as a definitive conclusion really :). Last thing i need is to visit a Norton website for them to tell me Norton is better ... i mean what else can they say? :)
ov2rey
15-04-2008, 11:41 AM
Vice-versa there are some that SEP cannot detect that others can. I do not see that as a definitive conclusion really :). Last thing i need is to visit a Norton website for them to tell me Norton is better ... i mean what else can they say? :)
what u mean..
i don't understand. let have a talk about anti virus and not for war..
SEP is a newer product that release by Symantec company
and Norton is a brand name for home users..
SEP is a high end product by Symantec.
i would recommend SEP for company if u got money..
NIS is eating more ram then SEP and loading lot of services then SEP.
a024601976
15-04-2008, 12:11 PM
what u mean..
i don't understand. let have a talk about anti virus and not for war..
SEP is a newer product that release by Symantec company
and Norton is a brand name for home users..
SEP is a high end product by Symantec.
i would recommend SEP for company if u got money..
NIS is eating more ram then SEP and loading lot of services then SEP.
Yup i understand your feelings, but i think my IT dept is going to change out of it. They seem to find that it gets disabled by viruses here and there, and updates are not frequent enough and hence there is a too large a window of opportunity for a virus attack. And the proactive defenses it has is not up to par to not have frequent updates to narrow the window of opportunity for attacks.
ov2rey
15-04-2008, 01:38 PM
Yup i understand your feelings, but i think my IT dept is going to change out of it. They seem to find that it gets disabled by viruses here and there, and updates are not frequent enough and hence there is a too large a window of opportunity for a virus attack. And the proactive defenses it has is not up to par to not have frequent updates to narrow the window of opportunity for attacks.
SEP have already release a newer version. maybe just wait for more newer version of SEP since that product just release might have fews bug..
anyway what is ur comment for SEP?
like to hear it from u
a024601976
15-04-2008, 02:00 PM
SEP have already release a newer version. maybe just wait for more newer version of SEP since that product just release might have fews bug..
like to hear it from u
Dun think waiting is a solution for corporates, i believe the license is expiring. Either renew or review and change.
Well personally my computer was taken away twice for reformatting due to viruses of some sort last year ... what else can i say ...
hlots123
15-04-2008, 02:27 PM
lorx.. u should read more on NOd32 forum there are fews virus that NOD32 unable to detect.. and SEP can detect it
pls search ur answer at the norton web site. and it have already give the answer at the official web site of norton and they got proof of the flash video that SEP is better then NIS and Norton 360.I personally think ur 2 posts above says alot about how "factual" ur views are about SEP....
cannotliao
15-04-2008, 02:43 PM
personally i Wont install or use any Symantec or Norton product again.
ov2rey
15-04-2008, 04:12 PM
I personally think ur 2 posts above says alot about how "factual" ur views are about SEP....
okie sorry if done or say any things that i shouldn't say
for gamer i recommend
1st NOD32 "Becsaue it taking lesser ram and loading
2nd KIS "because it is a good protection"
3rd Norton anti virus 2008 "it taking less or improve from 2007 from ram and loading scanning ... etc..
as for McAfee they are still so many bug and too many start up and service it taking long time to load finish. but their protection is good too.
it's better to have a tweak tools software as like ccleaner, Registry Mechanic,Your Uninstaller! 2008
those software are good for speeding up and remove junk file... and fix.
for my comment for SEP there are too many option that we don't need to use it. those option might taking up ram and service from loading.
but SEP bad things is that they do not dialy updating...
ballastic90
16-04-2008, 08:06 PM
like to hear it from u
wah
SEP out of the question liao
too X
haha
Poll added .
3more days to expiry
:s22::yawn:
So confrim now , the kapersky if i get ver 7 and a new 1 comes out . can i upgrade for free??
Jas007
16-04-2008, 08:27 PM
So confrim now , the kapersky if i get ver 7 and a new 1 comes out . can i upgrade for free??
no one here can confirm that for you cos Ver 8 is not out yet
but based on their past policies, upgrading of KIS6 to KIS7 is free
previously someone reported that there is a $30 payment which WAS misleading
you need to pay if u upgrading from KAV to KIS
see here (http://www.kaspersky.com/upgrade)
ballastic90
18-04-2008, 10:55 PM
ok
finally
360 Has EXPIRED ( Happy ! )
but since i haven't made a decision to get which internet security, for now can the norton stil protect even though is has expired ?
and is the firewall still as what is is used to be before the expiring ?
got any changes to the firewall besides the updates for the anti virus ?
Jas007
18-04-2008, 11:04 PM
ok
finally
but since i haven't made a decision to get which internet security, for now can the norton stil protect even though is has expired ?
i shld think that you are still protected ... but that you are no longer entitled to any updates
this leaves you vulnerable to virus attacks ... esp if your email is scanned by Norton
the other thing i would urge you to monitor is the status of the expired suite
make sure Protection status is ON ...
i've encountered old version NIS where it deactivated by itself cos i had overlooked the expiry date
why not try out freewares ...
