View Full Version : StarHub New Huawei's Mobile Broadband E170 USB Stick
Chew Siow Ming
10-08-2008, 02:34 PM
just signed up for SH maxmobie tdy, how do i know is my E170 comes with latest firmware?
liangtam
10-08-2008, 02:40 PM
u dun nid to update it to the latest f/w at all.
ironman4672
10-08-2008, 03:08 PM
why u say so.....:s7::s7::s7::s7::s7:
Chew Siow Ming
10-08-2008, 03:14 PM
Tks... asked bcoz saw the hardware nos diff from the one posted at SH site.... so I can safety assumed its the latest firmware?
Chew Siow Ming
10-08-2008, 03:19 PM
MyDashboard Ver 11.201.01.01.134
software ver 11.304.19.20.00
Hardware Ver CD96TCU
any upgrade required ??
Chew Siow Ming
10-08-2008, 03:19 PM
Thks....:)
ironman4672
10-08-2008, 03:21 PM
MyDashboard Ver 11.201.01.01.134
software ver 11.304.19.20.00
Hardware Ver CD96TCU
any upgrade required ??
u try the maxmobile first la.... if fast then u better dun do anything....if slow then say.....:s7::s7::s7::s7::s7:
Chew Siow Ming
10-08-2008, 06:12 PM
u try the maxmobile first la.... if fast then u better dun do anything....if slow then say.....:s7::s7::s7::s7::s7:
it hard to determine fast or slow as i do not have any datum to make any comparison, it works normal & managed to load pages, unless the new firmware are able to speed up the internet access speed, otherwise fine with present situation, thks for info.
ironman4672
10-08-2008, 06:18 PM
it hard to determine fast or slow as i do not have any datum to make any comparison, it works normal & managed to load pages, unless the new firmware are able to speed up the internet access speed, otherwise fine with present situation, thks for info.
please la...u dun know how to use speedtest ah... u dun know how to download stuffs and try the speed meh? this kind of thing also wants to teach one? :s7::s7::s7: and other ppl fast will not mean u will be fast too... that's why u must try urself and then u will know... whether upgrade firmware will help or not also depends on ur connection... there is no single answer for everyone....
Chew Siow Ming
10-08-2008, 07:08 PM
please la...u dun know how to use speedtest ah... u dun know how to download stuffs and try the speed meh? this kind of thing also wants to teach one? :s7::s7::s7: and other ppl fast will not mean u will be fast too... that's why u must try urself and then u will know... whether upgrade firmware will help or not also depends on ur connection... there is no single answer for everyone....
Thks, hate to repeat again.... I am fine with present situation, :)
Twiddlebug
21-08-2008, 12:30 PM
Hi, would like to check, if i subscribe to the maxmobile unlimited, i can put the SIM card into my hp and still surf with unlimited data usage?
tianxin
21-08-2008, 04:27 PM
Hi, would like to check, if i subscribe to the maxmobile unlimited, i can put the SIM card into my hp and still surf with unlimited data usage?
anyone got the huawei mobile e170 usb stick and do not want? can sell to me?
i got the sim card only
ironman4672
22-08-2008, 03:30 AM
anyone got the huawei mobile e170 usb stick and do not want? can sell to me?
i got the sim card only
i got the samsung z800 for sale... if u want........:D:D:D:D
ironman4672
24-08-2008, 02:31 AM
that day passed by starhub shoo, they said the e170 has no more stock again... need to wait for at least one week...
and no more promo of 50% for maxmobile surflite liao also...:yawn::yawn::yawn::yawn:
tianxin
24-08-2008, 03:49 PM
i got the samsung z800 for sale... if u want........:D:D:D:D
is it bulky? how much u sellin?
ironman4672
24-08-2008, 05:18 PM
is it bulky? how much u sellin?
not bulky at all... selling at $100....;);););)
liangtam
24-08-2008, 06:26 PM
i think u sell in truly asia can earn more :)
alamin2
25-08-2008, 02:35 PM
anyone using the starhub 2mbps plan ? how isit ?
nangka1
25-08-2008, 03:50 PM
Used for 1 month already.
If normal lite use ok lah. If use for serious things then cannot pass lah.
ironman4672
25-08-2008, 04:45 PM
Used for 1 month already.
