View Full Version : StarHub New Huawei's Mobile Broadband E170 USB Stick
http://www.starhub.com/portal/site/Online/menuitem.f2b59af84f3db376da055b608324a5a0/?vgnextoid=ef5509d13e9d4110VgnVCM100000464114acRCRD
Surf anywhere with a Mobile Broadband Modem and laptop
Get the Mobile Broadband E170 USB Stick and you can enjoy broadband access out of home or the office. It's convenient and easy to use. All you need is a MaxMobile boradband plan, plug the device into your laptop and you are all ready to surf while you are on the go.
http://www.starhub.com/online/maxmobile/images/p_mobilebroadbandmodem.jpg
Specifications:
Lightweight and compact
Dimensions: 80.5mmⅹ24.1 mmⅹ11.8 mm
HSDPA/HSUPA/UMTS/EDGE/GPRS/GSM
HSDPA Downlink 7.2Mbps & HSUPA Uplink 2Mbps
Plug & Play convenience
Windows ® 2000, XP, Vista & Macintosh OS X Operating Systems
The Mobile Broadband E170 USB Stick will be available in all StarHub retail outlets from 5 April 2008.
Promotion:
http://www.starhub.com/portal/site/Online/menuitem.ae3b1bc0f1b2f876da055b608324a5a0/?vgnextoid=a84231f41b16c010VgnVCM10000038425a0aRCRD&vgnextfmt=ItemCMId%3Ad47c52f349ce7110VgnVCM100000464114acRCRD
http://www.huawei.com/mobileweb/en/products/view.do?id=940
Press Release from 15.10.2007
http://www.huawei.com/mobileweb/en/mb/product/images/940_img/170430220.jpg
Huawei Mobile Broadband Introduces Smallest HSUPA USB Stick
USB Stick E170
http://www.huawei.com/mobileweb/en/mb/product/images/940_img/170large.jpg
Huawei announces its first HSUPA USB Stick E170 being introduced in October. As one of the smallest USB stick in the world, Huawei E170 brings enhanced internet experience with its HSPA technologies. Featuring the HSUPA uplink up to 2Mbps and the USDPA downlink up to 7.2 Mbps, E170 moves beyond boundaries with its worldwide coverage of HSUPA/USDPA/UMTS/GPRS/EDGE networks.
With elegant color and exquisite design, E170 is another favourite in
mobile broadband era.
1. Main Features
HSPA/UMTS (2100MHz)
EDGE/GPRS/GSM (850/900/1800/1900MHz)
Support 7.2Mbps HSDPA and 2Mbps HSUPA services
Support SMS and Voice (Optional) services
Plug & Play
Data statistics
Support Windows 2000/XP/ Vista and Mac OS
liangtam
28-03-2008, 09:12 AM
Quite alot ppl gotch Maxmobile & E270 riao :)
iHunk
28-03-2008, 09:27 AM
thats very nice...tempted to sign up liao..darn =:p
miltongoh
28-03-2008, 10:30 AM
Very cute and classic looking one. Haha~
richneo
28-03-2008, 11:17 AM
maybe its only me
but i seriously hate E270
miltongoh
28-03-2008, 11:19 AM
maybe its only me
but i seriously hate E270
Reason behind it?
benedict888
28-03-2008, 01:47 PM
definitely better
can hook it up with keychain somemore
tats wat i call mobile (broadband)
liangtam
28-03-2008, 01:50 PM
its too bulky??
enhanzed
28-03-2008, 03:32 PM
can exchange old one for this one anot
miltongoh
28-03-2008, 03:36 PM
can exchange old one for this one anot
Highly doubt that you can do it.
If you really want it then will be.
1) Buy it yourself and sell your E270.
2) Cancel from Starhub if you don't have contract bonded and then sign up again.
wherehouse
28-03-2008, 10:22 PM
Highly doubt that you can do it.
If you really want it then will be.
1) Buy it yourself and sell your E270.
2) Cancel from Starhub if you don't have contract bonded and then sign up again.
raise both hand and agree.
so what's the added benefit / improvement over E270?
neither one of them are dualmode UMTS as yet.
wherehouse
28-03-2008, 10:39 PM
raise both hand and agree.
so what's the added benefit / improvement over E270?
neither one of them are dualmode UMTS as yet.
maybe moving towards a more balanced HSPA solution.. close the gap of "xDSL".. like SDSL
liangtam
28-03-2008, 11:30 PM
Still no habe 14.4Mbps deployment
mistersoh
28-03-2008, 11:39 PM
Wah!
Nice leh! :D
Piak_Piak
29-03-2008, 08:34 AM
not bad.... still got pre-order one ah?
limited stock is it?
FireHobbit
29-03-2008, 03:33 PM
anyone using it so far?
dk2000
29-03-2008, 04:41 PM
nice... stylish design
FireHobbit
29-03-2008, 05:20 PM
haha.. seem like the e270 will be over soon...
miltongoh
29-03-2008, 06:29 PM
haha.. seem like the e270 will be over soon...
This is call, "Look forward and ahead!" But however, this case, alot of people feedback on the E270 which is not that good mah. So it will be a good choice to change now. Hoot the new modem with contract! Haha!
liangtam
29-03-2008, 06:33 PM
IMHO, I find E270 better than E220
seowbin
29-03-2008, 06:41 PM
that time i went some wimax class, the zharbor told me cause each base station have some limitation to like 10mbps of traffic (data and voice channel)
so if let's say starhub allocate 7.2mbps for data, that base station left a bit left of voice liao...their oversubscribe rate super high in this case.....
well well well :s34:
nowadays all are marketing gimmicks.... like wimax, in theory can 70mbps, what in real life <20mbps... !@$@#!%#@%
now ish LTE and wimax fighting liao... seems like for mobile network, it's almost coming to their end of evolution liao....
wherehouse
29-03-2008, 09:53 PM
maybe got hardware improvement on HSPA R6 which E270 dun have?
wherehouse
29-03-2008, 10:06 PM
that time i went some wimax class, the zharbor told me cause each base station have some limitation to like 10mbps of traffic (data and voice channel)
so if let's say starhub allocate 7.2mbps for data, that base station left a bit left of voice liao...their oversubscribe rate super high in this case.....
well well well :s34:
nowadays all are marketing gimmicks.... like wimax, in theory can 70mbps, what in real life <20mbps... !@$@#!%#@%
now ish LTE and wimax fighting liao... seems like for mobile network, it's almost coming to their end of evolution liao....
so many considerations. theory being theory... so many other thing not in theory.
u see wifi can liao LOL
distance from node
LOS or NLOS
above 2 is just physical constraints.
1 signal attenuation in spaces that cant be wired up with RRH/antenna
2 concurrent users within cell
3 b/w requirement of users in cell/nodespace
the above 3 will mean that outdoor user will lose out when cell is busy serving many user in buildings that cant be wire up...
they are suppose to be mobile solutions, not replacement for fixed line.
cos the radio freq can only be _that_ packed per the technology applied. maybe HSPA R7 will improve scheduling and bursting ability
wherehouse
29-03-2008, 10:10 PM
LTE = Limited Telecommunication Evolution
seowbin
29-03-2008, 10:39 PM
all are marketing gimmicks :(
like when they test say can reach 100+mbps etc.. they dun even have the client yet, just use some device say they test can achieve such speed ... (and in lab control environment aka perfect condition)
FireHobbit
30-03-2008, 12:01 AM
we always get cheated...
bsbsbs
02-04-2008, 10:40 AM
Hope SH will bring in the coloured ones, the white one on their website looks dull, more like an ancient thumbdrive from years back.
OT a bit, will I incur any other usage charges like GPRS if I am on MaxMobile Unlimited? Very tempted to sign, but afraid will end up with $1000 bills.