Comodo Firewall is pretty decent
as for AV .. u may try Avira or Avast
these free wares comes with regular updates ... and shld be a wiser option than sticking out with an expired protection suite
my 2 cents
ASM_HWZ
18-04-2008, 11:36 PM
Sorry for the late reply
no one here can confirm that for you cos Ver 8 is not out yetNo, it's not out yet... but 8.0.0.343 Pre RC2 has just being released.
but based on their past policies, upgrading of KIS6 to KIS7 is freeYes, it's free
previously someone reported that there is a $30 payment which WAS misleadingyou need to pay if u upgrading from KAV to KIS
see here (http://www.kaspersky.com/upgrade)Yes, you are right
ASM_HWZ
18-04-2008, 11:50 PM
ok
finally
:s22:Use the one you are confident in... If you hanged around AV/Security forum, each have their own said... go to Wilder Security; you won't expect much cos most of NOD32 users camp there... but there are people there who can give you good advise.
See... if AV ABC miss certain virus; and AV XYZ detect it, that does not mean that AV XYZ is good... One must know that, there are different type of Virus, and some might be good at detecting Virus A but some might be good at detecting virus Z... and some are capable to detect virus variant without updating it signature/database... All software do have bug; NOD32, Kaspersky, Bitdefender etc etc all have it, U don't have to worry, at least they are open to public and there are users and developers willing to assist you.
When choosing an AV... look into their respond time in updating new signature/database, next will be the resource usage, easy of use... lastly the confident U have for that Brand.
Security is a Process not a Product...;)
ov2rey
19-04-2008, 05:38 AM
wah
SEP out of the question liao
too X
haha
Poll added .
3more days to expiry
SEP just release new version fews days ago
version 11.0.2000.1562
ballastic90
20-04-2008, 01:29 AM
Use the one you are confident in... If you hanged around AV/Security forum, each have their own said... go to Wilder Security; you won't expect much cos most of NOD32 users camp there... but there are people there who can give you good advise.
See... if AV ABC miss certain virus; and AV XYZ detect it, that does not mean that AV XYZ is good... One must know that, there are different type of Virus, and some might be good at detecting Virus A but some might be good at detecting virus Z... and some are capable to detect virus variant without updating it signature/database... All software do have bug; NOD32, Kaspersky, Bitdefender etc etc all have it, U don't have to worry, at least they are open to public and there are users and developers willing to assist you.
When choosing an AV... look into their respond time in updating new signature/database, next will be the resource usage, easy of use... lastly the confident U have for that Brand.
Security is a Process not a Product...;)
now no confidence in any leh .
cos 2 years having a really been experience with Panda , than now Norton m
hmmm but since alot of people recommend KIS than maybe lor
though all is not 100% safe
ASM_HWZ
20-04-2008, 02:54 AM
now no confidence in any leh .hmmm... its common when come to choosing Av and Firewall
cos 2 years having a really been experience with Panda , than now Norton mPanda used to be a good AV but...recent versions are really a let down... Norton has improve a lot, that's a sure thing. Many years back, they are not even in top 5 on the VB test result; but now they are back in business and is doing good...
hmmm but since alot of people recommend KIS than maybe lor
though all is not 100% safeOK, go for KIS then, seem NOD32 Ver 3 still got some bugs and will be reduces as time goes by... and Bitdefender gave False Positive now and then... you can go for KIS but remember to hang around their forums. Users there are friendly:), nothing to hide from public... if there is bugs in beta or new build, they will alert you; and at least you know you are not alone...;)
erwinrommel
20-04-2008, 03:28 AM
KIS 7 3 license now costs $75 instead of $38. :s22: Didn't have the chance to stockpile them.
Jas007
20-04-2008, 11:34 AM
KIS 7 3 license now costs $75 instead of $38. :s22: Didn't have the chance to stockpile them.
u mean at challenger ?
wat abt Software Boutique ?
ballastic90
20-04-2008, 11:06 PM
hmmm... its common when come to choosing Av and Firewall
Panda used to be a good AV but...recent versions are really a let down... Norton has improve a lot, that's a sure thing. Many years back, they are not even in top 5 on the VB test result; but now they are back in business and is doing good...
OK, go for KIS then, seem NOD32 Ver 3 still got some bugs and will be reduces as time goes by... and Bitdefender gave False Positive now and then... you can go for KIS but remember to hang around their forums. Users there are friendly:), nothing to hide from public... if there is bugs in beta or new build, they will alert you; and at least you know you are not alone...;)
but 1 thing good about norton ish that not alot of pop out leh
all automatic configure whichj programs can access the net
guess thats just the good point about it
think go KIS is the best choice among all liao bah
Jas007
20-04-2008, 11:09 PM
read 2 posts up before yours ...
i hope you are still able to get it at <$40
good luck bro :)
a024601976
21-04-2008, 09:20 AM
You can set it to not show any popup or which ever ones you wanna see. It is totally customizable :). But i personally i rather see a popup of an issue rather than have the program not tell me anything till it is too late.
ov2rey
21-04-2008, 09:46 AM
anti virus still so expensive... since ram drop so much never see any antivirus price drop like ram price....................
a024601976
21-04-2008, 10:18 AM
anti virus still so expensive... since ram drop so much never see any antivirus price drop like ram price....................