If normal lite use ok lah. If use for serious things then cannot pass lah.
yup, agreed.... the speed for maxmobile is not consistent... ;);)
FireHobbit
25-08-2008, 11:28 PM
see if comex got better promo.... like last year i got the one of the best promo..
alamin2
26-08-2008, 01:56 AM
not for me.. for my gf...
for me i've got my wireless to use at home, gf got no net only the m1 mobile bb which sucks..
she use to read mail, msn, blog stream songs or youtube only. just that m1 sometimes dc so easily and msn keeps disconnecting though can sometimes surf net. worst, sometimes surf , then loose connection, especially when posting blog
ironman4672
30-08-2008, 04:50 AM
see if comex got better promo.... like last year i got the one of the best promo..
no promo at all at comex, last year u got what promo.....
gibson7
01-09-2008, 03:03 PM
some noobie questions...
i'm looking to get the mm plan.
the question is, there are 2 types of mm?
because, let's say i want MaxMobile Ultimate.
but they put 1 is value added service for mobile plan
and the other is for laptops?
i'm seriously confused. which is which?
basically i want to surf on my laptop,
but i want to be able to surf on my hp from time to time also.
i called up 1633, and they say i must subscribe to mm ult as data plan
and add value added service to my mobile.
anyone, please advise???
ironman4672
03-09-2008, 04:50 AM
some noobie questions...
anyone, please advise???
those highlighted in blue are all correct, the one in red, it means that it cannot be done...
becos starhub has no multi sim service now.. so there is no way u can use the same service on one mobile no on more than one device......:s7::s7::s7::s7:
there is nothing to be confused, it just cannot be done now....
pkyue
29-09-2008, 11:01 PM
Got this problem with my E170.
I insert it and install the program.
But when i click connect, it says "Connection Terminated"
Then I click "redial", it says "Failed to create phone-book entry".
I try uninstall, reinstall, change USB port.
same...
help... me please...
I had the same problem with my home PC that runs on WinXP SP3.
The E170 was working fine initially. But after a power blackout, I could not connect anymore and every time I click connect, I got the "Connection Terminated" message immediately. Then I click "redial" two or three times, I got the message "Failed to create phone-book entry".
Apparently, the problem of my PC is the Remote Access Connection Manager service which cannot be started. When I tried to start the service manually, I got the Error 126 message.
I solved the problem by uninstalling SP3. After uninstalling SP3, I could connect to Starhub again.
After being able to connect to Starhub again, I went to Windows Update and reinstalled SP3. After that, everything works as before the power blackout.
If anyone know how to reinstall a corrupted "Remote Access Connection Manager" in WinXP, kindly share with us.
MyNameIsNas
02-10-2008, 02:15 AM
those highlighted in blue are all correct, the one in red, it means that it cannot be done...
becos starhub has no multi sim service now.. so there is no way u can use the same service on one mobile no on more than one device......:s7::s7::s7::s7:
there is nothing to be confused, it just cannot be done now....
some noobie questions...
anyone, please advise???
You can use the sim card on a 3G phone. I heard it before.. Just that u cannot use ur phone like what it meant to be-calls & messages. To bad im not using a 3G phone, if not i'll give it a check with my MaxMobile :(. If u have any enquires about speed,im definitely happy with it!
liangtam
02-10-2008, 02:35 AM
You CAN use ur phone for calls (Voice ONLY) and sms, provided its not GPRS being in used
For GPRS, the connection will get cut off for a short few sec when SMS comes in
legacy_gt
14-10-2008, 10:18 AM
anybody using starhub Mobile Broadband + utorrent? any problems with it so far? speed ok?
geckoSG
14-10-2008, 01:29 PM
Hmm, now we know why network slow, cos of all the torrent downloads... kekeke.... :s13:
bebek_balap
07-11-2008, 08:23 PM
hi guys..
i just got an e170.
Was wondering where is the program for sending sms?
or how to send a sms?
btw i am a MAC user..
tried looking for updates and new dashboard on starhub, but they only provide for pc.
thanks
adityacfa1881
10-11-2008, 04:06 PM
hi
just got e170 ..
the issue is i never see it connecting in cyan colour , its either green or blue .. so its 2 or 3g but never hspda .. why is this so .. its there only some specific areas in singapore that have hspda network ... or it there any way to set / change settings in the modem so it always searches and connects to the hspda network ..
pls help ..
btw .. the plan is max moblie ultimate .. but never see even close to 7.2 mbps downlink speed
hairisg76
10-11-2008, 04:48 PM
I'm using the ultimate plan too. never got the full speed either. However, if you guys wanna download movies, using a download manager helps a lot. If a 700mb movie is broken down into 7 rar parts(on rapidshare), i download 2 parts at a time. about 10 minutes for every 2 parts. so about half hour or so can watch a full movie liao. balzing speed as each part is broken into 8..so it's 16 simultaneous download at a time. very speedy.
just dun try to d/l more than 3 parts at once or ur modem will not be able to cope...:)
so far i'm quite happy with my MM connection 85% good. but i do notice at my friend's place in sengkang(near buangkok NEL) the coverage is a little poor such that the modem keeps switching to gprs network. very frustrating. but i guess its the blindspot for hsdpa network there. network at my place in fernvale and my work place in PSA tanjong pagar is good so far.
hi
just got e170 ..
the issue is i never see it connecting in cyan colour , its either green or blue .. so its 2 or 3g but never hspda .. why is this so .. its there only some specific areas in singapore that have hspda network ... or it there any way to set / change settings in the modem so it always searches and connects to the hspda network ..
pls help ..
btw .. the plan is max moblie ultimate .. but never see even close to 7.2 mbps downlink speed
bebek_balap
30-11-2008, 03:44 PM
no 3rd party software for mac user that could enable the sms sending???
help me please.. thanks..