FireHobbit
04-04-2008, 05:17 PM
the smaller is the modem more conveneit.. but don know if the reception will be affected...
FireHobbit
12-04-2008, 10:52 AM
anyone receive le?
joetlc
05-05-2008, 11:08 AM
Hi, all,
I'm new to HWZ. Nice to meet everyone here.
I did a mini review on the HuaWei E170 USB Stick Modem. It is more on the simple usage than on the technical stuff. Hope you guys enjoy it...
http://techielobang.com/blog/2008/05/03/review-of-huawei-e170-usb-stick-modem/
Regards,
Joe Teh
sadboy
05-05-2008, 11:21 AM
wow this modem is so handle man!
liangtam
05-05-2008, 02:11 PM
first post just to review only??
joetlc
05-05-2008, 02:55 PM
Actually not la... just thought that this E170 is a hot topic now that Starhub is giving FREE (with a catch) to MaxOnline user...
Would like to share with everyone since I use it..
Joe
WestGuy
05-05-2008, 03:24 PM
Hi, all,
I'm new to HWZ. Nice to meet everyone here.
I did a mini review on the HuaWei E170 USB Stick Modem. It is more on the simple usage than on the technical stuff. Hope you guys enjoy it...
http://techielobang.com/blog/2008/05/03/review-of-huawei-e170-usb-stick-modem/
Regards,
Joe Teh
Precedessor is not the E220(3.6mbps), it's the E270(7.2mbps).
Starhub was giving out the E270 right from the beginning; E220 is distributed by M1 and Singtel.
joetlc
05-05-2008, 04:08 PM
Hi, WestGuy,
Thanks for pointing out. Noted.
Joe
pwillie
05-05-2008, 04:14 PM
Now all the starhub shops are out of stock for E170, only have E270...
Yups,, I did a check, E170 will only be in stock in about 2 weeks.
xlnxln
05-05-2008, 07:29 PM
can anyone know answer these question? pls..thanks..linkhttp://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1952931
Starhub just called me, its in stock! haha,, so much for the 2 weeks
miltongoh
06-05-2008, 11:31 PM
Starhub just called me, its in stock! haha,, so much for the 2 weeks
When are you collecting it? :P
n95crazy
06-05-2008, 11:46 PM
[QUOTE=seowbin;29098757]
[QUOTE]
if what you say is true then whole of singapore siao already...
m1 and singtel both trying very hard to deploy 7.2 mbps hspa since its launch utnil today!!! if they could have their way, 7.2 mbps hspa already deployed already... i think reason is they don't want to use the funds to properly deploy the technology
miltongoh
06-05-2008, 11:50 PM
if what you say is true then whole of singapore siao already...
m1 and singtel both trying very hard to deploy 7.2 mbps hspa since its launch utnil today!!! if they could have their way, 7.2 mbps hspa already deployed already... i think reason is they don't want to use the funds to properly deploy the technology
Maybe can explained what you meant much clearer? You mind? :P
ah_fu
06-05-2008, 11:54 PM
i am wondering if the E170 will be as hot or even hotter than E270?
sometimes when too hot, my E270 will siao siao hang, no data flowing... need to do a reconnect. i always tilt my E270 at an angle... more surface area for cooling.....
liangtam
06-05-2008, 11:56 PM
The ex-starfug staff ish still bery supportive of the previous coy nia.
liangtam
06-05-2008, 11:59 PM
i am wondering if the E170 will be as hot or even hotter than E270?
sometimes when too hot, my E270 will siao siao hang, no data flowing... need to do a reconnect. i always tilt my E270 at an angle... more surface area for cooling.....
Nope, played with 2 diff E270 riao, both no overheat.
If it runs hot, might be ur USB supply issue.
kivine
07-05-2008, 12:05 AM
The ex-starfug staff ish still bery supportive of the previous coy nia.
what do u mean by previous?
liangtam
07-05-2008, 12:27 AM
what do u mean by previous?
n95crazy aka jerekkkkk, ex starhub staff.
ah_fu
07-05-2008, 12:41 AM
Nope, played with 2 diff E270 riao, both no overheat.
If it runs hot, might be ur USB supply issue.
wow.. do you think my E270 is drawing too much current which cause the overheat?
kivine
07-05-2008, 01:31 AM
ohhhh. ic.
Anyway do u guys think I made the right choice if I chose E170 instead of E270 for my modem when i signed up for the ultimate plus? I was suppose to be given e270 but insisted on e170.
miltongoh
07-05-2008, 09:42 AM
ohhhh. ic.
Anyway do u guys think I made the right choice if I chose E170 instead of E270 for my modem when i signed up for the ultimate plus? I was suppose to be given e270 but insisted on e170.
To me, it is rather up to personal preference de ba. Make sure you use liao happy loh.
alxlow1
07-05-2008, 12:16 PM
Hi guys, need some advise.
My singnet contract is ending, using the lowest plan.
Saw this Starhub Maxmobile Surflite promotion.
It's cheaper than recontract with my Singnet.
Wonder anyone can advise me, can I use this for my PC at home?
I usually surf the net, MSN chat and some downloads of files only. Presently I m quite happy with my Singnet 1Mbps plan for home price S$30 per mth.
Of cos, I have the benefit of using it wi my notebook outdoor with Starhub.
Please share your views. Thanks alot. :)
kivine
08-05-2008, 12:33 AM
http://img73.imageshack.us/img73/4268/starhubmaxmobileultirs3.th.png (http://img73.imageshack.us/my.php?image=starhubmaxmobileultirs3.png)
Awesome speeds! THe browsing is even faster than my main-line.
Leaper_SG
08-05-2008, 02:45 AM
Pls show some results from speedtest leh :D
Here's mine,, E170 at the clarke Quay area,
http://www.speedtest.net/result/268760611.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
miltongoh
08-05-2008, 01:55 PM
Here's mine,, E170 at the clarke Quay area,
http://www.speedtest.net/result/268760611.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Seems like a pretty good speed there!
kivine
08-05-2008, 08:49 PM
Pls show some results from speedtest leh :D
http://www.speedtest.net/result/268861338.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Seems like a pretty good speed there!
yeah pretty fast,, I should also state that I'm using Maxmobile Ultimate, so at least u know what speeds I should be expecting.
Leaper_SG
09-05-2008, 01:47 AM
kivine & chaz , Thanks alot :D
My latest check,,
http://www.speedtest.net/result/269154635.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Pretty impressed with the speeds. Surfing has been a blast. When I try to load multiple pages at one time, they load up faster than on my office's Lan network.. heh
playfool
09-05-2008, 01:55 PM
i realise there is an sms function w 270 modem software.. tested sms to my fren and we cld sms each other using tat software.. anyone knows if charges apply to the smsing ??
miltongoh
09-05-2008, 02:37 PM
i realise there is an sms function w 270 modem software.. tested sms to my fren and we cld sms each other using tat software.. anyone knows if charges apply to the smsing ??
It uses your free sms bundle (if any) before charging you.
mr_voodoo
09-05-2008, 02:39 PM
you will be charged for sending sms.
unless you are using it as a VAS along with your mobile plan.
alextas
09-05-2008, 02:47 PM
Just got hold of the E170 for 2 days, I always encounter modem disconnection problem(Tried on Laptop and PC's). Anyone have the same issue?
not for me,, I'm using it on my Macbook Pro. Its been great for me thus far.
alextas
11-05-2008, 09:33 AM
After I exchanged the E170 yesterday evening, so far no disconnection problem.
FireHobbit
11-05-2008, 01:43 PM
where is the best place to try? jurong don seem to blast those speed...
miltongoh
11-05-2008, 01:45 PM
where is the best place to try? jurong don seem to blast those speed...