Well if you look at the old antivirus software (pre year 2000). We are getting more features and stuff for the same amount of money. Similarly for ram ... we are getting more GIGs per dollar :) ..
ballastic90
23-04-2008, 02:54 PM
Well if you look at the old antivirus software (pre year 2000). We are getting more features and stuff for the same amount of money. Similarly for ram ... we are getting more GIGs per dollar :) ..
but for norton , not much improvment leh :s22:
instead got worst
ballastic90
26-04-2008, 09:09 PM
wah
today went funan see .
KIS going for 79.
dunno whether want to but not leh
got 1 package AcronisTrueImage with Bitdefender going for 79dollars leh
looks tempting
but now realise that alot of internet security suites comes with lots of features we the causal users no need de leh
PARENTAL CONTROL
ANTI PHISPISHING
ANIT SPAM
Online identity protection and so on
all these consume resources de right ?
btw
does anyone knows whether KIS tech support is good ?
Jas007
26-04-2008, 11:53 PM
wah
today went funan see .
KIS going for 79.
u procrastinated lah ... missed the boat (KIS promo) liao
that time only $38.50
your best bet now is Software Boutique ... $64
cos i wanted to buy another one ... and missed the boat too lol
ballastic90
30-04-2008, 12:03 PM
u procrastinated lah ... missed the boat (KIS promo) liao
that time only $38.50
your best bet now is Software Boutique ... $64
cos i wanted to buy another one ... and missed the boat too lol
hmmm
wasted !!:s22:
btw
out of all the suites, which has the best virus detection and intrusion rates ah ?
( nvm about resources hog or big space )
went to funan and
saw that bitdefender BOX behind they put Kapersky the worst among all leh :)
Jas007
30-04-2008, 12:36 PM
hmmm
wasted !!:s22:
btw
out of all the suites, which has the best virus detection and intrusion rates ah ?
( nvm about resources hog or big space )
went to funan and
saw that bitdefender BOX behind they put Kapersky the worst among all leh :)
as mentioned before by some bros here, no one suite is able to detect every virus
Kaspersky is one of the best in that it has one of the largest virus databases
best way to avoid being hit by virus is not to open email attachments (esp .exe files), avoid using freewares (free programs until you google to verify that it comes without all the wares with it), and dont dl program files from torrents etc
as for bitdefender, you need a 'powerful' pc
if not u will suffer from slowdowns
best to try the trial versions of the one you consider buying first, that way you dont waste your $$
ballastic90
02-05-2008, 10:15 AM
saw from this website review , that guy said :
I chose the option to prompt for actions on completion of the scan, thinking I'd get a list of found threats and a chance to determine their fate. That's what most scanners do. Instead, KIS7 displayed a pop-up for each threat asking what to do with it. Kaspersky technicians confirmed that's how the program is supposed to work, but I don't like it.
so alot of pop out will be expected ??:s22:
so out of all, KIS would be the less rescoures hogging ?
KIS ?:s22:
and btw ,
if i remove my norton 360, still need download the removal tool ah?
ballastic90
08-05-2008, 07:49 PM
wahh
Kaspersky not so good leh ??
laptop infected with spyware ( lots of pop out even though never open anything )
scan with KIS , still got pop out leh
somemore updating from database is slow and so does scanning.
1hour plus
and one more thing , lots of pop out for msn .
each converstion sure do have 1 pop out =(
a024601976
08-05-2008, 08:23 PM
wahh
Kaspersky not so good leh ??
laptop infected with spyware ( lots of pop out even though never open anything )
scan with KIS , still got pop out leh
somemore updating from database is slow and so does scanning.
1hour plus
and one more thing , lots of pop out for msn .
each converstion sure do have 1 pop out =(
You have to thank your old antivirus for all those spyware. To remove them best if you turn off the auto restore in windows xp/me and reboot into safe mode and do a full scan there. Windows tend to restore files for whatever reason. Once your windows is clean you should be fine. I get no popups from mine but that's because i installed over a clean windows.
GetaBlue
08-05-2008, 10:37 PM
Oii, 9 pages of posts and only 15 plp voted, the rest leh?
Just tested McAfee total protection 2008. It is faster and responsive. Have sample trail a few virus AUTO.INF and trojans.PSW, it detects immediately.
ballastic90
10-05-2008, 01:17 PM
Oii, 9 pages of posts and only 15 plp voted, the rest leh?
hahahahaha
everyone is MIAING liao
:yawn::s22:
ballastic90
15-05-2008, 08:13 PM
Just tested McAfee total protection 2008. It is faster and responsive. Have sample trail a few virus AUTO.INF and trojans.PSW, it detects immediately.
what about McAfee detection rate ah ?
anyone using it?
ok not?:s22:
ballastic90
23-05-2008, 07:54 PM
how come kaspersky block off youtube videos ?
http://i247.photobucket.com/albums/gg136/hyperX88/Untitled-2.jpg?t=1211543702
hlots123
23-05-2008, 08:06 PM
do u google? http://forum.kaspersky.com/index.php?showtopic=33202
erwinrommel
23-05-2008, 08:07 PM
Hi Ballistic 90, I can see that you are really struggling what to do with KIS7.0. Most of the symptoms that you encounter like KIS block off youtube, etc is simply because you do not know how to configure.