KhunNimzo
02-12-2008, 09:52 PM
anyone notice that the connection for e170 is no more hspda.it now show only hspa.
any the connection suck at tampiness blk 908/907 here..
before i stay at 864 is ok,and no prob getting to 100kb when download,but now cant even hit 30 kb.
so i take out the simcard and plug in e169 from singtel,and connect and right now show hspda.and speed also higher..
btw,i try to upgrade the firmware but half way there will be error message,
anyone manage to upgrade it/?
liangtam
02-12-2008, 10:04 PM
hspa ish hsdpa
fi5hbone
03-12-2008, 11:50 AM
For MaxMobile Value, what is the download speeds up to? 7.2 Mbps?
Also, does anyone know the APN and other settings?
ironman4672
03-12-2008, 08:39 PM
For MaxMobile Value, what is the download speeds up to? 7.2 Mbps?
Also, does anyone know the APN and other settings?
i also interested to know what is the max up and down speed for maxmobile value.. seems like it stated no where....:s7::s7::s7::s7::s7:
MyNameIsNas
04-12-2008, 06:19 PM
Borrow tis thread for a while ya.. When i use my maxmobile sim into a Phone, i just use e gprs settings right?
tiezhong
19-12-2008, 12:35 PM
Anyone want sell Mobile Broadband E170/E180 USB Stick ?
kikilala99
26-12-2008, 11:18 AM
Hi all~i'm new starhub mobile user here.the E170 USB stick became very hot after i used it for a while,is it normal?
kivine
26-12-2008, 03:39 PM
if awhile is an hr+ or more. yes, it is normal.
Innocast
26-12-2008, 07:29 PM
Hi all~i'm new starhub mobile user here.the E170 USB stick became very hot after i used it for a while,is it normal?
mine ok la... not very hot le... i on at least 8 hrs above per day....
kikilala99
27-12-2008, 09:26 AM
i used it about 30 mins,then it became very hot~really normal?
xgwei
06-01-2009, 11:19 AM
hi guys, i get very frequent disconnection when i select wcdma mode, but connection is stable when using gsm mode. i upgraded to the latest firmware but still the same problem. pls help coz gsm mode is damn slow....thanks
Hendrix
20-01-2009, 12:43 PM
mine ok la... not very hot le... i on at least 8 hrs above per day....
i think can use 3g and its still free right?
shopshop82
25-06-2009, 11:08 AM
I have just bought the starhub prepaid bundle for the E170 ... Wanna ask how to connect to singnet data plan with this as the inbuilt software is from starhub ....
Innocast
25-06-2009, 11:14 AM
I have just bought the starhub prepaid bundle for the E170 ... Wanna ask how to connect to singnet data plan with this as the inbuilt software is from starhub ....
ur one is not e170 ok... ur one is newer model...
anyway, what u need to do, just create a profile can liao....
shopshop82
26-06-2009, 10:29 AM
ehh .. newer model meh ? den wht model is it ..
how to create profile ? coz once i connect, the starhub connectivity prog comes up liao ...
liangtam
26-06-2009, 10:34 AM
Go in settings lor
enriqueyang
02-09-2009, 11:02 PM
i using e169 modem from singtel, but flash to an open new firmware hha, my house area tpy near yellow page here the speed from evening till now less than 1 mb most of the time.. bloodhell..
use in dhoby ghaut sch area can get up to 5mb...
wherehouse
06-09-2009, 04:28 PM
so to feel most satisfied, then keep using at ur sch area?
deathdealer
06-09-2009, 11:33 PM
if i plug in my free mobile brandband sim card from starhub to my E51 or N86 will it let me surf net for free?
liangtam
07-09-2009, 12:05 AM
if i plug in my free mobile brandband sim card from starhub to my E51 or N86 will it let me surf net for free?
Yes
*10 char*
deathdealer
07-09-2009, 12:47 AM
Yes
*10 char*
what is the setting?
enriqueyang
07-09-2009, 01:16 AM
call starhub for more detail pls.. different handset has different setting to set i think..
vichchu
10-09-2009, 02:18 PM
Did anyone try Prolink 3.5 / 3.75G usb wireless? How is the performance?
MicroTommy
12-09-2009, 02:44 AM
I'm selling mine, 1 wk plus old only, got box + receipt.
hi there...but are u still selling your E170???...will like to buy from u...please contact me @ pang_79@yahoo.com...many thanks!!
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.