CBD area during weekend where most people are not saturated at those working zone? :P
FireHobbit
11-05-2008, 01:52 PM
maybe they should look to boost the backbone system... to make it faster to cope with so many people using it...
xlnxln
11-05-2008, 04:41 PM
for those who got their E170, u know whether it is locked anot? can use with other operator sim card?
4xtemujin
11-05-2008, 10:16 PM
I've a voice SIM card and a data SIM.
For the data SIM, I've to pay 5 cents per sms.
HTH.
FireHobbit
12-05-2008, 06:18 PM
starhub can combine into one?
sprockett
12-05-2008, 09:02 PM
is is possibel to use this with a singtel mobile data plan? i currently on singtel plan, but prefer form factor of the e170....
FireHobbit
13-05-2008, 06:16 PM
can.. as long u ahve the singtel setting can le...
assassincy
14-05-2008, 10:12 AM
Hey Kivine, just saw your speed graph. How did you manage to surf at those speeds? What sites are you browsing? I can hardly ever go over the 100kb/s mark for normal browsing and/or utorrent running combined! The only time i've ever hit over 300kb/s is with download Windows XP Service Pack 2. Should I be calling up Starhub and asking what is up with my connection?
Btw...i'm living in the redhill area, within 7 mins walk to MRT station and i'm getting 70 - 90% connectivity.
miltongoh
14-05-2008, 10:28 AM
Hey Kivine, just saw your speed graph. How did you manage to surf at those speeds? What sites are you browsing? I can hardly ever go over the 100kb/s mark for normal browsing and/or utorrent running combined! The only time i've ever hit over 300kb/s is with download Windows XP Service Pack 2. Should I be calling up Starhub and asking what is up with my connection?
Btw...i'm living in the redhill area, within 7 mins walk to MRT station and i'm getting 70 - 90% connectivity.
Sorry, mess up with BBOM. :)
xlnxln
14-05-2008, 10:30 AM
can.. as long u ahve the singtel setting can le...
any idea where to get the other operators setting?
FireHobbit
14-05-2008, 12:50 PM
the singtel setting can be get from those singtel user using huawei modem...
just slect to export the profile can le...
FireHobbit
14-05-2008, 12:51 PM
what connection are u on?
hspa? or wcdma?
pisonic
16-05-2008, 12:03 AM
just signed up for maxmobile ultimate.... now testing @ home..kekeke
FireHobbit
16-05-2008, 04:54 PM
how si the test? whcih area and what signal u get?
kivine
16-05-2008, 05:11 PM
I climb Bukit Timah "privately" therefore the high speeds
FireHobbit
17-05-2008, 12:04 PM
privately?
as in on top of bulit timah u network is so shiok..
assassincy
17-05-2008, 12:36 PM
what connection are u on?
hspa? or wcdma?
I'm on HSPA connection. How do I even change it?
So you're saying you can't reach those speeds unless you are in prime locations?
Pisonic: How's the testing going?
liangtam
17-05-2008, 12:44 PM
HSPA then is possible to reach 'up to' 7.2Mbps leh. What for change?:s11:
FireHobbit
17-05-2008, 12:51 PM
my area is terrible... guess is the base station signal..
assassincy
17-05-2008, 02:03 PM
Hehe...well, i don't want to change....i just want faster speeds! Even browsing these forums takes 10-20 seconds to load a page.
ramdick
17-05-2008, 04:37 PM
Hi guys, need some advise.
My singnet contract is ending, using the lowest plan.
Saw this Starhub Maxmobile Surflite promotion.
It's cheaper than recontract with my Singnet.
Wonder anyone can advise me, can I use this for my PC at home?
I usually surf the net, MSN chat and some downloads of files only. Presently I m quite happy with my Singnet 1Mbps plan for home price S$30 per mth.
Of cos, I have the benefit of using it wi my notebook outdoor with Starhub.
Please share your views. Thanks alot. :)
Ya, exactly the same question. Can have simultaneous usage from 2 locations ?
If my bro is using it at home, & i want to surf from my lappy in the office. I think it will need two simcards ?
liangtam
17-05-2008, 04:46 PM
Simultaneous use of MOL and maxmobile can.
Simultaneous use of MM is not possible in the first place.
ramdick
17-05-2008, 04:54 PM
Simultaneous use of MOL and maxmobile can.
Simultaneous use of MM is not possible in the first place.
OK. So can only go with Singnet/multi sim izzit
kivine
17-05-2008, 08:18 PM
privately?
as in on top of bulit timah u network is so shiok..
means i using private sites
FireHobbit
17-05-2008, 10:11 PM
privates as in? vpn?
kivine
18-05-2008, 12:56 AM
means need account
tianxin
20-05-2008, 02:05 AM
anyone tried MM at ang mo kio area . my maxonline contract ending in june...feel like changing to maxonline plus maxmobile leh... maybe during IT show.. but duno if my area too congested to take the MM anot
FireHobbit
20-05-2008, 10:20 AM
i tried once at the AMK hud central area and so far is not bad...
DingJie
20-05-2008, 11:29 PM
if i am already contracted, how do i enjoy the free mobile broadband?
saigonblack
21-05-2008, 08:20 AM
recently signed up one for my business use. When plugged into my home laptop, the connection at home at night is far faster than my home stupid 10mpbs maxoffline connection!!!
TOo bad im tied to a contract, if not I would have definitely cancelled my home starhub internection connection!
ironman4672
21-05-2008, 09:47 AM
recently signed up one for my business use. When plugged into my home laptop, the connection at home at night is far faster than my home stupid 10mpbs maxoffline connection!!!
TOo bad im tied to a contract, if not I would have definitely cancelled my home starhub internection connection!
serious? the broadband on mobile for starhub is better than maxonline? think i should consider liao....:D:D:D:D
saigonblack
21-05-2008, 11:49 AM
serious? the broadband on mobile for starhub is better than maxonline? think i should consider liao....:D:D:D:D
Thats being totally honest! It is MUCH faster using the usb modem. Im tied to the stupid 10mpbs snail plan because of the compact free laptop early last year!
liangtam
21-05-2008, 05:19 PM
Since when maxoffline ish gotch 10Mbps plan??
If you meant Premium, its 12 now.
liangtam
21-05-2008, 05:20 PM
Errm, don't be too happy. If every of those existing MOL subs went to opt for the free VAS, then v fast out of b/w from base liao.
chengsun
21-05-2008, 11:14 PM
I signed up the 2Mbps plan last week and got this E170. I wonder if anyone face heating problem. When I use it in my office where it is fully air conditioned, no problem for 10 hours of usage, I can even use it to watch p2p streaming TV, TVAnts. However, when I used at home, no air-con, got some problems. After about 2 hours, my connection hang. It will still show I am connected, and if I ping to yahoo.com, it get through, but I cant surf net, and ftp connection cannot be established. I was attaching it directly to my laptop USB port without the extension cable. I have to restart laptop, or disconnect and unplug the E170 for a while, then reconnect again to make it work again. Is this normal?
tualobang
22-05-2008, 12:34 AM
hi,
from what i understand m1 and singtel loans the usb dongle for free.
is this so for starhub?
what happens if 2nd year the dongle gets broken? is there warranty for it?
broken, as in not caused by us?
liangtam
22-05-2008, 12:47 AM
hi,
is this so for starhub?
No. ONLY m1 loans the modem out.
kennyboy
22-05-2008, 12:20 PM
hi,
is this so for starhub?
Eh....can give a scenario where it's broken and is the fault of the telco?
I can't think of any.