Spend a few moment to
1) remove any single trace of your previous anti-virus by downloading their un-installer
2) Use CCleaner to remove invalid registry entries
3) Do a clean KIS7.0 installation if needed to
The pop-ups can be reduced by adding them into trusted zones. Check that your Proactive Defense under the "Application Integrity Control" is not ticked. If there are some images that cannot be viewed (red cross instead of a picture originally), disable anti-banner. If you feel that the scan is too slow, reduce the heuristic settings and don't concede to other resources. If you don't know what I am talking, I suggest you use another anti-virus. :s22:
KIS is not really meant for novice users or impatient users who don't wish to spend time configuring.
ballastic90
04-06-2008, 11:39 PM
Hi Ballistic 90, I can see that you are really struggling what to do with KIS7.0. Most of the symptoms that you encounter like KIS block off youtube, etc is simply because you do not know how to configure.
Spend a few moment to
1) remove any single trace of your previous anti-virus by downloading their un-installer
2) Use CCleaner to remove invalid registry entries
3) Do a clean KIS7.0 installation if needed to
The pop-ups can be reduced by adding them into trusted zones. Check that your Proactive Defense under the "Application Integrity Control" is not ticked. If there are some images that cannot be viewed (red cross instead of a picture originally), disable anti-banner. If you feel that the scan is too slow, reduce the heuristic settings and don't concede to other resources. If you don't know what I am talking, I suggest you use another anti-virus. :s22:
KIS is not really meant for novice users or impatient users who don't wish to spend time configuring.
wah
tried norton internet security 08 trial verison , seems pretty alright leis. but will seriously slow down alot on my computer guess due to old age of my com or something including boot time and slows down even more when scanning for virus .
so what u guys recommend for antivirus thats light weight and detection rate is very good ?
but the best thing about NIS is the pop up for now is not even 1 !? thats pretty good unlike others which keeps poping out leiss.
so what to hoot at PCSHOW ???
:look::s13:
ahger_2311
05-06-2008, 07:36 AM
can recommend solid one yet wun lag my com so much or require alot of config?
ballastic90
06-06-2008, 11:19 PM
can recommend solid one yet wun lag my com so much or require alot of config?
think for antivirus would be Nod32 liao .
good detection rate and lightweight
but what about firewall??
Swordsman
07-06-2008, 09:47 AM
which is the best among these 3 secuirty suite ? Bit defender, Kaspersky and nod32 ? headache choosing. you guys bought the package or the anti-virus stand alone ?
ahger_2311
17-06-2008, 02:34 PM
think for antivirus would be Nod32 liao .
good detection rate and lightweight
but what about firewall??
hey. i went to nod32 weby. wanted to buy online but notice got few types. which is the one u recommend for nod32?
wiShfulStone
18-06-2008, 12:27 AM
The new KIS2009 feels much faster than version 7, plus don't forget, can try out with 6 month trial :D
http://www.kaspersky.com/de/20814_72814_329
ballastic90
22-06-2008, 07:54 PM
The new KIS2009 feels much faster than version 7, plus don't forget, can try out with 6 month trial :D
http://www.kaspersky.com/de/20814_72814_329
izzit still in beta??
wiShfulStone
22-06-2008, 09:52 PM
izzit still in beta??
Nope, officially out
Jas007
22-06-2008, 10:11 PM
Nope, officially out
any bugs or dislikes abt the new version ?
holding back updating my ver 7
lucied
23-06-2008, 02:21 AM
Use Kaspersky 8 + some other Firewall. Don't use those bundled antivirus/antimalware with firewall built in.
ballastic90
23-06-2008, 08:16 PM
Use Kaspersky 8 + some other Firewall. Don't use those bundled antivirus/antimalware with firewall built in.
why ?
kaspersky firewall not good?
wiShfulStone
23-06-2008, 09:21 PM
any bugs or dislikes abt the new version ?
holding back updating my ver 7
Seems better to me compared to .325 of version 7.. much faster. Only glitch I noticed was the graphs sometimes disappear, but its a small problem, no one really looks at it the whole day..