Goooner
22-05-2008, 12:47 PM
looks gd......
legacy_gt
22-05-2008, 01:15 PM
there's a charge of $37.45 and $10.70 for the sim card and activation. anybody got it wavied? :)
and also this thing is only free for a year. after that it becomes chagable but dunno price yet...
tualobang
23-05-2008, 09:19 AM
hi Kenny,
maybe this will help.? :)
i've been seeing a lot of feedback of the dongle overheating and internet connectivity being cut off. so what if its permanent? what to do then? take to starhub for replacement?
Eh....can give a scenario where it's broken and is the fault of the telco?
I can't think of any.
assassincy
23-05-2008, 11:56 AM
Yeh....i'm a bit afraid of the overheating too. The device gets pretty hot even in an a/c room. But when I leave my comp on with BT running while i'm off at work the a/c is obviously turned off, so i dunno if one day the thing will die from overheating.
And for some weird reason, my downloads always seem to stop at 1gb or 1.3 gb downloaded when i check my torrent client when i get back from work. But the connection is apparently still active and it's just all traffic flow stops. Not sure if this is connected with the overheating. Anyone have the same problem?
Got another question. I'm rather noob with networking, so I'm wondering is there a way to set up a network so that I can share my SHMM internet with my other laptop and also with my wii?
alextas
23-05-2008, 01:45 PM
I too encounter the No internet access, but connection is still active And it happen every hour !!(Have to reboot my laptop).
Yeh....i'm a bit afraid of the overheating too. The device gets pretty hot even in an a/c room. But when I leave my comp on with BT running while i'm off at work the a/c is obviously turned off, so i dunno if one day the thing will die from overheating.
And for some weird reason, my downloads always seem to stop at 1gb or 1.3 gb downloaded when i check my torrent client when i get back from work. But the connection is apparently still active and it's just all traffic flow stops. Not sure if this is connected with the overheating. Anyone have the same problem?
Got another question. I'm rather noob with networking, so I'm wondering is there a way to set up a network so that I can share my SHMM internet with my other laptop and also with my wii?
liangtam
23-05-2008, 01:46 PM
unless the modem runs as hot as a cpu with hsf installed, it is very unlikely to affect connection.
One thing for sure, MM is not meant for bittorrent activities in the first place, although u can do it if u still wan to. From time to time, the signal may go off for a short while, switching between HSPA and WCDMA, this may cut off existing connection from time to time...
You may wan buy the DIR451 3G router at $300+ for sharing
liangtam
23-05-2008, 01:46 PM
I too encounter the No internet access, but connection is still active And it happen every hour !!(Have to reboot my laptop).
svchost.exe crashed?
alextas
23-05-2008, 04:18 PM
How to check?
Now, I got 9 running svchost.exe on my Toshiba laptop.
2 X Local Service
2 X Network Service
5 X System
:P
svchost.exe crashed?
assassincy
23-05-2008, 04:23 PM
unless the modem runs as hot as a cpu with hsf installed, it is very unlikely to affect connection.
One thing for sure, MM is not meant for bittorrent activities in the first place, although u can do it if u still wan to. From time to time, the signal may go off for a short while, switching between HSPA and WCDMA, this may cut off existing connection from time to time...
You may wan buy the DIR451 3G router at $300+ for sharing
Thanks for the info liangtam. It gets hot, but it's still touchable without burning the hand. I just wasn't sure that the device was supposed to withstand such heats considering it is made with plastic parts.
Yeh, I have come to realise that MM isn't meant for BT activities, but i'm okay with leaving my comp on for extended hours to get the stuff that i want. Is there actually a way to stop the signal switching from HSPA to WCDMA? I am not sure if this is a problem either, because i'm pretty sure that all traffic flow stops after i've downloaded exactly after 1GB or 1.3GB downloaded (accorded to my BT client). I have never seen it stop at 1.2GB downloaded or any other values, so i find this rather odd. It's as if there is some automatic command in the software telling the internet connection to stop downloading/uploading after its downloaded such an amount. Of course, it could be a coincidence that the connection switches signals everytime i've downloaded 1GB of data, but I'm not around to see it when it happens so I can't confirm that.
And as for the DIR451 3G router, that is quite an expensive piece of equipment. I don't really have to share the internet to my other laptop as it's not hard to unplug the device from one laptop and plugging it into the other when needed, but the most important thing is to allow my Wii to have internet access. Are there any alternatives for this purpose alone?
liangtam
23-05-2008, 04:58 PM
How to check?
Now, I got 9 running svchost.exe on my Toshiba laptop.
2 X Local Service
2 X Network Service
5 X System
:P
Can you will reconnect without restarting?
alextas
23-05-2008, 05:17 PM
Nope. :(
Tried the below action, but still the same.
1) Disconnect & connect back - Software
2) Plug out the E170 from USB port and plug it back
3) Point 1 & 2 and exit the Mobile Broadband Modem software
Can you will reconnect without restarting?
Been using the E170 for a few weeks already. It does get warm, but not scary warm. Still ok. Works like a charm for me, not disconnections or slowdowns.
liangtam
23-05-2008, 05:23 PM
Nope. :(
Tried the below action, but still the same.
1) Disconnect & connect back - Software
2) Plug out the E170 from USB port and plug it back
3) Point 1 & 2 and exit the Mobile Broadband Modem software
What is the exact error message or detail presented?
very very likely svchost problem.
assassincy
23-05-2008, 05:30 PM
Mine works again after I use the software to disconnect then reconnect. So i'm guessing it's not the same problem.
Any other users with problems? Or does anyone have solutions? hehe.
alextas
23-05-2008, 05:31 PM
When IE display "Internet Explorer cannot display the webpage" and I tried another link show the same error. Tried restart EI still the same.
same with Firefox and Safari.
What is the exact error message or detail presented?
very very likely svchost problem.
liangtam
23-05-2008, 05:41 PM
Try winsock fix
chengsun
23-05-2008, 09:58 PM
seems like im not the only facing the problem, every hour or 2 hours of usage, the internet connection just hang, cannot ftp also. i tried immediate restart laptop, works. i tried disconnect the connection, wait for 5, 10 minutes, the conenct again, works. but it did not work if i want to imemddiate reconnect again.
initially i tot it is my p2p software of bitcomet that causing problem, so i removed them, still the same. if i cant get the solution by tomorrow, i will go back to them asking to change 1 device, since tomorrow is my 8th day of registration, last day for 1 to 1 exchnge if got problem. all browsers got problem.
anyone can offer any solution? thansk. im on the 2Mbps plan.
1 more thing, I found that i only have WCDMA mode in the setting, no HSPA, is this normal?
alextas
23-05-2008, 11:23 PM
still the same after running the winsock (winsockxpfix.exe)
Try winsock fix
chengsun
24-05-2008, 01:19 AM
still the same after running the winsock (winsockxpfix.exe)
me too
10 char
FireHobbit
24-05-2008, 11:45 AM
mine so fr alright... but heard new service is HSPA+
satch
27-05-2008, 12:07 AM
I'm selling mine, 1 wk plus old only, got box + receipt.
Have anybody tried using the data sim that comes with E170, in a PDA phone to surf the web or emails?
Is this possible?
FireHobbit
07-06-2008, 12:46 PM
is possible... as long is 3.5 3 or 2.5 g
Knight_Rider
09-06-2008, 07:57 AM
Will the E170 support higger speed of 14.4mbps?
liangtam
09-06-2008, 01:22 PM
Will the E170 support higger speed of 14.4mbps?
Errm, even if got update to show the 'fantastic' 14.4Mbps rate, like E220 from 3.6 to 7.2Mbps, the hardware may not be optimal to exceed 8 Mbps even, really depends
tanboonkien
10-06-2008, 01:55 PM
Hi
I got the E220 USB Modem from Singtel. I am interested to get the 7.2Mbps MaxMobile. Will it work if i just buy the Sim card from Starhub and plug it into the E220, instead of forking out $300+ to buy the E170?
Will it obtain the 7Mbps?
Thanks
liangtam
10-06-2008, 02:15 PM
Hi
I got the E220 USB Modem from Singtel. I am interested to get the 7.2Mbps MaxMobile. Will it work if i just buy the Sim card from Starhub and plug it into the E220, instead of forking out $300+ to buy the E170?
Will it obtain the 7Mbps?
Thanks
Link rate will be 7.2Mbps
However, the last I tried slotting a Starhub SIM in my E220, the max rate I can get was about 3.5Mbps, while with the E270, its 4.2Mbps
If you don't get the Ex70, u will also not have the higher upload brought about by HSUPA
Knight_Rider
11-06-2008, 07:48 AM
Yup their "current" 14.4Mbps will be ready probably end next year so by then will have new hardware liao.
eric_koh25
15-06-2008, 03:44 AM
No. ONLY m1 loans the modem out.
Got the free Data Sim from new plan.. does not come with dongle... Starhub askin for $398 retail price.. Really damn ex sia..
Anyone knows any alternative dongle or where i may purchase it off the shelf?
FireHobbit
15-06-2008, 11:36 PM
the modem at 398 is super exp
tanjhj
16-06-2008, 01:18 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/284352329.png
lxXXxl
16-06-2008, 06:35 AM
users of e170, do u still have lotsa problems with e170 disconnecting?
eric_koh25
16-06-2008, 09:01 AM
Can we use 3.5G handphones as a modem - linking it to the laptop?
liangtam
16-06-2008, 01:58 PM
Can we use 3.5G handphones as a modem - linking it to the laptop?
yes
Exposure
16-06-2008, 02:30 PM
Link rate will be 7.2Mbps
However, the last I tried slotting a Starhub SIM in my E220, the max rate I can get was about 3.5Mbps, while with the E270, its 4.2Mbps
If you don't get the Ex70, u will also not have the higher upload brought about by HSUPA
has anyone reach the full 7.2Mbps on SHMBB ?
liangtam
16-06-2008, 03:02 PM
Practically impossible
FireHobbit
17-06-2008, 05:05 PM
when u near some starhub centre... like i near cuppage at le meridian hotel
ryan_loh
18-06-2008, 04:15 PM
Hi, I wonder if anyone else has encountered this issue and/or if there is a fix for it. The E170 USB Stick that I have does not get detected the first time it is inserted into my computers (happens on both a Windows XP desktop and a MacBook Pro). I have to remove it and re-insert it again for it to be detected. After I restart the computers (either turning them off then on or waking from sleep) I have to perform this double insertion again for it to be detected. Occasionally this will happen even after the E170 was detected and removed without restarting (i.e. when I insert it again it won't be detected until re-insert it again). I'm using the latest firmware downloaded from the StarHub website and latest dashboard downloaded from the Hua Wei website. Thanks.
summers
18-06-2008, 04:28 PM
I am not sure about your MacBook Pro but for Windows XP, try uninstalling the software and remove any drivers left behind via device manager (non-present devices are hidden). Make sure the modem is not plugged in when you're doing so. Then reinstall again and see if the problem persists. I've been using the modem and so far, encountered this only once when I added my phone to my list of Bluetooth devices (Vista).
dustyhor
20-06-2008, 12:25 AM
Got the free Data Sim from new plan.. does not come with dongle... Starhub askin for $398 retail price.. Really damn ex sia..
Anyone knows any alternative dongle or where i may purchase it off the shelf?
I've got a friend sourcing for one in China through his contacts. You can also try eBay :)
dustyhor
20-06-2008, 12:50 AM
Is anyone using the SH MaxMobile SurfLite 2.0Mbps in Toa Payoh and Holland V area?
How is the speed and the connection in both areas?
Appreciate your feedback :)
Thank you.
destin
21-06-2008, 03:14 AM
I've got a friend sourcing for one in China through his contacts. You can also try eBay :)
Do we need to unlock it or what? Can I buy 2nd hand from other starhub users? Need to do any settings?
haowee
24-06-2008, 02:12 PM
Got this problem with my E170.
I insert it and install the program.
But when i click connect, it says "Connection Terminated"
Then I click "redial", it says "Failed to create phone-book entry".
I try uninstall, reinstall, change USB port.
same...
help... me please...
tualobang
24-06-2008, 11:10 PM
hi,
i'm using 64 bit Vista. is the modem compatible with this os?
thanks
dustyhor
25-06-2008, 09:29 AM
Do we need to unlock it or what? Can I buy 2nd hand from other starhub users? Need to do any settings?
hie... sorry for my late reply... i'm not sure whether need to unlock, my guess is no need but better check with Starhub :) The same goes for the settings...
dustyhor
25-06-2008, 09:32 AM
sigh... why can't these ppl ever make something that is truly plug and play...
AhGoh
25-06-2008, 11:12 PM
hi guys, how do you guys remove the usb stick after use? just shut down the pc and remove? cause the safely remove hardware icon do not appear when the usb stick is inserted, and i am wondering if just removing it will do any harm to the modem in the long run
liangtam
26-06-2008, 02:41 AM
just remove it lor
FireHobbit
26-06-2008, 07:07 PM
is plug and play... who manage to flash their modem?
Capt_Caveman
02-07-2008, 11:07 AM
Got this problem with my E170.
I insert it and install the program.
But when i click connect, it says "Connection Terminated"
Then I click "redial", it says "Failed to create phone-book entry".
I try uninstall, reinstall, change USB port.
same...
help... me please...
I encountered the same problem. A quick search on Hwawei forum and found the cause.
This modem need the "Telephony" Service to be started before it will work.
Please check that.
Regards,
FireHobbit
02-07-2008, 07:45 PM
checl well.. the model so far is great
Colonel Sanders
04-07-2008, 04:46 PM
seems like im not the only facing the problem, every hour or 2 hours of usage, the internet connection just hang, cannot ftp also. i tried immediate restart laptop, works. i tried disconnect the connection, wait for 5, 10 minutes, the conenct again, works. but it did not work if i want to imemddiate reconnect again.
I'm facing the same problem as well, but mine is quite frequent, around every 15 mins or so, it will start to hang, and i have to reset my laptop in order to get the connection again. Anyone knows how to solve this irritating problem?
FireHobbit
05-07-2008, 07:55 PM
mine e270 quite stable don Dc..
ironman4672
05-07-2008, 08:11 PM
mine e270 quite stable don Dc..
how come ur one is e270? e170 is better rite? ;););););)
FireHobbit
05-07-2008, 09:57 PM
i have tried both... but i am using the e270
FireHobbit
05-07-2008, 09:58 PM
sign uo during the comex
ironman4672
05-07-2008, 10:33 PM
sign uo during the comex
u mean u signed up during the past comex or what? ;););););)
msklee
07-07-2008, 12:10 PM
initially i tot it is my p2p software of bitcomet that causing problem, so i removed them, still the same. if i cant get the solution by tomorrow, i will go back to them asking to change 1 device, since tomorrow is my 8th day of registration, last day for 1 to 1 exchnge if got problem. all browsers got problem.
anyone can offer any solution? thansk. im on the 2Mbps plan.
1 more thing, I found that i only have WCDMA mode in the setting, no HSPA, is this normal?
I don't face the problem. I am on Maxmobile Ultimate with E170 USB stick. I inserted the E170 into my desktop during weekend and bittorrent continously for 2 days without any disconnection at all. Never tried bt on my laptop though. I find that using maxmoblie to bt is much faster than using maxonline maybe because of the 2M upload speed.