Jas007
23-06-2008, 09:41 PM
Seems better to me compared to .325 of version 7.. much faster. Only glitch I noticed was the graphs sometimes disappear, but its a small problem, no one really looks at it the whole day..
thanks for the feedback :)
might upgrade one of my systems to v2009 for trial first :D
Jas007
24-06-2008, 10:41 PM
ok i updated one of my machines from KIS 7 to KIS 2009 ...
major dislike :
Firewall Filtration Rules ...
this new interface is too damn complicated unlike the previous one ...
when you need to DENY certain programs from accessing the internet
certainly needs some getting used to ... whereas KIS 7, i had no problems setting up at all
holding back upgrading of other systems till i am able to tackle this problem of restricting programs
ballastic90
25-06-2008, 03:07 PM
ok i updated one of my machines from KIS 7 to KIS 2009 ...
major dislike :
Firewall Filtration Rules ...
this new interface is too damn complicated unlike the previous one ...
when you need to DENY certain programs from accessing the internet
certainly needs some getting used to ... whereas KIS 7, i had no problems setting up at all
holding back upgrading of other systems till i am able to tackle this problem of restricting programs
hmmm
what about the likes of KIS 2009?
the good points ??
aaaaaaaaaa
25-06-2008, 09:22 PM
I'm shopping for AV and came across the charts below and wonder how's ur opinions?
http://www.eset.com/images/Missed-In-the-Wild-Viruses.jpg
http://www.eset.com/images/VB-tests-passed.jpg
Those were extracted from eset webpage (http://www.eset.com/products/compare-NOD32-vs-competition.php).
PsyNidE
26-06-2008, 12:50 PM
Login to Virus Bulletin site itself to verify the claim of ESET. www.virusbtn.com
You need to register and login to see the statistics
ballastic90
26-06-2008, 08:34 PM
I'm shopping for AV and came across the charts below and wonder how's ur opinions?
http://www.eset.com/images/Missed-In-the-Wild-Viruses.jpg
http://www.eset.com/images/VB-tests-passed.jpg
Those were extracted from eset webpage (http://www.eset.com/products/compare-NOD32-vs-competition.php).
wahs
wonder izzit accurate ?
Norton actually is second ??
surprise surprised
BaLtO
26-06-2008, 10:14 PM
Then go install norton
hlots123
26-06-2008, 10:43 PM
I'm shopping for AV and came across the charts below and wonder how's ur opinions?Yes eset & norton do well at vb100. But dun use the graph for comparing among the OTHERS since the graph is cumulative, u dun know if the failures were gathered recently or many years ago (irrelevant now).
Also look at results from a spread of tests, & try to understand a little abt the testbeds or procedures. For example, vb100 testbed is very small iirc, also dun contain trojans or droppers i think. Eg, one perspective offered here, http://sunbeltblog.blogspot.com/2008/06/wildlist-battles.html
Jas007
26-06-2008, 11:11 PM
wahs
wonder izzit accurate ?
Norton actually is second ??
surprise surprised
u were Norton user ...
u should know how 'good' it really is/was (where applicable)
the least you could do is not to mislead "aaaaaaaa"
ballastic90
28-06-2008, 02:14 PM
u were Norton user ...
u should know how 'good' it really is/was (where applicable)
the least you could do is not to mislead "aaaaaaaa"
Then go install norton
no thanks
1yr with norton is more than enuf
but wonder norton version 2.0 ok not?
anyone tried liao??
Jas007
28-06-2008, 02:23 PM
no thanks
1yr with norton is more than enuf
but wonder norton version 2.0 ok not?
anyone tried liao??
:s13: u try and then let us know
i for one will never go back to Norton (or Symantec) for that matter
once bitten, thrice shy :D
btw, what u using now ?
ballastic90
28-06-2008, 02:26 PM
:s13: u try and then let us know
i for one will never go back to Norton (or Symantec) for that matter
once bitten, thrice shy :D
btw, what u using now ?
for now still nothing lor
surviving on windows firewall only
1month plus liao
still cannot decide leh
haiz
hopefully wun have any problems bahs
muahahaha
hlots123
28-06-2008, 02:39 PM
still cannot decide leh
haizlol, now pg11 liao! :s22:
Jas007
28-06-2008, 03:35 PM
lol, now pg11 liao! :s22:
:s13: INDEED ! :s22:
aaaaaaaaaa
29-06-2008, 05:22 PM
Login to Virus Bulletin site itself to verify the claim of ESET. www.virusbtn.com
You need to register and login to see the statistics
Yes eset & norton do well at vb100. But dun use the graph for comparing among the OTHERS since the graph is cumulative, u dun know if the failures were gathered recently or many years ago (irrelevant now).
Also look at results from a spread of tests, & try to understand a little abt the testbeds or procedures. For example, vb100 testbed is very small iirc, also dun contain trojans or droppers i think. Eg, one perspective offered here, http://sunbeltblog.blogspot.com/2008/06/wildlist-battles.html
Thanks for those informative links:)
I was using NAV corp edition for 3yrs before my pc got messed up by malware. Source of malware was from a =:pwebsite. Now i've safeguarded pc with XP SP3, Spybot, Spywareblaster, MS AntiSpyware, Firefox3 browser w/NoScript and on KAV7 trial -11th day.
For KAV i've encountered my folder by the name of 'security' has produced error. I've to rename it to 'se_curity' sort of to access it. Also caught a trojan in a subsubfolder while opening it. All these while under default recommended settings.
Jas007
29-06-2008, 10:54 PM
I was using NAV corp edition for 3yrs before my pc got messed up by malware. Source of malware was from a =:pwebsite. Now i've safeguarded pc with XP SP3, Spybot, Spywareblaster, MS AntiSpyware, Firefox3 browser w/NoScript and on KAV7 trial -11th day.