FireHobbit
07-07-2008, 03:29 PM
past comex...
ironman4672
07-07-2008, 04:55 PM
I don't face the problem. I am on Maxmobile Ultimate with E170 USB stick. I inserted the E170 into my desktop during weekend and bittorrent continously for 2 days without any disconnection at all. Never tried bt on my laptop though. I find that using maxmoblie to bt is much faster than using maxonline maybe because of the 2M upload speed.
what is the maximum speed u can get for ur bt? ;);););)
msklee
07-07-2008, 06:03 PM
what is the maximum speed u can get for ur bt? ;);););)
I got about range of 100+ to 300+ which was quite good for me already as I am only getting 50+ to 60+ using maxonline for that torrent.
ironman4672
07-07-2008, 06:41 PM
I got about range of 100+ to 300+ which was quite good for me already as I am only getting 50+ to 60+ using maxonline for that torrent.
i see.. that's pretty good... besides, which are u are in may i know? east or west or north or central? do u encounter any slowness from 8pm-1am? those peak hr/???;););););)
msklee
07-07-2008, 06:57 PM
i see.. that's pretty good... besides, which are u are in may i know? east or west or north or central? do u encounter any slowness from 8pm-1am? those peak hr/???;););););)
I am staying in the east. As for slowness during peak hour, I don't really see it.
Just a FR here. I'm using SH's MaxMobile 2Mbps plan on my Notebook now at this present moment travelling on a Taxi from SLE (Woodlands) to present @ CTE @ Bukit Timah Road. Been checking mails, replying stuff and all. So far so good. No drops or whatsoever. Speed is pretty fast.
At night when I was using it @ home, I find it actually faster then my MOL. @ Least I can watch a 1 hour YouTube video after streaming for around 30 Minutes. With my MOL, I need to stream almost 2 hours for that CMU Lecture.
My wife likes it too. She can watch mysoju pretty smoothly now.
ironman4672
08-07-2008, 01:21 PM
seems like the maxmobile 2mbps is not bad... but 2 years of contract... may need to consider clearly before signing up...
radiac
15-07-2008, 01:52 AM
hi. just got the maxmobile ultimate. been really stable and fast the whole night just that i am having problems with BT. using bitcomet at the moment and it's showing NAT is blocked. is there any configurations to be done to use BT with mmbb?
TodayOnline
15-07-2008, 02:06 PM
My MM ultimate has been facing some slow speed issue ahhh!! Dunno why, somehow the page wont load at all.
lxXXxl
15-07-2008, 05:27 PM
i realised tat on my notebook running vista, i can only e170 from a specific usb port. if i try any other port, the software will fail to detect the modem. Is tat the case for everyone?
legacy_gt
15-07-2008, 05:40 PM
using e170 with utorrent, max speed is ~120. But will drop after a few hours, anybody facing the same? cannot use it to download overnight
legacy_gt
15-07-2008, 05:43 PM
i realised tat on my notebook running vista, i can only e170 from a specific usb port. if i try any other port, the software will fail to detect the modem. Is tat the case for everyone?
i have the same problem for vista, yet to try on XP cos i always use the same port :)
ahfish22
15-07-2008, 05:55 PM
maybe the port is a USB1.0 port
tualobang
15-07-2008, 10:22 PM
i have exactly the same issue
any idea why anyone?
slygmz
16-07-2008, 01:56 AM
i tried plugging my e170 to another usb port in my laptop and it ask whether i want to install the software!! so i think for vista you can only use only one specific port. :s13:
Also the past 4 days, my web browser goes offline while i surf the net, (intermittent connection) -inspite of staying connected.
I called the tech officer at starhub and they said they will look into their maintenance side since after running some test with my laptop (i was in tanjong pagar at night) they said my connection seemed fine.
Strangely this on and off connection has been happening for the past 4 days. My modem seems ok (not hot). I'll update here after getting a reply from starhub.
It seems someone else also complained to them about connection problems and they are aware of it. :s22:
dustyhor
16-07-2008, 09:37 AM
i have the same problem for vista, yet to try on XP cos i always use the same port :)
Maybe its not really a problem... same thing on my gf's Vista laptop, have to use the same port everytime.
dk2000
16-07-2008, 11:09 AM
how are you gunna forward the port for mobile broadband?
Twiddlebug
16-07-2008, 01:19 PM
Hi anyone using maxmobile can get cisco vpn running? My laptop is running on windows vista, cannot seem to get my office vpn to work with the maxmobile connection. Tried using maxonline connection with the vpn client, no problems.....:(
lxXXxl
16-07-2008, 01:23 PM
Ok, I found a solution to the one port problem.whenever I plug in my e170, Vista will attempt to auto run the modem Software. But I'll cancel it, then click on the program icon on my desktop. If I let the program auto-run right after plugging in, instead of canceling it, the modem will work on any port.
gilaboyfjs
16-07-2008, 11:13 PM
You can't forward a port in this modem. I think.
ironman4672
22-07-2008, 07:29 AM
yesterday i intend to subscribe the 2mbps maxmobile surflite one... the starhub reception told me that there is no stock for the e170 modem... need to wait abt 3 weeks or so then got....:(:(:(:(:(
jumpmanz
22-07-2008, 09:24 AM
hi. just got the maxmobile ultimate. been really stable and fast the whole night just that i am having problems with BT. using bitcomet at the moment and it's showing NAT is blocked. is there any configurations to be done to use BT with mmbb?
i experienced this problem too.
normally i just restart my com and depending on luck, after a few times, the port is open.
need to find a better way to solve this problem.
ironman4672
22-07-2008, 10:20 AM
i experienced this problem too.
normally i just restart my com and depending on luck, after a few times, the port is open.
need to find a better way to solve this problem.
is it becos they are blocking bt???? ;);););););)
converse2010
22-07-2008, 08:11 PM
yesterday i intend to subscribe the 2mbps maxmobile surflite one... the starhub reception told me that there is no stock for the e170 modem... need to wait abt 3 weeks or so then got....:(:(:(:(:(
Was told that the stocks coming in 2 wks time when i called on sunday
And today i called again, delivering to my house on 30th Jul :D
gilaboyfjs
22-07-2008, 08:41 PM
is it becos they are blocking bt???? ;);););););)
could be possible.
ironman4672
23-07-2008, 01:49 AM
Was told that the stocks coming in 2 wks time when i called on sunday
And today i called again, delivering to my house on 30th Jul :D
u signed up thru the starhub website rite? so u fax back the signature and they arrange a time to send the sim card and modem to u? but still need to pay $37++ for the sim card rite?
i regretted should have signed up during the last PC show.... the fee is waived during the show....:(:(:(:(:(
dk2000
23-07-2008, 10:34 AM
if i m using singtel for my cellphone do i have to take out my singtel sim card and put in the starhub data sim card to use the mobile broadband?
galliano
23-07-2008, 01:34 PM
u signed up thru the starhub website rite? so u fax back the signature and they arrange a time to send the sim card and modem to u? but still need to pay $37++ for the sim card rite?
i regretted should have signed up during the last PC show.... the fee is waived during the show....:(:(:(:(:(
Sigh .. i tried calling SH twice today .. mean put on hold for ages.
Just curious .. if I'm on Maxonline express now .. that means I'll get the 3G modem for $36 a month?
Side-track:s8::
If i were to give up my Maxonline and switch over to 3G mobile .. does it mean i'm giving up my Hubber status?
converse2010
23-07-2008, 11:02 PM
Nope, signed thru 1633. And all they need is just record down your 'Acceptence of the contract for 2yrs'. That's all, sim card fee also waived.
converse2010
23-07-2008, 11:04 PM
Sigh .. i tried calling SH twice today .. mean put on hold for ages.
Just curious .. if I'm on Maxonline express now .. that means I'll get the 3G modem for $36 a month?
Side-track:s8::
If i were to give up my Maxonline and switch over to 3G mobile .. does it mean i'm giving up my Hubber status?
Yes, S$36/month, if u giv up MOL and change to MM, yes Hub 3 Club would also canceled.
ironman4672
24-07-2008, 07:22 AM
Nope, signed thru 1633. And all they need is just record down your 'Acceptence of the contract for 2yrs'. That's all, sim card fee also waived.
serious? how u get the waiver for the sim card fee? i signed up thru the web... then they call me back and ask for detail, then thru the phone, they asked me for my particulars.... then they email me a completed form, and asked me to sign and fax them back, then they will arrange for the delivery of the sim card and modem... and i asked them if i can get the waiver for the sim card and registration fee... they said cannot le....
for ur case, is u call them urself? or the sales department calls u to offer the maxmobile? are u existing starhub user or what.....
fyi, i am not a existing starhub users for any starhub service.....
FireHobbit
25-07-2008, 08:33 PM
e170 seem very popluar latelt current some palce no stock.. maybe week end will stock up.. keep u updaateds...
slygmz
25-07-2008, 11:31 PM
i tried plugging my e170 to another usb port in my laptop and it ask whether i want to install the software!! so i think for vista you can only use only one specific port. :s13:
Also the past 4 days, my web browser goes offline while i surf the net, (intermittent connection) -inspite of staying connected.
I called the tech officer at starhub and they said they will look into their maintenance side since after running some test with my laptop (i was in tanjong pagar at night) they said my connection seemed fine.
Strangely this on and off connection has been happening for the past 4 days. My modem seems ok (not hot). I'll update here after getting a reply from starhub.
It seems someone else also complained to them about connection problems and they are aware of it. :s22:
Ok, the tech officer at starhub called me last week, she said the server was fixed and connection back to speed again. All is well and my internet connection from my MM is fast indeed. Cool ! :s12:
ironman4672
26-07-2008, 09:53 AM
e170 seem very popluar latelt current some palce no stock.. maybe week end will stock up.. keep u updaateds...
the stock is back already... yesterday i signed up the maxmobile surflite during the starhub corporate roadshow at harbourfront centre.... managed to get the sim card fee of $37++ waived.... becos of the corporate discount.. only fee need to pay is the $10.70 one time activation fee (but nvr pay on the spot, they will bill this fee)... and i got $20 free robinson vouchers... not bad deal....
yesterday nite tried the maxmobile... a bit disappointed... the speed is not as consistent as singtel bbom... the speed fractures very jialat... sometimes...less than 10k... sometimes 30k... overall the speed is not up to standard like singtel one.....:(:(:(:(:(:( jialat and i am tied to this jialat speed plan for 2 years....
someone reviewed saying that bukit batok speed is not bad... but seriously quite slow.....:s27::s27:
rvf79
26-07-2008, 04:44 PM
this is link and download n see what is ur download speed... i am only getting 40+ k/sec le.... but speedtest.net i getting 300+
funni
this website is a local link
it's my website.
http://mylovelyinn.com/clips/lovelyinn_0002.zip
try the speed and let me know
wkender
26-07-2008, 09:42 PM
I smelt fish when Starhub comes up with a 2 yr contract to tie down it's subscribers.
Why would a happy customer wanted to switch telco if it's broadband network/service is up to scratch ?
The 2 yr contract is a major put-off regardless of whatever goodies the telco may throw in with their broadband plans :s27: .
ironman4672
27-07-2008, 01:53 AM
I smelt fish when Starhub comes up with a 2 yr contract to tie down it's subscribers.
Why would a happy customer wanted to switch telco if it's broadband network/service is up to scratch ?
The 2 yr contract is a major put-off regardless of whatever goodies the telco may throw in with their broadband plans :s27: .
what u said is true... as u can see... singnet bb or starhub maxonline are always offering good freebies to make the users stay with us for 2-3 years.... then like u said, within these years, no matter how is their service, u must die die stick with them.....cannot switch service provider at all becos even u cancel, u still need to pay the service fee for that whole 2-3 years.....
i am kinda regret to sign up the maxmobile surflite 1mbps.... the speed is seriously slow most of the time.... cannot even compete with singtel bbom 1mbps.....though it is unlimited, now i am thinking i may not even able to hit 50GB a mth..... i am subscribing this plan is to supplement my singtel bbom and again the speed is so slow... and i am tied to 2 years contract...
lucky i managed to get the sim card fee wavied at least save 37++ dollars and plus $20 free robinson vouchers.... else i am losing even more......
i counted i will be paying $455.34 for two years...
$10.70 (one time registration fee) + $19.36x24 (monthly subscription x24 months) - ($20 free robinson vouchers).
that's the reason why singtel bbom 1mbps plan is the best deal now.... shorter contract of 12mths only + free modem + subscription is $11 only
ironman4672
27-07-2008, 08:47 AM
for those maxmobile users, want to ask, do u upgrade ur e170 firmware from starhub website?
is it necessary to upgrade?
becos after i upgrade, i can a more consistent speed......:D:D:D:D:D
dk2000
28-07-2008, 12:20 PM
how long is the contract? is there a contract where u rent the modem and u r tied down with 3 months contract
ahray18
28-07-2008, 02:27 PM
that's the reason why singtel bbom 1mbps plan is the best deal now.... shorter contract of 12mths only + free modem + subscription is $11 only
is the 1 mbps singtel BB and singtel bbom comparable?
beside the point that:
-one is fixed and the other is mobile.
-one is unlimited and the other is capped at 50GB.
-one is priced at $22.90 and the other is at $11.(can't find the price for this $11 at the website though)
-
-
-
leobox1
28-07-2008, 03:27 PM
any bro got problems? since Sunday, i using 2mbps e170, getting "looking for www.XXX" " connecting to www.XXX" then cannot find server.. if not speed around 3kb/s .. WHY? is it a server problem or my e170 fried?
KhunNimzo
28-07-2008, 08:01 PM
got this and been using..
1st hour of use,it disconnect once..just recoonect will do.
use on bt,speed hit to 150kb.seem more seed and peer connected compare to maxonline,just 50 kb...
when sign up,ask the staff,this usb stick warranty 1 year..confirmed?
ask can use this sim card to pda to surf,she said cannot ler?onfirmed?
liangtam
28-07-2008, 08:37 PM
1yr wrty, mobile bb plan is tied to SIM, thus yes, any phone that can support connection.
KhunNimzo
28-07-2008, 08:41 PM
been reading from 1st until last pages,there some issue with discconection.
it happen to me 2 times now..maybe there no activity after some times,it just dc..but need to further confirm...will see how it is later..\
btw,what is the latest firmware?my one is 11 304 19 20 00
KhunNimzo
28-07-2008, 08:43 PM
if use on pda to surf,use gprs?example i using se 810i.i using sunsurf to surf...not a heavy user,jusat lite surf..\
intend to get one omnia,what type connection to use to surf?
tia
FireHobbit
29-07-2008, 12:12 AM
this is link and download n see what is ur download speed... i am only getting 40+ k/sec le.... but speedtest.net i getting 300+
funni
this website is a local link
it's my website.
http://mylovelyinn.com/clips/lovelyinn_0002.zip
try the speed and let me know
i can get ard 250KB/s
Boner
29-07-2008, 10:26 AM
which give better stability for mobile boardband? ST or SH ? I understand ST has a cap of 50GB but SH is unlimited. Sounds fishy to me. Unlimited to me is useless if reception keep dropping
wkender
29-07-2008, 11:27 AM
which give better stability for mobile boardband? ST or SH ? I understand ST has a cap of 50GB but SH is unlimited. Sounds fishy to me. Unlimited to me is useless if reception keep dropping
hahaha... "unlimited" sounds very enticing, isn't it. So, what's the use if the
performance does not live up to scratch? Don't fall into the trap !! http://www.geocities.com/sme_sg/images/29_003.gif
FireHobbit
29-07-2008, 11:41 AM
http://img29.picoodle.com/img/img29/4/7/28/f_Btm_6301273.jpg
FireHobbit
29-07-2008, 11:43 AM
in UOB centre there...
converse2010
29-07-2008, 10:50 PM
serious? how u get the waiver for the sim card fee? i signed up thru the web... then they call me back and ask for detail, then thru the phone, they asked me for my particulars.... then they email me a completed form, and asked me to sign and fax them back, then they will arrange for the delivery of the sim card and modem... and i asked them if i can get the waiver for the sim card and registration fee... they said cannot le....
for ur case, is u call them urself? or the sales department calls u to offer the maxmobile? are u existing starhub user or what.....
fyi, i am not a existing starhub users for any starhub service.....