For KAV i've encountered my folder by the name of 'security' has produced error. I've to rename it to 'se_curity' sort of to access it. Also caught a trojan in a subsubfolder while opening it. All these while under default recommended settings.
u do know that the one most dangerous source of malwares, spywares, kitchenwares, housewares, etc etc :s13: are those =:psites
try not going to them and you'll be safe
no amount of protection will guarantee your system stays safe 100%
just like sex, doesnt mean using a cap makes u 100% safe :D
ballastic90
01-07-2008, 02:25 PM
wah
use until so much protection ah ??:s22:
wun they conflict with each other later?
aaaaaaaaaa
03-07-2008, 10:58 PM
My reason for visiting :osites was to test my system immunity:D But too bad I've forgotten that site's address.
Well now, with with XP SP3, Spybot, Spywareblaster, MS AntiSpyware, Firefox3 browser w/NoScript turned on together, my laptop is much healthier than i am:)
Only problem is KAV trial is slowing down my comp. I'm going to try Nod32 trial to see how?
Jas007
04-07-2008, 12:36 AM
...... Well now, with with XP SP3, Spybot, Spywareblaster, MS AntiSpyware, Firefox3 browser w/NoScript turned on together, my laptop is much healthier than i am:)
what's wrong with your health ? :D
or is it due to a lack of 'exercise' since you forgotten the :osites' address(es) ? :D :s13:
aaaaaaaaaa
04-07-2008, 07:12 PM
My health? I got messed up with high temperature by eating too much chocolate and took 1 full week to get recovered. My computer got back to condition within 24hr since malware attacked.
Lesson learned: Body requires regular excercises; Computer - You knew the ans...:)
erwinrommel
04-07-2008, 07:57 PM
My reason for visiting :osites was to test my system immunity:D But too bad I've forgotten that site's address.
Well now, with with XP SP3, Spybot, Spywareblaster, MS AntiSpyware, Firefox3 browser w/NoScript turned on together, my laptop is much healthier than i am:)
Only problem is KAV trial is slowing down my comp. I'm going to try Nod32 trial to see how?
How does KAV slow down your computer? Other than the initial startup which is slightly longer due to the updates, the rest should be OK right? I am typing this post while doing a full system scan.
kai_87
04-07-2008, 08:39 PM
1 thing i wan to know, it is recommend to get a paid AntiVirus than those free AntiVirus?
PsyNidE
04-07-2008, 08:50 PM
1 thing i wan to know, it is recommend to get a paid AntiVirus than those free AntiVirus?
From the reviews that I've read, the detection rate of Paid AVs are better than those Free AVs.
ballastic90
04-07-2008, 08:54 PM
From the reviews that I've read, the detection rate of Paid AVs are better than those Free AVs.
but depends on which anti virus u are talking abt also right?
but one of the most solid free antivirus is AVG ???
PsyNidE
04-07-2008, 08:59 PM
but depends on which anti virus u are talking abt also right?
but one of the most solid free antivirus is AVG ???
The last time I used Free AVG when it was still ver 6 i think, it detected a virus which the program wasn't able to delete it. I need to purge away the infected file manually from windows explorer. For free AVs, I still prefer Avast over AVG. I've not tried Avira. I've also used NOD32 and Kaspersky. I kind of prefer NOD32. Someday I will switch back to Eset Smart Security once my KIS 2009 licence expires in 2010.
WhiteFox
06-07-2008, 09:41 AM
AntiVir Premium Security Suite, any users here? I'm using the free version and I'm happy with it. Wonder if the Premium Security suite is worth the moolah to get
ballastic90
07-07-2008, 08:41 PM
AntiVir Premium Security Suite, any users here? I'm using the free version and I'm happy with it. Wonder if the Premium Security suite is worth the moolah to get
seems like no1 using it leh .
anyway is that resources hog ??
The last time I used Free AVG when it was still ver 6 i think, it detected a virus which the program wasn't able to delete it. I need to purge away the infected file manually from windows explorer. For free AVs, I still prefer Avast over AVG. I've not tried Avira. I've also used NOD32 and Kaspersky. I kind of prefer NOD32. Someday I will switch back to Eset Smart Security once my KIS 2009 licence expires in 2010.
now AVG still free?
ASM_HWZ
07-07-2008, 08:49 PM
Zone Alarm using Kaspersky engine, maybe 0.5 vote should be given to KIS 7.
ASM_HWZ
07-07-2008, 09:06 PM
1 thing i wan to know, it is recommend to get a paid AntiVirus than those free AntiVirus?Update priority is given to the paid one. So in worse scenario, aggressive virus with variants that need to update few times a day for some AV... this will be a loose out.
ducth1vs1
07-07-2008, 09:38 PM
KIS is one of the best All-in-one security! Recommended!
Jas007
07-07-2008, 09:51 PM
yeah, finally upgraded all my KIS 7 to KIS 2009
ballastic90
13-07-2008, 02:22 PM
yeah, finally upgraded all my KIS 7 to KIS 2009
is the 9 series of KIS resource hog?
install kis 7 on my laptop , on slowed down alot leh
especially when scanning virus:s22:
erwinrommel
13-07-2008, 05:03 PM
is the 9 series of KIS resource hog?
install kis 7 on my laptop , on slowed down alot leh
especially when scanning virus:s22:
KIS 2009 is faster than KIS 7. In fact, the user interface is nicer and has more features.
But then I am trying to figure out how to configure the firewall. KIS7 firewall is easier to configure. You either allow it to access, or just simply block it. :o
PsyNidE
13-07-2008, 05:03 PM
seems like no1 using it leh .
anyway is that resources hog ??
now AVG still free?
AVG got ver 8 free edition mah ...
Jas007
13-07-2008, 05:20 PM
*EDITED this original post*
haha ... i faced that problem too when i migrated to v2009
thing is you must not put your programs into Untrusted
if you must, try Restricted or Low-Restricted
then select Deny under Network tab
ok allow me to elaborate ...
select Application Filtering (under System Security)
Settings
click on Settings button next to "Enable Application Filtering"
if your application is not already included anywhere, decide which group (Trusted/High Restricted, etc) you wanna place your program to be filtered into click "Add" at bottom
once done, to modify its internet/network access rules, just Right-Click its Networks
snipes14
13-07-2008, 09:31 PM
Well when you think about it, if a free AV can be better than a paid AV, then all the paid AVs will go out of business.
It's just like how Cabal Online will never be better than World of Warcraft, ever.
ballastic90
16-07-2008, 08:31 PM
AVG got ver 8 free edition mah ...
that 1 quite ok right?
think dl that 1 liao bahs
Well when you think about it, if a free AV can be better than a paid AV, then all the paid AVs will go out of business.
It's just like how Cabal Online will never be better than World of Warcraft, ever.
actually it depends also right?
some free ones performs better when catching in the 'wild' virus .
btw , what is heuristic scan ?
is that good?
lonely5
21-07-2008, 09:18 PM
does anyone knows whether nod32 is good ?
between nod32 and this
:)
PsyNidE
21-07-2008, 11:03 PM
ur comparing between NOD32 and ?
ballastic90
29-07-2008, 10:07 AM
think will hoot at COMEX liao
anyone knows f secure anitvirus?
that one ok not ??
erwinrommel
29-07-2008, 04:46 PM
think will hoot at COMEX liao
anyone knows f secure anitvirus?
that one ok not ??
Its using Kaspersky scan engine if I am not wrong.
aaaaaaaaaa
30-07-2008, 04:26 PM
How does KAV slow down your computer? Other than the initial startup which is slightly longer due to the updates, the rest should be OK right? I am typing this post while doing a full system scan.
I'm not sure what exactly was hogging my computer with KAV but it truly bugged on me. I've not had similar encounter while using NAV. Just tested with nod32 although it works smoothly, too bad the trial periods was very short. I can't really tell much from such a short trial.:s27:
ASM_HWZ
30-07-2008, 09:00 PM
AVG Paid vs Free (http://download.grisoft.cz/softw/70/filedir/presale/cmpsheets/mm_pfp_cmp_us_2.pdf)
Support for alternate update servers(Paid)Yes
(Free)Not available
Virus/program updates via Internet(Paid)High-speed and high-capacity download serves
(Free)Non-priority download servers
Scheduled update frequency(Paid)Flexible scheduling of updates
(Free)Once a day
Scheduled scanning frequency(Paid)Flexible scheduling of scanning
(Free)Once a day
Detection of Potentially Unwanted Programs(Paid)Yes
(Free)Not available
I'm not sure what exactly was hogging my computer with KAV but it truly bugged on me. I've not had similar encounter while using NAV. Just tested with nod32 although it works smoothly, too bad the trial periods was very short. I can't really tell much from such a short trial.:s27:
You mean slow or hanged ?
ballastic90
02-08-2008, 07:23 PM
i'm using the 6 months on a laptop ,
and quite true, its slows down alot leh.
especially when booting up , maybe its due to my processor or the startup scan which is a pain at times
lonely5
08-08-2008, 02:58 PM
ur comparing between NOD32 and ?
sorry for the late reply
nod32 and AVG free edition
which is lighter on resources?and good detection rate?
PsyNidE
08-08-2008, 04:45 PM
sorry for the late reply
nod32 and AVG free edition
which is lighter on resources?and good detection rate?
of coz NOD32 is better than AVG free edition but you'll need to pay for NOD32
lonely5
16-08-2008, 08:03 PM
of coz NOD32 is better than AVG free edition but you'll need to pay for NOD32
oh i c..
AVG Paid vs Free (http://download.grisoft.cz/softw/70/filedir/presale/cmpsheets/mm_pfp_cmp_us_2.pdf)
Support for alternate update servers(Paid)Yes
(Free)Not available
Virus/program updates via Internet(Paid)High-speed and high-capacity download serves
(Free)Non-priority download servers
Scheduled update frequency(Paid)Flexible scheduling of updates
(Free)Once a day
Scheduled scanning frequency(Paid)Flexible scheduling of scanning
(Free)Once a day
Detection of Potentially Unwanted Programs(Paid)Yes
(Free)Not available
does daily updates really helps?
think update once a week is more than enough right?
rabboni
06-09-2008, 07:44 PM
is nod 32 'easier' to use than kaspersky?
as in having to tweak the settings n configs wise
jtjt00
15-09-2008, 10:24 PM
You can get it from Challenger or Tec-Drome.