I'm a Hub3Club and existing SH for past 5~6yrs already :D
ironman4672
30-07-2008, 12:23 AM
anyone managed to download the latest firmware from starhub website... i was that they have the newest firmware uploaded today... but seems like the file is corrupted...
http://www.starhub.com/online/maxmobile/downloads/E170_Firmware.zip ;););););)
converse2010
30-07-2008, 03:45 PM
anyone managed to download the latest firmware from starhub website... i was that they have the newest firmware uploaded today... but seems like the file is corrupted...
http://www.starhub.com/online/maxmobile/downloads/E170_Firmware.zip ;););););)
Yea, corrupted file here too :)
converse2010
30-07-2008, 06:27 PM
Just done a speedtest to SG, and here's my speed..
http://www.speedtest.net/result/302550960.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
ironman4672
30-07-2008, 06:35 PM
wah, u are at which area???? :eek::eek::eek::eek:
FireHobbit
30-07-2008, 07:39 PM
i also curious
seowbin
30-07-2008, 07:43 PM
wah, power sia...
most likely u are one of the few users inside this base station :s13:
liangtam
30-07-2008, 08:14 PM
his one ish still short of additional 900kbps of upload reh:s34:
deadsoul79
30-07-2008, 08:38 PM
pui !!
starfugs maxmobile ultimate siah!
http://www.speedtest.net/result/302587697.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
liangtam
30-07-2008, 09:07 PM
huai chiu ish get so low?
gilaboyfjs
30-07-2008, 09:07 PM
pui !!
starfugs maxmobile ultimate siah!
http://www.speedtest.net/result/302587697.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Wah yours the best man. :s13:
converse2010
30-07-2008, 09:40 PM
wah, u are at which area???? :eek::eek::eek::eek:
Ubi area lor... But my signal strength is 3~4bar HSPA network. :)
deadsoul79
30-07-2008, 10:33 PM
Wah yours the best man. :s13:
narnia wan, i see this speed i vomit blood. even my dog runs faster ! :s27:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/302627996.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
kivine
30-07-2008, 11:58 PM
okok what..
http://www.speedtest.net/result/302662145.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
knight_
01-08-2008, 04:11 PM
if use on pda to surf,use gprs?example i using se 810i.i using sunsurf to surf...not a heavy user,jusat lite surf..\
intend to get one omnia,what type connection to use to surf?
tia
If you plug in the data sim to the pda, it should be configure to starhub connections, with the starhub GPRS settings. if you are not able to get the settings done on your pda, you may want to call the SH CSO and ask them to mail you the settings or tell you the settings online.
I am using my pda to surf most of the time, unless i have a laptop then i may plug in the e170 to surf or use my PDA as a modem to the laptop.
Hope this helps.:D
lxXXxl
01-08-2008, 04:17 PM
Juz a note tat e170's new firmware is up now. The previous zip file corruption problem has been rectified. Juz downloaded from starhub.
KhunNimzo
01-08-2008, 08:18 PM
If you plug in the data sim to the pda, it should be configure to starhub connections, with the starhub GPRS settings. if you are not able to get the settings done on your pda, you may want to call the SH CSO and ask them to mail you the settings or tell you the settings online.
I am using my pda to surf most of the time, unless i have a laptop then i may plug in the e170 to surf or use my PDA as a modem to the laptop.
Hope this helps.:D
thanks................
KhunNimzo
02-08-2008, 08:40 PM
hi all,
wanna ask,can this huawei thing do some port forwarding?
before i use maxonline,can port forwarding for btorrent download..
how about this?
thanks
FireHobbit
05-08-2008, 06:27 PM
cannot port forward as the starhub isde is controlling
liangtam
05-08-2008, 07:23 PM
modem no port forwarding, this is universal.
FireHobbit
06-08-2008, 11:51 AM
yea.. this is a different system from the landed bb service
liangtam
06-08-2008, 01:22 PM
err, actually, all modem, be it fixed or mobile, does no port forwarding, because all ports are forwarded to the intended equipment as it should.
maxmobile provides public ip now, and since modem is a non-router bridge comm device, ports will work without 'port forwarding'.
nangka1
06-08-2008, 05:13 PM
die lah! I got this yesterday and I'm getting this type of speed in my offick...
http://www.speedtest.net/result/305530936.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
jeffyung
06-08-2008, 05:37 PM
I am using starhub maxmobile lite 2mb and i using laptop vista home edition. I have problem that i cant download more than 3gb per connection, unless i disconnect and connect again. This really make me feel very dispointed. The worst thing is the software can't automatic disconnect and reconnect again.
ironman4672
06-08-2008, 09:26 PM
I am using starhub maxmobile lite 2mb and i using laptop vista home edition. I have problem that i cant download more than 3gb per connection, unless i disconnect and connect again. This really make me feel very dispointed. The worst thing is the software can't automatic disconnect and reconnect again.
ya it's god damn unstable......:s27::s27::s27::s27::s27:
ahray18
07-08-2008, 05:17 AM
ya it's god damn unstable......:s27::s27::s27::s27::s27:
even starhub is like this,guess the only option so far not SO much of complain for BBOM is singtel ya....
ironman4672
07-08-2008, 06:40 AM
even starhub is like this,guess the only option so far not SO much of complain for BBOM is singtel ya....
i complaint to starhub before, and they helped to check liao again still the same, sometimes it's fast sometimes it's slow.... dun know got anything to do with my sim card or not, maybe will ask them to change me a new sim to try....:s7::s7::s7::s7::s7:
liangtam
07-08-2008, 11:54 AM
lend me chiur set to help chiu troubleshoot =:p
ironman4672
08-08-2008, 01:32 AM
lend me chiur set to help chiu troubleshoot =:p
no need... thanks......i am going to ask to change the sim card and try liao.....;););););)
FireHobbit
08-08-2008, 01:53 AM
maybe u change sim card and try again
ironman4672
08-08-2008, 01:59 AM
maybe u change sim card and try again
yes, i want to go and change the sim card...mine is preactivated sim card... meaning immediately when i subscribe i can use liao... dun know got any concern or not...speed is super unstable.....:s7::s7::s7::s7::s7:
FireHobbit
08-08-2008, 02:29 AM
maybe is the device also... me use the e270.. i prefer that...
ironman4672
08-08-2008, 02:33 AM
maybe is the device also... me use the e270.. i prefer that...
did u ever upgrade the firmware?
i am using the e170, i like the design, slimmer and looks nicer than e270.....:D:D:D:D
FireHobbit
08-08-2008, 02:45 AM
how to upgrade the firmware since like on starhub site no new updates .. ooops
ironman4672
08-08-2008, 11:16 AM
how to upgrade the firmware since like on starhub site no new updates .. ooops
e270 should have no more upgrade i supposed, becos they have discontinue this modem rite... as least they no longer give the modem to customers....:s7::s7::s7::s7:
FireHobbit
10-08-2008, 02:15 PM
but that modem is so much better
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.