PsyNidE
16-09-2008, 09:05 AM
is nod 32 'easier' to use than kaspersky?
as in having to tweak the settings n configs wise
Both have their own support forums for you to check out if you intend to tweak them. you can just follow the screenshots.
Malakite
16-09-2008, 10:40 AM
Hey guys, I've just switched over from a Mac to a windows based laptop.
So i'm actually a bit 'lost'. What would my completely new Virgin laptop need in terms of 'defense' software? I'm still using the Mac now, so I haven't connected the new Lappy to the internet yet.
ballastic90
03-11-2008, 12:42 AM
Hey guys, I've just switched over from a Mac to a windows based laptop.
So i'm actually a bit 'lost'. What would my completely new Virgin laptop need in terms of 'defense' software? I'm still using the Mac now, so I haven't connected the new Lappy to the internet yet.
Get norton 360 2.0
Not bad
big improvments over 1.0
tingyuan
22-01-2009, 12:55 AM
any recommended antivirus, i currently using Norton Internet Security, but it always block clubbox.exe, quite irratating.
i need to buy antivirus before uninstall Norton Internet Security,
tech_specialist
01-02-2009, 10:22 PM
there r many gr8 antiviruses that u can buy , like nod32 / avg / norton 2009 (havnt used it , but many says its really excellent and impressive )
dont use free antiviruses , they r nothing more than viruses !
ASM_HWZ
05-02-2009, 12:40 AM
any recommended antivirus, i currently using Norton Internet Security, but it always block clubbox.exe, quite irratating.
i need to buy antivirus before uninstall Norton Internet Security,Isn't there a function for you to allow clubbox.exe...
eventidephoenix
05-02-2009, 01:56 AM
eh dun get nod32... it's terrible... didn't even properly block an autorun virus... had a hectic afternoon cleaning everything up
It dont blocks, it kills the autorun virus. :D
silverstone
20-02-2009, 04:14 PM
Hi guys, sorry for digging this thread, but i would like to ask for recommendation/opinion on anti virus/ internet security.
Currently using norton internet security 2008, but going to expire soon, so im considering either bit defender internet security 2009 or norton internet security 2009. My house has got 2 PCs.
so wat do u guys think ? :)
akloaklo
22-02-2009, 12:01 AM
why are people getting those "security suites"
Free firewall/antivirus programs works better.
erwinrommel
26-02-2009, 10:56 AM
The poll results don't lie. :o
I have tried using free AVG before, but I gave up and switched to Kaspersky IS. And what a world of difference as compared to McAfee, AVG, and Norton!
eventidephoenix
05-03-2009, 09:50 AM
It dont blocks, it kills the autorun virus. :D
didnt kill...
very true... avira / comodo... however, i dont wanna risk incompatibility or conflicts :o
Trying Norton 09 next... cannot stand nod32's incompetencies... heard that they rewrote the UI so much so it is no longer as computer-taxing as before... norton has always been infamous for being a bloatware :o
eventidephoenix
05-03-2009, 09:51 AM
The poll results don't lie. :o
I have tried using free AVG before, but I gave up and switched to Kaspersky IS. And what a world of difference as compared to McAfee, AVG, and Norton!
well AV sites have tested and kaspersky is on par with AVG free and beaten hands down by avira :s34:
a024601976
31-03-2009, 10:05 AM
well AV sites have tested and kaspersky is on par with AVG free and beaten hands down by avira :s34:
Not too sure what you are smoking but AVG is crap (avast is better if you want a free one). AVG has tons of false alarms and is pretty slow at scanning. I'm sure they are working at getting to 100% detection by getting very high false alarms :).
benghacks
02-04-2009, 10:36 AM
AV is useless today. U need something which detects behaviour. Sadly if u hate vista uac, u'll hate a true behaviour program. the irony is of cuz that's the real type of protection u need.
singaporesuperboy
02-04-2009, 11:21 PM
I always associate virus detection rate with a running tap.
To determine if a file is malicious depends on the detection algorithem right? To improve detection rate, all need to be done is open the tap and naturally, your pail will collect more water...
To get a good antivurs solution, do more reading and understand how the technology works... trust me... eye opener!
ceecookie
02-06-2009, 09:01 PM
Is there any (antivirus)performance for Norton 360 ver 3 over AVG internet security and McAfee Enterprise? I have a complimentary 1 year copy and is intending to switch once my AVG expires(McAfee is for life)
ballastic90
01-10-2009, 11:19 PM
Is there any (antivirus)performance for Norton 360 ver 3 over AVG internet security and McAfee Enterprise? I have a complimentary 1 year copy and is intending to switch once my AVG expires(McAfee is for life)
Norton is your best bet:s12:
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.